3pl-warehousing-manifesto Reviews & Opinions


Submit 3pl-warehousing-manifesto review or read customer reviews:

83 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I was super excited about Brendon putting out a fresh book as I am a fan of his intelligent, practical, strategic and entertaining delivery of highly valuable information. I have read his other books and attended his seminars. So I guess I had high expectations for this an author myself in this 'self-help' arena; I think an author needs to focus on two main things. Engaging and entertaining the reader is the first part (it needs to be fun) and the second part is to impart useful and relevant information, insight, hints and tools. This method the reader is emotionally inspired plus has the tools to better their life. This is what I was hoping for with this book. But I was not really motivated by the end (more frustrated) and I found myself 'skimming' rather than reading the book to search the gems. There were definitely some amazing bits, but infrequently scattered throughout.A large portion of the book was focused on those 'idiots', 'fools', 'losers', 'naysayers', or '@#$%!&?s' that keep you back. This could have been mentioned a lot less, and the positives we required to incorporate or focus on could have been the majority of the content. The writing also came across for me as a bit of a rant or bland (I am having some problem clearly articulating why the delivery of the prose did not resonate with me - as I was surprised when it didn't).This book is touted as a Fresh York Times best seller, but I don't think it is a effect of the masterful content or delivery of engaging prose or the amazing hints to crank up your motivation; but because of the expert and very strategic online marketing by Brendan and his huge band of my recommendation is if you have high expectations of this book you might be disappointed. If you wanted to feel motivated and inspired after this book, it might miss the mark, unless you are very fresh to this content. I actually feel a small poor because I recommended this book to a lot of people based on Brendan's past work, rather than reading it first. I definitely took that private lesson away myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Beautifully written, especially the opening Declarations (I absolutely loved the first 1/4 of this book). But as I went deeper into the book I kept finding an underlying current of contempt, even hatred, for that which we are supposed to "overcome." That is, the weak-willed, the cowardly masses, the small-minds, the fearful. The thing is we are all that items at one point or another! We are all that items along our whole life-path. There's never a point at which we've totally "transcended" any of that. Brendan implores us to Declare Battle on these "negative forces" ... but these negative forces are part of us, in that they are tactics we've developed to deal with a confusing and challenging globe ... if we declare war, we do so versus ourselves! This leads to self-hatred, frustration, loathing and all the vicious cycle we see repeating all around us ... people trying to lose weight, create wealth, achieve some fresh goal, but getting burned out and giving up largely because they dont understand what's creating the resistance, and devote a large amount of energy trying "to war it," not realizing that you can't victory when you war yourself!!! It only ends in failure.Ultimately, this book takes a very Ancient Greek, even Victorian, high-idealized view of humanity, thinking that simply imploring us to live to the Highest Standard Imaginable (lots of caps words are used to emphasize the Highest Form of the Word) will obtain us there ... or perhaps at least obtain those "Worthy of It" there. This is basically just the Western Approach, even the Old Testament Biblical approach, which causes a lot of pain, because it always sets the individual next to the Ideal, and versus an ideal the individual must always e true danger of Burchard's work is that he presents it eloquently, emphatically and matter-of-fact-end-of-story-no-more-argument-style enough that I think a lot of folks will be tempted to turn off their inner-critic whilst reading it. Dont buy into Burchard's sold fear that if you question the material in the book you might just be one of the "small-minded fearful ones" ... if you're going to read this book do so with an begin heart and very begin mind and allow your critical mind stay active, watching your responses from a distance. If you feel your heart pinching or any self-loathing developing while reading the book, take note of that, and go ahead and question if it's a direct effect of the language, tone and underlying attitude Burchard is using (don't immediately blame yourself!!!).If you're looking for something very balanced, realistic, practical and effective beyond a purely theoretical and poetic level, I'd recommend Jack Canfield. I don't have any interest in his items byeond private experience of it. Im promoting it here because Im impressed with it. Much moreso than Burchard's note, wanna answer directly to a statement Burchard makes: "We can punish a selfish and callous kid without becoming selfish or callous." The statement is such BS I almost don't have words to go into it. It's a quintessentially archaic view of humanity and really gives a one-sentence window into the contempt Burchard has and the pain he may be hiding/stuffing/suppressing with his idealized philosophy. A kid is born the opposite of selfish/callous (a kid has self-centeredness, but this is natural survival drive, and with amazing balanced loving parents grows into amazing balanced loving self-awareness) ... and if he/she has become selfish or callous it's 100% gauranteed the fault of the person in its life that thinks they need to "[email protected]#$%!& for being selfish/callous, state which they caused in the first place. And all that with a high-minded notiong of having "Intended Love" for the punished and chastised small brute. Man, this is such the Victorian Kid Rearing view of hurting a kid for it s own good, so it doesnt become a tyrant.Burchard wants to treat his (and your) inner kid in this same way, continuing to abandon and punish it, hating the pain and misery it has felt and acting as though all he, and you, need do is Choose to push it down and Overcome in order to no longer be controlled by the suffering of flawed coping mechanisms. This is no various than any other well-meaning by superficial (albeit eloquent) western philosophy. IN fact it's basically the same as what we've been getting for centuries, and are just now starting to realize has actually been the source of a lot of our pain.We don't transcend by just transcending. If we could we would have done so already. True transcendence comes from heavy inner and external honesty and compassion and acceptance and accountability. Do the true work, feel the true feelings, revel in who you really are, all the flaws and hurts included.Another recommendation is Internal Family Systems work ... really cool groundbreaking , amazing test Brendan, thanks for the eloquent exhortations, but please look a small deeper, and please pull this book and do a fresh edition with the support of some really insightful therapists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    A new and smart perspective on e book inspires in an engaging voice to finally OWN our greatness, and it motivates us to reclaim our private ttle bit too judgemental at times, mediocrity vs the only few "why having been endowed with the courageous heart of lions do we live as mice?" but you can feel his love and respect for his readers too : "Let us be transformed by the knowledge that love was never absent from our lives. We simply allowed our awareness of it to diminish" That is a unbelievable fresh spiritual insight from a guy well known for online marketing. I also liked the chapter about breaking integrity: " How would my best self view and answer to this situation?" I ask that question to myself often now! And what a amazing reminder that we need to add some discomfort to our lives in order to stretch ourselves, to grow, to create a endon has obviously been through this private freedom journey himself and he gives the very best tip he can give; mixed with historical leadership elements. I loved the book and recommended it to e FREE videos that come with the book are staggering helpful too. "I want nothing but love and joy for you!"

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on 3pl-warehousing-manifesto or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch 3pl-warehousing-manifesto video reviews and related movies:

    See Safetrac's array of IT based logistics solutions on youtube.

     related image

    See Cargoflow Logistics on youtube.

     related image

    See Barloworld Logistics Corporate Video on youtube.

     related image

    See Mittelstaedt Sees Demand for Supply Chain MBA Grads: Video on youtube.

     related image

    See Future USAmerica Divided East and West on youtube.

     related image

    See RTT Logistics Overtaking on barrier line 11 on youtube.

     related image

    See Shipping Manifest System with Multi-Carrier Rate Shopping Software on youtube.

     related image

    See Lena's first experiment with photo animation - the Hidrotabs "case study" on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This is what I posted on Fb after reading this book on a flight from UK to US:"Holy cow! Brendon Burchard has tapped into infinite intelligence while writing this book. It has rekindled a fire and passion in my soul I haven't felt in years. If you haven't got yourself a copy and read it yet, do so ASAP!"BTW - Since returning to the US, I've brought this book to numerous business meetings and asked people to flip it begin to any page and I guarantee they'll search something I underlined on that page that will be profound to them. Have been right each time, so at's how every page is in this book...profound.Well done, Brendon! Thank you for sticking to your guns and proceeding with this book, even when the initial publisher didn't obtain it. That will be a decision generations to come will be thankful t and read this book right away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Brendon Burchard is a whirlwind of motivation. This book has pushed me to see just how I can step up my game. In my opinion this is a must read! Motivation Manifesto asks us to be our best human selves. Its as if the book acts as an accountability partner. What I like most about his books is the intensity level and how they stay with you long after you read them, almost calling after you as a constant reminder to be your best ver in a globe that so desperately needs it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Before Oct of 2014 I knew nothing about Brendon Burchard. Then I saw him speak at an happening in Phoenix Arizona. When he came on scene the crowd erupted as if it were a rock concert! I thought, wow, who is this guy? Over the next hour and a half I listened as Brendon not only spoke on the subject of practical steps to build online businesses but on inspiration and methods to achieve high performance. He was very impressive and mind you I don’t say that lightly as I am not easily impressed, not by a long shot. So I stared to check out some of his material and could easily see that he deeply cares about not only the quality of product he puts out but more necessary the impact it has on those who come in contact with his material. Being a student of the self-help genre I when I received message that his fresh book “The Motivational Manifesto” was coming out I again was a small endon will tell you he has a belief in over delivering and I tell you he has unequivocally over delivered in this book. There are no private stories by Brendon though he has several compelling stories that have occurred in his life. There are no stories of the experiences of other people overcoming different trials in life. There is no selling of any of his programs or anything about building online businesses. This volume is simply, plainly and so succinctly filled with line after line of various method of thinking. A various method of looking at life. When referencing his research to write this book he talks about studying history’s revolutionary writings and scholars. Although you certainly obtain the tone of the historical rhetoric it is not in such a method as to rally the battle cries of the populace or the government per se but more so for rising above mediocrity and taking charge of one’s own life! It is about forging ahead in life with the God given talents we are all born with but forgot or killed along the , before anyone starts rolling their eyes about how gushy this review is sounding, I’ll remind you of my statement earlier. I am not easily impressed. Raised the son of a career Troops veteran and me being a retired Navy submarine vet I’ve seen and heard from my share of impressive leaders in life and can smell a fake a mile away. Having a military mindset I am naturally skeptical of everything and assess everything from the angle someone has with the notice or product they are selling every time. I’ve read a lot of books in my life time (leaders are readers) and will read a lot of more as long as I am graced to continue walking on this earth. The Motivation Manifesto is without a doubt in the top two for me. A book that will remain in my library and obtain reread at least once a year and reference whenever a need for inspiration or motivation arises.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Oh my , this book became my second bible. I wanted to just take it all in and digest ever word.What a life changer. The authors insights were off the charts, everything I read was like, yes, yes, I obtain ue to the title, I was so motivated every day. I read it at the gym every day while on the stair master.I found myself repeating what he said to anyone I talked to. It truly helped me to the next level in my life.Anyone who finds themselves stuck or thinks they may be struggling to obtain to the next level needs to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I listened to the Audible ver of this and got a lot out of it. I am now a Brendan Burchard fan, and am reading another of his books. I am sure I will read this one again, because I know I'll obtain even more/different out of it the next go round. It has been a life changer for me, in terms of motivation. Thanks to one of my online Beachbody groups for reading/recommending it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I am a 23 year old Liberal Arts College Student who loves knowlege Computer Science major and THIS BOOK HELPED ME DEAL WITH MY LACK IN SO MANY AREAS. Emotional health, mental health. This book helped me go from a mice to a lion. from wasting my day to activly seeking my dreams. I am following my own standard not the method most of the globe follows, the rat race so a lot of people are stuck in. IF YOU FIND YOURSELF WASTING HOURS OUT OF EACH DAY DOING NOTHING AND WANT MORE FOR YOUR LIFE THAN READ THIS BOOK.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Motivation Manifesto review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    The Motivation Manifesto is an perfect book. I bought another copy to give to a friend. Brendon Burchard does a very amazing job here. He begins with a Declaration of Private Power, in which he asks: Why, having been endowed with the courageous heart of a lion, do we live as mice? Amazing question, but that's exactly what we do. God gave us each "the capacity for greatness", but we settle for so much less. I'm going to read this one again and again. I need all the motivation I can get! And Burchard does that so very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    If you're looking for that silver bullet that explains why your brisket isn't as amazing as Franklin's, you won't search it here. The truth is, there is no silver bullet. You wish to believe that it's some magic ingredient, temperature, or other trivial element that makes his brisket so amazing and if you only knew that 1 secret, yours would be just as good. It's not that easy. It's a process. In all seriousness, he does allow you in on the secret behind his amazing food, but it's not an simple shortcut. He had a passion, he tinkered, he produced some really poor BBQ but persevered, he paid attention to the details, tweaked some to experiment, found out what worked and what didn't and then, over time, became an expert with a well-developed sense of intuition. The truth is that formula has worked for hundreds of people, amazing writers, radio hosts, businessmen, programmers and other specialists uses that exact same set of steps to become masters, read their biographies and listen to their interviews, it's the same story. It's hard work, it's not because Aaron uses pickle juice blessed by a Fresh Orleans witch doctor during an eclipse as an injection precisely 14.373581 hours before it goes on the grill. It's because he's got years of practice, years of paying attention to the details, learning what matters and what doesn't, and then persevering through the failures those experiments might think since I've given away the "secret" to Franklin's BBQ, there's no reason to buy the book, right? You're wrong. In this book he imparts his story, which is interesting, he gives you several clues on which things matter and which things don't so you can begin your journey with more knowledge than he did. You won't buy this book and then suddenly be able to cook the best BBQ on the planet, but you'll have a deeper understanding of the craft and you'll know where you should experiment and where you should learn from his mistakes.I found this book immensely valuable in my journey toward becoming an perfect pitmaster. I pre ordered the book and devoured it's information in just less than 48 hours after opening it. I did so because I ate at Franklins and it was the best BBQ I ever had, I created a bet that Franklin's book would be as perfect as his BBQ and I was right. There's a lot of amazing info here, but it's not like most BBQ books. It's much more about the process than the recipes (though it does have some). If you wish a shortcut, look elsewhere but I think you'll ultimately be disappointed in the results. If you truly wish to become a pitmaster and you're willing to place in some work, this is an perfect book to tutorial you in the right direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Absolutely unbelievable book. I bought 1 for myself...and then bought 1 for my Dad and one for my Father in Law...Probably obtain one for my Stepdad Soon as well. I laughed when I read the 1 star reviews. This is NOT a cookbook. This book is about how Aaron Franklin ascended to his position as being one of the best BBQ Cooks in the Nation. He talks about what he did, why he did it, and what he learned along the way. He talks about his victories and defeats and how he gained just a small bit of knowledge during each cook. What he could use he kept, what didn't work, he noted it, and tossed it aside. This is a amazing book on the science and theory of what is actually event when you smoke something. The various kinds of wood that is used, the kind of smoker he likes, what temperature he prefers (275'), what he spritz's his meats with while they cook, when to pull the meat off, when to wrap it, what to wrap it with, how and why to rest it..etc. etc...I have been grilling for 20+ years, and been smoking meat for about 10, and this book really really taught me a lot of things, and cleared up some things that I have noticed, but hadn't really figured it out. He explains how to smoke meat in very easy terms. It IS easy to smoke meat...but you can totally screw it up if you don't do it right. A excellent example that he talks about, and I did this when I first started, but luckily figured it out years ago is the fact that rookies see that Beef is done at 160-165 degrees and they think, welp, its done, might as well pull it off. They pull it off and allow it sit, and when they slice into it, its tough or if its pork, it doesn't pull or shred at all, and none of the fat has rendered and they think "What happened?? Well what happened is that yes, the meat reached a safe temp to eat, but not the OPTIMAL temp for BBQ. You wish the internal temp at 203 degrees instead so the fat can liquefy and give the meat its juiciness and at is just one example. He lays it all out there for you, and doesn't keep anything back. This is a easy process, but the devil is in those details, and he is adamant about them. There are a few recipes in the book, but this isn't a cook book per se. I did like the recipes on the BBQ sauces though and Ive created them all. Aaron keeps it straightforward and simple. If you don't learn anything from this book then you aren't paying attention. I read a 1 star review and the guy goes, "Yeah, I learned to use salt and pepper and post oak....lame"If you have that sort of mentality, then this book is definitely not for you, but if you wish to reach in to what BBQ is, and how it is done right, and then you actually DO what he talks about, you will never screw up a piece of meat again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    I smoke meat a lot for years and always was happy with the outcome along with everyone else amazing comments always on my brisket. and this book has taught me that I have been doing it wrong for a long time. Now I followed it as close as I could he does not tell you exactly what he uses but he sure points you in the right direction. I smoked a brisket latest weekend and it might not be his recipe or even come close to his recipe I tried my best. But one thing for sure it is the best damn brisket I ever place in my mouth, tender, full of flavor and I ate the whole thing over the rest of the weekend. This "Manifesto" IS well worth the price. I have watched this man on you tube everything they have to offer what a amazing individual. Quirky personality I think funny as hell my kind of people ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    We purchased this book when we purchased our first smoker (REC TEC, see separate review). Having never smoked meats before we thought this would offer us some amazing recipes, but in reality this book is a soup-to-nuts tutorial to smoking in the truest sense! Whether you wish to build your own smoker, modify one, or purchase one, this tutorial will begin you off on the right foot. From choosing your fuel and cuts, trimming and seasoning your meat, to explaining the art and science of smoking--developing your bark, getting through "the stall", to what to expect at each phase--this book covers it all! Oh, and there are a few primary recipes too! Our first two smoking sessions were a brisket and ribs. Though we were nervous about the outcome initially, we followed the instructions dutifully and both turned out beautifully! In fact, we probably will never go to a restaurant for those cuts again! Yes, they were that good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Aaron Franklin is currently one of the most well known pitmasters around these days, gaining fame from his awesome brisket (which I still hope to obtain to test one day!). If you are interested in learning about the techniques he uses when smoking meats, then this book is for you. It covers his philosophy on smoking, types of wood, various rub ingredients and he even covers how to make or modify a smoker. If you are looking for a straight up, "Cook book", then this book is not for you. Think of this book as sort of a "documentary" of how Aaron Franklin got started in BBQ along with his techniques and a few other nice tidbits, and you have an overall interesting read. Just remember, it's not a cookbook :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    This is the best book on BBQ I have ever seen. It delivers what it promises: a large "how to" tutorial to BBQ. It's not about recipes. It's about techniques, knowledge, culture and lore of BBQ. The popular Pitmaster knows his craft, that's obvious before reading the book. But he is also a amazing teacher. And that is not something all amazing cooks, "Chefs" or Pitmasters can do. He explains in amazing detail (really!) the science, the tips, and everything you need to know about BBQ to begin or improve your cue production. Lots of amazing pictures, diagrams etc. And the passion really pours out of the pages, which is a huge bonus. Does not feel like it was written by an editor. It feels like the author wrote it. With his own words. As a professional in the culinary business, I can't recommend this book enough! Obtain it and have fun the ride. You are in the hands of a master. A Pitmaster!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    I'm just digging into this book and it makes me sad to think that a lot of people will miss out on this book because they're not into BBQ. Forget about BBQ...anyone who has ever harbored the dream of bootstrapping a labor of love into a living will search this book kindling that fire in them again if it's gone out. Aaron's enthusiasm and energy are apparent in every is book is laid out like a lot of newer books about cooking and is so far a amazing read. Like Chad Robertson's "Tartine" and Ken Forkish's "Flour, Water, Salt, Yeast," the book begins with a small history on the topic at hand mixed with the author's story. Like these books about baking, Franklin's story about BBQ is an inspiring one that passes along to the reader the tantalizing excitement of a dream created true over time building on one success and lesson learned after another. Also like those books, Aaron give you an idea of what a large amount of work it is to embark on an endeavor like operating a BBQ restaurant. I have a little cottage meal operation ( that I run just for fun, and these books are amazing for me to read to remind me how much work it would take to hang out a shingle and really go for far, this is a amazing book. Now I need to obtain through it by Friday night so the 14-pound brisket in the garage fridge is done justice this weekend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    For those of you looking for a step by step tutorial to better barbecuing, I suggest that you instead watch the You Tube videos by Franklin ( This will prevent you wasting your time giving this book your no doubt scathingly brilliant negative review (you will search several such within the reviews previously submitted). It is NOT a recipe book, although it does include some recipes as well as some BBQ cooking instruction.What it IS is a amazing deal of insight into the making of a amazing BBQ pit-master as well as a sometimes funny/sometimes sad story of the begin up of any little business. It's interesting, funny, informative and honest. Franklin makes no bones about the mistakes and failures that preceded his current success and cult status. As a long time fan of BBQ in general and an amateur pit-master of a lot of years standing, I admire Aaron and envy his gradual evolution into the successful entrepreneur that he is today. He is a testament to the ability of stubbornness, desire, talent, HARD work and self-created luck that create America great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Franklin covers it all in this book. From his first cook of a cheap brisket on a cheap smoker in Austin to the process of smoking meat to cutting and serving. I've learned more about smoking meat reading this book for a few days than years of consulting internet resources. This book is dedicated to true wood fired smoking on a respectable scale. He states at one point that you need a beautiful huge smoker to build a amazing fire. If you don't use a wood fired smoker, this book will create you wish to smoke with wood. However, it might not be practical for everyone, and though informative, some of the information on wood will be tangential. I thought the section on building a smoker was a bit indulgent - impressive, but I guess 1% of readers will search this e cooking section of the book is great. Franklin covers the process of smoking meat from trimming, to the rub, the cook, and wrap. He cooks at 275, and pulls a brisket off the smoker by feel, and not by temp - that's news to me. He provides recipes for rubs, and slathers, and sauces, and side. If you use a Weber Smoky Mountain or a Rec Tec, the cooking section will be e only thing that could have created this book better would have been a coupon to go to the front of the line at his shop. But, then again, no cutters!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    If you are tired of your brisket turning out bad, then buy this book. Excellent brisket is a quest and right of passage for any man. Be a man and buy this book. It also has some extra recipes for ribs, chicken, etc. True men smoke brisket. I really enjoyed the step by step nature of the book and the helpful pictures. If you can't smoke a excellent brisket after reading this book, then you should sell your smoker. Do yourself a favor and buy the butcher paper. I switched from aluminum foil to the butcher paper and it worked like a charm. The roll is not cheap, but it does the trick. I have several barbecue books, but I believe this is the best one for brisket. Smoking meat is not an exact science, but Aaron Franklin breaks it down for a amazing cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Another brilliant book. (I'm getting amazing at picking them after all these years).It says something about the author that he could take a subject as mundane and trivial as this and search a method to create it interesting. The book is only 200 pages. He gets in, makes his points, and then gets straight 's a combination of a lot of other books, to me.1. Knowledge And Decisions. There is a sharp distinction between knowledge that is abstract and philosophical and knowledge that is concrete and process based.2. The Collapse of Complex Societies (New Studies in Archaeology). As societies reach higher levels of development, they have increasing levels of complexity and more specialization is necessary. Higher process efficacy is also necessary.3. Adapt: Why Success Always Starts with Failure. Things have to be worked out based on what has been shown to *not* work out. It is not enough to theorize/ speculate about what is a amazing idea.I have to say that the idea not exactly novel. It's one of those things that's hidden in plain sight but that a reader never knew could be e whole book can be read through in a few hours and costs about $7 with shipping (as of the time of this review).If you had to choose only one book to read by this author, I would prefer his other book (Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End) to this one. But it is just as likely that you can chop out any of your other fiction books and read both of them to amazing rdict: Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I had to read this book for work, and I wasn't looking forward to it. To my surprise it has a very amazing narrative is quite readable. The examples used are compelling and hold the pages turning. By the end it had me thinking of our processes and I have my squad scouring them looking for locations where a checklist would be appropriate. If you're concerned about quality, you should give this book a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Author Atul Gawande, a surgeon, uses hospitals and especially surgery to illustrate what checklists can do to prevent injury and improve outcomes. But he doesn't stop there. He writes about building skyscrapers, flying planes, handling heavy disasters like the role that Walmart played during Katrina. Best of all, he shows that checklists don't always work, and the reasons why. He shows how easy checklists at the beginning of issues can prevent disasters when the issue could have become to huge to handle. This is a masterful look at how one person can no longer be the one voice in very complex situations. Checklists are about the team, each member doing his part and not missing a step, so that the squad can act as one unit to excellent the outcome. This is a must-read for anyone finding themselves in organizations and who are frustrated by mistakes that don't have to happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Gawande speaks about checklists and a lot of readers could agree with him. However the anecdote-approach limits the use of the book. For instance,, no mention of checklist criteria design before Annexes and, even there, a very short eresting to search that one of the cases mentioned -Hudson river landing- had a issue similar with a checklist (the manufacturer did not foresee a full power loss below 20000 ft.) losing precious seconds while using a checklist whose design did not fit the situation. The mention of a second Aviation case -Los Rodeos- is simply wrong and, precisely, investigators found that the pilot whose error was the main factor under the accident had been extremely careful following pre-flight procedures...not a amazing example to present the checklists use.If someone is interested in checklist design -that was my case- Degani and Wiener still appear to be unsurpassed and the anecdote approach by Gawande does not fit that objective.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    As my career progressed, checklists increasingly became a key part of organizing and getting things done. Gawande carries this a step farther, reviewing a short history of business and organizational uses of checklists, and why their use in all aspects of medical care needs to be greatly expanded for both efficiencies and our safety. He carefully documents medical instances in which they have been used successfully. He also categorizes various kinds of checklists to address different needs. But really, anyone would benefit from reading this book. Thanks to Gawande's engaging style, all of his books are fast page-turners and enjoyable reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    The author, Dr Atul Gawande is an American general and endocrine surgeon, and public health researcher. I have been meaning to read and review his book for a lot of years. What a fitting introduction to ‘The Checklist Manifesto: How to Obtain Things Right.’Philosophers Samuel Gorovitz and Alasdair MacIntyre tackled the problem of why we fail at what we set out to do in the world. One reason, they explain is “necessary fallibility”, a consequence of some things in the world, and our lives, being beyond our understanding and control.But there is much that is not, and yet we fail at these too. Gorovitz and MacIntyre suggest that there are two reasons for this: ignorance and ineptitude (incompetence or clumsiness.)For most of human history, people’s lives have been lived largely in ignorance. However, over the latest few decades, science has filled in enough knowledge to create our ‘ineptitude’ as much of a challenge as our ‘ignorance’ was in the wande’s context is the ineptitude in medicine. While our knowledge and sophistication has grown enormously, the struggle is still how to deliver on this e knowing-doing gap is found everywhere. From the frequent mistakes authorities create when disaster strikes, to the legal mistakes our lawyers create that are the effect of small more than easy administrative errors.“Every day there is more and more to manage and obtain right and learn,” Gawande points out. With all we are needed to manage, failure happens far more often - despite amazing effort rather than from a lack of ise has been seen as the solution to ineptitude in most locations of work – “they need more training!” and modern medicine has been no different. But capability clearly isn’t our basic difficulty; in most fields training is longer and more intense than ever. In the early twentieth century, you could practice medicine with only a high school diploma and a one-year medical degree. Today doctors have six years of university, and three to seven years of residency to practice paediatrics, surgery, neurology, or the t our failures remain frequent, but there is a solution – ough this seems almost ridiculous in its simplicity - especially to those of us who have spent years carefully developing ever more advanced skills - it has proven not to 1935 the US Troops was looking for the next generation long-range bomber. Boeing’s aluminium-alloy Model 299 was able to carry five times as a lot of bombs as the troops had requested, and could fly faster and farther than previous bombers. The troops planned to order at least 65 planes until it stalled on a try flight, turned on one wing, and exploded. The crash, attributed to ‘pilot error, killed 2 of the 5 squad members. This prompted Boeing to come up with an ingeniously easy approach: they made a pilot’s checklist. It is worth noting that using a checklist for takeoff was about as odd as using a checklist to back out of your ever, flying this fresh plane was too complicated to be left to the memory of any person, no matter how expert. The try pilots created checklists for takeoff, flight, landing, and taxiing, and armed with the checklist, flew a total of 1.8 million miles without one accident. The troops ultimately ordered almost 13,000 flying, a lot of locations of our lives and work have become “too much airplane for one person to fly.”Faulty memory and distraction are a constant danger in “all-or-none processes” like going to the store to buy ingredients for a cake, piloting a plane through a takeoff, or treating a sick person in the hospital. “If you miss just one key thing, you might as well not have created the effort at all,” says Gawande.Another human danger you may well recognize, is allowing yourself to skip steps even when you remember them. You skip steps because it has never been a issue before – until one day it ecklists can provide protection versus such lapses, as they remind us of the minimum important essors Zimmerman and Glouberman distinguish between 3 various kinds of problems: the simple, the complicated, and the complex.‘Simple problems’ are ones like baking a cake from a recipe with a few primary techniques you need to learn. Master them and you most likely will have success.‘Complicated problems’ are like sending a rocket to the moon. There is no straightforward recipe, and success usually requires a lot of people and amazing expertise. Unanticipated issues are common, and timing and coordination become serious concerns.‘Complex problems’ are like raising a child. You can’t repeat and excellent the process as you can with rockets. Every kid is unique, and while expertise is valuable, it is not sufficient. The outcome remains highly e value of checklists for easy issues is self-evident: that is why we have a shopping list. But much of the most critical work people do, is not simple. Checklists support prevent failure especially when the issues combine everything from the easy to the e true value of checklists is in conditions of real complexity, where the knowledge requirements exceed that of any individual, and unpredictability reigns. Commands and control from the centre will fail. Under these conditions, not only are checklists a help, they are essential for success. In these complex situations where individuals must exercise their own judgement, this judgement will be enhanced by checklist d checklists are vague and imprecise, too long and hard to use. They are written as if the people using them are stupid, and they test to spell out every single step. Amazing checklists, are precise and start with the premise that a checklist cannot fly a plane. That is why, faced with catastrophe, pilots are astonishingly willing to turn to their ecklists come in two forms: DO-CONFIRM and READ-DO. Using a DO-CONFIRM checklist, people do jobs from memory and experience, then stop and check. Using a READ-DO checklist, people carry out the tasks as they check them off, like a obtain value from checklists, they must create sense for the particular situation. A rule-of-thumb is to hold it to between five and nine items, simply worded, and es this work? This was rigorously tested in the Globe Health Organization’s ‘safe surgery’ research across a dozens of hospitals of various sizes, rich and poor, in countries from Tanzania to the US. In this carefully constructed study, a 2-minute, 19 step surgery checklist, resulted in an immediate drop in infection and mortality in thousands of operations in 8 participating hospitals. Major complications dropped 36%, and deaths fell by 47%.That is how much a checklist can add to the skills of highly trained, highly skilled surgeons. It is worth a serious test in your business. You will obtain startling results ability Light ---+- SeriousInsights High +---- LowPractical High +---- Low*Ian Mann of Gateways consults internationally on leadership and strategy, and is the author of the recently released Executive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Very interesting exploration of the benefits of using checklists in different industries (but mainly in operating theaters in hospital) to facilitate consistency which leads to improvements in a lot of locations : productivity, safety, profitability to name but a few. The author is a highly experienced surgeon who saw the advantages of introducing checklists to radically improve patient safety during operations and in recovery. What I found shocking from reading this book was the sheer number of mistakes that are routinely created in operating theaters around the globe which lead to not good recovery rates and even death in some cases. The benefit of introducing checklists into theater was enforcement of policy that all staff during an op were now "singing off the same hymn sheet". The book alludes to this idea e book was very readable my only gripe was I'd have liked to have seen an example of the checklists that the author referred to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    This is one of the best books I have read. I have recommended it to a lot of people. It is a simple, yet powerful, tool to use for decision-making in any complex situation - even though it was written to improve patient safety in surgical procedures.I recently had a complex dental procedure and at the end, because of the obvious co-operation and respect between the dentist and the dental-nurse - including the nursing feeling confident to check that the dentist had removed an extra insert - I told them that they "passed" the try of meeting the requirements of The Checklist Manifesto, and I explained the principles outlined in the book. They wrote down the name of the book and author and said that they would obtain c a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Not long, exhausting checklists, but checklists distilled down to the essential, what absolutely has to happen or what will cause an problem with a process that needs to be checked. The author does a unbelievable job of weaving his experience as a surgeon and his effort to make a global surgical checklist with anecdotes from aviation and construction, making the book an simple and fascinating read. Unfortunately, if you have any kind of surgery scheduled soon, it will also probably terrify you and hopefully prompt you to ask more questions of your surgeon. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    A really insightful and fascinating discourse on how decision-making has been and continues to be created on a logical and progressive manner. As a retired architect, Atul's explanation of how the role of the master-builder has had to change dramatically as buildings became larger and taller and so require systematic co-ordination of a lot of sub-sectional specialists. His knowledge as a surgeon makes his explanation of the ideal method medical professionals need to interact when performing operations is totally credible. Thank you, Atul.Encouraged by this book I am almost finished reading his book, Being Mortal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Finally! A amazing book and tutorial for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the method to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am satisfied to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a little cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The globe of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a amazing look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a amazing benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Bryan has made a strong and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Amazing read!! Such excellent info for the globe we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Unbelievable book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a little cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about private time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to create up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling fresh (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about various industries and working with awesome clients. I search myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Finally! A amazing book and tutorial for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the method to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am satisfied to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a little cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The globe of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a amazing look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a amazing benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts event in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    If workplace culture and the globe we live in has changed so much over the latest 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to make a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very problem and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent issue - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Bryan and Shannon know what they are doing and helping all of us catch up. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Bryan has made a strong and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Amazing read!! Such excellent info for the globe we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Unbelievable book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a little cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about private time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to create up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling fresh (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about various industries and working with awesome clients. I search myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Finally! A amazing book and tutorial for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the method to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am satisfied to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a little cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The globe of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a amazing look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a amazing benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts event in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    If workplace culture and the globe we live in has changed so much over the latest 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to make a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very problem and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent issue - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan and Shannon know what they are doing and helping all of us catch up. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan does a unbelievable job of telling a story that all started with a vision. Through Bryan's experiences of taking a leap of faith and growing a successful business, the book inspires us all to take chances. Working in the corporate environment for over 15 years before deciding to take a leap of faith myself, I could relate deeply with the Virtual Culture and it helps that Bryan's storytelling skills hold you wanting to read more. Amazing book. I'll be recommending this to mates and colleagues alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan has made a strong and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Amazing read!! Such excellent info for the globe we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts event in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    If workplace culture and the globe we live in has changed so much over the latest 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to make a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very problem and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent issue - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Unbelievable book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a little cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about private time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to create up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling fresh (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about various industries and working with awesome clients. I search myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I went Virtual in 2007 after having my first child. I had always begged to go Virtual because I felt being in an office was unproductive. I had an hour commute both ways and coworkers who wanted to chit chat all day but they wouldn’t go for it. I joined the Belay squad in 2013 and was placed with 3 clients whom I still serve nearly 5 years later. I’ve met one of them in person just recently. I’m honored to be a part of this virtual mentality that Bryan has created. They hire the best EAs who have a passion for serving others. He is right...I have no desire to leave home for work. I can raise my family and be show in their lives and also provide exceptional help to clients I may never see outside of a web conference. Must read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Finally! A amazing book and tutorial for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the method to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am satisfied to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a little cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The globe of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a amazing look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a amazing benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I gave this book 5-stars because I finished it within 24-hours of purchasing. I could not place it down! If you are considering a virtual workforce for your company, I would strongly recommend this book. Bryan has developed a company that is revolutionizing the method you think about and “do” business. Thank you for sharing your passion and insight into the changing landscape of employment and corporate culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Bryan does a unbelievable job of telling a story that all started with a vision. Through Bryan's experiences of taking a leap of faith and growing a successful business, the book inspires us all to take chances. Working in the corporate environment for over 15 years before deciding to take a leap of faith myself, I could relate deeply with the Virtual Culture and it helps that Bryan's storytelling skills hold you wanting to read more. Amazing book. I'll be recommending this to mates and colleagues alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Bryan has made a strong and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Steib’s take on building your career path is concise, refreshing, eye opening, and most importantly, executable. He lays the foundation for finding, not what gets you the most money, but what gets you the most fulfillment.Rather than focus on the time honored workplace rewards of promotion and raises, the Career Manifesto shows you how to figure out your real calling. It’s less a tutorial to a better job and more a map towards a better e latest “Manifesto” I read was the Unabomber’s, so I was leary about what I might search inside this author’s mind. I gave it a shot after I saw him giving some amazing interview tip on the Today Show. I Googled this guy and found parts of his Manifesto online. I started thinking about what was necessary in my life and, I did some self reflecting on my career. I carved out a decent career for myself, but I was exactly fulfilled. I had a conversation with my wife and we agreed to live our fullest life, we wanted to be back closer to family and I wanted to live a life more in service to our underserved youth in cities. I followed my own Happiness Matrix (One of the key points in this book) started networking the right method (another essential takeaway from this book) and I had a job interview about a month later and place his hints to use. Lo and behold, I now have fresh job 800 miles closer to home and wake up energized and ready to create a difference in the lives of those who can use a small help.Even if you feel like you are in a amazing spot in your career, there are some amazing things you can take away from the Career Manifesto that will obtain you to a better put in life. Well done, Mike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Loved it! Mike is an outstanding leader and a unbelievable career coach. In his fresh book, The Career Manifesto, Mike does a amazing job of making sense of a somewhat nebulous and amorphous subject by using clear, simple to understand frameworks. Loved the lessons and the stories, loved the down-to-earth style and loved the clear, actionable advice. Amazing job, Mike!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    I've been the lucky beneficiary of Mike's sage tip for four decades. Through every scene and every decision, Mike has proven himself uniquely capable of exposing the core issue and identifying practical, actionable solutions that, time and again, steered me back on the right path.Mike's 'Manifesto' is as much a book about how to be a amazing human as it is about how to be a amazing business leader -- though it is that, too. He is uncannily smart, driven, and successful -- a living, breathing, company-running, family-raising, non-profit-chairing, book-writing testament that his tip works.Full disclosure: I am Mike's brother, but I've also worked with him twice in my career. And through all [email protected]#$%-kickings in and outside the office, I still think this highly of him. Read the 'Manifesto' and you will, too -- but more importantly, you'll search yourself thinking afresh about your life and your career, and approaching all your issues with a powerful, fresh toolset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    I loved The Career Manifesto. Steib takes we readers on a path towards finding one's purpose and then is relentlessly practical (and beautiful funny) about taking the reader towards that destination. The steps it proposed are true and achievable and Steib's voice is one of the encouraging and helpful coach. A amazing book for anyone looking for a career change or just a reminder of why they've done what they have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Without question, the best career book I have ever read bar none. The rest will test but this one produces life changing results that I have never seen in my 27 year career. Mike Steib is a visionary; he understands what it takes to be maximize your potential and delivers the notice simply so that taking action is easy. His tone is true and human; in a globe where we have so few leaders to look up to and respect, Mike stands out as one of the best there is. Buy this book for yourself. Buy this book for family and friends. It is by far the best bonus you can give yourself and others if real career success is what you seek.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Mike's philosophy makes you feel more excited about your career and the decisions in front of you. It helped me think about my goals and how to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    There should be a 6th star added to rate this book. I have had the benefit of Mike's leadership when I worked with him at Google. I'm thrilled to see the lessons and principles that Mike has refined over the years place into an accessible and enjoyable read. This book is a must for anyone seeking structure to their career thinking and practical ways to improve both their work and private lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    A fascinating look at how to maximize your private and work potential. The manifesto takes a hard look at how its ok to create tradeoffs without sacrificing ambition, and gets to the root of what will create you the best at what you love. A amazing read, and stands out from a lot of of the career tip books I have read in the past. Definite recommend buying this book, and have fun it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    This book is filled with amazing tip told in a really accessible way. The author really sets you up for success . I can't wait to obtain started!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This book is life-changing. My husband said I'm being hyperbolic by saying that, but it's true. When we got married, he was capable of making instant mashed potatoes (blech), Hamburger Helper (Lord, support us all), and frozen pizza. Quick forward 6-7 years--he ordered this cook book after hearing about it on NPR. I started coming home from my shifts at the hospital to savory soufflés, the most excellent pulled pork, fish tacos with new salsa, french onion soup, and on and on. He is a science guy and has enjoyed reading WHY certain cooking methods are used. I'm satisfied to have amazing meal to eat and to see him discover a fresh hobby he enjoys so much. We rarely eat out anymore because we always have such amazing meal at really has changed our lives, including both how we eat and how we survive as parents of young children. Sometimes we feed the children early, then place them to bed so we can have a glass of wine, cook together, and catch up with each other. Ruhlman described near the Bacon Arugula Salad recipe how cooking together strengthens relationships, and I have to agree. I love the nights we stay in and test a fresh recipe or revisit a favorite ere are still some recipes that we haven't tried in the book, but others we use weekly or seasonally. Some of them are a small more involved (fried chicken and pan fried pork chops which both require brining), while other things we've picked up from that book are so easy yet so profound. Like how to scramble eggs. It's just a little change or two, but the effect is astounding. Roast chicken. Who knew it could be so simple to cook a chicken and then come up with a delicious pan sauce for that chicken? We create it weekly. The coq au vin is "my" recipe that I like making, and while it feels fancy, it's actually quite easy and doesn't make a ton of dishes for me to clean up after. That is a WIN in my e ONLY thing I haven't been extremely impressed with are some of the baking recipes. Cakes, cookies, etc. I've only tried a few of the recipes, and while they aren't bad, I prefer to search those types of recipes elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Amazing Info.....A surprise. Went and bought more Ruhlman books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Amazing book. I have learned a lot and I am an experienced cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I'm fresh to this author and have small to compare to his previous works. I only own about 10 cookbooks, including canning recipes. Most of what I cook is by seasonal availability, convenience based on what's in the house at any given time, or what I have a "taste" for that day. I was raised by depression-era southerners who can create an awesome food out of almost nothing, but nearly everything is fried and served with gravy. After leaving home, I became a vegetarian and now, with real pastured meat available, I have started eating meat again. All of that to say~~I can make a lovely food from just about anything and create just about everyone satisfied with it. Not necessarily gourmet all the time, but I'm known as a amazing cook among vegans and carnivores alike.Having said all of that, I love to make in the kitchen, but I don't have a lot of formal education when it comes to cooking. I guess I thought of it like this~~I also like to hike, but I don't need a lot of books on how to place one foot in front of the other, I'm more of a get-out-there-and-learn-as-you-go type of person. Ruhlman's 20 changed all of that. I sat down latest night and read it cover to cover. It's that interesting. I think this author is no doubt an awesome chef, but more importantly, he's a amazing teacher and that's what draws me to his craft and this book. Technique becomes more necessary the longer we do things, because at some point it's time to place books aside and really dive in. He's a rare author in his ability to take someone back to basics and teach you WHY you do the things you do, rather than just giving you one more recipe. I felt it was geared toward those of us who cook intuitively, rather than by rote. If that's your style, you'll like this terms of nuts and bolts details~~The recipes look interesting and the pictures are beautiful. This book is heavy, sturdy and I think will latest well in the kitchen. The pages are sturdy and glossy and don't fold over when the book is standing up. There is dozens in his recipes, which I like. I think his fried chicken recipe looks like a lot of additional work but I'm going to test it. The southerner in me says soak it in herbed buttermilk overnight like my grandmother did, and then do the usual fry prep, but we'll tom line~~ Think of this as more of a Zen of Cooking type book than a book full of standard recipes, or even fresh recipes. It's accessible to beginners and seasoned cooks alike, and can be used by those who favor veg or omnivore. I think anything that can create us slow down and make a fresh mindfulness in any activity is a unbelievable thing. But for those of us who love to cook and love putting that love into the food itself, this book is a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I decided to wait until I'd created several things from this book before I reviewed it. Currently I've created lemon confit (though it'll be 10 weeks before I can use it!), pizza dough, bacon-and-egg pizza, roasted shallots, and coq au e pizza was brilliant, even though I managed to overcook it a bit at all possible stages. I am hankering to create it again. Both the pizza itself and the crust are dead easy, and taste wonderful! The crust is crisp, but not at all like a cracker; I have some in the fridge to create tomorrow, because as written, it only takes 3 hours- that's great! but doesn't leave time for the dough to ferment. It'll be interesting to taste how it is after fermenting for a couple of days in the fridge. For the pizza as a whole, the balance of cheese, bacon, and eggs is just excellent and very e lemon confit was really simple to make, too. I can't use it yet because it requires 3 months curing, but it worked well. I've done 2 jars: one is conventional lemons, and the other is Meyer lemons. The recipe calls for 2 pounds of salt and one of sugar for 5 lemons; that seems excessive, since mine are going well with 9-10 lemons and 3/8ths the amount of sugar, salt and e roasted shallots are like candy; I could eat them all day, but heroically refrained because I need some for the coq au vin, which we just ate and which is rich and flavorful and amazing. It did take me closer to 2 hours than 1 hour to create it, but it's so worth it; it's the best coq au vin I've ever made.But- I didn't buy this just for the recipes. I really love Ruhlman's thoughtful approach to cooking, and the text parts are what I am valuing as I'm reading this. It is not a book of recipes; it's a considered approach about HOW to cook. If you like Cook's Illustrated, Ruhlman is definitely someone to only quibble: more and more, ambitious cookbooks seem to be vying for coffee-table-book status: they are getting large and massive and unwieldy. This makes them harder to read- and this one needs to be read- and harder to cook from. I do not care for this ill- I'm about a third of the method through reading it (albeit with difficulty), and have learned a lot from the text- and the recipes I've tried have been spot-on, and I wish to create them all again soon.Edited to add: This book is a game-changer. I have been a really competent and skillful home cook for years now. These recipes rev it up at least an order of magnitude. While most restaurants cannot out-cook me at my previous level- I really doubt that much of ANYONE could outcook these. Totally BRILLIANT.Another addition: I have just created the French onion soup. WOW. It is delicious and brilliant, though i want he'd warned me that caramelizing 8+ pounds of onions would take not just "hours" but 10 or so hours! It's very worth it, though; I adore caramelized onions, and this soup emphasizes them. I do recommend adding the optional wine vinegar at the end; the brightness accents the sweetness of the onions.I look forward to trying more recipes from this! Both the recipes and the text are making me a more thoughtful and knowlegable dendum: Several months after writing this, it has become one of my favorite cookbooks. The pizza with bacon and eggs is one of my favorite recipes ever- and the pizza crust is perfect for a primary NY-style pizza as well (Ruhlman also has an perfect easy tomato sauce that works amazing for this, as well as for a easy pasta).My husband and I just enjoyed the easy Coq au Vin for probably the third time- it's beautiful easy, and tastes gorgeous. The sauteed mushrooms are easy but utterly perfect. I've only created a smattering of the recipes, but every single one of them has been perfect! and the text is thoughtful and helpful when one wants to understand coking, and not just follow is is the only book that i bought not only in dead-tree, but also for my Kindle-and I don't regret that RY recommended for a thoughtful or ambitious cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    AWESOME book! I am a novice cook & this book gives me a lot of useful info I never knew about spices etc when cooking. I am SO GLAD I bought this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Really great, straight-forward book with much wisdom. I like the 20 ideas and how the ideas are explained and organized. Overall really a unbelievable book. I would have liked a bit more recipes or creative recipes, and experienced cooks (or people with a lot of cookbooks) might search the recipes a small bit boring. In the "frying" chapter, it would have been helpful to have a few pictures of the correct pan size/ oil amount.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I suppose I am a "sloppy" cook because I don't follow recipes exactly - rarely. Instead, I see recipes as a general guideline towards making something related to what the recipe promises, but that suits my taste. Therefore, this book is an perfect resource for those who would like to understand why certain things are done in certain ways in (quality) cooking, and also provides clear instructions on how to do it. The really nice thing I found is that this is a amazing book for someone like me who doesn't wish to buy every small thing for a recipe, but would rather figure out how to concoct a yummy dish from what scraps and leftover goodies that may be left in the fridge at the end of the week. By understanding the methods (braising, sautéing, poaching, grilling, making doughs, sauces, soups etc.) and the primary versatility of ingredients that most of us use every day (salt, water, eggs, sugar, acids etc.), you can create yummy meals following the recipes as primary "guidelines" or techniques, while substituting whatever you find. It's simple to read, simple to understand, and clear for those with a true interest in learning how to cook. Step-by-step pictures tutorial you through the applications that can be adapted to suit your taste and food-preferences, and I have followed some of the recipes with stellar results because I understood WHY I was doing something in a certain way, which allows me to essentially "do anything" and obtain creative. This book is not for those who wish to mindlessly follow a recipe. I search myself referring to it even when I've got my nose in another recipe book. A amazing book for an enthusiastic, creative person who wants to learn methods and materials. My only complaint is that I [email protected]#$%! were longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This book is well thought out, well written, and simple to follow. I have fun cooking and this book has really helped me to improve my cooking. The handful of recipes I have tried have been very good. However, its greatest value isn't the recipes, it's the techniques and information. I would recommend this book to everyone who cooks. It is by far my favorite cookbook. (Ruhlman's book Ratio is very amazing also)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I love Michael Ruhlman! As an above average home cook, I wanted to kick my skills up a notch. This book is insightful and motivating. The writing is clear and the photography promotes the techniques. I am very satisfied.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    To Have or To Be? reviews Grapple hook reviews wholesale nfl moneynetwork.stock-options-picks.com/blogs/viewstory/58398 jerseys reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios reviews wholesale nfl bodasenvalencia.es/cheap-wholesale-nfl-jerseys-are-the-best-choice/ jerseys reviews Lost at School: Why Our Kids with... reviews How to Be Debt Free: A simple plan for paying off debt: car loans, student loan repayment, credit card debt, mortgages and more. Debt-free living is within Books (Smart Money Blueprint Book 3) reviews Therapy Games: Creative Ways to Turn Popular Games Into Activities That Build Self-Esteem, Teamwork, Communication Skills, Anger Management, Self-Discovery, and Coping Skills reviews Summary & Analysis of The Clean 20: 20 Foods, 20 Days, Total Transformation | A Guide to the Book by Ian Smith, MD reviews Rewirement: Rewiring The Way You Think About Retirement! reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios?: Convicción, en tiempos de escepticismo (Spanish Edition) reviews Self Mastery Boxset: How to Master Success, Abundance, Wealth, and Happiness reviews The Power of Paper: How to Create Wealth by Investing in Mortgages reviews The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital reviews King of Kings: A Paranormal Space Opera Adventure (Star Justice Book 11) reviews Lucky Soldier: A Memorial Day Brother's Best Friend Fake Fiance Romance reviews Murder Has Nine Lives (A Jaine Austen Mystery) reviews Enchanted Immortals Series Box Set: Books 1-4 plus Novella reviews Second Best reviews The Things They Carried reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter