Executive: Reviews & Opinions


Submit Executive: review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Action review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Actors film and a conspiracy theorists dream. Executive Action is directed by David Miller and written by Dalton Trumbo, Donald Freed and Tag Lane. It stars Burt Lancaster, Robert Ryan, Will Geer, Gilbert Green and John Anderson. Melody is by Randy Edelman and cinematography by Robert Steadman. In essence it’s a movie that is offering up a various theory to the Warren Commission’s report that ruled Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone in assassinating John F. Kennedy. Plot has Lancaster and Ryan as shady conspirators who plot the downfall of JFK on that fateful day November 22nd 1963. There’s lots of talking, with the actors chewing into the dialogue whilst brooding considerably, their motives explained clearly, the framing of Oswald brought to life, and it rounds up to a triple gunmen scenario. We then obtain a startling revelation about what befell a number of eyewitnesses from that infamous day. It’s engrossing without being truly riveting, but the cast create it worth time spent. While if you like to buy into the conspiracy theory surrounding the assassination, then it carries some additional entertainment value. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    Amazing book. Shows a detailed and accurate picture of some corporate and management problems. Wolfe also has a amazing understanding of relatively fresh technologies and explains them in an interesting and not boring text. The story line was interesting and Abbie Hoffman was a likable person. I enjoyed the book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    While not my normal genre, this particular book left me not knowing what was to happen next. I love a twist, and turn that leaves me consumed with reading the next page. Read this in a small over 2 days!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Executive: or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Executive: video reviews and related movies:

    See PNTV: The Effective Executive by Peter F. Drucker on youtube.

     related image

    See Sylvia Ann Hewlett: "Executive Presence" | Talks at Google on youtube.

     related image

    See What Is the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government? | History on youtube.

     related image

    See Executive Job Search - 7 Steps to Land a Senior Management Job on youtube.

     related image

    See Washington Monthly Executive Editor: Silicon Valley has no friends on youtube.

     related image

    See Executive Function: The Brain's Control Center on youtube.

     related image

    See Executive Level Interviews: 12 Steps to Win the Job on youtube.

     related image

    See How your brain's executive function works -- and how to improve it | Sabine Doebel on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    Interesting read, though its not what I expected. The main hero never heard of CYA? Seriously? I had to take off a star for that. Anyway, the book recovered from there and had a amazing ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    An enjoyable read, although not always plausible. Some of the villains were hard to swallow whole, for instance, and you do really wonder how things could obtain this far! The technology bits were interesting; although I can't judge if all are accurately portrayed, they tell a story that hangs together. Some other things I found rather unlikely, such as having to explain the term ivory turret to an educated audience. Typos and the like were thankfully few in number. On the whole, it was fun, and I will read more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    I should have started with this book first instead of last. The whole series was a unbelievable thriller series which any reader could enjoy. Thank you Leslie for the entertainment!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    Exciting from beginning to end, I couldn't place this one down. I just had to search out what happened next. I loved the premise of office politics, and continually was involving myself in the situations - what would I do, or how would I search an answer? The writing was good, but not great. As interesting and engaging as this was, I thought some problems could have been developed more fully. Too often, you were brought to a crisis situation, only to have it resolved with a move on to the next scene. You never learn how the situation was resolved. Even with these loose ends, this was a amazing read, and I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    Executive: A Political Thriller is a amazing thriller filled with action and suspense. Quick paced story filled with turmoil like drones, conspiracy, and poor people. Definitely keeps you wanting to know what will come next, hard to place down story. The main hero must search a job quick so she can pay the bills, the question is what is she willing to take on?The author does a amazing job with the hero building and the story line. Very detailed book, but the flow of it seemed to be done quite well. Felt like I was watching a movie, hope to see more from this author in the future. If you are looking for a exciting, faced paced story, I recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    I knew small of corporate politics, and roughly the same about drones, but this well written book led me through what I required to learn. The characters are well written and engaging, with the protagonist believable, likable and real. The climax felt a bit rushed, and the baddest "bad guys" had insufficient fore-shadowing, for my tastes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    I was hooked!! I couldn't place the book down!! I loved how the characters were very well described. I was not expecting that plot twist! If you love a page turner that you can't place down this is the book for you to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive: A Thriller review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    The business guide woven into the plot would best be appreciated by someone less knowledgeable about business. Nonetheless, the plot and hero studies were engaging and led to a satisfying finale. Oh, and the explanation of drone operations was/is valuable and should be needed reading for citizens. Overall, a fine read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pitchstorm: Executive Timer review [App]  2019-2-8 13:26

    Easy application that matches android game aesthetics. Works for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Joust - Executive Banking for Solopreneurs review [App]  2019-2-9 13:8

    easy to use. amazing interface. android game changer

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Joust - Executive Banking for Solopreneurs review [App]  2019-2-9 13:8

    Cant even sign in force closes when trying to verify phone number.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I read Phillip Margolin books for the clean swift plotting, the narrative drive & the humor. Often I underline some of his sentences because I like the method he's expressed something. I don't expect Margolin to be Tom Clancy or Nelson DeMille. I am reading for a various reason. I'm a quick reader & I like a story that moves swiftly & entertainingly. I read a lot of non-fiction, so when I pick up a mystery I'm looking for suspense that will hold me turning pages & characters I can have fun spending some time with.... Margolin delivers on these counts. In Executive Privilege... his Prologue sets the reader up for a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I enjoyed it very much.I would, if permitted, give it a 4.5 novel. It kept my interest from beginning to end, and I found the twists and turns to be effective. While the plot is a bit over the top, it is still an enjoyable read; after all, it is fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Is the President of the United States, Chris Farrington, a pedophile who has sex with teenage girls then kills them? This is the mystery which haunts the entire book and Philip Margolin does a spectacular job of keeping the reader engaged around this surprising e respond comes because Dana Cutler, a personal investigator in Washington, D. C. and Attorney Brad Miller in Portland, Oregon ask questions which leads the FBI to the solution-- one which emanates from two various crimes which occurred on opposite is a amazing story with an unpredictable ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I hadn't read a Phillip Margolin book in years but remembered how much I enjoyed his writing. This book didn't disappoint me!His writing keeps you in suspense and re. The plot thickens with twists and turns that hold you riveted to your chair.His characters are well developed to the point where you feel you know them personally. The amazing guys are so likeable and some of the poor guys don't seem so will have a difficult time putting this book down and will be surprised at the "who dunnit"! Buy this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Hold my interest. Reminded me of the rumors about the Clintons.Highly recommend. Would recommend to all who have fun mysteries and suspense.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Very well written, I think a lot of truths were hidden very cleverly. All the characters were excellent, This writer has an super ability to take truths and false hoods to the best advantage possible. A page turner for sure and very interesting. Reading between the lines gives the reader a incite to reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Beautiful good. I figured it out on the latest page.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Phillip Margolin is one of the best legal storytellers of the day and this one Executive Privilege is no exception. Thrilling from begin to finish,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    There are a lot of twists and turns that hold your interest. A lot of main characters that have their own story but come together to solve the murders. I figured out who did it before the end but that is not unusual for me. Enjoyable read that will hold you entertained.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    RIVITING story of the consequences of unbridled ego, the lust for power, the evil uses that power can be place to, and the loss of self through character worship. The president, his wife ,and chief aide portrayed these attributes in spades but then you have the FBI and a fledgling attorney on the other side and for once shown in amazing light. The story was so well crafted and thought provoking. BEST I have read in a very long time. I will be looking for all the rest of Phillip Margolin' s books. WOW read this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    As an experienced Executive looking to enter into Interim work, I found this book an perfect reference to understand this emerging service model, avoid pitfalls, and define my value proposition to clients. I am much more capable and knowledgeable to tackle this fresh chapter of my professional life with the processes, techniques, and case studies detained in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    This is a very succinct and well written book about a would-be stressful and complex situation. The case studies support to bring theoretical ideas into real-life, relatable situations. I would recommend this book for anyone interested in interim work, or anyone looking to hire an executive for interim work. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    Like no business book I've ever read, X-Formation has truly x-formed my thinking about how to approach what's not working in businesses today. As a sales consultant, the Strategize, Optimize, Maximize, Organize approach articulated exactly what I do on every engagement. It's a blueprint for how ANY consultant or Interim executive should approach an engagement to have the greatest impact in an organization. And for the hesitant CEOs, wondering if it's a amazing investment to hire an interim, this book is the definitive tutorial on why you MUST, and how to hire the right person.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    Amazing book that has changed the method I view my own business. The content is engaging and the author does a amazing job of making it easily relatable with a lot of case studies throughout the book. Definitely recommend this book for any entrepreneurs or business execs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    As an interim executive at different times in my career, I am acutely aware of the positives, the negatives, and the nuances of using interim executives. This book nails it on every dimension. Given the high turnover rate of executives in the U.S., and today's inherent inability to avoid the use of interim executives, this book is a must-read for CEOs and all senior executives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Formation: Transforming Business Through Interim Executive Leadership review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:0

    This book was eye-opening to the wonderful value an Interim executive can bring to a company. The case studies in particular offered concise and true examples for identifying the need and benefits of an Interim. As a part of a little company experiencing rapid growth, I'll certainly be putting these principles into practice and I feel confident that this book has given me the tools to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Read this a decade ago, lost my hard cover book, and bought it on Kindle again this week. Despited some dated references (typewriters and such), it's still incredibly insightful, full of useful anecdotes and just overall, excellently written ... it's recommended reading for every manager or business owner. A classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Very useful tips but reading it is a bit boring. Latest chapter about entrepreneurship is very well writing. Still a amazing read though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Classic book, timeless advice! This was like getting reacquainted with an old friend; I had read this book 30 years ago when it was first published. Tag McCormack is gone now, but he lives on in this amazing testimony to successful business thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Key skills for any businessman and businesswoman

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Brilliant, full of wisdom and practical support points - do not read it if you plan to go to Harvard Business School

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    There's a reason they don't teach this items at Harvard Business School--it is useless pablum. "Be yourself." "Learn how to listen." "Be flexible."McCormack comically claims at one point to be able to sum up a businessman's outlook by how he treats "gimme" putts. Laughably old school replete with heavy name-dropping and corny 's just awful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    This is one of the best business books ever. I re-read it every five years. I am unsure why there is not digital version. Time has not changed its value.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Perfect book, I recommend it to everyone interested in doing business.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Really closes some gaps left byOne L: What They Really Teach You at Harvard Law School

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What They Don't Teach You at Harvard Business School: Notes from a Street-smart Executive review [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    A book that Every MBA, business manager or college student should read before they set out to do the true work of making, selling or managing something/anything. It might be called the common sense tutorial to management and the work of managing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    I received a digital copy of this book free through Netgalley.I've read a lot about Aileen Wuornos over the years and I was really looking forward to this book. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I didn't learn anything here that I didn't already know, the writing was tedious, and the author was far from objective.I'm the kind of person that when I obtain into something, I stick with it to the end. Even with work and life, it's rare for me to take more than a couple of days to finish a book. If I'm into it, I'll read in every spare moment and stay up all night to finish. This book took me several weeks to obtain through. I'd read it for a couple of hours, then place it down and dread coming back to it. I believe I read four other books while this one was in progress before I finally forced myself to [email protected]#$%!.If you know anything at all about Aileen Wuornos, you're likely to search this book tedious and repetitive. There's not much fresh insight or info here. If you don't know anything at all about her, this book is too one-sided to really give you a amazing understanding of her e author says Wuornos "@#$%!ed about the police officers...." and "she ran her mouth in the presence of a medic..." This is not a journalist laying out the facts objectively. Whether he has problems with all women or all lesbians or all serial assassins I don't know but it's clear that he has a deep dislike for Aileen Wuornos.I do believe that some accounts have been overly sympathetic to Wuornos and portrayed her as more of a victim than the men she killed. I think Michael Reynolds went too far in the opposite direction though, glossing over the abuse and betrayal and dysfunction that created Aileen Wuornos who she was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    The story material makes this book an interesting read. I agree with other reviewers who note Reynolds's problems with women; this issue of his is also visible in a brief interview with the author that appears in Nick Broomfield's documentary, *The Selling of a Serial Killer.* One thing I think Reynolds is dead right about, however, is that prostitution was not Aileen's main "hustle" in selecting her victims. Her letters to childhood friend, Dawn Botkins (*Dear Dawn*) affirm that she only brought up the idea of a sexual transaction after first securing a ride under other pretenses. She claims, to Dawn, to have found this tactic less "embarrassing." So I see true insight, on Reynolds's part, in this area. He is clearly enamored with the policemen's bravado, and their saga, on the night of Aileen's capture, is more detailed than interesting. All in all, the book is worth reading; you can hear his enthrallment with the law enforcement guys, and you can hear his strange stance towards women throughout, but even so, his rendition of the crime, allowing for its biases, is still worth reading. If you have to choose only one account, however, go with Sue Russell's Lethal Intent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    I was not very familiar with this case before reading Dead Ends. Sure I have heard the name Aileen Wuornos and knew she was a convicted and executed serial killer, but that's really all I knew. I never knew she was pregnant at such a young age, or tossed out on her own so is was a highly detailed and informative acc of how Aileen Wournos was caught, and her subsequent trial and sentencing.. There is no doubt she was guilty but after reading about people who planned to use her story as their own private jack pot, or ending up with an attorney who called himself Dr. Legal I can't support but almost feel a speck of sympathy, not so much for her but for the childhood she had, and the kid she was. I can't support but wonder if her son ever found out who his mother was and for his sake I hope he didn't know. Some questions are better left unanswered.I received an advance copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Dead Ends is the real story of Aileen Wuornos, the 35th female serial assassin in the United States. Using basic sources, Reynolds objectively describes the seven murders she committed, her trial, and sentencing. Reynolds broke the story as a Reuters correspondent in Florida and covered the trial, giving him first-hand knowledge of the case. This is a fast-paced book that I could not place down; it is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    It seems peculiar that Reynolds' 1992 acc of the life and crimes of Aileen Wuornos has not been promoted in conjunction with the Oscar-winning movie MONSTER, which was based on Wuornos's life. Perhaps the substantial liberties which the screenplay takes with the facts are the is a work of art, whereas DEAD ENDS is a fast-paced factual presentation of the crimes. Ty, Lee's sidekick, is small like the hero portrayed by Christina Ricci. First, she's unequivocally unattractive physically. Second, in reality she was much older than Ricci's hero and was far more responsible for her own actions. She was not merely a thwarted adolescent whose repressive family loathed her same-sex tendencies. Finally, she lived with Aileen Wuornos for several years before the murder spree began. The scriptwriter clearly wished her characters to have understandable motivations; in contrast, in DEAD ENDS, readers never obtain enough background info to fully create sense of Ty and Aileen's lengthy relationship--particularly why Ty stayed on with Aileen for so AD ENDS also is much less empathetic than MONSTER to Wuornos herself. Though it is clear that Wuornos grew up in a grotesquely dysfunctional family (her true father was a convicted pederast who probably hanged himself in prison; her adoptive father was her own grandfather, who committed suicide and very possibly murdered his wife, Wuornos's adopted mother; her true mother abandoned her and her brother while still a teenager; and on and on), DEAD ENDS lends small sympathy to this woman who murdered seven men in a sociopathic spree (which easily might have included far more victims, but for the machinations of Lady Luck).Aileen Wuornos was not the first but the thirty-fifth female serial assassin documented in American history; however, her methodology--using violence in a globe which tolerates only masculine force--is what seems to have created her so repugnant to Reynolds and others. It was an interesting tact to take on the part of the screenwriter of MONSTER: in the film, the audience cannot support feeling sorry for this wreck of a woman.On a planet where physical crimes by men versus women astronomically exceed those by women versus men, it is fascinating that the prosecutors of Aileen Wuornos, as well as Reynolds himself, search her so repulsive. Hollywood and the famous media project photo after photo of male violence inflicted upon females. How curious that in a global patriarchy, pathetic characters like Wuornos are so loathed (recall the furor caused by THELMA AND LOUISE?) while the groping Mr. Schwartzenegger is elected to the governership of California!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Unlike the film and TV versions, real police work is deadly dull. It's hours and hours of piecing together leads and bits of evidence. The case of Aileen Wuornos was no different. Also unlike master criminals in TV and movies, Wuornos was stupid. She scattered evidence her and there and confessed on tape. The interest is in what created her do the murders and what was she really like. Unfortunately, the answers to both those questions are banal. She murdered for cash and she was dull beyond 's best not to drill too deeply into the personality of this serial killer. Deep down she is profoundly shallow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Dead Ends..... is a real acc of the consequences that come with the destruction of a young woman's youth. After being used up by men and treated like garbage (a beer bottle thrown out a vehicle window) Aileen lost all trust for men. She didn't care what their nature was anymore because she would never trust another man, she hated all men at this desperate point in her life. And in her mind, all men she could trap in her web of hatered for men would pay dearly for the pain she had suffered for so a lot of years by the hands of men. If someone would have loved her and shown her love, and caring nurturing , getting her psychiatric help, like so a lot of of us need today, things may have been some what various in the out come of her future! I do believe that she did know what she was doing when she killed all of the men, but she was already to far gone with her sickiness. ( lack of having love as a kid and amazing direction for life)She was paying every man back for what she was place through as a kid and as a woman.... This book is a must read if you are a real crime reader!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    Excellent. Read it in one sitting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction, and Execution of Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:0

    I am an avid fan of real crime books and this is by FAR the most one-sided book I've ever read. It wasn't about the crimes, it was about this author's private feelings and dislike of Aileen Wuornos. He has a true issue with women, lesbians in particular. He created Ms. Wuornos out to be someone she wasn't. She had a hard life, yes and chose to committ crimes, but that wasn't what this book was about. Again, it wasn't worth the $. I actually threw my copy of this away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, & Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:0

    I got a lot out of this book. I bought it on the back of seeing a YouTube video of Kelly presenting this information. She has a really amazing accessible writing style. She peppers her book with amazing examples of her ideas in practice. Plus the explanations of how and why they work is beautiful good. I can be inherently lazy if I'm not careful - but some of her tactics are willpower increasers by stealth. And that's gold for lazy folk like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, & Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:0

    This book is a definite keeper and I will define re-read this method I can change the method I handle my projects from now on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    The author gives a lot of detail as if he were an expert on the topic and keeps making lists about everything, as if it were a en for each list item, an example...all well and amazing were it a technical book explaining a detailed scientific concept. Into the third chapter I felt like wanting to pull out my hair over all the useless lists. It's not interesting. It's bloated. Maybe I'm not the right person to be reading it, but to follow this system would be more difficult than just finishing the work on my plate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This book has some amazing suggestions on how to finish what you start. I like how Peter Hollins describes the issue of procrastination. He then gives you suggested ways of getting around it. I have applied most of the principals. This has caused my output to be much more productive then it used to be. I feel like I am getting something done. In addition, the suggestions have caused me to hold a log of my progress which has been steady in a positive direction. I would highly recommend the book to those seeking to improve their productivity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This book is a must read, no matter where you are in your life, career - no matter how old you are. It's about not being afraid to fail. In fact, you HAVE to fail in order to succeed. It's also about hard work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Procrastination is delaying or deferring an action to a later date.We tend to delay a task because such task does not give us instant is book provides you with practical strategies to enhance your will power to stop procrastinations and motivate you to achieve your set goals in e author helps you break your procrastination habits with an simple and practical step by step tutorial

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This was a easy read. Supportive in the work environment, and for all undertakings and I think appropriate to all ages. This book is brimming with powerful counsel and data that was anything but difficult to take after.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    A amazing informative book. Providing learning procedure. Knowing about art of science. Very interesting content. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Amazing read. The Author repeats the teachings several times to ensure that you remember each lesson. This book speaks to our fear of failure and the unknown.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    The part I liked the most was Hollins’ emphasis on action and how to avoid deadly pitfalls like unrealistic expectations of yourself and others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Concise expression in business terms of steps to achieve a desired outcome. Explains terminology well. Contains summaries in each chapter and at the end of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Finish What You Start: The Art of Following Through, Taking Action, Executing, Self-Discipline review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This book can be a distinctive deep dive into the psychological science and science of accomplishment, productivity, and obtaining things done. It takes a radical look why we have a tendency to square measure generally stuck, and provides elaborate, step by step solutions you'll start exploitation nowadays.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Another parent here. I have three highly gifted children who nevertheless seem unable to accomplish easy tasks. A mate recommended this book, and it's forcing me to endure a complete paradigm shift, not only about my expectations for them, but of my own weaknesses in this area. Sure, I've had problem staying organized, I begin tasks only to leave them half-completed, and I feel like I have far more potential than I produce. But until I took the inventory for parents in this book, I didn't realize how truly weak my own executive skills are all around (unless I'm inspired, and then I'm a machine! ... just like my daughter). My husband took the quiz and -- not surprisingly -- his EF (executive function) skills are nearly off the charts on the other end. He laughed a small as he said he wondered how honest I was going to be, but he agreed with my self-assessment. Suddenly, I understand why a disastrous house sends me into tears, but he can obtain to work and create it spotless in a couple hours. But this book also showed me that it's not an inherent personality failure on my part -- it's that I never learned these skills properly! After just a weekend of talking about some problems together, my daughter (8) and I have made tactics to support us with our organizational skills. I'm also staying more patient with my 5-yr-old son, who is beautiful much a 1 on emotional control (but quite amazing with organization).This book isn't an instant silver bullet solution, but it provides fresh ways of thinking and conceptualizing about your children's (and your own) strengths and weaknesses. If your kids are also very smart, I also *highly* recommend reading this book together with:Living With Intensity: Understanding the Sensitivity, Excitability, and the Emotional Development of Gifted Children, Adolescents, and Adults When you understand low and evolving EF skills in combination with overexcitabilities/intensities, you can finally stop asking, "What have I done wrong? Why are *MY* children -- who are otherwise so bright and capable -- so sensitive/dramatic/disorganized/fidgety/distractable/loud/rebellious, etc.?" Because they *aren't* like other kids. They are shooting stars who will challenge but delight and amaze you! And the _Smart but Scattered_ book will support them manage those overexcitabilities through developing better executive skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This book is actually really helpful as long as you buy the book and not the kindle edition. There are all kinds of helpful assessments and tables, that don't present up correctly on a kindle. I ended up buying the book too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Perfect read and tutorial for parents and teachers!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This is a very informative book for parents who are trying to help their children who struggle with organization, time management and attention and focusing concerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Arrived in amazing condition and it is an outstanding book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Prompt delivery. Item as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I recommend this book to any parent that has a kid with ADHD or ADD this book is absolutely awesome and thank you to the authors

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Really valuable learning tools and discoveries for parents of kids who need some direction in school and in life skills. Surprisingly reveals traits I recognized in myself and family members. Can recommend this book without hesitation for parents and caregivers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Smart but Scattered: The Revolutionary "Executive Skills" Approach to Helping Kids Reach Their Potential review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Book was recommended by Oregon Health Sciences for better understanding of "executive functioning". Simple to read and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    Note: Amazon continues to feature reviews of earlier editions. What immediately follows is my review of the 50th anniversary edition published today, January 24, 2017. What then follows is my review of an earlier edition.* * *This is the 50th anniversary edition of a book first published in 1967. Jim Collins provides the Foreword and Zachary First the Afterword. In my opinion, Peter Drucker (1909-2005) is the most influential business thinker as indicated by the endless list of other thought leaders who continue to acknowledge his value and significance to their own work. He always insisted on referring to himself as a “student” or “bystander.” With all due respect to his wishes, I have always viewed him as a pioneer who surveyed and defined dimensions of the business globe that no one else had previously nsider this passage in the Foreword: “Here are ten lessons I learned from Peter Drucker and this book, and that I offer as a little portal of entry into the mind of the greatest management thinker off all time.” These are the lessons that Collins cites and discusses:1. First, manage thyself.2. Do what you’re created for.3. Work how you work best (and allow others do the same).4. Count your time, and create it count.5. Prepare better meetings.6. Don’t create a hundred decisions when one will do.7. Search your one huge distinctive impact.8. Stop what you would not start.9. Run lean.10. Be useful.“He was in the end, Collins adds, "the highest level of what a teacher can be: a role model of the very ideas he taught, a walking testament to his teachings in the tremendous lasting result of his own life.”As was real of Collins and will be real 0f everyone else who reads one of the several editions, they will have their own take-aways. Drucker provides a framework in the Introduction, stressing while discussing the importance of eight specific practices that all amazing business and non-profit CEOs are committed to, such as asking “What needs to be done?” and “What is right for the enterprise?” The first two enable them to get the info they e next four support them to convert this knowledge into effective action:3. Develop action plans.4. Take responsibility for decisions [and their consequences].5. Take responsibility for communicating.6. Are focused on opportunities rather on e latest two ensure that the entire organization feels responsible and accountable7. Run productive meetings.8. Think and feel “we” rather than “I.”Yes, these are primary and obvious practices but they were not five decades ago. Until Drucker, thinking about management lacked order, structure, clarity, and focus. Borrowing a phrase from Oliver Wendell Holmes, Drucker developed thinking about management to “the other side of complexity.” To paraphrase, Albert Einstein, Drucker created management “as easy as possible but no simpler.”In the Introduction Peter Drucker concludes, “We’ve just covered eight practices of effective executives. I’m going to throw in one final, gift practice. This one’s so necessary that I’ll elevate it to the level of a rule: [begin italics] Listen first, speak latest [end italics]”...And, like every discipline, effectiveness [begin italics] can [end italics] and [begin italics] must [end italics] be earned.”The title of this review is a portion of one of Peter Drucker's most necessary insights: "The most serious mistakes are not being created as a effect of wrong answers. The real risky thing is asking the wrong question."* * *I first read this book when it was originally published in 1967 and have since re-read it several times because, in my opinion, it provides some of Peter Drucker's most necessary insights on how to "get the right work done and done the right way." By nature an "executive" is one who "executes," producing a desired effect (an "effect") that has both impact and value. As Drucker once observed in an article that appeared in Harvard Business Review at least 40 years ago, "There is surely nothing quite so useless as doing with amazing efficiency what should not be done at all." Therefore, the effective executive must develop sound judgment. Difficult - sometimes immensely difficult - decisions must be made. Here are eight practices that Drucker recommended 45 years ago:o Ask, "what needs to be done?"o Ask, "What is right for the enterprise?"o Develop an action plano Take responsibility for decisions.o Take responsibility for communications.o Focus on opportunities rather than on problems.o Conduct productive meetings.o Think in terms of first-person PLURAL pronouns ("We" rather than "I").The first two practices give executives the knowledge they need; the next four support them convert this knowledge into effective action; the latest two ensure that the entire organization feels responsible and accountable, and will thus be more willing to become engaged. "I'm going to throw in one final, gift practice. This one's so necessary that I'll elevate it to the level of a rule: [begin italics] Listen first, speak last." [end italics]This volume consists of eight separate but interdependent essays that start with "Effectiveness Can Be Learned" and conclude with "Effective Decisions." Actually, there is a "Conclusion" in which Drucker asserts that "Effectiveness Must Be Learned." I agree. The essays are arranged in a sequence that parallels a learning process that prepares an executive to "assume responsibility, rather than to act the subordinate, happy only if he `pleases the boss.' In focusing himself and his vision on contribution the executive, in other words, has to think through purposes and ends rather than means alone."I highly recommend this to all executives who need an easy-to-read collection of reminders of several primary but essential insights from one of the most necessary business thinkers, Peter Drucker. I also presume to suggest that they, in turn, urge each of their direct reports to get a copy and read it. The latest time I checked, Amazon sells a paperbound edition for only $11.55. Its potential value is incalculable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    I had very high expectations of this book and of Peter Drucker as the author.He came highly recommended in an entrepreneurial training that I had done.Unfortunately, I found actionable info to be extremely ere are a few nuggets of actionable information here and there, but definitely not the kind of value that I was ss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    Has a few amazing tidbits of information that warrants it as a amazing read. It displays several historic case studies which is a amazing refresher of US and globe history. I got the nugget I was looking for and appreciate Mr. Drucker putting this out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    Perfect perspective, insight and coaching for development. I was amazed at the insight Peter Drucker had considering when this was originally written back in the 1960's. Other books that have been written even in the latest couple years echo some of what is in here. The subjects and tip are still very relevant today even though some of the landscape has changed with the computer and internet. I would say that this is still on point for today and should be needed reading for any aspiring professional in a huge organization.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    My first book by Drucker and I loved it. While it is clear how old this book is by the sole references to men as executives, the wisdom has not aged. I really appreciate the focus he encourages and emphasis on specific actions like time recoding. I could easily see myself coming back to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    I'm a business book junkie, but this is the granddaddy of all executive self-awareness 's also still the though his examples are dated, Drucker still lays out the cleanest explanation and android game plan for anyone who finds themself in the position of leading a company. This book is about both leadership and management, and if you don't understand the difference, all the more reason to buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    This book gives amazing principles on management. It is undeniably a classic in the business globe and a must read. I usually don't finish books that I don't like but 85% of this book is relevant. All executives and rising executives should read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    Some language and examples are dated, but the observations and techniques remain completely relevant. For example: - First- and second-level managers nowadays usually don't know anywhere near as much as their people about the job's real challenges and solutions. - It rarely works to test to create a person something that he/she simply is not. Capitalize on people's skills instead of trying to manufacture skills in them. - If a person has a major weakness in his role, don't test to fix the situation by splitting the role with another person who has complementary skills and weaknesses. Both will struggle. Things will most likely worsen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    There a a lot of highlights in this book, and everything makes amazing sense as well as providing fruit for thought.I will personally be having this book in mind in my work life (c-level), and will be reviewing my notes on e examples are clearly very old, and also kind of dull. Besides this, the writing is to the point and I don't think something should have been left out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done (Harperbusiness Essentials) review [Book]  2018-3-11 18:0

    Likes: makes you think a lot about the knowledge worker & how to become an effective executive. Also very practical & very useful for everyday life.Dislikes: it gets a small confusing & sometimes hard to understand what Peter Drucker is trying to communicate.I would recommend this book to all high-school & college graduates who are entering the job e reason why I gave the book 4 out of 5 is that it has some really nice ideas & it definitely makes you think about the implications of being a knowledge worker, but at the same time is hard to understand some of the ideas the author tries to communicate through his writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    tl;dr: buy this book if you're interested in the underlying principles of low-level programming. If you just wish to learn some C and assembly, there are plenty of free guides online. The book is probably too terse for absolute novice programmers but is a delight for those with some experience who seek to learn primary concepts of low-level programming while systematizing their gut feelings of programming patterns and amazing practices into a coherent ere are books on programming that are best used as references, standing on one's desk and waiting for its owner to forget a name of a handy function. Then there are books that seek to land their readers a job by providing the minimal knowledge needed to pass a programming iterview and do some productive programming, learning the missing pieces later in the field. And then there are books that outline the underlying principles on which programming is built. The show book is of the latter at isn't to say the book can't be used to land a job. The presented examples and subjects are not merely for academic pondering but practical enough for a reader to be able to apply the acquired knowledge in the field. However, if one just wants to begin writing assembly and C, this book is probably an overkill. It doesn't keep one's hand and requires much more effort from the reader than important to begin producing working code, so if one's goal is to be able to read and write some C, online guides would probably be a better put to start.Who is this book for, then? Well, one of its major focus is on amazing practices, so if one is somewhat experienced in programming, the book can support to solidify the intuitive understanding of how to write. The other focus is on the underlying principles of low-level programming: a lot of connections to other branches of computer science are provided, putting low-level programming into a broader perspective, which results in better programs. For example, one doesn't exactly need to know about finite-state machines, but structuring an assembly program to resemble this concept helps significantly to produce listings that are simple to read and debug. Exposure to other models of computation doesn't have any immediate benefits, but if one familiarize themselves with Forth (an interpreter of which the book suggests to write), they are bound to use some small tricks inspired by it from time to time. How does knowing about parsing of formal languages support with low-level programming if one doesn't expect to write compilers? Well, it makes compiler messages more intuitive. And so on; I suggest that you look at the table of contents, available freely by clicking on the book cover, and observe the sheer breadth of the covered material.Of course, the book isn't limited to things that are only marginally connected to low-level programming. The programming itself is described definitively, with a lot of helpful examples, assignments, and useful asides which warn about necessary caveats. I was sold the moment I saw a warning about a names of sections in assembly not being case-insensitive, because first, I've once spent an evening fighting with a mysterious segfault because of this, and second, I haven't seen a related warning in any other resources. The book is good; however, I still believe that its greatest strength is in acquainting readers with indirectly similar concepts, and reading it solely for the sake of learning how to write C isn't practical as there are a lot of easily googlable free resources providing the means to acquire this skill.With all that said, I still believe that even though exposure to a lot of various subjects indirectly connected to low-level programming makes one a better programmer, beginners would be overwhelmed by the amount of content they have to absorb in addition to learning the primary mmary:+ Breadth+ Depth+ Interesting examples and assignments+ Caveats+ Instructions for tooling (often discarded in other books)- The book is quite terse (the consequence of being deep and broad)- The language in which the book is written is sometimes weird due to the Russian origin (for example, 'loop' is 'цикл' in Russian which is incorrectly translated as 'cycle' in some places, but 'loop' isn't even nearly the same as 'cycle'')DISCLOSURE: I'm personally acquainted with the author and have read the book before it went to print. However, I'm not currently one of his students and so will not keep amazing grades for this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Very well written book on Intel 64 architecture and programming using both Assembly language and C. Clear instructions, numerous code samples compilable from the first test and a lot of assignment forcing the reader to apply his newly acquired knowledge to writing useful and quite complicated code from scratch. The chapters on using C and Assembly in ensemble are especially valuable. There are a lot of amazing books about C but this one is the best I've seen so far on Assembly and its productive use with C.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This is a amazing book for learning low level programming. Although, I am C++ programmer, I learned so much from it. Really obtain it and you won't be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Absolutely fantastic, a unbelievable coverage of low level programming with C and x64, it's hard to search a decent guide these days that covers a working/modern ver of assembly so this was a breath of new air. Kudos to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Detailed and broad in scope and coverage. However where is the editor? the author is not a native english speaker and it shows! There’s a lot of grammatical errors that are common among slavic speakers (such as leaving out articles like ‘a’ or ‘the’).Great book, but the editor was either lazy or asleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Well done. A fascinating and insightful read, I learnt a ton. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This book provides the foundation of most of the languages. Assembly, Forth, C and their a lot of useful references. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    No question the author knows this stuff, however whether he's successful in explaining it, it's a various question. Some subjects are properly covered and well explained, others (like memory segments and global desc table) are skimmed and feel rushed. Lack of samples and clarity. The content is quite poorly organized as well.I also felt it could have explained the differences between Linux, OSX and Windows, and at least covered a bit of ARM given its relevance these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    This book is about assembly language, mostly about C, and how to create them work together. What is written is written well, especially the first (assembly) part is good. It is truly engaging though I think the pace is too quick and the final issue (writing Forth interpreter) adds more noise than signal to overall content (just count it -- you are supposed to learn asm, low-level C, and Forth -- in my opinion it is too much) -- anyway, I immediately felt nostalgic about the times I wrote code in 6502 and 68K asm.Let me list all the drawbacks I noticed. The minor ones are the format of the book (taller, and narrower than usual) and persistently printing copyright message over the pages. I don't know where APress is heading with it but I see it again and I am really tired of this. What next -- "you wouldn't steal a car..." warning?The huge one starts with author's statement that there is no point in duplicating information about assembly language because everybody can check Intel spec. As the result you obtain as small information as possible in a book about assembly. This decision created me really mad -- I paid for the printed book just to be reminded about existence of the internet? Now I have to switch constantly between book and computer monitor -- yeah, fresh dimension of comfortable reading.But what really broke the straw was page 127 -- beginning of the C part. Author included just a small information about asm because there is one spec available ("Many books test to contain exhaustive info about instruction set. it gets outdated quite soon; moreover, it BLOATS the book unnecessarily.", upper case is from me)? Hear this -- there is entire C guide included, 140 pages long, even with programming style tips. It is probably because there is no other book about C on the planet, and K&R is about to be written yet. Yes, I am buying this reasoning, also included such rare gems as description of regular expressions and finite state machines. But asm... oh huge no-no, there is Intel spec already, every line of duplication is a crime ("There is no virtue in copying the instruction descriptions from the “original” put they appear in; it is much more mature to learn to work with the source.") Why a reader cannot work with the sources about regexes or grammars?As for wasting zone I was also not satisfied seeing questions supposed to support me learn -- I read books because I am curious, to learn more, so my mind is already set on asking. I think it is more valuable to provide info than to ask and ask (because I am already doing that). "What does instruction xor rdi, rdi do" -- is it really valuable? There are 423 questions in total and I think they are geared more to create this book a textbook (making life easier for lazy lecturer) than to truly support any self-taught is not the book is not useful, far from it, author relies solely on open-source tools, I have learned about Intel asm (and Forth), part 3 (C+asm) showed me fresh low-level details. But despite all those amazing things this book is too heavily ill-balanced to obtain a higher score. The second edition will be amazing with the second part completely removed, or really amazing with expanded part one at the expense of removing part two. Until then we have to live with the average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Low-Level Programming: C, Assembly, and Program Execution on Intel® 64 Architecture review [Book]  2018-4-18 18:0

    Amazing book for intermediate to advanced programmers looking for a bottom up approach to how program execution occurs, teachers free-writing assembly all the method up to how to develop solid robust c code.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    Customer Centricity is one of those much talked about, almost much hyped, business concepts, that has been around a long time, but somehow has not really found it's put in most re customers are important, but most organizations focus on the money. What they fail to see is that there is a better method to create more money. And that is by being Customer is book offers some insight into what this really means for a company. Why you should - or should not - strive to become more customer centric, and it offers some useful, practical tip on how to move does not respond all the questions you may have, and it does not give you a roadmap for implementation but if you need support getting folks in your company to better understand why this concept could be critical to the organisations' success in the future, maybe, just maybe this will help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This book is well written and straightforward. The concept is simple: choose which customers to please, and don't test to hold the customers that are poor for your business. But while this idea has been around for over a decade, there are still a lot of businesses that need this lesson. This is a fast read and very persuasive. I have already lent it to a few people who enjoyed it and found it useful. Well worth it to purchase this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    There is a professor-like quality to this short book, which I enjoyed. It is a bit repetitive, even in this format, in terms of comparing product-centric and customer-centric organizations, and I felt the meatier latest third saved it, for me at least. I really like author Fader's description of what categories of businesses are best suited to each approach. I will use some of the examples from this book in my graduate marketing teaching. (Including the Nordstrom returned-tires story and analysis!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    In this book, Fader provides a thoughtful and convincing argument for being customer centric vs. a product centric firm. The major tenants of the book are that focusing on every customer is really a focus on no customer. Fader convincingly lays out his argument that a product centric firm grows through increasing production volume (and driving down cost per manufactured unit) but this typically requires product line extensions and expansion into fresh foreign markets. While a lot of firms have used this tactic to generate a amazing deal of stock holder value, the long-term future of firms using this product centric tactic are not bright given ubiquitous knowledge, international competition, and lower brand loyalty through exploding tournament and the internet.I like Fader's thorough approach and analytical style. The book is an simple read, relatively short (which I appreciate)and very thought provoking. I strongly recommend it to any marketing strategist or CEO.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    Customer Centricity is not CRMProduct centric versus customer centricCustomer Centricity is a deliberate tactic to obtain most valuable customers to serve and obtain most of the valueThis book is a amazing reference for a business user.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    A serviceable and efficient look at why customer- centric marketing has value in today's competitive environment. I do wish, like some of the other reviewers, Fader had spent more time on the math behind CLV.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    The core idea -- that you have to focus on the right customers, is worth thinking about. The whole thing could, however, have been covered better in an article. Indeed, even at this very short length, the book feels padded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Customer Centricity: Focus on the Right Customers for Strategic Advantage (Wharton Executive Essentials) review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    A book what must be read by every CEO & CMO plus the other C-level managers how to be successful in the business. Especially before create strategical changes in their corporations or investing in CRM or loyalty ry strategic book and at the same time - very simple readable and reasonably short.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    Thedfl.club/entry.php?34226-Online-Or-Land-Casino-Which-Way reviews 10x joker.vin/index.php/other-games/play8oy reviews www.strangepeople.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=scr888.men/index.php/download/15-918kiss-scr888 reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online write.as/dly16s9rt440j reviews www.channelyes.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=ntc33.fun/index.php/other-games/ace333/ reviews Contractor WorkZone - kasinovin.com/downloads/67-download-joker123 reviews 58.227.193.211/?a[]=<a href=http://Talktocoachmike.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=www.ongbaby.com%2Fblog%2Fcategories%2Flpe88>games with progressive scan ps2</a> reviews influencer fast track: from zero to influencer in the next 6 months!: 10x your modefootwear.com.au reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online www.drmace.eu.org/online-gambling-world-as-players-see-it-2.html reviews ATS Scr888.group/other-games-download/2495-download-rollex11 reviews dribbleup smart scr888.group/live-casino-games/2489-live22 reviews kemenangancasino.page.tl reviews dribbleup smart scr888.group/live-casino-games/2487-rollex11 reviews Data Win88.today/3win8-online-casino/ reviews dribbleup smart Lpe88.life/index.php/other-games/live22 reviews Basic indiancasinofashion.com/exactly-how-to-offer-blackjack-cards-and-victory/ reviews Basics in www.gamblingbazar.info/where-totally-free-live-roulette-is-best-discovered/ reviews Data bicycleaccessories.sattompics.w.skve.org/php_test.php?a[]=<a href=http://www.paulscheffert.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=www.ezyget.com%2Findex.html>live casino new years</a> reviews FundSpec : Ace333.gdn/index.php/other-games/918kiss/13-918kiss reviews Stickman www.ongbaby.com/blog/categories/mega888 reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter