8bitdo Reviews & Opinions


Submit 8bitdo review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo review [App]  2017-12-20 21:7

    My tester for my Nes30 Pro. Want I wish SF30 Pro.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo review [App]  2017-12-20 21:7

    Doesn't see anything even though I am already paired

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo review [App]  2017-12-20 21:7

    Amazing for simple pairing and hardware testing. [email protected]#$%! would allow me modernize firmware but that does require USB I guess. Amazing potential but currently very barebones.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on 8bitdo or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch 8bitdo video reviews and related movies:

    See Here's Why The 8BitDo SN30 Pro+ Is My New Favorite Controller on youtube.

     related image

    See Official Nintendo Switch Online SNES Controller VS 8BITDO on youtube.

     related image

    See 8BitDo SN30 Pro+ You've got to take a look on youtube.

     related image

    See This Switch Controller Has 2 DPADS! 8BITDO Lite Review on youtube.

     related image

    See 8Bitdo SF30 Pro Controller Review - Rerez on youtube.

     related image

    See 8bitdo USB Wireless Adapter Review- PS4 / Xbox One Controller on Switch! on youtube.

     related image

    See 8BitDo (and Switch & Lever) N30 Wireless Mouse on youtube.

     related image

    See Better than the Nintendo Switch Pro Controller on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Hasn't been updated for almost 2yrs. Also does a lousy job of connecting to the controller. Connecting manually thru the phone's bt toggle is much easier. Application doesn't really do anything other than present how to connect whichever controller u own to the phone. Such a shame coz 8bitdo makes such amazing controllers. Would be amazing if they added the ability to remap the buttons thru this application coz i really don't like B,A,Y,X setup as opposed to the common A,B,X,Y setup. I knw this is how Nintendo's con

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Worse than worthless, complete waste of time. Rediculous Permissions! Is this a backdoor for China or what? The application thinks the controller is not connected. When you do obtain it to recognize it, the try function doesnt work. Then the Touch emulation option, if you can obtain it to answer to L1+start has a menu overlay that makes no sense. If you click on instructions it says to connect the controller! Ahhhhhh! Used SN30 Pro gameboy color

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Not good experience. Purchased m30 months ago on the promise it would work on Android. Application didn't have help then and still doesn't now. The touch emulation is also a joke. A poor one. Emailed help and was told to stfu. Everyone loves this company but I feel I've been scammed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I have the sn30 pro controller and its the first android game pad i have ever had for a phone. This gamepad is really good. playing grand theft auto vice town stories is very enjoyable. Battery life is amazing connection is rock solid aint disconnected once The pad Connected no issue and it works in every emulator i have tried. But it could be a bit more advanced and customisable because i cant even see a settings page. Options like inverse directions, latency options etc would create this so much better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    a amazing application but why do I have to connect my phone to pc to activate mapping software every single time I begin the application ?? it is totally useless like this, it should be a one time process that activate mapping forever or at least as long as the application is installed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It kept on forced closing on me. Please 8bitdo, fix this and create it compatible with the SN30 Pro Plus controller me SN30 Pro Controller. I'm forced to give this application 1 star. Sorely disappointing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Lol This application requires access to your storage and location... Meanwhile the only thing it does is tell you to download an unofficial application from online and to download software to your computer. #great #5/7_bestAppAward

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I like the application but it's always crashing. constantly getting a notification multiple times per day that it crashed. I'm not even opening the app. tried redownloading the application after clearing cache and storage data for clean install but same outcome. also. people complaining about the buttons being reversed....that's always been the layout for nintendo....what's wrong with these people. pick up a snes controller anywhere and that's how it is

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    The application is ok it works for most android games using my SN30 Pro controller. It can seem to be difficult to set up at first but once you obtain it set up you realize how simple it really is to use. The only thing I want I could do is be able to change how the right joystick functions because for some android games it will invert the up and down as well as create it really slow to move around especially since the right joystick is mainly used for looking around. So it will create it next to impossible to use on some games. If there is a method to change how the joysticks work someone please allow me know or if they modernize the application to be able to do that I will be more than satisfied to raise the rating from 3 stars to 5. Otherwise this application is ok to use but the controllers are just amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Handy application that got my small 8BitDo ZERO controller working with my phone. However I noticed that 8Bitdo have a newer ver (V4.4) of the application on their website. Sadly it can't be installed (unless I'm guessing you wish to root your phone (not advisable, if you don't know what you are going and not wanting to trash your warranty). Did v4.4 fail to be approved by Google?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It won't open, and the PC application doesn't work. I've no clue how to obtain it to work. Please fix.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Wouldn't connect to the pad in-app, yet had no issues through phone itself. Tried all the suggested fixes but no joy. Average rating for the application when I wrote this is 2.4, which is beautiful telling. In other words, useless sadly. Bit of a allow down after amazing Xmas show

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Controller try function works, but that's all I'll give a positive for. Had numerous failures to have the application even operate as it kept crashing. Turned off my wireless connection data connection and it did not crash as I opened the app. So it crashes if connected to the internet. Not good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    The application is fine but the touch screen emulation is disappointing. It works alright but every. single. time. you stop using it you have to hook it up to your computer to activate it again

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Does not help N30 Pro 2. Keeps on crashing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Simply crashes, can't use it in any fashion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    ATTENTION : the application and touchscreen emulation doesn't work in widescreen/horizontal mode. buttons work fine. the menu does not work/appear while in-game or ouside 8bitdo app... can't put buttons properly. device : s6 edge +

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    With 8Bitdo ZERO almost works perfectly BUT Sometime touchscreen emulation stop work. I need to reactivate this feature again. I missing manual mode for make touch profile because auto mode is not reliable. IU is not organized well. I need in application autodetect controller, try controller, map touch

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Waste of time as-is. Controller is already paired but the application mostly can't search it. Did once manage to link the controller (no idea how) but button presses didn't correspond to the presses reported onscreen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Ask for zone then crashes repeatedly when you wont give a controller programmer your zone for some ungodly reason

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Only amazing for testing controller buttons. The touch screen overlay function is outdated and does not work properly. It also requires the use of a PC to attempt to install.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    This application makes my cash wasted when bought controller. Controller is amazing but application is trash.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I can connect my controller to my phone (samsung s9) just fine, and use it in apps. But this application doesnt seem to be able to connect to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    any controller shim should let you to remap buttons. it's like they are purposely reversed from standard button layout. until we can remap like the Windows or Linux version, this application is useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I downloaded it and when I tried to begin just crashes your a really Amazing respectable company and your probably busy making your awesome controllers but please look into this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    This application has basically no use whatsoever, and crashes after every single thing I do

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Can not begin it at all, keeps crashing before I could even obtain into it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I cannot even use the app. It opens then immediately closes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    The Application keeps having an error and closing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    couldn't pass the pairing part, keeps on searching forever despite following the instructions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    How do you enable screen amulation? It sends me to download page for pc?! What for?! Controller after software update. N30 Pro

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Application doesn't open, would love support as the controller itself works well, just the application isn't working.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Does not run at all, crashes near instantly on launch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Excitedly waited for the sn30 pro...now I have to return it because the application doesn't work. The application was garbage before I bought it apparently so my fault I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    does not begin work on my rooted oneplus 5 or non rooted 6t, just locks and forces me to reboot the devices

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I tryed everything but he application just crashes everytime i test to begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    No help for M30 gamepad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Instantly Crashes on Begin

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    You should modernize it to work with sn30pro+...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Application keeps crashing on my S9plus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    amazing product I just hope you add n30 pro 2 as I managed to obtain keep of one early

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I'd it would help the newer 8BitDo h

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    About time this application got help for N30 Pro 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Will not open, crashes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Connot search my n30 Pro 6 controller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    ctashes on opening on Samsung 7 Edge

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Won't run on Ellipsis 10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It's a decent touch screen emulator which works if you follow the instructions. It would be amazing to create known to users that the script has to be run after every reboot to ensure touchscreen emulation works again. Also, it would be better to have multiple profiles for multiple android games =). Lastly, it would be better if touch emulation can work under low memory constraints (e.g when playing android games with high memory usage).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    amazing controller, horrible app, which defeats the point of owning a controller. have tried multiple times to run the touch screen emulation program and it does not work outside of the application itself. once i begin a game, i cannot run the program, rendering the controller useless. customer service has also been nonexistent in helping this problem out. it is a shame because the controller itself is beautiful cool, just no method to use it..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    [8bitdo FC30 Pro] [Galaxy Sol] This application did not do a other reviews have said like breaking controllers, it works alright the touchscreen emulation works but was a bit confusing to set up and I still can't obtain the save profile function to work. 8/10 recommended for anyone with the 8bitdo controller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Looks nice but A & B are swapped, L1 is Y, other bumpers are right stick. Completely useless if you can't tell it which buttons are what. The left stick, Dpad & X are the only buttons mapped correctly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Review of my controller: worked for a year, then freaking fell apart. Quality control:0

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Blocked my phone when I tried touchscreen emulation. Had to hard reboot. Application does nothing more than try buttons.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I like it I own two remotes and satisfied to say that after almost 2 years both remotes are working fine. I just want I could remap buttons and hold them like that permeant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Just paid $70 for this bluetooth controller which is useless to me as the application crashes before it opens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Touch emulation requires repeated "authentication" or some nonsense with debug mode. Once should have unlocked it permanently.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It's not really user friendly or stable. But the controller is nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Malware. DO NOT DOWNLOAD. It immediately locks up you device with "press L and start" image.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    [email protected]@k!! due to your buggy application my 8bit zero got [email protected]@ked up, seriously, XABY R1 R2 buttons not working now(only dpad ) ( like I've tried everything: change phones, modes , factory restart , seem some internal programing of the controller was restart (damaged)(any suggestions ?) Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Poor application for an useless controller that doesn't sync.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Crashes instantly on Android device Oreo, Razer phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Crashes almost immediately trying to do anything within the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    My tester for my Nes30 Pro. Want I wish SF30 Pro.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    I'm using a sf30 pro and it works perfectly. I would like to have multiple profiles for layouts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Didn't even have the sn30pro+ in application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Could not begin the application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It is really amazing for touchscreen emulation to controllers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Its ayt

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Not compatible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Never works

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Amazing controller

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    crashes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Doesn't see anything even though I am already paired

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    It helped me hookup my 8bitdo controller to a nexus 7 tab that had a broken usb port. Bluetooth wouldn't recognize it without this application but now I'm playing everything! 5 stars for the simple setup! Create sure your firmware is updated on your controller if you have problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Using LG V30+. This works perfectly with no root!! Thank you. Once you go it activated through PC, press L1 and begin to bring up config while in game. Paladins Strike is so much better with controller support.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Amazing for simple pairing and hardware testing. [email protected]#$%! would allow me modernize firmware but that does require USB I guess. Amazing potential but currently very barebones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Application does not begin at all. The controller itself barely reacts to any android game or app. Disapointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    For what I need it for it's excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    keeps crashing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8BitDo review [App]  2019-11-29 13:6

    Simply doesn't work. This is alpha quality at best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    I've owned the 8bit NES 30 Pro for over a year now, and it was always a amazing controller, but now that I have this Retro Receiver, it's nearing perfection. The greatest feature of this device is the ability to use it as a Bluetooth receiver for the NES. Some reviews have reported firmware issues, but right out of the packaging, I was easily playing Castlevania III wirelessly with minimal lag. Everything worked exactly as you would expect with the original controller, but with a few enhancements, including the improved form factor of the NES 30 Pro and the addition of turbo buttons. Pairing my controller to the receiver was very easy. Once I was happy that it works well on the NES, I decided to see how it would work as a Bluetooth Receiver on my PC, and the results here were also quite satisfying and addressed one of the few issues I had with the NES 30 Pro. I have never managed to obtain the controller working correctly on my PC other than when plugged into the USB port. My PC would always recognize it as a keyboard. Thankfully, when pairing the controller with the Retro Receiver, it functions as a gamepad, and it even supports X-Input by default. I would have been satisfied to have had it recognized as a generic gamepad, and the help for X-input puts it over the top. Besides the NES30 Pro, I also tested the Wiimote and the DS4, and every feature that I have mentioned seems to be real of them as well. and I really think that is probably the hint of the iceberg. Even if you don't have an NES, this might be worth checking out just as an alternative to the X360 controller for Windows, as it makes the experience so easy. No work arounds or USB cables. Easy Bluetooth pairing right out of the packaging translated to a format that most android games will support. My only complaints with this receiver are that it seems to only help one device at a time, which is various than what was advertised and that I can't use it on my other retro consoles, but I will definitely be looking into the SNES receiver that they've created, and any any others that may be on the way, as this has exceeded all my expectations. I had to backorder the item, but it ended up shipping before the original expected date, and it was well worth the wait. I am exceedingly satisfied with the results thus far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    I used 2 of these to connect to my nes online controllers which are basically like connecting joy cons to them. You will need to modernize the firmware it was simple to do once I looked it up on a YouTube video. Again it will not connect to joy cons out of the box. Once I got them going they worked perfectly no noticeable lag. I have a feeling I’m going to only play my nes with Wireless controllers from now on, especially since they feel just like the actual nes controllers so glad the adapters let me to use them very authentic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    I've purchased two of these NES receivers and both eventually wind up dropping signal from the controller and registering arbitrary button presses while it tries to search the controller again. I'd like to give it another half-star (so 2.5) because when it works, it works fantastically, however eventually winding up with the same issue two times in a row a few months after purchase worries me on the QA being done at least on the NES receivers. My SNES one works perfectly every time, all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    I love this small dongle it makes using a NES/Clone System better when not sitting close to the ere isnt any lag to my knowledge, it feels as it was corded. The best part you can use Wii U pro controller or PS4 so if your not interested in using a classic NES controller you don't have to.Distance is decent, I sit about 11ft away from the TV with no problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    This is an expensive solution, because you've gotta buy a Bluetooth controller and this adapter. However, it works beautifully! I use the SNF30 Pro controller, which is created by the same company. Sometimes it takes a reset to create the Bluetooth controller connect. But once it does it just works seamlessly. I am very picky about input lag, and I am satisfied to report that this device does not add any detectable latency. There are YouTubers who try the latency of the device, i'd recommend watching their videos for a more detailed explanation, if you're interested.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    Works amazing with my 8Bitdo N30 Gamepad. If there's lag, I'm not seeing it. FYI check for updated firmware out of the box (same with your controller).The only thing I don't like is having to pair it every time I turn on the system by pressing the button on the receiver and controller. Is that the method it's supposed to function? Why can't the receiver send out the pairing signal(rapid light flash) as soon as it's powered on?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    If you're getting into NES gaming or have been into it for a long time, this product is worth the money. I recently purchased an NES and only had 1 controller. Since amazing ones are hard to find, i decided to go with 8bitdo's Bluetooth adapter. Works like a charm. It originally had a turbo function built in but the company removed the feature with a latest firmware update. That's the only thing i really disliked and they never gave a reason for doing it. Other than that, this device works exactly as advertised and I couldn't be happier with it. You can also use it on a Desktop/Laptop computer using the mini usb cable that comes with it. Thereby doubling it's usefulness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    Ordered this to use on my original NES with a PS4 controller. From everything I've read, it's supposed to be compatible with a PS4 controller right out of the box. It will not connect to any of my three controllers. Tried several times following the directions on the website. I also reloaded the current firmware from 8bitdo's website, but that didn't support either. Finally gave up.I was able to pair with my PS3 controllers using a computer and 8bitdo's software for those and they have been working well for a few days now. Have noticed some occasional lag or glitchy behavior like other reviews have noted, but not bad.I gave 3 stars instead of 1 because I am able to use the PS3 controllers, but I'm disappointed that it won't help PS4 as advertised or at least this particular unit won't.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    Product arrived quickly, is constructed well, and functions wonderfully! That being said, the reason for 3 stars is that I specifically bought this to use with my Pro Switch Controller and could not fugure out how to sync it until after I updated the firmware on my own. Out of the package, it did not sync up. In fact, I tried multiple controllers and it would only sync with a Wiimote. Nowhere on the pack did it say anything about firmware or how to sync with other controllers. I looked on 8bitdo's www service and the downloadable manual has directions for syncing with various controllers but said NOTHING about updating firmware. Finally, I decided to modernize the firmware because I had nothing to lose. That finally allowed the receiver to sync with my Switch Pro Controller. No where did 8bitdo state that this was a "suggested" action to take after purchase of this product. A easy 1 sentence instruction about updating firmware should be both on the pack and on their website. Like I said... Otherwise this product works great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Retro Receiver - NES review []  2020-1-19 1:7

    After a firmware modernize this works unbelievable with office Nintendo Switch Classic controllers. This allow me play on my AVS with fresh Crisp wireless OEM equipment. This allow me obtain a NEW classic d pad from Nintendo on original hardware or cloan system wirelessly. You can’t beat this in regards to getting the original feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    Well, maybe not me, Hori has been the king of third-party controllers. They have the advantage of time and presence. From all the method back to the SNES era, Hori has been making controllers for all (or at least nearly all) major systems. Their items may not always be home-runs (heck, some of their items don't even create it to first base), but their items is usually the next-best option after first-party controllers. Sometimes, they even create controllers better than the first-party option (I nod to you, Hori Pad Mini for the N64), and they've created the best third-party controller of all time (I'll obtain you soon, Digital Controller for the GameCube).Lately, a lot of third-party manufacturers have been narrowing the gap between Hori and the rest. We have PowerA to thank for their perfect GameCube-style Switch controllers, and Retro-bit has been stepping up their android game lately with the phenomenal Sega and Hori Pad Mini controllers. And now we have powerful newcomers like Retro Warriors and, of course, 8BitDo.I've mentioned in previous reviews that I've dismissed 8BitDo as yet another sub-par third-party manufacturer. It wasn't until my Analogue Nt mini arrived with one that I tried one and swallowed my words. As an owner now of eight various 8BitDo controllers, I can say I'm convinced, and I now dare say that this may be their best one yet; it's probably the strongest contender to the Pro Controller we have.I pre-ordered the G Edition the day it was possible, and it arrived latest night. I've played a few games, mostly CTR:NF. Here are my initial impressions.Out of the box, I immediately felt this was the Switch's ver of the DualShock 4. Of course, that's not to say this controller is just for the Switch, as it works with a lot of other systems, but most people are probably getting it for the Switch--including yours truly. The main thing I wanted to know is how the d-pad work, especially on the G Edition as it mimics the d-pad found in the DMG with the small grips. This is by far the best d-pad 8BitDo has produced. The plastic is sturdy, but it's also the same softer material you'd search on Nintendo's first-party d-pads; it also has rounded-off corners so that they're not sharp. A lot of companies' cross-style d-pads seem to be created of a harder plastic or have too-sharp edges, which can create for a sore extended play session. This d-pad is easier on the thumb, and the small grips indeed have some grittier surface to them that makes it easier to hold the thumb on. There's still that odd, scratchy plastic sound that seems to be on all 8BitDo controllers when pressing the d-pad, though it doesn't affect feel or gameplay. Anyone who owns an 8BitDo controller will probably know what I'm talking about; when I press my d-pad down, I hear this unpleasant, harsh "thock." Otherwise, this is probably the best non-Nintendo d-pad we currently have for the Switch. In this area, 8BitDo has next favorite thing about the controller is the L/R and ABXY buttons. They have the same, soft tactile feedback as the L/R buttons on the Pro Controller. I love it. I prefer these ABXY buttons over the Pro Controller. My favorite ABXY buttons were probably those on the Wii Classic Controller/Pro, but now I think these may be my favorite. They have optimal travel distance (not too much, not too little), and provide the same, soft feel when pressed as the shoulder buttons. ever, I feel that the L2/R2 buttons have too much travel. You can use the separate Ultimate Software to customize the input register, but all it does it just stop the input beyond a certain point. I prefer the L2/R2 buttons on the Pro Controller and DualShock 4. There's too much travel here for my tastes.I haven't really fiddled with the sticks much, but they seem nearly identical to the ones on the DualShock 4, albeit slightly narrower in girth. The travel for the actual gates are fine, but the sticks are just a bit on the smaller e handles are great. I felt no discomfort while playing for two hours straight of CTR:NF. I do search the controller to be a bit wide for me, and the L/R buttons are a bit too forward and far from my index fingers than I'd like, but I realize I may have smaller hands than average. The entire housing of the controller is created from a nice, robust plastic that seems like it'll latest for decades.I've read reviews prior to receiving mine mentioning the weak vibration, and I do have to agree. Even after adjusting the vibration with the Ultimate Software (which you have to download separately), it left much to be desired. There's no HD vibration, but even the standard vibration here is a bit on the weak for lag, I detected none. I updated to the current firmware as of this writing (v3.01) and the input is snappy. When playing Golf Story, my presses would stop the swing meter precisely when I intended, and in CTR:NF my power slides were easier to control than with other ly, to give the Ultimate Software its own paragraph, I fiddled with it a bit to see what it's like. As of this writing (Aug. 9, 2019), it's available only for Windows machines. I had to borrow a Windows machine momentarily. As soon as I plugged in the controller, the software detected it and even upgraded my controller to the recent firmware--neat. It's all GUI, so it's very user-friendly. Nevertheless, the only modifications I did were shorten the input register of the L2/R2 buttons so that it would stop the input halfway, and raise the vibration. I don't think I really raised it as it was already at the maximum, but I lowered and raised it anyway just to create sure the weak vibration was really physical and not adjustable beyond its strength. Alas, it didn't really support ere's a tab in the software to add macros, but right now I couldn't really think of any to , in case it wasn't evident, I'm a fan. I'm a huge, large fan. This controller will be in my top three controllers to use for the Switch, and probably will be my exclusive for certain android games (like CTR:NF). This is 8BitDo's respond to the DualShock 4, and in some certain locations it exceeds its inspiration (like the d-pad and ABXY buttons).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    I feel kinda poor writing this review, as I can certainly tell 8BitDo was really aiming for perfection with this one. And it almost first one arrived with the left analog a bit cockeyed. What I noticed immediately after that, was that upon pressing the d-pad, I saw that there was quite a bit of zone between the cutout in the plastic for the d-pad and the actual d-pad button. This leaves a gap where the d-pad loosely slides around the additional zone in all directions. This in turn, causes the plastic of the d-pad to rub versus the walls of the cutout of the controller when being pressed, making faint, but unpleasant squeaking and plasticky scratchy noises. The friction of the rubbing can sometimes be felt as well. It is most pronounced and noticeable when pressing the 'right' so, the four face buttons felt a bit wonky on this particular unit. They felt loose in the controller, overly clicky (unrefined and cheap) and felt inconsistent with each other. It overall felt poorly place together. Deciding I can't have any of that, I returned it for a replacement hoping it was just a poor e second one arrived feeling much better overall, leaving me initially impressed. Both analogs were straight, and the face buttons felt better, but not great. The shoulder buttons along with the triggers were excellent on this one (triggers on the first one felt unequal).The glaring issue was still the d-pad. This one actually sounded louder than the previous. It also felt noticeably less firm. It felt a bit squishy and less refined. There wasn't as much of a clear, concise distinction when pressing down on any/all directions as the latest one did. It felt a bit muddled, mushy and flat. This was clearly far less than ideal, so, again, I returned e third one, *sigh*....again arrived with a slightly crooked left analog stick. The four face buttons felt meh, the shoulder buttons and triggers good. The d-pad, however, still created that same friction/squeaky noise from rubbing versus the walls of the cutout, yet slid around freely within the cutout.I'm thoroughly convinced by now that this issue is in part due to a design flaw, and partly due to manufacturing inconsistencies. However, at least this time, the d-pad had a nice, soft, but firm and concise click that felt far better than the latest two I had. But still considered defective, as it rattled and created that scratchy/squeaky noise. is fourth one is the one I should have gotten the first time. This unit is PERFECT. D-pad is flawless, minus the (far less) rubbing and the accompanying noise, albeit MUCH quieter than any of the latest three. It's the best it'll ever be, as some slight 'rubbing' is inherent and unavoidable with this e two most latest poor ones I had that I mentioned above, I still had on me so I could take them all to UPS in one trip. This gave me a possibility to inspect them side by side, and also to verify that these things weren't just in my head.What is various with this amazing one is that there seems to be some kind of soft, grippy rubber backing on the back of the d-pad keeping it from sliding around as much inside the cutout. It still moves, but MUCH less so, reducing 80% of the rattling I have been hearing in the previous ones. And since it slides around less, it also rubs less, resulting in less squeaks. It also just 'feels' better in every e four face buttons also feel much, much improved from all the previous ones I felt. They feel properly cushioned giving the buttons a comparatively more 'premium' feel to it. I don't know if this improvement goes hand in hand, but they rattle a lot less as well eliminating the remaining 20% of the previous controllers' clarify what I mean by this 'rattling' is this:If I keep my 4th (good) one in my left hand, and any/both of the poor ones I still had in my right hand and shook them both like I'm using a salt and pepper shaker at varying intensities, the controller in my left hand would be silent, minus the barely audible sounds of the face buttons shaking in place, which is completely normal and would really only be heard when shaken beautiful e other two would, by comparison, sound like baby rattles at beautiful much any intensity. I child you not. It's as if the buttons were just kinda 'tossed inside' and called good. I can't say how or why there is so much variation among just this little sample of four controllers, but to me that indicates a QC department that needs attention. I may just have a had a string of poor luck, but reading other reviews, I know this d-pad thing isn't an isolated case. Their d-pads have indeed improved from their previous models, but they still need a small more refinement when it comes to the problems stated above.But how does the d-pad actually perform now that I have one that isn't defective? It performs quite well, in fact. They don't move around nearly as much as the defective ones. If they eliminated the rubbing entirely, it would, in my humble opinion, create the controller excellent in every way. But even as it is, I consider it the best controller out there currently. The best for 2D platformers, the best for 2D fighting games, and the best overall controller e controller's ergonomics feels excellent in the hands. It feels like the dualshock4 in terms of form, size, and weight. Any carrying case created for the DS4 will work with this. The actual parts used feel quality. I also like the plastic used for the d-pad on the G-Classic Edition. The smooth plastic with strips of grip texture feels so nice and premium to the touch. The four convex buttons feel high quality to the touch as well, and have a nice, soft, cushioned, but pronounced click to them. The shoulder buttons feel exactly how I remember the OG snes ones to feel like, and the triggers have a smooth, consistent feel to them throughout their entire took no effort to pair them to the Switch, and the Ultimate software is beautiful neat as well. It seamlessly updated the firmware to the current v3.01 for me and had me on my method in no e d-pad on this thing is so amazing that I actually haven't seen my brother pull of so a lot of damned shoryukens so effortlessly in a row since the SNES days. I think he may actually give me a challenge l in all, this is a nearly excellent controller that will replace the Pro controller as my everyday driver. They just need to obtain rid of that rubbing and improve their quality control. I'm confident they will, as I sense this company's drive to be the best in its class, willingness to listen to customer feedback and create things right with customers when incidents arise with their outstanding support. Thanks, 8BitDo. I hope you guys iron out these little problems in the near future. Thanks to Amazon for making all this so much less painful than it had to be. If I had gotten this excellent of a unit the first time, I would have undoubtedly given the SN30 Pro+ fivestars, however, due to my experiences and realizations, I need to deduct one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    This controller is now my controller of choice for android games that I perfer to use the D-Pad for such as fighting games, 2D side scrollers, etc. The build quality is very amazing for the price. The controller is the most comfortable for me to use, even over the Xbox and PS4 controllers. This controller appears to be slightly bigger than a PS4 controller and that actually makes a huge difference in my hand placement and comfort. For example on the PS4 controller the D-pad centerpoint sits at my thumbs mid point, so I have to bend my thumb to use it as I prefer to use the hint of my thumb. On this controller the D-pad is perfectly centered at my thumbtip so no need to bend. As compared to the Xbox One controller, I just can't stand the off-center D-Pad, but also this controller has a larger, more pronounced d-pad that I search more comftorable and more accurate. I also can't stand the mushiness of the PS4 D-pad, and this controller feels more much precise/clicky with each press. I also like the positioning and feel of the four facing buttons. They have a nice, crisp click feel. Other parts of the controllers such as the analog sticks and triggers are fine. They don't feel as well built as those on the xbox or PS4, but functionally I don't message a difference. Setup and software is also very simple and I like the ability to customize on the PC. Pairs fine with my Galaxy S10 and works great. I've been breaking in this controller with some MK11 on PC and it feels great. I was a bit hesitant to buy this controller given some of the items I read about their problems with prior controllers, but it appears the company has improved based on their feedback. Overall I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    This is a spectacular controller, let's obtain that out of the way. Even for someone with little hands, it's very comfortable. I'd already owned the N30 Pro 2, and loved that one quite a lot, so that was my point of comparison. My hands are little enough that the N30 Pro 2 was actually the exact right size, and my main complaint about that controller was the little analogue sticks my thumbs kept slipping off of, so seeing the SN30 Pro+, with its larger sticks, I was just really hoping that it would still be a amazing size for my hands. And indeed, upon receiving it, the feel in hand is excellent! The analogue sticks are much smoother than the N30 Pro 2, though it's unclear if that's just because of wear on the old controller. The d-pad placement is perfect, and the clickiness of the face buttons is great- I was worried that the more rhombus-like arrangement would be more problem than the square arrangement of the ABYX buttons on the N30 Pro 2, but it's actually quite , I do have to keep the controller a small various than normal to obtain the best grip on the sticks- instead of having the controller grips nestled into my palms I have to have my hands mostly open, and the controller grips being held by only my fingers, so that I can have my thumbs more directly over the analogue sticks and still reach the d-pad and face buttons. Otherwise, it's a bit more of a stretch than it is with the N30 Pro 2. (For reference, my hands are about 6 inches from fingertip to base of palm, about 3 inches wide not including thumbs, and along the inside between my thumb and hand is like 2 inches long.) There's not really any strain on my hands or fingers to keep it this way, it rests in my fingers very well, it's just a bit odd. And I can still keep the controller normally when I'm playing with mostly the d-pad; it's placed perfectly for that. Someone with hands even just a small larger than mine would probably have zero problem at all.Speaking of the d-pad. It's got that scratchiness that I see other people have mentioned, which is rather annoying, but it's seeming like it's getting a bit better as I use it more, so I'm hoping the inner edge of the cutout wears smoother with time. The thing that bothers me a small more is that it's stiffer than the d-pad on the N30 Pro 2. Not by too much- but enough that I noticed it immediately when I picked it up, and enough that I've noticed my thumb actually getting tired if I've been using it too long, which is a thing that I've never experienced before in my life so that's kinda weird. It's a small disappointing, since I was hoping the d-pad would be more like that N30 Pro 2 which I liked a lot, but this too may obtain a small better with time, so here's hoping.Anyway, overall it's a amazing controller. I've had no problems using it with my Switch or my Android device phone (haven't tried it on anything else yet). I am still hoping for 8bitdo to come out with a firmware modernize letting it wake the Switch from sleep, and also for the Ultimate Software to have a Mac release, but pending that, I still very much recommend this controller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    I've had mediocre experiences with 8BitDo's other controllers, as they've all had less than stellar d-pads. The SN30 Pro+ doesn't seem to share that fact, this is easily one of the better controllers I've used for any system. I would definitely recommend this thing, especially for android games like Downwell, Hollowknight, or other 2d platformers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    First of all, this is my first 8bit do controller EVER.I have to say that I was always skeptical for 3rd party items but PowerA's wireless gamecube changed my mind so I gave this a shot after waiting months for the "pro edition."The controller itself is phenomenal. The Dpad is nice, big, and responsive along with the quality of triggers, face buttons is the quality of nintendo itself. I tried a bunch of my fav 2D platformers (rayman legends, DK tropical freeze, celeste, mario maker 2 and megaman x collection (1st one of course). The results of this experimentation were all positive. I did hear of accidental diagonal inputs and I have NOT have any one those. The one thing that surprised me about this controller is the quality of the rumble. Its no HD rumble sure, but its still very high quality and does its best to emulate HD rumble. The best example of this is playing mario maker 2, the rumble you obtain from running, grabbing coins, and landing a but stomp are all a small different.I tried mario odyssey which works flawlessly also. I was able to hit all of the complex jumps you can create in the android game along with the motion cap controls. For gyro I tried splatoon which works beautiful accurate when compared to pro controller. I would like to note that the R2 L2 buttons do have more distance to quality as a button press which can create a difference but you can obtain used to it or just use the software to e only Problem I had with this device is the battery pack. When I first got the controller, the battery was dead which led me to plug it in for it to work. I only had a power brick with a usbC cable which worked! But then all of a sudden it stopped! maybe I required to give time to allow it charge so I did that. 2 hours later it didn't work despite the charging light being on. So I switched to double A's after prying the battery package out of the controller using eyeglasses screwdriver lol. Afterwards it worked amazing where I did all my testing. Afterwards I place the battery package back in again and allow it charge overnight by using an IQ anker charger. In the AM it didn't work. I contacted customer service who told me to contact amazon to obtain a replacement. I did that but was offered a bonus card for a replacement battery pack. But they don't sell it yet. So I just took the bonus card and used it to obtain their retro receiver instead so I can use this with my modded SNES Mini.Overall I'm really happy about this controller and looking at the other review, I seem to be the black sheep to have this battery package issue. If I can leave a 4.5 or 4.75 review, I totally would! But I can't so alas, I'm the jerk to gave this a non 5/5 star review. I greatly appreciate what 8bit do is doing and hope to see continued improvement in their products. If it wasn't for the battery package issues, this would 100% be a 5/5 s- Awesome dpad- amazing button and triggers- accurate gyro- amazing rumble (more people need to give 8bit do credit)- Amazing customer service- amazing texture on thumbsticksCons- box was hard to open! lol don't take this con seriously- software is windows only currently. They will be releasing a mac release something in future- battery package problems as I mentioned above- can't wake the switch (but just have a pro controller on side like me to turn switch on and then turn that off)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (G Classic Edition) - Nintendo Switch review []  2020-1-18 2:37

    Seriously. This just replaced it. Cheaper, feels WAY better, works INCREDIBLY better. Also packs a heck of a charge. Best controller cash can buy on Switch, it just works for everything you need.If you've got a SN30 Pro and you're considering this, do it. It's such a quality of life improvement to have these huge ol' grips.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter