Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-7-1 18:0

    This is definitely the best of the series so far! Each tale is the origin story of the 7 evil batman graced by surprising storytelling and captivating awesome art. This is a must own even if you are not a comic book person!! Unbelievable work by the creators!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-7-1 18:0

    Probably my favorite book in the entire series, Dark Knights Rising features a closeup look at each of the creative revisions on the characters represented in Dark Nights Metal. This is the items my childhood dreams were created of. I love the new direction and the bold fresh take each of these stories is book, in particular, works like the Elseworlds one-shots I was so fond of in the 1990s. Now, let's see the DC Multiverse action figure globe draw on some of these chararacters. Really, really cool items indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-7-1 18:0

    Look, this isn't a traditional Batman story. Let's just place that out there. It's a collection of the one-shot problems that give the origin to each of the Dark Knights found in Metal. Now if you are interested in seeing Batman become evil versions of members of the Justice League, this is for you. Don't create the mistake of the gentleman that bought this thinking it was a traditional Batman story. Do your homework. Don't punish this book with a poor score because it's not what you thought it was.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) video reviews and related movies:

    See DC Comics Review: Dark Nights Metal: Dark Knights Rising on youtube.

     related image

    See Red Death Becomes Reverse Flash!? (Dark Nights Metal: Wild Hunt) on youtube.

     related image

    See Rise Of The Dark Knights | Dark Nights Metal #2 on youtube.

     related image

    See Dark Nights Metal Part 1: Rise Of The Dark Multiverse! on youtube.

     related image

    See Dark Nights: Metal Deluxe Edition on youtube.

     related image

    See Dark Nights METAL "Batman Dark Multiverse" - Rebirth Complete Story on youtube.

     related image

    See DARK NIGHTS: METAL Soundtrack First Listen! on youtube.

     related image

    See Dark Nights: Metal - The Graphic Novel Arrives! (:15 version) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-7-1 18:0

    I got an ARC of this book.A whole ton of no on this one. I am all for an evil Batman, one that has been pushed too far that he finally snaps. Give me a broken Batman any stead this was just Batman in various costumes killing people. They weren't Batman. The characters were all wrong in a method that was really painful to read. Alfred being a killing AI for example. Batman being Green Lantern for another. I can hold going. This book looked like something I would enjoy, instead I was annoyed throughout the book. Annoyed was the nicest thing I could say about my feelings about this book and probably this e only story that was any bit interesting was the Batman who Laughed which is a hero introduced in the main story line of Dark Nights: Metal. Otherwise I could live without someone going "gee, I wonder what it will be like if Batman killed and had superpowers and was evil". That hero is no longer Batman. That is so far removed that the name Batman is just being used to sell a book. I am really disappointed. I expected that this would be the book that would obtain me into the series, sadly it was the one that tipped my feelings over to pure disdain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal: Deluxe Edition (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    In Dark Nights: Metal, Batman is the man with a plan. The world's greatest detective knows the end is coming and he sits in the center of it all. In an unwavering story of best friends, Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman lead an all-star squad of heroes versus the dark multiverse and it's troops of evil Batman dark knights. I stayed up method too late caught up in the action, as things look bleak unlikely alliances and the lasso of truth play a huge part in saving the day. Splendidly colourful and nicely drawn, the art pleases the eye and the story provides an abundance of entertainment. I love the splashes of humor sprinkled throughout that lighten up a nerve wracking, dark tale for a amazing read by a amazing writer. My voluntary, unbiased review is based upon a review copy from Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: The Batman Who Laughs (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    I was waiting for this chapter to come out so badly that I think I set the bar to high. The story is right and I think is a clever method on how to "fuse" the neverending story of Batman and Joker. It has its moments and I really liked the ending panels. The visuals are ok I think I liked more the ones in Murder Machine but maybe it's just my taste on drawings. Definitely going to purchase it on physical form.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: The Batman Who Laughs (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    I really found it interesting to see a hero become so twisted simply by turning off the one thing that makes a human amazing into something much darker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    The Street to Metal is really short, the other out of order comics don't create a ton of sense and fill out over half the book. Not really what I was expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    I had to create a decision on this one because, on the one hand, I’m a sucker for DC events. On the other hand, I can’t recall anything that Scott Snyder has ever written that I enjoyed which is beautiful awesome considering his popularity. The amazing thing is that only three stories in the book were written by Snyder and they’re as pretentious and groanworthy as everything else I’ve read by him. The poor thing is that almost 80% of the book is recycled material that supposedly inspired Snyder to make e fresh items we obtain is “The Forge” by Scott Snyder and “The Casting” by James Tynion IV. The writing is insufferable. The DCU is facing its largest threat ever… AGAIN and it’s ALL about Batman who is always 10 steps ahead of everyone else despite some moments of unintentional ridiculousness by the Dark Knight. Early in ‘The Forge’, Batman is travelling within a volcano in a large protective suit when the computer warns, ‘pressure mounting’. Batman tells the computer to ‘compensate’ and when it states that the, ‘suit will not hold’, Batman yells, ‘I SAID COMPENSATE, DAMN IT!’ Does that mean Batman designed his suit AI to perform better if yelled at with mild profanity? This is the kind of stupidity that I search so grating and distracting when I’m trying to have fun a side “The Forge” and “The Casting” we also obtain Final Crisis #6 and 7 from 2009 and “The Return of Bruce Wayne” #1 from 2010, both by Grant Morrison. The book also contains “Endgame” parts four and five by Scott Snyder from 2015, “Nightwing Must Die!” part two by Tim Seeley from 2017 and a four-page story called “The BIG Picture” by James Tynion IV from 2017. Do these stories have some common theme to build off of? Not as far as I can tell. Perhaps when I read Dark Nights: Metal everything will become clear but at this point all I have a bunch of incomplete stories, most of which I already owned, some of which leave off on cliffhangers. Nice.I haven’t read the six problem Dark Nights: Metal series yet but I’ve been reading the follow up by Scott Snyder, “No Justice” and as far as I’m concerned it’s beautiful vapid and pointless. If I were a comic publisher would I employ Scott Snyder? Hell, yeah. Every single problem of Metal was in the top 2 of comic sales for its respective month. That’s ALL comic sales, not just DC. Unlike some huge happenings it had sustained sales and didn’t really tail off as some will do if the fans aren’t getting in to the story. I think a lot of readers see Snyder as bold and edgy but I search his writing silly and ponderous. Maybe it’s a generational thing. I’ve had problems with writers like Grant Morrison and Tom King but along with some really poor items they’ve also produced some awesome writing. Snyder is the most inexplicably famous poor writer I’ve ever seen and at the risk of being really mean he borrows other writer’s ideas and styles so often that his work borders on plagiarism. There, I said it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    One of my favorite writers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    A attractive book to behold. The glossy cover is awesome to display, and all of the pages are packed with gorgeous colors. The binding is nice and tight and well place yder and squad have outdone themselves with the storytelling for Metal and this first collected edition sets the bar high for the following hardcovers to come.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    METAL, the next huge DC Comics happening helmed by NEW 52 Batman scribe Scott Snyder is the first happening under DC’s REBIRTH in mid- 2016. Expect a lot of characters fighting huge fights, heavy conflicts, and changes that shake the status quo forever! Yeah, the usual stuff, yet readers not staying in touch in comics need a refresher before the happening starts. So here is THE ROAD TO METAL, a collection of material to prep for METAL so readers aren’t lost when they read it. While the only two fresh problems in here are THE FORGE and THE CASTING being the real prelude material to METAL, the rest of the collection is purely supplemental, and that’s what hurts this book.DARK DAYS: THE ROAD TO METAL collects DARK DAYS: THE FORGE, DARK DAYS: THE CASTING, FINAL CRISIS #6-7, BATMAN: THE ROAD HOME #1, BATMAN #38-39 (NEW 52). NIGHTWING #17 (REBIRTH), and a double-page map of the Multiverse from the Multiversity how to talk about this without spoiling it for METAL? Hmph, I’ll give it a try. An ancient and strong evil is coming to the DC Universe, using rare metals through the centuries that have lead mankind as far back as dated. One of these metal is the Nth Metal, created popular for Hawkman and Hawkgirl have used since Egyptian times. Hawkman has disappeared and left behind his journal detailing the impending “dark nights” on the way. Batman too has been following the trail for some years in secret (since Snyder’s Court of Owls arc which is five or six years ago?), who also feels the clouded darkness on the method and wants answers before it’s too late. And Green Lantern Hal Jordan is sent to Earth to investigate strange power the metal gives off, which is secretly held in Batman’s Batcave with Duke Thomas guiding it (and a certain villain who locked up there in secret). With each story being told, the narratives starts piecing together a woven story that will lead into METAL.I have already read the METAL in single issues, though I think Snyder and Tynion do a amazing job building up the suspense of total annihilation to the DC Universe what’s to come. The frantic pacing of the three various narratives of Hawkman’s journal, Batman prepping for the incoming doom, and Hal and Duke unveiling Batman’s trail in the Batcave. All three plots run at the same time and it makes for amazing sense of dread is on the way. The Hawkman parts are past tense, the Batman parts present him slowly discovering the truth of the events, and the Hal/Duke parts fill us in all the easter eggs/hidden items Snyder has left since his beginning work on Batman #1 in THE NEW 52. It all feels grand, like the coming of a amazing Summer blockbuster ree various artists are at work here with Andy Kubert doing the Hawkman pieces, with John Romita Jr. and Jim Lee switching back-and-forth between Batman and Green Lantern pieces. It’s not too jarring in terms of keeping the same mood and panel placements correct. Romita Jr. is of course the blockier segments, Lee being his typical high detail parts, and Kubert kind of being between the two. It’s decent work; there just isn’t any particular stage that sticks out though.While I did the like the FORGE and CASTING issues, the rest of the book for the price is why I’m giving this collection 3 stars. While the cover is amazing with the shiny-metallic Most of the book is re-published stuff. I’ve already read INFINITE CRISIS 6-7 and THE RETURN OF BRUCE WAYNE #1 so I have working knowledge of items pertaining to METAL. For fresh readers who just wish to read METAL, they’re in for a heavy cluster of nonsense and incomprehension that honestly is a lot to place on fresh readers. DC would have done a better job summarizing those three problems into 1-page description for simplification. I’ll give you my summary for fresh readers because really, those three problems will just create your head spin and I wish to save people the struggle in all of that:_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________“There was an earth-shattering happening knows as “Infinite Crisis” in 2008 before THE NEW 52 involving Darkseid, All-Powerful Fresh God of Apokolips, finally achieving The Anti-Life Equation on Earth and bringing forth the destruction of all life across the universe and dimensions. Every superhero and villain fought together to possibly stop the colossal threat. Through certain perils, Batman managed to mortally wound Darkseid to change the outcome in favor of the heroes, but was blasted by Darkseid’s Omega Beams, who a lot of thought killed Batman. In the end, the Crisis was averted and everyone mourned Batman’s death, though in actuality, Batman was not dead, yet was sent back into time of primitive cavemen. Batman eventually jumped forward into numerous time lines continually wearing Bat-inspired clothing and leaving his tag throughout history before properly returning to his correct time period and continuing his work fighting crime. Unbeknownst to Batman, something was born from his travels through time that will lead into METAL…”_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________I hope I summed it up without giving things away, but again, I’m saving readers all that mess they are starting into with FINAL CRISIS #6-7 and ROBW #1. You see, Scott Snyder is trying to be like Grant Morrison in creating a whole fresh mythology to DC’s lore and being massively ambitious and weird. The issue here is Scott Snyder is not Grant Morrison and this lead-in shows this. It’s utterly confusing with too a lot of moving parts just to grasp as a prologue to METAL. I had to summarize almost half of the book as to not melt people’s brains. It’s very wordy and confusing, which is odd considering the happening hasn’t happening started yet! (And this is coming from me which I’ve already read METAL in its entirety!)Besides, DARK DAYS: THE ROAD TO METAL does have the makings for an ominous threat on the horizon that looks cool, but over half of the material collected is just to obtain those not reading comics the latest five years an idea of what’s to come and even then, it’s still difficult to process. It’s still not a poor refresher; it just could have been handled in a more streamlined way. If you’re a hardcore Scott Snyder fan or willing to obtain past a ton of confusion if you haven’t kept up in comic, DARK DAYS is a book worth getting before METAL. If you already have amazing knowledge of the DC Universe over the past 10 years or so and kept up with Snyder’s Batman run, you’ll be okay without this. I do think it would have been better if THE FORGE and THE CASTING was including to METAL instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    Dark Days: The Street to Metal is a dark, adrenaline fueled read that creates a hankering in the reader for the actual Dark Nights. Proving once again that Batman is the greatest detective alive, the book has an two main problems that combine in an annual size story and multiple single problems that tip at what is to come in the Dark Nights. Batman knows the end of the globe is coming and is working secretly to prevent it. Each problem involves Batman saving the globe even when he does not know who he is except the latest one that involves Robin and Nightwing. Separately, they all are enjoyable, together they lead to something epic. The art and color draw the eye and suck the reader in while the story psyches the reader up to the next chapter. My voluntary, unbiased review is based upon a review copy from Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    Dark Days is an entirely unnecessary collection for anyone aside from casual DC fans who were interested in the Dark Nights Metal happening but weren't caught up on Fresh 52/Rebirth events. The main crux of the collection are the two Dark Days one shots that set up Metal and act as essentially the first two chapters of the main event. The Forge and the The Casting are all about Batman's incessant find for the truth of the bizarre otherworldly metals that populate the DC universe and his find for answers in "the dark" (what Metal reveals to be the Dark Multiverse). Both one shots are terrific and provide a amazing set up for Metal, but they could have been included in one of the other Metal collections as they are integral to the story (also setting up the on going narration from Hawkman in his personal journal that Batman found). The collection also contains random problems that Metal draws on including the final two problems of Final Crisis (the death of Batman), the Return of Bruce Wayne first problem (the reveal that Darkseid had actually shot Batman into the past instead of killing him), two problems from the Fresh 52 run of Scott Snyder's Batman story during the "Endgame" story arc (wherein Joker reveals he fell into a pool of a strange metal called Dionesium that restored him like a Lazarus Pit would), and an problem from the Nightwing Rebirth arc that revealed an early look at one of the "evil" mirror dopplegangers from the Dark Multiverse (in this case an evil Nightwing called Deathwing). All in all it is necessary info that makes Metal create more sense in the long run (Snyder pulls on years worth of continuity for his event) but makes quiet a sloppy read overall. Personally, I would buy the Kindle versions of the Dark Days one shots and leave it at that. Again, The Forge and the Casting are unbelievable (and loaded with pre-New 52 easter eggs that further connects the Rebirth era back to the old DC continuity) but the rest of the collection is just a bit too random for a fun read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    “It all started with a tooth. A metal tooth that could bring the dead back to life.”Green Lantern senses an evil presence emanating from the deep recesses of the Batcave. The Joker escapes from his electronic cage. Batman is given a dagger by his ex, Talia, to support him in his find for the elusive 8th metal. Meanwhile, the Joker is playing his tricks. This time he says he is trying to support Batman by destroying a machine. You know you’re in for some poor sh*t when the Greek Gods go back to Olympius and bar the e two Dark Days’ prelude stories, Forge 1 and Casting 1, are the best in this volume. Both the art and story are superb. The other stories vary in quality and relationship to Dark Nights Metal. All are interesting for showing how art and writing styles have changed over the years. Other stories included are:Final Crisis 6-7, Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne 1, Batman 38-39, Nightwing 17, Detective Comics 950, and Multiverse Guidebook 1.If you plan to read Dark Nights: Metal when its collection is released June 12, Dark Days: Street to Metal is a amazing reminder of its backstory. Plus it’s a amazing value at 256 pages. The artwork, especially of the Joker and mecha-Batman from the cover, is attractive and detailed. The dark multiverse plot forcing an epic battle is amazing and continues down the latest dark path of Batman.Dark Days Street to Metal is highly recommended. 5 stars!Thanks to the publisher, DC Comics, and NetGalley for an advanced copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    'Dark Days: The Street to Metal' by Scott Snyder, James Tynion IV, Jim Lee, Andy Kubert is a couple prelude problems and a bunch of older problems that herald the huge DC Dark Nights series.Dark Days: The Casting and Dark Days: The Forge present a Batman who has things to hide and having those things come to light. Apparently something poor is about to happen and Batman somehow knows about it. This brings heroes from multiple Earths, and variations of the Justice League. The story isn't en we obtain a hodge-podge of older problems that seem to relate to upcoming events. Final Crisis #6-7, Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne #1, Batman #38-39, and Nightwing #17 are presented without a lot of context which left it feeling beautiful random to me. I would have liked some explanation, but perhaps that is for further down the e 2 prelude episodes are beautiful good. Some of the older problems aren't bad. The art varies a bit, but it's mostly beautiful good. I know there are lot of people who don't like John Romita Jr.'s art, but I am a fan of his special style.I received a review copy of this graphic novel from DC Entertainment and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Days: The Road to Metal (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-6-13 18:1

    I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest tman and the rest of the Justice League (Green Lantern, Flash, Superman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Lex Luthor, Hawkman, Hawkgirl, etc.) are back at it again in this fresh DC Epic!Batman is being sketchy. So what exactly is his secret? Is it battle or something else?The beginning of the comic starts with a fresh theory that Batman is up to something. But what could it be? As Batman goes on his journeys, we start to explore the truth behind his beginnings. But how is it all similar to the other characters? Carter, aka Hawkman, recounts this brief history before one of his premeditated e Joker is after a precious metal that dates well back into the history of Earth. By delving back into the history of the bat (and other symbols…one including our Hawk friends…could this be how the rivalry came about?), we see the powers of this precious resource. So how can it be obtained now? Can it be manufactured or is it indigenous? Will Batman be able to search the roots to this mystery before the Joker and his gang?One thing that I found special and haven’t seen in any of the other comics I’ve read before (I’m not super experienced) is that there are references to other comics throughout, which support the audience gear up for some huge happening that is coming usual, probably the best thing about comics is the artwork. This rings real to this comic. Bringing in the older problems really makes it special when describing the current happening and gives the reader a background to the story, especially if they haven’t read the historical problem in the t having read some of the previous comics, I can see how this may be a small confusing as a standalone and to someone only just beginning their journey into e ending…ah! For those of you who know me, you know I love my Gotham villains. And of course, my favorite, the Joker is back at it in this issue! Mind blown of how I think it will all come together in the next issues. Hello conspiracy theory!Can Batman exist without Joker? What will end up event to Batman? How are all of the other heroes related? We will have to read the other comics to search out!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dawnbreaker (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Top notch packaging and a amazing metallic cover!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Merciless (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    This was one of my favorite Dark Night tie ins. As of it's release date I'd say that Red Death and maybe Murder Machine were better. This tie in does a amazing job of introducing us to the hero with a really intriguing story. It's hard to explain why I loved it without spoiling parts of it but it's a amazing telling of the origin of this dark ver of Batman and does a amazing job of moving the overall Metal story along.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Merciless (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    What I dislike this problem was it didn't tell you how batman defeated the God of Battle Ares. Sure he had the hemalt but what power was used. But I still like the other ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Drowned (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I think this ver of Batwoman is cool. I hope DC expanses on this Character. I was watching youtube channels and amazing reviews. On the comic side of Batman going nuts and was a woman. This ver will victory out and I would believe this is a mirror photo of Bruce Wayne would do something like this. Well you might say the other version, in my mind, this would differently cause a mental break down and say screw it I'm talking the would down. The artist makes it so cool and every time I see the impale of AquaWoman, I have a Paul Heyman from WWE saying Gore, Gore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Devastator (2017-) #1 (Dark Nights: Metal (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:1

    I love this arc so far mainly because I've always wondered what my favorite superhero would be like as a supervillian.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal (2017-) #3 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    So amazing. Attractive artwork. Not surprised at how gullible superman is. I cannot wait to continue this series. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal (2017-) #4 review [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    While I really wish to like Metal I can"t .The book sole purpose seems to be to destroy the DC Universe. The heroes have essentially failed in every aspect and villainous versions of themselves have won. I should rephrase that versions of themselves from other universes have fallen to the Dark side. I just saw The Latest Jedi to explain that reference. Anyway I will continue to read hoping that somehow sense can be created of this mess.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal (2017-) #5 review [Book]  2018-2-1 18:1

    This issue's only goal seems to be to convince the reader that all hope is lost for our heroes and their world, showing the dark knights always one step ahead.But of course almost literally there is shown to be a light at the end of the tunnel. With amazing hero interactions and [email protected]#$% moments all around (as with every issue). My only complaint is the short length, a lot of things feel like they happen off-page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Nights: Metal (2017-) #6 review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    SPOILER WARNING for those who haven't read this issue. It's really interesting that the tie-in that brought in the different Batmen heroes, which resulted in that amazing splash page.... did absolutely nothing. I mean, it went no where. That's kind of how I feel about this conclusion. Except for the globe building, it really went no where. Awesome writing to set up a showdown between The Batman and The Batman Who Laughs (TBWL: "It's just you and me." B: "Promise?") and Batman gets shot in the stomach (which he apparently recovered nicely from) and then leaves the Joker to have a war with TBWL to an unknown end. Then.... the heroes just keep hands and their armor turns into light that saves the day. Really? I don't know... maybe I was expecting too much. But after all that build up, it just kinda felt like not much happened in the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This book is as amazing as the original. Bold words I know. But it is. And what I love is it forces people to acknowledge Strikes Again which everyone only hates because they've heard people say how not good it is. Honestly, it amazes me how a lot of people tell me its not good and they literally haven't even read is book also finally puts to rest that bullcrap story that Frank Miller hates Superman. He never said that. Tag Waid said that. The fact is, Frank Miller changed Superman for that ONE story. It was an interesting take. And ORIGINAL. And this DKIII just proves that he loves the hero because he redeems Superman in such a big, wonderful so the highlight of this book for me is it is the first time Frank uses Aquaman and actually draws him. So glad they went the bearded is is Carrie Kelly's story. This entire trilogy always has been. And this book further proves another Miller lie false - That his female characters are sexist. There has never been anything about Carrie Kelly for the latest 30 years that has been remotely sexualized or sexist. She is one of the most interesting characters in comics, not just female and not just by Miller. In all of fiction. It's amazing to see her grow is is a classic and I can't wait to sit down and read the entire saga starting with Latest Crusade, then Dark Knight Returns, Strikes Again and finally Master ank Miller is a genius.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Amazing story line and wraps up the entire Frank miller series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This is perhaps my comic of the year, maybe this is because I just finished it before writing this review, but I could not place this down for one second. It's definitely the craziest of any of the Dark Knight Returns comics, but it's not without its flaws. The book is basically one large graphic novel of several smaller volumes. The problem is that some of the drawing standards could be done better, and some panels are laughably bad. They had a amazing hero to be the main villain and he feels kind of wasted, and the ending comes close to Justice League (TV Series) level of convenient endings. For me personally, it was kind of upsetting and took the weight out of some scenes.Other than those issues, this comic is absolutely amazing. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who was a fan of the The Dark Knight Returns series. But if you're brand fresh to the DC universe I probably wouldn't recommend it. There'll be a lot of things that will fly over your head, and while it does test its best to explain everything some initial hero knowledge helps.I'll give this 5 stars for being exactly what we wanted, closure, but for a standalone Batman comic, it's probably a 4 star. It's really a graphic novel for the fans who've waited for what felt like an eternity to see how the series ends, and it delivers. For anyone looking to obtain into The Dark Knight, I'd recommend starting with the classics like "The Long Halloween", or "The killing joke" before delving into this one. Watching some Justice League would support too.P.S. There are some amazing political allusions in here, especially of a certain blonde, orange color president.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Not a wholly important entry in a saga that doesn't really need to be a series, but beautiful entertaining overall. It's probably the best thing Miller's done in 15 years, e ending is kind of week, though, and I want there was more of a sense of finality to it. It leaves the series wide begin in a method Miller hadn't in the the previous entries.Hey, it could have been worse, especially considering how Miller's All-Star Batman turned out. Like I said before, his writing is back on point here, and is a return to form for him and his take on the character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Love the shape of the story, the honoring of cannon and the hope for another work by Miller and company.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    I read Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns and loved it. I read Miller's The Dark Knight Strikes Again and liked it. When I heard about Dark Knight: Master Race, by Miller with Brian Azzarello, I was hoping for more of a Dark Knight Returns feeling. And you know what? I did like it. Master Race isn't as amazing as the original (that would be hard to accomplish), but I enjoyed it a lot more than I remember enjoying more than The Dark Knight Strikes Again. And that's a amazing thing. With sequels or returns to classic stories, there is a danger involved; so a lot of people have fun the classic original, that the creators risk alienating fans both old and new. Well, in my opinion, Miller and Azzarello have done a fine job with The Master Race. A fast synopsis: Batman is missing and presumed dead, Superman has removed himself from involving himself in humanity's affairs, Wonder Woman is busy ruling the Amazons and raising her kids (a daughter and son). Other heroes seem to be laying low as well. In to this globe comes rumor of a Batman sighting, which doesn't sit well with many. Additionally, Lara (the teenage daughter of Superman and Wonder Woman) visits her frozen father at his Fortress of Solitude. While there, she discovers the bottled town of Kandor, and is convinced to take it to Ray Palmer, the character known as the Atom. The residents of Kandor wish to be returned to normal size and Palmer's shrinking technology is just the ticket. But all is not as it seems when the Kandorians return. And thus, the foundation for the story of The Master Race is born.I enjoyed reading this story. I found that Miller and Azzarello had a fresh and interesting take on the story of the Kandorians, and the tie-in to how superheroes were viewed in this globe was nice. The subplots, involving Superman, Wonder Woman, and their children; Batman and his fresh Robin, Carrie Kelley; or even the cameos by heroes such as the Atom, Aquaman, and Flash, were all complimentary and dovetailed nicely with the main storyline. In fact, I really liked how the other heroes were very naturally brought into the story, rather than forced in just for fan addition to collecting the main comic story, this collected edition also includes nine separate mini-comics stories that ran in the individual comics, each focusing on a side story that adds to the overall enjoyment of The Master Race. Some of these stories focus on heroes, such as the Atom or the fresh Batgirl, and some present happenings that happen off the page of the main storyline. All were well done and deserved their put in this story.Overall, I really enjoyed Miller and Azzarello's The Dark Knight: The Master Race. It was a well-written story that added to the mythology of Miller's original The Dark Knight Returns. I highly recommend it to all Batman fans, and to anyone who enjoyed The Dark Knight Returns. It would also be an entertaining read for fresh fans wondering what all the Frank Miller Batman fuss is about.I received a preview copy of this book from DC Comics and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This book was a much better volume than dark knight strikes back. Not as amazing as dark knight returns, but artwork was great, story great, and definitely some twists and turns I didn't see coming. Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Frank's back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Quality Batman content, but one star short of the masterpieces that have come from Frank Miller's pen in past years. Since Frank Miller place his name on it, this book will inevitably be compared to his past work, especially The Dark Knight Returns. Compared to those comics, it's about four stars.Right off the bat, it should be noted that this is not a comic made entirely by Frank Miller (like Sin City). Instead, Frank Miller is a huge name on the cover, and he is credited as having made the story (and even then, it is usually another person along with Mr. Miller. Which makes it seem like DC is just using Frank Miller's name to sell comics, when in fact the comic is made by five to seven other at said, this story is original and creative. In The Dark Knight Returns, Frank Miller used a lot of background news casts to move the plot along, and the same is real of this novel. Technology plays a major part, and the story even has some philosophical introspection into the direction humanity is heading with its increasing attachment to intelligent phones and social media (one minor villain says to humans: "You are all slaves bowing to commerce disguised as creativity. The irony being, you made your false matter.").The art is also good. There are certainly several dud frames, but for the most part it's all nice and crisp. The cover of the book tips that the art will harken back to the moody noir feel of the early Frank Miller works. However, the artwork is much more conventional, and there are only a few frames that truly remarkable.Overall this is definitely one to own. Especially if you are a fan of the Dark Knight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So Dark the Night review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Le Cheval Noir. So Dark the Night is directed by Joseph H. Lewis and written by Dwight V. Babcock, Martin Berkeley and Aubrey Wisberg. It stars Steven Geray, Micheline Cheirel, Eugene Borden, Ann Codee and Egon Brecher. Melody is by Hugo Friedhofer and cinematography by Burnett Guffey. Henri Cassin (Geray) is a well regarded Parisian detective who while on a much earned vacation falls in love with innkeeper's daughter Nanette Michaud. However, with Nanette already having a boyfriend, and a tempestuous one at that, real love does not run smooth, especially when murder enters the fray and Cassin has to begin investigating the tricky case. It all begins so perky, with jolly music, smiling faces and brightly lighted compositions, so much so I had actually thought I had loaded the wrong movie to watch! Once Henri Cassin arrives at Le Cheval Noir (The Black Horse) in the rural city of St. Margot, however, the whole tone of the movie shifts into darker territory. The apple cart is well and truly turned upside down and different hero traits begin to come into play - with the different main players suddenly becoming an interesting bunch. Enter hunchbacked man, jealous guy, love sick chamber maid, weak parents et al... Joseph Lewis (My Name Is Julia Ross - Gun Crazy - The Huge Combo) does a top job in recreating a French city with what no doubt was a little budget, yet his greatest strengths here are his visual ticks, in how he manages to fill the picture with the requisite psychological discord that craftily haunts the edges of the frames until they be ready for maximum impact. In partnership with ace photographer Guffey, Lewis brings tilted angles and black shadowy shadings to this French hot-bed of lust and hero disintegration. He also has a nifty bent for filming scenes through windows and bars, while his filming of a rippled water reflection cast onto a character's face is as significant a metaphor as can be. Also note scenes involving a rocking chair, a dripping tap and a deft window splice sequence that signifies that the psychological walls are tumbling down. Something of a rare picture given that who the director is, this definitely is of interest to the movie noir loving crowd. The finale will not surprise too many, but it doesn't cop out by soft soaping the subject to hand. It also serves to present that the amazing Joseph H. Lewis could create a silk purse out of a sow's ear. 7/10 Now available as part of the Columbia Movie Noir Classics IV Collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    As a lot of reviewers have already written, the plot is LUDICROUS and the tea stage at the end is absolutely is book was slow and I was sort of shocked when the murder happened at about 50% of the book (I read it on my Kindle so I don't know page numbers.) I thought to myself "How are they going to fill up the rest of this book?" And I was spot on: this book could've ended at the 50% tag and I would've liked it more. On the plus side: it's an simple read that you can finish on a domestic they are going to turn this into a film is beyond me. No doubt, it will be a boring sically, here's the book so you can save your cash (there are no true spoilers):0%: Meet Nora5%: Begin ludicrous plot line10%: Meet a motley squad of annoying characters25%: Tequila and cocaine50%: Murder (an alcohol and drug-fueled murder? Ruh roh!)60%: Nora can't remember what happened.70%: Nora still can't remember what happened.80%: "Oh why, oh why, can't I remember what happened?" asks Nora.90%: Eureka, Nora remembers what happened!95%: Nora's having tea with the murderer because killing someone sure makes me thirsty for some Earl Grey.100%: Thank God this book is over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Amazing lord this was a badly written book with a wafer thin plot line. Had such high hopes. It is likened unto Gone Girl in a lot of reviews. Gone Girl isn't the best literary work to start with but at least it was entertaining and not too predictable. This was drivel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Obvious villain ... silly plot line ... who makes huge life decisions off texts with no verbal follow up for 10 years???? Ridiculous ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Certainly a amazing debut novel. Once again, though, the protagonist is a hot mess, all but destroyed by a failed relationship with a man. To give Leonora Shaw credit, though, her life in London was going well until she agrees to attend a bachelorette style weekend in the gloomy English countryside, if by well you mean that she lives alone, has almost no social life and no interest in forming a romantic relationship with anyone. She's a successful, reclusive author of crime novels (Kind of like me, but I'm method older than she is and not nearly as successful). She doesn't even have a dog or a cat. The supporting cast of characters is fascinating and original, and I loved the Agatha Christie type limited list of suspects, and the method the story points the reader toward one and then another, not revealing the real culprit until the breakneck-paced, bitter end. The setting looms dark, huge and menacing throughout (After all, the title is In a Dark, Dark Wood.). Dozens of gothic foreshadowing, which I love. I'll definitely read Ruth Ware's newest book, The Lying Game. I'm officially a fan now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Wow, this one was predictable. It is also boring because the author tells us the same things over and over. The characters are one dimensional and the writing style is repetitive with the author telling the reader over and over what certain characters are like and what is going on. I found the writing juvenile, both the style and the plot which was beyond silly. I figured it out almost immediately. Don't expect plot twists. This book was all hype. I bought this and Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin at the same time and the latter was much more entertaining and better written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I have to admit up front that I was very disappointed in In a Dark, Dark e story centers on Nora, a 26 year old crime fiction writer who is sometimes referred to by other characters as Lee, Leonora, or Leo. Nora is invited to a bachelorette weekend party to celebrate the marriage of Clare, a person she hasn't seen in a decade. The reunion is awkward (Clare is marrying Nora's old boyfriend) and the guests contain different stereotypes: the mentally unhinged Flo, catty Tom, stressed out fresh mom Melanie, and sassy best mate Nina. Toss in lots of alcohol, a litttle cocaine, and plenty of poor feelings and you have the makings of a really unpleasant party. And then there's a murder which leaves Nora battered with amnesia trying to place her memories back uted as a mystery in the Agatha Christie mold the story plays out more like a Scooby-doo tale. The author drops conspicuous clues repetitively. Two characters who are of related build wear identical clothing (Jinkies!) and there's a shotgun hanging on the wall loaded with blanks (Ruh-roh). There are other warning signs as well -- no phone service, mysterious footprints and a missing cell phone. The author lays out the clues in an massive handed, overt e characters come across as fairly shallow and juvenile. There didn't seem to be anyone to root for -- not even the murder victim. The ending is quite obvious -- although not to Nora which reinforces her characterization as incredibly dim (especially for a crime fiction writer). I don't wish to give out any spoilers, but the tea drinking conversation near the end of the book is ludicrous.I can not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    It's fine for reading on a plane or airport; something frothy and fast if you're not expecting a mystery. This book is "meh." The protagonist is agonizingly stupid, and all her "friends" and the people she's surrounded by are all different shades of the main "mean girl." The book would honestly work much, much better if they'd all been *actual* teenagers or freshmen college student reconnecting on a weekend trip. Because treating the characters like adults stretches plausibility, especially when you learn the crux of the protagonists' long-festering pain; trying to hold this relatively spoiler-free, but if it was the kind of relationship where you wouldn't text back even just an acknowledgment, it's not the kind that you'd obsess over for a decade to the point of never having a subsequent relationship. I mean, Jesus Christ.I did like all the scenes describing her running, and describing the woods and the house. Even describing her life in her small flat in London; I could picture that flat and that quiet life. Reading those scenes in the Kindle preview is what created me buy the book. Like I said, it's fine so long as you're just looking for a fast small read while traveling and hold your expectations low.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    the book was very, very slow...and predictable. The focus was teenage love and Leo, admitted that was her focus since she was 16, getting back with James. It is very interesting that James did not wish contact with her when he found out she was pregnant...that was a red flag for me...and the next red flag was Leo getting invited to the HEN party...and then the next was James showing up at the HEN party.Rather silly, all of it. Not at all a amazing crime novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Three word review for this book: SUPER. FREAKING. CREEPY.Ok, so I'm just kidding about the three word review part, I'll give you more. I'm totally not joking about how creepy the book was though. I listened to the audio book when I went on walks with my dog or on my commute to and from work, but it was always at day time because this book was so darn e story is centered around Nora, a young crime fiction writer who is invited on her childhood best friend's bachelorette party. She hasn't seen her mate in a lot of years, but she decides to go anyways. Things begin getting a small strange at the bachelorette party and Nora begins questioning why she is there in the first place. After someone is murdered, Nora loses part of her memory from the evening and must retrieve it in order to search the much as I enjoyed the quick paced flow of the book, there were parts that were a small childish, cliche, and one dimensional. There were very obvious clues dropped throughout the book as well as a super huge build-up for a not so surprising ten year secret. There were times when I just wanted to obtain to then end and be finished. With all of that said, I did have fun the book. It was obvious at times that it was the author's first novel. I would recommend this book to friends, but it definitely would not be the highest book on my list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I listened to the interview with the author on NPR and the story sounded interesting and entertaining, so I decided to check it out. Other reviewers had compared this book to Gone Girl, a book I enjoyed for the most part (except the ending), so it seemed a amazing e beginning of the book moves slowly, building up to the “promise” of the book (a murder at a hen party or bachelorette party). There’s a lot of the narrator, Leonora (Lee or Nora or Leo depending on who you ask) asking herself why she chose to accept an invitation to a hen party for a woman that she was best mates with in elementary and high school. They haven’t spoken in 10 years. Yes, why? Because the bride to be is a manipulative B whom everyone loves (and sometimes hates to hate). And that is one of the ways that Gone Girl and Dark Dark Wood are very related – Amy (Gone Girl) and Clare (Dark Dark Wood) are both “good poor characters” (meaning they are well written twits who deserve to be punched in the face for their maniuplativeness, but if someone did punch them, a lot of people who haven’t seen the manipulative side would wonder, “How could you hit HER? She’s so NICE!”).The book overall is entertaining, but the promised murder doesn’t occur at least until the middle of the book (couldn’t judge pages on my Kindle) and seems to move swiftly from there (whereas the parts before moved more slowly). Once the “suspense/thriller” aspects of the book started, I didn’t wish to go to bed – I wanted to [email protected]#$%! and see what happened. There wasn’t much to distract from the story - there were a few editing errors in the Kindle edition, and my brain had to “translate” some of the British to American, but other than that this was a solid and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Night of the Scarecrow review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Bubba Didn’t Do it… Dark Night of the Scarecrow is directed by Frank De Felitta and written by J.D. Feigelson and Butler Handcock. It stars Charles Durning, Larry Drake, Tonya Crowe, Jocelyn Brando, Lane Smith and Claude Earl Jones. Melody is by Glenn Paxton and cinematography by Vincent Martinelli. Small city Americana and Bubba Ritter (Drake), a friendly but mentally challenged man, is falsely accused of attacking and severely injuring young Marylee Williams (Crowe). Four of the city residents, with hate and ignorance driving them on, hunt down Bubba and search him hiding as a scarecrow in a field. Murdering him, they claim self defence and walk free from court. It’s not long afterwards, though, that the men begin to see a scarecrow in their midst… Some things from films just stay with you from when you were a wee youngster, I still remember the first time I heard the anguished cry of Bubba Ritter stating that he didn’t do the crime he was being hunted for. Dark Night of the Scarecrow stood out by some considerable mile as one of the best TV horror films I saw as a youth, not for things that I would later appreciate in movie making as I got older, but just for sheer terror of a scarecrow stalking his prey for divine retribution. How unbelievable to revisit the film three decades later and search that it is still one of the best TV horror films out there. Oh it doesn’t terrify now, though it still packs a sense of unease and keeps scarecrows firmly in the realm of creepyville, but it has a style so sorely lacking in a lot of of today’s horrors. There is no need to bludgeon us with cut and stalk, showing us gore front and centre, the makers here are subtle, refusing even to place the scarecrow in the limelight like Michael or Jason. There’s a intelligent ambiguity about the supernatural elements, keeping the mystery element powerful as the guilty men start to crack and head towards their true judgement. Simmering away nicely in the narrative is of course the vile stench of bigotry, and the pain inflicted by such narrow minds. There is also a dark thread left dangling that suggests one of the guilty men is impure of thoughts towards small Marylee, one of the very things he whipped up as reason to hound Bubba for. Some thought went into the screenplay, and it’s credit to the writers that it never becomes a moral crusade, while the crafting of the lovely innocent friendship between Bubba and Marylee is beautifully born out by actors and technicians alike. Durning and Drake dominate the film with classy shows, impressive in Drake’s case as he is only in it for a short amount of time, but the work of young Tonya Crowe puts her in the club that houses best kid performances of the 80s. Her reactions to Bubba and Otis (Durning) naturally call for various human emotions, and she in turn nails the aspects of youthful innocence and mature awareness of who the creature actually is. The photography is textured, the melody equally so, and there’s even some shards of humour and irony along the way. I can imagine a lot of of today’s horror fans going into Dark Night of the Scarecrow and being very disappointed not to obtain a Voorhees type movie, while some more sensitive viewers may search the portrayals of backwater folk as being ignorantly stereotyped by the makers. It isn’t for every horror fan, without a doubt, and clearly it’s not perfect, but to those who loved it back when it first showed, those who are jaded by how this type of sub-genre of horror has evolved into bloody overkill and remake/sequel hell, then Dark Night of the Scarecrow is in fact a minor classic. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dark Knight review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Perfect movie. Best of the trilogy. Lovely music. Nolan is a genius. So is Heath Ledger.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dark Knight review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    This has no competition. It is the very finest comic-book hero film ever made. Knowing the Burton, Donner and Nolan filmic adaptations of Batman and Superman exist helps me to sleep at night. They are Exhibit A of 'How to Create a Comic-Book Movie'. Nothing else has ever come even remotely close. These seven movies (I contain 'Superman II' because it was mostly Donner's work)--and Nolan's trilogy especially--are what I imagine a amazing director like Kubrick, Hitchcock or Kurosawa would have come up with, if they had ever been asked to create a Superman or Batman movie. They are the easiest for an audience to identify with because in these the scripts most approximate human emotions and the typical conundrums of the human experience--in short, are the closest, in a amazing way, they come to the complexities of the human condition. Peerless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    SB is a amazing writer, amazing stories, interesting characters

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    A amazing read. Couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    All of Suzanne Brockmann's books are amazing romances but they offer much more. I have always felt that in most cases are military members are the best of the best. When reading about the spec op fighters you realize again just how real this is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Had this book in paperback and would take it out to read it periodically. Finally bought it for my Kindle. I never obtain tired of reading it. It's a story of unexpected love. Brittany goes on a date with Navy Seal Wes. She lets him know right away that she's not interested in a relationship or going to bed with him. He lets her know he's in love with someone else. They obtain to know each other and things start to change. A very sweet love story. I will probably read it again and again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Always love Suzanne's men...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    This was a quick, fun, suspenseful read. I finished this book in two days. I love Suzanne Brockmann's characters, as always.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Glad that Skelly finally found someone to love, and that he finally stopped hating himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Really enjoyed reading this book was sad to see this as the latest book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Crazy weird, suspense filled romantic action packed book. Navy Seal meets independent mom/nurse/student falls in love. They solve some problems, sort out some problems defy gravity and end up together forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Night Watch (Tall, Dark and Dangerous) review [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    While this may appear to be a young adult novel, I believe the popularity of it and how long the series has lasted have shown it to be anything but that. I had never read the series until now, and this first novel will almost immediately suck you in to the globe and the someone who lives no more than 10 mins form Disney Globe property, it was wonderful to not only read about the parks themselves and the accurate portrayal, but reading about the areas outside of the park was just as exciting. For example, the town of Maitland to a lot of will be nothing more than a town in a novel, but for me, it's a true put that I drive through often and the areas descripted outside of the parks are just as accurate as those within (true, there are some artistic liberties taken, but that is to be expected).If you are a fan of Disney, then buy this immediately and jump right in. If you may not be a Disney fan (I couldn't imagine!) but you have fun adventure stories, then this, too, is right for you and in the end it may very well turn you into a Disney fan.I do wish to talk about why I gave it four stars vs five, but that means I have to spoil the ending just a little. If you intend to read it, you may wish to skip the next paragraph, but even if you do continue reading, I will do my best to not outright give it away.While I know this is a series of novels, even then each particular book should have an appropriate ending, and this did not have it. The stuff that the children were seeking throughout the novel they, of course, finally do search and recover, but then we, the reader, are not in the least bit told an explanation as to what they are or what they do. Yes, something 'magical' happens but it's more of a "Okay, that's kinda neat, but so what?" instead of, "Oh, yes! THAT is why they required those things!" I'm going to assume, and hope, that this is better explained in the next one, but it's still kind of unacceptable that this entire adventure focuses on these stuff and we obtain no true vertheless, obtain this book! I cannot stress enough that if you are a kid, or have a child or kids, then it's a must read, but as someone in his 30s, after countless mates and co-workers (all between 20-45 years old) insisted that I read it, I finally did, and I do not regret it in the least. I cannot recommend it enough, and I intend to begin the second one soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    2 1/2 Stars. I am giving this one an okay rating. The good: There are dozens of fun references to the parks and the rides and other attractions in the park. I loved all those fun details. For instance the characters had a laser war with the animatronic pirates from the Pirates or the Caribbean ride. That is beautiful awesome...and then there is what happens on the Its a Little Globe ride. Really amazing stuff. Now I am an adult and well over the age range for this books. If you are looking for books for 5-8th graders, these would be a amazing bet. However there is no characterization whatsoever at all. The five main characters are described so briefly I couldn't picture them. Also we know of no motivations for these characters. Also the action wasn't described particularly well. One min water was rushing up to them, the next min they are in a boat and clear from trouble. How did they obtain out of the rushing water and into the boat? That items me up the wall and unfortunately I don't plan to read further tales of the Kingdom Keepers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    As a long time fan of Ridley Pearson's novels geared to adults, I thought this series would be written with the same attention to detail. We are a family of Disney junkies, and I am always on the lookout for amazing books to share with my ten year old son.I thought this series would be perfect. He had a very hard time reading the first 50 pages or so because they are filled with such awkward disjointed dialog, that is almost impossible to figure out what is going on. I started to read it out loud to him and had to hold stopping and rereading sentences to obtain them to create sense. It seems like this book went from author, to printing without a stop in editing. The characters are poorly developed, and the writing is excruciating to read at at being said, we did stick with it until the end because we are such Disneyphiles. We liked the story, but not necessarily the book. We just started the second one, and it doesn't seem any better from a technical standpoint. I had purchased the whole series because of recommendations, and because I have always enjoyed Ridley Pearson in the past. I guess we will stick with it, and hope it improves. These books could have been SO much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I got this book for free after seeing it on the Kindle Buffett list. I did not know the author or the series but chose it because the description created me feel like it could be like the Harry Potter series. The book does have some resemblance to Harry Potter. Similarities to Potter: (1) The book involves magic (good and bad); (2) the book involves children befriending one another for a greater cause (instead of Harry, Ron and Hermione et al -- there is Finn, Maybeck, Charlene, Willa, and Phillby) ; (3) This book involves one main boy being the leader (Instead of Harry it's Finn); (4) the book has a wise old man hero who speaks in riddles of sorts and is never as direct as he should be who tutorials the children ( Instead of Dumbledore it's Wayne).Summary:13 year old Lawrence Finnegan Whitman (Finn) was chosen to become a Disney Interactive Host (DHI) along with 4 other kids. They all begin having the same "dream" and then are pulled into a quest to solve a riddle and stop evil from taking over the Park and the Globe outside the park.I am a Florida native and have visited Disney Globe more times than I care to remember but this book created me see it with fresh eyes and I appreciated that. The book also created me wish to learn more about Disney - the park and the man. I am likely to read the rest of the books in the series and believe that if you are an adult who enjoyed the Harry Potter series then you will probably have fun this book as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I had identified this book series as being of potential interest to my son a year or so back. He was 8 then and now we're finally diving in. The first book presents the context for the entire series. A group of young teens have agreed to be models for an experimental program that creates 3-D holographic characters based on their likenesses. These characters, Disney Holographic Photos (DHIs) serve as tour tutorials to guests of the park. However, they also serve as keepers of the kingdom, protecting Disney Globe - and presumably the globe at huge - from an evil plot coordinated by Disney e tale begins as the unsuspecting models start waking up in Disney Globe as their DHI counterparts while their physical bodies sleep. The five keepers must solve a riddle from Walt Disney himself to conquer the forces led by Maleficent. With the guidance of Wayne, an original Imagineer, and a shaky alliance with two girls who may or may not have secret information, the squad learns to work together and issue solve under extreme ere are some light leadership lessons in this book, but it's mostly an adventure story with a well-researched setting of the Disney Globe theme park. An enjoyable read, which leads me to book two...-from trudatmusic[dot]com[slash]raw (9/11/12)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I'm going to count this book as a guilty pleasure. I shouldn't like it. The premise is hokey. The villains are cartoons, in more ways than one. The heroes are just nice, considerate, well-behaved kids, who don't change significantly within the story. There is no deep, crucial message.And yet, I had a blast. I plunged into fun the moment Finn woke in the Magic Kingdom. I puzzled over red herrings and mistrusted the wrong people. I enjoyed the whole impossible ybe part of it is that I grew up in Florida and spent a lot of time (including dates with my husband of 37 years now) in the Park as a teenager. At one time I had the whole layout memorized, though they've added a lot of attractions since then. Still it's enough the same that I could run down Main Road or enter the Emporium with the children and really be there again. I've been in some of the tunnels when our school chorus performed there. Satisfied memories. Fun book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I had been wondering if this series was any good. It totally is ! I have been to Disney globe 6 going on 7 times, so it's fun for me to imagin this event after dark in the parks ! It's writer for a younger group but it's a pleasure to read for a 22 year old (me )! I was going to wait to read it till I was on the plan for Disney globe but I read it 's starts out with 5 children all hosts of Disney. Halagramed for the park as helpers. But there. It normal. At night those halagra a become those kids. They are able to be within the park. They begin to see characters come to life ! Including those who are not always there. The villains are taking over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I bought this book for my 11 year old son after seeing it for sale on a latest trip to Disney World. We started reading it together every night as part of his homework for school that requires him to read and write out summaries on his reading. After the first couple of chapters we were hooked and had problem putting it down. We finished it in about a week and were really glad that we had decided to purchase the second book before we even started reading the first so that we could continue the adventures of Finn and his mates right away. I am so glad that I came across this treasure of a book and we are both eagerly looking forward to finishing the series. My son is strongly wishing for these books to be turned into films in the not so distant future and I think that would be awesome to see as well. The magic of Disney is not something that you just outgrow and although I'm sure that most children ages 8 and older would be easily able to read this on their own and understand it, I think that it would be a amazing series for almost any age as I enjoyed immensely as an adult as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Finn is having strange dreams. They started when the thirteen year old became a "Disney Host Interactive," a fancy term for a hologram that tutorials guests around Disney World's Magic Kingdom. But now, every night, he finds himself wandering around the deserted theme ings only obtain weirder when he finds out the other four DHI's are experiencing the same thing. Then they learn from Imagineer Wayne that this was their true purpose. Seems that the forces of evil are trying to rebel and take over the park. And it is up to Finn and his fresh mates to figure out a method to stop them from succeeding. Can they do it?For a Disney fan like me, this book has an irresistible premise. When I learned about it, I couldn't pass it up. And I mostly enjoyed it. In fact, every time I picked it up, it was a war to set it back down again. The story moved quickly and I especially enjoyed the setting since I just created my first trip to Disney World. Several scenes were very exciting, and I may never look at some of my favorite attractions the same method ever, the book did have some problems. The only hero I felt I really got to know where Finn and Amanda, a fresh student at his school. The other four DHI's were a bit interchangeable to me. Additionally, there is a major plot hole in the story. Finally, the climax was a bit weak.I know these complaints sound rather major, but they weren't. The fantasy and fun of the story created it simple to overlook them and have fun the story. I'm sure anyone in the targeted 10 and up age range, but especially Disney fans, will search this book thrilling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark: Disney After Dark review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    My daughter and I both LOVE the Kingdom Keepers series. We have fun the audio versions which are not quite dramatic readings, but the reader does various voices and such that really create them come to life. As some other readers have noted about the series, yes, there are some inaccuracies about park details, but it's FICTION. The books are just so fun. We are into the second series now and can't wait for the next book.A must for Disney lovers of all ages. Now, if we could just obtain Disney to create them into films . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    A very graphically attractive android game that definitely give you a sense of action in the android game play. The controls can use some more refinement of the quick time happenings but still a very fun play. It's dragged me away from every other mobile android game I've been playing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    i thought this android game was just like another rpg games. well i gave it a shot and, say no more. this android game is really great, enjoyable. i love the storyline so poor and the video test is really good, hero customisation is dope, skills and others. idk if theres one or none, i'd love multiplayer raid versus a [email protected]#$% villains. and i'd like for some other primary attack combo so we wont obtain bored with the same primary attack. overal is amazing i love this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I was really looking forward to playing this game, but I can't even download it. Getting error code -505 and I've tried everything to fix it. Will change to 5 stars when I can actually test out the android game Edit: I finally was able to download the android game and I love it. Definitely recommend it to other people. I played HIT before and this android game is just as fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Been a while since there was a decent mobile beat-'em up/ hack'n-slash game, allow alone with amazing graphics like this one. Particle effects are on point too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    For whatever reason.. since the 2nd day the android game constantly crashes saying they're as unauthorised access or something or other.. such a shame cause it's got true potential

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I never really cared for mobile gaming since mad birds back in the day, honestly never thought it would/could go any further. For me it was always a decent past time, knowing it would never compete with gaming consoles/PC's but boy was I wrong! This android game has me hooked. 11/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Darkness Rises is completely unplayable due to being unable to even obtain past the begin screen with the notice " Login restricted from this country." Stock Nexus 6p running Oreo from Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Error 505 turned to be an incompatibility with a android game related to this; in my case it was a zombie game, had to delete three of them to create sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Le'me obtain this straight out. Overall this android game is fantastic. Graphic is only second to HIT,but the element and other aspect of this android game is simply one step ahead of other android games within the same Genre. I even dare say, this game has create a breakthrough for the entire android device Role Playing Android games because of its video test aspect. As for graphic,samsung A510 can do it all with no problem. As for Bug issues? Of course there is bugs. And there's the gameplay,which kinda really makes you hyped and excited at first but rather obtain boring in the later. Thats because this android game makes you grinding all over and over again. Also this android game is the typical RPG. Why? Thats because this android game is not 100% Play to win,just like other games. So it really hard for me to give this android games 5☆ or 4☆. But you know what? I really like Berserker class. Bringing his axe and shouting like the [email protected]#$% Kratos from God of War. He even called the Princess as Girl,same as Kratos called his Son Atreus,Bois...lol. I really have a high hope from the future improvement of this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Love this game. The best part is the rage skills ( Executions) has that Shadow of Mordor vibe

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Awesome android game with the best graphics iv ever seen on phone android game I just hope the story and adventure keeps going with more levels

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Honestly I am mindblown at the polishing that went into this android game really good so far hold improving it because it has got amazing potential

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Best android game after HIT, but the menus are a bit unpolished , and please needs a fix for the aliasing or some more graphical settings

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Android game is best but please can you add Double swordsman or a guy with Katana that will be total [email protected]#$%

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Android game rất đẹp, hay, tuyệt vời. Chơi trên Xiaomi Black Shark

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Awesome android game with a outstanding graphic, really addicted with this android game . Thumbp us to developer for perfect android game !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Amazing game! Hope it's going to be more amazing on every modernize in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I love this game,great story so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Still fresh to this game. For now I think this android game was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    So far so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    A legendary knight android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    Bestest rpg ever😃😎😎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    This is an awesome app. The method the "loading screens" were handeled was exceptional. Having a video play and hero customization during the huge download parts is a very amazing idea. The video test is fun and feels great. My only problem is that when creating a fresh character, you have to spend a lot of currency just to save hero customization. Being able to play all 4 characters is great, but having to spend so much to save custumization is heartbreaking. Especially when it's really good! Also having dyeing be random is lame. Overall an exceptional android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I didnt know what to expect when I preregistered for this game. At first I thought it'd be carbon copy of every mmo rpg android game on the play shop but this one different. Its free yet it feels like a full fledged android game youd find on gaming coasters. The voice acting for the characters are top notch. Great talent. The video test is smooth but with an occasional stutter here and there but it might just be die to internet connection and the loot system is primary yet diverse. I highly recommend this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I'm absolutely in love with the berserker. His voice actor is wonderful. I love HIT and my main is Hugo, so when I saw this android game I just had to sign up and test it. Loving it thus far and love the hero customization option. I'll eventually obtain around to trying out the other characters. LoL The graphics are amazing and I love a lot of the skills and finishing moves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    I have fun the game. It's very addictive and it's a F2P game. Just like other F2P games, it take times to obtain Higher Level and to obtain Powerful/Stronger. I'm not sure if it's P2W type of android game but i can assure you that you can obtain Gems from Everyday Quest and Weekly Quest. In conclusion, if you don't have any interest in F2P RPG online type of android game then this android game is not for you, You're just wasting your time but it's not damage to test it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    It is a amazing android game and I have been waiting for this android game so long. I've installed on both my tablet and Nox Application Player, but only the android game on tablet is playable... on Nox Application Player I cannot obtain to the android game and it always has this notification: Login is restricted for this country. I'm living in Vietnam. Does this mean that my Nox Application Player cannot play Darkness Rises? Hope to obtain the respond from the developing squad soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Darkness Rises review [App]  2018-6-22 13:0

    This android game is so much better than I thought it would be. Amazing graphics and awesome android game play and more in depth then I was expecting for a mobile game. Also you can customize your face! First time I've seen this in a mobile game. And it's not just pre sets there are sliders to adjust so you can make an beautiful person or a monstrosity. All around amazing game. Definitely a keeper.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter