Read 911 & porsche world reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all 911 & porsche world reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    911 & Porsche World [App]  2019-11-8 13:25

    Woouw

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Very nice history with images and designs I have never seen. And I read a lot of 911 articles and I am a PCA member and 911 owner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Classic, amazing living room table piece and an perfect read of a one of a kind story. Every vehicle guy should have one whether you are a classic, a motor head or whatever you fancy!!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on 911 & porsche world or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Got this as a bonus for my dad, he loves it. When I gave it to him, he spent at least the next 45 mins looking through the pictures. It's a very nice quality coffee table book. The pictures are great, but the history and facts found within are also quite impressive. So if your dad owns a 911 or is a vehicle guy, think about giving him this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Porsche 911 Book []  2020-1-25 15:34

    Truly a Amazing Image Book, Absolutely Attractive Photo's of the Porsche 911. Porsche is the most timeless icon among sports vehicles today. The valves of the early years are continually growing. The Beauty of a 911 is so much more then Beautiful. Photographer Rene Stand does a phenomenal job in captaining these timeless photo, once you have this book, it will either be in your hands or on your in someone else hands. There are Facts with each image which create the book so much better, From Top Speed, to Production., every page is a photo, covers the very early years1959-1963 to 2011- 2013 . Very Attractive book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    This is a nice volume telling the story of the development and evolution of the Porsche 911. This is a light read with quality photos. It is not a model year by model year 911 book and is light on the technical details. Even though there are a lot of books on the subject, this one has fresh interviews and technical drawings that I have not seen in other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Amazing material but it needs a table of content and visible page numbers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Porsche 911 Book []  2020-1-25 15:34

    Neat book... surprisingly small. I didn’t look at the size when I bought it, which is on me, but I thought it would be bigger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Most Porschephiles (like me), as well as fans of other marques, are familiar with the literary works of noted author & photographer Randy Leffingwell. In this fresh book he has now done for the Porsche 911 what he did for the Corvette a few years ago; namely chronicle the history of one of the icons of sports vehicle history in an overview with words and his unbelievable photographic skills. I have added this fresh work to my collection of noteworthy Porsche books and if you love and admire the 911 and it's heritage (and who doesn't), this unique offering from Motorbooks is a MUST HAVE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    If you’re looking to know the info about how your Porsche with me this is the book you need to look at. There’s so much info and historical pictures of the evolution of the Porsche. If nothing else it is a amazing book to just look at the pictures and to experience the racing history of Porsche

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Not very comprehensive book, I expected more detail in the narrative and photographs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Porsche 911 Book []  2020-1-25 15:34

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Excellent bonus for the 911 lover. I almost didn't give this to as a gift, thinking it might be a boring bonus or go largely unlooked at. But he really enjoyed it; amazing photography and some cool information. Massive book with a nice look and feel; amazing coffee table or home office book. I am glad I gave it to him, he is a fresh 911 owner and really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: 50 Years []  2020-1-16 10:16

    Got this as a bonus for a Porsche fanatic. Now it’s his coffee table book. Attractive illustrations and amazingly detailed history of the 911 model. Look no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 – The 996 Series, 1997 to 2005 (Porsche 911 – The Definitive History Book 5) []  2019-12-24 19:35

    Fast review done by years as well as changes that take put during model years. Would like more images but what is there is good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 – The 996 Series, 1997 to 2005 (Porsche 911 – The Definitive History Book 5) []  2019-12-24 19:35

    Digestible reference for this daring, inevitable, and ultimately successful transition. A amazing companion for 996 and first generation 997 owners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 – The 996 Series, 1997 to 2005 (Porsche 911 – The Definitive History Book 5) []  2019-12-24 19:35

    amazing book for 996 owners and fans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    Information, pictures and amazing reading for 912 fans, and probably for all sports vehicle fans and historians!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    Awesome book. Has information on creation and specs of all Porsches from 356 to 992 gen Carrera (Last 911 that was released by the time this book was published). I really love Randy Leffingwell's Porsche books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    I'm have my classic 911 engine rebuilt soon. This is an essential tutorial to understand the options one faces and the possible performance upgrades to consider. Highly LLOW-UP: After speaking with my mechanic at Flat6 in Bloomington MN, I did learn that some of the info in this manual is "old news." So hold that in mind and create sure you have access to an expert to see if anything has changed before you implement any of the techniques or performance upgrades discussed in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Perfect book. Amazing photos. Written by an engineer brain with a talent for keeping it simple. Finally a modern book on vintage repairs. Thanks Wayne!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    A lot of technical information, I did not place it to try yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    So, I was invited to the Porsche experience in Torrance and subsequently rented a 911. My exotic of choice for a very long time was a Lamborghini and then the Ferrari 458 Italia after an exotic driving experience where I drove a Murcielago as well as the aforementioned 458. Like a lot of dreamers I have read about maintenance of these cars and appreciate they are more for present than go. Interestingly, during the exotics driving the tutorial in the vehicle said the closest thing to a 458 that wasn't as expensive was a 911 4s. I got to drive one of those and that was amazing. Furthermore, a small bit of research will easily reveal that if you wish to drive a sports vehicle every day Porsche is the only option. That is amazing because they are awesome vehicles, after driving one for just a few hours, I read a book about them. If you care, like I do then you will have fun this:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    With Porsche's 901 and later variants spanning 50 years, this book is a useful overview with high quality photography. However if you have a unique interest in a specific model (i.e. 911, 912, 923, 930, 959, 964, 991, 993, 996, 997) or year, or if you are interested in the history of the Porsche company during these years, or restoration guidelines, you will need extra book(s) with expanded text and documentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    Amazing overview of Porsche 911s. Much more information on the more expensive turbos and GTs then the base and S, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Having grown up on publications that had poor photos, shoddy references and murky editorial - This book is very refreshing! Every picture is clear and balanced through the book. The author, predicting that someone would be interested in the camera used (me), references the camera and how he took the photos. I am reading as much as I can prior to diving into my 901/37 engine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    I've only read a few pages and I'm loving this, easy with amazing pictures, amazing quality book. Text is simple, interesting and explanatory, no little talk and unnecessary attempt at banter, straight to the point history and little tech, excellent for anyone that wants to know their y issue is that this book ends at the 2010 model of the 911, this is 2014, needs to be updated!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Well-written, enjoyable read for any Porschephile or amateur mechanic. Dempsey' cleanroom protocols are may be overkill, but definitely worth following for any engine rebuild. Want I'd read this before I rebuilt my BMW engine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    I am hoping to create use of this manual soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Wayne Dempsey is about as amazing as it gets for Porsche specific information. This is a amazing reference for repair/rebuild and for performance options to consider if you are rebuilding an air cooled motor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Perfect book on the subject. I am an novice amateur mechanic on the vehicles but I rebuilt an 3.0 Sc engine with the support of this book. No issues , engine works and runs great. Upgrades section worth the book by itself. The writer considers that you are disassembling the engine. Owners that has already disassembled engine like me ,needs more information after the sealed long block section, specially the cis injection section and connections.I found them from the service manuals and the writers www service pelicanparts.I will his other books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    Attractive book, needs an modernize with a current model. Purchased this because I thought it led up to a current model or at least one within the latest 3-5 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    I purchased this book for a friend's birthday - he absolutely loved it. Particularly fond of Porsches, I knew that he would appreciate the content - the evolution of the Porsche is greatly detailed as you progress through the book, attractive imagery coupled with informative text will oblige any vehicle lover. This makes for a amazing coffee table book or go-to-guide if you need to reference a specific year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Rebuild and Modify Porsche 911 Engines 1965-1989 []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Wayne Dempsey has a clear and concise method of writing, and this book combined with his "101 Projects" take you through a 911 motorrebuild in an interesting and informative manner. I would have liked a few more line drawings to clarify some of his (very good)photos. My mechanic and I referred a couple of times to older publications.Overall this book, and 101 Projects are a must for anyone tackling a 911 engine especially for the first time like meI am waiting with anticipation for his Gearbox book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    What a Phenomenal Book, Randy Leffingwell capture every piece of info on a Porsche 911 since 1964, plus add phenomenal image to match. There are 329 pages to this awesome book. What I really like is all the photo's, totally beautiful. This is a amazing Coffee Table book, but again a amazing fact book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911 (Complete Book Series) []  2019-12-23 20:10

    Bonus for my father, who is a Porsche (Por-scha) enthusiast. He absolutely loved it and would go on and on about the quality of the book, images and paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    Amazing first steps or primary info for building a better Porsche. My intention is to build a vehicle for club racing and this reference is a excellent put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    Amazing book. I refer to it all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    This book consists of three columns per page with such a huge font that there are usually four to six words per line. Talk about an inefficient reading format, two columns would have reduced eye shift going from line to line. It's as if the publisher was trying to turn an eighty page book into it's show 135 page form. And there are very few diagrams; most of the illustrations are images with small information.Hoping to search a compendium of performance how-to's for 1969-1989 911s, I discovered it highlights 1969-73 only, with the author's 1970 as the main subject. It's more of a step-by-step description of what the author had done to his vehicle.I want this book were titled "My odyssey building up a 911S" instead of "Porsche 911 Performance."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    This cover book on porsche 911 performance was received in perfect e book itself was a amazing purchace,as I have a porsche carrera and found the reading very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    This guy writing this book doesn't seem to have a clue....Seems like all his information comes from looking over somebodys shoulder and not even paying attention then.... Who in their right mind is going to spend all day trying to obtain off over 30 year old undercoating thinking they are going to save weight....The author thinks there is maybe 45 lbs of undercoating on the vehicle and wants it removed.....After 30 years that undercoting is going to be rock hard....probably almost harder than the metal it is on....After fighting with the vehicle almost a day and hardly getting off any undercoating he pays somebody to Sand Blast the vehicle for 10 hours....First off you would have to just about seal everything on that vehicle to blast it....I know because I use to do this work... not to mention sealing every orfice on the engine too...and if some tape comes loose and you obtain sand in the motor ...good by...I have undercoated vehicles with 32 oz of material...and had some left over... The metal on this vehicle was probably 1/2 the thickness it was before the sandblasting... I would never drive the vehicle after this was done to it... So he thought this was going to create the vehicle lighter so he could obtain a faster time on the track !!! Are you Kidding me....This is just insanity.....almost as dumb as putting in Polyurthane bushing in the front end....Pop, Crack, Creek.....These things should be banned for front ends on Porsches....You need something with no drag that will just slide around it... Or just stay with the orginal Rubber Bushings....Not everybody should write a book...especially if your not a hands on kind of person...or have common sence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    This book is simple reading with a lot of racing and restoration info. The book is applicable to most older 911s and is worth your time even if your 911 isn't vintage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    Amazing book for the novice looking for some info on converting a 911 to full track/race duty. If you're a seasoned 911 owner and track driver, this book won't provide you with anything much more groundbreaking than you may already know. It's a primary acc of the transformation of an enthusiast's vehicle from a sporting everyday driver car, into a dedicated track y of the fine info are left out in the assembly/disassembly of the car. Technical info of the whys and hows of DIY race vehicle preparation are not what this book is about. Amazing book nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    I own a lot of books on 911's and this one is does a beautiful amazing job of summarizing some useful modifications in an simple to read, home mechanic way. There are a lot of modifications out there for 911's and this book is the authors opinion on a 'good setup' for a 911, which is exactly what the author intended it to be. Overall worth buying if your just getting into a 911, but nothing fresh for some of the seasoned hard core enthusiasts. Satisfied with the book, keeping it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    I use this book for build a race porsche car, some ítems are very usefull for the construction of this car.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 HP1489: Building the Ultimate 911 for High Performance Street or Road Racing []  2020-1-17 19:27

    This book is a must read for anyone who owns or even just admires an early, mid, or late year 911 and enjoys its mply stated; the writing is engaging, the story is irresistible, and the info is priceless. Rossi could be anyone of us Porsche fans- except he has gone through this and is an perfect ssi info his thirty year history with a 1970 911S bought in 1978. Making it safe, rebuilding a worn engine, then neglect. Back on the road after cleaning it up with a brake and suspension rebuild, a repaint and fun track events. Then he info an wonderful transformation to a Club Racer with fresh engine, brakes, tranny, aerodynamic and lightweight parts, coil-over suspension and safety gear. Along the method we learn what he learned about the vehicle and the best method to modify it into what he wanted and could afford. Rossi frequently reminds us that driving skill and practice are the best opportunity to improve a car's track performance.I would have liked more data on how long the different phases and steps too, as well as some info (must have been a bundle). Interior pictures are B&W, but the images are interesting and very or borrow this book - it is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Simple to read, to the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Interesting read but is getting outdated quickly. The tip is common sense with some insights on certain years but nothing that you can't obtain with a fast Google search. My largest problem is how short the book is. I read it in a hour (at a slow pace) so was left with the feeling that this should have been an e-book for $2 instead of a $15 paperback.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Amazing read. Helped me my first 911

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    A amazing - and fun - read. If you like cars, if the whine of an engine cranks you up, this short book will create you smile from ear to ear. You can feel the power and sense the thrill of carving through turns as the 911 responds. The only issue with the book is that it makes you wish to rush out and a Porsche! Well done, Mr. McGowan! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Definitive Guide to Porsche 997 series 911: Don't buy your Porsche without it - Everything you need to know about the 997 series 911 []  2019-12-23 20:6

    Perfect coverage and info that all about to be fresh and current owners can benefit from knowing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Loved the authors frank discussion about Porsche ownership. He info the feeling and fun involved with a Porsche. This book is a amazing fast read that I would recommend to future and current Porsche owners!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Loved the authors frank discussion about Porsche ownership. He info the feeling and fun involved with a Porsche. This book is a amazing fast read that I would recommend to future and current Porsche owners!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Amazing read. Helped me my first 911

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    I guess you could apply his thoughts to any vehicle that is appreciating. Well written and understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    I found this to be a quite interesting read. I think you can do what the author describes in this book. I don't think it would work for me mainly because I obtain beautiful attached to vehicles and a porsche would be a unique case of that for me. I don't think I could have one and be able to allow it go and move on to the next one. If I had the I would end up with a fleet of them. Probably all of them in different stages of disrepair. Haha. Yep, I would be a mess. But I bet I would be happy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Simple to read, to the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    The author goes into the history of Porsche with some fascinating insights and detials which I had never read before. Although all Porsche sportcars are discussed the 911 is the main focus of the models and the initial concepts and designs which create the 911 such a special animal are well documented in this book. Things like why the engine is in the back, why it was aircooled and why it had floor hinged pedals etc. Another interesting part of the book is the mental conflict between Porsche passion and the potential finanacial risk. The tip on which potential vehicles create an ideal first Porsche is perfect as is the chapters on what to look out for an avoid. It's quite a fast read but it's concise and to the point with no added fluff. Probably the most intereresting Porsche book I've read in fact I'd say it's essential reading for anyone who wants to their first Porsche and also for Porsche enthusiastes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Not sure I should have spent $17 for a pep talk!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    I guess you could apply his thoughts to any vehicle that is appreciating. Well written and understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Unbelievable introduction into the globe of Porsche ownership. Very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    A amazing - and fun - read. If you like cars, if the whine of an engine cranks you up, this short book will create you smile from ear to ear. You can feel the power and sense the thrill of carving through turns as the 911 responds. The only issue with the book is that it makes you wish to rush out and a Porsche! Well done, Mr. McGowan! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Definitive Guide to Porsche 997 series 911: Don't buy your Porsche without it - Everything you need to know about the 997 series 911 []  2019-12-23 20:6

    Down to earth assessment and comprehensive review of the 997 line, both generations. Amazing to have numbers and info on the 2 gens as it helps buying decision.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Definitive Guide to Porsche 997 series 911: Don't buy your Porsche without it - Everything you need to know about the 997 series 911 []  2019-12-23 20:6

    This is an perfect book for people in the shop for a 997.1 or 997.2 Porsche 911. I did a lot of research on my own before my and I agree with all the points created in this book. The images are all official Porsche promo shots and are high quality. I highly recommend reading this book before you a used 997 generation 911.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Definitive Guide to Porsche 997 series 911: Don't buy your Porsche without it - Everything you need to know about the 997 series 911 []  2019-12-23 20:6

    This was an perfect read for anybody interested in info about the 997 model Porsche. So much confusing info online, this book is a amazing source of truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Not sure I should have spent $17 for a pep talk!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911; The Practically Free Supercar: The complete beginner's guide to the smartest route into Porsche ownership []  2019-12-23 20:9

    This book had the intended result on my wife. Having just spent $10k on an engine rebuild on my 3.2 she appreciated the humor in the title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    Interesting read but is getting outdated quickly. The tip is common sense with some insights on certain years but nothing that you can't obtain with a fast Google search. My largest problem is how short the book is. I read it in a hour (at a slow pace) so was left with the feeling that this should have been an e-book for $2 instead of a $15 paperback.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    This book had the intended result on my wife. Having just spent $10k on an engine rebuild on my 3.2 she appreciated the humor in the title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911: The Practically Free Supercar: The Complete Beginners Guide to the Smartest Route into Porsche Ownership []  2020-1-16 12:10

    unbelievable book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Definitive Guide to Porsche 997 series 911: Don't buy your Porsche without it - Everything you need to know about the 997 series 911 []  2019-12-23 20:6

    Amazing compendium of info show in a very readable manner. Very happy to have been able to this in Kindle format!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    I recently purchased a 2003 911 996 and was looking for info about it. This book has a lot of information and is a nice me of the same information is available on Pelican Parts, but it is nice to have a printed little complaint is that the printing is fairly little and hard to read even with my glasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Detailed info but the basic reason I purchased this book was to obtain a handle on the different colors that were available for the 911. This books does provide the color names and codes but doesn't provide a picture of the colors. It would have been acceptable if the author would label the color in each photo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    I am on my second 911, and i required a handy referance when I am out looking at other 911. This method I can refer to the "Red Book" to confirm if there has or hasn't been modifications. Also what was the original equipment for that year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    I bought the 1st and 2nd editions when they first came out. This is a unbelievable modernize to the prior editions with the 991. I have not seen any book that described each model year in such detail. I will anxiously wait for the next edition when Porsche releases the next generation 911.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    What a Phenomenal Book, Randy Leffingwell capture every piece of info on a Porsche 911 since 1964, plus add phenomenal image to match. There are 329 pages to this awesome book. What I really like is all the photo's, totally beautiful. This is a amazing Coffee Table book, but again a amazing fact book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    With Porsche's 901 and later variants spanning 50 years, this book is a useful overview with high quality photography. However if you have a unique interest in a specific model (i.e. 911, 912, 923, 930, 959, 964, 991, 993, 996, 997) or year, or if you are interested in the history of the Porsche company during these years, or restoration guidelines, you will need extra book(s) with expanded text and documentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    I purchased this book for a friend's birthday - he absolutely loved it. Particularly fond of Porsches, I knew that he would appreciate the content - the evolution of the Porsche is greatly detailed as you progress through the book, attractive imagery coupled with informative text will oblige any vehicle lover. This makes for a amazing coffee table book or go-to-guide if you need to reference a specific year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Outstanding resource, don't know why I didn't this before. You can obtain all kinds of DIY information on the 996/997 all over the web and YouTube, but this book compresses a amazing of detail into one place. You might think it's silly (I did too, at first) to devote a "Project" about how to jack the vehicle up. Who doesn't know how to jack it up? Well, all the points including two along the center line, and which jack, stands, and why is not something I knew right off. Almost every "Project" has those small pointers that create the work much easier. Having done a few of the projects and figured them out myself before getting this book, I could quibble with a few info and image quality, but not many. And each project has a URL to obtain larger photos.With this book as a tutorial I feel much more confident starting a significant project, and even a easy one for the first time, because I'll avoid the mistakes that are usually learned the first time. Example: if replacing wheel bearings, place the bearings in the freezer before installing. Another positive is specific recommendations for tools, including a number of unusual ones that the author's experience has shown are valuable to have (not expensive ones, just unusual). I think this will become my go-to first reference for 996 DIY.Other reviews mention disappointment in the book that you need a full tool set. I think if you wish to go past the super primary projects, yes you will need a significant tool set but you don't have to invest a amazing deal. A lot of bundled sets from Home Depot for example (mine) are plenty amazing enough, with a few specific other stuff as mentioned in the book. To do anything beyond the basics (about 90% of the projects in the book), yes you need a amazing tool set. The bottom line, though, is that if you do even a single ONE of the larger projects in this book yourself, you have already recouped much if not all of the cost of the tools. My guess is $500-$700 for the tools, plus whatever you wish to spend for a amazing jack and stands ($300 - $700). Taking the high end of those, it's about 8 hours of a mechanic's labor. As also mentioned in the book, I would also highly recommend getting the Enthusiast Durametric tool to do diagnosis through the ECU fault codes and resetting check engine light, etc. But then, I have found that the 996 is beautiful enjoyable and simple to work on, more so than most cars, so I will easily obtain back a lot of times what I've spent on tools.But even the easy projects requiring few unique skills or tools can save you a lot of and allow you become more familiar with the car: changing oil, air filter; changing serpentine belt; replace plugs and coils; replace oxygen sensors; replace battery; replace hood shocks; replace window regulator and motor; install an aftermarket stereo head unit for example. All these will require just an hour or two and under $200 in tools although a couple will require at least a usable jack and one jack stand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    This book is a amazing resource of practical info on the 996. I hold it in the trunk so it's with me all the time. It covers so a lot of locations of the vehicle and it's laid out very well. My sunroof malfunctioned and wouldn't close a few months ago, Porsche dealer starts at $200 to look at it, the chapter covering the sun roof suggested I re-set or reboot the actuator. ...and it was fixed!! Dozens of ideas,practical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Probably the best DIY book I have ever read. I thought it would support me decide to a 996, since I like fixing things, but it shows clearly just how huge and involved the jobs really are on an old 911, so it convinced me to obtain a fresh Camry instead. ;p

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    I bought this book because the cover says "PRODUCTION NUMBERS". Well, they are only provided for the earlier models, and not the 2006 - 2012 models which I am most interested. For me, a waste of time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    I've only read a few pages and I'm loving this, easy with amazing pictures, amazing quality book. Text is simple, interesting and explanatory, no little talk and unnecessary attempt at banter, straight to the point history and little tech, excellent for anyone that wants to know their y issue is that this book ends at the 2010 model of the 911, this is 2014, needs to be updated!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    This book is superb. It is in essence a color workshop manual. If you do your own maintenance, especially any engine work such as replacing camshafts or dropping the motor, this book is perfect. Although some of the info is available in different locations on the web, it is much more concise and easier to pick up with this book rather than spending hours sifting thru rennlist posts. Clear differences in explanations between the five chain and three chain engines isn't in most of anything you might read online. Glad I got the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Not a poor reference. Would like to see better descriptions of the option packages. Gives only the short description but that seems to be all that is ever published. Still worth owning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    So, I was invited to the Porsche experience in Torrance and subsequently rented a 911. My exotic of choice for a very long time was a Lamborghini and then the Ferrari 458 Italia after an exotic driving experience where I drove a Murcielago as well as the aforementioned 458. Like a lot of dreamers I have read about maintenance of these cars and appreciate they are more for present than go. Interestingly, during the exotics driving the tutorial in the vehicle said the closest thing to a 458 that wasn't as expensive was a 911 4s. I got to drive one of those and that was amazing. Furthermore, a small bit of research will easily reveal that if you wish to drive a sports vehicle every day Porsche is the only option. That is amazing because they are awesome vehicles, after driving one for just a few hours, I read a book about them. If you care, like I do then you will have fun this:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Amazing overview of Porsche 911s. Much more information on the more expensive turbos and GTs then the base and S, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Amazing but some of the estimated times must be based on previous experience accomplishing something similar. Add a amazing 2-4 hours to estimated time if it's your first run at some of these mechanical repairs. Also take note that this is a Porsche and as such you will need "special" tools not available at your local auto parts shop ($$$).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Very well done reference manual. If you own a vehicle that this manual addresses you need this even if your not a wrench. This is amazing for reference when your talking with your favorite mechanic.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Wayne's book describes a wide range of maintenance stuff and (wish list) modification upgrades, and how to go about them. The info provided is very clearly written and backed with dozens of full-color photos. In addition, Wayne's writing style tells it like it is, which is very helpful in deciding if project dollars and time are to be well-spent with the project, or better to look elsewhere. Most important, each article allows me to decide if I'll be over my head in tackling that project.Other reviews say the book is a catalog for Wayne's company, Pelican Parts, because he states which modification/maintenance parts are "carried by Pelican Parts". Not a problem. I would much rather be pointed to a part that I can see has been tested by a third party then a glowing review from the manufacturer's marketing bottom line: This book, along with Adrian Streather's Essential Companion are far and away needed references for any 996 owner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Just one Very Nice Book, Full of Facts, Image and just about everything you need to know about the Finest years the Porsche. The Book starts with 1956 and ends with 2014. The Porsche 911 Red Book is very nicely broken down into years, 13 chapters, 64- 67, 68, 69, etc. There are Five Chapters on Carrera. Porsche's that makes your mind spin. If your even Thinking about a 911, This is by far a must have book. The Book is little enough that you can take it everywhere with you. The Specifications, options, Production Numbers, everything that you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Amazing modernize of a classic manual every Porsche owner must have. Learned that my 1975 911 engine is a Carrera type and not the "S" that I had supposed. Amazing reference manual with super photographs and articles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Attractive book, needs an modernize with a current model. Purchased this because I thought it led up to a current model or at least one within the latest 3-5 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Information, pictures and amazing reading for 912 fans, and probably for all sports vehicle fans and historians!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Porsche 911: Every Model Since 1964 (Complete Book Series) []  2020-1-1 18:34

    Awesome book. Has information on creation and specs of all Porsches from 356 to 992 gen Carrera (Last 911 that was released by the time this book was published). I really love Randy Leffingwell's Porsche books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    This book is a must have for all 996 and 997 owners. Even if you don't plan on even attempting repairing your Porsche yourself, this book will give you an idea and appreciation of the work being done by your Porsche mechanic. I was surprised at how a lot of repairs that can be done at home with minimal tools required. Nice to have all information in one put instead of searching online and having to spend hours in forums taking advise from "Joe Schmo" on how to work on my Porsche. Pictures are clear and useful. Detailed step by step instructions. The book also outlines how long the job takes, tools required, cost of parts, skill level recommended, tips, performance gained and necessary repairs to do while vehicle is apart. At the of this book, it is a steel. I was afraid this book was going to be too general but that is not the case, better than some dedicated repair manuals I have used. With this book you will have the confidence to tackle your repairs yourself or at the very least allow you know if a repair looks over your head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Projects for Your Porsche 911, 996 and 997 1998-2008 (Motorbooks Workshop) []  2019-12-20 18:55

    Well presented book as reference. It has a lot of tips and hints on working on your Porsche. It is not as detailed, but is more of a general reference on any upgrading projects for the car. After glancing through the book, it gave me all kinds of ideas to make batter my 997.2. Although the book only covers the 911 all the method to 997, but other than some slight differences it covers just about 90% of the 997.2 Porsches. As I said it is not a detailed step by step how-to tutorial for working on your car, but after referring to the topic, I have no issue finding extra detailed info through the forums and internet for specific details.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Porsche 911 Red Book 3rd Edition: Specifications, Options, Production Numbers, Data Codes and More []  2020-1-1 18:34

    A must have book for the air cooled Porsche enthusiast. Some of the information is confusing ( like production numbers) and possibly incorrect but this book is a amazing begin -- and inexpensive.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386