John Willy & Freddy Mcgee Reviews & Opinions


Submit John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Portrays the petite piggies personalities perfectly!! Just darling

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    We read this story 2x, but my 3-year old hasn't asked to have it read to him again. In fact, I forgot we had this until it showed up in my list of items to review. I also found the flow of words to be a small unnatural. The story may be better appreciated in a house that has hamsters (oops, guinea pigs).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This particular story became a favorite of our son's while he was in Pre-K. They began reading it in his nursery school class this year, and he's named our Guinea pig, Freddy McGee because of it. The story is definitely cute and can easily be remembered and recited by young ones after awhile. It's also a story that, as a parent, you don't dread repeating each and every time it's brought to you at storytime.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on John Willy & Freddy Mcgee or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch John Willy & Freddy Mcgee video reviews and related movies:

    See John Willy and Freddy McGee on youtube.

     related image

    See John Willy Freddy McGee on youtube.

     related image

    See Leila recommends "John Willy and Freddy McGhee" on youtube.

     related image

    See Willie Nelson - Seven Spanish Angels (Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See Merle Haggard My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again on youtube.

     related image

    See Willie Nelson & Julio Iglesias - To All the Girls I've Loved Before (Live at Farm Aid 1986) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Happy Little Trees - Bluebird on youtube.

     related image

    See "Help Me Make It Through the Night" Kris Kristofferson on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Those of us who love guinea pigs can become addicted; we can become fanatics. And why not? They're cute, they're cuddly, they're charming. This book may be a story for children, but it emphasizes the playful nature of guinea pigs that outsiders are unaware y people think of little cage pets as boring - well, you'd be boring too, if you spent your whole life in a room only a small larger than you are! But give a guinea pig room to explore, and discover he will. True guinea pigs discover rooms in trains (one piggle behind another); these two piggies illustrate this behavior excellently. True piggies push balls around with their noses, run through PVC tubes or ferret tubes, and occasionally tease larger pets by running under their noses; John Willie and Freddy McGee again illustrate this true behavior, in an amusing e pictures are amazing - they'll have you saying "I know a guinea pig that looks like that!" The text is minimal, as would be expected, but what there is, is amusing. Words are not confined to one-syllable words; the author is aware that young kids may have a receptive vocabulary larger than their speaking vocabulary, and also is aware that a book should be amusing for the adult who may have to read it 80 times in a row for their child.I own this book and I don't even have children; other adults who visit us and are amused by our pet guinea pigs wind up taking this book off our shelves and reading it all the method through. Sometimes, it never makes it back off the coffee table and onto the shelf, because mates hold reading it. Buy your own copy, people!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    My six year old granddaughter loves this book. Amazing illustrations and fun small adventure story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Adorable! These feisty small guinea pigs love scampering around the house and making mischief just like my own two boys aged 5&3. They both love this book and we read it over and over. The 3 year old has even memorized most of the words! I honestly can't imagine any kid not loving this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    My son loves this book! It was in amazing condition when it arrived. And we read it almost everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    My 17 year old daughters FAVORITE book when she was a toddler.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Amazing Story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Willy & Freddy Mcgee review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Have a pet guinea pig? Have fun reading this delightful story to your child. Laugh at the antics of John Willy and Freddy McGee. Two guinea pigs who have fun during an escape from their cage. Illustrations support younger kids follow the story and will tickle the funny bone of your pre-schooler. Early elementary kids can practice their early reading skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FREDDY Photo Editor for Freddy Fazebear Pizza review [App]  2018-4-23 21:9

    Idk what to do I'm sorry I Gabe u a 1 star IM SO SORRY

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FREDDY Photo Editor for Freddy Fazebear Pizza review [App]  2018-4-23 21:9

    It's nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    John Milton. Who would have thought that in such a fast time John Smith could have taken the action readers globe by storm? Like the best show in the bunch I held off till yesterday to begin the newest installment of the Milton series. As I flipped the latest page on my phone today I said, “Nice Job Dawson” . The Jungle does not disappoint.When my lawyer and mate Wayne Novick said” Dan, I think you will like this author”. I said I’ll give him a try. I waited a month. But when he mentioned him again I bought my fist copy. My mate and I have been mates for years and both of us are vivacious readers. So I trusted this was going to be at least readable. lolSo I added this fresh Guy, Tag Dawson, to my Gym reading list. Fresh authors go this list as it is a one hour a day at the gym reading tome while I am on the elliptical. Mostly because I am also listening to melody and watching something on the a lot of TV’s there. That method if the fresh book turns out to be a bust and boring or slow I have a bunch of other things going on to fill the ter the first hour this series moved up to the top of the reading list. I have read, now all the books Dawson has written and have not been disappointed yet. Simply not a page without something happening. All the books are great!!The books! You Will love them if you love action, as well as a private connection with the players in the book. In addition, this guy, the author, is a regular guy. A book nerd like most of us and loves to just hang out with his readers. This is a amazing train to jump on!If you have not started, obtain started. If you have then hurry and pick up this fresh one you will thank me!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I've come to grow very fond of Author Tag Dawson's John Milton. And THE JUNGLE, I believe is his best work yet. Or maybe I'm growing more accustomed to the character. In this installment, Milton, ever on the lookout to atone for past sins - and/or create the globe a better put along the method - gets involved with a young Eritrea refugee. His sister was taken away for unsavory purposes upon landing in England, and now he's in a detention center awaiting possible deportation. But his basic concern is for his sister. He has no idea what's happened to her. And Milton offers to see what he can search out. As usual, the situation proves far more complicated than expected, leading to different twists & turns, intrigue and general spy craft - and Milton doing what Milton does best. I felt this installment felt a bit more cerebral - or stream of consciousness than the previous. And I liked that about it. As well as the continued involvement of Hicks from the previous book. All in all, a taut, well-crafted piece of fiction from an author I'm gaining more respect for with each installment in this series. He never fails to disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I have been spoiled. I have read the first eight in this series and I have loved all of them. Especially no. 1,7 & 8. Milton is a very likable former government killer killing machine whose calling now is to support those in need no matter the dangers that might entail. But I have got to tell you no 9 in this series is very disappointing. The first two thirds of this book is very slow and boring but in all fairness the latest third is Dawson at his best. From some of the reviews that I have read about no. 10 this one sounds like a winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Milton's ninth outing takes him from home in London to Egypt, Libya, France, Italy and Sicily. It's a quick read, well plotted and the action starts quickly and continues throughout the book. If you're a Reacher fan, Milton might interest you. Reacher's seemingly invulnerable while Milton takes his share of knocks, bumps and bruises (although I'll be the first to say I'm not really an expert on the proper amount of injuries an killer should expect over the course of a few weeks).In any case, if you're familiar with the definition of noir - "a flawed character searches for some measure of justice in an unjust world" - The Jungle will check all the boxes on your reading necessities list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    The Milton series just keeps getting better and better. Tag sure knows how to hold you coming back for more. What starts out as helping a mate with a delivery winds up with John half method around the world. His commitment to making up for past wrongs is beautiful evident in this story. Filled with twists that even I didn't see coming makes this book wish to not come to an end. As usual, I hold thinking ... how is he going to top this? But he does. If you haven't read any of the Milton books, you really need to start. They are amazing as stand alones but reading them in order gives you a true sense of the man John Milton. If you usually figure out the poor guy, you'll be surprised when you don't. John Milton is addictive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    The Jungle is one of the most compelling reads ever in this genre. Lee Childs and Tim Ellis are going to have to step it up several notches to hold pace with Tag Dawson and John Milton. Milton' s hero is not only a [email protected]#$% poor dude but believely vulnerable as well. The Jungle ploughs headlong into the tough political problem of immigration and gives insight few of us possess. Clear your calendar because once you start you can not place it down

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    This is another champion in the Milton series. Tag Dawson has done an perfect job defining this hero and fleshing him out over the course of the books. One of the best things about Milton is that he's not a Mary Sue. He makes mistakes. He gets into poor spots and doesn't always obtain out of them right away. That happens to him in this book. It was a spot where I thought Milton would have been on his guard--and maybe he should have been. Then we obtain to see Milton's brain at work as he analyzes the situation and plots the best method and time to create a move. The stakes are high, as usual, and it's not just Milton's neck on the line. This is a amazing addition to the Milton series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    This ninth outing for former government operative John Milton continues his quest for atonement by helping others. In this case, a easy favor turns into so much more. Transporting cargo from Calais, France to London, Milton meets a Young Middle Eastern refugee named Samir who is trying to sneak into England to rescue his sister, Nadia, from smugglers selling girls to brothels all over England. After promising Samir he will obtain Nadia back and support them both search asylum in England, Milton sets off on his quest and the story amps up from ton being Milton, nothing is easy. He finds the brothel but Nadia was taken away the night before and Milton ends up killing one of the guards, who happens to be the son of Konstantin Pasko, the head of the Albanian mob in London. He also takes one of the other girls who wants to escape the brothel to his apartment until he can obtain her support (she refuses to go to the police out of fear).Milton enlists the aid of Alex Hicks, a former soldier and fairly fresh mate (he worked with Milton in the previous book, The Ninth Step) and continues his find for Nadia. His quest takes him along the slave trade route from Libya through Italy and France back to London and a few more rounds with Pasko. As Milton makes his journey, the reader is given an up-close look at refugees plight as they run from the terror of their homeland to an uncertain future in an unknown land that will hopefully accept usual, Tag Dawson's deep research and vivid prose create these scenes come alive. And the hero of Milton continues to deepen with each fresh book. It was a nice surprise to see Alex Hicks return. Perhaps Milton can settle in London for a while and start to build relationships with a few trusted friends. After all, isn't that part of the 12 steps he is taking? Milton's redemption won't be simple and taking the street with him is more than just reading a damn amazing book. That's why I'm committed to traveling with him anywhere. Tag Dawson has created me care about this flawed, but innately honorable character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    This series just keeps getting better and better. Tag Dawson knows how to develop his stories and characters to hold you intrigued and interested so you can not place down the book. John Milton wants to support when no one else will or cares. It is part of his ninth step in AA, and there is no stopping him once he is on a mission. Tag Dawson is very detailed in his descriptions of scenes. This is a amazing book, and I am sure you will have fun it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Jungle - John Milton #9 (John Milton Thrillers) review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I have read all of the John Milton books and have recommended them to others who like the "thriller" genre. I don't know if they are amazing literature--I'm not even sure what amazing literature is--but they are quick, well-plotted and entertaining, if you're into that sort of thing. Milton is a super character with a conscience, a sort of Batman without the cape, mask, etc.. He is driven by a sense of justice, an exaggerated sense of justice some might say, but it is what it is. He is an alcoholic and is determined to create amends for his past sins. Isn't an exaggerated sense of justice what drives Lizbeth Salander, too? Anyway, the stories take the reader to exotic locations and the descriptions are illuminating. The villains are villainous and John Milton wins versus wonderful odds. This particular story, "The Jungle," takes the reader to France, Italy, Egypt and Libya. In this story, Batman recruits a Robin to support him rescue an immigrant woman from the clutches of the Albanian mob, and it's a torturous, twisty and turny road. The author, Tag Dawson, says the John will be back, and I will be looking forward to his return.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Just an amazingly fun read that has you on the seat of your chair as you turn each page not knowing if the story will take you here or there, either method though is comfortable and pleasant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I enjoyed this book. Interesting the social lives of people and how they kept things secret. It was a small confusing remembering all the names, but overall very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Once again, Diana Gabaldon does not disappoint. I have yet to read a book of hers that I have not fallen in love with. Understandably, the Lord John series is not as beloved as the Outlander series, however it is still full of intrigue, mystery, love, sex and everything that makes a amazing book even better. I love the expansion of the side characters in Outlander and learning more about them. Here's to hoping she considers writing more books about these characters once she finishes with the Outlander series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    As an avid fan of the Outlander series, I have a fresh admiration for Diana Gabaldon in the creation of the hero of Lord John Gray. A man of his time, Lord John is as constrained by its limitations as he is characterized by it; real to his noble hero (and noble birthright), Lord John is a man who upholds his word, and his honor, and navigates the treacherous waters of being real to himself without being held hostage to the society he must keep. Gabaldon handles the nuances of Lord John with deftness and as much integrity as 18tth century British society will allow. Confused? Reading this book will unravel the puzzle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Loved it! Diana Gabaldon can truly create me laugh. This one was a fast read for me and I look forward to the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Just not enjoying this book. I loved all the Outlander books. I guess this just doesn't compare.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    It is a amazing book with surprising turns. The book takes you into the time period very nicely and gives insight into John Grey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I have enjoyed everything that I have read of Diana Gabaldon. As long as she continues to write, I will continue to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I have enjoyed the Outlander series and was also drawn to the hero of Lord John. He is a man of considerable honor. He is a man who loves men, living in a period of time when this could cost him his life. Yet, he manages to remain real to himself, his family and his country. He is an intriguing hero and I loved getting to know him better. Loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I have been fascinated with John Grey since reading the Outlander series. His hero showed so much depth I wanted to know where and what he was doing while Jamie and Claire were off having their adventures. This book gives us a glimpse into his world. Can't wait to read the next. Highly recommend. I would consider reading the Outlander series first. This could be a stand alone series but if you have watched the series or started the books you may wish to finish with the Outlander series first. Just my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    This series of books were amazing to have and read together one after the other. I appreciated the style of writing and the fact that Tag Dawson didn't resort to sex or gory, bloody info to sell the story or as filler, making the books longer. John Smith was the story and the books were a amazing ank you Mr. Dawson for giving me several hours of interesting, enjoyable reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    I love this author and wrote a more favorable review of his other two series (Beatrix and Isabella Rose). This series is as well-written as the others in terms of writing style, but is less enjoyable mainly because (1) the main hero is not very likeable to me as a female reader, as he seems to have this annoying (perhaps all too real, actually) sense of needing to step in and "save" women who weren't asking for his help, while usually making things worse and conveniently sleeping with them along the method beautiful much EVERY SINGLE TIME, which is a predictable part of the typical action story formula, but this author is capable of better than falling into cheap cliche, plus it feels glaringly inconsistent with the hero supposedly being a lone wolf as a major part of his personality and life story, (2) relatedly, the whole concept driving this series is that the main hero is traveling around the globe with no clear purpose, yet decides to support people to atone for past sins, and as nice as that sounds, action books are method better when there IS a clear intention and drive toward a particular aim (the Beatrix and Isabella Rose series do not have this problem), and (3) this series has a slower pace/less constant action than other books by this author.What's to like: well-written, intersects enjoyably with the author's other series, is a long and ongoing series so if you can obtain past the above criticisms, Milton can begin to feel like a (slightly patronizing) old friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    It's always painful to read a writer like Tag Dawson: he's my tournament and he's so darned amazing that I question my sanity in going head to head with him. I'd be better off pulling a gun on nically fun to read (a few glitches, we all have those) and amazing characters. Gripping plots - kept me from writing my sequel in a timely fashion.I just bought the two most ank you, Tag Dawson, for keeping me from my writing duties. It's been is is essentially the same review for his other boxed set - they're all very good. I'm a definite fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    because they are usually cheaper than individual books and maybe there is a freebie too. This is a amazing one. Despite the common theme of man on the run, each book is various enough to carry the series forward. I'm just a mite upset that the cliffhanger in two was not resolved in three. Better obtain explained in four or I might forget about five.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    This was a amazing series. In his attempt to pay back for what he's done with his life up to now, he can't resist doing the right thing even though he knows he's putting himself in danger of getting caught. Each book was so various that you really had to read on. In ghost, I really got fixed on Beatrix rose. So now I'm off to her first three books. No matter what series, they in themselves are so various but wonderful reads. To write three various series, so various but addictive is really amazing. Tag is an awesome writer and you won't be SORRY no matter which series you begin with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    I read the reviews and I liked the novella 1000 Yards, but as I got into the story of the Cleaner, it got to where there was more reality than I liked. There was a review that mentioned gangs in the next book or 2 drug cartels, I should have listened to that review and not purchased this set. After getting half method through the Cleaner, I requested a refund and returned the set. The author is a decent writer and the books are edited well, but they are not for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    John Milton is a believable character, flawed, surprisingly resourceful and every description in this book is detailed in an informative way, never a waste to read. Action that you wish to happen does and situations that seem are impossible for the ex-British government killer are not. Very entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    This set contains the first three books in this series. It is the fourth series written by Mr. Dawson I've read and have thoroughly enjoyed every one of them, and this series is no exception! His books provide exceptional reading entertainment with nonstop action!I search his tales to be exciting, with well written dialogues and descriptions clear enough to believe your seeing it all take place! His descriptions of the town of Jurez, Mexico, are especially vivid and sounded like he had traveled all of the locations he wrote about -- a put I wouldn't wish to spend even five mins visiting! John Milton, the main character, is someone you may wonder if you can relate to, and then you search how simple it is to grasp his pain and motivations, after all he is human, if only fictionally. I'm definitely reading the next ones!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    I couldn't place the books down! I found myself thinking of the stories throughout the day, waiting to return to my reading. Amazing job Mr. Dawson!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The John Milton Series: Books 1-3 (The John Milton Series Boxset) review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    I am very satisfied that I stumbled across this series. Amazing read. All the novels, and the gift Novella, have a quick pace and engaging plot lines. The action is fast without being over the top. I've glanced at some of the other reviews describing John Milton as a cross between Jack Reacher and James Bond - I don't know if that is quite the mix, but a better description escapes me at the moment. All in all: Fun read, amazing story, and amazing value. 3 books + a Novella for $9.99 - I just hope that we are compensating Mr. Dawson enough to warrant more from the globe of Milton in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Meh...I read the first Lord John book quickly, but this book took me forever to obtain through. Having read all of the Outlander books and patiently waiting book 9, I thought I would read all of the Lord John books to gain some insight into the LJG/Jamie relationship. To be honest, I've never understood their "friendship" and I felt like I was missing something that happened in Voyager that created them friends. The "mystery" of this novel felt secondary to LJG's relationship with Percy and its aftermath, the preparations for the 7 Years War, and the moral dilemma that LJG constantly finds himself. I didn't mind these passages, but they seemed to drag and the plot was often times meandering. All in all, the book was just okay for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I really have fun Lord John's adventures and consider him to be a main-worthy character! I like his friendly, generous personality, his humor and his ability to adapt to an ongoing situation. The sex? Not my style, but fairly well written and always adds little parts to his personality--from his choice of partners (he's neither desperate nor profligate) to the method he moves in society in general, including flirting with the ladies at different venues. So I don't mind the sex scenes, because they aren't graphic, and I feel they do add to the story, just as the sex scenes between Jamie and Claire add to the story. Meanwhile, back to the book in question here: Brotherhood of the hood of the Blade is the sequel to Lord John and the Personal Matter. Both books fit easily into the Outlander series, but you really don't need to read them to finish the series. In fact, you don't need to read all of them, or even in the right sequence to have fun them. Each book and story can stand on its own, and is enjoyable on its own. This book concerns the brothers Grey attempts to search out the true story of how their father died, who killed him and why. It falls on the eve of the Prussian battle which adds an increased aura of danger and mystery. I won't give away any more, but believe me, there is so much more to this book than sex scenes of any kind that if you don't read it because of those scenes, you deserve to miss the fun in this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Even though Lord John and Jamie Fraser are intertwined in their stories, this novel is mainly about Lord John's life( career and personal). As an aristocrat, he had no physical hands on job but was one of the a lot of people who are in charge. Basically he created his own schedule of activities which had no set timeline except when expected to be show at a function. He even has a valet, who takes care of his clothes and private needs. So spoilers aheadWe know John has an older brother Hal, the Duke of Peduoe, who isn't using the title because of something that happened with their father's death. I gather that he is, by at least a decade older than John, because he was old enough to take full control of the estate at father's death, and John had been 12 at time. This novel gives us a small background on John's family life from just before 12 and upbringing ( he was training with a sword from age 3). Hence his ability to lead and war in the is novel also gives us, a view of the mother who raised him, who was're-marrying for the third time, 13 years after John's father's death, to a General who also was a widower with a stepson close in age to John called Percy Wainwright. Between those two is more than brotherly love bond.But the mystery behind John's father's death is more interesting because it puts an element of connection via the Jacobites group because he knew of a few members and kept notes of this in his yearly diaries. How John figures this out is quite interesting, plus he gets his brother to use his title and victory a long standing bet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I bought this book a few weeks back, not sure I'd ever read it before, despite having enjoyed the adventures of a much older John, Hal, and Percy in 'An Echo in the Bone' and 'Written in My Own Heart's Blood.' In retrospect, I don't think I did, and that might actually have been better than reading it back when it was published. I'm in the predictably little group of Diana Gabaldon's readers who end up liking Lord John more than Jamie Fraser - although perhaps not more than I like Claire - and despite it being a "spinoff," 'Brotherhood of the Blade' is at the very top of my Gabaldon list, right under 'Voyager.'As usual, DG meticulously researched her background and prepared the happenings in comparison to the Outlander timeline, and you quickly search yourself absorbed in the gritty settings of London and the airy fields of Helwater. The narrative tone she takes for Lord John is particularly simple to identify with in this book, because he is always intelligent, thoughtful, and brave, but even as a young man, he is level-headed, painfully endearing (in part because of his closeted sexuality), and witty, with a dry humour that catches you pleasantly offside and often created me laugh out loud. Since her novels take put over the course of decades, DG is also remarkably talented at hero development, and my heart wrenched at the differences between the happier, more sedate Lord John who later becomes Willie's father, Dottie's uncle, and Jamie's mate (well, up until John's relations with Claire), and the tense, stubborn, full-hearted young Lord John of this novel, who takes an uncharacteristically reckless gamble in becoming Percy Wainwright's lover, throws his own well-being to the wind for the sake of his mates and fellow soldiers, and struggles to walk the fine line between mate and opponent with "Mac."If you love Lord John and the series as a whole, the carefully handled happenings and emotions of this novel - which to me, is far more than just a smaller spinoff of the main Outlander novels - will linger with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Absolutely fantastic. I was hesitant to read the series at first - not because of the topic matter, but because I wasn't a huge fan of Lord John in the Outlander series. Well, that has changed. I've become very fond of Lord John, and I search that this series adds some depth to the Outlander series - in this case, John's relationship with Percy Wainwright. Spoiler alert: Percy shows up in the 7th book of the Outlander series, and there's a reference to an earlier relationship beween he and Lord John, which seemed to end badly. This book expands on the relationship between the two and what happened to end it. However, since I had already read the whole Outlander series, Iknew that Percy was not going to prison or be executed after his homosexuality was discovered. So - that part of the story was not suspenseful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I like it a lot....but I suppose four stars because I had hoped for the intensity of the Outlander books. Would give 4.5 if they had it. It's a nice fill in while waiting for the 9th Outlander book, and I search myself liking and understanding Lord John more with each book. He's a somewhat tortured soul in a difficult time in history. I will read them all, forget how a lot of so far...but I thought The Scottish Prisoner was really great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Lord John is a very beautiful character, although I will never understand why a person as wise and thoughtful as Lord John would not give up a hopeless love in favor of a fulfilling relationship with someone willing and able to reciprocate his affections. I am afraid the author diminishes him somewhat by keeping him forever pining foolishly after Jamie. Neither Jamie nor John would be diminished if John got a life and simply continued to admire Jamie rather than having a passion for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    As a person with contemporary sensibilities about relationships, I have struggled with the Outlander books from time to time. The memorable and disturbing stage of Claire's punishment at Jaimie's hands in book one, the casual references to slavery in some of the later books, the universally accepted class distinctions and generally not good treatment of lower class women have all caused me to bow my neck in anger and dismay. That feeling lasts as long as it takes me to remind myself of the context of the novels and remember that right, wrong or indifferent, that was life and society in the mid18th century.A hallmark of Ms. Galbadon's work is her exacting research and attention to period detail. Brotherhood of the Blade is no different, but deals with a type of relationship not often seen in famous literature and one that we still struggle with today. As I read "Brotherhood,' with its explicit sex scenes between Lord John and Percy, I found myself disturbed, not because of the sex, but because I knew what they would likely face if caught. Sodomy carried a maximum sentence of death in that time period. This novel was a close examination of the private and societal dangers of homosexuality in the mid 18th century and at times I was profoundly disturbed to realized that very small has changed in this area.If you are looking for Jamie Fraser in this book, he's there, but functions as a touchstone, sounding board and moral opposite to Lord John. His appearances are few, but powerful. There is a memorable stage near the end between Lord John and Jamie where they confront the truth and depth of their moral differences. With a few changes in syntax, the conversation might have been a contemporary one. My heart damage for John Grey especially when I felt that his sense of honor, though differently framed, was every bit as powerful as Jamie'e primary plot revolves around Lord John trying to search his father's murderer to clear his father's name and restore the family e burdens and responsibilities of family and private honor are a recurrent them in all aspects of this story. We meet Hal's and Lord John's mother, Hal's wife Minnie and assorted other characters. To be honest, this effort to clear their father's name was the less interesting plot line. John's relationship with Percy, military preparations for engagement in the Seven Years Battle and John's visits to Jamie were what kept my interest.I can't say I enjoyed this book in a traditional sense, but it was a unbelievable study in honor, duty, and loyalty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Not going to pussyfoot around with this book review. At first, I was thinking I wasn't going to every really obtain into this book. I can't remember where, but things took a change! I couldn't place it down. I'm thinking somewhere around when the O'Higgins brothers attacked John!This book was great! She did a superb job at making this book a mystery. I'm really amazing at guessing who done it. Not this time. I didn't see this one coming!In this novel, we obtain to know Lord John on a method intimate level. His brother Hal, who I hate come to just love. Percy, the betrayer. Johns's mother, who is a calculating, persistent, brilliant woman. Plus a lot of more amazing e sex in this book was not my cup of tea. But Diane did a amazing job at writing about it, but not to where you were disgusted.I know it's fiction, but I have so much respect for Lord John and his family. This book was so well written! Bravo Diana Gabaldon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel (Lord John Grey Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    ... but this is the only serious complaint I have about this book: there are minor flaws (therefore the four stars) but they are just that, minor, only quoted for the sake of a thorough review and full y reviewers have complained about the explicit -homo-sexual content of this novel; such remarks left me flabbergasted: how prudish can some readers be? Ms Gabaldon has clearly created a point of creating a main hero who is likeable, honourable AND gay. The plot contains this hero having an affair (not exactly love but neither a one night stand) and the physical side of this affair is not only relevant to the story but also logical: Lord John is not yet 30, after all. Moreover, the author does not go into fine detail: she mentions sex, physical attraction, she shows her characters in between the sheets but her scenes are first and foremost sensual, not pornographic. This book can be read, in my opinion, by older teens as e plot, spun within a timespan of a couple of months, is fairly complex and engaging but not convoluted and everything is clearly explained in amazing time (except the title). The ending is perhaps a small hurried (one of the minor flaws I was writing above) but no cliffhanger mars a satisfying aracterization is perfect in the case of the mains, amazing nearly everywhere else. The "nearly" could be due to the POV of the story being that of Lord John and not that of an omniscient narrator.I was not boundless satisfied about the hero of Fraser: I understand he is the main of a successfull serial (most of the complaints for the gay content seem to come from fans of this serial which, I hear, is rather graphic but "straight"), but here he is just stiff, prudish, unmoveable and unchanging.I am not sure whether it was intentional or not, but thanks to her researches, Ms Gabaldon also manages to convey a believable reproduction of XVIII century England and it is an appalling reproduction. Far away are the cosy drawing rooms of romance authors where prim ladies chat about lace and balls: in this author's pages England (and its drawing rooms) is first and foremost a risky put where one risks one's life every day. A put which is filthy, horrid. Said drawing rooms are full of scheming, despicable figures. Life is cruel and people are generally small better than murderous savages pestered by hypocrisy and silly, damaging mores. They are also arrogant, prone to believe themselves far more civilised and god-fearing than the rest of the world.Homophobia comes to mind of course as a target of the author's disgust -and the hypocrisy of a society that condemns as perverts people who do no hurt whatsoever while it accepts disgusting crimes as "natural"- but I think another theme might have been close to Ms Gabaldon's heart: the cleft between REAL honour and honour as it was perceived then (and perhaps even now).My comments should not allow you think of this work as a morality play: it is action packed, plot and hero driven, there is no time to obtain bored. It has more depth than the usual items but such depth is no hindrance to a satisfying fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    This is the first book in the series about John Madden. This is set in the English countryside and a family is brutally murdered. Robbery is the obvious motive, but Madden and his boss Sinclair thing something worse is happening. We hear of the inner workings of the Yard and one self serving detective. Early forensics and profiling are glimpsed. The characters are interesting in their own right. The murder provides a glimpse of the horrors of WWI. A bit dark but worth the payoff

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    This book could have been great. I liked the primary plot and the personality of the main character. I think there were some really interesting ideas. One thing I didn't like was the language used. It was meant to take put in 1921 in England but was full of modern American slang. Terms like throw up, don't create things up etc really weren't used at the time and that bothered me. I enjoyed the first globe battle history and some of the memories of the detective as well as the killer, it would have been nice had these experiences been fleshed out a small more. One hero that I found very wonderful was the detective Samson of Scotland yard. Samson was clearly just thrown in to add some poor cop action because it seemed very unlikely someone in that position would be stupid enough to shoot down sound theories and leads on the case. There were some characters who started to develop and then sort of just dropped from the story and that created it feel a small uneven for me as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Here's a novel that judiciously blends brutal violence with thoughtful, understanding compassion. Battle is the central theme that snakes with consummate evil from beginning to end. Even today, with our generally greater scope, our knowledge of the effects of battle seems limited. The effects of warfare on combatants and those who help them are more and more in the forefront of our knowledge, but the effects on families is far less 1919 thousands of damaged combatants returned to England from the battlefields of Europe. Thousands more never returned. One former soldier goes back to England to resume an interrupted career as an investigator with Scotland Yard. Another returns to the south of England with the skills to feed his desperate and evil diseased mind. This is the story of his crimes and the find by Inspector John Madden for the man ever more insistently to prevent further e novel is written with strong authority, The political maneuverings inside Scotland Yard, the relationships that developed between officials from London and the rural polices forces, the action sequences all serve the story and the reader well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Well written police procedural. The post WWI setting is interesting as it encompasses some 20th Century technology (automobiles, telephones) while leaving out some of the more modern techniques (computer searches, data bases). The period also makes it simple to imagine the scenes of the crime: the lack of paved roads, pathways through villages, darkness, e detective, John Madden, is a burned out veteran of the battle who returns to his job at Scotland Yard after his stint in the army. Although the setting may be old school, the crime is not. An entire family is slaughtered with the only survivor being a young kid who hides under a bed. Madden is fast to figure out how the crime was committed but the brutality is rare and the why even less e reader is allow in on snippets that follow the murderer, but it is only near the very end of the book that the real motive (bizarre though it is) is revealed. Liked it a lot. Fine writing. Will read the is is the 1st in a series and

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    For those who like historical mysteries that both reach back to the classics of the past and add more psychological detail for modern readers, River of Darkness is tailor-made. The writing is powerful and fluid and the characters are hn Madden is a detective with Scotland Yard recently returned from the horrors of WWI. He suffers from shell shock, what would now be known as PTSD, with all of its attendant nightmares and nervousness. Everybody notices that he is a changed man, but the fact that he is an exceptional detective has returned him to the Yard at the same rank as before the veral viscious murders have taken put at a country manor. At first it is thought to be a robbery gone wrong, but investigation reveals that related murders have taken put in England and in Europe during WWI. The murderer is revealed early in chapters from his point of view and what remains is how he will be caught and the tension that he will murder again before he is caught. Predictably, Madden's love interest is in the sights of the murderer. This predictability was the only weak point in an otherwise unbelievable historical mystery. I did skim the latest half of the book as I knew every plot-twist in advance, but I also bought another book in the series, so overall a recommendation both for this book and the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Airth has the ability to make not only characters that live and create you care about what will happen to them, but locations them in gloriously described surroundings and atmospheres. Sometimes a book is able to bring the reader into its globe so completely that he feels a loss when it ends. River of Darkness does this and more when you also consider the finely wrought plot, the psychological insights into the minds of the main characters, and the info of the dwellings and doings of different classes of British citizens during and just after the first globe war. I cannot recommend this book too highly. I look forwards to reading the rest of the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    In three suspenseful crime novels set in England between the two wars, South African writer Rennie Airth tells the story of Scotland Yard detective John Madden and his wife, nee Dr. Helen Blackwell. John is a veteran of the Amazing War, unhinged by his experiences in the bloodbath in France and by the deaths of his wife and daughter. Helen comes into his life just in time to support nurse him back to ey meet in the first book, River of Darkness, set in the years following Globe Battle I, when John is assigned to an exceptionally brutal murder case in the countryside that taxes his skills and his already questionable emotional stability to the limit. Through an introduction from Helen, John enlists the support of a noted Viennese psychiatrist who assists him with an early ver of what we now know as psychological profiling. The psychiatric insight eventually puts an end to a gruesome series of serial murders, leading John to the killer.A decade later Germany is in the throes of a Nazi takeover, and England trembles. As we learn at the outset of The Blood-Dimmed Tide, the second book in Airth's trilogy, John Madden is peacefully retired with Helen on a farm far from Scotland Yard. When he chances upon a brutally murdered corpse on a walk through the countryside, his yearning for action comes to life once again. The officer in charge of the investigation, an old mate in a senior post on the force, takes advantage of John's eagerness to become involved again and seeks him out for advice. John circumvents his anxious wife's efforts to hold him out of the investigation and eventually plays a key role in solving the perplexing t in 1944, a dozen years later, John is drawn into another murder case when a young Polish girl who helps out at his farm is mysteriously murdered as The Dead of Winter commences. The police assigned to the case are reluctant to see more than a possibility act of violence, but John uncovers a complex back-story involving an aged German-Jewish neighbor, a French art dealer, Nazi atrocities, and a fortune in stolen nie Airth writes with consummate skill, unfolding his complex plots with ease and painting fully three-dimensional portraits of the characters in these three engaging novels. If you're attracted to ably-written crime stories that bear no resemblance to the formulaic drawing-room who-dunits of years past, you'll have fun these three books. Read them in chronological order, though. The reading experience deepens as you observe the aging protagonists live out their lives.(From Mal Warwick's Blog on Books)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Among the best I've read in a long time, "River of Darkness" is well conceived and equally well written. The characters and plot are successfully drawn and largely plausible. And the time and put of the story are quite attractive.A few problems:There's some occasional contrivance, excess drama, and the story is somewhat drawn out.Dr. Helen Blackwell, while more likeable than not, is that most tiresome of characters -- "a woman ahead of her time". The implication is that what's considered a typical woman of our current era is, by definition, a distinct improvement over a woman of an earlier time. This is "presentism", the groundless and knee-jerk belief that the show is inherently superior to the so, I like that Rennie Airth introduces psychological profiling as a fresh (in 1921) technique in criminal investigations. He doesn't note, however, that profiling is no longer perceived as the be-all and end-all in investigating serial murders. Though still a tool, it's increasingly viewed as a most imperfect and trendy one. It won't have the staying power of, say, fingerprints. And at the time of "River of Darkness", such profiling (if it had existed) would have been wholly Freudian (as Airth recognizes). Well, Freudian theory was wrong then and has been almost completely discarded today. I don't believe that Inspector John Madden would have found it truly helpful in finding the killer. Indeed, it might well have sent him down the wrong ill, this is a most original, imaginative, entertaining, and diverting read. Strongly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Airth is an accomplished writer and has place together a compelling story. My issue with this four hundred plus page book is Detective Madden, the protagonist. He's too much of a cipher. He's a WW I vet suffering from long term PTSD and his life is his detective work. Despite his post battle problems he functions well. The author is psychologically oriented which is enjoyable but I kept waiting to hear more from Madden. He was so taciturn I kind of lost interest in him and focused on Pike, the serial killer. I have fun English mystery writers and don't mind stoic, stiff-upper-lip protagonists but this one was a bit too hidden for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Darkness: The First John Madden Mystery (John Madden Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    This is one of those enjoyable "cozy" British thrillers that you just don't wish to place down. What is better than to be taken to England, and have the tall guy solve a crime? There is some romance on the side, treated discreetly, so I have indicated that there was no sexual content because no graphic info are revealed. It is all left to the imagination. So worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John le Carré Reading Order and Checklist: The guide to the George Smiley books and all standalone novels by John le Carré review [Book]  2018-1-23 18:1

    Best part was a complete list of Le Carre's novels.worst part, The best method to read the Smiley books was notwritten, it was merely a reference to some obscure article inVulture, as if we all were familiar with this source.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brewster Mcgee review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Brewster McGee is a hilarious black comedy, written and directed by Ross Munro who does a amazing job capturing the eccentric low rent mood of the film. With a easy story about Brewster McGee (Brent Neale) a profane loser who sits outside in a Chicken Hut parking lot with his gentle hippie accomplice Malcolm (Reid Edwards) trying to turn his huge plans into reality. Brent Neale who plays Brewster McGee does a amazing job in letting the audience feel a twisted compassion for his unlikeable hero as he takes advantage of pathetic, heartbroken Oliver and thinks up impracticable obtain rich fast schemes. The movie which was shot in 16mm black and white and with such a low budget (50,000 dollars Canadian) this little independent movie did what it could with cash restraints and yet still has more heart and soul than most blockbuster movies. Though it's not perfect, I assure you its worth while to see and entertains the begin eye with its intense dialogue and creative plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Carter review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Totally forgettable and full of stereotypes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I really enjoyed this western story. From beginning to r some reason this author doesn't have anyone proofread his stories so you have to do that. Examples: wrong name, the for they, in for on, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    It was an amazing read. It was quite enjoyable and very action packed. I would highly recommended all of C J Petit's writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    As all his books this one was well written with never a dull moment. From heart breaking to joy handled with gentle understanding . an action packed story of love and hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Well mr. Petit you did it again. What a amazing story this was. I so look forward to all your books. Please hold them coming. Would highly recommend this book to everyone that enjoys a amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoyed all of it has written. It has plenty of gunfights to please those that have fun them but a sweet romance for those that like that as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I really loved this story and especially the very unusual method Slow John dealt with the worst of the worst without firing a shot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I have enjoyed all of c.j. Peter's books. His writing style is amazing and keeps you on edge throughout the book. Hold up the amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    This book. Was. A pleasure. To read the only. Bad. Part. Was that. It ended. I enjoyed. It. A whole. Bunch. Thanks. A lot

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    What a unbelievable book. I don’t usually describe westerns as unbelievable but have to create an exception with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow John review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    CJP has written of a young man who went to war, was reported dead and then returned home alive. He faced numerous obstacles on the method home, but one would affect him more than the others. He was joined by a young woman whose husband died of fright. The two crossed Kansas and each found their parents. They marry and he becomes Sheriff and she a satisfied and soon is pregnant. This is an perfect time piece about Kansas circa 1865-1885 during which time the Civil Battle ends and the railroad and mass migration of people occur. This is an perfect read for the genre.....ER

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I don't know how to describe this book. I am an avid reader but have not read a lot of history because I never seemed to finish the books. I couldn't stop reading this one. Have you ever been so engaged that you walk and read and the same time? That you carry the book with you everywhere you go in the hopes you will have a spare min to crack it begin and absorb a few pages? Well this book did that for me. I did not think I would search John Adams compelling but the book won a Pulitzer and I had heard the hype so I thought "why not?". This book is very well written. It covers the scope of John Adams' life in it's entirety - with honesty and sensitivity. I was inspired by the genius cluster that founded our nation, the danger and uncertainty they went through with complete fortitude. This book is so relevant today because it helps us understand the thought and consideration Adams and other men went through when considering the construction of our government and their understanding of human nature that provided them the insight to make laws that to this day afford us the freedoms we enjoy. The subjects of women's rights, slavery, military strength, the economy, immigration are all touched on as they had the forethought to understand what was coming. I want there were more people serving in public office today like those original founders and especially John Adams.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    David McCullough has brought history to life for me like no one and nothing else ever has. The first book of his I picked up was 1776 and I was hooked by the second paragraph. It was the beginning of a very unbelievable love affair. McCullough's commitment to research enables him to make a broad and in depth picture of his characters and their environment. I fell in love with George Washington and learned so much about him I'd not known. I flew with the Wright Brothers, lived with Harry and Bess Truman, painted with the Masters in The Greater Journey and helped build the Panama Canal! I'd like to have had John Adams as a father! We need men with his integrity, calm, intelligence and common sense today! In this day of political turmoil this book prepared me to understand how we got here and where we may be headed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    David McCullough is an perfect author and I'm so satisfied that I took the time to read this particular book on John Adams. Drawing upon diary entries, letters, logs, etc that Adams was kind and careful to preserve for us, gave McCullough all the material that he required to weave together the life and happenings of John Adams. What an wonderful journey that the reader is taken on. A lot of times I felt that I was right there watching it all happen. This book is that good! What an extraordinary man John Adams was which he would definitely disagree with me on. But he was an extraordinary man, surrounded by extraordinary men living in extraordinary times!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I just finished this amazing book while watching for the second time the marvelous HBO miniseries that is based on this book. One of its themes is the remarkable friendship between Adams and Jefferson while serving as American representatives in France, followed later by political rivalry in which Jefferson ousted Adams from the presidency, followed years later by a amazing deal of friendly correspondence between the old mates and former presidents in their declining years. The extravagance of Jefferson and the slavery based system that supported Jefferson and others of the Virginia aristocracy is contrasted with the frugality and physical farm labor of Adams. Both were among the best educated, most cultured and well traveled Americans of their day and both champions of liberty. Adams was much more than the pious Puritan as he is sometimes portrayed. At the end, Adams left his family with a quite sizable estate while Jefferson left a amazing legacy but mountains of debt. Adams had a amazing marriage to Abigail and their surviving letters illuminate perhaps the greatest love story in American history. This is the second McCullough presidential biography I have read. The first was Harry Truman which was also great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    John Adam's story is one that so needs to be known. At first the author was going to write a dual-biography on both Adams and Thomas Jefferson. But as he got into the research, he found Adams to be far more compelling a hero and McCullough manages to bring John Adams' complexity and vibrancy alive in these pages. Adams was a remarkable individual and the United States of America would not be what we know it to be today without Adams' enormous contributions. His life, and that of his wife's, Abigail, was one of large sacrifice not only for those days and turbulent times, but he also spoke often about those of us to come after his generation. It is a story of remarkable perseverance, courage, and strength. It is also a heart touching love story, as brought alive through the a lot of glimpses of correspondence between John and Abigail. They weathered a lot of a storm together that would likely threaten a lot of a marriage with such testing. I have not been able to lay this book down once I got going on it. There is so much that we are no longer taught about our history, relegating such remarkable individuals as John Adams into nothing more than marble statues. If we wish to understand who we are as a country, we must obtain to know and understand our history and those who came before us to forge this wonderful country that we are so privileged to live in. Do yourself a favor and obtain this book. It is full of revelations that will create you think long and hard about how very fortunate we are to be living in America.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    This is an extensive, scholarly book on the life and work of John Adams. Fortunately, it is also an enjoyable and informative work. I came to greatly appreciate the life and work of John Adams much more after reading this book. If you have watched the HBO miniseries on John Adams this is a must read, mostly because it gives you the actual facts of his life without the dramatic spin, which, in some cases, there are necessary differences.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    GREAT book! You'll learn more about the American revolution than you can imagine. Portrays well how much his faith influenced his actions and decisions as a revolutionist and later as president. It also gives amazing insight into the life of the venerable Abigail Adams and the on, off, and finally on until death friendship with Thomas ams is likely the one of the two or three most influential, and likely the most underappreciated of our founding fathers. He sacrificed his own political successes to do the right thing for the country and probably secured our successful future as a nation. Had we ended up at battle with France in the late 17/early 1800s, it would have most certainly been disastrous for a young, fragile nation. Definitely not a excellent man, but praise God for John Adams and the freedom we have fun because of his selfless sacrifices. I highly recommend checking it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    The difficulty in reviewing a book like David McCullough's "John Adams" is that you know that whatever you write, it will not do the book justice. So, with that said, I will affirm that this is one of the best books I have ever read, much less one of the best biographies. It has been said that McCullough "rescued" Adams from relative obscurity, and I must agree. Having read this most necessary story, it is awesome to me that there is no monument on the National Mall in honor of John Adams. There are numerous points in his career where it may be said that if not for John Adams, the United States of America would not exist. His importance in our history cannot be overstated. I am glad that Tom Hanks took it upon himself to produce an award-winning miniseries based on this book, so that a lot of more Americans who will not undertake its reading, may still benefit from the story of its hero. Allow me just state a couple of brief takeaways: 1) Two of the most long-lasting and defining attributes of America are its form of government (bicameral legislature, powerful executive, and independent judiciary), and the peaceful transfer of power; and 2) that there is nothing fresh under the sun. If you think that the extremes of speech or action undertaken in our times regarding elections, manipulation, the press, or the extreme passions on every part of the political spectrum are new, then you need to read more history. Compared to what has gone before us in this amazing nation, I am more convinced than ever, that we will be just fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    After reading this well-written, amazingly researched and thoughtful book, one appreciate how lucky we, the people, were to have a men like John Adams as a Founding Father. He is a man of deep integrity, intelligence and patriotism, a man of the land who cherished his farm and an intellectual who built up an impressive library. He was proud to be a fresh citizen of a fresh country, certain of its future, unwavering in his service and commitment. I deduct one star because McCullough gushes on and on about how Adams was this amazing, unbelievable man -- instead of letting the history speak for itself. And what a colourful history it is, and Adams was so much a part of it. None of the other Founding Fathers left anywhere near the archive of correspondence Adams did, and I imagine just sifting through it must have been daunting. Some readers might be drawn to the political infighting between Jefferson and Adams, between Federalists and Republicans, etc. Others may be more interested in the special and remarkable correspondence between John and Abigail, a woman to be admired in every way. Then there are those who may focus more on the emergence of the United States, from 13 disparate colonies to something approaching the United States. There is also much here about our early foreign affairs struggles and challenges. McCullough covers it all, and if there are aspects you search less compelling, just skip ahead a few pages to the more interesting parts. But it's all there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Adams review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I love this book, truly a amazing biography of John Adams. McCullough brings the characters and times to life and you feel a if you are right there and know them personally. Everyone is aware Adams was the second president and had a major role in the bringing about of the Revolutionary War, but we obtain so much deeper into his private life, his family, their stories, and what created the man so great. This is the second copy of this book I've bought, the first I wore out as I like to read it quite a bit. As with all of McCullough's books, its a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    I hate it, let's go back to Parent Portal. PP was much more user friendly!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    I can't search anything I need

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Would honestly love the return of the original parent portal

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    It's awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Okay It's amazing for updates and stuff, and grade updates. But when I go to the app, I can't see my grades after the modernize you all did. Pop less if I can't see my grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    The Parent Portal is horrible!!! I can never log into it. Latest year all I had to do is click on my daughters name to obtain her grades. This year that is not an option. I hate this app!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Higher Education My daughter has been with the Willis ISD since the beginning of her school days. We love Cannan Elementary. Go Wildcats!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Grades Shows the grades on your assignments but not your average in that class. How am I suppose to know if I am passing? This application is pointless if I can't see my average. Yall have had enough time to fix it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Modernize must have killed grades Don't see the current grade on the assignment page like we did latest semester. Can you bring that back please.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Not created well No thought in this design at all no description to anything

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    They don'tupdate it It's been an hour and they don't modernize the power

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    poor modernize don't like the fresh modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Not bad, but it's school. So it suks :/

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Love my grades

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Willis ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 21:8

    Grades It should present your children's grades and link up to the parent portal. Also would be nice if it would present cafeteria balances also. It just shows generic information that I know off hand. Nothing special. Unless you obtain a grade alert.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter