Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's Reviews & Opinions


Submit Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    On one hand, Buttermilk Graffiti gives us the dramatic sweep of American Regional meal in the 21st Century. As in 1939's United States Regional Cookbook, and Molly O'Neill's 2010 One Huge Table, this meal reflects put and people who've come from near and far. Edward Lee is as much an anthropologist and philosopher as he is gifted chef. His odyssey never nods, even as he questions his voyeurism and the chance that he is appropriating someone else's the other hand, the recipes will require serious kitchen time to understand what he's done with the inspirations he found. I've not yet had time to do that. As an expatriated Southerner, my first recipe try will be the Lacy Cornbread, the latest recipe in this tour-de-force.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    While I bought this thinking it was more like his previous book smoke and pickles, I was not disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Amazing read! Amazing stories along with a lot of recipes I’m looking forward to trying out. Can’t wait!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's video reviews and related movies:

    See Edward Lee Talks "Buttermilk Graffiti" at the Alabama Booksmith on youtube.

     related image

    See cmlifevideo on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    A thoroughly enjoyable read that was honest, entertaining, and had amazing voice. I loved the exploration of the subject of immigrant meal and how it evolves with each generation. One of the freshest meal books I’ve read in a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Cool book! I'd love to just travel around exploring different things! I enjoyed Edward Lee's book and especially the recipes! The recipe for haesenpfeffer will be passed on to my daughter who makes a mean rabbit!Thank you to publisher for providing me a copy of the book in exchange for a fair review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's New Melting-Pot Cuisine review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Author is insufferably pretentious. Could not stand this book for more than a few minutes. He wouldn't even contain pictures because you the reader should "trust your instincts". This book is just an excuse for the author to blab on and on about himself, rather than share any useful recipes. 0/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    The android game is great. However, when i tried to select the categories of recipes, latest 6 was not visible and I am unable to select it. Hope that the issue will be fixed soon as I have been facing it for some time. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    I enjoyed it in a location out and combine ingredients kind of way. The quizzes could be frustrating, but since they're all pictures of in-game stuff it was also eventually relaxing to just test to figure it out. the issue is that I'm at 82% complete, no more quizzes, and no ways to gain stars other than sending out chefs, as far as I can tell.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    After reinstall it, I can finally play it. Like the game, but some meal pictures in the trivia are not so clear. Still love the chef battles original better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    The android game never completely loaded, all that happened was the beginning screen. My Wi-Fi is very powerful yet it never loads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Cant play this android game on my phone (Redmi 4 Prime), stuck in loading screen, please fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    My android game never loaded,The reason why i eated it 5 star is bc i like meal

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Yay the android game now works on my phone, the Samsung s5. I look forward to playing this android game Thanks for helping me be able to play it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Once the android game got fixed, it was amazing playing! I really love it! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    its okay. But with the mechanics simply guessing meal items and cooking with no possibility of serving guest, it wears out quick

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    เข้าไม่ได้ครับ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    boring...no actual cooking

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    My current favorite game! A must have foodie game. Nice graphics and contents. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    why can't i play it. it just stuck at the loading screen even though i opened and closed the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    doesn't even go past the mindcake page

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Sounds like a amazing android game but wont obtain past the loading screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    It crashes always

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Interesting android game !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    loading stuck !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    1.1.2 .3 finaly got it amazing job guys

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    It's 👍 amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Brill

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    niceee

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Loading stuck in my phone, huawei honer 6x

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Not loading. I'm using s7 I wait for 5 mins, but it just present mindcake, and nothing happened. No loading bar or whatever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Update: Still does not load on Galaxy S6.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    hold it up! 😁 Nice!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    You know, i've finished chef battles for around 3-4 months i think? Since i play it just for leasure, and never did i uninstalled it. The best game, got me hooked on the adventure and challenge. So i have a beautiful amazing feeling this android game will also be great! Gave you 5 stars already

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Fun concept.. sometimes in quizzes, i know the respond but in my language.. its fun how i tried to figure it out without using google Edit: btw in those recipes menu, can u create it like can be sort by country instead of ingredients? I mean i would like the more i Invent recipes, it would be helpful when solving quizzes.. u know, like without need to depends on Google for like country dish quizzes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Amazing idle android game using Chef battles story without the rpg type elements. Played for a bit, but not my style. however its still a 5 star game. Hold up amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    This android game did not even load for me it took over 30 minutes and still nothing happened

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Such a cute looking game...too poor I'm stick on the loading screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Doesn't begin and there is no mark saying not suitable for my device...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    mindcake and then froze till hell, fix please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Won't do anything after download... So I would like to rate it no stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    It didn't explain what I required to do

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    Android game frozes at beggining screen with the word "mindcake". nice game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Wars Journeys review [App]  2019-4-16 13:47

    I cant play the android game as it stuck at mindcake for more than 5min. I really wish to play it, plz fix it. Btw I'm using asus ZenFone go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Street trips keep a unique put in my heart and, although I've been fortunate enough to travel around the world, increasingly I've been enjoying just focusing on getting to know America better. In preparation for a significant street trip, I picked up Blue Highways -- reading it was a major commitment for me given its length, but even after periodic breaks, I kept coming back to it. While I wasn't very old when Heat-Moon created this epic trip, I was old enough to be able to place a lot of of his experiences not only in their historical context, but in the context of my own recollections of the period. The writing is vivid; the characters he encounters are memorable. For armchair travelers as well as anyone passionate about the promise of a fresh adventure, it's a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Having seen references to Blue Highways in other travel stories it was a amazing surprise to see that the book really was as inspiring as advertised. The thread was minimalist; there were no gimmicks. Perhaps today the invitation of a 5-calendar restaurant is lost on a lot of raised with the Meal Network, or exploring in the company of a small old lady on a barely populated spit of marshland without GPS seems an unrealistic expectation, but this book created me dream the old dream of easy travel and the art of acquaintance. It was a fast read that kept me wondering where the next hidden travel gem might be. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Amazing book, seemed to take me a while to obtain through the whole thing but maybe that's the point. It's enjoyable all around, you feel the long journey he took. Maybe a small dated too but gives amazing perspective into the times and locations he travels. Amazing tip throughout the book as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I read this when it first came out and recently recommended it to a friend. It is a geographical journey, an intellectual journey and for Least Heat Moon, a journey of self ong his totally spontaneous route he discovers and explores forgotten towns and bits of history. He meets the ordinary yet awesome people who create up our population. He learns about dying arts, cement ships and geographic is book is charming, intellectually stimulating, nostalgic, insightful and as irresistible as the begin road.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    As the spouse of someone who always takes the freeway (fastest GPS route in a race to our destination), I SO envied the author in his slow, introspective exploration of the back streets of America. It was a hoot for me. Held the Kindle in my left hand, and a street atlas in my lap, tracing my method (OK, his way) across the country and partially into Canada. A few of the street names appear to have changed since the 70's, but it was still simple to trace the author's path and learn more about the people and locations along the journey. I highly recommend this book. Well written, educational, and above all, heart warming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    A mate had suggested this book to me after hearing that I wanted to do a cross-country street trip. I tucked the title away in the back of my head until a few months ago. I'd already gotten to drive across the country and while I stuck mostly to the interstate system (thereby passing all of the interesting 3 and 4 calendar diners the author notes) my fellow travelers and I did obtain to see some locations away from the interstate (eg groom, tx, hot springs, ak (ok this is rather popular)).I've been enjoying this book at a slow pace. The writing is wonderfully descriptive - I've learned more about the plants and vegetation in the locations visited than I did traveling through related locations on my own. The encounters Mr. least-Heat Moon describes generally have been interesting. I was especially fascinated by how begin and hospitable a lot of of them were to a guy traveling on his own.Overall the stories have whetted my appetite for an extended drive across the country with a hope for related encounters and a glimpse into small-town America that lives away from the major arteries of transportation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I read "Blue Highways" a lot of years ago. I selected this book for our Book Group this year as I knew my group would love reading it. I am loving rereading it myself and am looking forward to sharing the stories that William Least Heat Moon shared so beautifully with us in this travel story about our America.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Bought this book back in the mid '80's and lived it. Hadn't read it since, and I enjoyed it even more 30 years later. He's a unbelievable author!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I did have fun Mr Least Heat Moon's book, but I don't think it is for everyone. If you are not a fan of the travelogue genre of books, this might be kind of boring and long-winded. Blue Highways is a amazing title, because it describes Mr Least Heat Moon's journey through the backroads of America (shown as blue lines on certain maps) and also the somber tone of the book. Mr. LHM is just coming off the breakup of his relationship with the "Cherokee" and seems very depressed. He outfits a van and goes cruising through America for a few months. There are interesting and not-so-interesting people and locations along the method and I give kudos to Mr. LHM for including both. The fact that he contains times when he was bored did support to create me feel like I was on the journey with him, experiencing its ups and downs. As other reviewers have noted, he does not speak deeply about his own feelings and emotions, and at some points I did want he would begin up a small more about what he was experiencing on this trip. There are some really amazing points in the book, including when he meets a squad of hang gliders and an eccentric wandering missionary in one of the northern states. I can honestly say I learned a lot from reading this book about all kinds of things: history, fishing, culture, food, etc. I guess that is what Mr LHM really wanted us to take from his journey. To provide an acc of backroads America at a certain point in time, and not focus too much on himself, why he undertook what he did and what he got out of it. I'd say there is some bias in favor of the blue-collar, skilled American and versus what he seems to see as encroaching materialism, suburbanization and urbanization of rural America. I think the reader can decide how he/she feels about that. I feel the strength of this book is as a historical acc of America in the late 1970s. If you have fun cultural and historical studies, not just of those in political power or of battles and such, this is the book for you. If you have fun learning about how people live around the globe or in the USA, you'll learn much. It doesn't read like a novel and has few if any thrilling moments. Overall I'd like to thank Mr. LHM for taking us along on his trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blue Highways: A Journey into America review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Reminiscent of On The Road.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    Based on the description of this book, it sounded great. The reality is, I liked the beginning and I liked the ending. In between, however, I found it to be incredibly drawn-out! I am a voracious reader; if I can't search anything better to read, I'll read mail flyers, cereal boxes, whatever. So when I found myself skimming, skimming, skimming over extraneous passages that did nothing to further the story (or seemed to be more of what I'd already read), I realized this book could have been about half the length it was and been really good.What I did like about this book was watching Tim's hero grow. No spoiler alert, because that could go either direction, but I felt he grew up and grew into a realization of himself, his worth, his talent and so on. Tim's development was actually my favorite part of the ain, no spoiler alert, but I did like the ending, as well. It wrapped up nicely in the final chapter and epilogue. (NOTE: Even the final chapter, however, was much longer than it required to be.)What I didn't like about this book -- well, there were a couple of things. I found Lisa's hero to be over-the-top crass and trashy; I never warmed up to her at all, with her one-night stands and sexual escapades. I didn't like Katie's forays into sex (or almost-sex) with the butcher and her neighbor; she was still heartbroken and in love with Tim and this is how she behaves? The reference is created to the fact that she "has needs", but come on; is she an animal with no self-control? It just lowered her hero in my eyes. Tim's behavior with Julie can be understood due to his drinking, and that hero I already mentioned; not excused, mind you, but understood.On a private note, I didn't appreciate what I considered to be degrading and insulting references to Americans and the USA. Yes, we speak differently than people in London. We are not, however, a bunch of inarticulate idiots, and we do spend a lot of cash on reading material. Best not to insult a large portion of your reading audience. If it had only been one reference, I might have overlooked it; it wasn't, though, and I found it extremely off-putting. So much so that I'd not recommend this to my American friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    This was a fun read. The basic hero struggles in the method that romance characters tend to struggle, but does it with modern sensibilities, which is nice. Unlike most romance protagonists, she takes an "Oh, up with this, I will not put!" stance as a reaction to not good behavior by the love interest. She waffles about it, but still, she walks away from a misbehaving man, even though she loves him. Of course, there's a satisfied ending. It wouldn't be a romance novel without a satisfied ending. The auxiliary characters are fun, but sort of feel like "Sex and the City" fan fic. I mean, they're they are exactly like Charlotte and Samantha; only in London. The culinary bits of the book are just sort of the decoration around the basic plot. Those looking for steamy (ha) technique will be left hungry. It's a fast, cute, fan-fictiony beach-read. It was well edited, well laid out in kindle format, and nicely presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    There were elements of this story that were enjoyable and my true complaint is with the main character. She's kind of a doormat and I just search it insulting. Her ex was a jerk, a huge jerk and no amount of love could create a confident and smart woman take him back. If you can obtain past that then you'll search it a decent read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    I've struggled between wanting to give this review 3 or 2 stars, and finally ended up deciding it would be a 2.5 (if Amazon offered such a choice).The story starts out well and seems like it could have worked, but there were just too much stalling after the first few chapters. I'm going to be honest and say that I never finished the book. In fact I read up until I reached 82% on my Kindle before I finally gave up on it, but I feel I got far enough into it to give an honest issue with the story was that the author went through the problem to really flesh out her characters and we knew early on who they were, which I give an A+ for. However, there was just so much filler that occurred when the book could have been shorter with more plot to fill less l in all I think it could have been a well written story based on the two main characters, but there story required more...well, story, to actually wish to hold me reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    I had an enjoyable afternoon with a cup of tea and this book. There are problems. A number of them, but the primary premise was good. It is NOT for an American audience and I think Amazon did the writer a disservice buy marketing in Amazon US. I would wait until another free download to read Ms Willis again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    I was looking forward to this book since my husband is a chef, however, I thought it was lacking. The beginning was OK and the ending was OK, but boy was it slow inbetween. I ended up skimming pages hoping the ending would come so I could move on to another book. I also got a small tired of most sentences ending in question marks??? What's that about??? Glad I got it when it was free. Wouldn't have wanted to pay for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    Yes Chef, No Chef is a amazing title but it was almost the latest chapter before the title even created sense. The story idea was amazing but the book was too long (most times they are too short) but this one just went on and on without any sign of resolution. The three mates being so various in personality was a amazing idea but by the end it just got a bit old hearing the same type of differences over and over. I was glad to see a satisfied ending but I didn't think the two main characters would ever even talk again so it was a pleasant surprise. Katie spent too much of the book being upset instead of taking positive action to solve her problem; she came across as rather immature and whinny, not a amazing combination.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    It started out interesting, but after a while it started to become tedious. I liked the whole idea and really enjoyed the face that she had two unbelievable mates that helped her through the whole breakup and job situation. There was just a small to much going on and not enough substance for each thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    I had a hard time getting into this one and staying with it. I finally did [email protected]#$%!. It was just ok.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Yes Chef, No Chef review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:2

    Sometimes you have to break up to see for yourself whether the relationship was healthy for either of you or toxic. The main characters werent together long but felt they were going to latest forever but complete trust wasnt in the relationship until after the break up when he wanted her back and finally told her everything that had been event to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cooking Hut: Cooking Journey in Chef Cooking Games review [App]  2019-4-18 21:26

    Its amazing android game but please give an ubdate

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cooking Hut: Cooking Journey in Chef Cooking Games review [App]  2019-4-18 21:26

    Very amazing game. Looking forward to fresh levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    I am thoroughly impressed with the level of detail in this book - I cannot imagine how anyone can remember all the details, all the ins-and-outs, all his different trials and experiences in each class and on his externship, and then convey all of that accurately and engagingly. Yet the author managed to do just that. He clearly loves meal and cooking, and it was both a joy and somewhat nerve-wracking to be right in the kitchen with him, feeling the heat, feeling the ever much I enjoyed his tales, I had to tag this book at four stars because it did end abruptly. I would love a second edition to come out with an epilogue, which I am sure could have been arranged before it went to press the first time, discussing his life several months on after graduating from the CIA. Instead, we are left to infer that he's a caterer in Fresh York Town or maybe in upstate Fresh York. With such a "finding oneself" windup all through the book, the conclusion was not satisfying in the least. An anti-climatic graduation, the realization that he could be a caterer, plans for a amazing home-cooked celebratory dinner...and that's it.I would strongly recommend this book to anyone considering attending the CIA, especially if they search themselves in related circumstances to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    As someone going through related experiences, I could relate to the book and all of the events. I found myelf at times rooting for Jonathan--other times a bit angry--but in every case, I knew what he was going through. Dealing with younger, immature classmates, fighting fatigue, being verbally abused, but it's all worth it to do something you love! The end was the most intriguing, and I'd love to know if he pursued his dream full time? It sounds like he was planning a career as a carerer or private chef. Would love to know!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book. Jonathan was unbelievable at retelling his story with amazing emotional and sometimes comical description that I found myself laughing, feeling anxious and even grinding my teeth at some of his encounters. I have no doubt he's doing well now. His courage to start and continue a fresh challenge has rekindled my spirit to do the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    Are you like me, an aspiring foodie/wanna be Chef? Have you poured over the Culinary Institute of America's (CIA) www service and absorbed everything you can about it in hopes of going one day? Do you wish to walk in the shoes of a student at the CIA? Know what it is like? Would you like all the info that they leave out of the colourful pamphlets that tell you everyone is going to be a Gordon Ramsey? This is the book for you. It's well written, and thoughtful. The author doesn't have an over inflated ego and has a fairly even perspective of the culinary scene. I didn't place it down once I picked it up and couldn't sleep without knowing what he was going to do next. But then again, I am completely in love with the idea of going to the CIA. Satisfied reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    I first came across this title froma book website that lets you test excerpts of verious books to seee what they may read like ()I throughly enjoyed this title as it gave a up close private feeling as to what it was like being a middle aged person making a major life course change ina fresh career . if your one like him or like me for that matter who fit inthis catagory i highly suggest you give it a read .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    A raw honest look about Jonathens decision to go full time to cooking school Tha true look at what learning to be a chef is really like.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    A fascinating read about completing the courses at the Culinary Institute of America...(CIA). The author's journey throughout the two years to completion was a true eye-opener. I highly recommend this to anyone even vaguely interested in the cooking school experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    This book was recomended to me by my daughter. I wasn't sure that I'd search it interesting, but I couldn't place it down after the first page. I loved how this reader became totally involved with the characters and how it was simple to feel like you were totally involved in all the work being done in the CIA kitchens. It was a delightful read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    First off, allow me clear a couple of things up:Jonathan Dixon frankly admits that he's not chop out to be a professional chef. He suspects it before enrollment in CIA, and it is confirmed once at his Tabla externship and again at the Bocuse d'Or competition. Yes, he summons the will to finish his training because of his genuine love of meal and desire to better himself, but he never once presents the idea that he can be a legendary cond, there are numerous careers in the meal industry which will benefit greatly from a CIA education but will not necessarily effect in a job as executive chef at a three star aten, Seared and Sauced is an entertaining and engaging look at professional culinary training programs. Dixon, as I mentioned above, does not show himself as perfect, or even superior. He doesn't act like it was a piece of cake, or toot his own horn in any way. He describes his failures honestly, and recalls his successes with pride (and occasional disbelief). He came to CIA as a 38 year old desiring a career change and chasing his dream, surrounded by children new out of high school who didn't have any of the responsibilities (or mature attitudes) Dixon brought with him. Naturally his experience will be a bit various than those who are learning on Mommy and Daddy's dime, and have nothing better to do with their days off than hit the bars.Anyone who is a fan of Meal Network shows, watches Iron Chef or Chopped and thinks maybe they could do that, or even just reads Cook's Illustrated to learn techniques and gain a fresh understanding of food, will have fun this book. It is an absolute must for those considering formal culinary training themselves. Dixon not only describes his experiences, but he is very generous in outlining the curriculum, describing the instructor chefs, what a typical day consists of, AND you'll pick up a dozen tricks to incorporate into your own is book wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable if Dixon had gone on to become some meal superstar with his own line of restaurants and umpteen zillion cookbooks. What makes it so absorbing and relatable is that he is *not* a superstar, but just a guy with a talent and a love of creating above average food. I came away from this book inspired, not to be a professional chef or to attend culinary school, but to improve my own skills and creativity, and renew my passion for cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beaten, Seared, and Sauced: On Becoming a Chef at the Culinary Institute of America review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:1

    This was a really fuN book to read. It gave a amazing sense of what a student chef goes through. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    I read this book some 35 years ago, and I was very satisfied to search this copy. For anyone interested in the topic, it's of course well-written and fascinating, and if you're still into true books created from trees, you can't beat the price. EXCELLENT!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Insight into the globe of our ancestors

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    I could not read this at all due to the right margin justification. Justification, and the issues it causes readers, should have been considered when presenting this book. That is frustrating, as I have fun this subject and believe that I would have enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    I cannot read this book again because Irequire a larger is a 5 star classic and Ineoukd gladly pay more, much more if I could obtain it digitally or read on tape..There have to be a lot of peopl who would buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    a book to be read and reread.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Helped me understand how my ancestors managed to leave for America. It was necessary info for our family history search.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World of Our Fathers: The Journey of the East European Jews to America and the Life They Found and Made review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Like it which is why I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I long ago read and reviewed this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I started not to buy this book based on a couple of negative reviews that claimed Karan, "was a narcissist who stepped on people to obtain what she wanted," as well as being a "name dropper." I did not wish to be disappointed in someone whom I've looked up to for so a lot of years. Fortunately, I decided that she was worth the benefit of the doubt, and I am glad that I did. The "name dropping" is essential to her story; aside from being a brilliant designer, the book demonstrates her phenomenal ability to connect people to people, people to events, and people to projects - oh and these people just happen to be noteworthy. Her spiritual and philanthropic journey culminating into Urban Zen was especially interesting to me considering this is where the future of Donna Karan (the woman) lies since leaving her namesake label in June e only possible negative would be that the book read as if told by an ADD individual (which she openly admits to); so she may stop short on a topic having you wishing for more detail. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this book as a worthy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I hated this book! My book club chose this selection or I probably never would have chosen to read it. I'm not much of a fashionista, for sure, although I always admired the fabrics Donna used in her clothing. Her book was insufferable in its shallowness and I found by the end of it that I didn't like her at all for a host of reasons, but mainly her seeming lack of guilt for some major not good choices: a long-term affair during her first marriage, an abortion, and going topless around her stepson and his mates to mention a few. I was worried that my book club would hate my opinions when we discussed it later, but we all agreed, so I would recommend a pass on this one. I gave it two stars because the writing itself was competent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    What I have learned when reading celebrity biographies is that they really are beautiful much like the rest of us. Donna Karan was born to parents in the fashion business. Her father, Gabby, died when she was three, and her mother, who was called Queenie focused on her job. Queenie came home exhausted from her job, and would be distant and not the supportive mother Donna and her sister needed. Her mom remarried to a man also in the fashion business, and he became the father Donna craved. Donna worked all through high school and went to Parson 's School of Design where she met Louis Dell'Olio, the designer who became a life long friend. Donna learned fashion on the job and quit Parsons. She met Anne Klein and after a difficult beginning they became a nna married at a young age, to Tag Karan, and had their daughter, Gabby. But Donna could never forget her one real love, Stephan Weiss. The day Anne Klein died from cancer, Donna delivered her baby, Gabby. The Anne Klein squad asked her to take over the business, and so with a fresh baby, a marriage, she was at the begin of her career. Eventually she left Anne Klein and started her own fashion line which became wildly successful. Remember the Seven Primary Pieces, the seven pieces of clothing every woman needs in her visit, that was Donna's baby. Donna realized early on that she wanted to dress her clients as she would dress. She had a lot of popular clients and one of the most famous, Barbra Striesand, who remains a close mate to this day. Donna spent forty years designing and dressing from the groovy times in the 70-80's until 2014, when she retired. Donna initiated the fitted suits and jumpsuits that showed off women's figures, but were fashionable and comfortable. From the primary black dress to the yoga nna relates stories of her time in the fashion industry with Anne Klein, Anne Klein II,to her own company Donna Karan Company. Her second husband and the love of her life, Weiss, died in 2001, and when she was scheduled to show her first fashion present without him, it had to be canceled because of 9/11. The stories and her times with her clients and celebrities bring the best of times. This book is well written and warts and all are bared. Not much is held back, and this gives me a renewed appreciation for this fashion icon. She has her foundation, Urban Zen, which combines fashion and spirituality, and this will hold her busy. She is a grandparent and relishes this role. Her life is amazing and she is looking for her next commended. prisrob 10-20-15

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I enjoyed this book. Simple reading and an opportunity to see how the fashion globe works. Donna is extremely talented and popular but she seems like a regular hard working woman passionate about what she does. Donna faced the pain that a lot of us face. Our relationships, our history. She is definitely some one to sit and have coffee with. Very comfortable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I loved reading this book. I ended up buying it right after reading DVF's recent memoir. Donna's kind, humble and warm spirit is felt with every word in her story. She makes no apologies for being who she is - chaos and all - but you just know she has created every choice with love, including letting go of her namesake brand. As a soon to be 30-something living in NYC, it's unbelievable to read the words of women who have and continue to live creative lives on their own terms. I end this book inspired, even more in love with the DKNY brand and ready to read about Donna's next chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    After reading this I'm eagerly awaiting her next book. She's lived such a full life and she generously takes you on a wild ride through her history in Fresh York and abroad. Reading this was like journeying across the world with the coolest guide. This book also shed some light on the curious and mysterious globe of fashion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    interesting but went on too long on certain parts. could have been half the length with better, more to the point editing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    Enjoyed entire journey. It was a pleasure to be able to read about her awesome life and her enthusiasm for her family and her life's work. Thank you for sharing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Journey review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:0

    I was intrigued with Donna Karan after reading an interview done in the Sunday Parade magazine, a PR to the release of her memoir. Naturally I had to order her book. She spoke to my inner woman, expressing creative energy and mood in her style and action, and incorporating intuitive sense to fashioning freedom in the form of seven simple pieces. I came away, however, with a sense of needing zone after a few short chapters, the pace of her life exhaustive, almost superhuman in the face of significant changes and losses; a tibial plateau fracture after a heli-skiing accident deserving only half a paragraph in her book. I especially enjoyed what Karan shared of her exchanges with significant others, like the water color paintings her (now deceased) husband, Stephan, did for her of a plus sign in sunny yellow and a minus sign in black--"You can look at life either way, Donna," he said. "It's your choice, remember that." Donna Karan's work is not over, and I do love the journey she is on both spiritually and in her philanthropy. She is truly living the metaphor--giving more life and light out, and receiving more in spades.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Penpal America - Chat with New Friends in America review [App]  2019-8-16 21:38

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Cooking: Fever Games and Cook Diary for Chef review [App]  2019-6-7 13:46

    I only give 3 stars because the box to tap to double your coins is broken! It freezes & then I have to go out of the android game & begin over. So now I'm playing w/out doubling my cojbs, which makes it difficult to make batter much!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Cooking: Fever Games and Cook Diary for Chef review [App]  2019-6-7 13:46

    simple so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chef Cooking: Fever Games and Cook Diary for Chef review [App]  2019-6-7 13:46

    it hold on freezing my phone.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    Buttermilk Graffiti: A Chef's Journey to Discover America's reviews Pirates win88.today/ace333/ reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online unblocked.how reviews Mod ongbaby.com/blog/categories/ntc33 reviews Summary of Michael D. Watkin's The First 90 Days Updated reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online megaboxfilmesonline.unblocked.id reviews OpenPhone: 918.network/downloads/88-sky777 reviews Olympic Channel: 67 sports at your fingertips reviews Clash of Dreams Private Server Client ongame888.com/kinh-nghiem-choi-ca-cuoc/hay-bat-dau-voi-mot-tai-khoan-ca-cuoc-bong-da-don-gian-nhat-n154.html reviews The%20Law%20of%20Action:%20How%20to%20Amplify%20Love,%20Money%20and%20Health%20in%20Your%20Life reviews Pirates win88.today/download-sky777-android-ios/ reviews Data huntdistaagen.mihanblog.com/post/comment/new/50/fromtype/postone/fid/15259910165af4c668342a1/atrty/1525991016/avrvy/0/key/0cb5ee9812f6830fb7d02c456ec17906/ reviews ATS freekr1.nayana.kr reviews Duct Tape yxatinkygylu.mihanblog.com/post/comment/new/94/fromtype/postone/fid/15386223635bb5839b925d1/atrty/1538622363/avrvy/0/key/a7ab515082523c07a4f897ccaca6edb1/ reviews Basics in Www.puni.ne.jp/~cocoa/cgi-bin/keiji/g_book.cgi/g_odnoamkuris.blogspot.com/g_book.cgi reviews basic www.ruriruri.net/2005/houhu/g_book.cgi/a/g_book.cgi,cakrawalasehat.blogspot.com/japan/g_book.cgi3Erelevant20web-site3C/g_book.cgi reviews mt-police.com Intelligence:. reviews Play Ima-Wall.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=Www.Vbc006.com/nlink/rollex11pcdownload859149 reviews Basics in Ace333.gdn/index.php/download/23-ntc33 reviews Fidelity CFO Forum'A=0 reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter