Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I am a large fan of Noncenti's run. Although it definitely took Daredevil far from the familiar, I would have problem naming someone who did a better job with the book, other then Frank Millier or Tag Waid (and honestly, I'm not sure how well Waids items will keep up after a decade or two). Also, not for nothing, but the title of one of the problems here- "Heaven is Knowing Who You Are" is arguably the best I've ever seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I had a really hard time finishing this one. Daredevil is one of my favorite Marvel characters, but Ann Nocenti's writing is horrendous. The dialogue is ridiculously atrocious, and the whole preachy animal rights story completely lost me. I spent $4 on the digital version, and I still feel like I was ripped off.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Frank Miller had come on Daredevil and turned a floundering book around. This foreshadowed what he would later do for Bat man and even his creator-owned Sin City. Miller introduced and reinforced hard-boiled crime drama, tragedy, and pathos into the globe of Daredevil. Miller also introduced Bullseye, Elektra, and Stick as part of Daredevil's milieu, as well as taking one of Spidermans' foes, The Kingpin, and making him a force to be reckoned with. Under Millers' stewardship, Wilson Fisk truly lived up to his description as "The Kingpin of Crime". Wilson Fisk went from being a C-list Spider-Man rogue to a truly terrifying, strong villain. Unlike other supervillains, The Kingpin didn't wear a costume or have flashy superpowers: His powers were the ability to manipulate, intimidate, corrupt, and destroy others. Under the pen of Frank Miller, The Kingpin was a cerebral and physical powerhouse who used his wealth and connections (legitimate and criminal) to accomplish his goals. When John Byrne revamped Superman at DC Comics in the late 80s, there's no doubt he used elements of Millers' Kingpin as a model for the revamped Lex Luthor. Frank Miller set the tone for Daredevil which is part of the hero a lot of decades later. David Mazzuchelli kept up the powerful artistic tradition of Frank Miller without being a clone. From the second problem onward, Mazzuchelli inks his own work and one sees the evolution in his style. Along with Miller, David Mazzuchelli also left his tag on "Batman: Year One". Whether you are a fan of Daredevil, Batman, Frank Miller, or Dave Mazzuchelli, this book should be a worthy addition to your collection.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Daredevil Epic Collection: Heart of Darkness (Daredevil (1964-1998)) video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I remember reading these problems years ago when they were first published and it felt so amazing to re-read them in this most perfect collection. Miller's writing is fantastic. Matt Murdock goes thru hell and then redemption. I need to read this again in a few years. I never obtain tired of this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I have always been very fond of Daredevil in all his evershifting personalities. He was the first Marvel hero that really became known and read in my country Sweden and he outdistanced Spiderman and Unbelievable Four that created it for true much later even though they appeared at about the same time. Here we have a classic story-line from rather long time ago where the demons of his life are pushing very hard and breaking him. A theme which has been used quite a lot of times aferwards. This classical collection is very nice but I feel the age and the punch of the story is no longer that powerful as it (probably) was when the story was new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I had heard a lot about Daredevil: Born Again and how awesome it was, and I didn't doubt it. I'm a large fan of Frank Miller's run on Daredevil, but I always place off buying this book because I'm really cheap like that. So when I finally got the nerve to pony up and buy it, I was small worried it wouldn't live up to the hype. I'm here to tell you, believe the BLOWS AWAY Frank Miller's previous work on Daredevil, and in my opinion even tops Batman: Year One or Batman: The Dark Knight Returns. I've read hundreds of Marvel comics, from the 60's to the show day, but none come close to being as epic as Daredevil: Born Again. It is really that good. Miller's writes drama and tension as amazing as the best Hollywood films. and Miller summarizes David Mazzucchelli's art in a blurb at the end of the story quite nicely:"It's almost criminal how simple David makes it to write a script. He makes a three-dimensional scene of the individual panel, complete in authentic detail, nonetheless uncluttered and utterly readable. He creates actors whose dramatic range is startling, whose best and most compelling moments are wordless. He's talked of writing his own comics. Hold your eye out for them. I will. - Frank Miller, 1987"(Incidentally, Mazzucchelli did in fact write and draw his own graphic novel, Asterios Polyp, which was released in 2009 to stellar reviews. Although I wouldn't know since I haven't read it yet... again, I'm very cheap.)The hardcover is of amazing quality too. The only issue I have is how Marvel collected the issues. This book includes Daredevil #226-233, which were all done by Miller and Mazzucchelli. But since Born Again starts in problem #227, Marvel decided to stick problem #226 all the method at the end of the book, which doesn't create sense to me. Although not officially part of the story, #226 works as a prelude to Born Again, introducing some characters and elements that play a beautiful huge role. So I highly recommend going to the back of the book and reading that problem first. Be careful not to spoil yourself by coming across the latest few pages of the main story. This is the only issue I have with an otherwise awesome final advice: if and when you buy this book, read it all at once. You can thank me later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I bought this book not really knowing how it would turn out. I love the hero of Daredevil and I loved Frank Millers Batman titles so I figured I'd give this a go because it got amazing reviews. This is the best comic I've had the pleasure of owning, I personally think it's even better than Dark Knight Returns. What you're getting here is less of Daredevil and more of Matt Murdock. If you only like action in comics don't buy this it's a very plot and hero development based book. The presentation of the book is also very nice although the coloring is not always consistent but the pencils were very amazing and very much 80s-like artwork which I appreciated. The ending, although it was short and sweet and a small ambiguous I thought was satisfying. On top of all that it's got an extra story in the back. If you're a fan of Miller or Daredevil this is a must buy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I've been a fan and reader of comics for well over 40 years. Daredevil Born Again is arguably the most seamless blend of a writer and artist coming together as a single artist belongs alongside Frank Miller's Batman: The Dark Knight Returns and Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' Watchmen as one of the greatest comic book stories of all time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is a amazing Matt Murdoch story! This particular arc is focused more on who Matt is when he isn't Daredevil and how he deals with a life changing series of events. The writing is real to the hero and helps you realize just how powerful a personality Matt is. Recommended for any DD fan. The review is short to avoid any potential spoilers. You should know nothing going in and just be swept away by the amazing story telling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    OMG! This story was just spectacular. Never been much of a Daredevil reader but was glad I piced this book up. Kind of suprised I never picked this book up as a Frank Miller fan

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Just like it says in the title of the review, the story is astounsing, as is part for the course with Frank Miller, but the ending is very limp, with almost no impact or feeling of "Yeah, Matt got the Kingpin!", which is not necessarily a poor rhing, but the ending is a lot more like "What? All the Kingpin gets is a couple of criminal charges that probably won't stick?"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Seriously this story is awesome. This shows how scary the Kingpin is as a villain and how tough Daredevil is and how much crap he has to go through. If you're a fan of the present you'll love this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Waste of movie stock

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    What a amazing release from Marvel, it's just a shame that we have to wait so long for e hardcover book comes a small bit oversized from your regular monthly comics. The paper is also a lot nicer that comes in a smooth shiny type, It looks really classy. As you can see I'm not very amazing at describing things so please go to other reviewers who do this in a much better way.I'm fresh to comics, only got into them a few years ago so I can't compare this Daredevil series to the ones in the past but all I can say is that this is a amazing release, a unbelievable story in a amazing package. I missed out on the first 24 or so problems of Tag Waids run so this was a excellent edition for me. If only they could release these Hardcover editions a lot quicker, just like the standard trade edition.If time is not an problem than I highly endorse this Hardcover edition over the standard trades. And what if you have all the problems that are included in this release? Well.....that's a hard one and and it's something that you have to think about hard. There are unique features in this release that aren't included in the individual issues, but then again you do lose the Letters page.But if you don't have any problems then it's a no brainier. Obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    "It has been a miserable latest few years and every time I thought I'd finally hit bottom, God somehow found me a bigger shovel. All this pain and all this loss and...and I just can't bear the weight of it anymore and stay sane. I know that. So this is the method I've decided to be."Matt Murdock's speech to Foggy is perhaps Tag Waid's statement of intent with his run on Daredevil. Acknowledge the grimdark past of the comic, while offering a dramatic change of pace and tone. It's perhaps a soft reboot more than anything, with past happenings staying in continuity, even while there's a change of focus away from that type of storytelling.Waid's new approach to the title is in some ways a return to its silver age roots. Forgoing a lot of trends of contemporary comics, Waid's Daredevil is a swashbuckling hero. His concerns are at a more human level, protecting the not good and disenfranchised, than with slugging it out with supervillains. The stories are shorter, punchier, and more self-contained. A reader doesn't need to know 50 years of Marvel continuity to understand the storyline. It feels new exciting and e art duties are split between Paolo Rivera and Marcos Martin. Their easy clean lines reflect this reversion to silver age aesthetics visually. The colorists, Javier Rodriguez and Muntsa Vicente, only add to the throwback effect. Bold color choices, often themed in red and yellow (DD's colors, don't ya know). The overall result is evocative of the pop art of the 1960s, the era of Daredevil's birth.I couldn't be more impressed with a contemporary comic. It has both the fun and energy of a silver age comics, but with the stylistic sophistication of a 21st century piece. Highly recommended for all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    For years now, Daredevil has been a dark character. I remember when Frank Miller took over the writing chores of the monthly book method back in the day. We’d never seen cinematic art like that, and we’d never seen Daredevil portrayed so … mean. I liked the change. Daredevil became a must-read book and he [email protected]#$%!&ing everyone’s radar (yep, that’s a joke!) almost overnight.I enjoyed the run for a while. I enjoyed Brian Michael Bendis’s time on the character, and Ed Brubaker’s run was a natural follow-up. Both Bendis and Brubaker went on to write other quality noir stuff, and Brubaker has beautiful much created that flavor his standard.But I was, quite frankly, ready for a change. I didn’t go through the Shadowland premise, but I heard about it. I was kind of satisfied to hear Tag Waid picked up the title, but I just hadn’t gotten around to seeing what was going on till lately.If the first graphic novel is any indication, and I’m certain that it is, Daredevil is about to go through a whole fresh renovation that will leave the hero drastically changed, yet real to his roots.Waid is one of those writers that I usually read and enjoy. I liked what he did on the Hulk and the Unbelievable Four and Brave and the Bold, and there have been several other titles he’s written that I loved (Potter’s Field, Ruse, Unknown)! His run on Indestructible Hulk is a of the first things you message immediately is the colourful brightness of the pages. Visually, the book is a lot various from what Alex Maleev did while working with Bendis. There’s a lot of WHITE on the pages, lots of begin zone that allow the art breathe and allows the reader to relax and enjoy. I love the artwork and the visual feel of the pages. Paolo Rivera and Marcos Martin do an outstanding job of moving the story along and giving dynamic perspectives to Daredevil’s action sequences. The war with Captain America was delineated well.I like the new take on the series, that Matt Murdock is so high profile that he can’t practice law and ends up counseling clients on how to handle their own court cases. However, that’s unbelievable, especially when these cases involve such high stakes. On the other hand, that’s probably more believable than a blind man flipping across rooftops and zip-lining high above the city. So – okay, I’m all in with it.I wasn’t too satisfied with Klaw (or a facsimile thereof) being the first villain up in the roster. Likewise, I wasn’t overly fond of the confrontation between Daredevil and Captain America, but that was real to Marvel roots too. I remember when Daredevil took on Sub-Mariner method back in problem #7 or the original series (back when DD first broke out the red suit). That was how Marvel heroes got to know each other back in the day.I did like the method Daredevil took on the Spot at the opening of the first issue. The war was beautiful cool, filled with action and humor. The idea of Daredevil kissing the bride was a bit much, in my opinion. It was a amazing visual, but when you think about the act, you realize that Matt would know such a thing would be assault and actionable. Still, the art really makes that pop, so I excuse e Klaw arc plays out and leads into a case closer to Matt’s heart: a young blind man is wrongfully fired from a company where he’s been working. Of course, that initial incident leads to a lot of others, and a showdown that ends up being both physical and cerebral, showing that Waid understands Matt is both character and lawyer.I also quite enjoyed the Matt/Foggy sidebar story (see? Lawyer term! Bonus). The health meal kick Matt is putting Foggy through is dynamite. I like it because it shows Matt cares about Foggy, and the two argue and war like brothers. Or like two law school students who shared a residence back in the ere are other plot strings out there, like the assistant district attorney who’s interested in Matt/Daredevil, the fact that Captain America is keeping an eye on Matt, and the potential of all the world’s criminal organizations targeting Daredevil after the happenings in the graphic novel. I can’t wait to see what Waid does with them.And I just started reading this series in time for the zone to be switched from Fresh York to San Francisco. That’s an interesting curveball, and like Matt Murdock, I didn’t see it coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I got this in the mail today. While Im a die hard Spidey fan, Ive only read Daredevil on and off(Frank Miller Collections, Bendis' run, "The Return of the King") because it just wasnt....enough. Enough fun, enough story, enough action. It was so dark and noir-y that it just didnt work for me. Recently there was a Daredevil/Spidey crossover which needed me to buy an problem of the current Waid/Rivera series and...wow. Just wow. I know that was Marvels plan in making the crossover, but it worked in a huge way.I dont always like Tag Waid(Good on ASM, Okay on Hulk, poor at Avengers) but he has DD down. His take on Matt Murdock is the most enjoyable in years. Hes not grim and foreboding anymore.Or possessed by an actual demon, or running an international crime syndicate,yes these were real(and stupid) storylines past. Hes enjoying himself, and it shows. And I fell in love with Paolo Riveras artwork two years ago when he was a regular on Awesome Spider-Man. His lines are so clean and simple, yet his storytelling flows so fluently. And just look at the cool cover. He illustrates Daredevil's powers in a method I have never seen before(the radar sense especially, check out how DD sees the Spot). Plus the series is only at problem 9(8 was the Webhead/Black Cat crossover) and this collects 1-6 so its not to late to jump on. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Frank Miller took Daredevil to a dark dark place, but since then its never really changed. The writers have been using that same dark formula for years, but finally Matt Murdock has been born again as a swashbuckling, vigilante/lawyer/superhero that he once was. Its much more interesting now that Daredevil has been through so much over the years. Its like he can be that guy again, yet he is much wiser and more s amazing to see Murdock enjoying life for once. I personally loved this book. It had a easy mystery story but with a lot of heart, humor and personality that is rare in comics these e artwork was interesting as well. It was beautiful old school and was very nice. If you ever loved Daredevil, this is a must read/own book and I'm excited for whats next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It has been forever since I've read Daredevil. This is a beautiful amazing re-boot. Shucks, it seems I'll be reading a lot more Marvel in future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Unbelievable take on Daredevil, that respects the character's past and is so various and refershing that what has come before it. Waid knows the history, knows what makes the characters tick. There is a history where Daredevil was more carefree, (the 60's) so it's not out of hero for him to have some of that hero back. I LOVED Bendis and Brubaker's runs, but this is very entertaining and interesting. He's exploring Daredevil's powers and globe in ways that haven't really been touched upon. Waid always needs amazing artists. This reminds me of the Miller sensibility, that harkens back to Will Eisner, where the art is story telling as well. I'm glad I waited to read this. I look forward to a long so, Waid uses appropriate villians. Daredevil is fighting the mob. He's fighting a sound based opponent (Klaw.)I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Okay, it is this Daredevil series that started the daredevil craze. Nontheless, This is a unbelievable story on its own merits and will surely deliver, and satisfy any reader, comic or novel alike. Tag Waid brings a fresh take on Daredevil, and its one I'm surprised no one ever thought of until now. Marcos Martin and Paulo Rivera are the two artist for this first story arc and they also contribute to the quality of the title. They both bring a nuance and almost reinvent the method to draw Daredevil is is a excellent jumping on point for all fresh readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Seriously guys, Bendis did a amazing thing with the wholly gritty noir style but it's time for a fresh DD. This is a very fun read and the "new" Matt Murdock is a beautiful interesting character. And the art! Amazing god the artwork in this is nothing short of awesome! Daredevil is currently one of the best books that Marvel is publishing and after reading this first volume you will see why.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Daredevil By Mark Waid Vol. 1 (Daredevil Graphic Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Daredevil has been through such gloom and doom over the past 10 years that it's nice to see Tag Waid come in an adventure it up a small bit. The stories aren't any less serious or adult oriented mind you, it's just that Waid has found a method to bring amazing comedic timing and a sense of fun to the book that had been missing for such a long time. If you're unsure about comics then this is one of the books that can victory you over. I would recommend this and Matt Fraction's Hawkeye for anyone looking to jump into fresh comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Excalibur Epic Collection: The Cross-Time Caper (Excalibur (1988-1998)) review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:1

    mostly about shadowcat & t much of charertor enamys.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    As a lot of reviewers have already written, the plot is LUDICROUS and the tea stage at the end is absolutely is book was slow and I was sort of shocked when the murder happened at about 50% of the book (I read it on my Kindle so I don't know page numbers.) I thought to myself "How are they going to fill up the rest of this book?" And I was spot on: this book could've ended at the 50% tag and I would've liked it more. On the plus side: it's an simple read that you can finish on a domestic they are going to turn this into a film is beyond me. No doubt, it will be a boring sically, here's the book so you can save your cash (there are no true spoilers):0%: Meet Nora5%: Begin ludicrous plot line10%: Meet a motley squad of annoying characters25%: Tequila and cocaine50%: Murder (an alcohol and drug-fueled murder? Ruh roh!)60%: Nora can't remember what happened.70%: Nora still can't remember what happened.80%: "Oh why, oh why, can't I remember what happened?" asks Nora.90%: Eureka, Nora remembers what happened!95%: Nora's having tea with the murderer because killing someone sure makes me thirsty for some Earl Grey.100%: Thank God this book is over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Amazing lord this was a badly written book with a wafer thin plot line. Had such high hopes. It is likened unto Gone Girl in a lot of reviews. Gone Girl isn't the best literary work to start with but at least it was entertaining and not too predictable. This was drivel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Obvious villain ... silly plot line ... who makes huge life decisions off texts with no verbal follow up for 10 years???? Ridiculous ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Certainly a amazing debut novel. Once again, though, the protagonist is a hot mess, all but destroyed by a failed relationship with a man. To give Leonora Shaw credit, though, her life in London was going well until she agrees to attend a bachelorette style weekend in the gloomy English countryside, if by well you mean that she lives alone, has almost no social life and no interest in forming a romantic relationship with anyone. She's a successful, reclusive author of crime novels (Kind of like me, but I'm method older than she is and not nearly as successful). She doesn't even have a dog or a cat. The supporting cast of characters is fascinating and original, and I loved the Agatha Christie type limited list of suspects, and the method the story points the reader toward one and then another, not revealing the real culprit until the breakneck-paced, bitter end. The setting looms dark, huge and menacing throughout (After all, the title is In a Dark, Dark Wood.). Dozens of gothic foreshadowing, which I love. I'll definitely read Ruth Ware's newest book, The Lying Game. I'm officially a fan now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Wow, this one was predictable. It is also boring because the author tells us the same things over and over. The characters are one dimensional and the writing style is repetitive with the author telling the reader over and over what certain characters are like and what is going on. I found the writing juvenile, both the style and the plot which was beyond silly. I figured it out almost immediately. Don't expect plot twists. This book was all hype. I bought this and Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin at the same time and the latter was much more entertaining and better written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I have to admit up front that I was very disappointed in In a Dark, Dark e story centers on Nora, a 26 year old crime fiction writer who is sometimes referred to by other characters as Lee, Leonora, or Leo. Nora is invited to a bachelorette weekend party to celebrate the marriage of Clare, a person she hasn't seen in a decade. The reunion is awkward (Clare is marrying Nora's old boyfriend) and the guests contain different stereotypes: the mentally unhinged Flo, catty Tom, stressed out fresh mom Melanie, and sassy best mate Nina. Toss in lots of alcohol, a litttle cocaine, and plenty of poor feelings and you have the makings of a really unpleasant party. And then there's a murder which leaves Nora battered with amnesia trying to place her memories back uted as a mystery in the Agatha Christie mold the story plays out more like a Scooby-doo tale. The author drops conspicuous clues repetitively. Two characters who are of related build wear identical clothing (Jinkies!) and there's a shotgun hanging on the wall loaded with blanks (Ruh-roh). There are other warning signs as well -- no phone service, mysterious footprints and a missing cell phone. The author lays out the clues in an massive handed, overt e characters come across as fairly shallow and juvenile. There didn't seem to be anyone to root for -- not even the murder victim. The ending is quite obvious -- although not to Nora which reinforces her characterization as incredibly dim (especially for a crime fiction writer). I don't wish to give out any spoilers, but the tea drinking conversation near the end of the book is ludicrous.I can not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    It's fine for reading on a plane or airport; something frothy and fast if you're not expecting a mystery. This book is "meh." The protagonist is agonizingly stupid, and all her "friends" and the people she's surrounded by are all different shades of the main "mean girl." The book would honestly work much, much better if they'd all been *actual* teenagers or freshmen college student reconnecting on a weekend trip. Because treating the characters like adults stretches plausibility, especially when you learn the crux of the protagonists' long-festering pain; trying to hold this relatively spoiler-free, but if it was the kind of relationship where you wouldn't text back even just an acknowledgment, it's not the kind that you'd obsess over for a decade to the point of never having a subsequent relationship. I mean, Jesus Christ.I did like all the scenes describing her running, and describing the woods and the house. Even describing her life in her small flat in London; I could picture that flat and that quiet life. Reading those scenes in the Kindle preview is what created me buy the book. Like I said, it's fine so long as you're just looking for a fast small read while traveling and hold your expectations low.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    the book was very, very slow...and predictable. The focus was teenage love and Leo, admitted that was her focus since she was 16, getting back with James. It is very interesting that James did not wish contact with her when he found out she was pregnant...that was a red flag for me...and the next red flag was Leo getting invited to the HEN party...and then the next was James showing up at the HEN party.Rather silly, all of it. Not at all a amazing crime novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Three word review for this book: SUPER. FREAKING. CREEPY.Ok, so I'm just kidding about the three word review part, I'll give you more. I'm totally not joking about how creepy the book was though. I listened to the audio book when I went on walks with my dog or on my commute to and from work, but it was always at day time because this book was so darn e story is centered around Nora, a young crime fiction writer who is invited on her childhood best friend's bachelorette party. She hasn't seen her mate in a lot of years, but she decides to go anyways. Things begin getting a small strange at the bachelorette party and Nora begins questioning why she is there in the first place. After someone is murdered, Nora loses part of her memory from the evening and must retrieve it in order to search the much as I enjoyed the quick paced flow of the book, there were parts that were a small childish, cliche, and one dimensional. There were very obvious clues dropped throughout the book as well as a super huge build-up for a not so surprising ten year secret. There were times when I just wanted to obtain to then end and be finished. With all of that said, I did have fun the book. It was obvious at times that it was the author's first novel. I would recommend this book to friends, but it definitely would not be the highest book on my list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I listened to the interview with the author on NPR and the story sounded interesting and entertaining, so I decided to check it out. Other reviewers had compared this book to Gone Girl, a book I enjoyed for the most part (except the ending), so it seemed a amazing e beginning of the book moves slowly, building up to the “promise” of the book (a murder at a hen party or bachelorette party). There’s a lot of the narrator, Leonora (Lee or Nora or Leo depending on who you ask) asking herself why she chose to accept an invitation to a hen party for a woman that she was best mates with in elementary and high school. They haven’t spoken in 10 years. Yes, why? Because the bride to be is a manipulative B whom everyone loves (and sometimes hates to hate). And that is one of the ways that Gone Girl and Dark Dark Wood are very related – Amy (Gone Girl) and Clare (Dark Dark Wood) are both “good poor characters” (meaning they are well written twits who deserve to be punched in the face for their maniuplativeness, but if someone did punch them, a lot of people who haven’t seen the manipulative side would wonder, “How could you hit HER? She’s so NICE!”).The book overall is entertaining, but the promised murder doesn’t occur at least until the middle of the book (couldn’t judge pages on my Kindle) and seems to move swiftly from there (whereas the parts before moved more slowly). Once the “suspense/thriller” aspects of the book started, I didn’t wish to go to bed – I wanted to [email protected]#$%! and see what happened. There wasn’t much to distract from the story - there were a few editing errors in the Kindle edition, and my brain had to “translate” some of the British to American, but other than that this was a solid and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    This is a unbelievable anthology by 4 amazing authors! They are all fabulous novellas, but today I’m leaving a review for Of Love and Legend is the continuation of a previous story Ms. LeVeque wrote earlier. There is so much potential in the expansion of the original story of a ring fabled to identify real love once found. Family traditions often do play a part in the establishment of a relationship between potential lovers. In this story, it happened to be a ring passed down through the ages from mother to eldest daughter or closest female relative. In my own family, it is also a family ring passed down through the generations but to the eldest son. I found this story to be refreshing in that yes, it was a romance, but with an unusual twist of reality incorporated into the plot. Sometimes little things we take for granted, turn out to result our lives more than initially thought. A unique, fast read that reminds us that things are not always as they may seem and that life can be full of justifiable secrets.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    My reviews are for OF LOVE AND LEGEND, by Kathryn Le Veque, and HIGHLAND SONG, by Tanya Anne CrosbyOF LOVE AND LEGENDKathryn Le Veque has woven together a spellbinding read with OF LOVE AND LEGEND! I loved our Heroine, Valeria. She carried so much weight on her shoulders, and I admired her strength and her resolve. Will Valeria search real love and happiness? Don't miss this story - It is riveting - from begin to finish!HIGHLAND SONG, by Tanya Anne CrosbyWhat a tender and strong read! HIGHLAND SONG features quite a unique, and mysterious Heroine, Catronia - I loved her, and how she was just wish the Doctor ordered for our Hero, Gavin MacBrodie, who didn't realize just how much he required love and companionship!Lovely reads for Valentines' Day - Five Stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    This is a lovely collection written by four queens of romance. Can there be more than one queen for a genre? Absolutely. The only story I did not read in this collection yet is Tanya's story because it is the fifth in its series, so I will read it after I read the previous books. As for Stealing Moira's Heart, it was a lovely story, but it ends on a cliffhanger. You will wish to purchase the second book in that series. Have fun this lovely collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I read the story by Tanya Anne Crosby "Highland Song", it was amazing except the part that mentions potatoes. The story is set in the 1100's, potatoes did not reach Spain or Europe till the 1500's after Spain conquered Peru! Except for that, I really enjoyed the story. And yes, I am a history and trivia buff, plus I am 69 and have read thousands of books so far (I am a very quick reader). Kathryn Le Veque's books are amazing except for the fact that in more than one of her books she keeps writing about carriages in the Middle Ages. Before the fall of the Roman Empire, they existed, after that time period they did not exist till the 1500's. She keeps writing about carriages in the wrong time period! I stop reading the story if there is a historical mistake. I did allow her know about the "carriage" mistake but I guess she can't be bothered! A lot of readers don't know their history as well as they should, this is why every writer should take the time to know what existed in the time period they write about. Another one of my pet peeves is anyone using a word that did not exist in that time period. I once read a story of someone in the Middle Ages "jogging", PLEASE, give me a break!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    What a unbelievable Valentine's Day release! My review is for Kathryn le Veque's "Of Love and Legend". Secrets abound in this sweet novella. Valeria has always loved Tyren, but with her father's illness and a family curse, she has been hesitant to present her feelings. Tyren has a secret of his own, which is ultimately revealed by Valeria's Aunt Cassia. Add the Lucius Ring into the mix of secrets and you have a classic love story. (A classic le Veque love story.) This is a amazing continuation of the Lucius Ring Curse/Legacy. Each of the stories are wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    Enjoyed reading this story! The first part about the ring and why Theodosia had to leave her parents house. The legend of the ring continues through the years. Two houses holding dark secrets have been revealed to three people! Have fun reading the story to search out what for Highland Song by Tanya Anne Crosby. 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This story is about Family and how the men who say” I’m never going rry” and before the words obtain cold their married. One brother is left, Gavin is building a put where can live. It’s not simple living with two brothers and their fresh wives. Mysterious things begin happening, and it started when a naked lady comes out of the woods. She has tattoos and painted blue. Now Gavin has a hard time trying to trying to focus . He goes home to eat with his family and hoping to see her the next day. This is a amazing book to read and search out who everyone is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I loved these stories, because the men and women were powerful and flawed individuals, and they concord a lot of obstacles to be together and love each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I could not place it down. I love each of the authors!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    “Stolen Hearts” is a collection of four novellas, by four unbelievable authors, who weave a stories about hunky highlanders and valiant knights.Each story is very engaging whether with magical nuances, humorous dialogue, passion or a protective character who learns that he has more love in his heart than he ever thought possible.I enjoyed each story and while two of the authors I am familiar with and love to read, I also had the pleasure of sampling two fresh author’s writing.I won’t tell you my favorite story but I will say that this Anthology is well worth your time to read if you love romance and satisfied endings as much I do. This book is a unbelievable method to step away from the daily stress and have fun a small romance.I received this book as an ARC copy and the review presented is my expressed opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stolen Hearts: A Medieval Valentine's Collection review [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    The Reiver Glynnis CampbellChristy is a young woman living in a guild who doesn’t feel as if she really belongs. Her parents are deceased and her uncle, the laird, is anything but loving, while her male cousins seem to merely tolerate her presence. One evening while attempting a prank of sorts to fit in with those cousins, she meets a woman who makes a strange ird Brochan is a widower with two five year old boys and a couple of older faithful servants. He has moved his little guild to a fresh place, left to him by a deceased relative, to escape the memories of the wife he loved and lost. His land is next to that of Christy’s clan, but the Moffats are not the welcoming sort. One evening he heads into the village for a drink and a woman he meets makes a strange e two are connected by these predictions, a blazing attraction to each other, five cows,and possibly fate. The story is one that is well worth the time and leaves you with a smile.Highland Song Tanya Anne CrosbyThis is a sweet novella about a man named Devan who has always thought of himself as a man of faith. A member of a huge and loving family, he is now twenty four and the only unmarried sibling. Living in a house with all the other happily wed couples can be a bit , well, annoying. All that kissing and smiling, it can create a man wish more than just his dog for company. So Devan builds a little cottage on the edge of his family’s land, determined to live alone. Until one day an unexpected thing happens- a woman appears out of nowhere. Not just any woman, but Cat, and she definitely has her own unique charm. Is Cat a faerie or just a wanderer? Can a man like Devan even believe in faeries and all that magic?Readers will have fun having these questions answered as this romance is a delight! It will leave you with a smile on your face.Lore of the Lucius Ring Kathryn Le VequeTheodosia is a suffering widow. Lucius, her deceased husband was the love of her life. She has mourned his death for two long years. Her wealthy, politically connected parents wish her to remarry a man she finds e needs to create a decision for both herself and her child. She still wears the ring her husband gave her when they married, and the ring is telling her she has just so much time remaining to be rward into the future, nearly a century. Lord Tyren is in northern England, the head of his family. Lady Valeria lives in a neighboring estate, and at eighteen bears the burden of being in charge of her family’s holdings as well. The two have known each other since childhood and their fondness for each other has grown through the years. Both have secrets thought, and these secrets could lead to a lifetime of unhappiness. But, with the support of the Lucius ring, and a wise old aunt, these two young lovers may have that possibility at a future together. The story of the ring and it’s history is an interesting premise. The lore and characters surrounding it create for lovely tales. Although it is of novella length, and I usually prefer the novel length stories, I thoroughly enjoyed ealing Moirra’s Heart Suzanne TisdaleIn this story Moirra needs a bit of cheap labor. She owns a little farm, has four daughters, but harvest time is just two months away. Moirra needs support around the house and land. So she walks three miles into the village to look for a husband, because her first three didn’t work out. It’s there she meets “John” in a rather unconventional way, and decides he’s the farmhand and husband, at least temporarily, for the is is a quirky, delightful, and sometimes poignant story that I thoroughly enjoyed. The daughters are funny, and there are secrets held by both main characters that affect their lives. This is the prequel to ‘Saving Moirra’s Heart’, which I have also read and can recommend as a terrific story too.I have read each of these stories as prior purchases, but it’s excellent to place these together for Valentine’s Day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    These alternate versions of the stories we know so well are entertaining and definitely worth a read for any Star Battles fan. It's fun to think "what if this didn't go right in the original story?" and see what the characters do and what the conclusion is. My only complaints are that you'd expect these alternate takes to end worse than they did and "The Star Wars" adaptation of George Lucas' rough draft, while interesting for fans, was definitely an unpolished story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    While marvel, under the auspices of Disney ownership has rereleased these, dark horse is the originator. The infinities stories are a what if of star wars, while the final story, based on the original screenplay for star wars, is fun, if this had been the released film, we might not have the juggernaut industry it became. Still, the star battles is fun. A lot of characters became one and a lot of of the names are familiar. This tome is a must for any star battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    It was an entertaining read. The what if? stories were better than I thought they would be. Yoda was amazing in one of them. The Star Battles based on the original draft from George Lucas, was a amazing read, but lets say I am satisfied Star Battles (the movie) turned out to be a lot various than this. The price for this collection is a bit too much, but if you can search it from a third seller for a amazing price, go for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Giving it four stars as I'm concerned how well the spine of this omnibus will keep up. It's a huge volume. Otherwise, I'm thrilled to have the Infinities collection in TBP, as the first three stories at least are quite intriguing. I didn't know about the continued prequel-era storyline, and have yet to read the other half of the collection. I didn't pick up a lot of Star Battles titles before the Lucasfilm buyout--had only started to read comics, had no money--but the Infinities stories are my favorite series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    poor quality paper is supposed to count as a bonus to my broPleas read before you all obtain triggered and begin a man hunt on me this is not a story or art review but a quality onei bought this as a bonus to my bro all thought i am a manga fan i must say that the quality of the paper is absolutely discussingi opened up the the book the search that some of the pages look like they ben crumpled (but there not) if this was an old mass produced copy of shonen jump i could understand but this is absurd, my complete collection of sonic and mega man wolds collied had much better quality than think marvel wouldn't allow themselves be upshoted by Archie but they would think they would create a product that was created to last......guess not.i warn you all who would buy this be careful when handling this book it just might rip if you turn the page to quick (exadration)maby you marvel fans should complain so you can obtain better quality paper

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Some of the greatest what if stories you'll ever read plus an perfect adaption of George Lucas's original draft of Star Wars. A amazing value buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I must start by saying that I heard of this stories back when they were released but I never bought them. I looked forward to buying them and luckily they were released in this format.I had a lot of fun reading them. There are 3 infinities stories. The first story is set during a fresh hope and deals with the ramifications of the death star not exploding. To me this story was great, it explores luke's hero and the complete training that he receives from master yoda for 5 years. It does present that after the death star destroys Yavin IV the galaxy falls into a state of full peace. It was amazing to see that the story uses elements of the prequels, the jedi temple is shown. Overall I thought this first story was e second story deals with what IF luke has died frozen on hoth. I thought this story made a deep insight into han and leia. Leia finds out the truth about her parents and accepts her destiny and she trains with master yoda and she receives a full jedi training. This story was rich and just like the first story, it adds mace windu, young obi wan and padme. I liked this story but towards the end it had me wanting for e third stories is about han and the IF his rescue hadn't gone according to plan. His rescue was a very intricate part of the resolution of the main story and once that happening change a lot of other happenings changed with it as well and the end results are very fascinating specially the story's finale.I enjoyed the 3 stories but unfortunately I dislike their overpriced cost, $26 is a lot of cash for 3 stories. I also didn't like the fact that the story based on the original screenplay The Star Battles was added to this collection. The Star battles is an ok story but it doesn't deserve to be added this collection. One more thing that caught my attention was they didn't add the Dark Horse comics credit on this book. It has the Marvel logo and the Disney logo but not the logo of the ones who made this story.Overall, I like this book and i have fun the stories and the method if scenarios that it showcases. As a word of tip if I were you i would definitely buy once it gets cheaper don't pay the $26 I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Infinities review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Cats know how to steal your heart and in this book we search some very determined cats who wanted a home and ended up being very loving companions.I found these stories to be precious and filled with love. OK, there are two stories which are sad but have a amazing message.What is cute about this book is that after each story there are pictures of the cats. There is even a picture of a dog snuggling with three cats. So there are some stories about dogs too. I liked the story about a dog named Jayke who helped to take care of five kittens. You could really feel the emotions of the dogs and cats in that particular story was lol funny and some of the pictures like Juno's picture was beautiful cute. I especially thought the story of the troubled author was very well written. In fact all the authors seemed very talented and creative. They seemed to focus on all the info that create a story be honest all the cats featured in this book have attractive pictures. You almost want they could jump out of the Kindle so you could pet if you are the type of person who rescues kittens you will love these stories a lot. I found them very heartwarming and beautiful. It reminded me of all the cats we've adopted from the humane society over the years. We also found one cat on the side of the street and nursed her back to health. She has ended up being our best kitten yet and is very loving. So I could really relate to these stories.~The Rebecca Review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rescue Kitties. There were so a lot of wonderfully sweet and touching stories that it is hard to pick a favorite. There were stories that created me smile and a few that admittedly brought tears to my eyes. What I liked best about this collection was seeing the adorable pictures of the cats at the end of each story. The authors did a amazing job of describing the personalities of each cat and I really felt that I could see their traits coming out of their pictures as e book is an simple read and is the excellent book to pick up and read a story at a time. I, however, couldn't place it down and read it continually. I had just started reading it when my husband announced that he wanted to take the family to see a movie. Since we usually obtain to the films early, I brought my Kindle to read while waiting in the theater. There were some technical difficulties with the film and it did not begin on time. While most of the audience was complaining, I thought, "Great, I can squeeze in another kitty story!"I highly recommend this book and hope that G.F. Klassen and L.G. Taylor publish another work of short stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    This book has 15 stories of rescued kitties. Each story is a couple of pages (95 pages in the entire book).The stories are heartwarming. Each story is written by the owners hand and most contain a picture of the cat in the storyI loved this book. It is short, but the stories are sweet. Amazing book to give to a cat friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    I totally enjoyed this book! If you never read a pet book and think it would be boring please test this one. It will create you see cats in a various light. They are so reflective of people in their own way. They wish love, attention, to exchange communication. They do this with body language and their 100s of ways of meowing! They can express happiness, sadness, want, love, caring and a lot of more emotions. You just have to learn about them. These stories begin a door to you understanding the various characters of cats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Very sweet stories of cats rescued from abandonment and the love they provide to those who adopt them. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an alternative to all the horrible news of the world. A+++++++. It would be an perfect source of stories for kids to support them understand the responsibilities associated with pet ownership and the special personalities of cats. Very nice pictures of the cats as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    While I, as a cat-lover, found these stories entrancing,they didn't stick with me a amazing deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    All but one are amazing stories. The one I did not like as much was sad due to the not good cats circumstance and demise. Through it I saw we should treat all creation with love, and mercy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Jack and I hope you all have fun our story. We're proud to be part of this collection of lucky kitties and the humans who love them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Amazing cat stories

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    RESCUED KITTIES: A Collection of Heart-Warming Cat Stories review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Heartwarming is a amazing adjective for this book. The stories warmed my heart and created me want I could adopt a nice kitten. I have two cats, already and don't wish any more. I have taken in quite a few cats and dogs who found their method to my yard in terms latest twenty years and enjoyed them until they passed away. If a cat or dog wanders into my yard, I will give it a home. These stories were all very amazing and I will be glad to recommend it to others to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I grabbed this book knowing nothing about the author or really what it was about and was pleasantly surprised. A mixture of magic and sci-fi with amazing characters and settings. I imagined this as a film the entire time I was reading it. Some of the writing and dialog seemed a small odd and unrealistic, however didn't slow me down. I look forward to more from Dayne e Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I liked the various crises that eventually came together. The use of various kinds of super magic! But, please in the future obtain better reviewers of the grammar. There were too a lot of locations where a word was missing, or used incorrectly. This was a amazing disappointment and created me cringe method too often!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    A very well developed series with amazing characters, lots of ot is top notch, lots of background on the characters. You obtain to know the people feel for them. This is a collection I would love for my bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing development of characters but the no-stop fighting wear a small thin after a bit. Some time is required to develope all the characters so that the reader can hold them straight and know the amazing guys from the d Entertaining if you pace yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Aok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I read this series before I realized there was another set of books before them. I would have understood a small more but it really didn't create a difference in how well I like the books. I have since read the first three books and really liked them too. Look forward to more books from Dayne Edmondson

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I found this series to be e story kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't place it down. I love the characters. I just hope that Dayne will continue with the story.If you like a amazing zone opera then I think you will love this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing set of books in one package! I loved them! A lot of action and never boring. I found myself wanting to turn the page before I finished it because I so into the books. Eager to obtain to the next thing going on. Well worth the time to read these books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    action package quick paced interesting characters

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Complete Dark Tide Trilogy: A Seven Stars Collection review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    The trilogy was very amazing and really kept my interest. I am looking forward to more of the story and hope it continues soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    Mr. Malanowski has a unbelievable method of bringing a person's story to life. He has certainly accomplished that in this book. Will Cushing is completely and fairly described to a degree that brings you back to the 1860s and allows us a special glimpse into a life that a lot of of us never knew of. The book is a captivating read from cover to cover and leaves you wanting more about our heroes of our past, be they Union or Confederate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    We loved the book, partly because we lived in North Carolina where much of it is set and could relate the Civil Battle history we knew of the area. It was very well written and encourages us to read more books by Jamie Malanowski.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    Will Cushing is the original SEAL. This book is authored well with little breaks from Will's life to cover stories that his brothers are involved in and war he just missed out on. Commander cushing is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    A amazing story of a real American hero. His brother received a Congressional Medal of Honor for his actions at Gettysburg (finally). William should obtain one, too. This guy was a real daredevil and character in his own right.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    Well written and enormously interesting. I live in the Cape Fear zone (Oak Island) so I'm familiar with all the locations the book is talked about. I would highly recommend this book. I would share it with mates except I worry about not getting it returned.!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    Very well done .....could have spent more time with the wars he was involved in ....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    A truly remarkable story that accurately describes this individual who is both fantascially courageous and psychologically flawed. Perfect writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    Perfect story/reporting on one of America's naval heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    my husband loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:0

    This meticulously researched history is as compelling as the finest historical fiction.If you have ever wondered if the heroes we miss today ever existed, this book will set you straight.Will Cushing was a hero. As clever as he was fearless, Cushing sought risky assignments.And then he performed a union troops known for drunks and fools, Cushing and his less fortunate--if no less courageous--brother,Redeem the officers whose troops saved the c

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Epic Collection: Capital Punishment (The Punisher (1987-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Nice Punisher tale that takes put out of the US with a few minor Marvel guest stars. Abnett and Lanning were a amazing writing squad for awhile, and I've read Abnett's Inquisitor Warhammer books. Quality stuff. There is also an problem of my favorite Punisher writer Chuck Dixon, where Punisher is caught up in a grocery shop robbery while doing some late night shopping. The art is ok, I wasn't a fan of the method the main artist draws faces, you can see his cover art here to decide if that matters for you, but other then that small nitpick, a recommended Punisher story that takes him out of his usual toybox.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Punisher Epic Collection: Capital Punishment (The Punisher (1987-1995)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing Punisher - Punisher: Eurohit by DnA, a very amazing Mike Baron OGN, and speaking frankly, there is one Chuck Dixon story in this collection which is amongst the all time best Punisher one shots ever produced. It's Punisher in a supermarket vs some thieves and its AWESOME. let's hope this is the begin of Marvel re-releasing all the old Mike Baron & Chuck Dixon Punisher stories from the 80's and 90's in trade AT LAST!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This book includes some awesome material from the Lee/Kirby years - For starters the God of Thunder ventures to the Black Galaxy where he encounters the alien Rigellians and Ego the Living Planet - but that is just the hint of the iceberg -- included in this action-packed volume are a vast array of terrific characters - the High Evolutionary and his Knights of Wundagore, Replicus, Super Skrull, Ulik and the Rock Trolls - all the gang from Asgard - Odin, Loki, Sif, Heimdall, Fighters Three etc.. and the Destroyer!Its one thing to throw in all these characters into a single book, but to have them come to life and jump off the pages like they do is the true treat, thanks to the "King" Jack Kirby - Thor's other-worldly adventures are irresistible - this volume of the Epic Collection series and the one that follows - Vol 4, are two of my favorite books in my Marvel collection and both are a must for Thor fans

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Like being able to carry the entire collection on my Kindle application while traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Some of the old classic comics that I grew up with. A fun read every night before bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    GREATREAD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Collects two of my favorite stories of all time in one huge epic with other little tales that are always method over average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..."..."Darth Krayt is Not Pleased!"The above exclamation accompanied an extreme close up illustration depicting the masked face of the galaxy's dark Emperor by artist Dan Scott from the cover of "Star Wars: Legacy" comic problem #22. As Volume 2 of this hardcover reprinting of co-creators' John Ostrander's and Jan Duursema's "Future of Star Wars" begins, things are not going as planned for Sith Master Darth Krayt. While successful at seizing the throne of the galactic Empire, the Dark Lord is finding it difficult to achieve complete win over those who oppose his rule. Gar Stazi, former admiral of the Galactic Alliance Fleet, is using the remains of his stellar armada to attack key strategic military centers of the fresh Sith Empire, to undermine its control of the galaxy. Meanwhile, Krayt has failed to achieve his desire to gain the rumored Force healing abilities of Cade Skywalker, direct descendant of the legendary Jedi Knight Luke Skywalker, abilities the Sith Lord coveted in hope of staving off the lingering effects of Yuuzhan Vong torture on his body. But his response to these setbacks is typical of a Master of the Sith:"It is time...the entire galaxy learn what it costs to oppose me!""Star Wars: Legacy," Volume 2 recounts how millions of the galaxy's citizens become even more victimized by the merciless ambitions of the Dark Lord and his army, the One Sith. It also info Cade Skywalker's continuing quest to search his put in the troubled galaxy and whether his legacy in the Force will follow that of his ancestor, Luke Skywalker, a winner in the Light of the Force, or that of Anakin Skywalker, who fell to the Dark Side. A pair of Cade's companions, Kee and Jariah Syn, describe the commander of their shared ship, the Mynock, in a brief exchange during battle:"Captain Cade's gotten dangerous. Tell me, Syn--Don't all this Force items create you nervous?"..."I'm just glad the Captain is on our side! Mostly."This 424 paged hardcover collects the original "Legacy" comic problems #20 through #36, and problem #41, first published by Dark Horse Comics in 2008-2009. These single comics were later republished in trade paperback collections with the following titles:(Volume 4)Alliance (Issues #20-22 and 27)(Volume 5)The Hidden Temple (Issues #23-26)Star Wars: Vector, Volume 2 (Issues #28-31)Note: These particular "Star Wars: Legacy" comics were the concluding chapters to an ambitious 12 part story-arc called "Vector," which ran through all the Dark Horse Comics Star Battles titles through out 2008. For the sake of offering Star Battles fans complete information, the "Vector" story serial was premiered in: "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic #25-28; continued in "Star Wars: Dark Times #11,12; then appeared in "Star Wars: Rebellion #15,16, and again climaxed in the above "Star Wars: Legacy" comics. The entire "Vector" saga was reprinted in a 2 volume trade paperback collection in 2009.(Volume 7)Storms (Issues #32-36)"Star Wars: Legacy" problem #41, "Rogue's End," was first reprinted in "Legacy" (Volume 8): y of the drawn or painted covers to the original comics are included in the book, used mostly as illustrated heralds to fresh chapters in the developing story. The contributing artists include: Adam Hughes (who made the cover to the tome's dustjacket), Doug Wheatley, Dan Scott, Omar Francia, Daniel Dos Santos, Sean Cooke, and series co-creator, Jan Duursema. The covers to "Legacy" problems #23,25,26,28-30,33 and 35 are regretably not reprinted in this collection."Star Wars: Legacy" continues to depict an epic struggle between the forces of amazing and evil in a battle ravaged galaxy. Each side of the conflict plot and plan, hope and dream. Author John Ostrander further builds on his growing cast of interesting characters and deepening plot threads while collaborating with a wider range of pencil artists, like Omar Francia and Kajo Baldisimo. Still, Jan Duursema remains this reviewer's favorite artist on "Legacy," and one of my all time favorite "Star Wars" illustrators. Her detailed, non superhero style is excellent for this tale she helped bring to visual reality. As a creative whole, all the talented artists working on this distinctive "Star Wars" adventure have created it an exciting addition to this beloved is is a amazing comic series and comes with this Star Battles fan's highest recommendation!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A final edition I came to have fun was Azlyn Rae, Cade Skywalker's former lover and a Jedi padawan who left their order to become an Imperial Knight. She is a reminder of the better times of Cade's life while also a person who inspires him to be better. The fact she's a powerful female hero who chooses to do what's right over what's practical also helps cement her put in my fanboy's heart. Plus she's a ginger and they're a superior species (at least according to my wife). Hehe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is the second in a set of three hardcovers collecting the Star Wars: Legacy comics storyline. The middle of the overall plot arc of the series, this book is basically the Empire Strikes Back part of Legacy. That contains Darth Krayt proving just how risky he is, and a family-relationship plot twist I didn't see coming the first time through. Ostrander and Duursema really knock it out of the park with Legacy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    More Star Battles extended universe awesomeness! If you like Star Battles and comics, READ THESE!!!! I don't wish to give too much away, but if you wish the general overview of the story then read my review of the first volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The Artwork is Top Notch, the 3 Main stories were very engaging. Cade Skywalker is still my 2nd favorite Star Battles hero overall right behind Kerra Holt, and before Jaxxon. This Real Fan is out of here Excelsior, Shalom Y'all! Nuff said Hulk out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    More amazing Star Battles stories and art! The saga continues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing story. Can’t wait to finish the whole book. As a Star Battles fan, this was a very interesting approach to the sky walker legacy. I like this better then the current films. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Its a graphic novel telling part of a wide story in the Star Battles universe 137 years after the war of Yavin. For those who don't know what that is its after the Death Star's destruction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: Legacy Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Perfect Star Battles story. Highly recommend this series for Star Battles fans.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter