Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Nice comic book but the origin of Ms. Marvel wasn't revealed and I would have to buy her second individual problem to search out! Also, Spiderwoman's first appearance was strange because unlike the cover picture of her, the actual mask she first wore completely hid her hair (really weird). There were other heroes like Omega Man that were just dumb and could have been left out. To me, the best stories were about Nova and She-Hulk because they actually showed their origins and they looked normal!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Interesting overview of one of the most fascinating times in graphic art when Marvel wasn't afraid to dip into a lot of various types of work and see what the readers at the time liked best- took more chances with the art and stories that aren't as cookie cutter and repetitive as what we obtain in 2017.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Marvel latest in a series of trade paperbacks that give a sampling of the 1970's is an fascinating time capsule back to an era that is unknown to a lot of today or causes a lot of folks to cringe when they review pictures of themselves. Economically, inflation was rampant and the causal observer looking at this book can understand that fact. For comic books, prices went from 20 cents to a quarter to .30 and then to .35 and then 40 cents. A lot of comics cover would sport the saying...."Still .30 or still .35 since a lot of books would stay on the racks of the candy shop or drug shop or 7-11 for three months or longer. This book continues the practice of displaying covers from Marvel's first run of a lot of color comics and black and white magazines that was included in the first two volumes. This practice allows the reader to see the major pop culture trends of the era. Star Wars, disco, kung fu, and female heroes were all huge trends in this era. That actual comic stories feature a sampling of some of the top writers and artists of that time period. A lot of come off as too "dime shop material" but others display a willingness to experiment and push the boundaries of comic book art. I feel that this book is an perfect addition to any Marvel collection.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 video reviews and related movies:

    See MARVEL ANNOUNCES FAMOUS FIRSTS GRAPHIC NOVEL SET on youtube.

     related image

    See Christmas 2014 Omnibus Haul & Marvel 75th Anniversary Masterworks Box Set on youtube.

     related image

    See Stan Lee Marvel Treasury Edition Overview on youtube.

     related image

    See UNBOXING WEDNESDAYS - Episode 073 - Batman #7, Justice League #7, Galactic Guardians, and more! on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel 75th Anniversary Omnibus Unboxing on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel Comics: 75 Years Of Cover Art book review on youtube.

     related image

    See UNBOXING WEDNESDAYS - Episode 065 - Justice League #5, Flash #5, Dark Knight #5 and more! on youtube.

     related image

    See Panini, Marvel Masterworks – Rare e mai viste, la videorecensione on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing arrangement ,style and reading for the person who likes origin stories and the history of Marvel comics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    both these books brought me back to my early childhood-and why i love to read. artwork that had easy technique but presence. ilearned to draw from these comics -also taught myself primary reading-and the stories-i got lost in my imagination , back then all boys wanted to be a super hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    My son loves it! This digest has some of the comics I remember reading when I was a child in the late 70s.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I liked this volume, though not has much as volume 1 of this series. The closer Marvel gets to the 1980's, they seem to lose their creativity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The stories created me remember my teenage days. Ms. Marvel's origin was particularly good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 3 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Excelent!I recomend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    If you are a Marvel Completist, this is a amazing buy. There is the opportunity to read a lot of of the 70's amazing characters in chronological order. First problem of the Inhumans, Black Widow, Werewolf by Night, Man-Thing. However, this book will likely not appeal to readers and children who have no idea who "HIM" is. While the origin stories of Spider-Man, Unbelievable Four, contained the DNA that still lives today, a lot of of these stories are an evolutionary dead-end. There was a tremendous focus on creature tales, vampires, werewolves, even Frankenstein's monster. Most of the stories feel like they were written in the same verbose, grandiose style of Roy Thomas, they are huge epic stories which, even though you're reading origin stories, you may feel lost. For example, origin story of Warlock, also contained the back story of the High ever, if you've never read these stories, this is likely the best method to read them. You have to wait the 1970s, Volume 2 to read the Fresh X-Men, which really is the beginning of the rest of Marvel History.If you are a first time marvel reader, begin with the 1960's the other comment, the Man-Thing origin story is at least a take off of the creature theme. Interestingly, there were two origin stories where the attractive woman betrays the man. There's a lot of subtext going on in these stories and they are more mature than what had come before them.What I also liked about this book are the presentation of other comics and covers that were published by Marvel. You obtain a true sense of the a marvel completist, I would have loved to have this kind of book when I was a kid/teenager. I look forward the remaining volumes, the 80's and 90's. Marvel should be commended for putting a high quality book with lush color at an affordable price and introducing the general public to characters that are 2nd, 3rd and never ran.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Man! Ghost Rider, Warlock, The Cat and so a lot of other really cool origins and turning point stories from the end of the Silver and begin of the Bronze Age of Comics. The books that if you still have them, you won't take them out of their board and bag for fear of damaging them. Nice stock, but not super glossy and flat color. beautiful good, but I still would have preferred the high quality newsprint, but that's just me. Here ya go, eat some pizza and read the first Ghost Rider! For the collector who also loves comics, it great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Taken combined as a series the three volumes of this series create a beautiful sweet overview of the 1970s. Also included are covers of some other stories from the time that aren't included in the volumes but gives you an idea of other titles available at the time and what the art was like. Really interesting. Test it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A lot of origins I've never would of read until now. Very amazing collection of Super Heroes from the '70's. I purchase this book because the price was low due to being a nick & dent. Would like to obtain more but a small too expensive for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing Book !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    again-these comics very colourful artwork-most of todays comic artist pay huge tributes for those artist-comics from That era=PLOOG,COLAN,DITKO, THE LIST GOES ON. REASON I GET THESE COMIC REPRINTS-THIER ON BETTER QUALITY PAPER, AND I DON,T HAVE TO GO THROUGH MY ORIGINALS. BOTH ARE GOOD READS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    this is a must have for fans of 1970's era marvel comics. also amazing for fresh readers to learn the origins of heroes they haven't heard of yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    But the artwork was horrendous. Even Gil Kane's work paled in comparison to what I expected from him. I can't say much for the other artists either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I bought this for my son who is involved with comic com, he is studying comics on computers. He loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Firsts: The 1970s Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Yeah

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3 includes three stories. Problem #12 involves Loki, problems #13 through #15 are a story about Kamala meeting what seems to be the boy of her dreams, and S.H.I.E.L.D. problem #2 features a student at Kamala's high school selling super-villain weapons. The series seems to be branching out a small bit, leading to more Marvel team-ups and encounters, but problems #13 though #15 form a nice, short story arc which is loosely connected to the Loki issue, #though G. Willow Wilson is doing an amazing job of balancing Ms. Marvel between the feel of a Marvel title and the feel of an independent comic, there is a revolving door of artists involved in the series. While all of them are beyond competent – the artwork is improving, if anything – the lack of a continuing artist and a continuing colorist has kept Ms. Marvel from having a feel of its own. Of all the coloring, I liked problem #13 the best, where veteran color artist, Ian Herring, squads up with Irma Kniivila, but the coloring didn't fit in with the rest of the collection very well. ****1/2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    If I thought the latest volume was incredibly fun, I was *really* having a amazing time reading this one. The junior edition of Kamala Khan's story is by far my favorite in the series. First of all, LOKI! (It's not weird at all that I was picturing Tom Hiddleston the entire time, right?) And Kamala gets a love interest... sort of. The only thing that disappointed me was that the fresh villain wasn't elaborated on. His hero intrigued me. Even more, we were left with a large bombshell secret about (possibly) Kamala's family. There were so a lot of quotes in this volume that I wanted to sticky-note. You can tell that Kamala is really growing as a hero and as a hero. She makes mistakes and learns from them, but only after kicking serious butt! I am really anticipating Volume 4 to see where the story goes next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This book is fun. I have fun this ver of Ms. Marvel. I'm not reading all of the other Marvel titles similar to this character, but most of the InHuman story is explained as it is required in this is ver of Ms. Marvel reminds me of MC2, Tom DeFalco's Spider Girl. I like watching fresh heroes face fresh challenges while still trying to have fun the moment. That is what drew me to the original run or Arana as well. The first three volumes of Ms. Marvel has been a fun read so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Ms. Marvel is one of my favorite comic series on the shop because it speaks to a dozens of various readers. Kamala is just an average teenager - so it speaks to teens - who has extraordinary capabilities and can save the world. It doesn't damage that she geeks out about the things she loves just as much as the rest of us do.G. Willow Wilson has really made a heroine that women of all ages can look up to and admire to be more like. I truly look forward to learning more about her, and seeing her kick some evil villain butt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Perfect book. Absolutely excellent. I am dating a Pakistani, Muslim girl who makes fun of my dorky side. I got her Vol 1 and she is hooked. She wants to be Ms. Marvel for Halloween now. She keeps screaming, "OMG THIS IS SO ME. THIS BOOK IS JUST LIKE MY LIFE" etc etc. It's very well done, which I'm sure they created sure of when writing it seeing as it is about the first Muslim super hero. This seller also vacuum sealed and inserted a piece of cardboard to create sure the book came to me with no damage. I can't say the same for other sellers :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    ...but the reason I can't give this collection five stars is because the first problem (Ms. Marvel #12, where Kamala & company have a run-in in Loki) and the latest problem (SHIELD #2, where Kamala meets Coulson) just aren't nearly as amazing as the rest of it. However, the core story (covered in #13, #14, and #15), where Kamala deals with both a crush and a group of other Inhumans who aren't so friendly, is excellent. The pop culture references (especially the ones to Star Battles and Star Trek in #15) are amazing fun. I'm eagerly awaiting the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    My nephew loves this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Loved it. Something for everyone in here. Love how she isn't your typical female super character with a skimpy super tight outfit andunrealistic body type. I finally got this after reading about its popularity with a wide dozens of people and how so a lot of peoplereally liked it after thinking they wouldn't. I'm looking forward to having my daughter (and any subsequent kids ;) ) read these when older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I really enjoyed this comic book, it was so much better than I expected it be. Ms. Marvel has become one of my favorite characters, and it was a very amazing book. The only issue I had was that the beginning and the end didn't have much to do with the story overall, and it left me confused about those two parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I am loving this series so much! Kamala is a character I have been waiting for to read about. Also the fact that this discusses massive items under the guise of heros is beautiful cool. I do hope we obtain more of Nakia though she seems like such an interesting character. Also Loki is in it and it's fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    Scott Snyder delivers with All-Star Batman Vol. 3: The First Ally. One of my favorite things about Snyder's Batman stories is how he is able to fresh ideas and characters to Batman's past while making it seem like they'd been there all along. That is what he's done with The First Ally, only in this case, he's added to Alfred Pennyworth's tman tracks Hush to Miami to test and acquire the Genesis Engine before Hush, Penguin, Black Mask, and Amazing White can obtain there hands on it. As Batman nears his goal in a confrontation with the descendants of actual pirates, he encounters an unexpected fresh foe: a Black Knight, or Nemesis, and his handler, a man named Briar. While Nemesis is fresh to Batman, he is familiar to Alfred, who at one point in his life was on the path to be a Nemesis Black Knight. As the struggle for the Genesis Engine heats up, Alfred will revisit a part of his past he thought was ere was a lot to like about the First Ally storyline. I really liked the focus on Alfred, who narrated the entire story. Snyder alternates between Alfred's past as an SAS agent and his show as Bruce Wayne's ally. We are given a very open, and interesting, look into Alfred's relationship with his father and some unresolved feelings that led him to join the military. The confrontation between Batman and Briar and his Black Knight dovetails with Alfred's training in the Nemesis program. Additionally, the modern pirates tie in with Alfred's story, as well, which ends up bringing The First Ally full circle. All of these things created for a rich, deep story, one which was really enjoyable. I've found that often times my favorite Batman stories are the ones that deepen the characters that surround Batman, rather than just focus on Batman himself. This is what Snyder did with The First Ally, and it paid ong with The First Ally arc, there was a back-up story arc called Killers-in-Law that focused on Bruce Wayne going undercover in Russia as a part of a Russian crime family known as the Myasniks. Batman wants to stop a shipment of weapons from making their method to Gotham for the Russian crime families there to begin a battle with the Falcone family. While in Russia, Bruce makes the acquaintance of Vik Myasnik, who will become known as Assassin Queen. Snyder makes this an interesting story with Batman out of his normal element, and also finds a method to tie it into his main First Ally story arc.Overall, I found All-Star Batman Vol. 3: The First Ally by Scott Snyder to an perfect read. I highly recommend this story of fathers and sons, especially to Batman fans who like their supporting cast to be rounded out with depth of character.I received a preview copy of this book from DC Comics and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    This is volume three of “All-Star Batman” that is a part of DC Comics’ latest “rebirth” reboot. I enjoyed the storyline for this show work more than the previous two volumes. It seems the “All-Star Batman” is more fast-paced than other Batman titles which can have its strength and weaknesses but being bored won’t be one of them. But in volume three the timing was right in my opinion along with a amazing reoccurring theme and human interest’s angle. The artwork is amazing as well. I give this a rating of five out of is work include two stories. The first is titled “The First Ally” and the second is titled “Killers-In-Law.” The bulk of this volume is dedicated to “The First Ally.” At first it might seem to be two unrelated stories but by the end of the volume the author gives enough clues of how they relate but it does so in a method that builds anticipation for the next ncerning the first story, “The First Ally,” I love how the story is told from the perspective of Alfred narrating the story. The author did a amazing job of bringing a hero that is usually in a supporting role of helping Batman and placing him to the limelight. What we have here is not just only a story about Bruce Wayne/Batman but also Alfred the man, his past and also his motivation and relationship with Bruce Wayne and his adventure of being Batman. The plot for this story is centered on Batman trying to search and retrieve a mysterious “Genesis Engine” device but we also the narrating voice of Alfred and flashback scenes from Alfred’s younger days. Here we see Alfred’s youth and how much it parallel that of Bruce Wayne. I thought that is a fascinating angle, where you explore there is more to Alfred than the stoic butler. In fact Alfred’s lives isn’t just parallel to Bruce in the story but also becomes relevant to what’s going on in the show as readers explore more about Batman’s recent villains that he is fighting. Both the villain Blair and the knight Nemesis has ties to Alfred and towards the end of the story there is a fascinating twist concerning their relationship to ncerning the second story, “Killers-In-Law” Batman sneaks into Russia pretending to be a Russian thug in order to penetrate into a strong Russian crime organization run by the Myasnik Family to pre-emptively stop a weapons smuggling operation into Gotham. As the story progress we see Batman’s philosophy of not killing being contrasted with how the father and daughter of the Myasnik Family operate. The daughter Vik is the chief villain versus Batman in this story and like the first story there is a theme of fathers, secrets and betrayal. The ending is gold in how it ties it to the first story in the volume. Readers shouldn’t miss the latest few panels of this work.Overall I enjoyed this volume very much and one reason is that the story takes Batman out of Gotham to other areas such as the islands off of Florida, a deep sea in a submarine and to Russia. Like the other “All-Star Batman” volumes there is a hosts of different villains and with a lot of of them being fresh ones. It is nice to see some fresh characters with various personalities and motivations being introduced. This volume also is a testament to the author’s creativity of having a running theme that unified the two stories which at first glance seems so various and unrelated but towards the end of both stories the saying of “the first and latest ally” and echoes of the theme of fathers and lost kids occurs. I think this work was quite deeper for a comic for exploring the theme of the impact of fathers on their children, whether for amazing or for ill. It also discover the theme of dark secrets, authoritarianism, love, betrayal and more complicated is the theme of how being a father with amazing intention can still bring about questions of enabling issues for one’s son. Again I give this work a five out of five TE: This book was provided to me free by DC Comics and Net Galley without any obligation for a positive review. All opinions offered above are mine unless otherwise stated or implied.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    DC continues its revisionist approach to Alfred in volume 3 of All Star Batman. I’m generally opposed to revising iconic characters, but I have to admit I like the presentation of the fresh Alfred. Who knew he was such a [email protected]#$% in the Falklands? I mean, all Brits think they’re James Bond, but it turns out that Alfred was the true deal. And after all, it’s been decades since DC cared about continuity, so why not remake Alfred? At DC, if the current universe gets out of control, just blow it up and begin a fresh one. The past doesn’t exist at DC, so writers are free to do any damn thing they please. Sort of like Trump. But anyway . . . .The story takes us back to Alfred’s youth while, in the present, it takes Batman and Alfred to Miami. Hush is pretending to be Bruce Wayne for reasons that have to do with the Genesis Engine, which is apparently in the hands of some pirates. Batman wants it and the Penguin and squad wish to support him for territorial reasons (Miami muscling in on Gotham? Never!). So Batman and Alfred have to save each other multiple times while Batman tries to obtain control of the Genesis Thing.Eventually the past and show merge, as they always do. Alfred’s mentor from the past becomes Batman’s nemesis in the present, except there’s another villain who is actually named Nemesis, so test not to obtain them confused. There’s even another Alfred.Put aside the convoluted comic book logic, and Scott Snyder’s powerful prose actually makes the story worth reading. It’s genuinely touching without being melodramatic, and there’s no shortage of e next story is a flashback to a time when Batman went to Russia pretending to be a warrior named Knockout (Nokaut) so he could infiltrate a crime syndicate that is moving into Gotham. He might also infiltrate the hot daughter of a Russian crime boss, a chick named Vik, if she doesn’t slay him first. He wants to stop a weapons shipment because the Gotham police, Coast Guard, FBI, CIA, NSA, and other agencies that handle that sort of thing just aren’t up to the task. Flashing forward to the present, Vik has become the Assassin Queen and is seeking revenge by doing business with Penguin, bringing us full circle back to the Genesis in this volume is generally beautiful good, although it continues the modern tradition of artists drawing iconic characters as they see fit, without regard to how any other artist has drawn the hero over the latest several decades, but apart from that quibble, the art is pleasing and that’s better than the modern DC often delivers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    Story: There are two stories to this the first obviously The First Ally story written by Scott Snyder. It deal heavily with Alfred, his internal struggle dealing with what Bruce Wayne has become and the part he played in it. The villain is someone from his past and while he is helping Batman deal with the Black and Whites (Penguin, Black Mask, Amazing White), Hush, and some others it flips back and forth between Alfred's youth and the current situation which is Batman trying to stop Hush and the Black and Whites from gaining control of a high tech device that can clone exact duplicates like it's a 3D printer. The second story Killers-In-Law written by Rafael Albuquerque and Rafael Scavone is all about Batman infiltrating a Russian mob in Moscow to stop them from making an arms deal that could lead to a all out battle in : Rafael Albuquerque does the art for The First Ally story arc and Sebastian Fiumara did Killers-In-Law. Both did a amazing job attractive photos and the coloring (Jordie Bellaire, Chris Peters, Trish Mulvihill, Lee Loughridge) The covers Albuquerque did are my favorites they have a amazing light and dark contrast and the detail is so well done. Don't obtain me wrong I enjoyed Fiumara's work : Overall, I did like this peek at Alfred's life before the Wayne's and his own troubled youth all the juicy bits after. While I did like that it explained how Alfred got to be as well trained and how he could teach this to Bruce but the whole thing with Briar and all that was a small too much. The analogy with the pirates and the classic pirate stories I'm torn on I liked it but it also came off as cheesy. But between the art and what of the story I liked, mainly Killers-In-Law, a solid four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    All Star Batman Vol 3: The First Ally uses flashbacks effectively interspersed with the main Dark Knight plot line. The flashbacks tell Alfred’s origin story and how he starting working for the Batman. There is a amazing comparison between superhero and pirate stories that will create readers think. The main plot is Batman taking risks and fighting evil as usual. Penguin, Black Mask and Amazing White join in on the fun. The two plots intertwine in surprising ways. The ending is unexpected and is book includes problems 10-14, which were published separately from July 2017 through November 2017. It can be read as a standalone. It also includes the five-part short story that was including in the original comics: Killers-in-Law. Rafael Albuquerque is credited as one of two writers along with Rafael Scofone. The art is done by Sebastian Fiumara. It is a slight tale of the Batman’s travel to Russia to prevent weapons being smuggled into Gotham City. While there, he is engulfed in a turf battle between two rival gang families. Princess Vik is amazing but the rest was rather forgettable. Still the main story was very amazing and expanded the reader’s knowledge of the Bat universe. It is definitely worth picking up. 4 stars!Thanks to the publisher, DC Comics, and NetGalley for an advanced copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    The globe knows the early history of Batman, the man whose parents died one evening when out for dinner. Bruce Wayne would be raised by the families faithful butler, Alfred. What most of us do not know (this reader at least did not) is the early history of Alfred Pennyworth and his connection to British Intelligence. This edition of All-Star Batman provides some of that e story moves back and forth between flashbacks and current history, occasionally making the story difficult to follow. But even with that little flaw, the story is fun and kept this Sexagenarian's interest. The artwork (both for photos displaying the past and that displaying the present) appears to present a somewhat aged set of characters. I might expect the modern set of characters to present aging - but it was disappointing to see some of that same aging to appear on the historical Batman et al.I expect those who are fans of DC Comics or Batman, whether earlier generations of the story or of the current generation will search the story and book of interest. I know I did.______________This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions are mine alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    'All Star Batman, Volume 3: The First Ally' by Scott Snyder with art by Rafael Albuquerque and other fine artists continues Scott Snyder's run on the title and collects problems tman tracks down a device in Miami that is being sought by a group of villains, including Hush who is impersonating Bruce Wayne. There is another Dark Knight on the trail, and his origins may have something to do with Alfred Pennyworth's tale. And pirates, for some the backup story, Batman infiltrates a Russian mob in Russia and tries to stop an arms shipment bound for bastian Fiumara's art elevates an average story to something worth reading.I liked the main story well enough, but felt like the lost boy, father/child theme was laid on just a bit too thick. I like the hero of Alfred, and giving him a cool backstory is a amazing idea, but this felt heavy-handed.I received a review copy of this graphic novel from DC Entertainment and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    Scott Snyder does it again! As usual, his writing is superb!Snyder digs deep into Alfred’s history and brings forth a villain that, while not the deepest, is certainly entertaining. Alfred spends quite a bit of the story narrating the current timeline along with his flashback experiences. Snyder weaves the narrative perfectly into the context of an old pirate tale. You can almost hear the pain in Alfred’s voice over how torn he is over his role in Batman’s yder also keeps Batman human which is why we’re drawn to him in the first place. He’s not an alien demigod who can only be killed by a green rock. Batman is flesh, blood and emotion. He’s relatable on every level and his wounded state through most of the novel aids e art by Rafael Albuquerque was very good! Not my usual taste (I’m a die hard Greg Capullo fan) but it really lent itself to the story. I was impressed finitely pick up a copy of this story! I missed out on series 1 and 2 of the All Star line so far but didn’t feel like I couldn’t pick up this story right away. I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    Two connected stories which go towards an unpredictable end that I hope to read as soon as possible. The first one in this comic is absolutely unbelievable, and the second is also good, so this is a super comic .Due storie collegate che avranno un finale che spero di leggere il piú presto possibile. La prima storia inoltre é fantastica e anche la seconda non é male, quindi direi un fumetto super nel suo complesso.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Star Batman (2016-) Vol. 3: The First Ally (All-Star Batman (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-5-9 18:1

    Better than the latest story arc, so don't give up on it just because "Ends of the Earth" was so you will obtain some items in here to I am guessing Snyder is planting for some future goodies that he's got planned.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-2 18:1

    Only $0.99! I love this book! 🙂🙂🙂❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-5 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Amazing price! Zooms into individual panels and cuts just fine using ly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers - The Ms. Marvel Years Vol. 1 (Ms. Marvel (2006-2010)) review [Book]  2018-4-6 18:1

    Won't zoom in on frames the method it's supposed to. Tried on Fire 8, Fire 10, and Laptop. Downloaded multiple times. Originally it didn't work on the Amazon page, now it does, but apparently the download won't work properly. Had to return multiple titles. A lot of other titles work correctly (10+). Spoke with Amazon a couple of times and the only thing they can do is offer a refund. Has anyone else had this problem? Can you help? Right now I'm not sure if I feel comfortable buying anything from Comixology again. But it's an Amazon company, it should work. It's kind of sad when they can't support with their own product. Buyer Beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    When this book was first announced I read the description and decided unfairly that this was not a book for me. They were rebooting Ms. Marvel as a sixteen year old Muslim girl living in Fresh Jersey. What could I, a 57 year white male living in Minnesota, possibly have of interest in a book like this ? But I heard lots of amazing things about the book so when I found it severely discounted I gave gave it a try.I am glad I did. It turns out this is a book for anyone who likes amazing writing and a special new take on a very cookie cutter genre. It is also a book for anyone who enjoys amazing art work and coloring. In short, it is a book for anyone who loves llected her are the first five problems of the 2014 Ongoing Marvel series plus the relevant pages from Marvel Now Point One. In the back of the book it has alternate covers, Hero designs and even a coloring example.G. Willow Wilson broke into the comic field in 2007 with her Vertigo graphic novel CAIRO she continued with her Vertigo series AIR, then her first superhero work on VIXEN. Her first novel ALIF THE UNSEEN won the 2013 Globe Fantasy Award for best novel. She is herself of Muslim faith and spent her twenties living in rian Alphonsa is a Canadian artist who came to prominence with the charming art for Brain Vaughn's Runaways. Mr. Alphonsa's realistic depictions of kids created him a amazing selection for this book. Sadly, I could name a couple Huge Name Artist's who totally lack this ability. They draw kids and teens simply as smaller adults. Adrian's art has evolved a small since Runaways and he has a very fine line drawing style that evokes a whimsical mode in which he portrays some of the characters as having exaggerated faces. This is a style which works perfectly.I also found the coloring done by Ian Herring to be perfect and it added nicely to whole package. I search most modern coloring to be over-done and too dark so that it obscures the art work, this was clearly not the case e story itself involves Kamala Khan an ordinary Muslim girl in Jersey Town who writes Fan Fiction and dreams of being a Super-Herione. While her origin is not fully explained in this volume (that will be in the next collection) she ends up with elastic like powers which not only let her to stretch her body out like Mr. Unbelievable but change her physical e first form she appears in is almost want fulfillment as she takes on the form of the Carol Danver's Ms. Marvel at her sexiest best. She has long flowing Blonde hair and a skimpy costume. But in this reality based story, the high boots chafe her and the costume gives her a e story follows Kamala Khan and her gang of mates as she learns about her powers, makes mistakes and tries to do good. Like Peter Parker decades before her, things never quite go right for Kamala and she winds up being grounded most of the e Inventor is first true villain that Kamala encounters. He is operating behind the scenes orchestrating much of the poor stuff. Towards the the end of the volume we finally obtain a peak at the Inventor and it is quite a shock. I look forward to all her future meeting with other heroes and bigger villains in the Marvel ease Sample this refreshing take on Super Heroes and help this perfect book which is truly meant for All Ages. Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I love Willow Wilson's work. After borrowing both CAIRO and ALIF THE UNSEEN from the library, I purchased copies of my own. CAIRO sat for weeks on my dining room table specifically so I could pick it up and begin all over e story here is fresh, funny, satisfying and unexpected, ironically exactly what we've come to expect from Ms. Wilson. I love Kamala's family, her friends; oh, to be tall, cool and regal like Nakia. The promising premise delivers on every level through Kamala's struggles, which are, all at once, universal, private and teenage. I am better for having experienced MS. why not five stars? I found myself oddly out of touch with the artwork. I wasn't immediately immersed in this globe as I had been with CAIRO and had difficulty following some of the panels. After future re-reads, that disconnect may fade and I'll modernize my review r now, I highly recommend MS. MARVEL and hope she and Kamala continue to search a vast and welcoming following.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    There's a certain novelty value to be found in Kamala Khan as the "first Muslin superhero" and all that, but this fresh run of Ms. Marvel wouldn't stand up for very long if that was all it had going for it. Kamala is a charming, relatable character, one of the cases where the person is more necessary to the story than the powers--it very much has that "Peter Parker" effect, although with a racial and religious demographic that isn't usually shown prominently in comics or western media in is set of five problems (plus sidestory thing) shows how Kamala obtains her powers and the very amateurish begin of her life as a superhero. It's not an especially long graphic novel because of the little number of problems included, but it's a amazing read. The physical paperback feels very slightly cheapish in construction compared to, say, my copy of Fresh 52 Supergirl Volume 1, or Power Girl: Power Trip (a much thicker graphic novel), but it now sits proudly on my shelf with the rest and I'm looking forward to adding Volumes 2-4 to them as soon as I have the cash in my acc for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Other than the Fresh 52 Batwoman I haven't picked up a DC/Marvel run in years, but I have to say that this is a amazing book for potentially jumping back in. As a huge Image, Vertigo, and Dark Horse reader, this book encapsulates a few of my favorite elements that I've come to expect from creator-owned works rather than huge cash properties. The pacing is great, it avoids a lot of genre cliches, and the background content, like scribbles on cereal boxes and text books, is absolutely hilarious. A strange comparison, but the humor feels like a dialed back Adventure Time. My only problem so far is the reveal of this arc's villain, which IMO was too over the top even for a wacky superhero book like tom line for me is that it's amazing to see a superhero book with low stakes and quirky humor instead of the typical cosmic action slog. Hoping they hold the stakes little for a while and don't introduce too a lot of hyper-powered characters from the universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I don't read a lot of comic books but I decided to give this one a test because I'd seen a lot of amazing reviews and I was excited to read about a Muslim superhero. This book far exceeded my expectations. The art is attractive and excellent for the mood of the story. The main hero is relatable but also interesting. I love how intrinsic her faith is to her story and development. The plot feels organic and flows smoothly. It doesn't feel forced at all, and is completely hero driven. This is now one of my favorite books and definitely something I would recommend to any of my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The main hero is very relatable. While I am not Muslim, I can relate to how people your age stereotype you and your cultural background. My parents are from Liberia and I've been created fun of for my traditions and my appearance (mainly hair). I feel this story is amazing for people who wish a relatable hero like her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Marvel is rewriting half their universe lately, and I like it. A 16 year old Jersey town girl is enveloped by a mist (the one sent out to explore in humans, I'm guessing) sand turns into Ms. Marvel. Needless to say, this was a bit disconcerting, to her, her best mate who learns her secret, and to her parents, who don't know if this is the machinations of a 16 year old girl or something worse. She learns to use her powers, mostly shape shifting, while balancing her fresh obligations with her private e characters are nicely drawn, believable, and relatable. Marvel has always done a God job there, well most of the time, anyway. I search the situations true (as true as a comic book gets) and Kamala's issues those of a lot of of us, especially young people.Oh yes, the hero is Muslim, btw, which adds some nice cultural backspin to the tale, but it does not become the story. I love the fact that the emphasis is on her humanity, not her religion. I mean, is Spider-Man Baptist? "He's a amazing super character but he can dance on Sundays". Kamala's Pakistani culture is interesting but not the focus of the story.I enjoyed the somewhat quirky artwork and the plot, so see what you think. Think I'll buy the next issue.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I really enjoyed this book. This is one of my first marvel graphic novels I bought and the hero is really funny and relatable. I think the best part of this is that it's not like any other heroes out there. It's about a young teenage girl who aspires to be like one of Fresh York's a lot of heroes and have super powers and soon enough she does, but it's not as simple as she thought it would be as she learns the ropes of what having powers and being a character is all about. Really fun first volume and I can't wait until the second volume!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Not comparable to Captain Marvel but fun to see a young girl learning to cope with burgeoning skills and gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I loved love loved it! Kamala struggling to balance her newly-received powers with family and school and fighting evil and EVERYTHING was so well-written it managed to hold me on the edge of my seat, while it also created me damage for her and root for her and admire her. Kamala is amazingly drawn, and the coloring is so effective, evoking Kamala's emotions and perceptions. Want I had the skill in reviewing to do honor to this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This volume seems to wrap up the Inventor story line beautiful nicely (although I've been told that in Vol. 3 he comes back??).Anyway, the ending is really satisfying and so is the journey Wilson takes the reader through to obtain there. Just the right amount of suspense and tension. I love this series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I'm a rabid fan of Ms. Marvel (and G. Willow Wilson). In an era when so a lot of comic books from the huge two are striving for a ridiculous level of realism, the stories of Kamala Khan embrace the inherent goofiness (and fun) of being a superhero. Wilson takes Marvel Comics back to the wonderful,core basics that won them millions of fans worldwide--a teenage girl who feels like a social outsider gains unbelievable powers that she tries to use for good,even as it overcomplicates her private life. Teaming up with Wolverine while fighting an evil genius parakeet is just frosting on the cake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Amazing addition to Marvel's lineup. Hope she gets to be MCU soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    My nephew loves this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Loved it. Something for everyone in here. Love how she isn't your typical female super character with a skimpy super tight outfit andunrealistic body type. I finally got this after reading about its popularity with a wide dozens of people and how so a lot of peoplereally liked it after thinking they wouldn't. I'm looking forward to having my daughter (and any subsequent kids ;) ) read these when older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I love all Ms. Marvel comics, and this is not an exception. Attractive art, awesome characters, and so much fun to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    5 stars and a bunch of exclamation points, what more do you need?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    These were perfect comics and came in amazing shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Amazing modern comic for younger women and girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why (Ms. Marvel Series) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This volume was amazing. The art style is, once again, very beautiful, with a amazing story to boot. This volume hit me very personally, since, as a member of Generation Y, you hear a lot of people complaining about us, but this book talks about our untapped potential and how amazing we can become someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Another awesome entry for this series. This one hit me a small hard, with its main story arc being rooted deeply in current happenings within the US. I feel like it dealt with problems ranging from radicalization to discrimination through an interesting lens, albeit with a sometimes comic-book style resolution that doesn't quite work in the true world. Still, I can't say enough about a series that can both create an adult think and yet be understandable and even relatable to a younger generation. Ms. Marvel continues to develop a cast of multi-dimensional characters, brilliantly grounding a superhero story with real-world issues, and makes the daily life of Kamala Khan just as, if not more interesting than her costumed life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    This problem was intense, and was a lot darker than the previous ones. Overall I love the Ms. Marvel comics, so I have fun anything they place out, but this volume actually created me scared for Kamala and her life. She's dealing with a lot more now than she has in the past. The only criticism I have is that this problem was very action packed, I like seeing a small more of Kamala and her relationships with the people around her. It makes the stakes that much higher when people are in danger.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    not amazing not bad, didn't like the art as much as I liked the old ones the story is okey

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    I'm a huge fan of Ms. Marvel and these books never disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    love this comic, Kamala khan is literally what got me back into comics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 8: Mecca (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    This was a fun volume. Ms Marvel is a amazing hero with powerful writing and consistent hero development. I learn more about her every issue. Her first several story arcs have been exciting, interesting and appropriate for a new, young superhero. Looking forward to seeing her journey continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Amazing squad ups are place together here and it shows!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Marvel Team-Up was Marvel Comic's respond to the DC's Brave and the Bold, a book dedicated to Batman squad ups. Marvel Team-Up would have Spider-Man anchoring the book. This title has had mixed reviews over the years. Some criticize it for being a lot of sound and fury signifying nothing while others praise it as being a well written and well drawn method to be introduced to the Marvel universe without being burdened with too much continuity. Both views have a certain amount of truth to them.I've never been writer Gerry Conway's largest fan but I have to admit I was rather impressed with his efforts here. He skillfully has Spider-Man, over the same story arc, teaming up with multiple heroes as they pass the guest star baton. A story that starts with the Vision ends up with the Thing. Another story begins with Iron Man, picks up the Human Torch, and ends up with the Inhumans. And to his credit there are nice touches of characterization along the way. I really enjoyed the stage where a bemused Thor chides Peter Parker for self pity. His plots weren't the greatest but quite serviceable; only the squad up with the Cat seemed be really egregiously e art was a revolving door but at least a talented one with Ross Andru, Gil Kane, and Jim Mooney. Fortunately, their styles (along with even more inkers) did not clash too is book reprints the first eleven issues. It will be interesting to see how quickly (or even if) we obtain a follow up. This is an simple book to pass up due to the low impact on Marvel continuity. It's a must have for Spider-Man fans but I recommend others to give it a test as well. Extras are a small thin - two pages of original art. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Marvel Team-Up was originally conceived as Marvel's respond to World's Finest, with Spider-Man and The Human Torch standing in for Superman and Batman. They soon realized that it was difficult to maintain continuity between Marvel Team-Up, Awesome Spider-Man and The Unbelievable Four when all three titles were written by various people. So, Marvel Team-Up was changed it Marvel's respond to The Brave and The Bold, with Spider-Man standing in for Batman and teaming with a various character every month. When I was a kid, I loved Marvel Team-Up because I got two superheroes for the price of one. Now that I'm an adult, I realize that this wasn't the best comic book that Marvel every published, but it's still a lot of fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    "Marvel Masterworks: Marvel Team-Up - Volume 1"(Marvel Comics). . .I went back and forth on this one for months. Part of me was like, Yeah! those old MTU adventures are good, easy fun from a bygone era -- it'd be cool to read them again, and another part of me was all, Are you kidding? You read those things as a child and you know how crappy they are... Don't do it! Spend your cash more wisely! Well, finally, I found this book at the right price and gave in, ready to delve again into the comics I collected and read to tatters as a kid, and maybe pass along to my child if they stood up after all these years."Marvel Team-Up" was one of the first books Marvel published in the early 1970s when it emerged from a restrictive distribution deal that kept the company from publishing more than a dozen or so titles at any given time, and its success unleashed a flood of fresh books. It was also the second title devoted to Spider-Man, although this fresh book featured Spidey being paired up with another Marvel character (just like DC's "Brave And The Bold" did with Batman...) Initially it was conceived of as a buddy-book with just Spidey and the Human Torch, but that combo got old quick, and starting with problem #4, other heroes were paired up with amazing old deed, that problem -- MTU#4 (dated September, 1972) -- featured none other than the Uncanny X-Men, whose own book had been cancelled, and it was the popularity of this appearance (and related X-Men cameos in other books) that led to the X-Men revival a few years later. I loved "Marvel Squad Up" #4, and read it more times maybe than any other comicbook I owned -- it had Spidey, a creepy villain (the vampire Morbius), and of course the mysterious X-Men who were for some reason dressed in civilian road clothes rather than spandex uniforms, which just created them seem even more mysterious and distinctive. Above all, it had some excellent, angular artwork by veteran illustrator Gil Kane, work that proved to be the best in the MTU series, at least until John Byrne took over the book four years later.And this brings us to the heart of the matter, the very reason that "Marvel Squad Up," like a lot of comics of the era is simultaneously not good and terrific: the stories and artwork were generally beautiful dumb and beautiful bad. Deliciously so. This was a time when superhero comics really were for kids, they were juvenile and slapdash, and kind of dopey and fun, in a kitschy kind of way. Years earlier, readers had been dazzled by the intense creative burst of the 1960s, when hippies, college children and science nerds embraced the groundbreaking Lee-Ditko-Kirby-Romita masterpieces and comicbooks were finally recognized as an artform worthy of serious consideration (much as the Beatles had legitimized rock'n'roll...) But as the 1970s dawned, Marvel Comics had largely lost its creative mojo, as a fresh generation of writers and illustrators took over, and delivered the rather sloppy, garish, just plain stupid stories that become known as Marvel's "Bronze Age" ere are a lot of 'Seventies comic creators -- illustrators, in particular -- whose work I didn't like, even as a kid, and some of them are featured here. Ross Andru, who became "the" Spider-Man artist for much of the decade, started his run drawing Spidey right here with problem #1 of MTU, working with a dozens of inkers. By the mid'70s, I came to loathe his artwork, along with that of Herb Trimpe (who did the Hulk) and to a lesser extent Sal Buscema, who did just about every other Marvel comic at the e funny thing is, though, reading this items again, now -- as a sophisticated, urbane, all-grown-up-but-still-reading-comics-as-an-adult total dork -- I still search myself charmed by them, and entertained at about the same, I-know-this-is-trashy, but-I-like-it-anyway level as I did back then. Writer Gerry Conway (who I learned from the introductory essay was just a college-age child when he wrote this stuff) was one of those writers who banged out silly, quick-and-dirty sock-'em-up Bronze Age superhero stories, and like a lot of other writers of the era tried to make dramatic tension by having characters, in this case the amazing guys, argue over everything. The kvetchy, crabby tone not just of Spidey but also most of his co-stars ("Hey, watch it web-head!! Do you know who you're messing with here?!?") is a weird affectation, and part of the goofy charm of these old stories. I also found myself surprised at how much I was able to appreciate Ross Andru's art for its amazing points, rather than frown on it for its weaknesses. Sure, it's ugly, but it's also effective: now I message efficiently Andru was able to tutorial the reader's eye to follow the line of action, in a semi-Kirbyesque way... This isn't stylish work, but it is dynamic and draws you in. Of course, it makes a huge difference who's inking his work. I actually like Jim Mooney's work as both inker and penciller, but there is one issue, inked by some guy named Frank Bolle, that is one of the ugliest mainstream comicbooks you're ever likely to read.Anyway, to sum up, these Spidey stories from 1972-73 are not amazing art, but they are kind of fun, and are certainly emblematic of the style of the time. It seems doubtful that I'll re-read them so much that the cover will fall off like I did with the original issues, but I think I'll be able to hand them to my child and say, "Hey, look at the dumb items Daddy read as a kid... It's fun, right?" (DJ Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain kids' lit book reviews)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 1 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Exactly what it promises. Cool art and okay stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 2 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    ...but by no means the nadir, is masterworks volume offers fair value for the money. There are 11 problems of Marvel Team-Up (#12-#22) and a gift problem of Daredevil (#103) tossed in. Extras are rather slim with two original art pages. On the other hand Roy Thomas manages the impressive feat of writing an interesting introduction to a group of problems he cheerfully admits not having much to do e problems in this volume work as well as they do because of writer Len Wein who gives the book a level of consistency even with a lot of factors working versus him. These factors contain the guest of the month format, the low page count at this point in Marvel history (19), and the revolving door of pencillers and especially inkers. There is an inescapable feeling that the title is getting whomever has some time on their spite this the stories work surprisingly well. They are heavily plotted (indeed, over plotted) but given the squad up format that's really the only method to go. Wein's not going to be allowed much scope for hero development since the characters aren't "his" so what else can he do?The book includes a mix of fresh and old villains. The fresh villains are definitely a mixed bag. The Orb and Stegron are beautiful lame but Basilisk wasn't poor at all. The old villains like Tiger Shark, Blastaar, and Quasimodo are used rather l in all, the volume is fairly missable unless one is a Spider-Man or Marvel completist but can be nevertheless be recommended as a fast and entertaining read. The fact that the first volume got a fast follow up suggests that a lot of readers agree. I'm up for more volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Team-Up Masterworks Vol. 2 (Marvel Team-Up (1972-1985)) review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:1

    In the 1970s, Marvel Comics typically had amazing covers, and more often than not -- they were illustrated by Gil Kane. Unfortuantely, the covers tended to have better art than the interiors. What's nice, and somewhat surprising, about this volume is the interior art holds up. One reason is that Gil Kane illustrates several of the stories. The Captain America tale features Kane on art with inks by Frank Giacoia, and the combo produced some dynamic artwork. Ross Andru, Sal Buscema and Don Perlin round out the artwork for the remaining stories with Andru's efforts being somewhat superior to Buscema's and Ploogs. If you read comics in the 70s, you'll have fun this volume, but compared to today's storytelling, the scripts can be a bit jarring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Vibrant artwork. Entertaining story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    it was free

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Kelly Sue is truly one of the greatest writers working in comics and Lopez's art is top notch. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm a long-time Captain Marvel fan and am glad to obtain some of the later ones I've missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Kelly Sue Deconnick, David Lopez and Lee Loughridge has place together a masterpiece, the story line, artwork and hero development makes this series a amazing read. I love the fact that they bring in a Guardians of the Galaxy story line. I hope Marvel will hold it going with this series, also would like to see Rhodey aka Battle Machine squad up with Carol in the future.I would love to see Carol Danvers in a marvel film along with Power Man, Iron Fist and Misty Knight these characters need to be on the huge screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm somewhat of a fanboy and obtain everything "Carol Danvers", even the flops. While I still don't like the suit I'm getting used to it and when it boils down to it the only thing that matters is that Carol is still Marvel, Captain or otherwise and she's awesome! Carol is a unbelievable stand alone hero with a ton of power and this book reminds people of that or shows them what an individual she is outside of the Avengers. Like a huge number of Carol Danvers fans I'm praying they create a film for her starring Katee Salkhoff (Hey Disney! Pay her whatever she wants!!). Amazing artwork and story shows this book has endless possibilities and GOTG crossovers and hopefully more away from "earthcenterofthedamnuniverse'" stories. More please!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I've been meaning to give Kelly Sue DeConnick's Captain Marvel a shot for a long time. Because, Kelly Sue DeConnick. And people went bananas over her work with Captain Marvel. The volume had its moments. I appreciate the diversity throughout. The story was interesting enough. If the next two volumes fell into my lap I would totally read them. What I'm saying is, I didn't love it enough to spend more cash on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I wanted to obtain into some of the marvel superheroes and she seemed cool. There isn't really anything thing gritty and crazy but I think that's good. It's just a simple, fun, exciting adventure with some amazing cameo's from other heroes as well. I didn't know much about her going into this but this is a really cool book and amazing story for fresh readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More (Captain Marvel (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I really enjoyed this story. It was fun to see a super character in space. But that was a small different. If you like Guardians of the Galaxy then you will really have fun with this story. Captain Marvel is a powerful brave character who has to face obstacles in a globe she doesn't know and deals with a culture she doesn't understand and it turns into something bigger than she understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 7: Damage Per Second (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This series still going strong, I liked the art "except the first and the latest problem in this volume", I didn't like the story in the first problem of this volume but the other problems "the main story" was amazing overall it is still going powerful and I am enjoying every volume

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ms. Marvel Vol. 7: Damage Per Second (Ms. Marvel (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I like the story line in this comic. It's nice and down to earth, Ms. marvel doesn't use all her powers for every small detail, and she takes tip from her friends.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter