Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    This book only helps you identify certain wild plants and fungi. Maybe because I'm using a Kindle to read, the pictures are not that helpful.I was expecting more info as to how to cook/prepare but very small direction was given. Some of the descriptions recommended that only certain parts of wild plants are desirable to eat and it would mention leaves, seeds, etc..But not how and where to use them, such as "for tea."Not poor for a fast guide, but don't look for how tos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Not enough info in the book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Amazing read.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) video reviews and related movies:

    See Wild Edible Foraging in Asheville | NC Weekend | UNCTV on youtube.

     related image

    See Wild Edible Plants in your Backyard! (HD) on youtube.

     related image

    See 5 wild edible greens on youtube.

     related image

    See Foraging - can food just grow?: Kevin Feinstein at TEDxConstitutionDrive on youtube.

     related image

    See ## FORAGING on youtube.

     related image

    See Kids talk about Edible Weeds. ::episode 1:: on youtube.

     related image

    See Weeding Out and Dining In: Foraging with Tama Matsuoka Wong on youtube.

     related image

    See How to Grow & Use Sprouts, Microgreens & Green Vegetables Indoors or Out on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Obtain back to nature. Here's a amazing book that provides all the info you'll need to know about foraging. That's right—foraging, like the hunters and gatherers of old. I was amazed at what edible things you can search right in a nearby forest or field. The book shows you how to identify what’s safe to eat, and what it for fun, do it to save money, do it for the experience, or just as a family activity, not only can you search free nutritious food, you can learn a lot about the nature around you and experience the meal gathering techniques of ancestral peoples.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    I liked that I could see plants here that would simply register in my mind as weeds. This book pointed out some plants I could search in my own backyard to eat from. I was hoping that there would have been a bigger dozens , as well as more photos, but overall I learned more than I did before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Simple to carry with on device, amazing pics and descriptions, nice dozens of plants that one can consume!! Worth getting!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Free

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    not the most common in my zone but a amazing reference

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    This book just arrived today and as of page 10 I feel like I'm having a stroke reading it. That may sound like an exaggeration but with all the errors in the writing I literally stop and check that I'm reading it correctly. Every other sentence is poorly thought out. Some create no sense until you read it three times in an attempt to interpret what is trying to be said. There are typos all over which makes reading this book somewhat unpleasant. In 2016 I was hoping that an educational book would at least have pictures in color especially after reading the disclaimers in the book about misidentifying forage that could be potentially fatal. Im by no means an expert when it comes to grammar and rhetoric but if I can spot the errors that means it beautiful obvious. As mentioned by another review there are no scientific names to go along with the common names and since those can drastically change with the region I don't feel this book is worth buying as an education book but rather as a book to pass the time. I however will be returning it. At $7.99 I think I overpaid for this book. This book is better meant for the dollar shop shelf...on discount.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Foraging: A Guide to Discovering Delicious Edible Wild Plants and Fungi (Foraging, Wild Edible Plants, Edible Fungi, Herbs, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:2

    Enjoyable reading, BUT- without the scientific names in Latin it is just an interesting tale (please, note that not every reader will be a native English, and even English people cannot identify the plant if you don't use some synonym names)- synonyms in other languages would also be helpful for foreign readers (together with the scientific names, of course!)- the presented set of edible plants that can be safely collected in nature is far not complete- the true presentation of related but risky species is quite missing and simplified- the range of usage hints are rather narrow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Grow Your Own and Forage: Box-set Collection, Herb, Tomatoes, and Foraging (Self Sufficiency, Grow your Own, and Live Well Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Perfect resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    This book is wonderful. I like that it gives the Latin names of all the vegetables and a bit of useful info about each of the vegetable families. It covers a lot of obscure vegetables that you search at a farmer's shop or ethnic grocery shop and search yourself wondering what they are and what to do with them. I liked this book so much I gave my first copy away as a Christmas present, and then decided I would test out the Kindle ver as a replacement. I think I preferred the hard copy, because this is the sort of book that you're going to wish to flip around in, and I search it annoying to test to "flip around" in ebooks. Kindle seems more convenient for the kinds of books that you read straight through. I suppose it is convenient that I can pull up a recipe on my iPad and consult it in the kitchen without having to worry about getting the book dirty. But so far I've used this book more for reading about the vegetables themselves than as a cooking manual, so in the long run I kind of want I had purchased another hard copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Some of my favorite cookbooks are not those that the newest or most interesting recipes, but those that create me think differently about a whole class or category of meal (think James Peterson's Sauces: Classical and Contemporary Sauce Making or Diane Morgan's Roots: The Definitive Compendium with more than 225 Recipes). Vegetable Literacy does just that. Deborah Madison translates her years of experience with vegetarian cooking into a attractive homage to of the key premises of this book is that understanding the relationships between vegetables may influence the method you think about and use them. For example, the Knotweed family contains buckwheat, sorrel, and rhubarb. Knowing the relationship between these ingredients may inform your use of them. Thus, you may choose to add rhubarb to buckwheat muffins, knowing that the two share a phylogenetic family and thus have a natural getable Literacy is organized by vegetable family. Each member of the family is described in detail, with amazing info about appearance, history, and nutrients. The entry also contains perfect varieties to look for, info about using other portions of the plant, "kitchen wisdom," and other foods with which the vegetable pairs addition to all of this unbelievable info about vegetables (both common and uncommon -- how much did I know about salsify before this book? Absolutely nothing), Vegetable Literacy includes some unbelievable recipes. Armed with fresh knowledge about the relationships between vegetable families, I loved exploring some fresh flavor combinations. Thus far, I've tried several recipes from this book with perfect success. The Braised Endive with Gorgonzola is is awesome (I had it over polenta, as the author recommends). And I also love the Thick Marjoram Sauce with Capers and Green Olives (it's unbelievable on bruschetta).One thing to be aware of is that these recipes are (duh) very vegetable-centric. There are a lot of salads, soups, sauces, appetizers, and vinaigrettes, but fewer recipes for hearty main dishes. Each of the recipes is designed to allow the flavors of its vegetable ingredients truly shine. Personally, I love this approach, but readers looking for hearty vegetarian main courses might wish to look elsewhere. Of course, the info in this book is easily applied to other recipes so you can branch out on your own.Overall, Vegetable Literacy is an essential addition to any cook's bookshelf. Its recipes are only the beginning of what makes this such a valuable resource. After understanding the relationships between plant families and learning which vegetables naturally pair well with others, you will be well-suited to adapt your favorite recipes accordingly. Vegetable Literacy is not just a cookbook; it's a tutorial to understanding plant life and employing that knowledge in your kitchen. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    We have a sizable urban garden and I was looking for a book to support us maximize our use of the crops we harvest. This is that book. It gives not only a nice selection of uncomplicated, but creative, recipes, but also primary info on each vegetable. There's also a section for each called, "Using the Whole Plant" that tells you about parts of the plant that you might not realize are edible (and might even be quite tasty!). The hardcover ver of the book is about an inch thick - it's on the larger side, and for that reason, it could create a nice coffee table book. I love that most of the recipes have shorter ingredient lists. It's nice to have easy recipes that are fast but have interesting flair and unconventional ingredients. This book is going to obtain a lot of use in our home!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Despite having a lot of cookbooks, vegetable cooking has always been a challenge for me because I lacked fundamental knowledge about them. Not understanding them created it difficult to pivot on-the-fly and cook creatively with getable Literacy is a attractive book which is organized into 12 chapters representing various plant families. This is a logical method to learn about vegetables since those in the same plant family share characteristics... and knowing these gives you the info you need to cook creatively with vegetables (vs. cooking casseroles, or boiling/steaming). Each chapter includes info like: a botany lesson, similar vegetables and how to use them, history, nutritional properties, storage information, use of different plant parts, and "good companions" (i.e.: complementary ingredients which work well with each respective vegetable), and... inciples in the book were evident in the first recipe I tried: "Broccoli and Green Zebra Tomato Salad". Not a combination I would have ever thought of before.. but to quote Deborah Madison... "the acidity of the tomatoes brighten up the bland broccoli.. and the balance is perfect". The recipe was wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    attractive book, interesting recipes - I returned as I wanted the nutritional content of fruits and vegetables - Time magazine featured a few with her as source

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    This book is so interesting. Unbelievable info and special vegetable recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    I love everything to do with vegetables so this book is a must have for me. Attractive photography !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Deborah Madison's "Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone" has been a staple in my kitchen over a decade now. Considering that she wrote that book almost 20 years ago, it's impressive how well that cookbook holds up. So much so that I have kept busy in the kitchen with this book alone and never purchased another cookbook of hers!But I couldn't support but message the reviews for "Vegetable Literacy." Feeling ready for another book from her, I ordered it and I am so ntinuing to write in her gentle and approachable way, "Vegetable Literacy" continues the exploration of vegetables but from a slightly various viewpoint. By framing the book from the perspective of vegetable families, it allows me as a cook to better understand the relationships between the vegetables I am eating. It's highly educational as she explains why she chooses one cultivar over another and how this benefits cooking. I can't quite put my finger on how the organizaiton of the book is so much more helpful... as every cookbook is arranged by vegetable category, but somehow this book is so helpful for me as a cook.I often go to the farmers markets and buy a bunch of spinach without knowing much more what to do with it than to wilt it with some garlic. But in this book Deborah Madison expands one's vision of what can be done with each vegetable and in recipes that are uncomplicated for a harried, busy person like me. She even give hints on what can be pre-prepared and waiting in the fridge a day or two later to finish cooking with.I love Chez Pannisse cookbooks, but their recipes can be so complicated for someone who just wants to eat the alluring new vegetables in the fridge. For someone like me, this is a excellent cookbook and I'm thankful I got it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    My first exposure to this book was a review in the Washington Post Meal section. The recipe for the carrot almond cake with ricotta cream was included in the article. I baked it (easy to follow instructions) and the cake was outstanding. Bought the book based on this cake. Each chapter discusses a "family" of veggies and then also lists other veggies/condiments/foods that will compliment. I used the suggestion of adding mustard to brussel sprouts (1 teaspoon mustard to a pound of shredded sprouts). Sounds disgusting, right? No, the mustard actually brightened the taste of the sprouts and was not overpowered by my miniscule mustard ere are some greens/veggies included I am not familiar with, however, the descriptions and recipes of familiar veggies far outweigh the unknowns.I am planning my future menus to incorporate and discover these recipes. I never thought I would be excited about only complaint is her use of "coconut butter". Maybe I haven't found the explanation/description yet (she does list her standard cooking ingredients at the beginning of the book). Perhaps, I will search it as I obtain deeper into the book. I do use coconut oil and coconut cream concentrate so I will experiment until I search the description.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vegetable Literacy: Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom, withover 300 Deliciously Simple Recipes review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    This cookbook is excellent for anyone looking to create more vegetable-centric meals, or meals where the vegetables are really the impressive focus and the meat secondary. The recipes are not exclusively vegetarian, but most are. I am not a vegetarian, but have been looking for ways to enhance vegetable-centered meals and this cookbook has been perfect. Covers an impressive array of veggies and preparations. This is a special cookbook that would enhance anyone's cookbook library, I completely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    The Wild Operatives Introduction is comprised of three (3) books.  Each are fast and enjoyable reads.  They have vivid imagery that allowed me to obtain lost in the story.  They also offer drama, action and romance with intrigue that kept me thoroughly entertained.  Book 1- The Right to Bear Arms, tells the story of Daniela and Russ. Daniela is trying to overcome a toxic relationship, while Russ is grieving the loss of his mate. Together, they support each other cope. Books 2- Allow Us Prey, tells the story of Leigh and Ian. Leigh is trying to overcome past mistakes, and obtain her daughter back. Ian is willing to do anything in his power to help her and create her happy. During the process, their relationship progresses. Book 3- The Purr-fect Soldier, tells the story of Jada and Taylor. Jada is determined to grow her business, and better her town. Taylor is also trying to better the city by going undercover. When their paths cross, the attraction can not be denied. I adored each couples' journey towards happiness. I also appreciated the gift story- A Beary Merry Christmas, which left me with a smile on my face. Definitely worth the read, and looking forward to reading the next installment of the Wild Ops Squad Alpha series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This introduction to this brand fresh series The Wild Operatives is comprised of 3 books. The Wild Operatives are a group of various Shifter Military Unique Ops Retirees led by Retired Air Force Colonel Ian MacArthur an eagle shifter. The group takes on missions for the government all over the globe when called upon. This bundle introduces you to it's members and their specialties while telling you the story of 3 of it's members. Obtain ready to have fun the e Right to Bear ArmsDaniela Reyes has no idea that the bear she finds sleeping in her hammock and takes to feeding daily is the man she falls in love with. When werebear Weapons Specialist Russell sees his fresh neighbor BBW latina, he is confused to the core. Could it be that the fates have seen fit to give him a second possibility at love?Let Us PreyRetired Air Force Colonel Ian MacArthur, leader of the Wild Operatives is an eagle shifter. At the advanced age of 53 he has no expectations of ever finding a friend to give his Grams some Amazing Grand Babies no matter how hard she tries to hook him up with grandaughter's of her church friends. And then his eagle eye catches sight of Leigh at church. Leigh has a shady past and the whispers and taunts can be heard, but Ian makes it his mission to place an end to all e Purr-fect SoldierTaylor is cougar shifter and a member of The Wild Operatives. Right now he is working a mission set up by Ian in the small city of Quickdraw to weed out the poor elements in prison responsible for the drug trade there. Taylor is very satisfied for his squad friends having found their mates, but he also longs for what they have. Maybe after he finishes this mission, he'll search her back home. When he comes upon a BBW beauty broken down on the side of the road, his cougar rears up and realizes they have finally found her. Issue is Jada is the daughter of Chief Hunt of Quickdraw and he has no idea what's going on. Will he be able to complete his mission while trying to victory the heart of his friend before her Daddy puts an end to their relationship?This series is more than I could have imagined, it has it all! Action, suspense, intrigue and hot and massive passion. You can't miss out with this one. I loved it and I can't wait to read more stories of The Wild Operatives

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    The Wild Operatives Intro is a collection of three novellas and a short story about a group of were-shifters working military or undercover near the fictional city of Quickdraw TX. At least these are far from the typical werewolves and whatnot. We have werecroc, wereeagle, werecougar, in addition to the werebears and more. The stories are somewhat entertaining as they come up across other were-creatures being their opponents. The stories are entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I loved the three stories and the gift one at the end. Shifters with heat, suspense and hot sizzling sex. All three stories grabbed me in and I couldn't place it down till I read the whole thing. I would recommend this to everyone. Absolutely the best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Perfect writing in all three stories, complex characters, twists and turns, and complete demonstration of love. Who could ask for more. I definitely recommend this series of books. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Absolutely loved this collection. Vivienne Savage is fresh to me and I am so thrilled with this book set. My favorite was the Christmas short story but the 3 novels were all perfect too

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I was captured immediately by the characters and the dialogue. I was disappointed when I got to the end of each section. Amazing escape..... bubblegum for the brain!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I really enjoyed all 3 of the books in this volume. These stories are about some awesome people and how the overcome the odds to be together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Love this trio of books.i could not stop reading om Russ to Ian and finally Taylor book and then the gift ey are all excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Operatives Introduction (Wild Ops Team Alpha Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Love these stories! So well written, and love how the characters come together. I can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    After the long tyranny of the lawn and hedge, there's a revolution underway. We wish to replace the old paradigm of lifeless landscapes with gardens which not only delight the eye, but heal the land. We wish and need gardens that function on a lot of levels: gardens which can capture water, build soil, help pollinators, preserve native species, etc. The issue is that for all of our amazing intentions--us lawn remover types--we don't necessarily know how to replace the lawn n’ hedge paradigm with something both beautiful and sustainable. We have precious few amazing models to follow. And for all our amazing intentions, sometimes our efforts we have a s Thomas Rainer and Claudia West present us how to mimic nature’s patterns to craft landscapes based on cooperative communities of plants in order to build resilience and biodiversity. They ask us to design gardens imbued with the virtue of wildness. At the same time, they tell us how to frame and manage that wildness so the landscape looks planned and cared-for--thus avoiding unpleasant conflicts with neighbors and local authorities who may not be as enthusiastic about the welfare of native pollinators as you might anting in Post-Wild Globe is not a easy how-to book. In fact, there's nothing easy about it at all--but it is very clear. Its goals are ambitious, and while it might seem like it was written for designers, it can be used by a determined home gardener. It has to be, because there aren't that a lot of designers out there working this method yet. And while I firmly believe in the value of investing in professional advice, we can't all afford it. Basically, all of us need to be designers now, because the need is amazing and the stakes are is is an perfect book, destined to be a classic. I can’t recommend it enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    I picked up Rainer and West's book at the library recently, having read some favorable reviews here and on Garden Rant and elsewhere. I have a somewhat various take on it. I thought it's evangelism for an ecologically-focused gardening was, in general, a welcome antidote to the horticultural industry's single-minded focus (responding, in all fairness, to client desires) to promote "Flower Power" by marketing the most highly ornamental, often fresh and unproven hybrids, without consideration of their adaptability locally, and frequently requiring extensive use of need to pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides. I think the book should be read with amazing caution, however, because its prescriptions for planting and maintenance require a wealth of experience and a detailed knowledge of plant husbandry very rare among self-taught gardeners and even uncommon among professional garden ere are also a number of what, to me, seemed peculiar assertions in the book about the natural world. "In nature, plants have an order and visual harmony," where traditional gardens are "arbitrary assortments" of plants chosen for "personal preference." To anyone who has grappled with a laurel-infested swamp, or chop a path through second growth mix of hardwoods, or fought with the woody invasives in an abandoned meadow, or a setting overtaken by highly aggressive honeysuckle, such broad statements about the harmony, balance, and inherent beauty of the natural globe seem romantic in the extreme. And as for "personal preference," what is a garden after all other than a put that gives the gardener amazing joy. A knowledgeable gardener may well chose to temper his passions with an eye toward environmental sustainability (which is undoubtedly a amazing thing), but it is not the only thing.Of greatest concern, perhaps, is the intimation (often stated forthrightly) that the design of plant communities can be achieved, practically, with modest help. One of the most enthusiastic proponents of ecological gardening, Larry Weaner, was recently quoted in the Washington Post stating "It is difficult, if not impossible, for gardeners who wish to move away from traditional garden models to search the labor and tip geared to ecological gardening." A lot of of the design goals promoted by Rainer are identical to those of the amazing plantsman, William Robinson, who in The Wild Garden, set forth a lot of of the same principles -- naturalized plantings, using plants from the same climates (if not the same habitat), layered, with a focus on clear, defined edges to minimize chaos and impose some measure of structure. Gertrude Jekyll, although a fan of Robinson, cautioned that his designs, if they could be achieved at all, needed much "coaxing and persuading." The garden writer C.W. Earle was even more critical, noting that wild gardening is an illusion and a snare, "requiring the most judicious planting with consummate knowledge and experience of plants."Rainer and West do acknowledge, at times, the resource and maintenance demands presented by their approach. They concede that choosing regionally appropriate plants "takes a high degree of plant knowledge." In portions of the book where they provide specific tip (in contrast to those in which they rhapsodize about the natural world), they do caution that ecological gardening "requires a rich collaboration with contractors and garden staff" and "complex plant communities only persist if designers and land managers collaborate," and strongly recommend ongoing "consulting with soil scientists to read and interpret soil tests," and the use of plant designers (like Rainer and West) as part "of a plantings life as regular and ongoing consultants." Basically, it seems to me, they are talking about Fresh York's High Line, or the Longwood Meadow Garden, or other institutional or municipal gardens with a staff of volunteers and long-term consulting contracts with a "garden design firm."Recognizing the difficulties inherent in ecological gardening given the diversity of natural communities, they also test to provide some practical design guidelines. They walk the reader through different models and taxonomies used to organize and design plant communities worldwide and propose an alternative approach based on what they call "archetypal landscapes" -- grasslands, woodlands and scrublands, forests, and edges, together with some design concepts (functional, seasonal, structural layers) to apply to different settings. These are helpful, on balance, but also fairly vague. The archetypes seem to revere a pre-Colombian world, not the suburban or highly urban globe a lot of of us live in. The authors correctly say that plants should enhance a sense of put and memory, but that often means -- to a lot of gardeners -- the peonies of their grandmother, or the favorite Southern camellia, or even the highly drought-sensitive magenta azalea -- not the remnants of a midwestern Amazing Plain. When the authors talk about exploring a website for its emotional resonance and directing one's attention to where a "dense thicket of existing shrubs may be used to line a path that opens into a sunny, low meadows" they seem to be talking about design tip for the high net-worth hedge fund manager wondering hot to best disguise his helicopter pad at this house in the Hamptons. They're not talking about the middle class 100' foot lot with the neighbor's propane tank in the background, and the circle of earth left by the old above-ground swimming pool in the foreground..I tend to think that their goal is worthwhile. Maybe this book will be the progenitor for others for "the rest of us" -- who want to create our backyard gardening more sustainable and beautiful, at reasonable cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    This is a watershed moment in garden design publication, and Rainer & West's book leads the way. While I might disagree on some points, every gardener, home or pro, needs to read this to understand the practical reasons and methods to garden with nature in personal and public spaces. Just a unbelievable book that will be long lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    This book is full of amazing information. It would be a 5 star if I happened to be in the landscaping business, as this seems to be their target audience. I'm just a gardener, looking to plant attractive gardens that also feed wildlife & the pollinators. The inspiration and instructions are great. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to know more about going nearly native in their plantings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    This is a amazing book for those interested in how to design a garden that utilizes the best traits of plants for a naturalized appearance with minimal maintenance. It's a amazing read and incredibly informational. I love this book and look forward to sharing it with others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    This is the only helpful text I have read as I'm trying to design a native no mow lawn/plant community. Even though most of it is method above my head I have benefited tremendously from this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Finally simple to apply way to make nature like environments in planting beds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    This book has gotten me back into the dirt. I'd recommend it to all my friends, but I think most of them are here already. Still, this is beautifully written and illustrated, and gives a amazing overview. Will I see a changed aesthetic in my lifetime? I really think I might.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Beautiful! The story can be followed in the attractive pictures - but the writing is equally engaging and I search myself lingering on each page. I'm noticing more of the natural landscapes around me now and appreciating their denseness more. My yard is a little plot in a little city but I'm eager to bring some of the ideas from this book into my gardens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Planting in a Post-Wild World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Brilliant book. Insight into creating a garden design which mimics nature but still have a designed and attractive garden space. Heard Thomas Rainer speak--inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I have tried a lot of of the recipes in this book, and they are in my list of things to create over and over. Tim and Heather are awesome success stories for weight loss, becoming athletes, and achieving optimal health through plant-based eating, and as Tim says, "results are typical." You can do it too, and you won't search easier, tastier whole-food, plant-based recipes anywhere. Listen, there are plenty of "diets" out there that do nothing for your nutrition and ultimately for your health. But eating this method WILL do awesome things for you by giving you the best nutrition available from any source. How do I know? I eat like Tim--who is a mate of mine--and have lost 150 pounds. After decades of sedentary living, I am now becoming a plant-based athlete. He's a true guy with a rough story, but he's taken the roughness that life handed him and turned it over by eating the meal he talks about in this book. Just start, and see for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I've been following Tim Kaufman for a couple years on social media. When he posts his food, it always looks delicious and he said it was easy. However, most people say this and it's the opposite. You have to cook for hours or use uncommon ingredients and then I am disappointed. I am satisfied to share that this book not only lives up to "quick and easy", but it is everything and more that was promised. The recipes are EASY! The ingredients are COMMON. Cooking time is minimal. This is the excellent addition to my plant based life. I have purchased 4 already - three for mates and I know I will purchase more! The next time someone you love says "I can't afford to eat plant based, or healthy" give them this tool. There will be no excuses after this. I am so excited to begin cooking! Thank you Tim for this labor of love. Your story, your life is inspiring. You have taken a situation that was meant to destroy you, and with hard work and healthy choices, turned it around for good. God bless you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    Simple, nutritious, amazing tasting, and amazing for you recipes that won't have you banging your head up versus the wall or breaking the bank. Tim's living proof that these will work for you. What other proof do you need. Fuel your body and your amazing health. is a amazing no nonsense resource I've been using and I've been able to achieve weight and health goals this past year. Go to the website, the fb page, join the community, grab these recipes, and improve your life like I did. 🌱🥔❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I like the simplicity of the ingredients. If a recipe has too a lot of ingredients, my eyes begin to glaze over. These are all do-able and include normal every day ingredients. I tried the muffins and they turned out so enjoyed reading Tim's story, along with the story of his wife llowing this method of eating I have lost 70 pounds over the past year and a half, lowered my cholesterol, and gotten rid of my migraine as much as you want, never go hungry, never weigh and measure your meal or feel that you are restricting Tim says, "all ya gotta do is a small more than ya did yesterday"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I am eternally grateful to Tim ( ) for taking the time to write and publish such a unbelievable book not only does it have fabulous WFPB recipes in it, he explains why he believes it to be the best thing to do for a healthy lifestyle. And how could anyone ever doubt what he is saying, he tells you the story of his miraculous journey which I see as nothing short of a miracle. I have tried a few of Tim’s concoctions and they are so amazing I could never think to place together such a amazing meal. I highly recommend this book regardless of where you are in your journey, it is amazing for the plant based newbie or and old pro looking for delicious, quick nourishing meals. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I have a lot of cookbooks and I have to say this one is my favorite. Not only is it practical and simple to follow , the recepies are delicious. A lot of plant based recepies are bland or with out much taste. Not on these recepies. The taste is amazing. Tim has a unique bonus he can take anything and create it into a very delightful tasting meal. Buy his cook book you won't be disappointed. You wish to follow his journey also at Tim and his wife Heather are very unique souls. They give to the community, support others, go out of their method with out asking for anything in return. His journey is a real inspiration. Can't wait for the next cook book from him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I have been following Tim for a few years now and I love his recipes that he shares on his blog. Its so amazing to have them in one book. Tim and Heather's Story is remarkable. This method of eating has helped me to lose 65lbs and endure a healthy lifestyle. I highly recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    This is good... not complicated, recipes create enough to eat several meals without cooking again. I’ve watched him on Fb and his recipes and tip are not time-wasters. Just shop, cook, eat and obtain out and live and love!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    What an awesome weight loss and health gaining story. I believe that plant-based meal is the method to go and the author has proven that with his private journey. You know sometimes you just need fast . . . this recipe book is a amazing put to begin for anyone looking for simple things to create that are healthy and filling - as well in no time. Nothing complicated or strange ingredients, just daily kind of foods you can search in your supermarket and create a plant-based meal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fat Man's Essential 40 Plant-Based Recipes: Quick and Easy Plant-Based Food (Fat Man's Recipes Book 1) review [Book]  2018-4-20 18:0

    I have used several of these recipes and look forward to trying the rest! I am so grateful for FATMANRANTS,COM and how he has helped my mates as well as myself. I bought two of these books and sent to mates as soon as I knew they were available !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summary | The Plant Paradox: By Steven Gundry - The Hidden Dangers in Healthy Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain (The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers ... Audiobook, Hardcover, Summary Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-9 18:1

    I approached this book with a lot of skepticism, since I have been a firm believer in the health benefits of whole grains and I always have baskets full of new fruit on my counters. However, the scientific arguments that he presents are quite compelling, and there were a few "aha!" moments for me where things that myself or my mates had experienced created sense. I haven't tried implementing the diet yet, but I'm willing to at least give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summary | The Plant Paradox: By Steven Gundry - The Hidden Dangers in Healthy Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain (The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers ... Audiobook, Hardcover, Summary Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-9 18:1

    I really enjoyed this book. The Summary | The Plant Paradox book is most necessary thing about this book is that it tries to discuss the source or the root eauses of a lot of health problems. Every page of the book impressed me. The authors have been able to highlight the contents of the book very well. Because this book helped me to acquire some fresh is book causes me to profoundly create a few info investigation effectively. The author invested a lot of years of research in order to write this book and to come up with a lot of of his ideas. This book is very well written by the author and i highly recommend this book to all of you guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summary | The Plant Paradox: By Steven Gundry - The Hidden Dangers in Healthy Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain (The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers ... Audiobook, Hardcover, Summary Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-9 18:1

    I search this book very informative, helpful and interesting for all the people who wish to know about the hidden dangers in "healthy" foods that cause disease and weight gain. I like how the book is written in a very helpful and well guided way. The author create sure that the readers can understand every info of this book. Thanks to FastDigest-Summary for this amazing positive thinking e book is very healthy, informative and worthy of attention!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Summary | The Plant Paradox: By Steven Gundry - The Hidden Dangers in Healthy Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain (The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers ... Audiobook, Hardcover, Summary Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-9 18:1

    Reading summary books is always a amazing thing to do as you will gain knowledge and info that you didn't know existed. I got curious about this book because it says that healthy foods sometimes can give us disease and upon reading this summary book I was able to fully understands why. What I also like about these summary books is that, they don't consume a lot of time to read and finish!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    OK, but I was hoping for more in-depth content. This is a short primer on growing herbs. The author contains about half a page for each common herb. This contains a small bit of history as well as how it grows and what it "likes". The author addresses growing herbs from both seeds and cuttings. I liked the explanation of how to do pinching to obtain bushier plants. The book ends with recipes that use the i Julia review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    This is a amazing introduction to growing herbs at home. It's a short guide, but there's plenty of info for the novice to use when planting a dozens of e preview in the description gives an accurate view of what readers will search in this book. If you're fresh to herb gardening, you'll appreciate the info in Growing Herbs at Home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    This has been a very informational read. I know that herbs are amazing at being used for medicinal purposes but not as being used to become a attractive garden. That concept definitely changed when I got to read this book. I was able to learn more about the type of herbs that are amazing to grow at home and those that are more suitable for me. It certainly has multiple usage as a medicine, for cooking and adding more flavor and even is used for having an adorable garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    Growing herbs at home is a amazing method to obtain new herbs. It is also better to grow them at home because you dont have to create a run to the shop to obtain some. The ones at the shop could also have chemicals on them which is poor for the body because you dont know how they grow them as opposed to when you grow it, you know how it grows and what you place in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    Picked up a few pointers on growing herbs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    This book is detailed and has the foresight I need to plan ahead. in every chapter the author suggests further reading and my gardening collection is growing by the day. It has lots of info and a lot of unbelievable charts to support you in your selections of herb gardening. It has garden plans, charts to plan a theme garden, what part of each plant to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    Amazing overview of herbs and how to grow them indoors. Every year I plant herbs and honestly I'm really not sure which herbs are compatible and which need to be grow in separate containers. This book addresses those things and finally answers my questions. More importantly its natural. A very nice book to have and learn with about herbs and having them grown at home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    This book is a total rip!!! Only 10 herbs listed for growing. Doesn't even have very common herbs ,such as oregano. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    A very simple and enjoyable tutorial to read. It was full of practical tip and presented in a method that makes it all seem very simple to do it all at home.I personally was interested in the information shared about medicinal uses herbs have and I've found the info I required described with accuracy and care. Thank you very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Growing Herbs at Home: A Guide to Growing Herbs at Home for Beginners (Herb Garden, Recipes, Gardening Tips, Kitchen Garden, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:2

    It is a amazing book to understand the most common herbs and how to grow them. There are some amazing primary recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I simply can't obtain enough of this series. It's amazingly addictive, full of hilarity and I am going to pee my pants is cast of characters makes you wish to break lose and become a Wild One. I want that Tomahawk was a true put I would move there in a heartbeat.I adored Liam and Kylie's story. Both from two very various worlds but they just fit together so well. Kylie's personality was the best, she's a bit brazen and a dare devil which of course you kind of have to be to live in Tomahawk.I honestly can't count the amount of times I laughed at the shenanigans in this book. C.M. Owens has really made a unique put that reels you in, makes you wish to allow your hair down and just have a amazing time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I love these books......They create me happy, it's always a fun hilarious read when you obtain to search out more about the wild is is a light, fun read that is thoroughly enjoyable from begin to finish. I wish to move to that city purely for the entertainment value this series usual I finished too quick and desperately wanted the story to d. Loved. Loved.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    This book was even better than the last. Liam and Kylie are excellent together. The romance and the humor are a excellent mix. If you need pick me up in life this series is definitely it. CM Owens has done another awesome job. I can't wait for the next book. Everyone should buy this series and embrace the crazy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Amazinggggg! As usual CM blows us away with her wit and comedy as well as her innate connection to the human nature. Liam and Kylie are the cutest couple. Crazy, which one is crazier is still unsure... I love Tomahawk. The city he story takes put in. I am currently looking for property there. :)If you wish a steamy book that has you laughing in tears, this is it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    This boon is unbelievable and I wish to move to tomahawk now!!! I laughed from beginning to end same as the first book! I can't wait for the next book in this series! I even got my mother addicted to them because they are just that amazing! Don't think about it buy them both now!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I love this series by C.M. Owens. Tomahawk is a crazy fun city to read ter meeting in LA, Liam follows Kylie to her home city of Tomahawk. He fits in really well for a town boy, but Kylie doesnt trust that he is there to stay. Hilarity ensues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Yet again CM Owens comes up with another perfect story. All of the characters come to vivid life in this series and I can't wait to know more about them. Don't miss out on this laugh out loud series, it's so good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I really want this was a true put because I would move there and never look back. This is such a fun series. The characters are all insane but lovable. It's laugh out loud funny with small sprinkles of feels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I laughed so hard I still have a headache from it! There were parts I had to read multiple times because I couldn't stop laughing. It is a sweet, crazy, naughty, and unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Going Wild (The Wild Ones Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Sometimes you need something light hearted to remind you of all thats amazing in the world. This book, and series, is nothing but that. It makes you smile after a poor day at work, it makes you howl because its every immature, satisfied thing you've ever wanted to do - done by the happiest [email protected]#$%!& you wished you anks CM for writing a book that grabs your heart, hits you in the feels but doesnt drag you on an emotional rollercoaster.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wild Wild West review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Steampunk Blockbusterdom! Barry Sonnenfeld's Wild Wild West is a movie that I have avoided for over 15 years. I have no frame of reference with the source materials, but even though I'm a huge Westerns fan, it wasn't this, or the critical pounding it got on release, that kept me away. It was the original trailers for it, it just looked like a garbled over budgeted mess - which it kinda is. However, that's not to say there isn't fun to be had, because for all its a lot of failings (poor effects, not good script, waste of a powerful cast, superficiality), there is some verve and swagger, excitement, Will Smith's likability and some splendid gadgets. Having very low expectations no doubt helped me out, but I would hardly call this a 1/10 type of film. I say chill out with a beer, turn the home cinema speakers up and just roll with it, because thinking about it too deeply could possibly create you angry... 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    I agree with author that it is not our fault because what is taught in school about meal is a lie as it is. We are ignorant as to what we are consuming all our lives that causes disease formation. Our bodies aren't meant to devour any type of DEAD meat or poultry; just plants and herbs.I love to cook and I love preparing delicious dishes. Toward the end of this summary, it provides several recipes that are supposedly healthy - in my opinion they could be healthier by excluding salt, yeast, and any dairy products.Overall, I like his positive idea of encouraging others to maintain/lose weight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    "Dr. Gundry presents what he calls The Keto Plant Paradox Intensive Care Program which breaks down how to to re-energize your heath through diet, restoration, repair, and exercises like fasting." I like the premise that he is putting forth about how plants can support and heal out bodies and also there are recipes to test and you can place together a menu. I have created some them for my family and they enjoyed them. Changing your families diet can be a small difficult but if you can work the changes in slowly you may search changes taking place. Taking out foods that includes lectins, GMOS, processed food, etc. can and will a very positive thing for our bodies The more amazing info that we can search to support ourselves and our family is a plus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    I was particularly impressed that this wasn’t just another doctor trying to create a name for him or herself. It’s a very practical approach to healing your body without a multitude of medications. Although a lot of of the stuff you’d need to lower your intake of lectins are much scarier sounding than they really are. Most can be purchased at specialty stores, and a lot of of them are probably available through Amazon. It’s a book worth reading and a method of improving your health that is definitely worth trying!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    This book provides an accurate summary of Dr. Gundry's Plant Paradox book. Some locations of this book were a small vague and I [email protected]#$%! had gone into more depth such as regarding the pressure cooking and some historical information, but I was very excited for all of the recipes at the back of the book to make meals that focus on the lack (or minimal) lectins. I would definitely recommend reading this if you are someone that is interested in learning why you may be struggling with weight loss and how modern day has hindered you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    This was a really fast insight into the actual book, which now I think I need to get. I'm grateful to see a breakdown and summary of some of my own anxieties regarding the foods we consume in today's society. I have to admit that, in spite of my own thoughts on the subjects, I really was clueless about everything that our bodies accept and reject. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Filled with very insightful info about the meal we eat and how they affect our health over time. I am glad that there are Recipes within the book for foods we can eat to live healthier lives, basically foods that focus on minimal lectins intake. One thing he said that got me is the fact that CONSISTENCY is necessary in creating and living healthier lifestyle which I totally agree. Amazing part of it all is that it was written by a Doctor and not a fitness expert or Nutritionist. I strongly recommend. It's worth the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    This book offers some insight into why the meal we eat cause problems within the body over time. As a humble researcher, I am always looking for a method to corroborate science and the claims in this book, although helpful to some, are not yet mainstream and strictly anecdotal for now. I'm not sure that's a reason to push for full diet overhaul (including fasting) which can throw the digestive track through loops. The subjects in this book have been controversial for quite some time and the author fails to connect his scientific and historical explanations to studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Dr. Gundry brings up solid points regarding our health and a small know thing called 'Lectins'. His basis stems back to our ancestors and their health versus ours today and leaves you really taking a second look at what you're consuming. Also available are a TON of healthy and delicious recipes that anyone from a vegan to carnivore can create for day to day or even entertaining. Considering these recipes and this healthy diet/lifestyle are backed by people who have given it a try, I'd definitely say it's worth a read to anyone willing to begin their mind to a healthy fresh lifestyle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    This book is unbelievable and gives insight to how tereible the meal we eat can really be. I'd recommend this to anybody and everybody especially people who have ailments. With people who have asthma or arthritis or anything that can hold you from being able to have fun everyday life. Test this book and the recipies in it. They can really support you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unofficial Plant Paradox Cookbook: 30 Deliciously Simple Recipes Inspired by "The Plant Paradox" review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    I liked the fact that this companion cookbook went more in-depth about how certain types of foods affect the body. It gives you the opportunity to learn about various categories of plant foods that you may have never heard of before. It's an interesting and helpful read, and it's ideal for anyone who is looking for ways to live a healthier lifestyle through diet choices and practices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    I bought this for my wife. We have a very beautiful male neighbor that I will call Mr. Acorn. He likes to take his children on walks and eat plants around the neighborhood and create acorn flour to bake with. My wife was suddenly VERY interested in going on these walks etc. I am not typically a jealous husband, but I am not stupid either. She was making so a lot of trips to discuss this fresh hobby with Mr. Acorn it was a small concerning. I did a small a homework of my own and selected this book to replace Mr. Acorn down the e photos and dozens of plants included eliminated the need for future clarification from Mr. Acorn. This book was able to identify most of the plants in our neighborhood that are edible. Combined with a book from the library on native edible plants in our region, my wife just couldn't search an excuse to call Mr. Acorn and he is now long forgotten, all without me appearing to be jealous and instead being supportive.... In case of a zombie apocalypse, I will be glad to know which my undead neighbor's have edible plants too. 5 out 5 stars for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    The physical paperback is 9" high x 7" wide and 1/2" thick with 223 pages not counting the "Resources" and e first 2 chapters covers primary gear, habitat, and manners when on other people's e chapters that follow are organized by greens; fruits and flowers; nuts and seeds; roots, tubers, and rhizomes; plants with a lot of edible parts; and 5 simple to identify mushrooms. Within these chapters, the plant sections are ordered alphabetically by common e plant sections of the book start with icons showing the season when the plant can be harvested. After the common name and the scientific name (Genus and species) it gives ...o What it is: native or invasive and very high level info.o Where to search it: gardens, yard, woods, sun or shade (no map).o Edible parts: leaves, roots, flowers, fruit.o The Details: mostly generic information that could not be used to positively identify the plant. It only occasionally gives info like number of flower petals, whether or not the leaves have teeth or lobes. Since most of these plants are garden or yard varieties, the author assumes the reader is already familiar with all of these details. Identification is mainly by a normally generous huge main photo, often with multiple other images showing the fruits or roots, or other plant parts.o How to Harvest: what parts to harvest and when to harvest.o How to Eat It: raw or cooked, how to cook, and other ways to prepare it.o When a plant has a "sound-alike" name or a "look-alike" cousin, then it may have a section describing related plants to st of the specific plant sections are 2 pages long, but a few are 4 e latest chapter is about "Preserving Tip and Primary Recipes".The cons of the book are ...- When the plant happens to be a huge tree, the main image is less effective since the reader can't see enough detail to distinguish the shape and other features of the leaves and bark. Usually the other images support to fill in this gap, but this was not the case for Cornelian Cherry and Black Walnut. The Mayapple image showed a huge patch from a distance so its primary leaf shape could not be distinguished from the mass of greenery.- I disagreed with the author's claim that "No milkweed parts should be eaten raw." I've eaten the flower buds and little pods and found them delicious and slightly sweet, and not bitter without cooking.Other than these latest 2 points, I found the book accurate and very informative. I prefer Samuel Thayer's books, but this book by Ellen Zachos covers a lot of other plants without having to find far and wide to search a lot of of them, and her writing style is friendly and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    I like this book a lot but I am finding that I need to look up the plants on the internet to obtain a better idea of identification.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    This book is absolutely amazing! The author provides all the info you need to identify and use wild plants, herbs, flowers, mushrooms, trees, berries, fruits, etc. Each plant has several images for identification and the author also describes each plant in written detail too. She provides a plethora of uses for each plant, as well as how to use it. There's even a few pages instructing how to grow your own mushrooms! I first rented this book from the library and loved it so much I had to buy my own copy! The author is very detailed and thorough. There are so a lot of plants that are edible or medicinal right in our own backyard. You just have to know what to look for, when and where to look for it, and this book teaches just that! I definitely recommend this book to fellow foragers! The photographs are gorgeous and the book is jam packed with amazing information! The author even provides recipes for some of the plants! My family and I have used this book on hikes, in our backyard, and when foraging! It's an overall amazing book and unbelievable reference guide!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    I have a few books on foraging and this one is great. I am fresh to foraging and really need clear and concise information. This book is amazing because it has pictures and deals with familiar plants. It is GREAT for a beginner like me. A seasoned forager will probably search this book redundant or of no use but for someone fresh to foraging it is a gem. I had NO idea you could eat Hosta. I have them growing in my flower beds and had no idea I could thin them out by eating the leaves. If you are fresh to foraging, GET THIS BOOK. It has clear photographic pictures and descriptions. It is a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    Very informative book, but most of the herbs and plants in it, I'll never see. I was looking for something with more plants in my area. Also the items you do with most of them, I won't do either. A small on the complicated side.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    Ordered a second copy immediately after receiving the first one. Gave to family. This really is a clear, helpful guide, and even though my wife has been wild harvesting for decades, there were several things she was delighted to learn from this book. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    I love looking around the yard and neighborhood and seeing what God has created that we ignore. This goes along with my vintage "Stalking the Wild Asparagus" by Euell Gibbons. This has a lot of species not covered in the old book... While Gibbons is more like survival ideas, this one is more "Everyday Living". Amazing images really support identify plants. Fun to Read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    I am glad I bought this book. I did not realize how a lot of plants are edible in my backyard and in the prairie across the street. The images were amazing as well as the tips. It gives a amazing review on the edible parts. The only subject that I would like covered more is toxic side effects, if any. Otherwise a amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Backyard Foraging: 65 Familiar Plants You Didn't Know You Could Eat review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:1

    Really a amazing book! All the basics for the beginning forager. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Grow Your Own Vegetables Book: Your Complete Guide to planting, tending, and harvesting vegetables (Everything®) review [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    We have grown a vegetable garden every year for over 35 years now. So we have a lot of experience. But it's always amazing to learn fresh techniques and tips, and I definitely found a few fresh ideas in this book. I liked the section on crop rotation. The individual vegetable sections is very good. And this is one main-stream vegetable gardening book that actually addresses the benefits of companion planting, which is something we've practiced for more than 2 decades now (and yes, it really does work).There is a nod to Square Foot gardening in the section about raised beds, but if you really wish to obtain into SF garden, please order that specific book, as the small section in this one is too general. All in all, this is a REALLY amazing book to obtain anyone who is interested a unbelievable begin in vegetable gardening. My only "huh" moment was the recipe section -not sure why it's in there, but I guess it isn't hurting anything. I have the book as a Kindle edition. It reads GREAT on the PC, and beautiful amazing on my droid [but the tables are wonky]. I haven't dragged out the actual Kindle to look at it yet. I'm sure the paper book is fine, too - I just like electronics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Grow Your Own Vegetables Book: Your Complete Guide to planting, tending, and harvesting vegetables (Everything®) review [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    "The Everything Grow Your Own Vegetables Book," is a amazing book for those who are just beginning a meal garden. With lots of useful hints and information, this book walks the reader through the basics of growing your own meal crops, from planting to harvesting. The author described in detail the info required to successfully cultivate a healthy crop of food. The various zones for planting are described and recommendations of which plants you might wish to consider for your location are given. For those who already have had success gardening and growing food, this book may be a small redundant for you, as most of the info is beautiful general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Grow Your Own Vegetables Book: Your Complete Guide to planting, tending, and harvesting vegetables (Everything®) review [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Honestly, I didn't expect the range of information in this one, and am seriously impressed. I mean, really, charts of what grows well together, detailed info on various plants, notes on techniques and upkeep, the whole nine. If I wasn't already a decent (if I say so myself) gardener, this would go a long method to helping me become one, and I'm recommending it to all my folk who wish to obtain into growing their own food. Between this and local agricultural extension information, there's not much else that you can learn on paper. By example and by hand is another matter entirely, but it's a book, y'all. For that, it's beautiful sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Grow Your Own Vegetables Book: Your Complete Guide to planting, tending, and harvesting vegetables (Everything®) review [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This books has been very helpful as we begin growing our own veggies. It gives lots of information on a dozens of vegetables and tells you when to grow, where, how to fertilize. She also talks about container gardening, composting, and other relevant topics. There are a few things I want she would have gone into more detail with but it's been a amazing starter book to support us obtain going.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter