3win8.city/other-games/joker123/22-joker123 at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) Reviews & Opinions


Submit 3win8.city/other-games/joker123/22-joker123 at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    My favorite collection of Christmas-themed writing: H.L. Mencken's "Stare Decisis" about an early 20th-century Christmas dinner given by Baltimore brewers to the not good and indigent, a nostalgic piece both uproarious and even a small touching, is the standout, but John McNulty's "Two People He Never Saw" is one of the best stories ever published in THE NEW YORKER and Sally Benson and John Cheever both create lovely contributions. The cover art and classic cartoons from the likes of Charles Addams, Otto Soglow, Gahan Wilson, etc., create this obviously a must-have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Entertaining. A review of articles about Christmas from various authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    With all the hoopla that comes with the Christmas shopping season, everybody needs a short respite. What better method to do it than to pick up a book, or better yet, give a book that reflects the holiday season? The Fresh Yorker partners with Random House with CHRISTMAS AT THE NEW YORKER: STORIES, POEMS, HUMOR, AND ART and rolls out a collection of the magazine's humorous cartoons, poems and essays about the Christmas holiday season -- the fun and headaches that a lot of have grown accustomed to. Indeed, the book takes a poignant and satirical look at Christmas with contributions from literary legends, such as John Updike, H.L. Mencken, John Cheever, E.B. White, or contemporary favorites, Garrison Keillor and Robert Pinsky. And one of the most honorable mentions of the book is James Thurber's rewriting of Clement Moore's poem, which is done in the voice of AT THE NEW YORKER reflects upon the Christmas season. According to Updike, The Fresh Yorker captures the essence of the holiday from a cosmopolitan perspective. Nevertheless, all gamuts of the holiday season are shown and told from the tinsel on the tree, the sheep in the nativity scene, and to the hoards of crowds at the shopping mall. For every reader that has experienced the busiest holiday season of the year, it will trigger a particular recollection of a Christmas past. Regardless of when the stories were written, there is a timeless quality to each story that will let readers to read them more than AT THE NEW YORKER will delight readers who occasionally read the magazine as well as anyone who wants a amazing chuckle from the a lot of cartoons and stories that covet the pages of the book. So, leave the book on the coffee table for holiday enjoyment.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on 3win8.city/other-games/joker123/22-joker123 at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch 3win8.city/other-games/joker123/22-joker123 at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    This is a book of anecdotes, poems, etc. It is not a novel. It is totally delightful for what it is. I love some of the entries, haven't given attention to others. The ones I love are enough to hold the book in my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    A lot of the jokes are quite dated. Had hoped they would be more timeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Days of yore brought back in a amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    I purchased 2 of these as bonuses for people I like to remember, but who really tend to obtain what they would like. The response from both was very positive. They liked the illustrations, and the written content..and the idea that they could pace themselves as they used the book. I shall purchase more this year for other people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Thought it would be filled with fun witty stories but soon became just boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Most enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christmas at The New Yorker: Stories, Poems, Humor, and Art (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    I ordered this for my mother who loves short stories and grew up with the Fresh Yorker, and it turned out to be so much fun that I ordered a second one for myself. Short, simple reads and unbelievable illustrations. A amazing bonus for the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Never play a flight android game before, so i really enjoyed this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I love this android game next level plesae

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    don't obtain me wrong this is a amazing android game with amazing graphics and handling is really good. but just as soon as I finished the guide it was asking for me to spend cash to do the next mission. come on guys don't dive in asking for cash as fast as that. this is why i only gave 2 stars. if the android game was not good it would obtain 1 star. like i said amazing wee android game but u have to spend nearly straight away to obtain any enjoyment out of it. not cool at all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    amazing Aircraft game,why, because it's one of the few on Google play that actually works, beats me how some of them are still here with the countless complaints about them,however though not as amazing as some it does work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I think its very relaxing. Amazing if you wish to take a break from stressful landing apps...and the planes in this small application really do fly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Android game is really good, but here's also u have to pay cash for unlocking ur plane after completion of 5th or 6th level... How disgusting... M going to uninstall it.. Really Unhappy 😣

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    please test to improve the handling as well as the graphics of the android game . I would give five star when it will be done plz introduce more levels thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    cheap game.. after 5th scene asking for money.. wow tgere are so a lot of free android games why these people asking for money... very bad..these android game wont success

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I like this android game very much and I am not agree to Priya Upadhya I am satisfied for this android game and unlocking aeroplanes are format of the android game So according to my thought the android game is awesome that's why I am giving 4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    very poor game....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    nice its a amazing android game but when will more levels will come i am waiting for that

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Bhai best android game of the year and in the globe

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    it's a rip off of a other flight android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Can't go far with this android game unless you pay. Very limited.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    i realy love it so much and its realy simple to drive it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    super in thi we can war also and normal play also

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    this android game is really amazing but the graphics are not to amazing so 😐

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    this is better then 6ix 9ine!,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,!,!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Amazing and Gorgeous, love the graphics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    the android game is wonderfull because the plain is flying very well thats why💙💙💙

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    i have always wanted to create a plane land.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    it was very Interesting to see and to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Best android game I like this android game very much. I give this android game 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    20 mins and done. hardly worth the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    amazing android game very awesome and joy to play

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    More levels please and plains as I've 3 stared every level and have all plains.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Amazing Becoz My 3.5year Son play this android game .......

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I am looking forward to hearing from you still have playback lb

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    was enjoying it then no more levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    very amazing android game very amazing sound on my smartphone set sound bar amazing air time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I like it because I love plains and this android game was awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    I love This gamme because that You can ride around the Town when All levels are completed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    very nice and exciting android game for kids Who like to ride aeroplane

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    very very worst android game and very poor controls and missions

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    wow what a nice android game Ilove it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    psrteej thanks again for all your time and consideration and very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    It gives me more knowledge abt plains as well as piloting it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    love the android game it though me how to fly a plane

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    Add after every level, expected for free game. Fun tho!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    City Airplane Pilot Flight New Game-Plane Games review [App]  2019-7-6 13:43

    This android game is very precious

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    its nice to play parking games.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    best bus simulator there is, you look for one in the shop , you step over all the crappy ones and you end up thinking this is the best I saw so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    not a amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    poor and boaring android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    gooBUS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    uu

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    we

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    😊😊😊😊😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Has only 20 levels, that too they are easy-peasy, has choice of buses based on points, that's it, completed all the levels and buses in 1.5 hours

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    very poor camera don't instal dis like

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Poor game, don't obtain it, waste of time and energy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Good. But no animaetion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Its oh k

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    It is nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Kind of amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Ultimately amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    I'm downloading this android game why are this android game telling waiting for Wi-Fi

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Your want

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    super

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    No issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    So gooood

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Error is that the password is not working correctly but the password is the same as the one I password password password password one I didn't see it on the server so you can delete the old password and delete it from your computer and then you should have it automatically automatically deleted from your computer or your computer automatically or your password is protected from your browser and you will automatically keep it from the browser browser or to the browser automatically or click the icon on the right button and click on the link to download and then click on the link to download the recent ver frome and then click on the link to download the all files from the recent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    I like this android game because they are fun and I think that other people will have fun the android games because you actually have some for small children like my sister she is in 1st grade and I down loaded her a math android game so she can obtain better at math.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    It's a poor game... lots of ads. I can't obtain it this is a android game or any advertise app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Waste game, in the middle it exits, shows add and the only option is to replay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Too a lot of ads after every steps. So annoying. Must uninstall.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Its so poor acially its no even work to play it it so poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Only ads. Install only if u do not have any issue with advertisement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Very nice and I don't know if you are so a lot of things to do with me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    IT IS A LOL GAME. I WANT TO PLAY GAME,NOT TO SEE AD, THIS GAME HAVE NOT A TUTROIAL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    This is nice android game I really enjoyed this android game and I think everyone enjoyed this android game mast hai bhidu

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    It is the best thing I have ever played Amazing 😆.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    OMG SO SO SO MANY ADDS ALSO HAS VIRUSES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    waste android game its not a android game its ads

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Very Poor Don't Download Fake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Waste android game dont waste cash and data

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    so a lot of adds.....oh god ...horible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Too much add Unable to play

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Modern Bus Drive 3D Parking new Games - Bus Games review [App]  2019-6-13 13:37

    Lot of ads .....can't play android game ...worst graphics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Amazon lumps various translations together as merely variations on how the book is delivered. In this case, the Hays translation is the hardcover, while the authors who translated the paperback and Kindle versions aren't specified. So use the tools available (look inside, free sample) to obtain an idea of the language used by the author and see if it's something you'd like to read, or if a various translation suits you better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    I don't know who did the translation for this one but I found it very difficult to follow. This prompted me to look around and I found another translation by George Long (Thoughts of Marcus Aurelius Antoninus 1862). Even though it's not a latest translation, Long's ver is often easier to understand. Compare the translations of the first paragraph for example:This version:Of my grandfather Verus I have learned to be gentle and meek, and to refrain from all anger and passion. From the fame and memory of him that begot me I have learned both shamefastness and manlike behaviour. Of my mother I have learned to be religious, and bountiful; and to forbear, not only to do, but to intend any evil; to content myself with a spare diet, and to fly all such excess as is incidental to amazing wealth. Of my great-grandfather, both to frequent public schools and auditories, and to obtain me amazing and able teachers at home; and that I ought not to think much, if upon such occasions, I were at excessive Long's version:From my grandfather Verus I learned amazing morals and the government of my temper. From the reputation and remembrance of my father, modesty and a manly character. From my mother, piety and beneficence, and abstinence, not only from evil deeds, but even from evil thoughts; and further, simplicity in my method of living, far removed from the habits of the rich. From my great-grandfather, not to have frequented public schools, and to have had amazing teachers at home, and to know that on such things a man should spend liberally.Having said this however, it's still worth comparing both translations which are free on the Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Meditations by Marcus Aurelius“The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts: therefore, guard, accordingly, and take care that you entertain no notions unsuitable to virtue and reasonable nature.”Before I obtain into details, I must say that reading Meditations was one of the hardest, but most rewarding experiences in my own private growth. The book has done so much to ferment my prior beliefs and has helped a lot to broaden my mind and encourage me to be all that I can is very difficult in today’s globe to believe in anything, whether it be divine beings, other people, or even ourselves. It is an epidemic that buries potential and love deep down and leaves anger and frustration to dictate ere is no reason to feel unhappy, unfulfilled, or unappreciated , and Meditations by Marcus Aurelius offers tip to anyone who is looking for self help, self love, and a rational method of directing fore reading this book it is interesting to know the man that wrote it. Marcus Aurelius was the latest of The Five Amazing Emperors of Ancient Rome. He took the title of Augustus after the death of his adopted father, Antoninus Pius, the adopted son of the late Emperor ever Marcus Aurelius had tried to pass on the emperorship, for he prefered a much more easy philosophic lifestyle. He accepted the honor with the sole demand that Lucius Verus, his adopted brother, would share the seat with aring his seat of power is the one move that summarizes Marcus Aurelius’s entire life; the fear of power and the duty embedded in him through his interest in Stoicism, a philosophy that grounds itself on self-restraint, reason, and fate.His work is a reflection of his life, and the words inscribed in Meditations are the product of his own thoughts and his own experiences. While reading this book amazing feelings will start to surface through introspection, and in turn poor feelings will be my daily life quotes from his book swim in my mind when I am met with difficult situations, and they enable me to create smarter more thought out and rational decisions. It is fascinating and rewarding each time I don’t simply act on is book is not for entertainment, not for adventure, and it is definitely not a “light read.” It is a book that will support those who seek help, irritate those who don’t, and fascinate those who want to learn and grow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    If you wonder what practical tip an ancient pagan could possibly have for someone today, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. While I don't agree with everything that Marcus Aurelius wrote, I think his Meditations are mostly very amazing tip that applies to all people in all eras and cultures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Worth taking his recommendations to heart and changing your life to create it fit. An atheist might see it as all of the amazing items from Buddhism without all the woo-woo stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Marcus Aurelius in my view was one of the most deep thinkers among the a lot of Roman Emperors that has ruled. The book includes thoughts by latest happenings or private encounters, mysteries of human life or death, maxims for self improvement, and a wide dozens of other subjects. The structure in which the book is written allows readers to read entries at any point one chooses. The particular book I'm commenting on is the newly published version. This ver is translated by Gregory Hays and relates Marcus's thoughts directly and powerfully. This ver is published by Modern Library. I also own the Penguin Classics edition with the Maxwell Staniforth translation which is very amazing also, but I much prefer the Gregory Hays translation. I only contain all of the minutiae regarding publisher etc. because I repeatedly come across reviews(and amazing ones) but fail to give specifics to inform the reader just which ver is being referred to. Take care all.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    what an amazing look into the past. It shows just how small the human mind and behavior has changed over thousands of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    I bought this translation of Meditation after I read its free PDF version. Gregory Hays has a very readable style - not too lucid, not too verbose. The introduction is well written and rather comprehensive and by itself justifies the purchase. It provides a chronological view of the sociopolitical environment before and during Marcus' reign. It also provides a easy and important background about the common philosophical doctrines of the period. It also outlines a short but concise view of Marcus' life and its challenges, and it ties those life happenings nicely by references to the actual Marcus' Meditation notes. By doing so, Hays brings some organization to what is otherwise a collection of disparate and disorganized soul searching notes by Marcus is is not a book of Philosophy. The Stoicism concepts were around for about 450 years before Marcus's time and well documented by professional philosophers before Marcus. What makes this book so special and interesting to read is the fact that it was written by an emperor with absolute God-like powers. Like an athlete who goes through everyday exercise regiments to hold his body and muscles in shape, the Mediation book is a collection of everyday notes from Marcus to himself trying to hold his faculties in shape and under control despite constant everyday pressures from the court, senate, family, betraying officers, dying wife, and periodic attacks and bloody wars with Barbarians from north and Parthians from east.He managed to hold his sanity through hard times, especially in the latest decade of his life, by continuous mental exercises in logic, ethics and by keeping in harmony with the force of nature - the three principles he believed in. He knew that absolute power could corrupt absolutely and for a man in his position the hurt would be irreversible. His philosophies are not unlike another historic figure who was in a related God-like position as the emperor of Persia about 6 centuries before him, Cyrus the Great. The Cyrus Cylinder and the Mediation notes are reminders of how amazing men like Cyrus the Amazing and Marcus Aurelius managed to be larger than life by not committing the mistakes that some other leaders who were in related positions before and after them is should be a needed reading for any leader who is in a strong political or financial position and can potentially commit judgment errors the could lead to financial or political disasters. We have seen a few of those judgment errors and their disastrous consequences in latest ere are references on the internet that present how the teachings of these amazing historical figures influenced some US presidents and how these thoughts transformed into concept such as our constitution's "checks and balances" that seeks to eliminate "absolute power" from any one person or institution of the government.I highly recommend this translation of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Very interesting and, at times, inspirational reading. if all of us were as introspective as MA the globe would be a better place.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Meditations: A New Translation (Modern Library) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    I cannot speak to other versions of this unbelievable book, but I can say that this ver is very simple to read and follow. You can read one chapter at a time, one page at a time, or one bullet point at a time. And as for the book itself: it is absolutely timeless. Centuries later it is still as relevant as the day Marcus Aurelius started to create these private notes. From the very first page I determined that this is the best book I have ever read. I am slowly making my method through it but I am enjoying every bit of it, trying to pick up on all the wisdom this amazing man left behind. I recommend it to anyone and everyone. This book is a must-have.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter