Mod eon-northamerica.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=lpe88.life Reviews & Opinions


Submit Mod eon-northamerica.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=lpe88.life review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    This book was a bit of a "reintroduction" to PHP. I have used PHP in the distant past but have been using somewhat more recently. The explanations were carefully written and the code example(s) were well crafted. I would say that some primary knowledge of HTML is certainly needed and that one should know the basics of how a page is processed on a web server. Once you read this easy "Quick Begin Guide" you are well equipped to delve into PHP and its' extensive preprocessing capabilities. My sincere thanks to the authors!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I guess this was a satisfactory beginners tutorial but it didn't go much beyond that and the PHP code examples given in steps in the book differed from the completed code in the Appendix. I was a small disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    Nice book.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Mod eon-northamerica.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=lpe88.life or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Mod eon-northamerica.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=lpe88.life video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    It's too short.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    In today's society, it's hard for most people to imagine life without private computers and the Internet. Public access to the Internet may be responsible for more changes in the method we carry out our day-to-day lives than any other happening in history. Today, businesses without www services are rarities, as are people in the free globe that don't spend at least part of their day using the Internet for one purpose or another.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I was referred by a mate to check this book out for support with creating contact forms.Upon reading I realized I was getting so much more...Plenty of information on scripting/programming fundamentalswith plenty of code supplied. I really liked the copy and paste options. I will refer to this book often!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    This is a very interesting book for Beginners who'd like to explore what-the-heck PHO is and how it might apply to you. I learned that it is all about Web development, esp. In the zone of blogs! Since I went in knowing absolutely nothing, not even what the acronym stands for, I am very impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I have a CIS degree and PHP is a very sought after skill in my field. I literally had one course that taught PHP so I've been looking to brush up on this skill. I found this book to be easy to under and everything was very well explained. This is a really amazing tutorial for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    I used to work with PHP and CSS a small bit with my WordPress pages but never got any formal training for it. This was a amazing refresher for the PHP syntax and some of the other things I forgot to do (like embedding PHP). This will definitely come in use as a handy reference tutorial when I need it as I jump back into PHP. Recommended for anybody wanting to obtain a fast grasp on PHP fundamentals!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PHP: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To PHP (PHP, PHP Programming, PHP5, PHP Web Services) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:5

    This is a amazing tutorial to teach the newcomer how to write code for a web site. I am a complete novice but this topic has intrigued me for a while and after reading this book, I have a much better grasp of the subject. Well written with lots of content. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    amazing at what it does, i have high hopes for the future, i hooe they intigrate the hero sheets thiugh through chrome isnt much of a problem, current gaming li ation has amazing wireless connection but offline access would be [email protected]#$%

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    would love to rate it higher, but as previously mentioned no method to edit or make characters yet. Secondly not sure if special to me but all of the books that i do have bought i cannot download. It will flash the download bar for a split second then it disappears and just says downloading. If i leave it and come back to it in 5 mins, 10 mins, even an hour later it will either still say downloading. Or it will restart back to download.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Won't allow me buy anything, because I'm not in the US. What is this, 2005? This is their own IP, but they still limit sales by location. Terrible, not good business model. This is exactly why people pirate materials!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    As a beta, it functions as described. It's a digital reader, and a amazing tool to have on the go if, like me, you're a DM or player who wants to brush up on rules or campaign settings. It is NOT an app-version of the full website. Here's my reasons for an average star-rating: 1. Some of the in-text links are not formatted correctly, and lead nowhere. This appears to auto-report when it happens though. 2. This application has no option of deleting individual downloads to free storage space.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Halfway there! I am having an problem I've been reporting for about a month now. When I click a green link in the text to look at a monster/item/etc. the application crashes 9/10 times. fixing that is 4 stars. The fifth star would be Hero Sheets.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Would be 5 starts except there is no method to work with your characters in this app. A huge reason for this website is to manage your characters, yet you can't even see them with this app. I will just use the internet website from my phone rather than use this app. Amazing application for information, that you need to pay for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    I dn't knw wht's going on wth the dvlpmnt of ths app. A rcnt modernize brought the ablty to actlly read yr dwnlded books, and to nvgte within them. The current updte, though, has rvrted to utter uselessness. Prssng on the Primary Rules cvr img, for exmple, brings me to a page headed "Diseases". Thr's a sub-hdng for Sample Diseases, which prvdes 3 example diseases. Tht's the sum-total of evrythng accssble in the Primary Rules bk wthout usng the Find feature. Dec 21 update: no change, still broken.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    I can't view my characters which is the only reason I downloaded this app. Not to mention you have to physically download every single thing you view on the website instead of just being able to view it like you can in the site. What's the point of this app? It does literally nothing but take up space.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    I like this application and it's beautiful useful, but some of the monsters for looking up info on, like the Dracolich or the Young Red Shadow Dragon, makes the app crash. Not sure how a lot of other creatures this application does that crash result to but, I do hope this issue is fixed soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Major Functionality Missing. This application doesn't present your hero sheets or campaigns. It only shows you the content of the books you've purchased through the site.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Will not and is not able to download the primary rules, spent half the day attempting ... It keeps stopping, halting and cutting off it's own download. The internet connection is not the issue in this case. Plus I have most the hard cover books & have to pay basically full price, again for books i have to use with an app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    It would be nice if you could view the characters you made on their website, but i do appreciate having an easily indexed copy of the books I've purchased on my phone. It's amazing for fast reference to the books, but that's about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    will create 5 stars when I can use this application to shop my hero sheets. I'm on a note 9 and all I obtain is a library of books, doesnt support to have said library when I have to run your www service and discord and this application to manage my character. please do somethi g about this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Really like the accessibility of this , but there is NO method to view characters created. you have to use the Actual Www service base for that..so what's the reasoning behind this application ?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Most necessary feature not included. Hero builder and management are not accessible on the app. Defeating the purpose of mobility. Should consider two apps. One application for info tooltips and second for hero management.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Since a latest modernize it restarts my phone on login. Honor 7. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling, does not help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    this is beautiful bad. forcing download of content that should be available online. no hero access. what a waste of data.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    POS. Cannot login, buffers for eternity. completely useless since I cannot access any of my hero or campaign information since it's locked behind a broken login screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Pricing is total garbage. I'll wait until I don't have to buy all the books I've already purchased again for full price so I can watch ads in the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    I like the idea of it ,but a lot of the time it just doesn't load. I also don't like that I have to buy the core books. When I already own them just to use them in the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    would be a 4 or 5 if u could manage or even access your characters/campaigns. If I need a computer for my hero then I would just use begin the content on the computer as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Quite a few bugs on an incomplete app. I obtain where they're going, but they are quite a ways from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    stop the greed and allow us activate our hard copies of the books we purchased (not chesp might I add) on DnD beyond... thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    I do use the application as a reference for looking up spells and stuff on the fly. However it would be very neat if the www service and application were interlinked for hero creation and usage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Bookmarks don't always work, and like a lot of others have said: needs hero creator and hero sheet download. But unbelievable otherwise

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    solid method to obtain dnd content. I do hope that they bring in the hero sheets and maybe even a play environment like roll 20 and fantasy grounds. love the ease of use and cross referencing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Starts getting useful now. When hero management becomes available it's a definite 5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Worthless without access to your characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    No option to use physical books you own on this app, it does not work as a amazing source of info without digital purchases.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Can't even view your hero sheet

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    it was amazing but one of the main features for me is the hero builder but it isnt there or i just cant search it so please add this in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    amazing app, but mabye you could add the hero creator in the application so I dont have to switch from the application to the www service constantly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    no hero sheet. what's the point?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    cant download the primary y wish to view my hero like I could on the previous ver of this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Uhh, where is the hero creator. Eee like where did it go. I thought I remember it being here, as the main purpose for the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    Not poor if you're looking to reference books. But you can't access your characters or campaigns from. It.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    cant purchase books from canada... cant work with charactor sheets either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    doesn't let you to view D&D beyond hero sheets you created on the web

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    cant do anything because i live in canada, cant even buy the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Beyond review [App]  2019-1-12 21:15

    everything qorks perfectly juat waiting in thr hero creater/viewer

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Convert review [App]  2019-2-5 13:18

    does not convert to Schrute bucks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Political Life review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    On this reviewer's shelf are a long and massive row of books on Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945). He was born in Fresh York to a mother hen mother named Sarah. His father died when he was a boy. Franklin was very rich and traveled to Europe several times in his youth. He graduated from Groton and Harvard taking classes in law at Columbia University. Roosevelt wed his cousin Eleanor and the couple had several children. He was unfaithful with Lucy Mercy though he and Eleanor created a formidable political squad with the support of Louis Howe. FDR was a successful governor of Fresh York and had previously served as Assistant Secretary to the Navy (as had his distant cousin Theodore Roosevelt). FDR was elected POTUS in 1932 and served in that office until his death at Warm Springs Georgia in 1945. He often retreated to Warm Springs for therapy for his legs (he was a polio victim since 1921). FDR ranks as one of our three greatest presidents along with George Washington and Abraham Lincoln. During the Depression his famed Fresh Deal developed such programs as the WPA, AA, CCC, FCC, FDIC and a lot of other alphabet agencies. Social Security became law in 1935. He failed to package the Supreme Court with liberal judges. FDR urged the United States to move from neutrality to help of Amazing Britain and the Allies and Lend Lease helped those free people fighting the Nazis. With the attack on Pearl Harbor on Dec. 7, 1941 the US was at battle with Japan. Hitler and Mussolini soon after declared battle on the US. Roosevelt was a amazing wartime leader and died a few days before VE day. FDR was probably in love with Daisy Suckly and had a enigmatic hero hard to decipher. He loved the sea, sailing and stamp collecting. He was a amazing public speaker and used radio well with his Fireside Chats. I have read most of Dr. Robert Dallek's amazing books on political figures from JFK to LBJ and Nixon. He is a fine author and makes the topic under discussion understandable to the general reader. This fresh book on FDR is a amazing one volume work on the man from Hyde Park. A amazing book on a amazing man,. FDR was not excellent and his records on civil rights for African-Americans was nothing to write home about. His putting 120,000 Japanese Americans in camps during Globe Battle II was not conducive of civil rights for all Americans. And yet he was a amazing man steering the US through the poor and choppy waters of Depression and globe war. His friendship and joint leadership with Prime Minister Winston Churchill benefitted both the US and Amazing Britain. He favored the establishment of the United Nation. Oh for his likes on the national scene in this age of mediocrity and not good leadership! Thank you Robert Dallek for your biography! Thank you FDR for all you did for our country!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Political Life review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    Robert Dallek is a fine court historian. He can be depended upon to repeat the myths that FDR worshipers wish to be repeated. “FDR constantly governed on whims, hunches and hail-Mary passes.” Historians today are still repeating the story that the idea of unconditional surrender “popped” into FDR’s head at Casablanca. In fact it had been thoroughly studied by a group of communist bureaucrats for months. Dallke repeats the fairytale about post battle Europe: “It is refreshing to study a record of American foreign policy toward Western Europe since the Second Globe War. . . .instead of an imperialistic America exploiting Europe's weakness, these documents reveal a generous and often realistic government of the United States aiding a prostrate Europe to regain economic health, defend herself from internal and external threats, and integrate a rebuilt, democratic Germany into the mainstream of her economic and political life.” This is tantamount to holocaust denial. Read The Morgenthau Plan: Soviet Influence on American Postwar Policy. Millions died postwar and eastern Europe was enslaved. The Roosevelt administration was riddled with communists. Harry Dexter White was a diligent recruiter. This is the origin of much of the deep state.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Political Life review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I have only read a little part to obtain started. But, it is detailed and readable as all of Mr. Dallek's works. Unbelievable insights into a complicated man of a lot of accomplishments.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Political Life review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    It’s very amazing so far. It’s not a one volume biography of the man and legend by any means, but that wasn’t what I was looking for. It’s a study into the “political life” of FDR from his earliest days to his final days, and it is very substantive. I’ll modernize once I’ve finished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Political Life review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    Nineteen pages into the book, Dallek has the wrong year for the Lindberg flight and has confusedBedford, MA with Fresh Bedford, MA. Not sure how much more I can take.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Kathryn Sermak’s MISS D & ME is a tribute to the latest years of Bette Davis’s life. Sermak served as Davis’s assistant for seven years, living and traveling with her, helping her prepare for movie roles, and seeing her through several very difficult trials. The Bette Davis we see in this book is both the acerbic, witty, scathingly opinionated Star we know from such movies as “All About Eve” and “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?,” and the aging, fragile woman who suffered through breast cancer, several strokes, and the betrayal of her beloved daughter, B. D. Hyman. Sermak’s perspective gives us a window into what Davis’s final years were like, and insight into the mind of an iconic figure who will always be part of American rmak started working for Bette Davis in 1979, when the actress was 71 and Sermak was in her early 20’s. Their relationship got off to a bit of a rocky start, with Davis determined to remake Sermak into the kind of assistant she required. This involved training her how to walk properly, how to shake hands with authority and confidence, how to use the correct utensils during formal meals, and to avoid overuse of the word “okay.” The Bette Davis we see in the early pages of this book is a perfectionist, domineering and unrelenting in her need to control the people around her. She goes so far as to “suggest” that Catherine Sermak change the spelling of her first name to “Kathryn,” since it would create her stand out more from the millions of Catherines out there. At one point, Sermak laments, “Do I have to completely reinvent myself to please her?” But Sermak is clear that no matter how difficult those first few months were, she learned a lot from Davis, and became a stronger, more confident woman because of her.MISS D & ME chronicles several of Davis’s most trying times, which happened during her years with Sermak. These contain her bout with breast cancer, her debilitating strokes, and her eventual breakup with her daughter, B. D. Hyman. Hyman’s tell-all book, “My Mother’s Keeper,” was published during Davis’s recovery from her stroke, and it devastated Davis by its portrayal of her as an abusive alcoholic. Sermak surmises that Hyman may have expected Davis to die after her stroke (the doctors did expect this), which would have meant the book would be published after her death (as “Mommie Dearest” was published after Joan Crawford’s death). But Davis’s recovery resulted in a final break between Hyman and Davis, who eventually disinherited her and her e most interesting part of MISS D & ME is actually Sermak’s accounting of a street trip she and Davis took from Biarritz to Paris in August of 1985. There we obtain to see a side of Bette Davis that we don’t see in either her movies or the a lot of interviews she has given over the years. By this time, she and Sermak had become much more than employer and employee. They were close friends, and Davis even referred to Sermak as her “step-daughter.” Davis gave Sermak a lot of tip during this street trip, including tip on how to remain a powerful and independent woman – a woman of value – even with the man you love. Davis admitted that she herself had “failed at love” (she married four times, but was alone in the final years of her life), but she had succeeded in remaining her own woman. That, perhaps, is her signature achievement.Overall, MISS D & ME is an interesting acc of the final years of a fascinating woman. There’s not a lot here about Davis’s career, or her acting methods, but there is much about her life, her relationships with her children, and her method of thinking. She was undoubtedly a perfectionist, with small tolerance for those who disappointed her. And we clearly obtain glimpses of the things her daughter may have seen as abusive – it would not be simple to be raised by a woman like Bette Davis! I enjoyed reading this book very much, although I have to say that the epilogue (which chronicles Davis’s death in France in 1989) brought in an element of religion and spirituality which was absent from the rest of the book. In fact, the only true reference to religion before the epilogue is a stage where B. D. Hyman reveals her born-again Christianity, which further distances her from Davis. Sermak’s trip to Lourdes, and her spiritual experiences surrounding Davis’s death, seemed oddly out of sync with what was, until then, a very down-to-earth recounting of her years with Davis. That said, this is a book that will appeal to any fan of Bette Davis. I do recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    This is the book that Bette Davis fans have been waiting for forever. When Davis passed away, I expected her assistant Kathryn Sermak to write a kind, loving and honest book about their time together. My expectations were not disappointed. Sermak approached B.D. with respect and her recollections were touching. In my mind, Sermak became Davis' surrogate daughter and trusted friend. I used to joke with a mate that who would expect a powerhouse like B.D. to go soft and squishy on people? In a sense Davis was honest with Sermak and allow her in her life. As I started reading this book, I found it hard to place down. While I never viewed B.D. as out of the public' favor, being an aging actress without meaty acting opportunities must have been a @#$%!. I enjoyed Sermak's take on her friendship with her boss and found myself satisfied that Davis didn't die alone and neglected. Sermak could have blatantly lied to spice up book sales, but this book had a tone of honesty and truth to it which is why it was interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Bette Davis is an icon. That much is true. I have been a fan for a lot of years and I remember watching her on late night talk shows in the 80s. She was feisty and interesting and I had always loved her old movies. This book represents the latter part of Miss D's life. At first, I didn't have fun this book. I thought it was all a bit pretentious. The demanding aging actress and the young assistant who had worked for a Saudi Princess and had toured Europe and had been an au paire in France all by the age of 19. Okay, far removed from reality here....however, as I kept reading, and it didn't take long, my opinion changed.I loved this book. It's not far removed from reality. It's about aging and youth, friendship, work, laughter, pain and life in general. Miss D was a grave perfectionist with a razor sharp wit. Luckily, she found Kathy, another person tough enough to withstand someone like Bette Davis. I am sure I wouldn't have lasted and Kathy almost didn't either, but through tests and time, she became very necessary to her employer and during a time when Miss D required someone to really watch her back, she had a rock solid human being to do so.I feel this book is a homage to Miss D, but more so, it's a bonus to fans. I appreciate it. The frailty of old age is show here, even in the persona of such a brave soul as Miss D. The tenderness in which Kathy treats her, along with the toughness to ride through hard times is eloquently presented in the pages of this book. I blubbered through the second half, and I felt exhilarated with their street trip to Paris with no true schedule. The ladies rode in a big, black vehicle without a care and stopped in quaint villages and enjoyed the view of the ocean and the countryside with abandon with no demands to be met and no scripts to read. They deserved that trip and I am satisfied to have had the opportunity to read about it. (Chateaubraind!!)I also like how Kathy was fair to BD. The tell all book by BD was a hellish nightmare for a woman as devoted to her family as Miss D. She worked hard to help family her entire life, and BD chose the street she did. I am sure Miss D was not saintly and was demanding to live with, but BD could have had the strength to walk away and live her life however she saw fit if her Mom had been so bad, but she didn't. She didn't desert her Mother until she was a senior and had suffered major health setbacks. Only then, did BD sock it to her Mom for whatever reason. No one will ever know complete truths about anything, but, this book was fair to BD. It speaks of her betrayal, but it also talks of how close the two had been before the book.I appreciate the opportunity to read this fine book. Like they say: Old age isn't for sissies! Hmmm, I wonder who said that? Kath treated Miss D with dignity during her latest years and I am sure she helped an enormous amount, but not because she was being paid, and not because she was working for a popular film star. The unlikely duo had become close mates and those are hard to come by. This book is written with love and it transcends cash or matter and it deals with the heart. This book is full of it. Read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Many, a lot of things have been written about Bette Davis, particularly about her early and mid career, her different wars with studios, directors, and, yes, Joan. Aside from a lot of biographies of varying quality, we also have her two memoirs and a ridiculous TV present to go to for information. The story of Bette’s life is usually most successfully told by looking through the lens of her career, and is one filled with rage, determination, and triumph. However, by the 80’s, the career slowed down, and Bette’s later years were, to place it mildly, difficult. After being plagued by a series of health issues -- breast cancer leading to a double mastectomy, and then a stroke which impaired her speech and mobility -- it was her daughter’s attempt at capitalizing on the success of Mommie Dearest with the (mostly debunked) “tell all” book My Mother’s Keeper -- that dealt the blow that Bette never really recovered from. A lot of what we know about this period of Bette’s life is speculation and hearsay, which is why I was so excited about the publication of Miss D & Me, Kathryn Sermak’s acc of her time spent as Bette’s assistant and mate in her final r reasons that aren’t entirely clear to me, my obsession with Bette Davis grows deeper over time. Aside from her two memoirs, I’ve read every single biography that exists. Yes, maybe I should spend more time outdoors, but anyway -- some stories contradict others, but piecing all of these things together and looking at the broad picture, I’ve managed to obtain what I think of as a beautiful amazing sense of what Bette Davis was like as a real, complicated, occasionally infuriating person. So, while we really only have Sermak’s word to go by with most of the one-on-one encounters between them in this book, with everything we know about Bette, these stories all come across as truthful.What we’re given here is not an objective biography -- it’s not intended as one. We have one woman’s perspective that comes across as reverent but not starry-eyed. Sermak does not shy away from showing us some of Bette’s low points, her moments of less flattering behavior, and her historic and infamous sudden explosions of fury and rage. She doesn’t test to create excuses for Bette’s behavior. But one thing Sermak does very well here, and that I appreciate, is giving us the context and backstory to properly frame these moments. Bette was an extremely complicated and contradictory person, used to getting her own way, and Sermak’s portrait of a woman who spent her entire life fiercely protective of her independence suddenly have to come to terms with her own mortality and physical limitations is heartbreaking and powerful.While a lot of the book was mostly confirmation for me of things I already suspected and half-knew, the true gem here for Bette fans is the final section. In the summer of 1985, Kathryn and Bette took a roadtrip across France, and for possibly the first time, Bette allowed a schedule that was not meticulously plotted and micromanaged. I had never seen info of this trip mentioned anywhere else before, and it was an absolute delight being able to read about these two women going on an adventure like this and seeing Bette being able to relax and have fun herself so close to the end of her life.Miss D & Me is a true bonus to Bette’s fans, whether they have a casual enjoyment of her films or they’re somewhat psychotically obsessed like I am, and I’m so grateful that Kathryn finally got this out into the world. It is a clear, honest, and respectful acc of the final years of one of the most remarkable women of the 20th Century, and comes across as a real labor of love. Kathryn, if you ever happen to read this, on behalf of all Bette fans -- thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Having finished reading Whitney Stine's "Mother Goddam: Bette Davis", the 1974 book was written for Bette Davis to set the record straight about her private and professional at was then. What we have now is Kathryn Sermak's "Miss D & Me", a book written by Bette Davis' assistant and gives us an insight of what it was like for Kathryn to work for Bette Davis.While Bette Davis is featured, the book is more or less Kathryn's book about her private life, working with Bette Davis and how she grew fond of working for Bette, even though there were some rocky moments, especially when it comes to Bette's daughter, B.D. is was a section I probably was very interested in reading in the book. While Bette Davis had her own method of showing love, obviously through Sermak's book, it shows us the discord and the heartbreak that Davis' went is is very interesting because when her daughter wrote "My Mother's Keeper" back (rel. 1987), you wondered, her mother was still alive, sick and yet the book came out and showcasing an unflattering portrayal of Bette Davis.What Kathryn Sermak's book does present us that she had a special method of showing love, care to people close to her. She was very well-guarded, she was very serious about work and learned to close anything painful or emotional for her craft and that she was a consummate a way, the book in someways, and this is the vibe that I got after reading it was that Bette Davis, almost looked at Kathryn as the daughter she wanted to have. Straightforward and stern, teaching her mannerisms and rules that must be followed in her home. She was demanding but at the same time, you give her the respect, you go by her rules and Kathryn Sermak was able to see a view that people never had of Bette Davis in her later years.Often you hear the word "recluse" describing a lot of legendary Hollywood actresses but I think that friendship/professional business relationship that Sermak was able to have with Bette Davis was necessary and probably preventing the actress from being a recluse. She had Davis with her and to present you how dedicated and loyal she was, she would go on vacation with a man, a possible suitor but yet, on her vacation time, she would still call Bette Davis. In some ways, they seem like a mother and daughter team.And despite Bette Davis having a true daughter, Sermak would go into detail of the things that Davis would say. From her daughter giving her lectures, her daughter changing their number so her mother couldn't reach her, Bette and her daughter Bede had a major disconnect and I reading "Miss D and Me", you could see why she opened up to Kathryn.But you have to also be amazed by Kathryn's patience and willing to learn, as a lot of workers didn't latest around Bette Davis. But Kathryn, no matter how a lot of times she was lectured at or told she couldn't do this or that, she saw it as learning and wanting to do better. And from then on, their working relationship would blossom to a friendship and almost like a mother and daughter te Davis told Kathryn during one of the latest moments when she was alert was "Someday you will write about the time you spent with me, Kath," Davis told Kathryn. "And when you do, I wish you to begin in Biarritz".Sermak was with Davis when she took her latest breath and was there alone with her, wanting to be with her boss, her amazing friend.And I'm grateful for Kathryn Sermak for this book. This book came out years after Davis' death and I'm sure it was emotional, difficult but I'm sure Bette Davis would be proud. She wrote the book about the time she spent with Bette Davis, but it also gave us a perspective of Bette Davis in her later de Hyman may not wrote this most flattering book about her mother back in 1987, but fortunately, we have Bette's assistant Kathryn Sermak's book that provides us unbelievable insight to the Bette Davis' life, specifically in the final spectful, insightful and recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    The author has indeed given those of us who want we knew the real Bette Davis a gift...we now have a true sense of who she was. This book tells all sides. The tough, demanding, powerful Bette and the loving, caring, helpful Bette. And so much more!!! The author doesn't sugar coat anything and I thank her for that. As you can imagine it wasn't always an simple relationship but that is why you believe her when she tells you the other side of "Miss D". She's funny, loving, sometimes easily wounded and vulnerable, warm, honest, adventurous, caring, loyal and always full of life. Ms. Sermak reveals times as they both learned lessons about themselves and each other. We obtain almost a day to day acc of the ups and downs of getting to know each other, of getting to trust each other and without a doubt, loving each other. If you love Bette Davis, you search yourself feeling so thankful that rmak was there to protect her, to support her, to be her mate (her real friend) and as I see it, her surrogate daughter. It's a joy to imagine Miss Davis grinning from ear to ear in heaven saying "You did it Kath. You set the record straight. They now know that I'm human. Tough, yes! But not the creature Bede tried to paint. I'm human just like they are. I'm complicated and powerful and weak and tough and loving. Willing to teach and willing to learn. Willing to give, give, give. They may not have known that about me but now they do. Thank you Kath, for writing this and above all for your friendship and your love". You obtain satisfied at the thought that this book gives Miss D. something to smile about after the difficult wars she faced near the end. And you're thankful that Ms. Sermak was not only there to support her through but then to give us this bonus of sharing that journey with the rest of us. This is an awesome ride, historically and emotionally and I thank her for sharing the ride with us and allowing us to feel like we got to go on it with them. Now if that isn't a bonus I don't know what is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Miss Sermak serves her mistress well with this insightful book about arguably the greatest Actress of Hollywood's Golden Era. (I often thought that Hepburn won four Oscars but she really only earned two, hers being a case of when you're torn between printing the truth or the legend, then by all means, print the legend). Bette Davis earned every accolade she ever got with gritty, commanding, intensely subtle performances that created her the amazing star she was.I often wondered what the latest ten years of her life must have been like with all those glories behind her and only obstacles before her in what should have been the latest years of savoring that career like no other. Miss Sermak has given us that final portrait in intimate strokes that paint a picture of the indomitable spirit assailed on all sides by betrayal, both physical and emotional. It's also a glimpse into a forthright friendship between two women who required each is begins two years after Miss D's stroke and ends with her death. A period of time when that Yankee spirit that had gotten her through the Golden Age with her integrity intact and a track record of performances that even Miss Hepburn must have envied was place to its ultimate does not allow us down in any way. It shows her weaknesses and her warts but it also shows that inner flame that burnt eternally and kept her in the public eye til the very e emotional tragedy was of course her daughter's biography that painted a picture of Bette Davis that shocked the globe and absolutely floored her. I am not one to heap coals on her daughter's head because all stories include a grain of truth and unlike Miss Sermak, her daughter lived with her longer and closer. So I've lived long enough to know that even though her daughter's book is striking out with a vengeance, Miss Davis must have born some of the responsibility for such a vicious attack at so vulnerable a point in her life.But that aside this book deals with how she regrouped, reformed and carried on in that Yankee spirit which had stood her so well. The friendship of the two women is undeniable and very insightful. I enjoyed every page and I recommend it to fans of Miss Davis who are discerning enough to be curious about this period and at the same time able to separate this decade from the a lot of that came before.I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    This is not your typical celebrity biog, but a well written and heartfelt love letter to a mentor and friend. Small did Ms. Davis know when she hired Ms. Sermak that she would be gaining more than an employee but a loyal and devoted mate of the heart. Each had much to learn from each other and following their journey is compelling reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Edit: I do not like that I had to manually set the permissions (if this is an Android device issue it's the first time I have seen it) that out of the method I have​ been thinking of buying the physical android game and this application has convince me to do so. It's very well made, controls well, and bit on the hard side (that's not poor in my book) definitely recommend. Not launching Pixel XL (8.0) Not going to rate low yet, but please fix asap so I can scratch this itch xD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    I love everything about it, except the top AI is a bit weak. An obvious simple tweak would be to create the AI gang up on you more. In a 3 player, I should probably obtain almost all the Mandatory Quests, instead it seems the war it out for 2nd place. The Chromecast suggestion in another review would be great. Still trying to search that assassin Board android game application that makes playing with TV and smartphone actually viable/enjoyable. An in application but report feature would be amazing too. Using review comments to say "AI was able to use a building destroyed by an intrigue card" isn't ideal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    All I see is a black screen when starting the application on my Pixel. I've already checked the app's permissions. Please fix this problem as I've paid for this app. To your response: I'm not sure why you're replying with the same canned notice as I've already stated changing the permissions did not work. All I obtain is an error to reinstall. It's a circle of failure that needs to be fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    I'm not getting any notifications when invites are sent for games. Email notifications work, but not phone notifications. I don't wish emails! My application preferences present that notifications are on and I have Android device notifications set to "on" in the android game itself. Any help?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Application will not intitiate and launch. Waste of 10$. Please problem a refund. Google pixel Xl Android device 8.0.0. Received email regarding complaints. IT help is no support regarding failed product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Really amazing game, but I think it should have the option to leave player interaction until after the end turn button is pressed. Getting a notification to begin application and then only getting to select a response to an Intrigue or Building resolution is a small annoying. Obviously this should be optional as not everyone would like this and it could affect how other turns are resolved. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Played the True estate intruige card and chose the building to eliminate...then x when i changed my mind... but build was still lost. Also the "when played/started add 2" the computer doesnt always place in the 2, nor present the 2 there . Else amazing game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    10/20/17 - Online login broken. Application opens but pressing Green arrow to login freezes. Back to four star rating when fixed. (Google Pixel Android device 8). Well done and faithful implementation of the boardgame. Amazing AI strength, multiplayer is well supported. Visually is excellently rendered. You may wish to shut off the audio. The melody is repetitive though not too intrusive. There are some sound files that sound like placeholder files were left behind - instead of instrumental melody cues, there are what sound like the game's developers humming small tunes. Controls are probably better on tablets, very fiddly on phones. Overall a amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Had to set permissions manually on Nexus phone, otherwise it was just black screen at start. Android game is really amazing anyway. Not dropping any stars because minor bug in permissions setup.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    I love it. Amazing implementation of physical board game. One suggestion : provide the ability for users to sort their online android games (awaiting their turn) by their time remaining rather than by round # and have the next android game button take you to the android game with the least amount of time remaining. I'm playing about 35 online android games simultaneously of various android game durations and I can't always play a turn in all of them when I begin the application so prioritising those with the least time remaining is necessary but I can't do it easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Edit: I purchased an in application expansion on my tablet, but it's not showing up on my phone. Please fix. Amazing adaptation of boardgame FINALLY on Android! Plays unbelievable on Galaxy Tab tablet, on phones the cards need a zoom option to read them better. Also, a Chromecast option for local group android games would be amazing so players waiting their turn could watch a huge screen like watching the boardgame.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Amazing port of the board game. The ambience is wonderful; between the melody and background effects. My only gripe is how hardware intensive it is. Would be a 4.9 if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    This is a unbelievable digitization of one of my favorite board games. The controls are good, and I haven't noticed any bugs. My only true complaint is the sound, which is sub-par at best. Turn the sound off and place some tunes on and you're all set though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    I was introduced to this board android game a few months back. I was excited to see an android device version. Being a noob to the android game I am loving the ai difficulties. Thanks for the amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Got a fresh phone and re downloaded this but its saying i didnt buy the expansions when i have done so already. Would rate higher if that was fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    This may be the best application implementation of any board android game I've seen. Very well done and amazing attention to details. Only UI problem is when playing the Intrigue card where you pick a Quest type then draw - you pick from colors and you have to know the correct color of the quest type you wish (I hold thinking commerce is black). Otherwise perfection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Android game launches into a black screen on Pixel XL. Nothing else happens

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Does not work on Pixel C running Oreo. Just hangs with a black screen upon launching

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    The android game loads only up to the Make Android game screen. Then when you click the green arrow it just sits there and won't load the actual game. Trash.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Edit... ages I pressed the buttons in the shop page and nothing happened. So why are there guides for the expansions, a shop with pictures of the expansions, and absolutely no method to buy or use the expansions? I test pushing the bars and they light up briefly and nothing happens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Extremely accurate port from the board game, very satisfied with nearly all aspects. Manually granting application permissions on my Pixel C with Oreo took 10 seconds max and does not detract from the rating at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Kind of absurd that the android game has been out for a month and notifications are still not working on Oreo...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    It stopped working. When I test to begin the application, the screen goes blank.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Had to manually activate permission for it to work. The android game was fun, but a bit little to read. And some rules seem to be various from my understanding...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Just a black screen on my Pixel XL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Would be 5 stars, but the time limit should ask the enemy if they would like to continue instead of instantly forfeiting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Android game is amazing however it will not load on the Pixel 2 XL. The workaround did fix the problem for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Not working on a Pixel XL on oreo

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    1 star. Doesn't begin at all on my Pixel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Faithful and addictive application ver of the board game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Amazing port to mobile. Everything is top notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Love it! ♡

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    D&D Lords of Waterdeep review [App]  2017-11-20 13:0

    Love it!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter