Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay. Reviews & Opinions


Submit Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay. review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I gave up on Cornwell's recent effort at less than halfway through. At my age, there is no point in spending time reading a book that has absolutely nothing to offer. Like a lot of others, I suppose, I was first drawn to the Scarpetta series because of the fascinating mysteries that were being solved by forensics. And I do have fun reading books that are published in a series. Most books that are written as a series are interesting because of hero development: the Three Pines series by Louise Penny is a amazing example. When I pick up a fresh Louise Penny book, I feel like I am greeting old friends.When I began reading Flesh and Blood, I could only think of how very elitist, arrogant and egotistical Scarpetta has become.And how Lucy and Benton have both grown so very elusive and taciturn. And I grew so weary of the petty feud between Marino and Machado that I finally just gave up. As authors become more established, their editors must back off. The first one-third of this book is so repetitive, with Scarpetta commenting (to herself or the reader) that Marino is not aware of what is going on. Over and over. I cannot believe a competent editor would pass on it. And Marino's bullish incompetence stretches credulity. Why would anyone employ such an idiot? Yet she praises his investigative skill while she portrays him as a rnwell often uses a show tense narrative device as means to make tension and immediacy. In this book, it only creates boredom and confusion. I surely will not buy another Scarpetta/Cornwell novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Less and less enchanted with the Kay Scarpetta novels, I nonetheless bought this based on the rave reviews I read here. I did finish this book in record time, because I just turned pages and pages at a time through mind-numbing descriptions of bullets and shooting recreations. I absolutely will not be tricked into buying another--very tired of Lucy the Wonder Girl, but mostly of the globe of Dr. Scarpetta who is so necessary that poor guys seeks her out as a target and go to unbelievably extraordinary means to rub her out. Where have all the interesting autopsies gone? Too much techno-showoff here, with murders tenuously tied together, and not enough hero interactions....Where are the Scarpettas of yesteryear? They were fantastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Are you so broke that you have to split the story into two books? I invested time wading through this, only to find...no finish...so I have to buy the next book? Forget about it, you just lost a life time fan. Cliffhangers only work for tv series.....

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay. or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay. video reviews and related movies:

    See Patricia Cornwell Talks "Flesh and Blood" on youtube.

     related image

    See Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel, Book 22 Free Audiobook on youtube.

     related image

    See Flesh and Blood by Patricia Cornwell on youtube.

     related image

    See FLESH AND BLOOD on youtube.

     related image

    See The Scarpetta Factor, Patricia Cornwell - 9780399156397 on youtube.

     related image

    See Free Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta) on youtube.

     related image

    See Flesh And Blood research on youtube.

     related image

    See Patricia Cornwell - 10 Best Books on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Very disappointing--Cornwell can and has written much better books. There is method too much "chatter" about personalities, Marino, Lucy, Benton, Scarpetto herself, etc. This is all filler and unrelated to the story. Also, why can't she think up a NEW story instead of having to hark back and reuse a very ancient character--it just doesn't sell, it's not enticing as a story. Most annoying is the ending: The "inclusive" bang with which it concludes is annoying. Who got shot? The story doesn't end, doesn't conclude. The reader is left hanging--I read a novel for interest, for relaxation, and wish to have an ending. This "teaser" to obtain me to buy the next book just doesn't work for me. That Iris Johansen is doing this with her Eve books means that I will not buy another one until I am certain that each book "concludes". Now, I'll look in a bookstore copy--if I feel sufficiently motivated, which I may not--to look at the next Cornwell Scarpetta book to see if I can tell just where it picks up and if it will actually conclude when I plowed through it to the end. In case you can't tell, this once-fan of this series was totally turned off by this recent book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    This used to be one of my absolute favorite author but the latest couple of books have just been painful to read. It feels like the author is running out of ideas and has a contract to meet and so is just delivering these cold, disconnected books. This book is really, really light on hero development and plot. There is zero reason to care. I wont be behind the next volume as I thought the ending was an extremely cheap method to test and obtain one squeeze out of an old tired lemon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I have been waiting for Cornwell to write something about Scarpetta that isn't solely based on someone trying to obtain back at her or her family. The early books were good, filled with intrigue, and Scarpetta and Marino were intrepid, but with Lucy being "extremely" wealthy and Benton having all this cash floating around, the series has lost it's flavor for a while. I noticed this with the latest couple of books; I tried to obtain into this, but it was a token reading....I'm not that impressed....Cornwell simply as not as amazing a writer as Connelly or Burke, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Easily the worst book yet in this decayed wreck of a once solid series. It's hard to escape the impression that Cornwell just doesn't care any e loathsome entitlement and self-pity of Scarpetta's hero have never been more apparent. The book begins with her plans for a vacation with Benton, her husband, and bemoaning that they hardly obtain to spend time together. Never mind that this is the effect of their professional choices. That these choices are freely created doesn't seem to register with her. Nor does it occur to her that her subordinates could act as more than glorified assistants to her genius, allowing her to take a day off (most of these subordinates will, over the course of the book, be revealed as venal or incompetent or even venally incompetent -- maybe Scarpetta should spend some time examining her recruitment and talent evaluation processes?).Scarpetta is called to a crime stage by Marino and the tedious dance of their relationship, explored to death over the past few books, is renewed. She can't stand him, but is unable to contemplate a life without him. Her contempt for him is wearying. I actually think most of the first half of the book is just the two of them conversing in the vehicle or at the crime scene. I am now convinced that the Marino/Scarpetta/Benton triangle is more about Cornwell exploring her own problems than anything else. This clearly resonates deeply with her -- there is no method that any reader can be as fascinated by the trio and their murky aggressions and complusions as she is. She has an endless appetite for scenes where Marino and Scarpetta talk around their bizarre connection, scenes where Marino pulsates with rage while Benton flexes his cold, WASPy, cryptically phrased disdain. What is wrong with these three? I can't even start to imagine a legitimate explanation for their profound dysfunction. As Benton grows increasingly bloodless and Scarpetta increasingly icy, Marino has become the locus of the trio's emotions -- and, in the globe of this series, emotions are never anything but negative. Rage, jealousy, crude joy, pride -- Marino is a vessel for all of these so Benton and Scarpetta can live in a location where risotto and chilled white wine is a substitute for authentic emotion. Lucy also continues devolving into an emotion-free state -- a more violent ver of Scarpetta's super-achieving ice princess persona, but with more expensive cars.I was shocked to see the beginnings of an intriguing plot emerge in the first half of the book and thought we may have the rare treat of a poor guy who wasn't a super-genius with no motivation beyond hurting Scarpetta (the most popular and obsessed over medical examiner in the history of medicine or examining). Unfortunately, my hopes were dashed more quickly than Kay and Benton's vacation plans. Cornwell has never been particularly insightful about why people choose to damage others, but the muddled motivations in this book were a low point even for her. She loves Scarpetta and her associates, therefore poor people must hate them and wish to damage them. It truly goes no deeper than that for ter the train wreck of the previous book, I didn't think it was possible for things to obtain worse. Oh, I was wrong. Scarpetta spends less time than ever actually doing her job. Her contempt for everyone except for Benton and Lucy grows thicker with every book and it's unclear what is driving it since there is no real insight into her as a hero on display in these pages. It's important, I think, for Cornwell to build these people up. Unfortunately, she doesn't know how to do that without tearing down the characters that surround them, sometimes for reasons that are utterly trivial or even unclear. Example: she judges her subordinates for learning more about the crimes they are investigating, thinking this will cloud their findings. But she is unable to apply that to herself, when she spends the day interviewing suspects or discussing theories of the case with Marino. Foregrounding the relationship between Marino, Scarpetta, and Benton was the worst thing to ever happen to this series. At this rate, the next book will consist of someone getting shot, Benton and Marino having a fight, and then 300 pages of Kay and Marino driving to the stage while Kay frets about why Benton isn't answering his cell is series was much more fun when Scarpetta was human.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    I have read and enjoyed all of Patricia Cornwell`s books and even looked forward to fresh books. Ugh I search this hard to obtain through and boring. So disappointed I bought it on the pre-sale. Don`t waste your time or money. This is the first review I have ever given for a book but I felt strongly about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    This may be the latest Cornwell book I buy. I have been a fan for years and read all the Scarpetta novels, but the main hero has become so arrogant and self-absorbed that I barely have fun reading the series anymore. The fact that there is so small trust between the characters who are partners, family, colleagues, friends, etc. just does not ring true. However, the worst part was the ending of this book. I was disgusted by the blatant "buy my next book" cliff hanger. Faithful readers deserve better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 22) review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:0

    Admittedly my interest in this series has diminished over the years. Earlier works were included interesting hero development that complimented storylines that were plausible while still offering suspense that readers crave from murder mystery novels. The more latest books are overly focused on characters that are now larger than life while the storyline itself is outrageous and off the wall making it completely wonderful and bordering ridiculous. Gone are the days where a fresh Scarpetta book held my interest to the point that I could finish a book in just a day or 2. I struggled to stay engaged with this book and haven't picked it up since stopping a few chapters in. So to be fair I cannot judge the book in its entirety. It may pick up and improve, but the author has created the main characters down right obnoxious that I doubt I'll bother finding out. Perhaps more time could be devoted to developing a solid storyline instead of forcing the high and mighty Scarpetta down the reader's throat. I went from admiring the cast of characters to resenting them. Overall I think the series has had a amazing run, but enough is enough. I'm glad I didn't spend more than $2 on this as it will be deleted from my Kindle unread.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I am sad to say that while I have been a fan of Patricia Cornwell's for years, this is the latest time I will buy one of her books. This has been building up for awhile (probably starting 3-4 books ago). I am not sure what's happened, but it seems like she's gotten stuck on themes and characters in a method that is suffocating her writing. Her main characters are becoming one-dimensional and even unlikable, and her repeated reliance on the 'Carrie Grethen' subplot has become incredibly tedious. She seems as trapped and bewitched by the imaginary Carrie as her characters supposedly are. And the results are just as unhealthy. Her apparent need for this character, and for her increasingly extreme portrayal of Lucy, has actually become a small overall experience with this book was one of constantly feeling like a great, addictive story was somewhere just out of reach, interspersed wtih being either bored by the repetition or jarred out of the narrative by what I felt were the author's private obsessions rather than points of hero development.I kept hoping she could break through and obtain to the story, but everything just bogged down and in the end, reading this was very much like experiencing the crushingly oppressive heat that she endlessly described throughout the e was a amazing writer who provided me with a lot of satisfied hours of reading in the past, and I will really miss her books. But I'm not willing to pay the premium price expected for 'book by a well-known author' for the kind of writing I experienced in 'Chaos'. It honestly saddens me to give this one star, but I just can't give it more than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    "Chaos", by Patricia Cornwell, is the 24th book in the Kay Scarpetta series. I believe it's time for Scarpetta to retire. This series has run its' course. "Chaos" was a disappointment. The plot was weak and moved slowly. There were a few twists, but nothing shocking. There was nothing exciting event to hold me interested in the story. A lot of books in this series contained a lot of interesting forensic scenes. "Chaos" doesn't include any. There were no scenes where Kay investigates a murder. That's what created the Scarpetta books so interesting. This one is a cy, Kay's niece is back. But her role is small. Police Investigator, Pete is back. He's as mean and annoying as ever. It's getting old and predictable Dorothy, Kay's sister and Lucy's mother pays a visit and has a significant role in "Chaos". Carrie Gretchen, a major hero from previous books is back and is as cruel as ever. Colonel Briggs briefly makes a return."Chaos" opens with the discovery of the body of a young woman, in a park, at Harvard University. Cause of death is mystery. A mysterious phone call is created to 911, about "an incident in the park". Marino receives a strange call. Caller says he is from Interpol and mentions the "incident in the park". Meanwhile, Kay is receiving strange emails with voice recordings. The sender identifies himself as "Tailend Charlie". He knows a wealth of personal info about Kay and her family. Lucy tires to search out who he is. Also, someone observes Kay and Bryce, her Chief of Staff, having an argument, and makes a 911 call.We learn what Dorothy and Kay were like as kids. We learn of Kay's twisted relationship with Dorothy. Kay nicknamed Dorothy, "Sister Twisted". Pete Marino and Dorothy hook up together. Kay and Lucy are versus their relationship. We lean the identity of the girl in the park. A major hero about the 92% mark, a strong hero makes a return visit. There is one stage that includes a surprise, as to the identity of Desi, Lucy;s adopted "Chaos" builds to a close, Cornwell answers a lot of questions and ties everything together for the reader. Nothing exciting is is not one of Patricia Cornwell's best Scarpetta books. Fans of the series will be disappointed. I cannot recommend "Chaos" to you today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Worst Patricia Cornwell book yet. Pages and pages of the same dialogue and storyline repeated over and over. If I had to hear about sweat soaked clothes and wet slimy shoes one more time I'd have screamed. Scarpetta is shown in the worst ways in this book - self-absorbed, know-it-all, and wavers from self-doubt to over-confidence. This book is all over the put and just drags on and on. We are treated to pages and pages of useless telling of setting up a perimeter and tent over the crime scene. We are treated to the same things repeated over and over, chapter to chapter. I'm 72% into the book and the only reason I'm that far and will [email protected]#$%! is because I don't have the option to return it for refund because I waited too long to begin reading it. The book is BORING and just keeps rehashing itself time and again. Boring, unimaginative, weak plot, another woe is me I'm being pursued angle. Time for you to stop writing Patricia Cornwell, you've lost your touch. I will never purchase another of your books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I CAN'T EVEN...This is so horrible. I have picked it back up 3 times, trying to convince myself to [email protected]#$%!, and not been able to.I think Scarpetta has developed dementia. We spent the entire book drowning in her constant internal monologue, full of back story, doubts, intolerance, anger, and paranoia. For example - she gets a voice mail from the wife of a friend. Instead of listening to it, she spends 3 pages talking to herself about the person, how she knows the person, debating what the person might have wanted to tell her, and picturing the person actually making the phone call. For pete's sake, just listen to the damn thing already. There are interminable rants about how evil her sister is and Marino's love life, and page after page after page explaining things that happened in previous takes almost 200 pages to even obtain around to a body, most of which is pent wondering if it's the same person Scarpetta saw earlier riding a bike. Well Christ on a cracker, go look at the damn body and search out. Instead, we relive - over and over and over - Scarpetta's brief contact with the possible victim, why it could be her, why it might not be her, how we don't know yet...interspersed with the usual bragging about Benton's well-heeled family, and whether he's driving the Audi or the Porsche. Who the flock cares. And several lectures about how the ME's office works - not just one, and not just a easy explanation; but mad rino - ah Marino I used to adore you! Now you're just mean. Benton is stuck up. Lucy is desperately needy. Dorothy is stuffed into the plot for reasons that never really become clear to me. There are a few other obnoxious characters, which seem to have been added just to give Scarpetta someone fresh to complain about.Go home, Scarpetta; you may not be drunk but I feel like I'm wading through the mind of someone who's had a stroke.EDIT: I can't finish it. I just don't care what happens. This is my latest Scarpetta novel. I'm done wasting my money. Anyone wish to buy a gently used copy? Cheap?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I rated this book a 2 because for me at least it is not the amazing follow-up to the latest book it could have been and that when I finished it I felt like I had wasted my time in reading it. Cornwell's books are generally captivating and advance the bigger story much further than this one did. I kept waiting for this book to begin but all it seemed to have was a huge beginning, a short ending and nothing much in e book is mostly about one day and goes into a lot of detail on setting up tents to house the crime stage that began the book. Once you wade through that you search you have read 70% of the book and it feels like it is still just starting. The latest bit of the book is about Carrie Greiten and what she is currently doing to threaten the life's of Kay Scarpetta and those dear to her. The one amazing stage in the book is Kay disabling Carrie's recent weapon with a fishing pole and monofilament line. Unfortunately we don't obtain to read about the capture of Carrie as Kay is knocked unconscious. We only hear about bits and pieces of it from Kay's reflections on what she was told. Carrie is not killed so I suppose we will hear about more of her insane machinations in future books, although it is long past time for Carrie to create a permanent departure from the story. Cornwell would do well to return to some of her earlier books and test to write another one with the same vim and vigor those contained. Those were enjoyable and riveting. This book,however, is a sad example of her talent as a storyteller.I had looked forward to this book since reading the latest one but it disappointed me and left me wondering if it wasn't time to bid Scarpetta adieu.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    It has been awhile since I've read a Scarpetta thriller and I was so disappointed with Chaos. There was a large amount of repetition - constantly going on about her sweaty shoes and what not. The ending was really rushed, like an after thought, after three quarters of the book spent on the one case. In fact unlike the other books I remember the book basically took put over the course of 32 hours!Not the usual unput-downable thriller I'd expect from Patricia Cornwell!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    Too much time is given to building up to the more interesting part of the story - which happens in the latest few chapters. It was tiresome reading about the not good heat, Kay's uncomfortable shoes without her hose on, Benson's lack of communication, everyone's distrust of Kay's cautions, etc., etc., etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    It has been so long since I read this book that I apologize for not remembering details, but that may be one reason that it has a 4 and not a 5. The latest several books have had a lot of psychobabble re: Scarpetta and all of her relationships and this gets in the method of the plot and story line. The books are well written and knowledgeable, but may be 50-100 pages too long trying to explain Scarpetta. It is getting to the point where I wonder why she still has a job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I used to love Patricia Cornwell's books and couldn't wait for the next one to be released. What happened? I'm half method through the book and there doesn't seem to be much of a story. I can sum up the action so far: Kay's sister is coming to visit. Kay had an interrupted dinner with her husband and a girl has been murdered. Lots and lots of details, but not much action. I'm hoping the latest half will be better - if I can stay awake long enough to [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chaos: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 24) review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    This would be zero stars but that's not an option. I preordered this book and want I'd of waited to read the reviews. She was always one of my favorite authors but not anymore- done donating my cash to her and her publishers. Slow throughout the entire book so far and I'm 87% the method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I've read every Scarpetta book, some more than once, but this is the latest one. Depraved Heart may be the worst book I've ever read. Plodding doesn't start to describe it. I created up my mind that I would [email protected]#$%! and I did, but it was a chore. I don't understand Cornwell's intent with this series, but the plots strain credulity and Kay Scarpetta has become insufferably smug and elitist. Half of this. book was about Lucy's estate and vehicles and original art work and the perfume Benton orders for Kay from Italy, etc. And I was VERY unhappy that the monumental cliffhanger ending of the previous book was not even mentioned!!! Goodbye, Kay, it was nice while it lasted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I used to eagerly anticipate the next in Kay Scarpetta series. However, the past couple of books I have begun to wonder if maybe it is time for Kay to retire. I found myself dragging myself through Depraved Heart and it took me much longer to read than usual due to my lack of interest. The data fiction aspect, the "villian" that never seems to die all created it more tiresome than not. It doesn't support that Lucy becomes more unlikeable and unpleasant in each book. The "family" is super secretive and unbelievable. Even Kay has lost her luster. If you are fresh to the Scarpetta series I would definitely not recommend it at all. It's definitely a book that you need to know the background of the characters for. If you are a Scarpetta fan, be forewarned that it is not the Scarpetta that you are used to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I'll say it right out...Patricia Cornwell needs to find/create some fresh material. She has really painted herself into a corner with the Scarpetta series. She has removed all true tension by giving her main characters, Kay and Lucy, everything they want, so there is nothing left but to puff them up to over-the-top proportions and then infuse them with paranoia and arrogance and surround them with people who wish to take everything away. This isn't a murder mystery. It's psychological warfare, six layers deep, and it's boring as hell. Kay has become all about gourmet cooking, fancy vacations, designer clothes, expensive haircuts and life with her tedious stick of a husband, Benton. Lucy and Carrie have become both sides of the same James Bond super-villian, complete with gadgets, cars, helicopters and planes, endless government conspiracies, and limitless money. Jeez, enough! What happened to random murders, fresh psychos, and autopsies? Cornwell has created the large mistake of changing her main characters until they are no longer sympathetic, believable, or interesting. And I agree with the others; ENOUGH ABOUT CARRIE! Back to basics, Patricia!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I used to love the Scarpetta books for the science, the unexpected story arc, the relationships. I think Cornwell is merely regurgitating the same old, same old now. Enough with Carrie already. Enough with how corrupt FBI is. The only interesting idea, data fiction, was just a throw away. Want the author would obtain her android game back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    ive reached page 123 and only for I have absolutely nothing else to read I wouldn't bother. I'm sick to death of the depressing person Kay has turned into, the paranoia and once again a blast from the past intent on destroying her and her family. It's the same in every book. I really miss the early books and want she would write one in which she's investigating just a murder. Not someone being killed and it ends up all being a plot versus the amazing Kay. She's so depressing and stuck up in latest books would anyone mind if she was killed off? Lucy gets more unbearable with every book, Marino is just used as the idiot slob and Benton is like an android. I don't wish to read about Carrie, I didn't like when she was first introduced and I have no interest in reading about her again. The whole book just comes off as grey, there's nothing likeable about any of the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I have read all of the series and they just hold getting more self-absorbed and moronic. This is not a standalone book. It must be read with the one before-- and probably the one after-- to be meaningful. The plot and characters are increasingly implausible. The attempts to inject this thriller with literary devices, mystery, and "meaning" are laughable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I have been reading Scapretta since the first book. For years, I waited until the next book was released, but that is not longer the case. The books are about the family more than and outside "bad guy", solving crimes. The books seem more melodrama than mystery/thriller. Obtain back to solving crimes and chasing poor guys, leave the family drama and Carrie behind. We fell in love with Scarpetta's fast brain not with her familial entanglements.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    Regurgitation of her latest book, too wordy and not enough fresh plot, same old crap!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    I have been a fan of Patricia Cornwell for years. This, unfortunately, puts an end to that. I am so tired of hearing about Carrie Grethen and the author bashing the FBI. I found this book tiring, uninspiring and a chore to read. Perhaps she can't come up with another plot, but it's time to place this one to rest. I miss her original stories full of forensics and mystery. Goodbye Kay Scarpetta. I'll miss you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Depraved Heart: A Scarpetta Novel (Kay Scarpetta Book 23) review [Book]  2018-6-17 18:0

    We obtain it, Scarpetta's niece is '007 rich' in gadgets and physical talents but did you have to spend a quarter of the book describing Lucy's over the top wealth? Depraved Heart opens with a promising location, murder victim, and psycho on the loose but quickly fizzles when Scarpetta opts to rush off & "save" her 007-esque niece from an FBI home invasion and then never returns to perform or witness the autopsy. As a loyal reader of the Scarpetta series I have always looked forward to what the victim will 'whisper' to Kay Scarpetta during an autopsy and savor the twists and turns the story will take until Kay, Marino, and Benton, can search and bring a crazed assassin to justice. Depraved Heart wants us to believe that a hero from Lucy's past is alive and killing again. The book leads the reader right up to the threshold of where one might expect the depraved assassin to become cornered and possibly caught only to end disappointingly with no assassin being apprehended (or even seen) and Kay and the gang sitting down to have fun yet another pasta concoction that Kay whips up to create everyone feel comfortable and cozy. Patricia Cornwell has Scarpetta spending method too much time wondering about what the FBI is thinking and why they are raiding Lucy's fortress when she should be back at the morgue piecing together clues or poking around in the dark corners at the stage of the crime with Marino. Bottom line, this book starts to derail midway and just when you think it might obtain good, it jumps the track for amazing and takes an early dirt nap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Flesh and Blood Show review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Boobs, Butts and Blood - All Suffering Pier Pressure! Pete Walker brings us a proto-slasher that's now as cornball as can be. Is it worthy of respect in the pantheon of horror? Yes, maybe. This is a coastal city that they forgot to close down. A group of actors and actresses have mysteriously been lured to an end of pier theatre to star in a play. Beautiful soon they begin being bumped off one by one. So it be! There's plenty of nudity, actors siting around musing on the "biz" and its perils, while the matter of fact attitude to the disappearances is almost as ludicrous as someone opening the door in the middle of the night stark naked... It's amazing fun in truth, especially for British movie fans like me to see the likes of Robin Askwith and Jenny Hanley in this. The run down theatre setting is a amazing one, while the play they are rehearsing makes no sense and is quite surreal! 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I love this series and this book is definitely one to read. We finally obtain to see Joshua Tregre search his mate. This is a really amazing read. I could not place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    This is one of the best books she has written in a while. I have read all of her books and she is an automatic purchase for me and this book did not disappoint. I stayed up until i finished the book. Every time i tried to place it down it called me back and i had to finish. Loved it, will definitely go in my re read category.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I very much have fun the leopard shifter series. Sometimes the theme is a bit dark but the storyline keeps my attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I'm a large fan of Christine Frehan's and have been for over 15 years now. As much as I love her books, I'm starting to search it hard to obtain past all the sex in them. Three quarters of this book was nothing but sex. When they weren't having sex or thinking about having sex, the book was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I love the theme of female kinship and camaraderie. Thank you Ms Feehan for celebrating female sexuality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    LEOPARD’S BLOOD is the tenth installment in Christine Feehan’s contemporary, adult LEOPARD erotic, paranormal romance series focusing on the supernatural globe of the Leopard shifter. This is businessman Joshua Tregre and artist/carpenter Sonia Lopez’s story line. LEOPARD’S BLOOD can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any necessary info from the previous story lines is revealed where important although LEOPARD’S BLOOD continues to follow the author’s recent series arc focusing on the Russian and Italian ld from dual third person points of view (Joshua and Sonia) LEOPARD’S BLOOD follows the building relationship between leopard shifters Joshue Tregre, and Sonia Lopez. Following the murder of her father and the death of her mother Sonia found herself indebted to the Russian mob. Escaping to the swamplands of Louisiana, our heroine works as a home rebuilder until the fated day her internal beast goes maddeningly into heat. Enter Joshua Tregre, Sonia’s neighbor and her would be friend who claims our heroine as his own. What ensues is the insta-lust/love between two people more animal than human, and the potential fall-out when Sonia’s past comes seeking all Leopard males Joshua Tregre is an over –possessive, over-protective alpha who claims his friend before anyone else. His need to protect is controlling but our heroine needs to be protected from a past seeking revenge. Sonia is willing to put herself in danger to protect the people she loves but she is not as capable of defending herself versus men and leopards twice her size. The back and forth, yin and yang of their relationship is somewhat volatile but unlike a lot of of the author’s previous story line heroes Joshua Tregre is a small tamer, and not willing to break the will of his leopard mate. The $ex scenes are erotic and intense; Joshua needs to tag his friend to warn others of their mating. There are some scenes of light spanking (discipline) and toy play.We are reintroduced to Alonzo Massi’s (Leopard’s Fury #9) brothers and cousins -Gorya, Timur and Mitya; Joshua’s right hand man Evan; Sonia’s mate Molly Sheffield, and police detective Bastien Foret; and Russian mobsters Nikita and Sasha Bogomolov. There are a lot of mentions of, but no appearances by previous story line leopards including Jake Bannaconni, Eli Perez, Elijah Lospostos, Alonzo Massi, and Drake e globe building continues to look at the globe of the leopard shifter with mentions of Borneo, and the abusive earlier lives of a lot of of the leopard males; there are some threats of rape, murder ands sexual assault but the author does not go into livid detail as in previous series and stories. LEOPARD’ S BLOOD, although bloody and violent does not go into graphic detail.LEOPARD’S BLOOD is a story of fated mates; of a shifter breed capable of violence and murderous rage but a shifter that is also capable of romance and love. The premise is exciting and action packed; the characters are colourful and lively; the romance is provocative and seductive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    First and foremost, I'm a large fan of Christine Feehan's. I'll admit upfront that I've read every single thing she's released, including all her non-series books, novellas and anthologies. I'm straight up an avid fan. And while the majority of her audience will likely lean towards her "Dark Series", the Leopards have had me for some time (I mean.....Jake Bannaconni, ladies?!?!). The Leopard Series are especially HOT, HOT reads, so if you're not into to that, you should probably pick up a various book. This particular book jumps into that element of the Leopard mentality immediately in the opening pages, and just revs it up from there. I've been anxiously awaiting Joshua's book, and I was not disappointed. Sonia is on the run from something, and Joshua will of course stop at nothing to search out what it is and hold her safe from it. Coming along for the ride as this relationship grows from physical lust to everything else and more is a unbelievable trip. And seeing the collision of the Leopard story lines continue is enthralling - I can't wait to see who's up next to search their very heated HEA as the Leopard Series keeps evolving.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    When you least expect it you search the one, sometimes even in your own backyard. Leopard's Blood opens with Joshua rebuilding the location that he took from Rafe Cordeau. While out on a run he finds that which he truly thought was never to be his...a mate, but Sonja has no clue as to what it means to be a leopard shifter, much less a mated leopard shifter. Both Joshua and Sonja are born protectors. Watching them come together, learn to communicate, grow together and trust, is challenging at times but in the end so worth it. Sonja is a no back down heroine, who will do what she feels, is right, she is not one to sit on the sidelines and this concept gives Joshua more than one scary moment. Will they be able to search their happily ever after together or will misunderstanding a situation tear them apart?????

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Joshua Tregre has come home to Louisiana and taken over the crime location previously held by Rafe Cordeau. Sonia Lopez has been hired to remodel Joshua’s house. Unbeknownst to Joshua, Sonia is on the run for her life. Joshua’s business dealings with the Russian mob eventually place Sonia’s life in danger and all secrets are finally revealed.Leopard’s Blood is a unbelievable entry in this long running series. Bringing together two very damaged people who search their much required other halves. Sonia’s interaction with Gatita had me laughing, smiling and wanting to hug the both of them. Joshua required hugs too. Ms. Feehan does such a unbelievable job weaving her stories that it is a shock to finish the book and you have to leave that world. It just feels so , my 2 cents says if you’ve been reading this series you know it’s not for the faint hearted. The globe made is violent and sexual, if you don’t like any of that then this series is not for you. If violence and sex do not bother you then rush right out and buy this book!!!!! The storytelling is awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leopard's Blood (A Leopard Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Leopard’s Blood is a sizzling story packed with sensuality! Sonia Lopez was on the run after a failed attempt on her life and had created her method to a little Louisiana city where she lived alone. She had purchased a piece of property that backed up to a swamp and it was excellent for her Leopard counterpart to run free in. Sonia had been ignorant to the fact that she was a leopard shifter until her life was in danger. That danger had forced her leopard to shift in order to save their lives. Although Sonia had been ignorant to her shifter side, she was quickly learning each day. At the begin of Leopard’s Blood Sonia was learning firsthand what it meant for her Leopard to be in nia thought she knew what to expect with her leopard being in season and had a put prepared out in the swamp where she could go and be alone while her leopard was in her heat. She thought that she would be okay being away from the local residents and there were no other leopards in the zone so she felt free to allow her leopard, Gatita, roam in order to test and burn off the sexual tension that had been driving them both crazy. Imagine Sonia’s shock when a male leopard answered the mating calls of Gatita. Sonia tried to obtain Gatita to listen to her requests to obtain away from the other leopard but Gatita accepted that leopard as her friend and that was t only was there was a leopard shifter close by, there was in fact several leopard shifters. Joshua Tregre and his squad had just moved into the location previously ruled by mob boss Rafe Cordeau and his leopard, Shadow, knew the mating call that he heard was his real friend and boy did he answer. If you like a buildup between characters before they obtain between the sheets then be warned, there is none of that in Leopard’s Blood. The story starts out with mating between the leopards and then switches to mating between the characters because not only was Gatita in season but Sonia was as well. It was sex, sex, and more nia was not interested in a relationship so she accepted the idea that she was going to use this man for the duration of time she was burning with need and then she would walk away. Sonia had learned a hard lesson that proved to her that she could not trust anyone. Joshua knew Sonia was his friend and her leopard already accepted his leopard, there was no method that he was going to allow her go. I loved that as the story went on I found out more about Joshua’s protectiveness from the moment he met Sonia and it was really sweet. From the start, it was clear to Joshua that Sonia was hiding something and he was determined to figure out what because she was his friend and he had to protect nia’s life up until her attempted assassination was perfect. After the attempt on her life she realized that she had been naive and it led her to doubt herself and the intentions of others. Now she lived in fear that the men she was hiding from would search out that she survived and they would come for her. She had no doubt that they would slay anyone that Sonia cared about. For this reason and the fact that she trusted no one, Sonia tried to hold everyone at arm’s length, preferring to hold to matter how hard Joshua tried Sonia refused to tell him the truth about who she was hiding from and her attempt at “protecting” him actually was the catalyst that led to the discovery that she was alive. If she had been truthful with Joshua he would not have created the choices that he had that place the ones she feared on her tail. This is where the action really picked up in this story and I love it! Sonia and Joshua had to test and be one step ahead of the problem that was coming but that was not an simple matter because Joshua was not fully prepared due to his lack of information. No matter how prepared they tried to be there was no stopping the family that was bent on revenge. It would take every type of cunning Joshua and Sonia had in order to escape with their lives.Leopard’s Blood is mixture between hot sex, Sonia’s past coming back to haunt her, and Joshua’s realization that he has finally found his mate. There is a solid story between Joshua and Sonia but there is also so much sex. Leopard sex, sex toys, aggressive sex, mating sex, seriously a lot of sex. I can’t say that it took away from the story but it did not endear me to the characters either. I just think that for me there was just method too much of the non-stop sex. Once the action started though the pace picked up and the story started to obtain really interesting. There were definitely moments where I was kept in suspense and others where I was completely horrified for the shua’s hero is very sexual so a lot of his emotional expressions are physical. He is also the most alpha male hero I have ever read. I liked that his hero had feelings and grew to express those feelings beyond just the physical. Although he is a very dominant hero he also had a huge heart for Sonia and he did not demand that she listen to his every whim. Sonia had a mind of her own and she was not afraid to stand up for herself versus this alpha male character. Their relationship started out on lust but it slowly developed into a swoony love connection and that was nice. Overall, I think that Leopard’s Blood is a solid installment in the Leopard’s People series!This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no method affected my review or rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I've read every Scarpetta novel, even during the "lost years" before Cornwell got her groove back. But as I read the first 9 chapters of this one, I was thinking it was time for Kay to retire. First of all, I was flabbergasted at how disingenuously Cornwell inserted Scarpetta onto the stage in Newtown. No doubt this was Cornwell's method of dealing with the tragedy, but to me it just seemed self-absorbed and completely unnecessary to this story. I was actually offended. Then interspersed with that we obtain more feverish poor-me-what-to-do-about-Marino crap. Self-absorbed much, Kay? And again, yet another wonderful conspiracy versus Scarpetta and everyone associated with her. .This book is at its best when it goes back to basics -- Marino being a detective, Scarpetta doing forensics, Benton profiling, and Lucy doing her tech thing. That's what I loved about this series back when it was strong, and that's what continues to carry it. But so much time is wasted with all the other distractions. We don't even obtain to the body until ten chapters in.I don't need conspiracies in high locations and "everybody is versus me" angst. I understand that authors and their characters need to evolve, but I still wish a amazing mystery with a poor guy who's kind of scary and amazing guys who use their knowledge and experience to figure out how to stop him. For a amazing part of this book I was thinking it might be my last.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    This may be the latest book from this author that I buy ( although I've said this before). Her writing style has become too rambling and wordy with description. I search myself skipping sentences just to obtain to the storyline. For goodness sake, it takes chapters just to obtain to her plots (such as they are anymore). The later books are almost retrospectives with very small plot value.I have read and own every book she has written and faithfully read and look forward to a fresh book coming out. Not so much anymore.Having said that, she was my favorite author for a lot of years - not so now. I feel sad for the loss of the old Kay Scarpetta.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I am really concerned that I read a totally various book than the other reviewers who have posted. Where to start? What Dust needs is an editor and a plot. This book was absolutely everything I can’t stand about what the Kay Scarpetta series has become in one 500 page novel. Implausible timing, totally no hero development, and a storyline that takes less than 50 pages to wrap up with a neat, tidy bow. If this was a book by any other author, I would have stopped, but as a Scarpetta series fan I felt I owed it to the amazing doctor to finish. In fact, I’m so meh about the whole thing I’m not even going to provide a summary of the paper-thin plotline. There’s more meat in the book blurb than the entire me random thoughts:- Really? You’re going to have this whole murder/mystery solved in a day over 500 pages?! Really?! This whole novel reads like one run on sentence. I know that Dr. Scarpetta is an amazingly talented woman, but it’s actually tiresome for the reader to have no change of scenery.- Would it slay you to write about a satisfied character? Everyone is so lost in their own self-pity/depression spiral that it’s honestly kind of a downer to read. I don’t know if Cornwell is tired of this cast of characters or what, but she seems completely content to create their lives miserable and so, I found it incredibly distasteful that Cornwell uses a latest tragic happening and inserts Scarpetta into it. Not appropriate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    As a Newtown, CT resident, the first chapter of DUST created me so angry, I place the book down (or, in reality, turned the Kindle off) for a week or so. That any writer of fiction would be so self-absorbed and insensitive to trivialize the horror of Sandy Hook Elementary by inserting a fictional hero into such unspeakable loss is repugnant. Worse, that the author would presume to know how people felt - especially those that came from outside of Newtown to support families bury there children, sisters, brothers, and mothers - is presumptive and exceedingly a long-time Cornwell fan, I will admit that I picked Dust back up some weeks later when I was past my initial reaction and thought that "she wouldn't just throw Newtown into the book, she must have done it for a reason". Unfortunately, by the time I finished reading, the only reason I could think of for the inclusion of the murders on December 14, 2012 was that Ms. Cornwell had written a novel that was so boring and poorly written, her editors probably insisted that she go back and insert the tragedy into the plot just to sell the book.Whatever the reason, this is, sadly, the latest Patricia Cornwell novel that I will buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I loved this book. Dr. Kay Scarpetta is an evolving person as are all the characters in the series and that is what you would hope for. I read some negative reviews that seem to resent that characters grow and/or regress. They have failings, regrets and in general, are like true people! I expect this from any author. The ones who hold cranking out the same fare over & over, soon lose my interest. Patricia Cornwell delves into all the characters thinking and past behaviors very well. I search this brings them to life in my mind. Who cannot relate to regret for mistaken actions or the deep shock & sadness a tragedy evokes in us always, the author creates a mystery wrapped up in psychology, science and suspense. Well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Cornwell is spending too much time on Marino and Benton's personalities, conflicts, interagency squabbles, etc. I love the mystery of her work and the medical examiner detail but Cornwell reads more and more like a romance novel. I have read all her books and think this evolution in her writing dilutes her talent and makes reading it laborius.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Patricia Cornwell is a brilliant woman, a brilliant writer, and a brilliant spell-binder. She has an enviable breadth and depth of knowledge. This book tasted like stale champagne that had lost all of its bubbles. The characters had more tepid personalities than usual - sort of pale reflections of themselves. Scarpetta and her husband come across as even more sanctimonious than usual - quite a tiresome affectation. The story line never had any magnetism and certainly had no punch. It didn't establish any tension or nail-biting excitement of a lot of of her other books. Hope things will pep up a small for Ms. Cornwell.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    The actual plot of the crime was too convoluted and at times, difficult to follow, as references were created to a young person who had disappeared for years, but we didn't know the info or context until the end of the book. But if you are a fan of Dr. Kay Scarpetta, you really can't go wrong reading any of her novels, with its Italian ambiance, love of dogs and handguns, and excellent preparation for the postmortem examination. What I especially love is watching how the characters develop from one book to the next; we just can't wait to know what fresh technology Lucy has up her sleeve; what job Marino has now, or whose profile Benton is configuring. As for Kay, she is the quintessential woman, compassionate, keen, persevering and masterful in her balance of career and family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    but still isn't a patch on the first several (right up to about black message iirc). i am tired of people who don't talk to each other, who are paranoid (of each other!), and who manage to figure everything out regardless. however, in dust, the characters actually communicate a bit, so maybe we're getting somewhere. however, the condensed time-frames are exhausting.and as long as i'm bothering, i'm really, really tired of the constant harping on how marino is so "white trash" with his "above-ground" pool, his redneck truck, his huge belly and red face...maybe kay has a thing for him after all? on his income ($71K in that book), he should be able to afford an in-ground pool for goodness sake! yet lucy is so excellent in everything - gorgeous, smart, wonderful wealthy, knows everything about everything, and no law can touch her.**please create them normal people again!** people who have flaws that create them people, not super human. i've only got one more book left in me if it doesn't obtain any better; i don't care how a lot of gushing comments she retweets. in fact, i've given up on jonathan kellerman, tess gerritson, mo hayder, karin slaughter...cornwell's going to be the next to go, and i've been with her since postmortem was published in 1990 :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dust (Kay Scarpetta Book 21) review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Just a bunch of rambling to create the story stretch long enough to create a book why do she hold bringing up the past don't nobody wants to read about the same thing over and over again she needs to obtain to the point of what's irrelevant to the story so the reader can be in suspense and not wish to place the book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Noah Boyd, author of “The Bricklayer,” is the pseudonym of former FBI agent, Paul Lindsey, who died of leukemia in September of 2011. This novel was the first of a series featuring Steve Vail, a contrary ex-FBI agent who, after being fired for insubordination, is hired back to unravel a difficult case for his former e reader is also introduced to Assistant Director Kate Bannon, who accompanies Vail through the minefields of deceit, incompetence, jealousy, and not good judgment that seem to plague this case from the beginning. There are other FBI officials, who through their private deficiencies, seem determined to obtain it wrong and who blame Vail and Bannon for pursuing their own agenda. FBI misdirection, and the cross purposes of the other public agencies that obtain involved, threaten to derail the investigation creating more bodies to pile up and heavy amounts of cash to il is a super character who has a sixth sense that allows him to escape the a lot of traps set for him by an elusive murderer. There are booby-traps around every corner that Vail manages to foil and immensely physical acts he must perform to comply with the demands of the criminal who seems to have the FBI confused at every rangely absent from this intense drama is obscene language and the only sexual activity is the brief mention of a dress being unbuttoned. That was a welcome relief to me, a well-known prude (not!), who has been somewhat distressed by all the blue activity in latest crime novels.I strongly recommend this book for a amazing read and eye-opening look at a talented writer’s skill. The passing of Noah Boyd (Lindsey) has made a large void in the ranks of highly proficient crime huyler T WallaceAuthor of TIN LIZARD TALES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Steve Vail is an interesting hero that I liked immediately. The method his mind worked and the method he figured out what the poor guys were doing was awesome to me. The almost romance was amazing too but I have to wait for the next book to search out what happens to them. All in all I enjoyed the book a lot. Towards the end I thought it should have ended, but as it kept going that story about the U.S. Attorney developed and came to a satisfying conclusion. I have already started the second and latest book by this author. I was sad to hear he has passed away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Amazing guy Steve Vail was fired from the FBI after 3 years as a highly successful investigator due to insubordination. He has settled into a easy life as a bricklayer. Then the FBI recruits him back to support with a very concerning and puzzling case. The poor guys go to elaborate lengths to set devilish traps which take the lives of 2 FBI agents - who will outsmart who? Bet you can is is a rather lighthearted crime story, although not specifically humorous. A fun read for a rainy afternoon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Read this author's 2 books when they first were published. I worked at a library and recommended them to everyone I knew that liked this genre. I had forgotten about them until I recently saw it on Amazon. Bought it immediately because I wish to read it again..I have been an avid reader all my life and of course don't remember all I've read and very very seldom read a book a second time but when I saw The Bricklayer by Noah Boyd, I instantly recalled it being a book I liked years ago. I'm going to check to see if he's written any more. I hope so. I liked Agent X also (not sure that is the correct title)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Before the first chapter the superhero [email protected]#$%! square in the jaw and not at all affected. Then after vanquishing both bank robbers all by himself he quietly disappears into the night. Already I am questioning whether to continue. Ok, half method thru and I'm being treated to a lesson on how to jimmy begin a vehicle door. Very exciting! Latest chapter we obtain another lesson on how to begin a door whose lock has been superglue.Oh, surprise, in the end our character solves the mystery of the money all by himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Nice story, nice main character. The other characters a small less nice. The plot is a small thin and like a lot of super clever protagonist vs. super clever poor guy, the poor guy just doesn't seem to be able to set up and do all the items he does to be realistic. A mate of mine who read it didn't like the snappy dialog between the main hero and his budding girl friend, but I liked them well enough. If you like action and mystery and a bit of a thriller as well, you'll probably like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I love thrillers, and found this one beautiful good. I read the eBook ver and it was quite well edited (my eyes pick mistakes up easily). There is some stereotypical items re female, the loner ex-FBI agent and rogue character. Overall I liked the premise and it was difficult to figure who-dunnit. Across country travel and multiple poor guys. I agree with some reviewers that Steve Vail is related to Jack Reacher (whom I love), yet various enough to be believable. I look forward to more books from Mr. Boyd.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I'll admit that the first part of the book didn't keep my attention, and-since I got the Kindle ver at a steep discount I almost said, "Life's too short." But as the plot progressed, I found myself drawn into it. Admittedly, as the author of suspense novels myself, I sort of saw the ending coming, but by and huge I thought the writer did a amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I thought the writing was very witty and fun to read. The plot was somewhat predictable and not well thought out in places. For example, the main hero is secretly recruited from the outside by the the FBI to work on this case, yet 2 days into the case the extortionist and murderer requests that this same person (that nobody but a select few even know is working the case) handle the fresh ransom demand. Yet none of these brilliant agents ever question this throughout the story. There are other examples, but it was still an okay read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    This is a detailed, well thought out novel. I couldn't place this down, but had to re-read several times to really understand and imagine the crimes and investigations in progress. I didn't guess the end or the twists & turns. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I wasn't familiar with Lisa Wingate's books before I read "Before We Were Yours" but I'll be looking for others now that I've read it. I was drawn fully into the story, set in both the 1930s and show day. It follows the story of the Foss kids in the '30s and Avery Stafford in show day, and brings to light a horrifying and shameful real-life om the '30s to 1950, a woman named Georgia Tann, who ran the (Memphis) Tennessee Children's Home Society, stole not good kids from their families and newborn babies from single mothers and sold them to celebrities, politicians and others who could afford them. It was all done under the guise of helping orphaned and abandoned kids search amazing homes, but it was actually human trafficking.Avery Stafford finds a puzzling photograph that leads her into an ever more confusing story of secrets and lies inside her upright, respected family. Along the way, she starts to question the man her family has picked for her to marry and her expected role within the family. What follows is a heartwarming story of love, betrayal, memories and staying real to your heart. In addition to the well developed characters and background love story, I liked the realistic view into the 1930s.I really enjoyed this book and learned a lot about a dark time in our history, when being not good was enough to have a family ripped apart forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This is the first book I've ever read by Lisa Wingate, but having read it I will find through her other titles. It was an perfect book! The topic matter was hard, and sad at times, as I knew it would be before starting. I could not place it down because I had to search out how the story ended. It was a glorious book, I'm satisfied that I read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I bought this book because of the a lot of 5 star reviews and I was not disappointed. While reading it I was immersed in a various put and a various time.I was reminded once again that goodness and evil are amongst us permanently, and sometimes, it is the "virtuous" who harbor a very dark side. It is an amazingly beautiful, deep and very emotional novel, one you have a feeling of "living" rather than "reading".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A close-to-flawless book about family lost and found. At first, I thought the present-day story wasn't as gripping as the flashbacks. I was wrong. Both stories combine in a page-turning resolution. The author has taken not good happenings in history and breathed life into those who suffered because they were too not good to hold their families together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I didn't know what to expect from this book, it was a selection for our book club. Overall I really enjoyed the book, it is an simple read but it does bounce back and forth between show day and the 1940s. The intertwined story lines are simple to follow and the characters are well developed. This is both a satisfied and sad story, and I did shed a few tears but it was not an all out tear jerker. I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I liked the story. I liked the characters. It was a fast quick read, but I did not think it merited 5 stars. The split story line was a small annoying and a bit impersonal, probably because of the topic matter. It was not a book I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Interesting story and an simple read. This book lends itself to discussion and varied opinions. It also has a basis of truth in history- a very sad time for a lot of children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Unbelievable story that captured your imagination from the start. As the story progresses you can't support cheering for the amazing guys. It is a detective story that touches a lot of lives. The ending is well done and leaves you with a smile.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Extremely well written. Enjoyable doesn’t feel like the right word as it isn’t a satisfied story, but I loved reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was difficult to place down and I highly recommend it. I would like to see this story turned into a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Warning! I loved this book the first time I read it, but it was then called "Saturday Requiem". Now I have been fooled into buying it a second time,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I've been a fan of Nicci French's writing for a lot of years. With a minimum of words, she's able to transport me straight into her characters' world. That's real of this book, as well. I was there with Frieda, in the midst of her emotional turmoil. The psychological component is strong, and I experienced this story as I read ieda can be a difficult hero to like. She's standoffish, and her distance from others also keeps us at a distance. But that's an necessary part of who she is and what her history has done to her. While you might not choose to hang out with her as a friend, her life is such that you can't support being swept along, wanting to know how it all turns out.While this book is part of a series, it works relatively well as a stand-alone. The main plot is specific to this story and has closure at the end. Frieda's backstory is woven in enough so readers fresh to the series obtain a sense of who she is. That being said, there is a separate plot thread woven in that continues from past books through this one, which brings me to my complaint with this book. We have a major cliffhanger at the end. The cliffhanger is enormous, truly, and pertains to the ongoing thread that is not mentioned in the book's description. I am not a fan of cliffhangers. At all. It's like paying to see a film that stops midway, and then you have to purchase another ticket to search out how the film ends. So, given the method this series is set up with a major plot point carrying through all the books, coupled with the cliffhanger, I'd recommend starting at the beginning and reading these books in order, with full expectation of having to read them all.*I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A dark, psychological mystery wherein former police professionals/paraprofessionals re-open gruesome murders for complicated reasons. Although this story could be a standalone book, and is the first in the series that I read, it is in fact the sixth in the series. There were frequent references to previous relationships and I admit it became taxing not fully knowing what they meant. The tale itself did not require prior knowledge, although the hero development probably did. Having said that, the book is really good. It starts out tense and never lets up. The weather, the mood, the behavior of the different people under discussion...all of it became and remained ever more grim, brooding and disquieting. Frankly, I was relieved to read it during an overly bright sunny day because I would have been jumping out of my skin at night. It was just that creepy. The ending is well worth the tale, no disappointment whatsoever. And for readers of the series, it is clear there will be another in the series. I received my copy from the publisher through Edelweiss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I don't think you should be forced to give a star rating. I place a 3 but for reasons, I mention @ my blog I do not give any stars.Let me begin by mentioning the number of characters that are in this book is absurd and a lot of them are from previous books in the series some even stem for the first book Blue Monday. Therefore, as a reader, you might obtain scant to no explanation of whom a hero actually is. The plot from what is construed from the blurb is suitably written consequently a nuisance from Frieda's past is thrown into the story which to me the vehemence felt irrelevant and overpowering to the book. Nevertheless, if you are reading this as an ongoing series you might not feel this ditionally, one of my pet peeves is when authors do not execute a finished ending though some closure was achieved volumes were left unsaid as a effect I am left wondering what happened to several main characters. Maybe a book that starts with a Sunday will reveal the unknowns? Even though I have been harsh on the book so far it is filled with an abundance of conundrums. Unquestionably a complex whodunit packed with conspiracy, mystery, gore, and just when you think you have it figured out it will twist you one method then spin you is is not meant to be read as a standalone book. If I had started on book one Blue Monday and proceeded forward I perhaps could have established a more favorable impression of the book as a whole. Finally, I did not search this to be a poor book, in fact, I enjoyed a amazing deal of it, hence the negative problems just trampled upon a slew of good.OH WAIT! Frieda is only a Psychotherapist, not a Forensic Psychotherapist. Don’t you have to be a Forensic Psychotherapist to work with the police?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    At the risk of repeating myself --- a hazard at my advanced yet tender age --- I am going to wonder yet again, upon the publication of DARK SATURDAY, why the husband-wife author squad collectively known as Nicci French isn’t a household name in the United States. I also could obtain all Elizabeth Barrett Browning about how terrific this series has been starting with BLUE MONDAY and continuing through the days of the week. I won’t do that, though. I will simply attempt to convince you why you absolutely must read DARK SATURDAY, even if the protagonist’s name means nothing to you, and then go back and read each installment of the series from begin to ose familiar with Frieda Klein from previous volumes need only know this: DARK SATURDAY is a representative but nonetheless pivotal work in the series. For the uninitiated: Frieda is a quietly difficult yet oddly endearing protagonist, a psychotherapist with a keen eye for observation and a penchant for doing what’s right, even when it rubs hard versus the grain. This personality trait has made a issue for her over the course of the series with London law enforcement, from top to bottom and back again, as well as some notoriety (as we are reminded frequently here) with the public at t Frieda’s knowledge in her field cannot be denied, which is why she is requested, sub rosa, to examine a murder investigation that took put a decade ago. The case is a notorious one, involving an 18-year-old named Hannah Docherty, who was arrested, tried and convicted for the brutal murders of her stepfather, mother and brother. Hannah has been at a secure psychiatric hospital ever since, which itself is horrific. The evidence was quite clear, but the basic officer in charge of the investigation has had his competency in a current investigation demonstrably impugned. Given that his prior cases may also be brought into dispute by convicted defendants, Frieda is tasked with evaluating if Hannah is in any method able to bring such an action. After a decade in the institution, she is all but beyond help, so the matter appears to be closed. Frieda, however, is troubled by inconsistencies in the cases as well as by Hannah herself.While there isn’t one particular element that strikes Frieda as off-base, a number of disparate points speak to her, causing her to conduct an investigation more or less on her own. This once again does not exactly endear her with law enforcement or, for that matter, with people whose lives were touched by the murders so a lot of years before. Frieda will not be denied, though, and with the support of several mates (including Josef, the unflappable carpenter who seems to be far, far more than that), she stubbornly pursues the facts to obtain to the heart of the truth, whatever it may anwhile, a subplot that has run throughout the series presents itself yet again, advancing toward what appears to be a denouement. Dean Reeve is a brilliant murderer believed by the globe to be dead. But Frieda thinks he is very much alive and, given his obsession with her, is watching and waiting. Reeve does not actually appear in this book, but he is a shadowy and haunting presence nonetheless who ultimately manifests himself in the most graphic and startling of ways before story’s e French squad likes to take its time in setting up the pieces at the beginning of each novel, and DARK SATURDAY follows that pattern. But once an explosive revelation occurs --- about halfway through --- French throws a ticking clock into the mix as well as a couple of other startling revelations that create it impossible to read the book quickly enough to search out whodunit, why and how. You will probably guess, and most likely you will be wrong. Read as quick as you can to ed by Joe Hartlaub.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Summary from Goodreads:"Thirteen years ago eighteen year old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an begin and shut case and Hannah's been incarcerated in a secure hospital ever since.When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment of her she reluctantly agrees. What she finds horrifies her. Hannah has become a tragic figure, old before her time. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family; that something wasn't right all those years ago.And as Hannah's case takes keep of her, Frieda soon begins to realise that she's up versus someone who'll go to any lengths to protect themselves ..."My Thoughts:Wow. Wow. Wow. I have to say that this was the excellent book to read to support break this nasty reading slump I've been in lately! I couldn't (and didn't wish to) place this book down. It is so funny how you can be struggling just to search the time or will to settle down with a book....and then you pick up the right one and it is like you never stopped reading at all. I found myself absolutely immersed in this book and just so excited about reading in general after I finished. I love when that happens! I also really appreciated that it happened with this book as this is a well established series that I started right in the middle of. Did I miss certain things from not reading the previous books? I'm sure as there were references to other cases that Frieda was involved in. But for me if just has me super pumped to go back to the beginning to see how it all started. I love the fact that I have all of these other books to look forward to now. It's a amazing feeling!One of the things that I enjoyed most about this book was the premise of the story. It was both horrifying and compelling to think about the idea of a young girl convicted of the murder of her entire family with the chance that it was a wrongful conviction. Add to that the setting of a psychiatric hospital and a mystery and I was basically hooked from the very beginning. I mean how could I resist?? I really enjoyed Frieda's character.....there was just something about her that pulled me in as the reader. I found myself intrigued by everything that has happened to her - yet another reason why I'm so excited to go back to those earlier books. I just really enjoyed by entire reading experience with this book. The gift was a completely surprising ending and this book turned into a five star read for me. I haven't had a lot of of those this year which is why I can't say enough amazing things about this book!Overall, I really loved this one and am so excited to see what other readers think about it as well. I should have listened to my book blogging mates and started this series sooner! I've already got the first book on my library holds list so I won't be waiting too long before I go back to the beginning. I thought that this book was both quick paced and intense which are two of my favorite things to have in a mystery. I would recommend this book to both mystery and thriller fans. You can definitely do what I did and begin with this book (it obviously didn't affect my reading enjoyment at all). I do think that there are things you miss not reading in order but that just gives me an excuse to reread this one once I catch up on the rest. Ha! Highly recommended!Bottom Line: Very likely to become one of my favorites of 2017!Disclosure: I received a copy of this book courtesy of the publisher as part of a TLC book tour.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The series began with Monday, so this is the sixth book featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein. Dr. Klein has had a controversial part-time association working with the police in London as a consultant. Frieda Klein is one of the most interesting and compelling characters in a continuing series. If you have not read any of these books, stop here and immediately search Blue Monday to begin. These are books that should be read in order so that you know the characters, have the back stories about all that has gone wrong in the past and all that has gone right, and know the saga of Dean. Frieda has her demons, her friends, and her family. You will care about all of them. You will walk for miles throughout London with Frieda. I also have fun Frieda’s sessions with her patients. The patient sessions usually have small to do with the murder investigations, but they illustrate Frieda’s hero and add to the interest. This book is the recent in the series and like the others, it is impossible to place down. The atmosphere is dark, the plotting and writing are taut, and the mood is intense. Frieda is loyal, dedicated, and ethical, with a private integrity that drives her. It is difficult to make a hero with all those lofty qualities and not have one iota of sappiness or condescension, but our author does it well. These are books that you will seek out and wait for. These are books that you will not place down. The poor guys are very bad- beautiful much clever amoral sociopaths. The murders are violent. And on top of that, creepy things are happening. At the end of the previous book, Frieda created a bargain that resulted in her owing a favor to a shadowy, strong person. In this book, Levin calls in the favor and Frieda is asked to reexamine a cold case. Hannah has been confined in a hospital for the criminally insane after being convicted of the brutal murders of her entire family. Hannah may have been an mad and troubled teenager, but after years of solitary confinement and abuse at the hospital, her sanity seems lost and her life threatened. It’s not long before Frieda sees irregularities in the original investigation. Meanwhile the threat from Dean is ever-present. It appears that there are only two more books planned in the series. I will be sorry to see it end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A charismatic female hero and amazing plotting kept me wishing the novel were longer. I gave it four stars because the cast is too large, and I often had to go back to check who Jack is (a colleague), and the hero whose name I cannot now remember who gets cancer. On one hand, nearly a dozen minor characters seems realistic, but on the other, an author must do a amazing job of introducing them in order to create the memorable. I think the amazing flaw in this novel is that the authors do not do this well. It is annoying to have to go back on a Kindle. The reader never does search out what happens to the man with cancer. I did buy another Frieda Klein book, though, because it is hard to search female characters who are psychiatrists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I'm only writing this review for Frida Klein fans and for those who wonder if this one isn't quite as amazing as the others. It's very much of a piece with the others, except that it focuses even more on Frida and the strange identification she forges with a woman who was convicted of killing her family and who has since languished in a mental institution, driven truly angry by neglect and isolation. What I love most about Frida in all the books is her fierce determination to create right what is wrong; for this reason, I liked Dark Saturday better than the Friday book that found her running for her own freedom. This book is not perfect. At times I longed for an editor to correct faulty parallelism or that one too a lot of coincidences could have been left out. Nonetheless, I love Frida Klein, and if you love her too you will love this book. I view the end as fmthe series with trepidation. I will miss the quiet, relentless woman who has roamed the London roads of my imagination for six books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The husband and wife squad of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have such a amazing series involving Frieda Klein, psychotherapist, who somehow always manages to obtain in the middle of police investigations. Though this is the 6th in a series, it does work as a stand alone. However, I think that it adds so much more depth if you read them in order. If you have not read her before, jump in from the beginning. In this mystery, Frieda is investigating a horrendous family murder, where the 19 year old daughter was accused of murdering her entire family and has been incarcerated into a secure hospital for the past 13 years.While there she has been beaten, humiliated and generally had not good care. Frieda ,however,questions the shoddy police work and wonders if the "perpetrator" really was to blame. As she begins to scrap away at the facts and miscalculations, someone is determined to create sure she doesn't succeed. The ending came as a huge surprise to me and another plot thread leaves it wide begin for their next book. Unsettling and gripping..its amazing for a long plane ride, a beach read or curling up in the comfort of one's home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I have read all her books and she just cannot write them quick enough for me! Loved this story. Unrealistic or not- that is why we read these- escape and this on fits the bill! An easy, fun, summer read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Really like this author.....great story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Once versus n Joy Fielding provides us with a brilliant book. Enjoyed every word and missed my bedtime to [email protected]#$%!!! Worth the lack of sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I just loved this book. I had read a lot of Joy' s books and had been a long wait to search this one. Incredible! I didn't wish to place it down. The ending blew me away. I had a niggling suspicion about who the perpetrator was. This is one of those stories that grip your attention from beginning till the end. Bravo!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Very suspenseful, creative, truthful writing. Would read this again and again. Lots of unexpected twists and turns to hold the reader's interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I limes how the Stonehenge Washington well synchronized from the past and the present. The method the characters were portrayed I felt like I method there with them. Very realistically written. Finísimo the book in one day!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I always like Joy Fielding. The indignant daughter may have been a small over the top, but the primary story was very good. I would like to see her (Joy Fielding) write more often. Some of her past books were perfect .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Not her usual unbelievable books. Took me forever to read this particular book, it was slow paced and boring. I do love this author and her earlier books. This was clearly not her best book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    A page turner from beginning to end. She is one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Just a private observation, not to sway other readers, but this fielding novel to me did not live up to her previous efforts, I kept at it though, and will test her again,her

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    "Himself" is a mystery. An orphan returns to the remote, conservative Irish village where he was born. He is not greeted with begin arms. All he wants is to search out what happened to his mother but the villagers just wish him to leave. As he searches we learn more about him, ghosts, Irish folk lore and the accompanying prejudices and the magic mysticism of Ireland. A great, entertaining book -- funny, violent, peopled with unbelievable and evil characters. You will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    The Prologue is set in May 1950 but is only three pages long. Though a short piece it’s packed with drama as a woman is murdered while her baby son sleeps quietly in a nearby forest, hidden by amazing ferns. The book proper begins with chapter one set in April 1976 as a young man from Dublin named Mahony arrives in the city of Mulderrig. Now what do you think are the odds that Mr. Mahony is the baby son of that murdered woman? Right, they’re beautiful amazing odds indeed. The reader will deduce this quickly but the folks in Mulderrig won’t catch on for a while. Mahony’s landlady, Mrs. Cauley, recruits him to support audition locals as performers in the town’s Christmas play. During the auditions Mrs. Cauley sneaks in a lot of questions about Orla Sweeney and her whereabouts, a woman who turns out to be Mahony’s missing mother. All this curiosity causes a much greater interest by the townspeople in Mahony and just what he is doing in their town. Mahony, Mrs. Cauley, and other mates start an investigation of the different characters in Mulderrig and who might be suspects in Orla’s disappearance. There’s even a supernatural element involved; the photos of a lot of dead citizens appear at various times to point the way. The special charm of the Irish method of writing English prose is another enjoyable feature of this novel. You’ll have a grand time as long as you don’t obtain banjaxed by a wayward undesirable one. Fair play to you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a wonderfully entertaining book. Having driven the streets of Western Ireland myself, I could easily picture the setting of this city that isn't...where a young man coming from Dublin determines he must visit to explore what happened to his mother e earth, wind, deceased spirits and lively characters meet with his will to support search the nnot think of a better St Paddy's Day read than this Kindle book, just $1.99 from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I am a voracious reader but am not enthralled with every book. THIS book was great! Engaging characters and a amazing plot--I could hardly place it down, and have recommended to friends.If you are a lover of all things Irish, and have fun a bit of fantasy and ghostiness, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a truly brilliant work of Irish magical realism. Even if you don’t usually go for this kind of thing, you’ll be wowed by Himself

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Very imaginative and chock-full of interesting characters , both living and dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Unbelievable read. Attractive descriptions and characters. Unique, funny, well written. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading and stories. I choose this rating because this is a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Truly loved this book. The imagery and the melding of reality with the supernatural were graceful, vivid and compelling. The characters are special and well-drawn. The suspense subtly increases until you feel yourself winded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book - the author has a unbelievable method of telling the story, using unbelievable descriptions and characters.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter