Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers Reviews & Opinions


Submit Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Set in Hawaii in 1944, this novel is told between two protagonists, Ella, 10 years old and her mother, Violet. With the bombing of Pearl Harbor, and the influx of soldiers, Hawaii with its lushness, sets the background for this WWII story. While Violet and Ella have gone a year without knowing the whereabouts of Herman, Ella's dad and Violet's husband, their lives are in limbo. Enter the troops and the soldiers who come to train before being shipped out, both are now ensconced in a various and more unsettled method of living. Surrounded by their mates and neighbors, the women decide to begin a pie stand to create a few additional dollars. Their sweet pies give them an opportunity to hold themselves busy, while the soldiers have a taste of home. In the midst of this, we catch a glimpse of those Japanese families who now are no longer mates to some in the community, but are considered the enemy. How quickly people become prejudiced, scared and more than just a small paranoid. We watch, as Ella carries a huge secret inside of her, causing her fear and a amazing deal of angst for her is was a well written novel, well researched and well told. A book that I could hardly place down, I highly recommend it, this is a 5 star novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    A beautifully written historical fiction novel about the lives of a family residing in Honoka'a during WWII. Ms. Ackerman perfectly paints the backdrop of Hawaii in rich descriptions, full of the birds, flowers, plants, smells, and the heat of Hawaii. The family is a single mom (Violet) and her young daughter (Ella), who are left with each other after their patriarch (Herman) disappears. The book is told from the differing points of view of Violet and Ella, which each provide a various take on the disappearance, the war, and the people of the time. The community around this family is full of interesting characters, from their roommate and close mate (Jean), to the information-sharing telephone operator (Irene), to the reclusive okolehau (home-brewed alcohol) maker of Waipio (Bernard). The family also has a close relationship with their Japanese neighbors (the Hamasas), and are constantly standing up for them after the Pearl Harbor attack. The soldiers who enter the story are also well-written characters, ranging from those filled with hate for the Japanese, to those who separate the conflict from the American Japanese. One multi-faceted soldier (Parker) finds a method into the amazing graces of Violet and Ella, through a pet lion cub (Roscoe), which is based on a real lion mascot brought to the island by soldiers. The romantic tension between Violet and Parker makes for amazing suspenseful reading!The real effects of WWII are woven throughout the book, from meal and fuel rationing, to curfews, to the air raid drills of the time. In order to create additional money, the women cook pies to supplement their income, and come up with a funny and special name for their pies. Also discussed are internment camps for the Japanese, and the constant fear the American Japanese lived with of being plucked from their homes and the lives, or separated from their families out of suspicion of collusion with the e mystery of Herman's disappearance haunts the characters, causing Ella mental anguish, and emotional conflict to Violet. As the mystery is solved in an intense climax, Ms. Ackerman pulls key characters together for a satisfying is book was a joy to read, due to the rich and interesting characters, the special interchange of the narrators, the underlying mystery, the historical accuracy, and the descriptions of Hawaii that really bring the backdrop of the story alive. I highly recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This was a charming, engaging read with an interesting twist on the usual WWII-era historical fiction: it is set in Hawaii. I loved the author's prose--I felt immediately drawn into the story of Violet and her daughter Ella, who are navigating their changed lives in the wake of the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the disappearance of Violet's husband/Ella's father. Even though the story touches on some massive themes--war, racism, the difficulties in parenting--its tone is endearing. Highly recommend it!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers video reviews and related movies:

    See Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers | Free Audiobook on youtube.

     related image

    See U.S. Army - How Soldiers Eat - Ft. Bliss, Tx on youtube.

     related image

    See Celtic Woman - Pie Jesu on youtube.

     related image

    See Wedding Cake Mix Up ! Toys and Dolls Fun with Cadance & Shining Armor Getting Married on youtube.

     related image

    See Impatient Dog Waiting on Owner! on youtube.

     related image

    See Episodes on youtube.

     related image

    See CapRadioMusic on youtube.

     related image

    See GEAR 4 LUFFY VS TRUE CRACKER - One Piece 799 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I really enjoyed this novel. It takes put on the huge island of Hawaii during WWII. It's a fictional story but includes elements of what life was really like in the little towns of Honoka'a and Waimea during the war. I could really imagine what it must have been like. There is drama, suspense, and a bit of humor. I really got caught up in the lives of the characters who were dealing with love, loss, friendship, and betrayal. After reading this book, I wish to read more historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I highly recommend this sweet and satisfying historical mystery romance! Rich and vivid descriptions of a part of Hawaii that is known to only a few. Sara Ackerman captures the flavor of a special "slice" of American history in this well-crafted narrative. Although it is set during WWII, the challenges the characters endure are quite relevant for today's circumstances.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Loved this book. Special story that highlights the struggle with prejudism versus American Japanese in Hawaii during WWII. Sweet love threaded throughout. Stick with it - the story ramps up about 30% in. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    A beautifully written story by an exciting fresh author. The historical setting of Hawaii and WWII provides an evocative background for the touching story of Violet and Ella.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers is a beautifully written story set in Hawaii after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The Hawaiian Island was described in vivid detail! If you have fun historical fiction with a bit of mystery and romance, you must read Island Of Sweet Pies and Soldiers!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    It was an ok story, but was extremely slow through the entire story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book came to life when I created a visit to Honoka'a. I could see the people in the story walk these streets. I loved the book!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    This book is amazing! I'm so satisfied with my purchase! I just bought it latest week and already tried out two recipes - both were excellent. I bought two more copies as bonuses for friends. Amazing if you love to cook and wish to test something new. A must-have in every kitchen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Sweet Potatoes by Mary-Frances Heck is a wonderfully special collection of recipes that are artfully crafted and deliciously presented. I really enjoyed testing and tasting these and would recommend this book highly to anyone looking for elevated flavors. The author was featured recently in the Wall Road Journal and is clearly a rising star.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Double baked sweet potatoes were awesome! I bought your book because my granddaughter (10 months) LOVES sweet potatoes, eggplant, squash, etc. I wanted a fresh take on her favorite vegetable!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    : I loved this cook book. I got more than I expected from this little hard back beautifully photographed book. I was clueless about the varieties of sweet potatoes and how they can be used.I liked the fact that the author started out discussing the various varieties of sweet potatoes and showed what they looked like inside and out. She went over how to pick out the best potatoes, how to shop them and goes over complementary seasoning and ingredients that go well for each type of potato and a lot of other helpful e author states, “The sixty recipes in this book will inspire you to reach for this root vegetable every day – As a go – to for snacks, weeknight meals, and so much more.”I agree! I’ve only cooked four recipes from this book and my family and I have been blown away by the flavor. I was amazed at all the possibilities and taste options. The dishes I created opened my mind and pallet to trying more recipes. My family was begin to eating this vegetable more than once a year at Thanksgiving time.I created Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes. My family and I were surprised at how amazing this tasted. Honestly, I never would think of putting all these ingredients together. We ate every was Sweet Potato Tacos – I never would think to create this vegetable the main ingredient in a soft-shell taco. My husband and son told me they were amazed by the flavor. Me too!I created Sweet Potato and Raspberry Muffins. My husband and granddaughter ate most of these. I was surprised to use a raw grated sweet potato in this recipe and not have a powerful sweet potato e most surprising recipe I created was the Trail Mix Cookies. We all felt like there was a party of fabulous flavors happing in our mouths with every bit. These cookies did not latest long at l the pictures for these recipes look yummy. This is my fresh favorite cook book. It’s opened my eyes and taste buds to so a lot of possibilities. The recipes are simple to make, creative, with not too a lot of ingredients. The recipes I’ve tried so far were delightful and I look forward to making the following dishes: Sweet Potato Ice Cream, Waffles, Pull-apart Dinner rolls, Sweet Potato Gnocchi and A Sweet Potato Huge Mac! (Not kidding! Unique sauce and all)Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the blogging for books site. I was not needed to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”Nora St. LaurentTBCN Where Book Fun Begins!The Book Club Network blogBook Fun MagazineSVP Promotion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    I eat a sweet potato daily for lunch (a small almond butter & cinnamon on top.. exactly the same every single day.. I know I’m weird), so I was SUPER excited when I heard about this cookbook! Sweet potatoes are so healthy, so underrated, and often so boringly prepared. This book is full of exciting recipes that take sweet potatoes from an uninspired side to the star of the e first chapter is kind of an intro to sweet potatoes (I did NOT realize they are genetically unrelated to regular potatoes!) & a discussion on the various varieties, yam vs. sweet potato, etc. Then we obtain into the cooking of the potato – steamed, roasted, boiled, pureed, fried & why you would use each various method. The slow-roasted sweet potatoes are SO worth the time. The author roasts her potatoes at a much lower temperature than I ‘m used to seeing, and boy does it create a difference!! 350 vs. 425 is like night and day! I have seen the light & will definitely be sticking to the lower oven temp from now on!With my now perfectly cooked sweet potatoes, we move into the recipes of this book. First, I created twice-baked sweet potatoes. I was never a fan of twice-baked potatoes – sticks of butter, gobs of cheese and sour cream.. more dairy & fat than actual potato and very one-note flavor. This sweet potato is a punch in the mouth of flavor! You mix the flesh with chipotle in adobo & it becomes sweet, spicy, smoky with all the fun toppings to go along! Next, I created sweet potatoes with chimichurri – I never thought of this combination. I’ve had this for lunch several days now. I also created the sweet potato risotto – very beautiful color & well-balanced absolute favorite recipe I’ve created so far is the cracked sweet potatoes with chiles and coconut. I’ve created it twice & my boyfriend is asking for it again! The contrasting flavors of this dish created me feel like a fancy chef. I can’t even believe how amazing it is. Who would ever think of adding ginger, fish sauce, coconut oil, lime juice, and a whole bunch of other pantry stuff to a sweet potato?? Don’t allow the fish sauce scare you – this is my fresh favorite dish!! It goes with everything too!I look forward to making the sweet potato gnocchi, sweet potato biscuits, and there’s a whole dessert chapter I’m excited about. I will DEFINITELY be making the sweet potato tamales soon – I feel so guilty with the amount of lard that goes into traditional tamale dough. It’s insane. Sweet potato puree replaces most of the fat in this recipe! I created a tamale recipe years ago that involved incorporating regular potatoes, but I have a feeling sweet potatoes will take it to the next is book is so inspiring & I’m so impressed with how a lot of ways the author has found to create superb dishes out of an inexpensive sweet potato. So a lot of original, yet delicious dishes! I highly recommend this book – I absolutely love it. I received this book from blogging for books for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

     SUMMARY:As one of the more nutritious stuff on the menu, there is no limit to the a lot of ways sweet potatoes can be prepared. Organized into a nice sized cookbook, Sweet Potatoes is filled with delicious and creative ideas for sharing sweet potatoes. From the excellent sweet potato french fries to soups, side dishes, main courses, breads and even desserts, there are plenty of recipes sure to please any sweet potato connoisseur. Complete with a sweet potato primer (filled with lots of info about the primary sweet potato including types, sizes, complementary seasonings, and preparation), as well as a private introduction to each recipe, simple to follow directions, and accompanying photographs of most recipes, Sweet Potatoes is a unbelievable addition to any cookbook collection.A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:As a large sweet potato fan, I was thrilled to search a book which contained several fresh ways to prepare and serve a favorite dish. Sweet potato burgers, Cobb salad, Braised sausage with sweet potatoes and Twice-baked sweet potatoes are just a few of the a lot of fresh recipes I found within this cookbook. Finding an simple and successful method to create crispy and tasty sweet potato fries was priceless!  Definitely a amazing bonus for anyone who loves sweet potatoes, the fresh cookbook by meal writer, recipe developer and chef, Mary-Frances Heck, will obtain lots of use in my kitchen.RATING:4.5 (out of 5) pennies*I received a complimentary copy of Sweet Potatoes from Blogging For Books for my honest review*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    SO MUCH MORE THAN FRIES AND MARSHMALLOW CASSEROLESixty sweet potato recipes cover the whole gamut from snacks such as Buffalo Sweet Potatoes, soups like Thai-style Noodle Curry, side dishes as Cracked Sweet Potatoes with Chiles and Coconut, main courses including Sweet Potato Tacos, bread and baked goods with Sweet Potato Chocolate Babka, to sweets - Sweet Potato Flan anyone? Steaming, roasting, grilling, boiling, and frying add to the dozens along with influences from cuisines the globe over. There is something for ginning with a primer on sweet potatoes, we learn about their colors, sizes, types, and butchering - who knew!? Did you know their color indicates moisture content, thus revealing how they should be prepared? Also included is a page of complimentary flavors should you become inspired to invent something yourself.I tried three recipes:Miso Soup with Ginger and Tofu. This came together quickly. It was a small sweet with an umami flavor. We liked it for something various and satisfying.Sweet Potato Waffles. This recipe called for making a sweet potato puree. Mine must have been too dry because I ended up having to add water to create a mixture I could fold. The waffles were good, but not great. If I create them again, I will purchase baby meal sweet potatoes instead of making cio E Pepe. This is a fun dish: fun to make, and fun to eat. Serve it to company and allow the guessing begin. Tasty. Next time I will test a larger disc in the spiralizer mainly because that's what the picture shows.I recommend this book for its interesting and flavorful recipes using a vegetable we should eat more often. The a lot of beautiful pictures are an inspiration. *I received a complimentary copy of Sweet Potatoes from Blogging For Books for my honest review*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Sweet potatoes are one of my very favorite foods and always has been. So I was delighted to obtain a copy of this cookbook, featuring nothing but sweet potato e book starts off with the primary cooking of sweet potatoes – steaming, roasting, boiling, pureed and fried. The only recipe I’ve tried so far is the fries. The author offers two recipes – the hard method and the simple way. I have to admit I took the simple method and the effect was delicious! I know, all of these delicious recipes and the first thing I do is create fries! But I had some veggie burgers that I wanted something amazing with and these were up, I’ll be making Sweet Potato Risotto. The book says that in this recipe, sweet potato puree flavors and lightens the risotto while keeping it saucy and reducing the amount of dairy traditionally used. Sounds amazing to me!And how can I resist Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Garlic-Maple Glaze? And being a vegetarian, I have to test the Sweet Potato “Big ere are so a lot of of the breads and backed goods that I’ll be trying this winter, such as the sweet potato biscuits, maple pecan sticky buns and the cake donuts. Oh, and the sweet potato waffles!But is the book finished with all of that? Of course not, there has to be dessert! And such desserts they are: Black-Bottom Sweet Potato Pudding Pie, Sweet Potato Ice Cream, Sweet Potato and Sherry Flan and Summer Fruit ere are quite a few recipes that include meat which I won’t be making but there are plenty here for me to try. Some of the recipes are a small daunting with ingredients that I’m not familiar with or needing certain appliances that I don’t have. Also, not all of the recipes include photos. But the images that are included are gorgeous.I know sweet potatoes will create their method to my table a lot more than they used to!is book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Sweet potatoes add much flavor, texture, color, and nutrients to any dish in which they are featured. Dress ‘em up, dress ‘em down, they work wonderfully in recipes sweet or savory like appetizers, main courses, soups, sides, breads, and of course, desserts. “Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Created into Pie”, by Mary-Frances Heck enthusiastically opens up a globe of sweet potato possibilities with 60 recipes such as: Creamy Cacio e Pepe; Fluffy Biscuits; Hearty Meat-Free Tacos; Orange-Glazed Cake Doughnuts; Ultimate Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls, Trail Mix Cookies; Ice Cream with Browned Meringue; Savory Egg-Topped Galette; Indian Palak Aloo; Chinese Black Date Chicken; and Spanish Huevos Rotos. Sweet Potatoes are plentiful, affordable, and simple to prepare. I have long been a fan of easy baked sweet potatoes, sweet potato pie, and sweet potato fries, but this book from Mary-Frances Heck offers insight into the method sweet potatoes are used in the cuisines from cultures around the world. It’s amazing fun, and amazing for you too, to “cook outside your recipe box”—especially with a favorite “superfood” like sweet potatoes. Mary-Frances Heck is a freelance meal editor and contributor to Lucky Peach. Her recipes and writing have appeared in numerous cookbooks and magazines including Bon Appetit, Saveur, Cooking Light, Redbook, Rodale's Organic Life, Fitness, Rachael Ray Every Day, SELF, and Copy Gratis Clarkson Potter Publishers via Blogging for Books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Potatoes: Roasted, Loaded, Fried, and Made into Pie review [Book]  2018-2-27 18:2

    Sweet potatoes are a versatile food. They can be cooked as a savory dish or created into a dessert. The author has made a colourful and tasteful cookbook that will delight any cook, even those who aren't fond of sweet potatoes. The book begins with an introduction to sweet potatoes. It talks about how to shop and prepare them, the various sizes and varieties and the seasonings that work best. The next section is all about ways to cook them "in the rough". This section goes over the instructions on how to roast, fry, bake, and puree a sweet potato. The rest of the book is divided into the various sections of recipes. The end is my favorite - the desserts. Filled with simple to follow recipes and lots of colourful pictures, this book would create an perfect bonus and will delight any cook.I loved this book. My family isn't a large fan of sweet potatoes, but they've loved all of the recipes I've tried so far. Our favorites were the sweet potato fries, gnocchi, and waffles. Although the cinnamon rolls and dinner rolls were awesome too. Can't wait to test more of the recipes.I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books. All thoughts expressed are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    This isn't as amazing as Michele Stuart's first book 'Perfect Pies: The Best Sweet and Savory Recipes from America's Pie-Baking Champion' but still a nice cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    I first got this book in Kindle format from my local library. Once I started reading it, I realized it was a amazing one, and I required to buy the hard copy so I could actually cook from is is a very helpful book if you're interested in baking tasty pies. Upon receiving this book, I created the Mixed Berry Crumb Pie. It was absolutely delicious! So delicious, I couldn't believe I created it. Not only that, it looked just like the picture on the cover. I like how the author explains every step in a method that is simple to understand, and create each recipe feel approachable. I look forward to trying other recipes in this book. Summer is here; I may test the Peach-Strawberry Crumb Pie next. And then in the fall I will create the Apple Caramel Crunch Pie. I see lots of baking in my future. This book has seriously increased my confidence in my ability to create a tasty pie with a delicious crust.And as they say in the commercials, "But wait! There's more!". There are also recipes for cakes, bars & cookies in this book. I love applesauce cake, so I'm looking forward to trying her recipe for Applesauce Cake, created in a Bundt pan. Sounds easy, and calls for ingredients I always have on hand. Ooh, and the Maple Pecan Cake sounds fabulous. I could just go on & on. Finally a book about desserts that I can actually make.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    I won a copy of this cookbook about a year or so ago in a sweepstakes entry. I loved the cookbook so much that I decided to purchase the cookbook at full price for my mom this year for Christmas. Every single recipe I have created from this cookbook has turned out great. Michele Stuart really knows her method around the kitchen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    Recipes are amazing and not too difficult for someone with small time to devote to the kitchen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    I had previously bought both of her books but wanted it on Kindle. Both books are very amazing even for the novice. I am lucky enough to have her desserts in my hometown . . . pricey AND delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    Excellent Pies and Excellent Pies and more are the only pie cookbook you would ever need! So a lot of delicious recipes!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    This is the second book and I really like it. Not only does it have pie recipes in it, it's got other dessert recipes in it. I think you'll really have fun it, I know I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    If you have a sweet tooth, this book is a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    ships quick very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Perfect Pies & More: All New Pies, Cookies, Bars, and Cakes from America's Pie-Baking Champion review [Book]  2018-1-30 18:1

    Loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie Zero to Pie Hero: How to Ditch Your Fears, Master the Crust and Bake the Perfect Pie review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:2

    Must admit, I can be a pie crust zero, this is a amazing instructional read, which I really need! Love it!Love all Ken Haedrich's books and videos, dozens of info mixed with amazing humor and amazing looking and tasting pies/food!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie Zero to Pie Hero: How to Ditch Your Fears, Master the Crust and Bake the Perfect Pie review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:2

    Ken's Pie Zero to Pie Character is great. Easy and clear instructions for baking perfect pies. This is a unbelievable addition to my baking book library. Everyone should have this on hand in their kitchen. Cash well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie Zero to Pie Hero: How to Ditch Your Fears, Master the Crust and Bake the Perfect Pie review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:2

    A amazing read for anyone looking to improve their pie making skills. Easy clear instructions and simple to read. A must-have for anyone looking to bake the excellent pie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Island review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I have watched this film soooo a lot of times already and I am still not tired of it. OK I confess I really am a huge fan of "Jordan Two Delta".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I like it a lot, and I'm glad that I got it. I almost didn't, especially after reading one very nasty 1-star review. I think she's got a amazing sense of humor which shows in her writing. There are going to be a lot of recipes that I just can't do: ones with nuts, chocolate, rhubarb, most berries, and I knew that going in, but I really got it to learn from her. In the short time that I've had it, I've used several of her hints with amazing success.I didn't really need another pie cookbook, but that pie virus is very strong. These aren't always traditional pie recipes, but she's got a amazing mix and it will give you ideas and you can learn a lot from Gesine and have fun doing it. The background stories are very entertaining. MAYBE I will even test her fast puff (or blitz puff) recipe just to see if I can do it, and to see if I like homemade puff pastry. When I was a kid, and we had Pepperidge Farm turnovers, I always peeled off as much of the puff pastry as I could-usually back to just one see-through layer-before I ate it. That's how much I dislike it. I never use it in anything. Nevertheless, I am intrigued by her recipe and all of the steps are excellently illustrated, so I am seriously considering it. That shows you how amazing she is at teaching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Begin there. This is easily the most creative, engaging, diverse treasury of recipes similar to baking everything outside of cookies or cakes. It has a lot of types of crust recipes, dozens of amazing tip and lots of how to knowledge. A amazing reference work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    First I must say that I haven't actually baked any of these pies yet because I have been reading the hints and tricks in the early part of the book. I am an experienced cook, but this book explains why you use butter or shortening or lard depending on the type of crust you want. It also explains the differences temperature of ingredients can create and why King Arthur flour is best. Amazing illustrations! I have heard some of these trhings before, but never explained so clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    So a lot of yummy recipes, I can't wait to obtain baking!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    A++++++ Gesine is first rate ...... fun read as well!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I love making pie, pie crust, hand pies... you name it. I have fun trying various techniques, variations, etc. That all said...I highly recommend this book. Gesine's recipes are delicious and the dozens of crusts/pie filling variations create this book a must buy. I have created several apple pies in my life but the filling for San's Favorite Crumble Top Apple Pie won rave reviews at my Thanksgiving table.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Need to eventually buy this in hardcover but the price was amazing so I bought it for my Kindle

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    Amazing book, quick shipping, no hassle. Unbelievable reipes with lots of pictures. Even though i am a professional, i am always happy when recipes are written for the uninitiated. There's something for every taste palette, weather you are a traditionalist( myself), or interested in a more esoteric approach.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I don't usually buy or read cook books but this one may change my future thoughts in that direction. It is very informative about all aspects of pie making from savory to sweet. I love the historical tidbits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:24

    I learned some fresh tricks - recipes that I have tried were all very good. Instructions were clear and concise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Shamrock Pie Murder by Carolyn Q Hunter is a unbelievable read from begin to finish ! Bert is catering her pie at a Chiropractic Luncheon . Her Shamrock pie is a hit . When the president of the Chiropractic board is to create a speech . When the curtain is drawn back on the scene his lifeless body is hanging in front of the screen stuck full of Acupuncture needles. Can Bert support her mate search out who the assassin is before her mates brother goes up for murder. You don't wish to miss this well written mystery ! I give it 5 stars .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    This series is one of my absolute favorites! I love Bert and her back and forth with Harry her sometimes beau. These characters are so much fun. The storylines are always well fleshed out and rt is catering desserts for a state Chiropractic meeting. The chairman of the board is murdeeed and Carla’s brother is arrested. Can Bert prove his innocence or is he really to blame?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    This is my favorite Carolyn Q Hunter series. There isn't anything about it I don't enjoy. The characters are truly enjoyable ( I think Bert and I would be unbelievable friends), and the storyline is always nice and tight. You have books,pie,and murder what's not to enjoy! Looking forward to book 9.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Bertha Hannah tries to prove her best friend's brother had nothing to do with a murder at a local chiropractic convention in Culver's Hood. I loved the dynamic of the story, but also a small sad. The story certainly created me hungry for dessert!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Love the main hero Bert in Pies and Pages. She always has a method of walking right into the same room with the murder by a accident. I cannot wait to see what happens to Bert.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shamrock Pie Murder (A Pies and Pages Cozy Mystery Book 8) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Bert Hannah has to figure out who murdered the chairman of the Chiropractors Board at their yearly convention. She has to sidestep her best friend, Carlas, emotions and a certain detectives jealousy to search the true killer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Ahhhhh.....it was so nice to take a trip back home again. I missed my favorite fantasy book family and friends, more than you'll ever know. I really, really have to create time to visit this Island sometime ...about the story itself;There is so much I loved about this book, that I don't even know where to begin. I really loved Kevin and Chelsea's story, and the maturity that they each brought to the table, while thoughtfully weighing the wants and needs of each other, rather than just focusing on themselves. Speaking as a person who will be married 45 yrs. come next month, the key to making any amazing relationship last, you need to have powerful foundation to begin with. IMO- A powerful foundation is created from a few easy key elements starting with things like: Love, trust, willing to place the others wants and needs above your own, and latest but not least......always keeping those communications lines open, no matter what. I don't care whether the topic matter you're dealing with is a amazing one, or a poor one. If you close off those communacation lines, chances are that the rest...in time...will eventually crash and burn. From just what I've seen in this story, Kevin and Chelsa have all those key elements down pat, and hopefully they will stay that way.With that said; there are so a lot of other things in this story that created me laugh so hard like:**The method that Maddie continually manipulates Mac to obtain what she wants. These two are my favorites since the beginning, and I hope they never change.**The method those huge old Boy's never learn their lessons. Again, just too funny!**Laura and Owen's first huge night out on the town. I'll have you know that I had just taken a huge gulp of my drink, when I first started reading that part. Needless to say, I sprayed that whole mouthful all over ere are so a lot of more I could list, but I can't without giving the whole story away.I only have one other thing to say, and that to Marie Force, herself. I absolutely, positively love this Gansett Island story. These people have become like close family, and mates to me. I'm sure there are a lot of other readers that feel the same way, as I do. I would be totally devasted if I knew there would be no more visits to look forward to in the furture, so PLEASE....don't ever stop, I BEG YOU!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I can honestly say if Marie Force ever stops writing books from Gansett Island, I will go into a deep depression. It truly is like I live on Gansett when I read each book and returning there is always like going home. From that statement you can probably gather that I love the Gansett Island series. Loving it is to tame a description. It is truly something special. Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea is the second novella that Marie Force has done that focuses on one of the couples that we have come to love, but have not been featured in their own book. I love Kevin and Chelsea together and loved everything about their Episode. I am so grateful that Marie started doing these episodes. I also loved seeing Mac and Maddie, Huge Mac and Linda, Joe and Janey and everyone else that popped up in this book. We also obtain a glimpse at what Riley's book will be about which is coming in 2018. Whether the books are about the McCarthy family or their friends, this series makes you feel as if you are a part of the family which is why I titled this review that it is always like going home. Kevin and Chelsea's book added to that feeling. If you have never read any books in the Gansett Series I do recommend that you start at the beginning as your reading enjoyment will be much more enriched having read all of the books. I highly and I mean highly recommend this entire series. I have loved and treasured each and every book and I will continue to do so for years to come thankfully because I can re-read them. For those of you who have read each of the books in the series then you definitely wish to add Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    This is book 18 in the Gansett Island Series. These fresh additions to the series are focusing focusing on Huge Mac's Brother's and their family's. His brother Kevin has come to the island to regroup after his 31 year marriage ends. He meets Chelsea. Through his relationship with Chelsea he realizes that his marriage has been dying for years. His wife puts a pause on their divorce and is wanting to talk reconciliation. Chelsea also brings up a subject that he never thought he'd even be considering at his age. He now he has some massive thinking and decision making to do.I absolutely love the Gansett Island Series. It's a series that I re-read. Some series lose a person's interest but that isn't the case with this series. I love that in each book it feels like we are getting another chapter in the McCarty's lives. It almost like book 1 has never ended. We obtain to revisit/catch up with each of the McCarty's and those close to them. I love the McCarty's, their banter, their pranks, their deep love of family.Even though this is part of a series I feel you can read this as a stand alone. The author has a amazing method of writing that introduces you to the characters without taking away from the continuation of the story. From my standpoint I obtain a deeper appreciation for each book as I've read the whole series and always look forward to catching up with the family and their friends.*Reviewed by Tina for Joandisalovebooks Blog

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    A trip back to Gansett.... it's been said a time or two that Gansett has restorative powers, Kevin McCarthy has been soaking up those powers this latest year as he tries to place his life back together after his wife of thirty plus years left him for another man, and boy wasn't that fun. In hindsight he should of seen it coming. What he didn't see coming was meeting the attractive Chelsea Rose. He soon realized the relationship he had with his soon to be ex-wife was never the true thing. The love he feels for Chelsea is something he's never felt before. Does it matter that she's sixteen years younger than him? He didn't think so until she drops something on him that he definitely didn't see coming and now he's questioning everything. Is it really love or just lust? Does the age difference matter? Am I really what she deserves? What will my children and my family think? Do I place my love for her and her needs in front of what I wish at this point in my life?I loved that this book dealt with the hearts and problems of an older adult. As with all the Gansett books you obtain to catch up with all your favorite Gansett mates and family. This is truly a unbelievable series and I always have fun taking a trip to the island.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Realize that if this book was one of Marie's children she'd be looking at colleges next year!! We readers are so , Kevin and Chelsea in love for true and contemplating moving themselves further on in relationship heaven. Chelsea has problems as does Kevin but the love is sure.We obtain a lot of clues as to the future episodes and full books set in this Eden of an island ,all of them intriguing. We also obtain two, yes two incidents of addition to the crew. You gotta be in this one all the way. It's just that good. I wonder some times how in the globe Marie keeps her a lot of series so on pointe ,and so perfect while remaining sane. I'm so glad for whatever elves help her in this. We have fun every , Marie, when's the next one out???💖

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    It's always unbelievable to be back in Gansett. This is a novella so it's a short read. Kevin and Chelsea are featured in this book, but we obtain some updates on the entire gang as well. This is a fun contemporary read. The one word that sums it up for me is: Family. I wouldn't suggest to read this as a stand alone as it's totally part of a series. Well written. Smooth. Charming. Love it. The only downside is that I know I'll have to wait a while to go back to the island for more of my favorite characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    I love returning home to Gansett Island and this novella about Kevin & Chelsea has it all. We obtain to recent rundown on the McCarthy family. But the this story is about Kevin & Chelsea. How even with a 16 year age difference they are able to talk through there insecurities and search that they belong together. Marie has done it again her writing on this series keeps getting better. Another 5***** Hit. I cannot wait for the next trip to the island of magical love and continuing McCarthy family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    So, I have to wonder how these books hold getting better and better? Guess it is just amazing writing. Absolutely loved this book. Holy cow, these dramatic births are gonna be the end of Mac! Back to Kevin and Chelsea. Love them so much. Can't wait to see more of them and their lives. So satisfied that they will have their HEA. Hated when Kevin's now ex-wife cheated on him and can't believe she had the nerve to present back up! Oh well. Waiting on pins and needles for the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Another home run for Ms Force, absolutely loved it. The author has an awesome knack of being able to weave all the characters in that at times fantasy becomes reality. Kevin and Chelsea’s story is charming and the older man younger woman vibe is well defined and written. I could go on and on babbling how much I have fun Marie’s writing however allow me rather encourage you to go and obtain this series as quick as your fingers or feet can obtain there. Highly recommend five stars all the way!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gansett Island Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea (Gansett Island Series Book 18) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:0

    Another hit, I feel like a family member to the McCarthy's clan. I absolutely fell in love with Kevin & Chelsea, I also enjoyed the age difference. Loved some of my favorites were included: Mac, Maddie, Blaine ( who is my book husband) and Joe/Janey. Loved revisiting with all of them. My heart aches for Abby. Without giving much away this is a one click book, it was amazing. For me, beyond 5 STARS.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Totally feel in love with Chloe; the girls Josie and Suzy; animal loving detectives. I think the idea of a doggy hotel is perfect, such amazing treatment while boarding dogs. Probably cleaner than some people's houses!. Amazing mystery solved, really hold me going to the e Case of the Brokenhearted Bulldog is next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    When I first started this book I really didn't like it. There was a murder and somehow it was so light hearted. But I had bought the series because lately I've been doing that as my bank has a limit to the number of transactions I can do in one day. I was just going to give up on the whole series and read it latest on my list. Instead I decided to skip a couple of chapters. Well, turns out I really like this stead of flip I've decided that the characters are beautiful funny. They are in general light hearted but it turns out for me at least that they are not this in a poor way, just kind of a funny way. I'm on the 4th book of the series now (the Dandie Dinmont) and I still like the series but all the constant talking about meal is getting to be too much. If they are going to talk about meal that much they should be a foodie book like the Hannah Swenson books and give the general they are a fun read, I haven't truly guessed whodunit, although I've had my suspicions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Co-Owners of the Doggy Inn are enjoying the first day of fishing when they see a puppy swimming desperately towards their boat. After saving the Australian Shepard, they continue fishing until, Josie, the Vet. pulls up a dead body swimming in maple syrup? Quickly they realize the Shepard and the man wee a zy and Josie have a liking to solve mysteries and this is one case to is book is a real cozy murder mystery and I look forward to reading the other titles in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Suzy & Josie own a dog boarding & vet clinic. They search a puppy and a dead man and the mystery unfolds. There are some twists but it is a beautiful calm mystery (not scary or descriptive). I really enjoyed it and it had a amazing pace. I especially enjoyed having the story take put in the attractive 1000 Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Really enjoyed it! Love books with dogs prominently featured and this delivered. The main characters are fun, funny and relatable. It's a light, simple read. It is a murder mystery but it's not dark or offensive. I'll definitely read the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    26 letters in the alphabet. 26 mysteries to be solved. Once again BR delivers a well crafted story with two witty heroines who have a knack for sleuthing. Plenty of twists, doggies galore, all taking put in the Thousand Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    I really enjoyed this first in the Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries. I don't know why I haven't seen this series before as I am a large dog lover. I have already downloaded the second in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    It kept me interested for the entire book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    Cozy Mystery that flows well. Amazing well developed main characters who are simple to like. There are several dogs in the story all with various loveable traits.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case of the Abandoned Aussie: A Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mystery (The Thousand Islands Doggy Inn Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:8

    I fully enjoyed the book. It has a well developed plot and interesting characters, with the additional of a lovely puppie

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cutthroat Island review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Not as poor as it's notoriously condemned as being, but still clearly shows that both leads and the director were ill-advised (you know very well that if you were getting Harlin at that point in time, you were getting Davis--that's exactly why she probably married him). She brings her A-game and definitely tries her best but this just isn't her thing, and Modine's clearly not blockbuster star material for action films. A few of Harlin's set-pieces worked particularly well, but he pandered too much for his wife. That can work if you're, say, the Rossellinis and you're filming a drama set in Italy, but it's not working here, though I'll adore Davis to my dying day. I will add that this is my 13 year-old son's favourite films. Very curious if they would have created sequels had it not bombed--the ending sure was open-ended enough to give off that impression. This is one movie that if you just sit back and have fun the ride will offer you a guilty pleasure. Definitely worth a watch if you have fun popcorn movies or have children. Not as enjoyable as the first two 'Pirates of the Caribbean' releases, but better than their subsequent sequels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Sixteen review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    > A serial assassin on the loose in a little town. This is not a famous title, but I search it an interesting thriller-mystery. I don't know the cast, but I liked them all decently. It is a murder mystery that takes put in a little city where a sheriff investigates the latest brutal knife attacks with all the chance angle. All the victims were teenage boys, who are associated with the fresh girl in the town. Definitely you will start to predict the suspect, that much the movie evolves a bridge between you and the contents. It was a amazing story, I was stunned for its underrated status and for going unnoticed, but then it ended very cheaply. To me the conclusion ruined the rhythm, otherwise the rest of the movie was awesome and worth a watch. I hope somebody would remake it with some changes, especially in the final act and its twist. Overall surely it was a fine film, a mix of the teen theme and the cop story, obviously excluding the poor ending. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Terror review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Day of the Silicates! The island of the title is under threat from silicate monsters who were born out of experiments to cure cancer. The monsters feed off of bones, animal or human, so this little island community is in grave danger. It's as bonkers as it sounds, a sci-fi horror of such ridiculous notions, it can't fail to entertain genre loving fans. Terence Fisher directs and Peter Cushing stars, in what was a break from Hammer Movies for the both of them. The monsters are rubbery blobs with one deadly tentacle weaving their deadly damage, they also bleed noodle soup. They move at a snails pace, which makes you wonder why the humans holed up in one Rio Bravo type situation, actually don't just out-run the damn beasties. But wait! These things can somehow climb up buildings and trees, the scientific chance is really too nutty to comprehend! But it's so much fun, and there's Cushing (was he ever poor in anything?) holding court whilst others around him act at a level befitting the material. It's no hidden gem or anything, but if you like the likes of Day of the Triffids and The Creature That Challenged the World, then this should punch your joy joy genre buttons. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    It's really good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Rightoues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Local selfie hated it idiot

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sweet Camera review [App]  2017-11-3 13:10

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    My 11-year-old loved this book so much she's read this twice. Attractive story with a amazing message.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    My kid loved this book and gives it five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    One of the best books of 2017

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This was a amazing read. Fascinating storytelling bringing you through the ups and downs of growing up and learning the uncertainties of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Laurel Snyder leaves the reader questioning so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    One of the most amazing, incredible, creative stories I've read for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Every year on Orphan Island a fresh orphan arrives on a green boat and the oldest orphan leaves the island for good. During this year's Changing, Jinny says goodbye to her best mate Deen and assumes care of the fresh girl, Ess. With Jinny being the fresh Elder, she has so a lot of things to teach Ess and the others before it is her turn to leave the island. But will Jinny be able to say goodbye to the island and her mates when it is her turn to leave?This book is geared towards the age range of 8-12 but definitely has appeal for adults as well. I have always liked stories where there is minimal or zero adult interactions and the children are in charge of taking care of themselves. This book is special because the island has so a lot of secrets and mysteries.I am really curious to search out how children answer to the ending. As an adult I can see where the author was going with it even if it did feel slightly unsatisfying. Now if I had been a kid reading the ending, I might have been bummed out and would have so a lot of unanswered questions. I highly recommend that any reader check out the author's blog post for her reasoning for the book's conclusion.I received a free copy of the book from the publisher and that is my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    4.5 starsThe boat would come view, the horn would blow and the kids would line up on the beach just waiting for the boat to come ashore. It happened every year, or so they thought. They didn’t know it if was exactly a year, they didn’t count the days but they figured it was a year. A male or female kid would be the sole occupant on the boat and they would gently lift them out and the kid would join the others on the island while the Elder from the island would take the spot in the boat. After saying good-bye to everyone on shore, then they would quickly be pulled out to sea, never to be seen again. Why? Because this was the rules and they obeyed the rules. The Elder of the kids who was now left on the island would be charge of the fresh kid who had just arrived. They would teach this fresh kid the method of the island. Why? Because this was the rules and they obeyed the rules. The island is created up of rules, rules that the kids follow and have been following for years. So, what would happen if one of them decides not to follow one of the rules? Could not following one rule really do any harm? No one had really explained the rules to these children, they have just been following them because that was the method they had been taught so they knew of no consequences. So, what could happen if Jinny says no and doesn’t follow one of the rules?What a amazing novel. I loved the island characters and their relationships with each other. I liked how they relied on one another and accepted one another. Trust, values and honesty played a huge role in this novel. I felt there was a lot of unanswered questions in this novel, which I didn’t feel take away from the novel but could be used as conversation tools for kids as they read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This story spoke to me on multiple levels:1.) At its outermost superficial story level, the plot interested me from the start. The strange and solemn custom of saying goodbye -- possibly forever -- to the eldest of the islanders provided a gripping, emotional scene.2.) Just underneath the story arc, the hero arc was convincing. Seeing nine children, each at a various point in his or her growth arc, provided a amazing sense of how quickly kids grow, how quickly they change and adapt when place in extenuating circumstances. The fact that they also had varying personalities created them leap from the page, spiced up their interactions immensely. I also liked hearing about characters from the past, how previous islanders like Abby would test to send messages to the future. It was both primitive and resourceful at the same time, which created the mysteries that much more intriguing and page-turning.3.) A layer deeper, the concept of mentoring the young -- almost parenthood-like -- shone through the story in how Jinny must manage Ess and then Loo. It spoke to the difficulties of parenthood, how much is unforeseen, how exhausting and rewarding it can be all at once. The method Ess reacted to Loo, bonded with Sam, and other interactions seemed realistic for siblings that must cope with a parent's divided attention. It would have been nice to see how Deen interacted with Sam, but Jinny's journey definitely echoed some of the difficulties fresh parents often express.4.) The cycle of life -- how the old must leave and create method for the new, how the young must learn to leave the nest and search fresh mates when they outgrow their parents. The endless march of time. A lot of themes grew naturally from the premise of following rules, becoming self-sufficient and independent, learning on the fly, needing to bond with others of various ages and social ranks. I liked how Laurel Snyder was able to accomplish these relationships without resorting to bloodshed or fisticuffs (a.l.a Lord of the Flies).5.) The event-based structure of the chapters kept the pages turning. Every day seemed to show some new, imaginative challenge, each believable and self-contained, such as hunting for honey, reading books, venturing onto the cliffs, or catching an inkfish. Kudos to the author for coming up with believable characters and creatures, from the inkfish providing ink for writing and making references to popular books such as Harry Potter and James and the Giant Peach without directly mentioning them by name. Very well done!6.) Signs -- I liked how every sign could be interpreted or not interpreted, inviting the reader (along with Jinny) to create too much of some of the book's later events. For example, when the children experience snow for the first time, we as readers almost wish to see it as "the sky falling" like the nursery rhyme, but Jinny and Nat do a amazing job of noting that it's only a sign if you read it that way. In that sense, anything after Jinny's refusal to leave the island could be both a sign or a normal occurence, and that duality - the chance of multiple readings - lent both insight and intrigue to the story's second half. In that sense, the book seemed both realistic -- something that nature could conceivably throw at the orphans -- and fantastic, in that unseen forces are trying to push for Jinny's e main negatives that disrupted the reading were a strange baby-like language that Ess used, Loo's inhumane behavior tearing apart a sea star, and Jinny's incessant internal dialogue obsessing over Deen. It would have been nice if Ess didn't talk like such a baby (she's not that far removed from the elders, who speak normally), or if the author didn't constantly refer to Loo like a wild animal. Sometimes, it felt as if the story were being told from the viewpoint of a middle-aged mother, at least in how much surprise was interjected into describing Loo's child-like energy. Also, I wanted to look up to Jinny for her challenges raising Ess and fighting her own desire to stay, but her constant daydreaming of days past with Deen clouded the narrative and gave the story an unnecessarily wistful romantic feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Orphan Island review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I enjoyed this book. I am decades past 12 years old. I have too a lot of questions though about this story. How these children came to be on this island in the first place. What happens when they leave?? Just didn't end right for me, maybe because I am not a child.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    I see a lot of comments about the payments and such like and while that is absurd, I'd like to point out a a couple android game play issues. First, I found the toolbar more often than not was interfering with me actually playing the game. Secondly, the camera controls were, at best, clunky.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    this is completely ridiculous. literally u have to pay for everything. the ones that r free don't even look good. barely any r free. and i don't pay for games. i don't recommend this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    Worst android game EVER! Almost nothing is free, the noise is the worst and it's graphics are horrible!! Do not download!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    This android game is ridiculous. You shouldn't have to pay for almost everything...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    Voxtale is method better and free to play this android game is a joke

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    Not enough free pics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Voxel Island review [App]  2018-3-13 13:0

    I love coloring so I will live this application

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    To Have or To Be? reviews Grapple hook reviews wholesale nfl moneynetwork.stock-options-picks.com/blogs/viewstory/58398 jerseys reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios reviews wholesale nfl bodasenvalencia.es/cheap-wholesale-nfl-jerseys-are-the-best-choice/ jerseys reviews Lost at School: Why Our Kids with... reviews How to Be Debt Free: A simple plan for paying off debt: car loans, student loan repayment, credit card debt, mortgages and more. Debt-free living is within Books (Smart Money Blueprint Book 3) reviews Therapy Games: Creative Ways to Turn Popular Games Into Activities That Build Self-Esteem, Teamwork, Communication Skills, Anger Management, Self-Discovery, and Coping Skills reviews Summary & Analysis of The Clean 20: 20 Foods, 20 Days, Total Transformation | A Guide to the Book by Ian Smith, MD reviews Rewirement: Rewiring The Way You Think About Retirement! reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios?: Convicción, en tiempos de escepticismo (Spanish Edition) reviews Self Mastery Boxset: How to Master Success, Abundance, Wealth, and Happiness reviews The Power of Paper: How to Create Wealth by Investing in Mortgages reviews The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital reviews King of Kings: A Paranormal Space Opera Adventure (Star Justice Book 11) reviews Lucky Soldier: A Memorial Day Brother's Best Friend Fake Fiance Romance reviews Murder Has Nine Lives (A Jaine Austen Mystery) reviews Enchanted Immortals Series Box Set: Books 1-4 plus Novella reviews Second Best reviews The Things They Carried reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter