Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    If you are a Marvel Completist, this is a amazing buy. There is the opportunity to read a lot of of the 70's amazing characters in chronological order. First problem of the Inhumans, Black Widow, Werewolf by Night, Man-Thing. However, this book will likely not appeal to readers and children who have no idea who "HIM" is. While the origin stories of Spider-Man, Unbelievable Four, contained the DNA that still lives today, a lot of of these stories are an evolutionary dead-end. There was a tremendous focus on creature tales, vampires, werewolves, even Frankenstein's monster. Most of the stories feel like they were written in the same verbose, grandiose style of Roy Thomas, they are huge epic stories which, even though you're reading origin stories, you may feel lost. For example, origin story of Warlock, also contained the back story of the High ever, if you've never read these stories, this is likely the best method to read them. You have to wait the 1970s, Volume 2 to read the Fresh X-Men, which really is the beginning of the rest of Marvel History.If you are a first time marvel reader, begin with the 1960's the other comment, the Man-Thing origin story is at least a take off of the creature theme. Interestingly, there were two origin stories where the attractive woman betrays the man. There's a lot of subtext going on in these stories and they are more mature than what had come before them.What I also liked about this book are the presentation of other comics and covers that were published by Marvel. You obtain a true sense of the a marvel completist, I would have loved to have this kind of book when I was a kid/teenager. I look forward the remaining volumes, the 80's and 90's. Marvel should be commended for putting a high quality book with lush color at an affordable price and introducing the general public to characters that are 2nd, 3rd and never ran.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Man! Ghost Rider, Warlock, The Cat and so a lot of other really cool origins and turning point stories from the end of the Silver and begin of the Bronze Age of Comics. The books that if you still have them, you won't take them out of their board and bag for fear of damaging them. Nice stock, but not super glossy and flat color. beautiful good, but I still would have preferred the high quality newsprint, but that's just me. Here ya go, eat some pizza and read the first Ghost Rider! For the collector who also loves comics, it great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Taken combined as a series the three volumes of this series create a beautiful sweet overview of the 1970s. Also included are covers of some other stories from the time that aren't included in the volumes but gives you an idea of other titles available at the time and what the art was like. Really interesting. Test it.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 video reviews and related movies:

    See MARVEL ANNOUNCES FAMOUS FIRSTS GRAPHIC NOVEL SET on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel Famous Firsts: 75th Anniversary Masterworks Slipcase Set - Unboxing on youtube.

     related image

    See Women of Marvel: Female Firsts on youtube.

     related image

    See Christmas 2014 Omnibus Haul & Marvel 75th Anniversary Masterworks Box Set on youtube.

     related image

    See Stan Lee Marvel Treasury Edition Overview on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel 75th Anniversary Special - Marvel 75th Anniversary Celebration #1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel: 75 Years, From Pulp to Pop! on youtube.

     related image

    See Dazzler (1980) #38 Uncanny X-Men appearance on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A lot of origins I've never would of read until now. Very amazing collection of Super Heroes from the '70's. I purchase this book because the price was low due to being a nick & dent. Would like to obtain more but a small too expensive for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing Book !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    again-these comics very colourful artwork-most of todays comic artist pay huge tributes for those artist-comics from That era=PLOOG,COLAN,DITKO, THE LIST GOES ON. REASON I GET THESE COMIC REPRINTS-THIER ON BETTER QUALITY PAPER, AND I DON,T HAVE TO GO THROUGH MY ORIGINALS. BOTH ARE GOOD READS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    this is a must have for fans of 1970's era marvel comics. also amazing for fresh readers to learn the origins of heroes they haven't heard of yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    But the artwork was horrendous. Even Gil Kane's work paled in comparison to what I expected from him. I can't say much for the other artists either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I bought this for my son who is involved with comic com, he is studying comics on computers. He loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Yeah

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Nice comic book but the origin of Ms. Marvel wasn't revealed and I would have to buy her second individual problem to search out! Also, Spiderwoman's first appearance was strange because unlike the cover picture of her, the actual mask she first wore completely hid her hair (really weird). There were other heroes like Omega Man that were just dumb and could have been left out. To me, the best stories were about Nova and She-Hulk because they actually showed their origins and they looked normal!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Interesting overview of one of the most fascinating times in graphic art when Marvel wasn't afraid to dip into a lot of various types of work and see what the readers at the time liked best- took more chances with the art and stories that aren't as cookie cutter and repetitive as what we obtain in 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Marvel latest in a series of trade paperbacks that give a sampling of the 1970's is an fascinating time capsule back to an era that is unknown to a lot of today or causes a lot of folks to cringe when they review pictures of themselves. Economically, inflation was rampant and the causal observer looking at this book can understand that fact. For comic books, prices went from 20 cents to a quarter to .30 and then to .35 and then 40 cents. A lot of comics cover would sport the saying...."Still .30 or still .35 since a lot of books would stay on the racks of the candy shop or drug shop or 7-11 for three months or longer. This book continues the practice of displaying covers from Marvel's first run of a lot of color comics and black and white magazines that was included in the first two volumes. This practice allows the reader to see the major pop culture trends of the era. Star Wars, disco, kung fu, and female heroes were all huge trends in this era. That actual comic stories feature a sampling of some of the top writers and artists of that time period. A lot of come off as too "dime shop material" but others display a willingness to experiment and push the boundaries of comic book art. I feel that this book is an perfect addition to any Marvel collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing arrangement ,style and reading for the person who likes origin stories and the history of Marvel comics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    both these books brought me back to my early childhood-and why i love to read. artwork that had easy technique but presence. ilearned to draw from these comics -also taught myself primary reading-and the stories-i got lost in my imagination , back then all boys wanted to be a super hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    My son loves it! This digest has some of the comics I remember reading when I was a child in the late 70s.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I liked this volume, though not has much as volume 1 of this series. The closer Marvel gets to the 1980's, they seem to lose their creativity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The stories created me remember my teenage days. Ms. Marvel's origin was particularly good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Excelent!I recomend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    When this book was first announced I read the description and decided unfairly that this was not a book for me. They were rebooting Ms. Marvel as a sixteen year old Muslim girl living in Fresh Jersey. What could I, a 57 year white male living in Minnesota, possibly have of interest in a book like this ? But I heard lots of amazing things about the book so when I found it severely discounted I gave gave it a try.I am glad I did. It turns out this is a book for anyone who likes amazing writing and a special new take on a very cookie cutter genre. It is also a book for anyone who enjoys amazing art work and coloring. In short, it is a book for anyone who loves llected her are the first five problems of the 2014 Ongoing Marvel series plus the relevant pages from Marvel Now Point One. In the back of the book it has alternate covers, Hero designs and even a coloring example.G. Willow Wilson broke into the comic field in 2007 with her Vertigo graphic novel CAIRO she continued with her Vertigo series AIR, then her first superhero work on VIXEN. Her first novel ALIF THE UNSEEN won the 2013 Globe Fantasy Award for best novel. She is herself of Muslim faith and spent her twenties living in rian Alphonsa is a Canadian artist who came to prominence with the charming art for Brain Vaughn's Runaways. Mr. Alphonsa's realistic depictions of kids created him a amazing selection for this book. Sadly, I could name a couple Huge Name Artist's who totally lack this ability. They draw kids and teens simply as smaller adults. Adrian's art has evolved a small since Runaways and he has a very fine line drawing style that evokes a whimsical mode in which he portrays some of the characters as having exaggerated faces. This is a style which works perfectly.I also found the coloring done by Ian Herring to be perfect and it added nicely to whole package. I search most modern coloring to be over-done and too dark so that it obscures the art work, this was clearly not the case e story itself involves Kamala Khan an ordinary Muslim girl in Jersey Town who writes Fan Fiction and dreams of being a Super-Herione. While her origin is not fully explained in this volume (that will be in the next collection) she ends up with elastic like powers which not only let her to stretch her body out like Mr. Unbelievable but change her physical e first form she appears in is almost want fulfillment as she takes on the form of the Carol Danver's Ms. Marvel at her sexiest best. She has long flowing Blonde hair and a skimpy costume. But in this reality based story, the high boots chafe her and the costume gives her a e story follows Kamala Khan and her gang of mates as she learns about her powers, makes mistakes and tries to do good. Like Peter Parker decades before her, things never quite go right for Kamala and she winds up being grounded most of the e Inventor is first true villain that Kamala encounters. He is operating behind the scenes orchestrating much of the poor stuff. Towards the the end of the volume we finally obtain a peak at the Inventor and it is quite a shock. I look forward to all her future meeting with other heroes and bigger villains in the Marvel ease Sample this refreshing take on Super Heroes and help this perfect book which is truly meant for All Ages. Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I love Willow Wilson's work. After borrowing both CAIRO and ALIF THE UNSEEN from the library, I purchased copies of my own. CAIRO sat for weeks on my dining room table specifically so I could pick it up and begin all over e story here is fresh, funny, satisfying and unexpected, ironically exactly what we've come to expect from Ms. Wilson. I love Kamala's family, her friends; oh, to be tall, cool and regal like Nakia. The promising premise delivers on every level through Kamala's struggles, which are, all at once, universal, private and teenage. I am better for having experienced MS. why not five stars? I found myself oddly out of touch with the artwork. I wasn't immediately immersed in this globe as I had been with CAIRO and had difficulty following some of the panels. After future re-reads, that disconnect may fade and I'll modernize my review r now, I highly recommend MS. MARVEL and hope she and Kamala continue to search a vast and welcoming following.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    There's a certain novelty value to be found in Kamala Khan as the "first Muslin superhero" and all that, but this fresh run of Ms. Marvel wouldn't stand up for very long if that was all it had going for it. Kamala is a charming, relatable character, one of the cases where the person is more necessary to the story than the powers--it very much has that "Peter Parker" effect, although with a racial and religious demographic that isn't usually shown prominently in comics or western media in is set of five problems (plus sidestory thing) shows how Kamala obtains her powers and the very amateurish begin of her life as a superhero. It's not an especially long graphic novel because of the little number of problems included, but it's a amazing read. The physical paperback feels very slightly cheapish in construction compared to, say, my copy of Fresh 52 Supergirl Volume 1, or Power Girl: Power Trip (a much thicker graphic novel), but it now sits proudly on my shelf with the rest and I'm looking forward to adding Volumes 2-4 to them as soon as I have the cash in my acc for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Other than the Fresh 52 Batwoman I haven't picked up a DC/Marvel run in years, but I have to say that this is a amazing book for potentially jumping back in. As a huge Image, Vertigo, and Dark Horse reader, this book encapsulates a few of my favorite elements that I've come to expect from creator-owned works rather than huge cash properties. The pacing is great, it avoids a lot of genre cliches, and the background content, like scribbles on cereal boxes and text books, is absolutely hilarious. A strange comparison, but the humor feels like a dialed back Adventure Time. My only problem so far is the reveal of this arc's villain, which IMO was too over the top even for a wacky superhero book like tom line for me is that it's amazing to see a superhero book with low stakes and quirky humor instead of the typical cosmic action slog. Hoping they hold the stakes little for a while and don't introduce too a lot of hyper-powered characters from the universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I don't read a lot of comic books but I decided to give this one a test because I'd seen a lot of amazing reviews and I was excited to read about a Muslim superhero. This book far exceeded my expectations. The art is attractive and excellent for the mood of the story. The main hero is relatable but also interesting. I love how intrinsic her faith is to her story and development. The plot feels organic and flows smoothly. It doesn't feel forced at all, and is completely hero driven. This is now one of my favorite books and definitely something I would recommend to any of my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The main hero is very relatable. While I am not Muslim, I can relate to how people your age stereotype you and your cultural background. My parents are from Liberia and I've been created fun of for my traditions and my appearance (mainly hair). I feel this story is amazing for people who wish a relatable hero like her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Marvel is rewriting half their universe lately, and I like it. A 16 year old Jersey town girl is enveloped by a mist (the one sent out to explore in humans, I'm guessing) sand turns into Ms. Marvel. Needless to say, this was a bit disconcerting, to her, her best mate who learns her secret, and to her parents, who don't know if this is the machinations of a 16 year old girl or something worse. She learns to use her powers, mostly shape shifting, while balancing her fresh obligations with her private e characters are nicely drawn, believable, and relatable. Marvel has always done a God job there, well most of the time, anyway. I search the situations true (as true as a comic book gets) and Kamala's issues those of a lot of of us, especially young people.Oh yes, the hero is Muslim, btw, which adds some nice cultural backspin to the tale, but it does not become the story. I love the fact that the emphasis is on her humanity, not her religion. I mean, is Spider-Man Baptist? "He's a amazing super character but he can dance on Sundays". Kamala's Pakistani culture is interesting but not the focus of the story.I enjoyed the somewhat quirky artwork and the plot, so see what you think. Think I'll buy the next issue.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I really enjoyed this book. This is one of my first marvel graphic novels I bought and the hero is really funny and relatable. I think the best part of this is that it's not like any other heroes out there. It's about a young teenage girl who aspires to be like one of Fresh York's a lot of heroes and have super powers and soon enough she does, but it's not as simple as she thought it would be as she learns the ropes of what having powers and being a character is all about. Really fun first volume and I can't wait until the second volume!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Not comparable to Captain Marvel but fun to see a young girl learning to cope with burgeoning skills and gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I loved love loved it! Kamala struggling to balance her newly-received powers with family and school and fighting evil and EVERYTHING was so well-written it managed to hold me on the edge of my seat, while it also created me damage for her and root for her and admire her. Kamala is amazingly drawn, and the coloring is so effective, evoking Kamala's emotions and perceptions. Want I had the skill in reviewing to do honor to this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Amazing squad ups are place together here and it shows!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Marvel Team-Up was Marvel Comic's respond to the DC's Brave and the Bold, a book dedicated to Batman squad ups. Marvel Team-Up would have Spider-Man anchoring the book. This title has had mixed reviews over the years. Some criticize it for being a lot of sound and fury signifying nothing while others praise it as being a well written and well drawn method to be introduced to the Marvel universe without being burdened with too much continuity. Both views have a certain amount of truth to them.I've never been writer Gerry Conway's largest fan but I have to admit I was rather impressed with his efforts here. He skillfully has Spider-Man, over the same story arc, teaming up with multiple heroes as they pass the guest star baton. A story that starts with the Vision ends up with the Thing. Another story begins with Iron Man, picks up the Human Torch, and ends up with the Inhumans. And to his credit there are nice touches of characterization along the way. I really enjoyed the stage where a bemused Thor chides Peter Parker for self pity. His plots weren't the greatest but quite serviceable; only the squad up with the Cat seemed be really egregiously e art was a revolving door but at least a talented one with Ross Andru, Gil Kane, and Jim Mooney. Fortunately, their styles (along with even more inkers) did not clash too is book reprints the first eleven issues. It will be interesting to see how quickly (or even if) we obtain a follow up. This is an simple book to pass up due to the low impact on Marvel continuity. It's a must have for Spider-Man fans but I recommend others to give it a test as well. Extras are a small thin - two pages of original art. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Marvel Team-Up was originally conceived as Marvel's respond to World's Finest, with Spider-Man and The Human Torch standing in for Superman and Batman. They soon realized that it was difficult to maintain continuity between Marvel Team-Up, Awesome Spider-Man and The Unbelievable Four when all three titles were written by various people. So, Marvel Team-Up was changed it Marvel's respond to The Brave and The Bold, with Spider-Man standing in for Batman and teaming with a various character every month. When I was a kid, I loved Marvel Team-Up because I got two superheroes for the price of one. Now that I'm an adult, I realize that this wasn't the best comic book that Marvel every published, but it's still a lot of fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    "Marvel Masterworks: Marvel Team-Up - Volume 1"(Marvel Comics). . .I went back and forth on this one for months. Part of me was like, Yeah! those old MTU adventures are good, easy fun from a bygone era -- it'd be cool to read them again, and another part of me was all, Are you kidding? You read those things as a child and you know how crappy they are... Don't do it! Spend your cash more wisely! Well, finally, I found this book at the right price and gave in, ready to delve again into the comics I collected and read to tatters as a kid, and maybe pass along to my child if they stood up after all these years."Marvel Team-Up" was one of the first books Marvel published in the early 1970s when it emerged from a restrictive distribution deal that kept the company from publishing more than a dozen or so titles at any given time, and its success unleashed a flood of fresh books. It was also the second title devoted to Spider-Man, although this fresh book featured Spidey being paired up with another Marvel character (just like DC's "Brave And The Bold" did with Batman...) Initially it was conceived of as a buddy-book with just Spidey and the Human Torch, but that combo got old quick, and starting with problem #4, other heroes were paired up with amazing old deed, that problem -- MTU#4 (dated September, 1972) -- featured none other than the Uncanny X-Men, whose own book had been cancelled, and it was the popularity of this appearance (and related X-Men cameos in other books) that led to the X-Men revival a few years later. I loved "Marvel Squad Up" #4, and read it more times maybe than any other comicbook I owned -- it had Spidey, a creepy villain (the vampire Morbius), and of course the mysterious X-Men who were for some reason dressed in civilian road clothes rather than spandex uniforms, which just created them seem even more mysterious and distinctive. Above all, it had some excellent, angular artwork by veteran illustrator Gil Kane, work that proved to be the best in the MTU series, at least until John Byrne took over the book four years later.And this brings us to the heart of the matter, the very reason that "Marvel Squad Up," like a lot of comics of the era is simultaneously not good and terrific: the stories and artwork were generally beautiful dumb and beautiful bad. Deliciously so. This was a time when superhero comics really were for kids, they were juvenile and slapdash, and kind of dopey and fun, in a kitschy kind of way. Years earlier, readers had been dazzled by the intense creative burst of the 1960s, when hippies, college children and science nerds embraced the groundbreaking Lee-Ditko-Kirby-Romita masterpieces and comicbooks were finally recognized as an artform worthy of serious consideration (much as the Beatles had legitimized rock'n'roll...) But as the 1970s dawned, Marvel Comics had largely lost its creative mojo, as a fresh generation of writers and illustrators took over, and delivered the rather sloppy, garish, just plain stupid stories that become known as Marvel's "Bronze Age" ere are a lot of 'Seventies comic creators -- illustrators, in particular -- whose work I didn't like, even as a kid, and some of them are featured here. Ross Andru, who became "the" Spider-Man artist for much of the decade, started his run drawing Spidey right here with problem #1 of MTU, working with a dozens of inkers. By the mid'70s, I came to loathe his artwork, along with that of Herb Trimpe (who did the Hulk) and to a lesser extent Sal Buscema, who did just about every other Marvel comic at the e funny thing is, though, reading this items again, now -- as a sophisticated, urbane, all-grown-up-but-still-reading-comics-as-an-adult total dork -- I still search myself charmed by them, and entertained at about the same, I-know-this-is-trashy, but-I-like-it-anyway level as I did back then. Writer Gerry Conway (who I learned from the introductory essay was just a college-age child when he wrote this stuff) was one of those writers who banged out silly, quick-and-dirty sock-'em-up Bronze Age superhero stories, and like a lot of other writers of the era tried to make dramatic tension by having characters, in this case the amazing guys, argue over everything. The kvetchy, crabby tone not just of Spidey but also most of his co-stars ("Hey, watch it web-head!! Do you know who you're messing with here?!?") is a weird affectation, and part of the goofy charm of these old stories. I also found myself surprised at how much I was able to appreciate Ross Andru's art for its amazing points, rather than frown on it for its weaknesses. Sure, it's ugly, but it's also effective: now I message efficiently Andru was able to tutorial the reader's eye to follow the line of action, in a semi-Kirbyesque way... This isn't stylish work, but it is dynamic and draws you in. Of course, it makes a huge difference who's inking his work. I actually like Jim Mooney's work as both inker and penciller, but there is one issue, inked by some guy named Frank Bolle, that is one of the ugliest mainstream comicbooks you're ever likely to read.Anyway, to sum up, these Spidey stories from 1972-73 are not amazing art, but they are kind of fun, and are certainly emblematic of the style of the time. It seems doubtful that I'll re-read them so much that the cover will fall off like I did with the original issues, but I think I'll be able to hand them to my child and say, "Hey, look at the dumb items Daddy read as a kid... It's fun, right?" (DJ Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain kids' lit book reviews)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Exactly what it promises. Cool art and okay stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Vibrant artwork. Entertaining story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    it was free

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Kelly Sue is truly one of the greatest writers working in comics and Lopez's art is top notch. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm a long-time Captain Marvel fan and am glad to obtain some of the later ones I've missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Kelly Sue Deconnick, David Lopez and Lee Loughridge has place together a masterpiece, the story line, artwork and hero development makes this series a amazing read. I love the fact that they bring in a Guardians of the Galaxy story line. I hope Marvel will hold it going with this series, also would like to see Rhodey aka Battle Machine squad up with Carol in the future.I would love to see Carol Danvers in a marvel film along with Power Man, Iron Fist and Misty Knight these characters need to be on the huge screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm somewhat of a fanboy and obtain everything "Carol Danvers", even the flops. While I still don't like the suit I'm getting used to it and when it boils down to it the only thing that matters is that Carol is still Marvel, Captain or otherwise and she's awesome! Carol is a unbelievable stand alone hero with a ton of power and this book reminds people of that or shows them what an individual she is outside of the Avengers. Like a huge number of Carol Danvers fans I'm praying they create a film for her starring Katee Salkhoff (Hey Disney! Pay her whatever she wants!!). Amazing artwork and story shows this book has endless possibilities and GOTG crossovers and hopefully more away from "earthcenterofthedamnuniverse'" stories. More please!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I've been meaning to give Kelly Sue DeConnick's Captain Marvel a shot for a long time. Because, Kelly Sue DeConnick. And people went bananas over her work with Captain Marvel. The volume had its moments. I appreciate the diversity throughout. The story was interesting enough. If the next two volumes fell into my lap I would totally read them. What I'm saying is, I didn't love it enough to spend more cash on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I wanted to obtain into some of the marvel superheroes and she seemed cool. There isn't really anything thing gritty and crazy but I think that's good. It's just a simple, fun, exciting adventure with some amazing cameo's from other heroes as well. I didn't know much about her going into this but this is a really cool book and amazing story for fresh readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I really enjoyed this story. It was fun to see a super character in space. But that was a small different. If you like Guardians of the Galaxy then you will really have fun with this story. Captain Marvel is a powerful brave character who has to face obstacles in a globe she doesn't know and deals with a culture she doesn't understand and it turns into something bigger than she understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    two thirds of these reviews are for other editions of this book. this book was released in 2012 and is a beautifully illustrated reprinting of the original marvel comics/golden age human torch origin story as well as back up stories featuring other (more obscure) golden age marvel heroes. this recent line of marvel masterworks is what they should have been putting out all along, none of that overpriced, hardback, six problem a pop nonsense, or [email protected]#$% black and white phone book collections that the "essential" series st of these reviews are out of date, DON'T APPLY TO THE PRODUCT, and should be deleted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    The first Timely Comics were crude affairs and not worthy of the high price charged for the hard bound edition. But a trade paperback? That's what I'm talking about. See the beginnings of Globe Battle II's dynamic duo, The Human Torch and Sub-Mariner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    My son loves it. Delivery was prior and book was in perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    I have some reprints of this original Human Torch, and it is amazing to be able to read such historic comics in such vivid color!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    NOTE: This review is in regards to the PAPERBACK edition.I have been buying all the Marvel Masterworks series since Marvel Comics started releasing them in paperback editions. (And thank you, whomever at Marvel realized there may be fans who wish these books, but who can't afford the hardback editions!) I knew I would be buying every single Silver Age volume...but I wasn't sure whether I would be purchasing the Golden Age and Atlas Era the release date for the Golden Age Marvel Comics volume approached, I decided I would buy it--after all, the beauty of the paperback editions is that they're beautiful affordable. Even if I regretted my purchase, it would be a little loss, and I would then know not to bother with future Golden Age volumes.Well, I can happily report I don't regret the purchase at all.While some of the features suffer from the fact most comics during the time were aimed at what was viewed as their only audience--children of the Depression and WWII era--there are some really amazing stories contained in these books. I found Bill Everett's Sub-Mariner (also an example of some of the best drawn Golden Age material, in my opinion) and the Ka-Zar features particularly criticism people cited regarding the hardback edition of this volume--and which created me hesitate in regards to purchasing the paperback edition--had to do with the quality of the art reproduction. While I don't have a copy of the hardback edition, and I don't have copies of the original comics, I have seen a digital scan of an original copy of the second problem of Marvel Comics. The digital copy was well scanned--not a not good quality microfiche copy--and I got a clear indication of the detail of the art in the original comics. Based on this, I was impressed with the quality of the art reproduction when I received my copy of this volume. If the quality of the art reproduction was really so not good with the hardback edition, I can't support but assume Marvel took the time to fix that problem with the paperback edition.While I'll still be "playing it by ear" in regards to other Golden Age/Altas Era volumes, this book has helped me decide to purchase future volumes of the Golden Age Marvel Comics series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    With the medium of comic books exploding, and the genre of super-heroes combusting right along with it, a lot of publishers entered the comic book field. One such person, Martin Goodman, a publisher of pulp magazines, contracted for material for his own line of comics. The line was called Timely. The first offering was "Marvel Comics", an anthology book that featured a mix of super-heroes, westerns, and detectives. In doing so, Goodman and his creators inadvertently laid a corner stone for one of the most famous comic book universes to arise in rvel has produced five series of golden age Masterworks. They inaugurated their series with this, "Golden Age Marvel" Vol. 1, which reprinted in their entirety the first four problems of "Marvel Comics." Well, "Marvel Comics" #1, and then "Marvel Mystery Comics" #s 2-4, as the title had changed: a common practice in the golden is series introduced three major super-hero characters: the Human Torch, the Sub-Mariner, and the Angel. Truthfully, while Angel was important, he was relegated to the second tier when Captain America was introduced a year later. The Torch and the Sub-Mariner stayed huge sellers for the remainder of the golden 's not hard to see why. First, as DC had created it impossible to blatantly ape Superman, other creators had to search fresh takes on super-heroes very quickly. In this case, Timely (rather ahead of its time) made characters who found doing the right thing wasn't always simple (admittedly, Superman did some rather strange things in his early days). Carl Burgos' Human Torch was an android device who, thanks to a design flaw, burst into flames when he created contact with the air. While the hero meant well, initially he was an unintentional menace, as his flame was so hot that it could melt all metals in his immediate vicinity. Eventually, he learned to control his powers quickly, and used them to combat evil. Oddly, although the Torch only graced the first cover of "Marvel", he had the highest page count; nearly fifteen or so pages. The popularity of the hero was such that Stan Lee and Jack Kirby based their own Johnny Storm, the Human Torch of the Unbelievable Four, on the Burgos character. Of the huge three from Timely, Torch had the hardest time catching on again e other real classic from this volume is Bill Everett's Sub-Mariner. In contrast with the Torch, Prince Namor was from a water-breathing race that held the surface globe responsible for the tragedy that had befallen his people. Thus, he started out as something of a villain, wreaking havoc on surface folk, often murdering those who opposed him. However, he soon shifted gears when he concluded some surface dwellers were worse than others, and he began a battle versus the Axis. Everett's art is some of the sharpest line-work to be found in the golden age. Unfortunately, the coloring didn't always bring that out. In the first Sub-Mariner stories, the underwater setting led to a massive use of dark blues and greens, frequently blurring the action. As time progressed, the color scheme grew more realistic, and the pencils were allowed to speak for themselves. Namor remains a famous favorite in comics, although he's still not always a mate to e third super-hero, the Angel, was actually a more straightforward vigilante. The art by Paul Gustavson is quite sharp, supporting some very interesting action tales. The Angel is actually quite violent. In his first story, he is hired by a community that is being preyed upon by a gang of racketeers. Angel simply kills the gang's leaders. Never one of Timely's huge guns, Angel nonetheless had a lengthy career. His penchant for violence led him to finance his own vigilante gang in later years.Of course, Goodman wasn't putting all his eggs in the super-hero basket. Other features shared "Marvel" with the super-types. The "Masked Raider" was a western series that overtly aped the Lone Ranger, as the Raider rode around righting wrongs. "Ka-Zar the Great" was actually based on a pulp novel, and nakedly aped (pardon the puns) Tarzan. Later on, the robot Electro, and the PI Ferret were introduced. However, while Ka-Zar was revised dramatically, only the super-heroes continued on more or less unchanged.I applaud Marvel's decision to reprint their golden age material. I disagree with the criticism that the reprinting is shabby. It is not. Rather, the original production process of the comic books was quite primitive. As the volume progresses, the quality takes a dramatic up-swing. Consider the early Superman stories in their Archives--many of the same flaws exist from 1938 to about 1940. Marvel's product is a fine bundle of goodies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Ok...this was a true bummer for me. The reproduction is terrible. The line art looks...well, I can only describe it as pixelated. Like the they were working from some low-res digital images of the original comics as the source material for the book. Still, I was in the mood to be forgiving. It was only when I compared this edition to an earlier Marvel reprint of Marvel Comics #1 published in 1990 (ISBN 0-87134-729-1) that I got totally bummed. The 1990 edition is really nice. The lines are clean, the color is clean. It's like the total opposite of this. If you're looking for clean reproduction and can live with a reprint of only one issue, find out that at stated, the stories are great. These early Sub Mariner stories are incredible, the Human Torch is totally bizarre, the Angel, Ka-Zar--almost surreal. Still, if it were a $15.00 paperback, that'd be one thing. As a $30+ hardcover, I'd say check it out from the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Marvel really dropped the ball with this one. This volume includes some comics not seen since they were originally published, over fifty years ago. Unfortunately, the reproduction of the artwork in this volume is hideous. The artwork is splotchy and looks like it was xeroxed. It's too poor Marvel couldn't invest a small time and effort in this rare material like DC has done with their very high quality Archives. I'm giving this book one star just because of the scarcity of the material it contains. What a disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    Must have for comic book historians.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Golden Age Marvel Comics Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Mystery Comics (1939-1949)) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:1

    I saw this book at a book shop and decided to check it out. I was considering buying it; however, my experience with comic reprints cautioned me to be wary of the quality of print. Unfortunately, this book is pathetic in its reproduction. The printing is so poor that it detracts from any enjoyment of these old comics. I had to abandon the whole idea of buying it. The poor far outweighed the good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Reading comics digitally on Kindle has been a amazing method for me to catch up on huge happenings throughout Marvel's history for a reasonable price. I know the mantle of Captain Marvel has been passed down a few various times now and I decided I wanted to go straight to the not expect a ton of action in this book. That's not what it's about. What it is about is the life and death of one of the greatest hero's in all the universe. Despite defeating monsters, aliens, psychopaths, and super villain, cancer is a menace Mar-Vell cannot defeat. As he looks back on his triumphs, his failures, his impact, and the mates and loved ones he leaves behind, we feel Mar-Vell's mortality, his confusion, his fear. It's incredibly moving, heartbreaking, and inspirational. Heroes and villains gather to say their farewells to the legendary Kree warrior, showcasing the various ways an individual deals with impending death of a loved one. These parts were especially heart wrenching.I highly recommend this to anyone that hasn't yet read it, or for someone relatively fresh to comics to obtain a better idea of the legacy of a major character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I read sad stories but don't like them. This book about captain marvel dying from cancer is almost as sad as bambis mom getting shot by hunters. The artwork is good. Plot is a step above the usual slugfest. Not suitable for 12 or younger. Ties up what some bit players were doing at this point in the marvel universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I have always had a fondness for Captain Marvel, don't know why, but represented the best we could test to be, and as a child , reading his stories, I set a huge goal for my life. Sad he died ,but he is one that one method or another remains in current stories. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I have always been a fan of Mar-Vell of the Kree (he later anglicized his name). This is the single greatest Marvel story ever. It really is full of pathos and wonder, and only Jim Starlin who had the greatest impact on this hero could have written and drawn it. I still have the original and got this ver so I don't have to expose it to my fingers. A truly touching story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    This is a spectacular graphic novel. It was Marvel's first graphic novel ever published and it still holds up as a amazing story even by today's standards. The emotions portrayed are deep and moving. Jim Starlin is a master storyteller and writes spectacular Sci-Fi. This is a must although I do recommend purchasing and reading "Avengers vs. Thanos" first. While not necessary, I feel it will thoroughly deepen your enjoyment of this comic milestone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    One of the best stories I've read since i began reading comics roughly a year ago! The life the biography of the amazing Captain Marvel a character to protect all till his finale breath!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    The title says it all, but it is how he lives and dies that makes the story. Starlin's work is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Its iconic cover lead me to pick it up, and the story is great. A must read for any comics fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Captain Marvel is not a hero I cared about - I wasn't introduced to him via Saturday morning cartoons or the MCU. But this created me care - not because of his superheroic adventures, but because it's a well told story of a man and his mates facing an unexpected end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    A very various comic book, covering some heavier themes in life but squarely set in the marvel universe. I didn't know too much about Captain Marvel coming into it, but the storytelling was so well done that it didn't matter I recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I would have given this 5 stars, but when it was printed, it appears that two pages were printed out of sync from the first chapter. I remember having all of Mr. Simonson's Thor problems when I was younger, and his run on Thor was the most enjoyable during that time period. I would even rank it above Frank Miller's stint on Daredevil (and that was epic!!!). If you love amazing storytelling along with some beautiful impressive art, then this compilation is definitely for you!!! I will be ordering Volume 2 shortly!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The birth of Beta Ray Bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This was my introduction to "The Mighty Thor." I had read several positive reviews and thought I'd test it myself. The story was fascinating. Walt Simonson obviously had loads of background on Norse Mythology before beginning his wonderful run. My only complaint is that the story actually continues for four or five more problems when this volume ends. However, it is not difficult to search those today for the price of a current comic in any comic book store. If you like Thor or think you might like it, this is a amazing put to start!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Just awesome. One of, if not THE, definitive runs on the title. Simonson just nails it. A amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The only thing I don't like is Amazon's cloud reader :( I more prefer a digital reading interface that enlarges the panels and tutorials your eye cinematically along the azon you are a very adaptable company and I feel like you will fix this buggy system soon. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    When you hear arguments by Comic nerds about what superhero could beat another superhero........ Nobody beats Walt Simonson's Thor ! Nobody !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Between the amazing avant garde (for the Times) pencils and the method he absolutely embraced the source material. This was one of the best books of its era. Still a amazing read 30 years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    No doubt that Walter Simonson is THOR! This comic book was going nowhere but W.S. changed it and now this is a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This volume includes the begin of the best run of Thor tales the comics have produced to date. For anyone interested in Marvel 's take on the hero and mythology this is the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    More of the best Thor saga!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Reading comics digitally on Kindle has been a amazing method for me to catch up on huge happenings throughout Marvel's history for a reasonable price. I know the mantle of Captain Marvel has been passed down a few various times now and I decided I wanted to go straight to the not expect a ton of action in this book. That's not what it's about. What it is about is the life and death of one of the greatest hero's in all the universe. Despite defeating monsters, aliens, psychopaths, and super villain, cancer is a menace Mar-Vell cannot defeat. As he looks back on his triumphs, his failures, his impact, and the mates and loved ones he leaves behind, we feel Mar-Vell's mortality, his confusion, his fear. It's incredibly moving, heartbreaking, and inspirational. Heroes and villains gather to say their farewells to the legendary Kree warrior, showcasing the various ways an individual deals with impending death of a loved one. These parts were especially heart wrenching.I highly recommend this to anyone that hasn't yet read it, or for someone relatively fresh to comics to obtain a better idea of the legacy of a major character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I read sad stories but don't like them. This book about captain marvel dying from cancer is almost as sad as bambis mom getting shot by hunters. The artwork is good. Plot is a step above the usual slugfest. Not suitable for 12 or younger. Ties up what some bit players were doing at this point in the marvel universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I have always had a fondness for Captain Marvel, don't know why, but represented the best we could test to be, and as a child , reading his stories, I set a huge goal for my life. Sad he died ,but he is one that one method or another remains in current stories. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I have always been a fan of Mar-Vell of the Kree (he later anglicized his name). This is the single greatest Marvel story ever. It really is full of pathos and wonder, and only Jim Starlin who had the greatest impact on this hero could have written and drawn it. I still have the original and got this ver so I don't have to expose it to my fingers. A truly touching story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This is a spectacular graphic novel. It was Marvel's first graphic novel ever published and it still holds up as a amazing story even by today's standards. The emotions portrayed are deep and moving. Jim Starlin is a master storyteller and writes spectacular Sci-Fi. This is a must although I do recommend purchasing and reading "Avengers vs. Thanos" first. While not necessary, I feel it will thoroughly deepen your enjoyment of this comic milestone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    A long street from the green and white clad Kree fighter that first appeared as a member of an alien fleet sent to defeat the Earth but who instead became one of its most devoted protectors - Captain Marvel, originally Mar-Vell in this reader's opinion was one of Marvel Comics most intriguing characters - in that he fought along side the Avengers in one of the most memorable epics - "The Kree/Skrull War" and he faced off versus a wide range of cosmic villains including perhaps the most devilish foe of all - Thanos of Titan - yet he never reached the A-List of Marvel's iconic heroes."The Death of Captain Marvel" by Jim Starlin illustrates how the Kree captain impacted heroes and villains alike in the Marvel Universe and is a moving story that doesn't come along often in the globe of comic books. This story is unlike any other I've read in that it portrays a super character who, like many, has faced death countless times in war but is chop down in the prime of his life by a merciless disease that has no boundaries and harbors no prejudices, even for super lin presents the private side of super heroes or better yet the very humanistic side of the super heroes, touching on the fear of death and the mystery of the afterlife - the stage with Rick Jones visiting his long-time mate on his death bed certainly hits full force even if the reader is not familiar with the history of the two characters and the clever twist where CM's arch opponent Thanos appears to him from the other side is well done - what stood out as well is the scenes where all the greatest minds of the Marvel Universe come together, racing versus time, but despite their powers and their genius, they cannot conquer the disease (that touch I thought was brilliant)Personally, I think this book is too short and would have been more complete had it included a small more back story but that is its only true flaw in this readers opinion and though I would not have given it a excellent score it would definitely merit 4 1/2 stars if it was offered.But to consider that this story could have gone in any number of directions - and a lot of would have been predictable, instead Starlin created this an unforgettable tale that I think most would thoroughly have fun - it should be on every collector's shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    One of the best stories I've read since i began reading comics roughly a year ago! The life the biography of the amazing Captain Marvel a character to protect all till his finale breath!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The title says it all, but it is how he lives and dies that makes the story. Starlin's work is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    STARLIN! 'Nuff said!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Oldie but goodie

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter