All Songs Haschak Sisters Reviews & Opinions


Submit All Songs Haschak Sisters review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Songs Haschak Sisters [App]  2018-4-15 21:9

    I hated this application because it had curs words in it and the hashtag sister would never curs in a song and in theese songs it shows the hashtag sister singing but the learexs had curs words in it and i am only 8 years old so they should fix that so i hate this application if you are under 12 do not donloud this application so i am deleting this application right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Songs Haschak Sisters [App]  2018-4-15 21:9

    Its OK but I am only 11 years old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sisters [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Sisters are doing it for themselves… Sisters is directed by Brain De Palma who also co-writes the screenplay with Louisa Rose. It stars Margot Kidder, Jennifer Salt, Charles Durning, Lisle Wilson and William Finley. Melody is by Bernard Herrmann and cinematography by Gregory Sandor. When newspaper reporter Grace Collier (Salt) observes what she perceives to be a murder in the apartment across the road from her own, it proves to be the catalyst for a trip down a dark psychologically damaged street. To be honest here, the continuous complaints about De Palma being a Hitchcock clone got boring around about the mid eighties. [email protected]#$%!ch is my private favourite director it has never bothered me one bit that he homaged and borrowed from the amazing man's cannon, in fact I have always found that when on form it was amazing to have someone like De Palma to hold the suspense thriller genre going. It's not as if he's the only one who owes his career to director's from the past really is it? Sisters is a wonderfully trippy suspenser, where De Palma lifts from some amazing Hitchcock motifs to portray a clinically edgy story based around an article he read about Siamese twins Masha and Dasha Krivoshlyapova. Infused with technical flourishes such as split screens, POV filming and close quarter framing, the director is donating his own blood for the veins of the piece. Suspense is rarely far away, be it characters in some sort of danger, or the possible discovery of a body, there is no pause for pointless filler fodder. While twists and revelations engage the brain instead of insulting it, something a lot of of today's horror/thriller directors could learn to "homage" from actually, and a nightmare section of movie literally unfurled out of the minds eye is top draw. Herrmann was enticed out of near retirement to score the music, the genre and themes at work in the story ready created for his skilled compositions. The score in all essence is lifted from his own major works for Hitchcock, with added sections taken from Jason and the Argonauts and Mysterious Island, but reworked in such away it drifts a perfectly off-kilter vibe across production. Kidder and Salt do amazing work in tricky roles, and Finley is suitably edgy. Durning is a small wasted, though, but it's a little complaint in the acting area. There's a couple of plot holes and one turn of happenings that just doesn't create sense, but this is a prime De Palma thriller and a amazing starting point for anyone interested in his work. And yes! For anyone who really isn't bothered about someone homaging a past master. 8/10

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on All Songs Haschak Sisters or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch All Songs Haschak Sisters video reviews and related movies:

    Justin Bieber - What Do You Mean (Haschak Sisters Cover) John HjTrue

     related image

    Haschak Sisters

     related image

    MattyBRaps - Little Bit (feat. Haschak Sisters)

     related image

    Haschak Sisters - Colors

     related image

    Haschak Sisters - Boys Are So Ugh

     related image

    Haschak Sisters - Two More Minutes

     related image

    Haschak Sisters - Show Me What You Got

     related image

    haschak sisters all songs

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Even if it's not Summer, but warm weather is tickling and you're just a little bit restless pick this book up. The characters are all wonderful. You know them or wish to know them. The trying times are challenging and the community is engulfing. Grab this book and sit a spell there are some gals who wish to tell you a thing or two.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    It's not a amazing literary read but it is a nice story of a set of sisters who overcome adverse situations. You have your difficult marriage,your abusive crazy husband, a slightly senile mother and a family business. They suffer an unusual number of difficulties but the lessons of family and community prevail. It's an simple read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    A familiar story about what goes on behind the curtain of family support. It reminds you not to judge because you rarely know the whole story. Like all siblings , their personalities, ,strengths and weaknesses are very different. Sometimes that creates a divide but in this case it creates a deeper bond.Well written and edited. A amazing rainy night read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    This is a attractive story about three sisters and their relationship with each other and their families. I loved it was set in South Carolina. For me it did drag at times, but that could have just been me. I just came off reading several intense fast-paced thrillers so this was major change. Jackie was the most self absorbed and unlikable character, but she grew on me. Overall it is very well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Since I have fun stories of complicated families and interesting characters, I loved this book. It didn't take long to obtain hooked and quickly turn pages to see what would happen next. I ordered the second of the series but have not yet started it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Just read the entire Sweeney Sisters Series and enjoyed each and every one. I feel as though I know the characters personally. Always lots of drama going on in their lives, but never boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Warmly written with the heart of a real South Carolinians and a love for all things about family and the ocean. Truly a pleasure to read and I can't wait to finish the series for all things

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Unbelievable story beautifully told. Terrific characters, a story of family and of family love and pulling together, a valuable lesson. A truly moving story. A must read book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Loved the differences between the sisters and each of their takes on "Lovie" and what was event to her. Unfortunately I could truly relate to what was event to her. Alzheimer's is a debilitating disease and and so difficult not only on the individual experiencing it but also the family members. I found it a very real portrayal of what individuals and families go through. Would recommend it to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Her Sister's Shoes (Sweeney Sisters Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-2 18:0

    Wow! I really enjoyed this story and found the characters so interesting. I liked how each sister had their own personality and set of issues but never lost sight that family is most important.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I LOVED this series and I am an adult woman. It nearly ranked up there with Harry Potter! My kiddos loved the story as well. Each book it better than the latest and I really want they would create a movie! It would be even better than the Spiderwick film if they did. Amazing coming of age, thrilling, magic, sorrow, and just a touch of innocent romance. There are amazing lessons to be learned such as bravery, you can do anyting that you place your mind too, family values, and doing the right thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    The sisters Grimm shows lots of faith, trust, and mad pixies! I love the loyalty the grandmother gives to her granddaughters, even Sabrina who is so rude to the old woman. I could feel the sense of being tricked when they were, because I was soengaged in the book. The conversation thatgoes through the book is so interesting-even the conversation that doesn't involveany dialogue, like Sabrina's feelings. Another thing is how daphne is so strong. It talks about how courageous Sabrina is, but if you think about it, daphne is so young, only seven yrs. old, and she has a very confident level of her own. One of my favorite parts, is how they left us hanging, but not really- they said to be continued, but it didn't end in the middle of some sort of huge fight- it was the excellent method to say, "keep reading, it just got exciting!"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This series (The Sisters Grimm) by Michael Buckley are amazing! Seriously you can't obtain my sister to pick up a book for anything, but every time a fresh book would come out we would have to buy it right away (of course I would have to read it to her lol). This series is about two sisters who have to go live with their grandmother, and not only do they search out fairy-tales are true but their family is at the center of it. There is mystery, intrigue, magic, friendship, love, sacrifice, but most necessary of all family! This is a amazing series for children and adults alike, because I am 23 and I still have fun listening to these books on audio!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    As a fourth grade teacher, it is a constant struggle to search books my reluctant readers will read. I had heard amazing things about this book, so I decided to read it aloud to my students. It set off a reading frenzy! At least a third of my students have started the series. There are 9 books, and they LOVE them, even the boys! They're so well-written. It's a very creative concept - two sisters work with their granny to solve mysteries involving a lot of fairy tale characters. You've got mystery, well-known fairy tale characters, magic, wit... It makes for amazing reading. I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This book is about two girls named Sabrina(the older sister) and Daphne, (the younger sister) who loose their parents. One day, they are sent to a old women's house that they have to stay with and she claimed to be their brina doesn't believe this because her parents told her that her grandmother had already died! Their grandmother told them that fairy tale characters are real. Unfortunately, their grandmother gets taken by a giant. The two sisters go through a lot of obstacles in order to search their grandmother, and finally, they do. Later on,they nearly search their parents and are as satisfied as can be!😄

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I gave this book 5 stars bc it tells the story of how two sisters have a normal life then thrown in a orphan put then there grandmother who was supposed to be died takes them to Fairy Port Landing. While Sabrina thinks the old woman lost her mind telling them that fairy tales are real. Daphne is gullible and believes her. Sabrina tried to escape one day with her young sister Daphne but then her grandmother was captured by a giant and Daphne and Sabrina have to rescue her. Then Daphne and Sabrina are introduced to magic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Amazing book. I read to my boys at night and we all loved it amazing hero building. Especially for a book based on fairy tales and fantasy, the characters were extremely believable, and relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Action, Adventure, And funky colourful pasta, the excellent combination for any book. In Ferryport Landing, anything is possible, as sisters Sabrina and Daphne soon discover. What seems to be a normal (although boring) city soon becomes the stage of a mystery unlike anything the girls have ever seen, and they are right in the middle of it. With fairy-tale characters such as Prince Charming, the Three Small Pigs, Jack (of the Jack and the bean stock story) And The Huge Poor Wolf, place into a modern, little city setting you never know what can happen. The only issue I have with these books is how annoying Sabrina is, and, after reading these reviews, I see that a lot of other people have that issue too. But, if you feel like giving up on these books, don't. You'll be satisfied you read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My children and I made "Family Reading Time" and every night from 6:30 to 7:00pm, I read from The Sister's Grimm to them. The books were so amazing my husband decided he wanted in, and now we have to wait for everyone to be home to read from this series. We just finished book 4, and I came online to buy books 5 and 6. My children are 6 (almost 7) and 9, and while the books are too advanced for even my 9 year old, they understand everything just fine when I read to them. They especially like how Daphne Grimm always asks for word definitions. It is a casual, realistic method to increase the kids' vocabularies and understanding of specific circumstances, a creative writing major and a natural editor (ie, I like finding other people's mistakes), I found a significant number of errors (such as, "the girls CLAMORED into the car," instead of clambered, and things like that) in the series so far, but hopefully those will be caught and fixed in reprint editions. Only about 4 or 5 per book, so not awful, I suppose, but I couldn't leave a review without mentioning them. I should've kept a running list and sent it to the author/publisher, but I haven't so far.We can't wait for our fresh books to arrive!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Fairy-Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm #1) (The Sisters Grimm) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This is a fun story about two orphaned sisters. When I first started reading it I thought of the orphans from the Lemony Snicket sides reading a amazing story at the end of the book the author explains what fairy tales are. You’ll learn about the Brothers Grimm, Jacob and Wilhelm and how they grew up in Germany and began writing fairy e author encourages the reader to write their own fairy tales and provides “Crime Watch” where you can match the crime to the fairly tale. “Test Your Fairy Tale Smarts’ has five questions about your favorite fairy tales. The book also contains a list of original fairy is is a amazing book to encourage ones imagination. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Carla's Song [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    One day, a bus driver named George saves a woman who had not bought a ticket. This becomes the beginning of a friendship, which quickly turn into something more. The woman is named Carla and she comes from Equador, a war-torn country. She is deeply traumatized, but George helps her to recover, and even takes her back to Equador, to search the people she left behind, especially her old lover, Antonio. George is played by Robert Carlyle, and he does a amazing and believable job. This guy has no hidden motive, except that he wants to support Carla, and sure, along the way, he finds himself in love with her. This film is full of powerful emotions and takes us from tears to laughter, to tears. These people are alive and not just made for the sake of our entertainment. Ken Loach, together with Mike Leigh, are two of my favorite directors when it comes to private and emtional stories. They always have something to say and don't just create films for the sake of it. Their photos are not particular beautiful, but they are honest. _Last words... huge story, carefully told. Let yourself to be emerged in Carla and George, and you are in for a unique is film won't be for everyone, but everyone should see it and realize that films can be... more._

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Song Player [App]  2017-10-29 21:0

    Now I know why there's no comments, this application blows

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    chiken song [App]  2018-2-21 13:7

    الاغنيه جدا جميله تستاهل 5 نجوم

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    chiken song [App]  2018-2-21 13:7

    Salman

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Horrible doesnt even begin page ima delete it for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    This won't even begin so im deleting it's a waste of zone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    I hate it you should fix it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It wont even begin

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Boo that is stupid this made is manyak

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Dosent work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Nice songs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    No

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    No WiFi, waste of time, waste of space, and won't open!!! This is how i feel:😠😡😬😣😤😵😭🙅🙇😈 p.s im only 11 years

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It's horrible cause you can't listen to any melody do not download 😢😭😖👹👺😈

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    I didn't obtain to play any songs and it didn't begin up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    I OPENED THE APP BUT IT HAD NO SONGS WHAT SO EVER! Don't install it doesn't work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Is the song has no wireless connection

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It's okay I guess

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Don't obtain app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    You don't have to find the melody videos on YouTube 😊😊😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    I dont know

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    This song are wow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Its so so amazing amazing songs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Wow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    It amazing .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Songs from Minecraft [App]  2018-2-24 21:9

    Three star

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    I don't know where Mrs. Brown gets her story ideas, but they are awe inspiring , teary, feel amazing books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    This book is listed as Kindle unlimited which I belong to but I am being billed for it. What can I do to correct this ? Thank you. Diane Paniccia

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Book InfoPaperback, 320 pagesExpected publication: February 27th 2018 by Montlake Romance (first published February 6th 2018)ISBN 1503949206 (ISBN13: 9781503949201)Other Editions (3)Source:Netgalley EARCBuy book fromAmazonB&NBOOK BLURBA bittersweet inheritance reunites three estranged sisters in a novel of family, trust, and forgiveness from Fresh York Times bestselling author Carolyn Brown.When they were growing up, Dana, Harper, and Tawny thought of themselves as “sometimes sisters.” They connected only during the summer month they’d all spend at their grandmother’s rustic lakeside resort in north Texas. But secrets started building, and ten years have passed since they’ve all been together—in fact, they’ve rarely spoken, and it broke their grandmother’s she’s gone, leaving Annie’s Put to her granddaughters—twelve cabins, a little house, a café, a convenience store, and a lot of family memories. It’s where Dana, Harper, and Tawny once shared so a lot of amazing times. They’ve returned, sharing only hidden regrets, a guarded mistrust, and haunting guilt. But now, in this healing summer place, the secrets that once drove them apart could bring them back together—especially when they explore that their grandmother may have been hiding something, too…To overcome the past and search future happiness, these “sometimes sisters” have one more possibility to realize they are always ThoughtsIt seems that when the more time that passes the harder it becomes to search common ground and leave past grievances out of show interactions. Such is the case for the three Clancy sisters Dana, Harper and Tawny. Dana always felt like since their father never acknowledged her that half sisters Harper and Tawny had a much better family life growing up than ny thing was Harper and Tawny felt the same about ly there came a time when the tenuous ties the girls felt for each other fell apart, ten years pass and now all that tension comes to a boil as they finally hash out those long held feelings that had grown all out of kids there was no better summer vacation than Granny Annie's North Texas home for Dana, Harper and Tawny e three women, who once called themselves Sometimes Sisters, have all returned to fulfill their beloved grandmothers latest want upon her death. Older, warier and not altogether sure that living together once again to run the businesses they inherited would completely tear them apart or finally bring them together forever.A possibility for old hurts to heal and fresh beginnings to become reality this book is all about family ties that bind tighter than we believe. Even when those same ties are stretched thin for a lot of years they never totally break apart as the sisters and reader search out to mutual satisfaction.[EArc from Netgalley]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Dana, Harper and Tawny are sisters, but mostly connected during the summer, when they all spent a month at their grandmother's lakeside resort. Annie loved her granddaughters dearly and was always glad they were coming. However, suddenly it stopped. The sometimes sisters, who were already not seeing much of each other, weren't feeling very sisterly at all anymore. Annie's latest want is to bring them back together and when she dies she leaves her resort to her granddaughters. She asks the person who's always been there for her, their Uncle Zed, to obtain them through it. Will this be a amazing idea?For Dana, Harper and Tawny owning a resort couldn't come at a better time. They might dislike one another, but they are each in a situation that doesn't leave them much choice. They've all kept secrets from each other, one of the main reasons they aren't close any longer. Will they dare to share what's inside their hearts and maybe search a method to heal and become proper sisters again?Dana is a single mother who could use the stability of finally being home. Her daughter is a true sweetheart and she melts everyone's hearts, which makes it a lot easier for the sisters to begin talking again. Harper had to create a difficult decision in the past and she can't obtain past it. Her life has been standing still ever since and being at the resort gives her a possibility to finally begin processing her feelings. Tawny managed to land herself in a difficult situation that changed her entire future. Being back at the put she loved so much when she was a kid gives her a possibility to begin over. Will the sisters be able to reconcile?The Sometimes Sisters is a attractive heartwarming story. Dana, Harper and Tawny don't obtain along. They have grown apart and resent one another. Running the resort together might seem a challenge at first, but slowly, under Zed's guidance, they're starting to feel at ease with each other again. Zed is a loving man and he has plenty of amazing Annie stories to share, which created me tear up a lot of times. They're absolutely unbelievable and I was spellbound by their gorgeous connection. I love stories about families and The Sometimes Sisters is an awesome one. The bond between the sisters is a lot stronger than they think. To move on they have to begin peeling off all of their emotional layers, which is an interesting and moving process to witness. I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough to explore more about their secrets and really enjoyed being so anxious to search out if they'd be satisfied olyn Brown's unbelievable warm writing is making The Sometimes Sisters an absolute joy to read. It's a unique book filled with a lot of precious moments, unexpected twists and turns and complex secrets and relationships. I loved the story from beginning to end and couldn't place it down. The Sometimes Sisters is a brilliant touching story about unconditional love, family, friendship and forgiveness. I highly recommend this delightful story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Favorite Quotes:Granny used to say that the person who stirs the $* pile has to lick the spoon.He created it in eight mins and would have arrived there sooner if he hadn’t gotten behind a pokey old woman who didn’t have any put to go and a year to obtain there.Did you think it was all rainbows and unicorn farts after you left? The only thing that changed was that I got all the b* instead of sharin’ it with can do better… He’s not for you, Aunt Tawny. He’s got a cat and he lives with his e’d worn a white robe and the preacher said that she was leaving all her sins in the water and would be a fresh monster when she arose from it. At ten years old, she’d often wondered how the water felt holding the sins of so a lot of people and where it went when the preacher pulled the plug and allow it all go. Did it wash into the rivers, where the sin jumped on people as they swam?She loved the sound of his soft drawl. Maybe she could take him home. He could sit beside her bed and read the phone book to her until she fell Review:I enjoyed this cleverly paced small-town family drama that was packed with quirky characters, heart-squeezing histories, irreverent homespun wisdom, and amusing observations. Three grieving and desperate women arrived at a small-town Texas lake resort with each hoping for a possibility at a new begin in life. They had previously called themselves sometimes sisters, although they were actually three half-sisters who were only together one month each summer while staying at the rustic lake resort of with their much-loved grandmother, “Granny Annie.” Each was envious of the others but had never looked too deeply as nothing was as it had seemed.But Granny Annie has just passed away, and the three women must return to run the resort together or obtain nothing at all, which posed quite the challenge, as they had not been successful in spending more than a few mins together without an argument breaking out. Each arrived at the resort out of options, out of money, and weighted down with shameful secrets, regrets, and old resentments. Small did they know that Granny Annie had been keeping the largest secret of them all. My favorite hero was not one of the sisters but the elderly cook who had been known to them all their lives as Uncle Zed, I adored him, even if he was the cause of the first ugly cry I’ve sobbed out in years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Three sisters each various in personality, but so related when they reunite after nine years apart they all come back for the same reason and each one carrying their own private kids they were close, Dana, Tawny, and Harper, looked forward to the summers when they were able to spend a month together at Granny Annie’s place. Now as adults they can barely tolerate a few mins in a room together unwilling to share what’s happened to them in the past nine years that ripped them apart and caused each one such massive burdens to bear.Dana, the oldest of the three, always struggled with her parentage. Even though she was born out of wedlock she never felt unloved. Granny Annie created up for where her father failed and then when Dana conceived her own daughter, Brooke, she fell right into the circle she herself grew up in, yet her sisters looked up to her and felt that Dana had her life together. The grass is always greener on the other side.Harper was a wild teen and created a large mistake when she was just sixteen years old. Her mother sent her away in shame and that decision to not stand up for herself or the choices she created has haunted her for the past nine advertently Harper’s leaving affected the youngest sister, Tawny. Tawny suffered all the retribution of Harper’s mistake along with any thought of what mistakes Tawny could make. Left out in the cold with no answers and no sisters to ask questions of Tawny felt abandoned and ese three sisters all have emotional baggage when they present up to support run Granny Annie’s place, but to create the put run smoothly they will have to set aside their differences and learn to obtain along.“We’ve all got parent baggage,” Harper said.“Yes, you do, but you don’t have to carry it. It’s your choice whether you have a funeral for that baggage or strap it to your shoulders.”I don’t have sisters, but I craved having one when I was growing up. I know family can be taxing, even on amazing days so I credit Carolyn Brown for showing that families can stick together even when the apron strings have been chop and things aren’t easy. Although with love and help even sometimes sisters can be a true family everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    This book follows the lives of three estranged sisters as they work their method back to family. An inheritance of a lakeside resort, a café, and a bait store along with a grandmother’s dying want reunites these three sisters as they strive to work through the years of hurt, bitterness, resentment and anger and search their method to love, forgiveness and family. We obtain a look into each sister’s past and the secrets she carried to support us understand the reason behind the choices they each created and what has led them to this current put in their life. The resort is a crossroad for each of them as they struggle with past memories and pain to search their method back to happiness, love and the real bond of sisterhood. Learning to work together brings them closer as mates first, then sisters as they navigate the fresh choices before them. As they each start to come to terms with their past and search their own peace, each sister is presented with the opportunity for a fresh love and a future of happiness and possibility. This is a unbelievable story full of bittersweet memories, sadness, happiness, laughter and definitely some tears. A heartwarming read that will hold you interested until the end and rooting for the sisters to search their satisfied ending. *I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book and am providing my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Carolyn Brown is one of my favorite authors. I have fun both her Women's Fiction stories and her Western Romance stories. I can honestly say that I have never read a book by this author that I didn't totally enjoy. And I have read most of them. I still have a few to catch up on. This book, The Sometimes Sisters, is a comforting, heartwarming read. I laughed, I cried and by the end my heart felt full with the sentiments and emotions of a family coming olyn Brown is an exceptionally amazing writer. The storyline in this book was simple to follow and compelling. The conflict was well defined and the resolution more than satisfying. The characters are very realistic and it was simple to love them and root for their happiness. I always end up feeling so fulfilled and satisfied at the end of Carolyn Brown's books. Her stories are my "go-to" put when I wish to read a heartwarming story that ends with a sense of happiness, comfort and peace.I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    Carolyn Brown is a consummate weaver of tales. This is no exception. Not only are we treated to the sister's journey to love and family, we are given the bonus of the romance between Grannie Annie and Zed in flashbacks and his conversations with her spirit. Dana, the eldest, born out of wedlock believes her sisters have a better life. Harper and Tawny live a life of hell with their distinctly non-maternal mother, and even though their father lived with them until his death, he would not cross her. All three sisters has burdens to overcome...but the powerful foundation of love laid by Annie and Zed enables them to obtain past the hurts of childhood and meld into a powerful family unit. As they heal they search their 'meant to be.' The tale brings tears, smiles, laughs and sighs. It's the work of a master storyteller. I requested this book on NetGalley as soon as I saw the author because I knew it would be enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sometimes Sisters [Book]  2018-2-28 18:0

    I received an Advanced Reader Copy from NetGalley for my unbiased opinion of the book. The book started out a small slow until all the sisters were introduced. Dana, Harper, Tawny, come back home when their grandmother passed away and support take care of the family business. Every sister has lies they have been telling others and themselves for so long they take them for truth. The sisters need to deal with their demons to move forward with their lives and as a family. Zed has his own problems with the past and a long-time secret for their grandmother. During the novel, Zed keeps the women in line with their grandmother wishes. He helps them deal with the loss, petty issues, lies, and begin the healing process to become a true family. I will be recommending this book to everyone!! What a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    The moment that Tess Kincaid's eye catch a glimpse of a familiar face walking down the street, she can't support but be intrigued, it's like looking in a mirror, her and this stranger share the same face. She has always heard that somewhere in the globe there is someone who looks just like you, but this is far to real, and a small more than unnerving. She wants to create contact with her, just to see what other similarities they share, and once she works up the nerve to casually bump into her a few days later, things take a turn she never expected. Her and her twin have far more in common than she ever anticipated, and she has a hard time wrapping her mind around the fact that they might be similar somehow... But before she can delve too deep into their shared pasts, a body appears in a local marsh, and Tess finds herself tangled up in risky territory!!The Wrong Sister is a spellbinding tale that will have you completely mesmerized from the very first chapter, and with each page that follows things just continue to obtain more engrossing! This was a first time read for me, and I have to say that I walked away more than a small impressed, every time I thought I had a handle on things, there was another surprise waiting for me! It was a suspenseful read, riddled with gut-wrenching emotion, and a few twists and turns that are sure to mess with your mind! If you are a thrilling suspense lover, then you will really have fun this one, it's sure to give you just what you are looking for, and so much more!I requested an advanced copy of this title from NetGalley, and voluntarily read and reviewed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    The Wrong Sister by T.E. Woods is a thriller that the main character, Tess Kincaid, finds herself in a police station answering questions at the begin of the book. As Tess answers the story begins to be told in these flashes back from the moment she first saw a woman who looked exactly like her and went to introduce herself.Tess and Mimi search that looks are not the only thing the pair shares between them. They both have the same birthday and then apparently even the same mother who had left Tess as a child. How is this possible? Are they twins who have been separated? And what other secrets could their parents have hidden from them all their lives?The story within the pages of this book was one that flowed nicely and was simple to become completely engaged in while reading. The method it’s set up with a glimpse of the “current” being an interrogation you know things will escalate and it’s a matter of patience until getting there while the layers of the story unfold.I will say that I had created a huge guess with this one fairly early on and that sort of works out in the end but the author created sure to throw in a few additional twists that kept it exciting nonetheless. With the fact that I flew through this one and enjoyed my time reading it I’m still giving this one 4.5 stars regardless of some things seeming a bit obvious to me.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    Kensington Books and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of The Wrong Sister. I was under no obligation to review this book and my opinion is freely afternoon in Madison, Wisconsin, Tess Kincaid sees her double walking down the street. It is uncanny how much Mimi Winslow looks like her and the pair soon uncover some unsettling information. As her father is basically housebound and refuses to talk about the past, Tess has no choice but to take Mimi's lead on how to figure out the truth. When the police begin to ask puzzling questions, will Tess have the answers they seek?I did like the premise and the hero of Tess, but the format of the book was predictable and familiar. The author employed the strategy of using a police interview to tease out the parts of the story that were essential, which just shows the whole story instead of letting it unfold naturally. The twist at the ending was shocking, but did not create that much sense in the overall context of the book. It was as if the author wanted to end the book with a certain plot twist, but did not place enough into the story itself to back it up. I liked The Wrong Sister, but would have been even better with a small more meat to the plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    My wife and I both read The Wrong Sister by T.E. Woods and loved it. This is one of those books that you tell your friends, "you've gotta read this, it is amazing". We both read a lot of mystery and suspense novels and this is one of the best I've ever is is an simple read and brings you along slowly in wondering: who was actually killed, why was Tess involved, who did it and why. The story is being told by the main character, Tess, to a police detective and a psychologist. Just when I thought that I had the whole thing figured out, it would go is is a amazing story, extremely well written and conceived. If you like the type of mind play in Gone Girl, you will certainly like this story as well. This is one of the few books that I will highly recommend from the latest 12 cidentally... I ordered this book because it stated that the story took put in Madison, WI and we have lived within an hour of Madison for 40 years and we did recognize a lot of of the references to locations in the book. Also, one of the characters grew up in Green Bay where I happened to grow up, this created it especially fun to read, but is not the reason for my recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    Set in Madison, Wisconsin, this book opens up with one of my very favorite plot elements – the discovery of a long-lost identical twin sister! But when the setting of Tess telling her tale (from a police interview room!) becomes clear, her story begins to present signs that all is not what it seems. And while the plot’s twists are not completely unexpected here (though they involve some of my other favorite tropes of fiction), I still found myself liking the characters and Tess, though her relationships and reactions are not always the most identifiable. The narrative here is powerful and the setting feels quite authentic (while I don’t know Madison as well as my sister and brother-in-law who went to school there, I think the essence of the town is captured well). I did like this one, but despite it involving some of my favorite parts to a story, didn’t quite love it as much as I had hoped to. Maybe it was the predictability, and some of the repetition of Tess’s actions… but I would be curious to see what the author tackles next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    As the novel opens we meet Tess, a young woman who is relating the happenings of the latest few days to the police, beginning with the eerie experience of seeing herself walk by as she drove past. Intrigued Tess began to find for her doppelgänger and, after locating her even stranger things began to happen. Gradually we start to learn more about Tess, how she cares for her alcoholic father, her only family since her mother had abandoned them years before. The look alike stranger certainly brings excitement in Tess's otherwise drab life but the question of what this mysterious woman wants remains unanswered.I enjoyed this book immensely. Every time I thought I had figured out what was going on a fresh twist proved me wrong. I did feel the story lagged a bit in the middle, not much but some, but the final few chapters had a surprise every few pages. Anyone who enjoyed Agatha Christie's surprise ending suspense novels will have fun this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    4.5 whaaat? Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5What would you think if you saw your identical twin walking down the street? And you don’t have an identical twin? Would you hunt her down and confront her? Would you have drinks with her? Would you question everything you’ve ever known about your life? Well that is what Tess did....Tess has a quiet life, she works at a library, and takes care of her alcoholic father.... her mother left her father and her when she was 12 and she feels tremendous guilt.... she thinks she drove her mother away and consequently ruined her father’s life.... A lot for a girl of 12 to place on herself....Mimi, Tess’s doppelgänger has had quite the various life.... she is a latest graduate from Tufts with a PhD in history, interviewing for a job as a professor at the local university.... after meeting and deciding to have drinks, the girls explore they have more in common than just their looks.... they have the same birthday, their mothers have the same first name, and did I mention they look identical? What is going on?This book had my head spinning.... Tess is being interviewed in a Police Station about a body... and the story is told in flashback scenes, in bits and pieces.... I had so a lot of theories it was crazy..... but nothing had my head spinning more than the truth.... what an ending... an ending I required to read twice.....Strongly recommend to my psychological thriller loving friends.... absolutely join Mimi and Tess on the journey to search out what the heck is going on? What is the truth?*** thank you so much to the publisher and Net Galley for a copy of this fabulous book ***

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    This book is narrated in the first person by Madison, Wisconsin native Tess Kincaid. She is telling a story to the police about driving home from visiting her father and seeing a woman that looks just like her walking down the street. Tess goes on to describe how she met her lookalike, Mimi, and how things unfolded between the two of them. Beautiful soon it becomes obvious that there is more to the story than what Tess is relaying to the authorities.I was in suspense reading Tess's story, even when I thought I had everything figured out. However, the ending was one I didn't see coming and I was truly shocked. I was amused that I wasn't as intelligent as I thought I was and was truly surprised when the truth comes out at the end. There are a lot of twisty suspense novels out there, but I'm happy to search one that was truly unpredictable. I would definitely read more books by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    This is a fun beach read.A word of advice: when you think you've got it all figured out, hold reading. You're likely only partially right. There are...surprises yet to come.I thoroughly enjoyed this. I liked Tess and, even when I figured out one of the plot points, was dying to hold reading until the end. And, boy the end surprised me!The author does a amazing job of leading the reader in the wrong direction without cheating. When you finally see what's going on, you sort of kick yourself because there were clues that you someone interpreted a completely various way.I'd happily read this author again in the future - I enjoyed this so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wrong Sister [Book]  2018-3-8 18:0

    I was given an advance copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest is is a story about a woman who sees a stranger with her identical face. If you think this is the tried and real long lost twin story line, hold ere are multiple mysteries entwined in a single story line. Just when you think you have it figured out...you don't. Set in a neighborhood bordering the University of Wisconsin campus in the state capitol of Madison. For anyone familiar with Madison, you will feel like you are coming home as you work your method through this novel.Having read each of the author's previous works, I am familiar how easily she can describe a gory murder stage and still obtain the nuanced emotions of her characters across to her readers. Ms. Woods' ability to twist a story is remarkable. I found that I couldn't place it down. Once I thought I had it all figured out (which let's face it, is why so a lot of of us like to read mysteries) suddenly she throws a fresh twist into the story and I search myself reading further into the night. This book surprised me to the very end - and I mean to the final pages of the book. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    A continuation of Angelou's autobiographies. She had one interesting life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Amazing use of language in storytelling. It kept my attention from beginning to end and left me wanting to know more of her story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    This is the latest book in her autobiographical book series. It's very uplifting and inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    As always Maya Angelou keeps your attention with the interesting facets of her life. Her honesty and wisdom in everything she writes is refreshing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Unbelievable book. True and raw about what really happened. Listening to Maya Angelou read the book is even better than reading it myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    This book was fantastic. I read all of her previous autobiographical novels and this one did a amazing job of tying them all together. It was an simple read and a amazing end to a unbelievable story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    One will continue to have breakthroughs even after reading her words

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    An inspirational and wise lady. Love Maya Angelou

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    Wonderfully penned. She is a true storyteller. I enjoyed every moment of reading it and would read it over and over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Song Flung Up to Heaven [Book]  2017-12-8 18:0

    I never knew that Maya Angelou wrote anything but poetry and now I cannot read her novels quick enough! Her life was what dream are created of!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Summer Sisters is enjoyable to follow the lives of these "sisters" and anticipate what what happen next. Love the method it's written to easily obtain to know all the personalities of the story. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Judy Blume is such a amazing writer. I loved reading this book. Highly recommend her book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    I loved this book. I have gone to the Vineyard for the latest 14 years and so when I was reading this I knew of the locations that Judy was talking about. I highly recommend reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Love Judy Bloom novels. Started reading Judy Bloom as a teenager and am always for anything she has written. Amazing story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Not exactly sure why I only gave it 3 stars. Didn't completely hook me, but I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    this book is a quick read and one that you won't wish to place down. A story that takes put over time about two girls who meet and become summer sisters. It is a tale of dysfunctional families and of how you don't have to be similar biologically to be considered a member. I highly recommend this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Saw something that created me look twice. Not for kids. Enjoyed the divergent personalities, sharing a unique relationship. Admired Vix dedication in spite of Caitlin's superficiality. I was surprised they created such a splendid cleaning team. Not surprised she left Maizie. Totally caught off guard by the ending. Thought she was too self-centered for that. Or did she?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    This is a beautiful engaging novel, but it's not what I would call a light read. I found the topic matter beautiful sad, and the characters only sporadically likeable. I was glad I finished it, once I had started, but I can't say I really enjoyed the journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summer Sisters: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    Simple to read. Felt familiar in the Judy Blume style. It was a small predictable, but an enjoyable read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    This is one of the most engaging historical novels I have ever read. A compelling story, beautifully portrayed: the lives and times of good-natured people being turned upside-down, exposing their vulnerability and flaws. Simultaneously sad and uplifting, appalling in its content and inspiring in its delivery, Underdown’s debut novel showcases her as a thorough researcher and a hugely talented n’t be fooled by the content, though – the idea of the witchhunt itself is enough to unnerve some, and as a pagan myself I feel a amazing deal of empathy and sympathy for the suffering of those women. Yet Underdown manages to weave her story with raw human emotion and profound understanding of psychology – psychology of masses, of victims of their time, of ultra-religious minds, and of what today we understand as depression, schizophrenia, neurosis, anxiety, e portrayal of Essex as a county in problem is also worthy of note. Essex: the earthly recipient of negative energies, not because of witchcraft itself, but because of the wrong ideas that people so easily and readily dispersed about those with whom they had an issue… I think Underdown understood this even from the first stages of her research – the dense energy that became trapped in a part of land because of such horrible actions versus human beings, the loss of power of even local religious leaders themselves struggling versus manipulation, fear, and in some cases, mass apathy.I won’t say much about the story itself, given that Matthew Hopkins is a historical hero with a documented life already out there for anyone to find, but mostly because in Underdown’s retelling, the characters are there to be discovered by the reader. I will say this, however: it takes a unique kind of talent to turn dark history into a poetic piece of narrative, and Beth Underdown has that talent!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    After the death of her husband, Alice is summoned home by her brother, Matthew, with news that her mother has also recently passed away. When Alice arrives to her hometown, she learns that Matthew has a fresh job, one that finds him investigating suspected witches. Alice tries to dissuade Matthew from his actions but soon finds herself too close to the women who Matthew accuses.I appreciated how the author touched on how those that accused others of witchcraft did, at times, have ulterior motives. Witchcraft, just like some accusations created today that are hard to prove or disprove, was one of those claims that could be created and your issues could vanish while you appear to be the pious one for coming forward with the claim. I think this book provides an necessary lesson that these kinds of accusations can be quite damaging and are often unfair and ice was an interesting character. She doesn't really believe in all of the witchcraft accusations that are being created but she also does not fully doubt the existence of fantastical beings that bring evil to earth. She is more apt to believe that a spirit has caused changes in the garden than in some other scientific reason. She is more in line with the beliefs of the people of her time but claims to be more progressive than she really e writing created this a bit slower of a read for me but it did not detract from the story, which I really enjoyed. I have read a lot of books, especially historical fiction, on the witch trials but most often they take put in Salem, Massachusetts, whereas this one takes put in England. Most novels will have the protagonist as a member of the community or as an accused witch but The Witchfinder's Sister is told from the perspective of someone close to the community leaders who investigate the accused witches. If you have read a lot of historical fiction about the witch trials, I encourage you to give this one a test because it is so various from others that are out there.I really enjoyed this book and I think it would be a amazing book for someone who likes historical fiction, especially historical fiction with a bit of a mystery or thrill to it.I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher in order to write an honest review. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    The Witchfinder's Sister,  Beth UnderdownReview from Jeannie Zelos book reviewsGenre:  General Fiction, Mystery and Thrillers I can’t search any information about previous books so I think this must be Beth's debut novel – and what an intense and complex read for a first story!Its so well written I was pulled back into that time, back to the seventeenth century. I’m a UK reader, living in Norfolk, so reading about Matthew and Alice living in the Eastern region of UK, I had a mental photo of locations I know now as they would have been back then. My house was build in 1682 – strange to think of it still standing ( and for a long while yet I hope!!) when it was built such a short time after these events. Mix of the old and the current...So, Matthew Hopkins- I recall learning about him at school, along with the US Salem witch trials. The Crucible was one of our set text English reads.He’s cropped up as a side hero in a few books since then, but I’ve never really thought much more about him. Here Beth’s given him a fictional sister, though he may have had a true one Alice is purely invented for this story. It works well, she’s a foil to him, shared upbringing, and a method to allow us see his actions from someone who loved him as a kid but grew scared and confused of the man he became.He’s a strange person, and as we learn about his upbringing there are elements slowly revealed that could have impacted upon his actions now. Others have had far worse happen though, and don’t turn into people like him, so its part explanation but not as easy as the whole cause. He really was a enigmatic character, phlegmatic about what he required to do, unemotional, even when it means tearing apart, condemning to death, people he’s known since childhood. I can’t decide whether he’s just cruel, vindictive, out for revenge, totally mad or whether he really believes in what he’s om a little begin his witch hunt takes on a life of its own and snowballs, and maybe the power pushed him to go further and further, created him feel righteous, invincible? Who knows, and after finishing the story I still don’t h offers lots to speculate about but the reality? He was real, he did what we now see as horrific things, but which at the time were backed by other necessary people, landowners, local politicians – well, what passed for them in those days, the Church even. It was as if nothing could stop him from this path he’s set on, and the longer he was “successful” the more righteous he got. Success bred more of the same methods, even when the causes of it were s a bit like that sink or swim test, he was pushing people to their limits physically and mentally and when they “confessed” through exhaustion, pain, thirst, would say anything to obtain some little relief he seized upon it as evidence his path was right, and went even ice, not good Alice. Her mother died when she was very young, father remarried and had Matthew, but his birth left his mother frail and Alice really took over his upbringing, loving and looking after him.Even then the public face, showing the satisfied family outside, the father who was a priest, a amazing man, the mother who simply tired easily, was hiding things, secrets that kept slipping quietly out, and building background to the current events.I so felt for Alice, she’s a amazing woman, widowed from her beloved Joseph, a servant’s son, whom Matthew did not approve of, she’s still young, in her twenties I think, and forced to come back and live off Matthews e can see happenings unfolding, sees at first hand what’s going on but is powerless to stop anything. She tries though, tries to do what she can but Matthew is an unmovable force. Her little brother has grown into a confident and strong man.He takes small note of her, and at times seems to really dislike her. she becomes just another tool for him to use in his never ending quest for witches. Too much pressure or intervention and she risks her own put in his home at best, risks getting caught up in the hunt at s a tough line, being brought up to support people and then forced to stand aside as those you’ve known since childhood are tested for what seems like petty grievances, revenges, spurious accusations...Witch hunts, back then not knowing the cause of events, accidents, tragedies, people looked for someone to blame, and it was simple to pick on one person a small on the outside of society, and call witchcraft and the intervention of the Devil the we look back and think how could they really believe that, but its a poor, uneducated society, and its human to wish to blame someone or t every thing has an explanation though, and there are a couple of happenings here that gave me the shivers, defied rational metimes I think we haven’t moved on that much, we still look to blame others, though not as witches but in some 21st century the UK we’ve just voted to leave Europe, mainly because of the hype and untruths certain media factions told about immigration, and it brought up the same kind of feelings as in this book, where people wish to blame someone for misfortune. In the UK lack of cash for NHS and other public services was blamed on immigration – scaremongering, but a spark that when fanned turned into a fire.Hitler did that back in the 1940’s with his attempts to stamp out minority groups, not good things happened as those who could have stopped it turned a blind eye, much as those in power when Matthew Hopkins allow him obtain away with his en there’s the US and the political system there, where another modern witch hunt has allow a racist, sexist, xenophobic bigot race to the top put for power. Scary items but proves that witch hunts aren’t just confined to history – but have their own modern day ver :-( “The Only Thing Important for the Triumph of Evil is that Amazing Men Do Nothing” Edmund Burke et al.A fabulous book, uncomfortable reading at times, which felt so very real, took me back in time, created me understand a small more about the poor happenings that took put back e characters were wonderful, felt so real, I was scared for and of them, depending on which ones of course.I loved the method secrets were teased before the reader, parts revealed slowly, tips of what may have been relevant or may be just superstition taunted through, making me second guess my thoughts. In fact its not until writing this that I’ve connected a couple of major points that could have been the catalyst for Matthew’s s a fascinating first book, well researched, marrying true happenings and people with fictional ones to make an awesome story. I’m not sure its one I’d reread but its certainly one I’m glad to have s: Five, wonderful book, uncomfortable at times but so very, very true C supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and publisher 

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    This is the second debut author I have read this week, and I very impressed by the fresh talent on the scene. Beth Underdown delivers a morbidly fascinating look at the witch hunt that occurred during England's Civil Battle told from the perspective of the fictional sister to the Witchhunter General, Matthew Hopkins. This idea of telling the story of a historical figure from the perspective of that person's sister/daughter/wife has been trending for the latest year or more, and I have to say that I do have fun this way of storytelling. It provides a new look at history interweaving fact and fiction in a method that keeps the reader engaged and tthew Hopkins was a cold man, sullen and spoiled with a quiet and calculating manner. I think he would have utterly terrified me if I had lived during this time period, as he seemed to have an aura of questionable evil about him. I couldn't tell if he really believed in witches, or if his motives were purely for revenge and a dislike of women in general. Neverthless, it is believed that Hopkins was responsible for the death of over 300 "witches" from 1644-1646. The women he targeted were often old, widowed, physically disabled or mentally infirm - and he would torture them until they confessed to devilish deeds of their own, and also reported on other women in the area. Hopkins authored the book, The Discovery of Witches (1647) detailing his methods and manner of ice Hopkins is a sympathetic narrator, having lived a somewhat difficult life and experiencing amazing tragedy. She returns home to Matthew following the death of their mother and her husband, and discovers her once-loved brother is now terrorizing and killing women. While this was a dreary and depressing tale, it was one that captivated me and kept me reading late into the night (and certainly contributed to a few poor dreams). I was drawn into Alice's struggle to reconcile the brother she had known with this fresh persona whom she must thwart for the safety of the women of the time. The author did a amazing job at pulling you in to Alice's tale and making you feel the turmoil right along with her as the story unfolded.While it was disturbing to know that some people believed in witches, and tortured women into confessing... I believe it is even more troubling to know that a lot of people did not believe in witchcraft, yet reported on their friends, neighbors and family anyway out of meanness, spite, jealousy and greed. While this was the story of Alice and Matthew, I do want the book would have delved a small more into the motivations of the accusers. Nonetheless, I enjoyed this story even though it was morose and macabre, and reflects a sad piece of ancestral history.I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys history, or is interested in the witch hunts of the past. It's a amazing book to read on a rainy day or when you are in the mood for a terrifying glimpse into our past. I voluntarily reviewed an advanced copy of this book that I received from the publisher, Ballantine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Beth Underdown, the author we’ll be hearing about a lot in the future! I know this might not be the best method to begin a review, maybe a short synopsis would be better, but I really had to obtain it out there. I am so fascinated with her writing and this debut. I adore the time period the book explores, seventeen-century England and how she manages to portray the witch hunt and trials raging through England during that time the very begging you’ll learn that book was inspired by actual happenings and the main character, Matthew Hopkins is based on the true M. Hopkins who was connected with a lot of crimes versus innocent women. I don’t know about you, but I do love a amazing historical fiction based on true events/people, this makes it even more fun to e book is set in England in 1645. It is told by Alice Hopkins, Matthew’s older half-sister who is back to her childhood home in Manningtree after her husband dies. She’s got no one else left, except her small brother whom she hadn’t heard from in long 5 years. Not even a single letter, though they promised to each other as children they would hold in touch regularly. Oh , except the few lines Matthew sent to allow Alice know their mother is dead and to be buried. Alice fears what she’ll see in Manningtree, it’s been so long and Matthews’s probably changed…especially knowing that he never accepted and forgave her her choices. Alice left home years ago to marry a person she loved, a person who was her only love unfortunately didn’t fit the social criteria of her family. Matthew never approved of him, the son of a servant, which only makes it harder for Alice, especially now she’s pregnant and doesn’t know how to approach Matthew with the news.Once in Manningtree she learns about who Matthew has become, the small scarred boy whom she protected as a child. And this book reveals it all, all his crimes, victims, witch hunts. The sweet small boy she grew up with turns into an obsessive, evil, vengeful man full of hate. How is she supposed to hold quiet? She needs to reveal it all, all his crimes and journal is book is probably one of the best historical debuts I’ve ever read and I absolutely enjoyed the setting. I think Beth did and AMAZING job in portraying Manningtree and all the atmosphere in England at that time. I think I could simply close me eyes and be transported to this dark time in the history of human kind.I wasn’t the largest fan of Alice, despite thinking she’s a amazing narrator. But I didn’t really feel her that much as I want I had. While there’s a lot of descriptions who just added to the facts on which this story is based, I really want there was more about the actual hunting. I am by no means disappointed, however think I would have fun it more if that was the case.I was hooked from the very beginning. I just couldn’t place the book down. I traveled with Alice to Manningtree, I was enjoying the scenery and felt the fear in her stomach as she was approaching her home. It was so vivid and so real. The first half of the book was simply unputdownable for me, but then the pace slowed down. As the story got slower, I would catch myself not being able to focus, so that’s the only reason for the 4 * ever, it’s still an amazing, beautifully written debut and I’m sure we’ll be hearing of Beth a lot in the future. Well researched, attractive story and a must for all fans of historical fiction and 17 century England.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    I’ve had a fascination with the Salem Witch Trials since I first heard about them, ages ago. So when I saw The Witchfinder’s Sister available on NetGalley, I thought this was a excellent read for me. It may not be the SALEM witch trials, but they were still witch e Witchfinder’s Sister is based upon a true man named Matthew Hopkins who actually did place over a hundred women to death. This book is a fictional acc of what happened, told from the first person perspective of his (fictional) sister, is book started out solid. I loved the info of Alice’s life, from before she left home, while she was away with her husband, and then as she returned, a (secretly pregnant) widow.But while the info of this story were engrossing, the plot never completely came together for me. Alice is, for the most part, an outsider watching her brothers actions but unable to do much. After all, she was just a woman and in the 1600’s they had no power. It’s possible this story could have benefited from being told in 3rd person, because then we could have seen past Alice’s limited view, but I honestly don’t know if that would have helped.What I did really like was the method the author weaved a possible explanation for Matthew’s actions. His mother (Alice’s step-mother) is described as basically having a mental illness of some sort. Of course, back then, that wasn’t a thing. However, Alice at one point wonders if their mothers “weakness of mind” could have passed on to Matthew. Of course, there are also supernatural possibilities thrown in as well, but those never felt completely valid to me.Overall, for a book that promised to be “haunting” and “spellbinding”, it really wasn’t. There was minimal interaction between our narrator and the accused witches. The one accused she did spent time with, never really seemed like a woman who had just been, essentially, sitting on death row. The feelings never felt genuine. I never felt the fear or the anguish of those who knew they were going to die, and most of that was because we very, very rarely saw it happen. I suppose you could say, for a book about women being accused of witchcraft, the accused were very secondary to anything else.Would I recommend this book? Eh… not really. I mean, if you have interest in this particular witch hunt and wish to read a fictionalized acc of Matthew Hopkins, you might have fun this. But for this reader, it was unfortunately beautiful forgettable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Underdown is a amazing writer, her prose pulls you in and moves you along. However, the writing in this was better than the overall depth of story - at times I felt like I was swimming through the middle of the story wondering when something huge was going to happen. By the end I was pushing through though unable to place it down which I suppose is a compliment of sorts! There were certain historical aspects that weren't quite authentic for me, I didn't feel that Alice, the protagonist was an authentic voice in terms of the setting of the story. Nor did I feel her grief at losing her husband (not so much a spoiler as this happens in the first pages). Too much of the story happened in the latest pages and (SPOILER) there was so a lot of mentions of women on trial but by the end when they meet their fate, there is no true emotional connection to those events. Their deaths are pushed by quickly and without any true attention, it felt like the whole point of the book just fell away. Certain endings are unclear or unsatisfactory in the sense that the story just falls away. SPOILER: And the final mention of Salem was just too much for my taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Witchfinder's Sister: A Novel [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    The Witchfinder's SisterIn 1645, Alice Hopkins' husband died in a horrible accident leaving her to return to to the little Essex city of Manningtree where her brother lived to move in with him. Small did Alice know that her brother had changed though with rumors of him having a book of women's names that accused them of witchcraft. With Alice hiding a pregnancy she slowing begins to uncover the darker side of her brother e Witchfinder's Sister is a fictional tale based on the true person Matthew Hopkins. Matthew actually was known as a witch hunter in the time the book is based and was known for being responsible for the deaths of 300 women between the years 1644 and 1646. The author has loosely based this fictional tale upon his true life giving readers a look into that era.I have to say this wasn't particularly a poor book and I can see some people loving the story but for me I just couldn't obtain into most of it due to the slow pacing. The beginning started off rather well and I thought I would also be one loving this read but it became a bit dry for my taste after a while and I just couldn't obtain behind Alice or the story she was telling to hold my attention and interest for ter pushing through the slowness I didn't mind the ending of the story too much either but in the end I decided to rate this one at 2.5 stars just for the slowness of the read to me. I liked what the author was trying to do but perhaps there was just too much focus on Alice and not even on Matthew who is the true star of the story to hold up my interest.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    Thought for the day. Bring an amazing start!! Easy Chemistry Conversions Moksha Mobile German English Translator tutit-On Demand Virtual Tutoring Cell-Ed: Skills on the Go! Manteca USD Bangor Township Schools, MI MamaLingua: Learn Spanish NCSM Golden Retriever Cerner Events Mobile Closeout for Defender Attend the Meeting American Chemistry Events Percona Live ISACA 2018 CACS Conferences (for buyer) RUF Events Smart Money Livestream 2018 Real Chess 3D djay 2 Real Turbo Racing Stickman Fight: The Game MMX Hill Dash 2 – Offroad Truck, Car & Bike Racing Fortnite Battle Royale Official info Daniel Tiger The Beginner's Guide to Survival Gardening 10 Stylish Handbag Patterns for Crochet: A trendy collection of easy-to-make crochet bags THE ESSENTIAL INSTANT POT RECIPES FOR BEGINNERS: Easy & Most Delicious Foolproof Recipes for Your Whole Family with Beginners Guide (Electric Pressure Cooker Cookbook) (Instant Pot Cookbook). The Best Cook in the World: Tales from My Momma's Table Le Creuset One-pot Cuisine: Classic Recipes for Casseroles, Tagines & Simple One-pot Dishes By the Smoke and the Smell: My Search for the Rare and Sublime on the Spirits Trail The Mile End Cookbook: Redefining Jewish Comfort Food from Hash to Hamantaschen Instant One-Pot Meals: Southern Recipes for the Modern 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker Choosing Courage: Inspiring Stories of What It Means to Be a Hero Lightning Thief, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1) Waste of Space (Moon Base Alpha) TED Talks Storytelling: 23 Storytelling Techniques from the Best TED Talks Jim Henson: The Biography In Praise of Slowness: Challenging the Cult of Speed Let Me Tell You: New Stories, Essays, and Other Writings The White Indian Boy: The Story of Uncle Nick Among the Shoshones Mastering the Art of French Eating: From Paris Bistros to Farmhouse Kitchens, Lessons in Food and Love John Wayne Gacy: Defending a Monster Louis XIV The Golden Age of Murder Blaze:: Satan's Fury MC- Memphis Chapter (Book 1) A Paris Apartment: A Novel Dead Ringer (Whitehorse, Montana: The McGraw Kidnapping) Iron Princess (Savage Trilogy Book 2) Runes of Truth: A Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy (A Demon's Fall series Book 1) Pirate (A Sam and Remi Fargo Adventure) Diary Of A Wimpy Noob: Booga Booga (Noob Biology class 10 Teleprompter Pro: subtitles & tit occupational-health-saftey-management-system-4801-checklist mediterranean-diet-dinner-recipes Lumosity: HDMI Checker Pro Free Guide Fortcraft Battle Royal Survival Rules BNP digital BeautyPlus - Easy Photo Editor & Selfie Camera BOG mBank - Mobile Banking Seven Seventeen Credit Union PayNearMe Bill Pay Compound Interest Calculator - Future Value (FV) S1 Connect Forex economic calendar ZILLA - The Safe & Easy ICO/Token sale App PNC Total Insight Sfomo Cryptoport Evolution NavyArmy Mobile Banking R-Play : Remote Play for the PS4 - Advice Calvary Chapel Downey Windsor Village Church Family Gender Unicorn HPC Events Dip by Alcamy Udemy - Online Courses Music Trainer ProfessionalPRO GOTO Guide Super Power Booster Rocket Valley Tycoon - Idle Resource Manager Game Elite Trials The Gym Nasty Boys: Tumble, Tim, Tumble! Fall Of Reich - WWII (1940 - 1945) TD simLeaf Faster Finger - 10 Players Billionaire& My Friend& Start with No: The Negotiating Tools that the Pros Don& Pride and Prejudice and Kitties: A Cat-Lover& Dogo - your dog& neighbor& Message Quest apartment-search-spreadsheet-2 horse-rating-betting-selections-with-7-years-of-stats sciatica-relief-success

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter