Donovan: America’s Master Spy Reviews & Opinions


Submit Donovan: America’s Master Spy review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I like to go to bed at 8 and read for a couple of hours before going to sleep. I got this and it was so amazing that I found myself staying up later because the well-written book just was so engrossing. I knew who Donovan was, but I didn't know the specifics of his life and contribution to the development of the civilian side of intelligence gathering. This book is informative and well written, and is amazing for those of us who are not professional historians. I especially liked the chapters on Donovan's early life, especially his contributions and activities in Globe Battle I. I had no idea how highly decorated he was - including the Congressional Medal of Honor. All in all, this was a amazing book! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    This is an perfect book for several reasons. First, it is readable, which means the language is both clear and sequential in the time frame that is covered. Second, the current understandings and perceptions of INTELLIGENCE as a function of government need to be considered in terms of the history of both the OSS and the CIA which this book provides. Third, the relationship between a function of government (Intelligence) and politics is another crucial component for understanding where the United States has been in the past, is today, and will be influenced tomorrow. Finally, the author provides enough commentary on the hero and behavior of William J. Donovan as a human being, both his strengths and weaknesses, to support the reader have a realistic view of this part of his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    Informative, but one sided review of the awesome life of William Donovan. A detailed look at the travels of "Wild Bill" during the OSS days, but not the even handed, objective, 30,000 foot level review that the biography reader always hopes for. The writer clearly "worships" Donovan, and he is no doubt an extraordinary man of awesome talents, but sometimes the obvious questions about his actions that might expose an error in judgement are simply not asked or answered.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Donovan: America’s Master Spy or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Donovan: America’s Master Spy video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    The story of General Donovan should be taught to all Americans as an example to what a real patriot is. Character is to weak a word to describe his achievements to his country and the free world. He saw things as they where and did what others either lacked in courage or character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I see there are some complaints about the amount of detail. For me, that was the strength of the book, that the author could could weave an overwhelming diversity of sources into a coherent narrative of a man's life. Assuming you're interested in the man, this is a must read biography. Small info like bringing a loaded pistol into FDR's office and firing it into a sand bag to demonstrate its silent characteristics; or giving away his dinner jacket cause felt like he was never going to wear it again; or his sorrow at the loss of men who died for him in WWI say a lot about who this guy really was. Those who are looking for more detail on specific espionage operations will be disappointed. Those interested in a amazing biography will not. The book is probably more credible for not attempting to be amazing literature but instead, attempting to be an accurate history. Not that there's anything wrong with the style. There's just nothing cute about it. Anyway, when I finished the latest chapter of the book, I was surprised to search a bunch of footnotes at the end. There were no links to and from the chapters that they supported. This is just sloppy workmanship. An ebook should have links to and from the footnotes. Guys, when you're publishing in electrons, you gotta think about items like ice used: Kindle Paper White. No issues with display or navigation other than to/from the footnotes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    Donovan was a amazing man, brave soldier, and a brilliant spy. Unfortunately, to obtain to the heart of his story in this book, you must plow through innumerable pages describing America's wartime bureaucracy. Instead of secret information, spy missions, and plots versus enemies, this books goes on and on, at unbearable length, to detail the organization of the intelligence community, its members, committees, and their infighting. So-and-so was versus making so-and-so his subordinate; committees met to discuss who was going to be in charge; the president decided to appoint this guy to supervise that guy. It often reads like an insurance company's board minutes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I am now almost 80% done. It is a amazing book about someone I had never heard of before. It is much better written than the kindle book onthe man called "Intrepid", which prompted me to obtain this book. I gives a history of the OSS (formerly COI and subsequently the CIA) in st of the book as titled is about the life of Donovan. It spends a amazing deal of the time about the politics in the WA bureaucracy and alsothe interplay with the [email protected]#$%!& really is an awesome story. If you're like me & had not heard of Donovan, then this is the book for you.I does give a flavor of some of the operations, but if this is what you are looking for then there are probably better books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    General Donovan lived in an earlier period of history but still, or already, had to war the political wars of the Washington swamp. He just possessed all of the postive adjectives that you can think for a man to succeed in countless ways that probably are not possible now or ever again. I can't say enough about this man that I never knew or met. Amazing book! The research to assemble Donovan's life in such detail is unimaginable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    The story of wild bill Donavan reads like a suspenseful novel. I knew small of this man -the father of our intelligence services- until I read this book. The author has done a remarkable job in bringing an necessary part of history to life. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves historical novels tho this is a real and riveting story. I gave it five stars because it it written in a clear and concise manner. Found that I had problem putting it down and read far into the night on a lot of occasions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donovan: America’s Master Spy review [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    An perfect book about a fascinating man. He truly was an extraordinary man! Received more decorations for gallantry in WWI than any other soldier, including Douglas McArthur, who always resented the fact. He was constantly plagued by jealous men with little minds and no imaginations such as Harry Truman, J Edgar Hoover and other high-ranking democrats. In fact, we learn just what an imperious [email protected]#$% Hoover was. As the leader and founder of our country's first intelligence agency, he would be appalled to see what's happened to the @#$%!&? offspring of his work, the CIA. At least he was proud of the U.S. Troops Unique Forces, the Green Berets! A very well worthwhile read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This is a fascinating story. Canadian industrialist and master spy Sir William Stephenson (i.e. 'Intrepid') was obviously a brilliant man who saw ominous signs in Europe after Globe Battle I. His business connections and unassuming demeanor gave him access to Germany and all of Europe during the period between globe wars. His first-hand experiences in Globe Battle I gave him insight into imminent dangers similar to the rise of Nazism in the 1930's. His hero gave him access to what would be the main Allied leaders and he got their attention. The intelligence networks that he organized and operated were the few promising 'tools' that Britain had early in the war, before the U. S. officially entered the war. Stephenson also forged a relationship of mutual trust with Franklin Roosevelt that was instrumental in the U. S. quietly preparing for the battle when public opinion was vastly isolationist. Somehow, I never thought about attempted Nazi influence in Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. Stephenson's network, in conjunction with the FBI, largely thwarted these efforts early in Globe Battle II. I could go on, but take my word that this book is fascinating. This book was written in the 1970's and features a foreword written by William Stephenson himself. Some may and questioned the authenticity of the info presented in this book. Stephenson clearly states that he can vouch for the authenticity of the info in this book. Verification of the info is largely impossible, even after 70+ years. I will allow other readers decide if they believe what they read. If the central hero of the book puts his word and credibility on the line, that is amazing enough for me.I summarized the mood of the book as 'dark'. That summary was my prevailing opinion as I read the book, based on some rough parallels I noted between latest happenings and happenings of the 1930's-1940's.While the book was fascinating, it was a bit hard to read at times. It did not always follow chronological order which bugged me a bit, but that is a very minor is book is well worth the effort to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Globe Battle II was fought with secrets. I sort of accepted that truism for years, but I never knew the info of how the Enigma Machine was acquired or how the British secret service became established in Fresh York Town and helped to found, eventually, the CIA, often working around and over US governmental bickering and e book is extremely interesting; I considered dropping one star for writing style, since Mr. Stevenson can be hard to follow. (He seems to have small use for transitional devices at key points.) Ultimately I gave full weight to the book's message.I do recommend the book highly; it will clear up a number of problems that still confuse people concerning WWII. Also the book's relevance to today's secrecy in governmental dealings is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    With all the controversy surrounding today's political environment, this book is a "must read" for those who wish a fuller understanding of the evolution of modern intelligence services. Written in the third-person, Sir William Stephenson's accounts of his own & his colleagues' quest to capture and "break" the Axis power's Enigma crypto system is both riveting and revealing. It also puts into context Western societies' misgivings about security services, until they were crucial in the conquer of Hitler's forces. The book reads incredibly well, and (given it is 40 years since first published) remains new and relevant in today's globe of spys, leaks, and inter-governmental entanglements.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    William Stephenson bore the code name Intrepid during Globe Battle II. He earned a British knighthood and the Medal for Merit from the United States, among other honors, for his work. A Man Called Intrepidtells the behind the scenes story of the battle and some of the spy missions and intelligence gathering involved. It answers some questions of why things were done the method they were. Sometimes the writing can be long-winded, but for the most part, this is a very interesting book. I recommend it to people interested in Globe Battle II.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Interesting. Even mentions people I may have met. Never visited the "boys on baker street" but walked past their door a lot of time, not knowing who it belonged to. I remember getting a clerk is a soviet book shop mad at me when I asked for books on Lithuanian language and he followed me out of the shop but stopped when I turned down baker st. At the time I wondered why. Heh, Heh. This was the early 1960's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    A amazing and necessary book. The real story that was kept secret for 25 years after Globe Battle 2 . Not a novel but a detailed chronicle of secret intelligence activities by England and the United States and how they broke and utilized the German military codes and used them to their advantage. Real hero's who changed the course of the battle and the globe we live in today !Not may favorite read of all time but probably the most necessary .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This real story of the English super spymaster takes the reader on a remarkable journey of the happenings leading up to and through Globe Battle II. The breaking of the Enigma code and the heart wrenching decisions that were created to hold the Nazis from knowing that the code was broken is a story unto itself. Before reading this masterfully written book, I never had a real appreciation of FDR and all the machinations,subterfuge, and risks that he took in helping the British (via a close partnership with Churchill) resist being overwhelmed by the Nazi juggernaut that swept across Europe before the USA entered WW II. The fact that Roosevelt did so in spite of an isolationist congress that would have impeached him had they known what he was doing makes one appreciate him even ough he would not admit it, Stevenson himself had more to do with the winning of WW II than any other single individual. The book is very well written and the truth within it more intriguing than any book of fiction could ever hope to be. It is not a short book, but one not to be missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    I'm a WW2 buff. My father was a Seabee in the Aleutians. So, anything that sheds light on that period catches my attention. This was a revelation in the secret war. Awesome stories of brave women and men who were not given the credit they deserved. Thank goodness, they were there and willing to use their considerable talents to support the battle effort. We have all benefitted from their bravery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    This wonderful book gives us amazing insight on the struggles endured by righteous men and women to preserve freedom and democracy before and during Globe Battle II. It was truly eye-opening to explore how close we all came to settling for life under the German juggernaut of Nazism. Free government is begin to deception and coercion from the inside which can be insidious to democracy. It took amazing courage by a few powerful willed leaders with tremendous moral integrity to prevent an outcome which a lot of thought inevitable. Thank God they did. I encourage everyone who values freedom to read about the secret battle which enabled the Allied win we all learned about in school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Man Called Intrepid: The Incredible True Story of the Master Spy Who Helped Win World War II review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:0

    Without men like William Stephenson, Intrepid, and the nonconformist leaders Churchill and Roosevelt in WWII we would have been overwhelmed by tyranny and led into the abyss by the simpleton government officials in power before seems that some in power today did not learn from history that appeasement is not a workable solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spy Vs Spy Arcade Game review [App]  2018-2-28 13:0

    Don't download this the controls do not work 89p wasted and such a amazing android game for my childhood

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Master of Kung Fu Epic Collection: Weapon of the Soul (Master of Kung fu (1974-1983)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    I really enjoyed the whole series I want they bring it all back it brings back fond memories of when I read it years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This book is as amazing as the original. Bold words I know. But it is. And what I love is it forces people to acknowledge Strikes Again which everyone only hates because they've heard people say how not good it is. Honestly, it amazes me how a lot of people tell me its not good and they literally haven't even read is book also finally puts to rest that bullcrap story that Frank Miller hates Superman. He never said that. Tag Waid said that. The fact is, Frank Miller changed Superman for that ONE story. It was an interesting take. And ORIGINAL. And this DKIII just proves that he loves the hero because he redeems Superman in such a big, wonderful so the highlight of this book for me is it is the first time Frank uses Aquaman and actually draws him. So glad they went the bearded is is Carrie Kelly's story. This entire trilogy always has been. And this book further proves another Miller lie false - That his female characters are sexist. There has never been anything about Carrie Kelly for the latest 30 years that has been remotely sexualized or sexist. She is one of the most interesting characters in comics, not just female and not just by Miller. In all of fiction. It's amazing to see her grow is is a classic and I can't wait to sit down and read the entire saga starting with Latest Crusade, then Dark Knight Returns, Strikes Again and finally Master ank Miller is a genius.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Amazing story line and wraps up the entire Frank miller series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This is perhaps my comic of the year, maybe this is because I just finished it before writing this review, but I could not place this down for one second. It's definitely the craziest of any of the Dark Knight Returns comics, but it's not without its flaws. The book is basically one large graphic novel of several smaller volumes. The problem is that some of the drawing standards could be done better, and some panels are laughably bad. They had a amazing hero to be the main villain and he feels kind of wasted, and the ending comes close to Justice League (TV Series) level of convenient endings. For me personally, it was kind of upsetting and took the weight out of some scenes.Other than those issues, this comic is absolutely amazing. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who was a fan of the The Dark Knight Returns series. But if you're brand fresh to the DC universe I probably wouldn't recommend it. There'll be a lot of things that will fly over your head, and while it does test its best to explain everything some initial hero knowledge helps.I'll give this 5 stars for being exactly what we wanted, closure, but for a standalone Batman comic, it's probably a 4 star. It's really a graphic novel for the fans who've waited for what felt like an eternity to see how the series ends, and it delivers. For anyone looking to obtain into The Dark Knight, I'd recommend starting with the classics like "The Long Halloween", or "The killing joke" before delving into this one. Watching some Justice League would support too.P.S. There are some amazing political allusions in here, especially of a certain blonde, orange color president.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Not a wholly important entry in a saga that doesn't really need to be a series, but beautiful entertaining overall. It's probably the best thing Miller's done in 15 years, e ending is kind of week, though, and I want there was more of a sense of finality to it. It leaves the series wide begin in a method Miller hadn't in the the previous entries.Hey, it could have been worse, especially considering how Miller's All-Star Batman turned out. Like I said before, his writing is back on point here, and is a return to form for him and his take on the character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Love the shape of the story, the honoring of cannon and the hope for another work by Miller and company.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    I read Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns and loved it. I read Miller's The Dark Knight Strikes Again and liked it. When I heard about Dark Knight: Master Race, by Miller with Brian Azzarello, I was hoping for more of a Dark Knight Returns feeling. And you know what? I did like it. Master Race isn't as amazing as the original (that would be hard to accomplish), but I enjoyed it a lot more than I remember enjoying more than The Dark Knight Strikes Again. And that's a amazing thing. With sequels or returns to classic stories, there is a danger involved; so a lot of people have fun the classic original, that the creators risk alienating fans both old and new. Well, in my opinion, Miller and Azzarello have done a fine job with The Master Race. A fast synopsis: Batman is missing and presumed dead, Superman has removed himself from involving himself in humanity's affairs, Wonder Woman is busy ruling the Amazons and raising her kids (a daughter and son). Other heroes seem to be laying low as well. In to this globe comes rumor of a Batman sighting, which doesn't sit well with many. Additionally, Lara (the teenage daughter of Superman and Wonder Woman) visits her frozen father at his Fortress of Solitude. While there, she discovers the bottled town of Kandor, and is convinced to take it to Ray Palmer, the character known as the Atom. The residents of Kandor wish to be returned to normal size and Palmer's shrinking technology is just the ticket. But all is not as it seems when the Kandorians return. And thus, the foundation for the story of The Master Race is born.I enjoyed reading this story. I found that Miller and Azzarello had a fresh and interesting take on the story of the Kandorians, and the tie-in to how superheroes were viewed in this globe was nice. The subplots, involving Superman, Wonder Woman, and their children; Batman and his fresh Robin, Carrie Kelley; or even the cameos by heroes such as the Atom, Aquaman, and Flash, were all complimentary and dovetailed nicely with the main storyline. In fact, I really liked how the other heroes were very naturally brought into the story, rather than forced in just for fan addition to collecting the main comic story, this collected edition also includes nine separate mini-comics stories that ran in the individual comics, each focusing on a side story that adds to the overall enjoyment of The Master Race. Some of these stories focus on heroes, such as the Atom or the fresh Batgirl, and some present happenings that happen off the page of the main storyline. All were well done and deserved their put in this story.Overall, I really enjoyed Miller and Azzarello's The Dark Knight: The Master Race. It was a well-written story that added to the mythology of Miller's original The Dark Knight Returns. I highly recommend it to all Batman fans, and to anyone who enjoyed The Dark Knight Returns. It would also be an entertaining read for fresh fans wondering what all the Frank Miller Batman fuss is about.I received a preview copy of this book from DC Comics and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    This book was a much better volume than dark knight strikes back. Not as amazing as dark knight returns, but artwork was great, story great, and definitely some twists and turns I didn't see coming. Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Frank's back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race (2015-2017) (Dark Knight III: The Master Race (2015-2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-21 18:1

    Quality Batman content, but one star short of the masterpieces that have come from Frank Miller's pen in past years. Since Frank Miller place his name on it, this book will inevitably be compared to his past work, especially The Dark Knight Returns. Compared to those comics, it's about four stars.Right off the bat, it should be noted that this is not a comic made entirely by Frank Miller (like Sin City). Instead, Frank Miller is a huge name on the cover, and he is credited as having made the story (and even then, it is usually another person along with Mr. Miller. Which makes it seem like DC is just using Frank Miller's name to sell comics, when in fact the comic is made by five to seven other at said, this story is original and creative. In The Dark Knight Returns, Frank Miller used a lot of background news casts to move the plot along, and the same is real of this novel. Technology plays a major part, and the story even has some philosophical introspection into the direction humanity is heading with its increasing attachment to intelligent phones and social media (one minor villain says to humans: "You are all slaves bowing to commerce disguised as creativity. The irony being, you made your false matter.").The art is also good. There are certainly several dud frames, but for the most part it's all nice and crisp. The cover of the book tips that the art will harken back to the moody noir feel of the early Frank Miller works. However, the artwork is much more conventional, and there are only a few frames that truly remarkable.Overall this is definitely one to own. Especially if you are a fan of the Dark Knight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A solid story that rides the border of spy thriller and historical fiction. It takes a few chapters (or more) to obtain rolling. The author intends to really lay down a solid hero foundation before building the tension and suspense of the spy game.Our character is not at all allied with his birth country of Germany. You will search no internal struggle, no wrestling with conscience. This man burns (slowly, internally) with a hatred for everything that Nazi Germany has transformed itself into. His cause is simple, do anything he can to turn the upside down globe right again and be reunited with his rally he is weird, almost two-faced. Looking to save the globe but having no qualms of wanting and taking another man's wife. Mr. Wood (spy code name) risks his own life and quite a few others along the method with absolute selflessness and yet he thrills at the thought of a tryst with a woman he barely knows.Historical fiction that deals with WWII is right up my alley so I was not hard pressed as to which Kindle First book to choose. I chose a 4 star rating because at times the writing was somewhat cliche, and for some reason I obtain easily annoyed when overly descriptive scenery pops up in a book that I wish some action to hold the pages turning. Spy thrillers need momentum not musings on the color of the sky, but that is just a $.02 opinion right there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This was a gripping story, based on a real-life WWII espionage case it is also a historical novel with biographical elements. Originally released in German, it has been available in Audio for sometime. I was given a Netgalley advanced reader's copy of this itz Kolbe, an necessary spy in WWII delivered top-secret info to the Americans in Switzerland, risking his life while avoiding the nationalistic frenzy of the Third Reich. In fact he is not aligned with his own country, somewhat ashamed of what it has become... An unlikely character with powerful ethical principles he was an unassuming yet modest man who worked at the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin. With his discreet and professional nature he was famous especiaslly with the senior officers. Fritz Kolbe among other things, is responsible for destroying strictly secret documents and using his position to pass info on embarking on a risky double life as the Allies’ most necessary is is a thrilling close-up into the tragic and crazy globe of Berlin under Nazi-Regime, the horrors and how life and love finds a method to survive in such insane spite the translation challenges, the author Andreas Kollender has delivered a brilliantly told page-turner that touches the heart. The fact that it is historically accurate makes it even more compelling...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    The writing is beautiful good. Real stories of espionage have always fascinated me. But the protagonist in this story frustrates me beyond belief. He seems to have his own moral code which revolves around himself. I hesitate to call it self-centeredness, though I believe it to be close to that. More than anything, I got sick of all the references to "her attractive nose." Seriously? Ugh... can I quick forward past the nonsense and obtain to the heroic bits?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This was apparently a historical fiction based on a true spy story. It is always interesting, and chilling, to read about life in Nazi Germany. It contains an embedded love story which is probably pure fiction, but which adds to the interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A unbelievable historical novel about the men and women of Germany who did not surrender to the lunacy of the day, but hoped to shorten the battle and save lives, while cooperation with the Americans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A historic happening captured in the the spirit of Erik Larsen reads like an exciting novel. Twists and turns that took my breath away and kept me reading well into the night. Very memorable and awesome that it is based on actual events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Gripping story of a German Diplomat, turned spy, in desperation during Hitler's Germany. He is trying to search some decency in an insane time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I had never heard of Fritz Kolbe and was astounded to learn of his value to America in WWII. This book is well written and tells a sensitive tale of this brave man's life. While much appears to be fictionalized, the author gives us a real sense of his struggles and sacrifice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Full of suspense. A clever mix of truth and fiction. Maybe the fiction is closer to the truth than the bare facts.Ful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Honest Spy review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A amazing read! I liked the historical background. It created me feel like I was there experiencing Berlin in WW2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Carry On Spying review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    I expected you to be a man... or a woman. The 9th in the Carry On series, and the latest to be filmed in black and white, is one of the best. It finds the gang kind of biting the hand that feeds them, Pinewood. The home of James Bond was also the home of the Carry On mob, so with Peter Rogers, Gerald Thomas and Talbot Rothwell spying an opportunity to spoof 007, they did so, whilst also revelling in the possibility for some movie noir dalliances, notably The Third Man. The cast is this time headed up by Kenneth Williams, Barbara Windsor (making her Carry On debut), Bernard Cribbins and Charles Hawtrey. They are four less than stellar operatives for British Intelligence tasked with retrieving a top secret formula that has been stolen by STENCH. During their mission they are helped by Carstairs (Jim Dale), and just who or what is the mysterious organisation known as SNOG? Are they mates or in league with the evil Dr. Crow? Though dotted throughout with some written innuendo, "Spying" is still in touch with the more genial comedy that was evident in the early years - particularly the black and whites. This is amazing honest comedy, with visual exuberance and witty repartee the order of the day. Watching it now you search it holds up very well, sure it's a bit fruity and nutty, but a freshness exists here and it lets some damn fine actors loose to present their respective skills. It also looks terrific, the noir photography by Alan Hume sparkling. A prime Carry On film for those who prefer their Carry On's more knowingly jolly than the later bawdy entries. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Booster Master review [App]  2017-10-19 3:4

    Spam ads sent me here

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Booster Master review [App]  2017-10-20 3:4

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Booster Master review [App]  2017-10-20 3:4

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Booster Master review [App]  2017-10-20 3:4

    Spam ads sent me here

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    It's amazing and quick

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    It's very quick and simple to do. Also super helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Love that you are fast to inform me of viruses!!! Thanks so much!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Takes away virus qickly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    So quick

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Super secured

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    This is garbage. I obtain blasted with this stupid application trying to read a story on fb

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Master review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Bro it depends on what phone u have . Lol chill its just a application bro.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Linux Master review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    Nice application for training purpose...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Linux Master review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    Amazing application ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Guys to be honest this application is very amazing its excellent test this application guys. All regards to the android game committee .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Really its Fentastic android game whc we come to know abt any kind of operation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Can some present me hw to pass level 4

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Nice game. Could anyone support me obtain past level 4? How on earth can you chop that man's lung and create it cool???

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Great! 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Superb android game love u

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Very very amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    I cannot play this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    very amazing and helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    It is very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    It is method to hard and i need support

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Write a short review 😀😁😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Neci bor😎😎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    عالی و طبیعی

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Loved it! I want you can make more levels .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Not poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Super

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    bb

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    عالی

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    The video test is just right and the graphics is awesome. But only the controls is the problem. At first, the woman in the android game give instruction but lastly I don't know how to do and buy next level. But, its ok. Amazing android game though 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    this give me a lot of info why so a lot of people choose an simple method out than took some wasting cash on operation procedure. loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Its better than other surgery android games here. Need not to buy something and looks realistic, indeed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    I'd like to obtain free energy. I have to pay for energy. On some android games you can obtain free energy by watching videos but on this android game you have to pay for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    How can I finished the surgery with the stomach? I don't know how. The android game is super cool and amazing anyway

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    I really do like this android game it gives you as much reality as a can obtain in the android game the controlling is off for me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    I think that it must be amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    OK android game but can't move tool after using knife

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    what does it mean by 'lack of ct diagnosis' ? and how to it. omg please support me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Osm,super,............I can't explain it 👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    For boys and girls girl surgery

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    It is cool i break alot of bones

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    This is asome game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surgery Master review [App]  2018-3-4 21:0

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Coin Master review [App]  2018-3-6 21:1

    3 stars because the spins are not giving what is required for the game. It's a cute game. I have fun playing with my daughter. However, shields do not spin enough. Sometimes I will go a whole day with no shields and the whole time I'm getting attacked. The other thing is the gift spin. Never have I won more that 250k coins. I know you wish us to pay for another spin but maybe award a higher number once in a while. All in all cute game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Coin Master review [App]  2018-3-6 21:1

    Android game is beautiful cool but I won't spend cash because what you obtain for your cash is not worth it. They raise the prices of the chest to obtain cards and it's already hard to obtain the coins to build villages, obtain raided and attacked so much it takes months to obtain to the next villages. I hope y'all up the amount of coins on spins because it doesn't go up much at all but the cost of everything else shoots up like crazy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Coin Master review [App]  2018-3-6 21:1

    Every time i obtain burn village within 1 HR ....and not obtain anything amazing point... See my point 382 and village7lvl. ..but totally poor to see others points is totally low like 188 and her village 9lvl am totally disappointed on this game.... So I No need to play any more....

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter