From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) Reviews & Opinions


Submit From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I really, really like a amazing history book!Not those ones you never know is some fact is a fact but an author's fiction, but those books, like this one, with lots of arguments for the states the author gives, so you can check it and create your own decision about though there is plenty info in this book since author starts to follow the Iranian nation from its very beginnings, it is not just names and dates, like some history books. Ozias Marcovici really did a amazing job here, mixing historical info with less known things about persons and happenings he mentions in his book, making it very easy-to-read material.When I started to read I wondered what was the connection between the line of rulers, but with every read page, it becomes obvious that existence of one ruler and the method he ruled create a put and possibility for next ruler to come. Which is the thing I've never think about before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The author skillfully presents a concise history of the amazing Persian people intertwined with the modern era including the Pahlavi dynasty and “The Forgotten King” and the bloody Iranian Islamic revolution. It is a book that gives you a fascinating perspective - almost behind the scene- of the show situation in Iran and the true threat that the Islamic State represent to the stability in the region and to the world. Amazing Book! Highly Recommended to public in general. I am sure people with interest in political science, will search it very hn H

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book is very interesting and in depth representation of Iranian history. it is written in such a method that it is continuously intriguing compelling you to read on and absorb every detail. And there is a lot of details, stories and inner workings that author so skillfully presents. Even if you are not usually interested in middle eastern history this book could be interesting in better understanding the show situation in that part of the world. I liked it.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) video reviews and related movies:

    See Reflections on the Origins of the Iranian Revolution of 1979 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    What an interesting book! Fascinating, well documented, beautifully written, and utterly hypnotizing. It blends the history of the Persian Empire with its legends, culture, religion, social life, laws, international politics, love, ambition, power, betrayal and profund humanity. It is the story of a fascinating man and the evolution (and involution) of a conflictual and complicated part of the world. This illuminating book written by a superb story-teller historian, will respond a lot of of your questions, and delight you with fresh perspectives and valuable lessons.Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    It's clear that the author is well aware of the subject and a descent research was made. He also has a bonus to share his knowledge in a easy and interesting e book goes into info of Iranian revolution, collapse of the Pahlavi dynasty and life of Ayatollah Khomeini. The book gives you a clear vision of Persian history and current situation on Iran.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Author and professor Ozias Marcovici stirs from the very begin the reader’s inquisitiveness about this legendary and popular empire. His appreciation to bring back to life old and forgotten times was not an simple task. It can be a bitter pill to swallow when the ‘precise literary species’ doesn’t fit the modern ‘politically correct’ agenda.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I have fun middle eastern is is where the news are e book gives a amazing background about the Shah and Iran.I enjoyed it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    amazing historical bio of iranian shah. every history fan will definitely have fun it. i gave it 5 stars. it deserves it. really amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I like history and I enjoyed this book!The middle east will never be the same due to the Iranian revolution

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Amazing history book that tells the story of the royal Iranian ry well written

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    Amazing read, learned a lot from such a powerful woman. Definitely inspired me in my own life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    An eye opener, very interesting ....if you are a women concerned with human rights, irrelevant of creed or whatever, see the other side of the coin, read this ! I recommended it to my Book Club !! Talk about a warrior versus all odds, this lady is wonderful ...brilliant! I purchased it only as I saw she is a Nobel prize winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    This really informs you on a lot of the history of the past 60 years in Iran. You obtain a glimpse and a better understanding for what life was like in the 70s to the early 2000s. Books like these are so necessary for those like myself who need a primer to understand the current situation in countries of controversy. The fact that the book is written by an Iranian only makes it much more credible. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    a teaching book about a globe that is unclear and unpredictable as the author clearly demonstrates through the trials and tribulations she has experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    Ms. Ebadi crafts a compelling autobiography that draws the reader in like a novel. She brings us into the center of her experiences without crowing or being sanctimonious. In telling her own story, she also manages, in a fairly short book to show what I think is an objective history of Iran starting just prior to the 1953 coup and ending at the present.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    Not only educational but a page-turner! This book is a amazing read, and does an perfect job of describing what happened with Iran. There is so much we do not understand about their culture and how they got where they are. The scary part is while I was reading this, I couldn't support but worry that it could happen here. The author is a Noble-Peace Prize award champion and an awesome woman who stayed in Iran through so much turmoil. I admire her greatly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    This book provides readers with a glimpse of a culture that we are urged to distrust, even hate, without knowing about it. It is a attractive story of a Iranian woman's journey after the revolution in Iran. It shows how small Americans know about this country.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    An incredibly interesting and courageous book. I highly recommend it. Ms. Ebadi is an extraordinary human being. Not a lot of people are so courageous and smart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    Her resolve is impressive -- she shows the strength a mother has for her children, and extends it to all the kids of the country there. She wants justice which should have come out of the beliefs promoted, and she wants it without violence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope review [Book]  2017-10-28 18:0

    While it can be a rather disjointed chronicle at times, this book is a must read for any student of human rights work.What would be even more interesting, given the more latest upheavals and changes in administration, would be a "sequel".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    This book provides a amazing insight on today's wacked-out government ways as viewed through the happenings leading up to the Amazing meone once said "the street to Hell is paved with amazing intentions." This book is a history of numerous of well-meaning actions by government that actually escalated method to the Amazing en and now government leaders have never gotten the essence of the leadership principle that George Patton was known to expound. Leaders need to "Lead, follow or obtain out of the way," The attribute most lacking by well-meaning government leaders is the "get out of the way" part. The free enterprise system will work if left to its own devices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    Like The Verona Papers, like Whitaker Chambers' "Witness", like Buckley's lifetime of effort, Amity Schlaes' scholarship reveals how Americans influenced by collectivist thought created it their mission to re-make America by abandoning the founding ideals of individualism and liberty. Ignore the slurs from establishment historians--this lady has the goods on those who believed that industrialization changed the android game as far as the role of government in our lives is concerned. And she shows how idealism was a front for absolutism--"we know what's right, the masses can't survive without us, so the rules we create don't have to apply to us." Why don't more Americans see the handwriting on the wall and obtain revved up about the loss of liberty in the latest century? I'm a Social Studies teacher--yes, in a public school--and this book will inform instruction on anything connected to 20th century history that is presented in my classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    This is the classic "Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it." It seems our current set of elected officials are sliding back into the 30's believing huge government is the method to go. Combine this with Atlas Shrugged and you can see our future ... well that is until we collapse under the weight of our own inability to do the right thing. War debt with more debt - nope that won't work, well it will until it doesn't anymore. Will no one stand up for what is right anymore? It seems like this should be simple, but when you write legislation that is 2000 pages long you won't know what you have until you have it and then it's too late. This should be mandatory reading for elected officials, journalists, educators and Paul Krugman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    I thought this book gave a balanced story about a tumultuous time in US history. The times needed bold action and that is what the country got from FDR and his brain trust. I thought the author gave credit where credit was due but did not shy away from calling a spade a spade. Some experiments didn't work. The roots of the huge government we enjoy/suffer today started during this time period. Perfect read if you wish to better understand the amazing depression and the result is has on the country to this day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    It had a lot of info that I knew already from reading other books but it was informative. If you read my review of "Coolidge" by the same author you'll know I don't really like Amity Shlaes' writing style but the book is still readable. I don't think she's particularly critical enough of FDR in here, everything he did created the amazing depression latest longer, any honest economist will tell you that. But Shlaes is a neo con so she probably admires FDR in some ways, which you can't do if you believe in liberty, but whoever accused neo cons of believing in liberty, they're the ones who brought us the Patriot Act remember?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    I thought I had read the best economy books after Henry Hazlitt's "Economics in One Lesson", and Jude Wannesky's "The Method The Globe Works", but this book explains both economics and politics and how the two e title was taken from an old essay by William Graham Summner,in which "the forgotten man" was the one forced to pay tax to help the unproductive recipients of government largesse. However, FDR re-defined the term to mean the not good recipient himself. Likewise, "liberal" had meant individualism until 1935, when the president's politics changed it to mean "collectivism".They say that history doesn't actually repeat itself, and Obama doesn't even rhyme with Roosevelt, but the way of pitting class versus class in order to garner votes is something we all know about e book gives a month-by-month description of specific happenings and people from the 1920s through the Fresh Deal. It would be best to take notes on this book, as I did, but one method or the other, don't neglect to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    Obviously, a amazing deal of hard work and research went into this book. It is obvious that almost everything FDR & HH did created life miserable for the average American thanks to their elitist tinkering. Neither deserve the kindness history has shown them, especially FDR. It is awesome we won WW11 with the egghead experimenters and Commies surrounding FDR. I would recommend this book to anyone searching for TRUTH in HISTORY.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    Amity Shlaes wrote the story that took put during my childhood, just prior to and during the Franklin Roosevelt years in the Ovel Office. It reflected in adequate detail on most of the problems that took put during that time period, problems that I remember, but had no understanding of at that time. I never thought of Roosevelt as a progressive, or socialist, but he certainly was and set up a lot of of the programs that have been harmful to the country ever since. Amity Shlaes explained most of the political background that took put and this has offered a better understanding of where we are today as a country, politically. It is a follow-on to her book, "Coolidge", which told the story of a very various President and one who we may want to see again in the White House. President Coolidge was a frugal and conservative president, almost to a fault. But he ran the country on a balanced budget basis and set the standard for responsible government. "The Forgotten Man" is a most enlightening book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    Amazing book. Superbly written. Amazed how Amity weaves facts and situations into a narrative that not only captivates but enlightens. Worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    A fun fast read filled with a lot of facts that the average American would wish to know. Some of the work will reinforce what the reader already knows, but some of it will introduce the reader to fresh historical facts that may garner the interest if students of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    Short Reminders of History class!I loved this book! I don't know what some reviewers are talking about with historical inaccuracy. I did not search any. They must have been fixed by the time I read it. The stories are short and to the point (to the degree they are almost too short). Although the stories are simplified, I found them exciting and the writing was refreshing for a genre that can be extremely dry. Each story teases you with info and now I'm thirsting for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    Not a full-fledged history book, but more like anecdotes and short notes of the happenings (though not all of them) in chronological order. I had enjoyed reading the Revolutionary Battle and the Westward Expansion sections more than the later ones. In the Civil Battle section, Hatfields versus the McCoys was fun to read. The rest of the book didn't feel too original; still, it is a amazing book to acclimate newcomers to history, but it is not for history buffs.I had fun reading it, anyway, and I think it should be a amazing bonus for children in fifth and sixth grades.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    Very amazing selection of necessary happenings and stories of significant importance to our country. Happenings leading up to the revolution through Obama's election.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    I enjoyed the back stories to a lot of of the happenings you learn about in History class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    Loved the History Review. There were several stories not taught in school. The book gives insights to how our country was founded and the struggles we have endured and overcome. As a country we need to learn from our past to support us resolve problems of today. Learn from our history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    I have juust started loving history especially since 2008 when pres barac obama won the election. This has helped me fulfil some of my bucket list altho it's fueled me to wish more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    I thought they would be contemporary accounts but they were Thayer's take on the events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    Nice, fast reads for those times when you don't wish to stay up too late reading! Enjoyable and informative. Just what I wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    US History: Greatest Hits: 47 Stories in American History: From the Revolutionary War to the War on Terror (American History, US History Books) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:3

    This would be a amazing read for a 5 th grade teacher to share with their studentd, or have them read and discuss each story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    Several years ago, a fellow cookbook collector gifted me a copy of Ana Sortun's excellent Spice: Flavors of the Eastern Mediterranean, and I fell instantly and madly in love. Sortun is the executive chef behind Oleana and Sofra. Classically trained at La Varenne, she decided to incorporate Mediterranean spices and the mezze mentality after studying in Turkey. Sofra Cafe and Bakery opened in 2008 and serves mezze and baked goods from Turkey, Lebanon, and Greece, all of which are amply represented in "Soframiz."I've long admired Turkish cuisine and have collected numerous books on the topic (including latest releases Istanbul Cult Recipes,Eat Istanbul: A Journey to the Heart of Turkish Cuisine, and Anatolia: Adventures in Turkish Cooking), so when I heard that Ana and Maura Kilpatrick were coming out with a Sofra cookbook, I was ecstatic. I've had the galley for several months, and have created numerous recipes from the book, including the spicy tomato bulgur salad, stuffed simit, Persian carrot and black eyed pea salad, and tahini shortbread e recipes contain breakfast, meze, flatbreads, savory pies, cookies and confections, specialty pastries, cakes and desserts, and beverages. If you've never experienced a Turkish (or Israeli) breakfast, you're in for a treat; traditional breakfast spreads contain a lot of little bowls and plates of olives, tahini, stuffed flatbreads, egg dishes, vegetables and cheeses taking up the entire table. Breakfast at Sofra contains such staples as Shakshuka (baked eggs with spicy tomato sauce), rolled omelet with za'atar and labne, flower pogaca rolls, date orange brioche tart, pistachio toaster pastries with rosewater glaze, and morning buns iwth orange blossom e meze really shine and create for inspired snacking or afternoon pick-me-ups, from the whipped cheese spreads and hummus to hearty and healthy bean-based salads (Persian carrot and black-eyed peas, Egyptian-style pea salad with walnuts, barley and chickpea salad, yellow split peas with za'atar spiced almonds). I created several for this review and all were definite real passion is baking, so the breads and baked goods were the true test. My first disappointment was that measurements are only given in volume, not weight; as a serious home baker, I much prefer the precision of weighing my flours, particularly as I live in an extremely humid climate (which affects the weight of flour). I also had some problems with several of the bread recipes I tried; the stuffed simit featured on the cover calls for 1 cup water to 2 1/4 cups of flour, and what initially greeted me was almost like pancake batter. I continued to add flour by the tablespoon, as well as a small olive oil, and eventually had a very soft (but workable) dough that was wonderfully moist. The Turkish way of brushing with pekmez (grape molasses) lends a sweet finish to the savory filling of feta and za'atar spiced almonds and the toasted sesame seed topping. The bread is delicious on its own or as an accompaniment to the salads in the of Middle Eastern pastries will be in heaven; from pistachio bird's nests (a recipe I have not encountered in my a lot of other Turkish books) to Persian love cake, kunefe, umm Ali with caramelized apples, chocolate hazelnut baklava, brown butter pecan pie with espresso dates, date espresso ma'amoul, and milky walnut-fig baklava, this is a baker's paradise.I encountered an problem with the tahini shortbread cookies, which calls for 2 tsp salt; I cross-checked the recipe on the internet, and the online ver I found also called for 2 tsp. salt. My baker's instinct told me to begin with much less; I went with 1/2 tsp salt, which is what most of the other cookie and shortbread recipes in "Soframiz" called for, and I'm certainly glad I didn't use the full amount as they would have been too salty for my taste. Also, I followed the recipe to the letter, and ended up with more like 3 or 4 dozen cookies. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds but you are only instructed to use 1/4 cup. The resulting cookies were absolutely delicious and would be unbelievable as part of a cheese tray as the sesame lends a savory edge.Gorgeous matte photography and clear, huge font create this a pleasure to read and cook from (I prefer matte pages as it means no glare in my cookbook holder). I loved the recipes I tried, but found in several instances that there are little errors, so be sure to read through the entire recipe in advance and create note if an ingredient is mentioned that is not in the list, or an amount seems off.Overall "Soframiz" is one of my top cookbook picks for 2016 (I'll be releasing my 2016 cookbook roundup in the next month or two), and one that fans of Turkish, Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cuisine will certainly wish to add to their collections.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    I would really love to give this cookbook more stars because the cuisine featured is great, as are the photos. The recipes themselves could use a lot of testing, however. I'm a classically trained cook, but as written the recipes I've tried so far are just not right. This is something that angers me about restaurant cookbooks sometimes. They either omit necessary info as to not give away their secrets, or they just don't bother to properly try the recipes for home cooks.I've created the Chicken Shawarma with Garlic Sauce and Greens. The chicken itself is fantastic. The recipe for the toum, or garlic sauce, is an absolute disaster the method it is written. It needs more detail on the proper method to create an emulsion. I followed the recipe exactly, and my sauce broke. I managed to fix it by whisking it by hand after giving up on the blender, and it did eventually emulsify, but it was much thinner than it should have been.I also created the Za'atar Bread. First of all, I want the recipes included weight measurements, especially for baking. They do not. This is a large whammy in this day and age when more cookbooks are including weight measures because, HELLO, it's more accurate this way. Regardless, my bread dough turned out great. For the recipe you are supposed to divide into 6 balls and then roll out to 5 to 6-inches across. I did that, but at this size, once the dough rises a bit more, you end up with puffy bread. It's still delicious, but it's not flat like the bread in the picture. I also used less oil and za'atar, as it seemed to be a bit extreme on the measurements, and also baked longer than the recipe e recipes are good, but they just fall short of being truly correct. If you are not an experienced cook who can spot mistakes and adjust as you go, this book could prove to be challenging to yielding successful results.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    this is an outstanding cookbook with accessible ingredients and just lots of yummy recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    Amazing options

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    You will have fun reading this cookbook, from the introduction, which speaks of the people who deliver supplies to the bakery, to the explanation of how the recipes were gathered and how the people who work at the bak feel about their food!The pictures of the meal highlight the luscious finished products, which you feel like you could eat through the page!The directions for the recipes are very thorough, ensuring that your meal should look and taste like the authors'!The recipes usually create enough for 8-12 people, but you can easily divide the recipe or freeze portions for later e recipes are varied, from orange blossom cinnamon rolls to hummus,sausage pitas, lamb schwarma, carrot kibbeh, Earthquake cookies, to Milky Walnut Fig Baklava!In the back of the book is a list of essential ingredients that you can purchase from specialty shops or even Trader Joe's so that you can create these delicious recipes!Enjoy a taste of the Middle East!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    I love Ana Sortun and her explorations of the flavors of Turkey and the Middle East. I eat at one of her restaurants at least once every 5 weeks. The recipes in this book are right in her flavor wheelhouse and are exciting to read [and eventually make.] Why only four stars? This is a bakery cookbook with VOLUME measurements. Huh? Any serious cook/baker has a scale. I don't think you need to remove the inaccurate volume measurements, but throw me a bone.... give me grams or even ounces by weight. I consider this a major flaw to this book. I can assure you that at Sofra, they are not measuring flour by volume. No decent bakery does.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    According to Ana Sortun and Maura Kilpatrick, sofra refers to “everything you prepare for the table: food, put settings, glassware, décor, linens.” In Iran, it refers to the cloth spread on the floor that the meal is placed on when people eat. To me, there really is a unique kind of satisfaction and fellowship eating that way.I remember when a lovely Urdu couple from Iran invited me to an Eid celebratory dinner. I was the only Anglo, so I asked my hostess if we were sitting at the table on my behalf. She smiled and confessed they thought I would be uncomfortable with a traditional Persian dinner. I assured her that with the a lot of mates in college and living for a time with three Malay women, I was used to it. We quickly shifted the dishes to a sofra on the floor, settled down without the plates and silverware and enjoyed our food in fresh camaraderie. As the food was ending, she said, “Food eaten with silverware is never as satisfying and never tastes as good.” I thought of her and that relaxed and abundant hospitality while reading Soframiz, a cookbook celebrating the delightful foods of the Middle East, focusing on breakfast, mezza, and baked framiz opens with Shakshuka, eggs poached in spicy tomato sauce, a dish I create once a month at least. They call for three unique ingredients, Maras Pepper (special red pepper flakes), Hawayej (a Yemeni spice blend), and Zhoug (a Yemeni spice sauce with recipe in the book). I create delicious shukshuka without them and so do a lot of other places. I am curious, perhaps if I search some Maras pepper without having to order it online, I might test it, but already they have created me unhappy because I know this recipe can be delicious without insisting on unique ingredients unlikely to be in the home kitchen. Why couldn’t they write Maras Pepper or red pepper flakes? It’s really not sacrilege to use an alternate ingredient.I expect there to be some specialty ingredients in a cookbook, particularly in a cookbook that features ethnic cuisine, but these chefs go beyond that. They specify specific Calasparra rice or Baldo rice and Cubanelle peppers instead of rice and peppers and so on throughout the book. They even suggest specific onions such as Ailsa Craig or Vidalia instead of simply saying a sweet onion. There is no recognition of the limitations of home kitchens and non-metropolitan grocery stores. If they would only suggest alternatives for those of us with more ordinary pantries, I would search their specificity less framiz is full of attractive pictures of delicious looking foods that obtain me thinking, I wish to create this, I wish to create that, and I have to create this one now. But then I read the recipes and see some ingredients that I would have to mail order and move along. What can I create now? Thankfully there are quite a few that I can manage. I already have tahini and zaatar and sumac, so I am not without some of the ordnance I need for this culinary battle. There are also a few recipes that do not require unique ingredients. For future cookbooks, they should allow home cooks know when we can create a perfectly fine dish with other options (such as in the shukshuka recipe).I love the pictures and the idea of this cookbook. I would love to go to their bakery and test everything on the menu. I will also be trying some of the recipes that I lack the ingredients to make. I am a confident cook, sure enough to know that I can approximate the flavors with spices I can blend myself. I will blithely use red pepper flakes instead of Maras pepper and the dish won’t be a disaster. It won’t be perfect, but it will be good. That flexibility to let us to create something close by simply allowing that while red pepper flakes won’t be perfect, they will be tasty is sorely ere are some delicious vegetarian dishes as well as meat dishes. The Pantry section has a recipe for Shawarma spice that I will have to try. This is a amazing cookbook. I think it could be better with a more flexible mindset that recognizes the realities of home kitchens.I was provided a copy of Soframiz by Blogging For Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    Baking bread is one of my favorite weekend activities. It is therapeutic and rewarding. You mix up a bunch of ingredients, and at the end you have a gorgeous, handmade loaf of framiz is full of gorgeous photographs of enticing baked goods. I’m not versus innovation and improvement, but I like to pay homage and respect to tradition. I love that the book clearly states that “the recipes may not be traditional, but they follow the spirit of the original dish.”I have a long list of recipes that I wish to create from the cookbook: lamb katmer, flower pogaca rolls, raspberry-rose petal turnovers, Turkish simit, crick cracks, cheese borek pie with nigella seeds, spanakopita serpentine… I could go on and on.I have a go to brioche recipe, but I thought I would begin with the Tahini brioche. It has a warm, nutty flavor and it’s excellent spread with salted butter and drizzled with honey. I used leftovers for French Toast. If you are a baker, I highly recommend the book. It is inspirational, the images are enticing, and the recipes are really straight forward and not too complicated. I received a review copy of Soframiz in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    Soframiz traverses a range of middle eastern inspired dessert and little bites (mezes). It’s based on their beloved café, Sofra, in Boston. Although I haven’t visited, it reminds me of my local middle eastern grocery shop with a café in tow which blurs the line between a full-blown restraint vs a café with an extensive menu. I’m assuming related to their café, Soframiz leans massive towards breakfast, lunch and in between snacks. It’s certainly not your standard dinner-centric cookbook with an emphasis on r those of you familiar with Sofra, definitely obtain it. The recipes are generally simple and with a small work, you’ll quickly gain familiarity and demystify middle-eastern ingredients. The salads in the meze section are especially rewarding and keep well after making a huge batch. For the rest of you, be aware that this book is a reflection of their café rather than a representation of a particular cuisine. As appropriate, half of this book is devoted to desserts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Soframiz: Vibrant Middle Eastern Recipes from Sofra Bakery and Cafe review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:2

    This is rapidly becoming one of my favorite cookbooks. Nearly every single recipe I've tried so far -- in particular the Spinach-Cheese Golzeme, Tahini Brioche, Date-Orange Tart, Sofra's Gingerbread, Pecan Pie with Espresso Dates, Chicken Schawarma, Sesame Cashew Bars, Tahini Hot Chocolate -- has been a masterpiece. A couple other recipes -- Earthquakes and the sesame caramel sauce from the Carrot Cake recipe -- have come out well but will require a bit more practice with the recipe to obtain them to come out perfectly (it's hard to gauge precisely when to pull these cookies from the oven, likewise at what color to pull the caramel from the stovetop). If you are a novice, I could see how this lack of certainty would be frustrating; however, if you are an experienced home-baker/cook, you will not be daunted by the prospect of working towards mastery of these truly unique recipes. I also suspect that comfortable home cooks with reasonably stocked pantries will not be deterred by all the unique ingredients called for if they wish to create something *now* and don't have everything specified. It's not hard to come up with a reasonable substitute based on your own cooking experience, or even simply omitting an ingredient if need be. For example, for the chicken shawarma rub I didn't have white pepper on hand, so I omitted it and bumped up the other spices. Still excellent! Don't have organic rose petals to create your own Persian Spice? Omit them and carry on! It will still be delicious! After all, even Ana and Maura encourage the reader to create the recipes their own. Don't worry and have fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    No Chromecast support, glitchy to watch, adds intrusive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Amazing one....but need to modernize all programs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Amazing but need to subjects place in order

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Watched one en when went to play the next it keeps stopping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    bad,, television not connect but ADS always work.. application prank

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Doesnt connect,perhaps the DB is brought down due to anti piracy problems

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Amazing but how time reset of ancient alien of india

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    I am satisfied for this aap

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Channel : History Documentaries review [App]  2018-3-21 21:9

    Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    I purchased this as a sort of supplemental reading for a survey class I'm taking. I was hoping this all-in-one history book would be easier for me to study from than my large textbook. It doesn't contain everything, of course, but it does do a amazing job of highlighting all the huge happenings in different points in history and even contains some info that other history books don't. I was surprised how much I learned from this. I really like how everything is laid out, it makes it very simple to follow. I especially like the section on Native Americans. Very concise. Overall I'd highly recommend this book by Adam Brown to anyone who wants to dip there toes in the history of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Very amazing book to read - tells the history in a very clear method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    As the title implies, the author covers ancient to the post-Vietnam and cold battle era in this apters 1 through 3 were particularly interesting. The first chapter focuses on classical history, i.e. Greece and Rome. I found this chapter very helpful as it laid out Greek and Roman history in a linear fashion with a general overview in e second covers Asia, and dissects Chinese history without being overwhelming. Again, with a related fashion to the first chapter in both presenting the info and e third quickly goes over European and Russian history. This I was more familiar with, but still found helpful in sequencing historical e rest of the work was rushed and sparse on the details. That being said, this small book provided me with something that I lacked: a general knowledge of early history which now allows me to have fun and learn from more literature without confusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Globe History provides a amazing synopsis of globe history. I'd recommend this book to anyone who is looking to obtain an overview of a part of the globe they're not familiar with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    This book of history is concise (107 pages), to the point, and astonishingly broad in scope, covering the significant players and happenings in Western and Eastern civilization from early history to show day. It’s a amazing survey, and highly recommended if you are unfamiliar with the material or wish to give it to your children to create them knowledgeable about the world. Basically, it covers the who, what, where, and when of the most significant historical happenings that happened. It consists of an introduction and six concise chapters covering ancient history (Greece, Egypt, Roman Empire, Constantine and Christianity); Asian history (India and its evolution, Korea, and China (multiple dynasties); European and Russian history from the Middle Ages through Napoleonic Europe; American history (Native Americans and regional history); Australian history (British colonization, influx from other sources, Australian politics); and major battles (WWI, WWII, and Vietnam).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    I was very surprised that such a short read would be packed with so much information. Usually the history books are filled with a lot of info that isn't interesting, but this one had info that was not only interesting, but info that you would remember and tell your mates and family next time you see them. This book is one of the history books that you will be excited to read and if you can place it down, will wish to pick up almost immediately to hold on reading. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in history but don't wish to read about all of the boring parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Didn't expect much so I wasn't disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Recommended!A complete history of the world, condensed into Tapas style blurbs and almost as appetizing. Brown takes readers on a sightseeing tour of the defining cultural happenings for humans. The timeline of happenings stretches all of the method back to Ancient civilizations and progressing through the Nixon's administration in the United States and the end of the Vietnam War. The greatest bonus that Brown's work gives to readers is a contemptible, overarching view of the happenings which have brought the globe to where it is today. Happenings are separated into little paragraphs and enlightens the reader to how a lot of cultures were affected by singular globe events. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Amazing book. It is only 107 pages with so much history compacted into it. I think this book is amazing for kids to read as they learn various parts of history. This book has so much info that I had forgotten about. I'm not a huge history buff but because this book is little and had so much info it actually kept my attention. Amazing book for students or parents like me who need to remember happenings to support their children. I would recommend this to anyone especially history buffs and students learning fresh material. Amazing book to hold on hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I purchased this as a sort of supplemental reading for a survey class I'm taking. I was hoping this all-in-one history book would be easier for me to study from than my large textbook. It doesn't contain everything, of course, but it does do a amazing job of highlighting all the huge happenings in different points in history and even contains some info that other history books don't. I was surprised how much I learned from this. I really like how everything is laid out, it makes it very simple to follow. I especially like the section on Native Americans. Very concise. Overall I'd highly recommend this book by Adam Brown to anyone who wants to dip there toes in the history of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    This book of history is concise (107 pages), to the point, and astonishingly broad in scope, covering the significant players and happenings in Western and Eastern civilization from early history to show day. It’s a amazing survey, and highly recommended if you are unfamiliar with the material or wish to give it to your children to create them knowledgeable about the world. Basically, it covers the who, what, where, and when of the most significant historical happenings that happened. It consists of an introduction and six concise chapters covering ancient history (Greece, Egypt, Roman Empire, Constantine and Christianity); Asian history (India and its evolution, Korea, and China (multiple dynasties); European and Russian history from the Middle Ages through Napoleonic Europe; American history (Native Americans and regional history); Australian history (British colonization, influx from other sources, Australian politics); and major battles (WWI, WWII, and Vietnam).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I really loved how this book breaks down an overview of globe history. It covers periods of time through Egypt, Rome, Asia, India, Europe, Russia, America, and more.What is really amazing about this history book is that I have been able to give it to my son to support him have an overview of the history of the rest of the world. I like how concise the text is and the summaries of each era. It is a amazing homeschool resource or amazing for someone that needs a better understanding of the middle school son can read this book, but it wouldn't work well for my grade school kid to read on his own. It would be amazing for a read aloud session.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Interesting and sometimes even engaging, but it reads like a rough draft and the author presents some controversial opinions as if they are well established facts. Then again, it's the history of the globe ins very little volume. You can't expect too much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I'm the typical person who didn't like history in school very much as a kid, but like it now. The cover caught my eye and I hoped the book would be as exciting as its cover's artwork. It was. It gave me the overview of Globe history for which I was looking. I came away from the material with one overwhelming fact; The globe has been at WAR with each other, from day 1 up until now. We are a WARING SPECIES. I'm not saying it is necessarily always bad........ it just is what it is. When I finished the book I felt like the book could just as easily have been, The Battles of the World. Anyway, the Globe seems to be a giant "chess game" and it was interesting to see how the android game has been played from ancient times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Well written and short chapters with all the important facts for a important fast understanding of globe history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I bought this book, as an extra tool for one of my classes and I must say I am impressed. I was able to be more informed about the subjects talked about in class and for studying for exams. Within these 100 pages I was able to get and learn so much more info that helped me in class. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about globe history, whether it have to do with a class your taking or if you just wanted to expand your knowledge. With such a amazing experience buying this book, I will definitely be buying more of these types of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Dry as saw dust. Writing is cumbersome. I recommend “A small Hisory of the World” by E. H. Gombrick*****.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Very amazing book to read - tells the history in a very clear method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Expect it to be a mile wide but an inch deep - it's more of a general reference than a fleshed-out reads like a beautiful amazing high school term paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    Sex with the Queen was an entertaining journey through some of the most popular royal bedrooms in history. Covering women from Anne Boleyn to Catherine the Amazing to Diana Princess of Wales, Eleanor Herman brings to life the scandalous lives of royal women throughout history. Some were abused, unloved wives who just wanted to search some semblance of happiness in a globe where royal females were cattle to be sold to the highest bidder. Some were not so sympathetic and at least one was completely innocent of the accusations that killed her. I enjoyed this book throughly. It was an smart look at the underlaying reasons for such "scandalous" behavior. It once again brings to light how deploringly women have been treated throughout history. It certainly has all the ingredients to create a amazing soap opera: sex, love, betrayal, and money. It definitely helps to create history more interesting and that is always a positive thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    I love this series of books. They are witty, sad and unbelievable, well almost. I have fun this style of writing mixed with all kinds of scandalous politics, Kings, Queens and those commoners in between. What fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    Intriguing. Much more coherent than Eleanor Herman's previous book "Sex with Kings."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    Enjoyed this book. History can be so dull, but this certainly was not! As the saying goes..truth can be stranger than fiction!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    Eleanor Herman is a very amazing and funny writer.. This is totally entertaining non fiction, my favorite genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    there is nothing better than reading trashy historical non fiction. especially when its full of sex, murder, and tragedy. I've read it a few times already! while I have no idea how accurate any of this is... eh, who cares! I'll go read it again on the porch swing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    A amazing companion to "Sex with Kings".Full of amazing history, anecdotes, and full page portraits of the queens and their finitely will recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    I read this authors other book Sex with Kings and found it to be about mainly the same kings over and over again and this book doesn't stary too far from that setup either. Another book to pass the time with and I found some of the stories intersting but still would like some dozens in the people I read about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    I never read a book so fast! I couldn't place it down. LOVE this book. Hope to meet Eleanor Herman some day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sex with the Queen: 900 Years of Vile Kings, Virile Lovers, and Passionate Politics (P.S.) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:0

    It is well written and provides a fascinating look into the lives of royalty. This is actually my second copy, had to obtain a fresh one as my other was loaned out but not returned! Someone else apparently liked Ms. Herman's writing as much as I did!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I was unaware of the wonderful and almost superhuman life of General Alexander Dumas and its significance during the French Revolution and later the dictator Napoleon's reign. It is a shocking expose of freeing all peoples of color and then after using their spirit of freedom and hope to conquer their opponents are then stripped of that freedom and forced into third class citizenry and slavery again.Dumas is a battle hero! His exploits are written of and celebrated until the end when Napolean turns back the clock and reinforces systematic racism. This is one of the best history books I've read....kept my interest throughout the reading.I would definitely recommend to readers if history..... It was a real eye opener for e most striking thing about this is the likeness to modern day thinking and generally accepted norms. It is unsettling and is obviously not an isolated case. It is shameful history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This belongs on the needed reading list for students of French history. That a stalwart character of fiction could be brought to such a vivid true person existence is enlightening and entertaining. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas has enjoyed a long life on the reading lists of a lot of students. That story was based on the true life experiences of Alexander’s father, fictionalized as the title character, but this work covers the life and times of The Black Count. The son of a white Frenchman and a black slave mother was an asset during his youth, but with the advent of Napolean, his fortunes dwindled and the equality enjoyed by “men of color” were replaced with a French code too close to our own Jim Crow laws. If I could give it six stars, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I bought this on recommendation of a seller of another product I purchased on Amazon and loved it. It is a very interesting part of history that most people never hear. It is history but it is also woven in to a nice story that I think is enjoyable just in general. I typically read books and then pass them on simply to avoid having stacks and stacks of books. This one I intend to hold and read again at a later time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    A mate recommended this book to me, and I'm so glad she did. On the plus side, I learned, learned, learned. I had no idea that Dumas was part black, had no idea that his father was the son of a slave and a French aristocrat, no idea just how rotten Napolean could be. I learned more about the French revolution than I ever thought I even wanted to know. I learned info about Marie Antoinette, the French military, the oppression of the revolutionary forces.On the minus side, sometimes the writing was ponderous. I had a hard time keeping track of just what year it was, since the author jumped around a bit in time. I was reading on a kindle, so it was more difficult to go back and check when I realized things were a bit "off", at least in my ever, I do recommend the book. If you have to, skim through the more ponderous sections (for me that would be the military details) and you'll still beautiful much obtain the main point, namely that the Black Count was one hell of a leader, one hell of a fighter, one hell of a husband and father (however briefly he was home) and was royally screwed over by Napolean!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I almost didn't buy this book after reading some of the reviews here on Amazon nitpicking different info or, worse yet, suggesting that the book was overly pre-occupied with race--an immediate turnoff for me. I didn't search that to be real at all. It is a fascinating tale about a relatively unknown and uniquely interesting historical figure. It was also an simple method to learn about a part of history with which I was unfamiliar: the circumstances around the French revolution, the Terror, Robespierre, the guillotine and, of course, Napoleon. They are all here in a well-told story that reads like fiction (albeit it with a lot of detail and backstory). If that sort of detail is too much of a distraction for you, then just read James Patterson or Tom Clancy. If you wish to read a 300 page historical book without a single little error, then read....hmmmm......I don't know what. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed with Black Count.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book will change your understanding of a lot of things. #afromations Nehesu Nag-Negus El states that this book was so enjoyable that he could not place it down. the history is so rich that he can see why it would create historians upset by its potential classification. This book is more true than fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I'm glad I decided to pick up this book. It an awesome history of a forgotten General of the French Revolution. Mr. Reiss really brought this story to life, I didn't wish to place it down. My only true issue with the book are its lack of pictures, there are some maps but could have been more. I found myself having to stop from time to time to look up photos of people. It could just be my gripe, but when I'm reading about actual happenings and people I like to know that they looked like.I enjoyed reading this book. I have been a fan of Alexandre Dumas books and it was a treat to read about the man who influenced him and the was inspiration for a lot of of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I never knew much about Alexander Dumas, much less anything about his father, and I did not know much about the French Revolution. These happenings create for a fascinating read, and the biographical car gives the history much poignancy. The French Revolution led to a lot of enlightened milestones, including the granting of equal rights to blacks, a breakthrough that belatedly inspired rebellion versus France's extremely cruel system of slavery in its West Indies colonies. It also led to the liberation of the Jews from the ghettos, as well as greater rights for minorities, women and commoners wherever volution spread. At the same time, the revolution featured not good arbitrary cruelty and injustice, especially versus the Christian clergy and the wealthy, as guillotines were erected in towns ruled by the revolutionaries. A lot of innocent people were unjustly murdered. When Napoleon took the reins of power, liberty, equality and fraternity tended to be eclipsed by egomania, rank and empire. Of course, after Waterloo, Europe reverted to its old ways as the republican innovations were rescinded. Through it all, Alex Dumas, son of a slave woman and a white planter, Alexander Dumas's father, shone as a beacon of bravery, military brilliance, and fairness, embodying the ideals of the revolution as they were originally meant to be. His career tended to follow the arc of the revolution, ascending rapidly as revolutionary forces advanced, declining as Napoleon arose and corrupted republican practices, and then coming to a poor end as he was imprisoned for years in Italy on his method back from Napoleon's disastrous Egyptian venture, a stint that broke his health. Alexander Dumas based his popular novels on his father's life. The author demonstrates interesting biographical parallels with these works and is to be commended for his tireless and painstaking research efforts in uncovering the documents that enabled him to write this awesome book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This is a fascinating book both from the broader historical perspective and in its careful and detailed exposition of the life of General Dumas - a man of heroic stature (both literally and figuratively) who rose high and then was felled by those who should have valued him most, - particularly Napoleon Bonaparte. The roller coaster saga of the French handling of racial relations is by itself very interesting - and disturbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Besides having an exceedingly long title, I think the time was wrong for me to read this book. Wrapped up in other ideas and too much nonfiction reading on my plate, I had a difficult time getting into this book despite the fact that it is actually quite well om the slave-run plantations of Sainte Domingue (now Haiti) through the French Revolution, the Dumas family is traced and linked to every vital episode of the era. The author tells the story of General Dumas and points out happenings that inspired a lot of of the stories later written by his y political problems are thoroughly discussed, from the special French view of slavery to the origination of the terms "left" and "right" when ranking liberals and conservatives. Those who are fans of Alexander Dumas (the younger) and anyone interested in the French Revolution will have fun this deeply researched narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    As a historical fiction novelist, I have unique respect for writers of narrative nonfiction. Not only do they do far more exhaustive research, they show it in a manner that reads like fiction. (Perhaps their only disadvantage is that they can’t create things up!) I’ve long been a fan of Erik Larson’s work and can now add Tom Reiss to the list. He shot to fame with The Orientalist, and The Black Count is that rarity, a sensational sophomore effort. His topic is Thomas-Alexandre Dumas (1762-1806), born in Saint-Domingue (Haiti) to a black slave mother and white father. Dumas became one of the most illustrious and daring generals of his day, amazing enough to attract the envy of Napoleon himself. His story is that of the French Revolution, the fresh Republic, black and mixed-race rights in the eighteenth century (not what you might think), and the rise of Napoleon. Reiss’s vivid recreation of the ill-fated Egyptian campaign created my skin crawl, and reading about the War of the Nile was like watching an action movie. Writers of this genre don’t typically add their voice, but I enjoyed Reiss’s private remarks about his find for the amazing general’s past. Dumas has been called the “real” Count of Monte Cristo as written about by his illustrious son, Alexandre Dumas, but his real-life story is far richer and engaging. It’s also high time it was told.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter