Book of Death: Dark' Reviews & Opinions


Submit Book of Death: Dark' review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 46) review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Dark in Death by J. D. Robb is the 46th book in her unbelievable In Death series. I am one of the proud fans who can say that I have read every single book, including novellas in this series…..and I never ever wish it to end. I have said this so a lot of times…I love Eve & Roarke; the best literary couple ever. Ok, now let’s move on to my review. 🙂Dark in Death begins when Eve has just gotten home from a long day at work, when her phone rings to summon her to a murder scene. Eve and Peabody will start to investigate the gruesome death of an actress in a film theater, which was showing the movie Psycho. The actress was stabbed in the back of her neck with an ice pick, and there were no witnesses, since everyone in the theater was engrossed in the wild violent shower stage of the movie.A well known author comes forth to mention that the murder stage resembles one of her books. In a short time, Eve will realize that this is not the first murder, as a latest death also resembles another of the author’s books. The race is now on to search the now serial assassin before they slay again.Eve and Roarke start to read the author’s books to search clues to who & how will be next. I thought this was a amazing theme, especially since Eve Dallas written by J.D. Robb is also a murder themed series. It was kind of a various storyline for Robb (aka Nora Roberts), and yet very interesting.What follows is an intense and suspenseful case, with the squad desperate to search the murderer. As they obtain closer to discovering the identity, the culprit will be a step ahead of them to slip away. Just when Eve warns people that they could be the next target, to her dismay, they did not listen and another murder happens. Eve, Roarke, Peabody and the squad are able to identify the murderer, but will they be able to stop the next murder in process? I will not give spoilers, as saying too much more would ruin it for you.Dark in Death was another unbelievable intense, exciting murder mystery in the unbelievable globe of Eve and Roarke, and the amazing supporting cast that surrounds them. It was nice in calmer moments to see Nadine again, as well as Mavis, Leonardo, Bella, not to mention the regulars we have come to love; Peabody, McNab, Feeney, etc. I loved the scenes with Eve and Roarke cuddling on the sofa by the fireplace reading the books, and with Summerset on vacation, deciding to try out having sex in the other rooms. Those were the light fun moments, as they are so amazing together in every way. Sigh I love them, andeven Galahad their cat. lolDark in Death was so well written by Robb, and there were some keep your breath moments that kept us on the edge of our seats. If you have not read this series, you are missing one of the best thrillers, with a super couple, and amazing secondary characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book of Death: Dark review [App]  2019-8-11 13:0

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Oddly, I've never cared for Nora Roberts' (J.D. Robb is her pseudonym) books. I pick them up, read for a bit, but never obtain enthused about plot or characters. I've yet to manage to finish even one of Roberts' books. But the "In Death" series? It ROCKS! Newbie readers need to know that the murder scenes are grisly and nightmarishly inventive - as the immortal Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe said, "There are only three or four ways to slay a pig - but there are hundreds of ways to slay a man," (or woman...or child, in Robb's series). And yes, you really should read them in order, especially the first dozen."Conspiracy"'s plot is one of skill and expertise corrupted by arrogance. Throw in a few poor cops and a frame-up, and Lt. Eve Dallas' globe gets seriously rocked. The vividly drawn side characters, gradually introduced in the series (yes, you really do need to read the early books in numeric order), along with her husband Rourke, help her through this tumultuous period, as she struggles to break a 'conspiracy of silence' between the murderers and solve a string of baffling murders.Eve Dallas is the kind of kick-a$$ hero other authors should take a clue from. She's rude, crude, and mean as a snake in her single-mindedness to bring murderers to justice, no matter how low or high in society. The series starts off with an improbable love story ("Naked In Death") which gives this series its depth. I can honestly say there is no better portrait of marriage in fiction: two stubborn, tough-minded, wounded people who love well, war hard (not just verbally but physically), and struggle through establishing their own "rules of marriage".There are well over 40 books in the series, and a number of short stories contained in different anthologies. If like a lot of of Dallas' fans, you search the In Death series addictive, do be aware that several of these shorts have been re-issued in various compilations, so be careful not to accidentally buy shorts you may already have.I reread this series all the time. It's gotten rather formulaic, but Dallas and Rourke themselves remain a constant delight for fans, as enduring a couple as Nick and Nora Charles, or Lord Peter and Harriet Vane.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Book of Death: Dark' or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Book of Death: Dark' video reviews and related movies:

    See Darksiders 2 Collectibles Walkthrough - Book of the Dead Pages 1-10 on youtube.

     related image

    See Darksiders 2 - All Book of the Dead Page Locations (The Book of the Dead Trophy / Achievement) on youtube.

     related image

    See Necronomicon: The most dangerous magic book of history that is said to have made the reader crazy. on youtube.

     related image

    See Book of Death: Dark office trailer / play store on youtube.

     related image

    See Book of Black Earth - I See Demons on youtube.

     related image

    See Dark Knights: Batman- The Red Death #1 FULL BOOK! on youtube.

     related image

    See REAL DEATH NOTE! on youtube.

     related image

    See Necronomicon: Book of Dead (1993) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    It is a very exciting book. I had read Divided in Death on to the end. I am now picking up all the beginning books one at a time. I am on my 8th one in 5 weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I love this book. Eve goes head to head with a fellow officer who doesn't think Eve advanced on her own merits. Eve deals with internal affairs, a crime syndicate that is evil and international, heartbreak and nightmares. Roarke's help of Eve is perfect. There are moments where I was on the edge of my seat, times when I cried and joyful. Beautifully written and I love the characters. Dr. Mira is becoming more necessary to Eve. We are also introduced to Officer Trueheart. Love him!. I can't wait to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This series is more character-, less plot-driven than a lot of of its kind. This eighth book felt a bit more so, not that the pace isn't driving or the story is in any method dull. It was also less gory than its predecessor, Vengeance in Death, and some of the others (not that the others are unbearable, but I did appreciate the break). It's tougher, emotionally, as we see Eve's identity ripped away and she falls apart. Of course Roarke is there for her--more unbelievable than ever--with a full complement of remedies :>). Peabody, Feeney, and Mira lend support, with a couple of sweet cameo appearances of Mavis, and some others.I like that the series' setting is futuristic enough to create it interesting without dominating the story. I also have fun watching the characters and their relationships grow and develop from book to book. While each of the stories does stand alone, if you don't read them in order, you'll miss that pleasure, and since it's really all about the characters, you might be disappointed in the mystery/police procedural plot as well. This book, in particular, wouldn't be the best put to start, that would be the first one, "Naked in Death."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I love the In Death Series. When you read them in order it's like visiting old friends. Would recommend the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This is one of her best in the death series. The book is amazing and you can't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This about the tenth time ,I have read this book. It seems every time a fresh one comes out, I obtain the urge to re-read the entire series, starting with Naked in Death. I love books that I can have fun more than once. This one being one of the ones destroyed by a flood in the apt., making the enjoyment even more than usual. I highly recommend JD Robb.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Absolutely great! Talk about a plot twist that came from no where. Amazing story, cabby wait for the next one!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    J.D. Robb is a unbelievable author and this series "In Death" is worth it! I've read the one's before this and I'm going to finish the series. Love the main hero and that it's set in a furtristc setting. Normally I'm not into such things, but this series and character's are not what I expected. Love this novel and the series. She comes at you from unexpected angles. Even I'm surprised! That's hard to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Book 8) review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I'm not going to go into a synopsis of the story so much as create a general comment on the 'in death' series....if you are like me and are fascinated with such television shows as 'forensic files', 'cold case files', etc....you should have fun any 'in death' book you read...If it were me (and I did), I would read the series from the begin (Naked in Death) and understand it takes put in the near future. You will search a futuristic power couple who can create you laugh, and bring a tear on occasion with some lusty sex scenes thrown in! However the thought process along with Eve Dallas's almost psychic instinct, are the ultimate 'hooks' to these is book is a winner, but then I haven't found an 'in death' story that I haven't liked!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I loved this recent J.D. Robb offering. The amount of background info given and the brief inclusion of a lot of of the secondary characters seemed just right. In some of the previous books, Eve's backstory was repeated so often and in such repeated detail, that it became boring for someone who has followed the series from the beginning. This time, there was enough background given to inform a fresh reader, but not so much that it seemed like a long milarly, the secondary characters played enough of a part to allow us know how they are doing, but not so much that they detracted from the main focus of the plot. Nora Roberts has made a rich cast of supporting characters, which adds texture and helps the hero development of Eve and Roark. They can't all play a huge role in every book, however, and Roberts uses them wisely; when they can help the plot, they have a larger role, and when they aren't required for that, they obtain less page time.I particularly liked the method Eve's and Roark's relationship is growing and changing. The sex scenes are more gentle and Eve is a bit softer and less aggressive with Roark. She still has her hard edge with work, but her private relationships are evolving as she gains a wider circle of amazing mates and as she becomes comfortable in her marriage. If Eve's hero remained static, with the hard edges perfectly intact, she would seem to be more of a caricature and less human-like. The softening is just right; it reflects the positive changes she has undergone since her marriage, but leaves enough of the [email protected]#$% Eve show to maintain the integrity of Eve's personality.I liked the plot in this book. It held my interest and kept me turning the pages. Some reviewers felt the identity of the villain was too obvious and this spoiled the story. Whether or not the villain was obvious was not a consideration for me. I enjoyed the journey from the beginning to the unmasking. How the characters interacted, how the investigation unfolded, the dialogue and the combination of investigative and private relationships kept me engaged throughout the readers will react to this book and whether or not they will like it, may depend upon what direction the reader wants the series to take. If readers likes an organic type of growth, with a gradual shift to a gentler, happier Eve, they will likely appreciate this book. Those who wish the hero of the darker, anti-social, unhappy Eve that was introduced in the beginning of the series, will probably think this book is too light.I was very satisfied with this book and I recommend it. I think it was very well written and I love the method Eve is growing and evolving. There are critics who feel the book is not real to J.D. Robb's writing style and think it was not written by her. I definitely did not obtain that sense. It is not that she is writing out of character, but that she is writing to evolving characters. However, we don't all like the same things or view things the same way, so there will be readers who do not feel as I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    This was an interesting book because I didn't feel for the initial victim as I usually do when Eve first comes across them. I would never have pegged a certain person, not to give away that detail for others' reading pleasure, to search the first DB, but it was funny when Lieutenant Dallas came on stage and started getting into it with the other person. Afterward, the plot becomes convoluted while Dallas and Peabody test to search Trey Zeigler's murderer, whom no one liked and held grudges ere was plenty of Roarke in here too and I think something about this particular case got to them both because Eve is a bit mellowed than usual with him alone. With everyone else, she's just as brusque and standoffish as usual. It's not to say that she doesn't also have her moments with Roarke, but they obtain resolved quicker than usual because she gets a renewed sense of him as her husband, her faithful partner in all things, after seeing how badly gone astray other people's marriages can e Christmas party in the middle is just icing on the cake and I can't wait to see Delia more in her fresh pink leather coat. It's just funny how much that odd color gets under Eve's skin until she ends up gritting her teeth. But it's fun, too, seeing her deepen those relationships with mates and her husband, to know that, no matter what happens, she has people she can rely on during the worst situations.And now to see what's next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    You just hold turning page after page, and obtain all wrapped up in the story! Even Santa sort of shows a time or too! Even Galahad the cat, plays his own jingle bells kind of! The holidays can be a true killer!!! Party, sex, murder... what's not to hold you interested? Think the assassin is someone ...but who?There are a lot of to choose from; all with amazing reasons!!! Satisfied reading...ho ho ho!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Have read all of the in h series and was disappointed with this one. It just did not seem to have the pace and did not hold who the murderer was. I like the relationship with Rourke and there didn't seem to be enough of that in this story. It almost felt as though J. D. Robb was hurrying to obtain this book done without all the mystery. I will continue to read her in death series because for the most part she writes perfect stories for this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Christmas time, and Lt. Dallas has their annual Christmas party to support with, as well as another murder on her plate. At 3:00 in the morning, she has to roll out of bed to respond a 911 call from Trina, her feared hair- and skin-care consultant; the murder victim was discovered by her and a co-worker, ex-girlfriend of the victim. Investigation proves the murder victim, while a amazing physical-fitness trainer, handsome and charming, was also a serial rapist, resulting in a lot of suspects for his murder. In between all the police procedures to track down the killer, Eve has to squeeze in Christmas shopping, and decorating the home she and Roarke share, due to a deal she created with Somerset about wrapping Christmas presents. She manages one-stop shopping by going back to the small boy road vendor who helped her close down an identity-theft scam, and with Mavis's help, pulls off the decorating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Another book in LT Eve's story and of course Roarke, her richer than Colossus husband. The stories and nuances are getting monotonous. Eve and Summerset hauling insults at each other is getting childish. The series need a jolt in the arm. It is getting monotonous. We need some zingers, some angst in the relationships and between the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    It kept turning in my head because I couldn't see the assassin especially after Eve's talk with Charles. I had it narrowed down to two until the latest two chapters. I never tire of reading the series. My maternal grandmother got me hooked on the series and I suggest the author when someone is looking for someone new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    These books are thoroughly entertaining to me. I love the fast wit of this power couple. I have read so a lot of of the books in the series that the characters are like old mates to me. I can visualize each and every one of them. This particular book centers on death around Christmas and involves the rich and popular of Fresh York City. There is adultery, attempted murder and murder as well as a lot of despicable characters including the victim. Not until the epilogue do we know beyond a shadow of a doubt who the assassin is although we are beautiful sure it is not the obvious person. I love the small info of life in the not so distant future Fresh York Town especially Roarke and Dallas's Christmas party, bonus giving and bonus exchange. I guess the largest kick I obtain out of these books is the fact that I perceive my husband to have a lot of of the attributes of Roark and their banter reminds me of ours'...am I just dreaming or what?! The only thing that might improve this book is reading it during the holiday season rather than in 94 degree weather!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    For a mystery series to work, the protagonist must meet fresh challenges, even grow, while maintaining who they are. This is why, for example, Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe was as new in 1975's final story "A Family Affair" as he was in 1934's opener, "Fer-de-Lance". The lack of growth and challenges to Eve Dallas following "Celebrity" along with the obvious mistakes, predictability and lack of amazing dialogue create the series feel tired, when just a few years ago, "New York To Dallas" was the stunning acme. My wife introduced me as I am a fan of Sue Grafton, Walter Mosley, Sara Paretsky, and now Peter Temple. But like so a lot of of her trilogies, Nora Roberts seems to be phoning it in. Of latest books, only "Concealed" has any fresh interests: Mavis's back story and ambiguity about the killer's guilt, offset some, but not all of the flaws in the story. Why not have Eve baffled and Peabody figure it out, instead of just being Dallas' Sancho Panza? Or a regular appears dirty and Eve's faith in them is shaken? Or a regular is killed off? There are a lot of ways to take the series. "In Death" needs a transfusion or to be ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Festive in Death (In Death, Book 39) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I have been reading this series since almost the beginning, I think I missed a couple of books early on, but since Roark and Dallas became engaged, I haven't missed one book. These were also favorites of my mother's so it helps me connected to her since her latest death. I hold hoping that Eve is going to obtain pregnant and at some point, Summerset will have to deliver the baby. The plots are always great, they create me cry as well as laugh out loud!! Please sir, might I have some more???

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I enjoyed reading this book 📚, it has amazing storyline. Can't wait for more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I love all of my In Death Series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    Amazing book! Could not place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    Tops in my book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    Love all J. D. Robb books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    In keeping with the J.D. Robb books prior to this one, we have an entertaining murder mystery starring a cop with an attitude who always gets her "man". While the "in Death" books are not highly suspenseful, the stories have well-developed plots and characters with "just-right" humor. This one is no exception. I have not read a lot of of J.D. Robb's books but have fun them enough that I will continue reading them as I am able to obtain them. I definitely recommend this book and this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    Amazing Eve Dallas book. She uncovers what is going on and then has to figure out why. Amazing mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    I loved e book is more about the crime rather than any development of the interpersonal relationships from the In-Death series. Roarke and Peabody are there of course, with a few glimpses of Mira, Mavis, Nadine, Sommerset, as well mentions of other fav characters like Charles and Louise.I loved the method Lt Dallas goes about solving the crime. I even loved the mini story-in-story about the mega church and its preacher. The premise was was amazing and of course Ms Robert's expertise in weaving magic with her words is well known.Why four stars then, and not five? *****SPOILER ALERT***** In the beginning of the book the victim is portrayed as a gray character, someone who has apparently talked about the chance of redemption for past sins with a colleague in the church, someone who feels strongly about an abused kid that he would risk giving up his cover to protect her. As the story unfolds, we see the hero as a cold and calculating monster. While I understand that sometimes you can search both personalities in the same individual, I felt that I was reading about 2 various people, not the same person with major defects and some redeeming traits.But I will say this again, I loved the book. I loved the small scenes between E and R when they are discussing religion. Roarke is majorly uncomfortable with it and he comes across as cutely imperfect. I am glad. He was being painted as SO PERFECT, it was getting - Suite 606, and then Promises In death in February.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Salvation in Death (In Death, Book 27) review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:0

    Love all the Indeath books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    Since I have read every "in Death" title twice (except my least favorite titles), I decided to identify those titles in the series which are my favorite.What do my favorites have in common?1. These are the ones that have (for me) interesting cases.2. Funny interactions between Eve and the rest of the world. Eve has a special tale on the globe and her comments are often hilarious.3. Because of her abnormal childhood, she odd lapses in her education and social development that she is only now overcoming as an adult. It's fun for me to watch this fictional hero learn to become the best human being she can be despite that horrid childhood.4. Lots of page time for the ongoing collection of returning characters. I love her supporting characters. The cops on her squad and her friends.5. Some other unknown quality that calls to ings that are NOT considered in my favorite ratings:1. The sex scenes between Eve and Roarke. Not a factor for me. Most of the time, the pages of description of their sexual couplings could be omitted without changing the book for me. I know from reading the reviews of others that the sexual relationship and the love relationship between Eve and Roarke are all that matters to some readers. I am not one of those readers.2. Foul language. Yeah, I was shocked when I read my first "in Death" book by the prevalence of foul language. Now I mostly ignore it.3. Whether other reviewers like the book or hate it. I decide on my own whether I like something. My parents taught me to think for myself.Why this title is a favorite: Before I retired, I worked as a computer programmer (dating myself here) and software engineer (new terminology). Plus I love android games where one plays versus the computer. So I enjoyed the whole milieu for the crime in this book and the concept of how the crimes were committed. Plus one of my all time favorite endings: Roarke and Eve fighting the assassin together with a twist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    4.5 stars!After basically years of seeing this series around and reading about this mystical Roarke, I gave in and decided to read the In Death Books. It was quite an undertaking, since when I started there were 33 books already released in the series, not counting short stories and novellas. Besides that, deciding to read this series was a huge commitment in two fronts. One, I simply had to by 33 books and secondly, I would not be reading anything else until I was done. That's how psychotic I can be when it comes to book cember 2011 was when my journey began and by February 2012 I was done and now there is NO turning back. I am IN LOVE with this series! I not only obviously love Roarke, but I love Eve and all the secondary characters that create up this amazing story as s, I have become irritated with Eve at times, but I adored being able to see her grow throughout the series. It has been quite a ride, but one I will never regret hopping is series is a amazing mix of mystery, police drama and romance. I love every aspect of it, from the near futuristic setting, to the method J.D. Robb writes her prose. If there is one thing that bothers me, is that considering the series has 35 books published, the span of time that has passed is very short and I want the lapse between books was a bit longer. But if you read the books throughout a longer period of time, it won't really matter, but reading them so close together created me want for that longer lapse.Eve is such a complex character. All that she has been through has created who she is, but her story is not less heartbreaking because of it. For that matter, so is Roarke's and the fact that these two found each other is nothing less than serendipity. They need each other and I am sure they would never have grown to be who they are in the series by book 35, if not for each other's presence in their lives. Not to mention the "family" they have built with their dear of the largest problems brought up in this series by J.D. Robb, is the Nature Vs. Nurture debate. I love it! It always makes me think and it is very satisfying to see these people that could have become something very wrong, rise above nature and blood, to become awesome people.On the crime fighting aspect of the series, I search that Robb uses two types of narrative. Sometimes she carries more of a "Monk" style, where the perpetrator is clear if not early on, but soon. The other one is where we obtain a punch in the face when we finally search out out who it is. I really have fun that she doesn't have only one style, since that always keeps me guessing =DI LOVE this series and if you have yet to check it out, please do so! The first few books might not compel you completely, but hold reading! You won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I'm constantly amazed that even after 25+ books, Nora Roberts (aka JD Robb) still manages to come up with new story lines for these mysteries! In this installment, we have her take on the "locked room" mystery. The victim is killed inside a highly secured room playing a android game - so how did the assassin obtain in and out unseen?The series is set in the future, but that is usually low key in terms of the stories themselves. However, this time the future setting becomes more prominent as technology is key to the crime. The victim is a android game designer, but in the future that means holorooms (just like the holodeck in Star Trek!) and the android game he died while playing is critical to Eve's investigation. The latest couple of books minimized the roles of the supporting characters a lot. That trend is reversed here. Since technology is front and center, Roarke takes an even bigger role in the action than in previous mysteries and we obtain more of McNab and Feeney as well. McNab and Peabody even go undercover at a gaming convention! There is a lot of humor, but also some unexpected, but necessary, tension between Eve and Roarke. Their fairy tale marriage could easily become boring, but Robb keeps it true by having them argue, obtain mad and say hurtful things - then have hot make-up sex. The romance is still a powerful factor in the series, but has never overshadowed the mysteries.Overall, another satisfying read and powerful entry to the series. I am grateful Nora is so prolific - even twice a year isn't enough for me. Can't wait for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I have read all the books in this series. The earlier books focused more on Eve and Roarke getting down and dirty. Nothing wrong with that, especially because Robb (Nora Roberts) took the relationship to a fresh level by having the two marry. One thing that I have always enjoyed in this series is that the couple is real to who they are. Robb never took the 'traditional' route and gave the couple a baby, instead they are focusing on their respective careers and have a cat in the is book took the techno to a fresh level. A gamer is found decapitated in a locked room, how Eve solves this mystery is more fun than is sounds like. As others have mentioned friendship is a true theme in this book. Not only does Eve discover her friendship with Peabody and Nadine, but we see what sort of issues freindly rivalries can bb is moving this series along, and I am completely digging it. No longer do we need five page sex scenes between Eve and Roarke. They lvoe each other, we obtain it, move the story along. Well, Robb seemed to listen and is now giving the characters more depth and exploration than in earlier books. Something this fan appreciates.I don't wish to give too much away, as the case is just a whole lot of crazy fun, but this is certainly a book to check out if you like the series, or even if you are just looking for something fresh to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    This one is from the main book series where they reference the book before. I liked this one as it is slightly various from the ones before. I have a tendency to read these books one after another and grow bored with them. Not because they aren't entertaining, but because they seem very related to each other. This one was slightly various and I enjoyed trying to solve the case before Eve.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    It's hard to place down this series. Each book is better than the latest one. The characters are fascinating and the stories are full of suspense, romance, and action. Loved this book and the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    But that is Nora's superpower. So is turning a murder mystery into a love story.I have fun Eve and Roark jousting and bickering then smoothing it over and coming out stronger.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    A futuristic novel of a android game world. This was also a closed-room mystery. Reminded me of the classics of @#$%son Carr and Carter Dickson.I won't tell more about the plot because it would spoil your reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I have the whole collection and love every one. It is one of the books that are hard to place down. I would recommend the series to anyone who likes a book that they cannot place down and likes crime murder stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fantasy in Death (In Death, Book 30) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I don't think you can ask any more from an author, than what JD Robb, has given her readers. If you never read her books then your not reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    JD Robb writes the In Death Series so realistically! I love the characters and the story lines. It is very believable and keeps you guessing and reading! This series is addicting...I am now ready to begin book 30. Small did I know when my sister in law gave me a trilogy on this series, how hooked I would get!!! I hope the series never ends!!! If you love crime, mystery, sexy romance...You will obtain hooked on this series!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Kindred in Death was a bit darker than some of the other books in the series as it focused on the rape and death of a sixteen year old. Eve Dallas is asked to forgo her vacation plans and search the murderer as she is the daughter of a police captain. The book provides the reader with a android game of wits matching Eve with a clever, merciless e book seemed to focus more on the procedure to catch the murderer than it did relationships which is why I rated it four stars. In reading the other 29 books and the novellas, I've come to expect powerful writing where the relationships were concerned. For instance Charles and Louise's wedding is part of this book, but it is so distant to the plot that you really don't feel engaged in the wedding preparations which Eve, of course found herself volunteering to host at the mansion she and Roarke [email protected]#$%!&?arles and Louise have been pivotal characters through out the series, yet as a reader, I found myself disappointed that their wedding took such a large back seat to the bb's Roarke/Dallas series is one of the best out there though. None of the books can be rated a true "stinker" in my opinion and that alone is beautiful miraculous for someone who has produced 30 books and the novellas surrounding the same set of characters. Robb is a master at introducing fresh characters and allowing you to feel part of their lives while maintaining the energy of the old characters. This book lacked a bit of the energy prevalent in her other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I have been a fan of J.D. Robb's "...In Death" series for a long time. I have fun the futuristic (2060) setting, which facilitates the use of some cool unique effects like vehicles that can drive vertically, designer drugs, off planet jails and vacations, and sophisticated technology. Eve Duncan, the policewoman and heroine of the series, is a powerful and independent woman with vulnerabilities and flaws that create her appealing. Surrounding Eve are all types of unconventional people, including her wealthy and handsome husband Roarke, a sullen butler, a spoiled cat, eccentric co-workers and odd friends, a lot of of whom indulge in striking fashion and lifestyle ndred in Death began with the brutal murder of a young girl who is also the daughter of a successful and respected police captain. There are parallels between the abuse the victim suffers and abuse in Eve's own past, leading to a sense of empathy and anger that Eve must manage. Then, another young woman is murdered, and the police need to find deep into the past, making assumptions and connections that lead them to the ndred in Death has what I think is the right balance between Eve's private and professional lives. The murder cases and work to solve the crimes is clearly the basic plot, with all the info of the plot finally coming together in an ending that is believable and moving. Eve's personal life, including a friend's upcoming wedding and Eve's relationship with her husband serve to more fully develop Eve's hero and add humor and lightness.Anyone who enjoys the Eve Dallas series, police stories, or science fiction will like Kindred in Death. I am looking forward to the next installment, Fantasy in Death, due in February 2010.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Woh! Eve Dallas is a homicide detective, so there's going to be a murder in every book for her to investigate. Usually, the In Death series straddles the line between romance and outright suspense fiction fairly evenly. This installment, however, almost falls completely into the suspense side. The victim is only 16, and her murder particularly gruesome and gut-wrenching. Though the love between Roarke and Eve is still strong, and there's more than one tryst between them here, fans of the romance genre may search this book a small lacking on that front compared to the previous novels. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I love suspense e daughter of a cop is brutally murdered as a revenge notice to him. But, what could a cop who investigates illegal drugs have done to warrant such fury? Eve is specifically requested on the case. Roarke's involvement in Eve's cases as an "expert consultant" happily continues and we obtain more interaction between them as a result. All the favorites are here, in particular the other cops. Mavis and a couple others create little cameos (which suits their characters fine) and the cop action gets ratcheted up. It seemed to me that there was more investigative technique, and conferences than ever before - which I thought added a lot of depth to the plot. The story was original, and the villain less predictable than most.Overall, an perfect read with amazing plot twists and the usual satisfying ending I've come to expect. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I've gotten to the point in the series where I can tell whether or not JDR has actually written the book (I assume she has a ghost-writer, as some of the books just don't come across as being written by the author - the interactions between the characters seem to be method off in some of the books, although the mysteries are always terrific). This book was definitely written by JDR. The interactions between the characters are excellent and the storyline was very well thought out. The murders were very disturbing, though you come to expect that and shouldn't be too surprised by grisly murders, as this is not unusual in the "In Death" series. I really enjoyed this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I have read every single "In Death" book and this one left me feeling a small blah. I absolutely LOVE series books, and have ever since The Babysitter's Club stole my heart a long, long time ago. The "In Death" books and James Patterson's Alex Cross series are my current favorites right now. I would think during any point in a series we will have ups and downs, and unfortunately this isn't the best book in the In Death series.I love Dallas and Roarke, and all of the other characters as well. Typically, they are witty, colorful, and have a amazing banter that almost makes you feel like you're watching a sitcom instead of just reading a book. I love that I can completely visualize everything about these characters because they are well developed over the course of the series. However, a lot of that banter was just missing from this book. There are the typical interactions, but method more focus on Dallas the "[email protected]#$%" cop and less about Dallas as a normal human ditionally, the plot just wasn't developed enough for me to really obtain behind why this crazy murderer did what he did. I would have liked more hero development across the board, especially with regard to the background/life of the murderer. Even though like all murder mysteries we figure out who the assassin is, the assassin is caught, etc...it never really went that far into how someone could be this miserably messed up.I read this one in less than 3 days. It's an simple read and will hold you entertained, like usual, but don't expect to be blown away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I'm a die hard fan. If they told me she wrote dialogue on my toilet paper roll I'd read it.I've read all 45 but by some mistake I missed # 29, so now that has been rectified. I can't wait for September for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Nora Robets, writing as JD Robb, has somehow produced this miracle of storytelling through her innate talent as a best-selling writer. I'm in awe of her imagination in coming up with such complex murder mysteries. The main characters, especially Homicide Lieutenant Eve and her billionaire husband, are so well developed and vivid, you feel like they are true people you know deeply and hope to meet. They have faults, integrity, fight, love deeply, and damage just like the rest of us mere mortals. You root for them and feel strongly about their adventures and relationships, quests, and paths towards justice and finding love. The investment in owning the entire series was worth every single penny because Roberts stories are just that amazing, and always a chop above the rest!!! A must-have series for anyone recognising quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I love Eve and Roark. This book does not disappoint! Amazing story. Not for the faint of heart because the info are graphic. If you have problems with sexual assault be prepared but otherwise a amazing story. Love these books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindred In Death (In Death, Book 29) review [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    The In Death series is one of those that I can read over and over. I will begin at the beginning and read through them all whenever a fresh novel comes out! This one definitely ranks as one of my favorites. Seeing the method that Eve has really incorporated her private life into her professional life makes me have hope for myself!! The characters are all very powerful and flow along with amazing continuity. The struggles that Eve must go through in order to solve the case are realistic and true. Roarke has become more and more involved with each case and it's a joy to watch his own struggles with having to work with so a lot of bloody police! I often search myself laughing out loud at something that is said within the novel, mostly with Peabody and her wit. I don't wish to spoil the novel for anyone who hasn't read it, but if you are a lover of not only JD Robb, but mysteries in general, this along with the entire In Death series is definitely one to pick up!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    I’m reading the second one right now and I am sure I will have the third done shortly. The story is a lot of fun and it becomes more convoluted in the second book. Hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Got hooked the first page. Amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Perfect read with a very interesting lead character. You simply wish to search out more about his story & see where it goes, and imagine the difference if that 1 key word wasn't misspoken

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    I'm utterly amazed by this book! It was so various and it drew me in immediately. The main hero is stunning and far from any hero I've read. Perfect work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Kel Kade has become one of my favorite authors with this series. He has this unbelievable character with a horrible childhood.. We obtain his understanding of things and all the misunderstandings of the people around him. The story is interesting and a quick read. My only issue is that his next books are not out yet. So I read the first two and wait impatiently.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Enjoyed the read. Taking an extremely well trained person with no knowledge of his past and using happenstance to meet amazing people in his experience of friendship. Nice start, will be interesting to see now the story lines proceed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Loved it, exciting, action packed, amazing characters, hard to place this book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    An absolutely captivating story from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    This book is awesome I had a hard time putting it down. Every time you think you have an idea where the story might go it changes. You are never quite sure what will happen next or what kind of person he will be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free the Darkness (King's Dark Tidings Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:47

    Amazing book! It was full of adventure, following a man raised in isolation and thrown into the outside world; ignorant of the people around him as he follows the only rules he has ever know.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I will admit I am biased. I am a large fan of J. D. Robb and the In Death series. I have read and 're-read each book and listened to and 're-listened to each audio book in this series and I'm still not tired or bored. This recent offering doesn't disappoint. The nature of these crimes are for me difficult for me to digest but the overall story is very engaging. I also love seeing Eve and Roarke`s relationship evolve, and grow and this book offers that as well. Only negative is no Mavis nor Nadine this time around. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This is a really amazing story. I hated paying so much for a digital book, but it was worth it! I have read every book in this series! I cannot wait until September for the next book to be released by J D Robb in he in Death series ! Hold writing hem and I will hold reading them!!! If you love murder, love and sex you will have fun these books! Now I don't mean murder as being a killer....just as reading about it! !! All the characters are so true to you. Waiting to meet them again in the next book, will be worth the wait!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I really enjoying slipping into the globe of Eve and Roarke. This book was both fun to see recurring characters come back, but graphic in the violence. I don't mind violence, but for some reason this one was a bit for difficult for me. Not my favorite in the series, but definitely in the top 10.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Another home run. Now I am stuck waiting for the next episode of the ongoing saga of Eve, Roark, Peabody, and Mcnab,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I am on vacation and required something that would not blow my amazing mood. This episode takes us back to Eve's dark put and tests her recovery. Again the help of her man and surrogate mom gets her through. It is an enjoyable read even if you figure out the poor guy early in like I their supporting roles you have the cop squad but no visit from Mavis, Nadine, Louise, or the dreaded Trina. This was straight drama.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Wow! I don't know how she does it book after book. Story after story, however I am so satisfied she can and does. J D Robb is one of my top, or the top writer that's on my list. I look forward to every book. She is truly an awesome and gifted author. Never a dull moment. I am not getting anything done around the house because I can't place her books down. And the issue comes that I don't wish the story to end to soon. Love her

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I have enjoyed each of the 'In Death' series and 'Echoes in Death' is no exception. Within 2 or 3 pages, I am hooked into the story and anxiously waiting to see how the mystery unfolds. I love Eve and Roarke. Watching them evolve as a couple is always interesting and enjoyable. For me, watching Eve observe a crime scene, and then work her method through how the death occurred, is one of the amazing delights to reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I love this book. And I can't wait to obtain a hard cover ver to add to my Daddy's collection of your works. I want my Daddy could have read this book as soon as it hit the Barnes& Noble book shelves. Sadly My. DADDY Died on August 20th 2016. You are a unbelievable author, and your books inspired him to write his own novel. Before he died. So hold an eye out for his novel Zulu One,, by E. ChristophersotoCHRISTOPHER Soto & Erin Michelle Soto. Ok?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I am a very long time fan of Nora Roberts and her alter ego. I am amazed each time I read an In Death book. I'm amazed I can read about the horrors that people do to each other and yet have fun the story. I think I obtain distracted by the in depth walk thu Dallas ' s brain and solving the case. Also Roark, you can't forget Roark! I've loved watching all the characters relationships with each other grow and evolve. It's been an awesome ride thru the years!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Echoes in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (In Death, Book 44) review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    As always the book was great..love how the author seamlessly moves from one book to the next and stays continuous in the time line. I admit I'm about 80% through the book right now and one thing bothers me - where is Nadine? Where is the Commander? I would think that there should be at lease one stage by now where she's updating the higher ups. and it's definitely newsworthy, right? One little mention of the Oscar nominations, but so far that's it. Not much Somerset either. I'm hoping that this isn't a fresh tack JD Robb is taking....all the main supporting characters are what I have fun the most. Anyone just starting to read the series should definitely begin with book 1!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    As a lot of reviewers have already written, the plot is LUDICROUS and the tea stage at the end is absolutely is book was slow and I was sort of shocked when the murder happened at about 50% of the book (I read it on my Kindle so I don't know page numbers.) I thought to myself "How are they going to fill up the rest of this book?" And I was spot on: this book could've ended at the 50% tag and I would've liked it more. On the plus side: it's an simple read that you can finish on a domestic they are going to turn this into a film is beyond me. No doubt, it will be a boring sically, here's the book so you can save your cash (there are no true spoilers):0%: Meet Nora5%: Begin ludicrous plot line10%: Meet a motley squad of annoying characters25%: Tequila and cocaine50%: Murder (an alcohol and drug-fueled murder? Ruh roh!)60%: Nora can't remember what happened.70%: Nora still can't remember what happened.80%: "Oh why, oh why, can't I remember what happened?" asks Nora.90%: Eureka, Nora remembers what happened!95%: Nora's having tea with the murderer because killing someone sure makes me thirsty for some Earl Grey.100%: Thank God this book is over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Amazing lord this was a badly written book with a wafer thin plot line. Had such high hopes. It is likened unto Gone Girl in a lot of reviews. Gone Girl isn't the best literary work to start with but at least it was entertaining and not too predictable. This was drivel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Obvious villain ... silly plot line ... who makes huge life decisions off texts with no verbal follow up for 10 years???? Ridiculous ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Certainly a amazing debut novel. Once again, though, the protagonist is a hot mess, all but destroyed by a failed relationship with a man. To give Leonora Shaw credit, though, her life in London was going well until she agrees to attend a bachelorette style weekend in the gloomy English countryside, if by well you mean that she lives alone, has almost no social life and no interest in forming a romantic relationship with anyone. She's a successful, reclusive author of crime novels (Kind of like me, but I'm method older than she is and not nearly as successful). She doesn't even have a dog or a cat. The supporting cast of characters is fascinating and original, and I loved the Agatha Christie type limited list of suspects, and the method the story points the reader toward one and then another, not revealing the real culprit until the breakneck-paced, bitter end. The setting looms dark, huge and menacing throughout (After all, the title is In a Dark, Dark Wood.). Dozens of gothic foreshadowing, which I love. I'll definitely read Ruth Ware's newest book, The Lying Game. I'm officially a fan now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Wow, this one was predictable. It is also boring because the author tells us the same things over and over. The characters are one dimensional and the writing style is repetitive with the author telling the reader over and over what certain characters are like and what is going on. I found the writing juvenile, both the style and the plot which was beyond silly. I figured it out almost immediately. Don't expect plot twists. This book was all hype. I bought this and Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin at the same time and the latter was much more entertaining and better written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I have to admit up front that I was very disappointed in In a Dark, Dark e story centers on Nora, a 26 year old crime fiction writer who is sometimes referred to by other characters as Lee, Leonora, or Leo. Nora is invited to a bachelorette weekend party to celebrate the marriage of Clare, a person she hasn't seen in a decade. The reunion is awkward (Clare is marrying Nora's old boyfriend) and the guests contain different stereotypes: the mentally unhinged Flo, catty Tom, stressed out fresh mom Melanie, and sassy best mate Nina. Toss in lots of alcohol, a litttle cocaine, and plenty of poor feelings and you have the makings of a really unpleasant party. And then there's a murder which leaves Nora battered with amnesia trying to place her memories back uted as a mystery in the Agatha Christie mold the story plays out more like a Scooby-doo tale. The author drops conspicuous clues repetitively. Two characters who are of related build wear identical clothing (Jinkies!) and there's a shotgun hanging on the wall loaded with blanks (Ruh-roh). There are other warning signs as well -- no phone service, mysterious footprints and a missing cell phone. The author lays out the clues in an massive handed, overt e characters come across as fairly shallow and juvenile. There didn't seem to be anyone to root for -- not even the murder victim. The ending is quite obvious -- although not to Nora which reinforces her characterization as incredibly dim (especially for a crime fiction writer). I don't wish to give out any spoilers, but the tea drinking conversation near the end of the book is ludicrous.I can not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    It's fine for reading on a plane or airport; something frothy and fast if you're not expecting a mystery. This book is "meh." The protagonist is agonizingly stupid, and all her "friends" and the people she's surrounded by are all different shades of the main "mean girl." The book would honestly work much, much better if they'd all been *actual* teenagers or freshmen college student reconnecting on a weekend trip. Because treating the characters like adults stretches plausibility, especially when you learn the crux of the protagonists' long-festering pain; trying to hold this relatively spoiler-free, but if it was the kind of relationship where you wouldn't text back even just an acknowledgment, it's not the kind that you'd obsess over for a decade to the point of never having a subsequent relationship. I mean, Jesus Christ.I did like all the scenes describing her running, and describing the woods and the house. Even describing her life in her small flat in London; I could picture that flat and that quiet life. Reading those scenes in the Kindle preview is what created me buy the book. Like I said, it's fine so long as you're just looking for a fast small read while traveling and hold your expectations low.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    the book was very, very slow...and predictable. The focus was teenage love and Leo, admitted that was her focus since she was 16, getting back with James. It is very interesting that James did not wish contact with her when he found out she was pregnant...that was a red flag for me...and the next red flag was Leo getting invited to the HEN party...and then the next was James showing up at the HEN party.Rather silly, all of it. Not at all a amazing crime novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Three word review for this book: SUPER. FREAKING. CREEPY.Ok, so I'm just kidding about the three word review part, I'll give you more. I'm totally not joking about how creepy the book was though. I listened to the audio book when I went on walks with my dog or on my commute to and from work, but it was always at day time because this book was so darn e story is centered around Nora, a young crime fiction writer who is invited on her childhood best friend's bachelorette party. She hasn't seen her mate in a lot of years, but she decides to go anyways. Things begin getting a small strange at the bachelorette party and Nora begins questioning why she is there in the first place. After someone is murdered, Nora loses part of her memory from the evening and must retrieve it in order to search the much as I enjoyed the quick paced flow of the book, there were parts that were a small childish, cliche, and one dimensional. There were very obvious clues dropped throughout the book as well as a super huge build-up for a not so surprising ten year secret. There were times when I just wanted to obtain to then end and be finished. With all of that said, I did have fun the book. It was obvious at times that it was the author's first novel. I would recommend this book to friends, but it definitely would not be the highest book on my list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I listened to the interview with the author on NPR and the story sounded interesting and entertaining, so I decided to check it out. Other reviewers had compared this book to Gone Girl, a book I enjoyed for the most part (except the ending), so it seemed a amazing e beginning of the book moves slowly, building up to the “promise” of the book (a murder at a hen party or bachelorette party). There’s a lot of the narrator, Leonora (Lee or Nora or Leo depending on who you ask) asking herself why she chose to accept an invitation to a hen party for a woman that she was best mates with in elementary and high school. They haven’t spoken in 10 years. Yes, why? Because the bride to be is a manipulative B whom everyone loves (and sometimes hates to hate). And that is one of the ways that Gone Girl and Dark Dark Wood are very related – Amy (Gone Girl) and Clare (Dark Dark Wood) are both “good poor characters” (meaning they are well written twits who deserve to be punched in the face for their maniuplativeness, but if someone did punch them, a lot of people who haven’t seen the manipulative side would wonder, “How could you hit HER? She’s so NICE!”).The book overall is entertaining, but the promised murder doesn’t occur at least until the middle of the book (couldn’t judge pages on my Kindle) and seems to move swiftly from there (whereas the parts before moved more slowly). Once the “suspense/thriller” aspects of the book started, I didn’t wish to go to bed – I wanted to [email protected]#$%! and see what happened. There wasn’t much to distract from the story - there were a few editing errors in the Kindle edition, and my brain had to “translate” some of the British to American, but other than that this was a solid and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    ...He'd yell out loud and throw his toys." Well-rhymed, well-illustrated, charming children's book together with a fine family message! Already went on to purchase "Marty and Momo Create Bedtime Fun" from same author as I enjoyed the book so and looking to add more of this author's works to my collection in the near future. Just a heads up that if you are wanting the gift coloring pages mentioned in the description I suspect you'll have to order the paperback, but didn't hamper my enjoyment factor of the book whatsoever so earns the full 5 stars. Monstrous fun I heartily recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    I have a small son and he likes to have stories before sleeping. And this book was recommended me by my sister. This is a very fun, interesting and colourful bedtime story book. I think that this book is very amazing for families who have children in their houses. If your kids love having story before going to bed, then this book is for is book includes perfect bright and colourful illustrations that create it more awesome for kids. The rhyming is perfect for learning and makes for a amazing read-a loud book. My son listens to this story with amazing pleasure. It is his favourite book now. Our all family likes to read this book. It is really great! I recommend this book for families with children. It is worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    The colourful illustrations and Swampy’s merry look created me wish to buy this small book. The small Swampy, his family, as well as rhyme and illustrations a kind of stirred my finest childhood memories in me. I’ve just bought this book and I’ll read it to my son when he grows up a little! The story will teach him to do the right things before sleep. Well, it is so well rhymed, so why not test it right now as a lullaby!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    This story is amazing to read to your children when they go to bed, it is filled with cute illustrations and gives a very positive notice for kids. You really need to read to your son or daughter this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Oh, what an awesome bed time children story book! I purchased this items for my small daughter latest week. This small story created my small daughter wish to have Swampy as a pet. The monster got her laughing and crying at the same time. Personally, I loved the overall illustration of this book. My unique thanks for the rhyme and images.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Is there a cuter method to convince a kid to follow the nighttime routine? My small nephew gets beautiful stubborn at times just like Swampy when it comes to doing bedtime stuff. Maybe that small Swampy will create him wish to do all that lol. Indeed, the rhyme sounds fine and the pics are all so cute, I think it will work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    This is a truly soothing, yet joyful bedtime story. A charge of positive mood before sleep won’t hurt a kid. Swampy the creature is not spooky at all. He can even be obedient when motivated. My daughter and I found the rhyme sleepy, she crashed out halfway into it, and I began to doze off too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Bedtime is hard for kids everywhere. This book gives the concept a delightful spin with the helpful older brother. It is a cute story ending in an satisfied resolution. The only issue I had was the occasional stiffness of the prose in an effort to complete the rhyme. I realize that the rhyming format was a style choice, but it does result the flow of the story in a few places. I would highly recommend this book for kids under four. The pictures are adorable and the feel of the book is sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    It’s quite so funny, but this book is a amazing motivator, at least for my small son. Somehow he took to Swampy and now wants to do as he finally did in the story. That is beautiful much thanks to the pics. And the rhyme is so melodic and gentle! We love this bedtime story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goodnight, Swampy the Little Monster: (Children's book about the Little Monster Who Gets Ready for Bed, Bedtime Story, Rhyming Books, Picture Books, Ages 3-5, Preschool Books, Kids Book) review [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Swampy, the small one learns lessons taught by his huge brother. This is the method it should be! The book really teaches an elder sibling to be responsible for his or her younger one. All characters are cute, and the rhyme is all so soothing and peaceful. Nice!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Like the first book in the Trials of Apollo, it was a ride. A bit slower than other Rick Riordan stories but still unbelievable nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I loved this book so much, I couldn't stop reading. I finished reading this book 2-3 days after I got it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Another winning book from Rick Riordan. We've been anxiously awaiting this one and it is not disappointing us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Another fun YA novel in the ever-expanding “Percy Jackson and all his friends” universe … a bit less “preachy” about the morals of the story than some of the others in that universe. Reasonably accurate to mythological and historical sources, clever modern twists, and very small “deus ex machina” writing — doubly impressive when the titular character is “ex-deus,” as it were. Best to begin with Book One, but nothing disappoints.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    My son loves anything by Rick Riordan ... I am sure this book is as amazing as all the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    So far I have never been disappointed by Rick Riordan's books. This book was another well written and researched book. It was a page Turner from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Son loves these series and consumes them as soon as they come out. This story was no exception with Riordan's ability to tie ancient myths into todays globe seamlessly and believably. The story is addictive and my son wont place it down until he gets to the end. Kudos to Rick Riordan on providing a very entertaining read and capturing the heart and imagination of our child.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Trials of Apollo, Book Two: Dark Prophecy review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    My son loves anything by Rick Riordan, and this was no exception.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    AACP kasinovin.com/downloads/73-download-3win8 reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online [email protected]@chinaboy.psend.com/index.php/component/k2/itemlist/user/1369553/?a[]=<a href=http://ace333.gdn/index.php/download/21-lpe88>lpe88 download</a> reviews Home for milkwoodgallery.com/2018/12/26/casinos-on-the-web-and-terrestrial-casinos-an-overview/ reviews Play gallery.4synergy.org/irene/main.php?g2_itemId=2558 reviews leia mail: custom email at your www.behance.net/gallery/74077235/ROLLEX11-Download-Online-Casino reviews 10x Win88.today/download-sky777-android-ios/ reviews Google nightmare.s16.xrea.com/bbs2/apeboard_plus.cgi reviews Junkyard Tycoon - Car 918.network/casino-games/66-joker123 reviews 10x tg0187.mihanblog.com/post/9/ reviews Put Your Dream to the Test: 10 Questions to Help You See It... reviews htgj7.com/comment/html/?13976.html reviews Contender | [email protected]/cgi-bin/kemobook/g_book.cgi/aÿveronicaÿexternal reviews RobertFek reviews Basics in nightmare.s16.xrea.com/bbs2/apeboard_plus.cgi reviews ATS akabo-akabohikkoshi.com/list/category/埼玉県/上尾市/ reviews basic [email protected]@[email protected]@[email protected]/en/node/2796/track reviews The%20Immortal%20Life%20of%20Henrietta%20Lacks reviews Mod [email protected]@tvc.in/sky777723586 reviews Stickman [email protected]@chinaboy.psend.com/index.php/component/k2/itemlist/user/1369553/?a[]=<a href=https://918kiss.poker/casino-games/72-playboy-casino>play8oy android download</a> reviews Basic dich123.com/Dich-vu-chuyen-nghiep/Dich-tieng-Trung-Quoc.html reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter