All That Ails You%3A The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver Reviews & Opinions


Submit All That Ails You%3A The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Tag J. Asher has the writing talent of a human and the soul of a dog. Never did I think I could read a book narrated by a dog and be so captivated by it. He tells the story with a reality that is magnificent. I really felt like this is what dogs must think and feel. A story told from the perspective of a dog about loss and grief was especially moving. While there are a dozens of books on the loss of a pet, this is the first book where I saw the story from the other side, and had to stop and think that dogs feel a sense of loss and sadness when they lose people they love the same as people grieve at the loss of a dog. It is the absolute excellent balance - I laughed, I cried, and my heart enveloped a dog named Wrigley. Bravo, Mr. Asher! I can't wait to read your next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    “All That Ails You” is a heartwarming story narrated by Wrigley, a dog who you instantly come to love and understand, and his adventures as he warms his method into the hearts and lives of the staff and residents of the assisted living home where he has happily e sign of a amazing book is when you search yourself still in the story and involved with the characters long after you stop reading. This is one of those books. It is elegant in its simplicity and an absolute pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    What a truly heartwarming and enjoyable story. It created me smile but also brought tears to my eyes. The characters were all loveable, even old Walter. Wrigley's love for the residents and their love for him is priceless. I highly recommend this book, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on All That Ails You%3A The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch All That Ails You%3A The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This heart warming tail (pardon the pun!) could and should be read by all age groups. Tag J. Asher's ability to create you believe that the "puppy" is actually telling his story is perfect. You cry... you laugh... you gain insight to the mind and heart of "man's best friend" and after reading this unbelievable story you become a real believer that your canine buddy is just that. The only thing I didn't care for was the fact that the story ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Wrigley the dog began his life being shifted from pillar to post until the Peterson's adopted him as the care dog in the assisted living home they owned. And does he ever fit in! Like Garth Stein's amazing novel about Enzo ("The Art of Racing in the Rain"), Wrigley tells a marvelous story, revealing his thoughts, his feelings and the joy of being in a dog in a put where most everyone likes him, and the one person who seems not to, finally gives in. That said, Wrigley is a "keeper", and will be for anyone who reads about him. This book belongs on a best-seller list, and I hope it ends up there. Buy a copy or two or three for bonuses for this Christmas season. Kids will love it, and so will adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    After experiencing the final time with both parents, this story created me feel and realize the love and help that a dog can give to seniors who often feel that they have been deserted by the ones they need most. It has been a depression lifting experience to have canine visitors in these latest "homes."This story presented from a dog's perspective is both heart warming and heart-breaking. It is filled with accounts of the positive and negative aspects of being with a dog attempting to both live with seniors and be a companion to shares warm, loving experiences, difficult situations, and helped me deal with so a lot of unsolved, remaining problems of being a kid and family member filled with grief, regrets, sadness, buried feelings of shame, and such intense feelings of is story presents a various and positive view of love and warmth at the end of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Set in an assisted living home, Wrigley the mutt dog, helps the residents and owners deal with life's troubles. The book is narrated by Wrigley so it's all from the dog's point of view. He has his favorite residents, knows who to sit by at Bingo (treats just fall on the floor) and helps everyone deal with the ups and downs of aging. Created me cry so a lot of times I almost wished I had picked a various book to read but it was uplifting at the same time. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This is the first time I have read a book written for adults that was narrated by a dog. Wrigley is a dog who not just stays in a nursing home, but also interacts with the residents in a most unusual way. He is a real caregiver; giving love and companionship to all of the people with whom he comes in contact. His being leaves quite an impact on everyone's lives. It's so bittersweet. I really enjoyed it. Amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    My mom lived with us during the latest three years of her life and I experienced first hand the joy our dogs brought to her. She rubbed their ears, talked to them, and, much to my chagrin, allowed Maverick to lick the final bites from her yogurt container! Seeing this relationship from the eyes of a dog brought amazing joy and some sadness. I want I had better understood their relationship and that because they are dogs, are more loyal, forgiving and patient than humans when worn down caring for a dying family member. A amazing story with a amazing message!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All That Ails You: The Adventures of a Canine Caregiver review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I really liked this book. It is about a dog who had a hard begin in life. And it seemed as if he was going to be place down after a lot of various homes, but then he found his forever home at a assistive living home. This is how he relates to all the residents and saves one of their lives from a person who was supposed to care for him

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🍄 Super Boy Adventure&Jungle Adventure review [App]  2019-2-26 13:25

    knock off of Mario

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🍄 Super Boy Adventure&Jungle Adventure review [App]  2019-2-26 13:25

    rrrrr

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    🍄 Super Boy Adventure&Jungle Adventure review [App]  2019-2-26 13:25

    this android game is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jungle Adventure : Super World Adventure 2019 review [App]  2019-6-17 13:32

    Best super globe jungle adventure

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    Ok. It worked amazing about a day ago, but now gets stuck at the logo loading screen. Waited 10 minutes...Tried force stop, tried clearing cache, tried reinstall. No success. IST arrival is tomorrow and I'd like to see where my tent is by then...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    lack of notifications w/o the application being begin really hinders it's usefulness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    Just stuck on loading screen was helpful before the most latest modernize though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    It won't go beyond the first startup screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    I agree with zach the application is stuck just wait till everyone is using the application at the jamboree

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    Is a one time use (if you're lucky) application on androids. gets stuck on the loading screen after that

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    geat application and very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    was marginal when it worked. the other jambo application is much better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    non functional on androids

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    Not good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    issues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Adventure On! review [App]  2019-9-27 13:56

    constantly freezes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I'd have to look at my bookshelves and my Kindle library to determine how a lot of of the Dane Maddock Adventures and Origin Stories I've read. The risk with getting attached to a long series of books is that the quality will start to diminish over time. I'm satisfied to share that this is not a issue with David Wood's Maddock adventures. I've been a fan since the very first one (Dourado) and with each episode, the characters grow more complex, the story lines continue to branch out into ever-more interesting mysteries, the danger Maddock and Bones face gets more deadly as fresh foes search our heroes blocking their path to valuable artifacts and historic - and sometimes supernatural - locations.Xibalba is no exception to the rule. A race to include a deadly substance that would cause a world-wide pandemic should it be found by the wrong "side," contains Dane and Bones, Myrmidon agents, corporate schemers, crime lords, and a host of other interesting characters who Wood weaves into the tapestry of a topical and intricate plot. The premise is simple, yes, but the permutations are a lot of and you'll have to read Xibalba for yourself to see how - or if - or heroes can once again save an unsuspecting world.Xibalba is one more reason to continue expanding my collection and I can't support but look forward to the next installment!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I'm a large fan of Maddock and Bones. Once again they are caught up in a possibly globe ending adventure. The story moved a small slowly, but Wood is a amazing writer overall. That being said, I'm a small burned out on the Maya doomsday theme. As an avid reader of adventure/thrillers I can say there is no shortage of ways we could all end due to some Maya prophecy. I'm hoping Wood and/or other authors can move beyond the Maya, Aztecs, Greeks, Romans, Macedonians and the few other ancient cultures that are the go to background for storytelling. We live in a huge world, surely there are some unbelievable legends and prophecies we haven't heard about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I've read all the Dane Maddock (and Bones) books that I've found so far and love them. This one was about the disappearance of the Mayan empire and where they all went. Could the same thing happen again? What happens when the world's population surpasses the planets ability to sustain it....Spoiler (lil bit)The only thing I didn't understand was at the very end if you have a very contagious something, how do the main characters not obtain it in the given situation.Other than that one inconsistency I loved the whole book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    David Wood writes as a fast, fun pace making the experience enjoyable. Just enough facts to skirt the line of fantasy and reality making you wonder just how much is truth? Maddock and Bones are an electric tandem. Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones with a amazing character duo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    This one was a small slow at first, but then the story got very interesting. I have enjoyed every one of the Dane Maddock books I've read. I can't wait to read the next. Thank you David Wood for sharing, and hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Amazing characters, amazing adventure and book flow beautiful good. My first Bones and Maddock book and I have already purchase another. Some dead ends in the science but otherwise good. I am still looking for a amazing science based books with amazing characters. This comes beautiful close but the ending kind of falls of. The adventure when they were swimming in the cenote was excitingI was already familiar with the topic matter and they stayed beautiful close to the truth or science of the cenotes and the Maya history.A amazing book but not amazing although I may be a small hard on the book as it was enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Quick paced action. Powerful characters and interesting story line. Totally unexpected ending or should I refer to it as the beginning. You need to read the book to create sense of what I just wrote.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Wow what a ride to go on. Another amazing read. Indiana Jones style but with much more. I can not wait for the next read an excitement of these two characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Loved it. Was amazing to obtain back into a whole novel instead of these bi-authored short stories. Love the story and characters. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Xibalba: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 8) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    This here is another quick paced, action filled adventure of Bones and Maddock. You'll thoroughly have fun it. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    As I always do I totally enjoyed this book, Dane and Bones always give us an interesting and risky adventure. This adventure takes them to Scotland looking for another artifact, what do t hey encounter, Nessie, Danger, Cult groups? You will of course have to read the adventure for yourself. I know you will have fun it. I am looking forward to next adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    I liked the story.But I don't like how the story went from diving for treasure to hunting monster's.And I'm not liking the direction the Maddox and Bones sister is ddox is starting to be kind of a jerk, Bones is a dog but he's a likeable dog.I think he needs to go back to more treasure hunting and a small less weird stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    I loved this book, I just went and searched up all the David Wood books and got samples of them all to try! Love this author's books! Loch is funny and interesting with just the right amount of adventure thrown in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This has to be one of my favorite books in the series. Dane and Bones join up with a reporter and a wacky cryptid hunter to find for missing treasure and search a whole lot more This book is not to be missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Started slow but turned into another fun Maddock adventure. My largest complaint is the length, it's only about 200 pages, more like a novella than a true novel. It seemed almost like I missed a book in regard to the relationship items though. An odd feel to it, still like the book overall though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Loved its fast pace and realistic characters. The story moved along but the ending was less than satisfactory. I understanding setting you up for the next book but it ended abruptly, too easily. The treasure was gifted to a museum - the end. What!? Otherwise, perfect research and very amazing pace.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Another brilliant book from David. I loved nes finally has a possibility to go after a mythical creature with Dane, and boy is it fun. Add to that the reporter and the cryptid hunter, and it makes for a fun ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This book is in keeping with Woods' other highly enjoyable adventure takes involving myth, artifacts be and legends. But this one needs one more chapter to tie up the loose ends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    As usual Dane and Bones are great. Love the method they work together to save the day. You can't go wrong with this read. Lots of action begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Loch: A Dane Maddock Adventure (Dane Maddock Adventures Book 9) review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Another amazing novella with Maddock and Bones. Plenty of action to hold you turning the pages. Definitely another amazing one in the series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Iron Veil: A LitRPG OmniWorld Adventure (OmniWorld Adventures Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    This is a very amazing addition to the LitRPG genre and I really enjoyed reading e book is very well written and well edited and so does not fall prey to some of the structural issues that other LitRPG novels is actually beautiful light on the android game mechanic portion of the genre. The mechanics of the android game are there and do exist but they do not overwhelm the reader. This is not a skill grind or a village building stead the author approaches the the genre and the mechanic from a beautiful refreshing (I won't say fresh but definitely not overdone) angle. Instead of a headset or lifepod, the android game is played via an induced dreamstate. A lot of of the MC's initial choices are created for him by the system with a promise of "you'll love this" and the MC is quickly ushered into the game. Very small time is spent on the hero creation process and most of the time is spent on the MC, his experiences in the android game and his interactions with the other players and NPCs. The MC is a newb and is portrayed as a newb. He's not some overpowered god with an artifact or a skill that lets him immediately take over. In fact, he, for the most part, has no idea what he's doing or whats going on, and relies on his mates for help. One of the funniest scenes in the book is when he attempts to add an NPC to his android game mate list. When he asks the NPC if he can do so the NPC, not understanding the android game mechanics, simply replies "Yes you can now consider yourself my friend." While the book is light on mechanics, its massive on story and plot and draws you in to the lives of the MC and his e only reason this review is a 4 and not a 5 is my irritation with the "bad guys." I'm not even sure if they are the poor guys or not. There is a secondary plot line that is very minimal in this book that takes put IRL and happens amongst several various groups of protagonists. The reader is never really shown why they are they protagonists, what their goals are or how they relate to the story in the game. The two threads kind of tie together at the end but the reader is left scratching their head wondering what was that all about. I'm sure this will be a serious part of the sequel but since it was introduced and expounded upon in the first book, the lack of any true elucidation is somewhat l that being said, I heartily recommend the book for all you LitRPG lovers out there and I eagerly await Mr. Nargi's upcoming sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Iron Veil: A LitRPG OmniWorld Adventure (OmniWorld Adventures Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    The Iron Veil is a fast, exciting, intricately-crafted read with a fresh, highly creative premise, amazing characters, snappy (sometimes hilarious) dialog, terrific action, and suspense that steadily builds throughout the story. After being chosen to play the Beta ver of a new, utterly real, utterly immersive virtual reality “adventure game" Justin Boone thinks he’s won the lottery. But he and his companions in Omni Globe soon search out that the “game” is not at all what it seems and that the stakes are far higher than anyone imagined. I highly recommend this book and can’t wait for the next installment in the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Iron Veil: A LitRPG OmniWorld Adventure (OmniWorld Adventures Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    It is always a pleasure to search a book with interesting plot and characters that has been well edited. Looking forward to the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Iron Veil: A LitRPG OmniWorld Adventure (OmniWorld Adventures Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Most books I read the info is shoved in your face from the obtain go. Not so here. This book you figure things out as the the MC figures them out. Maybe a small before, maybe a small after, but its still a guessing android game as the book goes on. Worth a read for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    I loved this book..it was a amazing story. I hope that if there are aliens out there that they are just like the characters in this book..i received this book for free in exchange for an honest review...CY

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Interesting concept. Simple reading, light reading, involved enough to keep your attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    The plot was interesting, and the characters more realistic than I expected. The writing wasn't bad, either. Still, I don't expect to go on with the series unless it's free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    This book was given to us for free in return for an honest teen-year-old Emma and her twin brother Charlie are expecting another boring summer vacation when the family travels to Balky Point. As much as they like the locals, it is a quiet, unassuming city where there's not much going on. Charlie and Emma go exploring and the adventure all begins inside the lighthouse. They message pictures there decades apart that present the same girl in each one – not aging or changing in any way. Then they search the same girl – Eve – at the city obtain together and track her down to obtain answers to all their questions. The next thing they know, Emma and Charlie are traveling with Eve to fresh Universes and having all sorts of experiences that blow their minds. Eve is on the trail of a criminal and together they all learn more about themselves and they strength they possess inside.I loved this book! The first thing that jumped out at me is how family oriented it is. As Emma and Charlie discover and learn about the other universes, the first thing they do is talk to their parents and their mates in town. While they may sneak off, Emma and Charlie are very close to their parents and work to reunite the family. It is not a dysfunctional family as we read in so a lot of stories. Mom and Dad love Emma and Charlie and have their best interests at heart. They are very show in the kids' lives and test to understand and be involved as much as they can.I really enjoyed the idea of multiple universes. It is presented in a method that is simple enough for all to understand. Yet it really makes you think. The characters encounter alternate versions of their home universe and have to deal with the implications those can e villain in this book is someone who has been corrupted by "the Void". The author does a amazing job describing this feeling and desire to isolate ourselves from one another, to spend more time with our phones that with our friends. There is a whole society that has failed because The Void has convinced all the people to stay on their own and not interact with anyone. Emma is faced with the temptations of The Void and we obtain to see how she faces it and how her mates and family support her defeat it. I love the resolution at the end with Emma and Vik – but I'm not going to obtain into it here and ruin the story for you!This was a fun read that kept my interest. The rest of this series is on my to-read list and I am excited to see the adventures by Patti F. for Truth About Books [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Reviewed on behalf of The Review Board by Harmony Kent.I received a free PDF copy of this book, in exchange for an honest is book is aimed at YA, and falls within light science fiction/fantasy and is full of adventure. It is a clean read suitable for a range of ages. I would say that 13 – 14 year olds would have fun this more than older teens.Teenagers Emma and Charlie search themselves holidaying on a remote island with their parents, and in find of things to do. Emma is hopeful that local boy, Ben, will return her interest; however, the threesome soon have much more on their minds than dating, and more than enough to occupy their time.I love the underlying notice in this book, portrayed through ‘The Void’, which shows readers how risky disconnection and feeling alone can be, and how it necessary it is to search a method of connecting with dly, the read is allow down through a passive narrative style, which is full of grammatical problems such as split infinitives and comma splices, and method too a lot of exclamation points. Filter words also abound, as does overuse of words such as ‘own’ and ‘very’, which litter the text unecessarily. The plot, pacing, and globe building are done to a amazing standard, although the characters felt a small one-dimensional. At one point, the ages given just don’t translate. In Eve’s universe she is 11, and in Earth years 17.5; her father is 25. Whether this is Earth years or Other Universe years, the ages just don’t work—her father needs to be l of that said, it is an simple and enjoyable read with an necessary underlying message. This is the first book in a series, but works as a standalone novel. The conclusion is begin ended, leaving room for the sequel, but it doesn’t end on too steep a cliff. It gets 7 out of 10 TRB stars from me, which equates to 3.5 out of 5 on other rating scales. For posting purposes, I round this up to a soft 4.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Charlie and Emma are two inquisitive teens who explore a doorway into multiple universes -- inside a lighthouse on the little island where they're vacationing. From there, it's a short trip into a delightfully drawn tale that leads them to a lot of unlikely Pam Stuckey has expertly woven an improbable plotline into a book that is part science fiction, and part Alice In Wonderland. The twins hook up with an ensemble cast of aliens --- all of whom look remarkably no various than, say, your next door neighbor -- and go in find of a mysterious alien named Nik, who is causing all sorts of intergalactic arlie and Emma squad up with Emma's secret heartthrob Ben to quiz a quirky alien scientist named Dr. Waldo, who presents them with an arresting revelation about one of the universes they've discovered: the dead don't ever really depart, as we've always thought. Most often, they simply "stick around," as Dr. Waldo says, or they "move on" -- sometimes to inhabit entire worlds just filled with edless to say, this is much more than a easy Young Adult adventure story -- although it still somehow manages to accomplish that as well, moving the reader along briskly with snappy dialogue, keen wit, and a surprise around every e quest turns serious when they become stranded in a strange globe with three moons, but their alien-guide Eve finally saves the day by dialing in the correct coordinates for The Hub, where Dr. Waldo is anxiously awaiting their arrival.But wait! That isn't Charlie, after all. It's Parallel Charlie, who switched locations with the true Charlie in one of the a lot of alternate Earths. Just kidding, Emma, he says, when his twin sister finds out what they did. Also, Ben has activated a homing beacon on his wrist in hopes of being transported home. Issue is, the device was a beta model and Ben just might have his atoms scattered across the ere's more drama in shop as the twins continue their romp around the galaxy before finally accomplishing their task --sort of. It's a twist ending, and I don't wish to spoil e Universes Inside the Lighthouse is an imaginative read that's well-written, well-edited and fun to race through, as the twins search themselves in one dilemma after another -- but always finding their method out. This book is a YA standout and I give it five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I am very thankful to Pam Stucky for giving me the opportunity to visit her world, a globe I might not have chosen on my own to read. It is an easy, well paced adventure! This Young Adult story not only featured fun romps through a lot of (well detailed) layered Multiverses but also place forth a special take on possible Time Travel (which I am a HUGE sucker for), ghosts and Aliens...that's right...Aliens, Infinite Universes, ghosts AND Time Travel...a winning literary combination if ever there was one. The main characters were simple to empathize with and the globe building was well thought out and seamlessly executed. My only gripe was that the Aliens divulged their secrets with small to no hesitation nor prodding from the main characters. All in all The Universes In The Lighthouse was a fun, unique, well written Young Adult novel that expertly set the scene for what I can easily foresee being an extraordinary series. I'll be on the lookout for the next book in the series for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Sometimes extraordinary things lay hidden in the most ordinary is novel had amazing dialogue. Unfortunately most of my favorite quotes from it include too a lot of spoilers to share in this review due to the points in the plot when they occur. I was especially entertained by how Ms. Stucky reworked common expressions into locations or ideas that created me grin, though, and I never grew tired of seeing what she might come up with ’s rare for stories written for this age group to contain subplots about characters being in relationships or having crushes on one another. While there was nothing inappropriate about that storyline, I was surprised when it showed up because everything else in the plot seemed to be specifically written for middle grade readers. The romance could have easily been chop out. If it had, I would have been comfortable choosing a higher rating.What would it be like to visit other planets? As someone who has often wondered about this, I was intrigued by all of the locations that these characters see. Earth is special in a lot of various ways. It was nice to see this subtly acknowledged before the author went on to present the awesome range of possibilities.I would have liked to visit (almost) all of e pacing of this book was sometimes uneven. Very exciting things would happen, but then the plot would slow down to add exposition or share a joke. While I was amused by these things, I also wished that I could know what happened to the characters more quickly. Often these pauses took put at exactly the same time when I was most interested in seeing how everyone would obtain out of their recent scrape. It was a small disconcerting.A amazing antagonist makes a huge difference. It took a while for the villain in this tale to present up, but I enjoyed the suspense of it all along the way. There were a few tips about Emma and Charlie were up versus along the way. The huge reveal was still fun, though, and it created me curious to see what might happen in the sequel.I’d recommend The Universes Inside the Lighthouse to anyone who is a fan of zany science fiction.originally posted at long and short reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    About the Book:When Emma and her twin brother Charlie arrive on Dogwinkle Island for summer vacation, they are expecting a long boring summer away "away from it all," as their parents had place it. What they weren't expecting was to meet Eve, a time-traveling alien from another planet that would present them the universes that hid inside of the lighthouse on Balky Point. Their adventures take them to "The Hub" where they meat Dr. Waldo, a scientist examining the possibilities of the Universes. In the Hub, Emma, Charlie, and their mate Ben explore that the possibilities of their adventures are endless, only limited by their imagination. The four teens set out on an adventure looking for Vik, the villain in the story, who is trying to destroy the "elevators" that let for travel between universes. In his travels, Vik is actually spreading this horrible thing call the "The Void." My ReviewPam Stucky's book The Universes Inside the Lighthouse was a delightful surprise for me. As a scientist, I usually stray away from science fiction because when it isn't done well, it leaves me screaming at the books; however this book was extremely intelligently written. I actually stayed up late on several nights because I couldn't place the book down. The premise of the book, on the surface, appears to be far fetched, but trust me, read the book and explore an adventure of a lifetime. The characters in the story are well developed and the overall plot lays the foundation for a series of books to come in this Balky Point Adventure particular, I found myself scribbling notes in the margins of the book because there were so a lot of quotes from the book that spoke to me. The story reminds me of A Wrinkle in Time, but for a much older audience. After reading the book, I think it would be best suited for 10 and older. I tried to read it with my eight-year-old, but the concepts in the book were too abstract for her to understand. I think in a couple years, she will be ready and eager to read this book. I will be sending this book to my niece, who is a couple years older than Miss M, to see what she thinks as a young reader.Overall, I highly recommend this book for both the adventure and the philosophical pondering. I especially enjoyed the hero Dr. Waldo, who provided a welcome contrast to the teenage angst of the main hero Emma. I think if I was a teenager reading this I would have similar to Emma, but as an adult, I definitely understand the globe more from the perspective of Dr. Waldo. The "Hub" where Dr. Waldo does his work was my favorite setting in the book because of the limitless possibilities of this location. Go, download this book now. It is a amazing read as an adult and as a middle-grade/ young adult fiction novel. Disclosure: * I was given this book free-of-charge by the author in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions expressed are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Universes Inside the Lighthouse: Balky Point Adventure #1 (Balky Point Adventures) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Twins, Emma and Charlie Nelson, aren’t too excited about spending their summer vacation on a remote island with small to do. Bored, with the exception of a slight dating prospect, the teens go camping. Only to search that there is much more to life than what this globe would have them uck in parallel universes and on extraordinary planets Charlie, Emma, and their newfound mates race versus time to save themselves and the universes from succumbing to The Void and it’s minion, t Review:What I liked: The Universes Inside the Lighthouse is a really cool book. It’s a complete non-stop adventure! I really enjoyed this book from the first to the latest word. The published synopsis & cover do not do it e multi-universes and time traveling elements along with the teen heroics created this an utter victory for teen readers.I LOVED The Void. The terror in this book is essentially a reference to depression and self-absorption. I think these are both very necessary subjects that need to be shown as an enemy, especially to teens!What I didn’t like: The science references can be construed as anti-Christian, so if you’re not into fantasy that calls that into question, this isn’t the book for re…Author: Pam StuckySource: This was a bonus from Pam Stucky in exchange for an honest ade: BAges: 14+Steam: NadaSetting: Balky Point, WashingtonSeries: Balky Point Adventures #1

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    This is an extremely entertaining and often insightful collection by Nobel physicist Richard Feynman drawn from slices of his life experiences. Some might believe that the telling of a physicist’s life would be droll fare for anyone other than a fellow scientist, but in this instance, nothing could be further from the truth.Dr. Feynman’s delight with life shines through everything--nothing gets him down for long. The reasons for this attitude are his ever-present compulsion to learn and discover, his urge to follow his insatiable curiosity (about everything!) wherever it might lead, his willingness to simply state whatever he thinks when asked, and his refusal to always take life so seriously. It is evident that Dr. Feynman has achieved what a lot of can only dream of--living a meaningful and accomplished life while still being able to search absolute joy and fun in so much of how we spend that ’s hard to imagine anyone that would not search this an interesting and enjoyable read. Although Dr. Feynman is a physicist, this is not a science book, and the reader really needs nothing in the method of a scientific background to fully have fun e book is divided into five parts corresponding to various parts of the author’s life. Within each part, the stories themselves are rarely more than half a dozen pages long, and none depend on the others. Although I read it cover-to-cover in order, it would be simple to begin to any of the stories and read it independently. It is one of those books one could pick up when there are only a few mins to read. But your experience may be like mine, and you may not wish to place it down again!Highly recommended for just about anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I learned of this book when reading the acknowledgements at the end of the novel "All The Light We Cannot See." In that book is a hero that Feynman must have inspired in the author.I think Feynman sounds like "one hell of a amazing guy." He isn't a amazing author, but the book is immensely readable and a lot of fun. Plus, for me anyway, I learned a lot about myself. He definitely had me beat in the IQ department, but I think we had a lot in common...Namely intense curiosity from an early age. I enjoyed reading how that manifested itself in a genius.When I finished this book, I immediately bought Feynman's "What Do You Care....", and after that "Six Not So Simple Pieces....". Think I'm finally Feynman-ed out, but I'm glad I read his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    Feynman is a genius. The entire book is full of charming, intelligent, and surprisingly inspiring stories about the "curious character" that was the late, amazing Richard e latest chapter is something else entirely: an entire philosophy and ethos of scientific thought rolled into a few pages. I found Feynman's principles and ideals for scientific integrity almost unbelievably precious: to never compromise on experimentation, to never create claims you can't back up with hard evidence, and most importantly, to never fool yourself into thinking that you're more right than you actually though only the scientifically or mathematically trained will understand much about Feynman's actual work, his life philosophy and its implications are something that everyone can benefit from. The globe would be a better put if each of us tried to replicate just a small of his intellectual integrity. I almost didn't believe such beautiful, pure intellectual idealism wasn't possible until I read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    We are not often blessed with persons of the awesome intelligence of Richard Feynman. Even someone with just a smattering of science and math can appreciate this Nobel Prize winning, bongo drum playing, safe cracking denizen of the Manhattan Project at Los Alamos. Here was a man of superior intellect who could yet relate to the globe around him and who had a curious interest in a lot of facets of human endeavor. That is coupled with obvious tenderness toward his first wife, who dies of TB during the Manhattan Project. Even as Feynman writes about that in tightlipped fashion, his deep love for her and sorrow for the loss comes e book is not tightly organized but it is smartly written. Guys like Einstein, Feynman, Carl Sagan will all wrestle from time to time with the non-scientific question of what preceded the Huge Bang, if only by asking fleetingly if there is some principle of causation behind it all. Obviously I don't know if God exists or what it all means. But it is hard for me to think that such a towering intellect encased in such a lovely witty and wise person results from mere accident. I'll go no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    "Surely you're joking, Mr Feynman" has been on my reading list for a long time, but I never got myself to actually read it. Now I did and I'm glad I did because I found it one of the most funny and insightful books that I've read recently. It's a biography but consisting of short stories of interesting happenings that happened in the life of Nobel Prize Champion Richard Feynman who seemed to have a unique talent of getting himself into interesting e book consist of 5 parts, which are roughly equal to five necessary periods in Feynman's life. These are: 1) His early pre-university life, 2) His university life, 3) Involvement in the Manhattan project, 4) Early years as a professor, and 5) Later years as a physicist and professor. Each of these parts consist of little chapters that tell a situation (usually funny or weird) in which he got himself and his usually odd reactions in that roughout the book, there is this honest, smart, jokingly view on life. Feynman did experiments. Not just experiments in physics but experiments in life. He would test out things to see if he could do it or to see how people would react. That attitude of experimenting and learning always got him in weird situations and this book is full of those. Example? As a boy trying to imitate Italian (and getting away with it). Removing doors from classmates and so honestly admitting that he did it that nobody believed him (hilarious!). Pick-locking safes. Playing Brazilian instruments. Doing out to Vegas to hand out with gamblers and present women. Proof reading secondary school science books and actually reading them :)This was one of these books which I found myself laughing out loud quite often. A lot of of the stories created such an impression that I went off to tell other people about it as they stuck with me (especially the genius experiment with water, a glass and a tip). Everytime when I read more of it, I got more excited about the book and I was actually very sad when I finished the book. It is a book I'll probably re-read (and have fun as much the second time). It isn't a book about physics or about a specific topic, it is purely a book about Richard Feynman... a curious character... indeed. Five stars, recommended for people who wish to read an interesting and fun book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I expected a lot of this book as it came highly recommended. Instead I found it lack luster. The title essentially sums up the book. Feynman tells several stories of times throughout his life. Each coming back to the notion that it is necessary to be curious and have the desire to dissect things in order to search out how they work on a deeper e writing felt very journal-like to me, almost stream of consciousness at times. Reading this as a series of blog posts would have been fine, but I wasn't excited to read more after one or two ere are some exciting stories within the book, like Feynman learning how to crack safes, and his subsequent pranks.Overall this book wasn't for me due to the writing and lack luster content.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    Feynman is an interesting person. Smarter than your average physicist yet notably down to earth. This book has almost nothing to do about physics or the Nobel prize he won (reluctantly) but has a lot to do with the different interests and activities he got into -- music, art and so me of the items about numbers and such might fly by you but mostly everything is ese vignettes document on interesting life and a perspective for others.Well written and simple to read. What would you expect from a physicist?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    My high school calculus professor told me I should read this book. Well David I did and It would have done me more amazing the sooner I would have read it. This book is pivotal for any thinking person. Why we are who we are. How we got here. In our own words. In the moments that are defining for us not for those defining us. That is how this book makes me feel about the author. That is how this book has created me feel about myself. I told my wife and mates recently about the story where Feynman observes the testing of the bomb from a truck and their reaction to the story was so focused on the bomb it created me realize that is the magic of this book. You are on his ride through these moments. You are not stopping to consider or judge for yourself or anyone else. You are focused on the joy of thinking, feeling, doing and not necessarily in that order. I hope you have fun it. I hope it changes you too. Thank you to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    Richard Feynman is the exact brand of aloof, irreverent, genius that the globe needs, at any and every time. This casual telling of myriad anecdotes from Feynman's life is precious and airy, even when dealing with early nuclear secrets, death, and other massive topics. If you're not sold on buying this book, be sure to watch several of the famous Richard Feynman videos on YouTube. This book is better than any of them. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    Obviously the most curious person who ever lived. Kind of quirky and funny too! What prevented me from giving a 5-star rating though is 1) There's no plot or storyline or even stringent chronological sequence; it's a bunch of interesting but unrelated situations that are only bound by Feynman's intriguing character. I.E. I was never aching to obtain back home and read the book to "see what happens next". Not all biographies are that random, 2) The fact that he only fleetingly mentions his life partners in a book that beautiful comprehensively covers his private and professional experiences is kind of shady and doesn't inspire as much trust as you generally expect to acquire when you develop a bond with the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This is an extremely entertaining and often insightful collection by Nobel physicist Richard Feynman drawn from slices of his life experiences. Some might believe that the telling of a physicist’s life would be droll fare for anyone other than a fellow scientist, but in this instance, nothing could be further from the truth.Dr. Feynman’s delight with life shines through everything--nothing gets him down for long. The reasons for this attitude are his ever-present compulsion to learn and discover, his urge to follow his insatiable curiosity (about everything!) wherever it might lead, his willingness to simply state whatever he thinks when asked, and his refusal to always take life so seriously. It is evident that Dr. Feynman has achieved what a lot of can only dream of--living a meaningful and accomplished life while still being able to search absolute joy and fun in so much of how we spend that ’s hard to imagine anyone that would not search this an interesting and enjoyable read. Although Dr. Feynman is a physicist, this is not a science book, and the reader really needs nothing in the method of a scientific background to fully have fun e book is divided into five parts corresponding to various parts of the author’s life. Within each part, the stories themselves are rarely more than half a dozen pages long, and none depend on the others. Although I read it cover-to-cover in order, it would be simple to begin to any of the stories and read it independently. It is one of those books one could pick up when there are only a few mins to read. But your experience may be like mine, and you may not wish to place it down again!Highly recommended for just about anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I learned of this book when reading the acknowledgements at the end of the novel "All The Light We Cannot See." In that book is a hero that Feynman must have inspired in the author.I think Feynman sounds like "one hell of a amazing guy." He isn't a amazing author, but the book is immensely readable and a lot of fun. Plus, for me anyway, I learned a lot about myself. He definitely had me beat in the IQ department, but I think we had a lot in common...Namely intense curiosity from an early age. I enjoyed reading how that manifested itself in a genius.When I finished this book, I immediately bought Feynman's "What Do You Care....", and after that "Six Not So Simple Pieces....". Think I'm finally Feynman-ed out, but I'm glad I read his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Feynman is a genius. The entire book is full of charming, intelligent, and surprisingly inspiring stories about the "curious character" that was the late, amazing Richard e latest chapter is something else entirely: an entire philosophy and ethos of scientific thought rolled into a few pages. I found Feynman's principles and ideals for scientific integrity almost unbelievably precious: to never compromise on experimentation, to never create claims you can't back up with hard evidence, and most importantly, to never fool yourself into thinking that you're more right than you actually though only the scientifically or mathematically trained will understand much about Feynman's actual work, his life philosophy and its implications are something that everyone can benefit from. The globe would be a better put if each of us tried to replicate just a small of his intellectual integrity. I almost didn't believe such beautiful, pure intellectual idealism wasn't possible until I read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    We are not often blessed with persons of the awesome intelligence of Richard Feynman. Even someone with just a smattering of science and math can appreciate this Nobel Prize winning, bongo drum playing, safe cracking denizen of the Manhattan Project at Los Alamos. Here was a man of superior intellect who could yet relate to the globe around him and who had a curious interest in a lot of facets of human endeavor. That is coupled with obvious tenderness toward his first wife, who dies of TB during the Manhattan Project. Even as Feynman writes about that in tightlipped fashion, his deep love for her and sorrow for the loss comes e book is not tightly organized but it is smartly written. Guys like Einstein, Feynman, Carl Sagan will all wrestle from time to time with the non-scientific question of what preceded the Huge Bang, if only by asking fleetingly if there is some principle of causation behind it all. Obviously I don't know if God exists or what it all means. But it is hard for me to think that such a towering intellect encased in such a lovely witty and wise person results from mere accident. I'll go no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Richard Feynman is the exact brand of aloof, irreverent, genius that the globe needs, at any and every time. This casual telling of myriad anecdotes from Feynman's life is precious and airy, even when dealing with early nuclear secrets, death, and other massive topics. If you're not sold on buying this book, be sure to watch several of the famous Richard Feynman videos on YouTube. This book is better than any of them. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    "Surely you're joking, Mr Feynman" has been on my reading list for a long time, but I never got myself to actually read it. Now I did and I'm glad I did because I found it one of the most funny and insightful books that I've read recently. It's a biography but consisting of short stories of interesting happenings that happened in the life of Nobel Prize Champion Richard Feynman who seemed to have a unique talent of getting himself into interesting e book consist of 5 parts, which are roughly equal to five necessary periods in Feynman's life. These are: 1) His early pre-university life, 2) His university life, 3) Involvement in the Manhattan project, 4) Early years as a professor, and 5) Later years as a physicist and professor. Each of these parts consist of little chapters that tell a situation (usually funny or weird) in which he got himself and his usually odd reactions in that roughout the book, there is this honest, smart, jokingly view on life. Feynman did experiments. Not just experiments in physics but experiments in life. He would test out things to see if he could do it or to see how people would react. That attitude of experimenting and learning always got him in weird situations and this book is full of those. Example? As a boy trying to imitate Italian (and getting away with it). Removing doors from classmates and so honestly admitting that he did it that nobody believed him (hilarious!). Pick-locking safes. Playing Brazilian instruments. Doing out to Vegas to hand out with gamblers and present women. Proof reading secondary school science books and actually reading them :)This was one of these books which I found myself laughing out loud quite often. A lot of of the stories created such an impression that I went off to tell other people about it as they stuck with me (especially the genius experiment with water, a glass and a tip). Everytime when I read more of it, I got more excited about the book and I was actually very sad when I finished the book. It is a book I'll probably re-read (and have fun as much the second time). It isn't a book about physics or about a specific topic, it is purely a book about Richard Feynman... a curious character... indeed. Five stars, recommended for people who wish to read an interesting and fun book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    My high school calculus professor told me I should read this book. Well David I did and It would have done me more amazing the sooner I would have read it. This book is pivotal for any thinking person. Why we are who we are. How we got here. In our own words. In the moments that are defining for us not for those defining us. That is how this book makes me feel about the author. That is how this book has created me feel about myself. I told my wife and mates recently about the story where Feynman observes the testing of the bomb from a truck and their reaction to the story was so focused on the bomb it created me realize that is the magic of this book. You are on his ride through these moments. You are not stopping to consider or judge for yourself or anyone else. You are focused on the joy of thinking, feeling, doing and not necessarily in that order. I hope you have fun it. I hope it changes you too. Thank you to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Feynman is an interesting person. Smarter than your average physicist yet notably down to earth. This book has almost nothing to do about physics or the Nobel prize he won (reluctantly) but has a lot to do with the different interests and activities he got into -- music, art and so me of the items about numbers and such might fly by you but mostly everything is ese vignettes document on interesting life and a perspective for others.Well written and simple to read. What would you expect from a physicist?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Obviously the most curious person who ever lived. Kind of quirky and funny too! What prevented me from giving a 5-star rating though is 1) There's no plot or storyline or even stringent chronological sequence; it's a bunch of interesting but unrelated situations that are only bound by Feynman's intriguing character. I.E. I was never aching to obtain back home and read the book to "see what happens next". Not all biographies are that random, 2) The fact that he only fleetingly mentions his life partners in a book that beautiful comprehensively covers his private and professional experiences is kind of shady and doesn't inspire as much trust as you generally expect to acquire when you develop a bond with the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character: Adventures of a Curious Character review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I saw the play QED (about Feynman) with mates and several days later read that Wall Road Journal columnist Jason Zweig included "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!" on his investor must-read list, which is curious because the book has nothing to do with business (and small to do with physics). Zweig must have, like myself, thought the book was so funny that in order to justify his recommendation to the Wall Road Journal readership, he created a tenuous connection: "three qualities an investor needs above all others are independence, skepticism and emotional self-control." Well, I saw no business connection whatsoever in the book but am extremely grateful for the recommendation. It's the funniest book I have ever read. I disturbed people in the other room with my guffawing the entire three days I was reading it. I couldn't support myself. Really funny and really intelligent. It would be difficult to give examples because the stories individually are pages long and together heighten each other's effect. Think of it this way: here's a physicist who won the Nobel prize, who in his 20s was invited to work at Los Alamos on the Bomb, discovered whatever he discovered in physics etc. etc. and he's caring, quirky and hyper-inquisitive. And what he is interested to write about here is not how necessary he is (he seems unaffected about that) but rather the strange ways of people. Hilarious. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    This is the third book of Mr. Foskett's that I've read. He has an uncanny ability to create you feel as if you are hiking right beside him. I have read numerous other nonfiction hiking books but none compare to those written by passion is hiking, and I love the term dromomania. I have fun reading the experiences Keith describes so vividly. His writing style brings the adventure to all of his books if you are even remotely interested in the adventurous lifestyle of thru hiking. No one does it better than Keith Foskett.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    I had read AWOL 's book and wanted to read more about thru hiking. Gave this a shot and was glad I did. A lot of people are surprised that you could have fun a book about "just hiking" but give it a try. I think you will but pleasantly surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    This set covers three of the authors thru-hiking adventures. Each as various as the trails themselves. He does a amazing job conveying the emotional experience. But sometimes his back and forth from philosophy to what's event on the trail gets confusing. Overall I would recommend it but don't expect it to be a fast read and hopefully you can obtain past some of the inaccuracies that are mainly due to his not being American.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    For someone who hs never hikes anywhere, this was a fun read. I had no idea what thru-hiking was about before I read this trilogy. I live near the Appalachian Trail in the Harpers Ferry zone and see hikers all the time. Now I know what I can talk to them about and offer them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Amazing Books. Could not place them down. I thank the author because through his books I felt like I was going through the hikes myself.. I would highly recommend to anyone who loves hiking

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    I like Fozzie's style of writing and all three books were enjoyable to read! I'm ready for his next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Wish to go hiking

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Amazing books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    really glad i found this series...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Thru-Hiking Trilogy: Three Trails - Three Adventures - A Three Book Compilation (Outdoor Adventure Book 5) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Having set a goal of hiking the PCT and AT, I have been reading some of the a lot of memoirs and books about them. This is best thus far! I have really enjoyed Foskett's humor and perspectives. His philosophy on life and freedom are refreshing even if too extreme at times. These are stories from the trails that speak more about the people than about the trails. It is the people, those fellow travelers, that create the experience. The trail may be the scene but it's the hikers who are the actors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arabian Adventure review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    The Rose Of Arabia. Arabian Adventure is directed by Kevin Connor and written by Brian Hayles. It stars Christopher Lee, Milo O'Shea, Oliver Tobias, Emma Samms and Puneet Sira. Melody is by Ken Thorne and cinematography by Alan Hume. A prince is sent by an evil sorcerer (Lee) on a quest for a magical rose. Should he succeed, he hopes that as a reward he will victory the hand of the princess. Sometimes to moderately have fun a movie of this type, you just got to take yourself back to a time when easy children's adventure films were created with easy movie making techniques. This obviously doesn't keep up well these days, where even given the year it was created it was method behind advancements that were being created in unique effects. Thus it's highly unlikely that the prepubescents of today would have the patience or care for such a production. Yet it doesn't lack for charm. Is charm enough? Well it's not a amazing or very amazing film, it's massive on chatter, the effects are indeed a small crude, acting and accents are borderline dire, and it seems to take an age to obtain going, yet it's not insulting like a lot of far bigger budget pictures have been: even nowadays! It's best just to roll with it, have fun the whimsy and the a lot of little roles by the likes of Peter Cushing, Mickey Rooney, Capucine and, erm, John Ratzenberger. Forgettable once it's over, but harmless with it. 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roll Adventure review [App]  2019-6-2 13:0

    dj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    It's a amazing game! The graphics have the same cute cartoonish art of fallout shelter, it takes the previous android game and expands on it. Now you manage multiple things all at once so you can't just expand in lemons to win. And you rank up by completing goals, which gives you a better sense of how far along you've come. Overall if you likes the previous one you'll love this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    The main issue with the android game is that there is no true sense of accomplishment. There is barely any sense of your nation growing, and the time travel mechanic only adds to this - why grow attached to anything you're doing when ranking up wipes it all away in an instant?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    When I was a kid I would dream of one day to have people and android games of my very own. My family was too not good so my parents had to toil daily to create ends meet. I found a light at the end of the disease ridden tunnel and it was this game. My family is now well fed and we live like kings on 3 slices of bread each day. This android game has inspired me to stop doing drugs I just went to a rehabilitation center and got clean off of crack, heroin, and alcohol. I'd like to thank the creators of this android game for inspiring me to fulfil e a better life. Praise the Motherland!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    I honestly did not think you could improve on AdvCap, but you did! I must say, it was a bit confusing at first, but after a moment, it all comes together. So much to manage! Job well done, HyperHippo! Job well done! I can't wait to see what comes next! Now go take some of those additional potatoes and create yourselves a shot or 2 of vodka! You deserve it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    My life was at an all time low. I drank myself to sleep, I had sucked my own @#$% because I couldn't buy porn and I never saw a hot girl before. But that was all before I came across this app. With this app, I have now created Russia stronk, and now my comrades never leave me, for I have companionship. The Adventure Capitalist application will sell as the rope that we will use to hang them with, cyka blyat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    I love the game, and it's a amazing fresh take on their classic, adventure capitalist, but it seems to me that it only gets harder to gain comrades after a certain point in time from the rewards from missions. If you were able to achieve the missions again once you time travel, like in capitalist, this android game would flow much better and create more sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    Amazing addictive game. One problem I have run into.. I earned more than enough badges to level up assuming they would carry over, they've disappeared meaning it will be more difficult to obtain to the next level because I've already achieved those badges

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AdVenture Communist review [App]  2017-11-16 13:0

    Amazing game, installed as soon as I saw it had came out! Me and my "comrades" love it. The only downside so far is that it isn't very rewarding when you time travel. Might change as I progress though

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter