Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: Avengers West Coast - Zodiac Attack (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers West Coast: Along Came a Spider-Woman (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A lot of people talk trash about the Avengers West Coast, I search them a small more relatable. They have human problems, and experience loss. And I share a first name with Hawkeye. Hawkeye got me into comics when I was around 11 yrs old. Found an problem of Avengers West Coast on a shelf in my fresh bedroom of a house we had just moved into. It had a small dust on it, and it was a small dog-eared. This book has 367 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers West Coast: Along Came a Spider-Woman (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Brings back memories.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Avengers: West Coast Avengers - Sins of the Past (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers West Coast: Along Came a Spider-Woman (Avengers West Coast (1985-1994)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    When John Byrne unexpectedly left "Avengers West Coast" with problem 57, he left several plot threads up in the air such as the Scarlet Witch going evil and Immortus up to some sort of android game involving alternate timelines. The fresh creative squad of Dann and Roy Thomas, aided by penciler Paul Ryan, had some major shoes to fill but did a amazing job with it. While the Bryne plots were wrapped up in "Darker Than Scarlet," this collection brings together the team's later run which helped reestablish the Whackos as just as amazing as their East Coast counterparts. First, a couple of fill-in problems by Fabian Niceza and Danny Fingeroth where the squad tangles with an earthquake-causing foe and Hydo-Man. We pick up the follow-up to "Darker Than Scarlet" as problem 63 has the Human Torch revived to tangle with a fresh ver of villain the Living Lightning. Problem 64 is filler as the Torch is manipulated into fighting Captain America. Things pick up with the four part "The Reaper and the Robot" as Wonder Man's brother, the Grim Reaper, is resurrected into an undead foe who has to absorb a life a day to survive. To create matters worse, Ultron is back with a plot to turn humanity into robots, doing it to several Avengers as the two inhuman opponents forge an alliance the squad has to war off. The finale of the Rose Bowl Parade may seem silly but still amazing showing the threat of Ultron. Then, a one-issue set-up has the squad getting a fresh lineup as U.S. Agent learns the U.S. government no longer makes his presence mandatory, setting up the long-overdue Agent versus Hawkeye fight. Then we obtain to the "Pacific Overlords" storyline as Julia Carpenter (aka Spider-Woman) arrives seeking support to face a gang of opponents from the fire-wielding Pele to the magical tattoed Irezumi, all led by Dr. Demonicus. The formerly third-rate villain does a amazing job elevating himself with plans to make his own island nation and the squad joining with some fresh members to test and stop him It's a amazing story with action extending from L.A. to Hawaii and Japan, showing the influence the Avengers have. The characters are amazing with Hawkeye leading, Iron Man trying to hold control, Scarlet Witch regaining both her powers and confidence and Wonder Man showcased dealing with his evil brother. It's interesting seeing Henry Pym as just the scientist, not a super-hero, which seems to suit him better. The finale is a amazing twist as well as the Avengers don't exactly save the day although they give it a amazing try. The final problem of the collection, #75, has the squad and the Unbelievable Four sent on an other-dimensional quest that pits old Marvel fighter characters Akron and Thundra on a collision course in more ways than one. The special L.A. nature, a tad more laid-back and not as frentic as the regular "Avengers" title continues to place "AWC" apart and is why the book remains so loved. Plus, fans of Carpenter will have fun the hero brought to fresh prominence, all done to amazing art by Ryan and amazing writing as well. It's a amazing collection to remind you how amazing the AWC series was and deserving of a put on the shelf of any Avengers fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers Epic Collection: The Avengers/Defenders War (Avengers (1963-1996)) review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Written in the 70's by a Steve Englehart, this saga has everything! Life, death, career and life changes. This was one of the best story arcs of the 70's Buy it! You won't be sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Avengers review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    With a film like this you wonder how all of the otherwise, main characters will work together and help the story. No issues here. While as might be expected, R. Downey Jr. comes across largely central, it is still a amazing mix and IMHO the best scenes in the film involve the generated Hulk character. With that kind of successful melding of characters, Hollywood-scale egos and even computer generated characters; you have to give it up to the writers and director to create this the successful movie that it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Coast to Coast review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Empty nesters decide it’s time to sell the house and drive across country to their son’s wedding prior to their own divorce. Along the way, they stop and collect memories, meeting up with old friends, lovers, and a daughter who’s pregnant. She’s involved with a former NBA star who is not the father. Seems like everyone they’ve ever known is in a non-traditional relationship, which makes the would-be divorcees look beautiful normal. I’m an admitted fan of Richard Dreyfuss (and it’s not just because I’ve been told I look a bit like him). The method this movie was directed created it feel like an off-Broadway play. It was fun to watch. Don’t expect anything profound, just light entertainment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    After the happenings of avengers disassembled, the avengers are no more. This takes put awhile after that, with a breakout at a super prison in the middle of Fresh York for some reason. For different reasons, some better than others, there are super heroes in or near the prison and these people become the titular fresh avengers.I rather liked this volume, the action is amazing and the writing works for the best part. It is a bendis book, so be prepared for all the self-interruptions and repeated lines that implies. The art is also nice, although it isn't my favorite David finch work. The male necks are all really thick, and his noses seem method too sharp almost. Those issues, combines with his really pronounced cheekbones create his captain America and Peter Parker look almost identical beside the hair color.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This story involves the formation of fresh avengers after a large-scale prison breakout at the raft prison facility. The first 3 problems set up the situation where the heroes are forced to war the villains who escaped as soon as electro causes the security systems to malfunction. The remaining 3 problems is formation of this roster of heroes: Spider-Man, Luke Cage, Spider-Woman, Captain America, Iron Man and Wolverine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I was really disappointed when this ver of this book ended because it had all my favorite characters in it and hadn't happened before or after. Luke's squad was a really amazing mix of characters with a lot of amazing stories to tell. Thing, Spidey, Wolverine and Carol Danvers on the same squad was a nice break from the "Big Three" Avengers. Also, it was cool to see a "street level" ver of Avengers. This is probably my favorite incarnation of The Avengers. Hopefully, after Secret Wars, we'll see a reasonable facsimile of this squad again someday!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I have always wanted to read this series, and have finally gotten around to it with this 1st volume. Amazing story, phenomenal art, well worth the waiting. Loved it. Starting volume 2 now....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    What did I like.....? The structure , the story. The meta back story, the art, the layout and the hero growth. I've been reading Marvel since the early 1960s and always felt there was some kinship with the works offered, the zeitgeist of the Twighlight Location and the best of Science Fiction of that decade. This takes all of that and everything that Marvel did after and marches it into a future along all fronts I took note of and probably a lot of more with passion, craft, a quantum scope of style and depth of story that does the Old Masters proud from Kirby and Ditko, through Steranko, Heinlein, Asimov and Sturgeon. Maybe I read too much into Marvel Comics but I grew up in my pre teen years reading classical strains of European mythology. It informed the globe views of those peoples. This is the mythology of our fresh age. Nuff Said.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Fresh Avengers is an necessary title for the Marvel Universe, and it starts here. The premise: after the original Avengers disassembled, a fresh handful of heroes have gotten together to carry on the legacy. I don't wish to ruin any of the surprises behind "Breakout" (which there are a couple) but merely comment on the importance of the book and the series itself. By this point, if you did not know that Brian Michael Bendis has taken almost complete control of every major Marvel Universe Happening since Avengers Dissassembled, you are a small behind. He's an author that you either love or hate for his directions. While two main stories happened prior to the begin of Fresh Avengers (Disassembled and Secret War), this is really where the Marvel Universe begins to see its change. The story behind "Breakout" to place it simply is that there is, you guessed it, a breakout, and many, nearly 50 villains from a wide array of comic series escape. This event, which gathers the Fresh Avengers initially, affects the Marvel Universe as a whole for a amazing while into Bendis' Marvel timeline.(Punisher Battle Journal which started about the time of the Civil Battle created numerous references to this breakout during its run, just to give you an idea) Fresh Avengers does not do a BAD job on anything. The dialogue isnt terrible, the action is solid, and the art doesn't leave you wanting more. That said, Fresh Avengers is not a continuously amazing title. I thoroughly enjoyed "Breakout" and would recommend it to anyone who likes comics. The series afterward i found to be very off and on good...one thing i give Bendis credit for is his overall consistancy (ultimate spiderman comes to mind in that same respect). The importance of the Fresh Avengers (and later the Mighty Avengers) is mostly as a companion to the main happenings in the Marvel Universe, and the MU is certainly full of happenings that are worth having additional info for. Although Bendis takes too much advantage of this during Secret Invasion (which is almost completely unreadable without the Avengers titles), Fresh Avengers is a solid read that doesn't always leave you wanting more, but leaves you happy enough to continue reading if you have the time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    A graphic novel collection of problems 1 through 6. The Avengers broke up after the Scarlet Witch had a breakdown that resulted in the death of several Avengers. But fate brings together a fresh squad when there is a breakout at the Raft, a prison of super powered criminals. They decide to stay together to test and recapture the criminals who got is is a fresh mix of heroes with a fresh mission. It is interesting to see a squad with an actual mission beyond just catching the recent villain to pop out of the woodwork. The heroes have a amazing chemistry from the very beginning. Finally the artwork is very nice comic book artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I read it and I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a amazing Avengers team. It features Netflix heros Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist. Spider-man, Wolverine, the Thing from the Unbelievable Four, Ms Or as she's called today Captain Marvel, Doctor Strange, And Hawkeyes ex wife Mokinbird. This book has a lot humor and action. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is what comics like the Avengers, X-men, Justice League etc. are supposed to be about. Cool action cool story. It's nice to see a comic finally obtain away from all of the political drama and conspiracy stories that in the end just dragged on and on. I am so tired of buying collections like all of the Siege books that had virtually no action and were more just tiring dialogue. When I wish drama I will watch Smallville. When I pick up the Avengers this is what I expect to see, Luke Cage knocking something out, Spidey being in method over his head, Wolverine cutting crap up. The addition of the Thing was beautiful cool s nice seeing the writers getting away from the older up-tight Avenger model squads from back in the 80's and putting some attitude into the team.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This trade includes two annuals and problems 31-34 of the Avengers. At the end of the collection, there is a three page letter from Bendis to the readers. In it, he informs us that he is ending his time on the Avengers to go and write the X-Men. I was surprised when I read it (I don't go to comic book stores anymore (all Amazon) and I don't hold up on comic news), but after thinking about it for a few minutes, it makes ndis wrote 232 Avengers comics -- a record. His 2004 to 2009 run was inspired. I'm a heavy fan of Civil Battle and the Skrull Invasion. Bendis is a master at characterization and dialogue. Unfortunately, the latest couple of years have been weak -- Fear Itself and the Avengers vs. X-Men storylines were forced, bulky and too massive on is trade reads well and is a amazing book. I do recommend it. It's just not up to par with his other Avengers o problems: (1) Simon Williams attacks the Avengers in the Annuals that kick off the trade (something that Benids foreshadowed 2 years ago). He blames them for a dozens of issues (Civil War, Scarlet Witch, Ultron) and says the Avengers should not exist. A few problems later, he returns and is semi-easily accepted back into the fold. Not cool (I'm still having a hard time accepting the Cap-Iron Man peace).(2) The Wasp is alive. She was killed during the Skrull Invasion, and then brought back 5 years later in this trade. It seemed like Bendis was bold when he took over the book and killed off Hawkeye, Antman (Scott Lang, not Pym), the Wasp, and a few other characters, but none of the iconic (or semi-iconic) characters remained dead. Ah, the issues with having to sell a comic forever (see Jason Todd).Bendis is great. I love his writing. He's my favorite author that works for the huge 2, and it's not really close. That said, he created a amazing choice in leaving the Avengers when he did. It's time to move on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I liked a lot of things about this collection, but there were some major elements I didn't like much, such as the method they reintroduced Hawkeye by having him take over the Ronin identity from Echo (not exactly a spoiler as it happens early on in this collection). The first problem here, which involves Hawkeye's journey back into the world, was very well done, however. I'd absolutely recommend this for fans of that character.We also obtain the Fresh Avengers coming into conflict with the Hand, which would eventually lead directly into the Secret Invasion story. Overall some amazing items here, though the art wasn't my favorite. One thing I enjoyed about this squad of established heroes coming together is when some characters are familiar with some things in the Marvel Universe and others are not, such as Spider-Man and Iron Man knowing Brother Voodoo when Wolverine and Ms. Marvel had no idea who he was. Bendis has always been amazing at that sort of thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The fifth volume of the otherwise amazing Fresh Avengers series is just average. Essentially a collection of one shots, the volume touches base with most of the major Fresh Avenger characters to obtain a feel for how they are reacting to the overall Civil Battle plotline. We obtain glimpses of characters like Luke Cage and Captain America dealing with the fallout and fracturing of the team. If you love Civil Battle or the Fresh Avengers this is worth picking up to see the private touches the main happening has on the characters, but there isn't a Fresh Avengers-specific storyline that connects each issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Writer Brian Michael Bendis, artist Steve McNiven and the production squad have fashioned a sharp, entertaining story around one of Marvel's more unusual characters, the Sentry. Advancing the larger Fresh Avengers story arc, while at the same time including some unbelievable hero beats, this surprisingly moving storyline is an interesting take on the themes of mental illness, guilt, isolation and the importance of reaching out and asking for help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I sometimes wonder if Bendis was given the task of writing this book while being told by the higher-ups at Marvel that it had to contain certain characters like Wolverine and Spider-Man. That can be a tough task, but Bendis does a amazing job getting the individual personalities right and giving each hero a role to play in the overall ough that is a highlight, the downside here is that there seem to be a few random things going on here (such as an apparent symbiote infestation?) that never really obtain explained but only present up to further some other purpose in the arc. Maybe they were happenings from other titles crossing over. I don't e main focus in the second half of this collection is decent, however, as the Hood makes his move with his assembled villains, though the only ones other than Hood who obtain much face time are the Wrecking Squad and, to a lesser extent, is is worth reading if you wish the lead-up to Secret Invasion or if you wish to complete the collection of this run. Not essential reading to the huge picture though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Be warned: This collection doesn't actually feature a lot of Avengers for about half the book, fresh or otherwise. It is a amazing story though if you enjoyed the main Secret Invasion story and wish a more complete background on how the Skrulls infiltrated Earth. It also has a amazing chapter in which we see the Skrulls' reaction to the House of M, which I thought was a amazing touch, since the main story revealed Skrulls had been here for a while, and it created sense to see them reacting to happenings we had already seen from a more straightforward at makes up about half of this collection. The rest are pieces best read alongside the main story, as they pick up in the middle of other scenes taking put in the main is was easily better than Book 1, simply because it at least told a continuous story for much of the volume. Definitely pick this up if you liked Secret Invasion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Showed up on time in beautiful amazing condition mild wear and tear. This Fresh Avengers story is an absolute must for any Marvel fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The Fresh Avengers can't catch a break. As if the Civil Battle wasn't enough. Or the fact that they're wanted criminals, and with their former teammates hunting them down. As if it's not enough that they've just faced off versus Electra and her deadly group of ninja assassins, the Hand. Now the fit really hits the shan. In the latest problem (see New Avengers Vol. 6: Revolution) it's revealed that Electra is actually a shape-shifting Skrull. This causes a big, huge issue as these outlaw Avengers now suspect that a secret invasion is in the works. But how long have the Skrulls been skulking around? And how huge the conspiracy, how deep the infiltration? Could the Skrulls have been somehow responsible for the Civil War? So, these renegade heroes now don't even know if they can trust each other ("Do you feel Skrully?" asks one Avenger to another). Paranoia sows its seed and quickly threatens to shatter the group. In fact, one member promptly skedaddles.On top of it all, a demon-ridden villain calling himself the Hood ('cause, y'know, he has a hood) is scheming to take over Fresh York's criminal underworld. And he's making fast headway. The Hood is a thinking criminal, and he espouses organization and cooperation amongst Fresh York's criminal element. It also strikes him that, with the Superhuman Registration Act lending ready access to the identities of a lot of in the superhero community, one method to build up instant credibility is to create an example of a superhero. To quote the Hood: "One by one. We obtain them where they live. All of them. No one is safe. Not the icons, not the up-and-comers." His actions place him and his superpowered crime syndicate on a collision course with Luke Cage and his crumbling outlaw band. So far Dr. Strange's mystical dwelling had provided a foolproof sanctuary for these fugitive Avengers. But not anymore.Oh, and there's also some nonsense about all of Fresh York Town being transformed into symbiotes (like Venom). This might've been interesting except that amongst the infected are the Fresh Avengers, so that's no fun. Plus, it was told in broad-stroked flashback by Luke Cage, one of the two who didn't obtain infected (him because of his invulnerable skin, Wolverine because of his healing factor). Apparently, this symbiote storyline is told in full in an problem of Mighty Avengers. But since I don't follow that series much ("bleccch!" to the Mighty Avengers), I guess I won't obtain the full lowdown on what is is THE NEW AVENGERS Vol. 7: THE TRUST and it collects problems #32-37 and The Fresh Avengers Annual #2. I figure, as long as Brian Michael Bendis keeps churning out Fresh Avengers stuff, I'll hold reading 'em. To be honest, though, I was getting beautiful tired of the Hand story arc, so I'm glad Bendis has (for now) moved on. This fresh arc paves the method for the next huge Marvel Comics event, Secret Invasion, which is an 8-issue limited series. In an IGN interview, Bendis allow out that he'd been planning this thing for years and that there's been a tip of the Skrull invasion even as far back as Fresh Avengers #1. Color me though the suspicions and hostility stemming from the Electra Skrull debacle continue to nag our team, the Hood proves to be a hell of a distraction. Yup, I've read Brian K. Vaughan's gritty limited series The Hood (New Avengers). I liked Parker Robbins as a fractured, small-time thug who kind of had the best intentions; I never thought he had it in him to become a formidable crime boss. Obviously the demon in the cloak is influencing the crap out of him. How tough is the Hood? Well, he busted Wolverine up beautiful good. In fact, what he did to old Wolvie created me cringe a lot.I can't say much for the Hood's super-powered yoyos. They're mostly lower-tiered villains (Madame Masque, the Wizard, Chemistro, etc.), and I'm beautiful sure even Howard the Duck could wipe the floor with them. The only respectable bunch in the Hood's group is the Wrecking Crew. Let's face it, it's beautiful much the Hood's intelligence and planning (and a bit of that brimstone mojo) which create him a force to be reckoned a private way, the splitting of the Avengers into two very various squads is a amazing thing. The Mighty Avengers took away the characters I didn't really care for (Iron Man, the Sentry), while the Fresh Avengers stuck with the cool set (Luke Cage, Wolverine & Spidey). The Fresh Avengers have recently welcomed Dr. Strange, Iron Fist, and a resurrected Clint Barton into their ranks, and two of 'em are still around by the end of this collection. It's disappointing, though, that Fist and Luke haven't interacted more in these pages. On the other hand, I'm definitely digging Luke's marital relationship with Jessica Jones. Luke and Jessica just feel like a true couple. Currently, their relationship is bordering on rocky, what with the fugitive status and that Skrull thingie. Come to think of it, the method the final problem here ends, it's guaranteed to tick the hell out of Luke ere's really nothing more to say about Brian Michael Bendis, except that the dude is gold. Leinil Yu provides the brunt of the artwork, which tends to come rough and rugged. Nevertheless, it definitely has its own energy and raw appeal. Meanwhile, Carlo Pagulayan's more polished looking items is showcased in The Fresh Avengers Annual #2, the website of the no-holds-barred rumble between the Fresh Avengers and the Hood & his supervillain crew. This collection guest-stars Tigra, the Night Nurse, Deathlok (kind of), and the government-sponsored Mighty Avengers (who might actually boast a conscience after all, underneath all that self-righteous bluster).Oh, and in problem #37, Spidey makes Wolverine laugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    No action. No plot. Just running dialogue that is boring. I liked this book when it first started but now it seemed the writer has lose interest in it and is phoning it in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Showed up earlier than expected. The Fresh Avengers is a amazing series and a must read for any Marvel fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    These stories are Avengers at their core, nothing fresh or various but just the base characters doing what you would expect. All solid stories throughout, it’s just not groundbreaking or innovative work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is a collection of short stories. I love Geoff Johns' work with the DC Justice League and wanted to see what he would do with the Avengers. Overall it was boring and bland. I've read more exciting Avengers books. I'd pass if given the opportunity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Johns starts his run on Avengers with a clear voice. Those who liked the clear, positive days of Busiek will experience a shock as Johns drifts toward the dark end of the e art is ever the story lines at times meander.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns is fabulous. If you have not already read his stuff, do so now. Very enjoyable. Not just this volume but everthing written by him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 1 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns snuck up on us at the time and rocked our globe with these energizing and compelling Avengers om the Standoff to the Find for She-hulk,Johns stripped the existing squad down to the bare bones in regards to action adventure and plotting while taking some bold creative risks and creating a tad of controversy along the way.His bonus for characterization shone thru as he wasn't afraid to shake the squad to its core,and this was pre-disassembled mind you.He is also responsible for my all time favorite Captain America moment as Cap smashes thru the window telling the Red Skull "Dont you DARE salute that flag!" Melodramatic? Definitely, but Johns could weave in melodrama,shock value and perfect dialogue like few before or after him.I hated to see his run end so abruptly but this collection is a real gem of any Avenger fans collection.Excellent piece of Marvel history and an amazing take on Earths Mightiest Heores.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Geoff Johns does a amazing job with the Avengers in this second volume. While nothing is necessarily ground breaking for most of the characters used in these stories they are still unbelievable representations and moments. Jack of Hearts is the true exception to this and Johns does more in his time with the hero than anyone before or since. All the art throughout is amazing items form top tier artists. This run likely isn’t at the top of anyone’s list of greatest Avenger’s stories due to them mostly being forgettable but still worth the time for people who have fun solid storytelling and amazing superhero art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Very enjoyable. Geoff Johns has worked his magic on one of my favorite franchises in only the method he knows how. He shed more light on how being a hulk would be like, and makes the characters feel human. Vision for example, sees something dramatizing, but he (even though is only an android) feels something, and Geoff Johns shows that beautifully. As always he has a amazing emotional and serious touch on whatever he can obtain his hands on. I am limited in my review, because I do not like giving out spoilers. But I can say, if you are a fan of Geoff Johns' work, or the avengers, then this will NOT disappoint. My cash well spent. I hope you guys give this classic a possibility :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The first half of this volume deserves five stars. The second half deserves four. Johns faced enormous difficulty with marvel editorial, and his finale shows that. Unlike Busiek who ended his run upbeat, Johns writes a somewhat sad farewell. A lingering want that he could have done more. The art is stellar, Marvel and Johns both have amazing lists of artists.What ultimately earns this collection three instead four stars is the absence of any extra material. No commentary from Johns. Nothing but a handful of hero sketches from the artists. Marvel may as well have just duck tapped the trades together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers: The Complete Collection by Geoff Johns Vol. 2 (Avengers (1998-2004)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Comics are a graphic medium so to me, the quality of the art is just as important, (if not more so at times), than the quality of the writing. Amazing art can create a story shine, poor art can destroy it, regardless of how powerful or mediocre the writing is. For me, this book is split right down the e first story features a solo Falcon, (Avengers #64). The story is kind of mediocre but the art by Ivan Reis (inked by Oclair Albert) is truly breathtaking in spots. There's several huge cash shots of the Falcon in flight that are really incredible. For that alone I search myself flipping back through this story a e next six, from Avengers #65-70, feature the Red Location story arc. A poisonous, red, death cloud is unleashed over Mt Rushmore and the Avengers have to include it and figure out who is responsible. This arc has plenty of action, crisp dialogue and the return of a classic villain. The art by Olivier Copiel, (inks by Andy Lanning) is top notch all the method through showing lots of detail and a amazing sense of drama.And then the decline starts. Avengers #71 is penciled by Steve Sadowski with inks by Andrew Currie. It features Yellowjacket and the Wasp in a solo story set in Vegas. Whirlwind shows up, the war ensues and we close. There's some nice hero development between Wasp and Yellowjacket as they reach an agreement about where the level of their relationship is going to continue at. The art is serviceable but noting to write home about. It's your primary fill-in issue. Sadowski returns for Avengers #76, the latest story in the book. This features Ant-Man and Jack of Hearts and shows some major turning points for both characters. There's some amazing action but from more of a domestic angle. No supervillains here but you could easily argue the one involved is even more vile.Avengers #72-75 is the four part, "The Find For The She-Hulk." She-Hulk was severley damaged in the Red Location arc so the Avengers now have to track her down. This story was the weakest of the book so the only thing that could save it was some really explosive art. Instead we obtain Scott Kollins which forces this mediocre tale to tank. Kollins seems to think he's illustrating a coloring book with wide linework and no shading causing it to look very flat without any sense of weight or drama. He relies heavily on the colorist to pull this thing together and unfortunately, that doesn't happen. On the other hand, you will obtain to see the She-Hulk with a lion's mane sized pile of hair on top of her head and the Scarlet Witch with a tightly wound perm so there is , this book is half great, half so-so. 50-50. I got this for less than it's original cover price so for me, the amazing items was worth the cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    West Coast University review [App]  2018-2-14 13:8

    Love my schedule all laid out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude (Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude (2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    This book has a lot of various parts including when of course everyone's favorite part, when thanks gets the INFINITY GAUNTLET I really liked it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude (Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude (2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    I have always seen these Marvel film preludes at the comic book store, but I never bought any because I figured they would just essentially be money grabs. But I bought this one because, well I'll be honest, the kindle edition was dirt cheap at $0.99, and Infinity Battle is a bit of a unique circumstance, so I figured I'd give it try. This is basically split into two parts, the first part being the actual problems that tie into the MCU, and the second half which includes some past comics about Thanos. The tie-in to Infinity Battle is the whole reason anyone would buy this collection, and it wasn't great, it's basically a previously on segment. The first problem copies the entire end of Civil Battle including the mid and end credit scenes, with only a few fresh inclusions, most notably more items about Black Panther, I did really like how T'Challa's sister was included though, that was one of my favorite parts of this comic. And the second problem just information dumps the areas of the infinity stones from every other Marvel movie. So I guess if you haven't watched most of the MCU films in a while and don't wish to re-watch some 11 out of 18 films to obtain all the relevant information, this would probably be a somewhat helpful shortcut, but that's not really enough to carry this comic to being something that people really need to buy. The other two problems are the first problem of “Infinity” one of, if not the most latest “Thanos is attempting to defeat the universe huge squad up events” and a far more interesting annual problem from a latest time when Thanos had his own title. The Infinity problem was okay, I was actually somewhat interested in what would have happened next, but that is a read for another day. The annual problem goes into a lot of background on Thanos' history within the Marvel universe, all within the context of a future ver of Thanos coming to talk to a past ver of himself. I thought that was kind of cool and several past happenings from a lot of the huge Infinity titles are covered, and I actually really liked this issue, it gives a amazing amount of background to the hero and it would probably be a amazing read for people who don't really know much about the character.Overall this was a semi-decent comic, there were some amazing enjoyable moments, but really unless you obtain an awesome deal on it, like I said $0.99, there isn't a whole lot of value to this, and unless you obtain it specifically for the recap of the MCU until this point, and more background for Thanos, it doesn't add anything worth much more than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos (Marvel Universe Avengers Assemble Season Two (2014-2016)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    I saw the cartoon. The comic which features shots from about six episodes of the cartoon is interesting. It is a departure from the continuity of the marvel universe. The obsidian order is fresh ,I think.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    This story is before the 1991 crossover classic "The Infinity Gauntlet" where Thanos possesses the Infinity Gauntlet to control all time, zone & reality. This story took put in the 1970s where the Avengers first encounter the angry titan. Thanos makes his debut in "Iron Man #55" where he goes up versus the Invincible Iron Man & Drax the Destroyer. Then Captain Marvel tangles with Thanos in "Captain Marvel #25-30". Then Iron Man squad up with The Thing in "Marvel Feature #12" versus the Blood Brothers. Then, Daredevil & Black Widow joins forces with Moondragon & Captain Marvel in "Daredevil #105-107". Then Captain Marvel joins forces with the Avengers versus Thanos in "Captain Marvel #31-32". Then, the Avengers continues the war versus Thanos in "Avengers #125". Then, Captain Marvel still tangles with Thanos in "Captain Marvel #33". Then, Adam Warlock & Gamora war side by side with Thanos versus his evil brother Magus in "Warlock #9-11 & 15". There was material from "Logan's Run #6" that features Thanos & Drax the Destroyer. Then, Adam Warlock joins forces with the Avengers versus Thanos in "Avengers Annual #7". The story ends in "Marvel Two-In-One Annual #2" where Spider-Man & The Thing joins forces with the Avengers versus Thanos where Thanos was defeated with the support from Adam is is a amazing story and the fact that Thanos will be the main villain in "Avengers: Infinity War" is fantastic! If you're a fan of the graphic novel "The Infinity Gauntlet", you should obtain this graphic novel too. This is a must-have collection for all die hard Avengers fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    Wow! I'm surprised of how amazing this book was!!I'm paving my method to Infinity Gauntlet, so it was only logical to obtain several Jim Starling stories. To be honest, I bought this collection because of the price and length of the book. And I won!!The best part for me was to obtain to know more of characters I never read before such as Thanos, Adam Warlock, Moondragon, Drax the Destroyer, Captain Marvel, etc. This is a GREAT collection to begin since a lot of necessary happenings happen here. I could even call this book "Infinity Gems: Beta Testing Stage", since Thanos is already scheming to obtain the Infinity Gems to create his "girlfriend" might obtain bumped because this is not an Avengers book per se. Is more of a collection of various individuals (Captain Marve, Thanks, etc) in which Thanos is the main threat. I found the narrative of the book very linear. At no point I felt lost, so if you are a beginner, take the word of a beginner... you can have fun this book just fine. But be aware, as amazing as this book is, I search it amazing because of the "what has happen before" value if you are going to hold reading more of these is is a list of what I've read and where I'm going with this:Avengers: Kree/Skrull WarAvengers vs. ThanosAvengers Epic Collection: The Final ThreatThe Korvac SagaThe Death of Captain MarvelThe Trial of YellowjacketAvengers: Absolute Vision Book 1Secret WarsSilver Surfer: Rebirth of ThanosInfinity GauntletI think is a short list that will pave your street well until Infinity Gauntlet. Amazing read, and, best of all, your going to be more in tune with characters you might have not read before.I'm extremely happy with my purchase, so I recommend it to fans who wants to obtain a bit more cosmic with the Avengers, and wish to know more of Thanos and his eers!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    Method back in 1977, I saw ads for the second Marvel Two In One Annual. I glanced through it at the time and in later years read about what happened thanks mostly to the Official Handbook of the Marvel Universe. Sometimes I would look for that issue, but it was either too expensive or just not available. Then, a few weeks ago, coming back from lunch, I popped by a local comics store on the latest day of a sale and had one of those unbelievable "right place/right time" moments. I was able to buy the problem at a amazing price and it was well worth the wait. Soon after, while looking on Amazon, I saw that there was a collection of the 1970's saga of the angry Titan Thanos, of which my above-mentioned comic was the conclusion. I now had a possibility to read this classic storyline and what a story it is. Thanos seems inspired from DC's Darkseid but soon he took on a life of his own. I have reviewed a few graphic novels featuring Batman villain Poison Ivy and I see parallels between her and Thanos; both are destructive, but there is a twisted idealism behind their actions. Thanos really believes that galactic extermination is the truest path to cosmic tranquility, not to mention a amazing method to impress his would-be consort Death (which makes me wonder if DC and Marvel did a cross-over, what might happen if Thanos met the conception of Death from Sandman? That would be interesting to say the least). For me, the best part of this book was the method it took me back to the 1970's, when I first started collecting comic books. I was not really into cosmic sagas then, being more a Spider-Man type, but the web-slinger plays a huge role at the climax, reminding us why he's such a unique hero. I also enjoyed the stories of Captain Marvel and Adam Warlock and principle writer Jim Starlin's skill at grand yet thoughtful stories. A most worthwhile volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    While not all of the comics here included have aged that well, this is still a fun volume for fans and collectors that wish to see the origins of the main Marvel baddie Thanos. This volume mostly focused on the major Captain Marvel led arc wherein Thanos gains the Cosmic Cube. It also contains the arc where Thanos and Warlock war the latter's evil twin the Magus only for Thanos to gain the Soul Gem. While these stories aren't important to understand the main happening (Infinity Gauntlet) they are still fun in their own right. Just what the hell was going on with Magus' whiteafro though?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    Thanos is probably the single most enigmatic, most emotionally conflicted, and most feared villain in the Marvel Universe (MU) who was not only able to rock the MU to its basest core, but also paint a gray hue of what is a villain and what is not. Doctor Doom comes second best, in my opinion, but in the grand scheme of things only Thanos who is this Thanos, you might ask?He is the creation of maestro Jim Starlin in the Bronze Age of American comics (1970s). Thanos' name is derived from `Thanatos', the Greek God of Death. But in the MU, he is the embodiment of the nihilistic Titan who worships Death.He has appeared in numerous Marvel books and graphic novels spanning almost four decades. His most necessary role came in 1991 when he wielded the Infinity Gauntlet and killed one-half of all living beings in the universe with but a snap of his finger that led to his waging a cosmic battle versus the MU's Celestial Forces. After that debacle, his infamy grew into legend. And while precious few writers plainly understood what goes on in this character's mind and created him an smart and cunning force to be reckoned with, others portrayed him as a hulking travesty. Alas, as time went by his popularity dimmed and dwindled until Joss Whedon decided to give the devil his due. Thanos's 3 second silver screen cameo debut as an epilogue to the Marvel's The Avengers movie (2012) resurrected fans' interest to this one-of-a-kind the hands of Starlin Thanos becomes the Omega to the Marvel Heroes' Alpha. This is by far the best collection of classic Thanos reprint problems (of the 70's) any Marvel fan would wish to own! Aside from Jim Starlin, Steve Englehart, Mike Friedrich, Steve Gerber, et al. contribute their fair share of storytelling talents in this book.And though it seems there is no linear narrative to the story as some of the individual comics in this collection were not written in sequential form, the story remains straightforward, cohesive, and enjoyable thanks in huge part to the 'introductory texts' written between chapters that bridge the sit back, relax, and witness the Angry Titan as he musters his alien armada to wreak havoc across the universe; schemes to conquer fellow villain the Magus; and opposes the might of Iron Man, Captain Marvel (Mar-Vell of Kree), Adam Warlock, and the Avengers in his quest to get the Cosmic Cube and the Soul Gem for universal domination, become a Angry God, and, most of all, be noticed (in vain) by his one, real paramour: Mistress anos is here. Allow the Heavens tremble.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    A must have book for those who wish to obtain on board the Thanos train of historical appearances. Most of the book is by the legendary Jim Starlin so its was worth the price of admission. Its a lengthy volume, full of amazing works, and amazing moments. The Cosmic Cube makes a memorable appearance as does the soul gem of Adam Warlock, not to mention a strong lineup of Avengers and guest-stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    This volume collects all of Thanos, since his debut on Iron Man 55, until his SPOILER.... ( death on Marvel Two In one annual 2). The volume is heavy , with a lot of pages, done mostly by Thanos creator Jim Starlin. The higlights of this volume are Thanos war versus Captain Marvel , which contains the first time Thanos attains godhood , via the cosmic cube, and the volume s final Story pitting Thanos versus Warlock, Captain, Marvel , the Avengers, The Thing and Spiderman. That story contains the first appeareance of the infinity gems on the Marvel eat story , amazing artwork done mostly by Starlin. This in my opinion, is his best work involving Thanos. The volume has some minor color flaws, but is still excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    Are you a fan of the "Silver Surfer" comics? Well, before there was "The Illuminati" comics, there was Jim Starlin. I've heard rumors Thanos will be the newest villain in the next Avengers movie. As we know all too well, characterizations on the huge screen differ from those in comics. This 70's collection features the origin of Thanos, along with his reasons for wanting to destroy the universe. I won't give those reasons in case the film also uses that plot. Thanos is in the same power class as Darkseid, so you know the Avengers will have their hands full. Jim Starlin is a amazing writer/plotter/artist and does the massive work that spans more than five various comic series including "Iron Man", "Captain Marvel", "Warlock" and "The Avengers". Captain Mar-Vell is the main focus. He is a fighter captain of the Kree, an alien race that lives for conquest. Mar-Vell goes through some major changes in order to challenge Thanos and save the universe. There is the customary "Avengers war alien warriors" action near the end. SPOILER ALERT: There is an intermission in the storytelling as three "Daredevil" problems are inserted to introduce "Moondragon". If you've never read this series, you're in for a treat. If you've already read it, then you know, right? My only complaint is the book size is a small smaller in diameter than a normal Graphic Novel. Of course, my book might be the only one. In such a case I'll probably request a replacement. Investigate if that is a issue for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    This heavy volume is so far the most complete and cohesive method to read Jim Starlin's 70s Thanos sagas. Included are the contents from the old "The life of Captain Marvel" TP PLUS the Warlock vs. Magus saga (essential for fans of 1992's "Infinity War") and the conclusion to the Thanos/Warlock war from Avengers Annual 8 and Marvel Two-in-one annual 2. The Daredevil problems featured halfway showcase the origin of Moondragon and add further cohesion to the book. If you don't take into acc Thanos' "symbolic" appearance in "The Death of Captain Marvel", this book includes all of Thanos' appearances in the 70s, before his resurrection in "Silver Surfer: The Rebirth of Thanos." Apart from fun and well-written, Starlin's Thanos sagas are philosophically important- an insightful exploration of nihilism taken to its maximum potential and the proof of its impossiblity. This book provides a amazing introduction to one of Marvel's most fascinating epics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers vs. Thanos review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    The story kinda drags on, much to my surprise, it was a chore to read. I usually love zone odysseys, but this one was just boring because the characters weren't that intriguing to me. One amazing thing about it is that it has some of Thanos' earliest appearances, and it covers most of his backstory. I would only pick this book up if you really like Thanos, otherwise, it is a beautiful long and arduous read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers (2018-) #1 review [Book]  2018-5-5 18:0

    This was a amazing begin to the series. Definitely looking forward to seeing where this goes. I love the chemistry that they play into right from the start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers (2018-) #1 review [Book]  2018-5-5 18:0

    Feels like this could be an amazing series avenger required to up its fan base with familiar faces and high stskes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain America: The First Avenger review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Real to "Captain America," this is the modern (comic book) ver of the All American movie. Amazing guys vs poor guys without a lot of ambiguity. _**NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT**_. This film is beautiful much perfection for the genre. Entertaining A to Z story with high-end Hollywood professional film making throughout.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Thanks...now I wish breakfast for every meal! Lots of fun recipes and amazing pics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Cindy Lou from Cindy Lou's Cookies is featured in this book as having the best Morning Glory muffin in the US. She also has the most delicious cookies you've ever tasted. She's based in Miami FL. Her www service is

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Amazing recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Just so-so. I was hoping for more "normal people" items. These are kind of fancy for my Midwestern taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Very useful and interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    This is simply fun to read and makes me wish to take a street trip! Probably easier to repeat the recipes in my own kitchen, but I like to dream.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Readers, I'm a breakfast person. But not breakfast for breakfast most of the time. I like breakfast all day! And I love trying recommended breakfast locations when we travel. Like the San Diego put with the mammoth biscuits we couldn't even finish, or the meal truck breakfast tacos we had on our latest trip to Houston... It's always been this method for me: midnight trips to the local 24-hour diner in my college and post-college years were a heaven of fried eggs and gravy fries, Corned Beef Hash with Dill Hollandaise was kind of a life-changing discovery when we found our favorite brunch put after moving to Colorado, and the fabulous Cajun Benedict concoction I had for lunch on my latest trip to Lafayette is the items of dreams! And I haven't even mentioned some of our other local favorites we take visitors to l that's to say that I think (or thought) America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast would be the absolute excellent cookbook for me. In their newest book Lee Brian Schrager and Adeena Sussman highlight some of the best breakfasts from around the country and provide readers with the recipes to create them in their very own kitchens. Yum!But there are two things I don't love about this book. First, the title and premise are a bit misleading. The authors don't highlight ALL of the states. In fact, they hop skip and jump straight from LA, San Francisco, and Portland over to Omaha, Kansas City, St. Louis, Cleveland, and Ohio with nothing in between. That's a whole lot of states not covered by even one highlighted breakfast spot! Now I don't know the reason for this and (most of you don't know this) considering I once wrote cookbooks that needed locations to agree to have their submitted recipes printed in a book, it could simply be that the authors intended to highlight ALL of the states and had problems getting recipes. I don't know. But there are sections highlighting locations without recipes in the book as well, so that still doesn't explain why so a lot of states aren't represented at second problem with this book is that in perusing the recipes I noticed a lot of them require quite a bit of prep for multiple components, some of which have to be created a day ahead of time. Now, like I said I'm not hellbent on breakfast for breakfast but when I went to create the "Caramelized Grapefruit with Basil Sugar," for example, I was not prepared to have to allow the grapefruit chill for at least an hour before I could eat it. It's broiled grapefruit with sugar! And considering it's got olive oil on it, it was essentially cold, greasy grapefruit...Not all of the recipes were overly complicated or unappealing, though. The "Bacon, Egg, and Cheese 'Paco'" (a brilliant creation courtesy of the Meal on a Roll Truck in Miama) is a breakfast wrapped in a pancake (why did I never think to do this?!). "Marlene Schrager's German Breakfast (For Dinner)" is a tasty and simple scramble as is the slightly more time consuming (only slightly) "Devil's Mess" from Richmond, VA's Millie's spite of my above issues, the dozens and types of recipes is actually quite nice. There are omelets, crêpes, donuts, breakfast sandwiches, and even pop tart recipes included. There are a number of regional and ethnic dishes as well - "Pozole" (from San Jalisco of San Francisco), "Koko Moco" with a homemade mushroom gravy (from Koko Head Cafe in Honolulu), "Pho Bo" (courtesy of Dông Phuong in Fresh Orleans), Ingrid Hoffman's "Yuca Buns" and an Avena Breakfast Smoothie, and even a Scrapple recipe from DC's Birch & Barley.And while the "Morning Glory Muffins" (Panther Coffee and Cindy Kruse's Baked Goods in Miami) may have created me dirty every dish in my kitchen to create them and Lambert's (Austin) "Frito Pie" requires the forethought (and self control) of keeping additional brisket on hand after a BBQ meal, the argument could be created that there is enough dozens and enough recipes like Versailles' (Miami) "Tortilla de Papas" and Miss Lily's (New York) "Coconut Pancakes" to appease even someone like me who doesn't wish to think about breakfast a day ahead of time.I do still want there had been more representation of the other states, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Satisfied to search this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Nice book. Left me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    America's Best Breakfasts: Favorite Local Recipes from Coast to Coast review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers & Champions: Worlds Collide review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing to see Hercules back at full power and in real physical action. He is by far Marvel’s best and most enjoyable hero!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Avengers & Champions: Worlds Collide review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Avengers: Unleashed Vol. 3 (Avengers & Champions) collects problems #672-674 of the “legacy” numbered main Avengers title (previously “Avengers Unleashed”), along with problems #13-15 of the Champions, the Avengers squad that decided that they weren’t going to play in the Civil Battle II is volume is basically about the Vision and his daughter, though the High Evolutionary is also trying to destroy the Earth and possibly Counter-Earth too; it all gets a bit frenetic towards the ere is plenty of old fashioned world-wide Avengers action, as both squads have to team-up and deal with lots of items while demonstrating insensitivity to the junior squad members, who are not juniors, but full-sized aracterisation is a bit wobbly – and while the Champions are still themselves, it is almost as if the Avengers are on keep as people; Thor is almost a blank, and the Falcon is a cardboard cut-out; only the Vision is really himself, and he did switch his emotion chip back on in the previous volume, and we finally obtain to see what his issue with his daughter is (if, like me, you can never remember what went on in latest volumes). The High Evolutionary is also a bit of a stereotype, though this might also tie back into his appearance in the Uncanny Avengers not so long e huge champion in terms of plot is the Vision family, but I don’t wish to spoil anything , while the action is a bit reasonable for a cobbled-together epic, and Tag Waid skilfully weaves a lot of continuity items together to create it all just about work, maybe there wasn’t enough room to flesh out the main Avengers characters (or Editorial wasn’t sure where they were going after Secret Empire and kept them blanded-out).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Avenger Photo Editor review [App]  2018-6-23 21:9

    One of the best superhero avengers image editor from marvelous infinity battle movie... Amazing job!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Avenger Photo Editor review [App]  2018-6-23 21:9

    Garbage application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    I love it! BUT the hero sizing is horrendous. Sometimes I can create them smaller, but mostly I can barely shrink them. And they will randomly grow 30-100% in size while I move my phone around. Please fix this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    As a long time Marvel fan, having this exclusive to the Pixel 3 and 3 XL is beautiful awesome! While not excellent it is fun and my 3 yr old nephew loves it when I use it to take selfies of us together. The only want I have is for Google and Marvel to add more Marvel characters...hint....Spider-Man, Wolverine, and Dead Pool would be a large hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Don't even listen to the one who are saying that this doesn't work... They are just fooling around. This application totally works an is amazing 😎😎😎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Odd selection of characters (no Thor, Black Panther, Battle Machine, etc..?). I want the Iron Man armor had a more traditional design.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    My phones camera got so hot just using it for 2 minute

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Now there are two of the Marvel apps on my Pixel 3 XL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    it doesnt works with pixel 2, installs but cannot see in camera menu to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    It's cool, but just ironman...? Pics present method more characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    It's not working with Pixel 2 XL. Fix it aeap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    It doesn't present on my Pixel 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Just downloaded playground 2.0 and it worked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Can only see one Avenger hero and limited options to move around

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Not working in pixel 2xl

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Works well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    It's working on Pixel 2XL.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Playground: Marvel Studios Avengers review [App]  2018-12-14 13:0

    Not working

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    That was my reaction upon finishing the first problem of Thor: The Mighty Avenger and it still persists. Roger Landridge does a amazing job of making you like these characters from the obtain go. You understand Jane and her life in a few panels and that is just awesome. The book is fun, funny and extremely charming. Chris Samnee's art is unbelievable and manages to convey so much emotion in just a few lines. The wars are interesting in that they actually tell part of the overall story. Thor is sweet and cute and just a bit of a lunkhead but in a amazing way. I would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone of any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Recently, I've been getting into Thor as a comic book character. I always liked the premise, characters, and fantastical focus of Thor, but never really read much of his stuff. So for the past few months I have embarked on a journey to become more acquainted with him. This was one of the most highly recommended Thor titles I knew of and so I bought it, expecting to be mildly entertained and generally happy. It is a huge understatement to say my expectations were met and exceeded.When I finally got the book, I was blown away by the sheer quality of the work. Rodger Langridge and Chris Samnee's take on Thor's earlier days on earth has become one of my favorite comic book series in latest years. It's absolutely magical. Langridge's writing finds the excellent balance between deep characterization, humor, warm warmheartedness, love story, fun action, and a meditative poignancy that I have not found in a lot of comic series. Samnee's work as an artist is completely reminiscent of the silver age of comic books, where Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko were the kings of the pen. It's more easy than most modern comic books and yet it seems method more expressive than most modern comics as well. It is awesome how much Samnee's inks adds to the charm and appeal to the collection. His artistic skills and focused cannot be ignored or understated. He is spectacular.Each comic is a standalone story, each unbelievable on its own, that eventually add to a narrative whole. There are a lot of guest stars featured in this volume, some more known and others very obscure. They're all quite delightful. In a lot of ways, this collection really reminded me of the old Lee/Kirby comic books that I adore so much. I may be 21, but when I first got into comic books, it was by reading the Marvel Masterworks graphic novels, which were collections of the old 1960's classics. This fostered in me a love for the type of storytelling you search in the silver age of comic books: gallivanting heroics and campy fun. This collection has that, and yet, it also has the poignancy and depth that more modern comic books have as well. So for me, the amazing Thor runs are Simonson, Strazynski/Coipel, and now Langridge/Samnee. Hell, this volume is amazing when in the company of all comic book characters, not just among Thor stories.I cannot say enough how amazing this volume is. It saddens me deeply that this 12 problem series was cancelled prematurely. If there is any justice in this world, the amount of people buying this and volume 2 of the series will perhaps resurrect it from the dead, as it truly deserves recognition and praise. Langridge and Samnee deserve nothing but the highest reward for works like this. So please, you comic book fans out there, give this collection a shot. It is so very special. Buy it, [email protected]#$%!, adore it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------"Thor: The Mighty Avenger, Vol. 1: The God Who Fell To Earth"Written by Roger LandridgeIllustrated by Chris Samnee(Marvel Comics, 2011)-----------------------------------------------------------------------In this great, kid-friendly reboot of Marvel's amazing Asgardian superhero, Thor is reimagined as a less stuffy, less pompous, less boring thunder god, a recently reincarnated deity who is a small confused about his role in the grand cosmic framework, and less prone to spouting absurd pseudo-Shakespearian thees and thous. In short, he's more modern, easier to identify with, and method more fun. Don't obtain me wrong -- I liked the old Thor as a child and appreciate the inclusion of a few of the old, original stories in the back of this book, but ya gotta admit he is one of the classic superheroes who hasn't held up well over the years. The reboot is quite welcome. The stories are good, too: if you wish a fast-paced, lighthearted, irony-free, old-fashioned super-book to share with your kids, this is a amazing e comic book industry needs more stories like this for younger readers to enjoy... And, sadly, Marvel already cancelled this one. Of course. But don't allow that stop you from picking up these two digest collections, which gather all eight problems of this fab, though short-lived series. (Daddy Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain children's book reviews)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    A strange reboot of the Thor story. This time Jane Foster works in a museum. Thor is sent to Earth to learn humility but has lost part of his memories. He doesn't turn into Don Blake in this version. He wars Hyde, Giant Man (Ant Man) and the Wasp, and Captain Britain. It also contains the first two Thor stories that were in Journey into Mystery is ver seemed watered down from the normal story. I am not sure if it was intended for a younger audience but it seemed to be. Both the artwork and the level of the story created it feel more like something you would read in a everyday cartoon strip than a monthly comic wasn't that bad, but I have read better Thor comics. It just didn't live up to the standard I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    While I am sure Marvel produced this run to tie-in with the Thor film and sell some copy off the movie's popularity, this story can stand on it's own with the best Marvel has ever printed. Thor is depicted as being quite young (for an Asgardian), and is not drawn sporting a beard, which betimes doth vex me greatly, but here it is fitting that he be clean shaven. Also, he doth not speak in the King James Ver when he speaks English. That might bug some old-school Thor fans, and if the story were told any other way, it would have bothered me too. The art is retro-styled, but with a contemporary flair and finish that you just can't take your eyes off. When I finished this series I was sad that they abandoned it, the method the other character characters (Iron Man, Wasp, Giant-Man, Odin, Heimdall)and villains (Loki,Hyde) were portrayed created me wish to read more. More comics should look like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is an wonderful retelling of Thor's story, and his relationship with Jane Foster -- and I loved every min of it. Watching the method Thor begins to change, and Jane's slow fall into love with him is perfect, and the ART! Ahh, the Art is just so expressive! Definitely pick up Thor: TMA as a amazing starter comic for all your friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    l loved this series and [email protected]#$%! was still ongoing [see my review of volume 1.]l've read there was to have been an problem or two more in this first 's a shame Marvel couldn't have allow it go at least that ough l miss the series l'm glad l got these two volumes. They're amongst my favorite comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I read this book in problems and was blown away. But it's even better when collected!!This book is literally for anyone (doesnt matter if you are young or old, male or female) It's technically an all ages book but it doesn't insult your intellegence or talk down to the reader at all. Instead, it is just a wonderfully told and BEAUTIFULLY illustrated tale of a man from another globe being lost in, what is for him, a foriegn land: earth.I'll be honest here, I'm not a sucker for romance stories, but the relationship between Thor and Jane Foster (the woman who finds him and shows him earth) is incredibly heartwarming. This book definitely locations its focus on the emotional core of the Thor story rather than the action---and, to my amazing surprise it works wonderfully!!That being said, there is still a lot of action (Avengers, robots, angry scientists, Asgardian gods of all sorts) and Thor is still the powerful, impulsive young man he was originally in the comics, but his rashness extends to the battlefield as well as he clearly has not yet mastered his power (which makes the hero even more endearing) The story proves to be the tale of Thor finally finding something truly worth fighting for. And you'll be cheering for him all the method and having a blast while reading this fun book. And I can't stress this latest point enough: you'll definitely be soaking in the gorgeous art by the master: Chris Samnee.Anyways, words can't do this book justice... buy it!!! It's excellent for any comic fan and would create a unbelievable bonus for new, young readers who are soon to be in love with the hero (biiiig Thor film coming out in summer 2011!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is a very fun and playful read, I enjoyed this book so much that I gave it to my gf and changed the charters to her and me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I love the method the writers reimagine Thor , its really various from the original story I know when Thor was introduced. Its a amazing read and I recommend it to anyone .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Enjoyed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I saw the film first so was expecting something more funny. This explains the back stories better than the movie, but is night and day various from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It's really good! I'm not crazy about Rocket like everyone else seems to be, I didn't really like him back in the day either and I think he's a bit too mouthy rather than comedy relief but he's just getting started so I'm sure Bendis will mellow him out a bit once he's established.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Bought it for my cousin and it was a amazing read! Since the film came out, Guardians of The Galaxy has become well-known and popular. I would recommend this to any Avengers fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I am an addict to the Guardians tale for some reason. I cannot put it, but it seems I have followed the series through all its forms and now am entering into the Guardians of the Infinite series. Amazing read...well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Too poor I finished the book. All the characters, the story line, the lines are perfect. Perfect After having seen GOTG movie.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter