Berserk Volume 1 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Berserk Volume 1 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I've been hearing about Berserk more or less since I really got into manga, but it was only recently that I truly decided to look into it. I had heard that it was violent and bloody, but I never thought much of it, believing it would be something along the lines of Rurouni Kenshin or You You Hakusho. I could not have been farther from the truth. And I could not be happier about it. Berserk is truly the single most violent and gory manga I have ever come across, but the story is intriguing enough to hold me e story itself follows a man named Guts. Yes, Guts, like intestines. It's actually quite fitting considering how a lot of times *SPOILER* he slices someone in half. Guts is a main hero I feel we don't see enough of in manga: an antihero. He's not the virtuous knight in shining armor. He's rude, he's crude, he's violent, and more often than not he comes off as a psychopathic jerk. But for some reason, I still have fun his character. Most of the time it seems he's fueled solely by anger and revenge, but that's what makes the few short moments when he seems to truly care all the more special. We don't see any of Guts past explained in this volume, but we obtain tips that he's been through something horrible. It's enough to hold you coming back for as for the artwork, I must admit I was a bit taken aback for a moment. Most of my life, I've dealt with much lighter artwork and stories. However, within a few pages, I began to fall in love with the artwork of Berserk. The shading is very massive on most pages, something that usually doesn't go over so well in manga. Massive shading can quickly create things blur together and disappear so that you have no idea what's going on the page, but not in this case. Kentaro Miura somehow manages to heavily shade nearly every panel and somehow build in wonderful amount of depth with his images, and without making the panels look too I'm going to talk about the one thing that seems to turn most people away from Berserk (besides the gore). The pricetag. A lot of of the volumes went out ofnprint in the latest couple of years, and scalpers are ready to take advantage of the hardcore fans. Check the prices of certain volumes, and you're looking at a price of $50-$2000. Yes, you readnthat right. I've seen a copy of an out of print volume listed in "fair to not good condition" for $2000. Do NOT pay over $20 for these books. Dark Horse, the English publisher of Berserk, is aware of the scarcity and the pricejacking. They are currently reprinting the series in order of scarcity. I myself am an impatient small narwhal, but I'm also a frugal one. I overpaid for two of the volumes before doing any major research to see if there would be a reprinting. I don't plan to create that mistake again. My lessons to you today, my darlings, is to just be patient. Dark Horse is working toward fixing the scarcity issues. Only buy the volumes when the price is , my word of warning to all of you who are fresh to this series: Nothing can really prepare you for this series. It's violent, and bloody, it's downright disgusting at times. There is sex, and nudity, and even rape. There are demons and creatures so horribly ugly that you've never seen the like, even in your worst nightmares. I've read manga like Attack on Titan. It pales in comparison, in my humble opinion. This series is hellish in all the right ways, and it's got this gal hooked. I love everything about it so far, and I plan to stay with it for the long haul.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This review is about the Kindle edition itself - Berserk is Berserk - you know it's in the running for the greatest manga of all time and a masterwork of literature.BLUF: If you really wish to read the manga, go to a www service or obtain a manga downloader. However, this is a amazing method to present help for the artist if you don't wish to buy the physical copies whether due to cost or because it takes up too much e fidelity of scans is very amazing and about the same as the best scanlation sites. I haven't seen any errors in terms of scan-in. However, due to Kindle software limitations, I would consider this to be inferior to a manga. The most necessary reason is the Kindle doesn't let you to view two-page spreads. Some of Miura's best artwork is when he combines two pages for one photo and the Kindle only lets you view a page at a time. Further, you can't zoom in or out like you would for a website. On the plus side, you have the advantage of a lower price, no shipping, and no zone needed for the physical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    An excellent, but mature fantasy action series. If you have fun dark stories, such as Macbeth, Titus Andronicus, or The Count of Monte Cristo, & are wanting to experience it in a comic/graphic novel/manga format - this is for you. If you think the protagonist is too one-sidedly dark (or the story itself), I encourage you to continue until at least until a quarter of the method into the Golden Age arc (starting in vol.3).

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Berserk Volume 1 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Berserk Volume 1 video reviews and related movies:

    See Berserk "The Black Swordsman" - Vol 1 Complete Story on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Manga Reading Chapter 1: The Black Swordsman on youtube.

     related image

    See REACTION - Berserk Chapter 1 First Impressions Review - OMG READ THIS NOW 剣風伝奇ベルセルク on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Volumes 1-37 on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk - Vol. 1 - Panini - Unboxing de novo mangá na coleção de gibis e quadrinhos !!! on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Volume 1 Manga Review - The Black Swordsman 剣風伝奇ベルセルク on youtube.

     related image

    See Live Manga Reaction: Berserk (ベルセルク) - Volume 1 Black Swordsman Arc [Ch 0A-0C] on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    The beginning of Berserk is probably one of the weaker arcs, and yet I've read this volume three times. In full, Berserk is a phenomenal fantasy series with extreme conflict and daring themes. It may go too far at times, but it is special and gripping for that reason.I think that the Golden Age arc (Vol 3-14) is an essential read for understanding Berserk, but you may know if you like it or not by reading the first three volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    For one, I'm more than satisfied with my order, I've received several of these volumes from this seller, and am more than impressed with the condition that they arrive in. Secondly, this comic/manga series has to be one of the best, if not the best I've ever read. The story in Berserk, in my opinion rivals some of the greats, like Star Wars, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings. Its universe seems ever expanding with each Arc, and unlike others, doesn't seem to ever disappoint. Each volume seems as interesting as the last, in my opinion, at least. I highly recommend these books, but heed warning, they are not for the faint of heart, they are very graphic as you will see with the first few pages of Vol. 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    5/5 Stars beyond a doubt. If your interested at all in manga, this is an ABSOLUTE must read. Blood, Betrayal, Love, Evil, Rape, Majestic, Powerful, Supernatural, Light and Dark, that is Berserk. It's not just a comic, it's more than a easy book. It has a greater deeper meaning that will hit you at your core.. An with the story still being told there are still more amazing moments to seize. GET THIS MANGA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Wow, I wasn't expecting this kind of amazing quality. The art style is obviously older, this was written/drawn in 1989! In this volume you'll obtain acquainted with Guts, The Black Swordsman. Not much is really revealed about him except that he has been battling his inner demons for a while, Oh and I mean that quite literally. Puck is a nice comedic addition to this very melancholic story. Already buying vol 2 and I cant wait to obtain the other 30+ volumes!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I love this series so I may be biased but this is definitely one of the Morse exciting bits of the Golden Arc. Guts and squad are on a rescue mission but they obtain a whole lot more than they bargained for. Brutal and somewhat sad but so well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    First time buying a Manga?Looking for something that isn't cute or another Emo School Teen love story?Then this is what you have been looking is story is about revenge in the most brutal way.He doesn't give a F*** about any one but him self and will slay any one to search the person that betrayed him and tag him for is is not for the easily offended.But if you wish a dam amazing read you will search it here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    If you haven't read or seen berserk, you don't know what your missing. From art to story, very well done in every small way. You can feel the action frame by frame. Solid work. One of the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This was a very interesting read set in a globe that the protagonist can actually log out of at will, that alone makes it various from other books, but after a while you begin to wonder if anyone would actually wish to ever log out. Amazing book, love the hero and globe development

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I would recommend trying out this 's not trapped in a android game like some series are it's more of a action slice-of-life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Picked this up on a whim and found it to be surprisingly enjoyable. It had more to it than I imagined and had a really captivating globe that drew me into its story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Not too overpowered, struggled with his wars a bit and didn't manage to save everyone. It isn't the best, but it's better than most.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Fully enjoyed the book. Read it from begin to finish in oner sitting. It has its flaws but no amazing story doesn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Infinite Dendrogram is the newest VRMMO, one far ahead of its time. Reiji Mukudori, the MC, has postponed actually playing the android game for 1 year out of fear to be drawn in before finishing his entrance exams. Now he can finally join the hype, and meet up with his older brother. Out of fear of being drawn in, he never read much beyond the basics of the android game either and now we obtain to join it together with him on his first few steps into the globe that is Infinite e book is very much a Japanese light novel, but it does step away from some of the cliches. The MC is likable, making a few errors along the way, but he is not overpowered (and dies once) and gets at most lucky due to his polite behavior and litterally bumbing into a amazing quest. He is not a bumbling fool, nor is he surrounded by woman falling all over him. One of his gaming mates seems to be a jab at those personalities. There is some silliness, but not too much. The android game itself takes a bit of a backseat, we obtain to see a bit about class selection and an special magic item each player has, one that develops alongside the hero and is completely special to each player. There are no hero sheets or a lot of android game messages though. Of course, there is also the mystery about the game. It is a bit too advanced and the epilogue suggests a bit more is going on than meets the eye. Makes me curious about what is comming,Of course, it is still a light novel: relatively short, not too much drama and at least some silliness. Within its genre I like it very much, hence the 5 stars, but don't expect too much depth. Looking forward to the next part.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Books about MMOs are fairly common in light novels and generally tend to be hit or miss. I'm satisfied to say that Infinite Dendrogram is a hit. Taking put in mysterious fresh MMO that replicates reality perfectly, is in habited by excellent AI NPCs, and offers completely special video test for every player this does seem to be the ultimate MMORPG. But there seems to be some hidden agenda behind this om volume one I'm very excited to see where this story goes. The characters are great, the virtual globe is interesting, the powers everyone gets are all special and interesting so far, and the mystery of the android game globe I search very interesting as well.Over all I'd say it's a amazing action adventure series and would recommend it to anyone especially if they like virtual globe setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    *Infinite Dendrogram* is one of those books that seems a bit boring in premise, but once you start reading it, you search yourself absolutely captivated. The premise is simple, especially for those who are fans of *Sword Art Online*, in that in the future a revolutionary headset technology is released that gives one a full, real Virtual Reality (VR) experience. That is, of course, where the similarities end. At least at first.While there are some commonalities between *Dendro* and *SAO*'s later volumes on the surface - at least as far as some items I've read online, it really, so far, is quite different. You see, there is no - so far as of the first volume - evil or psychotic person or group pulling strings and harming others. This is pure hero interaction between the players and the NPC's (who admittedly are mysterious and strange in some ways). And the set-up of the game, called *Infinite Dendrogram* is beautiful e players are called, in the android game lore, "Masters", who are citizens of the nations of the globe the android game takes put in who have received unique abilities. These come in the form of an embryo that will first be born and then mature over time into greater and greater forms and abilities. None of the NPC's respawn and are gone as if dead if they die. The "Masters" are said to go to another "dimension" (real life for a 24-hour penalty) if they die and then come back to life. The video test mechanics, in other words, are part of the game's story and lore. NPC's, meanwhile, are called "tians". They are able to interact with, keep the same jobs as, so forth, the Masters. Indeed, without seeing the embryo crest on the hand of the person you are talking to, one can't tell if they are players or NPC'is is where the skill of the author, Sakon Kaidou, comes in. He actually makes the audience care for, and feel emotions about, the fates of the tians and the in-game stories. Whatever the truth of the game, whether it is a highly-functioning AI that has actual sapience or some other plot to come, the reader doesn't yet know. All they know is that the tians they read about are so true that one can't *help* but care for them. Of course, what the true truth of the android game globe is only hinted at so far, more to the reader than the players, but even that is vague and not much to go on.Anyways, in the actual Light Novel story proper, we have our protagonist, Reiji Mukudori, who inside the globe of *Dendro* names his hero "Ray Starling", which is a translation of sorts of his name. When he begins, he only wants to finally play this android game he has held off on so long as he prepared to obtain into school. At first, he just thinks it will be really neat, but doesn't sense the stakes to things, and how much the tians and embryos will affect him. Once he begins playing, though, it is another ong with his older brother, who calls himself "Bro Bear" due to the bear suit power armor (a funny story behind that one) he wears, Ray integrates into the globe and finds both mates and even an opponent of sorts. He also comes to care so much for his embryo partner, the girl-weapon Nemesis, and the tians he meets. Eventually, he meets other players with whom he forms a party. They are the journalist Marie, and the pimp (though the person playing is too naive and young to know what that means and is therefore a G-rated version, much to Ray's amusement and wonder) Rook and Rook's girl embryo Babylon, or Babi for rie is seemingly much more than she appears, and I think her secrets will come to the forefront later on. Meanwhile Rook and Babi have low attack power, but high stats and abilities that are pointless for one-on-one battles, but frighteningly strong for group battles. Ray, by contrast to them, is far less valuable versus a group but can conquer strong single foes that would annihilate Rook and erestingly, it seems that *Dendro* (the shortened name of the game) is worldwide and that Marie and Rook are in true life non-Japanese Westerners. So it's a (in terms of the real-life people playing the game) a multi-national and multi-ethnic group of fresh mates playing the android game together. That is kinda heart-warming and cool to thing that is neat as well is how Ray is not the ace. His brother is, and other players are, but Ray, just starting, is not the ace. In true life, his brother is the ace, and Ray isn't there either. But this doesn't do Ray much amazing though. Bro Bear can't support Ray much in-game as he doesn't wish the game's mechanics to cause any partnership between them to hurt Ray's stats due to Bro Bear's *far* superior ones, so he has Ray do things on his own and only tells him to call him if Ray gets in trouble. Ray isn't a harem protagonist either, with the closest things to those traits being (mildly and only exemplified due to his status and job) show in Rook, and there perhaps to poke fun at , Ray is a talented young man who is just passionate and *determined*. This unlocks powers that don't create him the ace, but create him impressive, to be sure. Not compared to a lot of others of a higher level than him, but compared to other newbies, yes. These powers also let him to, with his class of Paladin, pull off some impressive ain, the one thing I can't stress enough is how much the author gets you to *care* about the situation and the tians. Yes, there are tips at a deeper plot, but even without that deeper plot this still is the reaction I had. I was upset when a tian died. I cheered with Ray when he saved the tians. The author has such talent that, even with no confirmation of the deeper plots, he still can obtain the audience to have that reaction. Same thing for when players die temporarily, with the method it happens being a gut-punch once or twice. Yes, if you are interested in the mechanics of such games, you will search this interesting. Even if you are not, however, it will draw you cause of how the author writes them, you see folks' personalities coming through and the amazing people like Ray and company are amazing in-game too, while the poor folks act poor in android game as well. For some, this isn't as apparent as they are merely having fun role-playing, but the method some folks act with no care in the globe for real-life consequences of their actions towards other players does present them as bad. So we have it where you actually are shown that some players are role-playing and others are truly poor people inside, while others are amazing the background are several plot threads of private importance and (in the android game world) national importance. They are not resolved as this is an ongoing story with stories to fully carry through on and mysteries to solve. I am really, really looking forward to seeing where the author goes from here.Rating: 5/5 Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    My my my, I had some beautiful high hopes for this LN and I can proudly say I was not allow down. It's been over 7 years since I latest felt my creative writing urges, and it's thanks to this LN that they're back. The story was good, it was both a fun to read and very informational about the in-game mechanics. Can't wait for Vol.2 later this month!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I bought it expecting something to eat a couple hours of my attention, in this capacity it worked well and enjoyably, it even tickled my funny bone a few times, and, the book lacked any major grammatical and spelling errors that caught my attention enough to pull me out of the story,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Very interesting. I'm not familiar with the author but I saw it in my recommendations so I gave it a possibility and ended up being so engrossed in this that I read it in one sitting. Definitely going to obtain the second volume

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Bluesteel Blasphemer follows Yukinari, a Japanese teenager who died in a house fire and woke up to search himself in another globe in a fresh body and in the company of two sisters, and Dasa, the younger of the two sisters, as they run from the capital. However, while taking shelter from the weather, the two interfere with the ritual sacrifice to the local erdgod and are forced to slay it. With the local zone now vulnerable to demigods, xenobeasts, and other humans, Yuki is forced to act as e book is told in third-person, mostly following the characters of Yukinari, Dasa, Berta, and Fiona, the four main characters of the novel. There are times where the narration follows nameless characters or groups, but these are few and short, mostly used for steel Blasphemer... doesn't take kindly of religion and faith. The Real Church of Harris is essentially Christianity during the Crusades. Yuki hates religion ever since his mother step out on their family after finding religion and the actions of the Harris Church in his backstory and in the third act doesn't exactly support relieve him of such feelings. Acting Mayor Fiona, being educated in the capital, is the most reasonable person in the city of Friedland while the clergy are willing to do things like take Dasa hostage to obtain Yuki to cooperate, versus Fiona's objections. Berta, being raised in a religious orphanage and is a "shrine maiden", doesn't think for herself. All her actions come from the thought of fulfilling her duty as "shrine maiden".Besides the Christian-like Church of Harris, there is the erdgods. Outside the location of the Harris Church, beings known erdgods, demigods, and xenobeasts terrorize the human populace. The mythology of such beings is as follows: when an animal/group of animals live long enough, they can develop near-human intelligence and begin changing their appearance into a criss-cross of human-likeness and animal. These are known as demigods. When a demigod develops a spiritual link to an area, they become an erdgod, allowing them to use their influence to either bring amazing fortune or disaster to their domain. Humans living in such locations tend to create contracts with their erdgods for protection and amazing harvest. In exchange, the humans offer sacrifices to hold the erdgod and its familiars happy. Xenobeasts are beings that failed to fully become demigods, hunting humans, demigods, and erdgods to slay and eat their brains in an attempt to gain the intelligence they need to become demigods. I quite like this and wished the author had done more with it in this volume. Here's hoping more is done with erdgods/demigods/xenobeasts in future mentioned before, the main characters are as follow: Yukinari, Dasa, Berta, and Fiona.While the previous mention of Yuki not liking religion based on his mother's desertion of the family might give the impression he would turn out to be a religion hating atheist, but that's not what happens. Yuki is a very allow live person when dealing with religious people. It is only when people test to force religion on others, damage others in the name of religion, or are only doing something because their religion demands them to that can obtain him to take action, and even then, he doesn't go bigot or treat people worse because of it. This even ties into his abilities. Yes, Yuki is another isekai OP protagonist. However, he doesn't flaunt it and only use it when the situation calls for him to. In fact, he only uses it twice in the volume. For the majority of the volume, Yuki wants to avoid conflict when possible and uses his sword-rifle when can't.Dasa is a shy girl who was born with cataracts and speaks little. It is super-obvious that she has a crush on Yuki, though he is too dense to notice. She is also not above calling Yuki a womanizer, even when it is the girls who are hitting on him and he is trying to turn down their advances. She serves as sniper to Yuki's mentioned above, Berta was raised in a religious orphanage and was the "shrine maiden" to be offered to the erdgod before Yuki and Dasa's inference, thus, most of her actions come from trying to fulfill her duty as "shrine maiden" by trying to be some use to Yuki, either sexually or in some other capacity. Yuki, for his part, tries to obtain her to think for ona is the daughter of the mayor of Friedland and is acting as mayor while her father is bedridden. As stated above, Fiona was educated in the capital, thus, is well-aware that the erdgod system isn't the best for the town, but also knows that she just can't stop the practice without finding and installing a better, safer system. Meeting Yuki finally allows her that chance, but she also isn't willing to go to extremes to do so.Overall, I found this volume to be okay. Other than the prologue, the novel felt like the begin of a second arc than the beginning of a series by having Yuki and Dasa on the run and not information dumping about Yuki's fresh body once we're introduced to him post-prologue, only hinting at such answers until halfway through the third act. The wars are okay but could had been better. Also wished more was done with the erdgods/demigods/xenobeasts before moving on to the Church of Harris by in the third act. Hopefully the next books can fix this and give a more balanced look at religion and faith, instead of the more extremist/chaotic stance that's on view here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    The premise is much more interesting than whats actually written in the book. The main hero is unlikeable, partially because he's bland but mostly because the author tries too hard to create him seem cool. Other characters fall under very predictable archetypes and action sequences are always the best described. Also some specific hero descriptions do not match their illustrations, with a lean towards making them more fan-serviceable which can be immersion breaking. The story in this book oddly paced, and it feels as though more should have been included better lay plot threads and clues towards the conclusive war to male the end seem less like a deus ex machina finish. Overall the story is uninteresting and mostly forgettable. Maybe check this out once the price drops below $3.00, but otherwise don't waste your time on it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    *Bluesteel Blasphemer* is yet another Isekai - or transported/summoned to another globe - story. In fact, the primary set-up might seem fairly generic, at first. But then the general world-building and tone come into ose who have seen the anime adaptation of the Light Novel series, *Chaika - The Coffin Princess*, will know kinda what to expect here given the fact the two series share the same author. Namely a thrilling depiction of a fantasy globe in which battle is taken with a dash of awesomeness and a dash or e story begins with a prologue where a young man is in a house fire with his sister, Hatsune, and they both die. It is implied in the context that the sister set the fire in a murder-suicide to end the suffering of the two of them due to their neglectful - and possibly even abusive - e young man, Yukinari, wakes up after being crushed to death by burning debris to search himself in a fresh body around strange people he doesn't know. Then we have a sudden fast-forward and Yuki, along with a young girl he knows named Dasa, are traveling to avoid some folks who have it out for them and the story starts.Yuki winds up in a put with a local religion that is a religion in name only that sacrifices a young girl every so often to the local deity, called an "erdgod", which is a translation of the Japanese which means "god of the land". The translation uses a Middle English word "erd" that means "native land", "abode", or "dwelling" combined with "god" to have the same e "erdgod" is a combination of different animals that have achieved a higher form of intelligence combined with wonderful toughness that almost nothing can harm, or at least almost nothing of the technological level of the word they are in. Yuki and Dasa use firearms (not before seen in that globe but created by Yuki as he was a gun nut in our world) to slay the erdgod once it attacks them when they unknowingly wander too close to the sacrifice site. Not that they regret saving this young girl, but they didn't set out to do so either.Of course, while it is a amazing thing that the young girl, Berta, was saved, this is a problem. Cause the erdgod of an zone actually does do two things. First off, it spiritually combines with the land to increase crop yield, and secondly it protects it's domain from related beings and thus keeps the townspeople safe in exchange for the is system is repellent to the deputy mayor, but the local citizens have accepted it for so long they don't know what else to do and thus Yuki is caught in a tough situation. On the one hand, he wants to protect Berta from the mad citizens who fear crop failure and attacks from other monsters, and - despite his annoyance with a lot of of these folks - doesn't wish to abandon this community, while on the other hand he wants to hold himself and Dasa safe from their pursuers. And things are about to obtain even more I said, this is a book that manages, like *Chaika* does, to be amazing and yet to also portray just enough realism within that fantasy framework to present the costs of various actions. Also while it treats guns as amazing (perhaps a bit too much so) and able to turn the tide of war depending on tech differences, it also makes clear the limits of what firearms can do, in general and by model. These aren't magic guns, though magic does enter into things in another way. I liken the worldbuilding and touches of reality to that of Brandon Sanderson in his e characterization is sparse for the two main leads, Yuki and Dasa, but that is because we are not supposed to search out much about them until the end when we see what happened between the time Yuki awoke in this fresh globe and the time we see them on the street where they stumble onto Berta and the plot. Because of this, their thoughts and perspectives are geared towards the other e other characters, however, have some fairly good, though brief, characterization. Fiona Schillings, the deputy-mayor and Berta are given motives, thoughts, desires, so on, that create them more believable.Another amazing touch for realism I liked was how it showed that religion can be a force for amazing and bad, like much else. And one religion can be better while still being poor in it's own ways. Like political ideology or any philosophy, this can be the ly, I enjoyed how the story was gritty, very gritty, in fact, but ultimately satisfied and idealistic. It's not a cynical, grim-dark tale at all. Poor things happen. Horrendously poor things, but amazing things happen too and if you war for the good, you can, perhaps, victory a satisfied ending and the protagonists here sure do so in this volume.If you buy this volume directly from J-Novel Club, you'll obtain a little gift section that outlines the etymology of the names of people and terms and such and the thoughts that went into translation. It's a really nifty and fun small addition.I hear this is a short series, at only a few volumes long and I can't wait to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    This story has a lot of potential, and follows tried-and-true formula: boy dragged into fresh world, given e downside is that he apparently hates all organized religion (or disorganized), and while the globe makes a compelling point, there is not counter argument. A convincing story allows for amazing guys to exist on the opponent position, and turns the tale from a monologue to a dialogue. The sequence between happenings is short, granting the feeling that the author took scenes from a comic book, wrote a needed number of words per panel, and then turned the e entire 'save the girl from the monster' concept is well done, but it isn't used to strengthen the plot very much. Anything connected to religion is turned evil, from orphanages (easy sacrifice collection) to science (better ways to obtain 'miracles' with which to dupe the public), and such. Frankly, it was depressing. Not what I was looking for.On the plus side, the protagonist does exhibit a believable outlook. He takes care of the initial individual in his 'harem' with a well-described affection; which I appreciate. Taking time to create the actions smooth without overly drawing out the moment takes a lot of mmary: there are worse tales out there, but there are better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Ok I have read worse but damn I have read a lot better. Where to start, first the story is forced and doesn't have a flow. Too a lot of missing pieces in the plot. Story is fragmented and to be honest just not that good. Like I said I have read worse but to be honest it just isn't that good. Def in my opinion just not worth the time or money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    To begin off with...If you aren't a fan of of the whole "reborn in another world/summoned to another world", harem and/or fantasy light novel genres of stories...skip this, move on and spare me, you and everyone your pointless and unneeded then...the amazing I am a fan of such novels, especially if well written and decently translated, then I'm happy. Biases shall henceforth kept to a minimum, but still there most rst off, J-novel Club, barring a few grammar/spelling errors here and there(...very few but still) and the occasional inconsistency in translator cohesion of terms in text...They do GREAT work in content. It feels, on the whole, genuine to original in intent and delivery and the packaging isn't poor for the price. Formatting of spacing could use some work, but I'm seeing a general trend of improvement as more work gets released so that's for the book itself...Fast paced, tight chapters with very clean passages and clear e characters are very distinct and simple to understand, but aren't "see through, though Beets is a bit simole...plot reasons for e contrast of guns to fantasy with the fantasy set on the lower end of the spectrum, what with magic being replaced by alchemy is a nice this is the 1st vol. Don't ask for too much from the plot, it's introductory to the globe "in the middle and focused on the here and now, so much of the narrative will create you curious but won't be answered, at all...just hinted r some, this equals plot holes and shoddy e pacing and quality, as well as for the less impatient, will be pleasantly curious to read more because there are things tok respond and becau se it's a story about this other world.I highly recommend for it's pace, quality and because Yukinari isn't too annoying as an Isekai MC...just too self conscious of his age as a hormonal teenager...ugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Bluesteel Blasphemer Volume 1 introduces us to the main characters and supporting cast and to the basics of the globe and story. Although short, it was fairly interesting and the wars were entertaining. I would describe it as Grimoire of Zero (anime) meets How a Realist Character Rebuilt the Kingdom (another light novel series being translated into English/released by J-Novel Club) with some differences. There are better series out there, but give this series a test if you are bored and looking for something fresh to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Conversation and hero building issues, lots of incomplete sentences that were attempted to be a loss of voice due to awe or fear or similar. The author(s) managed to wrap up a decent amount of hero building at the ugh hero conversation but an enjoyable e less than 300 pages for more than $6.00 is a major negative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Second novel that I've read that had a MC that has knowledge on firearms when reincarnated, and so far the book developed beautiful well with it. He follows a trend of being a OP MC in another globe but in a special way. Worth the read for six bucks imo

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Stratos: Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Not going to ding the series, was a amazing anime, just putting out, that it would be nice if Amazon would post if it was a manga or light novel, which in this case it is a light novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    The stories and artwork here range from just so-so to fantastic. It's quite a mixed bag. Nonetheless I still give it 5 stars due to the value here. This graphic novel collection is HUGE. It took a long time to read it all. You obtain a lot of bang for your buck on some amazing Predator stories. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    My only true gripe, with the collection, is the product should be labeled "The Dutch Schaffer Collection". I was expecting a chronological order of Predator stories, by publishing date. I was surprised to see nothing but Dutch. Not a complaint, but more specifics would be nice. Still, its amazing to see these stories reprinted in full color again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    bonus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    It's amazing for predator fan's but is a small underwhelming. Has some interesting characters and creative predator wars but doesn't present anything about the predators we don't already know, you don't see the predator home globe or how predators interact with one another. I hope the sequel will present more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Bought this already a couple of times i just love the series and I'm a huge Predator and Aliens fan cant wait to obtain a keep of the rest of the volumes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    It arrived in a amazing condition and the content was what i had hoped for. Though having the same protagonist for the first few comics was a bit disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I've always been a fan of the Predator movies, so I was excited when a mate introduced me to comics in general and the Predator series in particular. I really enjoyed the story arcs in this book and the artwork was a lot of fun too. Interesting to see the Predator universe coming more and more to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    If you are a fan of Yatja lore this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    This is a comprehensive collection of the first series of Predator comics. It probably is not the best book to begin with if you're trying to jump into the canon. I say that because the first part of the book is intolerable, whereas the second, less voluminous part, does its best to redeem the mythos that the first half tried so hard to issue is that the first half of the omnibus is a series of stories starring Detective Schaffer, Dutch's brother (see original movie). This relationship serves no true purpose, at least in this book, other than to give the extremely wooden protagonist a reason to obtain into recurrent entanglements with the Predators. The contrivances are one thing, but the true issue is the Schaffer character. He is so hard and emotionless to the point of total unbelievability that it's offensive to the reader. There doesn't even seem to be a true reason his hero is shaded this way. He is a hulking, brutish yet, in contradiction, refined cop who does whatever he wants without thought of the consequences. He never shows an ounce of humanity and solves every problem, whatever the scale, with excessive violence. *Note that I'm not prudish when it comes to violence or language, rather I feel its employment should have a logical motivation within the story. Another HUGE issue is that Schaffer uses enough tongue-and-cheek one-liners to create Peter Parker seem like a mute. Seriously, it happens in almost every cell Schaffer is featured in, and there are A LOT--too many. When it comes to some comics cheese can be applied, but shaved off a grater. In PO the writer crushes the story with a giant wheel of cheddar. The only thing I can say I took from the first half of the book is a list of cliches to avoid in my own writing, which can be e second half was much better--believable characters, interesting stories--very enjoyable. If only the bulk of the book was more like this.I may go for the second omnibus if the summary abstains from any mention of the detestable Detective Schaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Another fun and enjoyable series by J-novel. Even though it is another isekai novel, I am a large fan of that genre regardless of how a lot of obtain published. The only fault I have with this novel is that the MC might be too good, so I'm hoping in future novels perhaps that is challenged. Fun characters create this a amazing read even if they do fall into the normal tropes for a harem series. Don't expect anything groundbreaking about this novel but if you just wish something fun, this novel could be for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Fast entertaining read. I had hoped more was done with the smartphone. In reality the MC survives due to his OP magical abilities. All he uses the phone for is cooking recipies, google maps and the occassional picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The fact that the main hero is OP bothers me, but the characters and thee lighthearted nature of the first volume somehow makes up for it and creates an enjoyable story. An anime was announced for this series, so I recommend reading it and future volumes if you wish an idea of what will happen before the anime airs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The book has potential but most of the characters lack personality and the main hero is too OP. The story lacks any danger. It's just living in a fresh globe but there's no issues so it gets a small boring. Otherwise it's a amazing book with lots of potential.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Had a few laughs reading the story. I was a bit disappointed that the lead protagonist wasn’t coming up with creative methods of utilizing his tablet in the globe he found himself in. I was expecting something a bit more interesting or special plot-wise. If you’re planning to read or have read In Another Globe With My Smartphone, I’d suggest you consider reading Off To Be The Wizard by Scott Meyer, as it’s a much more satisfying story, IMHO.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Guy gets taken to another globe and gets crazy amazing powers. I'm into that, so I enjoyed this book. If you're not, don't pick it up. If you are, do so. I would have preferred an opponent that could match his strength (and there was one, and might be more) but I enjoyed it nonetheless! Thanks for writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I really like this funny harem to be novel. This first volume shows tips on how amazing his hack is going to be. The story is great. If you are looking to read a chill story with some comedy this is your book. I can't wait for volume 2 to be published/released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    i was looking for something fresh to read but i did not wish to dive into something too serious so i decided to take a bite out of a light novel i really hope in the future amazon will bring more light novels from japan and china there are lot of awesome ones out there for every story its fun to see a every day object place into a fantasy globe and how it works with magic in various situations i laughed at some of the spells too the creatures did not feel repetitive and the mc felt like he could grow more as an adult rather than having a fixed personality there was a constant change in mood or settings a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    We're fans of the anime series, and so we really are enjoying the books! They give us insight into more of what the characters are thinking, and they give some background that the anime does not. Besides that, the anime series ends and just leaves you hanging. We hope the books give us some closure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    While this book does follow a lot of of the normal items that transported/reborn in another globe stories have, the differences have created this story quite good. Can't wait to read the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This first chronicle info the history of the globe up to about 40years prior to the opening of the Dark Portal. Having collected a number of the Warcraft art books released for the android game expansions, I was happy to search that the interior art of this particular book is largely handled by a singular, perfect artist named Peter C. Lee. Instead of the vignettes or concepts, it's usually a well composed stage which he is illustrating - honestly, this is the sort of high caliber art folks who collect the Middle Earth or A Song of Ice and Fire calendars would embrace. Lovely work on his part and not something we are usually treated to seeing. @165 pages, 25 paintings, 8 maps of pre- and post-Sundering of the known world, handful of drawings, quality hardbound with no slipcover.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This book is amazing. The quality is top notch and I am very satisfied with my decision to pre-order it. The cover is well designed and feels like a amazing quality binding. The pages are glossy and have some weight to them, it really looks like they took amazing care to create something of value here. There is A TON of backstory for the Warcraft lore and several highly detailed pictures are sprinkled throughout the pages to offer some visuals. If you are interested in Warcraft's back story and lore then I highly recommend purchasing this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    While I wasn't huge into the lore of the game, I had played the android game since it was an MMO. Recently at work(still productive) I started watching to YouTube lore massive videos place out by Nobbel87 and more humorous, but sometimes lore inclusive videos by Taliesin & Evitel(they are my favorite and funny as hell). They both refer to the Chronicles, so I said...what the hell, why not?These books are awesome. They add substance to the android game globe and really give insight into the factions. Also, the cosmology is presented in an understandable way. Finally, if you are a table top roleplayer, these books would be an perfect resource for building your own e pages are thick and the books are place together very well. Well worth the cash and a welcome addition to any fantasy library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    Absolutely unbelievable for anyone fan of Warcraft and its lore. This chronicle covers all the major happenings that happened in the Warcraft universe from the creation of the universe until right before the begin of the games. You learn about the Titans, the founding of Azeroth, Sargeras' fall and the rise of the Burning Legion, the Battle of the Ancients, the Sundering, and a lot of more pivotal events. Interspersed with all the information you obtain some amazing Blizzard art to go along with it. This book is amazing for anyone who plays WoW, because after reading about these momentous happenings you can login and go check out the locations where they happened, or see the aftermath. I look forward to Volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    As a Globe of Warcraft fan since its release in 2003, I have collected quite a number of WoW books but this one is the best of them all. Sleek hardcover design and excellent binding created this book worthy of any collections, even if you're not a WoW fan, this one would definitely look amazing just sitting in your bookcase. The contents were awesome and well-written, it simply tells you everything you need to know about the WoW lore in general. If this book was an item in WoW, I'm sure it would count as legendary quality. I'm definitely buying the next volume as soon as it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This book is PERFECTION! It gives an awesome history of the entire world, Old Gods, Cosmic forces, Realms of Existence, The Titans, Primordial Azeroth etc and the happenings up until 45 years prior to the Black Portal. Very amazing history, story telling and unbelievable e binding seems very solid, the hardcover and front cover are nice. Not too massive and the pictures, maps and illustrations inside are exactly what any fan or any person would want! BUY THIS - anyone who gave it 4 stars doesn't know what they are talking about!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    It is interesting. In a lot of ways, it reminds me of the tutorials that Chaosium place out for e book reads like a tutorial to Greek and Roman mythology.While there are some nice illustrations (high quality, four color lithos), the book is not full of them like previous WoW tutorials were.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    From the moment I received the pack I knew they knocked it out of the park with this e book is weighty, but not overly so. The cover is thick with a very nice glossy sheen. The graphic of Medivh is a hi-res image, and I expect it to latest the life of the book. Opening the book reveals the quality binding, and the care taken during the manufacturing process. Dark Horse really outdid themselves with this one.ONTO THE LORE!I am a large Warcraft lore buff, so needless to say, I was excited to dive right into this book. I have just read the first 70 pages, and thumbed through the rest. This book covers the period of time from before the founding of Azeroth up until Medivh reaches adulthood. After having read the first few chapters, I can say the quality of writing is very good. It is written as a chronicle, (surprise, surprise) and gives a amazing overview of what exactly happened during the formative years of Azeroth. The illustrations are very good, and provide just the right mood to really enhance the reading experience.I won't spoil anything, but I was really surprised to see that they gave reason to the Titans and their machinations, and more importantly, what drove Sargeras to madness. The book also gives a amazing explanation as to exactly how each school of magic is derived, and how they interact with each other, which was a amazing surprise.I will modernize this review when I finish the book, and give my final thoughts, but at this point I can say I am beyond impressed with this first entry, and I can't wait to dive right back in. Amazing Job Blizzard and Dark Horse!Update:After finishing the book, I can safely say I very much enjoyed it. However, I do have some caveats.Unfortunately, I have been spoiled by the fluff books from Warhammer 40k, which I keep as the gold standard for fleshing a universe out. I can't support but to compare the two. I want the format had been more like the Warhammer books, it would have created it more enjoyable to read, and would have added more depth to the world. It feels like the writer(s) of Chronicle were either held on a very short leash as to what kind of stories they could tell, or they didn't have the imagination to flesh out more of the world. For example, (minor spoiler) the book says that Azshara spread her dominion over most of Kalimdor, but it mostly ends there. In Warhammer fluff, it would have given dates, locations, and parties involved, followed by a detailed description of the wars that took place, and the results. It might seem like a little thing, but it's those kinds of info I wanted from a book like eping to that point, I wish to add that on more than one occasion, the book glossed over fresh lore where it crucially should have been expounded upon, but instead favored already established lore. In my opinion, this really detracts from what I feel the book was designed to do- establish a clear picture as to what Azeroth was like prior to the invasion, where we are first exposed to the world.On occasion, I felt as though the writing fell flat, as if the writer was given a subject to write about, along with stringent rules to adhere to, and so their creativity was hindered. For example. The Troll battles were a huge part of pre- Dark Portal history, but I felt as though we only got a few pages, where it should have gone on for quite some time. Again, I'm comparing it to the Warhammer fluff, but I really do want that the writer(s) were given creative license to flesh out the wars and heroes in the method that a Warhammer book is written.I don't mean to sound so negative, but I just wish this trilogy to be the fresh gold standard for books like this. That said, I originally rated the book 5 stars. I took one star off for my aforementioned caveats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    The end-all-be-all for lore buffs.Highly recommended for WoW Lore lovers.I didn't even know the second one was released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    No doubt this set could obtain to be pricey as this set grows though I suspect anyone investing in these volumes won't mind. Amazing artwork to support fill in the lore for this late comer to WoW. Nicely done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    The 2 Hellboy story arcs this volume includes are classics. The introductions are impressive and enjoyable, especially if you're already a fan of the series. If you ARE a fan, these are a amazing addition (or replacement, if your trade paperback bindings have gone rotten) to your comic is "Library Edition" series features a soft cover and glorious blown up art from the originals. It's like comics in Hi-Def and I love it. You have literally never seen Hellboy look this good. These volumes give the impression of an epic tome, holding wonders unceasing within, which is tastic content, terricic packaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    The first volume was great, and I am looking forward to further reading. I would recommend this to any fan of horror comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    This first volume of HELLBOY LIBRARY EDITIONS is a welcome addition to any serious comic reader's collection. It matches the superb ART OF HELLBOY hardcover from a few years back in both size and binding and includes the complete story lines SEED OF DESTRUCTION and WAKE THE DEVIL as well as an extensive sketchbook section featuring a lot of of creator Mike Mignola's early sketches (with very few, if any, repeated photos from the ART OF HELLBOY tome).The only thing missing from the original trade paperback collections are the pin-ups by other artists but, really, once you see how attractive Mignola's work looks printed in this oversize format you hardly miss them. The colors (by Tag Chiarello on SEED and James Sinclair on WAKE) are vividly reproduced on bright, glossy paper (be careful to avoid fingerprinting, though).Any fan of HELLBOY, Mike Mignola, or comics in general should look into adding this book to their library. I look foward to volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    Holy crap this thing is huge! The art is attractive and it's just amazing to read. Can't wait for Vol 2 to obtain here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    An all around amazing book. The storyline is awesome, very creative and highly original. A demon is summoned from hell by the nazis with the purpose of bringing the apocalypse, but is instead found by the americans and raised to support mankind. Though I don't much like the art of the series, not thats its bad, just alot mores implistic thatn I'm used to. And the library edition is well worth the additional money. The only drawback to it is that the cloth cover seems to attract dust, buut other than that, I'd recommend it to any and every one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    If you've only seen the movies, don't expect this book to be the action filled joy ride you are used to. This hellboy is very dark, brooding and contemplative and the creatures he faces are much more smart and cunning. If you are even bothering looking at this page, you'll have fun this book though, don't be disappointed by the differences between the films and this, embrace them and indulge in hellboys adventures. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    This collection has to be seen to be appreciated. I actually saw this at a comix shop while away on business and immediately knew I had to have it and Amazon had a stellar price I couldn't pass up. This is a attractive compliment to the Art of Hellboy hardcover released a few years ago. I haven't placed both books next to each other (yet) but I believe they're the same size as they seem to follow the same format. This is the method the Hellboy books should be read, the larger (then the original comic book size) print and vibrant colors will create your eyes bleed with joy. That is if you obtain weepy looking at attractive artwork from a master at the top of his game. 5 stars just isn't a high enough rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    Purchased this as a bonus for my guy, he loved it. He especially liked the cover, its textured and soft. He stated he was enjoying the read so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    Probably the best collection of comics I've ever bought, which Is saying something cause I buy a lot of collections. But this one is additional nice with the material on the cover and back and how amazing the pictures look. Definitely worth the money, and if you do obtain it create sure to read mignolas introduction page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:1

    A faint whiff of Matt Wagner's Demon, add some of the highly angular stylings of Kirby, throw in Rude's liberal use of shadow - you blend this altogether, and voila! What you are left with is Mike Mignola's Hellboy! This is only what I see in Hellboy, and I do not claim to be an expert in comic book art. But regardless of what Mignola's real inspirations might have been, with Hellboy he made something both equisitely attractive and highly original. I do not think it would be going too far to say that Mignola has helped raise this medium to a legitimate and accepted form of art. He also deserves alot of credit for refurbishing some tired old comic poor guys (nazis), and doing something quite entertaining and fresh with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    The concept of a reverse Summoning is not new, but this one takes a beautiful new look. The main hero is OP, but the attitude taken with that OPness (pardon for inventing a word here) makes the repetition is is not really a major plot story, but it's a fun romp through Murasaki's imagination. The only suggestions I'd create for improvement would be to check on the 'Demon Lord's' terminology. Adapting a formal way of speech is a highly effective writing tactic. But, it stays relevant only if the individual maintains that way of speech. Breaking the pattern with less-formal speech is then a tag of significance, rather than a common-place sort of deal.I also appreciated that there are only three major characters. Having a half-dozen might be entertaining, but strains credulity, and makes it harder for the suspension of belief.Overall 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Very fun book, it was interesting seeing a summons from the demon lord's view! Gotta say tho, after the first few pages, I kept imagining Diablo using Ainz's voice from the Overlord anime! Every bit as epic as Ainz Ooal Gown, too! =^_^= The only sadness here is, alas, we must wait for the next book to come out... *sobs* T_T Please release the next book soonest! =^_^=

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Beautiful much Overlord but worse in every way. No hero background or development. MC is a pansy. Literally gives an opponent a “warning” two times until on the third a bunch of people die.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    I quite enjoyed this novel. Short, but that's the norm with these. Whimsical soft hearted protagonist who plays anti-hero as part of his act. Makes for some hilarious comedy.Looking forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Entertaining enough. I liked it go for it read it, I recommend it. Amazing pacing the story didn't ceel rushex which is a amazing thing. Waiting on next volume now lol.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How NOT to Summon a Demon Lord: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Amazing sorry I loved it at least. I hope this guy gets to publish another volume because I wish to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    I've read a ton of books but have never written a review. I fell in love with the method they wove these unbelievable characters together. They actually created me believe that this society could work. Crazy Right!!!! They brought that much life to it. I can't wait to begin the next set. Nothing like amazing characters, involved stories, with sexy love as an additional topping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    I have all these books separately and have read them several times. Now that I have this box set it will be so much easier. As each book comes out I am more excited to have the next hurry to come out. If you like ménage with secrets, high powered people and mystery this is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    I loved the first 3 books but I found the 4th book trying. Not very interesting. Took me a while to obtain through it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    Four sexy and suspenseful books. The characters were all unique. Each trinity worked. They created me want such a thing was real. I'm waiting for another collection/deal so I can continue the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    With a continuous story that keeps you engaged. Feel like a few things could be better clarified and needs some better editing for grammatical errors but a amazing series overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    The overall concept of a secret society is intriguing. A bit of a various take on people finding the relationship that brings out the best in all. I especially enjoyed the hero growth and interaction as each story was e writing brought the stories to life. I like these type books that contain alpha males, sex, a small kinky and the mystery was a nice variation.I would recommend the books. They were enjoyable and an simple read. I finished them quite quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    Unbelievable series, I loved this box set, because it allowed me to binge read 4 amazing stories, I highly recommend this series, and will be picking up the rest in the has intrigue, lots of yummy sex and characters that are well rounded and believable, has me believing and wishing for conspiracy theory secret societies!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    I enjoyed these books. These books are each about a trio who are forced together in a secret marriage and must learn to form a life together. Each book takes a various route to making the threesome work. I have fun Mari Carr's writing and this one doesn't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    The Trinity Masters books are amazing stories with the excellent combination of mistery, dark desires and hot triads! The characters are powerful willed and so damn sexy, they will create your blood boil. An unexpected secret globe that will leave you wanting more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trinity Masters: Volumes 1-4 review [Book]  2017-12-6 18:0

    These books hold you guessing and bring just enough of the characters from pervious books to be a amazing lead into the next one. I believe this is a serious that can continue on without being too over the top.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I enjoyed the entire of the Never series. There where a few errors but well done. The story finished with most questions being answered and a few fresh questions to be had. The characters grew and developed with each novella and I enjoyed all of the plots, twists, and challenges. I would like to read Snows side of the story one day. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I enjoyed the five books here as well as the prequel. The story of Never evolves throughout as you obtain glimpses of his past and the history of himself he's looking for. He pick up fresh mates and reacquaint with old ones as you progress into the tale. His brother is his opposite most of the time. But you are left wondering about his brother's journey which never completely reveals itself. Well written and totally captivating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    The books of NEVER are a quick pace, exciting, and full of unexpected twists and turns, I am looking forward to future books with these characters. Please allow me know when book six is due out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I received this book series for free and am voluntarily reviewing it. Have to review it really, because it was totally awesome. I started Book 1 at a difficult time (a family illness in a foreign country) and required some distraction but didn't think anything could really take my mind off my worries. I was totally wrong. The pace moves along quickly, with practically non-stop action and danger with some wry humor tossed in to relieve the pressure. Besides the suspense, fighting, magical elements; there are real friendships and kindness displayed. A truly pleasurable series developed as a quest for identity and meaning to the odd traits the character displays. Although this is a long book, 5 novelettes, I didn't search any 'dead' spots' and continued reading eagerly to the end. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't a more complete ending, although the primary events/quest/questions were resolved there is definitely an opening for more adventures. However, it was complete enough that I didn't feel cheated of an ending so am not deducting a point for that. Perfect series - I do recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I received this book series as an ARC. Each of the books in the series is a free standing book. The language is appropriate for all readers. If you are looking for a fresh, various action - adventure epic tale; then, give The Book of Never a read. I believe you need to hold an open-mind to the various approach to this epic saga. The Book of Never is not a hero study or a sappy "love story". It is about Never's quest and the adventure's along the way. Never is not "warm and fuzzy" and you may not even like him; but, you will have fun the ride. Each hero met is introduced and described only to the extent that you need to know who or what they are in relation to the action. So, if you are looking for in-depth hero studies you may be left wanting if you go into the book thinking it is all about the characters. You obtain glimpses of the characters and their often "human-like" characteristics of judging others by their appearance, personality traits, their own experiences, what others say or assume, and what each wants to believe about themselves. Interesting in and of itself. I also enjoyed that there were fresh types of happenings and adventures described. . The author has a true talent for detailed imagery so that you search yourself on website during the action. The tale is the emphasis of the series. I read 5 - 6 books a week and am very tired of the hundreds of formula books where only the names and areas change. I enjoyed the Book Of Never and hope that the author writes more books that will develop the characters more and respond more of the questions that arise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Serialized novels are becoming more and more frequent these days, in a sort of call-back to the 19th century, when books were issued in weekly installments. Australian author Ashley Capes choose to do so with his Book of Never, and I now understand how those enthralled readers must have felt back then, as they waited to know what happened next. No need to "suffer" between installments in this case, though, since now all of Never's adventures are collected in a box set!Never’s story is both an adventure and a quest, and follows the journey of this intriguing hero as he moves across a colourful and risky imaginary globe in find of answers about his identity and his past, while the current civilization stands on the brink of war, a conflict that seems to be instigated by mysterious forces beyond anyone’s control. Never himself is a walking mystery: gifted with powers based on blood - either his or that of his foes - he seeks explanations about the origin of those powers and the reasons he's been a virtual outcast for most of his ere are a lot of indications, along the way, that Never’s globe used to host a more advanced civilization, one whose remnants are either puzzling mysteries or risky places, and our character braves those dangers as he’s collecting the pieces of that puzzle to explore who and what he is and what his destiny might be. Even though I’m not a gamer, it was simple for me to see how Never’s quest resembles a game’s structure, with increasing levels of difficulty to be overcome while solving the riddles left by those fabled predecessors.If you wish an intriguing journey laced with magic and awe-inspiring wonders, you need look no further than the Book of Never.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I received this book for free in exchange for my honest spite not being my usual type of book, I was very happy with this series. The first three were incredibly quick and action-packed reads filled with snappy dialogue and just enough of Never's story to hold you interested. The latest two books delved more fully into the story of Never's heritage and his extraordinarily complex family thing that I really, really liked about these stories was the method the author went about building the world. Never's story takes locations in some other reality where things as we know them don't always exist. The globe is in the middle of a hostile takeover and there are a lot of pieces that kind of go along with this. What I've found happens a lot of times with this is that there's a portion of the story that's massive with exposition and forces you to test and remember all the major players and happenings that aren't yet relevant; that didn't happen at all here.We were thrown directly into the story and necessary things kind of came up naturally. I found this unbelievable for two reasons, really; 1. the front end of the book wasn't weighted down with history that you need to test and remember as you progress through the book, and 2. I found that I really wanted to know more about what was event after getting small bits and pieces as I went. Each put Never and his different companions traveled had a story that was either delivered to the reader through little amounts of exposition that usually gave you a bit more of Never's history or through dialogue.Overall, I found this to be a very well written and enjoyable read. If you're looking for a fun read with a clever hero, a special story, and a loyal group of sidekicks, I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    When I received this set of 5 books, I didn't quite know what to create of it as it isn't my usual "thing." But by the time I had read one chapter I was hooked into reading one of the best action books I've ever read. If you are ready for action, fantasy, battles and fighting this is something to read. If you are into quests, heroes, and a small romance, pick this up. The story line takes you an a amazing adventure and ends method to soon. I'm hoping that there will be a lot of more of these books. All I can say is WOW!I received this title as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I have read this series from begin to finish and loved every min of it. I have to admit the genre isn't one I usually read, but from the very first I was drawn in to Never's story and couldn't wait to see what would happen next; it was hard to wait for the next installment. Mr. Capes is a very descriptive author, so much so I felt like I was there smelling the smells and seeing the landscape. Rounding out the unbelievable descriptions were humor, action, intrigue, and amazing writing. If you like epic fantasy/action fantasy, you will love this series. Give it a try; you won't regret it! Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book of Never: Volumes 1-5 review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    This is a amazing series for the price even though I received a free copy for review. No deep analysis required, it is a amazing yarn. It reminded me of the serial installment I used to see at the Saturday matinee as kid, although in a swashbuckling style instead of a western.Overall, an enjoyable series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    The story is filled with African cultural info that engages members of my Reading Club in productive discussions. Having small knowledge of Africa, they are learning through this medium cultural info that they can relate to some common practices they have experienced in their daily lives. The humor of the book keeps readers looking for the next minutes. The book is morally powerful and provides amazing examples of integrity, character, selflessness, and a range of other modes of behavior that kids of this generation rarely consider. I will be looking for the next book in a few weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Alexander McCall Smith never disappoints and "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" is bonus that just keeps on giving. I love what I am learning about Africa and the African people. AMS, obviously, loves Africa and its people, especially Botswana. I'd love to sit with Mma Precious Ramotswe and share some Bush tea, some amazing conversation. She is wise and compassionate. I have a long method to go in the series but that is okay. This means that I can have fun some amazing company for quite a while. I would like to invite Alexander McCall Smith to have Bush tea with us too and some fruit cake. The conversation would be so entertaining.I just saw a talk by Alexander McCall Smith at the Washington Library. It took put when Bush was in office. He spoke about "No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" at length and he took questions. I could listen to this man speak forever. I love his speaking voice and I love his laugh. He has a amazing laugh. I like a amazing laugh and he has a really amazing laugh. He is so cute and he has a amazing sense of humor. I would love to see him in person. I have so a lot of questions for him. I have to look at his schedule to see when he will be in NYC. I'd like to see him. I don't know where this man gets the time to write all of these books, travel and teach at the University too. I am amazed by his energy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Mma Ramotswe, "the accomplished founder of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" has agreed to marry "Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni, proprietor of Tlokweng Street Speedy Motors", but first there is business to be conducted and mysteries to be solved. Specifically, where is the couple going to live? In Mr J.L.B. Matekoni's house or in Mma Ramotswe's clean cottage? Mma Ramotswe is going to take care of Mr J.L.B Matekoni. Just listen to her tell his maid "A man who is well looked-after becomes fatter. They are just like cattle That is well-known." And what about an engagement ring with a huge diamond? First, though, there are the cases Mma Ramotswe has to solve - an American student, missing for ten years from an experimental collective. The mother accepts that he might be dead, but wants to know why. Then there is the butcher with a wife who has suddenly enough cash to send the son to an expensive personal school. The orphanage just outside the town needs support with the troublesome pump and before he knows it, Mr J.L.B. Matekoni is charged with the care of two orphans without consulting Mma Ramotswe first, Oh, and the promotion of her assistant and .... there is so much info packed into these books. I love McCall Smith's language, descriptions of the country and it's people! The relentless heat comes off the page when reading the description of vehicles parked so that the least bit of shade wards off the sun, or the Commissioner's Land Rover entrusted to Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, or the university lecturer. Unbelievable series!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter