Mother Reviews & Opinions


Submit Mother review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    This book was incredible! All the buzzwords are real - "heartbreaking", "touching", "emotionally gripping" - this story grabbed me in the beginning and did not allow go!Heather is pregnant with her 4th kid and cannot afford to hold and raise another baby. She meets Grace, a single, successful and wealthy woman who yearns for a kid of her own. This book is the story of their journey and the tough decisions that come with it.I felt for Heather and a lot of times throughout this book I almost ached to hug her. While I normally am not a "fast reader" - I tend to read at night before bed and take my time - I read this book in less than 24 hours! It is truly a story that will stay with me for a long ank you to Kate Hewitt, Bookouture and NetGalley for the ARC of this unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    This is a tear jerker, a beautifully written tear jerker. I will definitely be reading future novels by Kate Hewitt. Reminds me of the writing styles of Jodi Piccoult and Karen Kingsbury. I could not place this down. As a mother, and as someone with a family history of breast cancer, this story really resonates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Pulls you in from page one. Cried so hard I couldn't read the words during the latest chapter. Highly recommend!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Mother or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Mother video reviews and related movies:

    See mother! movie (2017) - official trailer - paramount pictures on youtube.

     related image

    See mother! (2017) Ending Explained + Analysis on youtube.

     related image

    See Mother - Danzig on youtube.

     related image

    See Sugarland - Mother (Lyric Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See Mother on youtube.

     related image

    See Danzig - Mother HQ on youtube.

     related image

    See Honest Trailers - mother! on youtube.

     related image

    See Mother! - Movie Review on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    4.5 Heartbroken Stars 💔🌟🌟🌟🌟.5Wow! This book pulled at my heartstrings from first page to last... A touching book about mothers love.... two mothers loving the same child.... One gave birth to him... and the other gives life to him.... both wanting the best for him....Heather’s husband has lost his job, they have three young children that they cannot afford to buy fresh shoes for, when Heather finds herself pregnant with baby number four....Grace has a successful professional life, but feels like something is missing from her private life.... I am sure you can see where this is going, Heather chooses to have Grace adopt her baby.... as a mother I can only imagine how heartwrenching that would be, but so unselfish of Heather to wish nothing but the best for her baby.... The adoption is begin and Heather and family see the baby Isaac once a month.... when tragedy strikes it brings these two women together in quite a remarkable way....Told from the points of view of both Heather and Grace.... I thought this was extremely affective, we really got a glimpse into the thoughts and feelings of both mothers.... I really found both these characters true and relatable, with all the true struggles of a mother.... I loved how their relationship strengthened and grew through tragedy and love... The ending to this was sad, sweet, and satisfying...Absolutely recommend to those who have fun a book about tough decisions and mothers love💕*** a lot of thanks to Bookouture for my copy of this attractive book ***

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Heather is a mother of three small girls when she gets pregnant with her fourth child. Right away she knows with her husband on disability and about to lose it, and her working so much, and barely being able to afford their rent, bills, and food, that she will have to obtain rid of her baby. She can't even imagine it, but she knows it's what is right for the child. Heather goes to an adoption agency and meets Tina. She looks through several loving couples that look excellent but she doesn't wish perfect. It makes her feel inadequate. Then she comes across Grace's profile. Grace is rich, sophisticated but single. Grace doesn't believe anyone will pick her because of her unconventional lifestyle. Then Heather does. Heather thinks Grace would be excellent for her kid as she likes the idea that Grace has struggles in life. She doesn't have a spouse or any friends. She lives at her job for the moment and she just lost her father. Then Heather gives birth and everything changes for her. She gives birth to a son that her and her husband always wanted. She can't imagine giving her son away. She takes a few days and thinks..... She won't see Grace at all and she is a mess waiting...... This book was so well written and genuine. Told from both women's viewpoints, the reader gets a look inside how a perspective mother feels when adopting and how a birth mother feels giving her kid away. Heart-wrenching, quick paced and a major tear jerker, this book is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    When Heather discovers she is pregnant, she knows that she cannot hold the baby. Her husband has been out of work for years due to a back injury, they already have three girls, and their apartment is too small. Add to that their financial worries, and it becomes clear why they create the decision to give the baby up for adoption – to give it a better future than they feel they can offer. The decision doesn’t come easy. As a matter of fact, it is an agonizing ace can’t believe that Heather has chosen her to mother her child. There is no doubt the love Grace felt from the very start. She has the circumstances to create a unbelievable life for the kid and will do anything to prove that to Heather.A Mother's Goodbye is a riveting story. It is indeed very touching. I thought the story was already pulling at my heartstrings, but then there was a twist, one so tragic, that I read much of the story with a lump in my y thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for this ARC to review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Heather McCleary is faced with the hardest decision of her life when she finds herself pregnant with her fourth child. Her husband has been out of a job for the past three years due to an on the job injury and her meager salary as a cleaning lady barely covers the rent. It is hard enough taking care of the three girls she already has and Heather knows deep down inside that a baby deserves a better life than the one she can give it. She comes to the decision to give her baby up for adoption. She knows it is the right thing to do for her family, but the decision is not an simple one to ace Thomas is a successful venture capitalist. She works long hours and with luck she may even create partner soon. Being dedicated to her career comes at a price, though. She really does not have any close friends, has never married or had children of her own. Her closest connection is to her father. But, that all changes when he succumbs to cancer. Realizing that she is alone and lonely, Grace decides that she would love to adopt and bestow on a kid all the love and warmth she shared with her father.When Heather chooses Grace through the adoption agency to be the mother of her child, it sets a course that changes both of their lives. Through the amazing and the poor they both become connected by this kid they love so dearly.What I love most about A Mother’s Goodbye is that it tackles true life problems that a lot of women face. On one end of the spectrum we have Heather. Everyday life for Heather is a struggle There is never enough cash to create ends meet, to place meal on the table, or buy her kids the primary necessities. I can see and sympathize with her internal struggle with giving up the baby she carries knowing she cannot provide for another child. She wants what is best for her unborn baby and relying on government assistance is not what she wants for her family. This is a struggle a lot of parents face today. It is true and complicated and sometimes even ace, on the other hand, has a amazing job and makes amazing money. But, when you think about it, cash cannot buy happiness. Now that her father is gone, Grace realizes that she wasted the best years of her life to her career and the family that she so desperately craves is out of reach. Deciding to adopt is the best decision she has created for herself. When she is chosen by Heather to be the adopted mother of her baby, Grace’s life is starting to look times, I both loved and hated Heather and Grace. They can be petty and judgemental but you can see that their heart is in the right place. I can also understand the struggles they face and although sometimes they are unlikeable, I can understand why they do the things that they do. Heather and Grace may not always like each other, but they both struggle the same and have the same fears. They also share a bond that cannot easily be broken. I think they have also come to rely on each other in a lot of ways and you can see it in their thoughts and actions.A Mother’s Goodbye is not an simple read by any means. It is a heartbreaking story filled with raw emotions that is beautifully and emotionally written. The title is so symbolic and as you obtain into the heart of the story you begin to fully understand the impact of what A Mother’s Goodbye means for both Heather and Grace. Three easy words that keep such a deep meaning to this story. It just hits you right in the gut and pulls out all of the feels. It is absolutely heart wrenching and devastating. Kate Hewitt does not keep anything back and she does not sugar coat adoption, loss or pain.A Mother’s Goodbye is a moving and tragic story about life, love and loss. I was captivated right from the begin and even now that I have finished, I know that this story is going to stay with me for a while. Sometimes you just know a book is going to be amazing right from the start. This is one of those times. A mother’s Goodbye is one of the best books I have read this year. A definite keeper and a must read. I implore you to pick up a copy as you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Oh my gosh! This book is sad, thrilling, gripping and completely pulls on your heart strings. You will laugh, gasp, cry and even obtain angry as you read this book. So a lot of mixed emotions at various times while you read this book. This book draws you in at the first chapter and keeps you entertained and hooked the whole method to the end.Full of heartache, tough decisions, dilemmas, drama and struggles of daily life that most families go through at one point or another. This book, in two words, simply amazing!This book follows the lives of Heather, her husband Kevin, and their 3 daughters – Emma, Amy and Lucy. Heather and Kevin began dating in highschool, only to search out shortly after they were pregnant. At the age of 17 Heather and Kevin obtain married, and a few months later their first born Emma was born. Life was hard, as they were a young couple trying to search their method in life. A few years later, Kevin is injured on the job at work, landing him on disability payments as he is unable to return to work due to back problems. Already with 3 kids at home, and struggling to search enough cash for their rent, bills and not to mention meal and clothes, Heather finds out she is pregnant again with baby number 4! What are they going to do? They can’t afford things as it is, life at home is hard, they are getting eviction notices, and now they are expecting another child!?Heather is faced with the unthinkable dilemma – to terminate the pregnancy, to give the baby up for adoption, or hold the baby? What will she do?After discussing it with her husband Kevin, they have created the tough but important decision to give the baby up for adoption. Heather looks into this and comes across a woman named Grace. Grace is a successful working woman, who has no kids and she is single but desperately wants a kid of her own to love and raise. Heather thinks Grace is excellent to adopt their baby. Their lives become connected through the kid and the love they all share for the you hold reading there is so much heartache and sorrow, and devastating news that rocks you to your core! A twist I was definitely not expecting at be sure to strap yourself in for this gripping, thrilling roller-coaster of a ride as you read this book. You’ll love it and trust me, you won’t be disappointed. But create sure you have some tissues handy, as you will surely cry at least once or ank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the free ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Told from the alternating perspectives of Heather, the birth mom, and Grace, the adoptive mom, this is really the story of Isaac and how he impacts those around him. While some of the plot points might be familiar, Hewitt elevates this above the norm with her writing and sensitive insight into both women. You will feel for everyone. This created for a very amazing read on a rainy afternoon but I'd recommend it for any time - it's quite the page turner. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Mother's Goodbye: A gripping emotional page turner about adoption and a mother's love review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Create sure you grab a box of tissues and hold it close when you sit down to read this one. Two very various women are forever linked by their love for one baby and their lives are forever changed and tangled together. This is a deeply emotional story that will have you tearfully turning the e characters were developed wonderfully and the story line was handled with such finesse I was fully invested from the beginning. It also makes a mother think about how they would feel in related circumstances. This was a heart-wrenching journey that I won’t soon forget.#AMothersGoodbye #KateHewitt

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    An honest, self-deprecating, hilarious life story with dozens of "inside Hollywood" tales by a truly funny lady. Penny tells all -- the good, the bad, and the ugly -- no filters and no holds barred. She is the mate everyone wishes they had. This is a amazing read for all of us of the Baby Boom Generation by a amazing storyteller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Never having a amazing memory myself, I am always amazed at people's recollections when I reading autobiographies. Penny Marshall does a unbelievable job recounting her life in this fun autobiography. The fact that I got the audio ver and Marshall reads it all herself I'm sure added to my enjoyment. Expect the language to be bawdy at times. Expect there to be decadence with regards to the lifestyle (flying here and there on a whim because of the exorbitant salaries actors make). Expect touching recollections of family and friends. Overall, this was an enjoyable 'read' and I recommend it to you. Hearing the inside scoop on what goes on in Hollywood behind the camera always seems to catch my attention. If you search yourself in the same boat, you will probably have fun Penny Marshall's autobiography.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Well I almost didn't buy this Memoir and I'm so glad that I did. If Penny Marshall's mother was nuts than more people should have nutty mothers like her given the method that she turned out to be such an extraordinary person. Don't miss reading this book it is more exciting than her role as Laverne and more exciting than the majority of most people's lives and just an awesome being in terms of how she stays grounded and practical funny and satirical and handles all the situations that come up with complete honesty and she is so refreshing. Writer Tag Matousek says: tell the truth and your life will change, and Penny tells the truth and as a effect our lives do change by her sharing it with us and it's a true gift. I read her mate Carrie Fisher's books and Carrie was funny in a various way. I think Penny brings the East Coast sarcasm and practical Spirit into her book. It is a strong life and a strong book and Penny is a true pioneer for women in terms of what she's achieved in the entertainment and movie industry. What's next?, Penny asks at the end and I would say Penny Marshall for President!! Our lives would be a whole lot better with someone like her leading the method as she did in her directorial efforts. One thing Penny tells us her mom taught her was the pleasure of being able to entertain people and she surely accomplishes this in her humble inspiring funny Memoir and thank you Penny for letting us into your private fabulous life. It's a book and a life I didn't wish to stop reading about LOL. For someone who is well connected with celebrities and her brother being Garry Marshall, she never loses her down to earth practical method of being. Definitely a must-read wonderfully written memoir...absolutely awesome life thank you Penny!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    This biography was exactly how I like my biographies. It was truthful (well, as far as I can tell!), giving both the positive and negatives of Ms. Marshall's life. She takes everything in stride, and is able to look back at times with a realistic view of what happened. While it does talk of drugs, it doesn't glorify them. The book does not have salacious descriptions of people, nor is a "let me obtain back at so-and-so" type of book. I hate books that are intentionally over the top just to feed people's "Kardashian" appetite! It's a true book about a true person - one who I think would be fascinating to know!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Every once in a while, I pick a bio to read. I prefer historical fiction as I feel I obtain enough of people's true life drama at work, but I'm glad I picked this one to be the exception to the rule. Penny is a no-nonsense doing things her way. ("We'll do it our way, yes our way. Create all our dreams come true." And now you're welcome for getting that stuck in your head.) I do want she would stop smoking though. Best part about the book -- you'll search out what the beginning of the L&S lyrics stand for!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I have rarely read autobiography truly reflected the personality of the author. It seems that a lot of times the person's voice is edited out. For me, I so enjoyed hearing Penny Marshall voice come through strong, like the person she is. She has reminded me to keeping moving forward, even if others don't like it. I felt as though I was on the set of League and partying in the hospital. Penny, as a writer rocks, and as a person...well, she rocks that too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I am close in age to Penny Marshall, so I remember a lot of the same television shows that she worked on. I wasn't aware that she was a film and television director. She certainly has a amazing work ethic, like a lot of of us from that era. I really enjoyed the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    When it's all said and done, Penny Marshall was an awesome person. Even though she had her brother to support her obtain her foot in the door, she took that opening and did some brilliant work with it. Her relationship with Cindy Williams was sad. Maybe it would have been better if she'd found someone else to play the role and just stayed mates with Cindy - encouraging her career as a "serious actress." The book is a fast and simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Entertaining and funny. Didn't really realize she was quite as promiscuous as she was, but I guess that's Hollywood. Also didn't realize she was quite as accomplished a director or as intelligent as she is (she always comes off kinda' slow and shlumpy in her interviews -- maybe it's the Brooklyn accent), but she's actually quite brilliant. -All in all an interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Mother Was Nuts review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I enjoyed this biography and now have a list of films and TV shows I wish to watch. And I definitely wish to watch Laverne and Shirley. I love how peoples lives cross paths, and where those paths have taken them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Our Mother's House review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Go Away, Go Away, Go Away! Our Mother’s House is directed by Jack Clayton and adapted to screenplay by Jeremy Brooks and Haya Harareet from the novel of the same name written by Julian Gloag. It stars Dirk Bogarde, Margaret Brooks, Pamela Franklin, Louis Sheldon Williams, John Gugolka, Tag Lester and Yootha Joyce. Melody is by Georges Delerue and cinematography by Larry Pizer. When seven youngsters are left orphaned by the death of their bedridden mother, they decide to hold her passing quiet case they obtain split up and sent into orphanages. The youngsters prove to be quite resourceful and tick along nicely, that is until one of the boys brings a mate home to live with them; just as the children’s estranged father appears on the doorstep. At first glance it seems material ripe for an Ealing Studios piece, a whimsical fable of adorable youngsters taking on the globe in trying circumstances, Our Mother’s House is a far cry from such a thing! It’s a creepy off-kilter movie of some considerable class, containing psychological insights into seven kids adapting and improvising in life by creating their own fresh order. The results are both enlightening and frightening. They have a weekly séance type of set-up where they believe they are talking to their dead mother, they administer their own punishments and forge their own cheques! But of course this self sufficient life can’t possibly last… Children of the beguiled. Once their supposed father Charlie (Bogarde brilliant) arrives on the scene, the applecart is well and truly upset. He evokes a number of various passions in the children, amazing and bad, but he seems a genuine guy, however, both Charlie and the kids have fresh colours yet to be revealed, and once out in the begin all will form the potent and dramatic latest quarter. The kid actors are excellent, well guided by Clayton (The Innocents), who manages to bring out the different states of emotional confusion upon the death of the mother. Joyce in a rare serious role is amazing “Cougar” foil for Bogarde, Delerue’s melody is very much in tune with the weird feel to the plotting, and Pizer’s photography really hits the psychological assistance markers, being particularly striking in the finale as the door to Hades is opened. Clayton and Bogarde were never satisfied with the finished film, but that's no marker to the quality on present here. It’s all a bit implausible of course, but very rarely does the pic disappoint. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Theresa Cross is a disgusting, disgraceful, piece of crap human being! How she could have been able to perpetrate these crimes for so long is a mystery. And what she did to her family leaves me with goose bumps. Those poor, not good children!Kudos to her youngest daughter for finding the strength to bring her mother's tyranny to an end and suffer the consequences of her actions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I had originally read the paperback of this book several years ago and was satisfied to see it available for my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I first learned of this not good story after having watched "The Afflicted". A film very loosely based on the true life real crimes. The real story is so much more terrifying than Hollywood created it out to be. I can only hope anyone who reads this has not had any life happenings as damning as these children. An absolute MUST READ!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Quite a story, hard to believe this mother was even human. Abusing her kids physically and mentally she eventually killed 2 of her daughters. She would have gotten away with it had it not been for her surviving daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    This was very well written, with a lot of detail in each family member's life. It's difficult to believe that someone could be that evil and cruel to place her kids and loved ones through that much pain and torture, never mind actually killing her daughters, then disposing of their bodies like that. It is unimaginable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Being partial to real crime stories, I found this book to be engrossing. Bathing in the sordid actions of a sadistic mother, the storyline compels the reader to continue on in morbid fascination.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    The writer tells a spellbinding story of pure evil. Could not place down and finished in short eat reading for anyone who likes real crime stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I could not place this book down. After reading this book I found myself searching the internet for the remaining kids. I found one of them Howard actually lives in my state. I can't imagine the struggle and turmoil these kids had to go through and continue to go through today. I think this is the worst mother I have ever read about. I could not hold up with her a lot of failed marriages and who the dad of each child was. All together a very amazing read. You will be amazed at what she got away with for so long!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Fascinating case. Sure to please fans of the genre. This guy doesn't write eloquently like Capote or Wambough, but is beautiful good. Among the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Wonderful that the hero in this book actually managed to destroy so a lot of lives without being caught.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother Of All Battles review [App]  2018-6-1 13:0

    Another unbelievable android game from Sean O'Connor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Lovely cartoon illustration

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    5yrrttttt yt Yvette

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Joyful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Bought entire application but eventually changed phones and got a fresh tablet. Now when I test to download and install again from Google play the application keeps saying I have never purchased and can't restore the full version. Unhappy about this. This is an expensive application that now we can't use. I and my children loved it when it worked. Now they are upset that they can't use it anymore. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling a few times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Very poor I dont like this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Love Mother Goose songs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Pingpong mother goose

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Pink fog

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    It's unbelievable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Thumbs up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Peace

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Nice.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    This application adds a cute format for my granddaughter to choose each of the categories for various songs. She loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Very amazing and educational

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Bagus bangettt...anakku suka banget..sayang klo mo beli yg lain mahallkk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Children mode i lke

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Its amazing for my kids..thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Inconvenience for users when one application ends I have to click fresh one which irate my child and also stuff were so expensive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Very disappointing that the full application is so much to buy. Overpriced.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    I use this application with my 2 year old granddaughter and she loves it. A amazing method to learn and have fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Zelwiga Loves Pinkfong very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Too expencive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    I love this android game so much and I love the melody

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Its great! [email protected]#$%! was not so much to unblock them all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Nice and enjoying

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    My kids love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Even with inapp purchases theres More than most apps for free

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    My son loves this but can't play it for to long it overheats the smartphone and crashes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Nice application for kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    My lil girl love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    My lil daughter very love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    I love it.........................😊😊😊😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PINKFONG Mother Goose review [App]  2018-1-13 21:9

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I've read The Excellent Mother twice and my heart was still pounding during the final pages the second time around. This book is smart, funny, and brings up so a lot of topical problems for discussion. I've read a lot of mysteries and still couldn't figure out this one until the end. The prose is new and simple to follow. A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    4.5 starsIf ever a book screamed, "I wish to be the next Huge Small Lies" this is it. This book cries for screen adaptation and then I read Kerry Washington bought the rights so I know I am right. But how does it keep up as a book? Very well. I kept flipping the pages and did not guess the identity of the villain which scored huge points in my book.A group of pregnant woman join a Mommy group in NYC, They are all due about the same time so they spend a lot of time comparing notes and getting ready to be the "perfect" mom. Once the baby is born all preconceptions go right out the door and stark reality hits the women full force. Exhaustion, hormones, breast feeding issues and practical concerns like will I ever shower again or have clean clothes take the forefront. Overwhelmed the women decide to have a mommy's night out when the babies are about 8 weeks old. A night of drinking and bonding leads to the kidnapping of one of their babies, Midas. Midas? Did Gwyneth Paltrow name this baby?As the investigation into the disappearance progresses, the women's secrets come tumbling out and some of them are true doozies. I really liked these women and their very true relationships. Only one mother got on my nerves which is beautiful amazing odds. I liked how the author rolled out surprise after surprise. I kept reading and guessing.Even though this book was obviously written for the huge screen, it does it's job as a amazing book. I will see the film when it comes out and highly recommend reading the book first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I think twisty thrillers are very much having a moment in the book world. With the success of books like Huge Small Lies, The Couple Next Door, The Wife Between Us, and other books, along come The Excellent Mother. A book that, even before it's released, already had the film rights bought and will star Kerry Washington.Overall, I thought that the book was beautiful good. The writing was powerful and Aimee Molloy had me turning pages to see what would happen next. There are lots of twists and usually I'm amazing with guessing the endings on thrillers, but this one I didn't. I would definitely read more from this author.I would absolutely recommend this to any fans of the thriller genre. A amazing summer beach read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Finally a thriller that really delivers! Stayed up until 2:00 latest night finishing this, I just had to know how it ended. It’s awesome that this is a debut novel and that it has already been picked up to be created into a movie, what a unbelievable accomplishment for Ms. is novel is told from multiple points of view and I did have a small problem at times keeping track of who was talking but that was probably just because I was reading too fast! The author also used a technique that worked very well to ratchet up the tension, “someone” was writing about what she was feeling and going through” at the beginning of the chapters, but we don’t know e story is about a handful of first time moms who meet in what they call their “May Mothers” group because they are all due in May. The main characters are Francie, Nell, Collette, Scarlet, Winnie and Token (a well chosen name as he is the token male in the group). They meet twice a week in a park with babies in strollers sharing joyful times, stories of exhaustion seeking tip and assurance from each other. Everything is going along well until, as the blurb will tell you, they decide to have a single night out and during that time one of the newborns is abducted from his home, with the babysitter asleep on the couch when the police arrive. To add to the frustration and anger of the mothers the police seem to create so a lot of mistakes, letting people into the crime stage before taking photos, fingerprints, e crime becomes a media circus with a particular woman reporter who is out to search the “dirt” on any of the women, and that she does. All of these women are unique, all have secrets and I had absolutely no idea who the abducted baby Midas.What really hit home for me is the fact that one of my daughters has a 2 and 4 year old and I can remember how flustered and upset she was with her first baby, particularly since she is in another state with no family close by. She turned to the internet which, in my opinion, just created things worse. Whatever worry or issue she had she seemed to be able to search some article that told her multiple ways of solving it. I think fresh mothers in today’s society are expected to be so much, the “perfect mother” doing everything right, the in-shape wife and most also have careers. I remember my pregnancies and early years with four daughters and I think things are worse now with too much info available on the internet. I remember I had two “baby books” both of which I ended up tossing!The novel also hits upon sensationalism by the news media. We are all bombarded with it every time we turn on the TV, whether it is political or social, it always seems to be reported in a method that will obtain more viewers, no matter whom they damage in the process or whose career they may this novel is a amazing thriller and a excellent analysis of our times. I would, however, not recommend this book to fresh mothers as this will just give them more to worry about!I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss, thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Plume - Penguin Books USA / Edelweiss for the advanced digital copy of his highly suspenseful Psychological Thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my is author's debut novel is a winner! This psychological thriller had me riveted to the story from the very first ey are called the May Mothers ... a group of fresh moms whose babies were born in the same month. They met on the internet when they were pregnant ... now that they have all delivered, they meet every week or so at the park. They share their baby stories, their birth stories. All except Token .. he's the one guy in the bunch .. a stay-at-home ey decide that they all need a night out ... without the babies. Going to a local bar for some adult liquid, it's bound to be a fun break for all of them. But then a parent's worse nightmare... one of the babies is taken out of his crib, out of his home and no one knows where he is. The babysitter was sleeping, she never heard anyone enter or leave the who has baby boy Midas? His father who has never been a part of his life? The babysitter in the country illegally? The baby's mother who was having a hard time being a single mom? One of the other mothers ...or father? Or was this a random kidnapping?They all have secrets ... lies that have been hidden for years. It becomes a heart-wrenching race to search the baby, exposing those secrets and lies to the light of day. An unexpected twist at the end had me forgetting to ere is a lot packed into this story. It's about friendships and love and frustrations and the wonder of newborn babies. Marriages are tested, some won't survive. Some mates will remain mates .. some will vanish like a puff of smoke. This is well written with standout characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 / 5 red herring filled stars!I didn’t really know what to think of this book as I was reading it, but then I got towards the end and WHAM, it changed the entire book for me. The Excellent Mother is about a mommy group called The May Mothers, named for the fact they all have babies born in May. One night – the 4th of July of all days – the May Mothers go out without their babies and one of the babies gets taken from home out of his crib and disappears. What happens next is a wild ride of moms snooping and meddling, and doing their best to support their mate Winnie search her small boy ere are quite a few times that the book jumps around between characters with no clear definition of where one starts and the other ends. I actually started a list in my phone of who everyone was and distinguishing characteristics so I could hold track of them all. However, it didn’t really take away from the book too much for me. Once I got used to the names and each hero popped up more, I was able to stop consulting my e chapters in this book aren’t all that short, but they sure read very quickly. Some chapters focused on a couple characters viewpoints, but for the most part the chapters touched on most, if not all, of the characters POVs. There is also a mystery person thrown in there which was a nice touch. Those sections are just for that e fact that I’m not a mother didn’t create this read any less enjoyable for me. I can’t always relate to viewpoints from mom’s, but Molloy created it simple for someone without children of their own to have fun this whole book no matter whose POV you were reading. Each chapter starts out with an email to the May Mothers about where your baby should be at in regard to how old he/she is. I even enjoyed that part! It was nice too because it was something different.I think Molloy did a amazing job on all these characters too. I felt like I was becoming a part of their lives throughout this book. Nell was definitely my favorite hero and May Mother. She was hilarious, and of course, she likes to drink!Final Thought: I think that even if you aren’t a mom you will appreciate this book. Molloy really gets all those social stigmas of fresh moms out there. They shouldn’t drink, they need to dress a certain way, they need to raise their babies a certain way, etc., so a lot of silly things that constitute the “perfect mother”. I can appreciate what she was trying to do here even though I’m not a mom and not planning to be one. I loved Nell’s 'F them' attitude about all this items too. Secrets will surely be revealed in this fast-paced psychological thriller, and I highly recommend it. I seriously can’t even believe this is a debut novel!The Excellent Mother in 3-ish words: Fast-paced, Meaningful & Fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    The Excellent Mother by Aimee Molloy is a riveting, suspense-laden mystery about the disappearance of a six week old baby.A group of first time mothers form a mother’s group they dub the May Mothers because all of their due dates are in May. After everyone gives birth, they remain mates and help one another as they traverse the complicated changes their newborns bring to their lives. On July 4th, Francie Givens, Nell Mackey, Colette Yates and the only dad in the group, Token, convince single mom Winnie Ross to join them for a night out. With Nell’s prospective nanny Alma Romero watching Winnie’s baby, Midas, the group head out for a night of frivolous fun at a local bar. However, Winnie disappears at some point during the evening, leaving her phone and house key behind which Nell holds for safekeeping. Just as everyone is to head about home, Alma makes a shocking discovery: Midas is missing from his crib. With the police making small progress in the case, media scrutiny turns to the May Mothers who are launching their own investigation into what happened to e chapters alternate between Francie, Nell, and Colette’s perspectives as they test to create sense of what happened to Midas and their own struggles with motherhood. Nell is unexpectedly called back into work before her maternity leave is scheduled to end and she is very concerned that her past might be uncovered during the investigation. Colette is falling farther and farther behind on a project with a looming deadline when she stumbles onto case files about Midas’s disappearance. Francie is fixated on Midas’s kidnapping and she continues to insert herself in the police investigation as she takes her suspicions about various suspects to the lead detectives assigned to the case. All of the women are initially extremely sympathetic to Winnie’s devastating loss, but as she keeps out of the public eye, they start to wonder why she is so conspicuously erspersed with their narrations are occasional chapters from an unknown person’s point of view. This woman is obviously part of the May Mothers’ group but her identity remains carefully shrouded in mystery. As the story unwinds, she becomes increasingly fraught as she desperately tries to cling to someone who might be slipping away from her. Who is this woman and what, if anything, does she have to do with Midas’s disappearance?The Excellent Mother is an intricately-plotted mystery that is quite compelling. The characters are well-drawn and their lives with a newborn are realistically depicted. Aimee Molloy does an absolutely outstanding job keeping the truth about what happened to baby Midas cleverly concealed until the novel’s shocking conclusion. Fans of the genre do not wish to miss this outstanding fiction debut.I received a complimentary copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    The Excellent Mother by Aimee Molloy is a highly recommended debut thriller/mystery featuring a group of fresh e May Mothers are an informal group of Brooklyn based fresh moms (and one dad) whose kids were all born in May. They meet twice a week in Prospect Park for camaraderie and to share their concerns. On the 4th of July three of the mothers, Nell Mackey, Colette Yates, and Francie Givens, along with Token, the nickname of the only male, plan an adult's only night out at a local bar. They persuade single mom Winnie Ross into attending by arranging for Nell’s nanny, Alma, to watch Winnie’s son, e evening's drinking begins and before the night is over Winnie's son, Midas is missing, abducted from his crib. The police and media scrutiny uncovers all manner of secrets from Winnie's past and start to focus on the mother's group too. Nell, Colette, and Francie don't believe the police are handling the investigation correctly, so they start to do their own investigation into what happened. The novel unfolds during thirteen nerve wracking days as the police and the May Mother's conduct their own expected, the info that comes out about everyone during an investigation of a missing kid can be startling and finger-pointing and speculation will abound. The chapters in the novel begin with emails sent to the May Mothers by a www service called The Village. The chipper rather self-satisfied emails all include general tip on babies' milestones and raising children, which fits in nicely with the narrative based on these fresh e Excellent Mother is an simple to read and follow novel and should engross most readers. I will admit I didn't care quite as much about the baby-raising-talk as a younger parent might, because baby-raising days are far behind me. What this means is that I focus more on the satisfaction I search from the quality of the writing, plot, hero development, mystery, and the eventual conclusion. Molloy did quite amazing on all these points. The narrative does slow down a bit in the second half of the novel, right when you are desperate for more action, which may search some impatient readers skimming the novel for a quicker pace.Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of HarperCollins Publishers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    The Excellent Mother by Aimee Molloy is a psychological thriller that easily will have readers on the edge of their seat as the story involves a missing infant. This one is told from multiple points of view including an unknown voice involved in the veral women have formed a group that they are calling the May Mothers after the fact that they all met because they were all due to have their babies that May. After the births the ladies would obtain together to share stories of their kids and different parenting hints to test to support each other along the way.On the Fourth of July the May Mothers organized a girls night out insisting that they all required a break away from the babies just for a few hours. Nothing would happen they said. Everything will be fine they said. Of course things did not turn out fine when one of the mothers returns to search her baby has been a reader I've often said there is nothing more intense than that of a missing kid so when I saw this one I knew I should be in for an exciting ride. And to hear that the book has already had offers of a film deal with a huge name actress even before it's published, sign me up please.Just as I had expected the story is one that is simple to obtain lost in as you read and the only reason I found myself not giving five stars really was a few times during the book I'd lose track a bit of the point of view. It actually was done beautiful well though so I wouldn't allow the multiple points of view scare anyone away. I also had a slight idea of the outcome fairly early on but never figured the actual who/how it all came about. But when it was all said and done I do think readers are really going to have fun this one and can't wait to see how the film turns out.I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Perfect Mother: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I don't have human, two-legged children. Watching my sister going through pregnancy was like seeing Alien in slo-mo. Did I really wish to read about cracked nipples and incontinence pads? Happily, the reviews were too amazing to ignore and that’s how I discovered one of the best books I've read this year. Hard to believe it's the first time the author ventures into fiction! Yes, there is mention of clogged nipples, but this is the story of several women who happen to be fresh mothers. Full-drawn women with a history and such defined personalities that when one of them does something you can't support but thinking: "that is so like Francie," like she's someone you actually know. This is the story of the abduction of Baby Midas when his Mom was on a night out for the first time since his birth. We learn from the beginning that the mother is in jail and blames the Mommy group that started everything. A baby going missing is a serious matter, so I was surprised by the sense of humor that lightens the mood. The babies' names (seriously... Midas?), the Mom's obsession with the excellent nutrition for their offspring, the method that they see a C-section, or even an Epidural, as a failure from natural birth... But it's the heart-stopping plot that seals the deal. What happened to Baby Midas? Why are all the Moms hiding something? And how is it all going to end? You really need to read this. It's an excellent, addictive and suspenseful novel.I won an advanced reader's edition of this book as part of the Bookmark PageTurner program, but all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    A story about a dead parent has a beginning and an end. A story about a living parent is quite a various thing, especially if you know the parent will be reading the story and you're invested in their response. With all that, I am astonished and in awe of Bechdel's courage - not just to reveal herself so intimately, but to do the same for her relationship with her is is not Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic 2. It's much more complicated and diffuse. Bechdel's story about her father felt complete and symmetrical. This is much more distant and intellectual with the trailing off nature inherent to a story about two living people who continue to interact. Again and again we return to the photo of Bechdel reading in this book . . . reading books about psychoanalysis, reading old correspondence between her parents, even reading transcripts of telephone conversations between her mother and herself (she would type what her mother was saying during the calls). She relates to her mother through reading and this central photo tells us more about the brokenness of the relationship than anything else. Her mother, in return, will tell her about stories she reads in the Fresh York Times that create her point instead of saying directly what it is she wants to say. There is small that is tactile or intimate about their relationship. The reader winds up thinking their method through the book in the same method that Bechdel has thought through her relationship with her Fun Home, Bechdel used literature, concepts of sexual identity, and even mythology to discover and illuminate her relationship with her father. In this book, despite the forays into the work of Virginia Woolf (which, while interesting, seem to fit least easily into what is going on), she uses mainly the language and insights of psychoanalysis and therapy to discover the ways in which her mother has damage and empowered her. And while this book lacks none of the detailed hyperfocus on her own particular past that one would expect, it comes across as a much more universal story than Fun Home . . . about the ways in which our mothers, in general, damage and empower us - even if the specifics of our relationships with our mothers vary from spite Bechdel's willingness to dig deep into her own emotions, the intellectualized nature of her relationship with her mother kept me at a distance for most of the book. The book engaged my brain quite deeply (there are a few exceptions that are moving, such as the stage about midway through the book when, as a young woman, she hangs up on her mother during a telephone conversation). Then, in the latest few pages, it felt as if everything came together emotionally and I was moved to tears. Rather than being a deficiency in the book, I feel as if this was close to what she must have intended. To think, and think, and think . . . and then suddenly to feel so intensely.What a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    When you purchase this on kindle, there is a cryptic notice that says it contains ComiXology, but it doesn't really explain what it is. It doesn't give you the choice to decline. Finally I figured out that ComiXology is an application that is supposed to enhance viewing of comic books. You can also read this book on Kindle. After downloading the ComiXology application on my tablet, I discovered that a lot of of the scenes don't actually present up. Only certain colors or lines appear. (see attached photo)I love the book and the illustrations, but do not like ComiXology. My review would be 5 stars if ComiXology worked, or if I had the option to just purchase the kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    First off "Are You My Mother" is nothing at all like "Fun Home." So if you've come looking for that same type of feeling when reading, just go and reread "Fun Home." If on the other hand, you're looking for a book that will create you think and rethink and give you some insight into Bechdel's life, then pick this one up. And then read it and then reread it again to allow things sink in. And then reread it a few more times to see what you missed.Unlike "Fun Home," which focused primarily on Bechdel's relationship with her father, "Are You My Mother" is focused primarily on Bechdel's examination of herself. Yes, her relationship with her mother plays a crucial role in the book, but more than anything it's a starting point for Bechdel to examine her life, the decisions she's created and how she got there. In a lot of ways this book is an examination of self, of the inner psyche and how it functions. Bechdel takes us on a nonlinear journey of her life, how her mother has impacted decisions she created and impacted how Bechdel feels about herself--seemingly overwhelmed with the globe around her, and it's also Alison's find for those that she wanted as a mother (hence the title), those that would provide her with the love and the encouragement that she so desperately wanted and chdel depends heavily on psychology in this book, sometimes a bit too heavily, to analyze her dreams, her relationships, and the paths that she's taken in life. At times it almost feels like we need a psychology textbook next to us to understand some of the terms and definitions she tosses us and at other times it feels like we are reading a textbook and sometimes overwhelming in cases. It's the one reason why I marked the book down to four stars is that I often felt like I was getting lost in a psychology class that I didn't sign up to take. And yet...the psychological elements in the book provide insight into how Alison sees herself, which is what book is really about. It's her journey, perhaps even a healing process, to support her understand herself and the globe that she lives in. In a lot of ways the book reminds me of "Stitches," another artists attempt to use a book for chdel's artwork is still strong and beautiful. Continuing to use the pen and ink and blue gray inkwashes she used so effectively in "Fun Home," Alison adds a fresh twist with using red ink washes to give in greater depths to the photos that she draws. Her characters come to life, often seemingly to move of their own free will and in the scenes when Alison plunges into deep waters it feels like we're there with her. And I've always loved how she has the ability to capture facial expressions, especially with the young kids in the books. You can feel the joy, the confusion, and the sadness coming off of the is is probably one of the most complicated books I've read in a long time. It's one that I had to stop every so often and go back and reread pages to see what I missed. And it's going to be a book that's going to be difficult to recommend because the psychological analysis is going to create people uneasy as we plunge into Alison's mind to see how she sees the world. And yet I'll recommend it anyway and it's one that has a permanent spot on my shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I was just as blown away by this book as I was by its predecessor. Now I'm exhausted from reading it but feeling like I need to capture the effusiveness, so here I go with a review. This book is not just about a mother or about a daughter or about their relationship. Even though it zooms in on that particular relationship consistently throughout, examines specific conversations and attitudes and parallels they have experienced, it also still puts these happenings into a macrocosm that holds up a mirror to so a lot of connections that we, the reader, will see in ourselves. The relationship between dreams and reality--what we want, what we fear, how we've failed and been failed. The relationship between fiction and true life--how a scene play can mean various things to various people or to the same person at various times in our lives (relevant because Alison's mother was an actress). The exploration of therapy, of caring for others and being cared for, of artistic envy and anxiety and depression. All of these experiences are tied together so we can see how they are a life still in progress, and the skill with which this was managed was so awesome considering that it also oozes with honesty and lacks the pretentiousness of a lot of other authors' attempts to relay these truths.What I like MOST about Alison's work is the method it so beautifully handles the microculture of family. Don't we all have those small terms and phrases based on our shared experiences that don't create sense outside the family? It's not just silly nicknames based on what your brother couldn't say when he was a baby. Families develop their own languages and in-jokes that probably seem bizarre to outside observers without explanation. But this artist captures those in such a believable, accessible method that you can search familiarity in their "foreign" rituals while you remember so, there's a ton of discussion of therapy in this book and a feeling of trying to obtain to the bottom of something dreadfully wrong--to search the answer, and to repair it. I've never had that broken feeling, but I similar to a lot of what Alison was searching for and the things she tried to do and cared about in the book. It kind of created me feel like maybe I'm more screwed up than I thought I was, and that the method I allow other people's issues affect me might not be as separate from me than I thought they were. It's weird that I can still like a book this much when reading it created me question some of my constants. (Or maybe I just know other people who have these issues so well that they feel like they're my problems. I'm always trying to solve someone else's problems, feeling like my own issues are either nonexistent or manageable, but maybe that's just another false self, huh?)Here are some other things I admired about ere's a clear timeline of the author's life. The book acknowledges the existence of the previous book and the fallout that occurred surrounding publishing a book about her father that spread so a lot of secrets about their family out into the world. How it affected her mother. How it affected her relationship with her mother. And what's going on now that she's writing this book about her mother. The book itself includes references to how its existence is perceived by the people it's about. That's some meta stuff.I love the reference to how a mother's eggs represent infinite regression--you're born with all the eggs you'll ever have, and so was your mother, and so was her mother, etc. And I liked how Alison referred to herself as a terminus in that line because she will not have kids. Me too.I love Alison's consistent references to journal-keeping, and the fact that her mother did/does it too. Especially interesting was the time Alison's mother had to support her write in her journal to combat her anxiety. She got attention from her mother through needing that help, which sort of encouraged the symptoms. Also, Alison's journals record internal and external life, but her mom claims her journals are only external life--what happened.I love her "brook" dream.I love that her discussion of "undoing" is unfamiliar to me but she makes it feel familiar.I love the bit where snapshots are recreated featuring baby Alison bonding with her mother and the latest one features her being broken out of the trance by the man with the camera.I obtain chills reading about babies and their mothers being one. And seeing that mixed with the idea of a period making someone not a kid anymore (and that being heartbreaking) juxtaposed with Alison discussing her own menstrual cessation.I loved the joke in there where Alison is complaining to her therapist about how her mother doesn't wish to hear about her life, as if she fears that any word Alison gets in edgewise will be "cunnilingus." (Her mother is uncomfortable with her being a lesbian.) I have been lucky enough to have a supportive mother, but I also similar to how Alison discussed feeling ashamed and disappointed when her mother kept bringing up how she should publish her "lesbian cartoons" under a pseudonym. As if she should be ashamed of what she writes, as if it isn't really her, as if she should be doing something more "respectable." It all makes you think her mother feels like this is "ruining" who she is, while Alison feels she is EXPRESSING who she is. I've felt that too when I've encountered disapproval from people close to me who don't agree with my queer activism or who think it's shameful. It really feels like a rejection of who you are and no matter what it pretends to be, it represents that they don't actually respect or accept you. Like they love you in spite of who you are, but don't actually love the you you know you are.I similar in an uncomfortable method to the discussion of accommodation--how kids test to become what their parents want, or test to adhere to their parents' perceptions of them--and how the kids then experience abandonment because who they REALLY are is being moved to the back and kept in the dark. I know there's sometimes a discrepancy between who I think I am and who I actually am, and that's exacerbated by how consistently people praise me and tell me I'm powerful and good, so I feel like I should be those things. Maybe the me that isn't particularly powerful or amazing wants to be allowed to be weak and poor sometimes. I don't like relating to this but I have to say I do.I love the story of Alison's teddy bear that's "her but not her" was left out in the yard sometimes because she took a sadistic pleasure in subjecting it to abandonment and elemental pummeling; now she has the bear and keeps it, but notes that it has a tooth tag from where a dog dragged it but though you can see its stuffing, it's intact.I love Alison's "offices." Boy do I create ere's a story here of how Alison's mother tried over and over to call her and couldn't reach her, and it was because she was calling her old dorm room's number. Alison felt guilty for not being there for her mother. Even though her mom was reaching out in the wrong direction. "You required me and I wasn't there" is a familiar feeling for me too, and it sucks that we can feel that method when we have no method of knowing what the person needs until after the fact.I love the spotlight on how her mother was willing to tell her brothers what their personal parts were called but there was mystery surrounding the word "vagina" and her mother pretended she didn't know the right word for it. And I love that her mother wrote poetry about the woman as a topic and not an object. (And the joke about penis envy was amazing too. Laughing about WHO'D WANT ONE OF THOSE?? sounds like something my mom would do, too.)I also like built-in distance arrangements. And I hate how people insist that I should wish company more than I do, or insist on interpreting me as lonely if I wish solitude. They're doing me a favor by interrupting me and forcing social interaction on me, and if I claim to like being alone I'm just covering my true feelings. It's weird. I love built-in distance.I similar to her experience sending a piece out to two journals and getting rejection and criticism from one and acceptance from the other. I had the same thing happen, and after the critical comments from the first put I sent it, I felt almost embarrassed that anyone had offered to [email protected]#$%! and didn't advertise it when it happened because I kinda almost didn't wish anyone reading it after what the criticism had revealed about it. Weird how a lot of parallels there are ere's a bit where women's writing is discussed, and how a female poet's work was dismissed as "bitter" and "personal" (in a negative way) and necessarily indicated sacrifice of "real" worthwhile poetry if the woman had elected to tackle female-specific life experiences. Male critics seemed anxious to dismiss her experience as irrelevant and such a shame after she'd written better work. A woman couldn't possibly have personal, female-specific experiences that are worthy of everyone trying to relate to, huh? But of course we obtain to read male authors' poetry that frames women as objects to yearn for and deify, seeing that men see us that method when they are attracted to us, and feel othered and distanced by this treatment only to be told having someone feel that method about you IS A COMPLIMENT period the end.I love the discussion of loving what you perceive a person to be, and admiring that quality, but not actually loving the person who HAS those qualities. I have experienced that and it's not pleasant.I look like my mother. Sometimes she talks about how she was never beautiful or she was plain or she doesn't like how she looks. I know I look like my mother, and she knows I look like her, so it's weird that she thinks I'm beautiful. This book has some discussion of that dynamic in it, where Alison's mother has to wear makeup to feel presentable and that Alison hated things about herself that her mother observed about her, like her paleness.I loved Alison's emotional outburst when she realized what she wanted from her mother just wasn't there to be had. The catharsis and relief there was wonderful.Oh, and I liked that her mother chooses various perfumes for the various characters she plays on stage.I similar heavily to this story and the method it was told. Especially the method Alison describes living fully when she is "writing" about experiences she's had even as she's living them--that she understands what she's going through more fully by writing about it, and that's one of the a lot of reasons she has to do it. Other people don't really understand this, but for me, it's sort of even why I write book reviews. I have things happen in my head while I read and I wish those experiences to be somewhere outside my head the method the book that inspired them is. I don't wish them to fade or be forgotten, either. I love documentation, and I could take or leave the sharing part of it but there are lots of amazing experiences to be had in sharing the documentation cently I was delighted when my mom read me a list of things she likes that she had randomly written down. I love hearing about what she feels because she doesn't talk about what she likes or what she thinks about certain things. I'm amazed and excited when she shares a childhood story or a snip of her history that I didn't know before, and the entire underbelly of her life outside of being a mom and before she was a mom comes into view for a second. I always wish to be more than people think of me, even when they know me very well. Relating to how Alison told this story and the roots of why she needs to really hit home with me. I'm so glad I read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I assume someone might like this, but I couldn't obtain past page 20 because all it had done was talk about how it was going to tell some story but she couldn't figure out how. And then she talked about all the ways she couldn't or had thought of ideas. CUT the process talk. When a story meanders around telling a story for this long, I can't support but assume the author is not a very skilled story teller. Strangely this book was recommended by a writing professor, but I doubt I'll ever search out if it's good. I don't have the patience to read the items I would have line edited out. It also reads very diaristic, which I don't care for. I wasn't very aesthetically happy with the artistic style, either. Obviously these are all very private aesthetic preferences, and like I said a writing professor recommended it. You might like it. I don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    This is a weird, and very good, comic. It's less of a memoir and more of a 300-page rumination of the author's feelings about her mother, as viewed through the lenses of psychoanalysis and writing, diving particularly in to the writings of Donald Winnicott and Virginia Woolf. The drawings are mostly of two or three people sitting in a room and talking about things, and a bunch of highlighted exerpts of other people's writing. But IMHO, it totally works.If you liked Fun Home, or family-drama comics in general, especially with a cerebral bent, you will almost certainly like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    More than a memoir about her mother, this is a meta-work exploring female relationships, literature, visual representation, therapy, dreams, and psychoanalysis, in which the author explores and defends her sensational book on her father, "Fun Home." Bechdel blurs the lines of visual and textual representations, as well as metaphorical symbolism and true life in her intelligent storytelling to discover the dimensions of ego, art, identity, and how we both relate to ourselves and others. Although less compelling than "Fun Home," Bechdel's depth of observation and artful interweaving of layered narratives makes this a rewarding and though-provoking read; a book worthy of returning to reanalyze and consider its carefully constructed stratums.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Are you my Mother? is the most intellectually engaging comic book I have ever read, and I have read plenty! I came to this book because her name is in my list of "must" female graphic artists, and I am not disappointed. There are a lot of reasons, beyond the undeniable quality of the book at both narrative and graphic levels, I was thrilled to search some of my favourite reading interests being part of the narrative (psychology, psychoanalysis, mental disorders) and some of my life practices reflected as well (dreamwork and metaconciousness), while a mate of mine is very interested in the Mother Archetype (and I even had a synchronicity happening with her while reading this book).Are you my Mother? is Bechdel's quest to understand the relationship she has with her mother from childhood to the show time to support her understand how their relationship shaped her psyche an who she is. It sounds a bit boring, but it is not!The book is a wide begin window to Bechdel's mind and heart, and to the method she lives and sees the world. She does not censor herself to be liked, so her opinions about the world, life or other artists, her family, her mother, her girlfriend/s and herself are sincere and believable. We also see her displaying her neurosis, depression, her obsessions and compulsions. Bechdel has a sharp-razor mind that understands complexity with easiness and sometimes she thinks the reader will to. I don't think is always the case, but she does not debase herself to the level of the mainstream reader because that is not who she is. A assassin combination of elements that will obtain any person interested. There is no fluff in this book, but you will search moments of tenderness, passion, fun, sadness, doubt, confusion and raw honesty, all of them infused in the hiper-metaconsciousness Bechdel swims everyday to sort out her private and creative e book has a Matryoshka doll sort of feeling as it is organically multi-layered and cohesive in her graphic and literary narrative, and one layer cover another, which, at its turn, covers another, despite all being a perfectly organic set. This a very Magritte-ish book as well, both in the imagery (See, f. e. pages 212 or 252) and its structure. So we see her writing the book about her father, while she is interacting with her mother, creating the book about her mother, thinking about the book about her mother, seeing herself doing so, at the same time. Almost an out of the body experience. The chapter on mirrors is perhaps the most clear example of this Magritte's man painting himself while paints himself while paints himself. Extremely aphically speaking, Bechdel is amazing. Her drawings are realistic, very expressive and multifaceted, very attentive to the detail (from the facial micro-expressions to the info on the floor or walls, everything!) but also very dynamic. Her approach to this graphic novel is also very photographic and cinematic, and reminds me of a pre-movie visual-rendering of a script, because her drawings are not only fabulous per se, they are fabulously composed and framed: eagle-view scenes, scenes from the road into a room, scenes with the self as object (shots of her feet, reflections on a mirror or train window), voyeuristic (sex scenes). Moreover, she inserts and reproduces with her own handwriting private (past and present) letters by her, her mother and her father, pages of newspapers, highlights from the books she is reading, clipped images and quotes, mock-flashback photos about her mother's childhood, Winnicott and Wolf's lives, and what it is not. Just awesome. They make texture, they make life on a paper and visually engage and enthral the reader.Everything looks and flows so easily that one forgets that it is masterful. You have to stop and say wow to yourself, because this girl has an extraordinary talent. I found so a lot of wow pages and vignettes! Just one example, pages 103-105 and how she depicts the pass of time, so beautifully easy and effective.Having said the above, this is a complex book, divided in chapters that begin with the depiction of one of her dreams, and dive into especial facets of the relationship mother-daughter from a psychoanalytic point of view. She starts with Freud and Jung readings but ends devoting her attention to the work of Donald Winnicott, whose life and writings on mother-child bonding click more with her. She also sees some parallels between Winnicott's theories, Virginia Wolf's writings (the Lighthouse especially) and her own life. Bechdel plays dream analyst and psychoanalyst with herself, and she is the object and the topic of her book. There are nudity, sex scenes and adult themes in the book, so this is not a graphic book for a lazy reader or for children.I don't like the hue of red used in the normal pages of the book. I would have rather had all in black or white or work on another hues. I found that the textures of the colour could have been better, but this me being fussy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    A true letdown from Fun House. Too much psychoanalysis. Unnecessary digressions about Winnicott, etc. Not enough about Bechdel and her mother. Disjointed. Unfunny and ultimately unenlightening. I had to force myself to [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love Alison Bechdel. "The Essential Dykes to Watch Out For" is a terrific romp through the ultra-feminist late 20th century. Her previous book "Fun Home," largely about her father, deserved all the awards it got. Thus I looked forward eagerly to this one, focusing on her mother. It is longer, but it has less impact. If you're not ready for lots of items about her therapy, you won't like it. She became fascinated by American psychoanalyst Donald Wood Winnicott, and we obtain a amazing deal of his private and professional history. Where her previous book is grounded in the experiences and happenings of her childhood, this one is grounded in therapeutic productions and analytic theory. Not so compelling. But this is still Alison Bechdel. I wasn't tempted to quit reading, and I enjoyed the book. Still, I suspect that this one is for Bechdel (or therapy) enthusiasts, not general readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    I can't download frame to place a picture in it from my gallery

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    Can't even place a image in it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    Rubbish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    Wasting my time..failed to focus only popping up. More work to improve on and cannot even save pic...Not to my liking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    My favorit subject I love mothers day because I love my mother she is the globe best mother

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    Satisfied Mothers Day Mother's Day is necessary to my life because I love my mother.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    Stupid Wack application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mother's Day Frames review [App]  2018-5-5 21:9

    I love frames and this Mother's day frames are beautiful.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter