Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Reviews & Opinions


Submit Eating in the Middle: A Mostly review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I was so disappointed by this book that I ended up returning it to Amazon at a loss. I rarely write reviews but I felt strongly I required to warn other buyers who might also be fooled by the a lot of positive reviews from the author's huge network of blogger mates and the misleading description and look of the book.I read and buy a lot of cookbooks. I had eagerly awaited Eating in the Middle after much hyping on every meal blog and on instagram. I should have paid more attention to the fact that every blogger that wrote glowing and gushing reviews also described themselves as her friend. It is billed as a balanced eating cookbook with a mix of healthy and indulgent recipes that helped the author lose and hold off more than a hundred pounds for a decade plus. I like to eat and cook the same method so it sounded right up my alley. When it first arrived, I was thrilled as it is beautiful; I can't say enough about how gorgeously produced this book is. I dove in immediately. However, it did not live up to the advance press or its production values. At heart, it is the world's prettiest Weight Watchers cookbook. I know this review may be unpopularly received as Andie Mitchell seems to a sweet and lovely person with a large following. She's a amazing memoirist and I write this as a fan of her writing and what I know of her as a person. I wanted to love the book so much but there's just not much there to recommend it.What I liked: Mitchell's writing in the short essays sprinkled throughout the book and in the recipe headnotes is heartfelt and lovely. She is very likable and personable. She has a amazing "voice" and I want her recipe developing was on par. She contains nutritional info at the end of every recipe, which I love. She sprinkles in some perfect weight loss/maintenance tips. The book is beautifully styled, much to the credit of her talented collaborators, Jen Elliot Blake and Aran Goyoaga (author of the very much superior Little Plates and Sweet Treats). The styling has the result of making you wish to be there even if you wouldn't wish to eat the meal pictured. The book itself is beautifully printed and substantial feeling in the hand.What I didn't like: There are not a lot of recipes for the size of the book, only 80. The recipes suffer from being unimaginative and cliched with long lists of unnecessary ingredients, designed to fool the tastebuds. Anyone who has flipped through a diet cookbook knows what I mean. Most of the recipes have far too a lot of ingredients for their degree of complexity, making them uneconomical and laborious. Some of the ingredients specified are the kind of fake, processed or unhealthy substitutes I deplore. A healthy eating book should use whole e recipes are extremely derivative and cliched. How cliched? There is a recipe for kale chips! Is it various from any other kale chip recipe I've ever seen? Not in the slightest. In this internet age where millions of recipes are available for free in an instant, a cookbook writer needs to be better. Don't just give me another recipe for overnight oats or chia seed pudding unless you can create it different, fresh or better. If the recipe is the same or worse than the first googled effect for overnight oats (for example) than why pay for the book or bother with the endeavor at all? For a cookbook to be of enduring value, it needs to either be an essential reference, full of perfect information, hints and definitive recipes that you return to time and time again, the kind of book that makes you a better cook or baker, or it needs to be evocative of a particular time, put or lifestyle, taking the reader somewhere they wish to go. Sadly this book does neither. The more indulgent recipes are even more lackluster than the healthy ones. They were a strange mix of the gourmet and chain restaurant junk meal like off a Cheesecake Factory menu (the peanut butter chocolate pie comes to mind). There was literally nothing in the book I wanted to eat or make. My other issue was how primary some of the recipes are, barely worth memorializing as a full recipe rather than a technique applied to an ingredient without any twist or innovation. The recipe for roasted carrots stands out as an example of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I read Andie's memoir when it came out latest year, and I was so excited when I heard she was coming out with a cookbook. I preordered it and just from the initial browsing, I can tell this will be a frequently used book in our house! I have tried one recipes so far, the Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki and Feta--it was so good!!! There are so a lot of recipes I wish to make, I don't know where to start!UPDATE: as of now, I have made:-Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki & Feta-Jerk Shrimp Salad with Avocado & Mango- Morning Glory Muffins-Asian Chicken Salad-Lemon Herb Fish (subbed in tilapia)-Spice Rubbed Steak with Blue Cheese & Grilled PeachesALL winners, and recipes I would create again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    There are a lot of really amazing recipes in here. As a lot of of the comments stated, it's beautifully produced and the pictures are gorgeous. I've created a couple of the recipes already and have had another few dogeared, but don't always have the time or ingredients on hand to just whip something up. I have fun reading Andie's anecdotes and seeing why recipes are included in the book. It's exactly like the title says, some super healthy, some super rich, but mostly right in the middle.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Eating in the Middle: A Mostly or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Eating in the Middle: A Mostly video reviews and related movies:

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook by Andie Mitchell on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    See Eating in the Middle A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I am a horrible cook and I love love love love this cookbook. I adore it. Every single thing I have created from this cookbook has been incredibly delicious and I have gotten so a lot of compliments from people. Literally each time I create something from here I say, "I can't believe I created something that tastes this good!" after the first bite. The recipes are simple to follow and written out beautifully. There is nutritional info and a image for each recipe as well, so you really know what you're making. And Andie has written a cute aside about each recipe that enhances the entire cookbook and makes you feel like you're cooking with her the entire time. I love the dozens of recipes in here. Everything from breakfast to side dishes to decadent desserts. This cookbook is a amazing purchase for anyone who loves cooking or just wants to learn how to create awesome things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I have fallen in love with Andie Mitchell! I first heard about her through Gina's Skinnytaste website. She had one of Andie's recipes featured and I tried it. It was delicious! Since I've purchased the book, I've created her Lemon-Herb Fish, Chicken Curry with Ginger and Yogurt, Cashew and Basil Chicken Lettuce Wraps, and her Souvlaki with Tzatziki & Feta. Everything has come out perfectly. The thing I love about her recipes are that they are so simple to follow and QUICK! This book is a keeper and worth a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I absolutely loved this book!!! A lot of times when I test out a "healthy" recipe, I am left hungry because the portions sizes are so small. This is not the case with "Eating in the Middle." Constantly, I am amazed at Andie Mitchell's ability to create healthy dishes that are actually full size plates of food. To boot, the book is beautifully laid out and each recipe I have tried tastes wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    From the moment I opened the shipping box I was instantly struck with how attractive this cookbook is. I know that might sound strange, but a cookbook has to aesthetically appealing to me not only for the inside contents but the outside presentation as well. The images are vibrant and beautifully designed, and the recipe pictures create you wish to dive right in and begin creating something. Andie devotes a few pages of her cookbook to describing her weight loss journey, and this left a soft spot in my heart right away, because I understand the war with meal problems SO WELL. I too have 100+ pounds to lose, just as Andie did in the beginning of her journey, so the kinship I felt with this author was ere are a ton of healthy recipes in this cookbook, and they are all divided into specific food types, so they are very simple to find. Also, there aren't any crazy ingredients you have to find several counties for, which is always a plus for me, since I live in a remote zone with no Whole Foods or other specialty type markets. If there are too a lot of expensive or hard-to-find ingredients in a cookbook, then chances are I will end up giving it to a friend, but this isn't the case with Eating In The Middle. I will definitely be holding on to this one. Another HUGE part of this cookbook that I wish to give high praise for is the fact that every recipe includes the nutritional information. If you've read any of my other cookbook reviews then you know that my son is a Type 1 diabetic, and knowing exactly how much sugar and carbs are in each recipe I test is crucial. So needless to say I was beyond thrilled to see the nutrition information provided with each recipe, and I can't say enough about how much this means to me. It might be irrelevant to a lot of people, but when you struggle to hold your child's blood sugar stable on a everyday basis, then these small tidbits of info are lifesavers (in every aspect of the word). So THANK YOU, Andie!The first recipe I tried was the Smashed Roasted Garlic Potatoes (page 89), because I required a easy side dish to go with a unique food I had prepared for my dad's birthday. I knew he loved potatoes, so I gave this recipe a whirl and he loved them. (We all did). And talk about super simple to throw together. My children are grown, but I bet this recipe is one that small children would have fun because they obtain to "smash" the potatoes (with adult supervision, of course). So, if you have small children who like to support in the kitchen, you might wish to give this one a try. The second dish I created was the Parmesan-Crusted Chicken Tenders With Buttermilk Ranch Dressing (page 149). My boys love chicken tenders, and these are not only healthier than your average chicken tenders, but they're also simple to prepare. Having fast and easy recipes on hand is a must for me because we are a busy family and there isn't much time to place together an elaborate food (unless it's a holiday). If you stay on the go like we do, then you'll love the simplicity of these recipes closing, I encourage all of you on the street to creating a healthier lifestyle for you and/or your family to give Andie Mitchell's cookbook a try. You won't be disappointed!DISCLAIMER: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions expressed above are entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Its just ok. It seems like there is a lot of bacon in a lot of of the recipes. There are a lot of processed nd canned foods like tomato paste and tomato sauce. I am certain there are whole foods replacements. About half of the recipes present innovation; the donuts were ok but the muffins were dense and unflavorful. I will wait for her next cookbook. This one was a amazing test and I'm sure the next book will present more maturity and depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Satisfied to finally have this long-awaited book. I really enjoyed her first biographical book. This is the excellent companion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating in the Middle: A Mostly Wholesome Cookbook review [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I ordered Andie's cookbook a couple of weeks ago after I read her memoir, and so far I've made:Breakfast Egg Salad -- So easy but delicious!Peanut Butter Granola Parfaits - My first time making homemade granola. It was a huge hit with everyone, including my shed Sweet Potatoes (with orange & basil) - Not a favorite. I think we prefer our tried and real brown sugar, butter & cinnamon sweet lad with Brussels Sprouts, Goat Cheese & fruit (I can't remember exactly what it's called in the cookbook, but it was really tasty.)The meal photography in this cookbook is absolutely stunning, and that's honestly what motivated me to buy it. (Who doesn't love beautiful pictures of food?) Andie does a amazing job of weaving her stories, hints and experience with meal in this cookbook, and I look forward to trying more of her one reviewer stated, if you're looking for advanced recipes, this is probably not the cookbook for you. I personally like easy and simple (the breakfast egg salad and peanut butter granola being amazing examples.) If there are too a lot of ingredients (or a bunch of weird items I've never heard of), it's unlikely that I'm going to even attempt the recipe.I agree that it seems to be geared *mostly* towards people who are looking to lose/manage weight, which makes sense given her audience on her blog and with her memoir. I like that each recipe has the nutrition information so I don't have to calculate it e these the newest recipes under the sun? Maybe not, but if you wish simple, clean flavors and simple to follow recipes that are "mostly wholesome" as she describes, I think this is a amazing choice!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    I am always trying to search fresh ways to avoid over-processed, chemical-laden foods. Not only are they poor for you over time, once you are to really pay attention to how your body feels and responds, you can feel the effects of not good eating right away. This book has some amazing hints to obtain back on track. It’s packed full of good, clean, healthy recipes—one for every single day of the year. But the best thing is that this isn’t a bunch of bland tofu recipes, but some terrific, tasty dishes and treats that will quench that craving for sweets. The book is organized and broken into sections that contain dinner, dessert, and lunch recipes. I appreciated that these healthful dishes didn’t contain any hard-to-find or exotic ingredients—everything is easily accessible at your local supermarket or organic meal store. Plus, each dish also contains a breakdown of calories, proteins, fat, and carbs, which makes counting calories, etc. much easier. This is the best method to obtain back on track with your eating without feeling like you’re starving to death. Be happy while getting your health and your body back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Some very interesting and fresh recipes. I've already tried a few and enjoyed them greatly. I appreciate how the author contains healthy dishes but most do not contain very expensive ingredients. I especially loved the chia chocolate pudding. A surprising winner. Also the other uses for quinoa- I was tired of the same tried but real recipes I've used before. This book inspired me to use test various uses and experiment on my own. A amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Okay but dozens of ingredients.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Amazing recipes to begin your clean eating lifestyle however, being a visual person, it was disappointing to not have pictures of the finished dishes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    unbelievable recipes for a much healthier method of eating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    This cookbook was just right for the healthy multicultural cook with a touch of vegetarian background. The goal of preparing meal with whole grains and seasoning of natural goodness without the overfly processed or expensive organics. Simple to follow directions that can be fun to investigate everyday breakfast, lunch and dinner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Excellent Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Lots of amazing receipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: 365 Days of Clean Eating Recipes (Clean Eating, Clean Eating Cookbook, Clean Eating Recipes, Clean Eating Diet, Healthy Recipes, For Living Wellness and Weigh loss, Eat Clean Diet Book review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    I need to correct my method of eating due to my heath. I bought this book with other healthy recipe books. This book is about a shift in mindset and understanding about what meal is and can be, and how it affects us individually. It is also loaded with accessible hints and recipes backed with profound insight, knowledge and experience, this book is so necessary in times when the planet is getting more toxic and eating clean and healing from within is more paramount than ever. After almost a week following the detox suggestions and recipes, which I altered a little bit, I feel much better, lighter, and "cleaner" already.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    I liked the recipes simple and satisfyingClean eating will support me enhance my life style and feel energetic and healthy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Wow this is a amazing book full of ideas and recipes for the one who wants to create a change in eating habits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Tasty simple recipes & very informative as to why this method of eating is beneficial.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Gave amazing primary information and has nice recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    I thought there would be more infornmatio

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    This book will teach you a lot of useful things about eating food, in this book you will see a beginners tutorial on how to obtain started in clean eating. Faye did a remarkable job on creating a very well detailed book like this and I commend her for that. It is indeed a very informative book and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    Lots of amazing info and recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:6

    The book is actually a booklet. Very vague, took all of 10 minutes to read. Not the book I was looking for, info was extremely basic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I need to correct my method of eating due to my heath. I bought this book with other healthy recipe books. This book is about a shift in mindset and understanding about what meal is and can be, and how it affects us individually. It is also loaded with accessible hints and recipes backed with profound insight, knowledge and experience, this book is so necessary in times when the planet is getting more toxic and eating clean and healing from within is more paramount than ever. After almost a week following the detox suggestions and recipes, which I altered a little bit, I feel much better, lighter, and "cleaner" already.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I liked the recipes simple and satisfyingClean eating will support me enhance my life style and feel energetic and healthy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Wow this is a amazing book full of ideas and recipes for the one who wants to create a change in eating habits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Tasty simple recipes & very informative as to why this method of eating is beneficial.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Gave amazing primary information and has nice recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I thought there would be more infornmatio

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    This book will teach you a lot of useful things about eating food, in this book you will see a beginners tutorial on how to obtain started in clean eating. Faye did a remarkable job on creating a very well detailed book like this and I commend her for that. It is indeed a very informative book and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Lots of amazing info and recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    The book is actually a booklet. Very vague, took all of 10 minutes to read. Not the book I was looking for, info was extremely basic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    I need to correct my method of eating due to my heath. I bought this book with other healthy recipe books. This book is about a shift in mindset and understanding about what meal is and can be, and how it affects us individually. It is also loaded with accessible hints and recipes backed with profound insight, knowledge and experience, this book is so necessary in times when the planet is getting more toxic and eating clean and healing from within is more paramount than ever. After almost a week following the detox suggestions and recipes, which I altered a little bit, I feel much better, lighter, and "cleaner" already.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    I have read a book about healthy eating for the brain and body and really wanted more recipes with every day things most people are familiar with that contribute to better health. I already have grasped the whole foods notice but wanted fast simple tasty recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    I liked the recipes simple and satisfyingClean eating will support me enhance my life style and feel energetic and healthy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    Wow this is a amazing book full of ideas and recipes for the one who wants to create a change in eating habits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    Tasty simple recipes & very informative as to why this method of eating is beneficial.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    Gave amazing primary information and has nice recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    This book will teach you a lot of useful things about eating food, in this book you will see a beginners tutorial on how to obtain started in clean eating. Faye did a remarkable job on creating a very well detailed book like this and I commend her for that. It is indeed a very informative book and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    Lots of amazing info and recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    I thought there would be more infornmatio

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating: A beginner's Guide to Eating Clean, Avoiding Toxins, and Feeling Great. Including Recipes! (Healthy Eating Series Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:2

    The book is actually a booklet. Very vague, took all of 10 minutes to read. Not the book I was looking for, info was extremely basic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    This book is a must-have for an American parent. We started out feeding our kid homecooked, amazing meals, eating as a family, and limiting treats and snacks. Somewhere by age 4, she was eating mostly crackers of different types, cheese sticks, and other junk. Worse of all, the family dinner table had become a battleground. She would refuse just about anything except what was familiar and usually processed. It didn't support matters when our own family members, meaning well I'm sure, began filling our pantry with "good" meal for her...microwaved processed meals. So long as it said "organic" or was somehow marketed as healthy, it was okay. It really wasn'ericans snack constantly. Most of their calories are from junk, "fake" food. Most restaurants are some variant of Quick Meal (especially Chili's and Olive Garden types, that cook prepackaged meals passed off as true dishes), and they eat out a LOT! Children are constantly walking around with some bag of something in their hands. Corporations have caught on and pacify parents with things like "Organic Fruit Rollups". And we have fallen for it hook, line, and sinker. Schools especially, even Pre-K, where the children are fed Animal Crackers as a morning snack and corporate marketing tools are drilled into them.We tried several books that typically resulted in bribery, punishment, reward, or becoming a line-cook and making separate meals for the kids. It seemed ridiculous because we were eating so much better than our own child. Other parents were of small help, because they all had the same issue with no instituting some of the rules outlined in this book, we've changed our household dramatically. We stopped the fighting. We cooked amazing meals and started eating together, more slowly, enjoying conversation. We eliminated snacks from our house. We encouraged her to test everything, but didn't force her to eat it (a "taste" was acceptable, it would reappear on her plate some other night). One snack a day, between lunch and dinner, and only fruit/yogurt/cheese/applesauce/etc. Desserts were for unique meals and occasions (where it had previously been a reward for choking down a sliver of carrot). If she didn't eat, fine, the plate was taken away when the food was over and she could wait until her next meal. No snacks! (Very quickly, she finally stormed into the kitchen, took back her plate and happily ate everything she had 20 mins ago declared "yucky!") We started formal dinners once a week to have fun dressing up the table. She was encouraged to support with the cooking more. Eating is supposed to be FUN and enjoyable!Finally, we changed ourselves. We took the time in the morning to create meals and eat together, as well as the evening dinner. We stopped letting ourselves obtain frustrated, because we knew that we weren't starving her (plenty of yummy meal was being served), and eventually she would eat when she got hungry and realized that no, a cookie or box of crackers would never be coming.I recommend this book to every parent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    Absolutely brilliant.I am beautiful sure I had the pickiest eaters on earth. If you think that is not real because your children are the pickiest, stop right here - my twins WERE at was not always the case. Until they turn one they ate everything we gave them. Mostly in a blended form, but they got all the veggies and fruit they needed. I thought we just had an simple set of children and silently laughed at all the stories of frustrated parents who were telling me how their toddlers spit everything into their faces.And then mother Karma found me...Every food was a food from hell. We stopped eating together as a family, and I spent a lot of my time in the kitchen cooking 2 various lunches, and 2 various dinners EVERY SINGLE DAY. The only thing my children wanted to eat was spaghetti with tomato sauce (and it had to be the one from the jar, not home created from new veggies - they would not even smell it) and processed sausage. Processed sausage was a must every sides this and milk they refused to eat anything has been ongoing for few months and I was sincerely worrying about the well-being of my children. And then my mate recommended this book to me. In an act of desperation I thought to myself that even if it won't help, it won't damage to read it either. So I read it. Overnight. And then I read it one chapter at a time while implementing the e first week was very hard. I was considering giving up and letting my children eat spaghetti with processed add ons again because I did not know what was worse - giving them processed meal or allow them starve themselves to death. I do not think they ate anything during the first 3..4 days. they just drank their milk. And then, suddenly, at the end of week one there was a breakthrough. They started to pick single things from the table and ate them!It has been more than one year since we went through the process. My girls are 3 yo now and eat everything. All veggies, all fruit, fish, meat, no limits. They ask for carrot or pineapple as a snack. Yes, they still love their ice creams and chocolates and cupcakes, but at least they obtain the right nutrition alongside the sugar doses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    My wife and I are huge foodie type people. For the first year of our sons life, he ate whatever we place in front of him, which included things like: duck risotto, rattlesnake sausage, any veggie, etc. But after about 13 months, he became difficult. It was like a switch that turned off.About the time he was turning two, we decided that we had enough with his fussiness. He was at the point that he would only eat processed garbage, and only then if it was covered in pesto. Not only that, it got worse in that he would often just lick the pesto off of something and then throw the remaining actual meal on the floor! We could not tolerate this behavior and as such, we turned to this book.I would generalize the central notice of this book to the following:-there needs to be rules regarding food times, but they are never enforced in anger-kids are allowed to be hungry...they'll quickly learn that starving themselves is not an option!-everyone eats the same thing-try to create food time an enjoyable experience-rules are flexible to your family lifestyleSo, we started giving these things a twirl in that we would only serve him what we were eating. Note that it took some consideration on our part as we couldn't just eat anything we wanted anymore. For example, we couldn't have crazy spicy food, or something he wasn't capable of consuming easily (i.e., soup because he wasn't particularly amazing with the spoon.) Anyway, the first week, he went to be hungry every night. That was hard. Also, we would always end dinner with fruit, which he loved, but we would never give him enough to fill up on. That was hard too, but starting the next week, he got the message, which is "you are no longer in control, and you will only obtain what we place on your plate." Also, he could no longer bank on , during the second week, he would begin tasting stuff. Admittedly, he didn't always eat it, but the point was that he tried it, whereas beforehand, that was impossible. Now, we've realized some additional things that support in our particular situation, and as such, we created some minor adjustments. And while he is not eating perfectly yet (we've only been doing this for almost 4 weeks,) he usually will at least test something before deciding he doesn't like it. And that's also huge!End effect is that our lives are much less stressed. Dinner time was always a battle. That is mostly not the case anymore. First off, we don't need to think "what should we prepare him so that he'll eat?" We just give him what we're eating. That may seem like a little thing to some, but it's actually HUGE! One less thing to worry about!!!! Second, we don't war with him...and as such, he's become easier going about food time. Less stress for him, less stress for us. Third, he now sits at the table (we got rid of his high-chair) and he'll actually come to the table on his own when we announce that it's dinner time! Something that warms my , while we are still a work in progress (and I reserve the right to modernize this post later on) he has progressed magnificently. Our only regret is that we didn't read this book of luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    A very interesting acc of her family's life in France. I this is a study of the French attitude towards meal and therefore life through the description of the meal culture in France. It all makes so much sense too! But then I was brought up by 1st generation European American's for whom a lot of of these meal rules were obvious. Such as sitting down to eat your three meals with others preferably. Not grazing all day, walking and drinking and driving with food. Just for starters. Enjoy! It's a very tasty book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    This book has proven life changing for me and my family. I'm sure it wouldn't necessarily have that impact for everyone, but having followed a lot of of the principles outlined in this book, my 20 month old son eats more foods (and has consistently since 7 months old) than most adults I know. He will gladly eat every food we are eating, including exotic vegetables, spicy foods, powerful flavors, and varying textures. Everyone says I'm "so lucky" but I know that it is due to following the principles in this book. I've even taught myself to "like" foods I've never liked before in my e book reads like a story or novel, it's not preachy like a how-to. The author is humble about her own experiences, and it makes the info very simple to digest. I would STRONGLY recommend to anyone getting ready to begin baby on solids, has picky toddlers, or is looking for a more broad perspective on meal education for themselves. If it didn't look to presumptuous, I would bonus this book to every fresh parent I know. I think meal habits in our life are that important. Below is a list of foods my son regularly eats without protest or complaint:- eggs (prepared any way)- brussels sprouts, spinach, broccoli, zucchini, cucumber, squash, pumpkin and more...- olive tapenade- all fruits I've ever offered including dragon fruit, avocado, figs, berries, and more...- all kinds of protein including goose, venison, beef, chicken, fish, shellfish, meatballs, meatloaf, beans and more...- hummus, feta & goat cheese, Tzatziki Sauce- rice, oatmeal, quinoa, flax, barleyI can go on and on, but you obtain the idea. People watch him eat and are amazed. I attribute this all to this book. No joke. Meals are so enjoyable- never any mad protest or me having to be a short-order cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    Loved reading this book while pregnant and am now re-reading since we've started our babe on solids. Such a amazing approach to getting children away from processed foods. Once you begin eating fresh, homemade food, the processed items doesn't even taste good, even to kids! We've tried a few of the recipes for ourselves and they are great. Loved reading a bit about how she tackles this when she's back in Vancouver as there are significant road-blocks when the culture around you is snacking and eating processed stuff. Can't wait to read her other book - Getting to Yum.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    An American (Canadian) who got her Ph.D. at Oxford and who's spouse is French, convinced him to test living in France for a year with their two young children. Some culture shock can only be experienced. It was a romantic idea that didn't turn out as Rosie as she dreamed, but was very much worth it. This book created me aware of differences in culture involving the most common of needs, to eat, a better method to look at meal and expectations, and some easy recipes my mates will soon be experiencing themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I was expecting a less scholarly book but the more I read the more I was interested in what was being taught to their family but also to me. Eating is a social happening for me lunching with mates I am now more aware of what I eat where I eat and how quickly! I MOVED TO EUROPE FOR TEN YEARS SO UNDERSTOOD THE EXPERIENCE OF LEARNING OTHER CULTURES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    An eye-opening, mind-bending excursion into the globe of non-American eating. Not just the kids, but adults, too! I LOVE this book. I want I'd read it years ago. Alien concepts like only eating at regular mealtimes; trying fresh foods up to 15 times before declaring "I don't like it"; not using meal as either reward or punishment for kids' behavior...wow. Lots to learn here, and very entertainingly told by an (English) Canadian transplant to France, her French husband and two little kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I absolutely love this book. I was recommended by one of my graduate professors to read this and I am glad I did. To anyone working in the nutrition globe of looking to understand meal and the issues we have here in America, this is a amazing read! Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    This book covers a lot of interesting subjects such as the barbarian invasions that ended the Roman Empire, Charlemagne uniting most of Europe, the Knights Templar, and the troubadours and their idea of romantic love. The chapter on the Black Death was fascinating, but also quite frightening.I lived in Spain for a while and so was very interested in the chapter on the Moors conquering the Spanish Peninsula in the 700s and building a civilization that lasted almost 800 years which the author says “cast a bright ray of light into the Dark Ages of Europe.”I also enjoyed the portrait of Alfonso the Learned, the 13th Century king of Castile, who was the first “Renaissance Man” of Europe in a lot of ways. He commissioned scholars to produce books on history, law, astronomy, magic, mythology, and games. King Alfonso usually took a direct hand in the production of these manuscripts, either as contributing author or as royal fonso’s literary way was described in passage of his General Estoria: “The king writes a book, not in the sense that he writes it with his own hand, but in the sense that he gathers the material for it, amends, edits, and corrects it, shows the manner in which it should be presented, and orders what is to be written; and for this reason we say that the king writes the book.”I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    There is a lot of interesting material in this book for anyone interested in this Middle Ages, including Charlemagne, the Moors in Spain, and the Norman Conquest of England. The time frame is the end of the Roman Empire to the fall of Constantinople.Oddly, the Amazon description does not say that this book is an anthology of essays by various historians. I was curious and looked some of them up. Morris Bishop was a longtime professor at Cornell who served as president of the Modern Language Association. He wrote a lot of books on European history including The Middle Ages, which is still in print, was awarded a Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur by the French for his achievements. Regine Pernoud was a prominent medieval historian and curator of the Museum of the History of France and the French National Archives who received the Grand Prize of the Town of Paris. Frederic Grunfeld was a historian who wrote 30 books including Rodin: A Biography

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    interesting read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Very amazing read. My interest in the Middle Ages was widened by the info that was fresh to me. Waiting for more books to present up soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    If you like history this is an perfect read you will learn a few fresh things from this perspective...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    A amazing book on a fascinating period on the history of humanity. An era not well understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Light, breezy essays packed with information. An perfect introduction to the Middle Ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Very timely subject. Interesting and readable articles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    Very informative and a beautiful simple read...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Middle Ages review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    I enjoyed this book although the first chapter on the barbarian invasions was a bit overwhelming with all the various tribes. I created a list of the ones mentioned: Goths, Huns, Vandals, Angles, Saxons, Jutes, Burgundians, Franks, Suevians, Ostrogoths, Visigoths, Alans, Lombards, Avars, Bulgars, and Magyars.But the author explains who these invasions had such an necessary influence on the development of Europe. Interestingly, the invading fighters would often end up joining the Roman troops in order to gain citizenship, and a lot of achieved wealth and e chapter on the Conquest of England by the Norman was particularly dramatic. It starts out with Robert Duke of Normandy raping a attractive young woman by the side of a stream near the castle of Falaise. “It is said that she was washing her feet, her skirt tucked high on her legs. He was smitten and swept her away to the castle. Quickly, a son was produced, born in 1028.” That was William the @#$%!&?, who inherited the throne and led the Normans to win in England in a brilliant e essay on the troubadours and the origin of “romantic love” was also very interesting.Overall, definitely a amazing read and worth the money!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    Terrific writing! Kept me waiting to see what happened next. Looking forward to the next one

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    This is an incredible, brutally honest piece of writing. I laughed and cried while I read it. Matt Young is an perfect writer, he uses a dozens of formats to tell his story of being a Marine Corps soldier in the Iraq war. While it's frequently very funny, it's also often devastating when you think about how young this author (and so a lot of other soldiers) are as they experience the stress, friendship, boredom, loss, and aftermath of military service. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    An arresting, innovate memoir of a young man at battle -- in Iraq and within himself. Breathtakingly creative and hauntingly evocative, it's Hemingway on steroids. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    Wonderful book and an wonderful story! I would recommend to everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    Awesome awesome awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat the Apple review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:1

    Outstanding read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eat All The Things review [App]  2018-4-15 13:0

    Cool game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plan to Eat review [App]  2018-6-8 13:8

    Yessss finally a true app! And it's beautiful and intuitive. You do need a membership - this application is a fresh addition to a pre-existing membership website.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plan to Eat review [App]  2018-6-8 13:8

    I have been a Plan to Eat user for years and am delighted that there is now an app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plan to Eat review [App]  2018-6-8 13:8

    Need to subscribe to use. Only trial. Waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This book is a must for anyone curious about the meat/dairy industry and all the things that go on in these industries that they test to hold under nathan Safran Foer does a unbelievable job of remaining objective throughout the book; he doesn’t test to persuade anyone to do anything, but rather simply shares the facts he finds out.I was needed to read this book for a class I took in college, but I’m glad I read it – I’m a vegetarian and this book was part of the reason why I chose to become one.Even if you’re convinced you’ll never give up meat or dairy, this book is still an necessary read to shed light on the goings-on of the meat and dairy industries. I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Caution to the faint-hearted: this book is graphic because it is honest and real. If you prefer to remain ignorant (sarcasm), you may wish to avoid it. Besides airing what takes put behind your ground beef, the author does a amazing job at remaining as unbiased as possible. Offering a lot of accounts from various individuals who work and live in the middle of factory farming, ranging from executives to farmers. I felt so passionate about family owned and operated farm mentioned in the reading, I actually reached out to thank them. This book really pulls at your heart strings with hard to stomach facts. In my opinion, it's disturbing that the majority of people are completely unaware of the contents of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This book was a catalyst where I wasn't looking for one. After the first 35 pages a light bulb started lighting up...and I feared my life was about to change. I've never written a book review, but after reading what Jonathon learned in his 3 + years of researching factory farming, I had to tell others to read it. He provides serious, horrific and true information. I never knew about factory farming until I read his book and googled 'factory farming' on the web. It was all over from there. I started watching those videos on what we do to animals-the ones we don't wish to see-and I could not stomach another bite of an animal again. I loved meat, ate it easily 3xday for all of my life, grew up near those green pastures in northern California where cows graze all day. Wow. Was I disconnected and fooled...What I felt, was that he did not preach about not eating animals. He presented info that I could personally relate to and grasp. For me, Jonathon felt like a messenger...where a lot of have failed to bring light to what humans are systematically doing to animals every moment of every day. He provided very necessary info about 99% of the animals I used to buy and eat for my family and friends. I had no idea that the US alone consumes 10 billion animals PER YEAR. I finally woke up. One chicken has 2 wings(that they never use)--how a lot of chicken wings come in a basket at a restaurant-6? 12? 24? I used to throw meat away after getting full. I was throwing away a life-a wasted one who suffered in life and in death. What frightened me more about this book is why is an author bringing this information to me? Where are the ongoing news specials on this?Jonathon's private tone, statistical/historical data, research team, real accounts from the field, letters, etc., left me no choice than to agree with him. Of course, he is not a farm owner, hasn't worked on a farm, and can't come from a put of truly understanding 'farming'. And he doesn't shun farming, he actually helped me realize that the farming I thought ALL animals came from--humane ones--are actually a miniscule percentage of all farms. His writing is heartwarming, but gut-wrenching. His occasional wit about the insanity of factory farming created me laugh quietly, but kept me awake at night thinking & ing Animals forced me to realize the terrifying component of being lied to by these factory farms and the megacorporations that help them. I used to pay additional for organic milk & cage free eggs because I believed in Horizon Farms. I thought I was making a better choice for the animals. Ultimately, the author woke me up from a deep, deep sleep. As he eloquently presents about turkeys, how can we celebrate 'thanks' and 'family' or whatever tradition you have on Thanksgiving while the main course never saw the sun, felt the earth, a breath of new air, had his beak seared off with a hot blade and no pain killers, lived on top of thousands of other turkey's and their excrement, thrown into trucks for transport hundreds of miles without meal or water, and never had one real moment of 'love.' If having a better understanding of what love means to you, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    At the end of the book, Jonathan Safran Foer brings us the global table. This parable tells a sobering story. I doubt Mr. Foer anticipated the type of reaction I had but I'm still sobbing. This book should be needed reading. Mr. Foer thoroughly researched the topic of factory farming and gives the reader perspectives of both animal activists and corporate farmers. The totality of consequences that come from factory farming are horrid. The temporary pleasure we may attain from consuming animal flesh pales in comparison to the devastating cruelty, unspeakable violence, and ecological ruin that arrives on our dinner e time for change came long ago. After reading this book, no one can claim ignorance. Info is sometimes a scary thing. It compels action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This definitely pushed me over to the vegan side of the fence, after being on the fence for so long. Foer doesn't argue versus eating meat entirely, he argues versus eating "farmed" meat. Even if you help eating meat, this is a terrific book, as you should know the conditions under which the monsters whose flesh you consume live.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I’ve owned “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer for years, but it’s remained on my shelf, staring down on me with judgement like Huge Brother’s mustached poster. The fear was I’d never be able to eat meat again once I read it, and the fear may be justified—I haven’t had meat since starting it. The book is not a vegetarian diatribe versus carnivores, and I have no issue with humans eating animals. The idea of a cow putzing around a pasture for a few years and dying instantly from a bolt to the brain never thrilled me, but it seemed no crueler than the deaths nature delivers. Only issue is, that’s fiction. I guess I was naive, but I didn’t realize 99% of all meat is now from factory farms, which are so disgusting they don’t even allow journalists inside. Maybe part of getting older is realizing that it’s impossible to live a life without causing others to suffer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I’m going to hold my review for this book short and sweet because I do not have a whole lot to say about this that others have not already said. I feel this book is a four star book because it does give the reader an inside glimpse into the meat industry from the perspective of the most commonly eaten animals in America--Chickens, Pigs, and Cows. This work also comes with the proper citations that helps to defend the authors argument. So why did I give this book a four out of five star review instead of the full stars? Personally, I feel with a subject as massive as animal rights/abuse, there will already be enough hard truths to swallow and emotions poured on to the reader, so I do not think the background family info was necessary, or any of the additional mood killing stories about starvation and such. I know these pieces were written to support the author illustrate his points, but to me I just felt like this extra history was unnecessary. I also did not like the fact that with a convincing argument like the author has, that he leaves out what to do when one decides to go vegan/vegetarian. He gives you just enough info to create a decision, but not enough to follow through with a fresh diet, I personally just feel there should be some information in the back of the book that informs the reader where to go next. But these two problems I have brought up are the only reason this book lost a star, other than these issues, the book is solid. If you are already an animal rights activist though, you probably won’t learn a whole lot here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    A simply written, yet perfectly crafted book (I have never highlighted as a lot of strong and evocative sentences in a single book before!). It makes a compelling argument both for and against. And, for once, tackles the problem is the first thing that has compelled me to take a firm stance within my own framework. And it has encouraged me to be vocal with is book should be compulsory reading for everyone who purchases food. Meaning, yes, just about everybody!Thank you Jonathan Safran Foer for another masterpiece. From someone who doesn't read non-fiction :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I regret being able to give no more than five stars to this book. Nearly at the end of my most vulnerable years, I've become more conscious of the choices I have and will have to create as a human being, especially when it comes to food. The reason why I wanted to read this book in the first put was to know whether my decision to become a vegetarian was right, and whether my latest year struggling under social pressure at any dining table was worth e book doesn't deserve a compliment as a full summary of arguments pro vegetarianism, but as an eye-opener. Jonathan Safran Foer begins with his own story and that of his family, then leads us to facts about the meat industry that are less personal, but that would affect any of us universally and individually. He tells the story that he needs to tell, and leaves us the right to create our decision, a decision that will influence the method we eat and the method the industry will e book doesn't offend any omnivore and doesn't speak solely in favor of vegetarians either, which is the reason why I would recommend everyone to read it. You may believe in what has been written, like I do, or you can choose to ignore it. It never hurts or is never a waste of time hearing someone else's opinions or learning fresh insights we've never known a certain point, as all these facts about factory farming were gradually revealed in the book, I felt obliged to remind myself that I wasn't reading a thriller or a fantasy fiction at all. No vikings were fighting each other in the book; no extremely smart serial murder was committing an international crime; there was only this strange relationship between us and this-silent-thing-on-our-plate-that-we-call-meat being present. It's a thriller that is true and that happens everyday thanks to our ignorance, and most of all: for which we are all responsible.I don't wish to recommend this book as a vegetarian, but as someone who wants to know more about the functionality of the world's meat industry, and especially as a reader. Foer's choices of words and his writing style, including the method he quotes others, really fascinate me. It was really impossible for me to place the book down once I had started.(And as a student Graphic Design, I would like to mention how beautifully John Gray has designed the cover of the book, which is a amazing reason to have it on the shelf.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Animals review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    As a vegan concerned about the environmental impact and ethics of meat production, I was already aware of most of the practices described in this book before I picked it up. So for me the most interesting part is Foer's reaction to this information, the internal struggle in his head, and the conclusions he drew from it e book has quite a lot to offer: a amazing overview of the various ways meat is produced in the US, and numerous interviews with people from all sides of the story - from a factory farm operator, defending the necessity of such methods, up to a PETA member making a case for veganism. Such dozens of views, together with the wide range of aspects of meat production that Foer tried to cover, create the topic difficult to handle from the point of view of book structure. Foer does this beautiful well overall, but I'm still not a fan of the subject organization. Some chapters were better than others, but there were a bit too a lot of cases of jumping around for my liking. I found myself wondering what's the main notice of the book. Early on, Foer points out that this book isn't here to argue for vegetarianism. And that's true. The main notice is a case versus factory farming. However, while I completely agree with its conclusion, it's not a particularly powerful case. In the end, for me, the vegan in me is satisfied with all the opposition to the idea of factory farming, but the scientist in me is rather unhappy about the method the argument is structured...Foer's argument oscillates between an evidence-based evaluation of the environmental impact and a moral argument versus raising animals who can't reproduce and whose bones can't help them. He describes the environmental hurt done by these factory farms, and the very high concentration of animals kept there. To me, it would create sense to then assess the environmental impact per weight of the meat produced, which could then be compared versus "traditional" animal farms, while somehow trying to acc for the externalities such as the sharp increase in incidence of drug-resistant strains of different diseases, and the simpler effects on the neighborhood of these farms (such as powerful smells). But that's not what Foer does. Instead, he switches completely to an ethical case, talking about how wrong it feels to do all these things to animals and that they deserve our respect. Yet he still isn't opposed to the idea of eating meat, which makes the ethical argument a bit shaky. So we have a responsibility to treat these animals relatively well, except that we still obtain to slay them at a young age? Where do we draw the line? Foer for example feels very poor at what is done in the factory farms, but finds killing a teen (in human age terms) cow for steak acceptable. I think that the choice to draw the line at this particular point is non-obvious, and would require a lot more justification and discussion, which alas cannot be found in this book. Don't obtain me wrong, I'm not dismissing his argument, but rather suggesting that it needs work to be developed.I was disappointed that the book failed to discuss the difference between vegetarians and vegans, and the importance of those differences. Surely exploitation of animals in factory farms is just as poor when it isn't the meat that's the final product. But given that Foer is a vegetarian and not a vegan, I'm guessing this is a part of his journey that's still ahead of him personally.I very much enjoyed the subject of the social role of sharing meals, and how this is affected when one stops eating meat. This is something I've been though, so I was curious to search out more. Unfortunately, this subject is also not sufficiently developed, in the end being not much more than a few ideas the author had when briefly contemplating some family relationships. I must say I want he (or anyone else, really) wrote a book about this topic.Overall, this book is a amazing conversation starter, a amazing choice for a first book on this topic, a fairly-detailed first look into the globe of animal agriculture. If you haven't spent much time thinking about where your meat comes from, this is a very amazing put to start. If this is a subject that you've been regularly researching and are relatively knowledgeable about, then I'd say move on, there isn't much to see her. Unless you wish to buy it for your omnivorous friends, of course :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    Is it a rip off of voodoo's Or did voodoo just do it better? Amazing concept, but it's all a small clunky.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    Please fix this. It froze and kicked me out the game. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    I told all thw reviews hate becuase i just got in it and it looks like a decent android game to me once i played this android game for 2 days i will give my full reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    THIS IS THE EXACT SAME THING AS SO DOWNLOAD NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    Its cool but it glitches alot on me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    It's fun, amazing method to slay some time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    I lovd it so much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    It's amazing but it only gives us one min to play

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    The controls suck. The android game is a amazing idea! The controls need to be more reactive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    - Hole Eat review [App]  2018-6-27 21:0

    I really like the android game its so fun to play

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter