3pl-warehousing-manifesto Reviews & Opinions

Submit 3pl-warehousing-manifesto review or read customer reviews:

53 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Finally! A great book and guide for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the way to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am happy to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a tiny cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The world of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a good look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a great benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a great resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on 3pl-warehousing-manifesto or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Bryan has created a powerful and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Great read!! Such perfect information for the world we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Fantastic book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a small cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about personal time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to make up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling new (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about different industries and working with amazing clients. I find myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Finally! A great book and guide for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the way to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am happy to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a tiny cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The world of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a good look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a great benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a great resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts happening in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    If workplace culture and the world we live in has changed so much over the last 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to create a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very issue and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent problem - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Bryan and Shannon know what they are doing and helping all of us catch up. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Bryan has created a powerful and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-10 18:0

    Great read!! Such perfect information for the world we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Fantastic book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a small cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about personal time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to make up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling new (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about different industries and working with amazing clients. I find myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Finally! A great book and guide for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the way to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am happy to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a tiny cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The world of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a good look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a great benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a great resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts happening in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    If workplace culture and the world we live in has changed so much over the last 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to create a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very issue and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent problem - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan and Shannon know what they are doing and helping all of us catch up. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan does a fantastic job of telling a story that all started with a vision. Through Bryan's experiences of taking a leap of faith and growing a successful business, the book inspires us all to take chances. Working in the corporate environment for over 15 years before deciding to take a leap of faith myself, I could relate deeply with the Virtual Culture and it helps that Bryan's storytelling skills keep you wanting to read more. Great book. I'll be recommending this to friends and colleagues alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Bryan has created a powerful and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-11 18:0

    Great read!! Such perfect information for the world we’re living in and moving towards. Highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    It’s rare that I pickup a book and [email protected]#$%! in a single sitting. As an entrepreneur of a growing company, I found Bryan’s transparent sharing of experiences to be invaluable. We have been fortunate to follow Belay and Bryan for some time and fully believe that he is spot on in regards to the major shifts happening in today’s workplace. If you are running a traditional business and not paying attention to this shift you are doing your employees a disservice. Take a moment and read this book. It will prepare you for the future while making you much more profitable along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    If workplace culture and the world we live in has changed so much over the last 100+ years, why are we still using the same systems and methods to create a company? Bryan Miles discusses this very issue and proposes his own solutions to what is already a prevalent problem - one that is rarely addressed. This is a fascinating look at the past, present, and future of employee-employer relations. A must-read for CEOs, entrepreneurs, and anyone who struggles in the workplace environment of 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Love Bryan's philosophy and story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Fantastic book! I worked in a corporate environment for over twenty years, sitting in a small cubicle eight hours a day performing the same, redundant tasks daily. The companies that I worked for (mostly Fortune 500) were either bought out, merged or involved in a scandal. There was never any flexibility or compassion about personal time or doctor appointments. I would have to work late hours to make up the time spent at a doctor’s office. I also never felt a sense of job security…there was always a sense of low morale and a never-ending struggle with office politics emanating from employees, not to mention a high turnover in management. Working virtually has provided me with: flexibility; excitement about tackling new (challenging) and varied projects; an opportunity to learn about different industries and working with amazing clients. I find myself being more enthusiastic, productive and creative, working virtually. I hope this amazing, eye-opening book reaches individuals who are considering a remote workforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I went Virtual in 2007 after having my first child. I had always begged to go Virtual because I felt being in an office was unproductive. I had an hour commute both ways and coworkers who wanted to chit chat all day but they wouldn’t go for it. I joined the Belay team in 2013 and was placed with 3 clients whom I still serve nearly 5 years later. I’ve met one of them in person just recently. I’m honored to be a part of this virtual mentality that Bryan has created. They hire the best EAs who have a passion for serving others. He is right...I have no desire to leave home for work. I can raise my family and be present in their lives and also provide exceptional support to clients I may never see outside of a web conference. Must read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Finally! A great book and guide for those employers venturing into the remote work world. I have been saying for years that remote work is the way to go. I approached my employer in 1991 about working from home and was laughed at. "That would be impossible!" he said. Maybe I was ahead of my time. Now I am happy to work as a virtual assistant and will never go back to a tiny cubicle or stuffy office. Why would I? The world of virtual work is all around us, most people just don't know it. Bryan Miles takes a good look at the virtual workforce and helps employers realize that it is possible, and not only that, it's a great benefit to both employers and employees. If you are at all interested in taking your business remote, or working remotely yourself, this is a great resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I gave this book 5-stars because I finished it within 24-hours of purchasing. I could not put it down! If you are considering a virtual workforce for your company, I would strongly recommend this book. Bryan has developed a company that is revolutionizing the way you think about and “do” business. Thank you for sharing your passion and insight into the changing landscape of employment and corporate culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Bryan does a fantastic job of telling a story that all started with a vision. Through Bryan's experiences of taking a leap of faith and growing a successful business, the book inspires us all to take chances. Working in the corporate environment for over 15 years before deciding to take a leap of faith myself, I could relate deeply with the Virtual Culture and it helps that Bryan's storytelling skills keep you wanting to read more. Great book. I'll be recommending this to friends and colleagues alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    How refreshing! I simply cannot wait to share this with my network and peers that are not yet on board with virtual employees. Congrats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virtual Culture: The Way We Work Doesn't Work Anymore, a Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Bryan has created a powerful and insightful resource that every business leader can leverage to improve and expand their business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Steib’s take on building your career path is concise, refreshing, eye opening, and most importantly, executable. He lays the foundation for finding, not what gets you the most money, but what gets you the most fulfillment.Rather than focus on the time honored workplace rewards of promotion and raises, the Career Manifesto shows you how to figure out your true calling. It’s less a guide to a better job and more a map towards a better e last “Manifesto” I read was the Unabomber’s, so I was leary about what I might find inside this author’s mind. I gave it a shot after I saw him giving some great interview advice on the Today Show. I Googled this guy and found parts of his Manifesto online. I started thinking about what was important in my life and, I did some self reflecting on my career. I carved out a decent career for myself, but I was exactly fulfilled. I had a conversation with my wife and we agreed to live our fullest life, we wanted to be back closer to family and I wanted to live a life more in service to our underserved youth in cities. I followed my own Happiness Matrix (One of the key points in this book) started networking the right way (another essential takeaway from this book) and I had a job interview about a month later and put his tips to use. Lo and behold, I now have new job 800 miles closer to home and wake up energized and ready to make a difference in the lives of those who can use a little help.Even if you feel like you are in a good spot in your career, there are some great things you can take away from the Career Manifesto that will get you to a better place in life. Well done, Mike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Loved it! Mike is an outstanding leader and a fantastic career coach. In his new book, The Career Manifesto, Mike does a great job of making sense of a somewhat nebulous and amorphous topic by using clear, easy to understand frameworks. Loved the lessons and the stories, loved the down-to-earth style and loved the clear, actionable advice. Great job, Mike!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    I've been the lucky beneficiary of Mike's sage advice for four decades. Through every stage and every decision, Mike has proven himself uniquely capable of exposing the core problem and identifying practical, actionable solutions that, time and again, steered me back on the right path.Mike's 'Manifesto' is as much a book about how to be a good human as it is about how to be a great business leader -- though it is that, too. He is uncannily smart, driven, and successful -- a living, breathing, company-running, family-raising, non-profit-chairing, book-writing testament that his advice works.Full disclosure: I am Mike's brother, but I've also worked with him twice in my career. And through all [email protected]#$%-kickings in and outside the office, I still think this highly of him. Read the 'Manifesto' and you will, too -- but more importantly, you'll find yourself thinking afresh about your life and your career, and approaching all your problems with a powerful, new toolset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    I loved The Career Manifesto. Steib takes we readers on a path towards finding one's purpose and then is relentlessly practical (and pretty funny) about taking the reader towards that destination. The steps it proposed are real and achievable and Steib's voice is one of the encouraging and helpful coach. A great book for anyone looking for a career change or just a reminder of why they've done what they have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Without question, the best career book I have ever read bar none. The rest will try but this one produces life changing results that I have never seen in my 27 year career. Mike Steib is a visionary; he understands what it takes to be maximize your potential and delivers the message simply so that taking action is easy. His tone is real and human; in a world where we have so few leaders to look up to and respect, Mike stands out as one of the best there is. Buy this book for yourself. Buy this book for family and friends. It is by far the best gift you can give yourself and others if true career success is what you seek.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    Mike's philosophy makes you feel more excited about your career and the decisions in front of you. It helped me think about my goals and how to get there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    There should be a 6th star added to rate this book. I have had the benefit of Mike's leadership when I worked with him at Google. I'm thrilled to see the lessons and principles that Mike has refined over the years put into an accessible and enjoyable read. This book is a must for anyone seeking structure to their career thinking and practical ways to improve both their work and personal lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    A fascinating look at how to maximize your personal and work potential. The manifesto takes a hard look at how its ok to make tradeoffs without sacrificing ambition, and gets to the root of what will make you the best at what you love. A great read, and stands out from many of the career advice books I have read in the past. Definite recommend buying this book, and enjoy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Career Manifesto: Discover Your Calling and Create an Extraordinary Life [Book]  2018-2-10 18:1

    This book is filled with great advice told in a really accessible way. The author really sets you up for success . I can't wait to get started!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This book is life-changing. My husband said I'm being hyperbolic by saying that, but it's true. When we got married, he was capable of making instant mashed potatoes (blech), Hamburger Helper (Lord, help us all), and frozen pizza. Fast forward 6-7 years--he ordered this cook book after hearing about it on NPR. I started coming home from my shifts at the hospital to savory soufflés, the most perfect pulled pork, fish tacos with fresh salsa, french onion soup, and on and on. He is a science guy and has enjoyed reading WHY certain cooking methods are used. I'm happy to have good food to eat and to see him explore a new hobby he enjoys so much. We rarely eat out anymore because we always have such good food at really has changed our lives, including both how we eat and how we survive as parents of young children. Sometimes we feed the kids early, then put them to bed so we can have a glass of wine, cook together, and catch up with each other. Ruhlman described near the Bacon Arugula Salad recipe how cooking together strengthens relationships, and I have to agree. I love the nights we stay in and try a new recipe or revisit a favorite ere are still some recipes that we haven't tried in the book, but others we use weekly or seasonally. Some of them are a little more involved (fried chicken and pan fried pork chops which both require brining), while other things we've picked up from that book are so simple yet so profound. Like how to scramble eggs. It's just a small change or two, but the result is astounding. Roast chicken. Who knew it could be so easy to cook a chicken and then come up with a delicious pan sauce for that chicken? We make it weekly. The coq au vin is "my" recipe that I like making, and while it feels fancy, it's actually quite simple and doesn't create a ton of dishes for me to clean up after. That is a WIN in my e ONLY thing I haven't been extremely impressed with are some of the baking recipes. Cakes, cookies, etc. I've only tried a few of the recipes, and while they aren't bad, I prefer to find those types of recipes elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Good Info.....A surprise. Went and bought more Ruhlman books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Great book. I have learned a lot and I am an experienced cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I'm new to this author and have little to compare to his previous works. I only own about 10 cookbooks, including canning recipes. Most of what I cook is by seasonal availability, convenience based on what's in the house at any given time, or what I have a "taste" for that day. I was raised by depression-era southerners who can make an amazing meal out of almost nothing, but nearly everything is fried and served with gravy. After leaving home, I became a vegetarian and now, with true pastured meat available, I have started eating meat again. All of that to say~~I can create a lovely meal from just about anything and make just about everyone happy with it. Not necessarily gourmet all the time, but I'm known as a great cook among vegans and carnivores alike.Having said all of that, I love to create in the kitchen, but I don't have a lot of formal education when it comes to cooking. I guess I thought of it like this~~I also like to hike, but I don't need a lot of books on how to put one foot in front of the other, I'm more of a get-out-there-and-learn-as-you-go type of person. Ruhlman's 20 changed all of that. I sat down last night and read it cover to cover. It's that interesting. I think this author is no doubt an amazing chef, but more importantly, he's a great teacher and that's what draws me to his craft and this book. Technique becomes more important the longer we do things, because at some point it's time to put books aside and really dive in. He's a rare author in his ability to take someone back to basics and teach you WHY you do the things you do, rather than just giving you one more recipe. I felt it was geared toward those of us who cook intuitively, rather than by rote. If that's your style, you'll like this terms of nuts and bolts details~~The recipes look interesting and the pictures are beautiful. This book is heavy, sturdy and I think will last well in the kitchen. The pages are sturdy and glossy and don't fold over when the book is standing up. There is variety in his recipes, which I like. I think his fried chicken recipe looks like a lot of extra work but I'm going to try it. The southerner in me says soak it in herbed buttermilk overnight like my grandmother did, and then do the usual fry prep, but we'll tom line~~ Think of this as more of a Zen of Cooking type book than a book full of standard recipes, or even new recipes. It's accessible to beginners and seasoned cooks alike, and can be used by those who favor veg or omnivore. I think anything that can make us slow down and create a new mindfulness in any activity is a wonderful thing. But for those of us who love to cook and love putting that love into the meal itself, this book is a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I decided to wait until I'd made several things from this book before I reviewed it. Currently I've made lemon confit (though it'll be 10 weeks before I can use it!), pizza dough, bacon-and-egg pizza, roasted shallots, and coq au e pizza was brilliant, even though I managed to overcook it a bit at all possible stages. I am hankering to make it again. Both the pizza itself and the crust are dead easy, and taste wonderful! The crust is crisp, but not at all like a cracker; I have some in the fridge to make tomorrow, because as written, it only takes 3 hours- that's great! but doesn't leave time for the dough to ferment. It'll be interesting to taste how it is after fermenting for a couple of days in the fridge. For the pizza as a whole, the balance of cheese, bacon, and eggs is just perfect and very e lemon confit was really easy to make, too. I can't use it yet because it requires 3 months curing, but it worked well. I've done 2 jars: one is conventional lemons, and the other is Meyer lemons. The recipe calls for 2 pounds of salt and one of sugar for 5 lemons; that seems excessive, since mine are going well with 9-10 lemons and 3/8ths the amount of sugar, salt and e roasted shallots are like candy; I could eat them all day, but heroically refrained because I need some for the coq au vin, which we just ate and which is rich and flavorful and amazing. It did take me closer to 2 hours than 1 hour to make it, but it's so worth it; it's the best coq au vin I've ever made.But- I didn't buy this just for the recipes. I really love Ruhlman's thoughtful approach to cooking, and the text parts are what I am valuing as I'm reading this. It is not a book of recipes; it's a considered approach about HOW to cook. If you like Cook's Illustrated, Ruhlman is definitely someone to only quibble: more and more, ambitious cookbooks seem to be vying for coffee-table-book status: they are getting huge and heavy and unwieldy. This makes them harder to read- and this one needs to be read- and harder to cook from. I do not care for this ill- I'm about a third of the way through reading it (albeit with difficulty), and have learned a lot from the text- and the recipes I've tried have been spot-on, and I want to make them all again soon.Edited to add: This book is a game-changer. I have been a really competent and skillful home cook for years now. These recipes rev it up at least an order of magnitude. While most restaurants cannot out-cook me at my previous level- I really doubt that much of ANYONE could outcook these. Totally BRILLIANT.Another addition: I have just made the French onion soup. WOW. It is delicious and brilliant, though i wish he'd warned me that caramelizing 8+ pounds of onions would take not just "hours" but 10 or so hours! It's very worth it, though; I adore caramelized onions, and this soup emphasizes them. I do recommend adding the optional wine vinegar at the end; the brightness accents the sweetness of the onions.I look forward to trying more recipes from this! Both the recipes and the text are making me a more thoughtful and knowlegable dendum: Several months after writing this, it has become one of my favorite cookbooks. The pizza with bacon and eggs is one of my favorite recipes ever- and the pizza crust is excellent for a basic NY-style pizza as well (Ruhlman also has an excellent simple tomato sauce that works great for this, as well as for a simple pasta).My husband and I just enjoyed the simple Coq au Vin for probably the third time- it's pretty easy, and tastes gorgeous. The sauteed mushrooms are simple but utterly perfect. I've only made a smattering of the recipes, but every single one of them has been perfect! and the text is thoughtful and helpful when one wants to understand coking, and not just follow is is the only book that i bought not only in dead-tree, but also for my Kindle-and I don't regret that RY recommended for a thoughtful or ambitious cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    AWESOME book! I am a novice cook & this book gives me a lot of useful information I never knew about spices etc when cooking. I am SO GLAD I bought this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Really great, straight-forward book with much wisdom. I like the 20 ideas and how the ideas are explained and organized. Overall really a wonderful book. I would have liked a bit more recipes or creative recipes, and experienced cooks (or people with many cookbooks) might find the recipes a little bit boring. In the "frying" chapter, it would have been helpful to have a few pictures of the correct pan size/ oil amount.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I suppose I am a "sloppy" cook because I don't follow recipes exactly - rarely. Instead, I see recipes as a general guideline towards making something similar to what the recipe promises, but that suits my taste. Therefore, this book is an excellent resource for those who would like to understand why certain things are done in certain ways in (quality) cooking, and also provides clear instructions on how to do it. The really nice thing I found is that this is a great book for someone like me who doesn't want to buy every little thing for a recipe, but would rather figure out how to concoct a yummy dish from what scraps and leftover goodies that may be left in the fridge at the end of the week. By understanding the methods (braising, sautéing, poaching, grilling, making doughs, sauces, soups etc.) and the basic versatility of ingredients that most of us use every day (salt, water, eggs, sugar, acids etc.), you can make yummy meals following the recipes as basic "guidelines" or techniques, while substituting whatever you find. It's easy to read, easy to understand, and clear for those with a real interest in learning how to cook. Step-by-step pictures guide you through the applications that can be adapted to suit your taste and food-preferences, and I have followed some of the recipes with stellar results because I understood WHY I was doing something in a certain way, which allows me to essentially "do anything" and get creative. This book is not for those who want to mindlessly follow a recipe. I find myself referring to it even when I've got my nose in another recipe book. A great book for an enthusiastic, creative person who wants to learn methods and materials. My only complaint is that I [email protected]#$%! were longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This book is well thought out, well written, and easy to follow. I enjoy cooking and this book has really helped me to improve my cooking. The handful of recipes I have tried have been very good. However, its greatest value isn't the recipes, it's the techniques and information. I would recommend this book to everyone who cooks. It is by far my favorite cookbook. (Ruhlman's book Ratio is very good also)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ruhlman's Twenty: 20 Techniques, 100 Recipes, A Cook's Manifesto [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I love Michael Ruhlman! As an above average home cook, I wanted to kick my skills up a notch. This book is insightful and motivating. The writing is clear and the photography promotes the techniques. I am very satisfied.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    spirit runner shrink-your-prostate-and-get-your-life-back check.txt every-other-day-diet make-money-mailing-cheap-little-postcards easy-video-player-alternative bonsai-tree-care-easy online-money-monsoon-2 Cristo Libera app RoadRewards SMART Kodi Setup App - AIO Kodi Setup App Wizard Android Endoscope, EasyCap, USB camera (Extended) Time Master - Time Tracking Fiz : Brewery Management Game Narrows DungeonMemories winswim-swimming-software-2 why-not-fly-free-2 february-2013-calendar car-spray-painting-2'A=0 contestburner life-transformation-guide-advancedlifeskills-com job-crusher-warrior-forum Memes: Apple Memes & Comedy: (Funny Memes Feat. iPads, iPhones Etc - Joke Book L Holocaust Memoirs of a Bergen-Belsen Survivor & Classmate of Anne Frank Summary and Analysis: Joseph Jebelli's In Pursuit of Memory: The Fight Against Alzheimer's Summary of Fire and Fury: The Trump Book Going Off The Grid: The How-To Book Of Simple Living And Happiness (Primal Power Method) The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic Sharpe Edge (Maycroft Mystery Series Book 2) Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great Danielle Walker's Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Paleo Recipes to Make Anytime Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017) #2 Black Panther Masterworks Vol. 1 (Jungle Action (1973-1976)) Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) City Dog, Country Dog Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) Warriors #4: Rising Storm (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) The Science of High Performance: Develop Mental Toughness, Boost Willpower, Master New Skills, and Achieve Your Goals Faster Friendly Fascism: The New Face of Power in America (Forbidden Bookshelf) Design Thinking: Integrating Innovation, Customer Experience, and Brand Value Shooting Victoria: Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy I Will Not Fear: My Story of a Lifetime of Building Faith under Fire I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings A Writer's Diary (Harvest Book) Broken Crayons Still Color: Based on a True Story Draft No. 4: On the Writing Process Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated Islands of the Damned: A Marine at War in the Pacific Benjamin Franklin's Bastard: A Novel Sordid: A Novel Craven Manor The Plant-Based Diet Meal Plan: A 3-Week Kick-Start Guide to Eat & Live Your Best Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) Penny: The Story of a Free-Soul Basset Hound Chased 40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger. A Different Kind of Fast. Mindtouch (The Dreamhealers Book 1) Abducted Savage State of Mind 3: For the Love of An ATL Rider Dragon Slayer: A Pulp Fantasy Harem Adventure Patriot Games (A Jack Ryan Novel Book 2) Her Every Fear: A Novel Amazing Gracie Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Book 3) Clean (Phone Cleaner & Booster & AppLock) easy-jv-give-away-script fopacoin questions-for-couples-book forex-trend-rider-download online-yoga-teachers-training-and-certification-program ulster-ancestry-co-uk reading-her-body-ebook the-wedding-mc-workbook-2 magical-tactics-page-36 bed-bugs-911 Photos Companion, a Microsoft Garage project Genesis Vision Tournament Bitcoin Paranoid Honor Credit Union Banca Móvil de Oriental Bank Edge - Bitcoin Wallet Video Star - Social Video Network StarTV SL XMX Player sofort-mehr-dates Make Real Money $100 A Day USA Educational Puzzles for Kids: Owle Puzzles Safe School Helpline Resume Formats 2018 Lecture Notes AASA, The School Superinten... Knack - Tutoring Simplified MEDNAX Continuing Education Voxercise Holy Bible NIV Free Chineasy Cards PlanGrid Construction Software

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter