Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Great, self contained Black Panther epic. I actually liked this better than Panther's Rage. Set in 1986, T'Challa goes to South Africa to search his long lost mother, and along the method wars mercenaries and soldiers of the apartheid regime. Classic Black Panther story told by his signature writer of the 70's and 80's, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    As an author of a book on the Black Panther writers, "Marvel's Black Panther: A Comic Book Biography, From Stan Lee to Ta-Nehisi Coates," I must say that this is McGregor at his best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing piece and a amazing jumping on point if you've just seen the movie.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Panther's Quest (Marvel Comics Presents (1988-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Don McGregor is a genius. His Panther's Rage is my all time favorite graphic story

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing story - origin of the Black Panther, amazing illustrating by Romita Jr., amazing use of some of Marvel's classic villains. Amazing introduction for thos who don't know the Black Panther & wish to learn about him before the film comes out. The DVD ver is very good. My local library has ordered in the prose novel based on this. Can't wait to read it! Recommend this classic..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This graphic novel was the first Black Panther book I've ever read. I read a 4-issue miniseries a long time ago, but it didn't leave much of an impression on me because I've forgotten what the story was even about(I think it was about someone, a cop I think, named Casper Cole taking on the role of Black Panther and fighting corruption on the roads in America). Needless to say, it was not the classic Black Panther that this story is about. This Black Panther, T'Challa of Wakanda(a little independent country in Africa that is both a tribal and simultaneously more technologically advanced nation than any other in the world), is WAY various and MUCH cooler! I have read books with T'Challa in them before, but never one where he was the central hero of the story. And what a heck of a story it e story is an origin story and a suspenseful, political, action-thriller about revenge and power - those who have it, and those who wish it. I won't go into the info of the plot, so don't worry, no spoilers here. What I will do is comment on the quality of the story in both the writing and the rst, the writing. Reginald Hudlin, coming from the film industry, does a nice job in weaving together a history for both the Black Panther and the nation of Wakanda, while telling an intriguing action-thriller that moves at a quick pace which rarely lets up. His movie-making influence can be felt here in the best possible way. His history makes for an perfect transition into telling this story in a wonderfully cinematic fashion. You could see this as a film quite easily. In fact, Marvel Knights DID create this into an animated movie/motion comic. This leads me to the hn Romita, Jr.(a favorite of mine) contributes heavily to the cinematic look and feel of this book. Although the panel layouts are of the simple, classic kind(there are no panels-within-panels/overlapping panels, or non-square/rectangle panels to be found here), which is typical of JRJR's stuff, there is still that feeling of watching a film unfold before your eyes. I search that this is the case with much of his works(see "Daredevil: The Man Without Fear", "[email protected]#$%", or "The Wonderful Hulk v.1: Return of the Monster"). If you aren't familiar with his style, I would describe it as highly tangible. That is to say, it is clearly intelligible. It isn't elusive in any way. It's very straightforward and simplistic. That doesn't mean that it isn't stylized. You could have 100 artists draw the same page, and I could pick his out with ease. His look is both cartoonish and realistic in nature. And his characters have a somewhat blocky nature to them. I happen to like this aspect and think that it works well for him. The amount of detail in his panels is modest, yet he hits all the right notes to sell the reality of the scene. His close-ups, for example, are typically absent of any background elements entirely(aside from a solitary color). He chooses, rather wisely(for HIS style anyway), to emphasize the main focus of the scene; be it an apologetic yet uneasy expression on the face of a prostitute declining a proposition from a customer to let him to kiss her in exchange for added cash; or the photo of two hands - one, the customer's holding out a wad of hundreds, the other the prostitute's, reluctantly outstretched in acceptance of the money - completing the foreboding transaction of which she had just previously declined. JRJR is a master storyteller. He makes even small things like this palpable. And his action sequences? ere were a couple of things that were drawbacks. One was the fact that beautiful much all of the non-Wakandans in the story tended to be portrayed in a rather negative light. I understand that Hudlin was trying to establish that Wakanda was not only technologically advanced, but also socially and morally advanced as well. You can agree or disagree with this premise, but although I think Hudlin may have pushed a small too hard sometimes in trying to validate this stance, I respect his position and I believe that it makes sense within the sociopolitical context of this book. The other thing that detracted from this book was the fast ending. It seemed to end a small too quick for me. But I can live with these things because the overall story is a fun read, and the artwork is great. In the end, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of either JRJR or suspenseful action-thrillers in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I got this because I'm a Black Panther fan, and also because I'm a huge John Romita Jr. fan. Klaus Jansen inks JRJR like no one else can, and for my money, no one else should ink his pencils. The artwork here is very amazing - but lacking something for me. I was trying to figure out why, and I think the book is too dark. Not in storyline, but just in coloring. The older versions if Black Panther have his suit almost a blue color, with lots of massive darks and line work. This gives him a depth and shows off the artistic touches much better than trying to hold him all dark with grays/blacks. JRJR's linework needs to be seen, otherwise his style becomes too blocky and sparse, like cardboard cutouts. The rest of the book is gorgeous, but when it comes to the main character, that's who I wanted to see tricked out in JRJR's e plot was the best in the history of Black Panther yet. It was nice to have him in his country of origin, instead of finding reasons to bring him to huge cities via silly plot twists. I found the tech a small overdone and unexplained, and also the villian was boring and not only named after Inspector Gadget's arch enemy, he had the same gimmicky hand.A solid book for a hero that required it by a amazing team.Look for the animated series on Netflix or DVD - because it's cooler than the book, and I think JRJR's pics came out better in that format. Plus, Captain America's stage figures in much more in the animated series than his too brief treatment here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Group of villians invade Wakanda. The leader, Klaw, has history with Tchalla. Ebony blade falls from the hands of the Black Knight during a war in the sky and remains in Wakanda. The country is somewhat damaged by the intruders.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This collection is a very amazing introduction to the Black Panther and associated aspects of the Marvel universe. Overall it's a fairly straightforward comic tale, but by the end the reader should feel prepared and intrigued to read more stories about Wakanda and the characters introduced here.Fair warning, this is not a Saturday morning cartoon comic. A character's death is the central driver of the story, a handful of other deaths occur along the way, and sometimes the Black Panther values vengeance over virtue. So parents should give it a read before handing it over to young readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a quintessential reboot of the Black Panther Character. This brings Wakanda, and The former avenger to the forefront of political and international intrigue. The books ties the past and show together and shows why T'Challa could be a first string is book could very easily translate into a movie. A fun read for a hero who is so often ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The Black Panther was made in a late-60s fit of conscience. Marvel Comics writers wanted to add a black character to the roster; they saw a news item about some "Black Panther" group scaring white people in California. Boom: The fresh hero had a name, albeit instead of protesting racism in America, he was the superpowered king of a wealthy African dlin has taken a second-tier hero and created him fascinating. In his fresh Panther mythos, the Panther's Wakanda is constantly under siege from arrogant (white) would-be conquerers. One of them, The Klaw, is trying to avenge the shame of his South African forefather, who tried and failed to defeat the Wakandans. He draws blood. He gives the Panther an epic challenge on his home turf. It's a thrilling story that could be turned into a Will Smith car tomorrow. But maybe they'd blow it! Romita's art elevates the story and the action the method some bland CGI never could.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a well written and very interesting story. Really like seeing the rhino in the story. Watching him running through everything is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Perfect book featuring one of my favorite artists. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing buy. No issues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Bought this as a light read, being familiar with the comic. Very pleasantly surprised! Mr. Holland's work on the individual characters was wonderful. Through each of his characters, he was able to make a amazing visual picture of the fictional country of Wakanda. I also felt the dialogue that he provided for the people of Wakanda gave them an air of purpose and dignity. Something that the Black Panther comics that the novel was loosely based on did not. I've read Black Panther comics since Jack Kirby made the hero waaay back when. I've always felt like T'Challa and his country always represented something noble. For anyone who might be unfamiliar with the Black Panther or might be going to see the fresh film from Marvel, this book is an perfect put to jump on board.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    I've read the Reginald Hudlin and John Romita Jr's graphic novel this was based on and I love how Mr. Holland took the story and created it his own, yet the beats and characters rung real to the source material. When Ta-Nahesi Coates finishes his run on the current Black Panther comic, maybe Marvel should hire Jesse Holland to continue the adventures of King T'Challa. He'd be in amazing hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    I ranked this as a lot of stars as I could due to the excellence of this book being able to communicate, in this day & age of racial tension within the U. S., that the only real solution is to break the chains of mental slavery!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Love it!!! Looking forward toMore from this author !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Amazing adventure story for any fan of Black Panther.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel review [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    I am a large fan of Black Panther! He is far more superb than Batman!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Old Mates reunite. Storm is back and she works well with Misty and T'Challa. I liked her arc in this comic because it shows features of her hero that X-Men comics never show. Hope she returns to Wakanda. Coates makes the story unfold in ways that let all the complications they face to seem natural and un-forced. I hope he continues to write the series for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    What a shame. Marvel 86’d Black Panther and The Squad after a measly six issues. Here’s hoping Coates and squad obtain the possibility to bring this squad back in the pages of Black Panther.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Loved it - amazing characters, pacing, art, everything. The method both the current story and the back-story gradually unfolded, while shifting the point-of-view in each problem to introduce a fresh character, was just really effective story-telling for me. I don't read a lot of comics, but I got sucked in by the fresh Black Panther and I thought this was even better. The end felt a bit rushed, but I suppose that makes sense given that this series got canceled when it was really just getting going and they had to wrap things up somewhat re generally, I want Marvel would weight trade paperback sales (is that what these collected editions are called?) more heavily in deciding what to cancel/continue. A lot of book-lovers like me who are just now discovering comics are beautiful uninterested in the traditional model of buying single problems as they come out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Cool. Worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Like so a lot of other reviewers, I am disappointed in the cancellation of this series, because it mars what starts off as some of Coates strongest writing to date, and shines a lot on characters and situations that are timely and deeply divisive. That starting point -- and those first 4-5 problems contained within this trade -- is a powder keg that builds and builds, getting more and more interesting with every turn of the page. But the cancellation of the series clearly forced a sloppy, hasty re-write of the ending in order to test to obtain some sort of closure, and it fails miserably because of that. The final sequence in the final chapter is a complete mess of half-realized action sequences, and the wondrous, poetic prose can't search a break to give us the context we need to understand the final conflict (or even what happens in the individual panels during that final conflict). One of the awesome characters from the flagship Black Panther series shows up without any reason for being here and then literally disappears from the stage (along with Black Panther himself) without any sense of why, or what resolution there might rvel has a issue with too a lot of titles and not letting a lot of fresh series search their audiences, and this trade suffers as a direct effect of that. This speaks to a surprisingly easy solution though, one that Marvel has already found with Star Battles titles: outsource some of them through licensing deals. If titles like the more kid-oriented Star Battles books can search a home with IDW, why can't smaller Marvel titles that are still successful at that level do the same so that we can obtain amazing stories, even if it's just for a few more issues? Now the canon of Marvel has to deal with this sloppy storyline for the rest of time, or do worse: forget it ever happened. When you say that about characters like Panther, Luke Cage, Storm, and Misty Knight, that's a large disservice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    This fresh series is set in Harlem and goes back and forth in time between the 1950s to today telling the story of Ezra Keith, or Lynx, and his gang of heroes who cleaned up the roads back then and then disappeared. Now Harlem needs a fresh brand of heroes to combat the evil that is taking over like with the Americops, a mechanical menace that seems to concentrate all their time in Harlem hassling everyone for the littlest things, such as a radio turned on or for being out in a group and just hanging out.Ezra was arrested for protesting, which was nothing fresh for the old man. However, when he dies in police custody a protest breaks out in the roads that are growing to a near riot level. Ezra's niece and nephew, Hazel and Malik are trying to calm everyone down and hold it from getting out of control. They use Ororo Munroe who had been a mate of Ezra's and is also a mate of Misty Knight's to reach out to Misty, who had been a cop, to seek her support in finding out what exactly happened.Misty will wind up seeking support from Luke Cage and a mysterious man from Australia who was also a mate of Ezra. Of course, T'Challa shows up having gotten a notice from Ezra that peeked his curiosity and discovers Ezra's secret and what really happened all those years ago that even Ezra himself didn't know about. This comic is told with various comic problems focusing on a various character's point of view for when they are not doing the flashbacks, which I thoroughly enjoyed. This is an wonderful squad that is place together to war for Harlem and they have their work chop out for them. Misty has been a favorite hero of mine and Ororo I have loved from X-Men for years and it's amazing to see them together [email protected]#$%. The artwork is soft, in contrast to the story it is telling, and the colors are bold, like the statement that is being said. In the flashbacks I was satisfied to see that they used a light brown sheen to it, almost a sepia tone, to indicate it was the past. This promises to be an perfect series and I can't wait to read the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Black Panther and the Crew: We Are the Roads collects the first six problems of the monthly comic book. The comic was ultimately canceled after six issues, but what's amazing is that this collected edition forms a single, cohesive story that's quite entertaining. The Squad is a black superhero squad comprised of Black Panther, Misty Knight, Manifold, Storm, and Luke Cage. Each of the six chapters of this book is told from the perspective of a various member of the team. The book begins with the after effects of the death of a well-known Harlem activist, Ezra Keith. Keith was a long-time activist for African-American rights who actually had his own superhero "crew" in the 1950's that were originally focused on righting some of the societal wrongs of the time. Throughout his life, Keith had an impact on the lives of a lot of including the members of the present-day Crew. After the death of Keith during a short stint in the local jail, Misty Knight (who is the focus of the first chapter) begins looking into what may have been a murder. In addition to the public unrest at the killing in police custody of a well-known activist, the local community is also in an uproar over the introduction of a robotic police force (the Americops) that tend to be a bit over zealous in their enforcement.Ta-Nehisi Coates is well-known for his non-fiction work and burst into the comic book stage with his revamping of the Black Panther character. The first arc of that title showed that he could do a nice job of globe building -- he fleshed out the nation of Wakanda, developed the core and subsidiary characters, and plotted a revolution and its ultimate resolution. In Black Panther and the Crew, he shows that not only can he tackle a huge revamping such as that, but he can tell a much more compact and complete story. Coates masterfully juggles the storyline of Keith's militant activism of the 1950's and 60's and its ultimate disappointment with the present-day problems being dealt with by Knight, Storm, and the rest of the Crew. The approach in which each chapter is told from the perspective of a various hero is very well-done and nicely moves the story e artwork by Butch Guice is fantastic. He has a realstic quality to his work that's just visually interesting and he doesn't chop corners on any of the pages -- his backgrounds are heavily detailed and quite impressive. Also contributing to the artwork are Scott Hanna, Mack Chater, and Stephen Thompson, and while one can tell a slight change in style on some pages it requires truly looking closely to see any difference. That's an necessary aspect because one of the issues with some other Marvel books (such as the other Black Panther books) is that a platoon of artists are often used and there's a high degree of discrepancy between the method characters look from problem to problem and even page to page making the storyline difficult to interpret at times. This book does a unbelievable job of meshing together related artistic styles.Overall, this is a amazing read. The storyline itself is self-contained, and while there were threads left dangling that would have allowed for future issues, the basic problems are wrapped up nicely and nothing feels unfinished. The only slight gripe one might have about the work is that it's titled "Black Panther and the Crew" and yet the Black Panther really isn't the main hero of the work. The storyline does have some tangential connections to the main Black Panther books, but the basic characters of this book were really Misty Knight and Storm. That said, it works well with those characters at the forefront and created for an entertaining story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    The second spin-off from Coates Black Panther run seeks to bring together a squad of black superhero's from Marvel. Coates main run had a rocky start, but ended up being a decent read as long as you have fun politcal themes. Globe of Wakanda was a heavy dumpster fire. The amazing news is that the Squad follows in the formers footsteps of being a decently enjoyable read. The poor news is that if followed in the latter's footsteps of selling so poor it got cancelled before the first trade came e story begins with a flashback to Ezra Kieth, a black activist who formed the (retconned) original squad in the 1950's. Years after his efforts led to the rise of Harlem, he's found dead while in police custody. Misty Knight and Storm investigate, swiftly followed by Luke Cage, Black Panther, and Manifold. The series features sparse action and a fairly slow pace, but perfect thematic exploration. It's too poor it never really found an audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    We Are the Roads is the excellent blend of real-life history with comics mythology; it gives a fresh perspective on both. Hydra and the Americops are scarily accurate stand-ins for white supremacists and police violence, and the flashbacks to the American civil rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s resonated with contemporary American problems like bells. You don't have to have read Coates' Black Panther series (though I recommend it) to understand Black Panther and the Crew, so don't allow that dissuade you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther And The Crew: We Are The Streets (Black Panther And The Crew (2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    As described, received on time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    This is my first introduction to the Black Panther globe and I felt like there was a amazing balance between introducing me to the hero and his globe and getting right into the story. Looking forward to continuing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Coates does a amazing job of engaging the reader and pushing the story along. I am fresh to reading comics and fresh to the Black Panther universe and am already in love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    YES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Black Panther has always been a deep character. Ta-Nehisi Coates has elevated the scope of the characters story to one that invites the reader to dive deeply into the culture of Wakandan life and does not seek to gloss over the land as utopian but a completely developed country, full of intrigue, intelligence and yes sometimes violence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    Amazing comic, better story!Job well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    My son loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    I can't wait to read the second volume of Black Panther. Interesting characters and amazing illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    All the stars, plus more.. I teach and work - where children deserve and need this sort of stuff. Not for nothing, I think of Coates as an educator first. It is entertaining, and thoughtful - and also complex and pollemical. You pick how to work your experience. And the graphics are AWESOME, they don't just help or illustrate a fresh world. The art communicates WITH the words, and transmits it to us.If you appreciate this, are interested - look into Ta-Nehisi Coates, you can read so much of his work for free, you-tube appearances. He's a columnist for The Atlantic, writing at a load of other places. Author of Between the Globe and Me..This work - it can be a springboard for more exploration, for those knew to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    My first exposure to the Black Panther world. Looking forward to reading more in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:1

    After his introduction in Captain America Civil Battle finally the rest of the globe are aware of his existence... this volume is such a amazing begin and very political. Coetes is taking this very personal. can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    The artwork is beautiful. The dialogue is richness & deep. The Easter eggs like the book cabinet within it are wonderful. So is the thoughts that are provoked and the statements on governance and citizenry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    I shall always love the Crew. This is a worthy read and I look forward to the next book. I recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Love Shuri's story line and her spiritual journey which is rooted in cultural history and the wisdom of the Wakandan women before her. I look forward to seeing the fresh person she has become and how it will affect her relationship with her brother as well as her Wakandan people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    I was barely aware of Back Panther before I started reading Coates's run and I have to say this book is amazing. More than just a superhero comic, this book is a study on political philosophy as well as identity, both private and national.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Unbelievable Story, Unbelievable penmanship, and a amazing continuation of Volume 1. Ta-Nehisi Coates has created me a follower of his Black Panther series. I look forward to when the next volume is released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Amazing book. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    The original comic gift is a amazing touch. Would recommend, especially at the price offered. Can't do much better than this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Amazing series - the storytelling is superb - the drawings and coloring are a excellent fit to the overall amazing package.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Amazing writing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 2 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:1

    Coates writes the best Black Panther yet. If you're a fan of black panther, or even if you're not, you should give this a read. It's also worth reading if you're just a fan of Coates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I like the idea of this book and the ideas that it goes near, but the characters are so underwritten that the notice just feels hollow. It is almost as if this shouldn't be a comic book, but a more fleshed-out epic poem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Coates is an edgy writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Ta-Nehisi's writing is a bit complex for a comic, but it doesn't mar the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    A amazing story. Rich and inviting. Te-Nehisi Coates fails to disappoint quite miserably! I could read a dozen more of these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Very Colourful and vibrant. Kept me on edge. I wish much more. It's a excellent read before the movie. Amazing series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    This series is so incredibly good. The worldbuilding is richly nuanced and morally complex, as are the characters. I recommend this series even if you're not a comics reader, especially if you're not normally a comics reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    This is the concluding segment of a story written by Ta-Nehisi Coates in which King T’Challa (a.k.a. the Black Panther) must war to hold his nation, Wakanda, from descending into chaos and revolution. It features “Black Panther (2016)” #9-12, as well as some supplementary material from “New Avengers (2013)” #18, 21, and with the other volumes in this story, there is a major and a minor plot, and at the beginning of this Volume the latter resolves itself in order to fold into the main story. The major plot involves an attempted revolution fomented by a man named Tetu who heads a revolutionary organization called “the People” that has engaged in terrorist and other nefarious activities. While progress was created versus Tetu and his allies in Volume 2, he still presents a threat to the throne and to Wakanda. However, Tetu isn’t the only threat to the nation. Wakanda’s issues are bigger and more systemic than that. While Tetu is a terrorist, there are dissenting factions with far more legitimacy, including the Midnight Angels (former bodyguards to the King, i.e. ex-Dora Milaje) and the much loved philosophy professor, e secondary plot involves T’Challa’s find for his sister Shuri who has been trapped in the Djalia, the Wakandan plane of memory. At the end of the second volume, T’Challa resumes the find using a technology that channels and amplifies the powers of his mate “Manifold.” As it happens, bringing Shuri back occurs effortlessly, but it seems returning her to this globe isn’t so critical to the story as the result her experience had on her. She returns with an encyclopedic knowledge of the history of Wakanda as well as numerous inexplicable supernatural abilities. The past queen plays an necessary role in the balance of the story both by advising T’Challa, fighting, and lending her influence with the Midnight Angels (ex-Dora Milaje.)The war for Wakanda plays itself out as both a war of action versus forces controlled by Tetu and Zenzi as well as a war for the minds of the people (not to be confused with the organization “the People.”) I found it to be a intelligent e supplementary material from “New Avengers (2013)” was illuminating. My only issue with it is that it occurs after the story is complete. If one just reads this Ta-Nehisi Coates arc, one might wish to go to the end of Volume 3, and read this material first or pick up the whole “New Avengers (2013)” story. By doing so, one will have a much better understanding of why there is so much conflict in Wakanda, and why T’Challa is so unpopular. It’s hinted at here and there, but I didn’t understand the motivation fully until this material showed the happenings rather than offering random backstory tidbits.I would recommend this story for anyone. I don’t think one needs to be a regular comic book reader or have a particular interest in the Black Panther hero to search it interesting and enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    After meeting Brian Stelfreeze at a comic book convention latest week, I can only describe this story and the comic book equivalent of poetry. The art and story were already powerful, but they combine into something beyond their individual parts. Ta-Nahisi Coates fills each script with poetic flow and motifs. He has been learning to give zone to the artist to place in his own references and character. And so each panel gives us a jam of history, mythology, action and more. I have not caught it yourself a favor. Pick up this book. And just know that it has inspired the look and feel of the fresh Black Panther film coming out in 2018.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 3 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I truly wanted to like this story arc of Black Panther but I found much of it to be a hard slog with too a lot of talking heads, huge doses of pretentiousness, and insufficient action or exploitation of the comics medium. I found the plot muddled and was confused by the characters and their motivations. I haven't read a lot of previous Black Panther problems and this series wasn't very friendly to the fresh reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    If this series didn't obtain cancelled, this would be an EASY recommendation. Amazing artwork, special storyline that you won't see anywhere else in comics and the writing backs all of it up. My problem is that:1. The main storyline is really problem 1-4 in this book and problems 5 & 6 are sub plots of fresh characters (who if I had to guess, would have been integrated into the main story in later issues).2. The story doesn't end with this s a shame because I enjoyed this title. The Dora Milaje is one of the most appealing parts of the Black Panther Universe. The fact that a rich, black king of the most advanced country in the globe has beautiful, [email protected]#$%, female bodyguards is awesome and I was happy to see that this book got to peek behind the curtain to reveal what goes on behind the ranks of the group. This book did a amazing job of having T'Challa take a backseat and letting the ladies tell their story of Wakanda from a woman's point of view. What is it like being the private security of royalty, while dealing with your own issues?Again, amazing book, but the only knock is that you won't obtain the pleasure of finishing this amazing story. I think if this were to have been released a year later, then it could have survived, but for now, if you're a Black Panther die-hard then give this a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    This is the 1st time I've read the back story or any story regarding Black Panther. Now I'm intrigued and must read the next comic book in the series. I rated this book 5 stars because it had all of the qualities of a unbelievable sci-fi or fantasy book plus well drawn, attractive graphics that at times, created me pause and stare at the page. I look forward to getting to know each hero as I continue my journey into the globe of Wakanda.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    Loved this comic filled with action, romance, and dynamic female characters. The connection between the main characters immediately sucked me in. So sorry this won't be continued.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    This is my second graphic novel series (March was also excellent). The story and artwork is so attractive both aesthetically and symbolically. Both are rich with wonderful depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    This would have been much better if it was actually all 6 problems of the mini series, as the link and ISBN implied. Amazing comic though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    Have always loved this comic. Positive photos and powerful females create for amazing reading. I hope the film does the series justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    required this for a class. exactly as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    Roxane Gay does amazing work with the Dora Milaje. It is very relatable to watch people torture themselves over the choice between love and duty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    Love this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:1

    Would love for Hollywood to create a film following this writer's format!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    With the fresh Black Panther film looking astonishingly amazing from its trailers, a timely Amazon sale sent some of the latest comics starring the King of Wakanda tumbling my way.Well, I suppose from 2016, so not the most latest - but the run by Ta-Nehisi Coates has been raved about by fellow fans of T'Challa so it was about time I took a look.I've long been a fan of Black Panther - I tend to gravitate towards heroes who aren't mighty gods or universe-menacing Phoenixes - and so the combination of genius scientist and stealthy fighter has long appealed.I'll confess, though, that I'm awfully glad that I bought book two at the same time as book one. Coates takes his time to search his feet with his story - or rather, more to the point, he has a huge story to tell but sometimes in volume one rushes through the actual telling, and you end up piecing a couple of the parts of the tale together in your head rather than reading it on the page. He's much more in his stride by the second volume, so if you search yourself place off a small by the opening collection, stick with it, it comes together much better as the problems go e story itself tackles the tale of Black Panther as king, fighting to keep together his kingdom from threats within and without. He isn't all-seeing or all-wise, rather he's a man underneath the legend, making political choices that might not always be for the best, but are mostly created with the best e tale tackles problems of nationalism, identity, monarchism and democracy - weighty matters that go beyond the usual supervillain hokum of a lot of comics. Sometimes, that strays into location of infodumping, but as I say, the way of telling the story keeps improving.I'm not terribly sure it will serve as a amazing introduction to readers for the Black Panther film - but it's a strong look at the globe the comics hero inhabits - with a wider landscape than his stories are often afforded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    This is a amazing book that holds real to the original theme. The modern flavor injected by Coates is great. The greatest addition was the inclusion of the Black Panther introduced in Unbelievable Four. It shows his cunning, ability, and means. Such a amazing collection. On to the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Ta-nehisi Coates crafts a brilliant comic in his first turn as writer for Black Panther. The tale addresses tradition, power dynamics, and oppression in a method that brings life and current themes into the comic that I look forward to seeing on the silver screen. Volume 1 sets up a conflict between two nations, a system of oppression between two peoples, and the legacy of the kingdom. I look forward to reading Volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I've read critique in some other reviews that Nation Under Our Feet doesn't have enough action. A relative fresh comer to the genre I don't have a long private history of reading graphic novels, but what has drawn me to them are the often complex and conflicted characters portrayed. This book has lots of that. There are few clear amazing or poor characters, most believe passionately they are trying to preserve what is amazing or improve their homeland. They are just humans working within our physical and psychological e plot has my attention, and much of the artwork is spectacular. Looking forward to reading the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Exceptionally written and drawn. An absolute pleasure to read. I’m so glad I picked this up at Amazon and I can’t wait for Volume 2. By the way, this volume was a amazing companion to the recently released masterpiece Black Panther movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I read through a bunch of reviews of this book that didn't think to highly of it. Admittedly, it isn't as action filled as other superhero comics, but those are a dime a dozen. I'm glad that this book ended up being something various because it takes a possibility on appealing to a various audience and I think it works rst off, this book opens with the Black Panther returning to a broken Wakanda. It's not literally broken; instead it is broken in spirit. The people have lost faith in their leader after several incursions from outside forces. Different warlords are seeking to take control of various parts of the nation and the common people are cracking. How can this nation be brought whole again and what will the Black Panther's role be in it?I've never read a Black Panther story before so I didn't really have any expectations on what this book would be. This gives a amazing history of Wakanda and the Black Panther, and I enjoyed the political aspects of it as well. There are a couple of outlaws that are working to support the people without actively acting versus the country's leadership (so far). I liked the characters despite not being familiar with most of them e art is fantastic. There are some really gorgeous sections. I could easily see this being the favorite part of a lot of readers. There are some sections of the book that are kind of dry. This volume aims to set the stage for the character in a lot of ways and prep for future events. I think it succeeds and I am looking forward to reading the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    This book received a lot of coverage because of the its author but I wish to review the artist first. Brian Stelfreeze has been around awhile and this is his best work by far. Awesome layouts and pencils. Unbelievable work. Each panel a delight. Coates' plot is very good. Full of political intrigue and familial drama. The script could have used more exposition, especially with the amount of characters and locales that are introduced. Overall, a very amazing beginning to what I hope is awesome run.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Like the title says, I highly recommend reading this twice just so you can fully grasp what is going on. Basically internal revolution is coming to Wakanda from two sides, and the whole volume is T'Challa trying to figure out what exactly is going on. Overall you learn a lot of the Wakandan culture and it's heritage... This is a political thriller so if your not into that you might not be able to hold up with the story, but it created much more sense the second time I read it. Besides that, there is the Unbelievable Four story that gives you the Black Panthers origin, a neat gift for picking this up!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    This reprints the first four problems of the current Black Panther series plus it contains a reprint of the Unbelievable Four problem that was the first appearance of the mething for both fresh fans and old timers like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet Vol. 1 (Black Panther (2016-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    This is my first introduction to the Black Panther globe and I felt like there was a amazing balance between introducing me to the hero and his globe and getting right into the story. Looking forward to continuing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther Vol. 4: Avengers of the New World Part 1 (Black Panther (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    Maybe it was because of the political setting of the first three volumes... but this was more linear and I found this one just method easier to follow. The idea of the Orisha going missing is especially interesting and I hope that there is. Volume 5 released in the future. Definitely recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    When a Marvel hero is announced for the huge screen, you know an incoming of fresh printings is inbound to be published. With his first appearance next year in Captain America: Civil Battle and his own movie in 2017, Black Panther is a hero long over due for the spot light. Which, you would think being the first African American superhero in comics would obtain you more respect than some other characters since appearing in goes with a fast recap: T'Challa, AKA Black Panther ; King of Wakanda, an African nation with some of the most wealthiest and advanced technology in the globe thanks to it being the zone of vibranium, one of the most sought after minerals in existence. Black Panther is super character for the Avengers and leader/monarch figurehead to the Wakandan people. Now that means there have been numerous interpretations of the hero throughout the years, but it wasn’t until the hero was relaunched in 1998 series under black writer Christopher Priest where he became the modern day ver everyone uses now. And yes, it’s a pleasant offering for fresh and old readers on Black llecting problems #1-17 (, BLACK PANTHER BY CHRISTOPHER PRIEST VOL.1 COMPLETE COLLECTION shows T'Challa comes to America to investigate the kidnapping and murder of a small girl who was affiliated with a Wakandian charity group. Tensions are high for Wakanda having a civil battle back home, but T’Challa feels he needs to investigate this himself even with issues in his home land. So T’Challa brings his own entourage of body guards including Zuri, a hulk-like warrior and two teenage assassin’s named the Dora Milhje, with government agent Everett K. Ross is assigned as an escort to help and hold relations with Wakanda. He figured it would be simple work and just tailed along with the King's entourage. But things go crazy quickly as Black Panther has been setup, his home country been taken over from his absence, and the lord of Hell, Mephisto, has something to do with all of rious versions of Panther existed before Priest took control like the 70’s being very serious and reflective, to Jack Kirby being over the top. Priest reverts Panther more akin to Stan Lee’s original ver being able to outsmart the likes of Reed Richards (who is one of the smartest characters in the Marvel Universe) and go toe-to-toe with The Thing, while adding a some of his past versions as to no alter the character’s rich history. This makes Priest work on Panther parts urban vigilante, political thriller, and even e first twelve problems are one tightly woven story of Black Panther dealing with the kidnapping case and reclaiming Wakanda, while problems #13 through #17 are single/two problem tales of Panther teaming up with different Marvel characters that are quite amusing to see the interaction with. This is created up for the narration of the stories by Everett K. Ross, who speaks through his observations in a highly comical and witty way to his superiors (for example he loses his pants in front of Mephisto and by accidently selling his soul for pants, he just keeps unzipping his pants to have another pair on). He’s a coward and a bit dumb, as well as explains his stories in a non-linear narrative akin to the Quentin Tarantino film, Pulp Fiction (which even his superior mentions this). So while Ross is the comedic relief and narrator, Black Panther or “the Client” as Ross says, is the straight man with very small to say. It’s a amazing method to counter balance the vibe for readers.And because Panther is the straight man, Priest makes Panther very much like DC’s Batman in his abilities and gadgets, his overall look, and insane strategist skills in keeping 10-steps ahead of everyone, so much so that he admits to joining the Avengers just so he can hold an eye on them if they were a threat to Wakanda . Even his fresh villain Achebe, looks and acts an poor lot like DC’s Joker with a huge grinning smile and crazy habits. This Batman-esque Black Panther has become the standard for modern day writers to inhabit that makes this a worthwhile read, being more about using his smarts and being begin to the e art supplied from the first 5 problems is Tag Texeira, Vince Evans doing the second story arc with Joe Jusko and Mike Manley, with Sal Velluto doing the rest. The art is amazing that ranges from gritty to comical (like problem #8 having an ode to Stan Lee/Jack Kirby flashback sequence). It’s overall amazing stuff. With the addition of the Marvel Knights Sketchbook extras that give numerous drawings and interviews to Priest on the hero that are worth I know my Amazon rating is 5 stars, but I’m scoring it around 4 ½ stars. The only issues I had were the storytelling way Priest uses like Pulp Fiction is confusing at first. In fact, it’s used predominantly throughout his whole run on Black Panther. It does ease up in later issues, but the shifting story might not jive well with some readers. And the second aspect might be the racism aspect some readers might get. What I mean by this is the dichotomy between Ross and Panther that some sources have pointed out throughout the years. Ross is the bumbling white guy who gets chased down the White House by the Show of the United States while Black Panther is the cool-headed, rich super hero. I personally didn’t obtain that vibe, as well as Priest himself not portraying dumb ethnicities. He even goes so far as to have a few scenes where black characters test to sway Panther into a symbol for African Americans, which Panther shoots this down and looks at all lives, regardless of skin color, being vital to life. But I just wanted to point that out if any fresh readers obtain that feeling. And the notion of Black Panther being a Batman-like clone might gel well either (even if both characters have various upbringings and motives).Still, I’m glad Marvel decided to reprint these fine stories. They are exciting, funny, and even insightful to still read about and create Black Panther stand out from the other characters. It was ground-breaking items back in the day, which you can see why he has become a strong figure in modern Marvel comics thanks to Priest work on the character. Well with Black Panther making his movie debut next year, this is the first collection to be released to lead up to next year. The first two trades (Black Panther Vol. 1: The Client and Black Panther: Opponent Of The State TPB) are out of print and pricey, with much of Priest work uncollected before. So with writing a whopping 62-issues, there is plenty of Black Panther material on the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Amazing book, Christopher Priest is a talented writer and his work with T'challa is nothing short of amazing. If you liked Civil Battle and have a desire to read some Black Panther stories, this collection is a amazing start. It includes the first 17 problems of Priest's run, which is an amazing value for the price. The book came well binded and the artwork was high quality, no faded pages or dull colors anywhere! Overall, an amazing story for an amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    With the film coming out in 2018 I decided to obtain my son caught up on the story line. Love the fact that all of the comics are in one book so I don't have to worry about him losing books. Well constructed and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    This was my first major exposure to this character, and it is fantastic. I definitely plan on buying Volume 2. If you're at all curious about Black Panther, I think this is a amazing put to start, but I don't generally read comics so I may be wrong. But I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    This is the true deal. One of the best Black Panther as well as well written stories, fleshing out characterizations and motivations. I now I must read Priest's Deathstroke the Terminator.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Interesting back story before the film comes out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    if there is a black panther series out i will buy it. at least to try. ive read plenty of black panther and there is lots of amazing panther comics this is my favorite by far. priest is a terrific writer who struck gold with this take on BP. i hope you obtain to have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    If you have ever been interested in black panther lore, or black superheroes in general Christopher Priest's Black Panther run is beyond a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    bought this as a bonus and they really enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 1 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:1

    Learned a lot. Who knew all these black characters were around??? I look forward to reading more issues. Amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    With the film coming out in 2018 I decided to obtain my son caught up on the story line. Love the fact that all of the comics are in one book so I don't have to worry about him losing books. Well constructed and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    amazing add to growing collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    Finally! Clamored for Priests's work on Black Panther to be collected for years! Kudos to Sal Velutto and Bob Almond as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    cant wait to obtain all volume

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    Don't sleep on Black Panther. This political thriller is a attractive and engaging read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    if you don't like pup fiction or reading in reverse don't read. but amazing story cause I can reread it over and over to figure out the pieces of the puzzle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    Amazing! The Priest run of black panther has created him one of my favorite characters!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther by Christopher Priest: The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (Black Panther (1998-2003)) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:1

    amazing book no complaints

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter