Berserk Volume 1 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Berserk Volume 1 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I've been hearing about Berserk more or less since I really got into manga, but it was only recently that I truly decided to look into it. I had heard that it was violent and bloody, but I never thought much of it, believing it would be something along the lines of Rurouni Kenshin or You You Hakusho. I could not have been farther from the truth. And I could not be happier about it. Berserk is truly the single most violent and gory manga I have ever come across, but the story is intriguing enough to hold me e story itself follows a man named Guts. Yes, Guts, like intestines. It's actually quite fitting considering how a lot of times *SPOILER* he slices someone in half. Guts is a main hero I feel we don't see enough of in manga: an antihero. He's not the virtuous knight in shining armor. He's rude, he's crude, he's violent, and more often than not he comes off as a psychopathic jerk. But for some reason, I still have fun his character. Most of the time it seems he's fueled solely by anger and revenge, but that's what makes the few short moments when he seems to truly care all the more special. We don't see any of Guts past explained in this volume, but we obtain tips that he's been through something horrible. It's enough to hold you coming back for as for the artwork, I must admit I was a bit taken aback for a moment. Most of my life, I've dealt with much lighter artwork and stories. However, within a few pages, I began to fall in love with the artwork of Berserk. The shading is very massive on most pages, something that usually doesn't go over so well in manga. Massive shading can quickly create things blur together and disappear so that you have no idea what's going on the page, but not in this case. Kentaro Miura somehow manages to heavily shade nearly every panel and somehow build in wonderful amount of depth with his images, and without making the panels look too I'm going to talk about the one thing that seems to turn most people away from Berserk (besides the gore). The pricetag. A lot of of the volumes went out ofnprint in the latest couple of years, and scalpers are ready to take advantage of the hardcore fans. Check the prices of certain volumes, and you're looking at a price of $50-$2000. Yes, you readnthat right. I've seen a copy of an out of print volume listed in "fair to not good condition" for $2000. Do NOT pay over $20 for these books. Dark Horse, the English publisher of Berserk, is aware of the scarcity and the pricejacking. They are currently reprinting the series in order of scarcity. I myself am an impatient small narwhal, but I'm also a frugal one. I overpaid for two of the volumes before doing any major research to see if there would be a reprinting. I don't plan to create that mistake again. My lessons to you today, my darlings, is to just be patient. Dark Horse is working toward fixing the scarcity issues. Only buy the volumes when the price is , my word of warning to all of you who are fresh to this series: Nothing can really prepare you for this series. It's violent, and bloody, it's downright disgusting at times. There is sex, and nudity, and even rape. There are demons and creatures so horribly ugly that you've never seen the like, even in your worst nightmares. I've read manga like Attack on Titan. It pales in comparison, in my humble opinion. This series is hellish in all the right ways, and it's got this gal hooked. I love everything about it so far, and I plan to stay with it for the long haul.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This review is about the Kindle edition itself - Berserk is Berserk - you know it's in the running for the greatest manga of all time and a masterwork of literature.BLUF: If you really wish to read the manga, go to a www service or obtain a manga downloader. However, this is a amazing method to present help for the artist if you don't wish to buy the physical copies whether due to cost or because it takes up too much e fidelity of scans is very amazing and about the same as the best scanlation sites. I haven't seen any errors in terms of scan-in. However, due to Kindle software limitations, I would consider this to be inferior to a manga. The most necessary reason is the Kindle doesn't let you to view two-page spreads. Some of Miura's best artwork is when he combines two pages for one photo and the Kindle only lets you view a page at a time. Further, you can't zoom in or out like you would for a website. On the plus side, you have the advantage of a lower price, no shipping, and no zone needed for the physical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    An excellent, but mature fantasy action series. If you have fun dark stories, such as Macbeth, Titus Andronicus, or The Count of Monte Cristo, & are wanting to experience it in a comic/graphic novel/manga format - this is for you. If you think the protagonist is too one-sidedly dark (or the story itself), I encourage you to continue until at least until a quarter of the method into the Golden Age arc (starting in vol.3).

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Berserk Volume 1 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Berserk Volume 1 video reviews and related movies:

    See Berserk "The Black Swordsman" - Vol 1 Complete Story on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Manga Reading Chapter 1: The Black Swordsman on youtube.

     related image

    See REACTION - Berserk Chapter 1 First Impressions Review - OMG READ THIS NOW 剣風伝奇ベルセルク on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Volumes 1-37 on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk - Vol. 1 - Panini - Unboxing de novo mangá na coleção de gibis e quadrinhos !!! on youtube.

     related image

    See Berserk Volume 1 Manga Review - The Black Swordsman 剣風伝奇ベルセルク on youtube.

     related image

    See Live Manga Reaction: Berserk (ベルセルク) - Volume 1 Black Swordsman Arc [Ch 0A-0C] on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    The beginning of Berserk is probably one of the weaker arcs, and yet I've read this volume three times. In full, Berserk is a phenomenal fantasy series with extreme conflict and daring themes. It may go too far at times, but it is special and gripping for that reason.I think that the Golden Age arc (Vol 3-14) is an essential read for understanding Berserk, but you may know if you like it or not by reading the first three volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    For one, I'm more than satisfied with my order, I've received several of these volumes from this seller, and am more than impressed with the condition that they arrive in. Secondly, this comic/manga series has to be one of the best, if not the best I've ever read. The story in Berserk, in my opinion rivals some of the greats, like Star Wars, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings. Its universe seems ever expanding with each Arc, and unlike others, doesn't seem to ever disappoint. Each volume seems as interesting as the last, in my opinion, at least. I highly recommend these books, but heed warning, they are not for the faint of heart, they are very graphic as you will see with the first few pages of Vol. 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    5/5 Stars beyond a doubt. If your interested at all in manga, this is an ABSOLUTE must read. Blood, Betrayal, Love, Evil, Rape, Majestic, Powerful, Supernatural, Light and Dark, that is Berserk. It's not just a comic, it's more than a easy book. It has a greater deeper meaning that will hit you at your core.. An with the story still being told there are still more amazing moments to seize. GET THIS MANGA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Wow, I wasn't expecting this kind of amazing quality. The art style is obviously older, this was written/drawn in 1989! In this volume you'll obtain acquainted with Guts, The Black Swordsman. Not much is really revealed about him except that he has been battling his inner demons for a while, Oh and I mean that quite literally. Puck is a nice comedic addition to this very melancholic story. Already buying vol 2 and I cant wait to obtain the other 30+ volumes!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I love this series so I may be biased but this is definitely one of the Morse exciting bits of the Golden Arc. Guts and squad are on a rescue mission but they obtain a whole lot more than they bargained for. Brutal and somewhat sad but so well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    First time buying a Manga?Looking for something that isn't cute or another Emo School Teen love story?Then this is what you have been looking is story is about revenge in the most brutal way.He doesn't give a F*** about any one but him self and will slay any one to search the person that betrayed him and tag him for is is not for the easily offended.But if you wish a dam amazing read you will search it here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Berserk Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    If you haven't read or seen berserk, you don't know what your missing. From art to story, very well done in every small way. You can feel the action frame by frame. Solid work. One of the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It just raises up your volume and it rapes your ears so no, don't obtain this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Take it and I scream you out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Didn't have any result

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Wow finally one booster that as ever worked on my note 5 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Amazing it is loud enough for me to hear from sound proof walls

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It helps out well for my ears only

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    WhAT GREAT. APP

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Ty

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Unbelievable application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Perfect product

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Dose'nt work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Lowered my volume if anything

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Fak ya.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Epic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Okay, this this sucks. I don't know what it did, but when I boosted the media (I was wearing earbuds) it maxed out the audio and blew my ears out. That wasn't the bass being boosted, that was just my phone audio being maxed out by this. It literally did nothing else. I don't know if everyone commenting on this application are bots, or what, but this has method to a lot of likes for what it deserves. Only obtain it if you're ready for your eardrums to be blown out after you boost the media and nothing else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    was louder without this app. don't waste your time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    You can change how you listen to songs and you can use it for Spotify and other song apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It's a amazing application to have in your phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It crashes sometimes, but its amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It is beautiful cool and it actually works

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    It just blast the phone to full volume that's it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Cant really tell any diffetence in sound

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    We are about to search out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Very nice super application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Doesn't work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    I just now got it but so far so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Gud items

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    A amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Nice quality

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Nice Best

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Nice volumecontrol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Volume Booster - Volume Up - Max Volume review [App]  2018-10-20 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This was a very interesting read set in a globe that the protagonist can actually log out of at will, that alone makes it various from other books, but after a while you begin to wonder if anyone would actually wish to ever log out. Amazing book, love the hero and globe development

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I would recommend trying out this 's not trapped in a android game like some series are it's more of a action slice-of-life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Picked this up on a whim and found it to be surprisingly enjoyable. It had more to it than I imagined and had a really captivating globe that drew me into its story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Not too overpowered, struggled with his wars a bit and didn't manage to save everyone. It isn't the best, but it's better than most.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Fully enjoyed the book. Read it from begin to finish in oner sitting. It has its flaws but no amazing story doesn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Infinite Dendrogram is the newest VRMMO, one far ahead of its time. Reiji Mukudori, the MC, has postponed actually playing the android game for 1 year out of fear to be drawn in before finishing his entrance exams. Now he can finally join the hype, and meet up with his older brother. Out of fear of being drawn in, he never read much beyond the basics of the android game either and now we obtain to join it together with him on his first few steps into the globe that is Infinite e book is very much a Japanese light novel, but it does step away from some of the cliches. The MC is likable, making a few errors along the way, but he is not overpowered (and dies once) and gets at most lucky due to his polite behavior and litterally bumbing into a amazing quest. He is not a bumbling fool, nor is he surrounded by woman falling all over him. One of his gaming mates seems to be a jab at those personalities. There is some silliness, but not too much. The android game itself takes a bit of a backseat, we obtain to see a bit about class selection and an special magic item each player has, one that develops alongside the hero and is completely special to each player. There are no hero sheets or a lot of android game messages though. Of course, there is also the mystery about the game. It is a bit too advanced and the epilogue suggests a bit more is going on than meets the eye. Makes me curious about what is comming,Of course, it is still a light novel: relatively short, not too much drama and at least some silliness. Within its genre I like it very much, hence the 5 stars, but don't expect too much depth. Looking forward to the next part.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Books about MMOs are fairly common in light novels and generally tend to be hit or miss. I'm satisfied to say that Infinite Dendrogram is a hit. Taking put in mysterious fresh MMO that replicates reality perfectly, is in habited by excellent AI NPCs, and offers completely special video test for every player this does seem to be the ultimate MMORPG. But there seems to be some hidden agenda behind this om volume one I'm very excited to see where this story goes. The characters are great, the virtual globe is interesting, the powers everyone gets are all special and interesting so far, and the mystery of the android game globe I search very interesting as well.Over all I'd say it's a amazing action adventure series and would recommend it to anyone especially if they like virtual globe setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    *Infinite Dendrogram* is one of those books that seems a bit boring in premise, but once you start reading it, you search yourself absolutely captivated. The premise is simple, especially for those who are fans of *Sword Art Online*, in that in the future a revolutionary headset technology is released that gives one a full, real Virtual Reality (VR) experience. That is, of course, where the similarities end. At least at first.While there are some commonalities between *Dendro* and *SAO*'s later volumes on the surface - at least as far as some items I've read online, it really, so far, is quite different. You see, there is no - so far as of the first volume - evil or psychotic person or group pulling strings and harming others. This is pure hero interaction between the players and the NPC's (who admittedly are mysterious and strange in some ways). And the set-up of the game, called *Infinite Dendrogram* is beautiful e players are called, in the android game lore, "Masters", who are citizens of the nations of the globe the android game takes put in who have received unique abilities. These come in the form of an embryo that will first be born and then mature over time into greater and greater forms and abilities. None of the NPC's respawn and are gone as if dead if they die. The "Masters" are said to go to another "dimension" (real life for a 24-hour penalty) if they die and then come back to life. The video test mechanics, in other words, are part of the game's story and lore. NPC's, meanwhile, are called "tians". They are able to interact with, keep the same jobs as, so forth, the Masters. Indeed, without seeing the embryo crest on the hand of the person you are talking to, one can't tell if they are players or NPC'is is where the skill of the author, Sakon Kaidou, comes in. He actually makes the audience care for, and feel emotions about, the fates of the tians and the in-game stories. Whatever the truth of the game, whether it is a highly-functioning AI that has actual sapience or some other plot to come, the reader doesn't yet know. All they know is that the tians they read about are so true that one can't *help* but care for them. Of course, what the true truth of the android game globe is only hinted at so far, more to the reader than the players, but even that is vague and not much to go on.Anyways, in the actual Light Novel story proper, we have our protagonist, Reiji Mukudori, who inside the globe of *Dendro* names his hero "Ray Starling", which is a translation of sorts of his name. When he begins, he only wants to finally play this android game he has held off on so long as he prepared to obtain into school. At first, he just thinks it will be really neat, but doesn't sense the stakes to things, and how much the tians and embryos will affect him. Once he begins playing, though, it is another ong with his older brother, who calls himself "Bro Bear" due to the bear suit power armor (a funny story behind that one) he wears, Ray integrates into the globe and finds both mates and even an opponent of sorts. He also comes to care so much for his embryo partner, the girl-weapon Nemesis, and the tians he meets. Eventually, he meets other players with whom he forms a party. They are the journalist Marie, and the pimp (though the person playing is too naive and young to know what that means and is therefore a G-rated version, much to Ray's amusement and wonder) Rook and Rook's girl embryo Babylon, or Babi for rie is seemingly much more than she appears, and I think her secrets will come to the forefront later on. Meanwhile Rook and Babi have low attack power, but high stats and abilities that are pointless for one-on-one battles, but frighteningly strong for group battles. Ray, by contrast to them, is far less valuable versus a group but can conquer strong single foes that would annihilate Rook and erestingly, it seems that *Dendro* (the shortened name of the game) is worldwide and that Marie and Rook are in true life non-Japanese Westerners. So it's a (in terms of the real-life people playing the game) a multi-national and multi-ethnic group of fresh mates playing the android game together. That is kinda heart-warming and cool to thing that is neat as well is how Ray is not the ace. His brother is, and other players are, but Ray, just starting, is not the ace. In true life, his brother is the ace, and Ray isn't there either. But this doesn't do Ray much amazing though. Bro Bear can't support Ray much in-game as he doesn't wish the game's mechanics to cause any partnership between them to hurt Ray's stats due to Bro Bear's *far* superior ones, so he has Ray do things on his own and only tells him to call him if Ray gets in trouble. Ray isn't a harem protagonist either, with the closest things to those traits being (mildly and only exemplified due to his status and job) show in Rook, and there perhaps to poke fun at , Ray is a talented young man who is just passionate and *determined*. This unlocks powers that don't create him the ace, but create him impressive, to be sure. Not compared to a lot of others of a higher level than him, but compared to other newbies, yes. These powers also let him to, with his class of Paladin, pull off some impressive ain, the one thing I can't stress enough is how much the author gets you to *care* about the situation and the tians. Yes, there are tips at a deeper plot, but even without that deeper plot this still is the reaction I had. I was upset when a tian died. I cheered with Ray when he saved the tians. The author has such talent that, even with no confirmation of the deeper plots, he still can obtain the audience to have that reaction. Same thing for when players die temporarily, with the method it happens being a gut-punch once or twice. Yes, if you are interested in the mechanics of such games, you will search this interesting. Even if you are not, however, it will draw you cause of how the author writes them, you see folks' personalities coming through and the amazing people like Ray and company are amazing in-game too, while the poor folks act poor in android game as well. For some, this isn't as apparent as they are merely having fun role-playing, but the method some folks act with no care in the globe for real-life consequences of their actions towards other players does present them as bad. So we have it where you actually are shown that some players are role-playing and others are truly poor people inside, while others are amazing the background are several plot threads of private importance and (in the android game world) national importance. They are not resolved as this is an ongoing story with stories to fully carry through on and mysteries to solve. I am really, really looking forward to seeing where the author goes from here.Rating: 5/5 Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    My my my, I had some beautiful high hopes for this LN and I can proudly say I was not allow down. It's been over 7 years since I latest felt my creative writing urges, and it's thanks to this LN that they're back. The story was good, it was both a fun to read and very informational about the in-game mechanics. Can't wait for Vol.2 later this month!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Dendrogram: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I bought it expecting something to eat a couple hours of my attention, in this capacity it worked well and enjoyably, it even tickled my funny bone a few times, and, the book lacked any major grammatical and spelling errors that caught my attention enough to pull me out of the story,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Very interesting. I'm not familiar with the author but I saw it in my recommendations so I gave it a possibility and ended up being so engrossed in this that I read it in one sitting. Definitely going to obtain the second volume

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Bluesteel Blasphemer follows Yukinari, a Japanese teenager who died in a house fire and woke up to search himself in another globe in a fresh body and in the company of two sisters, and Dasa, the younger of the two sisters, as they run from the capital. However, while taking shelter from the weather, the two interfere with the ritual sacrifice to the local erdgod and are forced to slay it. With the local zone now vulnerable to demigods, xenobeasts, and other humans, Yuki is forced to act as e book is told in third-person, mostly following the characters of Yukinari, Dasa, Berta, and Fiona, the four main characters of the novel. There are times where the narration follows nameless characters or groups, but these are few and short, mostly used for steel Blasphemer... doesn't take kindly of religion and faith. The Real Church of Harris is essentially Christianity during the Crusades. Yuki hates religion ever since his mother step out on their family after finding religion and the actions of the Harris Church in his backstory and in the third act doesn't exactly support relieve him of such feelings. Acting Mayor Fiona, being educated in the capital, is the most reasonable person in the city of Friedland while the clergy are willing to do things like take Dasa hostage to obtain Yuki to cooperate, versus Fiona's objections. Berta, being raised in a religious orphanage and is a "shrine maiden", doesn't think for herself. All her actions come from the thought of fulfilling her duty as "shrine maiden".Besides the Christian-like Church of Harris, there is the erdgods. Outside the location of the Harris Church, beings known erdgods, demigods, and xenobeasts terrorize the human populace. The mythology of such beings is as follows: when an animal/group of animals live long enough, they can develop near-human intelligence and begin changing their appearance into a criss-cross of human-likeness and animal. These are known as demigods. When a demigod develops a spiritual link to an area, they become an erdgod, allowing them to use their influence to either bring amazing fortune or disaster to their domain. Humans living in such locations tend to create contracts with their erdgods for protection and amazing harvest. In exchange, the humans offer sacrifices to hold the erdgod and its familiars happy. Xenobeasts are beings that failed to fully become demigods, hunting humans, demigods, and erdgods to slay and eat their brains in an attempt to gain the intelligence they need to become demigods. I quite like this and wished the author had done more with it in this volume. Here's hoping more is done with erdgods/demigods/xenobeasts in future mentioned before, the main characters are as follow: Yukinari, Dasa, Berta, and Fiona.While the previous mention of Yuki not liking religion based on his mother's desertion of the family might give the impression he would turn out to be a religion hating atheist, but that's not what happens. Yuki is a very allow live person when dealing with religious people. It is only when people test to force religion on others, damage others in the name of religion, or are only doing something because their religion demands them to that can obtain him to take action, and even then, he doesn't go bigot or treat people worse because of it. This even ties into his abilities. Yes, Yuki is another isekai OP protagonist. However, he doesn't flaunt it and only use it when the situation calls for him to. In fact, he only uses it twice in the volume. For the majority of the volume, Yuki wants to avoid conflict when possible and uses his sword-rifle when can't.Dasa is a shy girl who was born with cataracts and speaks little. It is super-obvious that she has a crush on Yuki, though he is too dense to notice. She is also not above calling Yuki a womanizer, even when it is the girls who are hitting on him and he is trying to turn down their advances. She serves as sniper to Yuki's mentioned above, Berta was raised in a religious orphanage and was the "shrine maiden" to be offered to the erdgod before Yuki and Dasa's inference, thus, most of her actions come from trying to fulfill her duty as "shrine maiden" by trying to be some use to Yuki, either sexually or in some other capacity. Yuki, for his part, tries to obtain her to think for ona is the daughter of the mayor of Friedland and is acting as mayor while her father is bedridden. As stated above, Fiona was educated in the capital, thus, is well-aware that the erdgod system isn't the best for the town, but also knows that she just can't stop the practice without finding and installing a better, safer system. Meeting Yuki finally allows her that chance, but she also isn't willing to go to extremes to do so.Overall, I found this volume to be okay. Other than the prologue, the novel felt like the begin of a second arc than the beginning of a series by having Yuki and Dasa on the run and not information dumping about Yuki's fresh body once we're introduced to him post-prologue, only hinting at such answers until halfway through the third act. The wars are okay but could had been better. Also wished more was done with the erdgods/demigods/xenobeasts before moving on to the Church of Harris by in the third act. Hopefully the next books can fix this and give a more balanced look at religion and faith, instead of the more extremist/chaotic stance that's on view here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    The premise is much more interesting than whats actually written in the book. The main hero is unlikeable, partially because he's bland but mostly because the author tries too hard to create him seem cool. Other characters fall under very predictable archetypes and action sequences are always the best described. Also some specific hero descriptions do not match their illustrations, with a lean towards making them more fan-serviceable which can be immersion breaking. The story in this book oddly paced, and it feels as though more should have been included better lay plot threads and clues towards the conclusive war to male the end seem less like a deus ex machina finish. Overall the story is uninteresting and mostly forgettable. Maybe check this out once the price drops below $3.00, but otherwise don't waste your time on it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    *Bluesteel Blasphemer* is yet another Isekai - or transported/summoned to another globe - story. In fact, the primary set-up might seem fairly generic, at first. But then the general world-building and tone come into ose who have seen the anime adaptation of the Light Novel series, *Chaika - The Coffin Princess*, will know kinda what to expect here given the fact the two series share the same author. Namely a thrilling depiction of a fantasy globe in which battle is taken with a dash of awesomeness and a dash or e story begins with a prologue where a young man is in a house fire with his sister, Hatsune, and they both die. It is implied in the context that the sister set the fire in a murder-suicide to end the suffering of the two of them due to their neglectful - and possibly even abusive - e young man, Yukinari, wakes up after being crushed to death by burning debris to search himself in a fresh body around strange people he doesn't know. Then we have a sudden fast-forward and Yuki, along with a young girl he knows named Dasa, are traveling to avoid some folks who have it out for them and the story starts.Yuki winds up in a put with a local religion that is a religion in name only that sacrifices a young girl every so often to the local deity, called an "erdgod", which is a translation of the Japanese which means "god of the land". The translation uses a Middle English word "erd" that means "native land", "abode", or "dwelling" combined with "god" to have the same e "erdgod" is a combination of different animals that have achieved a higher form of intelligence combined with wonderful toughness that almost nothing can harm, or at least almost nothing of the technological level of the word they are in. Yuki and Dasa use firearms (not before seen in that globe but created by Yuki as he was a gun nut in our world) to slay the erdgod once it attacks them when they unknowingly wander too close to the sacrifice site. Not that they regret saving this young girl, but they didn't set out to do so either.Of course, while it is a amazing thing that the young girl, Berta, was saved, this is a problem. Cause the erdgod of an zone actually does do two things. First off, it spiritually combines with the land to increase crop yield, and secondly it protects it's domain from related beings and thus keeps the townspeople safe in exchange for the is system is repellent to the deputy mayor, but the local citizens have accepted it for so long they don't know what else to do and thus Yuki is caught in a tough situation. On the one hand, he wants to protect Berta from the mad citizens who fear crop failure and attacks from other monsters, and - despite his annoyance with a lot of of these folks - doesn't wish to abandon this community, while on the other hand he wants to hold himself and Dasa safe from their pursuers. And things are about to obtain even more I said, this is a book that manages, like *Chaika* does, to be amazing and yet to also portray just enough realism within that fantasy framework to present the costs of various actions. Also while it treats guns as amazing (perhaps a bit too much so) and able to turn the tide of war depending on tech differences, it also makes clear the limits of what firearms can do, in general and by model. These aren't magic guns, though magic does enter into things in another way. I liken the worldbuilding and touches of reality to that of Brandon Sanderson in his e characterization is sparse for the two main leads, Yuki and Dasa, but that is because we are not supposed to search out much about them until the end when we see what happened between the time Yuki awoke in this fresh globe and the time we see them on the street where they stumble onto Berta and the plot. Because of this, their thoughts and perspectives are geared towards the other e other characters, however, have some fairly good, though brief, characterization. Fiona Schillings, the deputy-mayor and Berta are given motives, thoughts, desires, so on, that create them more believable.Another amazing touch for realism I liked was how it showed that religion can be a force for amazing and bad, like much else. And one religion can be better while still being poor in it's own ways. Like political ideology or any philosophy, this can be the ly, I enjoyed how the story was gritty, very gritty, in fact, but ultimately satisfied and idealistic. It's not a cynical, grim-dark tale at all. Poor things happen. Horrendously poor things, but amazing things happen too and if you war for the good, you can, perhaps, victory a satisfied ending and the protagonists here sure do so in this volume.If you buy this volume directly from J-Novel Club, you'll obtain a little gift section that outlines the etymology of the names of people and terms and such and the thoughts that went into translation. It's a really nifty and fun small addition.I hear this is a short series, at only a few volumes long and I can't wait to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    This story has a lot of potential, and follows tried-and-true formula: boy dragged into fresh world, given e downside is that he apparently hates all organized religion (or disorganized), and while the globe makes a compelling point, there is not counter argument. A convincing story allows for amazing guys to exist on the opponent position, and turns the tale from a monologue to a dialogue. The sequence between happenings is short, granting the feeling that the author took scenes from a comic book, wrote a needed number of words per panel, and then turned the e entire 'save the girl from the monster' concept is well done, but it isn't used to strengthen the plot very much. Anything connected to religion is turned evil, from orphanages (easy sacrifice collection) to science (better ways to obtain 'miracles' with which to dupe the public), and such. Frankly, it was depressing. Not what I was looking for.On the plus side, the protagonist does exhibit a believable outlook. He takes care of the initial individual in his 'harem' with a well-described affection; which I appreciate. Taking time to create the actions smooth without overly drawing out the moment takes a lot of mmary: there are worse tales out there, but there are better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Ok I have read worse but damn I have read a lot better. Where to start, first the story is forced and doesn't have a flow. Too a lot of missing pieces in the plot. Story is fragmented and to be honest just not that good. Like I said I have read worse but to be honest it just isn't that good. Def in my opinion just not worth the time or money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    To begin off with...If you aren't a fan of of the whole "reborn in another world/summoned to another world", harem and/or fantasy light novel genres of stories...skip this, move on and spare me, you and everyone your pointless and unneeded then...the amazing I am a fan of such novels, especially if well written and decently translated, then I'm happy. Biases shall henceforth kept to a minimum, but still there most rst off, J-novel Club, barring a few grammar/spelling errors here and there(...very few but still) and the occasional inconsistency in translator cohesion of terms in text...They do GREAT work in content. It feels, on the whole, genuine to original in intent and delivery and the packaging isn't poor for the price. Formatting of spacing could use some work, but I'm seeing a general trend of improvement as more work gets released so that's for the book itself...Fast paced, tight chapters with very clean passages and clear e characters are very distinct and simple to understand, but aren't "see through, though Beets is a bit simole...plot reasons for e contrast of guns to fantasy with the fantasy set on the lower end of the spectrum, what with magic being replaced by alchemy is a nice this is the 1st vol. Don't ask for too much from the plot, it's introductory to the globe "in the middle and focused on the here and now, so much of the narrative will create you curious but won't be answered, at all...just hinted r some, this equals plot holes and shoddy e pacing and quality, as well as for the less impatient, will be pleasantly curious to read more because there are things tok respond and becau se it's a story about this other world.I highly recommend for it's pace, quality and because Yukinari isn't too annoying as an Isekai MC...just too self conscious of his age as a hormonal teenager...ugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Bluesteel Blasphemer Volume 1 introduces us to the main characters and supporting cast and to the basics of the globe and story. Although short, it was fairly interesting and the wars were entertaining. I would describe it as Grimoire of Zero (anime) meets How a Realist Character Rebuilt the Kingdom (another light novel series being translated into English/released by J-Novel Club) with some differences. There are better series out there, but give this series a test if you are bored and looking for something fresh to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Conversation and hero building issues, lots of incomplete sentences that were attempted to be a loss of voice due to awe or fear or similar. The author(s) managed to wrap up a decent amount of hero building at the ugh hero conversation but an enjoyable e less than 300 pages for more than $6.00 is a major negative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bluesteel Blasphemer: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Second novel that I've read that had a MC that has knowledge on firearms when reincarnated, and so far the book developed beautiful well with it. He follows a trend of being a OP MC in another globe but in a special way. Worth the read for six bucks imo

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinite Stratos: Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Not going to ding the series, was a amazing anime, just putting out, that it would be nice if Amazon would post if it was a manga or light novel, which in this case it is a light novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    The stories and artwork here range from just so-so to fantastic. It's quite a mixed bag. Nonetheless I still give it 5 stars due to the value here. This graphic novel collection is HUGE. It took a long time to read it all. You obtain a lot of bang for your buck on some amazing Predator stories. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    My only true gripe, with the collection, is the product should be labeled "The Dutch Schaffer Collection". I was expecting a chronological order of Predator stories, by publishing date. I was surprised to see nothing but Dutch. Not a complaint, but more specifics would be nice. Still, its amazing to see these stories reprinted in full color again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    bonus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    It's amazing for predator fan's but is a small underwhelming. Has some interesting characters and creative predator wars but doesn't present anything about the predators we don't already know, you don't see the predator home globe or how predators interact with one another. I hope the sequel will present more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Bought this already a couple of times i just love the series and I'm a huge Predator and Aliens fan cant wait to obtain a keep of the rest of the volumes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    It arrived in a amazing condition and the content was what i had hoped for. Though having the same protagonist for the first few comics was a bit disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I've always been a fan of the Predator movies, so I was excited when a mate introduced me to comics in general and the Predator series in particular. I really enjoyed the story arcs in this book and the artwork was a lot of fun too. Interesting to see the Predator universe coming more and more to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    If you are a fan of Yatja lore this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Predator Omnibus Volume 1 review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    This is a comprehensive collection of the first series of Predator comics. It probably is not the best book to begin with if you're trying to jump into the canon. I say that because the first part of the book is intolerable, whereas the second, less voluminous part, does its best to redeem the mythos that the first half tried so hard to issue is that the first half of the omnibus is a series of stories starring Detective Schaffer, Dutch's brother (see original movie). This relationship serves no true purpose, at least in this book, other than to give the extremely wooden protagonist a reason to obtain into recurrent entanglements with the Predators. The contrivances are one thing, but the true issue is the Schaffer character. He is so hard and emotionless to the point of total unbelievability that it's offensive to the reader. There doesn't even seem to be a true reason his hero is shaded this way. He is a hulking, brutish yet, in contradiction, refined cop who does whatever he wants without thought of the consequences. He never shows an ounce of humanity and solves every problem, whatever the scale, with excessive violence. *Note that I'm not prudish when it comes to violence or language, rather I feel its employment should have a logical motivation within the story. Another HUGE issue is that Schaffer uses enough tongue-and-cheek one-liners to create Peter Parker seem like a mute. Seriously, it happens in almost every cell Schaffer is featured in, and there are A LOT--too many. When it comes to some comics cheese can be applied, but shaved off a grater. In PO the writer crushes the story with a giant wheel of cheddar. The only thing I can say I took from the first half of the book is a list of cliches to avoid in my own writing, which can be e second half was much better--believable characters, interesting stories--very enjoyable. If only the bulk of the book was more like this.I may go for the second omnibus if the summary abstains from any mention of the detestable Detective Schaffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Another fun and enjoyable series by J-novel. Even though it is another isekai novel, I am a large fan of that genre regardless of how a lot of obtain published. The only fault I have with this novel is that the MC might be too good, so I'm hoping in future novels perhaps that is challenged. Fun characters create this a amazing read even if they do fall into the normal tropes for a harem series. Don't expect anything groundbreaking about this novel but if you just wish something fun, this novel could be for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Fast entertaining read. I had hoped more was done with the smartphone. In reality the MC survives due to his OP magical abilities. All he uses the phone for is cooking recipies, google maps and the occassional picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The fact that the main hero is OP bothers me, but the characters and thee lighthearted nature of the first volume somehow makes up for it and creates an enjoyable story. An anime was announced for this series, so I recommend reading it and future volumes if you wish an idea of what will happen before the anime airs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    The book has potential but most of the characters lack personality and the main hero is too OP. The story lacks any danger. It's just living in a fresh globe but there's no issues so it gets a small boring. Otherwise it's a amazing book with lots of potential.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Had a few laughs reading the story. I was a bit disappointed that the lead protagonist wasn’t coming up with creative methods of utilizing his tablet in the globe he found himself in. I was expecting something a bit more interesting or special plot-wise. If you’re planning to read or have read In Another Globe With My Smartphone, I’d suggest you consider reading Off To Be The Wizard by Scott Meyer, as it’s a much more satisfying story, IMHO.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Guy gets taken to another globe and gets crazy amazing powers. I'm into that, so I enjoyed this book. If you're not, don't pick it up. If you are, do so. I would have preferred an opponent that could match his strength (and there was one, and might be more) but I enjoyed it nonetheless! Thanks for writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I really like this funny harem to be novel. This first volume shows tips on how amazing his hack is going to be. The story is great. If you are looking to read a chill story with some comedy this is your book. I can't wait for volume 2 to be published/released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    i was looking for something fresh to read but i did not wish to dive into something too serious so i decided to take a bite out of a light novel i really hope in the future amazon will bring more light novels from japan and china there are lot of awesome ones out there for every story its fun to see a every day object place into a fantasy globe and how it works with magic in various situations i laughed at some of the spells too the creatures did not feel repetitive and the mc felt like he could grow more as an adult rather than having a fixed personality there was a constant change in mood or settings a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    We're fans of the anime series, and so we really are enjoying the books! They give us insight into more of what the characters are thinking, and they give some background that the anime does not. Besides that, the anime series ends and just leaves you hanging. We hope the books give us some closure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Another World With My Smartphone: Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    While this book does follow a lot of of the normal items that transported/reborn in another globe stories have, the differences have created this story quite good. Can't wait to read the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This first chronicle info the history of the globe up to about 40years prior to the opening of the Dark Portal. Having collected a number of the Warcraft art books released for the android game expansions, I was happy to search that the interior art of this particular book is largely handled by a singular, perfect artist named Peter C. Lee. Instead of the vignettes or concepts, it's usually a well composed stage which he is illustrating - honestly, this is the sort of high caliber art folks who collect the Middle Earth or A Song of Ice and Fire calendars would embrace. Lovely work on his part and not something we are usually treated to seeing. @165 pages, 25 paintings, 8 maps of pre- and post-Sundering of the known world, handful of drawings, quality hardbound with no slipcover.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This book is amazing. The quality is top notch and I am very satisfied with my decision to pre-order it. The cover is well designed and feels like a amazing quality binding. The pages are glossy and have some weight to them, it really looks like they took amazing care to create something of value here. There is A TON of backstory for the Warcraft lore and several highly detailed pictures are sprinkled throughout the pages to offer some visuals. If you are interested in Warcraft's back story and lore then I highly recommend purchasing this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    While I wasn't huge into the lore of the game, I had played the android game since it was an MMO. Recently at work(still productive) I started watching to YouTube lore massive videos place out by Nobbel87 and more humorous, but sometimes lore inclusive videos by Taliesin & Evitel(they are my favorite and funny as hell). They both refer to the Chronicles, so I said...what the hell, why not?These books are awesome. They add substance to the android game globe and really give insight into the factions. Also, the cosmology is presented in an understandable way. Finally, if you are a table top roleplayer, these books would be an perfect resource for building your own e pages are thick and the books are place together very well. Well worth the cash and a welcome addition to any fantasy library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    Absolutely unbelievable for anyone fan of Warcraft and its lore. This chronicle covers all the major happenings that happened in the Warcraft universe from the creation of the universe until right before the begin of the games. You learn about the Titans, the founding of Azeroth, Sargeras' fall and the rise of the Burning Legion, the Battle of the Ancients, the Sundering, and a lot of more pivotal events. Interspersed with all the information you obtain some amazing Blizzard art to go along with it. This book is amazing for anyone who plays WoW, because after reading about these momentous happenings you can login and go check out the locations where they happened, or see the aftermath. I look forward to Volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    As a Globe of Warcraft fan since its release in 2003, I have collected quite a number of WoW books but this one is the best of them all. Sleek hardcover design and excellent binding created this book worthy of any collections, even if you're not a WoW fan, this one would definitely look amazing just sitting in your bookcase. The contents were awesome and well-written, it simply tells you everything you need to know about the WoW lore in general. If this book was an item in WoW, I'm sure it would count as legendary quality. I'm definitely buying the next volume as soon as it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This book is PERFECTION! It gives an awesome history of the entire world, Old Gods, Cosmic forces, Realms of Existence, The Titans, Primordial Azeroth etc and the happenings up until 45 years prior to the Black Portal. Very amazing history, story telling and unbelievable e binding seems very solid, the hardcover and front cover are nice. Not too massive and the pictures, maps and illustrations inside are exactly what any fan or any person would want! BUY THIS - anyone who gave it 4 stars doesn't know what they are talking about!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    It is interesting. In a lot of ways, it reminds me of the tutorials that Chaosium place out for e book reads like a tutorial to Greek and Roman mythology.While there are some nice illustrations (high quality, four color lithos), the book is not full of them like previous WoW tutorials were.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    From the moment I received the pack I knew they knocked it out of the park with this e book is weighty, but not overly so. The cover is thick with a very nice glossy sheen. The graphic of Medivh is a hi-res image, and I expect it to latest the life of the book. Opening the book reveals the quality binding, and the care taken during the manufacturing process. Dark Horse really outdid themselves with this one.ONTO THE LORE!I am a large Warcraft lore buff, so needless to say, I was excited to dive right into this book. I have just read the first 70 pages, and thumbed through the rest. This book covers the period of time from before the founding of Azeroth up until Medivh reaches adulthood. After having read the first few chapters, I can say the quality of writing is very good. It is written as a chronicle, (surprise, surprise) and gives a amazing overview of what exactly happened during the formative years of Azeroth. The illustrations are very good, and provide just the right mood to really enhance the reading experience.I won't spoil anything, but I was really surprised to see that they gave reason to the Titans and their machinations, and more importantly, what drove Sargeras to madness. The book also gives a amazing explanation as to exactly how each school of magic is derived, and how they interact with each other, which was a amazing surprise.I will modernize this review when I finish the book, and give my final thoughts, but at this point I can say I am beyond impressed with this first entry, and I can't wait to dive right back in. Amazing Job Blizzard and Dark Horse!Update:After finishing the book, I can safely say I very much enjoyed it. However, I do have some caveats.Unfortunately, I have been spoiled by the fluff books from Warhammer 40k, which I keep as the gold standard for fleshing a universe out. I can't support but to compare the two. I want the format had been more like the Warhammer books, it would have created it more enjoyable to read, and would have added more depth to the world. It feels like the writer(s) of Chronicle were either held on a very short leash as to what kind of stories they could tell, or they didn't have the imagination to flesh out more of the world. For example, (minor spoiler) the book says that Azshara spread her dominion over most of Kalimdor, but it mostly ends there. In Warhammer fluff, it would have given dates, locations, and parties involved, followed by a detailed description of the wars that took place, and the results. It might seem like a little thing, but it's those kinds of info I wanted from a book like eping to that point, I wish to add that on more than one occasion, the book glossed over fresh lore where it crucially should have been expounded upon, but instead favored already established lore. In my opinion, this really detracts from what I feel the book was designed to do- establish a clear picture as to what Azeroth was like prior to the invasion, where we are first exposed to the world.On occasion, I felt as though the writing fell flat, as if the writer was given a subject to write about, along with stringent rules to adhere to, and so their creativity was hindered. For example. The Troll battles were a huge part of pre- Dark Portal history, but I felt as though we only got a few pages, where it should have gone on for quite some time. Again, I'm comparing it to the Warhammer fluff, but I really do want that the writer(s) were given creative license to flesh out the wars and heroes in the method that a Warhammer book is written.I don't mean to sound so negative, but I just wish this trilogy to be the fresh gold standard for books like this. That said, I originally rated the book 5 stars. I took one star off for my aforementioned caveats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1 review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    The end-all-be-all for lore buffs.Highly recommended for WoW Lore lovers.I didn't even know the second one was released.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter