MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists Reviews & Opinions

Submit MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I am so pleased that the “missing” volumes in the Hillary Green series are being released. It was so frustrating to have four of the middle novels unavailable. This murder case is gripping and demonstrates Green’s mastery of procedure, plus an ounch of intuition. The final ending was expected since faithful readers of the last books in the series knew what was coming either in this novel or the next, but it was still a shock. I can’t wait for the next novel to be released.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I really love the Hillary Greene novels and this one was no exception. The killer is seldom the one that you suspect and the side plots keep you involved. Just when you think you know who did it you find out you don't. The characters are easy to engage with. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Once again the author has written a great book. The tension builds slowly and the twists really pull you into the story. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a really good mystery.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Faith Martin is a great mystery writer! And this series is my current favorite of this type. Only Colin Dexter and his Inspector Morse books top her....and not by much. Both authors take me back to Oxford in the first few pages and keep me there until each book ends. Now, I'll wait impatiently for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Another great story which I read in one sitting. I can't wait for the next book,the author Faith Martin writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Book 8 in series aka Down a Narrow Path. Grateful this book just became available on Kindle!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    5 starsI read the Kindle edition.A sniper with a grudge against the police is on the loose and slowly making his way towards the Thames Valley Constabulary near the Oxford area. The police officers there are on edge.DI Hillary Greene receives a note from her superior, Paul Danvers, about a murder. Responding to the call with DC Keith Barrington and the rest of her team, they find the murder occurred in the nicest house in the village. The victim is a Mrs. Mathilda “Mattie” Jones. She was stabbed multiple times. Upon interviewing the neighbors, they lean that Mattie was the type to make enemies and many of the neighbors could be counted amongst them. Keith finds several poison pen letters in Mattie’s jewelry e letters are traced to Mattie’s sister, Fiona Cartwright. She is a hateful individual who is abusive to the police. Then a witness come into the police station and tells Hillary that she saw a car parked in front of Mattie’s house at the time of the murder. There was a blond woman sitting in the car. It turns out to belong to Rachel, Mattie’s soon-to-be ex-husband’s secretary and bit on the side.DS Gemma Fordham is still sneaking around with her own agenda for being with Hillary’s team. But Hillary is on to her and Gemma begins to suspect that she might be. Is she being paranoid? DS Frank Ross is still being sloppy and relatively lazy and ter interviewing Mattie’s boyfriend, Hillary gets an idea. Now all she had to do was prove it. The identity of the killer comes as little surprise, but the fun is in getting there.And the book ends on a very sad is book is very well written and plotted as are all of Faith Martin’s novels. I truly enjoyed it. The story starts out with a bang with Mattie’s murder, and the suspense continues throughout the book. The team gets along well with Hillary at the helm. There are moments of irritability showing through when Frank acts up or with Gemma’s “undercover” activities. Ms. Martin keeps getting better and better. Very well done and keep writing!!I want to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this great book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Many thanks to the author / Joffe Books / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy. I look forward for the next book in this crime fiction series. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my EASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DOWN A NARROW PATH.”A fatal stabbing of a wealthy almost-divorcee leads DI Hilary Greene and her team into investigating her somewhat convuted life. The woman, Mattie Jones, was almost divorced, had a boyfriend, was arrogant, and downright mean at times. Not surprising that when talking to neighbors, no one liked her very much.Heading up the list of suspects is her husband, who also has a much younger girlfriend, and a large insurance policy on his wife's life. But he's not the only suspect, and Greene and her colleagues have their hands full seeking out the ere is also a sniper loose ... and he's targeting police officers ... mostly on their own turf. Who's next ... and will it be one of Greene's team?This series has become a favorite. Green is such a solid character ... yes, she has her quirks, but she never seems to lose her humor, and she has such a way of reading people. She has a boyfriend, of sorts, but she really doesn't want to share her space with anyone. The rest of her team lend an air of credibility to the though this is 8th in the series, I highly recommend starting at the beginning ... go for a reading marathon! Each book is well-written with twists and turns .... usually with an ending that you never see coming.4.5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Book DescriptionMeet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch ttie Jones is found brutally stabbed to death in her palatial home. Hillary Greene is called in to investigate the murder of this wealthy woman. Who wanted her dead and why?Hillary discovers that Mattie’s snobby attitude had made her many enemies. Mattie was also going through a messy divorce and had a secret anwhile, in a terrifying turn of events, police officers are being gunned down outside their stations. A sniper is on the loose. Who will come under attack next?Can Hillary cope with the enemies within, a complex case, and the whole force under attack?My ThoughtsMurder in the Mansion was my introduction to DI Hillary Green and author Faith Martin. There are two main plots as well as several minor ones that unfold over the course of the book. Who killed Mattie Jones and why is a sniper killing seemingly random police officers?My favorite mysteries are well-crafted stories with many layers and enough suspects to keep me guessing “ who done it” until the end. Faith Martin did not disappoint as the characters had enough backstory to ensure I understood why they acted the way they did individually and as a team( DI Green's team). There were quite a few twists and turns and while I did figure out certain aspects of the story, the ending took me by surprise. This was an enjoyable read and when I finished, I wanted to read more books in the series, which is always a good thing to ank you, Faith Martin, Joffe Books and NetGalley for the digital copy to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE MANSION a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    The force is under attack by an unknown sniper, officers have died. Hillary and her team along with the rest of the force are nervous.A woman has been been brutally stabbed to death in the hallway of her home. Hilary starts the investigation e woman, Matilda Jones,is in the processs of divorcing her husband Barry and at first he becomes the prime ever when the investigations throw up evidence of sibling jealousy and secrets from Matilda`s past the pool of suspects is is a well plotted murder mystery and I think one of the best in the DI Hillary Greene ere are twists and turns aplenty and just when the officers think they are safe following the snipers capture another would be killer has an officer in his sights.I can`t wait to read the next book in this series after the shocking end to this anks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.I would definitely recommend it, you won`t be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This is book 4 in the Hillary Greene series. The books will work very well as stand alone but a better reading experience will be accomplished by reading them in sequence.Hillary is a dedicated DI and is still dealing with the fallout from a bad marriage to a bent copper who died leaving Hillary with his mess to clear up. She is living on a Narrow Boat on the Oxford Canal while working her way through the fall out from Ronnie's death. She survived investigation by the IPC and is fighting off a court action resulting from her Ex-husband's illegal e is well thought of within the department and leads her team with compassion and guidance. Janine is not impressed with having Hillary as her 'boss' and her relationship with Mel causes problems for everyone. Despite this Hillary still has her is story is very intriguing and moves along pretty quickly with many twists and turns and unexpected events popping up to keep you turning the pages.I love how this series is progressing. The books have a little humour interwoven in the story and very unique characters that make up Hillary's diverse team. Well written, gripping and a little light humour thrown in what more could a reader ask for? Well worth the 5 stars and looking forward to book 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    The body of a man is found in his kitchen under suspicious circumstances. Meanwhile rumour has it that one of the local thieves has got his hands on more than his usual set of tools of the trade. Somehow there is a mole in the camp so things have to be kept underwraps. DI Greene is a very likeable character that you take to easily. Her team are a mixed bunch from Janine who is having a relationship with the Hillary superior to Frank who can’t really be relied on but has a good set of “nouses” to keep him informed. When a stakeout takes place, Hillary gets slightly more than she bargained for. This is one of a series by Faith Martin, each one being a very enjoyable read. They could stand alone but why miss out on other excellent reads? They have a solid plot line, believable characters and a little humour along with enough background to keep the reader interested without overdoing things. I love “puff the tragic wagon”- very clever! A very enjoyable easy read.I voluntarily chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This is the fourth book in the DI Hillary Greene series, it could be read as a standalone though I`d definately recommend reading them in order as then you can keep up with the personal stories of Hillary and her team which run in the this offering we have the investigation into the murder of the local political candidate, which throws up plenty of suspects and the killing of a local drug dealer, Lee Fletcher, who in the past has always managed to evade prosecution.Lee was the subject of a police raid involving Hilary`s Superintendant Raleigh, a man she has had a bad feeling about since his arrival. As it turns out rightly seems whatever could go wrong on the raid did and in the process Hillary is shot. Whilst on sick leave she determines to discover the truth about Superintendant is is a well thought out plot and moves along at a fast pace, holding the readers interest and is a great addition to what is fast becoming one of my favourite series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    5 starsDI Hillary Greene gets a case involving a minor politician who has been murdered. The man’s name is Malcolm Dale and he was battered to death with a blunt object. He lived in an affluent section of Oxfordshire. The body was discovered by his secretary. His wife is not at home at the time of the the same time, her new boss’ boss Superintendent Jerome Raleigh has his sights set on capturing one of Oxfordshire’s major crime bosses, Fletcher. He will go to almost any lengths to catch him. When his raid on Fletcher’s place goes sideways, he scrambles to make it look right.Hillary and her team interview possible witnesses, friends, acquaintances and relatives of Malcolm Dale. They learn that Mrs. Dale’s alibi does not hold water. They also interview the victim’s political rival George McNamara. He seems a good suspect. The assiduously follow the clues and work the case very e identity of the murderer comes as a real surprise, but not near as surprising as the killer’s is remarkable novel is both well written and plotted. It has just the right amount of action. I like DI Hillary Greene very much and I appreciate the way she gets along with her team. Her relationship with her boss, DCI Mel Mellow is solid and professional. Hillary has both compassion and empathy, not only for the victims, but also for her team members. She suffers DS Frank Ross with good humor and works well with team member Janine, even though Janine’s relationship with Mel is ill-advised at best. I like the way Ms. Martin injects little bots of humor here and there: “Puff the Tragic Wagon” is her nickname for her older VW Golf. Faith Martin is a brilliant writer and I can hardly wait for the next novel in the series to come out.I want to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this great book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    DI Hillary Greene is called out to a murder of a local candidate for office. Hard to see who could be responsible. Her team is working every angle but coming up with nothing. In the mean time Hillary is called out to a raid on a drug dealer. Those armed are to go in first and then when clear the unarmed go. The team leader has decided to go before the coast is clear. Out comes an armed suspect and Hillary is shot in the hip. The more she thinks about it as she is recovering the more she wonders why they went so soon. With time on her hands she starts to investigate. Can Hillary solve this point that keeps bothering her and solve the murder as well? Interesting how she is able to do her elimination.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    *Thanks to Jill Burkinshaw for the free copy in exchange for an honest review*In this book, Hillary's main case is a would-be politician, who is found battered to death on his kitchen floor. No-one has a straight forward alibi, but no-one seems to have a serious motive for murder. Just as she starts making headway, another case that she's involved with has a fatal development, and everything grinds to a n Hillary solve two cases at once?This is the fourth in the DI Hillary Greene series, but can still be read as a standalone, however this is the first one where I've felt I'd feel I'd missed something if it was my starting point. I would say that you'd possibly be better at least reading book 3 to get a better grip on the storyline.I felt a little let down by the storyline on this one. I still enjoyed it, but it felt a bit rushed, and I didn't enjoy the cases as much. It was good to see a bit more of the other characters but I was left wanting more Hillary ended on a good cliff hanger, and I'm intrigued where the next story will go!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. The story weaves together two separate cases, during one of which DI Hillary Greene is shot. Although this can be read independently as a stand-alone, it is enhanced by the development of Hillary's character in previous books--her honesty and perseverence and her ability to think clearly under stress. Some loose ends from previous books are also resolved in an unexpected way. Perhaps because of the way it builds on the previous books as well as the solid presentation of the current cases, I find this to be one of the best in the series thus far. The gentle progression throughout the series has added to the enjoyment of each book, and I look forward to what will happen next.I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Interesting and enjoyable story. Hillary Greene is a fascinating character. She is portrayed as very human, a quick mind, dogged and with a real sense of humor. She is honest to a fault although she is severely tempted by a cache of money from her deceased ex that she knows about. In this book Hillary solves two murders, the one a political candidate beaten to death in his own kitchen and a drug dealer who had consistently managed to escape the clutches of the law until a new deal is raided and he is shot to death by someone unknown. Hillary takes on her own supervisor in this story and brings boh cases to a successful conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE by Faith Martin. Joffee Publishers.DI Hillary at forty four , was she to scared of boredom, and loneliness to retire from being a cop. Another murder, 2 women with alibis full of holes. Raleigh could have figured out she was digging up information. He had something of hers she valued. Would the money be there, at least she still had a job, for now. Readers will enjoy this fourth book by her. Good mystery from the beginning. Given ARC. for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MURDER IN THE VILLAGE a gripping crime mystery full of twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book, this is certainly a series I am thoroughly enjoying and was delighted to find out that hot on the heels of this book, the next one is due out very soon!The plot was great in this book as normal and I loved the character development in this book and Hillary is an excellent character with a lot of baggage!The book has plenty of twists and turns, a great pace for the plot and it is a gripping story - 5stars from me for this one and looking forward to book 5!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    In this the second book featuring Ruby Baker and her friends, the story of their lives in 60`s Brighton ry and her baby Summer are still sharing the flat above Johnny`s hair salon with though life isn`t easy caring for Mary`s baby with the sleepless nights and busy days in the salon Ruby still finds time for an occassional night turning home after an evening out they discover a young girl alone at the edge of the waves crying out for someone to "Come back"They rescue her from the beach but after the authorities take over she is placed in the local childrens home as no one comes forward to claim her and the child refuses to ortly after this a woman, Beverly, who served 10 years in prison following the disappearance of her daughter Ella is e courts and the community were and still are convinced she killed the child.Ella`s body was never found and Beverly has always claimed she was innocent of any verly asks Ruby to investigate and try to find Ella, and so another case begins for Rubys Investigation Bureau.With the help of her friends Ruby sets to work to discover what really happened to Ella, is she alive, was Beverley framed, who is the child found on the beach?This is a really enjoyable read with likeable characters and a well thought out storyline. The atmosphere of 60`s Brighton is captured so well.I`m looking forward to the next outing of the Ruby Baker Investigation ank you to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    .Some friends returning home after a night out find a young girl on the beach shouting at at the waves “Come back” but there is no-one that they can see. They rescue her as she is in danger of being swept away however she won’t say another word. Ruby works in a hairdressers with her best friend Mary whom she also shares a bedsit with along with Mary’s baby. A woman comes in who has been in prison for 10 years. Her daughter disappeared and although a body was never found, bloodstained clothing was and she was charged accordingly. Now she wants Ruby to try and find her daughter and who set her up. Set in the 1960’s this brings a refreshing change to the world of mobiles and internet access. When phone boxes were used and if you wanted to know anything then it was either a friend of a friend or the library. A network of friends and acquaintances prove invaluable to Ruby’s investigation bureau. A well written book to take you back if you are a certain age- or to maybe enlighten you if you are not! We did manage without today’s technology and maybe even communicated on a more personal level. A different time. A very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU by Daisy White. Joffe. Jan 30Coming home from a party, they see a young girl at the shoreline screaming, “come back” the waves are hugh, was she reams still come, but no words, three days and no one else. Beverly asks Ruby to find Ella,she was framed and spent 10 years.Another child is lost, were there more. A haunting tale of children taken for his own pleasure. Given to blackmail, and greed, so that no one would denied him. Riveting story of children, and would the end, be the end, and could Ruby find Ella given ARC for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Well written story about a mother's search for her daughter after she is released from prison after being convicted of a crime she did not commit, that of abusing her daughter. Returning to the community where public opinion falsely convicted her, Beverly seeks the assistance of Ruby Baker in locating her daughter. As one girl is found and then another, Ruby uncovers a now defunct trafficking ring that had police protection. Just when it seems as though things are winding down, there is one more twist, endangering the lives of Ruby, her friends and the victims of the ring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Another gritty, gripping read which was even better than the first. Set in a different time and one I know well, I really enjoyed being taken back to that era. Looking forward to book three.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    This is a story about a child found alone on the beach in a storm, a mother who served ten years in prison for a crime she didn't commit and of course Ruby Baker our heroine. Beverly Collins has been released from prison, she wants Ruby to prove that she didn't hurt her little girl. There was no body found and for all they know she could be out there somewhere. This is a very good mystery with some surprises I did not see coming at all. I received a copy of this book from Joffe Books. I have voluntarily reviewed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Before I found you by daisy white.A child found alone on the beach. A mother who served ten years for a crime she says she didn’t commit. Ruby Baker is back with another seaside mystery. When she and her friends rescue a child from the beach in a storm, police are baffled. Nobody has reported a child missing, and the girl appears to be so traumatised that she is unable to a fantastic read. Couldn't put it down. Wanted to know who it commended. 5*.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Having read and enjoyed the previous book, Before I Left, I was looking forward to reading more about Ruby and her friends. I was not disappointed. The characters are wonderful! This has a terrific plot, although disturbing at times. Very evocative of an era I remember well. Looking forward reading more about the Ruby Baker Investigation Bureau in the future – I hope!Many thanks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEFORE I FOUND YOU a gripping mystery full of killer twists [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    This is the second book by Daisy White, where the main character i Ruby Baker is back in another thrilling mystery set in the 60's in Brighton. This was actually better than the first book, looking forward to the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This is the third book in the Jackman and Evans series. In this book a new character joins them in the shape of ter Maclean, The sole survivor of a plane crash in which his four best friends perished. He is haunted by their appearances to him and finds a coping mechanism by completing a task for each of them until they finally ongside this are two other investigations for D.I.Jackman and D.S.Evans and the team to solve. The investigation into the disappearance of the wife of one of D.S. Macleans dead friends and the stalking and kidnap of Superintendant Ruth Crookes neice is is another great procedural from Joy Ellis!It could be read as a standalone though I would definately recommend reading the series in order as the characters develop throughout and add so much to the enjoyment of the series. This third book is full of twists and turns, characters that you can relate too and held my interest right up until the final and rather sad ending to the story of clean.I read this book over two days and cant wait for the next in the series as they just keep getting better and anks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an arc. A definate 5* from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I liked the twists and changes in the story. It wasn't predictable. I was in suspense up to the end. I appreciated the absence of explanations of sexual encounters. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Oh My Gosh..... SURPRISE !! This one won't let you put it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    A page turner all the way until the very end when a few incidents seemed a title far fetched but still a great whodunit!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I enjoyed this book kept my attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    great book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I choose boring books to read at bedtime. They let me sleep well. This was poorly written and terribly predictable. I am pleased that only paid $.99 for it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    A fast read with very little fluff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    THE FOURTH FRIEND a gripping crime thriller full of stunning twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Another compelling mystery by Joy Ellis. Surprises to the end. I thought I had guessed the ending, but not quite!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Great to find a author whose work is such a pleasure to read. Davison's beautifully written cozy murder mystery perfectly captures the year of 1900 aboard a great liner, the snobbery, the class distinctions, the intrigues, woven in with a murder mystery and viewed through a humble governess's perspective . I love all the well-drawn characters: practical Englishwoman, Fora McGuire, while protecting her young charge from the lurking danger, cuts through all the posturing of a spoiled self-absorbed group of people to find the murderer. She and love interest, Bunny Harrington are charming and promise more romance and sleuthing together. I look forward to reading the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Since mysteries are one of my favorite genres I was excited at the opportunity to read a book by an author whose work is new to me. That’s why I selected this historical fiction by Anita Davison, Flora’s Secret.Flora’s Secret is the story about a young governess, Flora Maguire, who is accompanying her charge Eddy Vaughn as they journey home to England on the maiden voyage of the Minneapolis. Any hope for smooth sailing is quickly abandoned when Flora finds a dead body at the bottom of stairway. Is it an accident or murder? Spunky Miss Maguire is not one to be easily deterred and will do whatever she can to get to the bottom of this man’s untimely death. Thrown into the mix is a shipboard romance with a fine gentleman Mr. Bunny Harrington.I really enjoyed this book. The main characters well developed, interesting and very likable. The author did a great job in describing people and scenes. She gave enough details for the reader to imagine the scenes, but not too much. The characters, Flora and Bunny, where very likable; people I would want to know. I’m hopeful their story will continue in another book. Other characters were intriguing and it was fun to try and figure out who the good guys were and the bad guys were.While this book is not from a Christian writer and publisher, I appreciated the fact that the story was told and developed without profanity and sexually explicit scenes. It’s clean historical fiction, a mystery with a bit of romance, that focused on developing characters and the storyline. This was the first book I’ve read by Anita Davison and I look forward to reading more of her books.I would like to thank NetGalley and Aria Publishers for the opportunity to read Flora’s Secret by Anita Davison. I was under no obligation to give a favorable review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    I really enjoyed reading about the romantic relationship that developed between Flora Maguire and Bunny Harrington when they travelled from New York to England on the Minneapolis’ maiden voyage.Flora is employed as 13 year-old Edward, Viscount Trent’s governess on what she anticipates will be an uneventful om the moment Flora first meets Bunny, who is exporting a Panhard-Levassar Laundaulet to England, where he plans to manufacture more of the vehicle, she likes him. On the following morning she wakes up early. “What sat clearly in her mind was the charming young man, with the uninhibited laugh she had met on deck, whose vivid blue eyes had a disarming way of regarding her as though he recognised her from another place and time, although she was quite sure she had not met him before.”While her her charge is asleep, Flora goes for a walk around the deck and discovers a corpse. Almost immediately, she suspects murder. From then on Davison skilfully weaves romance and crime until I couldn’t put the book down because I wanted to know who the murderer was, and whether Bunny and Flora would or would not part forever after they landed.I appreciate Davison’s recreation of the ocean liner, one example of which is her evocative description of the first class dining room. “…panelled in light oak and with a stained glass ceiling that rose through the two stories in a blaze of jewel-tinted light flooded the scene below… while wide windows gazed onto the glistening ocean on one side, and tall gilt mirrors made the room appear twice its size.” After reading this I imagined the well-dressed passengers seated at the same table as Flora and Bunny.Davison also brings to life a large cast of characters with her deft descriptions.I enjoyed this romantic ‘who done it’ and liked Flora and Bunny so much that I look forward to reading the next novel in the series, Betrayal at Cleeve Abbey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Another historical mystery series to fall in love with? Yes, please!!!Flora Maguire is a passenger on the maiden voyage of the ship S. S. Minneapolis. She's governess to thirteen year old Eddy and the two are returning to England after a short stay in New York with his family. It's early in 1900 (thanks to Google I now know the maiden voyage began on March 29, 1900) and the world is rapidly changing. Class lines are beginning to blur. Automobiles are becoming more than just a passing fad. The Strand Magazine is immensely popular and publishing stories by Arthur Conan Doyle on a regular basis -- of which Flora is a huge ortly after the voyage begins, Flora comes across the body of another passenger -- dead at the bottom of a stairwell. Although the crew all insist that it was an accident, Flora isn't at all convinced and soon has other passengers (including the slightly nerdy and adorable 'Bunny' Harrington) questioning what really 's a fabulously well-told story with just the right amount of historical information without feeling text-booky and just the right amount of romance without making me want to hurl. As for the mystery aspect, it felt a bit "Golden Age" in its writing. Of course, since so many of my favorites fit into that original genre, I absolutely love this and look forward to reading more. (Luckily, when I found this on NetGalley I was also able to request the second in the series! Win!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    I'm a long-time fan of this author and truly enjoyed her foray into the cozy mystery world. Her main characters are Flora Maguire, a governess feeling out of place in first class on an ocean liner, and 'Bunny' Harrington, a gentleman. This book does not need heavy-handed, open-door bedroom scenes to show the reader their mutual attraction; little gestures and flirtatious dialogue does the job very well.But not only Flora's and Bunny's characters are wonderfully developed. All the people they come in contact with, especially their dinner table companions, are very complex. Everybody has something to hide, and nobody is who they pretend to ry enjoyable read, and the first part of a series which is very promising.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    This is an historical mystery. The time frame is left open, but hinted at through small touches in the story. The horseless carriage is now an accepted innovation; William McKinley is campaigning for re-election as President of the United States and WWI has not yet broken out in Europe. The S.S. Minneapolis is a first-class only “Minnies” steamer traveling between America and England.Miss Flora Maguire is accompanying her charge, Edward, Viscount Trent, back to England after the wedding of “Eddie’s” sister in America. Eddie is a typical thirteen year old boy, whose family is one of the English aristocracy. He is of an age to begin boarding school and this leaves Miss Maguire, his governess, somewhat at loose e first person they encounter on board ship is “Bunny” Harrington, a somewhat non-typical English gentleman. He is obsessed with designing and building a horseless carriage for mass production in England. There is an immediate, but subtle attraction between the e fun begins when Flora finds a passenger dead at the bottom of an outside stairwell. She is convinced the man was murdered, but everyone else is just as sure it was an accident. Bunny is intrigued and becomes a staunch supporter of Flora and her is is a well done modern version of the English mysteries of that era. The characters are well defined and the pace is steady. If you think the ending is a shock, then you will have missed the subtle clues all through the narrative. This is a very entertaining read, well worth your time. 5 StarsReview copy received from author in exchange for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    This is an exciting mew voice in the historic cozy mystery genre. As a longitmemystery and cozy reader, I found that this book was compelling, well paced, and I really like tge character of Flora, a plucky governess who will not leave well enough alone.Typical plot devices of patronizing women's ideas and thoughts, and playing peek-a-boo with characters who are central to the plot are there but are not distracting. Many of the characters we've seen before in similar , the grumpy woman with a mousey companion, the honeymooners, the cad, and the actress. What's unique is that they way they interact and contribute to the murders solution. My mind changed many times over with twists and turns of whodunit as I read the book. and that's what made this book so good. Complex, with a budding romance, served up in a enjoyable read. I've already started the second book, it was that good.I received this book from Net Galley in return for an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    As a long time admirer of author Anita Davison, I was happy to read Murder on the Minneapolis, an historical cozy mystery. Flora Maguire is a young governess charged with escorting her employer's young son, Edwqard, back home to England via the oceanliner, The Minneapolis. It is the ship's maiden voyage and most of the passengers are wealthy, except for Flora. Once on board, she meets Bunny Harrington, a well-to-do young businessman who deals with automobiles. When Flora discovers the body of a man at the foot of the companionway, she is embroiled in the mystery and is determined to find out what is story had a bit of everything - atmosphere, mystery, romance, and suspense. I was kept guessing until the end as to the murderer and their motivation. Set on an oceanliner afloat in the international waters between North America and England, I found the story unique and intriguing. There were plenty of fascinating charaters that kept me interested throughout - a matronly ascerbic socialite, a steely doctor, and a headstrong captain, to name a few. All scenes were vividly described. The succinct writing made for a fast pace with plenty of conflict and mystery. From start to finish, I was thoroughly absorbed in the story. This is definitely a 5 star cozy mystery! Highly recommended. Thank you to the author and publisher. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    One way to create tension is to force your characters into a tight little space and let them fight it out. Davison, forces her characters to do exactly this in the first installment of her Flora Maguire is historical who-done-it had me turning pages until the end to where the murderer is revealed. Davison doesn't make it easy. She fills the story with enough red herrings to keep the reader guessing until the end.Looking forward to reading the next installment in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on the Minneapolis: A murder mystery that will keep you guessing (A Flora Maguire Mystery) [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    I really enjoyed this cosy mystery set in the Edwardian era of steamships and genteel one-up-manship. Flora Macguire is accompanying her young upper class charge on the steamship Minneapolis, when she discovers a body. The explanation that Mr Parnell fell from the deck stairs does not sit well with Flora, who has other ideas. With the help of Bunny Harrington, a motoring nerd with whom she enjoys a burgeoning romantic attachment, she tries to discover what really went on, and if there was a murder, 'who dunnit.' The steamship is peopled with various ghastly characters, a grasping actress, a wealthy dowager, and a young man who seems rather too interested in Flora --- they all have possible motives, and of course the killer is at large and a constant threat. I can't give much more away without ruining the plot, but I hope to have more from Flora and Bunny, and look forward to seeing their relationship develop in future sleuthing, and future books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Gripping story, well thought out, and a great read. Mr. Adams either did his homework, or has a background in law enforcement. He knew what a "fatal funnel" was, and was well versed on the firearms mentioned. This book was almost impossible to put down, from the time Darby first looks in to the van, until the end. I like to read at night to help sleep, but this book did not help me sleep. Every time I would put it down, I found myself getting back up to find out what happened next. As soon as I finished it, I got another book of Mr. Taylor's, Eye Shot, and so far, it is not allowing me to sleep either, but the loss of sleep is well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I totally loved this book and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a great read!! I literally could't put it down and I stayed up quite late to [email protected]#$%! in one sitting - there wasn't one dull moment. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and the author never gives away the twists and turns that surprisingly popped up. Just when you think you've got it figured out - Wham!!! Loved the ending!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I read this book while traveling and even during the middle of the day in North Carolina during September, I was leery of stopping at a rest stop. If you have panic attacks, read with caution. This book is that scary!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    The story started out kind of slow but it gets better. Poor Darby steps into a bunch of rattlesnakes when she gets involved in this kidnapping. Keeps you on your toes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Definitely full of twists and turns as promised!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Pretty good. Kept me thinking. Many twists

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This book was a page turning thriller for sure! I had to force myself to stop reading to go sleep! If you're looking for a thrilling quick read maybe for an airplane trip, this is your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I could not put this book down. Absolutely loved the unexpected twists and turns. Great author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Terrific book. Best I have read in a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NO EXIT a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Taylor Adams knows how to keep readers glued to the book from the first page to the last. You are taken on a heart stopping ride that has Unpredictable twists and turns. I was so moved by the ending I actually cried!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    At the beginning of the book, Detective Matt Ballard is sent a photo via one of his team, PC Gemma Goddard. It is the picture of an unsolved murder scene of an 11 year old boy from 25 years earlier, taken prior to the murder. It was a case that Matt was involved with early on in his career, and he is the last man still working for the s later, another 11 year old boy goes missing. Then more photos start to arrive, including pictures of Matt's private the killer back? Or is it a copycat? And why do they seem intent on destroying Matt Ballard?OH. MY. GOODNESS.What a book!Where do I start?Every time I thought things couldn't get any worse for Matt Ballard, the author threw even more hardships at him. You really felt he was being driven insane by the killer, and I can't say too much about what happens to him without giving away spoilers.I couldn't put the book down. I read it in one very long sitting well past bedtime. I was well and truly gripped - I NEEDED to know what was coming next. Tightly plotted, fast paced and plenty of red herrings - I loved it!I very much liked the characters, and they all worked well as a team. I would have loved to see them in another investigation - maybe an earlier investigation?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    DCI Matt Ballard has been haunted by a case he was involved with 25 years ree 11 year olds boys bodies were found tortured and though the person thought responsible for their murders was killed in a hit and run at the time Matts own mentor and others were never convinced he was the real tt had actually discovered one of the boys bodies himself and it had affected him nearing retirement a boys body is found in circumstances not unlike his old tt and his team become embroiled in a game of cat and mouse with the killer who seems to know personal details about Matt`s life as well as having access to photgraphs of locations of the original is is a standalone novel but I`m sure the characters would lend themselves to another great has everything you could want from a crime thriller, the plot is cleverly written and the detail draws you into the investigation. There are twists and turns and a great surprise t another brilliant read from Joy anks to Joffe books for the opportunity to read this as an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Twenty-five years earlier Matt Ballard was just staring his career. Three young boys were all killed in the same area known as Gibbet Fen. The main suspect was killed, but Matt wasn't so sure he was the killer, but then the killing stopped. Now Matt is getting pictures from that area before the crimes were committed, along with pictures of his very secret and private life. Who is trying to destory Matt and why? Is it the real killer or someone else? You will need to read this gripping story to find out. I voluntarily read a copy of this book, the review is my own opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Joy Ellis is, probably, my favourite author and I was very much looking forward to reading this stand-alone book.  This book comes shortly after Thieves on the Fens and I absolutely loved that book so much I really doubted it could be bettered but then along comes this one and now I am thinking WOW the books just get better and better I wonder what she will come up with tt is haunted by a case many years ago when 3 11 year old boys were brutally murdered.  The suspect died before his guilt could be confirmed and there was always a niggle of doubt about whether the sadistic killer was dead or still out there.  He made a promise to his colleague that he would put the case to bed and with retirement approaching his plan is to put the case to bed once and for all.When photos start arriving it calls in to question whether the murderer from the 1990s is actually dead or is still out there.  As more photos arrive it is clear that someone is out to mess with Matt's head.  With his whole team in danger and everyone running around in circles the race is on to unravel the clues before someone gets tt has lost everyone he loved and has built barriers around his heart but someone is tearing them down and the person behind the photos is collecting ammunition to fire as and when he or she sees is book starts at a fast, adrenaline pumping pace and that pace picks up as the book progresses as the reader turns page after page.  At no point did I guess the unsub I was as flummoxed as the team and as more and more people are drafted in to help they all begin to doubt if they will ever be able to identify the person behind the clues before someone gets ware the past is a psychological thriller at its very best as the reader is given an insight into the mind of the insane.  Joy has created something that I never thought possible.  The reader develops a clear insight into the mind of the character as we journey through many twists, turns, highs and lows we wonder if there will ever be an ending and when we get to that ending it is certainly not what I was is is the best book I have read this year if not the best book ever.  Definitely worth 6 stars out of 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    4 and 1 / 2 starsIt is the 1990’s and DC Matthew Ballard is on a stakeout for drug dealers in Gibbet Fen when the dealers suddenly flee. Hastening over the bridge to see what was going on, Matt and his partner, DS Bill Morris discover the body of a young boy in the water. It makes number three in the string of ’s now the present day and Matt Ballard is a DCI. He is six months away from retirement and receives a photograph in the mail. It is of the last crime scene of the murdered boys. This is the case that has haunted him for ter receiving a “before” photographic scene of one of the murders, Matt convinces his boss to let him look into the mysterious picture. Is the murderer back? Is it a copycat? Before long, Matt and his team receive more pictures, including one of a present day murder. One of his team members is assaulted. This perpetrator is playing for ings go from bad to worse when it is clear that the perpetrator is all about mentally torturing Matt. And another young boy is missing. They have no idea who is doing the crimes. They have pictures from CCTV, but no one recognizes him. He is very clever. Then two of his teammates go missing. Abducted by the bad guy, will they be alright?His team members get valuable clues and a possible identity of the tt goes off by himself when he receives a telephone call from the perpetrator. He, of course gets captured and humiliated. A tragedy occurs. In a surprise denouement, all is is book is very well written and plotted as are all of Joy Ellis’ novels. I especially liked the way the team got along. For all of Matt’s faults, he is a good team leader. There was sufficient background information given on the main characters so as to flesh them out, but not so much that it intruded on the story. In fact, it added to the storyline and also added tension. I would like to see the typos corrected before final publication though. Very well done, Ms. Ellis. I would like to see more about DCI Ballard. He was a great character.I want to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this wonderful book to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    “A gripping crime thriller full of stunning twist”, a quote on the front of the book, and it’s so very true! This book was full of twists and suspense. It was a great read, and I wanted to keep reading it, but I also wanted to [email protected]#$%! to find out the end. It was a well written crime thriller that kept the pages turning and kept me on the edge throughout the whole book. I loved it!A horrific crime over 20 years old comes back to haunt DCI Matt Ballard. He was hoping to solve it years ago, but he had no luck. Now someone is trying to make him question whether the real killer is still alive, or if he’s actually dead. DCI Ballard is getting ready to retire and is hoping for a smooth retirement, but someone else has other ideas. He is planning to work on this crime after he retires so that he can solve it. It’s one of those cases that he could never let go of. His whole team is in danger, but he isn’t sure who is out to get him and why they have to bring in his whole team to make their point.If you love a book with suspense, twists, and a great detective story, then you will want to read this book. It has all of that and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Great read! This is a story with many twists and turns along with a thrilling ending. I frequently figure out the villain before the end of the story, but this one kept me guessing until the end. The person behind the atrocities was probably the last person I would have expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This is an excellent book!  I have read a lot of books now by Joy and this has to be one of her best - and she has written some really good ones!!Matt is a great character and I loved how the story focussed on his professional life from the 25 year old case and moved in to his private life - really well thought out story, loved the pace and plot line, lots of twists and turns and it really kept me on tenterhooksFive stars from me and looking forward to her next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Joy Ellis goes from strength to strength. The elements of her writing I admire: the excellent grammar, realistic conversations, believable characters, are all here. What makes this book exceptional is the intricate plotting which leaves the reader, like the police in the book, feeling always a step behind the evildoer. The resolution is most satisfying on many levels

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BEWARE THE PAST a gripping crime thriller with a huge twist [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This spine chilling, on-the-edge of your seat read surpassed all my expectations. Full of mystery and intrigue, so many red herrings and twists and turns make this Joy Ellis book a must for all crime thriller lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    First time reading Welsh and will definitely read more. Kept you guessing page after page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    It was a well written story that was hard to put down. It was EXITING always something happening all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Interesting idea. Kept me captivated throughout the entire book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Enjoyable but not riveting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Hard to imagine the mind of this man. He can justify murders so easily to himself. Can this really happen in today's world?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Great Suspense and an original story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    It was a wild ride!!!...Read it in 2 days...Could'nt it down until it was finished!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    A frightening, gripping novel that never lets you go. It has the unique capacity to leave you worried and wondering how many people are out there watching and waiting to snatch their next victim and what if it was you?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This book was very interesting, hard to put down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Serial Killer's Daughter: A totally gripping thriller full of shocking twists [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    I enjoyed the story! Would recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Joanne invites her three best friends, Carys, Andrea and Zoe, to a mystery birthday weekend. Carys and Andrea aren't looking forward to the party as their relationship with Joanne hasn't been as good as it used to be for a while. For the sake of friendship they accept though, which is something they might deeply regret. Joanne feels wronged and she has a plan. Her weekend isn't about celebrating the bond she has with her friends, it's about exposing secrets. The four friends are in a remote cottage in the woods and have no means of communication. How will this weekend end?The Birthday Girl is a fantastic gripping story. The relationship between Carys, Andrea, Zoe and Joanne is complex. Joanne excels at snide remarks, she's good at digging up information and she's on a mission. She also has the upper hand because her friends don't know what they can expect from their weekend away. That's an interesting idea for a story and I loved Sue Fortin's execution. The atmosphere is either heated or frosty and I couldn't wait to find out what would happen between the friends when the secrets would eventually come to light. Finding out what those secrets would be made me incredibly curious and kept me on the edge of my e Fortin tells a large part of The Birthday Girl from Carys's point of view. She's an interesting multilayered person. Carys hasn't got an easy life and she struggles with issues at home. She has a complicated past and this makes her a fascinating main character. Carys has plenty of survival skills, which come in handy while spending a weekend outside. I loved how strong and resilient she is and couldn't turn the pages quickly enough to discover more about her. Sue Fortin has made the four friends all very different. Andrea is outspoken, daring and loud, Zoe is bubbly and upbeat, and seems to be the least strong of the group, and Joanne is haughty and proper. I loved this combination of characters and couldn't wait to see what Sue Fortin would have in store for e Birthday Girl is thrilling, surprising and suspenseful. Sue Fortin knows how to build tension and the story is filled with unexpected twists and turns. I love stories about secrets and wasn't disappointed, Sue Fortin manages to come up with a large number of good ones. Because The Birthday Girl is a story about friendship the relationships between the main characters are deep straight away. They're complex and nothing is entirely black or white. There's plenty of emotion, there's drama and there are many spectacular complications. It all comes together in a terrific finale that chilled me to the bone. I highly recommend The Birthday Girl, it's an amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I really enjoyed Sister Sister when I read it last year. I was especially impressed by Ms Fortin's skill at creating, shall we say, interesting characters and providing them with a very well plotted storyline that kept me guessing right until the end. So to say I was quite looking forward to reading this would be a bit of an understatement. Although with all that in mind, I did approach the book with a modicum of trepidation as my expectations were indeed quite ouldn't have worried really. This book matched my expectations nicely and, once again, left me with a very satisfied feeling at its conclusion; satisfied but also a wee bit in , it's Joanne's 40th birthday and she decides the occasion needs marked accordingly. So, she invites her three best friends - Carys, Zoe and Andrea - to spend the weekend with her at a mystery location. Sound like something that anyone would jump at. Well, you see things haven't been that tight between Joanne and her three friends recently. Could this weekend be the event that brings them all back together, or with things go completely the other way? As the shenanigans begin, it appear evident that Joanne has an ulterior motive for calling them all together. But who is keeping the secret and what repercussions are about to befall our cast?Blooming heck... this book hit the ground running, literally at a rate of knots and didn't let up until the very end, holding me powerlessly in its thrall continually throughout. Even though for half the time my impression on where the heck the author was taking me was completely different from where I actually went! So much so that I starter to question EVERYTHING. Every little thing, nothing was taken on face value. I really wish I could qualify even just some of my gushing admiration but I tried and invariable it included hints at spoilers and that's a big was quite an intense read for me. Not just because of the action packed nature of the storyline, but the characters really got under my skin. Even though I was at a loss about certain motivations and couldn't see through the lies and duplicity half the time, I just couldn't help getting a bit emotionally involved with certain characters.Honestly, I can't really express how impressed I was when finally all was revealed. It was worth all the confusion and wrong guesses I made along the way. Be warned though, be prepared to forgo all other responsibilities once you open this book. Personally, I wish someone had warned me as, once I has started reading, the times I spent away from the book just had me pining for when I could get back to it. Another one for the top five reads f the year thanks go to the Publisher and Netgalley for the chance to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    The Birthday Girl is a novel full of secrets and lies, and it is one jaw-dropping read! I couldn’t put it down, finishing within a day, so desperate was I to know what happens next!Joanne is turning 40 and has decided to organise a weekend trip for herself and her girlfriends Andrea, Carys and Zoe. As with the best of us, things haven’t been as easy between them as they usually are and this is a chance for them to get back the status quo. In order to keep it all a surprise, the other three only receive their invitations the day before departure so not only is it a surprise, it’s also unexpected. So off they set on a mystery trip …What kicks off as a celebratory weekend soon turns into something sinister with Joanne extracting revenge under the guise of ‘fun’. A series of events unfolds making all participants very uncomfortable and uneasy about what is going to happen next and this is the type of novel where you don’t want to allow your attention to be diverted in any way whatsoever – for fear of missing something! But no matter how attentive you are as a reader, believe me, there are surprises and shocks in is is an enticing read. Each chapter leads onto the next and it is very hard to put down. In between chapters there is narration by an unknown person – but who? At the end of the book, all the questions which have been spinning around in your head are answered – but probably not how you think. And don’t for one moment think it’s all wrapped up because the biggest twist is on the very last page . . .As a psychological thriller, this is up there with the very best and is a heart thumping, blood pumping read, and not one which you will easily forget. One last observation: I, too, have a ‘big’ birthday on the horizon and if ANYONE invites me to a surprise weekend – I am not accepting!!I would like to extend my grateful thanks to publisher HarperImpulse for granting me an arc via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*It’s actually Sue Fortin’s fault, I got into psychological thrillers. Her book Sister Sister is one of my fave books this year, so naturally I really wanted to read is story has a very mysterious start, which got me all excited and hooked. Carys, Zoe and Andrea get invitation for a weekend away from their friend Joanne. A lot of mystery is surrounding this letter and the women are not sure what to think. The weekend is full of surprises and one of the ladies is hiding a secret. It’s also clear that a lot is connected to their past. It was very interesting finding out more and more about their lives and their connections to each e book is full of twists and turns and lies add a lot to the tension as well. I was hooked from the start and couldn’t put the book down. It’s a real page turner and very intense. You really don’t know in what direction it’s going and Sue Fortin’s writing is on point. Every detail is right and the storyline is so gripping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    When friends Carys, Zoe and Andrea are invited to join friend Joanne for a weekend of 'mysteries and surprises' to celebrate her fortieth birthday, little do they imagine what is in store. Certainly, a lot more than just cake and champagne. Right from the start, it is clear that the foursome share more than simple friendship, with dark secrets and betrayals at the heart of the story.I thought this book was well-written, gradually revealing its twists and turns, leaving the reader unsure of where it will lead. I didn't particularly warm to the female characters, but that didn't spoil my overall enjoyment and surprise at the ending. The descriptions of the various outdoor activities that form part of the weekend were detailed and convincing, and there are sufficient shock moments to ratchet up the tension. Thank you to Netgalley for allowing me to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I loved this book!!  It really gripped me and I didn't want to stop reading until I reached the very end - it was very hard to put down! The pace was spot on and it slowly built up speed from the beginning.  I loved the build up as the partygoers went from destination to destination at the very outset so even the reader had no idea where  they were going to end up.  The characters were great and I loved how they worked so well together to make it such an enjoyable read!Twists and turns, shocks and suspense - I have given the book 5 stars and it is definitely a book I'm going to be recommending!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    The story is exciting, intense and leaves you unclear about what is actually being played until the end. While reading, you constantly change the potential offender. Even if you have a guess towards the end, you still remain in the dark for some time and puzzling in e reflection of the friendship of the four women is also interesting. Trust is changing in distrust. Secrets cause suspicions and conjectures. A family drama turns into a nightmare. Friends become enemies.I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I read this intriguing story in a day. Four girlfriends go away to celebrate a birthday and right from the beginning we realise that things are not going to go well. There’s a mystery commentator whose italicised thoughts appear at regular intervals. We know this is the baddie. But which one of them is it (if it’s one of them at all)? Fortin kept me guessing who was behind the mayhem all the way through. Was the birthday girl out to hurt them all? Or was one of the other girls responsible for the strange and dangerous goings-on that beset the weekend? A great read, fast-paced and different, with believable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Four friends head to a country cottage to celebrate a fortieth birthday, what could be more ordinary? Well, the invitation is intriguing, the journey unusual and the invitees hide secrets, even from each other. A suspenseful few days follow, full of sinister happenings, simmering anger and settings so atmospheric you feel like the fifth guest.Written in the first person, Carys reveals the story, except for the insights into the mind of the antagonist. There are many suspects, but the final revelation of the truth is more horrific than you first renaline, angst and adversity characterise this fast-paced story, making it an addictive read. The cleverly written roles of the key players, lead to a heart-stopping twist at the end, which makes you shudder.A classy psychological thriller with realistic characters and an insightful exploration of what happens to human emotions when pushed to their limits.I received a copy of this book from Harper Impulse via NetGalley in return for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Kept me interested thru the entire book. Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Good informative book for true crime lovers. Stories are short with just the facts and outcomes. I have read several of Robert's books and enjoyed each one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    A good book. 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Great reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Good read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Great book about 18 different fascinating murder cases

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Mr. Sellers books cover a wide range of the notorious, and this one was no exception. Many grisly cases I hadn't heard of before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    Really enjoyed this read...will be purchasing more volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    The content was interesting and I looked forward each night to reading. However did and do find with this author there are mistakes Ie dates, grammar and spelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder Most Vile Volume 1: 18 Shocking True Crime Murder Cases [Book]  2018-1-7 18:0

    An excellent if you are interested ion true crime

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on Bainbridge Island: A Northwest Cozy Mystery (Northwest Cozy Mystery Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:7

    I love Dianne Harman's books and have read many of them. This is my favorite! It's a great start to a wonderful new series with likable characters. The chemistry between them--human and canine, alike--is heartwarming. There's a great setting, good food, and an intriguing mystery. It's all well-written and not to be put down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder on Bainbridge Island: A Northwest Cozy Mystery (Northwest Cozy Mystery Series Book 1) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:7

    I really enjoyed this new book. The conversations flowed well and Bainbridge Island sounds wonderful. I like they way Ms. Harman gives us strong, believable female characters. I like that the cozy mysteries are quick reads, but have a good story. The clues lead you on, as there is usually a twist in the end. I am looking forward to more of this new series. I have read all and enjoyed all. Grab a copy, settle in, an enjoy!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    spirit runner shrink-your-prostate-and-get-your-life-back check.txt every-other-day-diet make-money-mailing-cheap-little-postcards easy-video-player-alternative bonsai-tree-care-easy online-money-monsoon-2 Cristo Libera app RoadRewards SMART Kodi Setup App - AIO Kodi Setup App Wizard Android Endoscope, EasyCap, USB camera (Extended) Time Master - Time Tracking Fiz : Brewery Management Game Narrows DungeonMemories winswim-swimming-software-2 why-not-fly-free-2 february-2013-calendar car-spray-painting-2'A=0 contestburner life-transformation-guide-advancedlifeskills-com job-crusher-warrior-forum Memes: Apple Memes & Comedy: (Funny Memes Feat. iPads, iPhones Etc - Joke Book L Holocaust Memoirs of a Bergen-Belsen Survivor & Classmate of Anne Frank Summary and Analysis: Joseph Jebelli's In Pursuit of Memory: The Fight Against Alzheimer's Summary of Fire and Fury: The Trump Book Going Off The Grid: The How-To Book Of Simple Living And Happiness (Primal Power Method) The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic Sharpe Edge (Maycroft Mystery Series Book 2) Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great Danielle Walker's Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Paleo Recipes to Make Anytime Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017) #2 Black Panther Masterworks Vol. 1 (Jungle Action (1973-1976)) Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) City Dog, Country Dog Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) Warriors #4: Rising Storm (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) The Science of High Performance: Develop Mental Toughness, Boost Willpower, Master New Skills, and Achieve Your Goals Faster Friendly Fascism: The New Face of Power in America (Forbidden Bookshelf) Design Thinking: Integrating Innovation, Customer Experience, and Brand Value Shooting Victoria: Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy I Will Not Fear: My Story of a Lifetime of Building Faith under Fire I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings A Writer's Diary (Harvest Book) Broken Crayons Still Color: Based on a True Story Draft No. 4: On the Writing Process Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated Islands of the Damned: A Marine at War in the Pacific Benjamin Franklin's Bastard: A Novel Sordid: A Novel Craven Manor The Plant-Based Diet Meal Plan: A 3-Week Kick-Start Guide to Eat & Live Your Best Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) Penny: The Story of a Free-Soul Basset Hound Chased 40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger. A Different Kind of Fast. Mindtouch (The Dreamhealers Book 1) Abducted Savage State of Mind 3: For the Love of An ATL Rider Dragon Slayer: A Pulp Fantasy Harem Adventure Patriot Games (A Jack Ryan Novel Book 2) Her Every Fear: A Novel Amazing Gracie Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Book 3) Clean (Phone Cleaner & Booster & AppLock) easy-jv-give-away-script fopacoin questions-for-couples-book forex-trend-rider-download online-yoga-teachers-training-and-certification-program ulster-ancestry-co-uk reading-her-body-ebook the-wedding-mc-workbook-2 magical-tactics-page-36 bed-bugs-911 Photos Companion, a Microsoft Garage project Genesis Vision Tournament Bitcoin Paranoid Honor Credit Union Banca Móvil de Oriental Bank Edge - Bitcoin Wallet Video Star - Social Video Network StarTV SL XMX Player sofort-mehr-dates Make Real Money $100 A Day USA Educational Puzzles for Kids: Owle Puzzles Safe School Helpline Resume Formats 2018 Lecture Notes AASA, The School Superinten... Knack - Tutoring Simplified MEDNAX Continuing Education Voxercise Holy Bible NIV Free Chineasy Cards PlanGrid Construction Software

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter