Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    These stories are Avengers at their core, nothing fresh or various but just the base characters doing what you would expect. All solid stories throughout, it’s just not groundbreaking or innovative work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is a collection of short stories. I love Geoff Johns' work with the DC Justice League and wanted to see what he would do with the Avengers. Overall it was boring and bland. I've read more exciting Avengers books. I'd pass if given the opportunity.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Johns starts his run on Avengers with a clear voice. Those who liked the clear, positive days of Busiek will experience a shock as Johns drifts toward the dark end of the e art is ever the story lines at times meander.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns is fabulous. If you have not already read his stuff, do so now. Very enjoyable. Not just this volume but everthing written by him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns snuck up on us at the time and rocked our globe with these energizing and compelling Avengers om the Standoff to the Find for She-hulk,Johns stripped the existing squad down to the bare bones in regards to action adventure and plotting while taking some bold creative risks and creating a tad of controversy along the way.His bonus for characterization shone thru as he wasn't afraid to shake the squad to its core,and this was pre-disassembled mind you.He is also responsible for my all time favorite Captain America moment as Cap smashes thru the window telling the Red Skull "Dont you DARE salute that flag!" Melodramatic? Definitely, but Johns could weave in melodrama,shock value and perfect dialogue like few before or after him.I hated to see his run end so abruptly but this collection is a real gem of any Avenger fans collection.Excellent piece of Marvel history and an amazing take on Earths Mightiest Heores.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns does a amazing job with the Avengers in this second volume. While nothing is necessarily ground breaking for most of the characters used in these stories they are still unbelievable representations and moments. Jack of Hearts is the true exception to this and Johns does more in his time with the hero than anyone before or since. All the art throughout is amazing items form top tier artists. This run likely isn’t at the top of anyone’s list of greatest Avenger’s stories due to them mostly being forgettable but still worth the time for people who have fun solid storytelling and amazing superhero art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Very enjoyable. Geoff Johns has worked his magic on one of my favorite franchises in only the method he knows how. He shed more light on how being a hulk would be like, and makes the characters feel human. Vision for example, sees something dramatizing, but he (even though is only an android) feels something, and Geoff Johns shows that beautifully. As always he has a amazing emotional and serious touch on whatever he can obtain his hands on. I am limited in my review, because I do not like giving out spoilers. But I can say, if you are a fan of Geoff Johns' work, or the avengers, then this will NOT disappoint. My cash well spent. I hope you guys give this classic a possibility :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The first half of this volume deserves five stars. The second half deserves four. Johns faced enormous difficulty with marvel editorial, and his finale shows that. Unlike Busiek who ended his run upbeat, Johns writes a somewhat sad farewell. A lingering want that he could have done more. The art is stellar, Marvel and Johns both have amazing lists of artists.What ultimately earns this collection three instead four stars is the absence of any extra material. No commentary from Johns. Nothing but a handful of hero sketches from the artists. Marvel may as well have just duck tapped the trades together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Comics are a graphic medium so to me, the quality of the art is just as important, (if not more so at times), than the quality of the writing. Amazing art can create a story shine, poor art can destroy it, regardless of how powerful or mediocre the writing is. For me, this book is split right down the e first story features a solo Falcon, (Avengers #64). The story is kind of mediocre but the art by Ivan Reis (inked by Oclair Albert) is truly breathtaking in spots. There's several huge cash shots of the Falcon in flight that are really incredible. For that alone I search myself flipping back through this story a e next six, from Avengers #65-70, feature the Red Location story arc. A poisonous, red, death cloud is unleashed over Mt Rushmore and the Avengers have to include it and figure out who is responsible. This arc has plenty of action, crisp dialogue and the return of a classic villain. The art by Olivier Copiel, (inks by Andy Lanning) is top notch all the method through showing lots of detail and a amazing sense of drama.And then the decline starts. Avengers #71 is penciled by Steve Sadowski with inks by Andrew Currie. It features Yellowjacket and the Wasp in a solo story set in Vegas. Whirlwind shows up, the war ensues and we close. There's some nice hero development between Wasp and Yellowjacket as they reach an agreement about where the level of their relationship is going to continue at. The art is serviceable but noting to write home about. It's your primary fill-in issue. Sadowski returns for Avengers #76, the latest story in the book. This features Ant-Man and Jack of Hearts and shows some major turning points for both characters. There's some amazing action but from more of a domestic angle. No supervillains here but you could easily argue the one involved is even more vile.Avengers #72-75 is the four part, "The Find For The She-Hulk." She-Hulk was severley damaged in the Red Location arc so the Avengers now have to track her down. This story was the weakest of the book so the only thing that could save it was some really explosive art. Instead we obtain Scott Kollins which forces this mediocre tale to tank. Kollins seems to think he's illustrating a coloring book with wide linework and no shading causing it to look very flat without any sense of weight or drama. He relies heavily on the colorist to pull this thing together and unfortunately, that doesn't happen. On the other hand, you will obtain to see the She-Hulk with a lion's mane sized pile of hair on top of her head and the Scarlet Witch with a tightly wound perm so there is , this book is half great, half so-so. 50-50. I got this for less than it's original cover price so for me, the amazing items was worth the cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    After the happenings of avengers disassembled, the avengers are no more. This takes put awhile after that, with a breakout at a super prison in the middle of Fresh York for some reason. For different reasons, some better than others, there are super heroes in or near the prison and these people become the titular fresh avengers.I rather liked this volume, the action is amazing and the writing works for the best part. It is a bendis book, so be prepared for all the self-interruptions and repeated lines that implies. The art is also nice, although it isn't my favorite David finch work. The male necks are all really thick, and his noses seem method too sharp almost. Those issues, combines with his really pronounced cheekbones create his captain America and Peter Parker look almost identical beside the hair color.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This story involves the formation of fresh avengers after a large-scale prison breakout at the raft prison facility. The first 3 problems set up the situation where the heroes are forced to war the villains who escaped as soon as electro causes the security systems to malfunction. The remaining 3 problems is formation of this roster of heroes: Spider-Man, Luke Cage, Spider-Woman, Captain America, Iron Man and Wolverine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I was really disappointed when this ver of this book ended because it had all my favorite characters in it and hadn't happened before or after. Luke's squad was a really amazing mix of characters with a lot of amazing stories to tell. Thing, Spidey, Wolverine and Carol Danvers on the same squad was a nice break from the "Big Three" Avengers. Also, it was cool to see a "street level" ver of Avengers. This is probably my favorite incarnation of The Avengers. Hopefully, after Secret Wars, we'll see a reasonable facsimile of this squad again someday!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I have always wanted to read this series, and have finally gotten around to it with this 1st volume. Amazing story, phenomenal art, well worth the waiting. Loved it. Starting volume 2 now....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    What did I like.....? The structure , the story. The meta back story, the art, the layout and the hero growth. I've been reading Marvel since the early 1960s and always felt there was some kinship with the works offered, the zeitgeist of the Twighlight Location and the best of Science Fiction of that decade. This takes all of that and everything that Marvel did after and marches it into a future along all fronts I took note of and probably a lot of more with passion, craft, a quantum scope of style and depth of story that does the Old Masters proud from Kirby and Ditko, through Steranko, Heinlein, Asimov and Sturgeon. Maybe I read too much into Marvel Comics but I grew up in my pre teen years reading classical strains of European mythology. It informed the globe views of those peoples. This is the mythology of our fresh age. Nuff Said.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Fresh Avengers is an necessary title for the Marvel Universe, and it starts here. The premise: after the original Avengers disassembled, a fresh handful of heroes have gotten together to carry on the legacy. I don't wish to ruin any of the surprises behind "Breakout" (which there are a couple) but merely comment on the importance of the book and the series itself. By this point, if you did not know that Brian Michael Bendis has taken almost complete control of every major Marvel Universe Happening since Avengers Dissassembled, you are a small behind. He's an author that you either love or hate for his directions. While two main stories happened prior to the begin of Fresh Avengers (Disassembled and Secret War), this is really where the Marvel Universe begins to see its change. The story behind "Breakout" to place it simply is that there is, you guessed it, a breakout, and many, nearly 50 villains from a wide array of comic series escape. This event, which gathers the Fresh Avengers initially, affects the Marvel Universe as a whole for a amazing while into Bendis' Marvel timeline.(Punisher Battle Journal which started about the time of the Civil Battle created numerous references to this breakout during its run, just to give you an idea) Fresh Avengers does not do a BAD job on anything. The dialogue isnt terrible, the action is solid, and the art doesn't leave you wanting more. That said, Fresh Avengers is not a continuously amazing title. I thoroughly enjoyed "Breakout" and would recommend it to anyone who likes comics. The series afterward i found to be very off and on good...one thing i give Bendis credit for is his overall consistancy (ultimate spiderman comes to mind in that same respect). The importance of the Fresh Avengers (and later the Mighty Avengers) is mostly as a companion to the main happenings in the Marvel Universe, and the MU is certainly full of happenings that are worth having additional info for. Although Bendis takes too much advantage of this during Secret Invasion (which is almost completely unreadable without the Avengers titles), Fresh Avengers is a solid read that doesn't always leave you wanting more, but leaves you happy enough to continue reading if you have the time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    A graphic novel collection of problems 1 through 6. The Avengers broke up after the Scarlet Witch had a breakdown that resulted in the death of several Avengers. But fate brings together a fresh squad when there is a breakout at the Raft, a prison of super powered criminals. They decide to stay together to test and recapture the criminals who got is is a fresh mix of heroes with a fresh mission. It is interesting to see a squad with an actual mission beyond just catching the recent villain to pop out of the woodwork. The heroes have a amazing chemistry from the very beginning. Finally the artwork is very nice comic book artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I read it and I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a amazing Avengers team. It features Netflix heros Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist. Spider-man, Wolverine, the Thing from the Unbelievable Four, Ms Or as she's called today Captain Marvel, Doctor Strange, And Hawkeyes ex wife Mokinbird. This book has a lot humor and action. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is what comics like the Avengers, X-men, Justice League etc. are supposed to be about. Cool action cool story. It's nice to see a comic finally obtain away from all of the political drama and conspiracy stories that in the end just dragged on and on. I am so tired of buying collections like all of the Siege books that had virtually no action and were more just tiring dialogue. When I wish drama I will watch Smallville. When I pick up the Avengers this is what I expect to see, Luke Cage knocking something out, Spidey being in method over his head, Wolverine cutting crap up. The addition of the Thing was beautiful cool s nice seeing the writers getting away from the older up-tight Avenger model squads from back in the 80's and putting some attitude into the team.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers Epic Collection: The Avengers/Defenders War (Avengers (1963-1996)) review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Written in the 70's by a Steve Englehart, this saga has everything! Life, death, career and life changes. This was one of the best story arcs of the 70's Buy it! You won't be sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Garth Ennis' run on the Punisher is rightfully regarded as one of the best comic runs of the 2000s. This volume covers a prequel "Born" and his first two arcs, "In The Beginning" and "Kitchen Irish".Born is set during the Vietnam Battle and is by far the best of the 3. Young Captain Castle tries to defend his firebase from the Vietnamese while surrounded by demoralized and incompetent men. How far will he go and what price will he pay? It's an wonderful period piece (with some unbelievable research) and, unlike later stories, shows Frank's hero changing. The Apocalypse Now feeling is very e other two pit the Punisher versus the mob and the IRA, familiar enough targets but Ennis works overtime to make distinctive and memorable foes even with these familiar is is a violent, R rated book and not for kids. A lot of times it feels just ugly and grim but nonetheless it's a amazing comic and worth picking up.With over 400 pages of amazing comics for just $12 on the Kindle it's hard to search a batter buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Despite having read quite a bit of Punisher stuff, I hadn't dipped into this particular Ennis run until this collection came out, and now I regret not checking it out sooner. It's much darker than previous Ennis stories like Welcome Back, Frank. Born and Kitchen Irish are both fairly good, but In The Beginning is an iconic powerhouse of a story that's a amazing intro for fresh fans and a true experience for those more familiar with the Punisher mythos, or even those who've just read something like WBF. Amazing stories, quality book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    One of the better runs about Frank Castle. Definitely for mature audiences only. He may have started as Marvel's ver of Don Pendleton's Executioner series, but through amazing writing like this TPB, Frank has set himself apart. Amazing stuff, Maynard.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I am very satisfied I finally picked this up. Such a excellent Punisher series. It is dark and brutal, as it should be. This is a superb book. Paper quality is spot on and the binding has taken a beating and still holds up. If you do not have this book, you are a damn fool.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    A no holds barred Punisher storyline like ive never seen. gritty and believable. this is the method the Punisher was always meant to to do what he does best. believe the hype on this one!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I like having all the stories in one place. Tells a amazing story of Frank's time in Vietnam. Also tells some of Frank's wars versus the Irish and Italian mobs. Maybe too raw for teenagers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The greatest punisher stories ever told. Nothing in modern marvel comes close to the storytelling on display here. This series as a whole was the best thing Garth Ennis ever wrote.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Ennis is simply the best non marvel universe punisher writer ever. His punisher, in a globe without the marvel heroes, as he should be, is brutal and uncompromising. These stories are well written and drawn. A must for the punisher fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The art work was excellent. The storyline for "Kitchen Irish" was a small on the nose and predictable. The rest were good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Exactly as expected...great comic, however I think the language is not particularly important for the story line

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    When a Marvel hero is announced for the huge screen, you know an incoming of fresh printings is inbound to be published. With his first appearance next year in Captain America: Civil Battle and his own movie in 2017, Black Panther is a hero long over due for the spot light. Which, you would think being the first African American superhero in comics would obtain you more respect than some other characters since appearing in goes with a fast recap: T'Challa, AKA Black Panther ; King of Wakanda, an African nation with some of the most wealthiest and advanced technology in the globe thanks to it being the zone of vibranium, one of the most sought after minerals in existence. Black Panther is super character for the Avengers and leader/monarch figurehead to the Wakandan people. Now that means there have been numerous interpretations of the hero throughout the years, but it wasn’t until the hero was relaunched in 1998 series under black writer Christopher Priest where he became the modern day ver everyone uses now. And yes, it’s a pleasant offering for fresh and old readers on Black llecting problems #1-17 (, BLACK PANTHER BY CHRISTOPHER PRIEST VOL.1 COMPLETE COLLECTION shows T'Challa comes to America to investigate the kidnapping and murder of a small girl who was affiliated with a Wakandian charity group. Tensions are high for Wakanda having a civil battle back home, but T’Challa feels he needs to investigate this himself even with issues in his home land. So T’Challa brings his own entourage of body guards including Zuri, a hulk-like warrior and two teenage assassin’s named the Dora Milhje, with government agent Everett K. Ross is assigned as an escort to help and hold relations with Wakanda. He figured it would be simple work and just tailed along with the King's entourage. But things go crazy quickly as Black Panther has been setup, his home country been taken over from his absence, and the lord of Hell, Mephisto, has something to do with all of rious versions of Panther existed before Priest took control like the 70’s being very serious and reflective, to Jack Kirby being over the top. Priest reverts Panther more akin to Stan Lee’s original ver being able to outsmart the likes of Reed Richards (who is one of the smartest characters in the Marvel Universe) and go toe-to-toe with The Thing, while adding a some of his past versions as to no alter the character’s rich history. This makes Priest work on Panther parts urban vigilante, political thriller, and even e first twelve problems are one tightly woven story of Black Panther dealing with the kidnapping case and reclaiming Wakanda, while problems #13 through #17 are single/two problem tales of Panther teaming up with different Marvel characters that are quite amusing to see the interaction with. This is created up for the narration of the stories by Everett K. Ross, who speaks through his observations in a highly comical and witty way to his superiors (for example he loses his pants in front of Mephisto and by accidently selling his soul for pants, he just keeps unzipping his pants to have another pair on). He’s a coward and a bit dumb, as well as explains his stories in a non-linear narrative akin to the Quentin Tarantino film, Pulp Fiction (which even his superior mentions this). So while Ross is the comedic relief and narrator, Black Panther or “the Client” as Ross says, is the straight man with very small to say. It’s a amazing method to counter balance the vibe for readers.And because Panther is the straight man, Priest makes Panther very much like DC’s Batman in his abilities and gadgets, his overall look, and insane strategist skills in keeping 10-steps ahead of everyone, so much so that he admits to joining the Avengers just so he can hold an eye on them if they were a threat to Wakanda . Even his fresh villain Achebe, looks and acts an poor lot like DC’s Joker with a huge grinning smile and crazy habits. This Batman-esque Black Panther has become the standard for modern day writers to inhabit that makes this a worthwhile read, being more about using his smarts and being begin to the e art supplied from the first 5 problems is Tag Texeira, Vince Evans doing the second story arc with Joe Jusko and Mike Manley, with Sal Velluto doing the rest. The art is amazing that ranges from gritty to comical (like problem #8 having an ode to Stan Lee/Jack Kirby flashback sequence). It’s overall amazing stuff. With the addition of the Marvel Knights Sketchbook extras that give numerous drawings and interviews to Priest on the hero that are worth I know my Amazon rating is 5 stars, but I’m scoring it around 4 ½ stars. The only issues I had were the storytelling way Priest uses like Pulp Fiction is confusing at first. In fact, it’s used predominantly throughout his whole run on Black Panther. It does ease up in later issues, but the shifting story might not jive well with some readers. And the second aspect might be the racism aspect some readers might get. What I mean by this is the dichotomy between Ross and Panther that some sources have pointed out throughout the years. Ross is the bumbling white guy who gets chased down the White House by the Show of the United States while Black Panther is the cool-headed, rich super hero. I personally didn’t obtain that vibe, as well as Priest himself not portraying dumb ethnicities. He even goes so far as to have a few scenes where black characters test to sway Panther into a symbol for African Americans, which Panther shoots this down and looks at all lives, regardless of skin color, being vital to life. But I just wanted to point that out if any fresh readers obtain that feeling. And the notion of Black Panther being a Batman-like clone might gel well either (even if both characters have various upbringings and motives).Still, I’m glad Marvel decided to reprint these fine stories. They are exciting, funny, and even insightful to still read about and create Black Panther stand out from the other characters. It was ground-breaking items back in the day, which you can see why he has become a strong figure in modern Marvel comics thanks to Priest work on the character. Well with Black Panther making his movie debut next year, this is the first collection to be released to lead up to next year. The first two trades (Black Panther Vol. 1: The Client and Black Panther: Opponent Of The State TPB) are out of print and pricey, with much of Priest work uncollected before. So with writing a whopping 62-issues, there is plenty of Black Panther material on the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Amazing book, Christopher Priest is a talented writer and his work with T'challa is nothing short of amazing. If you liked Civil Battle and have a desire to read some Black Panther stories, this collection is a amazing start. It includes the first 17 problems of Priest's run, which is an amazing value for the price. The book came well binded and the artwork was high quality, no faded pages or dull colors anywhere! Overall, an amazing story for an amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    With the film coming out in 2018 I decided to obtain my son caught up on the story line. Love the fact that all of the comics are in one book so I don't have to worry about him losing books. Well constructed and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    This was my first major exposure to this character, and it is fantastic. I definitely plan on buying Volume 2. If you're at all curious about Black Panther, I think this is a amazing put to start, but I don't generally read comics so I may be wrong. But I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    This is the true deal. One of the best Black Panther as well as well written stories, fleshing out characterizations and motivations. I now I must read Priest's Deathstroke the Terminator.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Interesting back story before the film comes out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    if there is a black panther series out i will buy it. at least to try. ive read plenty of black panther and there is lots of amazing panther comics this is my favorite by far. priest is a terrific writer who struck gold with this take on BP. i hope you obtain to have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    If you have ever been interested in black panther lore, or black superheroes in general Christopher Priest's Black Panther run is beyond a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    bought this as a bonus and they really enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Learned a lot. Who knew all these black characters were around??? I look forward to reading more issues. Amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This trade includes two annuals and problems 31-34 of the Avengers. At the end of the collection, there is a three page letter from Bendis to the readers. In it, he informs us that he is ending his time on the Avengers to go and write the X-Men. I was surprised when I read it (I don't go to comic book stores anymore (all Amazon) and I don't hold up on comic news), but after thinking about it for a few minutes, it makes ndis wrote 232 Avengers comics -- a record. His 2004 to 2009 run was inspired. I'm a heavy fan of Civil Battle and the Skrull Invasion. Bendis is a master at characterization and dialogue. Unfortunately, the latest couple of years have been weak -- Fear Itself and the Avengers vs. X-Men storylines were forced, bulky and too massive on is trade reads well and is a amazing book. I do recommend it. It's just not up to par with his other Avengers o problems: (1) Simon Williams attacks the Avengers in the Annuals that kick off the trade (something that Benids foreshadowed 2 years ago). He blames them for a dozens of issues (Civil War, Scarlet Witch, Ultron) and says the Avengers should not exist. A few problems later, he returns and is semi-easily accepted back into the fold. Not cool (I'm still having a hard time accepting the Cap-Iron Man peace).(2) The Wasp is alive. She was killed during the Skrull Invasion, and then brought back 5 years later in this trade. It seemed like Bendis was bold when he took over the book and killed off Hawkeye, Antman (Scott Lang, not Pym), the Wasp, and a few other characters, but none of the iconic (or semi-iconic) characters remained dead. Ah, the issues with having to sell a comic forever (see Jason Todd).Bendis is great. I love his writing. He's my favorite author that works for the huge 2, and it's not really close. That said, he created a amazing choice in leaving the Avengers when he did. It's time to move on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I liked a lot of things about this collection, but there were some major elements I didn't like much, such as the method they reintroduced Hawkeye by having him take over the Ronin identity from Echo (not exactly a spoiler as it happens early on in this collection). The first problem here, which involves Hawkeye's journey back into the world, was very well done, however. I'd absolutely recommend this for fans of that character.We also obtain the Fresh Avengers coming into conflict with the Hand, which would eventually lead directly into the Secret Invasion story. Overall some amazing items here, though the art wasn't my favorite. One thing I enjoyed about this squad of established heroes coming together is when some characters are familiar with some things in the Marvel Universe and others are not, such as Spider-Man and Iron Man knowing Brother Voodoo when Wolverine and Ms. Marvel had no idea who he was. Bendis has always been amazing at that sort of thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The fifth volume of the otherwise amazing Fresh Avengers series is just average. Essentially a collection of one shots, the volume touches base with most of the major Fresh Avenger characters to obtain a feel for how they are reacting to the overall Civil Battle plotline. We obtain glimpses of characters like Luke Cage and Captain America dealing with the fallout and fracturing of the team. If you love Civil Battle or the Fresh Avengers this is worth picking up to see the private touches the main happening has on the characters, but there isn't a Fresh Avengers-specific storyline that connects each issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Writer Brian Michael Bendis, artist Steve McNiven and the production squad have fashioned a sharp, entertaining story around one of Marvel's more unusual characters, the Sentry. Advancing the larger Fresh Avengers story arc, while at the same time including some unbelievable hero beats, this surprisingly moving storyline is an interesting take on the themes of mental illness, guilt, isolation and the importance of reaching out and asking for help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I sometimes wonder if Bendis was given the task of writing this book while being told by the higher-ups at Marvel that it had to contain certain characters like Wolverine and Spider-Man. That can be a tough task, but Bendis does a amazing job getting the individual personalities right and giving each hero a role to play in the overall ough that is a highlight, the downside here is that there seem to be a few random things going on here (such as an apparent symbiote infestation?) that never really obtain explained but only present up to further some other purpose in the arc. Maybe they were happenings from other titles crossing over. I don't e main focus in the second half of this collection is decent, however, as the Hood makes his move with his assembled villains, though the only ones other than Hood who obtain much face time are the Wrecking Squad and, to a lesser extent, is is worth reading if you wish the lead-up to Secret Invasion or if you wish to complete the collection of this run. Not essential reading to the huge picture though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Be warned: This collection doesn't actually feature a lot of Avengers for about half the book, fresh or otherwise. It is a amazing story though if you enjoyed the main Secret Invasion story and wish a more complete background on how the Skrulls infiltrated Earth. It also has a amazing chapter in which we see the Skrulls' reaction to the House of M, which I thought was a amazing touch, since the main story revealed Skrulls had been here for a while, and it created sense to see them reacting to happenings we had already seen from a more straightforward at makes up about half of this collection. The rest are pieces best read alongside the main story, as they pick up in the middle of other scenes taking put in the main is was easily better than Book 1, simply because it at least told a continuous story for much of the volume. Definitely pick this up if you liked Secret Invasion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Showed up on time in beautiful amazing condition mild wear and tear. This Fresh Avengers story is an absolute must for any Marvel fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The Fresh Avengers can't catch a break. As if the Civil Battle wasn't enough. Or the fact that they're wanted criminals, and with their former teammates hunting them down. As if it's not enough that they've just faced off versus Electra and her deadly group of ninja assassins, the Hand. Now the fit really hits the shan. In the latest problem (see New Avengers Vol. 6: Revolution) it's revealed that Electra is actually a shape-shifting Skrull. This causes a big, huge issue as these outlaw Avengers now suspect that a secret invasion is in the works. But how long have the Skrulls been skulking around? And how huge the conspiracy, how deep the infiltration? Could the Skrulls have been somehow responsible for the Civil War? So, these renegade heroes now don't even know if they can trust each other ("Do you feel Skrully?" asks one Avenger to another). Paranoia sows its seed and quickly threatens to shatter the group. In fact, one member promptly skedaddles.On top of it all, a demon-ridden villain calling himself the Hood ('cause, y'know, he has a hood) is scheming to take over Fresh York's criminal underworld. And he's making fast headway. The Hood is a thinking criminal, and he espouses organization and cooperation amongst Fresh York's criminal element. It also strikes him that, with the Superhuman Registration Act lending ready access to the identities of a lot of in the superhero community, one method to build up instant credibility is to create an example of a superhero. To quote the Hood: "One by one. We obtain them where they live. All of them. No one is safe. Not the icons, not the up-and-comers." His actions place him and his superpowered crime syndicate on a collision course with Luke Cage and his crumbling outlaw band. So far Dr. Strange's mystical dwelling had provided a foolproof sanctuary for these fugitive Avengers. But not anymore.Oh, and there's also some nonsense about all of Fresh York Town being transformed into symbiotes (like Venom). This might've been interesting except that amongst the infected are the Fresh Avengers, so that's no fun. Plus, it was told in broad-stroked flashback by Luke Cage, one of the two who didn't obtain infected (him because of his invulnerable skin, Wolverine because of his healing factor). Apparently, this symbiote storyline is told in full in an problem of Mighty Avengers. But since I don't follow that series much ("bleccch!" to the Mighty Avengers), I guess I won't obtain the full lowdown on what is is THE NEW AVENGERS Vol. 7: THE TRUST and it collects problems #32-37 and The Fresh Avengers Annual #2. I figure, as long as Brian Michael Bendis keeps churning out Fresh Avengers stuff, I'll hold reading 'em. To be honest, though, I was getting beautiful tired of the Hand story arc, so I'm glad Bendis has (for now) moved on. This fresh arc paves the method for the next huge Marvel Comics event, Secret Invasion, which is an 8-issue limited series. In an IGN interview, Bendis allow out that he'd been planning this thing for years and that there's been a tip of the Skrull invasion even as far back as Fresh Avengers #1. Color me though the suspicions and hostility stemming from the Electra Skrull debacle continue to nag our team, the Hood proves to be a hell of a distraction. Yup, I've read Brian K. Vaughan's gritty limited series The Hood (New Avengers). I liked Parker Robbins as a fractured, small-time thug who kind of had the best intentions; I never thought he had it in him to become a formidable crime boss. Obviously the demon in the cloak is influencing the crap out of him. How tough is the Hood? Well, he busted Wolverine up beautiful good. In fact, what he did to old Wolvie created me cringe a lot.I can't say much for the Hood's super-powered yoyos. They're mostly lower-tiered villains (Madame Masque, the Wizard, Chemistro, etc.), and I'm beautiful sure even Howard the Duck could wipe the floor with them. The only respectable bunch in the Hood's group is the Wrecking Crew. Let's face it, it's beautiful much the Hood's intelligence and planning (and a bit of that brimstone mojo) which create him a force to be reckoned a private way, the splitting of the Avengers into two very various squads is a amazing thing. The Mighty Avengers took away the characters I didn't really care for (Iron Man, the Sentry), while the Fresh Avengers stuck with the cool set (Luke Cage, Wolverine & Spidey). The Fresh Avengers have recently welcomed Dr. Strange, Iron Fist, and a resurrected Clint Barton into their ranks, and two of 'em are still around by the end of this collection. It's disappointing, though, that Fist and Luke haven't interacted more in these pages. On the other hand, I'm definitely digging Luke's marital relationship with Jessica Jones. Luke and Jessica just feel like a true couple. Currently, their relationship is bordering on rocky, what with the fugitive status and that Skrull thingie. Come to think of it, the method the final problem here ends, it's guaranteed to tick the hell out of Luke ere's really nothing more to say about Brian Michael Bendis, except that the dude is gold. Leinil Yu provides the brunt of the artwork, which tends to come rough and rugged. Nevertheless, it definitely has its own energy and raw appeal. Meanwhile, Carlo Pagulayan's more polished looking items is showcased in The Fresh Avengers Annual #2, the website of the no-holds-barred rumble between the Fresh Avengers and the Hood & his supervillain crew. This collection guest-stars Tigra, the Night Nurse, Deathlok (kind of), and the government-sponsored Mighty Avengers (who might actually boast a conscience after all, underneath all that self-righteous bluster).Oh, and in problem #37, Spidey makes Wolverine laugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    No action. No plot. Just running dialogue that is boring. I liked this book when it first started but now it seemed the writer has lose interest in it and is phoning it in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Showed up earlier than expected. The Fresh Avengers is a amazing series and a must read for any Marvel fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    That was my reaction upon finishing the first problem of Thor: The Mighty Avenger and it still persists. Roger Landridge does a amazing job of making you like these characters from the obtain go. You understand Jane and her life in a few panels and that is just awesome. The book is fun, funny and extremely charming. Chris Samnee's art is unbelievable and manages to convey so much emotion in just a few lines. The wars are interesting in that they actually tell part of the overall story. Thor is sweet and cute and just a bit of a lunkhead but in a amazing way. I would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone of any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Recently, I've been getting into Thor as a comic book character. I always liked the premise, characters, and fantastical focus of Thor, but never really read much of his stuff. So for the past few months I have embarked on a journey to become more acquainted with him. This was one of the most highly recommended Thor titles I knew of and so I bought it, expecting to be mildly entertained and generally happy. It is a huge understatement to say my expectations were met and exceeded.When I finally got the book, I was blown away by the sheer quality of the work. Rodger Langridge and Chris Samnee's take on Thor's earlier days on earth has become one of my favorite comic book series in latest years. It's absolutely magical. Langridge's writing finds the excellent balance between deep characterization, humor, warm warmheartedness, love story, fun action, and a meditative poignancy that I have not found in a lot of comic series. Samnee's work as an artist is completely reminiscent of the silver age of comic books, where Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko were the kings of the pen. It's more easy than most modern comic books and yet it seems method more expressive than most modern comics as well. It is awesome how much Samnee's inks adds to the charm and appeal to the collection. His artistic skills and focused cannot be ignored or understated. He is spectacular.Each comic is a standalone story, each unbelievable on its own, that eventually add to a narrative whole. There are a lot of guest stars featured in this volume, some more known and others very obscure. They're all quite delightful. In a lot of ways, this collection really reminded me of the old Lee/Kirby comic books that I adore so much. I may be 21, but when I first got into comic books, it was by reading the Marvel Masterworks graphic novels, which were collections of the old 1960's classics. This fostered in me a love for the type of storytelling you search in the silver age of comic books: gallivanting heroics and campy fun. This collection has that, and yet, it also has the poignancy and depth that more modern comic books have as well. So for me, the amazing Thor runs are Simonson, Strazynski/Coipel, and now Langridge/Samnee. Hell, this volume is amazing when in the company of all comic book characters, not just among Thor stories.I cannot say enough how amazing this volume is. It saddens me deeply that this 12 problem series was cancelled prematurely. If there is any justice in this world, the amount of people buying this and volume 2 of the series will perhaps resurrect it from the dead, as it truly deserves recognition and praise. Langridge and Samnee deserve nothing but the highest reward for works like this. So please, you comic book fans out there, give this collection a shot. It is so very special. Buy it, [email protected]#$%!, adore it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------"Thor: The Mighty Avenger, Vol. 1: The God Who Fell To Earth"Written by Roger LandridgeIllustrated by Chris Samnee(Marvel Comics, 2011)-----------------------------------------------------------------------In this great, kid-friendly reboot of Marvel's amazing Asgardian superhero, Thor is reimagined as a less stuffy, less pompous, less boring thunder god, a recently reincarnated deity who is a small confused about his role in the grand cosmic framework, and less prone to spouting absurd pseudo-Shakespearian thees and thous. In short, he's more modern, easier to identify with, and method more fun. Don't obtain me wrong -- I liked the old Thor as a child and appreciate the inclusion of a few of the old, original stories in the back of this book, but ya gotta admit he is one of the classic superheroes who hasn't held up well over the years. The reboot is quite welcome. The stories are good, too: if you wish a fast-paced, lighthearted, irony-free, old-fashioned super-book to share with your kids, this is a amazing e comic book industry needs more stories like this for younger readers to enjoy... And, sadly, Marvel already cancelled this one. Of course. But don't allow that stop you from picking up these two digest collections, which gather all eight problems of this fab, though short-lived series. (Daddy Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain children's book reviews)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    A strange reboot of the Thor story. This time Jane Foster works in a museum. Thor is sent to Earth to learn humility but has lost part of his memories. He doesn't turn into Don Blake in this version. He wars Hyde, Giant Man (Ant Man) and the Wasp, and Captain Britain. It also contains the first two Thor stories that were in Journey into Mystery is ver seemed watered down from the normal story. I am not sure if it was intended for a younger audience but it seemed to be. Both the artwork and the level of the story created it feel more like something you would read in a everyday cartoon strip than a monthly comic wasn't that bad, but I have read better Thor comics. It just didn't live up to the standard I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    While I am sure Marvel produced this run to tie-in with the Thor film and sell some copy off the movie's popularity, this story can stand on it's own with the best Marvel has ever printed. Thor is depicted as being quite young (for an Asgardian), and is not drawn sporting a beard, which betimes doth vex me greatly, but here it is fitting that he be clean shaven. Also, he doth not speak in the King James Ver when he speaks English. That might bug some old-school Thor fans, and if the story were told any other way, it would have bothered me too. The art is retro-styled, but with a contemporary flair and finish that you just can't take your eyes off. When I finished this series I was sad that they abandoned it, the method the other character characters (Iron Man, Wasp, Giant-Man, Odin, Heimdall)and villains (Loki,Hyde) were portrayed created me wish to read more. More comics should look like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is an wonderful retelling of Thor's story, and his relationship with Jane Foster -- and I loved every min of it. Watching the method Thor begins to change, and Jane's slow fall into love with him is perfect, and the ART! Ahh, the Art is just so expressive! Definitely pick up Thor: TMA as a amazing starter comic for all your friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    l loved this series and [email protected]#$%! was still ongoing [see my review of volume 1.]l've read there was to have been an problem or two more in this first 's a shame Marvel couldn't have allow it go at least that ough l miss the series l'm glad l got these two volumes. They're amongst my favorite comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I read this book in problems and was blown away. But it's even better when collected!!This book is literally for anyone (doesnt matter if you are young or old, male or female) It's technically an all ages book but it doesn't insult your intellegence or talk down to the reader at all. Instead, it is just a wonderfully told and BEAUTIFULLY illustrated tale of a man from another globe being lost in, what is for him, a foriegn land: earth.I'll be honest here, I'm not a sucker for romance stories, but the relationship between Thor and Jane Foster (the woman who finds him and shows him earth) is incredibly heartwarming. This book definitely locations its focus on the emotional core of the Thor story rather than the action---and, to my amazing surprise it works wonderfully!!That being said, there is still a lot of action (Avengers, robots, angry scientists, Asgardian gods of all sorts) and Thor is still the powerful, impulsive young man he was originally in the comics, but his rashness extends to the battlefield as well as he clearly has not yet mastered his power (which makes the hero even more endearing) The story proves to be the tale of Thor finally finding something truly worth fighting for. And you'll be cheering for him all the method and having a blast while reading this fun book. And I can't stress this latest point enough: you'll definitely be soaking in the gorgeous art by the master: Chris Samnee.Anyways, words can't do this book justice... buy it!!! It's excellent for any comic fan and would create a unbelievable bonus for new, young readers who are soon to be in love with the hero (biiiig Thor film coming out in summer 2011!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is a very fun and playful read, I enjoyed this book so much that I gave it to my gf and changed the charters to her and me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I love the method the writers reimagine Thor , its really various from the original story I know when Thor was introduced. Its a amazing read and I recommend it to anyone .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Enjoyed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I saw the film first so was expecting something more funny. This explains the back stories better than the movie, but is night and day various from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It's really good! I'm not crazy about Rocket like everyone else seems to be, I didn't really like him back in the day either and I think he's a bit too mouthy rather than comedy relief but he's just getting started so I'm sure Bendis will mellow him out a bit once he's established.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Bought it for my cousin and it was a amazing read! Since the film came out, Guardians of The Galaxy has become well-known and popular. I would recommend this to any Avengers fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I am an addict to the Guardians tale for some reason. I cannot put it, but it seems I have followed the series through all its forms and now am entering into the Guardians of the Infinite series. Amazing read...well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Too poor I finished the book. All the characters, the story line, the lines are perfect. Perfect After having seen GOTG movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing art, amazing story. The differences from the marvel cinematic universe are a small contusing, but hold it fresh and new

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Two words: Guardians of the Galaxy. Ok, maybe more than two words. But still...! Marvel crosses outer zone with The Avengers with pirates and gives us one of the greatest stories you'll wish to geek out on. I dare you: read this and test not to say, "I am Groot."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Cool to see the comic vs. the movie. Unfortunately while this novel has some interesting background information, I don't know if it has as much suspense or "attitude" as the film does. Definitely worth reading if you're into the series, though. And Iron Man is in it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Exelent feeling in the hands, amazing materials and finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Solid buy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Englehart was the best. The whole WCA run is awesome, and this is the best storyline of them all.Mind you: this is just about story. Al Milgrom's artwork is pathetic. Englehart's scripts are so amazing that they shine through anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The West Coast Avengers (I still don't like the switch to calling them "Avengers West") was the first squad book I ever read. It was my book from when I was about 8 years old or so, til it ended when I was graduating from high school. And this was the first storyline of theirs that I read and got hooked on. I ordered this to see if it was as amazing as I remembered...and I wasn't disappointed. It was even better. Not only does it feature some truly magnificent battles/fight sequences, but this is where Henry Pym finally began to redeem himself, the definitive Mockingbird story that set up everything that happened/went down with her and Hawkeye and still has ramifications today, Moon Knight becoming an Avenger, the change of Firebird to Espirita, and so much more. The whole spread throughout time result is done brilliantly by Englehart, the art pops in what-to me-is the best method to do comic art-detailed clean lines in colors that truly pop. I loved this book and am very grateful they finally collected it. And while I appreciate them putting in the FF and Doctor Strange stories that take put during it, showing how they effected the Avengers and the Avengers effected them, I want they had also included WCA #25 so we can see how Wonder Man realizes that he truly needs to stay in the WCA. But that's a little quibble. This book to me, shows everything that was amazing about Marvel in the 80s. The West Coast Avengers is the most underrated book in the Marvel canon to me. Things that happened in that series result the Marvel Universe even today. Having this collection is truly a joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Just a amazing book. This was when it was firing on all cylinders. I know they're putting them back out because Hawkeye is key to the squad (hey, he finally gets to be a true leader) and he was in The Avengers film and I don't care. I'm just glad to obtain some amazing stories in an perfect format and amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This brought back so a lot of amazing memories. WCA was one of the first comics I got sucked back into in adolescence, right in the middle of this storyline, actually.Having the whole thing in hardcover has created my day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    It has been a long time since I read these issues, but at the time of this writing, there are no other customer reviews for this book, so I'll tell you what I can recall.Englehart is at the top of his android game here. He spreads the Whackos all over time and zone until, at the height of the story, there are six or seven separate timelines going. Somehow he keeps it all simple to follow. Milgrom's artwork is clean and beautiful throughout, as is was the story in which Mockingbird created a choice that condemned her hero for a lot of years. I won't spoil anything, but I will say that it was a very "adult" situation at a time when mainstream comics all had to be extremely kid-safe.I recommend this to anyone who likes the West Coast Avengers (singly or as a group), anyone who likes time-related stories, and anyone who enjoys an exciting superhero epic in the Mighty Marvel Manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: Avengers West Coast - Zodiac Attack (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    It was great, a solid continuation of the series. Highly recommend this book as it flawlessly continues the story lines from the first volume while adding more plot threads and future stories. Unbelievable appearance and portrayal of Nick Fury. Once again amazing art, dialog, and story telling. I am certainly going to buy the whole set and if you read and enjoyed the first one, you should too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Garth Ennis' run on Punisher in the Max imprint is awesome! I search it reminiscent of Leon: The Professional. I had read most of these stories individually but I recently read through them all in sequence and found that they are more serialized than I had expected. I therefore recommend getting volumes 1-4 of Punisher Max: The Complete collection and reading them all in sequence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is Amazing stuff. This is what the Punisher supposed to be. Garth Ennis' Punisher embodies everything about Frank Castle and how he's supposed to be. The books are dark,gritty,and are extremely well written. Along with stunning artwork and amazing storylines this is the best Punisher comic ever created. Highly recommended !!!10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    If you got a stomach for it and love Frank Castle, you will love this whole comic run. Gritty. Violent. Disturbing and brutal int he first few pages. Brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Large fan of this series. This collection is excellent. Paper quality is perfect. Binding is sturdy. The price is all too right.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Garth Ennis is simply the best punisher writer ever. These stories are what the punisher should be, in his own universe, and brutal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Love these comics. Gotta collect them all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Brutal, but in a amazing method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I always love to read the punisher series. Castle never fails to provide action and hard facts. One of my favorite things about him is his down to earth stanza. I also love the illustrations there spot on. This is a definitely worth 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I've been a Punisher fan since his first appearance with Spiderman and this one doesn't disappoint. I especially enjoyed the second half with the mob widows trying to obtain in on the action. A really amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The book as a whole is very good. The collection that contains the hero Barracuda is by far the best. If you like the Punisher, you will have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This is a beautiful solid series. Definitely for adults. Violence, nudity and powerful language. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Love these comics. Gotta collect them all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Savage and disturbing, but damn amazing comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Very satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    "Freakin Awesome"...it's the Punisher as he was meant to be, what else can I say?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Awesome continuation from Volume 2. I loved the previous books but this story was great. One can't to see how the punisher will obtain the villains. Not to mention the sub plots stellar. I read this book in a few hours. A highly addictive read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 3 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Well written gripped me from begin to finish highly recommend this series to real fans of the punisher don't obtain much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 4 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Volume 4 continues with Garth Ennis's perfect writing, as well as several talented artists. I was happily surprised to see "Punisher: The End" drawn by the amazing Richard Corben. I've been a fan of his artwork since Creepy and Eerie were being published.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Max: The Complete Collection Vol. 4 (The Punisher (2004-2009)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    If only I could give 10 stars..

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter