Golden Age Marvel Comics. Reviews & Opinions


Submit Golden Age Marvel Comics. review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 7 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    In all the years I collected comics starting in the early 60's, I never once ran across an early 40's Timely...let alone one of the rarities collected in this volume. I would have loved to have had just one superhero issue. Any title from the battle years would have thrilled me to no end. I successfully hunted down Golden Age DC, Fawcett, Quality, Fiction House and a lot of others....but no luck at all finding any Timely issues. Occasionally one might pop up for sale in a fanzine within my modest means....but it was almost always gone before I could slap a stamp on an envelope. So the appeal of the Marvel Masterworks editions is irresistible. It's a possibility to go back and read these rare problems I never had a shot at owning as a this volume from late 1941 and early 1942 all the violently unbelievable covers are by Alex Schomburg. Comic book legends Bill Everett, Carl Burgos and Al Avison provide artwork in every issue. The forces of evil (aka the Axis nations) are met head-on by the Human Torch, The Sub-Mariner, The Vision and The Patriot among others. Anyone acquainted with Golden Age comics will know that the target shop was a bit younger then....well, a lot younger. So the bar is set somewhat lower in these stories. But that's just part of their historical charm. As is the (sometimes) extreme political incorrectness (check out problem #26 and The Angel's war with a Nazi double amputee!!!) So just re-adjust your perspective to that of a 12 year old child circa 1942...and you'll have a amazing time with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    two thirds of these reviews are for other editions of this book. this book was released in 2012 and is a beautifully illustrated reprinting of the original marvel comics/golden age human torch origin story as well as back up stories featuring other (more obscure) golden age marvel heroes. this recent line of marvel masterworks is what they should have been putting out all along, none of that overpriced, hardback, six problem a pop nonsense, or [email protected]#$% black and white phone book collections that the "essential" series st of these reviews are out of date, DON'T APPLY TO THE PRODUCT, and should be deleted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    The first Timely Comics were crude affairs and not worthy of the high price charged for the hard bound edition. But a trade paperback? That's what I'm talking about. See the beginnings of Globe Battle II's dynamic duo, The Human Torch and Sub-Mariner.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Golden Age Marvel Comics. or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Golden Age Marvel Comics. video reviews and related movies:

    See Marvel Golden Age Heros Top 20 part 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See MY GOLDEN AGE COMIC BOOK COLLECTION PART 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See DocuSeries 5: Hero's brought from the 1940s Golden Age to 1960s Marvel Age by Alex Grand on youtube.

     related image

    See Storage Wars More Comics Back from CGC Rare Marvel DC Golden Age X-men on youtube.

     related image

    See 10 Stupid Golden Age Heroes (Comics) on youtube.

     related image

    See Stan Lee's First Superhero: Lost Hero of the Golden Age Ep. 16 on youtube.

     related image

    See Project SuperPowers! Golden Age Heroes Are Back!!! on youtube.

     related image

    See DISCOVERY! Unboxing Golden Age Horror, Batman, Marvel Mystery Comic Books | SellMyComicBooks.com on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    My son loves it. Delivery was prior and book was in perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    I have some reprints of this original Human Torch, and it is amazing to be able to read such historic comics in such vivid color!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    NOTE: This review is in regards to the PAPERBACK edition.I have been buying all the Marvel Masterworks series since Marvel Comics started releasing them in paperback editions. (And thank you, whomever at Marvel realized there may be fans who wish these books, but who can't afford the hardback editions!) I knew I would be buying every single Silver Age volume...but I wasn't sure whether I would be purchasing the Golden Age and Atlas Era the release date for the Golden Age Marvel Comics volume approached, I decided I would buy it--after all, the beauty of the paperback editions is that they're beautiful affordable. Even if I regretted my purchase, it would be a little loss, and I would then know not to bother with future Golden Age volumes.Well, I can happily report I don't regret the purchase at all.While some of the features suffer from the fact most comics during the time were aimed at what was viewed as their only audience--children of the Depression and WWII era--there are some really amazing stories contained in these books. I found Bill Everett's Sub-Mariner (also an example of some of the best drawn Golden Age material, in my opinion) and the Ka-Zar features particularly criticism people cited regarding the hardback edition of this volume--and which created me hesitate in regards to purchasing the paperback edition--had to do with the quality of the art reproduction. While I don't have a copy of the hardback edition, and I don't have copies of the original comics, I have seen a digital scan of an original copy of the second problem of Marvel Comics. The digital copy was well scanned--not a not good quality microfiche copy--and I got a clear indication of the detail of the art in the original comics. Based on this, I was impressed with the quality of the art reproduction when I received my copy of this volume. If the quality of the art reproduction was really so not good with the hardback edition, I can't support but assume Marvel took the time to fix that problem with the paperback edition.While I'll still be "playing it by ear" in regards to other Golden Age/Altas Era volumes, this book has helped me decide to purchase future volumes of the Golden Age Marvel Comics series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    With the medium of comic books exploding, and the genre of super-heroes combusting right along with it, a lot of publishers entered the comic book field. One such person, Martin Goodman, a publisher of pulp magazines, contracted for material for his own line of comics. The line was called Timely. The first offering was "Marvel Comics", an anthology book that featured a mix of super-heroes, westerns, and detectives. In doing so, Goodman and his creators inadvertently laid a corner stone for one of the most famous comic book universes to arise in rvel has produced five series of golden age Masterworks. They inaugurated their series with this, "Golden Age Marvel" Vol. 1, which reprinted in their entirety the first four problems of "Marvel Comics." Well, "Marvel Comics" #1, and then "Marvel Mystery Comics" #s 2-4, as the title had changed: a common practice in the golden is series introduced three major super-hero characters: the Human Torch, the Sub-Mariner, and the Angel. Truthfully, while Angel was important, he was relegated to the second tier when Captain America was introduced a year later. The Torch and the Sub-Mariner stayed huge sellers for the remainder of the golden 's not hard to see why. First, as DC had created it impossible to blatantly ape Superman, other creators had to search fresh takes on super-heroes very quickly. In this case, Timely (rather ahead of its time) made characters who found doing the right thing wasn't always simple (admittedly, Superman did some rather strange things in his early days). Carl Burgos' Human Torch was an android device who, thanks to a design flaw, burst into flames when he created contact with the air. While the hero meant well, initially he was an unintentional menace, as his flame was so hot that it could melt all metals in his immediate vicinity. Eventually, he learned to control his powers quickly, and used them to combat evil. Oddly, although the Torch only graced the first cover of "Marvel", he had the highest page count; nearly fifteen or so pages. The popularity of the hero was such that Stan Lee and Jack Kirby based their own Johnny Storm, the Human Torch of the Unbelievable Four, on the Burgos character. Of the huge three from Timely, Torch had the hardest time catching on again e other real classic from this volume is Bill Everett's Sub-Mariner. In contrast with the Torch, Prince Namor was from a water-breathing race that held the surface globe responsible for the tragedy that had befallen his people. Thus, he started out as something of a villain, wreaking havoc on surface folk, often murdering those who opposed him. However, he soon shifted gears when he concluded some surface dwellers were worse than others, and he began a battle versus the Axis. Everett's art is some of the sharpest line-work to be found in the golden age. Unfortunately, the coloring didn't always bring that out. In the first Sub-Mariner stories, the underwater setting led to a massive use of dark blues and greens, frequently blurring the action. As time progressed, the color scheme grew more realistic, and the pencils were allowed to speak for themselves. Namor remains a famous favorite in comics, although he's still not always a mate to e third super-hero, the Angel, was actually a more straightforward vigilante. The art by Paul Gustavson is quite sharp, supporting some very interesting action tales. The Angel is actually quite violent. In his first story, he is hired by a community that is being preyed upon by a gang of racketeers. Angel simply kills the gang's leaders. Never one of Timely's huge guns, Angel nonetheless had a lengthy career. His penchant for violence led him to finance his own vigilante gang in later years.Of course, Goodman wasn't putting all his eggs in the super-hero basket. Other features shared "Marvel" with the super-types. The "Masked Raider" was a western series that overtly aped the Lone Ranger, as the Raider rode around righting wrongs. "Ka-Zar the Great" was actually based on a pulp novel, and nakedly aped (pardon the puns) Tarzan. Later on, the robot Electro, and the PI Ferret were introduced. However, while Ka-Zar was revised dramatically, only the super-heroes continued on more or less unchanged.I applaud Marvel's decision to reprint their golden age material. I disagree with the criticism that the reprinting is shabby. It is not. Rather, the original production process of the comic books was quite primitive. As the volume progresses, the quality takes a dramatic up-swing. Consider the early Superman stories in their Archives--many of the same flaws exist from 1938 to about 1940. Marvel's product is a fine bundle of goodies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Ok...this was a true bummer for me. The reproduction is terrible. The line art looks...well, I can only describe it as pixelated. Like the they were working from some low-res digital images of the original comics as the source material for the book. Still, I was in the mood to be forgiving. It was only when I compared this edition to an earlier Marvel reprint of Marvel Comics #1 published in 1990 (ISBN 0-87134-729-1) that I got totally bummed. The 1990 edition is really nice. The lines are clean, the color is clean. It's like the total opposite of this. If you're looking for clean reproduction and can live with a reprint of only one issue, find out that at stated, the stories are great. These early Sub Mariner stories are incredible, the Human Torch is totally bizarre, the Angel, Ka-Zar--almost surreal. Still, if it were a $15.00 paperback, that'd be one thing. As a $30+ hardcover, I'd say check it out from the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Marvel really dropped the ball with this one. This volume includes some comics not seen since they were originally published, over fifty years ago. Unfortunately, the reproduction of the artwork in this volume is hideous. The artwork is splotchy and looks like it was xeroxed. It's too poor Marvel couldn't invest a small time and effort in this rare material like DC has done with their very high quality Archives. I'm giving this book one star just because of the scarcity of the material it contains. What a disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Must have for comic book historians.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    I saw this book at a book shop and decided to check it out. I was considering buying it; however, my experience with comic reprints cautioned me to be wary of the quality of print. Unfortunately, this book is pathetic in its reproduction. The printing is so poor that it detracts from any enjoyment of these old comics. I had to abandon the whole idea of buying it. The poor far outweighed the good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I love this book. I bought a graded copy which I can not begin up (because it's sealed) so I bought this MARVEL MASTERWORKS so I could read the comic book. Thank you again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Perfect reprint of some interesting golden age characters. Reading the Marvel Masterworks for a lot of of their golden age titles has shown me that while they were dominated by Captain America. The Torch and the Sub-Mariner. Timely/Marvel had afairly amazing stable of characters, a lot of of which we didn't see Roy Thomas touch upon in the seventies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Perfect service! Love these comics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Like a lot of of the early Timely Comic titles, among them Daring Mystery, USA at first has no regular line-up of strips appearing problem to issue. A lot of appearances were one-shots. USA Comics was one of those in its earliest days, so the problems presented here give the reader a possibility to obtain a rare peak of what worked for Timely and what didn't. Some heroes were not well written or thought out, but were more or less "a stab in the dark," some catching on, a lot of not. That is what makes this volume a MUST HAVE and MUST READ by the Golden Age comics fan, and by the Marvel reader of today. Every company "had its roots," so to speak, and to appreciate Marvel's heroes of today [for amazing or bad], one must know of the past and see what has come before. This volume is a amazing method of doing this....being able to see MORE than just the Torch, Capt. America and the Sub-Mariner, the main-stays for the company down through the years. Seeing is believing, and you'll dig this amazing tome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    A very funny cavalcade that share with us the now-almost-forgotten other heroes of Timely-Atlas-Marvel!A must-have for all the Golden Age fans!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    The printing is terrible. Why can't Marvel take the time to produce quality reprints like D.C.? The artwork looks blotchy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Marvel already had Marvel Mystery Magazine, and solo titles for Sub-Mariner, Captain America, and the Golden Age Human Torch. Narvel comics honcho Martin Goodman was never one to settle for amazing enough and so USA comics was yet another one of the comics and this book collects Problems 1-4, each containing multiple was home to a lot of second tier material and characters and at least in a couple of places, , but the book was not without its charm. The first three problems featured long stories of nearly twenty pages, a rare thing in the golden age, allowing for complex plots. So let's dig into the highlights and lowlights of this book:1) Rockman: This is a cool character who really could have been developed further. Rockman was leader of an underground kingdom who surfaced (ha ha) when learning about the dangers of the coming war. The design and powers of the characters were cool. With a better creative team, this could have emerged. It's not quite the Destroyer, but still a amazing small feature.2) The Whizzer: Marvel's golden age speedster superhero acquired his power after getting injected by mongoose blood. The hero was really one of the best of Marvel's second tier golden age characters and his origin story (silly as it is) is here.3) Captain Terror: This hero appeared only in Problems 2-4, but was memorable. In his real life identity Dan Kane, he was not allowed to join the Navy due to his heart troubles and is persistently turned down when trying to support the country. However as Captain Terror, he's able to take on the opponents of America and be a heroic figure. The hero is just inspiring and I can't support but wonder if in the back of his mind, Stan Lee wasn't inspired by this hero when he made his own character with heart problems, Iron Man. Lee was a young man at the time, working for Marvel and even wrote a couple stories in this book.4) Corporal Dix: This feature only appeared in Problem 4 but was actually beautiful well-done and endearing. Dix is a tough soldier on furlough and spending time with his small brother whose falling in with a poor crowd. It's a sweet, moving, and patriotic tale. I've read that there's more about him in the 2nd volume of USA comics which gives him a promotion to Sergeant.5) Jack Frost: This is where I become a small less positive. Frost was a decent enough hero and his ice powers were fun to watch, and the story in Problem 4 was particularly good, but really he seemed to be like an ice ver of the sub-mariner with a very related personality.6) The Vagabond: A story about law enforcement officer who disguises himself as a hobo, and often the disguise just doesn't create any sense. It seems a small dumb.7) The Defender: His story was actually a 19-page cover in USA comics #1 and was a prime example of Marvel ripping off itself. The Defender was dressed in a red, white, and blue costume and fought evil alongside a boy sidekick who looked almost identical (except for hair color) to Bucky. In addition, the costume is just atrociously designed. Red and white striped pants aren't patriotic. The thought behind this seemed, "To be a character like Captain America except in the Marines, without the super soldier serum, and in a poorly designed costume." The scripts were weaker versions of Captain America stories. The only amazing thing I can say for the book is that it really created me appreciate the elegance and timelessness of Jack Kirby's design for Captain America even more.And the one-shot features, "The Young Avenger" and "Powers of the Press" are both forgettable.Overall, the collection has some amazing points such as Captain Terror and the Whizzer's origin that create it a decent book, but certainly not one that's worth its retail price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Who hasn't thrilled to the golden age adventures of Rockman, Young Avenger, Major Liberty, and Captain Terror? What's that you say, you haven't? Or you? Or you? Therein lies both the interest in this collection of golden age comics and the explanation for why it falls is collection reprints problems 1-4 of U.S.A. Comics, which began publication in 1941. Timely (now Marvel) Comics had a large hit on their hands with Captain America and hoped to capitalize on Cap's success with an entire comic's worth of patriotic superheroes. Unfortunately, just slapping a red, white, and blue outfit on someone and sending him out to punch Nazis without the backstory and care given to Captain America created for lackluster stories and clearly forgettable e collection begins with the Defender, the worst of the Cap knock-offs. While his name doesn't scream patriotism the method Cap's does, his red, white, and blue uniform (with "USA" printed down the front in the first adventure) leaves no doubt. Captain America hides his identity by posing as a low ranking solider in the Army? The Defender hides his identity by posing as a low ranking solider in the Marines. Captain America has a costumed child sidekick named Bucky? The Defender has a costumed child sidekick named Rusty. This would perhaps be forgivable if the stories were stellar or even better than average, but they are poorly plotted and, in the case of the Defender, the most racist golden age stories I have yet read (which given the sad standards of the golden age is really saying something).The Young Avenger story in the first problem (his first and latest comic book appearance) is a useable example of how poorly these stories are written. The story begins in the den of Nazi agents plotting to blow up key American industrial centers, but what's this? A shadow overhears them! The shadow then flits to the Young Avenger's apartment, wakes him up with a warning of what the Nazis are up to, and then Young Avenger is off to stop them. Who or what is this mysterious shadow? No idea, as it isn't seen again after Young Avenger suits up and heads out to war Nazis. Do shadows report to the Young Avenger as part of his powers? Does this one shadow just really hate Nazis so it legged it over to Young Avenger of its own accord? If you'd like to know, you're asking too much; the plot here being "give Young Avenger a reason to punch Nazis and then Young Avenger punches Nazis." This throwaway storytelling, prevalent throughout this collection, explains why these superheroes have mostly been forgotten and why this collection isn't going to appeal to the average comic book fan, even those with an interest in golden age ere are some redeeming elements here, however. The Jack Frost story in the first problem was written by Stan Lee, one of his first comic book credits. Rockman has an interesting concept (though the stories are formulaic), and I genuinely enjoyed the stories of the Vagabond, a character who hides his real identity by dressing up as a hobo. Also, Major Liberty's super power (forgotten in two of his four stories in which he is just a Captain America knockoff dressed Revolutionary Battle style) is to call forth patriotic ghosts to support him war Nazis, and as a native Vermonter, I was amused to see the ghosts of Ethan Allen and the Green Mountain Boys kick some Nazi e only two heroes appearing in these four problems that I had heard of before were Jack Frost (who Roy Thomas used in the Liberty Legion in the 1970s) and the Whizzer, Marvel's respond for the Flash, who became the only character in this book (despite a truly unfortunate name) to search at least a smidgen of golden age success (with stories appearing in All Winners Comics alongside stories of Captain America, the Sub-Mariner, and the Human Torch). The first problem here includes his first appearance, however, and he is even given an origin story, albeit it a lame one: he gained his super speed when his father injected him with mongoose blood (don't test this at home kids!).In a nutshell, I wouldn't recommend this to the average modern comic reader--whose taste for even the best of golden age stories may be limited--but I also wouldn't recommend this to someone who regularly reads golden age stories, as the ones here really are subpar. However, if you're a huge fan of golden age superheroes and wish to fill in your collection with some tales of forgotten heroes you are unlikely to come across anywhere else then this may be for you. It is a hardcover book with glossy color pages, though, so the accompanying retail price may scare off all but the most determined of golden age fans. I was fortunate enough to obtain my copy for more than half off the retail price. Otherwise this isn't something I would have picked up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    "The mightiest troops of red-blooded patriots ever assembled under one cover! Gathered together from those halcyon days when comic books were all in color for a dime."As our units met the menace of the Axis powers on the land, sea and air, back home the nation's adolescent readers took comfort in the daring exploits of: The Defender (by Al Avison, Al Gabriele, George Klein & Joe Simon), The Whizzer (by Al Avison, Al Gabriele & Howard James), Mr. Liberty (by Phil Sturm, Syd Shores & George Klein), Rockman (by Basil Wolverton, Stan Lee & Charles Nicholas), Young Avenger (by Howard Purcell), Jack Frost (by Stan Lee, Charles Nicholas, Frank Giacoia, Carmine Infantino, Pierce Rice & Louis Cazenueve), Captain Terror (by Mike Suchorsky), Major Liberty (by Syd Shores & George Klein) and Vagabond (by Ed Winiarski.) These were Timely Comics (Marvel Comics' granddad) greatest Nazis-smashers brought to the page by comics' most talented writers and artists of the rvel Masterworks: U.S.A. Comics Vol. 1 reprints U.S.A. Comics problems 1-4 in all it's patriotic four-color glory and is a must have for any Marvel comic fan or early comic book enthusiasts who have enjoyed vintage comic collections like @#$% Briefer's The Creature of Frankenstein or Monster Masterworks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 2 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    By this volume USA comics had done away with the test out scenario that had been it's staple. The series was marvels tryout of fresh features , most of them superheroes. Few of them were successful and so the series became another Captain America title with amazing backups in it. The restoration is unbelievable here , with each page looking really amazing and nicely restored , each one features cool wartime stories as well. Hopefully marvel will eventually reprint all of their golden age stories because even if you could search these stories , they would VERY expensive to buy. Here you pay a decent price and obtain to read them in a unbelievable looking masterworks edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 2 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    It is a amazing collection of four problems from Timely Comics in the Golden Age.I enjoyed the two Destroyer (Keen Marlow) stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 2 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    The second volume of the Marvel Masterworks series reprinting USA Comics is massive on wartime propaganda, primarily in the South Seas/Guadalcanal area. Captain America takes center scene as the star of the book, though costumed heroes like the Whizzer, the Secret Stamp, the Fighting Hobo, and the Destroyer back him up, as do a lot of more mundane military features. Sgt. Dix, Captain Daring and the unfortunately named "Jap-Buster" Johnson support fill out the four has to read these stories with an eye toward the era they were made in, and the reasons they were famous at the time. This was basically military propaganda for both the home front and the units overseas, so they stories do tend to be very jingoistic and the opponent is treated and portrayed as either incompetent or inhuman, Japanese and German both.If you can obtain past the institutionalized racism and propaganda, you'll search some well-crafted golden age stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 2 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    While some of the stories keep small interest for me, this is an anthology series and that is to be expected. What I wish to create clear is how happy I am with the folks at Marvel publishing for turning out these BEAUTIFUL volumes of ultra-rare Golden Age material. Hold up the amazing work. You've created me a fan for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age U.S.A. Comics Masterworks Vol. 2 (USA Comics (1941-1945)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    I've reviewed a lot of Golden Age comic book collections, but few have left me scratching my head as much as this book, which collects problems 5-8 of Timely's USA e fact is that no single feature appears in all 4 issues, though a few appear in 2 or e highlight of the book is, without a doubt, the full length Captain America stories in Problems 6-8 and adventures of the Destroyer in Problems 6 and 8. The cover for Problem 7 is particularly iconic with Bucky parachuting in with Captain [email protected]#$%!&ing a machine gun at the enemy. Ah, now that's what boys want! :)Beyond that, the book is a hodgepodge of weirdness. There's the usually amusing Jeep Jones. The bizarre and varied adventures of Sergeant Dix, the non-sensical weirdness of three strangely dressed "Victory Boys." The utterly bizarre Blue Blade who (as Globe Battle II demanded) fought the Axis shirtless and with a sword. We have two fresh "Secret Stamp stories" which has the Secret Stamp moving beyond his typical repertoire of ferreting out spies that refuse to buy stamps. And then there's the lead hero least likely to be revived by Marvel any time in the future. ("Jap Buster" Johnston.) There's also a few one shot stories. I liked, "Death in the Coral Sea" in Problem 6 which centers on American sailors trying to survive a sinking.Overall, these aren't the best Golden Age stories, but it gives you a flavor of the era: The mix of amazing stories, patriotism, stories that are offensive by modern standards, silly stories, stories so poor they're good, and stories so poor they're bad. You'll search a small bit of everything in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    This volume is a amazing follow-up to the 1st, beginning with the classic War Problem #5 vs the Sub-Mariner. Amazing story telling and art. This volume features the amazing talents of Burgos and Everett, and others, and the Human Torch material is especially nice to see reprinted for the 1st time in over 65 years. Whoever drew the 2nd Torch story in #6 tried to follow the style of Burgos almost to a T. A must have for the fan of Timely material.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    Perfect 1940s Adventures captures the feel of the Second Globe Battle with a lot of color, action, classic clean storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    This book collects Problems 5-8 of Timely's Quarterly All Winners Comics from Summer 1942-Spring 1943. As the introduction notes, there was a huge shuffle of talent at Timely as a lot of talented artists and writers were called away to serve their country including the ever-talented Stan ever, the books themselves had a beautiful consistent lineup. Each book features Marvel's huge 3: Captain America, Sub-mariner, and the Human Torch, plus the Destroyer. Three of the four problems contained stories from the Whizzer, while one debuted a forgetable one-shot e stories were mostly centered on wars versus Nazis and the Japanese to a degree rarely seen in these collections. Of the 20 stories in this collection, all but two were Battle related.I'll talk about this book and review each character's performance from my favorite to least favorite:1) The Destroyer: The Destroyer is probably the most underrated golden age character and even with the other huge characters in his here. His stories stand out. Problem 5 is just amazingly well-written as the Destroyer has nearly everyone thinking he's someone else which he uses to amazing result versus the Germans. Problem 6 takes on a truly nasty supervillainous robot. In Problem 7 has the Destroyer singlehandedly thwarting a Nazi invasion of Switzerland (also features a amazing splash page intro). And then in Problem 8 he takes on Hitler. Of course, this isn't the only Hitler guest appearance in the book but the Destroyer takes on Attila the Hun and Satan to essence, the Destroyer could give amazing lessons to Batman. Marvel ought to collect all of his adventures scattered across 9 titles into one book.2) Captain America: I love Captain America and these stories work. Captain America splits his time between battling the Nazis twice and the Japanese twice in imaginative tales of battle with a bit of horror mixed in in a couple stories. The Mock Mikado Strikes" (Issue 6) is the one that stretches credulity. A descendant of a prior Emperor of Japan actually conquers California with the support of a little gang of horseback riding Japanese, though Cap takes care of that.3) Sub-mariner: Sub-mariner has stopped his prewar menacing of Americans, but he's still somewhat edgier than the other heroes in a method that works. Problem 6 is somewhat notable as the Sub-mariner spends most of the problem clothed in a suit as he works undercover for Navy Intelligence. It was somewhat annoying that had Namor choosing to sleep on a land as a major plot point in Problem 5. But it's probably a geeky point.4) The Human Torch: Overall, the Torch stories are all battle stories and typical solid ventures for one of Timely's flagship character. Nothing unique about them. What stands out is the splash in Problem 6 which was just some nice artwork.5) The Whizzer: The Whizzer appeared in 5, 7, and 8. Problem 5 was somewhat noteworthy because the Whizzer wore a cape, which really isn't a amazing accessory for a speedy superhero. The Whizzer the was the only one who fought criminals as opposed to opponent agents, only fighting the Nazis in Problem 7.6) The Black Avenger: Somewhat of a pointless character. The story was decent, but I really had a question as to why they introduced this. The Black Avenger just seemed to be an acrobatic guy in a costume with a black hood. They'd already introduced a guy in a black costume called the Black Marvel. So, not certain the point. The only thing to say for the Black Avenger is that when Spider-man: The Animated Series brought back the Black Marvel, the costume looked more like the Black Avenger'is book also has a couple other features. First, Nazi executions are dealt with and the book pretends that Hitler was guillotining people, but the truth was far worse. Also, as needed by the then-law, each book contained a text story. Two of these were by Mickey Spillane who'd go on to write Mike Hammer including a delightful fantasy about a young man going to the moon in Problem 5.Overall, these are some amazing wartime comics and not to be missed for the unbelievable Destroyer stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    The marvel heroes take on the axis powers in these globe battle era comics. The artoworks is restored here and you obtain a lot of amazing artists in this one. Bill everret , jack Kirby and a lot of others! The main heroes are all here , the human torch, captain America and the submariner. This is a fine addition to any comics fan library. These are printed on a lot better paper than the original comics and of course 99% of the globe couldn't afford to buy the original comics that these stories are reprinted from. AND those comics are beyond rare. So obtain this one if you wish some solid wartime action!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    The Golden Age's greatest Axis fighters, The Human Torch and Toro, Captain America and Bucky, the Sub-Mariner, the Destroyer, the Whizzer, Miss America and the 3xs are collected once again in this second volume reprinting #5-9 of THE ALL WINNERS COMICS, with scripts by Stan Lee, Carl Burgos, Jack Kirby, Joe Simon and Bill Everett with dynamic artwork from Jack Kirby, Carl Burgos, Al Avison, Joe Simon, Bill Everett, Jack Binder, Paul Gustavson, Mike Sekowsky and Bob is 264 page star-spangled- anthem is a must have for any Marvel comic fan or early comic book enthusiasts who have enjoyed vintage comic collections like @#$% Briefer's The Creature of Frankenstein or Monster Masterworks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    not as amazing as the first 2 volumes but still worth under 20 dollars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    I was surprised when Marvel Comics sent me a copy of the hard covered book, "All Winners #3", and amazed when I saw my name on the cover and reproduction of my early work inside. After all, I did draw for the company and Stan Lee in my younger years. Fans, you will be delighted with this book with the early work of myself and others.Oh yes, I plan to participate in the International Comic-Con in San Diego this July, and look for me in Artists Alley and bring the book and I will be delighted to sign it.With best wishes to all,Allen Bellman

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    This book collects Problems 9-14 of Timely's Quarterly comic All Winners, featuring stories with the Human Torch, Sub-Mariner, and Captain America from Summer 1943-Winter 1944/1945. The book has some more stories, but if you're looking for the best Golden Age comic books this is a collection to skip. The draft had taken a toll on Timely's writers and also the magazine had a far less engaged editor than the drafted Stan Lee.1) The Human Torch only appeared in five of the six issues, but I think his stories were probably the best. He kept mostly to battling typical battle time foes, but this was done with the gusto. The best story in the book was Sky Demons over America which has the Torch battling the Hawk, who's a superb looking villain. There's a attractive spread of a aircraft carrier early in the story.2) The Submariner probably has the largest artistic issues in the book. His head just seemed to grow more and more out of proportion as the battle went on. Still, his stories aren't half bad. A very nice tale has Sub-mariner trying to convince the Germans he's got tired of fighting for the allies (You could almost believe it with him.) In Problem #11, the Sub-mariner began to use alliterative interjections at an alarming rate (all similar to the sea.) These interjections included Sleeping Salamanders, Shriveling Shrimp, and Galloping Guppies. (All that on one page.) Overall, these aren't amazing Sub-mariner stories but again solid.3) Captain America really has an uneven quality about him. The first three stories are ho hum. Whoever was writing Cap during the battle had lost track of what created the hero so appealing so when we were only getting a plain adventure strip. Things picked up a small bit with Problem #12's "Four Trials of Justice" in which the Red Skull returns to war the Four Freedoms. Problem #13 comes closest to capturing the Simon/Kirby style with a true horror story. Problem 14 is a dumb story that's battle propaganda that depends on people throwing away puzzles when it's found out they're created in Japan.4) The Whizzer: These six-seven page stories were mostly filler. The best one of them was in Problem 13 where a angry scientist sets elaborate traps for Timely's speedster.5) The Destroyer: Without Stan Lee, this hero went downhill. The stories are dull and fairly hoe hum affairs, with a amazing moment or two thrown in. He was only in four problems and that was a e book contains some fine cover art, a few public service announcements featuring Captain America, and some bland text stories. The book has as much politically incorrect material as any other book in the era.Overall, this isn't poor but there are much better collections out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    this volume reprints all winners # 9-14 and you obtain alot of standard wartime comics from marvel of the day. WIth heroes like the human torch, the whizzer, destroyer and others providing the action. Every problem features unpolitically correct stories in which the axis foes are depicted as less than human. But that was wartime and overall these remain fun tales from a bygone era. the art is amazing generally if you tried to buy these vintage comic books the price would be enough for amazing downpayment on a house probably so it's a amazing thing they are putting them out in reprint form. another amazing thing is that these are not scans from old comics that look poor but really well remastered panels that look better than ever. The stories are not as complex as todays comics but these superhero tales are still amazing reads and worth checking out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    I'm a large fan of Marvel characters and the method this android game is designed is really amazing as I can play with superheros I like and really cherish the gameplay. The best part is the gauntlet. I really loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    nice game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    highly addictive!! very amazing design and video test

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    Childhood memories refreshed. Amazing work squad !! 👌

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    Amazing Android game with a concept not found in a lot of apps. I really liked the gauntlet design. Hold it up guys 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Superhero Battle |Captain Marvel| MARVEL|DC COMICS review [App]  2019-3-2 21:23

    DC Universe and Marvel joins up in a Multiverse war card android game application best application in the globe based on comic book folklore and a geek who died for this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Was amazing at first, became very wonky in the latest couple months. Very small support. Security is also questionable, password changed in its own today, had to change it to obtain into account. Also lost purchase history latest month, was restored, but took about 5 days to fix. Still running into the issue of lost purchase history, a issue that is at least 3 years old that has never been fixed. Was just charged 10.99 for an item that was listed for 3.99.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    The content is great; however, I have not received a response to the constant application issue, where I can't read past purchases because they're not opening. I also can't rate my purchases.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Sometimes the comic has weird transitions. Sometimes the application is confusing, but it mostly works well and is clear to use. I like having the comics electronically.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    i've entered my password correctly and it keeps saying incorrect credentials, Annoying !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    the best method to read comics on the street and when you have time off.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Doesn't remember my latest page since updating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Before downloading i thought all comics was free but it was very expensive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    the worst android game l ever had in my mobile don't download the application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Excellent for a Spider-Man fan like me 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    This application is awesome when im bored at school i just read my comics 5 stars for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    it would be a five if I dodnt jave to randomly delete and re-install the application brcause it deletes comics i purchased

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Amazing application want I could integrate my entire Marvel library to see it in GV mode awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    The application wont connect to the internet so i can't create an acc or do anything on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing application love the panel to panel reading option just want their was a widget for your home screen

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Perfect App! I like the various options of panning and zooming through the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Obtain method to take your comics with you when you don't wish to hurt them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    This application sucks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Brilliant, comics on the go. Hours and hours of comics at my fingertips, what's not to like?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    awesome every comic I love at a touch of my finger thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Ready to read and dream!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    #worst

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Amazing comics, lik liked the !"zoom in on one segment" veiw

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    [email protected]#$%! was easier to read on phone too much zooming in and out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Amazing and simple method to take, my comics on the go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Amazing selection. Simple to use. Needs The Dark Turret

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    I love this application and all the comics of my childhood

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    The application is solid. Love Marvel comics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    awesome. amazing to read comics anywhere anytime

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    good, love all the sales.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Very amazing comic😎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing all round.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    It's awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    gain

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Getting Better!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Just awsome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Comics review [App]  2019-1-11 13:15

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    The excellent bedtime-browsing book as well as an ideal bonus for anyone you know who loves a amazing classic mystery, The Golden Age of Murder is a fabulous social history of the founders of the popular Detection Club, written by its Archivist, contemporary mystery writer Martin Edwards. Far more than a recounting of who published what when, this book traces the personal lives of a lot of notable writers, informs us of what life was like in Amazing Britain in the 1920s and 30s, and finds connections between real-life happenings and fictional detective stories. It is fascinating, informative, and a lot of fun.Edwards is not shy about describing mysteries and scandals in these writers' lives, but neither is he sensationalistic about it. We learn in measured terms the story of Dorothy L. Sayers's "bitter sin," for instance, and its reverberations throughout the rest of her working and personal life. We learn of writers' affairs, sexual orientations, passions, and jealousies, but all with an eye to how this played out in their work and in their public personae as members of the Detection Club. Scandal is always told in the service of literary knowledge, with the effect that the reader feels as if he or she is a trusted member of the club rather than a prurient of all, Edwards is very amazing about evoking the flavor of the times. The flamboyance of these Golden Age writers is mirrored by the times in which they lived. We learn about the fad for games, the advent of creative and really exciting advertising, the austerity movement, and the darkening political climate, all of which informed how these writers lived and wrote. The level of detail is very satisfying: we obtain to know how much people paid in rent and earned at their jobs, what they wore and how others responded to it. This creates an immediacy which gives the book even greater evitably, there is some repetition of information, but this is really not a book to wander around in (though the temptation is almost overwhelming!) as much as to sit and read, cover to cover, over time. Luckily, there are amazing indices, though the chapter end-notes are disappointingly brief. Edwards is careful not to contain too a lot of spoilers about the mysteries themselves, but this is frustrating for the reader who wonders, for instance, "Which Anthony Berkeley novel was so shocking that Hitchcock had to sanitize the ending for the film version?" Of course, half the point is to obtain us to read these Golden Age novelists, a lot of of whom are virtually forgotten today. The other half, I suspect, is to wink at fellow Golden Age enthusiasts who know the works backwards and forwards, but perhaps did not realize the background of some of their favorite mystery novels, nor the story of the people who wrote them.I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in classic mysteries or in the Long Weekend of Britain between the wars. Entertainingly written, packed with info and illustrations (including photographs, diary entries, signatures, original book covers, and other fascinating stuff), it is a treat to be treasured.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    It is often said that the “Golden Age of Detective Fiction” took put in between the two Globe Wars. For my money, such a characterization is far too simplified and gives rise to a narrative created famous by Julian Symons’ "Bloody Murder", which treats Golden Age fiction like some freak of nature which popped up between the two globe battles because [insert pet sociological theory here]. I cringe whenever this view of the genre’s history is brought up, all too often by authors eagerly assuring you that their items transcends all that silly puzzle nonsense and Asks Really Deep e truth is, the Golden Age was a time of amazing dozens and experimentation within the genre, and The Detection Club was formed in the late 20s in England. The exclusive club gave authors a possibility to socialize, and since membership was attained only by secret ballot, it was also a method to ensure the quality of the genre remained high. Martin Edwards’ "The Golden Age of Murder" looks at the men and women who were members of The Detection Club during the Golden Age. It’s an enormous project, one which might overwhelm a lesser e amazing news is, it’s a amazing read. This book is a love letter to the classic books and authors. Martin Edwards has clearly read his items and knows a lot about it. He examines the members of the Detection Club and looks at their work and how it reflected their desire to innovate. He talks about well-known writers like Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers, but he also extensively discusses the work of such members as Henry Wade and Anthony Berkeley, who are known to a smaller circle of e book is written with enthusiasm, warmth, and humour. Along the way, Martin Edwards debunks several false narratives about the Golden Age. For instance, he denounces the oft-parroted claim that this was a time dominated by “Crime Queens,” and takes the time to seriously look at neglected writers such as John Rhode, Freeman Wills Crofts, and John @#$%son ere are limitations to a project like this. Despite the book’s enormous size, Edwards cannot cover everything. His scope requires the omission of some things and the considerable simplification of others. However, any complaints I have in this zone would be largely in the nit-picking territory; Edwards manages to sidestep the pitfalls other genre surveys fall into.I was particularly delighted at all the true-crime scholarship throughout the book. Martin Edwards has done an absolutely brilliant job digging through the real crimes which inspired these writers and some of their plots. There are some familiar cases, such as the Dr. Crippen affair and the Charles Bravo poisoning, but then there are some cases which are much more obscure, such as the death of Cecil Hambrough (which may or may not have been murder), or the murder of Emily Kaye.I did not obtain a review copy in advance. Thus, my Kindle edition was downloaded to my device at midnight on May 7th. As I write this review, it is currently 6:30 PM on May 9th. My point is, I have already finished this 448-page book, and I found it irresistible reading, very hard to place down. Martin Edwards has succeeded in making "The Golden Age of Murder" a veritable page-turner. So much of his passion for the genre has been transferred to the page that it created for a true pleasure to read.Overall, "The Golden Age of Murder" is a very amazing overview of the members of the Detection Club during the Golden Age. Though there are some limitations to this project because of its sheer enormity, Martin Edwards is more than up to the challenge. This is a work of passion, a work which I hope will do much to revise lazy narratives about the history of detective fiction. If you are a casual fan just dipping your toe into the waters of classic mysteries, or if you’re a hard-core fan eager to learn more about how these amazing writers interacted, this is an accessible page-turner of a book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    Some years ago I got an electronic subscription to The Spectator, a British magazine known for its ties to the Tory Party. Most of us know it from those essays of Addison and Steele that we read in high school and college. It’s most popular contemporary editor was probably the mayor of London, Boris Johnson Though I rarely agree with the Tory political view, the magazine is well written and has an perfect book section. I frequently search out about books that are available here, but not reviewed or noticed. My recent search in that category is The Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards who is himself a mystery writer. Edwards tells the story of The Detection Club, which was founded in London in 1930. Among its early members were Agatha Christie, Anthony Berkeley, Dorothy L. Sayers and Margery Allingham. It’s first president was G. K. s oath said, in part, that members would “do and detect all crimes by honourable means; conceal no vital clues from the reader; honour the King’s English and observe the oath of secrecy in matters communicated within the brotherhood of the Club.”My favorite part of the oath is this: “Do you swear to observe a seemly moderation in the use of thugs, Conspiracies, Death-Rays, Ghosts, Hypnotism, Trap-Doors, Chinamen, Super-Criminals and Lunatics; and utterly and forever to foreswear Mysterious Poisons Unknown to Science?” I was initially a bit frustrated with the book because Edwards does not always seem very organized. He dwells too long on Agatha Christie’s disappearance and Dorothy Sayers’ illegitimate child. I did uncover what I believe to be the chief trait of the successful mystery writer: girth That’s right, guys and gals! Feel free to chow down. Edwards mentions repeatedly the huge size of G.K. Chesterton, Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie and Margery Allingham. He also mentions that Allingham became so depressed that she underwent ECT. I was a bit surprised by this as I just recently read her wartime memoir, The Oaken Heart, and she seemed absolutely intrepid and unflappable. But Edwards clearly loves these authors and their work and talks about a lot of other writers not as well known as the founding members of The Detection Club. The book is also filled with interesting tidbits (usually found in footnotes):H. Auden, a mystery addict, was approached to “write a few poems masqueradingas the work of P.D. James’ Adam Dalgliesh.” He was James fan but died before hecould honor the request.Of the first 10 Penguins published, two were mysteries: The Mysterious Affair at Styles and The Unpleasantness at the Bellona sephine Tey was never invited to become a member of the ClubGeorgette Heyer refused membership, probably, says Mister Edwards, because her husband developed the mystery plots. The chappie who reviewed The Golden Age of Murder for The Spectator complained that the author never met a Golden Age mystery he didn’t like. But I, for one, was reminded of writers I hadn’t thought about in a while (Anthony Berkeley and Nicholas Blake) and introduced to ones I knew nothing about (Muriel Bowers, Helen Reilly, Raymond Postgate, Anthony Gilbert.) While I’m sure it’s real that some writers’ reputations fade because their mysteries don’t wear well, it’s also real that a lot of very fine writers never obtain the recognition they deserve. I’m sure I’m search some gems among these Detection Club members who are now largely unknown

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    Reading this well-written and researched book is a bit like reading the exploits of Heracles, Perseus or other demigods, or maybe the adventures of Odysseus or Sampson. They moved among us humans, but their actions created them bigger than life. So, too, the creators of the modern mystery or crime novel seem so much more than mere humans. They imbued their characters with such a spark of life that they are with us to this very day, and shall probably outlive us, as they did their creators...Poroit, Wimsey, Marple, Strangeways and others. Edwards brings to life the personalities and times of the writers so vividly that it is impossible to read this book without feeling waves of nostalgia and a keen sense of loss. Alas, it has passed away, and goodbye to all that. A amazing book for the mystery fan or literary historian.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    I was somewhat disappointed in this book, given the topic matter and the generally glowing reviews. It is interesting, with a lot of info about the writers of which I was not aware. But I also found it wordy and slow going. Not up to Julian Symons or PD James books on the genre, in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    Interesting read, but very long winded. This could have been about half as long and it would have been twice as compelling. Really only for die-hard English "golden era" mystery fans. You'll uncover some other authors from this era, but it's still a slog. Kindle ver is a amazing value though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    The Golden Age of Murder is a history of the Detection Club from its founding until the begin of WWII. It's also a biography of the leading members of the club, and a critical assessment of their major works, and a lot of works of their contemporaries. As a satisfied side-effect, it's also a reading list of the classics of this age - an "Index of Titles" is included for simple reference.Anthony Berkeley Cox's reputation probably benefits the most. A talented and troubled man, his books were wildly creative, and his formal experiments made the templates for much of the rtin Edward's style is private and occasionally downright chatty, and he turns up a lot of delightful nuggets, such as the fact that Christianna Brand was an incorrigible gossip. The book succeeds in all its aims, and any lover of the mystery stories of the Golden Age will search it a treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    Martin Edwards has written a tour-de-force of entertaining scholarship. Edwards is himself an accomplished mystery writer, and in this book, his obvious love for and life-long study of the genre come together in a readable delight. I learned more about those writers whose backgrounds I'd already peeked into (Sayers and Christie) and was introduced to writers I didn't know nearly so well (especially Anthony Berkeley).With his wealth of knowledge--which contains "insider tidbits" from family members of the writers--this book could've become tedious and slow, but Edwards has deftly avoided the pitfalls. Instead, he combines his wealth of research with his storytelling skills to weave a fascinating, readable acc of the lives and books of mystery writers who defined the inter-war years in Amazing Britain--and the crime fiction we read (or watch as films and tv shows) today.I particularly enjoyed the info on the writers' interests in true crime cases, how those informed their fiction writing and inspired, in some cases, interaction with the true globe of crime-solving. I was introduced to writers with whom I wasn't as familiar, and had to dig out some novels I hadn't read in a while for another e only thing I hated was that it had to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    Despite what too a lot of modern literary critics would have you believe, the Golden Age of Detective Fiction, generally defined as the years between the two amazing globe battles of the 20th century, was a amazing deal more than just the work of four so-called "crime queens," Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Margery Allingham and Ngaio Marsh. There were tons of other fine writers of detective fiction, all with distinct styles, too a lot of forgotten now, whose books contributed to that age. Almost all belonged to England's prestigious Detection Club, whose members were selected by the unanimous vote of the existing rtin Edwards, a fine mystery writer himself, has served for a lot of years as the Detection Club's archivist. in "The Golden Age of Murder," Edwards takes as his thesis the idea that by examining these authors, their beliefs, the things they held dear and the things they loathed, and how they interacted with each other, today’s readers will understand better how these authors in result made the modern detective story, in all its a lot of forms. He writes the book almost as a detective story in itself, examining author after author, revealing more about their personal lives, their secrets and their work: the fascination some had with trying to solve real-life murder cases, the reasons why so a lot of of their books tried to restore a semblance of order in the true globe by solving imaginary crimes and their ambiguous relationships with the investigators of crime in true e effect is a thoroughly entertaining famous history that deserves a put on the bookshelf of any reader who appreciates the work of these Golden Age authors and wants to learn more about them, their books, and why they wrote as they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Golden Age of Murder review [Book]  2018-4-24 18:0

    A fascinating look at the members of the famed Detection Club by the author best qualified to write such a book. Both informative and entertaining, this is truly a "must read" for all fans of the classic British mystery. Do yourself a favor and don't miss out on this unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    amazing android game all around.. the only issue for me is we need to reload the android game everytime we've place the android game in background for several minutes.. it's annoying..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    this android game is amazing but I would like to suggest to add diplomacy system between guilds . like alliance between clan and truce and battle . it will be more reasonable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    فاشل حزم خاسر 4.99 دولار بدون فائدە 😭😭

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    marvelous and very addictive. all around well designed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    like dream

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    لعبة ممتعة

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    جميله

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    sj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    amazing game...!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Conquerors: Golden Age review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    😀

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter