HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker Reviews & Opinions


Submit HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker review [App]  2019-8-12 13:32

    This is super helpful for keeping track of all starwars media in a collection. Freaking love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker review [App]  2019-8-12 13:32

    Incredibly helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is an absolutely essential and awesome adaptation of George Lucas' rough draft screenplay, showing an necessary evolutionary scene to a classic work. It shows just how much was in Lucas' head from the start, and Rinzler's adept handling gives it a compelling life all its own. Mayhew's art is wonderful. This is a must-have for any fan of Star Wars, Comics, Sci-Fi/Fantasy or Movie as a result. A fan of all of them? Even better.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch HoloCanon: An unofficial Star Wars canon tracker video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Based on a rough draft of Star Battles you see elements from the original and prequel trilogies showing that Lucas had characters and scenes from the very beginning. This ver also shows the very stilted dialogue that Lucas is also know this ver Han Solo is a green ewie isn't connected to Solo, and has to be taught to fly.Darth Vader isn't a e Sith is named Valorum.And in this ver Chewie gets his medal at the end. Yeah!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I'm not the largest Star Battles fan, but I search this book interesting, because it shows how huge George Luca's ideas were. He had to chop and edit his ideas so that they could fit within the limits of budget, unique effects technology, and time. I'm still in the process of reading this comic. Very good. I highly recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Book is definitely worth the $20 or so dollars. JUST BE WARNED: if you are going to buy it from a third party source, just create sure you are getting all of the issues. I bought this book from a third party source and they only sent me problems #1 and #2 as separate paper back copies, not all e largest draw to this graphic novel is the awesome artwork. It's probably the most stunning out of any comic book I've read. As for the story, it's not as amazing as the original films (better than the prequels for sure), but it's still worth a read. The cool factor of having read an adaptation of George Lucas's original draft is to amazing to pass e characters are beautiful underdeveloped and the dialogue is beautiful cheesy, but honestly it never really bothered me. If the book was a bit longer to create up for the fast pacing and hero development it would be a true solid graphic novel.I would also recommend to hardback edition, since it has really nice binding and comes with a "making of" section. This graphic novel is amazing for even mild Star Battles fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is the 'what could have been' entry in the Star Battles universe. Yes, it's not as fully formed as the movies; Hence, it's an early draft. Though that seems to be one of the major arguments versus this graphic novel, the artwork is attractive and if you are a real fan even if you don't like it you can at least appreciate what it means as a stepping stone to what was to become. My partner has been a Star Battles fan (make that MAJOR Star Battles fan) since he was a small boy and the films first hit the huge screen and he was able to have fun this thoroughly. Take it for what it is, comes recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    A must have for any Star Battles Fan! This really illustrates how a filmmakers vision changes over time. Here familiar characters look completely different. If you like Star Battles then you’ll love The Star Wars!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This graphic novel is something that I never knew existed for a while and it honestly surprised me. The art is beautiful damn amazing and the story, while very simple, is fascinating to me. This is probably what could have been had the current one not been made. While it ends on the promise of another story, I doubt we will obtain it. Still, I enjoyed this graphic novel and I highly recommend it to any long time Star Battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    As some other people have said, it's an interesting look into the development process George Lucas went through, but the story is bloated, full of plot holes and some characters, in particular Darth Vader, don't do much of anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Interesting interpretation of the first draft of the script.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars The Last Jedi: The Legends of Luke Skywalker (Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I've been waiting for this book and it didn't disappoint. If you're fans of Timothy Zhan's star battles EU, you'll message that Zahn did a very amazing job of portraying Luke's character, particularly in the Hand of Thrawn duology and Survivor's Quest. Ken Liu continues to capture the essence of Luke's hero but he delves in deeper in only a series of short stories, a remarkable feat. Three stories (an imperial's pov, the Tide and exogorth) , stood out to present the depths of compassion and wisdom Luke is learning in his journey to understand the force, more so than being a Jedi. If the EU spend more time to present Luke's masterful role as a Jedi master, this book turns the tide a bit by showing that Luke's destiny is more than what happened on ROTJ. Although I do love the heriocs of Luke depicted in EU, this series shows a deeper side of Luke and the farmboy integrity that he upholds to treat all beings of the force with respect. I give it four stars as there were two stories (the myth buster and the mote) which feel a small flat. Other than that, can't wait to see Luke in The Latest Jedi.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 6: Out Among The Stars (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    And with that, Jason Aaron’s storied run on Marvel’s flagship “Star Wars” title comes to an end. Volume 6 – “Out Among the Stars” collects problems #33-37, the majority of which are one-shot problems featuring individual adventures with the usual gang of heroes, as well as Sana Starros and Lando Calrissian. While these problems may not represent the pinnacle of either Aaron or artist Salvador Larroca’s talents, this final volume still stands as a decent enough farewell for Aaron, before Kieron Gillen comes aboard next month to steer the is usually the case with comic one-shots, the stakes for most of these problems feels low. That’s okay, though because Aaron mostly does enough fun items with hero dynamics and dialogue exchanges – pairing Luke and Leia together in problem #33, Lando and Sana together in #34, and Han and Chewie (shocker) in #35– to create up for his stories’ lack of “importance.” He also, finally, gets around in problem #36 to resolving the long-dangling plot thread that is C-3PO’s capture by Scar Squadron, which we witnessed all the method back at the end of Volume 4, “Last Flight of the Harbinger.” Although it’s hard not to want that we’d gotten a bit meatier of a follow-through to this story after waiting so long for it to be resolved – problem #25, which depicted C-3PO’s capture, was published all the method back in November 2016, pre-“Rogue One”s release - it’s still nice to see Aaron dot all of his i’s and cross his t’s before walking out the door.If there’s a major disappointment in this latest Volume, and really, in the latest two volumes of the series as well, it’s Salvador Larroca’s art. Like a lot of people, I really enjoyed his style on “Darth Vader,” but for some reason, his time on the main “Star Wars” title has been marred by an overreliance on photorealism and tracing, which – at least for my cash – is distracting at best and at worst, downright [email protected]#$%!&’s hard not to want that Aaron’s final problems on the series had been accompanied by artwork that was as powerful as that of his first, second, or even third arc, but hey - you can’t have everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    ONe of the few EU books I have been unable to collect over the latest 20 years. Very excited to finally have it to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Perfect add to my collection, thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Well, that dashing,daring, and devoius Han Solo has done it again. More excitement, more adventure! Being an avid Star Battles fan, I've spent most of my free time reading and re-reading this book. I love it! I would recomend this to any Star Battles fan, young or old. I tried to obtain multiple opinions in this book by my friends, and it seems that if you don't know a lick about Star Wars, you probably won't understand some of this book. But if you are familiar with SW, Hang On!! You're on for a beautiful wild ride. Now, I will admit it, there are a few parts in there where I felt kind of. . . uh. . . sleepy. ..(Maybe I stayed up longer than I thought reading it. . ) but the abundance of action and suspence quickly [email protected]#$%! away. All in all, I would say this is a very amazing me might say Han is just to brave (or to stupid) to be realistic. But, as Han would say, "Hey, its Me!"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    This is a combined review of The paper back book and the comic from Dark horse, Classic star battles - Han Solo at stars end - Volume 5. This comic is based on the stand alone novelette written by the late Brian Daley. For those who had read AC Crispens Han Solo Trilogy (my favorite of the entire EU), Crispen left time in his story to accommodate Daley's stories about Han and Chewy taking a trip to the corporate sector. Virtually nothing is known about the corp sector except what Daley told us in his 3 novels about his favorite character, Han. One of those 3 stories is HS at is comic has amazing inking and binding but the pencil and artwork is of comic strip quality. I give the story a 5, inking a 3 and pencils a 2, then I round up because the stars are Han and chewy for 4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    This is a review of Classic star battles - Han Solo at stars end - Volume 5. This comic is based on the stand alone novelette written by the late Brian Daley. For those who had read AC Crispens Han Solo Trilogy (my favorite of the entire EU), Crispen left time in his story to accommodate Daley's stories about Han and Chewy taking a trip to the corporate sector. Virtually nothing is known about the corp sector except what Daley told us in his 3 novels about his favorite character, Han. One of those 3 stories is HS at is comic has amazing inking and binding but the pencil and artwork is of comic strip quality. I give the story a 5, inking a 3 and pencils a 2, then I round up because the stars are Han and chewy for 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    While the plot and the script follow the perfect book upon which this is based fairly well, the end results fall short of the ssa looks kinda like she's described in the book, but the other characters aren't really recognizable, even Han and Chewie. While the ship renditions are fairly good, the only thing they got right was the Falcon -- there weren't any TIEs in the novel, and those small warriors in the comic aren't e art is too childish, and the words are too big, and the coloring and detail is a bit dull. Still, all of this is somewhat overcome by a fairly exciting story and a quick pace.Another plus is the low price. If you're into Star Wars, it's worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    this was the worst i have ever read. i never caught the point of the whole story, yet i created myself read the whole thing to test to obtain the point. I never did. it had a not good plot, moved slowly, and to me was too boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    A amazing book that sheds some light on Han Solo's life before the happenings of Star Wars: A Fresh Hope. A good, cheap read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    It wasn't as amazing as I remebered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Captain Phasma (Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Captain Phasma (2017)) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Amazing cap and also introduction on an intriguing hero we met in Episode VII. This comic showed us a ruthless hero who was willing to do anything to advance her put in the First Order. Got to wonder how intelligent she really is though. Snoke, Ren, and Rey will all see right thru her. However, it’s cool to see what an ambitious and brutal Stormtrooper might do in the Star Battles Universe. This comic series showed us that clearly and if nothing else gets the reader excited for Episode VIII in just under a month!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    It was nice to see some of the things that Yoda did between the Clone Battles and the first time he is seen in Episode 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing collection, hold the Marvel stories coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Not as amazing as the previous entries but amazing story none the less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    So I finished this one the other day after reading the negative reviews. And while I will say it isn't a poor comic, I will say it wasn't entirely important either.Spoilers ahead:The book picks up at the end of The Latest Flight of the Harbinger with C-3PO in the hands of the Empire. R2 takes off to rescue him and Luke continues to read Ben Kenobi's journal. The rest of the story deals with Yoda feeling a call from the Force that leads him to a strange Lord of the Flies like e story isn't terrible, but it doesn't really do anything either. It doesn't advance the current story closer towards Empire Strikes Back (which is probably why they did it so they can hold the comics going) and the only purpose that I can search for the Yoda story is to present that Jedi must be humble in their abilities. But we already saw that out of Yoda in his three part series at the end of The Clone e artwork is really amazing though. So there's that.If you wish to read an ok side story, go for it. Or if you're like me and collect a lot of the expanded canon then still go for it. But if you wish to just hold going in the show story and not read Yoda, wait for The Screaming Citadel. All you miss here is Scar Squadron is planning to use 3PO as bait for our heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is a tough review for me to write. On the one hand, the book looks great. Perfect art. And, how often do you read a story about Yoda? I give Marvel large props for attempting something different. This isn't a story about the Rebels vs. the Empire. It's something e issue is that I felt like a fresh Pink Floyd album, where you feel like there's a notice there, but you're not quite sure what that notice is saying. All the time reading this story, I kept thinking to myself that the end of this--this interesting story--is going to come together and blow my mind. But, it didn't quite do that. And, if it is there on the page, I sure didn't obtain "it" on my first pass through the the end, I judge a book by how much I wish to go pick it up again once I lay it down. With this book, I wasn't as intrigued as I should have been. I really just wanted to obtain it read and done. It's a laudable effort on Marvel's part to attempt such a story, but for me, it just didn't e story does tie in a bit with the original trilogy, but my guess is that you could skip this collection and not miss much in the on-going Marvel series.I will note though that this collection also contains the second Star Battles Annual. You obtain the Yoda story plus the Annual. And, that's the bright side, as the story in this second Annual is quite good. It's a easy story, contained in the one issue. But, it's a story I found compelling, and it features a fresh character, Pash, that I hope we see again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    A huge cup of "meh".I am a large fan of SW, and I have enjoyed what Marvel has done with the franchise since they reacquired the license, but I gotta say, this was their first misstep, in my opinion. Its not that it was bad; it was just kind of pointless. It was an unnecessary delay of the main storyline that we could have done without. And while Yoda is a favorite, IF this story had to be told, it could have been done in half the time. Not a poor trade, just pointless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    r my money, this is the weakest story yet–not just from Aaron's "Star Wars" run, but in all of Marvel's Star Battles output since acquiring the license in 2014. I'm usually a huge fan of both Aaron's writing and Salvador Larroca's style, so the thought of the two of them pairing up for an arc–let alone an arc focused specifically on freaking YODA–really had me jazzed. Color me surprised and disappointed that neither writer nor artist seemed to operating at their full potential here.I could go on and on about all of the things that didn't work here, whether it be the plot itself–which proves definitively that there is such thing as a Star Battles story that is TOO out there–Larroca's linework, which seemed oddly unfinished here, or even just the method the arc sits rather uncomfortably alongside the broader Star Battles lore (no spoilers, but if you've read, you know of what I speak). In fairness, there were moments here and there that worked, particularly early on, when it felt like Aaron had a better grasp of the type of tale he wanted to spin. But the longer this arc dragged on, the more eager I was for it to wrap up. And now, mercifully, it Battles Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret Battle (Star Battles (2015-))

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The fresh Marvel SW comics have, for the most part been great. The Vader books are, for me, the top tier but the SW run has been beautiful amazing as well. Unfortunately there is only so much storyline to fill between Ep IV and V and it feels like we've filled that gap sufficiently. Now we have filler such as this 's not poor but there is nothing memorable about it either other than the artwork which is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I was intrigued when I learned Marvel was departing from the main story arc for this one like they have with the Obi-Wan stories (which have been beautiful great). This story, however, was not. It felt like Yoda was plunked into the second half of Angry Max: Beyond Thunderdome in a rather pointless and frankly, kind of dumb, story. The only enjoyable moment, for me, takes put on the latest page of the latest issue. Even then it was a bit of a forced reach back to the Star Battles we know and love. You're really not missing much if you skip this volume. After volume four, I really feel like there's nothing more that needs to be told in this period of Star Battles history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Up until now, Jason Aaron hasn't place a foot wrong in the Star Battles line. The plotting, characterization, and just the general feel of his run have been great, a true pleasure to read. Unfortunately with volume 5, things go off the rails. Focusing on an untold tale from Yoda's history, this story is a complete side-step with no true impact or bearing on the larger story. For the first time I found myself pushing impatiently through the pages in an attempt to obtain to the end, which is resolved in a less than fulfilling way. You also obtain an unrelated Princess Leia story at the end which is mediocre at best. Here's hoping that things return to normal with the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Best idea I have ever heard and as I read it, it got even better. These two guys create a large difference in the Galaxy. They fill in the gaps of why certain scenes happen the method they did. Its a worthy read for laughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I found out about this on Youtube and read it all in one sitting. I don't regret this choice. I only regret that I don't have more of it to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    All of Mark and Bink's adventures in one book! SO worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This is definitely Star Battles done silly. Mark and Bink manage to stumble through almost every necessary stage of the saga while they test to hold from getting blasted.While the story is humorous, it still has its own consistency that keeps it entertaining and manages to hold real (more or less) to the ere are plenty of small visual jokes drawn into the background. The artwork is a excellent fit for the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    A slap stick comedy that really fills in the holes you didn't know were there in the Star Battles Universe. This is a must-read for die-hard fans of the saga. Or if you're just looking for a funny method to pass the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Mark and Bink-I heard about them reading a 'Best Of' list of the Dark House line of Star Battles comics and I had to check them out. I'm a fan of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern and this is definitely along those lines, although a fun take on the underbelly of the Star Battles movieverse and what it takes to survive or not survive the Star Wars. With plenty of jokes and shout-outs to fan culture along the margins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    It is a funny story that makes a lot of of the sceans from the film possible. If i could i would watch the corresponding films along with the comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I really enjoyed this story, very funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I loved this book, a collection of all the Mark and Bink stories save for one that was published in Star Battles tales. Here we see two goofy Rebel troopers who escape Princess Leia's blockade runner by dressing as Storm Troopers end up in the background of almost every stage from episodes 4-6, and even a bit of 1 and 3!The writers manage to search ways to fit these two into iconic situations and even have them CAUSE some of the things. Who were the troopers on duty when Obi Wan crept in to turn off the tractor beam? Why didn't the red clad Imperial Guard intervene in the final war between Luke and Darth Vader and the Emperor?A amazing read for Star Battles fans with a sense of humor!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Really enjoyed this book, gave a lot to think about when watching the films from now on. If you like star wars, you should read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I read this in continuing the Darth Vader series, I have not read the Star Battles comic series yet, so it was a bit various going back and forth between Darth Vader and Star Battles between issues. All in all, this was a amazing crossover collection, but the art styles and even the writing styles seemed to clash a bit. I felt that the Star Battles writer didn't really capture the Aphra and Triple-Zero characters in quite the same method that the Darth Vader writer does, although it was very interesting seeing Triple-Zero in the realistic art style of the Star Battles comics. It was also a bit confusing to search this collection when Amazon does not contain it in the Darth Vader series page. If you follow what that says you will miss a huge chunk of the Darth Vader story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This TPB takes put right after the happenings of Star Battles Episode IV: A Fresh Hope. Darth Vader comes out of hyperspace in his lone TIE Interceptor nose to nose with 2 squadrons of Rebel X Wings. Perfect action sequences ensue. This is my first acquaintance with the Star Battles Universe in Marvel comics (apart from the 80's books) and if Vader Down is an accurate representation of the quality of work, it's comparable to the unbelievable job Marvel did on Stephen King's Dark Turret prequels. This was also my first digital purchase of any comic for my Kindle. While having a hard copy of the comic would be a lot preferable, the $3.99 purchase price was a bargain to own the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I grew up with comics and Star Wars. I was 11 in 1977 and haven't lost my love for the characters. That being said until recently I hadn't read a lot of SW comics since the original Marvel run.I decided to check out the latest Vader comic after listening to the Star Battles Theory channel on YouTube. I'm glad I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    As I've said elsewhere, Aaron and his squad do something that hasn't been done in 20 years in these books: they create Vader scary again. He's a force to be reckoned with, and this is one of the only stories series that brings him into contact with the original trilogy heroes, playing them off of the minor characters that we've been introduced to in the ongoing Vader books. Han, Chewie, and the droids all meet their doppelgängers in tremendously entertaining ways. The Vader series is far better than it has any right to be, and Vader Down is one of the best stories to come out of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    If you're excited for Rogue One, or just like Darth Vader, this collection is great. This is the Vader we all wish in the upcoming film. An perfect addition to fresh canon, and the best story between Star Battles and Vader comics. If you're not gonna buy both collections then obtain this one. Artwork is wonderful, story is superb. My only complaint was some clunky dialogue in one or two panels. That's all the negativity I could muster about Vader Down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This is incredible. The violence is great, Vader is intense. Luke Han and Leia are at their best. Tripple - Zero is at his most insane Betee is a sniper and a bomber. And Dr Aphra is funny. This is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Vader Down was a excellent Star Battles comics it captures the look characters and feel of the universe. I can't wait to finish up the Vader series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Attractive artwork and a amazing story. I loved it. It’s the first Star Battles comic I’ve read, can’t wait to hold reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Lots of fun, exciting background on charecters......worth thr time to read....the only con would be, no captain would sacrifice thier ship so easily....it's their ticket to freedom....but you'll have to read the story to search out why;)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Epic story involving all your favorite characters. I recommend reading Vader volumes 1 and 2 beforehand so you can follow along with his arc. Star Battles volumes 1 and 2 are less necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    If you have read the novels this brings it even more to life. If you haven't read the novels it is a amazing method to do so. I am a large star battles fiction fan and the Thrawn series is one of my favorite. When I found this on amazon I about flipped out. Got it in the mail and flipped out again. It is large for a graphic novel!!!! The pages and coloring are very well done, all glossy. Highly recommend it. I want they would do more of the novels like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    "The Thrawn Trilogy" is considered by a lot of to be the unofficial Episodes VII, VIII, and IX, and for amazing reason. All the problems are included, along with some of the cover art. Only a brief introduction. As this is a compilation of comic book issues, it can't be faulted for the quality of the story or art. Dark Horse insisted on condensing each book into 6 issues, so of course some things will be left out or glossed over. That said, it's still excellent. Everything has been reproduced in high quality. A worthy addition to a library.4 stars because it lacks some of the cover art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I loved these books when they came out originally in novel form. Though there were some parts that were not quite what I would consider star wars, for the most part it's fun and entertaining, the end itself is a bit disappointing after following the story through three novels, but overall it's a amazing experience. Now comes the compiling of the three novels in their comic form. I love the design of these books, the black writing on black hardcover book looks great. The only problem I have with this series is sometimes its' hard to follow what is going on. I know it's complicated to take a novel and place it into a limited number of comics but there are times when they leave out bits of info or begin a conversation in the middle, so if you have not read the novels or you read them a long time ago, you'll forget a bit of what they are talking about. It seems to jump a bit at times. The flow is a bit off from time to time. But the art and overall story adaptation is great. So if you love Star Battles you'll love this book. The jumpiness I mentioned is the reason it gets only 4 stars. But, it's still a solid read and well packaged as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I will test to be as concise as I can about this graphic novel. The book, adapted from Zahn's trilogy of novels, is so amazing I can't even do justice to it with words. It is sheer brilliance! The book is broken down into each of the three novels from the trilogy, and each one is handled beautifully. The writing- particularly the dialogue- is classic Star Battles all the way! Luke sounds like Luke. Han sounds like Han, etc. And the fresh characters(there are numerous, but only a handful of true "players") are every bit as real to the feel of what a Star Battles hero should be like as the original cast. The addition of Thrawn, Kaarde, C'Baoth and Jade alone give this epic a new yet familiar Star Battles globe to delve into. The artwork is divided amongst 3 various artists, each with his own special style. DO NOT WORRY about this, however! The styles may be different, but they don't impede the flow of the story in any way. In fact, I felt just the opposite. I liked the changes between chapters/books. The changes never had you guessing,"Which hero is that supposed to be?" or "What planet are they on now?". Everything is seamless. You just obtain treated to a series of 3 very talented artists who give each chapter a slightly various edge. It's kinda like how "A Fresh Hope" felt a small less dark than "The Empire Strikes Back." And "Empire" gave method to a kind of various emotional makeup of the final installment, "Return of the Jedi." All 3 were exciting and full of fantasy/sci-fi/action/adventure(as well as some drama, romance and comedy thrown in for amazing measure). Well, the writing, artwork and story/plot throughout this attractive hardcover is no exception.I can't say enough about how wonderul this book is! It feels like you're watching Episodes 7,8, and 9 unfold in front of your eyes! And for those of you who are only familiar with the movies, this book is one of the rarer EU stories that requires no previous knowledge of any of the other EU Star Battles books or closing, all I can say is that I felt like a child again as I read this book(being a child when I first saw the original trilogy). And I know I will reread it over and over again, much as I watch the movies over and over. So, if you wanna know what happened to everyone from the original trilogy of films after the curtain dropped, look no further! Go out and buy this awesome graphic novel. You won't regret it! May the Force be with you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Never did I expect, after so a lot of years down the road, that Dark Horse finally compiled the entire collection of the Thrawn Trilogy into this remarkable hardcover edition. If I had known then, I wouldn't have wasted my time collecting the individual 6-book problems of each series, and the individual 3 tradepaperback series - I guess all those individual comic problems are worth much more now! However, it still delighted me to, once again, purchase and keep the entire collection in my e Thrawn Trilogy hardcover edition is a must-have for all die-hard Star Battles fans out there. Ever since Timothy Zahn released his 3 novels 20 years ago, starting with Heir To The Empire, readers have always wonder what ysalamiri or an Interdictor cruiser would look like. Now we know. The comics writers have edited out, but also retained quite a lot of the nuances and verbal speech that the characters use. I guess something will definitely be lost in translation, otherwise this comic adaptation would be more than 800 pages! Timothy Zahn did a remarkable job bringing each and every hero back to life, which kick-started the novel/comics franchise of the Star Battles Expanded up, I'm looking to purchase the Dark Empire complete collection. I'm like all die-hard Star Battles fans out there. The books just can't satisfy the thirst for more action, adventure and stories from this awesome y the Force be with us all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Unbelievable trilogy, the same spirit and pace of the classic movies. Mandatory read for all Star Battles fans. The adaptation is amazing but recommend to read the books first then take this one ....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing read and amazing graphics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    It's amazing but I preferred the regular books over the graphic novel. There's a lot of info and hero development that are lost in this version. It's still worth reading. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    A amazing storyline. The rise and fall of an imperial remnant led by the Grand Admiral Thrawn. Also the begin of the Luke Skywalker and Mara Jade saga. A lot to like here for the fans of the expanded universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I enjoyed the books and this was a stroll down Star Battles memory lane. The art work is unbelievable and love the various choices the artists created from book to book. The storytelling is enjoyable and quick paced, maybe people a small to quick paced for fans who have not read the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Shadows of the Empire is amazing but the others weren't much to speak of in yerms of story and artwork

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This particular Omnibus is almost perfect. The final entry, which purports to be a direct sequel to Shadows of the Empire, was severely disappointing in my opinion. However, the outstanding material that precedes it more than makes up for the weak art and story that concludes the volume. I would recommend it to anyone, although perhaps not at full price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Long Live the Real Star Battles Expanded Universe forever..... The shadow of the empire stories, and the story of Mara jade are one of the several beginnings of the Real Star Battles Expanded Universe launched in the 1990's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This has got to be one of the greatest non-movie Star Battles stories ever! I remember when these comics, games, and novels came out because it was a whole fresh chapter to the saga that had never been told before. A must read for any die-hard Star Battles fan. Dash Rendar has got to be one of the best Expanded Universe characters ever created! Buy now!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    its not that i didnt like the comic it self, the product was just in very not good condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Hng

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    While I love Star Battles and all of Dark Horse's novels set in its expanded universe, this graphic novel in particular doesn't keep up as well as I had remembered it. While Shadows of the Empire was once thought of as being so amazing that it warranted its own movie, I think several of Dark Horse's other efforts are far more compelling and deserving of such distinction (i.e. Thrawn Trilogy, Dark Empire Trilogy, Crimson Empire Trilogy). Still though, if you haven't read this then you absolutely should! While it's not the most thrilling Star Battles graphic novel, it fits into the timeframe between two of the best films in the franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I missed Shadows of the Empire when it first came out. It was a project in the mid-90s that used a novel, video android game and comic to fill in the gaps between Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi and was a fair hit. This book reprints the original comic and then 2 mini series the followed e lead story telling how Luke, Chewie, Lando and Leia tracked down Han Solo and Boba Fett is fairly weak. Mostly taken from the novel it feels rushed, fresh characters like Prince Xizor and Dash Rendar appear but are never properly introduced. In the final war the villain dies off camera. The art is more stylized than most Star Battles books, it looks like one of the hundreds of Todd McFarlane clones that populated the mid e second story by novelist Timothy Zahn and Carlos Ezquerra follows Mara Jade an Imperial killer targeted for death after the Emperor's death. The focus on one hero makes for a stronger story with twists and turns. Ezquerra's art is a delight as e latest story follows the human-looking android device Guri as she tries to leave her life as an killer behind. It's kind of a light story but the art by Ron Randall is beautiful and there's a lot of cheesecake. Guri of course looks like a statuesque blond and her jumpsuit gets torn up quite a bis is a fun book but not great, it's got a amazing price and you'll have fun it but it's not worth hunting down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Thoroughly enjoyed experiencing superb artwork - some of the scenes were breathtaking, even on a 10" smartphone - and carefully plotted and intersected storylines that form the fibres of the Star Battles tapestry. I have read a lot of SW Omnibus editions and the overall visual experience on this compilation was especially enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Back in 1996 when it seemed like Star Battles would never return to the huge screen, Lucasfilm launched the Shadows of the Empire series that included a novel, a comic book, a beautiful amazing Nintendo 64 game, and even a soundtrack. This volume collects the original SotE story, plus the Mara Jade mini-series and the follow-up Shadows of the Empire: Evolution. All three stories are beautiful good. This collected volume is a amazing deal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..."...a "Star Wars" saga ended much too 2006, Dark Horse Comics premiered an ambitious fresh storyline to the "Expanded Universe" of "Star Wars" tales. This saga took George Lucas' epic galactic mythos to an unexplored time, 137 years after the movie adventures of Luke Skywalker, and detailed the exploits of his descendants. Specifically this was the story of Cade Skywalker, a man torn by the tragedies and burdens of his past, as well as the realities of what the name 'Skywalker' meant to him and the galaxy. This was also the story of Darth Krayt, leader of an troops of dark force users he called the "One Sith." As the tale of "Star Wars: Legacy" began, this Dark Lord had..."...broken the spine of the galaxy. Nearly a hundred years ago, the Yuuzhan Vong invaded, plunging the galaxy into deep chaos -- bleeding and weakening it. Patient in the Force, I waited as the galaxy grew darker."After much tumult and treachery, Darth Krayt wrested control of the war-ravaged galaxy and became emperor of a fresh galactic empire. But even after his triumph, the Lord of the Sith came to learn he required the power wielded by the seeming latest of the Skywalkers. Yet the troubled Cade had turned his back on who he was, claiming:"I'm not a Jedi, and I'm not a Skywalker, either. Not anymore.""Legacy" thus became a "Star Wars" saga of an uncertain future even as it furthered ideas and ideals of its mythic past; and as made by writer John Ostrander and artist Jan Duursema, this Dark Horse comic series became one of the most intriguing and entertaining interpretations of Mr. Lucas' cosmic tale of amazing vs evil...until it came to an abrupt is hardcover volume includes the following:Issues #0,0B-19 of the original comic e above individual comics were reprinted in the following trade paperback editions listed as individual stories or story-arcs in this hardcover volume:(Volume 1) Broken (Issues #1-3,5-7)(Volume 2) Shards (Issues #4,8-13) (Note: Problems #4 & 8 are reprinted here out of their original sequence.)(Volume 3) Claws of the Dragon (Issues #14-19)The individual covers to the comics illustrated by Jan Duursema, Adam Hughes, Travis Charest, and Dave Ross, are featured throughout the hardcover volume in various formats. The cover to problem #10 by Mr. Ross is not of the pleasures a reader gets in exploring "Star Wars: Legacy" is the sense of the unknown in its story narative. Not since the pioneering time of the Original "Star Wars" Trilogy did fans of the saga have the possibility to read an adventure starring a member of the Skywalker guild in which they didn't know the ultimate fate of the character. While the ongoing "Expanded Universe" or "EU" has continued "the adventures of Luke Skywalker" in comic book and novel form, "Legacy's" achievement was its showcase of a fresh Skywalker, a man unlike his popular ancestor, as he, and his mates war for the soul of the galaxy, even as he, Cade Skywalker, battled for his own de is unlike any Skywalker, or any character seen before in the saga. A conflicted, drug-taking bounty hunter, he is also perhaps the most exasperating hero/anti-hero a "Star Wars" enthusiast could come across in any "EU" tale. A lot of times while enjoying reading the series, this reviewer wished to smack Cade on the back of the head and tell him to obtain his act together! But "Legacy" is the story of Cade's struggle to truly search himself, and despite his self-destructive tendencies, his tale is told so well, the reader comes to root for Cade in his journey to bring peace and balance to the galaxy, as well as to himself."Star Wars: Legacy" also featured a memorable villain in the hero of Darth Krayt, a Sith Lord striving to shape the galaxy in his photo with his vision of "the One Sith." Conquering the galaxy through the force of his will, Krayt, like Cade Skywalker, is revealed over time to have ties to the past of the "EU" and was made very much in the tradition of former infamous Sith Masters as Darth Sidious, Darth Bane, and the fallen Jedi Knight, Anakin Skywalker, who became Darth e "Legacy" saga is a story with rich characters and concepts that extrapolated on the evolving "Star Wars" mythos in interesting and thought-provoking ways. From its complex leading characters to plot elements like "the One Sith" or the fascinating idea of the "Imperial Knights;" light saber wielding offshoots of the Jedi Order, whose loyalty was exclusive to the galactic emperor, "Star Wars: Legacy" offered readers a distinctive vision of a future "Star Wars" galaxy.When this fresh "Star Wars" adventure was announced in 2006, there was trepidation from a lot of fans of the saga, who were concerned about the direction its creators, Mr. Ostrander and Ms. Duursema, had planned for their special take on "the future of Star Wars." But this was a talented squad of veteran comic storytellers, including past "Star Wars" comics, and "Legacy" became a showcase which continued this duo's own rich "Star Wars" creative legacy. Writer John Ostrander has always had a darker perspective on the "Star Wars" saga, and "Legacy" reflected this in its scarred characters, intricate plotlines and oftentimes shadowy settings. As illustrated by Jan Duursema, "Legacy" was an imaginatively realized vision of the "Star Wars" galaxy, complimenting the established look of that "galaxy far, far away" with visual ideas special to this particular adventure series. The look of "Legacy" was enhanced by the rich color work of artist Brad Anderson, who contributed greatly to Ms. Duursema's pencil artwork, and the ink lines drawn by Dan Parsons. Another notable artist on "Legacy" was Colin Wilson, who served as an alternative illustrator on the comic for a trio of stories featured in this collection. Mr. Wilson would go on to draw the "Star Wars: Invasion" comic mini-series trilogy for Dark Horse from ch to the regret of "Star Wars" fans, like myself, who came to love this series, "Star Wars: Legacy" was cancelled in 2010 with the publication of its 50th issue, despite the fact the comic was one of the most famous titles released at the time by Dark Horse. To wrap up the lingering plotlines that remained at the unexpected end of the ongoing series, the publisher and the series' co-creators, Ms. Duursema and Mr. Ostrander, produced "Star Wars: Legacy: War," a six-issue mini-series that was released in 2011. But even with the sequel mini-series, there were still thousands of disappointed "Star Wars" fans, who lamented turning the latest page of "Legacy: War," grieving the loss of a comic series they felt came to an untimely me consolation for fans would come with the publication of a companion "Legacy" comic in 2013. Unofficially called "Legacy 2," this series featured the story of Ania Solo, "carrying on Han and Leia's legacy -- and taking on the galaxy...solo!"Still, for fans of the original "Star Wars: Legacy" comic series and/or admirers of amazing comics period, this thick hardcover collection offers the first epic adventures of an especially special "Star Wars" saga. It comes very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..."...the "Star Wars: Legacy" saga reaches its epic finale!"Control of the galaxy is at a tipping point." Cade Skywalker, descendant of the legendary Jedi Knight Luke Skywalker, has returned to his life of piracy, after bringing about the fall of Darth Krayt, Lord of the One Sith and dark Emperor of the galaxy. Krayt's apparent death at the hand of Skywalker has sent shockwaves throughout the stars with opposing forces, including the Jedi Order and members of the deposed Imperial government, all planning on filling the vacuum left by the seeming demise of the Sith Master. But all is not as it seems.While Cade continues to struggle through his past legacy, his show life and his future destiny, the Will of the Force drives him reluctantly back into happenings that decide the fate of the galaxy. The One Sith conspire to maintain their genocidal rule of the Galactic Empire, while behind the scenes betrayal and subtefuge undermine their grip on the galaxy. Battle comes to wreak havok on the fractured civilization and this grand story of "the Future of Star Wars," envisioned by writer John Ostrander and artist Jan Duursema, comes to a galaxy-changing climax."Star Wars: Legacy" Volume 3, published by Dark Horse Comics, is the final hardcover book in a trilogy of tomes reprinting the complete comic book adventures of Cade Skywalker. This latest book in the series includes the following comics, first released in 2009-2011:"Star Wars: Legacy" #37-40 and #42-50."Star Wars: Legacy-War" #1-6 ( A sequel miniseries to the 50 problem comic series).These original comic tales were first reprinted in trade paperback volumes listed and titled below:(Volume 8) Tatooine (Issues #37-40)Note: "Star Wars: Legacy" #41, a solo story called "Rogue's End," was published in the "Star Wars: Legacy" Volume 2 hardcover.(Volume 9) Creature (Issues #42-46)(Volume 10) Extremes (Issues #47-50)(Volume 11) Battle ("Star Wars: Legacy-War")Regrettably, this volume of the "Legacy" reprint series has the fewest number of cover reproductions from the original comics in the trio of books. As in the past volumes, the covers are used to accompany the book's title page or showcase the begin of a fresh chapter or story-arc. The covers reprinted are:"Star Wars: Legacy-War" #1 by Jan Duursema (used as the dustcover to the book)"Star Wars: Legacy" #37 by J. Duursema"Star Wars: Legacy" #38 by Chris Warner"Star Wars: Legacy" #42 by Chris Scalf"Star Wars: Legacy" #45 by C. Scalf"Star Wars: Legacy" #47 by Sean Cooke"Star Wars: Legacy" #50 by J. Duursema (Note: This reproduction is half of what was originally a wrap-around cover.)"Star Wars: Legacy-War" #5 by J. DuursemaWith the publication of this third hardcover reprint collection, "Star Wars" fans will be enthralled by, in this reviewer's opinion, one of the amazing "Expanded Universe" tales inspired by George Lucas' beloved movie series. "Legacy" is a rich and exciting story of complex, thought provoking characters and concepts, a truly epic extrapolation of the "Star Wars" Saga. Co-creators Ostrander and Duursema have produced a galaxy spanning adventure tale worthy of the name "Star Wars," and their distinctive take on the Saga reaches its conclusion in this book's 440 pages. One of the a lot of highlights of this series was its wealth of lead and supporting characters, from its troubled central figure, Cade; the attractive and deadly Darth Talon, the driven Imperial Knight Antares Draco, to the intriguing Morrigan Corde. These characters and a lot of more are enriched not just by how Mr. Ostrander has written them and have them interact, but also by how Ms. Duursema illustrated them throughout the series. Both of these talented collaborators have given their characters depth in their depiction and actions in their story. As the "Legacy" saga comes to its intense climax, Ms. Duursema and Mr. Ostrander triumph in creating suspense and concern for the final fates of this classic cast of heroes, villains and those in is reviewer has to note that part of the drama made in the climax of "Legacy" was based in part on the editorial decision of Dark Horse Comics to bring the comic series to an end with its 50th issue. Thus the reader of this amazing tale's concluding pages can understand how the story seems to rush to its finale in its latest chapter, "War," the sequel mini-series, leaving some lingering plot threads unresolved, and tragically, some characters, notably, Imperial Princess Marasiah Fel, unfulfilled of the potential this critic believes her creators had aspired for her and them.Another regret with this hard cover collection is the absence of any background material on the series itself and/or more info on the creators of "Legacy," Ms. Duursema and Mr. Ostrander, besides the "About the Authors" text paragraphs on the dust cover.But what is past is past. The epic story of "Star Wars: Legacy" is now part of "Star Wars" lore and legend. To those who enjoyed this cosmic tale during its original release, this reviewer suggests this hard cover collection is a rewarding reason to return to this galactic saga of amazing vs. evil. To those coming to "Legacy" for the first time, prepare yourself for some amazing comic book reading!This book comes with my highest recommendation!May the Force be with you, always!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Star Wars: Legacy is one of the few grand experiments in the Star Battles Expanded Universe. A fifty-six problem comic book series with an ongoing sequel series, it was one of the rare attempts to do something original. Set a century and a half after the happenings of A Fresh Hope, it followed the adventures of antihero Cade Skywalker as a fresh Sith Empire had risen to take over the galaxy. The issue is there's already some problems with this premise. The Sith returning after George Lucas created such a very huge deal of the "Rule of Two" and their order being extinguished rang false. Likewise, I'm not sure any fans wanted to see a drug-addicted PSTD-suffering bounty hunter and occasional pirate ver of Luke Skywalker. Much like Superman, Luke Skywalker is one of those incorruptible symbols of purity in modern mythology. Seeing Luke's "heir" as such a wreck of a human being while the galaxy was once more under the sway of a tyrannical regime couldn't support but cause me to feel like his quote-unquote legacy was being tarnished. The problem is further troubled by the fact Cade Skywalker has no interest in being either a Jedi Knight or studying the Force. The refusal of the call is a primary part of Campbellian mythology but it's usually resolved fairly quickly. Watching the entire galaxy suffer while Cade talks about how hard it is to deal with the death of his father is hard to take seriously. Not to diminish his loss but a lot of people are losing their fathers during this time period and the fact Jedi Master Kol Skywalker was killed by the Sith should create Cade more determined to oppose them. The first third of this three volume collection of omnibuses mostly centers around Cade's series of false stops and starts along his street to (maybe?) getting his act together. Unfortunately, any number of happenings which would normally convince Cade to take up the war versus the Sith and their Imperial minions gets ignored by them. Quite simply, Jon Ostrander and Jan Duursema seem more interested in Cade's angst than I, the reader, am. Despite this, I maintain the series still has much to go on it. The writers have taken a amazing deal of time to plot out the mythology and backstory of the characters he's created. Darth Krayt is a amazing villain, even if he's got a bit too a lot of similarities to Anakin Skywalker. Likewise, I love the concept of the Imperial Knights (Jedi who serve the Emperor-in-Exile Roan Fel) and the entire Fel family. The art of the book is incredible, though. Everything seems like a painting come to life and while it's a much darker globe than the original trilogy, everything things vibrant and realistic. I love the look of characters like Marasiah Fel, Roan Fel, Rav, and even Cade himself. The action scenes leap off the page and if the One Sith are a bit generic--I never obtain tired of seeing them sliced up by lightsabers. Star Wars: Legacy Volume 1 is a rather little book, larger than a standard paperback but not by much. It is very reasonably priced, being only about twenty-dollars for four-hundred pages of color comics. If you're interested in an epic storyline, albeit one marred by an attempt to be "gritty" in the least gritty setting in fiction outside of My Small Pony, then you might have fun picking up this volume.8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Legacy is the greatest Star Battles comic story told. Hands down. If you are having doubts about reading these stories don't. You'll love the characters and everything about this era. I guarantee. Truly if you love Star Battles you will adore Legacy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Assassin ending for a assassin series. I literally had goosebumps while reading "War." Read Books 1 and 2 first. Then read this and you'll tell the globe Legacy is the best SW comic out there!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I haven't read all of the graphic novels in the Star Battles extended universe by any means, but I do have a few. Of all the SWEU comics I do own (or read) however, I like this series best of all (by far!). The art is great, the writing is outstanding, and the characters are everything you'd wish from the SWU. Cade Skywalker is everything I wanted Anakin to be (and ultimately wasn't). Torn between the light and dark sides of the force and being a jedi and a sith, Cade kicks all kinds [email protected]#$% (instead of throwing temper tantrums and crying all of the time). If you felt underwhelmed by Vader's origin story and are looking for something MUCH more fulfilling, GIVE THIS A TRY!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I really enjoyed reading this series as it had a lot of amazing characters. The writing and art were beautiful good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I really enjoyed this comic. I hadn't read any of the series before picking it up, but after I got past the atrocious cover art (my mates won't read it simply because of that) it's a really interesting timeline. I also really enjoyed the technology breakdown and hero profiles at the end that added some art and gave a better understanding of what the cars they're using are supposed to be. I went out and got the rest of the series after I speed through this in a few short days. Worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I love this series. The struggle between light and dark continues, but gray holds the most fascination. Morrigan calls back to Shakespeare and DC by when she changes identity by changing clothes, but she is what she wears.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 1 (Star Wars Legacy) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    A very powerful Star Battles story that I've been looking forward to reading for a while now. The delivery and customer service was perfect as well. I've got nothing poor to say, really.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    While I love the Heir to the Empire novel by Timothy Zahn, I thought this graphic novel suffered from artwork that distracted me from the masterful story that Zahn had crafted. While the artwork isn't bad, it's just not as amazing as the photos I search I made in my head when reading the printed novelizations. If you are more a comic book fan than a novel fan, pick this up and experience one of the greatest Star Battles Expanded Universe stories. If you are an avid reader, test reading the novel instead. Or at least read the graphic novel first and the novel second. You'll obtain more out of the story in the actual novel but sometimes visuals at first will support you see the story more vividly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    It jumped around a bit, but overall it was a amazing story. Worth taking a look. Artwork and writing were effective.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Is really awesome to see the adaptation of the "Heir to the empire" book to a comic. I really recommend to be read it in the Kindle Paperwhite "don't forget that is a kindle"..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Still better than anything Disney's come up with. A classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    People who haven't read the books might obtain confused with the story line in the comic novels, but it's nice to see the artwork of all the characters introduced 5 years after the Star Battles Trilogy. This comic, in particular, does a amazing job of drawing the Noghri & Mara Jade. Now if only Lucas will place it on film.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Worth reading if ur a fan of the star battles saga. I enjoyed the art work very much and the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Amazing book it is an perfect addition to the star battles saga. A small hard to read on kindle fire.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Beautiful amazing a small abrupt on the ending

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Unbelievable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    If i hadnt read the book, the comic would have been fairly difficult to hold up with. The scenes jump without any kind of set up, not letting you know where the next is taking place. Without Zahns more intimate interpretations of Palleons interactions with the Grand Admiral, Thrawn feels under appreciated. The artwork is decent, but there weren't any eye popping cently done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Curious as to what happened between the destruction of the first Death Star and when the Galactic Empire struck back?This book is the first in a series showing asventures had by Luke,Hand and the others during that sed on the "Star Wars"comics that appeared after the first movie,it brings the characters to life with realistic coloring and settings all "Star Wars" fans know well!It was a trip down memory lane for me:I grew up loving this comic book series.Whether you saw "Star Wars" when it first came out or you're fresh to the galaxy,you'll lowe it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    What I liked about this book: I thought this book was very interesting because its story is between “A Fresh Hope” and “The Empire Strikes Back.” This particular book has a lot of action and adventure and amazing pictures and you can learn some things about the empire and the e story: the story starts with Luke Skywalker and Princess Leia looking for a fresh put for the rebel base, so they fly to a planet and scout for a put for their base then they noticed that there were imperial storm troopers training for battle. The storm troopers came across Luke and Leia’s ship. Luckily Luke and Leia were out of website while they were watching the storm troopers, but then the storm troopers blew up the ship that Luke and Leia came in. Will Luke and Leia search their method off the planet before the empire finds them?I recommend this book to everyone who likes Star Wars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    "In Deadly Pursuit" is the first collection of newspaper strips re-published by Dark Horse, but it doesn't contain the first newspaper strips. The earliest newspaper strips were re-published in Volume 4 of Classic Star Wars, "The Early Adventures". That is why I read volume 4 first and then volume 1. As with the previous Classic Star Battles collection, I was very impressed with this one. In general, the stories are engaging, the characters act the method they did in the movies, and the art is very good. This volume also contains some info on how these Classic Star Battles collections were made. They are not a easy copy of what was published in the newspapers. They have been edited, re-formatted, touched up, and colored. I think that Dark Horse has done a marvelous job in all aspects, and I'm thoroughly enjoying reading through these ere are several story arcs presented in this volume. The first focuses on the bounty hunter from Ord Mantell that Han mentions in "The Empire Strikes Back". First, I appreciate how this medium is used to expand on a subject brought up during the movie. These off hand comments in the films beg to be developed into full blown stories, and I'm glad they are done in these comics. The story tells how Han was almost captured by this bounty hunter, and shows his narrow e second story is very interesting because it features a group of Imperial admirals that are plotting the downfall of Darth Vader. They have realized that it is only a matter of time before they fall victim to Vader's choke hold, and have decided to take action. They contact the rebellion for support and Luke is sent on the mission. But things take an unexpected turn when a double agent is revealed. In my opinion, this is one of the best story arcs in any of the comics I've read so ke is able to escape from the failure of his mission with the support of a shuttle pilot/thief named Tanith. She takes him to her home planet where he and the droids are enslaved along with Tanith and her family. With the support of R2, he is able to overthrow the slavers and rendezvous with Leia who is on a diplomatic mission on the planet on after his arrival, Kabal comes under attack from an Imperial armada, but Luke and Leia are rescued by Han and Chewbacca. Upon escape, they are trapped by a disgruntled Imperial scientist who has decided that they need to die with him since it is the fault of the Rebellion that he has suffered radiation poisoning.Our heroes once again escape, but are then sent to the planet Aquaris, since Leia has recently reached an agreement with the leader of Aquaris, Silver Fyre, that Aquaris will join the rebellion. Han has his doubts however, because he knows Silver is a double crossing smuggler. The collection ends here, with the story to be picked up in the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is a collection of newspaper comics turned into a book. There were lots of amazing adventures for Luke, Leia, Han, Chewie, and the droids after the war of Yavin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Star Battles was first inspired by the Flash Gordon serials during the 30s and 40s. It somehow seems fitting that, following the success of A Fresh Hope and Empire Strikes Back, they would commission a unbelievable newspaper serial to carry on that swashbuckling spirit. Despite being about 15 years old, these volumes (all three) are amazing fun. They somehow manage to perfectly capture the spirit of the original Star Battles film in a method even its sequels couldn't. Sure the dialogue is a small stilted, and the characters are two-dimentional, but isn't that part of the appeal of Star Wars? The artwork, too, is fabulous, especially when you consider that the panels were originally about the size of a matchbook cover. They manage to convey the action perfectly. In short, if you liked Star Wars, buy all three volumes of Classic Star Wars. You won't regret it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classic Star Wars Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    is a review of the dark horse TPB comic ISBN 1569711097 which collects Classic star Battles problems 1 -7 that were based on the newspaper strips. The second edition was printed July, 1996 and printed in is is supposed to be the adventures of our heroes that picks up after ESB. Except that han solo is in the stories, so lets just say that these stories take put during Episodes 4 thru 6. What is fun is that the stories continue and almost flow into Splinter of a Minds Eye. I agree with most that the 3 volumes done by Goodwin and Williamson are superior to Volume 4, which is based on Marvel e drawings in this comic are a step up from what we typically obtain in newspaper strip artwork. Dark horse has done a amazing job producing beautifully inked pages. I can't give 5 stars here, because I am comparing this to the comics that DH is producing now. This is a 3 star work when compared to future e stories here are fun to read. Remember that this was once all we had for a SW Expanded Universe. The creators here did a amazing job being faithful to the characters that Lucas created.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter