My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar Reviews & Opinions


Submit My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This sequel is GREAT. The rhyme is awesome. Started these with T Rex when my grand daughter was 5. She is 8 and loves them. Now she is reading them to her cousin. Our one year old grand daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    So very cute!! My 5 & 6 year old love these books!! It helps that they're obsessed with dinos but I'm not & I loved it too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    My preschooler loves this book. My huge complaint is that neither the allosaur or the child in the story are girls and my daughter would love to see some more books with girl characters "like me."

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar video reviews and related movies:

    See My Allosaur Has lost his Roar on youtube.

     related image

    See My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar Childrens Picture Book on youtube.

     related image

    See The dinosaur who lost his roar on youtube.

     related image

    See Claudia - The Dinosaur Who Lost His Roar on youtube.

     related image

    See Land of the Lost (4/10) Movie CLIP - Walnut-Sized Brain (2009) HD on youtube.

     related image

    See Speckles The Tarbosaurus - Young years (resounded) on youtube.

     related image

    See ♪ JURASSIC WORLD THE MUSICAL - Animated Parody Song on youtube.

     related image

    See Allosaurus Tribute - Wake Up on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    It was a cute book. My two year old enjoyed the rhymes and the pictures. We spent the following 20 mins roar-ing. Haha

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I love reading this book to my small boy! This author does a amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    My son is 2-1/2 and didn't fidget once, and immediately asked me to read it again. I'll look for more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    We read this book 3 days a week. My small guy laughs every time. Funny short book. We have fun the song near the end of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    We adore Elwyn Tate stories! They include the excellent mix of silliness and fresh words to hold my learning reader entertained! So glad we finally got the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Allosaur Has Lost His Roar review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This is our second book to purchase by Elwyn Tate. My 3 year old Grandson and 6 year old granddaughter both love this one as much as "My T rex has a toothache".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roar review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    This is not a true movie. Possibly the most repugnant thing ever created for cinema, Roar is just a snuff movie without any snuffing. Its only merit is in making the viewer despise everyone involved. I'd give it a zero if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    An perfect book series, full of complex, well-developed characters who feel like people with an existence beyond the demands of the plot. Putney is one of the best Regency writers working today, and this series is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I enjoyed the characters, a bit more complexity than some of the genre- which keeps the story interesting. Intriguing and educational bits of history. Mary Jo Putney's writing always has a ring of authenticity. A couple of the storylines were somewhat similar, which was no doubt accentuated by reading back to back in this compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I loved this series. I had previously read "Never Less Than A Lady" and thought it was terrific, so when I found this bundle of all five books in the series I couldn't wait to read it (them).The stories were addictive, I couldn't stop reading (or at least I didn't wish to stop). The characters were very believable and the plots were well written. I can't wait for book six to come out later this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Mary Jo Putney is one of my very favorite authors, and she's done it again, by creating this series. It's like reading about a family with all their private struggles. I'm so glad it's bundled so you don't have to buy each book separately. Often you can't search them all and end up missing one of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords series is spell-binding. This is historical romance at it's best. I couldn't read this entire series quick enough! It's 19th century England after the war at Waterloo with so a lot of twists and turns you don't know what is event next. Once you begin reading this series, you won't wish to stop!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    How enjoyble for me as am avid reader to have so a lot of similar books in one bundle. I have preordered the next one and have two months to wait. Very much looking forward to the novel about Lord Kirkwood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Really liked this series and in the process found a fresh author to read. Amazing characters and plot lines. Really enjoyed this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I've always enjoyed Mary Jo Putney books. A amazing method to escape from reality for a small while.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I enjoyed this series very much. This is a fresh author for me and I will surely look for more. Each book could be read as a stand alone but is even more fun to read as you obtain to know the characters and follow their adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mary Jo Putney's Lost Lords Bundle: Loving a Lost Lord, Never Less Than A Lady, Nowhere Near Respectable, No Longer a Gentleman & Sometimes A Rogue review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    bought the sixth book in paper form and liked it so much, wanted to read the earlier stories. Was thrilled that there was a bundle of the previous 5 that I needed. Enjoyed them immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost Signal review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I was really hoping a crystal-meth-horror would lead to enjoyment. Instead it just led to confusion. _Final rating:★½: - Boring/disappointing. Avoid if possible._

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in Translation review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Ok film Lovers. If you didn't like The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, then don't even bother with Lost in Translation. The jokes are dry and the dialogue is weak. At least in Life Aquatic they wore funny outfits. Being a globe traveler myself I could appreciate the jet lag and overall moping around thru out the whole film. You will definatly feel lost. Although I found myself laughing out loud a few times at Bill Murray and his quips, BY NO MEANS should the average film fans think this is a comedy. It is an independent art movie and should be treated as so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost Highway review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    **Lynch's Masterpiece.** This is my favorite Lynch films, hands down. First saw it in a theatre and the film's lighting was so weird and disorienting that at times you weren't sure if there was some weird exterior light source hitting the screen. Uber weird. More twist and turns than the highway itself :P For sure it's fun to test and nail down exactly what happened but IMHO it's a small more fun not to know - each time you rewatch it you might see/think/feel something different.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Continent review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Then we'll go on trying, and the day we stop trying we stop living! It is one of the major oddities out of Hammer Films, a nutty slice of fantasy adventure sci-fi, resplendent with rubbery effects work, an incoherent screenplay, auto-cue hammy acting and obligatory humongous cleavage! Plot, for what it is worth, finds a potentially explosive cargo ship and passengers, piloted by an uber serious Eric Portman, become victim of a mutiny and then search themselves lost in the Sargasso Sea. But wait! There is an island offering salvation, only it's a bit of a time warp populated by despotic Spanish conquistadors. Oh and the landscape is filled with man-eating beasties, including rampaging seaweed. Based on Dennis Wheatley's novel Uncharted Seas, it's a movie where adults have to double check to see if they have had some poor liquor, while the children delight in the garish colours and rubber monsters. It's all very surreal, and daft, and not quite a masterpiece of "Z" grade cinema, but it is fun, even if for those of us who like a drink, we will never ever be drunk enough to embrace its madness fully. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost World review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Irwin Allen asks us politely to obtain lost in his world. The Lost Globe is directed and produced by Irwin Allen, who also co-adapts the screenplay with Charles Bennett from the novel written by Arthur Conan Doyle. It stars Michael Rennie, Jill St. John, Claude Rains, David Hedison, Fernando Lamas and Richard Haydn. A CinemaScope production in De Luxe Color, melody is by Paul Sawtell & Bert Shefter and cinematography by Winton C. Hoch. A loose adaptation of Doyle's novel, this ver was the first talkie to surface after the silent original back in 1925. The story pitches a diverse group of travellers/explorers onto an Amazonian plateau where it is hoped that proof of living dinosaurs can be made. Creature malarkey does follow. Given that it has a diverse reputation and average ratings on internet film sites, you would be fooled into thinking this was a flop. Far from it! It created very amazing coin at the box office and it continues to be a well received fantasy favourite shown on TV schedules during holiday periods. In fact, there is a cult fan base out there whom steadfastly will defend the pic from violent attack! Irwin Allen used his average budget in locations other than for the monster effects, this is obvious, while it's real to say that most of the acting is from the school of ham and cheese sandwich. Yet the slurpasaur effects are engaging and effective. Oh for sure none of the monsters look like dinosaurs, which begs the question on why didn't they just write it as a fresh raft of undiscovered dinosaurs? But suspense and peril is eked out and the globe made by the art design squad is impressively interesting. The usual hero stereotypes exist, including a surplus to requirements female hero (St. John), who is attired in pink trousers and brings her pet poodle pooch along for the trip! The formula would obtain tired over the on coming decades (see Disney's Island at the Top of the Globe which would crib from this pic), yet there's still a lot of fun to be had with huge creatures, huge spiders, diamonds and a secret race of people with a specialist appetite - while you can't beat a amazing old chase finale topped off by peril and twisty strife. Sometimes cheap and cheerful, sometimes full of fun and frolics, all things considered, there's a amazing time to be had for the discerning monster feature/fantasy adventure movie fan. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Moment review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Dead among the living and living among the dead. The Lost Moment is directed by Martin Gabel and adapted by Leonardo Bercovici from the Henry James novel, The Aspern Papers. It stars Robert Cummings, Susan Hayward, Agnes Moorehead and Eduardo Ciannelli. Melody is by Daniele Amfitheatrof and cinematography by Hal Mohr. Lewis Venable (Cummings) is a publisher who travels to Venice in find of love letters written by poet Jeffrey Ashton. Insinuating himself into the home of the poets lover and recipient of the letters, Juliana Bordereau (Moorehead), Venable finds himself transfixed by the strangeness of the put and its inhabitants, one of which is Juliana's off kilter niece, Tina (Hayward). A splendid slice of Gothicana done up in movie noir fancy dress, The Lost Moment is hauntingly romantic and ethereal in its weirdness. It's very talky, so the impatient should be advised, but the visuals and the frequent influx of dreamy like sequences keep the attention right to the denouement. The narrative is devilish by intent, with shifting identities, sexual tensions, intrigue and hidden secrets the orders of the day. Cummings is a small awkward and his scenes with Hayward (very amazing in a tricky role) lacks an urgent spark, while old hands Moorehead (as a centenarian with an outstanding makeup job) and Ciannelli leave favourable marks in the smaller roles. Mohr's (The Phantom of the Opera) photography is gorgeous and bathes the pic in atmosphere, and Amfitheatrof's musical compositions are strong in their subtleties. As for Gabel? With this being his only foray into directing, it stands as a shame he didn't venture further into the directing sphere. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Weekend review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Delirium is a disease that only comes at night. Don Birnham is not a drinker, he is in fact a drunk, he is left alone for the weekend by those who love him under the proviso that he gets stuck into his writing, thus the hope is that he stays away from the booze that is killing his life and the loving foundation that his life is built on. Billy Wilder directs this with brilliant hands, he pulls his first masterstroke by casting Ray Milland in the lead role of Don Birnham, at the time Milland was better known for light and airy roles, so for audiences of the time it was quite something to see someone so normally affable descend into a true dark shadow of their perceived persona. It was a formula that Blake Edwards would repeat some 17 years later with Days Of Wine And Roses, there, comedy amazing Jack Lemmon would wow the viewers with his own descent into alcoholic hell. It's no various here in 1945, Milland (and Wilder) drag us into an airy, almost jaunty first reel, and the foundation is set here for us to firmly stand by Don as he spirals thru a series of nightmares that is acted with genuine brilliance from the leading man. The journey has us rapidly trying to hock a typewriter if only we could just search a pawnbrokers open, we will beg in touchingly heart breaking fashion for a drink from the trusted barkeep, we will search ourselves in a dry out ward where the night terrors take over, we will be terrified by the delirium as sobriety threatens to unhinge this vile addiction.... We will be part of this movie for it's simply magnetic in how it draws you in, it's not just Milland's quite stunning show, Wilder the crafty sod uses deep focus to emphasise anything that will steer us to the demon drink, be it escalating water rings as each shot of Rye is consumed, or shots thru the bottles themselves, Wilder doesn't allow up with knowing reminders of the core subject. The score is just terrific, Miklos Roza scores it to perfection because the melody leads you into a swirling nightmare as Don's functional mind gives method to the haven of numbness, in short, the work on the movie is incredible. The back story to this now revered masterpiece is somewhat hilarious, Paramount didn't wish to release the movie after temperance groups protested the movie championed drinking (lol). One powerful arm group even offered 5 Million Dollars to have the movies negative destroyed, Wilder stood by his guns and thankfully the film watching globe still has a dark and poignant classic to view with resonance in any decade. 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost City review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    It must have been so gloriously invigorating, making movies during the first decade since the inception of sound. It seemed both in the pre-Code era and in serials (which I unabashedly adore) that writers and filmmakers threw everything but the kitchen sink at unsuspecting viewers. Though the cynical among contemporary cinephiles could just as well toss it off as creaky filmmaking, since Lord Almighty, it's in black-and-white with no CGI, it's a load of fun (although it does carry the racial stereotypes that were prevalent in cinema at that time, unfortunately). The mid-30's weren't too various from 2016, four full generations later, in that current successes=tons of spinoffs (just like the plethora of ultraviolent comedies after 'Pulp Fiction', and gazillions of comic book movies in the wake of 'Iron Man'). Since then-recent smash hits like 'King Kong', Johnny Weissmuller's 'Tarzan' movies and mad-scientist of James Whale's outstanding 'Frankenstein' films created those aspects hugely popular, they all obtain tossed together here in a cinematic ratatouille, with a crazed scientist in an desolate African jungle, of all places, threatening the globe with global domination, by destroying hundreds of cities worldwide through electrical storms. An electrical engineering genius, Bruce Gordon, discovers this, and plots an expedition there to search the root cause and destroy it. Along the way, he and his party are continually double-crossed by everyone and their half-brother, as each person with any sense of duplicity whatsoever puts the two-and-two together that kidnapped elderly scientist Dr. Manyus' ability to create zombie-like giant slaves from the African natives could mean a fortune in dubious hands. One of my favourite hero actors of the era, George 'Gabby' Hayes, plays one of those dubious people, the explorer Butterfield, and Claudia Dell is downright deliciously captivating as Dr. Manyus' daughter, the picture's damsel in distress. Yes, there are excruciating plot holes galore, but that's never the point with these delightful films. Just turn your brain off for the 3+ hours, that the 2 parts of the movie (edited from the 4-hour, 12-part serial) have to offer. Not everything has to be Hamlet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    What a heartbreaking, yet triumphant and hopeful story that explores depression. No doubt someone who reads this story will see herself in it and perhaps feel less alone, and hopefully reach out for help. As beautifully written as Luanne Rice’s “grownup” books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    Ive read every book she's ever written and a his one was unexpected. I liked it but wish more. Hope another book is coming.I think this would be a amazing book for high school aged students to read. Gives amazing for thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    A unbelievable read Highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    I've enjoyed Luanne Rice's novels for years. I didn't realize she wrote young adult novels until I picked this e book immediately grabbed my attention; I read it in one sitting.I could tell that Luanne Rice has experience with depression because her writing Maia's story was so realistic.I fell in love with Maia. She was so true to me. That's the measure of a amazing book for me: how much do I care about the characters? Maia was a young woman in pain; she was living in a globe of anguish. I can't give away too much of the story! I could feel Maia's need for her mother; her fear of her own depression and her desire to be wanted and loved by lly wasn't as lovable to me; his hero was mad and while it's understandable that he would be so mad, it got in my method of caring too deeply. I know he was hurting badly. I had empathy for him but his hard shell was too hard for me to crack.I recommend this book to teens. The subject can be overwhelming yet it's a subject that needs to be addressed. Hopefully a teen with questions would have an adult to discuss the book with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    “The Attractive Lost” by Luanne Rice is one of those YA novels which goes far beyond the ordinary traumas of teen-aged angst and delves potently into serious relationship issues. The story is told from the viewpoint of sixteen-year-old Maia, whose mother left her in the care of her father three years before this narrative begins. Maia’s feelings of abandonment led to a major depression, for which she was sent to a mental hospital for a while. Supposedly stabilized by meds at the point when the story opens, she none-the-less feels judged and overly supervised by her stepmother Astrid, and conceives a plan to run away and seek her mother, a “Whale Maven” whom she believes is staying in a remote cabin on a fjord in Quebec. Maia is joined in her escape by Billy, a resident of the neighboring group home, who also has a family trauma to deal with. His mother was murdered by his father, who is currently in prison, and his grandfather, his true mentor, has seemingly rejected him. He hates the group home, and sympathizes with Maia’s e story deals primarily with the youngsters’ street trip. Although there are challenges and difficulties, nothing is over-played or implausible. Maia and Billy grow to trust and rely upon each other, and their friendship blooms naturally into a deeply caring relationship. The culmination of the story is not really predictable, but is generally very well worked out, providing a sense of balance and rightness. As a YA novel, the book is simple to read, but is fully developed and charmingly characterized.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    I hesitate to read teen books about depression because they're normally cliche and full of teen angst. This one was a real book about the realities of depression mixed in with coming of age, first love and a twisty adventurous backstory full of street trip adventure and whales songs. Luanne Rice writes beautifully and I won't miss a book of hers from now on!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    A lot of YA books about depression and other mental illnesses have fallen into the trap of being cliche, but this one has not. It goes above and beyond the expectations of a lot of readers and LuAnne Rice breathes animus and plausibility into her characters, which is a true gift. I have read other books by LuAnne rice and she is a truly gifted author and her books are ones I will be following. Maia, 16 is the protagonist of this story. Maia's mother left the family when Maia was 13 and Maia subsequently suffers from clinical depression. Sadly, her depression was so debilitating that she served time in a hospital. I absolutely loved her psychiatrist , who was truly a amazing person. Released and medicated and seemingly stabilized, Maia plans to run away from home, especially from her stepmother Astrid with whom she has a poor relationship. She seeks her natural mother and clues point her to ia is accompanied by a boy named Billy who lives in an zone group home. His father killed his mother and the father is serving a life sentence. The boy's grandfather is not in a position to raise the boy, so he wound up in the group home, which he hated. The two young people join forces and decide to go on their respective quests together. Their trip is not an simple one nor is it one without danger and problems. Forced to trust each other, in time the pair do. They meet some very interesting peers along the method including two girls who are partners and support point them in the right direction on their mission and a hitchhiking pair in Canada who may or may not be what they claim. The pair's street trip from Connecticut to Canada was an exciting quest and as a reader, I found being along for the ride quite harrowing and exciting. Maia and Billy were very resourceful and literally lucked out on their trip to Canada. I felt Maia was a very sympathetic hero and one who described crippling clinical depression in a very plausible way. Billy was also a sympathetic hero due to his family upheaval. He has a true tender side as when he bought ice cream for kids in a group home en route to Canada. This is an perfect novel and one that will hold readers thinking and talking for a very long time. Hopefully it will become a book featured in book discussions and school groups. Having the conversations about depression and the similar problems covered in this book is something that will prove helpful to a lot of and hold people thinking.Willie Nelson's classic "On the Street Again" and the 1965 Dave Clark Five classic "Catch Us If You Can" could well underscore this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    Recently discharged from a hospital where she was treated for clinical depression, Maia has no desire to return, even though her moods are occasionally shaky - much to her family and friends' concern. Luckily, she has something to distract her - Billy, the fresh child in school, who lives in a group home, is extremely good-looking, and has his own demons to battle. When the book opens, Maia is planning a street trip to search her mother, a fiercely independent and quirky marine biologist, who lives off-the-grid somewhere in Canada, and who could not be more various from her conventional stepmom. When she manages to evade her stepmother who believes she should return to the hospital, Maia is able to snare Billy, who is keen on leaving the group home, as well, and the two set off to search Maia's mom. Luckily, Billy has had experience being on the lam with his father, and he can provide Maia with all sorts of helpful hints to ensure that they cannot be tracked. Taking a purposely haphazard route, the two teens meet a dozens of interesting characters, and finally end up where they wished to go. But although she claims to be glad to see her daughter, Maia keeps noticing discrepancies between her words and her actions. Is it possible that her mother is secretly making plans to return Maia to her father? Is the fact that Maia has decreased her meds making her feel odd, too? And if so, should Maia and Billy, who by this time are in love and prefer staying together to any alternatives, move on?Thoughts: Street trips for teens have certainly gotten trickier since I was one myself. Even when you've found your soulmate, the agony of having to turn off your cell phone so you can't be tracked can be a challenge. While the insta-love aspect of the novel place me off at first, it's such a common theme in YA lit these days, it stopped bothering me once the book got underway. The subplot about marine life, and the whales as a metaphor for Maia's relationships was well-executed. Billy turns out to be much more likeable than I initially feared, and the book's ending is realistic but upbeat, too. Overall, I enjoyed the book and found both main characters simple to root for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    This book!!!! oh my gosh is so beautiful! I am in love everything about it! i had a major book hangover after reading this. I even had a one-sided conversation with myself when I finished it. I am weird!the thing I noticed is that street trip books never disappoint! three out of three books I've read about street trips create a tag on me. And this book is my favorite out of those three!the plot: does not give justice to what's in the book. so READ IT! it has so much emotion, family drama, mental health issues. it even covers climate change, animal preservations (especially the ocean life), and even e characters: are beautiful! Maia and Billy are such an awesome tandem. I love that they are flawed. Haunted by their pasts, they create such a unbelievable hero progress on their own. And that's so amazing about it, they realized the solutions to their issues on their own. Not the cliche "I'm going to change you for the better" stuff. i love that they are there for each other, but they grew as individuals! i can go on and on about these two!the minor characters: so-so. at the end of the day, this book is about Maia and Billy. when you read this, you'll obtain what I e flow of the story: is well-paced. it's not to quick and not dragging. I like that the locations they went actually matter to both of them, and they explore fresh things in these e writing style: smooth. the words flow so well. and the things she writes about are very educational. The author created me look up things in the internet because you know that it's not necessary part of the story. and in that way, I learned a lot of things.I swear, I can go on and on about this book, even without giving away spoilers. it's just so awesome and I love this book very much. So realistic and very real to itself.*I received an ARC from Yallwest '17

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beautiful Lost review [Book]  2017-12-4 18:1

    The Attractive Lost was an amazing, emotional and unbelievable e main character, Maia has struggled with depression ever since her mother left her. Maia was really close to her mother and remembered everything she thought her. They also share a love for e decides to set off on a street trip in find of her mother hoping that might create her feel like her old, satisfied self again. And her crush, Billy decides to mark ia and Billy set off on a journey of self discovery. As they go along, they begin to explore they have a lot in common. They also begin to understand each other a lot e Attractive Lost explores the problems of depression. Luanne Rice has written a attractive novel of self discovery and learning to cope with depression.I really enjoyed reading this novel and joining Maia and Billy on this journey. This was a very heartfelt novel that I recommend everyone should read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Dungeon review [App]  2018-3-15 13:0

    Just amazing, unbelievable graphics and story, as well as simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Dungeon review [App]  2018-3-15 13:0

    Smooth video test and original mechanics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    As with Alessandra’s previous book,I found myself tuning out the globe as I entered into the lives of the characters in Everything She the title, could be referring to the main character,Nina,as she struggles to recover from a latest mental break and diagnoses of schizoaffective disorder or is it referring to Deja, Nina’s shifty best friend, as she manipulates to test and hold her own dark secrets from being revealed? The creative writing style Alessandra has with ping ponging the characters perspectives, from one chapter to the next, and yet fluently interconnecting them leaves the question to our is story allows for us to peer through the eyes of these characters and feel their desperation and grasping for normalcy. I love how despite the deep darkness and confusion Nina went through, in the end, it was her trials that led her to have compassion and forgiveness towards the one who did her wrong.When you have to place the book down, you’re left feeling the ups and downs as if you’ve been walking in the characters is is when you know the author has done their job and a brilliant job Alessandra has done! Can hardly wait for her next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I read this book in a few sittings and gave a copy to a friend. The drama hooks you from the start. Harris's writing style is clear and direct, and her narrative focuses on the emotional journey of her characters. The point of view changes from chapter to chapter, and all the perspectives are believable - I sympathized with the hard choices the characters created when their backs were versus the wall, and sympathized with why they might think they were making the right decision to protect those they loved. It's a solid read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    What a gripping story! Alessandra Harris does it again. Her work is thoughtful, thorough and creatively written. You won't regret buying Everything She Lost!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    A fast read. It kept my attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Favorite Quotes:Stability seemed like a distant zone she’d never reach, a vacation she longed for but couldn’t metimes, we have to choose between hard and harder. That doesn’t create you a poor person. It makes you Review:Everything She Lost was a tension-filled and angsty story full of intrigue and taut with suspense. I couldn’t decide if the main hero was losing her mind or being gaslighted, or a bit of both. Then I couldn’t decide how far-reaching the nefarious scheme was and who was behind it and how a lot of others were participating in the probable diabolical plan. The storyline was maddeningly paced and infuriating well-crafted. While the story held me captive, the characters were provocatively interesting and unpredictable and kept plucking at my curiosity while I concocted different theories. I greatly despised and slightly pitied the heinous and manipulative hero of Deja who had created a lifetime of poor choices. Oh that Alessandra Harris is a wily and clever schemer and sucked me right in with her enthralling tale of deceit and betrayal that did not relent until the final pages. Sigh…more, please!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Nina is trying hard to remain balanced. She had a mental breakdown that nearly cost her her marriage. Nina is glad her husband Rodney decided to allow her move back in, so she can be with her two girls again. Her daughters mean everything to her and for them she wants to obtain as healthy as possible. Even though Nina has doubts about her own mental wellbeing she's trying the best she can. She's lost a lot of friendships, but a fresh person, Deja, came into her life when she required it the ja is a single mother and she's struggling to pay the bills. There is a man in her life, but he isn't the kind she can have a steady relationship with. Deja's past remains a issue and Deja is constantly afraid it will catch up with her. Deja never had a mate and even though she loves her, spending time with Nina becomes incredibly complicated. Deja's keeping a lot of secrets from her friend, but this becomes increasingly difficult. Deja's issues are threatening to obtain out of hand and they could be a threat to Nina's mental wellbeing. What will happen if Deja can't hold things under control?Everything She Lost is a attractive gripping story. After her breakdown Nina has become fragile. Insecurities are making life difficult for her and even the most easy tasks can be daunting because she keeps questioning herself. My heart ached for her. She's a kindhearted, intelligent and talented woman and doesn't deserve the method she's being treated by her husband and other people in her life. I kept hoping Nina would search some more help from those who would give her the love she deserves and this kept me on the edge of my seat. Alessandra Harris writes about her issues in a fabulous emphatic na's friendship with Deja is complicated. Deja is skilled at keeping secrets. She thinks she does what she has to do to survive, but she doesn't always create the right decisions, for herself and for the people she cares about. Alessandra Harris has written her story from both Nina and Deja's point of view and I loved that she alternates between them, because that created it possible to obtain to know the two women really well and feel close to the story. I was intrigued by the friendship and couldn't wait to search out what would happen to both Nina and essandra Harris writes about dishonesty, betrayal, mind android games and lies in a unbelievable thrilling way. She knows how to build tension, while telling an impressive story about two women who don't have an simple life at the same time. I was captivated by Everything She Lost from beginning to end and read the book in one sitting. I loved the surprising twists and turns and really liked the ending of the story. Everything She Lost is an awesome versatile, enthralling and poignant book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I read this author's previous work and was enthralled by it, so when this one became available I was delighted to be able to obtain stuck into what I thought was going to be super read…I just had no idea how sensational it would e story is about Nina and Deja and it is one that gives true depth and meaning to the intensity and bond that they share as they forge their friendship…but not everything is as it seems, so hold your wits about you. Nina is in for a rough na’s mental health problems have plagued her, her past bleeds into her here and now, her demons and uncertainties have permeated every aspect of her day, her waking hours have her coping with the fact that she has been diagnosed with schizophrenia and for her sleep is something that never comes easy, the weight of her previous breakdown very far from the surface…I couldn’t support but feel broken for this powerful woman who was doing everything she could to salvage a life that she believes is hers for the taking, the truth isn’t that easy because those that she should be able to rely on and those that have come into her life and offer their help and friendship are anything but what she needs. The level of betrayal that she experiences from those who are significant to her raised the hackles on the back of my neck, I was livid! How she managed to keep on to an semblance of normality I will never na tries to take control of her health in a bid to hold the people she loves the most safe from the pain and impact that her diagnosis can have…she loves her husband and daughters but when it comes to him, I have to say she is a better woman than I am because I could barely search one redeeming quality about her old man, he was totally self-centred and that niggled me…but what he does later…Wow! I can’t say what I felt about him then, because I don’t think it would extend to much more than a whole list of expletives that might obtain totally out of control!Deja, well there is a woman that I wasn’t sure what to create of initially, she seemed to be everything that Nona needed, the excellent mate but then again looks can be deceiving and she was dealing with her own sh*t.But for me, as much as I didn’t ever really obtain to actually like her completely, I did understand why she was the method she was and why she did what she did. A lot of may think that she was in an almost impossible situation, but it was one entirely of her own making and one that sent reverberations of devastation to those around her. I obtain that life as a single mother is tough, but she is not the only person to have ever been in that situation, but Deja created a catastrophic decision when she embezzled a huge amount of cash from her previous employer because even though she now has a fresh career, she is being pressured to pay the cash back, and the request carries the not so thinly veiled promise that if it is not paid back there will be unpleasant consequences. The decisions she makes in response to that force her into a decision that there is no coming back from, she starts sleeping with men for money…I am saying no more!This is true life in all its guises, it is brutally honest and demonstrably accurate, it pulls no punches in its portrayal of the pain and impact of mental illness on not only the person diagnosed but also their extended circle of family and friends, I liked that the author didn’t sugar coat Nina’s situation and that she didn’t quickly lift the cloud that Nina feels encased by, anything else would have been a disservice…so my thanks and admiration to you Ms Harris for a job not only well done but for a story that is much is isn’t a light and fluffy read, it has a lot going on and a lot of it is troubling, from the get-go this will keep you hostage and resolutely refuse to allow go. The hero development is sensational and the detail on each and every page will steal your breath away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    If you are familiar with the book or movie, “Gaslight” this plot will be familiar, except there are a lot of more intriguing twists and turns. You may immediately empathize, like I did, with Nina and Deja, the women the plot revolves around. Their personalities and situations are engaging. Nina is recovering from a nervous breakdown, during which time she was hospitalized and separated from her family. Deja is a woman struggling to leave behind an unsavory past. Nina believes she is relapsing because of incidents in her life which she can’t explain. She is in a somewhat fragile state. She is also trying to regain her put in her family, and meeting resistance from her husband. Unfortunately, Deja has created some not good choices mostly due to desperation, and her past has caught up with e is trying, with all the strength and courage she has, to avoid a confrontation, and to relocate her son Mark, and herself. These two women end up struggling together, each for a happier life and better future. You will probably lose sleep over this novel. It is engrossing. I stayed up most of one night because I was seventy pages from the end, and couldn’t place down my book. I did not expect the ending, but it was logical and satisfying. Actually, I loved it, and the entire book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    With mates like these.....Nina Taylor works hard every day to stay on top of things. She makes lists to support her remember to do everything she needs to accomplish. Nina suffered a "mental breakdown “that almost resulted in the end of her marriage. Each day she attempts to maintain her sanity while raising two daughters and living with her demanding and distant husband. To add to her list of duties, her friend's son is constantly at her home. I would have like more of the back story on her mental health problems which caused such an problem with her husband and why people are acting funny around her at ja Johnson is a single mother with a troubled past. Her past has come calling and she needs to search a method to move past her former issues. Making her life more complicated is that fact that she is sleeping with a married man, not to mention, things she is doing to jeopardize her job. I'll say it right here, I didn't care for her hero at all. She is sleeping with her best friend's husband and has no issue having her mate watch her child while her bangs her husband? She is described as having a troubled past, that doesn't excuse her and her choices in the present. A lot of reviewers are calling Deja strong, but I viewed her as being weak. Sleeping with her friend's husband, constant lying, having him over while her son is at home, sleeping with a married client of her employer, to me she has very loose morals and extremely not good judgement. Deja was not strong, she was deceitful, weak and willing to use whomever she could to save her own na and Deja are friends, but one night something happens that will threaten the keep Nina has on her sanity and may expose Deja for what or who she really is. Will the stress of the happening threaten Nina's mental health, or will it create her stronger? Will the backstabbing be found out? Will someone's real colors finally be seen? To quote a country melody song "Somebody done somebody wrong" in this is book deals with a lot of problems including mental health, infidelity, deceit, help systems and secrets to name a few. The reader is aware of what it is going on while Nina is in the dark and trying to manage. It was interesting to see if she was going to "learn the truth" or continue to have the wool pulled over her eyes. Everything comes together in the end. This book proved to be a quick read with a few twists and turns along the way. I would have liked more of Nina and Deja’s back stories. I felt as if I was missing some info that would have helped me have fun the book more. I found it difficult to like a lot of the characters in this book due to their behaviors and deceit. Overall, a amazing book that left me with some questions. The writing was solid and the book moved at a nice pace.I was given a copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything She Lost review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This is a beautifully written book about the power of relationships between family, friends, and partners for both amazing and bad. It's also a psychological thriller that leaves you wondering through most of the book what's true and what isn'ere are two basic characters: Nina, whose story keeps referring to a mental breakdown and tragedy that cost her multiple loved ones. Deja, with a difficult family history trying to hold herself and her son's heads above water. Other characters are woven into the tale in different ways and relationships, including romantic partners for both the ladies, their children, and their first, the veiled mentions of Nina losing two people and her mental breakdown without more specifics were a bit annoying - like a whispered secret you're not part of, yet expected to have full awareness. However, the story unfolds like a rose opening, petal by petal, piece by piece. Within a few chapters, I was entirely drawn into the story and the characters, trying to figure out who was plotting versus Nina, who was threatening Deja and why, and how it could all tie together and end neatly. I'm surprised and delighted to say that some of my guesses were wrong - typically I'm beautiful fast on a mystery or psychological thriller - which speaks highly to this author's skills.I received a free copy of this book from the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    This was a total waste of money! I couldn't even create it halfway through.I was looking forward to reading about people getting lost in a jungle in South America, but in the first few chapters the author told about how they slaughtered piglets in front of their mother, then the mother in front of her babies, then how they slaughtered a calf in front of it's mother, then how they ate monkey meat!The author and his mates sound very apathetic and self serving, with absolutely no compassion towards anyone or anything other than themselves.If that kind of person interests you, then read the book.Otherwise, don't waste your time or money!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    The first half of this is book boring and clumsily written. It was a struggle just to obtain the mid-point. Yossi and his mates come off as shallow, annoying people. If you create to page 130 or so things finally begin to pick up. But the four of them come off as the largest bunch of idiots to ever step foot in the Amazon. They are woefully unprepared and under equipped. Their goal was to visit an Indian village that had never seem white people before, as if they think themselves superior to the tourists visiting the tourist handicraft villages. But they cannot be bothered to actually study and learn how to survive in the jungle before they set off on their adventure. I could understand forgetting a critical item or two but what kind of idiots head off into the jungle with only one machete between the four of them? They don't even have an additional pocket knife! Even assuming these guys thought the tutorial knew what he was doing when they first set out there were plenty of red flags that created it obvious they should have turned back while they had the chance. Like when they went back to the ranch and he was trying to repair his crappy disintegrating footwear. I did not search this book inspirational, I found it to be a tale of morons that I would never wish to go on a trip to the corner shop with, allow alone setting off in the trackless jungle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    This was a great, page turning, read! I can't believe all the one star reviews I am seeing. I sometimes feel like some of the non fiction books I read are like homework assignments. Rarely do they come off as novels where I stay up late reading them. This is one of those books.If you are a traveler, adventurer, and reader, I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    I gave this book 3 stars only because that is supposed to mean "okay". I sincerely hope this is Mr. Ghinsberg's first attempt at writing because, in my opinion, it is a very amateurish effort. I completely agree with other reviewers who said the first half of the book was boring. I kept finding myself saying, "What is wrong with these young men? How can they be that gullible and fall for Karl's ridiculous line?" They sounded and acted more like teenagers than twenty-somethings! (Please, I don't mean to insult teenagers!) Totally unprepared, totally ignorant, totally unaware of the dangers anyone should give serious thought to concerning a trip into the Amazon jungle. How he survived is a real miracle and he definitely had someone looking over him! If you decide to read this book, breeze through the first half and obtain to the actual "lost in the jungle" part. If you're not squeamish, you may actually have fun the latest half of Yossi's story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    The story could be interesting but the writing is not good . I gave it 3 stars only because I liked the idea of what the novel is about . The author left me wondering a lot of things and I think he tries to portray himself as more naive than he was .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    Very interesting tale of survival. At one point I was mad at Yossi and his traveling companion Kevin and how they treated Marcus; I never quite understood how and why that transition in friendship occurred. Although young, their trust in Karl was suspect and fraught with not good netheless, the story of survival was wonderful and a testament of will.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    An exciting adventure on the Amazon that is a real story. Hold my interest to where I couldn't place it down trying to read quick enough to turn the page. A story to live your life by.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    The young men who undertook this jungle trek were exceptionally unpleasant people, toward themselves, one another, and the fellow monsters and other animals they met. They were woefully unprepared for life in the jungle, seemed to have no genuine or appropriate survival skills, and failed to plan or prepare for a trip such as they undertook. They were so lacking in foresight and compassion that I didn't care to know more about them after the book's first third and decided not to finish reading their story. Other "lost in the jungle" tales are available with greater rewards for characters and readers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    I enjoyed every page of Lost in the Jungle. I felt all his fears as he was left in the jungle to struggle for his life.I was glad that Mr. Ghinsberg allow us know how his life developed after his ordeal in the jungle. I was impressedwith the devotion of his mate Kevin to look for him when the outlook looked hopeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lost in the Jungle review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:0

    I saw the film first, the book was more interesting and held my interest well. An awesome story of grit and miracles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roar* TCNJ review [App]  2018-4-8 21:8

    Application works more or less smoothly; couple kinks need to be worked out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roar* TCNJ review [App]  2018-4-8 21:8

    Can't sign in even with correct email and password

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roar* TCNJ review [App]  2018-4-8 21:8

    Functionality is okay, but the application was causing my phone to crash while it was running in the background.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raiders of the Lost Ark review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    **Trailblazers of a Lost Art** Little wonder James Cameron and Joss Whelon films are the largest box-office earners. They are masters of cinematic rhetoric. The unfolding dramatic situations and controlled dialogue are meticulously contrived. Cameron could probably have potted more if it wasn't for his earnest, simplistic messages (rich bad; nature good). All three films (_Titanic_, _Avatar_, _Avengers_) plot along comfortably then suddenly spike spectacularly. But no one has ever laid on the cinematic charm and cajolery like Stephen Spielberg. He was by far the craftiest manipulator of action and melodrama there ever was. He was the progenitor of summer blockbusters and all-ages, all-nations spectacles. At his best he had a bonus for re-living and realizing that ethereal and irresistible childhood awe. If _Raiders of the Lost Ark_ (NOT the sequels... NO, not even the father- son one) was created today, exactly the same way, okay maybe in 3D with updated CGI, it would surely land at the top of the box-office heap. It is essentially the first comic book film that wasn't a comic book (bespectacled mild-mannered Archaeology prof by day and globe-trotting whip-wielding action character on sabbatical). _Raiders of the Lost Ark_ (the first and only) is arguably the greatest adventure film ever cooked up. And we, the abject audience, servile participants of the artifice, were licking its boots. We wanted Spielberg and his Indy to rope us in, reel us into the action, and completely have their method with us. We overlooked the emotional manipulation and contrived trappings because it was a pure freaking joy to watch, a Lucas produced godsend. Harrison Ford was born to play it just as Steven was born to direct it. It's really too poor they had to brand and knock off inferior sequels that, while making oodles of money, tarnished the shine of the unsurpassed prototype. Indiana Jones was the excellent reluctant action character on a selfless mission. A whip-snapping, truck-wrangling, swordster-gunning, Nazi- brawling adventurer who was matched only by his headstrong and sassy love interest, one pistol of a gal who could drink any man under the table. Not enough credit has been given to the amazing Lawrence Kasdan as the writer of this marvellous adventure. The script is as close to excellent as anybody could scribe. Even a dialogue-heavy expository stage (poisoned dates) was infused with a tense element of suspense. Yes, the story was hyper-fictional, completely contrived, shamelessly far-fetched... and altogether delightful. I wasn't expecting much when I went in to watch it back in 1981, but it had me wanting to do do back-flips on the method out. America's own Fab Four, Larry, Steve, Harrison and George, place on an action-adventure clinic. Possibly the only weak spot in the film is the climax which had our character and heroine tied to a stake while God, the almighty Mcguffin from the Old Testament, magically wrapped things up for them. "Don't look" Indy warns, with his patented crooked grin. Are you kidding? We can't possibly take out eyes off of this. With respect to lost Teddy Bears from zone and anti-Nazi machinators, Raiders is Spielbergs greatest achievement. It is one of the finest movies ever made, of its or any kind. It is, hands down, my desert island movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Atlantis, the Lost Continent review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Incontinent or Lost Continent? It's a George Pal film, who around this time in his career was playing fun with fantasy adventure films, even bringing some cartoonery and science into his equations. Atlantis, the Lost Continent is not a particularly amazing film, but it is a fun one if you have any sort of idea what to expect from this sort of production. Plot basically pitches a Greek fisherman to the task of bringing an Atlantean princess back to the supposed mythical town of Atlantis. He does, and soon wishes he hadn't since he is not welcomed and Atlantis might be coming to the end of its existence. It starts off beautiful badly, cheese acting and scenes looking dreadfully cheap. Yet once we obtain to Atlantis things perk up, with an array of weird inhabitants and nutty religion marrying up with some nutty science. It's colourful, while the effects work ranges wildly from amazing to bad; which is the same as the screenplay come to think of it (studio interference and writers strikes hamstrung Pal no doubt). It's more "Z" grade than "B" schlock grade, and as has been noted by critics, it does indeed look like a cheap Roman adventure dressed up under a mythical name. Yet it is still pleasant enough of a viewing experience, with some nifty action scenes and the brisk finale ensuring that is the case. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Island of Lost Souls review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    We are Devo! There's an island somewhere out there in the goddamn foggy laden deep blue sea. Here resides Dr. Moreau (Charles Laughton), he has a God complex and he is conducting experiments, turning animals into humans. Unsurprisingly and terrifyingly the results are not exactly a success! Tod Browning's Freaks was released this same year, and when watching Erle C. Kenton's Island of Lost Souls, it makes for the excellent companion piece. Full of haunting imagery, aided no end by cinematographer Karl Struss' stunning photography, it's a movie that stays with you long after the end credits have rolled. Berserker science marries up to human chaos to provoke and problem in equal measure. Laughton gives top villainy, whilst Waldemar Young and and Philip Wylie adapt from the H.G. Wells novel with a cheeky glint in their eyes. The 1930s had some amazing horror movies, this is up with the best of them. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Kindle First is back on track, two amazing months in a row. For anyone else like me who gravitates toward the mystery / thriller genres, you are likely trying to decide between this and the historical mystery title. I read the samples of both and this was the one I really wanted to continue reading. There are 69 short chapters in a 316 page book which makes for a quick, simple read- this is a compliment from me, not an insult. I prefer books with amazing story-lines that don't obtain too off-track with unnecessary details. I enjoyed the characters in this one, and I thought the pacing of the story was just e main hero is a lawyer, although in this story he is forced to behave more like a detective. Legal thrillers and P.I. stories are some of my favorites, so that was a amazing combination for me. I chose a related book latest month (in genre only) and really liked it, even more so than this story. I was surprised when negative reviews for it started flooding in, but it was mostly due to people being offended by the language. Personally, I have no issues with "bad words" as long as they are fitting with the story and not done just for shock value, but I know a lot of readers do not share this sentiment. After finishing this book, I really couldn't recall any foul language, but I used the Kindle find function to double check. There are exactly 5 F-words, all in the same short section, all uttered by the same character, early on in Chapter 8. Other than that, the writing is beautiful clean so hopefully people can obtain past that because it's an enjoyable read. No graphic sex scenes or anything like that. There is some violence but if you're into this genre, that's beautiful hard to avoid. It wasn't excessive at all.I can't say I would have purchased this book ordinarily, but as a free Kindle First selection I'm glad I chose it. Especially now reading the reviews that the other 'mystery' selection is really another romance novel in disguise. The sample is real to the rest of the book, which isn't always the case, so read the first 3 chapters before you commit and see if you are left wanting to see where the story goes like I was. The ending felt a bit rushed but I still think most mystery readers will have fun this novel. It did not end on a cliffhanger, however it does set the stage for book two in the series. I will read it if I can remember a year from now. What I would have fun even more is a story told from Emma's perspective, with more of her backstory. She was my favorite hero by far and definitely interesting enough to be a main hero in another book. I'm putting his 3 previously written books, a legal thriller trilogy, on my to-read list as well. 4.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    “Little Boy Lost” was a amazing idea for a story, though it would be hard to put it under the thriller label. I felt the book properly belonged in the legal/mystery genre. As such, author J. D. Trafford has presented an perfect tale, injecting it with enough procedural stuff to hold it interesting without overloading the e main character, Justin, has a lot on his plate. He runs a struggling law practice, is a widower, has a daughter who is having issues with other kids at her school, and he is dissatisfied with the justice system. He also has family pressures and still thinks about the demons that tried to possess him after his wife passed away. The author has successfully introduced a complex hero who a lot of people will probably be able to identify e story had me hooked, and I was waiting to see who was abducting all the missing children. Unfortunately, the ending was not satisfactory. Anytime an author is going to brand a hero as a killer, I wish to see reasonable justification for why the assassin did what he did…that didn’t happen with this story, and a book that could have been strong all the method through flatlined at the end. I hesitate to say more without injecting previously stated, I believe the author has talent and his writing style is smooth and effective. The only problems I had with the book was that the “thriller” label did not describe the thinly veiled discussions on racism and class warfare. At times, it appears that this was the agenda and a story was written around it. Mr. Trafford can certainly write on whatever side subject he chooses. I purposely test to stay away from political books because no matter what side of the political aisle the author sits on, the presentation usually is heavily slanted. If one is going to address a volatile problem such as racism, it serves no purpose to only stand on one side of the issue. Only calm examination of the issue from all sides will enable solutions to the challenges to emerge. I removed no stars for the author’s choice to write about the problem as he did, just as I don’t remove stars for vulgarities (which there are near the beginning, though they virtually disappear after a few appearances). I do inform readers what is show in the book and let them to create their own choices on what they prefer to read.Overall, a amazing effort by J. D. Trafford. The writing is excellent, and though I was dissatisfied with the ending, the procedural aspects were interesting and the plot throughout most of the book moved at a decent pace. Four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This is an extraordinary read. My Kindle First pick for the month. I flew through it which is strange really for such an emotionally draining and intense storyline with a lot of uncomfortable themes and societal slurs. Yet, J.D. Trafford (a fresh writer to me) writes so well, so flawlessly, that the heartbreaking, mysterious and unjust storyline is simple to absorb, even if not Justin Glass’s practice, set in a beautiful crappy office in Saint Louis, isn’t doing so well that he can afford to work for free. But when 8 1/2 year Tanisha Walker offers him a jar full of change from her Grandmothers 'Cuss Jar' to search her missing teenage brother, Devon something in him stirs....'But I wasn’t a charity, either. I had bills due, and after looking at that pickle jar, I figured that this girl was only going to be able to pay me about ten dollars for my services. At the moment, I wasn’t feeling that desperate. Maybe tomorrow. “Why a lawyer?” I asked. “Right now you should be in school, not hiring lawyers.” “My brother’s gone missing.” “Well that’s an problem for the police.” Passing the child off on somebody else seemed like a fair resolution. “I called the police, done nothing.” The girl crossed her arms in front of her chest. “They don’t care. They’re glad he’s gone.” “Who’d you talk to?” The girl shook her head. “A white dude.”'Told in first POV, we realise how unlikely a character Justin is ... fired from his job, deeply in debt, a not good parent to his 9 year old daughter Sammy and living with his mum - we obtain to see the globe through Justin's jaded eyes and as he begins to feel, so do we...'I can’t tell you why I took the case. I had thought that any remotely noble part of me had died years earlier, along with my wife. I want that I could say that this was the moment when I woke up from a long, dark sleep, but that’s not true. Regret and doubt filled me the moment I told Tanisha that I’d create some calls.'Justin embarks on a risky investigation with some support from his mates, that changes his life forever as he experiences extreme racism and deep seated corruption. There appears to be not one, but a lot of boys that have gone missing. In fact, it appears there are several black teenagers missing and nothing has been done to investigate. As it becomes apparent that we are looking at a heavy hate crime... the police are stymied but Justin and his friend, Schmitty, a St Louis officer are determined to obtain answers. Naturally, the citizens are in an uproar and as simmering racial tensions turn into violence, Justin finds himself caught front and centre as he promises to search the assassin and he gives a voice to this often ignored part of society.I started reading this book when I couldn't sleep at 3am, by 8am I had swiped my final page, although it's 329 pages long it had me mesmerised. No doubt I will go about my day thinking about Justin a amazing deal and 'Little Lost Boy' will stay with me for a long time after. 5 Solid Stars.I am a verified purchaser in Australia that chose this as her Kindle First pick for the month.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    The story had an interesting plot line and moved along well. I also appreciated that the story was very timely with everything going on in our country. I found some inconsistencies in time frame. One example - at one point he's talking about September weather and then a few chapters later mentions mid-September weather again describing it in the same way. If the weather is the same a few chapters later, why even mention it? Also, I had a major issue with all of the passive language - dozens of "was" and "were." A lot of sentences I found myself rewriting in my head. As the story was told in first person, the words should have been more active with stronger verbs vs. "to be" verbs. The title could benefit from an modernize as a lot of small boys were missing. Although the book was paced well, the ending wrapped up so quickly and seemed contrived compared to the rest of the book. Maybe the author was getting sick of rewriting and just cashed in the ending. With some refinements in wording and the ending, I could have given this book five stars due to story and plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Justin Glass is a widower and lawyer who has lost his desire to war since the death of his wife. He loves his daughter but has had to move into the carriage house of the ancestral family home because he has almost no cases. One day a young girl shows up at his office to hire him to force an investigation of the disappearance of her ddenly some bodies of teen black boys, juvenile delinquents are found in a park and the cases start to go public. Suddenly he has more clients than he can handle and life is becoming complicated while on the track of some wonderful suspects,Justin is an interesting hero with a complex family background. His relationship with Sammy, his daughter Samantha, his mother and grandfather, the retired Judge Calhoun are enticing bits in the novel.I thoroughly enjoyed the book and will be looking forward to future novels by Trafford.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This legal mystery is so much more. Set in St. Louis, the story unfolds in an atmosphere of race conflict, the devastation of losing a beloved wife, caring for a beloved daughter, and trying to determine what the main hero really wants/should do with his unique talents. The mystery is heart wrenching, the characters multi-faceted, the writing is so natural, I felt like I was listening to a mate tell me the story of their en we have the description of the amazing divide between the haves and have-nots, the strong and the powerless, the privileged and the deprived, and, sadly, the plight of the kid living in violence. Much, much meal for thought while racing through a “can’t stop reading” mystery!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    In light of latest events, this novel is particularly prescient. Trafford's main hero is an intelligent, but struggling black lawyer. Glass is recently widowed and juggling raising a daughter while trying to serve justice for the not good in his Saint Louis community when a young girl walks into his office with a jar of coins. She wants to hire him to search her brother. Glass decides to take a cursory look, but is soon drawn into a case that engulfs the ttle Boy Lost is an intriguing novel. The main hero is well drawn, but the secondary characters lack depth. The author makes an obvious attempt to lead one down the path toward a particular suspect. The twist is less than subtlety woven and was obvious to this reader very early on. Nevertheless, the premise is amazing and the writing engaging enough to keep interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    A Saint Louis background sets an appropriate scene for racial tensions as a dozen black young men are found dead. Lost boys with extensive records destined for prison in their futures, until those futures are chop short by murder.Justin Glass has a political family, but wants nothing from politics in his life. He's a lawyer coming out of a lengthy depression after his wife died of cancer. He finds out his daughter's been bullied and skipping school. Change has to come. The explosive Lost Boys case opens him back into really wanting change for his community. And his daughter. And, maybe for himself as well. It is well written, engaging, and well paced.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I wanted to give this book 5 stars, but the tone, which was oddly even rather than dynamic, keeps it at 4 stars for me. There are some beautiful significant and distressing happenings that happen in the book, but they're delivered in the same pace and tone as the mundane events, such as driving downtown to the courthouse. That said, it's a amazing tone - not boring or overly detailed and, thankfully, not overwrought - so I still highly recommend the book. If only the story were completely fiction, but as noted by the editor, "The happenings sound shocking and unbelievable, but Trafford based his novel on newspaper stories in his community and across the country."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Little Boy Lost review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I knew nothing about this book other than Amazon recommendation. I was several chapters in when I finally realized the main characters were Black Americans. I think the author was able to bring out the fact that we all suffer and dream of justice and fairness in our everyday lives, no matter the color of our skin. The plot was well developed and it was only near the very end that I was able to guess the villain. This is the first book I have read by the author and based on his style will probably find out more. The book kept me coming back. Main stream America, with all its issues, is a background presented in a well written and thought out book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    This is a fast read and an simple concept with life-changing implications. Dorothy Sayers has a sharp wit and even a sarcastic sense of humor to support express her profound call to return to a true education. In a culture that cries, "Don't teach a kid WHAT to think, teach them HOW to think!", we have managed to teach our kids neither. Sayers calls for a methodical and intentional approach to teaching them how to think, how to reason, how to create, in that order. If we teach them how to learn we will never have to worry about what they learn or if they'll learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Sayers compares the education philosophy of her time (maybe the 1950's?) to the traditions of classical education. Modern education comes out second. And, in my opinion, the 1950's education was much better than what we see in 2017. A very short but thought provoking book, useful for educators and parents, especially home-schooling parents.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Sayers insight shows forth in yet another zone of life's foundations, education. She unapologetically argues for a return to 'learning how to learn' using classical methods of grammar, logic, and poetics. She bases the need for such a return on the helplessness of those in her day to resist propaganda and counter fallacy. How much more important is such an overhaul of education in our day. Her prescription is clear. Are we willing to institute it?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Dorothy Sayers' transcribed lecture is a reminder that aspects of classical learning are still valuable today. Topics like Latin and Rhetoric still have significant value today as the basis of education for the habits of mind that they instill. This kind of education won't turn you into an Einstein or Leonardo Da Vinci. It does provide the analytical frame of mind it takes to understand them. It provides tools for understanding and communication of ideas that support in learning other topics like Natural Science, History, and Foreign languages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Ms. Sayers explains why we need to provide a classical education to our children. Either that, or fit them for a central government costume and place them in the welfare line...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    It seems that Miss Sayers has stated exactly the errors being created by the educational establishment in this country. We should not be sending our kids to schools that only teach facts, and never the means for the students to search out facts for themselves. I have watched my kids and my grandchildren suffer in college because they were only taught the book solutions, and not allowed nor needed to search their own way.I do not expect a lot of of the current teachers to ever read or understand Miss Sayers pointed phamplet. But, they should. I would also expect that NO school board would ever even consider implementing any of her suggestions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    You could have sworn this book was written today, instead of 60 years rothy Sayers, one of the worlds best educated and most smart writers, tells how kids should be educated. Educators could learn from her today.Unfortunately in her era and class only the brightest and best went on to later education. In the era of education for everyone the issues differ. Now schools are supposed to teach all those things parents don't.An simple to read very nice if overly optimistic book for teachers, parents, or anyone interested in anything or everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    Interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    This book is a gem! Sayers beautifully compares the classical educational model and the failing “modern educational model”; concluding that our current systems fails to train the mind on how to think, reason logically and worse, how to learn. It is a fascinating book that will change your life!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Tools of Learning review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:2

    This is a thoughtful exploration of curriculum and learning, returning to the Trivium and the Quadruvium. I know that this sounds pretentious, but it's not. Our current system rewards rote learning without a deep understanding of logic and why we learn what we learn. Dorothy Sayers's "The Lost Tools of Learning" addresses a return to a curriculum that explores language and logic and the ability to use both effectively. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Not quite what i expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    A amazing book for kids who have problem getting started with writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Gave as birthday bonus to my 4 yr. old niece. She sat down immediately to read it with her grandmother. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Love this story-

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Amazing book for Writer's Workshop, and for encouraging hesitant writers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Totally satisfied!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Amazing book for writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    My wife uses these books in her first grade classroom and the children love them. Recommended for young or starting readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    A+

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Patches Lost And Found review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:1

    Book was adorable for 1st grade! I bought it to go with Stefanie Harvey's Comprehension Toolkit for Grades K-2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-4-26 18:0

    Heather Young masterfully weaves the past and the show in a method that changes the future in her compelling debut, LOST GIRLS. I finished it latest night, but the characters have stayed with me-- I spent the morning questioning my initial take on their motivations. Young's deep dive into the realities and imperfections of motherhood left me happy with the idea of even primary generational improvement. A amazing book club read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-4-26 18:0

    I am not sure how this book arrived on my Kindle. I must have read a random review and downloaded it and forgot about it. I was in need of a fresh read and there it was...waiting to tell this mesmerizing family tale which grabbed my heart the min I started has been a long while since I have read a book with such rich hero development. They began to feel like family to me and now I miss them. Read this lovely book and you will feel privileged to be in on all the family secrets. You may begin wondering what untold secrets lie within your own. Thank you Heather Young. It was simply fantastic! I look forward to reading more from you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-4-26 18:0

    I described the book as "dark" but "nostalgic" also applies to anyone who ever spent summers at the lake. The author describes the lake, the people, the activities and the lodge exactly as I remember them from childhood. But the five stars were for the characters. I truly cared about each and every one of them and felt as though I knew them . . . really knew them. I have already recommended this book to a lot of mates and family. One of the best I've read in a long time. Can't wait for Heather Young to write again.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter