Hidden in Smoke %28Phoenix Rising Book 2%29 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Hidden in Smoke %28Phoenix Rising Book 2%29 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden in Smoke (Phoenix Rising Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    I was so excited for book 2 and I was NOT disappointed. The continuation of the relationships between Nix and her men is excellent. The story line keeps the reader's attention and leaves you wanting more. Can't wait for book 3 !!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden in Smoke (Phoenix Rising Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    I thought Born of Embers (BOE) was a 5-star book – and it is! Then, Hidden in Smoke (HIS) was written and somehow Harper and Quinn out did themselves with it! I cannot believe they surpassed my expectations with HIS.I have no idea where to begin with this book, but I’ll stick to my general rating style:Setting: College/NAPlot: Nix is trying to recover from being killed again, build a relationship with the guys, apart and individually, and learning and discovering fresh things about herself. This girl is busy!Characters:Nix is one of my favorite heroine’s – one of my favorite book girlfriends, lol. She has so much growth in this book! She is still the same girl from BOE, but she is becoming more confident of herself and the love of the guys. I mean, who wouldn’t with confessions like this, “Being fully reliant on people and letting others be there for you when you need them are two separate things. Allow us support you. Allow us be there for you. We’re all stronger as a family, sweetheart.” (Damien, chapter 6). Swoon moment!This book is full of swoon moments from ALL the guys – from jokester Ryder to grumpy Slay to silent Theo. We already knew the sensuality that Hiro had within him, but dang it – he really gets the guys going in this book! This book is still PG-13, but I swear Harper and Quinn are trying to do the reader in before the characters even reach third base! The method they write PG-13 scenes, who needs actual home run scenes?! ; )The guys are so different, towards her and each other, yet such a powerful unit. Their personalities and growth really shine through in HIS. In BOE, Damien and Hiro were my favorites – everyone needs a protective, loving Gargoyle and a Hero. However, everyone now needs a thoughtful, stimulating Kill, a sexy Theo, and a sensual Ryder. Seriously, these guys are unbelievable apart but magnificent together! Nix is one lucky ing characters: Rini is awesome. She is not in the book as much (it is just how the book went and you will understand why as you read it), but when she is there – perfection. She is a unbelievable best friend. The other characters, whom I will not name so I do not give too much away, takes the series to a put I was not sure it was going. It is making me look forward to the next book! Cryptic – sorry!RH factor: Off the charts hot!!! Seriously, nothing past second base and I swear the authors have me jumping my husband with the foreplay in this book. – insert evil grin – Remember Twister!!! I will never think of it the same again. If you read the teaser, it DID NOT give this stage justice.Overall writing: Somehow, the writing is better. I think it is because the authors know their characters, or the characters are just speaking to them. Either way, this book has so a lot of small tidbits or additional sparks that create it better. The interaction between the characters, the growth of the characters, the relationships between the characters, the plot – everything is better! – Yes, I am iffhanger: Not like the latest book. This book sums up the problems in HIS. However, the ending also created me wish BOOK 3 NOW! commend – YES! YES! YES!Top Book of the Year for Me!Read on KU but I will BUY it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden in Smoke (Phoenix Rising Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    Book 2 carrys on directly where book 1 left off and the action that was happening. I really enjoyed this book 1 and was not disappointed with book 2. Nix who previously suffered atrocities that no person ever should and she is finally learning to trust and begin up. The relationship development between her and the boys is sweet and although they are horny as can be they don't push her past a level she is ready to accept. She shows amazing development and growth and is learning to love and be loved. I can't wait to see what happens in book 3. Highly recommended.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Hidden in Smoke %28Phoenix Rising Book 2%29 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Hidden in Smoke %28Phoenix Rising Book 2%29 video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden in Smoke (Phoenix Rising Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    *LONG SIGH*This book was soooooo good. I read it in on siting in less than 6 hours. My only complaint is that I wish more. In the first one they teased. I mean they teased A LOT to the point I didn’t think I’d create it. In this they took teasing to a wholeNew level I mean I need a cold shower after reading it. I really like Nix’s growth as a person and how she’s becoming more accepting of who she is as a shifter. Also the fact that she’s becoming more accepting of the guys. These authors are unbelievable story tellers, and if you’re looking for a slow burn that’s still nice and toasty look no further. Meanwhile here’s hoping the third one comes soon I don’t know how long I can hang off of this cliff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden in Smoke (Phoenix Rising Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    Oh em goodness. I thought book one was good? Book two just blew me out of the water. Read in 4 hours could not stop. I’m addicted. I love every single main hero in this book. I will be waiting ((impatiently)) for book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    I have been a fan of this author from her very first book on. I love reading books that are in a series so I can pick up where I left off. This book kept me interested right away which normaly it takes a amazing three chapters but not with this one. This story starts with a dog being found by Jessica horribly abused and she gets the support the dog needs and ends up meeting Mitch who works with dogs. He has the nerve to think she was the one who did those injuries to this not good dog. Read on and have fun how this dog brings people together and helps out so a lot of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    This is definitely a 'feel good' read.I don't normally read books in this genre but the fact that it was about the rescue and rehabilitation of dogs either abandoned or mistreated, got me teary. Jessica is a fiery spirit that affects everyone she comes into contact with, while Mitch is still dealing with the death of one of his best friends/secret love of the things I liked about this book was that it was a easy story without a messy love triangle. It shows the gradual progression of a relationship rather than the accelerated versions that some authors have in their r readers that like continuing characters, it does look like they re-appear through this series.I was gifted a copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    So glad I started this series. Anything dog similar and I'm a sucker. But really Mary has a method of making a real family story come to life and give it so much raw emotions and depth. Not wanting to give anything away because I wish you to have fun it for yourself. I really don't think you can go wrong. Nice to see an author like Mary has the touch to create you believe in a amazing wholesome story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    I was given this book in exchange for an honest review and I have to say I really enjoyed the book. It has alternating people as the main characters which is nice to hear the side of each person in a relationship. I found myself tearing up several times while reading the book and the ending was a truly satisfied ending, not what I was expecting but I liked that it ended the method it did. I would read more by this author for sure. I don't typically read love stories, more paranormal books but I enjoyed it because it wasn't your typical romance. Most have a lot of sex and this one was focused on the story of two people falling in love. Sometimes that is better. I would recommend to anyone that likes the more old fashion look at love and relationships rather than how things move too quickly these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    This book definitely tugs at the heart through its depiction of firm friends, family types and best of all rescue dogs, their trainers and handlers and what life is like for them, it opened my eyes and heart to a whole fresh world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sheltered Hearts (A Hidden Hearts Novel Book 2) review [Book]  2018-4-9 18:1

    Tear jerker in spots, keeping me wanting more. Loving these characters and can’t wait to see how much further they develop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Found a method to explain Santa Claus to my granddaughter, just read her this book. She also believes in Unicorns.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Amazing small books on my Tablet. Just long enough to hold their attention!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Amazing book for children

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This book was so so cool.I loved it so so so so so so so so so so so so much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    My small one likes this! Nice book indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I like this boo. It is a attractive story for a kid to read and understand dreams. Truly awesome story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    My 3 year old pointed to this book on the kindle so we ordered it. There were no illustrations in the book and the story was fun but a bit advanced for a 3 year old to grasp. Overall, the author wrote a beautiful creative story, but I would have liked to see more pictures in the book. My daughter loved the cover of this book so after purchasing this one, I tried to search another unicorn book with some illustrations inside and found that this one was excellent for my daughter: Sparkle the Brave Unicorn,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I search it disappointing that readers are willing to accept not good writing (and non-existent editing) in ebooks, free or otherwise. Particularly in children's books, because they're learning from what we place in front of them, right or star for the writing. A second because, based on other reviews, the story may be cute. I don't know, I didn't obtain past the second page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    It was a short but ok book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Books For Kids: Unicorn Dream: Kids Books, Children's Books, Bedtime Stories For Kids, Free Stories,Kids Adventure Books, Kids Fantasy (Kids Fantasy Books Ages 2-4 4-6 6-9 9-12) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Yadda yadda yadda.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    This is a amazing follow-up to supplement Book 1. It probably should have been combined with Book 1 and published in a single volume, but there were apparently political implications which required to be considered. Like Book 1, it primarily consists of interviews of German survivors of the Anglo-American D-Day invasion of Normandy. It gives info about which most citizens of the Western powers have not been aware. Particularly interesting in this volume are the descriptions of the relationship of some German soldiers and French civilians prior to the invasion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I found both Book 1 & Book 2 interesting. No one has ever really investigated and shared the perspective of the German soldier facing the Allies on D-Day. This gave me a better understanding of their thoughts, fears and experiences on that day. It also gave me a much various perspective of their relationship with the French citizens. It also gave a very vivid picture of what the young soldiers of the Allied forces faced on D-Day. If you are a history buff, I am sure that you will have fun this well written series. It is really amazing for anyone to read, which will give you a greater appreciation of the freedoms you enjoy, due to the sacrifices of those who served in WW II!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    As a casual reader on the subject of the Normandy invasions by the Allies in Globe Battle 2, I have read several books on the topic. This one, for the first time, has illustres quite vividly the German soldiers' first-hand perspective and taught me several aspects of the combat, organization, and tactic that I was not fully aware e stories are compelling, the action is horrific and nearly unbelievable, and the first person accounts of the overwhelming power, brutality, and sheer audacity of the landings can be comprehended from a totally various h of the volumes are amazing reads!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    The German view us too often overlooked. To often the accounts I have read of D-Day makes it sound like every German soldier that was show was Warden SS. Instead in thus volume more info is given about the relationship between the local French and the German soldier's. Also accounted from people who helped plan the defense's. It was refreshing to hear that the original plan had been to have defense in depth. Also one of the officer's tells of his involvement with a wonder weapon that had IIT exploded it could have changed the outcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I've read both books of this series; the first was marginally better because it had more interesting interviews, which were taken in the early '60s so the D Day action was still new in their minds. One thing I found was that these men were mostly just ordinary soldiers just doing their jobs, just like the American soldiers (which included my father, who luckily drew Utah beach or else I might not be here). As a historian I truly appreciate basic sources, but this book will reinforce any belief you might have about the utter futility of warfare.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    If you have fun WWII history, you will wish to read this series. Entirely based on interviews with German veterans in the mid-50s, and published by the interviewer's son. Aside from the special experiences of each individual, you also keep insight into what they were thinking and how they justified their nation's aggression. As much as I have read, I still learned a lot of things about weapons, private actions, strategies and what it was like to experience the Allied onslaught on "Fortress Europe."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Just as amazing as the first. I'm glad he captured the thoughts and feelings of the German soldiers on that day, and a lot of their feelings as time went on. It really hit me hard, as the battle stories are very vivid, translated beautifully and created me think about battle and how it affects the soldier. I was a history major, and wrote several papers on the political aspects of the globe wars, so it was very fulfilling for me to read these stories and obtain a more informed understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I wrote about my attraction to this fascinating book in my review of the first volume. At the age of 12 or so I was fascinated, even obsessed with how this battle had happened, especially since it effected my father so profoundly.I became fascinated with WWII and how it happened and how did this one diminutive man almost achieve globe domination? I read so a lot of books on WWII but never had the possibility to read things from the German side. This book is the 2nd of two volumes of interviews with soldiers who were on the German front during D Day. The actual interviewer was the father of the man who edited these books.He did an perfect job. If you are a student of history, this is a must. They say the history books are written by the victors, but this book and its companion volume show a compelling view of what it was like to suddenly see this enormous armada coming onto the beach, to hear of the terror that offshore shelling by Allied battleships and cruisers unleashed for hours before and during the assault. A lot of of the interviewees are quite honest in how frightened and confused they were. In volume one, some even speak of what happened when they were captured and taken as prisoners. It turns out that a lot of were sent to England and/or the United States, were treated very well, and some even stayed! In volume 2, the few who spoke of being captured were not captured on D Day, but later in the battle and say they were not treated very well. I have no reason to doubt bones about it, as with the 1st volume this is not a book for the squeamish. There are very graphic descriptions of the hurt done to humans and even animals as a effect of the assault. There is also, from some, a begrudging admiration for the creativity and tenacity of the Allied forces. The interviews were conducted in 1954, and at that time, a little few of those interviewed still held that "only if" certain things had happened they would have repulsed the assault. I read this book and its companion volume very quickly. It is well organized and is not edited down to create it a "nice" read. This book is about the horror of combat, the confusion of battle and the bravery of men on both sides The reader can almost hear the explosions, smell the cordite and sweat in the bunkers. Highest recommendation, but not for the squeamish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    It's a well-put-together compendium of tales from German soldiers during the war. It was interesting for me to obtain a various perspective on the battle from the other side. It makes one realize that the soldiers are the same - doing their appointed tasks to help their country even when the orders don't always create sense. I found it less entertaining as a story, but related in perspective and human interest to the submarine movie, "Das Boot".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D DAY Through German Eyes - Book 2 - More hidden stories from June 6th 1944 review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    This was a riveting read. The stories from the different germans who were show at D-Day are gripping and horrifying at the same time. At times you may be tempted to think its embellished or that it is too detailed but these stories seem permanently seared into the memories of the german soldiers in a method that only someone who has been in combat or a life threatening situation could e format of the book is about 10 short stories in an interview style. I found the telling of the story in the soldiers own words to be a unbelievable choice and so very authentic. I have recommended this book to others.P.S. I am a WWII buff so that plays a huge part in why I liked this book. If you were not into WWII or military things then this probably isn't the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. It is real that I found the book difficult to place down. It is full of action and tension, with well-developed characters. I enjoyed it, but not as much as the Tides series which was one of the best series I've ever read. Would I read this one again? Probably not, despite the fact that it is a amazing read. Alex Lidell is an extremely gifted story-teller. Her plots have fascinating twists and turns and her characters are always multi-layered. For myself, I would prefer that she took more time over her writing, allowed the stories to ferment a small longer in her brain, the storylines to develop a small longer, allowing small kinks in the storyline to be ironed out, minor characters to be fleshed out more. I know this is difficult. An author has to create a living. But it makes the difference between a amazing author (which I think Alex has the potential to be) and a amazing author. Difficult choice. But yes, certainly a book worth reading, powerful characters faced with very complex moral challenges, which is one of the things I like most about her writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    For me, the tag of a amazing book is that you wish to pick it up again as soon as you place it down. That's how I felt about Unraveling Darkness, the conclusion of a two-book story about Kali, a trained scout pressed into service as an agent of her king, forced to live in two various personas, and the key to righting a not good wrong. After a bloody coup, Kali and her companions flee her country to its unfriendly neighbor, leaving behind her sister and others. Presented there with an unpalatable option, the mates decide that they must overthrow the usurper without external aid. The story moves at breakneck speed throughout, leading to their inevitable confrontation with evil and a satisfying conclusion to the story. One caveat -- this book picks up immediately where Tracing Shadows ended, with very small backstory, so you need to read the first book before this one. That's no hardship, though, because it's also excellent. I've now read six of Alex Lidell's books, and I think this is the best so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    I know that negative reviews draw more attention because they support would-be readers decide whether to buy a book or not. The difficulty arises when one does not have anything negative to say about a book unless it is one's want for more. So if you have already read any of Alex's books, don't hesitate to buy this book. It makes for several hours of pure enjoyment. On the other hand, if Alex is a fresh name for you, I don't think that getting the book will leave you disappointed but it would be better if you started with book one before you tackle e conclusion leaves some loose strings dangling which may be used by the writer for a future sequel, e characters develop in interesting ways.Wil proves that he has what it takes to be a king.Raza unfortunately deteriorates until she finds her balance at the end of the e's potential is not shown off to its full potential in my opinion.Leaf finds her niche in her cousin's e same applies to ere's lots of potential for Calvin for Kali, the possibilities are endless!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    Ok, I will admit that I totally adore Alex Lidell’s novels. She is one of my absolute favorite authors and I’ve downloaded - and truly enjoyed - every single one of her novels to date. Her fresh Scout series is no exception and I was satisfied to give five stars to my review of its first book, Tracing Shadows. It’s no surprise then that I was delighted to obtain my hands on Unraveling Darkness, Book 2 of this series. It is also no surprise that this book is, quite simply, superb and definitely recommended. It had just what I wanted and was well written and with a amazing plot and amazing cast of characters. I frankly adore Kali and love watching Trace (Rune) and her take on all comers, and the rest of the cast of characters is beautiful awesome as well. But for the fact that I’m literally dictating this review to my husband from my hospital bed I could go on and on with praises - the book definitely deserves it. Since I can’t do that I will simply note that the book is most definitely one to read, it is simple to highly recommend. I’m definitely looking forward to book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    Unraveling Darkness is the exciting final novel in the Scout duology by talented author Alex Lidell. Three allies (Kali, Trace, and Wil) flee the palace while three girls (each a sister of an ally) are abandoned to their fates. Kali and Wil are hoping that Trace will rally the help they need to turn the tables, but things don't go as planned. Kali is sick with fear for her sister's safety, Wil thinks his is satisfied with her fresh allegiance to the enemy, and Trace finds that his sister is formidable competition. Do they have what it takes with a few trusted mates to complete their mission? This young adult historical fantasy has it all with interesting characters, court intrigue, danger, magic, and a bit of romance.I received an ARC of this book. This is my honest and voluntary ed on Amanda's Books and More

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    Book 2 is out and begins from the ending of book 2 as the survivors of a power grab create a run into the woods to save the live of their fresh King. A wild group with secrets trying to survive and hopefully save the Kingdom from the crazy guy. Some of the secrets we learned in book 2 but how they came out to others was wild and kept me guessing what was going to happen next from the beginning. A few random twists were amazing as the story went along. I was totally rooting for a satisfied ending but was not sure how it would actually happen. All the characters were amazing and I felt like I was right there along for the action. A amazing story and ending. I received an advance copy and love this story and chose to review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    If you already read Scouts #1, Tracing Shadows you don’t need me to tell you to read this book, because that is exactly what you wanted to do from the moment you finished the latest page. If you haven’t read Tracing Shadows, first of all, what are you waiting for? Second, you might as well purchase them both at once, because there is no method you are going to read just one of them! Alex Lidell is a fresh favorite author if mine, and the Scout Books do no disappoint! Her characters are well developed and feel real. Her plots are complex, but not confusing and hold you turning the pages without even realizing how long you have been reading. I greatly have fun the element of political intrigue I have found in Alex’s writing. It is entertaining, but also intellectual and keeps me coming back for more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    This was another amazing series by Alex Lidell. She just never disappoints. The plot throughout the series was full of twists and turns, the characters well drawn and the dynamics between Kali and Trace/Rune very interesting. I only want the series was longer, since for me there was enough material to turn it into a trilogy. One loose end was perhaps left hanging on purpose, so here's hoping that we will see more of the Scouts globe in future?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    I received this book as a arc copy with no obligation to review...This is my honest review....This final story in this series is intense..A final showdown with a wannabe god,betrayals,doubt,guilt,hate and desire all building to create this novel a rousing success!! Loved,and hung on to every word,sweated through all the action,and oops,there was a small steamy in there too! This story (and series) is a unbelievable read...Do yourself a huge favor,and check it out!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unraveling Darkness: Scout Book 2 of 2 review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:0

    I enjoyed reading this book so much. Didn't wish to stop. Didn't wish it to end either..It was so well written and enjoyable. I loved e characters, especially Kaliana and Trace, Violet... and the others were all amazing. And I liked that finally prince Wil and Kal obtain to be family.Everything just fell into place... I wasn't disappointed at all. Well done..The action, magic and romance were all balanced and well done..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I can't say enough positive things about Preston and Stig and their tireless effort to provide amazing quality value investing guide products, such Warren Buffett Accounting book. It's a step-by-step tutorial of Warren Buffett's value investing style; starting from conducting your own financial statement analysis, using stock screener to select potential undervalued stocks, and ending with calculating their intrinsic value . It's a clear and concise overview of the value investing methodology. Thank you, and keep-up the amazing work with "The Investors Podcast" too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    The book reinforces the idea of an smart investor; not to be swayed by everyday financial news nor shop idiosyncrasies. It reinforces the need to research BASIC financial info to create smart decisions about a company, not the everyday shop price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Excellent! Very amazing writing style which makes it simple to read. This is a amazing resource for those that don't have a background in accounting, but understand it's needed to conduct a thorough analysis of any investment. I purchased the Kindle version, but also wish to have a hard copy as a fast reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    The author takes his time to introduce financial statements and how they relate to value investing analysis, I would recommend this book to anyone who would like learn the basics of financial statements analysis with relation to value investing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    It's a quality book for regarding Warren Buffett. Most of the info within the book I have heard before but it is definitely a book I would recommend for a beginner Investor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    A fairly simple and painless read given the topic matter. I amazing clear summary of accounting terminology and how to use it in value investing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This book goes in deeper into financial statements (compared to 'Warren Buffett's 3 favorite books') and calculating different aspects like estimating the intrinsic value of a company.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    A must for anyone seriously considering value investing. Book is simple to grasp and especially necessary to master. The online calculator didn't work for me, but I would still recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Amazing book. Very informative and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Warren Buffett Accounting Book: Reading Financial Statements for Value Investing (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Well worth the read and really helpful for the fresh investor in learning how to read and understand a companies financial statements. I highly recommend this book for anyone who is wanting to become a value investor and learn what to look for when buying a company.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    This story provides an uplifting moral notice to kids and adults alike. Kids need to be reassured that they have their own individuality of beauty there is no set standard. It's okay to change as they grow in all locations and to know to love themselves in a healthy method creates powerful healthy self-esteem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    A timely release by Sigal Adler, with Halloween just around the corner. Beauty and the Witch tells the tale of Esmerelda, a witch with a huge nose, a wart, a crooked back and well, she looks just like a witch should look. Esmerelda is unsure of herself, because she doesn't think she's as beautiful as the fairies in her city or the other younger witches. When a beauty contest for witches is announced, she decides to enter, not believing for a second that she might win. Here;s of course we obtain to the point of Sigal Adler's story, like all her books, this is no various as every one carries a life notice for her young readers. In this case, she makes the point that no matter what we look like, and no matter what we believe others may think of us, it is necessary that all of us learns to feel comfortable and confident about who we are and how we look. How others see us is not half as necessary as how we see ourselves, as Esmerelda soon discovers in this beautifully illustrated work, A lovely book for parents to read to their younger kids who I'm sure will have fun the story and the pictures especially.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    Beauty and the Witch opens like a cinderella story in reverse. Instead of a attractive girl and three ugly young women making fun of her, we have three fairies making fun of the lowly witch, and believe it or not, my heart went out to her. Written with humor, this children’s book will place a smile on your child’s lips and on yours.With her over-long nose, she had the amazing skillOf touching it with her tongue—what a thrill!It is in reverse that the plight of the under trodden is felt even more acutely:And so Esmeralda felt she didn’t belongWith them all dressed up and her dressed all wrongHow did she overcome feeling like an outsider? That I’m not going to tell you… Except to say there’s no price charming in the wings, she succeeds all on her own!Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    I give this sweet story: 5 stars, for storyline and illustrations(Absolutely gorgeous) This book is amazing for children 2-8. This picture book story helps children learn life lessons:“Beauty Comes in All Shapes and Sizes” we all obtain messages from society about what it’s like to be “perfect”. In the story, we learn that it is more necessary to accept who you are than to be perfect. Recommended!!“And so Esmeralda felt she didn’t belong,With them all dressed up and her dressed all wrongShe just didn’t care about fashion or clothes;Makeup and heels, who thought about those?”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. This is especially real In the valley where Fairy Lane ends. The author takes kids into a attractive story with a amazing message. I have read a lot of of this author's books. I search them beautifully illustrated, well written and always amazing to share. The rhyming tale helps youngsters love to read and the amazing story is one that adults and kids can read and learn something from together. Grabbing abook by this author for the kids you love is giving them an awesome gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    I test not to be overly harsh with children’s books, because the basic goal with these differs from the goal of other writing.What any amazing children’s book must have is delightful art that entices kids to pore over the words. Beauty and the Witch meets this challenge head-on. Terrific ch a book also should have light, perky writing. This story meets that test.Another goal often strived for is a amazing moral cleverly stated. This does do that, but not quite so well. About two-thirds the method through it gets confusing. Still, it is e only other problem is that the rhyming, although mostly terrific, does, on a couple occasions, obtain clunky, or awkward, almost tom LineFour stars out of five.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    I liked the notice of being satisfied with who you are, no matter if others may look down on you for being various than they and the illustrations as well. Thereforel for both of these stuff I have chosen a five star rating for it. I also want to recommend it for the children ages 2-6 who lo CD e to hear a bedtime story of witches.I received this eBook for free and in return, here is my honestReview. Super work Sigal ! By Sunny

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    Adorable and timely book by Author Sigal Adler, which reminds children that they should be real to themselves, as they are fine just the method they are. The lovely illustrations most certainly enhance the reading experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    loved it!I would love to review more of your books.I recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's book: " BEAUTY AND THE WITCH " Halloween story for children's ages 3-8 (Bedtime stories fiction picture kids books Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-30 18:1

    Written by Sigal Adler and illustrated by Harry Aviera, is a short story for  children who have just leant to read alone. This engaging story of a cute witch who wanted to feel attractive too for once in her es she have a possibility to win??? You’ll just have to read this book to search out what happens. Amazing book with moral lesson for small kids 

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    The pathway to being a self-published author is riddled with a myriad of minefields. Some of those struggles have to do with believing enough in yourself to actually write a book that people will buy and appreciate. For others it's the actual steps you need to take that confuse and challenge them. I know this for a fact because I've been through them all, and I have the headaches and wasted cash to prove it!As a successful author, Paul helps to create the street to writing a book easier and without the bumps that so a lot of first time authors needlessly go through. Do your stress levels a favor and read this short and practical book - you'll be glad you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Paul Brodie breaks down the publishing journey really well in this book. A amazing read for people that are just getting started and wish to become successful authors. Read this book and you'll save yourself a ton of time and energy by doing things right the first is book is a clearly paved street to being a self-published author. Once again Paul has taken difficult, overwhelming, and at times confusing information, and created it understandably concise. This book is a excellent foundation for anyone interested in self-publishing and his guidance with coaching combined with this reading will generate guaranteed success with your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    The quintessential tutorial from a seasoned and established author. Packed with savvy tactics to support aspiring and established authors succeed. Of particular value are the a lot of cost-effective tactics to support authors shop their books, including creating compelling book descriptions, getting book reviews, begin strategies. But most importantly, the author is a gifted and experienced teacher—he makes what can be a complex and time-consuming riddle simple to understand and apply. A must-read for authors - fresh and seasoned alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Obtain ready to start your book publishing journey! Motivational speaker and bestselling author, Paul Brodie, is your guide. This step-by-step tutorial is excellent if you're about to publish your first book, and it's full of book marketing hints for more seasoned authors, too. Brodie provides the foundation, now it's time to follow the steps and begin your book into the world. Embrace the journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    I enjoyed reading through Paul’s book ‘Book Publishing for Authors’ and work through the material of ‘Get Published’ Training. Paul is a master in ‘making the complex simple.’ This is what makes it pure joy to follow his directions. Thrilled to have come across Paul Brodie and his perfect teachings. I couldn’t be happier with the results. Thank you, Paul!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    There is a large learning curve when you write and publish your first book. This book “Book Publishing for Authors” is a terrific resource that takes you through the process of publishing step-by-step. Along with private examples and experiences, Paul Brodie has place together a resource that every aspiring author should have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Paul Brodie breaks down the publishing journey really well in this book. A amazing read for people that are just getting started and wish to become successful authors. Read this book and you'll save yourself a ton of time and energy by doing things right the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    One of the best tutorials out there to self publishing your book and making it a best seller!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    This book is a clearly paved street to being a self published author. Once again Paul has taken difficult, overwhelming, and at times confusing information, and created it understandably concise. This book is excellent foundation for anyone interested in self publishing and his guidance with coaching combined with this read will generate guaranteed success with your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Amazing resource for those who have ever thought about writing a book. It is easy and simple to follow! I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Reminiscent of Frank Herbert's "Dune" series... "plans, within plans, within plans... " Indeed!Love the hero of tion sequences are very t a huge fan of Reaper's self absorption musings fact, I read the series only after Ragnar beat Bombadil in the Cage Match.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    What to say?It starts as a story of class warfare - the protagonist is a "red", with powerful correlations to scots miners, and his symbol, as the "reaper" he becomes, is the "slingblade" or scythe. Nevertheless, what it does NOT devolve into is a simplistic Marxist tale of class warfare. It is, in the end, about a struggle for equal rights, or at least equal consideration and opportunity to try, and about justice (whether or not "equality" is truly possible on any axis is an argument for another day - but it's trivial to not that some forms of equality inevitably have lead to tragedy and bloodshed).Darrow is a miner. A red. Living, so he thinks, to extract resources so that mankind can leave a failing earth. He soon learns that he is a de facto slave, in a society that has leapt far beyond Mars, even as it stays in the solar system in order to ensure control.He is "carved" - rebuilt - and is set on the path of revolution by the Sons of is book focuses on his entry to society, where he first goes through the school that allows him to claim the rank of a "peerless scarred" rather than a useless drone of a "pixie" - the upper crust of the highest-class "gold" rulers.Even from the opening, it is poetic, and literary, leaning heavily on references to Roman mythology in particular. Moment after moment pulls at the emotions and the soul, without cheap string-pulling, and the clarity of writing and emotional moments improve throughout the series. The characters come alive, and you feel their pain, their elation, their sorrow, and their contentment. He makes friends, and enemies, that will support and haunt him through the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Darrow is a helldiver for the pioneers on Mars. His job is to gather resources from deep within Mars, an incredibly risky task that has forced him to become extremely dexterous and strong. Their eventual goal is to terraform Mars, making is possible for colonisation, at which point the Darrow and his fellow Reds will live as kings among men. The Reds are the lowest class in a society that they have barely glimpsed. The highest cass people a gold, all of whom have engaged in extensive physical modification making them essentially a various (superior) race. The Reds are treated like slaves and while Darrow has accepted his lot in life, content to live with his family and carve out the best possible life he can on this world, his wife Eo refuses to accept this life, and encourages Darrow to do the same. When Eo is sentenced to death after she sings a forbidden song while being whipped, Eo forces Darrow to confront the injustice his class faces. Darrow is then recruited into a group which plans to destroy the golds society from within. Darrow must become Gold, changing his body and mind. Then he will obtain accepted to the institute that trains Gold soldiers. Here he must distinguish himself in order to raise to the highest rank he can before tearing down the Gold’s society. It is in the institute that the novel finally began to click for me. Here Darrow and a couple hundred other students are place in a huge arena, very much like The Hunger Games. Fifty students are in each house, all of which are named after Roman gods, where their goal is to enslave all other houses. Darrow is drafted into House Mars. Their performance in this arena is used by different member of the Gold’s military to search fresh recruits and apprentices with a lot of potential. I was really place off from the beginning by Eo’s death. She quite literally dies in order to propel forward Darrow, and it felt very unnecessary. If fact the entire first third of the book felt fairly contrived. Everything that was done was done specifically to obtain Darrow into the arena. And don’t obtain me wrong, the Arena was where I got over the rather annoying method Eo was treated by the story. It helps that Darrow really considers himself an extension of Eo (or at least her dream) at this point. This part of the book (and it makes up about two-thirds of it) really works. There is just so much going on. Darrow on his mission of revenge and revolution. The other Gold students are fleshed out and become their own characters, and we see them as very human, some we like, some we hate. Servo especially deserves mention as one of the few Golds that Darrow feels he can trust. Cassius is someone who I wouldn’t like, but everything he does makes sense as something his hero would do.I’m trying to hold spoilers to a minimum, but there are some aspects of this novel that I would be remiss in not mentioning. One may even consider mentioning these bits a spoiler, so read on with caution. So, about halfway through our time in the arena Darrow dies (for the second time,) and then comes back (for the second time.) Before he was killed, Darrow was acting as the leader of his house, which had been very much divided between two other leaders before he’d managed to force them to work together. When he is revived by a former enemy, Darrow realizes that the method he was leading would never have allowed him to win. He was treating the members of his house that hadn’t originally followed him very poorly, and as a effect they had never really grown to trust him as a leader, and more than likely just saw him as a usurper. So he realizes this and learns from it and then starts to rebuild an troops out of former slaves. Freeing them (there is an actual tag upon those who’ve been enslaved that can be removed by the house that enslaved them or another house can enslave them and then decide whether or not to free them,) when they’ve proven their loyalty to him and when he has proven his loyalty to them. And this sense is conveyed through the writing itself. Before he had died, I found it difficult to remember all of Darrow’s compadres. Who they were, what they could do for him and so on. But during his second possibility as a leader I could actually distinguish some of the more minor characters. Darrow’s personality no longer overpowers all but a few other people. It creates a noticeable difference in the style of Darrow’s command that I really liked. On another note… Titus. It seemed like Titus was meant to parallel Darrow had he given in to his desire for revenge versus the Golds. But the sequence didn’t really work for me. It hinges on a hero reveal that would have worked much better if there had been more tips prior to right before Titus dies. It is also disappointing because that hero reveal makes me wish to know more about him, but overall, Darrow is just too different. You never really obtain the sense that Darrow actually would act in that way, in fact earlier in the story Darrow does end up killing a Gold in a situation where there really was no other way. It’s gruesome, but Darrow is sorrowful and it deeply affects him and his relationship with another student. I also particularly enjoyed the final arc of the book beginning with Darrow being nursed back to life and ending him becoming a god! What a riot! So yeah, Red Rising. I definitely recommend it. There’s a lot more to it than I mentioned here, and I think the novel works very well over all! Give it a looksey if you’re into sci-fi dystopian spy books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I had a sense of Déjà vu when I started Red Rising. At first I was afraid I had stumbled upon a Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson) clone. Yet as I pushed forward I realized this is something much different. Something special.I cannot say exactly that this book is wholly original either. I recognize a lot of other books influence through the pages of Red Rising. Hunger Android games and Lord of the Flies also come to mind. Yet it still feels fresh. Most necessary is how powerful of a Main hero Darrow is. He is the voice of the book. He is a very proactive is has some elements of YA to it but I never felt as if I was reading a YA novel. It all feels very mature in a method that things like the Hunger Android games just didn't to me. So if YA isn't you thing don't largest compliant I have is there are a lot of side characters. I found it difficult to hold track of them all. Usually in first person books there is less side characters to hold track of. Since we never obtain a POV from them they can be forgettable. To a lot of times he would be talking to a hero and I would be at a loss for who they were exactly. That might be my own memory instead of a fault of the book.I really loved Red Rising. I am excited to begin reading book two. If the rest of the series delivers on the promise of this amazing book then this will be very unique indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Pierce Brown's Red Rising was a surprisingly amazing book, not necessarily because of the quality of the writing (which was good, just nothing outstanding) but because the story was compelling and original enough to feel like new 's a fairly distant future science fiction novel, taking put on Mars, but with a solar system that has been thoroughly populated by the time the novel begins. The human population of Red Rising has been divided into very distinct castes, defined by biological and neurological differences that are both technological and evolutionary in nature...and that is at the root of the story.Our protagonist is a "red" who works in deep tunnels below Mars, drilling and harvesting materials in exceedingly hazardous conditions for the noble purpose of terraforming the planet above. It's only after his wife is hanged and he goes proudly to his own death that he finds nothing generations of his people had believed was true. The surface of Mars had been long terraformed and civilized as had essentially every planet or moon in our solar system.He undergoes painful and extensive alterations of all sorts in order to pass for one of the ruling class for the purpose of exacting vengeance and righting the wrong that had been done to his people from within that upper class.I've seen a number of people comparing this trilogy to The Hunger Games, which was one of the reasons I hadn't bothered to read it until now. I didn't care to read what I suspected to be a low-rent clone of a wildly successful series. Upon reading this book, I suspect any of those people comparing it to The Hunger Android games haven't read a lot of other books, since the only similarities have to do with a corrupt and decadent ruling culture and a amazing deal of violence. There is more resemblance to Lord of the Flies and Ender's Android game than anything else, with a healthy dose of Roman (and a bit of Greek) mythology to set the stage.I enjoyed this book enough that I plan to read the next two, and I think it's got a unbelievable degree of hero development that makes it feel more three-dimensional than a lot of young adult fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I have never given a book 5 stars and rarely bother writing reviews for books I read to be honest. I just finished this whole series and I search myself typing furiously on this keyboard with an overwhelming need to spread the word. This book and the series in general is EXCELLENT. If you are questioning whether to purchase this book because you have fun the genre and are looking for a fresh fix, do yourself a favor, just STOP READING REVIEWS AND BUY IT. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.I have completed the trilogy and I am telling you, if you are questioning whether this book or this trilogy in general is worth it just look up the latest book in the series. The book is called Morning star, it has over 1000 reviews and exactly ZERO of them are one to describe it? Im sure a lot of other reviewers have done a attractive job at describing the plot so I will just say what I think. The story is original, the characters are believable. They are supposed to be teenagers but behave more like adults because of their circumstances. This, I think is hard to create believable but the author succeeds at it. The book and the whole series really is incredibly dark, its beautiful, its captivating, its is trilogy broke the mold in my opinion. Its a legitimate adult appropiate YA will not regret this decision. Buy it, read it and allow me know what you think :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    This series is sort of a Starship Enterprise meets Android games of Thrones....I love the dystopian genre. This series is sometimes hard to picture, based on the author's descriptions. I still have no idea what a slingblade looks like. I don't even know if I'm using the right word. Strange Frankensteinian recreations of humans into various "colors". I'm on book 2 and hoping it gets better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I wasn't sure about this at first - maybe too youth oriented - but I kept at it and it quickly turned the corner and became one of the best reads I've had in a lot of years. I have devoured all three books and am impressed with how the author continued to build characters (flaws and all) and expand and deepen his political/social universe philosophies and complications all the while continuing to twist and turn and surprise me constantly with an intricate, tension filled plot. I highly recommend this trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I bought this book looking for something new. What I found is something old that is fresh again. The book started off great. Characters that are relatable, in a setting that is scarily relatable, and writing that is smart. Buy the end of the book I couldn't believe how much it increased in greatness. I was enraptured in the happenings that unfolded on the pages before me and , with the most satisfying ending I've read in long a time, I cannot wait to crack the cover of the next book in the series. Have fun the read, goodman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Red Rising is about a slave in a cast system who dreams of more. After finding out that his people have been lied to Darrow, the main character, sets off on a risky mission with a rebel group to rise up versus the Gold leaders of the society.I am writing this review after my second time reading this book and I feel like I have a whole fresh appreciation of the epic scale of this book on the second time through. I honestly cannot fathom this story sometimes because it is so much bigger than the paper and cardboard rectangle it lives in. Pierce Brown has crafted such an awesome novel it is hard to remember sometimes that this is his debut novel. The writing is unbelievable and very cinematic in it’s detail especially with the tactical tactics and political intrigue.Darrow goes through a lot to live up to the dream his wife has for him. At each fresh shift in his situation Darrow reminds himself of his motivations and struggles to stay grounded in them while keeping practically everything about himself a secret. Darrow has to disguise himself as a Gold and attend their Institute where he isn’t taking classes but battling with other students to gain control of the various houses. Lots of crazy antics ensue and Darrow finds that he can make bonds with these Golds whether it is of necessity or even real friendship to support him gain a favorable position in the android game and in Society. Darrow’s friends: Mustang, Pax, Sevro, Roque, Quinn, Leah, and Cassius are all so intense and well developed characters that they don’t fade into the background. They create their presence known and are just so fantastic, Darrow’s plight is the meat of the story but these characters are all of the tasty side dishes and the dessert.I would love to continue to gush about this book but I don’t wish to give anything away… there are so a lot of twists and turns and one wrong word could spoil something. I feel like this story is one that you shouldn’t go into knowing too much because you will never be able to guess what will happen anyways.If you are a fan of The Hunger Android games or Ender’s Android game then I would surely recommend this to you because it has been described as a mix of these two books. I completely agree with that description but don’t expect it to be anything like either of those books because it is in a class all of it’s own. Be ready for some cringeworthy deaths and some insane antics because this book is one wild ride!Originally posted to[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    The book does an awesome job of introducing K8s with Nigel's tongue in cheek humor sprinkled around and is an entertaining read.Title is slightly misleading though, in the sense that it conveys that this is "the" authoritative book on K8s covering everything it has to offer. However, it did definitely push me to have a look at official docs to dive stly, a primer on how to secure k8s would create it worthy of 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Unbelievable book by an inspiring and knowledgeable author. If you wish to learn the tech, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    If you are fresh to Kubernetes, then this is the first book you should read. It is up-to-date and gives exactly the overview you need to obtain up and running. Clearly explains and shows examples for all the key concepts.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    This has been a very useful and succinct introduction to kubernetes. Helped me to obtain up to speed. It doesn't test to cover everything that kubernetes has to offer. This is both the strength and weakness of the book. If you are looking for a fast introduction to Kubernets, look no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Amazing info in the book! However, it required more attention from an editor. The book includes a lot of typographical errors, even for a technical book. A lot of of them would not have been caught by a spell checker, because they were words in wrong locations from sentences that were clearly partially revised and not re-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    This is a amazing introduction to kubernetes but very short. I had hoped to learn about persistent volumes, namespaces and authentication mechanisms but none ofthese subjects are covered in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Simplifies and demystifies using straightforward language - already recommended to several colleagues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Very practical, easy and to the point. You learn the primary concepts around Kubernetes and you obtain to place them at work. I read the book in one morning, and starting from a primary containers knowledge I managed to deploy a Kubernetes cluster in GCE.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Kubernetes Book: Version 2.2 - January 2018 review [Book]  2018-1-24 18:1

    Amazing introduction to K8s in Windows. Simple to follow language and very simple to understand examples supplied. Would loved to have seen more technical info on Kubernetes architecture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    White Cat Black Cat is a unbelievable rhyming book that kids will love. A learning lesson in diversity and acceptance of our differences, colors, and the realization of the importance of friendship. Sigal Adler is a gifted and talented author. Kids will love the illustrations!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    A charming story in rhymewith necessary values about love for others no matter what color they e illustrations are beautiful, bright and happy.Warm recommendation for all beginner readers preschoolersAnd for all those who love cats .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Such an adorable kids book to learn attractive friendship from the cats' point of view. The story is very humorous, and the illustration is original and vivid, and we can also have fun the attractive rhymes. If you are a cat lover, you will definitely fall in love with this gem. Thank you so much for a unbelievable work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Two cats of various colors meet for the first time. Each is full of disdain for the other based on color. Then they think and decide to become the other one. Both explore both are required and good. Neither is better than the other.I liked the rhyming. It was fun to read aloud. The illustrations are wonderful. It teaches a lesson we all need but it doesn't preach.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I like the fact that this book is simple, gives a amazing children's based introduction to race relations as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This is an amazing child book😉 My kid really loved the colourful characters (no pun intended lol) Waiting for part 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This is very cute and a fast read. Amazing message, loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My 7 year old son loved this book. Amazing funny story in rhyme !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Children's books: "WHITE CAT BLACK CAT " kids series -1 (kids books ages 2-8 ) (Animal bedtime story preschool picture book) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Cute story with a amazing lesson. Thank you from Baden!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter