ALICE Staff Reviews & Opinions


Submit ALICE Staff review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    It doesn't work with j7 neo

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Application hold telling me my browser out of date when it's not. Now I can't log in at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    I installed this application on a fresh phone, have looked at every possible setting but I do not keep any notifications at all. please fix this.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on ALICE Staff or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch ALICE Staff video reviews and related movies:

    See ALICE Hotel Operations Platform on youtube.

     related image

    See ALICE on youtube.

     related image

    See ALICE Training for Faculty and Staff on youtube.

     related image

    See Alice Animal Control welcomes new staff on youtube.

     related image

    See Jet alice staff best moments ever.... on youtube.

     related image

    See 2019 11 6 VWT Second Life @ Enchanted Alice, by Enchanted Alice Staff Group on youtube.

     related image

    See Meet PSI7 Team 551 Chief of Staff Alice Tso on youtube.

     related image

    See An introduction to ALICE Institute Training on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    it doesnt work well with Android device hard to connect or login and you are not able to print screen so sad that only work fine with IOS.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Useful for work but notifications are loud and don't stop till you begin the app. Ignores silent mode. And I obtain notifications even when I've logged out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Automatically logs out, recently has been fixed but now cannot raise a make a job using app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    does not work correctly on android. doesnt stay logged in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    I logged out and keeps beeping I had to uninstall every day

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    dosent work force closes please fix

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Cool, [email protected]#$%! could do more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    glitches constantly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    No longer able to communicate with anyone. I am no longer able to write comments to inform residents about the status of thier maintenance requests.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    This application doesn't even work correctly have to copy and paste if I wanna write something whoever is in charge needs to fix this problem

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    can't communicate with other members,don't know who posted call,makes things difficult,Hot SOS was much better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Love communicating without having to track down a person or call anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    Awesome product

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ALICE Staff review [App]  2019-11-9 13:47

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice Sweet Alice review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    I'd like to know why movies like "Alice Sweet Alice" aren't mentioned nearly as much as they deserve nowadays. The fact that this movie is overlooked and forgotten, makes me realize that a lot of horror fans in training wheels are somehow missing out on a horror gem that is worthy of their attention. I suppose it is because people mostly tend to eulogize those movies that test to be figurative and subtle even if are not enjoyable whatsoever. I search it hard to believe that this movie was to a certain degree inspired by Nicolas Roeg's "Don't Look Now", because if I have to be honest, the only connection I can see, would be the usage of raincoats throughout the entire movie as an emblematic element. One of the main differences between these two movies is precisely what I was mentioning before: in "Don't Look Now", Mr. Roeg tried offers a pitiful excuse for a horror movie full of fake and nonsensical symbolism and mind-games, while "Alice Sweet Alice", delivers pure and crude horror at its best with a very agreeable twist in the end. I know this is an independent horror movie that probably didn't even obtain much attention when it came out, but honestly, I don't see why. This is one of those movies that came out during the mid 1970s in which the stories were beautiful plain at first sight and the ending could be somehow taken for granted. In "Alice Sweet Alice", the attention is mostly focused on the main character's psychology, which is Alice Spages (Paula Sheppard), an introverted 12 year old girl who lives with her mother (Linda Miller) and her spoiled small sister Karen (Brooke Shields). In this gruesome family drama, we see Alice as a manifest outcast who constantly tries to obtain her mother's attention by tormenting her small sister, who is obviously the one everyone loves and prefers. Fortunately (or perhaps unfortunately) for Alice, her sweet sister Karen is brutally murdered during the day of her first communion by the hand of a merciless assassin wearing a mask and a yellow raincoat. As it is expected, all the fingers begin pointing directly to Alice, since her jealousy and strange withdrawn manners match with her sister's perplexing slaughter Regardless of the obvious feelings surrendering Alice, her mother refuses to believe that her only daughter left is a raging murderess and confronts everyone who stands in her method just to prove the globe that her sweet small girl is incapable of killing a bug. Sadly, Alice's violent behavior and the evidences don't support very much. While Mrs. Spages and her former husband Dom desperately test to convince the others that their sweet Alice is not a premature murderess, the body count increases in the most dreadful ways and the victims are coincidentally Alice's declared rivals. Clearly, this movie could be taken as some kind of overlooked slasher film, but I myself search it compelling enough to be compared to some of the most respected horror gems that people worship nowadays. Nevertheless, "Alice Sweet Alice" is a easy movie when it comes to the method it was filmed and the lack of pretentiousness created it forgettable for some 'serious film fans'. All I know is that this movie will be highly appreciated by most horror fans and anyone who is in the mood to see a well-done psychological horror gem that doesn't test to emulate complex situations to captivate the audience and trick them into believing that there's any form of symbolism at all. It's a horror movie that contains vicious murders and a respectable body count, without turning into a pointless butchery that can only cling to gore. The psychological and 'respectable' side is show here as well, but Mr. Alfred Sole simply didn't need to brag about it and deceive the audience with misleading sequences.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice in Wasteland review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    If any of you have seen El Mariachi or Into the Woods, then you will know what can be done on a very limited budget with small professional equipment. As long as you have some skill, talent and vision. I always cite those as a benchmark for any low budget indie movie to aspire to. So much crap is created these days (perhaps more than in the late Seventies and early to mid Eighties I think), but not so much due to budget, but more the people involved. I now have another movie to add to them. Is it as good? Nowhere near no, is it crazy, with a wicked script, nice transition effects and a assassin soundtrack? Very much so. I think all those involved in this weird and unbelievable small flick knew what they were making, and because of that it works. It is not a amazing movie by any stretch of the imagination. It is not well acted (they’re atrocious). The production values are not amazing either. Some of the effects are truly terrible. But having said all that, it’s just bad, crazy, and tongue-in-cheek enough to be quite enjoyable and to wonder exactly where this angry ride will take you next. It is a ridiculous movie with an equally ridiculous plot. Some of the dialogue would not be amiss in a Seventies Grindhouse film. Quotes such as ‘Are you wet and mushy just like them oatmeal?’ and ‘You got amnesia? Well don’t be passing that @#$% around’ are par for the course in this angry romp. Our plot consists of Alice (Sondrup) trying to obtain out of town. A failed robbery lands her in a coma courtesy of power-mad cop Jill Robbe (Beisner). After a truly not good escape stage (played majorly tongue-in-cheek) from the local detention center, Alice then runs into the local pimp boss Ramrod. From there things escalate in silliness and madness. At one point (and I want she appeared earlier in the film) TNT (a perfectly cast Gentle Fritz) turns up as a type of Slay Bill Bond villain wearing a short Dirndl dress with a penchant for strangulation. She even comes complete with eerie smile and pigtails. The movie switches between general action fare to a Seventies El Mariachi exploitation flick (complete with Mexican music) and even throws in a small Thirties pathé for amazing measure, along with numerous nods to other movies and genres. Not a very amazing film, but one so angry and crazy it is well worth a watch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PathPix Alice review [App]  2017-10-25 13:0

    I think I have every ver of PathPix on Android device and love them all. I have not completed them all, but love them so much that I wish to help continued development of more packs. My hope is that this book theme continues with other classics. My one suggestion on the giant puzzles (my favorite!) is to have different degrees of difficulty based on path length. Sometimes I just don't have the mental energy to figure out the really long ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PathPix Alice review [App]  2017-10-25 13:0

    You just can't create enough of these pathpix android games !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Half Staff review [App]  2017-11-8 13:9

    Makes it simple to know why the flag is at half mast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Half Staff review [App]  2017-11-8 13:9

    My patriotism is through the roof. I can feel freedom and oil coursing through my veins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Half Staff review [App]  2017-11-8 13:9

    Kept crashing on me when I tapped the "Find out" button. There's better-looking apps out there anyway, so just ignore this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Half Staff review [App]  2017-11-8 13:9

    Does not work. 'Please wait'. Must have my location? Why?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Staff Bridge review [App]  2018-1-19 13:7

    Like the fresh features.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice ARCore review [App]  2018-2-26 13:8

    I have some gripes about it because usually sizes are skewed, doesn't detect walls and floor correctly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice ARCore review [App]  2018-2-26 13:8

    It crashes as soon as it opens. I'm using a Galaxy S8. I know the reason for this, and would be satisfied to support if the developers contacted me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice ARCore review [App]  2018-2-26 13:8

    Didn't work. Crashed immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice ARCore review [App]  2018-2-26 13:8

    Instant FC! Pixel 2 XL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Author Lisa Genova explores the dementia landscape through this work of fiction using the hero of Alice Howland, a cognitive psychology professor at Harvard, as our guide. She and her family are disbelieving when she is diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s at age 50, at the peak of both her professional and private life. The small mishaps written off to stress, fatigue, and carelessness now seem ominous harbingers of an eventual decay of her st dementia-related books are memoirs written by family caregivers since the diagnosed generally lack the stamina, organized thinking, self reflection and awareness to narrate their story. Their literary voice is silenced even before the disease literally destroys it. Genova’s approach, getting inside of Alice’s head as she goes about her day, while also describing non-afflicted peoples’ reaction to her increasingly bizarre and unsettling behavior, gives this book its intimate power. The reader sees the duality of the disease: who Alice thinks she is while others see who she is writing fiction in the third person, Genova, who is a neurologist as well as an author, gives us a realistic and first-hand insight into the thinking of the diagnosed and those who love them. The author describes medical testing, help groups, the loss of brain and body function, and the impact of the disease on individual and collective interests. Through a fictional character, Genova gives voice to the real-life sufferers of dementia.“Still Alice” is an astonishing and loving work of perspective and one of the best books about memory loss that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This haunting and special novel chronicles one woman's life as she slowly loses her identity to Alzheimer's. It's good. Some sections are very good. But it's also extremely ice's hero is beautifully drawn and the info of her medical condition are scary, fascinating and created me highly sympathetic. The novel's structure--each chapter taking put about a month apart over two years--is an effective method to present how the disease eats her alive over time.But so often the easy rules of amazing fiction writing aren't followed here, to the point where I wanted to leap in and begin making editorial notes in the margin. ("Show don't tell." "Make your info mirror your themes.")For starters, each hero says exactly what they feel and no descriptions carry any nuance or complexity. This means the book wears its themes on its proverbial sleeve, leaving readers with a lot of emotion but no meaning to tease condly, the writing itself is devoid of any rhythm or sense of beauty. The Alzheimer's itself does the massive lifting, as if Lisa Genova had pointed a camera at Alice and her family and allow them talk. She's reporting, not ly, there were times when Alice's functioning seemed almost normal and then a few pages later, she couldn't complete a primary task. If that's how Alzheimer's affects people it should have been mentioned, because otherwise it's not believable. Interestingly, the film, which I loved, didn't have this ere is so much to like in this novel, and with a year of writing classes under her belt Genova could be absolutely great. Here's hoping she signs up for a amazing fiction workshop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Due to the topic matter hitting too close to home, I had to delay reading this wonderful book until I was ready to handle the topic matter. My father was diagnosed with dementia (not Alzheimer's) and was gradually going downhill cognitively while his body stayed healthy and fit. A WWII combat veteran, he had gone to college on the GI Bill, earned a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and worked in the field for over 50 years. In the early stages, watching his confusion over trying to comprehend instructions on how to install a water faucet (which was the type of task that came easily to him) was heartbreaking. After a heavy stroke, which significantly affected his communication skills and further decreased his brain function, his globe shrunk and he could no longer read a newspaper or follow a football android game on is book was an wonderful read and, written by a neuroscientist, gave an insight into what goes on in the mind of a patient with Alzheimer's. When you are on the outside, looking in, it's difficult to understand what happens inside the head of someone facing these diseases that strip people of their cognitive function. It is obvious from the story that the author not only has a large talent for writing, she did her research in trying to share the experience of the patient. She also shows how these diseases impact everyone around them and people react in very various ways. That was how it unfolded in my own family and was tough on everyone is is one of those novels that I would recommend to just about anyone. If you have no experience with the disease it will be enlightening. If you know someone who is touched by this, it will give you a window into the mind of your mate or loved one. A tough, difficult read at times but well worth it as it is a brilliant novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    A thoughtful, intimate look into the life of a remarkable woman who is diagnosed at the age of 50 with early-onset Alzheimer's. The form of her particular type of the disease is extremely rare and also may result the lives of her 3 adult children. Each has the option for genetic testing to search out if they have inherited the mutated gene which causes the disease and carries a 100% possibility that the person will suffer the same fate as their mother. Powerful hero development, an perfect plot, and rich medical detail are just some of the things that I liked about this book. Due to its topic matter, the reader may expect sorrow, despair, frustration, anguish. Alice's family is emotionally torn apart as they deal with the mental decline of a woman they know as wife, mother, teacher, and research scientist. Yet, the overall feeling is one of hope for the future with continued research perhaps one day leading to a definitive cure and/or fresh treatments to stop the disease from e book offers a Q & A with the author, plus some book-club ideas for discussion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    ***Audible Version********5 BIG SHINY, TEAR FILLED STARS!*****What a beautifully written book! This one definitely pulled at the heart strings and I loved the POV being from the hero suffering from the disability.I started listening to the audible ver of Still Alice one the method back from Virginia Tech to Nashville. The 6 hour drive - I probably cried no less than 4 times. I also purchased it in paperback and rented the film before e book is superb! The movie? It's amazing on its own - but doesn't keep a candle to the book! I would suggest watching the movie, and then reading the book (that's normally how I do it anyways). The book divulges so much deeper into the mindset of Alice and expands so much more on her struggles. The amazing thing about seeing the cover of the film before reading the book - I had a mental picture of Julianne Moore as the main hero - and Julianne Moore gave a amazing performance in the film as well!There were a couple of parts in the book where it mentioned "Alice's curly black hair" and I would just erase that from my brain and insert "Alice's straight red hair".Fantastic! I can't gush about it enough... and will probably never look at Alzheimer's Disease the same ever again. Easily going into my top favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I read this book because I have symptoms of early onset dementia. I don't wish to have it. I don't obtain to choose. I live in Podunk USA. So, it is difficult to be seen and/or to be taken seriously, by anyone. We certainly do not have the cream of the crop doctors to rely on. A lot of could and would say Alice is just getting older, menopausal, or under too much stress. Luckily, her daughter saw something that worried her which led to the beginning of her diagnosis. It is heartbreaking how quickly she declined. I will read this again to learn more about diagnosis process, and treatment. This book grabs you and you have to hold reading. Alice is a attractive person, so you cheer for her and are always in her corner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This book has a amazing concept—Alzheimer's from the patient’s perspective, and it offers up some amazing clinical information. Unfortunately, it's the writing that is a major sticking point. The third person voice is awkward, particularly when focused on Alice’s inner journey and feelings. The writing has a disassociated feel where it reads more like a report than a private drama. I was hoping for an intense emotional connection, but instead found a static and shallow delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Even though I had already seen and loved the film which won the Best Actress Academy Award for Julianne Moore, the book was even better!!! I hated to see it end. The book is written from the perspective of Alice and everything she was feeling as the disease progressed. It begins with her being a 50-year-old professor of linguistics and psychology at Harvard University with a successful husband and three grown children. As the disease progresses and she forgets more and more necessary things, including being unable to search her method home from Harvard Square when she takes a run that she's taken a lot of times before. She even forgets to go to the airport for a conference in Chicago and misses her flight. She was fifty years old and felt like she might be losing her mind.I learned a lot about Alzheimers. My mother had the disease but she was older when she got it. Only ten percent of people with Alzheimer's have the early-onset form and are under sixty-five years old. The only method it's various from the older form is its cause usually has a powerful genetic linkage and it begins earlier. There's a couple of drugs for treating it, Aricept (which is what my mother took) and a newer one called Namenda. Neither is a cure but they slow the progression. Alice has a mutation that has a 50% possibility for each of her kids to inherit. That mutation has a 100% possibility of causing the disease. Pre-symptomatic genetic testing is available if they choose to know.I immediately found another book by Lisa Genova that I also loved because she is such an perfect writer! I wasn't at all disappointed with it either (Inside the O'Briens)! I'm sure I'll continue to read more of her books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    What makes this book special is that Genova tells the story of early onset Alzheimer's from the vantage point of the patient, Alice. Like a lot of who are struck with Alzheimer's, Alice has a amazing mind at the onset. By her fifties, Alice had accomplished far beyond what most people hope to achieve academically in their life. Being menopausal she experiences symptoms that most women her age start to experience, but is troubled when she gets lost in a familiar place. Rather than brushing off her symptoms, she seeks medical stead of dwelling on the problems the caregiver's face such as cleaning up the mess after Alice destroys the kitchen or empties every drawer in her bedroom, Alice relates what she is doing. Cordova contains narrative such as the notes that saner Alice left for incapacitated Alice. We experience the later Alice trying to process and follow instructions she no longer understands. We see the frustration and compassion of family through Alice's increasingly blurry understanding of what is going ough the diagnosis is devastating, Alice faces it and opens up the globe of the patient. Readers experience vicariously what it must be like to lose one's awareness and identity. Like a lot of readers, I read the book because I have had experience with loved ones who suffered from dementia or Alzheimer's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I read this book because I was curious to experience the source material for the fresh film with Julianne Moore. Being involved in healthcare marketing, I have written professionally about Alzheimer's care. In addition, some family members of mine, while I am not sure they had Alzheimer's per se, exhibited some sort of dementia toward the end of their lives, so the topic matter was particularly compelling to me. Initially I was place off by the rather pedestrian writing--no method would anyone consider this a "literary" novel. In fact, the book seemed so flat-footed in style that I almost did not obtain past the sample chapters on my Kindle. But I was curious enough to go ahead and take the possibility and purchase it. I must say that it ended up being fairly involving, and, strangely, the style that initially seemed so uninspired fit better and better as Alice's mental powers declined. And there was one moment when you realized that Alice was clearly becoming impaired that actually gave me chills, it was so neatly done--the reader is inside her mind as it happens, and it is a strong evocation of that strange disconnect and emptiness that must begin to take hold. Ultimately, the very simplicity of the prose had a strange and melancholy resonance and really seemed to convey her diminished cognitive abilities vividly and heartbreakingly. No one not in that situation can really know what it is like to be inside of the mind of someone with Alzheimer's, but the author's powers of empathy and imagination created this very sad story compelling and realistic. One could almost feel the crazy logic of clearly illogical behaviors of Alice and others with Alzheimer's--personality changes, chaotic actions with no clear rationale. I liked the fact that all of the characters were mixed bags--Alice's husband and kids were not always patient or noble, but that also seemed like true life, and the shared love of the family was believable. While, as other readers have noted, it probably wasn't strictly important to create the family quite so fabulously accomplished or sophisticated to have this be a compelling story, overall the book ended up being a worthwhile and moving read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Love, Alice is a fabulous novel of heartbreaking, heartwarming, haunting secrets that are bound together with others through grief; it will keep you breathless till the very end. I was totally in love with this book, from the beginning, as Dovie sits everyday by the graveside, trying to understand why her fiancé William, committed suicide. One day an older, bent over, sad woman comes to visit her daughters angel grave and there, she leaves a letter. Dovie finds herself taking the letter, even though she knows its wrong. She is deeply moved by what she reads and drawn into more grief, wanting to support Dora. More letters are slowly revealed and just hold the mystery going. There is so a lot of layers to this book, a richness that gives readers a sense of history, attractive landscapes, a taste of true Gullah food, a sense of the devastating outcome for Alice who has been sent away to one of the Magdalene asylums by her mother, a sense of repartee and humor of relationships that seem not to be working out, Austin, Kristopher, Dovie yet an everlasting hope that things will. The best is a Mother's love for which the heart never lets go. Butterflys and Tsunami's - coexisting emotions, damage denial, reality, loss, joy, choices, time to heal and forgiveness all so relatable... This book is one you will wish to begin reading again, because its that good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Barbara's books obtain better and better with each fresh one and that is the finest quality a amazing author can have. It means I read everything she writes, and you will is book, for me, was full of uncanny synchonitities in my own life. So I was in from the very start. Barbara weaves a story filled with connections, mystery, love, loss, and history you may have never known about. A lot of a girl was threatened into being a "good girl" with the idea she could end up in the Magdalene asylums. And a lot of a woman was abused, enslaved, and broken by these e min you begin reading Love, Alice you will be intrigued and wrapped up in solving the mysteries within. You won't regret this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Southern women's fiction and Barbara Davis go hand in hand. LOVE, ALICE, which takes put in attractive Charleston, SC, tells the story of emotional journeys undertaken by characters, seemingly disparate, but cleverly connected through old letters written by a deceased young British vie, around whom the story revolves, eats lunch at a Charleston cemetery as she has done since her fiancé committed suicide two weeks before their scheduled wedding. For one year, she has been searching for answers, always assuming that she is responsible.Her lunchtime is interrupted one day when an older woman locations a letter on an adjoining grave. Dovie's curiosity gets the better of her. Upon reading the lettter, she learns that the woman, Dora from the U.K., had forced Alice, her daughter, to give up her kid for adoption after giving birth at a Dickensian convent in 1960 (difficult to believe such locations continue to exist). Dora, grief and guilt filled, has exhausted every resource searching for Alice and her grandchild. She eventually learns that Alice worked as a nanny for one of Charleston's most prominent families, the Tates, and mysteriously died. But where is the grandchild? Why is a nanny buried in the family plot?Through her job at a prestigious museum, Dovie is acquainted with Gemma Tate and her man-about-town son, both major benefactors to the arts. As she and Dora, united in grief and guilt, become quick friends, Dovie grows ever more curious about the relationship between the Tates and Alice. The letters raise more questions than stery and romance versus the backdrop of one of America's most attractive cities is a recipe for an enjoyable read. Barbara Davis cleverly inserts bits of local color, such as the restaurant called Porch. The description of the Gullah food is so vivid that I had to quickly satisfy my craving for fried oysters! And for those inclined to cook, she contains some recipes in the appendix. My own preference: I would rather have the recipes separated from the story, as Ms. Davis has , ALICE is a story of friendship and includes amazing lessons about dealing with guilt, particularly when blame is misplaced. So grab yourself a glass of sweet tea and enjoy! I think you are in for a treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    I could not place this book down!Barbara Davis develops each hero so thoroughly you feel like you know them personally!It's a tragedy what happened to these young mothers, but with Love Alice, Mrs Davis spun a heart wrenching story with a lesson at the end! Read the story and search out what the lesson is, it's a amazing reminder :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    This is an awesome in-depth novel. I read it with the local book club & am so satisfied I did. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Love the detail of the locations - Charleston the surrounding low country and Ireland. Enjoyed the info of the characters' lives, watching them develop and grow. A amazing read that brings home what is truly necessary in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    I really loved this book. It was somewhat predictable but that did not take away from the attractive story that was told.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    This was the first book by Barbara Davis that I've read, will definitely not be the last. Such a well written story.1962 England, Alice Tandy is sent to a home for unwed mothers by her mother Dora. After her baby is taken away she discovers the baby was sent to Charleston SC. She finds a job with Gemma Tate wife of a prominent Charleston businessman as a nanny to her infant son Austin. 2005, Charleston Dovie Larkin was engaged to marry William Prescott but he committed suicide two weeks before the wedding. Dovie visits William's grave daily, there she sees a elderly woman leave a letter on Alice's grave, she takes the letter hoping it will support her with her mourning. I don't wish to go into too much detail and give spoilers, I dislike reviews that basically tell you the whole story. The story is filled with so a lot of emotions it truly tugs at your heart. Read it you won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Absolutely love the characters in this book. It is a must read and I recommend this author to anyone who aske for a amazing book to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Love, Alice review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Love, Alice is a beautifully written book about the effects of love on all ages. Each of the characters in the book struggles to search that love and is rewarded abundantly for their efforts. The book also gives another notice about love, that is never give up. It is out there for all of us no matter how pessimistic we may be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Saving for collage, so how about my idea... I have mates that play your android games and I play them too and we have fun them... But why the money?!? My family is saving up for collage for me and my siblings future. But I have an idea... So how about on one day of the week, month, year, I don't know... That can be a possibility for others that can't buy it to have fun the love of wonderland characters. But I like how you place certain kinds of melody on certain parts of the story. So I will give it a 4 star for how special it is. However... Please think about what my idea was, OK?! Thanks for this awesome android game (I know how they are because I watch it on YouTube, lol).😂😉😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Honestly I loved this game. The Cheshire cat, Ash, and Joker were the best stories. The only one I didn't like was Sakuto because I thought he was boring and too perfect. Cheshire's was the most thoughtful and compelling storyline, Ash's was the cutest and most dramatic while Jokers was extremely strong because it seemed have the most realism to it and was the most relatable. I am also glad that this is a pay once for the story application because I can binge. It is also much less expensive than buying a book so I'm sold :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I enjoyed this application greatly. The stories weren't duplicates, with the guys just switched out; there were intensely special plots. I'm happy to be able to buy the whole routes at once! I found myself riveted until the very end on all of them. Ash is probably my favorite, but Sakuto and Angry tie for second. I hope that Cardia might one day obtain his own route. He was an interesting hero I'd love to see more of.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    It's beautiful amazing I love this game, but everytime I scroll down to the reviews most people ask for it to be free. Ok people do you guys realize that this company needs to create cash in order to create android games for people to play for their own enjoyment. They create these android games that cost cash because they need to live off of something. If you hold asking it to be free, then they won't have the funds to modernize or create other android games for people. So SHUT THE HELL UP AND DEAL WITH IT YOU CRYBABIES!!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    9000 hearts! I absolutely love this game! The Cheshire cat story is by far the best and I actually shead tears! 😂 I most defendantly recommend this android game to all Anime fan girls! GO FALL IN LOVE!!!!! I do hope in the next modernize we obtain spinoffs for Bill. I also think Cardia should be a choice as well. We see his soft side in the Hatter's story and I feel like there's much more to the character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Stop Complaining It's really annoying that everyone is complaining that you have to pay for the story. There are sixteen other Shall We Date apps for free, so go play those. I don't have the patience for the free ones because they take too long. I just wish to play right through the story. I don't go and rant and rave on those android games because they take forever, so don't come here and complain. Just go play the others instead of being angry that you can't play a little handful that are pre-paid for those who don't wish to wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I know you have to create money, but... Alice in Wonderland is my favorite book, and the video looks very interesting. I wish to play this game, but my parents will only allow me play free games. They won't allow me pay for anything. I was just wondering if you could create the first story you play free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Definately cute I played the Cheshire Cat story. It's the first paid android game of this type I've ever invested cash to, few spelling errors to work around, and nice and long. Though if your hoping for a wild dreamy ride to create you blush and sigh, this is fun, but not it. This is high schooly and cute in an innocent way. I did have fun it, but won't be buying anymore from this installment. However, the play they did on Alice in Wonderland was quite awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    A Surprisingly Honest Offering From This Company I think this has been my first pleasant experience with this company. Rather than suffocate the player with scam-like micro-transactions to move past checkpoints in the story, Guilty Alice gives the option of paying for a route, up front. Bravo! I think I might actually invest in this story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I love it a lot! It's really simple to obtain attached to all the characters, I even cried while reading the end of Cheshire Cat's route (I reccommend reading that route last), even though I've never cried at any other otome games. Paying was definitely worth it. 👏

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    This has been my favorite rpg application that I have played. I loved the melody and the story was very intriguing. I want there were more android games like this, I've gotten bored with others, but not this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    The storyline I chose was great, and I don't mind paying for a android game but...you only obtain one short storyline for 4.99, and of you purchase the sequel, it doesn't follow the ending you got for the first part. This makes for lots of confusion and the general "What the heck is going on" vibe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Omg people stop whining. I'm far from rich but can spring for a 15 dollar Google play card here or there so I don't have to wait a year to read a full story. Its not that much cash to read through one time. These people have to create cash somewhere to please entitled whiners, that think people should spend their valuable time creating android games for them to play absolutely free! Do you even hear yourselves? If it means that much to you there has to be something in your life that you can skimp on the be able to spring for this 6$ game. The google play shop is a sea of free android games go search one and shut up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Just one question Why is it that I almost always end up on lost heart ending? I wish to see a amazing ending for once and from each respond that I choose that should move the bar, it doesn't move. Any ideas??

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Okay the reason I'm giving it a 3 is for one reason usually otome android games let's you choose a route before hitting you the face of you have to obtain cash to obtain this but when I got the application i went to joker and saw that it cost cash and I was like no!!!!! And before someone starts hating for that type of reason I just wish to allow you know that I'm going to test and obtain the route but I'm just one of those people who doesn't have cash on there phone That's all I'm saying alright but I would prefer it if it was like other otome android games but that's all I have to say next time I reviewed this android game it will be after I spend cash one a route so want me luck 😅

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Okay so alot of people go Cheshire cat this or Joker that. But is no one gonna talk about how awesome the angry hatter is? Like hot damn. If you ever dreamed of dating the angry hatter. Not gonna lie this is the story for you. Unlike a lot of other genres of the alice and wonderland otome games. The hatter isnt overly sexualized. In fact hes barley sexualized at all! Hes adorable and dosent understand feelings in fact hes like the angry hatter right from the story book and i love this android game for that. The android game just goes to present we dont always need a super sexy angry hatter sometimes its amazing to stick with cute. But deadly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Create it better!! Why literally every single story has to to be paid to be read? It's not fair. Because a lot of people wish to relax and have fun the story, not stress out about cash just to read one little story. As for me, I can't spend cash on something like that, especially if it's like $1.00 per story. I'd rather watch it on YouTube where it's not as fun and interesting but at least free and interesting. Here's my advice, create stories free but use story tickets to read it like some other android games that you hav like blood in roses

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I had to install it so I can leave a review I like it and dislike it because you created other shall we dates free why can't you create this one free too? Unlike others who created reviews saying how amazing it is are so damn rich while we not good folk have no cash especially ones who are in extreme pain and can't work and waiting on SSI. I think it's wrong that all the fresh shall we dates and the ones we have to pay. Some rich snobs are so discriminate versus others it's not fair.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Stop down voting because price : BZvmjJnWFQ BZvmjJnWFQ is mate gift id. I love Angry story line. Also yes you do have pay but what do expect this how they create a living. Wait more time and there probably going be free ver of game. So please don't down vote just because it just not free. Also, if dont method pay do google rewards and you obtain paid in google play credit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Waste of cash ! Since it's Alice in Wonderland theme, was hoping interesting & thrilling stories. But it ry lacking & unreasonable stories. Some drawings r ugly. **Spoiler Alert** Unlike wht i was expecting, storyline of all routes were - showing him around the human globe + him showing the mc around the Wonderland + kipnapped + back to red queen & escaped + satisfied ending. Except CCat route, it never explains why alice end up breaking the heart & she got away so easily at the end. Cute but doesn't worth any money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Well I agree with those who are upset with the numerous complaints about this android game and most other Shall we date? android games not being ople should be paid for their hard work of creating such attractive kinds of android games and well written stories Everyone needs to eat and well I am actually going to complain about this however. ..if A android game isn't free then it shouldn't be advertised on the playstore as free as it is a amazing misconception to those who obtain so excited about these unbelievable stories and most don't have the notion that the android game is not free.I can not play them as well I'm beautiful monetarily not good but as it is an inconvenience this android game is on the playstore as free. So if it's not free why is it noted as such?That's sneaky but it will be worth it for me to wait until I can pay....It is an awesome price for their android games and well written. I just wish to see how a lot of people who have been misled by the "free" under the icons for the android games that are NOT free to have that one thing changed so if someone's asking if it's free or not to see it before being led to a dead end that they can't afford

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Its SO BEAUTIFUL! BUT YOU HAVE TO BUY EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE PROLONG THE LESS IMPORTANT PART AND I DONT EVEN HAVE A CREDIT CARD YET 😭

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I like this Can you guys 'remix' these stories and create it into one of your + apps instead? I have no issue with paying, but I just thought it would be cool to see an Alice in Wonderland Shall we Date + game. Those usually turn out better anyways. Maybe like Wonders+ or something

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Love it but.. I love the characters and the melody I love this android game but why do we have to pay can't it be for free?!:( I'm loving this android game but part of me died when I saw that we have to pay for the story's please fix that ;;

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Amazing It's good. Just could u at least allow us read 3 of the chapters ,so that we obtain an idea of what were looking at. You know the characters

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    THE BEST GAME TO EVER SURFACE THIS EARTH I love this android game soooooo much!!! I don't obtain why people create such a huge deal about having to pay for it. I want this android game got more attention, it hasn't been updated in awhile

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Omg this was so perfect, I loved Joker so much, also Noir (chechire cat) and Ash and Angry xD I loved all exept for Sakuto, he was boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I HATE that you have to pay for the characters and the sequel. But I love it it's a really amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Could be a small better If you didnt have to buy the stories otherwise it was amazing and i was kinda scared at the beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    GREAT GAME OK I HAVE 3 OF THERE SHALL WE DATE GAMES NOW AND THERE ALL AWSOME GO CHECK OUT THERE OTHER GAMES THERE AWSOME

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Cardia I love everything about this android game the characters the story line love it but I would love it a LOT more if you could create a story for Cardia plz

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Definitely worth the money. I love the stories, they are definitely emotional rides. The character's and stories are well written. I would love to read Cardia's story as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Wow! At first I was a small wary because of the 3.5 rating, but it's actually amazing, top notch game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    I absolutely love all of the characters. Want there were more stories after the main to continue the hero evolution. Also REALLY wish a Cardia story!! I think it would be fun to read from that point of view and he seems interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Characters are well-put, the storyline is great, and the graphics are beautiful. ❤ Definitely worth the money. ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Aw sadly u have to py for the storys

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    DELETE THE PAYING Please delete the paying so we can do these stories for free I WANNA GET MY ROMANCE ON

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    Well that was a waste of my time to download it. They should label it as non free. Warn you that it has to be paid for. I dont have a bank card, i cant pay for this. Stupid app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    This had me thinking about a anime called Amnesia. If you have seen it you know what created me flashback at that anime all in all I am in love with the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guilty Alice review [App]  2019-1-11 21:14

    It's amazing But you need too pay to read😭😭 plz create of free I wish to read plzzz 😭😭😭😭😫🙅

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The popular and critically-lauded Victorian classic _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland_, was very first published in 1865. Written by author Lewis Carroll (real name - Charles Dodgson), this fantasy-adventure story has been adapted to both the scene and screen countless times. There's the familiar Walt Disney animated classic of_ Alice In Wonderland_ which was miserably underrated at the time, while there are a listless number of ambitious live-action screen adaptations that have largely failed to truly capture the spirit and flavour of Lewis Carroll's vivid vision of Wonderland. The Film This 1972 adaptation is something of an exception and stands out as the best live-action ver of the book. Some may beg to differ, however, as critical response was somewhat mixed but has since steadily grown in reputation. Director William Sterling, shrewdly manages to encapsulate the often dark and frightening vision of Wonderland. Not to say that this is some sort of kid's horror movie - far from it - but there is just something I can't quite place my finger on that slightly gives me the creeps, more than likely due to its intentional surreal, off-the-wall absurdity. A fifteen-year-old Fiona Fullerton heads the cast making, for me, the excellent Alice, to which I always compare to. This was my first taster of Alice In Wonderland so I always immediately think of this movie whenever the story is discussed, probably as it mirrors the book so admirably. What Fullerton succeeds in doing is taking with you with her on a magical journey, allowing you to view the strange adventures through her eyes and evoking a vague feeling of being drawn into a child's dream that escalates into a nightmare (I am, of course, writing from the perspective of how I felt as a kid when watching this). Fiona Fullerton is not least given noble help from a stellar cast featuring some of Britain's finest thespians of the era. The multi-talented Michael Crawford assumes the role of the jittery White Rabbit. Crawford plays the Rabbit with a certain flair, relying mostly (and appropriately) on his inimitable comic skills. Although a lot of of the actors are disguised in their costumes and make-up, there's no mistaking Crawford's voice here. Sir Robert Helpmann (who is far more wellknown for his role as the kid catcher in another perfect classic children's movie, _Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang_ ) shines as the notorious Angry Hatter during the manic Angry Hatter's tea party sequence and actually strongly resembles John Tenniel's popular illustrations in the original Alice books. Helpmann's comic facial expressions and spirited playing makes the sequence work extremely well. Helpmann shares the spotlight in this madcap stage with Peter Sellers who gives a fine supporting turn as the March Hare, while Dudley Moore causes some amusement as the poor, put-upon Dormouse. Sir Ralph Richardson is of amazing value as the Caterpillar in a very vivid scene, while Davy Kaye as the Mouse during the dreamy Caucus Race Sequence plays the role with a degree of subtlety, all adding to its hazy, dream-like feel. Much more effective, though, is Dame Flora Robson, putting in a unbelievable interpretation of the ferocious Queen Of Hearts who acquits herself well, managing to be both comical and scary in the role. Michael Jayston appears in the opening stage as Charles Dodgson and Duckworth (Hywel Bennett) sit on a river bank one hot summers afternoon. It is here where Dodgson begins telling the story of Alice's adventures underground. The nightmarish Duchess and Cook sequence is ignited by a fittingly off-beat performance from Peter Bull as the Duchess. Patsy Rolands as the demented, pepper-loving, plate-throwing Cook takes this role, it must be said, to fabulous fresh heights! The sullen, ever-crying Gryphon is played marvellously by Spike Milligan while Michael Hordern is equally perfect as the Mock Turtle. This fun sequence where Alice, the Gryphon and the Mock Turtle are seen running and dancing their method round a deserted beach, is sped up at points to add to its comical and magical effect. The stage is also accompanied by one of the very few effective songs of the saccharine soundtrack, Will You, Won't You Join The Dance? Roy Kinnear is the permanently grinning Cheshire Cat, while other familiar players in the cast contain Dennis Price as the King Of Hearts, Rodney Bewes as the bumbling Knave Of Hearts, Julian Chagrin as Bill The Lizard (seen during the stage where Alice has grown huge and is stuck in the White Rabbit's house - Bill the Lizard attempts to slide down the chimney into the house but Alice then swiftly kicks him back up again), Freddie Earle as Guinea Pig Pat (also seen during the White Rabbit's house scene), Ray Brooks as 1 of Spades, a young Dennis Waterman (before his days in 'The Sweeney') as 2 of spades and of course not forgetting twin brothers Frank and Freddie Cox who, for me, create the definitive Tweedledee and Tweedledum (characters that were taken from a segment in Lewis Carroll's sequel, _Through The Looking Glass And What Alice Found There_ - most scene and screen versions often tend to draw segments from both Alice books). _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland_ (1972) draws mainly on a dreamy, hazy-like result that gives the movie at times a dark, eerie @#$%!&till strikes an even balance between moments of fun, colourful, magical comedy to the more frightening settings. Most of the movie is engaging and totally enchanting. The surreal sequence at the beginning, for instance, is one of the scenes that really stands out in my mind as it is done so effectively. Alice wakes up in a giant story book garden and spots the White Rabbit gazing at his waist watch. Alice proceeds to follow the White Rabbit into a long, dark tunnel. Keeping up with the whole familiar ethos of Alice In Wonderland's popular catchphrase, "Curiouser and curiouser", Alice continues following the White Rabbit, unaware of the danger lying in front of her, and then finds herself tumbling down a huge rabbit hole which leads to the whimsical, topsy-turvy globe of Wonderland. The score during this sequence is masterful and hauntingly atmospheric. The Pool Of Tears sequence also works incredibly well where Alice finds herself in a huge hall full of doors. A little door, to her delight, leads into a attractive garden. It is here where she discovers potions and cakes that alternately create her shrink or grow large. At one point, Alice grows huge and begins crying which subsequently leads to her shrinking and swimming in her own pool of tears. Alice is washed ashore from the pool of tears and finds herself indulging in the Caucus Race with a mouse, dodo, owl, magpie, frog, duck and an eagle in a vastly trippy sequence which is where I used to search it most creepy as a kid! I've heard (as I'm sure you all have) different myths that Lewis Carroll was high on LSD at the time of writing the book. I have no idea whether this is real or not but you certainly can see peoples perceptions on this when you watch all the bizarre goings on in Alice's Adventures In Wonderland. I place it all down to a bizarre but amazing imagination on Lewis Carroll's part and this movie merely reflects that. _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland_ (1972) is even more disturbingly surreal later on in the movie such as the stage in the forest where a torrential storm occurs and a giant black emerges from the gloomy sky ready to attack Alice. I also used to search the Duchess and Cook sequence beautiful unsettling - especially when the Duchess begins shaking a clearly distraught real-life baby! Nightmarish to say the least but again this ties in with the book. The Trial of the Knave Of Hearts is where it gets most off the wall and at the close of this scenes there are lots of swirling, hallucegenic close-ups of the characters. What complements the mesmerising, hypnotic vibe of _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland_ is the bewitching, hauntingly atmospheric score by BAFTA Award-winning, John Barry. The movie also boasts magnificent cinematography from Geoffrey Unsworth which do reflect the original illustrations of the book. Even though some of the cardboard-like sets look far more suited for a scene production, a lot of are sumptuous and very eye catching. Overall, _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland (_1972) is an extremely faithful adaptation that's most noble in its loyalty to the book. In that fact it deserved far greater recognition than it initially received. Widely regarded as the best live-action screen ver by lovers of the book, it was still unfairly slated by critics of the day where some claimed it was too long, tedious and boring. To a point I can see where they're coming from and you really have to be in the right mood to take this movie on and I can't see it holding the attention of a lot of children these days. In an attempt to ignite the movies fortunes, Fiona Fullerton was being promoted as the fresh Julie Andrews but this did small to support the movies fate. Making matters worse was Peter Sellers criticising the movie to the media before it had even opened at cinemas! Sadly _Alice's Adventures In Wonderland_ did not endure the high Box Office turn over as anticipated. While it's real that A_lice's Adventures In Wonderland_ is too slow and a small bland at points, on casting its shortcomings (which you can over-look) aside, it's most definitely worth a look. Fans of _Alice In Wonderland _that have not yet had the delight of watching this charming, atmospheric version, will undoubtedly be enthralled. Ian Phillips

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Even though I am an older adult, I still loved this book and the previous one about Serafina and the Biltmore House. I have been to Biltmore three times and it is always amazing! This book set in that setting was so fascinating. Serafina is a unbelievable heroine. This book was exciting and I loved how everything came together at the end. I am looking forward to the third in the series. My granddaughter, 12, has read these too and raved about them. Amazing for any age!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    The books in this series are great! I originally purchased the books for my 11 year old son, because we like reading books together. But as it turns out, these books are a bit too scary for him. (He is easily scared and has poor dreams. The books might be fine for a various 11 year old. My oldest son would have been fine with these books at 11.) Nonetheless, the books are enjoyable, and I do recommend them to non-scaredy cats. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Completely entertaining, Robert Beatty’s “Serafina and the Twisted Staff” combines mystery, suspense, history and drama in a second tale of Serafina, the intriguing girl who lives in the basement at the Biltmore Estate. Beatty weaves a attractive web of details, a lot of based on the actual history of Biltmore, and re-introduces the reader to an intelligent, brave, imaginative kid who expands her horizons, and ours, through her discovery of her true self, her family, her friends, and the globe outside the Biltmore Estate. Learning to trust her instincts, while sharpening her war skills, Serafina proves to herself and her mates that she is intelligent enough and powerful enough to take on the vile monsters who are intent on destroying her world. She learns that she is not alone, but surrounded by family and mates who help her, encourage her, and respect her as she learns to respect their e scenery is beautifully detailed, descriptions of Biltmore’s lavish interior are compelling, the cast of characters varied and interesting. This is a amazing book. The story holds the reader’s attention, teaches while it entertains, and leaves us wanting more. Come on, Mr. Beatty, obtain that third tale finished; we’re hooked! … p.s. I received an Advanced Reading Copy, and pre-ordered my own copy; I’ll be buying the trilogy and introducing others, younger and older, to the exciting adventures of Serafina of Biltmore. [...] Beatty & Co./family have created a couple of intriguing videos to introduce the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Although the book could have been shorter, in my opinion, because Mr. Beatty makes thinks more complicated and/or detailed than they need to be and the main characters obtain into more problem in the course of a few days than is reasonable, the plot is engaging and I can skim through the overwritten parts without losing the necessary story line. It's a amazing book for reading in bed when you don't wish anything too massive or taxing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This review was written by my 10-yr.-old rafina and Twisted Staff is a really amazing book. The Twisted Staff Begins 3 weeks after Serafina defeated the man in the black cloak. If you haven't read the first book (Serafina and the Black Cloak,) consider going to the Biltmore Estate or read about it because both of the books talk about the rooms in Biltmore. I visited Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and it really helped me obtain into the books because I could picture what things looked like.Other people should read Serafina and the Twisted Staff. It's got one mystery after another. If you like adventure, this book is amazing for you. My favorite hero is Serafina because she is adventurous. I like to go outside a lot, and I can really relate to her. The fresh characters in the Twisted Staff are a girl named Rowena, a boy named Wasya Fredrick Law Olmstead (designer of Biltmore,) Detective Grathan, a maid named Essie, and the creepy man in the forest.I really hope there is a 3rd book coming soon. Create sure you don't miss Serafina and the Twisted Staff on July 12th! I hope you like it as much as I om mom:We received an advanced reader's copy and have a hardback on order. I am donating one of them to my daughter's school. I think these are unbelievable books for young girls. Thanks for the opportunity!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Robert Beatty lures readers deep into the Blue Ridge Mountains in Serafina and the Twisted Staff, a spellbinding fantasy steeped in the history of Western North Carolina. In this captivating sequel to Serafina and the Black Cloak, Beatty spins an enchanting yarn in which legendary figures, magically gifted humans, and chimerical beasts mingle with memories of a nascent Asheville and Appalachian lore. As the tale unfolds, our heroine hones her skills as a monster of the night, roaming ever further afield into the wilds beyond the cultivated grounds of the Biltmore Estate. Even as she does so, Serafina’s friendship with Braeden Vanderbilt blossoms, and she is drawn into Biltmore’s elaborate gardens and sophisticated banquet halls. Now a fearsome darkness threatens both of Serafina’s worlds. While wolfhounds hunt and owls screech, eerie men roam the forests and stalk the corridors. Like any adolescent, Serafina grapples with her developing sense of self as she faces fresh enemies, yet her fierce determination and natural prowess enable her to protect those she holds dear. Young readers will appreciate the story’s quick pace, twists and turns, and vivid descriptions. Educators will applaud the powerful characters and historical connections.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Beatty brings life to the story of a young girl whose desire for connection drives her passion to protect her home and all who share it. The story is a unbelievable continuation from the first Serafina book. My only critique falls on the latest few chapters. At the close of each one I expected the book to end, only to have another chapter begin. Overall, a amazing read and very appropriate for middle grade readers and older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This is pure fantasy. Purchased for my granddaughter. We read it together - it held her and my interest. Some material was a small intense for a 5th grader, but I believe is still very appropriate for elementary and middle school kids. (For clarity and comprehension, readers might consider reading Serafina and the Black Cloak, before reading this book.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Serafina and the Twisted Staff review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    I gave the first book Serafina and the Black Cloak to my amazing granddaughter for Christmas 2016. She is in the fourth grade and loves to read. After she finished the book she asked me if there were any more like this so I gave her Serafina and t he Twisted Staff for Valentines Day. She finished that one by the end of March so I'll be looking for more of Serafina books. In her words "I absolutely loved those books:... so I gave t he five stars for her.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter