Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal Reviews & Opinions


Submit Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This is a fascinating spy story from WW II. It's not quite as amazing as Macintyre's Operation Mincemeat book. But it has some very clever deceptions, cover ups, sabotage and other exploits of Eddie Chapman (alias Fritz, alias Zigzag).Eddie was a British citizen, rough Soho neighborhood criminal and safecracker. His capture and imprisonment on the British isle of Jersey coincided with the Nazi takeover of Jersey. Not wanting to spend his time time a Nazi jail he offered his explosives and criminal expertise to the Nazis. They took him up on it and after training, sent him to Britian to commit sabotage. He was promptly t wanting to spend his time in a British jail, he offered his spy services to MI5. He had just been trained as a Nazi spy and had loads of information. The Brits took him up on the offer. He was then trained in British spy techniques (while regularly sending messages back to his German handlers).The whole story is a romp through the double agent spy system during WW II. The fate of Eddie/Fritz/Zigzag is for the reader to discover. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The character of the book was well dubbed "Zigzag." A minor British crook, Eddie Chapman was being held in a local jail on the Isle of Jersey when the Nazis took over the place. He immediately volunteered his services as a spy versus Britain. The Germans finally accepted him and trained him to destroy the De Haviland aircraft factory in England, dropping him by parachute onto British soil. Once he got there, he immediately turned himself in to the authorities and offered to become a double agent versus Germany. How they "destroyed" the aircraft factory is a amazing story all by itself, and Chapman's adventures would create a very amazing movie. In fact, a rather poor film was created of it -- Triple Cross, starring Christopher Plummer -- as the studio tried to add small Sean Connery/James Bond touches to a story that was far more interesting than the script. I chanced upon that film on TV just after I read the book, so I speak from e book is a amazing example of a Boys' Own Paper adventure (with added sex). Macintyre tries his best to unravel the twists in Chapman's character, but the spy remains just too twisty. However, he does a amazing job with the supporting players -- Chapman's British and German spymasters, a collection of eccentrics, like the enthusiastic Nazi who was hipped on English folk dancing. Macintyre also has worked hard to separate Chapman's ver of things from what actually happened -- Chapman, to place it kindly, liked to embroider. Amazon offers the Kindle edition at a very low price, and it gives amazing value for the money, since one can reread it as one rereads a spy thriller. This thriller just happens to be true.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book came as a complete surprise to me. I had spent a number of years in Germany during the occupation years and met a lot of German officers who talked about how spys worked during the war. I was also attached to U.S. Embassys following the battle in both Paris and Rome so was aware of how that end of the buiness worked. I had no idea that the Brits had used a triple agent such as Chapmman. This man was a unique breed. I have met a few like him during my 26 year navy career and they always intrigue me. They seem toget away with things others always obtain punished for. This author has done his homework and provides detils that are almost too much to believe, but they obviously are true. Chapman was just intelligent enough as a criminal to fool the best minds of the German intelligence community, and the Brits too. He was only finally beaten by a snobbish Brit who did nothing anywhere near as brave as Chapman during his wartime service. The book is amazing reading and at times the reader will begin to feel that he is being place upon only to once again begin believing what he is reading. Finally I would like to have known what happened to the different girl mates following the battle and who now owns the Iron Cross awarded to Chapman. A image of that would have been nic. Amazing read though.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal video reviews and related movies:

    See Agent Zigzag: The Eddie Chapman Story (Part 1) on youtube.

     related image

    See Agent Zigzag: The Eddie Chapman Story on youtube.

     related image

    See Agent ZigZag on youtube.

     related image

    See History Book Review: Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal by Ben Maci... on youtube.

     related image

    See Agent Zigzag: The Eddie Chapman Story (Part 1) on youtube.

     related image

    See agent zigzag on youtube.

     related image

    See WWII SPIES on youtube.

     related image

    See Agent Zigzag: The Eddie Chapman Story (Part 2) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    An outstanding book. Growing up I heard a lot of stories of WWII and this book was fascinating in that it gives the reader an opportunity to learn about espionage operations the public were never privy too. The reader is introduced to all the players and the author does a superb job of telling the story in all its complexities. I have private opinions about the players (including the "lead", Eddie Chapman) which no doubt are quite various from probably all others. I have to wonder exactly if the entire charade were even worth it, considering that Ultra and Enigma were breaking a lot of codes required by the Allies. What I found truly appalling was the free pass that this lifetime criminal Chapman was given merely because he "worked" for MI5. Digging into my own private sentiments I feel that very possibly they were all playing "war war" and enjoying the android game in the safety net of their own environments. Chapman got his free pass in everything in life it seems due to a natural born con artist ability which also allowed him a self entitled and superior attitude which carried him safely through to a comfortable old age. Absorbing reading also was the German element and their players in this story. All fascinating and excellently written. The reader won't easily be able to place this book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Fascinating story - part Follett, part le Carre' with a small bit of Ludlum thrown in, but all true. This is a very well researched and written acc of what has to be one of the most interesting stories of WWII espionage. It is also a hero study of a very complicated and contradictory personality. Having just seen a newly restored de Havilland Mosquito bomber at AirVenture in Oshkosh (one of only 2 airworthy Mosquitos anywhere in the world), the part of story involving the sabotage of the de Havilland factory was particularly interesting to me. I enjoyed Macintyre's writing style and look forward to reading Operation Mincemeat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The story of a restless unconventional man living in times of cold conformity and a dark battle - a challenge he flips into a triumph over a strong state (two of them actually). Eddie Chapman finds peace by pursuing his own life with his own ethics and in his own manner, at a time of immense discord and death. His story is an inspiration of private awareness and choice in difficult times, in addition to an awesome perspective on Globe Battle e book is private rather than political - and raises more questions than answers - but delivers a stunning narrative of an unusual, talented and strangely ethical human being in his bold find for connection, love and peace. I read it in one evening, both inspired and wanting to know more :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I bought the hardcover of this book several years ago, and for one reason or other, I got around to reading it only a couple of days ago. Once I had begun though, I couldn't stop reading, because this Globe Battle II tale about a minor London villain-turned-double-agent is utterly riveting.Of all the books on espionage that I've read (and I am addicted to them), this one differs from the others in that instead of concentrating upon the highly-educated upper echelons of SIS and MI5, it focuses upon the running of a low-level but necessary cog in the intelligence wheel. By concentrating on the running of Eddie Chapman (self-educated behind bars), "Agent Zigzag" gives us a penetrating look into the workings of the British XX (double-cross) system of turning German agents into British agents, and covering their activities by means of ULTRA (the secret cracking of the German codes)--or using the double agents to cover ULTRA, depending on how one looks at the with all spy narratives, that of "Agent Zigzag" is ambiguous. What were Eddie Chapman's motives? Purely mercenary? To save his own skin? Eventually patriotic? The ambiguity carries over to his handlers, both in MI5 and in the Abwehr. Were these organizations' agents who risked their lives merely pawns in a life-and-death chess game? Were they expendable? Did promises created to them become negotiable, depending upon which method the winds of battle were blowing? What part did class play in decisions affecting their lives? For that matter, did either the British or German intelligence agencies concerned keep a monopoly on "goodness" or "badness"?These are only a few of the questions that Mr. McIntyre raises in a book that not only kept me reading but also kept me thinking about it afterwards.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This is an awesome story of a criminal and con man who usedhis skills as a double agent in Globe Battle 2 to become involved in Abwehe,the German secret service. He also managed to join the British secret serviceand develop info for the Germans that was least destructive when theLuftwaffe was bombing English is spy story was hard to place down as the battle progressed and the situationsthat he encountered became harder to explain. Somehow, he kept his cool and reallypulled the wool over his German companions'' eyes.. Eddie Chapman was one of the mostsuccessful double agents in WW 2, and if his story was not true, it would be hard to believe,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    As an adult I read non fiction almost exclusively, but years ago I was fond of reading spy novels. Trust me; not one of those old fanciful tales was half an engrossing as this one. I really believe that Hollywood could never craft a fictional screenplay as awesome as the story of Zigzag, and yet even as wonderful as the story seems, the info unfold with startling credibility; as it is absolutely true. Sometimes truth is much more formidable than even the most skillful spinning of fantasy. This book is a excellent example.I grew up hearing the anecdotal stories of battle from my father and uncles, all of which served in WWII. As a child I was riveted by the true life tales they had to share sitting around after a family meal. I have read quite a few non fiction books about divergent aspects of WWII a lot of of which are massive with details, seeming like a straight documentary. They are intriguing because they are history. This book is as insightful as any I have yet read in revealing the info of, and shedding light on the inner workings of, the historical happenings described, and yet was thoroughly entertaining at the same time. If you are a WWII aficionado you need to read this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Another wonderful tale of the awesome MI5 during WWII and their network of spies and double agents. However this story of Eddie Chapman is the best of them all. An wonderful real tale about a crook, a scoundrel, a hero, a traitor and a patriot all rolled into one fascinating person. Beautifully written and better than most spy novels. At the conclusion, the reader knows only one thing for sure about Eddie Chapman, and that is you really hoped you could have met him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Boy, love can be costly. I kept shouting at this woman to "knock it off" with the cash handouts. Her obsession for going broke was like a gamblers drive to lose all perspective on the consequences. Unless you walk in her shoes, no one can understand. How unfortunate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    It was very repetitious to the point where I had to push myself to [email protected]#$%!. Realizing the victim is not to blame, I was surprised it took 6 years to see what was happening. From an outsider view of course there were many, many, a lot of red flags, it's hard to fathom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    I enjoyed reading the book. It's hard to believe that there are people like that that are so devious. I was amazed at how gullible Mary was by what he was telling her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Amazing read!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    After reading the preview I was intrigued. I always wondered how women could fall victim to a con artist who blatantly spins web after web of lies. I was also curious how one man could balance numerous wives with no repercussions.Once I started reading the book, my heart went out to Mary and I began to understand what a sick person her husband was. It was also clear how he entrapped her. I can't imagine living my life with a constant fear for my life every day. I also can't imagine being slowly alienated from my mates and family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    This is an amazing, smart and powerful woman! To go through what she experienced and come out on the other side if that dark tunnel into sunshine is amazing. Not less she also writes her story well and is very articulate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    very redundant. Says a lot of the same thing in various ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    I like a book I want would not end. This book dragged on and I had to skip pages to be done with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    A very real, sad and logical acc of betrayal of a partner, wife and family... at a most intimate degree.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    This is a fascinating and well written acc of the hurt caused by the abuse of a one man versus a lot of women. It is so necessary that women know how to protect themselves from predators such as the man in this real story. I think every woman should read this, the more info we have the better we can protect ourselves, our mates and our family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Perfect writing , concise and exciting story of two young men who had the best of everything but were completely self absorbed in a hedonistic lifestyle that was empty and devoid of purpose. Two young men from privileged backgrounds that felt such entitlements to a prosperous life without the struggles that accompany such a lifestyle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Mr. Lindsey did a thorough job of characterizing Christopher and Daulton. I came away with a much better understanding why these two betrayed their countries, their families, mates and the American people. One wanted to embarrass his father's beliefs about law enforcement and the other just wanted money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    This story has been around a long time, but it was well worth reading. Perfect accounting of a major spy happening in America. They were very lucky to have escaped execution. Sadly, they both have been free men for a lot of years. Amazing read, outstanding writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Sadly, an perfect portrayal of some of our younger generation. None of the people are likeable, but are reflections of people we know or have known. Exactly fits that old tired cliche, "fact is stranger than fiction'. The author has captured the feel of the times and the callousness of youth. An unforgettable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    A bit disturbing at times. These spoiled brats were willing to endanger our country for a few bucks. They have been out for 15+ years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Had seen the film and this one doesn't disappoint

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    The book is well written. I was not aware of this story but was glad that I read it. It revealed the nature of individuals and also the difficulty of maintaining security.I recommend the book to anyone interested in personal/society security.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    This is the real story about a couple of spies who stole secrets about U.S. satellite programs in the mid-1970s and sold them to the Russians. The author draws you into the story well making it difficult to place the book down. The downside is that the real story involves a significant amount of immorality making it inappropriate for teens to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Well writen and enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Falcon and the Snowman: A True Story of Friendship and Espionage review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    A very real but sad record of historical fact. The info of the method Boyce and Daulton operated are awesome and true. I say so because I had a very minor subsequent involvement in the aftermath. The info of how the two developed their friendship, and the societal environment that existed at the time reinforce the common held view about the "era of free love" in which we baby boomers developed in our teen years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    If you like real crime this will not disappoint. A book that will create you question whether we are all capable of an ax murder.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    None are overlooked but the story doesn't drag. This is an simple read that held the attention of this real crime buff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Slow beginning but altogether a amazing read. Well treated about a real story and the people who lived it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Did not see the ending coming - Wont spoil it for future readers but truly was worth my time & cash to buy this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Very decent real crime about an old story. Amazing for a plane trip. Lots of trial coverage. I recommend it..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. The only part lacking was with the ebook ver there are no pictures. Other than that it was intriguing to say the least. Was I started I couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This book kept me reading well into the night! I didn't know until I finished that it was a real story! Highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This was very interesting. A look into the past. A time significant for me. Strange how I could relate to the times, what was expected and what a lot of women risked due to boredom. I recall not being surprised that a lot of women I knew went down related "roads" as Candy. Fortunately the consequences weren't as drastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This book Is so well written that I had difficulty putting it down. I almost feel like I know these folks....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Evidence of Love: A True Story of Passion and Death in the Suburbs review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Not a whodunit, since the killer's identity is quickly established, but a suspenseful psychological revelation of the basic characters. Deftly written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    Hope, that is the word I wish to begin with. I do believe that Scott Hildreth’s memoir Lover Come Back is a story of Hope. I believe that none of us walk through this globe alone, and thee greatest bonus we can give each other is never something that can be purchased in any method it can only be shared. When we share with each other who we are we connect in a method that cannot be described it can only be experienced. To say that what was shared in this novel touched me would not do it justice, I was moved by what I read, and I learned that when LOVE is embraced, we win, and victory every is novel is a glimpse into the story of how one man overcame tremendous odds and how when you least expect it love will plop down across the table from you. What impressed this reader most with the story was the humility that was woven through both given and received. The people that were met through the pages of this book, were never afraid to grow, to admit a mistake, to learn, to love and most necessary to laugh. I am not going to lie there were MANY, MANY, MANY locations that I was crying like a baby because what I read touched me so deeply and then it hit me, THAT REALLY HAPPENED. Which resulted in more tears, but tears of almost joy that I was able to learn and grow from what I just read, because it was the only thing that makes sense to my small head right now is to thank you, to Scott & Jessica, the Hildreth family and friends, thank you for sharing a glimpse into your journey.I am very excited to re-read this novel, I cannot wait to discuss with friends, I will definitely be recommending it to EVERYONE!!!!! So obtain your 1-click finger going or order the paperback, which ever works for you but read this attractive novel and feel the hope, but more necessary share it. That is it, that is all I got.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    As an avid Hildreth reader, this book certainly gave me a behind-the-man look at his past...and how his writing came to be...and how his lovely family family came together...I was moved through an emotional journey in this book...it will definitely be on my re-read list...Readers always love private glimpses into the authors we have grown to love as people...this story...made me love these two even more...knowing what they went through to be together...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    I do not even know where to begin, this book is amazing. I read it and I was addicted, grasping onto each chapter, not wanting it to end. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Scott and Jessica's love story is so attractive and Scott's writing is so pure, you can feel the emotion coming off each page. I was in awe at this book. You have to read this work of art, HAVE to, no other method to place it. If you love romance, and let's face it we all do, this is a MUST read for everyone, you won't be disappointed. After reading this book it makes you look at love in a various way, meaning if you have given up on love, don't, this book shows you how awesome love can be for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    Words cannot express how attractive and inspiring the real life story of Scott and Jessica someone who has read every one of Scott's books (and Jessica's too), I can honestly say this one is his best to date. Funny, sexy, heartbreaking, beautiful.I hope there will be a book 2 in around 10 years. Need the update!Thank you for sharing your life, your love, and your family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    A beautifully written real love story that usually doesn't obtain told. Obtain it before he changes his mind.If you've ever wondered where he (or other authors) obtain their stories, this real story will give you some insight.I laughed, maybe chuckled, and I cried, no I blubbered. This book opened my heart again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    "I concluded that the only thing that could fill my Scott-sized void… was Scott."I think this quote says beautiful much everything you need to is real...its happiness and heartbreak and everything in between. The book is ere's lots to fresh items to learn about Scott and Jess, as well as the items we already know :Jess is awesome, Scott is stubborn...lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    This book is one that will literally have you laughing so hard one min and then crying the next! This is a truly attractive recounting by the author of his life, and the people who share his life. Wonderfully written with love, you will not be able to place it down. I know i couldn't!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    Thank you Scott and Jess for sharing your story with us. It was awesome and inspiring! I want you both complete success in everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    I’ve only been following Scott for a year and a half. But in that time from following him on social media and watching his live feeds you feel like you obtain to know him. It’s impossible not to message how much Jess and Scott love each other. This book is like reading Scott’s journal. It’s from the heart, begin and honest. It’s nice to see that no matter your background, happily ever afters do exist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    LOVER COME BACK: An Unbelievable But True Love Story review [Book]  2018-3-16 18:0

    I’m in awe. This is more than a story in a book. This is heart, soul, living breathing words on a page. It is hard to place into words what this book means. I can tell you.. it was purchased and read straight through. You will not be able to place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    This book is a slice of history. It is interesting to note that the book was first published in 1945, and that Mr. Skousen was an FBI agent tasked by J. Edgar Hoover to write a report on the FBI. The original title, "The Story of the Federal bureau of Investigation," has been reprinted and distributed a lot of times e stories involve a lot of of the "big names" in crime, from John Dillinger to "Baby Face" Nelson to the Barker-Karpis Gang. Mr. Skousen also contains a chapter on the Lindbergh Kidnapping. Each story info the crimes as well as the efforts of the FBI to bring each criminal to fascinating aspect of the book is the author's prose. Perhaps it was due to one of Hoover's goals (to teach the youth that it was their job "to clean up America"). The info are written with the flavor of a pulp fiction novel, and the descriptions are filled with the slang terms of the day. For me, this kept the book interesting rather than nothing more than a compilation of dry commended reading for anyone interested in this zone of crime history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Always amazing information. Factual and gives amazing info into crime and what is wrong with the times were are in today as well. History repeats itself and reading this is a amazing example of that phenomena.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Short and to the point......I Liked the book, want the stories was longer but otherwise it was really a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Kindle book was badly printed. It would have the same passage on the next page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    y and entertaining read. Interesting part of history how and why the FBI was started. Fresh info you won't hear elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Kept reading and waiting for it to obtain better. Blah.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Most enlightening background tales of the 1920's 30's and 40's notorious Chicago crime moguls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    informative

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Having been raised in the midwest I especially enjoyed learning of several towns and cities I personnally have visited. I'm from Minnespolis and the local history here and in St Paul, Wisconsin, and Kansas Town doesn't cover the period with as much detail!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    This book is not worth paying for. There are no pics of the victim or accomplice and it's written like a boring conversation with the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    This book was written almost perfectly. As a real crime reader I go through a lot of books and search the Author stays on one situation to long or goes over and over again on it and then the suspense leaves and/or I have to skip a few pages here and there because they drag out the history of the city and then drag out the trial. This Book did neither. The Author did a unbelievable job. It was a horrible story of Murder and greed and you will not be able to place down the book.P.S. I have to correct the poster "Rick Eeee".She posted that the Victims wife was a Lawyer. This is not real Elisa was not a Lawyer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    My brother dated this woman he also took care of her two children when she was in prison in Florida ( before she married Mcnabney ). Needless to say she was unstable at best and very, very smart. She got out and sold his motorcycle behind his back to a man without the title and the ONLY reason he didn't have her locked up was because of her kids, he didn't wish to place them through anymore trauma.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    This is a well-written story about a couple of dysfunctional individuals who decided to obtain married, with the wife looking for an simple payday without having to do much work for it. Ironically, I had just seen on TCM the classic French film Diabolique, about a man's wife and mistress conspiring to slay him, and Cold Blooded is the real-life equivalent. In this 21st century spin on Diabolique, the unfortunate murder victim is a functioning alcoholic/drug-addicted private injury attorney (Larry McNabney), and the Simone Signoret/Vera Clouzot squad (Elisa McNabney/Sarah Dutra) are respectively the attorney's wife and the office secretary, who, unlike Simone and Vera in that French classic, are a romantic squad themselves. To add a further twist to the scheme, Elisa isn't really "Elisa;" she's a seasoned con woman and thief born Laren Sims who takes her nom de crime from a sister inmate in one of the jails in which she was imprisoned for one of her cons. It's ironic that this identity theft-cum murder took put on September 11, 2001, because afterward, with the Patriot Act and background checks coming into play, Laren/Elisa would not have gotten very far in the secret identity racket.I had read an earlier book on the McNabney murder, Marked for Death, but I prefer this ver by Carlton Smith because it goes deeper into the backstory on the McNabneys and Sara Dutra and how their paths crossed. Smith is one of the better true-crime writers. His Cold Blooded is a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Typically I am not much of a Carlton Smith real crime fan; however, I found Cold Blooded to be a tremendous piece of writing for the real crime genre. Most often writers are prone to show a bit of background, followed or preceeded by the known info of the crime and then the remainder of the book is generally the trial and sentencing of the accused; and, more often than not, is written almost word for word from trial t so in Cold Blooded! There is NEVER a dull moment in this book! The life and doings of Laren (aka Elisa) Jordan/McNabeney is better than any beauty salon gossip any day! And Carlton Smith info these happenings in a quick paced, attention gripping style that makes putting this book down difficult!Highly, highly recommended for real crime fans!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Carlton Smith packs it all into this one! He makes you really know and feel the emotions & personality of the people involved, & gets right to the meat of the story. I can't think of a single question left unanswered. He doesn't go witness by witness thru the trial as a lot of books do, but you don't feel cheated cuz he gave you all the facts e only part I skipped was the lo description of the town. But I do that with all books. Want they'd just present us a map!Phenomenal read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    I knew Larry McNabney and found both truth and fiction in this book. Even though some of the locations were vague, I do think Carlton Smith did a decent job of writing about a crime. He inviewed people were vaste opinions. And I felt he might have fallen for Sarah and Elisa. Neither of which could be trusted. But I will always remember Larry saying "Get Ink". It doesn't matter what anyone says about you, just as long as they print your name correctly.He had issues with trust, and thought alcohol was a savior. But when clean of the alcohol and drugs, he was an awesome man to be around. Will always sing kudos about Larry. He deserved better than he got.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    At the risk of being callous--since this book recounts a real story that brought death & pain to true people--the most astonishing thing about Carlton Smith's outstanding "Cold-Blooded" is that it turns out sometimes the consequences even of murder are just downright e latest half of the book takes on the quality of the classic noir movie "Blood Simple," with a murder victim who just won't die & a couple of murderers caught up in a waking nightmare, trundling their would-be victim around in a wheelchair, preventing searches of the trunk of their vehicle only as a last-second afterthought, surrounded by hundreds of witnesses, improvising their method through an appalling crime."Cold-Blooded" is very well done. The three key characters are Larry McNabney (murder victim), Elisa McNabney (grifter) & Sarah Dutra (grifter's apprentice). Smith gives life to all three for us. He takes a complicated series of crimes--those involving financial dealings at a law office could've been particularly distracting--& handles them brilliantly, not bogging the reader down or allowing the narrative to be distracted by some of the potentially fascinating but ultimately dead-end is should be a movie. Cast correctly, with a amazing screenplay, it would be excellent.Until you've read the book, you're maybe not going to understand how there could be humor in the story. Safe to say that all three main characters' stories resolved in exactly the ways that the three people had been living their lives. They created their choices, and they resulted in predictable outcomes. It's hard to feel too much sympathy for any of them.I always grapple with Amazon's rating system when it comes to real crime, because there are the real classics of the genre ("In Cold Blood," etc.) & then everything else & it seems so unfair to judge all on the same scale. However, I have no hesitation giving Smith's book five stars. It's an perfect piece of writing that takes voluminous research & parses it into an extraordinary, compelling story. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Reviewer Jim Greenhill's analogy with the Coen brothers Blood Simple, a modern movie noir was excellent. The thing amazing about this is that it's real. Much sadness and heartbreak but I thought this was a very well written book and I've read a lot of real crime. I firmly believe the saying "Truth is stranger than fiction," and this is once again confirmation on that point. The book and characters are unbelivable and twisted but most are frighteningly unaware that they are so. Even the main hero is a person who seems driven to do what she does. It brings questions to mind about hereditary factors, brain chemistry or maybe the idea that there may or may not be amazing and evil

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cold-Blooded: A True Story of Love, Lies, Greed, and Murder review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:17

    Amazing read. I liked it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    It's seldom you pick up a real crime book without having a beautiful amazing idea how it will unfold and this book is no exception. This book is told in such a method that the reader very much becomes "part" of the story. While I felt certain the doctor would be convicted as the trial wore on it held the same "tension" as a fictional murder mystery. Yes, I recommend the book, but not for the faint of heart. Reading it was more of an emotional experience than I had expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I must admit I didn't know what to expect. First I have never read anything from this author (or at least I don't think so) and as a parent I didn't know if or how I would feel reading about a father that could even think about something like this man did!I normally would not speak ill of the dead but his children and family are better off! What this man did was horrible! But it seems that while he was so dang intelligent he really had no sense!But this book was one of the best books I have read! It was so well written that I finished it latest night and stayed up to read it! And I don't regret it! It had everything you look for in a amazing read! So if you are looking for a well informed and well written book this is it!!! It was so much more....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    Since I was not even aware of the existence of the violent small corner of Illinois known as Small Egypt, I appreciated the readable history of this violent area. ("Secret and secretive." This background information did a amazing deal to place the behaviour of Dr Cavaness in context.And what a horror this man turned out to be! Beloved by his patients and yet an absolute master of abuse and almost wonderful violence and humiliation towards his family. There was so much ambivalence on the part of those who knew him as the "good doctor" and yet were aware of at least his potential to embrace a much darker side.O'Brien did a superb job of presenting the entire scenario, and all the characters come alive and become true people. Even Dale is not a one dimensional assassin but is at times loving and considerate. A very complicated tom line: Highly Recommended for anyone who loves real crime that is more than a simplistic collection of d job! Well done! Five stars for a riveting acc of this murky and even murkier people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I've always enjoyed real crime stories, and this is a amazing one. It's the story of what I would call a sociopath, though I don't believe that word was used in the book; in fact, the author doesn't go into the psychology of the man who committed such horrific murders of two of his sons while maintaining the trust of his patients and townspeople. I might have given it five stars but the author spent a bit too much time in the first part of the book on the zone of southern Illinois where much of the story takes put before getting into the meat of the story. There was a true poignancy, however, in the memories of members of the family wounded by their relationships with the murderer, and the courtroom scenes were very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I was entranced by this real story, which was written with an perfect mixture of emotion and fact. It well illustrates how an insulated group of people can become one tied to the cult of personality when they depend on someone such as this mentally sick doctor. While it is striking that the Doctor would slay his own sons because he felt they weren't amazing enough for him, a society in poverty with small education and contact with the outside globe will cling to whatever so-called savior it can find. This story came to a horrifying conclusion via the doctor's perceptions of himself and his family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I grew up across the river in SE Missouri and attended Grad School at SIU Carbondale. The local description is dead on and I enjoyed reading about the history of the area. Wwe always thought that Cairo was a den of inequity, but the areas in this book are even more deplorable. I fast read, well written and enjoyable. Not morbid or depressing, but heart touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    This is a book that I REALLY enjoyed. Anytime you have REAL people, especially doctors evidencing a fresh level of crazy, it's fun. I went to school at SIU-C so kinda a sorta know the lifestyle of the locals, BUT you don't have to be familiar with Southern Illinois to have fun this perfect read. It is memorable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I chose to read this book because I live in southern Illinois, and have a mate who knew most of the people in this book. The pace of the narrative accelerates as one reads through it, and I enjoyed the latter half more. I recommend this to anyone who likes real crime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    Real crime is not my preferred genre but, as a born and bred Egyptian, the title interested me. I was raised in northern Egypt, married in Carbondale and had my kids in Marion. My father's people were long time Egyptians with my grandfather being one of the mentioned bootleggers who was known to play cards with the Shelton boys(hopefully he was not involved with the shoot 'em up part, but who knows). The descriptions of the zone were very amazing and the story intriguing. I had moved to central Illinois by the time of the trial (jobs in Egypt are not simple to come by), so I had not heard much about it. I was not disappointed in this very well written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a Father's Ultimate Betrayal review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I found this book to be very interesting. I have fun reading real crime type books, but I am always amazed when reading these the things that people, generally women, will place up with from the men that ultimately commit the crime. This book was no exception. The doctor/husband in this book was truly a sociopath and a completely weird person his whole life. And what boggles my mind is that no one would ever call him on it and his wife place up with his cruelty and weirdness for years. A amazing read and a fascinating look into human behavior. Unfortunately, very sad also for this family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    The review of the 1930s in Germany and the scientific situation makes it a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    this book melts in your brain, not in your eyes, which is to say, it is immenately readable and informative. the one issue with this book is that it doesn't latest long enough, it keeps you wanting more. do buy this unbelievable acc of the atomic scientists

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I have fun reading real historical books and it was interesting to read about the different scientists expelled or who fled from Germany--both Jews and non-Jews. I was most interested in the story of Warner Heisenberg--and the controversy whether he helped or impeded the German development of the atomic bomb. I would have liked to have known more about his life and relationship with Bohr.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    The book documents one of the most necessary migration processes in the history of mankind. It doesn't address the whole process of scientific migration due to the coming to power of Nazism in Germany, it documents cases, but it provides a amazing starting point for such a study.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Well researched, but much of it is a dry recitation of biographies of refugee scientists

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hitler's Gift: The True Story of the Scientists Expelled by the Nazi Regime review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I search the acc in the book to be a very historic description.I lived through the second globe battle in Europe, and was witness to some of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I felt like her experience could have been ripped out of the pages of my diary. It’s wonderful what Elizabeth went through by the time she was 18. Her story isn't unique, though. There are so a lot of girls just like her who've gone through the same thing. So a lot of of her thoughts were just like my thoughts. The book is written like everything is event in the show moment even though its filled with flashbacks. I liked how she shows that you can come from a broken home even if your home looks really amazing on the outside. I grew up just like Elizabeth. I didn't turn to drugs, but I developed an eating disorder to cope with my pain. I want I had found this book when I was a teenager. I might not have felt so alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    What a story. This book is absolutely unbelievable and so sad at the same time. I am so glad that Elizabeth came out on the other side but what she went through and had to go through was heart-wrenching. Here's to you, Elizabeth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    This book has a unique meaning and notice for me. I found it simple to identify with Elizabeth but instead of drugs I used hatred for myself until I learned to forgive. That was the begin of my healing and redemption. This book chronicles quite a few of my feelings. So glad I had the possibility to read this amazing book and not feel so alone anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I am a survivor of trauma and kid abuse. I read a lot about it .It helps to know I am not alone. Thanks for writing your book and the work you do in this field. I enjoyed the book very much..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    The real story of Elizabeth Garrison's early childhood abuse, and family domestic violence perpetrated in the name of God.. which led to teenage drug abuse and drinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    What can one say after sharing this child's story?? Even though she denied Him, her faith in God came through and gave her the strength she required at just the right time in her street to death!., kid abusers rarely obtain what they deserve because family members don't wish to admit it nor share in the shame!! This really should be a priority today to stop incestual abuse!!! Thank you Elizabeth for the courage you have shown!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    While the memories were locked away the devastation that followed this young lady into adulthood were horrifying. The situations and circumstances that Elizabeth went thru to feed her addiction were truely heartbreaking. While we - as the reader- kept pulling for her to turn her life around, I kept asking myself why does she hold going back. When you think they are at rock bottom they seem to search an even lower rock bottom!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    An wonderful acc of a life that is sadly true. So a lot of kids out there suffer at the hands of the very people who are supposed to protect them above all else. I hope your sister finally found her voice and I hope you were finally able to repair the relationship with your brother. I know your son is loves. God bless you and your family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I've been a therapeutic foster parent for 14 years and I felt like I was reading about one of the kids that has lived in my home. This book goes into amazing detail as to the life that some of these kids live. They are paying the penalty for the sins/crimes of the parents while the parents go free. Thank God for this success story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    A hard read but a amazing one. It's a notice of hope at the end. Then, when I read the epilogue, I got all choked up. Someone who has never had a private experience as an addict or loved an addict in their life may not relate to or understand the book. But if you've traveled that road, there's a lot here for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hope Heals: A True Story of Overwhelming Loss and an Overcoming Love review [Book]  2018-4-25 18:0

    This is not a story you can read and place back on the shelf to catch dust. Jay and Katherine don't sugar coat the reality of their suffering and emotions, but rather share, profoundly, how God worked all of what was meant to slay Katherine and destroy their lives for good, how Hope anchored them through the a lot of unfathomable storms, and how selfless love can endure the worst of times. This is a story you will wish to share and it will undoubtedly equip you for the sufferings you may face, arming you with hope and a sense that your suffering will not be wasted. Buy it now, don't think twice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hope Heals: A True Story of Overwhelming Loss and an Overcoming Love review [Book]  2018-4-25 18:0

    I downloaded this book over the holiday and once I started reading it, I couldn't place it down. I appreciate your honesty and present weakness in writing the raw and human emotions that we, as believers, are a lot of times expected to be immune to by those watching, especially among the non-believers, just waiting to point the finger and scream, "Ha! I knew it was all fake."Our neighbor fell and landed on the base of his head about 18 months ago and has been recovering from a TBI. His wife has been carrying this burden alone and ignored our pleas to help. Neighbor relations have been deteriorating as we are helpless to come to her aid with her husband. We have been slowly watching as she becomes more and more withdrawn and mad at any one - especially my kids who cross over into her yard when they play. This book is so timely in helping me to dig deeper and push further towards supernatural grace towards our neighbors who are suffering in ways I would never fully be able to understand without reading this book. Hope does heal. And I will continue to hope and pray for our neighbor, his continued recovery and for his wife who endures so much of the burden alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hope Heals: A True Story of Overwhelming Loss and an Overcoming Love review [Book]  2018-4-25 18:0

    I have recommended this book to others (even before I finished it!!). What a truly unbelievable look at how hope and faith in God support us through even the hardest of physical and emotional times. Katherine and Jay Wolf are wonderful people with unending faith. They included so a lot of unbelievable Biblical quotes in their book. I only want that everyone on earth realized that hope does not always obtain us what we wish but His plan will always provide and lead to e difficult path in life that Katherine lived changed what she thought her life would be like and made an inspirational path for others to follow!It's a must read...for those with faith and especially for those who are without.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hope Heals: A True Story of Overwhelming Loss and an Overcoming Love review [Book]  2018-4-25 18:0

    What happens when life turns out differently than you planned, much various than you expected? Do you wonder if God has created a mistake? Has He forgotten you? Hope Heals takes us on a journey with a attractive young couple who faced devastating loss while nearly newlyweds and fresh parents...near death and back to life again. But back to a very various life, a various marriage, a various "new normal." Is it possible that what we think of as a detour is really part of God's plan all along? Hope Heals weaves eternal truths into a captivating real story of tremendous loss and miraculous healing. And yet, this healing isn't complete and will never be so on this side of eternity. How a lot of of us feel incomplete in some way? How a lot of of us long for that one thing to be different? Hope Heals can support you on your journey to coming to peace with some of life's disappointments and "detours." For if Katherine and Jay can go on and search renewed Hope and a sense of healing from it, then so can I...and so can you.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter