Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 2 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 2 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Nice comic book but the origin of Ms. Marvel wasn't revealed and I would have to buy her second individual problem to search out! Also, Spiderwoman's first appearance was strange because unlike the cover picture of her, the actual mask she first wore completely hid her hair (really weird). There were other heroes like Omega Man that were just dumb and could have been left out. To me, the best stories were about Nova and She-Hulk because they actually showed their origins and they looked normal!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Interesting overview of one of the most fascinating times in graphic art when Marvel wasn't afraid to dip into a lot of various types of work and see what the readers at the time liked best- took more chances with the art and stories that aren't as cookie cutter and repetitive as what we obtain in 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Marvel latest in a series of trade paperbacks that give a sampling of the 1970's is an fascinating time capsule back to an era that is unknown to a lot of today or causes a lot of folks to cringe when they review pictures of themselves. Economically, inflation was rampant and the causal observer looking at this book can understand that fact. For comic books, prices went from 20 cents to a quarter to .30 and then to .35 and then 40 cents. A lot of comics cover would sport the saying...."Still .30 or still .35 since a lot of books would stay on the racks of the candy shop or drug shop or 7-11 for three months or longer. This book continues the practice of displaying covers from Marvel's first run of a lot of color comics and black and white magazines that was included in the first two volumes. This practice allows the reader to see the major pop culture trends of the era. Star Wars, disco, kung fu, and female heroes were all huge trends in this era. That actual comic stories feature a sampling of some of the top writers and artists of that time period. A lot of come off as too "dime shop material" but others display a willingness to experiment and push the boundaries of comic book art. I feel that this book is an perfect addition to any Marvel collection.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 2 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 2 video reviews and related movies:

    See Women of Marvel: Female Firsts on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel Famous Firsts: 75th Anniversary Masterworks Slipcase Set - Unboxing on youtube.

     related image

    See Stan Lee Marvel Treasury Edition Overview on youtube.

     related image

    See MARVEL ANNOUNCES FAMOUS FIRSTS GRAPHIC NOVEL SET on youtube.

     related image

    See Christmas 2014 Omnibus Haul & Marvel 75th Anniversary Masterworks Box Set on youtube.

     related image

    See UNBOXING WEDNESDAYS - Episode 073 - Batman #7, Justice League #7, Galactic Guardians, and more! on youtube.

     related image

    See Dazzler (1980) #38 Uncanny X-Men appearance on youtube.

     related image

    See Comic haul 9.19.2014 + Marvel Anniversary Slipcase Set on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing arrangement ,style and reading for the person who likes origin stories and the history of Marvel comics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    both these books brought me back to my early childhood-and why i love to read. artwork that had easy technique but presence. ilearned to draw from these comics -also taught myself primary reading-and the stories-i got lost in my imagination , back then all boys wanted to be a super hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    My son loves it! This digest has some of the comics I remember reading when I was a child in the late 70s.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I liked this volume, though not has much as volume 1 of this series. The closer Marvel gets to the 1980's, they seem to lose their creativity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The stories created me remember my teenage days. Ms. Marvel's origin was particularly good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Excelent!I recomend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    If you are a Marvel Completist, this is a amazing buy. There is the opportunity to read a lot of of the 70's amazing characters in chronological order. First problem of the Inhumans, Black Widow, Werewolf by Night, Man-Thing. However, this book will likely not appeal to readers and children who have no idea who "HIM" is. While the origin stories of Spider-Man, Unbelievable Four, contained the DNA that still lives today, a lot of of these stories are an evolutionary dead-end. There was a tremendous focus on creature tales, vampires, werewolves, even Frankenstein's monster. Most of the stories feel like they were written in the same verbose, grandiose style of Roy Thomas, they are huge epic stories which, even though you're reading origin stories, you may feel lost. For example, origin story of Warlock, also contained the back story of the High ever, if you've never read these stories, this is likely the best method to read them. You have to wait the 1970s, Volume 2 to read the Fresh X-Men, which really is the beginning of the rest of Marvel History.If you are a first time marvel reader, begin with the 1960's the other comment, the Man-Thing origin story is at least a take off of the creature theme. Interestingly, there were two origin stories where the attractive woman betrays the man. There's a lot of subtext going on in these stories and they are more mature than what had come before them.What I also liked about this book are the presentation of other comics and covers that were published by Marvel. You obtain a true sense of the a marvel completist, I would have loved to have this kind of book when I was a kid/teenager. I look forward the remaining volumes, the 80's and 90's. Marvel should be commended for putting a high quality book with lush color at an affordable price and introducing the general public to characters that are 2nd, 3rd and never ran.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Man! Ghost Rider, Warlock, The Cat and so a lot of other really cool origins and turning point stories from the end of the Silver and begin of the Bronze Age of Comics. The books that if you still have them, you won't take them out of their board and bag for fear of damaging them. Nice stock, but not super glossy and flat color. beautiful good, but I still would have preferred the high quality newsprint, but that's just me. Here ya go, eat some pizza and read the first Ghost Rider! For the collector who also loves comics, it great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Taken combined as a series the three volumes of this series create a beautiful sweet overview of the 1970s. Also included are covers of some other stories from the time that aren't included in the volumes but gives you an idea of other titles available at the time and what the art was like. Really interesting. Test it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A lot of origins I've never would of read until now. Very amazing collection of Super Heroes from the '70's. I purchase this book because the price was low due to being a nick & dent. Would like to obtain more but a small too expensive for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing Book !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    again-these comics very colourful artwork-most of todays comic artist pay huge tributes for those artist-comics from That era=PLOOG,COLAN,DITKO, THE LIST GOES ON. REASON I GET THESE COMIC REPRINTS-THIER ON BETTER QUALITY PAPER, AND I DON,T HAVE TO GO THROUGH MY ORIGINALS. BOTH ARE GOOD READS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    this is a must have for fans of 1970's era marvel comics. also amazing for fresh readers to learn the origins of heroes they haven't heard of yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    But the artwork was horrendous. Even Gil Kane's work paled in comparison to what I expected from him. I can't say much for the other artists either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I bought this for my son who is involved with comic com, he is studying comics on computers. He loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Yeah

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This volume seems to wrap up the Inventor story line beautiful nicely (although I've been told that in Vol. 3 he comes back??).Anyway, the ending is really satisfying and so is the journey Wilson takes the reader through to obtain there. Just the right amount of suspense and tension. I love this series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I'm a rabid fan of Ms. Marvel (and G. Willow Wilson). In an era when so a lot of comic books from the huge two are striving for a ridiculous level of realism, the stories of Kamala Khan embrace the inherent goofiness (and fun) of being a superhero. Wilson takes Marvel Comics back to the wonderful,core basics that won them millions of fans worldwide--a teenage girl who feels like a social outsider gains unbelievable powers that she tries to use for good,even as it overcomplicates her private life. Teaming up with Wolverine while fighting an evil genius parakeet is just frosting on the cake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Amazing addition to Marvel's lineup. Hope she gets to be MCU soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    My nephew loves this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Loved it. Something for everyone in here. Love how she isn't your typical female super character with a skimpy super tight outfit andunrealistic body type. I finally got this after reading about its popularity with a wide dozens of people and how so a lot of peoplereally liked it after thinking they wouldn't. I'm looking forward to having my daughter (and any subsequent kids ;) ) read these when older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I love all Ms. Marvel comics, and this is not an exception. Attractive art, awesome characters, and so much fun to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    5 stars and a bunch of exclamation points, what more do you need?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    These were perfect comics and came in amazing shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Amazing modern comic for younger women and girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This volume was amazing. The art style is, once again, very beautiful, with a amazing story to boot. This volume hit me very personally, since, as a member of Generation Y, you hear a lot of people complaining about us, but this book talks about our untapped potential and how amazing we can become someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 2 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    ...but by no means the nadir, is masterworks volume offers fair value for the money. There are 11 problems of Marvel Team-Up (#12-#22) and a gift problem of Daredevil (#103) tossed in. Extras are rather slim with two original art pages. On the other hand Roy Thomas manages the impressive feat of writing an interesting introduction to a group of problems he cheerfully admits not having much to do e problems in this volume work as well as they do because of writer Len Wein who gives the book a level of consistency even with a lot of factors working versus him. These factors contain the guest of the month format, the low page count at this point in Marvel history (19), and the revolving door of pencillers and especially inkers. There is an inescapable feeling that the title is getting whomever has some time on their spite this the stories work surprisingly well. They are heavily plotted (indeed, over plotted) but given the squad up format that's really the only method to go. Wein's not going to be allowed much scope for hero development since the characters aren't "his" so what else can he do?The book includes a mix of fresh and old villains. The fresh villains are definitely a mixed bag. The Orb and Stegron are beautiful lame but Basilisk wasn't poor at all. The old villains like Tiger Shark, Blastaar, and Quasimodo are used rather l in all, the volume is fairly missable unless one is a Spider-Man or Marvel completist but can be nevertheless be recommended as a fast and entertaining read. The fact that the first volume got a fast follow up suggests that a lot of readers agree. I'm up for more volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 2 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    In the 1970s, Marvel Comics typically had amazing covers, and more often than not -- they were illustrated by Gil Kane. Unfortuantely, the covers tended to have better art than the interiors. What's nice, and somewhat surprising, about this volume is the interior art holds up. One reason is that Gil Kane illustrates several of the stories. The Captain America tale features Kane on art with inks by Frank Giacoia, and the combo produced some dynamic artwork. Ross Andru, Sal Buscema and Don Perlin round out the artwork for the remaining stories with Andru's efforts being somewhat superior to Buscema's and Ploogs. If you read comics in the 70s, you'll have fun this volume, but compared to today's storytelling, the scripts can be a bit jarring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    One thing I love about Marvel is its sense of humor. The past volume of Captain Marvel took an existential approach while she saved a planet of refugees from beautiful much a genocide. Now they're keeping it light, but still good. Need a laugh while you follow Carol Danvers's adventures? You've come to the right place.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Not necessarily required as there isn't a bigger arc to this volume and this really seems to focus more on side stories. Amazing to learn more about Carol Danvers though.. Check this out!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I chose 5 ⭐ for the amazing writing by Kelly DeConnick. I thought the art was amazing and I chose this comic to prepare to know a bit more about Captain Marvel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Can't obtain enough Captain Marvel. For someone who was hesitant at first to test a fresh series, this one is A+++. Amazing stories, amazing art, always entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Kelly Sue Deconnick can do no wrong. Check out her Beautiful Deadly title for some amazing western magical realism!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    amazing comic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Amazing read!! I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    While I like Carol Danvers, this collection didn't feel as powerful as the first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    It's witty, funny and it's draw very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 2: Stay Fly (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    So fun!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ultimates 2 Vol. 2: Eternity War (Ultimates 2 (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    This book collects problems #7-9 and #100 (32 pages) of the second season of the Ultimates, bringing this particular run and title to a close. I don’t know if they just created the number 100 up, or whether they added up all the previous Ultimates series and got is volume apparently brings the cosmic disruption caused by the Secret Battles happening to a close, as the Ultimates search themselves, Galactus and other cosmic entities involved in a plot to rescue Eternity from his captor. Also involved are some surprising guest-stars from the lost Ultimates universe, and not just the Evil Reed is really is a cosmic story, in the amazing traditions of Marvel cosmic epics, even though it is a bit shorter than its predecessors while being even bigger in scope, but as thy say on Sunset Boulevard, “I didn’t obtain smaller, the comics got bigger”, or is an perfect story nonetheless, but the very stylised artwork, while making everything look alien and cosmicy, distanced me from the characters; In some past cosmic epics, such as those illustrated by Gene Colan or Jim Starlin, their style of artwork kept the human characters human, whereas here the humans feel as alien as the aliens; there is no sense of otherness when the humans are not seen as human in an alien is still an perfect story and conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ultimates 2 Vol. 2: Eternity War (Ultimates 2 (2016-2017)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Al Ewing is on of the top writers in comics and he nailed his Ultimates Run.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I love that this comic takes put in the Clone Battles era. My favorite Star Battles comics were the ones that are now Legends that took put during this era. Depa Billaba is featured in this book and its so cool to see her interacting with Kanan. Depa doing the tests blindfolded was really ere is a lot of action in this book. The art style is excellent for it.Of course, there are references to other Star Battles characters. Rae Sloane!!! And I thought I saw the younglings from the Clone Battles television show, but I may have been mistaken. The squad of Rebels also appears and they are drawn more realistic.I give this book a 4/5. I definitely recommend it to Star Battles fans of the television shows Clone Battles and Rebels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I never expected this to be one of my favorite comics but it really is, Kanan is such an interesting hero and volume 2 is just as amazing as volume one. I'm not actually the largest Star Battles Rebels fan but if there's one thing about it I do like it's the characters and Kanan has honestly become one of my fresh favorites in the Star Battles universe because of this comic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Volume 1 was better but only because I thought they ended this a small soon. I think Marvel gave the green light to this series only to cancel it a couple problems in. With that said it was a amazing continuation from volume one. It gives even more back story to Kanan! Amazing comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Part 2 of thr back story to my favorite Jedi; Kanan Jarus. As it goes for the story you definitely need Volume 1 for the back story's conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    As I continue to fill in the gaps of the fresh Star Battles canon, I am completely emerged in the characters and the relationships they have with another. This is a amazing back story that fits with Fresh Dawn and leads to the hit television present Star Battles Rebels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I am a large SW Rebels fan. What a amazing read, attractive artwork/design and a definitely interesting story about a hero that I truly enjoy. MARVEL outdid themselves. Don't miss it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I really enjoyed this series. It had a story, developing characters, and emotional depth. My only hang up with it is that it seemed somewhat short and the action scenes where not shown in as much detail as I would have liked. Still, it is a amazing story, and together with The Latest Padawan Volume 1, fills in some of the gaps of Kanan Jarruus' past. I recommend it for anyone who is a fan of either Rebels or the Clone Wars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I for the life of me can't understand why they dropped this. I was so bummed to learn problem 12 was the last. Otherwise really enjoyed this story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Once again another well written,and well illustrated graphic novel. For the Star Battles globe setting. Now im waiting for book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Kanan Vol. 2: First Blood (Kanan - The Last Padawan) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Amazing story that fills in details. Love the art, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    I generally have a hard time getting into comics. I like it as an art form and I think it's a cool medium for spinning fictional tales, but it is also a really confusing and unapproachable form of entertainment, even with all of the re-branding DC has recently done in order to create their stories more inviting to fresh readers. So when I decided to test the first volume of the INJUSTICE: GODS AMONG US comic series and found it delightfully well done and remarkably accessible, I of course had to continue on by picking up the Kindle ver of the second half of Year One. INJUSTICE is kind of formatted like a tv present in that it works in seasons (they refer to them as years). There is no mention of this being Year One until the very back cover in this volume, but that is probably because the addition of subsequent seasons/years was contingent on the first's success. At this point there are two more volumes out for Year Two and I believe there are problems released within Year Three. This might sound a tad confusing, but it's really not, especially if you buy by the volume and not by singular issues.Effectively, the final problem of VOL. 1 was kind of like the explosive mid-season finale of a TV drama. It collected problems 1-6 of the Year One sequence. VOL. 2 contains problems 7-12, plus the INJUSTICE ANNUAL problem which essentially functions as a thirteenth problem and a very intense wrap up to the Year One Story TE: While I won't delve into any major spoilers for VOL.2, I will be discussing things that happened within the previous volume, so please do not read on if you want to avoid spoilers for the first six problems of the comic ARACTERSThis was one of my favorite aspects of the first six problems and it continues to be absolutely amazingthis time around. The main cast is back with Batman, Superman, Green Arrow Wonder Woman, Flash, and the rest of the Justice League taking the lead in most situations. Other characters like Catwoman and Harley Quinn are other welcome returners and then there are all the fresh faces as well as more focus given to characters that resided in the story's the end of problem 6, there were a number of characters that are teased as becoming part of Squad Batman. Among them are Black Canary, Black Lightning, Atom, Huntress, and Batwoman. Some of these are used better than others in these seven issues. Batwoman, Huntress, and Black Lightning can be seen in most of the issues, but they are very fringe, background sort of characters. With such an enormous cast, it is completely understandable that some characters do not obtain as much attention as others and it was really just beautiful rewarding to see these characters present up in this volume, even if only in a couple of [email protected]#$% action shots. Other characters, Like Alfred and Robin obtain some really compelling sequences that were easily some of the highlights for me in this series. I can't even tell you about Alfred's part in the annual problem because it is just too good! If you're an Alfred fan like I am, then you have to read this and search out what I'm talking about because he is simply awesome here.Other fresh characters were a bit of a pleasant surprise. Martian Manhunter and Lobo are two characters that appeared in the android game as DLC fighters. While you could purchase and play as them, they didn't actually have any role within the game's story so it was very cool to see them play a part in the comic. Martian Manhunter in particular, was a really welcome presence for some reasons that I can't really express without spoiling things. Lobo is more of a one-hit-wonder type of character. He shows up in an problem beautiful much dedicated to him, which was neat since he fancies himself as the "Main Man." It's in this same problem that Harley Quinn comes out of the woodwork after only making minor cameos in some of the other issues. Having her back and battier than ever was a really welcome aspect of the Lobo problem and seeing her squad up with Black Canary and Green Arrow was beyond priceless. Then there is the introduction of Lex Luthor and the return of Mr. and Mrs. Kent. All three of these characters contribute a amazing deal to the story's plot and were used in some really interesting ways that I want I could go into.While it was nice to see so a lot of of the more minor personalities obtain their time in the light, the main focus on Superman's decent into madness and Batman's cold, calculating efforts to stop him are not at all lost in the shuffle. The heart-wrenching conflict only grows fiercer as both sides war for what they think is right. By the end of this volume, that conflict comes to its ultimate head in a method that I found utterly my previous review, I expressed hopes that the setting for the narrative would become a bit more interesting. I am satisfied to report that my anticipation was fulfilled in every method that I could hope for. The globe is now largely under Superman's control and while he does not yet rule with absolute authority at the beginning of the volume, he certainly becomes the almighty dictator by the end. What marks the setting of this collection is the conflict between the two character camps. There's Batman and his followers who believe that humanity has a right to rule themselves and then there are Superman's underlings who think what they are doing is the correct course of action. Then there are those who have picked a side, but are not necessarily sold on which one is correct. Flash, Shazam, and even some of Batman's followers all question the correctness of their leaders actions which really helps convey the fact that the globe is now a battleground despite Superman's best efforts to forcibly instill peace. It's still a rather traditional comic-booky setting with lost of sprawling cityscapes and plenty of secret lairs, but the distopic mood of it all is what makes it feel so special and memorable. By the final panels of this volume, there is reason to believe that these classic locals will seem even less familiar during Year OT/TONESince the very first problem of this series, the narrative has been steeped in blood. We witnessed the death of Lois, the murder of the Joker, and the catastrophic disaster that killed nearly every living soul in Metropolis. The story has been beautiful massive ever since, but the problems that followed in the first volume were a bit less fatal than the premier. That's not so much the case here. A lot of of the characters I knew would die because of the game's campaign mode were killed off within the first volume. That left only one outstanding. I won't say who it is, but that person does obtain axed from the story in a really brutal method that felt genuinely heart-breaking. I also know who survives these happenings and makes it into the game, but there are a lot of characters in this comic that don't present up in the game's story, nor are they ever mentioned. This left me with a lot of question marks in terms of what would happen to these other characters. Are they being saved for an appearance in the game's inevitable sequel or are they going to be removed from the equation? There really isn't any effective method of guessing who stays and who goes, but what I can say is that each death felt really epic and impactfull this time around. Whereas moments like Nightwing's demise felt all to rushed in VOL. 1, the killings here got the treatment that they deserved.What's somehow even more brutal than all the death is the mere back and forth between the two sides. Both Superman AND Batman do some beautiful shocking things in order to obtain their way. These men are getting desperate and they create some very interesting leadership choices that don't break from their character, but did leave me in bit of shock. Batman can be inexplicably cold to those both on his side and those who are not, while Superman's flaming temper only gets worse and somehow more child-like as the story goes on. This is the conflict that the first six comics alluded to and it's one that I don't think I'll forget anytime NCLUSIONI really couldn't have asked for anything more from this volume. I've openly admitted that I am no comics expert, but for me, VOL. 2 contained everything I ever wanted from a comic series. I gave the previous volume a 4/5 because I did have some problems with the pacing of certain parts as well as the overuse of little comic panels that looked a small ugly. This volume is entirely devoid of either of those problems and just seems to nail things at every turn.I can't really give this series enough praise. For me, it has become a sort of benchmark by which I will judge any other comic or graphic novel that I read. It's emotionally raw and utterly tragic in some spots. The action shots are breathtaking and the artwork in general is just astounding. This is easily the most attractive piece of graphic fiction that I have ever read and it is one that moved me throughout all seven issues, often in ways that surprised me. If you haven't gotten into this series yet, then you definitely should, especially if you're like me and have tried in vain to obtain into the globe of comics. You may not be completely sold after reading through the first volume (I wasn't 100% myself), but after reading through this one, there is very small doubt that I will be reading every problem that this series comes out with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    The scene for the injustice videogame is fully set in this volume. The story continues to unfold beautifully as war lines are drawn and heroes are forced too chose sides versus friends. Not to say the volume was without its problems. Some problems had a serious step down in the art department, and it got to be rather distracting at times. My other huge issue is the characterization of wonder woman. Her faith and prodding of superman to ever more violent action seems largely motivated by her desire to sleep with him and I assume rule by his side. I suppose she is supposed to have a more militant worldview in general, but her complete willingness to turn on her former allies who don't knell to superman is abit annoying to me. Otherwise this series continues to be one of the most well thought out and entertaining comic universes I have encountered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    I collected graphic novels since I was five and owned nearly every original comic there was from the beginning. Then in 1985 two graphic novel series came out which I decided couldn't be topped. I usually favored Marvel but when The Dark Knight and The Watchmen came out, I read, collected and stopped buying until "Injustice: Gods Among Us" was released.I sold my collection several years ago and am happy they are now available in digital format. I'm sure there has been plenty of amazing novels released in the past thirty years which I look forward to catching up on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    Superman continues to test and force peace upon Earth and he finding that his buddy Lex Luthor survived Joker's attack is a huge step in that direction. The huge points in this volume are the invasion by Apokolips, Batman's squad infuriating Superman's then Superman striking back, the creation the super human pill (the reason all characters can war one another in the game), Lobo shows up then runs into Harley's wacky squad and the epic conclusion with a amazing war in the Baycave.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    From the beginning, ‘Injustice: Gods Among Us’ reminded me of Tag Waid’s Irredeemable. In Irredeemable you had a Superman level character who changes into a genocidal psychopath and terrorizes the planet. Superman doesn’t even approach The Plutonian in his level of corruption but the overall plot bears a resemblance. The issue was, about half method through, Irredeemable’s plot seemed to pass its expiration date and I certainly wasn’t the only one who noticed. My assumption was that Waid had plotted out a certain amount of story and ran out of material and from that point started making it up as he went along. Unfortunately I think Injustice may have hit the same wall.What I loved about Injustice was how smart and thought provoking the writing was. Tom Taylor didn’t just spell out who’s amazing and who’s bad. With each volume I looked forward to the next eagerly anticipating what would happen next. Now I’m just thinking maybe it’s time to begin wrapping things this book Taylor just starts throwing all sorts of things versus the wall. Black Canary is shown to be in the first trimester of pregnancy and suddenly seven months slip by and she’s given birth. We search out Harley Quinn has a four year old kid which seems really creepy given that she’s portrayed as having serious mental problems. The issue is Taylor clearly wasn’t intending on showing the issues of a mentally ill woman having a child. It was just a method for Quinn and Black Canary to bond or perhaps for the reader to feel sympathy for a criminal psychopath. I didn’t really like the introduction of the super pill in the previous volume and now we have groups of people taking super this point things are event all over the place. We have a short plot concerning Clayface and Commissioner Gordon’s wife that doesn’t really go anywhere. Superman directs Hal Jordan and Sinestro to obtain the Ur-Forge, built by the Weaponers of Qward, and that too goes nowhere. Then we obtain into the meat of the story which is the second assault by the Green Lantern Corp because the first one went so well. Taylor seems much more intent on making Superman a villain rather than a sympathetic victim of circumstances but the Guardians have a bonus for making themselves unlikeable so I still end up rooting for Superman and crew. The war goes back and forth and lots of people die including main characters. I just didn’t feel the investment in the story that I was in previous this a poor book? No way, but the series set a very high standard and it feels like it’s on the decline. Possibly this is just a hiccup and it’s clear that other readers don’t agree with my assessment. I prefer tighter plots and the unbelievable dialogue from earlier volumes seems to have faded away. Another series I’m reminded of is Red Son by Tag Miller. That story was just 168 pages and it was tight. Having Injustice as a continuing series may have been a mistake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    I always preferred to read comics insteand of watching films or television series similar to super heroes simply because comics stories are raw and mature.If you play Injustice: Gods Among Us in your android game console and specifically the Story Mode you'll search some holes in the quest for example they mention Oliver Queen's death and some weird super power pills that the Joker takes in the Arkham Asylum but it doesn't say very clearly where those facts come from so I think that if you loved the video game, you must own the volume 1 & 2 so that method you'll understand the whole story.I know the android game came out long time ago so probably you already started to play another one but I recommend you to deep down in these books and go back to play Injustice: Gods Among Us and I'm damn sure the experience isn't gonna be the perman is like an American Führer who pretend to save human lives by killing, torturing and conquering (ironically). I really liked the fact that you never saw a Superman hero so wicked, evil and dark and of course you will never see anything like this in a Cartoon Network episode or a PG film.I can't wait for Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2 to come out anytime soon...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    Books Arrival: Earlier than 's condition: SuperbPackaging of book: ere was no hurt to the book.About the book:This book is simply superb. The story line is awesome. Had never imagined a darker shade of superman. I can relate this to the human tendency that there is a limit for everything. If someone crosses the limit, he/she asked for it. Its worse to cross the line with superheroes. I can't pick sides but I feel batman has a lot riding on his shoulders. I was surprised at superman's transformation and his inability to distinguish mates from rdict: Overall, worth the cash and time. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    This is a Amazing "alternate reality" time-line story involving Superman taking over the globe for what he considered to be "good" reasons. Year two isn't as intense as Year One was but is an perfect follow-up. Definitely worth reading. However I would recommend starting with Year One and reading the whole series straight though to Year 5..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    I really have fun the fact that Superman is justifying his actions as being for the greater amazing in other words ,"The end justifies the means". I'm also enjoying than even though Batman's persona is about scaring the poor guy into thinking he'll do anything to obtain what he wants but actually has a line he'll not cross and that's the exact line that Superman has crossed! The fact of the matter is amazing intentions fall apart when all won't cooperate with the goals of the well wishers and results in the app of force for compliance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Injustice 2 (2017-) Vol. 2 review [Book]  2018-5-23 18:1

    This is very amazing book. Batman rallies his forces to war the power hungry Superman who says he is doing what is required for peace. The 2 sides war and a few heroes are killed and others are hurt. The war lines are drawn and there is no turning back for either side. Superman has crossed a line he will never come back from. but Batman finds a method to even the playing field. Action packed book and cool story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    When this book was first announced I read the description and decided unfairly that this was not a book for me. They were rebooting Ms. Marvel as a sixteen year old Muslim girl living in Fresh Jersey. What could I, a 57 year white male living in Minnesota, possibly have of interest in a book like this ? But I heard lots of amazing things about the book so when I found it severely discounted I gave gave it a try.I am glad I did. It turns out this is a book for anyone who likes amazing writing and a special new take on a very cookie cutter genre. It is also a book for anyone who enjoys amazing art work and coloring. In short, it is a book for anyone who loves llected her are the first five problems of the 2014 Ongoing Marvel series plus the relevant pages from Marvel Now Point One. In the back of the book it has alternate covers, Hero designs and even a coloring example.G. Willow Wilson broke into the comic field in 2007 with her Vertigo graphic novel CAIRO she continued with her Vertigo series AIR, then her first superhero work on VIXEN. Her first novel ALIF THE UNSEEN won the 2013 Globe Fantasy Award for best novel. She is herself of Muslim faith and spent her twenties living in rian Alphonsa is a Canadian artist who came to prominence with the charming art for Brain Vaughn's Runaways. Mr. Alphonsa's realistic depictions of kids created him a amazing selection for this book. Sadly, I could name a couple Huge Name Artist's who totally lack this ability. They draw kids and teens simply as smaller adults. Adrian's art has evolved a small since Runaways and he has a very fine line drawing style that evokes a whimsical mode in which he portrays some of the characters as having exaggerated faces. This is a style which works perfectly.I also found the coloring done by Ian Herring to be perfect and it added nicely to whole package. I search most modern coloring to be over-done and too dark so that it obscures the art work, this was clearly not the case e story itself involves Kamala Khan an ordinary Muslim girl in Jersey Town who writes Fan Fiction and dreams of being a Super-Herione. While her origin is not fully explained in this volume (that will be in the next collection) she ends up with elastic like powers which not only let her to stretch her body out like Mr. Unbelievable but change her physical e first form she appears in is almost want fulfillment as she takes on the form of the Carol Danver's Ms. Marvel at her sexiest best. She has long flowing Blonde hair and a skimpy costume. But in this reality based story, the high boots chafe her and the costume gives her a e story follows Kamala Khan and her gang of mates as she learns about her powers, makes mistakes and tries to do good. Like Peter Parker decades before her, things never quite go right for Kamala and she winds up being grounded most of the e Inventor is first true villain that Kamala encounters. He is operating behind the scenes orchestrating much of the poor stuff. Towards the the end of the volume we finally obtain a peak at the Inventor and it is quite a shock. I look forward to all her future meeting with other heroes and bigger villains in the Marvel ease Sample this refreshing take on Super Heroes and help this perfect book which is truly meant for All Ages. Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I love Willow Wilson's work. After borrowing both CAIRO and ALIF THE UNSEEN from the library, I purchased copies of my own. CAIRO sat for weeks on my dining room table specifically so I could pick it up and begin all over e story here is fresh, funny, satisfying and unexpected, ironically exactly what we've come to expect from Ms. Wilson. I love Kamala's family, her friends; oh, to be tall, cool and regal like Nakia. The promising premise delivers on every level through Kamala's struggles, which are, all at once, universal, private and teenage. I am better for having experienced MS. why not five stars? I found myself oddly out of touch with the artwork. I wasn't immediately immersed in this globe as I had been with CAIRO and had difficulty following some of the panels. After future re-reads, that disconnect may fade and I'll modernize my review r now, I highly recommend MS. MARVEL and hope she and Kamala continue to search a vast and welcoming following.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    There's a certain novelty value to be found in Kamala Khan as the "first Muslin superhero" and all that, but this fresh run of Ms. Marvel wouldn't stand up for very long if that was all it had going for it. Kamala is a charming, relatable character, one of the cases where the person is more necessary to the story than the powers--it very much has that "Peter Parker" effect, although with a racial and religious demographic that isn't usually shown prominently in comics or western media in is set of five problems (plus sidestory thing) shows how Kamala obtains her powers and the very amateurish begin of her life as a superhero. It's not an especially long graphic novel because of the little number of problems included, but it's a amazing read. The physical paperback feels very slightly cheapish in construction compared to, say, my copy of Fresh 52 Supergirl Volume 1, or Power Girl: Power Trip (a much thicker graphic novel), but it now sits proudly on my shelf with the rest and I'm looking forward to adding Volumes 2-4 to them as soon as I have the cash in my acc for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Other than the Fresh 52 Batwoman I haven't picked up a DC/Marvel run in years, but I have to say that this is a amazing book for potentially jumping back in. As a huge Image, Vertigo, and Dark Horse reader, this book encapsulates a few of my favorite elements that I've come to expect from creator-owned works rather than huge cash properties. The pacing is great, it avoids a lot of genre cliches, and the background content, like scribbles on cereal boxes and text books, is absolutely hilarious. A strange comparison, but the humor feels like a dialed back Adventure Time. My only problem so far is the reveal of this arc's villain, which IMO was too over the top even for a wacky superhero book like tom line for me is that it's amazing to see a superhero book with low stakes and quirky humor instead of the typical cosmic action slog. Hoping they hold the stakes little for a while and don't introduce too a lot of hyper-powered characters from the universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I don't read a lot of comic books but I decided to give this one a test because I'd seen a lot of amazing reviews and I was excited to read about a Muslim superhero. This book far exceeded my expectations. The art is attractive and excellent for the mood of the story. The main hero is relatable but also interesting. I love how intrinsic her faith is to her story and development. The plot feels organic and flows smoothly. It doesn't feel forced at all, and is completely hero driven. This is now one of my favorite books and definitely something I would recommend to any of my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The main hero is very relatable. While I am not Muslim, I can relate to how people your age stereotype you and your cultural background. My parents are from Liberia and I've been created fun of for my traditions and my appearance (mainly hair). I feel this story is amazing for people who wish a relatable hero like her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Marvel is rewriting half their universe lately, and I like it. A 16 year old Jersey town girl is enveloped by a mist (the one sent out to explore in humans, I'm guessing) sand turns into Ms. Marvel. Needless to say, this was a bit disconcerting, to her, her best mate who learns her secret, and to her parents, who don't know if this is the machinations of a 16 year old girl or something worse. She learns to use her powers, mostly shape shifting, while balancing her fresh obligations with her private e characters are nicely drawn, believable, and relatable. Marvel has always done a God job there, well most of the time, anyway. I search the situations true (as true as a comic book gets) and Kamala's issues those of a lot of of us, especially young people.Oh yes, the hero is Muslim, btw, which adds some nice cultural backspin to the tale, but it does not become the story. I love the fact that the emphasis is on her humanity, not her religion. I mean, is Spider-Man Baptist? "He's a amazing super character but he can dance on Sundays". Kamala's Pakistani culture is interesting but not the focus of the story.I enjoyed the somewhat quirky artwork and the plot, so see what you think. Think I'll buy the next issue.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I really enjoyed this book. This is one of my first marvel graphic novels I bought and the hero is really funny and relatable. I think the best part of this is that it's not like any other heroes out there. It's about a young teenage girl who aspires to be like one of Fresh York's a lot of heroes and have super powers and soon enough she does, but it's not as simple as she thought it would be as she learns the ropes of what having powers and being a character is all about. Really fun first volume and I can't wait until the second volume!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Not comparable to Captain Marvel but fun to see a young girl learning to cope with burgeoning skills and gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I loved love loved it! Kamala struggling to balance her newly-received powers with family and school and fighting evil and EVERYTHING was so well-written it managed to hold me on the edge of my seat, while it also created me damage for her and root for her and admire her. Kamala is amazingly drawn, and the coloring is so effective, evoking Kamala's emotions and perceptions. Want I had the skill in reviewing to do honor to this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3 includes three stories. Problem #12 involves Loki, problems #13 through #15 are a story about Kamala meeting what seems to be the boy of her dreams, and S.H.I.E.L.D. problem #2 features a student at Kamala's high school selling super-villain weapons. The series seems to be branching out a small bit, leading to more Marvel team-ups and encounters, but problems #13 though #15 form a nice, short story arc which is loosely connected to the Loki issue, #though G. Willow Wilson is doing an amazing job of balancing Ms. Marvel between the feel of a Marvel title and the feel of an independent comic, there is a revolving door of artists involved in the series. While all of them are beyond competent – the artwork is improving, if anything – the lack of a continuing artist and a continuing colorist has kept Ms. Marvel from having a feel of its own. Of all the coloring, I liked problem #13 the best, where veteran color artist, Ian Herring, squads up with Irma Kniivila, but the coloring didn't fit in with the rest of the collection very well. ****1/2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    If I thought the latest volume was incredibly fun, I was *really* having a amazing time reading this one. The junior edition of Kamala Khan's story is by far my favorite in the series. First of all, LOKI! (It's not weird at all that I was picturing Tom Hiddleston the entire time, right?) And Kamala gets a love interest... sort of. The only thing that disappointed me was that the fresh villain wasn't elaborated on. His hero intrigued me. Even more, we were left with a large bombshell secret about (possibly) Kamala's family. There were so a lot of quotes in this volume that I wanted to sticky-note. You can tell that Kamala is really growing as a hero and as a hero. She makes mistakes and learns from them, but only after kicking serious butt! I am really anticipating Volume 4 to see where the story goes next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This book is fun. I have fun this ver of Ms. Marvel. I'm not reading all of the other Marvel titles similar to this character, but most of the InHuman story is explained as it is required in this is ver of Ms. Marvel reminds me of MC2, Tom DeFalco's Spider Girl. I like watching fresh heroes face fresh challenges while still trying to have fun the moment. That is what drew me to the original run or Arana as well. The first three volumes of Ms. Marvel has been a fun read so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Ms. Marvel is one of my favorite comic series on the shop because it speaks to a dozens of various readers. Kamala is just an average teenager - so it speaks to teens - who has extraordinary capabilities and can save the world. It doesn't damage that she geeks out about the things she loves just as much as the rest of us do.G. Willow Wilson has really made a heroine that women of all ages can look up to and admire to be more like. I truly look forward to learning more about her, and seeing her kick some evil villain butt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Perfect book. Absolutely excellent. I am dating a Pakistani, Muslim girl who makes fun of my dorky side. I got her Vol 1 and she is hooked. She wants to be Ms. Marvel for Halloween now. She keeps screaming, "OMG THIS IS SO ME. THIS BOOK IS JUST LIKE MY LIFE" etc etc. It's very well done, which I'm sure they created sure of when writing it seeing as it is about the first Muslim super hero. This seller also vacuum sealed and inserted a piece of cardboard to create sure the book came to me with no damage. I can't say the same for other sellers :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    ...but the reason I can't give this collection five stars is because the first problem (Ms. Marvel #12, where Kamala & company have a run-in in Loki) and the latest problem (SHIELD #2, where Kamala meets Coulson) just aren't nearly as amazing as the rest of it. However, the core story (covered in #13, #14, and #15), where Kamala deals with both a crush and a group of other Inhumans who aren't so friendly, is excellent. The pop culture references (especially the ones to Star Battles and Star Trek in #15) are amazing fun. I'm eagerly awaiting the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    My nephew loves this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Loved it. Something for everyone in here. Love how she isn't your typical female super character with a skimpy super tight outfit andunrealistic body type. I finally got this after reading about its popularity with a wide dozens of people and how so a lot of peoplereally liked it after thinking they wouldn't. I'm looking forward to having my daughter (and any subsequent kids ;) ) read these when older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I really enjoyed this comic book, it was so much better than I expected it be. Ms. Marvel has become one of my favorite characters, and it was a very amazing book. The only issue I had was that the beginning and the end didn't have much to do with the story overall, and it left me confused about those two parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I am loving this series so much! Kamala is a character I have been waiting for to read about. Also the fact that this discusses massive items under the guise of heros is beautiful cool. I do hope we obtain more of Nakia though she seems like such an interesting character. Also Loki is in it and it's fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Another awesome entry for this series. This one hit me a small hard, with its main story arc being rooted deeply in current happenings within the US. I feel like it dealt with problems ranging from radicalization to discrimination through an interesting lens, albeit with a sometimes comic-book style resolution that doesn't quite work in the true world. Still, I can't say enough about a series that can both create an adult think and yet be understandable and even relatable to a younger generation. Ms. Marvel continues to develop a cast of multi-dimensional characters, brilliantly grounding a superhero story with real-world issues, and makes the daily life of Kamala Khan just as, if not more interesting than her costumed life.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter