Read 6502 assembly language programming reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all 6502 assembly language programming reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Z80 Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Amazing old-days book!I like the graphical method in whioch it explains you the dynamcis of data moving between the different registers.I foudn very useful to udenrstands today's IT, starting from yesterday's, when the 8 registers would be more immediate to udnerstand and let the reader to grab the primary concepts of finitely worth reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Z80 Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Assembly and old CPU architectures are a hobby of mine and this book is a excellent companion for my Z80 machines. While there are other books online and in print form, this one is my favorite as it both walks the reader through the core concepts in Assembly language, it's advantages and disadvantages, then it covers each function in detail making it useful as a tutorial as well as reference manual. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Z80 Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    A classic! This and a disassembly listing taught me assembly language programming. This clear, understandable writing style seems to have gone out of common use and I miss it.

    0  


    Add your opinion on 6502 assembly language programming or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Z80 Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    One of the classic Z80 programming texts. When I was writing for the Z80 30 years ago, I used to borrow this from the public library all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    68000 Family Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-2 16:50

    Amazing book, a small dry though. Does teach whats necessary, at least the concept. Quite a bit outdated, but once again a amazing stepping stone for learning. Do not use the compiler given, instead use Easy68K. Download it online, its got slightly various syntax, but most will not message it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    68000 Family Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-2 16:50

    This book was exactly what I had wanted and hoped for. Included the floppy with the book as it was supposed to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    68000 Family Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-2 16:50

    Clements demonstrates that the 68000 assembler language is a very logical and clean one. With none of that segmented memory nonsense of the 1980s Intel architecture. Having a flat address zone makes your coding far simpler. Perhaps you might not appreciate this from a reading of Clements, if you have never had any experience with the other chip set. But those who have will certainly thank this review is written in 2005, the 68000 family is still well. It has a massive presence in embedded microcontrollers and true time systems, for example. So if your company wants you to code in the 68000, the book is still germane.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    68000 Family Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-2 16:50

    this book came in beautiful crappy condition, binding is very weak and feels like the book is about to fall apart. not a very honest seller. FIRST BAD EXPERIENCE ON AMAZON, will never from this seller again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    68000 Family Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-2 16:50

    Like a lot of of you looking at this book, I was needed to take an assembly language course for my degree. For those of you fresh to assembly language, it is a horribly frustrating method to write easy programs. This book does a mediocre job at introducing the language, with emphasis on theory rather than implementation. If you're going to actually write assembly language programs, you'll definitely need more support than this book offers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I am an app programmer [HLL] with 35 + years experience on IBM plafforms, but have no knowledge of BAL or Assembler. I was unable to obtain into this book. I'm sure programmers with some assembler background would understand this book, but Not for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Nice primary material about Assembler in this book. I referenced this book several times during work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    There book has a amazing content but there are several errors in formatting , turning difficult for a novice to learn with this book.I recommend this book for someone with experience in Assembler for X86 or MIPS .Other problem, IBM architecture has some oddities and is not a amazing begin for any student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Delivered on time, perfect pack and price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I bought this book with the intention of accomplishing one thing...come up to speed on all the fresh instructions and changes similar to 64 bit. Well, this book is very poorly written did not support me much. Although it's a fairly fresh edition (2011 - reason why I bought it in the first place) compared to my old 1986 book, the writer has a hard time explaining even the basics of the language. His writing style is convoluted and unclear and the examples are poorly chosen. I did a find and this seems to be one of the only fresh editions of Assembly language for the mainframe. Any one out there with amazing knowledge of the language could create a lot of publishing a book covering this subject. After all, the mainframe business is still alive and well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Extremely useful! Highly job relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Overall I'd give this book positive ratings -- at least so far as the general content is concerned. Very few mainstream books about IBM mainframe architecture and assembly language are being written these days . A lot of of the author's explanations in plain language, particularly of recently-added IBM hardware features, are no doubt not available anywhere else, except hidden in dark corners of arcane IBM technical publicationsBravo to the author for that!My basic gripes with this book concern 1) very not good proofreading/editing and 2) very not good physical construction.=> 1. Just as an example, but a glaring one, the copyright page tells us that "Windows if [ sic] a trademark of Microsoft Corporation." Hey, this is at least the third edition of the book, if the copyright dates are to be believed (2011, 2013, 2014). Do you think someone just might have noticed and fixed that typo by now?=> 2. The book is literally falling apart on me! When one page in the middle of the book suddenly came loose and fell out, I lovingly glued it back in, hoping there would be no more of the same. But a week or two later it's the same story with yet another page. How much time do I have to restore a book, page by page, that I purchased only a month or two ago, and have treated --as I do all my books-- with amazing care and respect (such that nothing *I* have done could be causing it to unravel on me).I would not normally keep it versus this book, or any book, that rather than being published by Addison-Wesley, or O'reilly, or McGraw-Hill, or one of the other huge names in computer book publishing, its publisher is Threadsafe Publishing and Railway Maintenance Co. of Hyannis, Nebraska. But when the *quality* suffers greatly on that account, I would certainly keep that versus the book!Is the name "Threadsafe Publishing and Railway Maintenance Co." some kind of a joke? Well, they should stick to what they know best. (Laying track, perhaps? Hey, you won't search *me* riding on any of their rail lines!) But leave book production to the stead of "Threadsafe Publishing...", the company would be more aptly named "Threadbare Publishing".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Lo uso como consulta en mi trabajo al programar en este lenguaje. Recomendable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Having started my career in programming in the early 1960's -- machine language, in the case of IBM / 360 / 370 and following mainframes were my "teething rings". The current book would have been improved only by including more on the user defined macro instructions which almost all programmers use to manage the allocation of SAVE AREA's and BASE REGISTERS. Other than that, the book is up-to-date including the expanded addressing of the newer machines -- a neat trick.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic IBM Mainframe Assembly Language Programming []  2020-2-1 12:16

    This a well-written introduction to IBM z/Architecture assembly language - aimed probably at Freshmen CS students. Very amazing for someone just getting started. It lacks info of more advanced books - however it is easily understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen of Assembly Language: Knowledge (Scott Foresman Assembly Language Programming Series) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen of Assembly Language: Knowledge (Scott Foresman Assembly Language Programming Series) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Zen of Assembler. My far away goal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen of Assembly Language: Knowledge (Scott Foresman Assembly Language Programming Series) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    assembly language is not something someone wants to begin out with, but this will help.even if you program in c++ or something else this will give you a better understanding of your code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen of Assembly Language: Knowledge (Scott Foresman Assembly Language Programming Series) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book was recommended to me by a mate who acknowledged it was beautiful dated but claimed it was the best tutorial to learning the "right way" of approaching and solving hard assembly optimization problems. Unfortunately, I found the book completely useless, as it focuses on the 8088 assembly and CPU optimization quirks exclusively, and that means that all the issue solving techniques in it revolve around optimizing for the 8088's 8-bit data bus and shallow prefetch queue, which is the major bottleneck of that CPU. None of the techniques and issue solving approaches are applicable to modern CPUs which have deep memory hierarchies, instruction reordering, pipelining, parallelism, etc. This book is just a historical artifact at best and a waste of time and money. (Note that it's also officially and legally available online for if you wish to check for yourself.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    This is quite the hefty tome, but the included listings alone are worth the of admission. The book is extremely thorough in fully exploring the 816 architecture, instruction set, processor logic, addressing modes, etc. It's also a complete primer for 65-2 and 65C02 programming as well, if that's what you're attempting to do. It meets the needs of a design and/or engineer very nicely indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    This book should have focused on one processor only. Switching from one processor to the next always left me wondering whether they were still talking about one processor or all or two. Who knows. This book will not teach you how to code the 6502 very well. May be useful for those interested in the architecture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I wore this book out thoroughly when I programmed for my Apple IIgs and Apple IIc. It has all of the codes for the entire series (including 6502, 65802, 65816) and explains which is covered by describes each op-code in detail, and in order. It makes an perfect reference, and should be on every 65x programmer's shelf. It will obtain a lot of use...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    cpu

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    The content is great. The print quality is substandard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the 65816: Including the 6502, 65C02, and 65802 []  2020-2-1 12:16

    A surprisingly terrific text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book is the best assembly language book I've ever read. It covers both hardware and software. Just a heads up, this book is not about writing programs completely in assembly language, but rather how to call assembly language functions from C++ programs using Visual Studio. Wonderful book though, because as the author says, if you wish to write programs completely in assembly, you'll have to master these subjects first, and he explains them very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Perfect x86 book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This has got to be one of the least amazing decisions I've created in a long time. I bought the Kindle ver and am running it in my Kindle for PC. It may have looked better in print, but the Kindle ver is about 99% useless. Considering that the cost is WAY out of line with other Kindle books just makes the decision even more r starters, in the Kindle version, the code examples are loaded with white space, leaving only four to five actual lines of code per r next, it's almost exclusively code written in C, with lines of ASM embedded in it.But the most egregious flaw, for me, is that the author never once shows an example of actually assembling and testing the st of us trying to learn a fresh programming language wish to be able to actually assemble and try the code as we go. This book givesus nothing to do that.I'm guessing that this book was written as a textbook, to be used with the tools available in an academic or corporate setting. I suppose it might be adequate for that purpose, but it sucks rocks for the rest of us.Just so we're clear, I've been writing assembly language since 1960, so I'm not ignorant of the topic. I just need to learn how to write, ASSEMBLE, and TEST code for the x86, This book gave me no support at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: Covers x86 64-bit, AVX, AVX2, and AVX-512 []  2020-5-19 18:30

    Amazing info on the the nuts and bolts of the current CPU structure. The book provides amazing references to enabling extremely concise, tight coding to me high performance needs in programming on Metal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Before you buy: Create sure you wish to learn x86 Assembly for Windows using MASM.I found this book to be very dry(yes programming books can be engaging) which makes for a tough read. Also, this is definitely not a book for beginners that want to learn x86/x64 Assembly is books target audience is engineers that haven't programmed in Assembly since they were getting their BS in Computer Science but are working on an app for Windows and need to add some assembly to their 's also a decent book if you're a current Computer Science undergrad that has completed intro to data structures. I say that because Assembly with the run-time stack which you typically gain experience with in the first semester of data structures.I also recommend having completed an intro class to Assembly/Computer Organization and Design. I say that because x86 in Windows uses two stack pointers. If you don't know what that means then this book is not for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book is absolutely brilliant - a systematic coverage of all main families of the x86 instruction set, from the core instructions to the recent AVX. Unlike in some other programming books, all code sample projects are current, and everything I have tried worked out of the box. My only suggestion is to prepare a ver of this book that works on Linux. This book is Windows-only, with the Intel syntax of the assembly, because the MASM is used throughout. On Linux, NASM should be able to use the same Intel syntax but the calling conventions are different. I am planning to test to convert some of the samples from this book to work on Linux using the tip from Agner Fog's manuals. With the AVX512 now available in mainstream processors, and most (all?) high level languages being unable to exploit it, the assembly once again becomes the only route to utilizing the processor resources to the max.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Well written and covers a wide range of instructions. Priveleged ones are not covered for obvious reasons. Not one of those disappointing outdated pre-AVX duds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I inadvertently ordered this book by mistake. However, after thoroughly examining it, I found it to be one of the best book which I have ever purchased… and I own many, a lot of books covering programming, statistics, and advanced mathematics. This book is targeted for the intermediate-to-advanced programmer. The author adequately presents the integration of assembly code with C/C++ programs utilizing assembly operations involving mmx, sse, avx technologies (32 & 64bit).This book contains a plethora of detailed examples. I compiled and linked about ~ 15 examples… I used the command-line compilers which are included in the Community ver of Visual Studio 2017 (Microsoft’s 2017 cl.exe; MASM + Linker: ml.exe, ml64.exe). All 15 examples compiled and linked without any errors. Further, all of the source code can be freely downloaded from Apress (a div. of Springer). In addition, this book contains a certificate which allows you the option to ($5.00 - $10.00) the entire pdf ver along with two other associated electronic versions (MOBI, ePUB).Any serious programmer should definitely this book. This book is just easy superb.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Nice overview of assembly language. The book is windows-centric and assumes Visual Studio so if you have a various platform, you need to do some work on your own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I was looking for a publication that provided the right amount of preliminary background on modern Intel 80x86 microprocessors. The first two chapters struck the right balance. Moreover, I required some amazing examples of how to set up data for and properly make SIMD (SSE) and AVX routines. Again, the author struck the right balance. I found this book provided a amazing mix of sample programs that demonstrated how to call inline assembly routines from C/C++ functions. Especially on target were the numerous, well laid out tables throughout the entire book. The was right and all the 32- and 64-bit subjects were right on the tag for me. Missing of course were sections on AVX2 (512-bit). Also, all the Appendices were missing in my book. I don't know if this was a misprint or what. The author referred to Appendix C several times in different chapters, but there were no Appendixes. Overall, I recommend this book for both novice and experienced assembly programmers. It includes amazing reference material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: Covers x86 64-bit, AVX, AVX2, and AVX-512 []  2020-5-19 18:30

    This is an excellent, well written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern X86 Assembly Language Programming: 32-bit, 64-bit, SSE, and AVX []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Integrates C with assembly in the examples. Really amazing coverage and explanations compared with a lot of other assembly languages texts I've read. I was able to run them in early and more latest versions of MS Studio without a problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    Although this book is mostly ok, there are two main problems: 1) it makes mistakes critical to the understanding of the material, 2) it is not good for reference. An example of a critical mistake is when he writes "sall" (shift arithmetic left) in example code, and then refers to it as "call" (call a function) in the following text. I found around 5 such errors in the first read...some errors were so poor that they did not create _any_ condly, the tables of instructions are scattered and incomplete. Some instructions are only mentioned in the paragraph text and often have incomplete listings of modifiers and which data they operate on. It is also impossible to search _anything_ in the index. Most of the instructions are completely missing from the index and so are other necessary things like assembler projection: you will read this one time (or maybe twice) and then obtain a better reference book to sit on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    This book should not carry the word Professional in the title - it is primary - very primary at best. This book is all about the Intel architecture - e.g. Intel processors. The target audience for this book - as stated in the introduction - is C/C++ programmers interested in converting their (Linux) C/C++ programs to assembly language. Consider this book if you know nothing of assembly language and you wish to play around with it in a Linux on Intel hardware environment. Do not this book if you are interested in writing anything more advanced than easy hello globe true mode apps. More specifically - do not this book if your are interested in writing IA-32 protected mode code - none of those things are covered in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    Amazing book but needs some work to be great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    I have been searching for a resource to help me in learning assembly language for a long time. I purchased a couple books but they only focus on linux in a mininmal way. Linux is the basic focus of this book. I have found this book the best assembly book for a linux user to learn assembly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    I found the text in this book to be well written and the concepts explained well for a beginner in assembly issue with this book is the ridiculous amount of errors in the code, most of which are not in the errata page on the web website (including the one that I submitted myself before realizing that the whole book was riddled with errors.) While going through the book, I spent hours trying to figure out why the programs weren't working until finally finding the errors in the code. The errors are replicated both in the book, and in the downloadable code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    Amazing book and very comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    There is a section in content where the printing material is applied too much and resulted in 2 pages fused together and torn when flipping them apart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    So, first, background so people know how I fit in. I'm a finance guy who has a CS background. Took Assembly a while ago...and promptly forgot. Learned programming on Pascal, but have since done a small with C, VB, and Python. It's not my day job...not by a long shot...but I have written some very elaborate and inventive solutions using code that helps me and others in my day job. I wanted to learn (or re-learn) some Assembly which could prove helpful in R/E and in general learning about exploits and the like. It may support in my career if I wish to move into a role managing technical teams, or it may not (oddly enough, all the programmers I work with respect me as a "suit" that knows what they do). At the end of the day, it's really about playing the RPG of life...growing , this book would be elementary if I were an engineer writing code all day...but I am not. I search this book to be challenging...but for someone like me it works. My true objective is to be able to read and understand Assembly...not really to use it or write it. I think this book fits the bill...but it even may be more detailed than I need. To just about anyone else in my profession...it would be too hardcore to even start to understand, but I've got a lot of the fundamentals down as I can read and understand code I encounter, and can even (ineffectively) write if my life depended on it.I'm loving the book so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    The reason why I bought this book was because I have loved some of the books published by Wrox for years and I thought that I could use this book to learn the essentials of Assembly Language and what I can do with it. As with all books from all publishers, there will always be some "hits" and "misses". Unfortunately, for Wrox (and for me), this is one of the "misses" for me.Let me begin off with the title; this is NOT worthy of the "Professional" moniker of Wrox's series. I have read some books of Wrox which did deserve the moniker, and the content and the essentials were in the right places. This book in particular is somewhat of a "Beginning Assembly Language with Less Significant Information" moniker, to be more are a couple of examples from the book that I absolutely abhor: A. Lack of explanation in the right places, but supposedly is explained elsewhere. In page 77, in the "The Sample Program" section, the author has the reader's attention, in what will hopefully be some code with more than sufficient explanation. I was extremely disappointed when I read this right after the latest line of code (my emphasis in CAPS included): "This program uses quite a few various assembly language instructions. FOR NOW, DON'T WORRY TOO MUCH ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE; THAT WILL BE DESCRIBED IN DETAIL IN SUBSEQUENT CHAPTERS. FOR NOW, CONCENTRATE ON HOW THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE PLACED IN THE PROGRAM, THE FLOW OF HOW THEY OPERATE, AND HOW THE SOURCE CODE FILE IS CONVERTED INTO AN EXECUTABLE PROGRAM FILE." I was flabbergasted. Why would the author place in so much non-essential code in a demo program when he will simply tell us to skip the "few various assembly language instructions"? First of all, if the author wanted to demonstrate a easy program where he wants us to focus on "how the instructions are placed in the program, the flow of how they operate, and how the source code file is converted into an executable program file", then a classic "Hello, world" example where the text "Hello world" is printed on the terminal screen would have been more than sufficient for this program. I did not understand how the flow of how the program operated until I explicitly researched it on the internet. I did NOT learn the flow of the program from this book. This only led to more questions than answers, e.g. "Why did he place that much numbers of the letter 'x' in the ascii variable"?, "Why did he call the cpuid program like that? Isn't there a call keyword needed?", "Where did that 42 value come from, and why is he moving it to the EDX register? Why not the ECX register or any other registers? Why did it have to be the EDX register? Why did he use 42 as the value? Did he just magically think of a random number and decided on 42 and place it in the register?" Another example can be found in page 103. It is more of the same thing. Here's an excerpt after some sample code which supposedly demonstrates how to use indexed memory locations: "Don't worry too much about the auxiliary code used in this example. All of these instructions are covered in later chapters. Concentrate on how the program manipulates the data array defined." First of all, what, for the author, is considered 'auxiliary' code? If these are going to be covered in later chapters, please specify where so we can fold the page, look them up and go back to the topic. Like the previous example, this demo program leaves more questions than answers, e.g. "What is 'nop'? What is its use? Why is it there?" "What is 'cmpl'? Does it stand for 'complain'? Because that is exactly what I am doing." "What is jne loop?" B. No lack of explanation to more trivial contents Turn to page 24 of the book and you will learn about the Retirement Unit and Execution Unit. Turn to the next page and you learn about Low-latency Integer Execution unit and Complex-integer execution unit. Flip through the pages and you can see definitions of flags and registers, but no explanation when, how or why use them; there isn't even a note on whether or not we are going to use them. Instead, the reader is given classic textbook "An elevator is something that elevates" definitions - a list of terms which are described, but nothing more. Definitions are OK, but when are we going to use all of these? If we're not going to use it in code or if it is not going to serve a purpose later on in the book (which should be stated if that were the case, by the way), why even bother bringing it up? It's like reading a book on the essentials of C and a whole chapter is dedicated to the history of the B programming language, an almost-extinct programming language which would be superseded by C, which is entirely beside the point of learning the essentials of C. The worst part of this is that it's not just one chapter dedicated to this - as you read along, you will search trivial info such as Here are my suggestions to improve this book. First, remove "Professional" in the title. It is NOT professional. Go with "Beginning" because it suits it more. Another suggestion is to create do without the trivial information, and focus on explaining anything and everything essential in Assembly Language. When I learn a language, I wish all explanations about a demo program's code within 2 pages, and the reasoning for choosing the values and registers. The third and my final suggestion is to comment on EVERY LINE OF CODE. I'm serious. This is assembly language, the globe of mnemonics and concatenated words, not C or some other high level language, where keywords which can be easily understood by humans are used. There are more questions than answers as you test to follow along the code of this book. If you wish to learn Assembly Language, look for another book elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Professional Assembly Language []  2020-2-2 16:49

    Enough said? This is THE BOOK. Obtain it. Enjoy! It's unbelievable and a requirement for anyone that's mastering the art of programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ARM Cortex-M3 & Cortex-M4 Assembly Language Programming: The Beginners Guide to ARM Cortex-M3 and Cortex-M4 Processors []  2019-12-24 19:55

    This is useless crap! Do not this book. Save your money. Whoever is up voting this is either a mate of the author or someone that will profit!They created the cover look like a famous book from Newnes publishing that is about the same subject. As a matter of fact - all the books from 'UPSKILL LEARNING' follow this same pattern. They are hoping that someone will spend their accidentally (like I did) thinking they were buying another about the book... Out of the 94 pages there are 47 pages listing the mnemonic and two or three words of text with lots of empty zone between each item! Very useless. At the end you obtain a few pages of the 94 pages their other books. Wow... the nerve they have!The only thing you will learn from the UPSKILL LEARNING books is that you are being ripped off! DO NOT BUY BOOKS FROM THEM!The sellers and authors of this should be ashamed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ARM Cortex-M3 & Cortex-M4 Assembly Language Programming: The Beginners Guide to ARM Cortex-M3 and Cortex-M4 Processors []  2019-12-24 19:55

    quote from book"Write complete Assembly based on the ARM Cortex-M Architecture"rubbish, this is just another example of a chop and pasted crappy nt waste your money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    A well written and thorough introduction to the rust programming language. Thoroughly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    Programming Language Pragmatics seems to be held in fairly high regard among those in computer science. Though I can't fathom why and I struggle to understand who the book is for. This text seems to assume prior knowledge in automata theory, compiler design, and formal language theory which, if you are using this book for an undergraduate programming languages class, is not very likely. Programming Language Pragmatics includes walls of text that, despite being incredibly dense, don't communicate concepts effectively. It has some interesting insights into the philosophies and design decisions behind programming languages but it is marred by not good organization and lack of clarity.If this is a needed text, I'd wait to search out if your teacher actually assigns homework out of it before buying this monstrosity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    Well written text. Amazing for getting you to understand the process of how programming languages are designed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Like thousands of other programmers out there, I learnt Rust by reading and working out the code in the online edition of "The Rust Programming Language". It is simply the best introduction to the language out there, and I am very satisfied to see it being released in print form! If you want to learn one of the most exciting programming languages out there, grab the book and begin coding!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    TRPL is hands down the best introductory text I have ever read (for any language). This book is a reason to learn Rust in and of itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    Phenomenal book, not good binding. Huge blobs of glue for the binding create it so the pages cant be opened all the way, and the center text is obscured. Also having pages fall halfway out from just turning them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    Kindle ver is complete [email protected]#$%!&'s just a pile of text with absolutely no formatting like the original book. There are no page numbers, which renders it useless as a college book. In programming spacing and tabs are important, but the kindle ver sorta makes up its own spacing for no apparent reason. I can't follow most code examples because they obtain auto-formatted like it's a novel. I have used kindle textbooks before that are useable, this one is not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This book is a gem! Rarely does a programmer have access to a technical book that is created with such care and insight. Rust is a language that gives a programmer amazing power with amazing responsibility. This book will support you harness that power and take your development to another level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Read the online version. Such a amazing introductory text!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    This book explains how high level programming languages are designed to enable a computer programmer to implement solutions that are efficient and scalable. It presents the programming constructs that are independent of the programming language. Once the reader has mastered the constructs presented by this book they will be able to learn any fresh programming language quickly. This book was part of the curriculum of my Computer Engineering Degree and after working in the industry for a lot of years I completely understand why. It has given me the ability learn and understand fresh languages beyond the language syntax. Once you learn the how and why of a computer language you will realize that the rest is just syntax.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    Nice organization and break down of topics. Perfect reviews at end of each chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This book is an example of how programming books should be!If you are unaware, the content of this book is available online as a part of the perfect documentation similar to the Rust Programming is, combined with the Rust By Example create for a rock solid introduction to the Rust lang for all levels of expertise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    I have used the online ver of the first edition to support me learn rust. It is written in a logical order, but helped me quite a bit despite my using it mostly as a reference, just playing with the compiler and referring to the book when stumped. Given that Rust has plenty of concepts I was not comfortable with at the time, its surprising how much this book helped, despite my casual time investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Amazing for learning the language and as a reference for when you obtain more comfortable with Rust. Can't recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    A amazing reference book. But the binding sucks and the bottom of certain pages is chop off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    About as thorough a survey of programming languages and their design challenges/decisions as I could imagine. However, conspicuously omits some of the newer languages from much of its discussion, so -1 star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Taking on "The C Programming Language" in Rust form is a tall order. This book beautiful much achieves that goal. All the basics and most of the info are there: you can definitely learn Rust given this book and a compiler. Amazing balance between theory and examples, amazing instruction on some of the important esoterica. Solid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rust Programming Language [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Been keeping up with TRPL for years online, and stoked it's released in paper format. It's been a amazing help, and recommend it as the go-to tutorial to learn Rust!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    amazing book if you are taking courses on programming language and compilers courses. I bought this book for my course because it was recommended by my Professor, but I will be keeping it even after the completion of the course. I got the ebook version. Too good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Language Pragmatics []  2020-1-23 2:22

    If you're a language nerd you'll love this book. A++ plot and amazing hero development.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    This book has a lot of useful info on low level stuff. There are chapters on Disks, Video and Bios/dos me of the material belong in a history book but I found the book very useful in my research on operating systems.If you don't mind learning 16 bit assembly language, you should consider this book. However it helps if you know a bit of assemly language before you attempt to read this book.A amazing introduction is "Assembly Langauge Step by Step" (if you dont mind authors who hold telling boring stories in between the material).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    this is a amazing book.........a must for anyone wishing to learn assembly.......i would suggest that you read Peter Nortans Assembly Language Programming book before this one.........i did that and everything really fit together nicely.....it only took me one month to read both books.....make my own hex editor.......an addictive game.......and a lot of a lot of a lot of useful util's and apps.......i am now entering the exciting realm of 3d android games programing with ease.....and believe me i required assembly......i required and still need this book.......excellent reference............

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    one of the best ASM books out there. However, if you have never programmed in Pascal/C/Cobol you will search some of the subjects difficult because it uses examples from these languages to present you. But still, I learned ASM in about 2 months from this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Very amazing book and not too expensive to rent. It explains most things in assembly clearly and the author’s files helped make programs. Amazing book if your class requires it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Had to it for class. As a college textbook it is okay, but I don't expect to use 32-bit MASM much if at all in the true world. It does give a amazing overview of assembly concepts though. Also the reliance on Irvine libraries means there is even less to learn from this book.I expect this book to be replaced by a mostly 64-bit ASM book soon in most classrooms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    One of the best books on 16-bit assembly I own. Tackles all of the necessary point up on Chapter 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I was needed by my university to take a class on assembly programming, and this was the book for the course. Overall, the book does a amazing job explaining concepts to beginners, though in some parts it can obtain a bit tedious. Has examples of app all throughout, as well as practice issues for each section and chapter. Only complaint is that some chapters got *very* focused on using the book's library (that wouldn't be used in practice), and didn't really talk about "best practices" for assembly language programming.Overall though, I would recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ARM 64-Bit Assembly Language []  2020-1-11 18:37

    I would like to thank the authors for writing this book. There are very few resources available for writing 64-bit ARM assembly language programs. This is a very amazing introduction to the topic. Please note that they give some discussion in later chapters to the Raspberry Pi, but the default operating system that is available for the Raspberry Pi is 32-bit Raspbian (I use 64-bit Ubuntu Friend on my Raspberry Pi 4 and it works fine.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This was a pleasant walk through the fundamentals of Assembly programming. I only [email protected]#$%! handled more than just MASM, but if I wanted that, I would have bought another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    The prof is amazing in explaing how assembly language works

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    The book includes some amazing information, unfortunately most of it's hidden in the lightly documented examples at the end of each e design of the book is great, each chapter is divided into sections: Fundamental Knowledge, Tools, Library, Summary. This format is unbelievable and looks promising, but the presentation fails to deliver. I can't say that I found nothing useful in each section, but I can say that the info I found in the entire book was not worth the I for e code at the end of each chapter lets you know that the people who wrote it know a lot about PC assembler, I just want they'd have shared more of it with me in the preceeding chapter.If I were re-writing this book, I would leave the format the same, but I would take smaller logical steps while explaining fundamentals in the Fundamental Knowledge sections, and place more example programs (lots of example programs) in the Library section and document, document, document, the example r a programmer, the index is almost worthless, for example: it doesn't have an entry for all of the assembler keywords. The book is over 900 pages long; the index is 12 pages long and is obviously not indexed by content, but by occurence. When you do search a topic you're looking for in the index, you hardly ever obtain what you we're expecting when you turn to the referenced page.If you're a fresh to programming, this book is in no method for you.If you already know a higher level language, then you will benefit somewhat from the book, but if you're learning assembler because you have to do some low level system programming, this book won't support much. I'd recommend getting your introduction to assembler with Tom Swan's book, Mastering Turbo Assembler and then filling out your specific needs with one of the system's programming books available for your platform.I read a lot of technical books, and I search that frequently a book will cover the theory of a topic thoroughly, but skimp on true globe examples and applications of the knowldege. Some other books are exactly the opposite. They go into detailed examples of specific applications of the technology, but fail to cover the fundamental locations well or at all. With the former type of book, you walk away with the knowledge of how things theoretically work, but your practical skills are none the richer. With the latter type of book so you may end up being an expert at installing Windows NT, but you still can't identify the principal functions of an operating system. Both types of books have their place, and if you stay in the Computer field long enough you'll probably end up needing both types of books for at least one or two areas. This book trys to cover both areas, but sadly ends up failing to adequately cover either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    If you know some high level language (concepts, structure, procedures, functions) and have a basis in assembler (know what mov means) Then this book can be of value. Has a lot of amazing examples for each topic covered. Covers a topic that I don't see covered much in alot of the assembler books I have read, writing macros (like writing a function in a high level language, sort of). I would recommend these books in order: ASSEMBLY LANGUAGE STEP BY STEP, REVOLUTIONARY GUIDE TO ASSEMBLY LANGUAGE, MASTER CLASS-ASSEMBLY LANGUAGE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    I got this book when I was twelve or thirteen and I only knew how to code BASIC at the time... I must admit that at first it was a bit overwhelming; however, after reading this book I must say I had become a competent assembly language programmer. This book is superb, PACKED with info, and amazing for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    this was a used book. the owner spoiled the book for scratched almost all pages with marker pen. If I know beforehand i would not have bought the book, for sure. I completely lost my money. I need to the same book again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Assembly language is a tough topic, and requires thinking in various ways than you might be used to (doing math in binary and hexidecimal, and converting between these and decimal). You need to work with registers and memory in very low level ways. This book doesn't create the subject fun or easy, but it does create it very clear and learnable. The book is arranged in a logical progression of topics, and each chapter breaks the subjects down in very clear and understandable ways. The material is formatted nicely for going back and referencing material. The end of chapter questions and exercises are very helpful and useful.Writing assembly language? I give one star. But considering it is a important evil of a university computer science program, I accept it. The book gets 5 stars for making it tolerable. Oh - and doing math in binary and hexidecimal? I give that 5 stars! When you first see it, it looks like learning Chinese. But once you understand it, it's very logical and interesting. And then when you explain how it works to a non-techie friend, you sound like you're visiting here from outer space!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Includes a lot of info for assembly language programming. Just what l was looking for. Also included an assembler. My kind of stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    If I had to rate this book in 2 words it would simply be "BUY NOW!" This book teachers everything that you need to be an intermediate programmer (unfortuanately the interrupts are only for DOS not linux or unix or mac or so on) but it is a amazing book. Comes with complete source code but no compiler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I used this instead of the recent edition in my assembly language class. It is almost the same, minus one chapter about items my class didn't cover anyway. Price was reasonable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Assembly Language for X86 Processors []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I purchased this as a textbook for a college course. As I was already familiar with x86 assembly, I found the book simple to follow. The author's website, while primitive, is a nice companion to the book. The fact that you can use the Microsoft tools with his examples is a huge plus. I would have given four stars, but for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolutionary Guide to Assembly Language []  2020-2-1 12:16

    Unbelievable assembly language book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    I cannot explain how necessary this book is to any programmer, allow alone a programmer wanting to learn C. This is one of the first books you should read, when starting any language derived from C as all are nearly syntactically identical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    Awesome book to learn C. It lives up to its reputation. The exercises are amazing. I was skeptical since it was such an old book, but a lot of C programs still use this ver of C anyway. Look no further than this book to learn C quickly and well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    This book is certainly not for beginners, though not a requirements but at least the reader should have a background on Data Structure in to easily follow most of the examples. The book was also structured to re-use the functions built from previous chapters like getline, atof, strcmp, alloc, etc.., though some of these functions have an equivalent in C's standard library, the authors choose to re-use it. If you attention to the info on this book, you will pick-up the most necessary zone of C that will save you from scratching your head while debugging your code like side effects of infix/postfix increments, precedence of statement evaluation etc.. The authors also discussed some of the best practices in to optimize the use of language such as efficient manipulation of pointers, style on delaring variables and initializations. Some of the coding style of this book was also used by coding guidelines found in official www service of linux kernel. This book is commendable not only because it was written by the Kernihan and the creator of the language itself(Richie) but how the book was organized and well explained. This is a little book with huge information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    This is THE text on C, it's like the Bible for C programming.I found it to be a amazing base to ALL other languages I went on to learn - C is like the "father language of the programming world" as a lot of of the pros will tell can begin with this book from absolutely nowhere in C programming, in fact, I think it's better if you do as I felt like I had to "un-learn" a lot of poor finitely recommended for everyone by me as it teaches the language to whoever wants to learn C and gives a amazing base to expand from for anyone who wants to learn other programming languages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    As a student learning C for the first time, this book and the accompanying respond book are decent books and I would recommend t despite this, I believe there are alternative books which would have created the learning experience at first much easier.If you have zero experience with programming or C in general, C Programming Absolute Beginner's Tutorial by Greg Perry and Dean Miller would be the best put to start. It does not obtain any simpler than this and the book is written with this in mind.Head First C by David Griffiths is another recommendation which is beginner friendly. Plenty of visual representations with a sense of humor to hold you interested. Straight forward and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C Programming Language, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:2

    I'm not fresh to programming; in fact I've been doing it professionally for the past decade. Although I've played around in quite a few various languages, most of my work over the latest 6 years has been in .NET (C# mainly). I have always had an interest in C because I love its simplicity. Also, it's a language which brings one closer to the machine, stripping away a lot of of the abstractions that higher level languages provide. Higher level languages (such as Java, C#, Python, etc.) are heavy and strong with HUGE frameworks, but I'm attracted to easy is book is a feisty small devil! I had heard of this book before diving in (it is a classic), but its size and table of contents lead me to believe I would breeze right through it. Wrong! Picking up the syntax wasn't too difficult and I have a fairly amazing handle on more advanced concepts like pointers already, but this book is absolutely packed with exercises and a lot of of them are quite challenging!Here's one:"Write a program to check a C program for syntax errors like unbalanced parenthesis, brackets and braces. Don't forget about quotes, both single and double, escape sequences, and comments."This is a chapter 1 exercise! Chapter 1 is just a guide introduction chapter and this is one 1 of 24 exercises in this chapter! No wonder it takes people years to work through this little book. I'm only about halfway through as I write this is book is the excellent blend of reference material, practical knowledge and challenging exercises. There is absolutely no fluff and not a single word is wasted. I grow tired of pouring through 1,000+ page tomes. The appendices are also very well structured and extremely though I do virtually no C coding professionally, I can say for certain that this book has leveled up my skill-set. Working through these exercises has helped me with logical thinking and having a better understanding of coding closer to the machine has improved me as a developer overall. I'm one who believes that this book is amazing for all programmers, even if you never write a line of C after working through this book. I'm really loving the C language!Whether you are a beginner or experienced it's worth having this book. Though this will be quite tough for total beginners, I say it's still work picking up and pairing it with a more beginner-friendly book. Unfortunately I cannot recommend such a book at this time because this is the only C book I've worked through.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386