New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A fascinating piece in color reprint if you're trying to obtain the complete Defenders storyline. A nice contrast to the black and white Essentials line of Defenders comic. The weirdest most fascinating squad ups since the short lived Champions title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Breathtaking remastered printing compared to the old comics! This is a must have for fresh readers and old collectors that wish to "upgrade" their comics collection or read it all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I was surprised to see this book obtain a release. The Fresh Defenders was at best a second tier title in mighty Marvel Comic's early 80's release schedule and today is small more than a footnote. Having said that reading this graphic novel reminded me why i loved comics growing up. The Fresh Defenders followed the adventures of several random Marvel characters teamed up. The original Defenders Namor, Dr Strange, Hulk and Silver Surfer are quickly wrote out of the book at the beginning of this graphic novel to create method for the fresh squad composed of 3 former X-men (Beast, Iceman and Angel), Gargoyle, Valkyrie and Moondragon. While this unlikely group seem random (they are) the stories collected here are classic comic book is novel first introduces us to the former Defenders and explains why they must disband. Their tale in front of a cosmic tribunal and the potential end of Earth is hokey and corny but I imagine a child reading it in 1983 found it exciting. While I thought it was kinda cheesy I still enjoyed that this was a easy tale that explored over the top ideas.We are next introduced to the group that will be The Fresh Defenders. While their adventures are also a bit hokey - they war villains named Harridan and cloud (who is truly a cloud) what I enjoyed the most was the characterization. Today's comics are so plot driven that we really don't know or care about any of the people in the books. For example there is very small done to flesh out Spider-man in current comics. Writers assume we know everything about him from work that has come before leaving them to weave plot driven stories. In this book it reminded me how we really got to know characters. We see the inner turmoil Beast has with feeling kind a lost- not being an X-man or Avenger. Valkyrie is upset that her mate Hellcat has quit the defenders to search love. She broods about feeling betrayed and abandoned. Iceman worries about accounting exams. Of course they war poor guys and save humanity but its these info about the characters that makes the more true and elevated these tales from pulp fiction to something is graphic novel probably won't appeal to anyone who wasn't a fan in the 1980's. X-fans curious about what Angel, Beast and Iceman were doing between their time in the original X-men and before they came back into the X-fold with X-factor may wish to read. If you wish just a fun nearly self contained escapist graphic novel this may work. The artwork is average at best. It's very typical of it's time. The artists were never fan favorites but the are competent and skillfully illustrate the stories. I actually found the art strangely refreshing.A amazing book with some fun stories. Recommended!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) video reviews and related movies:

    See The Defenders | Vol 1 Comic Book Covers | 1-50 | Marvel Comics (1972-1986) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Defenders | Vol 1 Comic Book Covers | 51-100 | Marvel Comics (1972-1986) on youtube.

     related image

    See Is Marvel's The Defenders the Worst Comic Ever? - Nitpicker on youtube.

     related image

    See The Defenders | Vol 1 Comic Book Covers | 101-152 + Giant-Size 1-5 and Annual 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See 5/16/2013 My complete Defenders Comic Book run of vol 1,2 and 3 and some extras! on youtube.

     related image

    See the Defenders comics on youtube.

     related image

    See Avengers & Defenders — Alex Shares Inspiration for Marvel Teams on youtube.

     related image

    See Defenders #28 -(1972)/( 7.5) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Defenders Vol. 1: Diamonds Are Forever (Defenders (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    The only reason I gave this book 4 instead of 5 stars is it stops on a major cliffhanger! Loving the characters. Loving the relationships between all the characters. Now, I've got to hope I can obtain a keep the next issue(s) so I can search out what happens next. Do your self a favor and obtain this series! Amazing stuff, Maynard.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Defenders Vol. 1: Diamonds Are Forever (Defenders (2017-)) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    No silly season here, with cameos from a larger stable of characters within the Marvel 'verse, unbelievable read with well designed art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    After the happenings of avengers disassembled, the avengers are no more. This takes put awhile after that, with a breakout at a super prison in the middle of Fresh York for some reason. For different reasons, some better than others, there are super heroes in or near the prison and these people become the titular fresh avengers.I rather liked this volume, the action is amazing and the writing works for the best part. It is a bendis book, so be prepared for all the self-interruptions and repeated lines that implies. The art is also nice, although it isn't my favorite David finch work. The male necks are all really thick, and his noses seem method too sharp almost. Those issues, combines with his really pronounced cheekbones create his captain America and Peter Parker look almost identical beside the hair color.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This story involves the formation of fresh avengers after a large-scale prison breakout at the raft prison facility. The first 3 problems set up the situation where the heroes are forced to war the villains who escaped as soon as electro causes the security systems to malfunction. The remaining 3 problems is formation of this roster of heroes: Spider-Man, Luke Cage, Spider-Woman, Captain America, Iron Man and Wolverine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I was really disappointed when this ver of this book ended because it had all my favorite characters in it and hadn't happened before or after. Luke's squad was a really amazing mix of characters with a lot of amazing stories to tell. Thing, Spidey, Wolverine and Carol Danvers on the same squad was a nice break from the "Big Three" Avengers. Also, it was cool to see a "street level" ver of Avengers. This is probably my favorite incarnation of The Avengers. Hopefully, after Secret Wars, we'll see a reasonable facsimile of this squad again someday!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I have always wanted to read this series, and have finally gotten around to it with this 1st volume. Amazing story, phenomenal art, well worth the waiting. Loved it. Starting volume 2 now....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    What did I like.....? The structure , the story. The meta back story, the art, the layout and the hero growth. I've been reading Marvel since the early 1960s and always felt there was some kinship with the works offered, the zeitgeist of the Twighlight Location and the best of Science Fiction of that decade. This takes all of that and everything that Marvel did after and marches it into a future along all fronts I took note of and probably a lot of more with passion, craft, a quantum scope of style and depth of story that does the Old Masters proud from Kirby and Ditko, through Steranko, Heinlein, Asimov and Sturgeon. Maybe I read too much into Marvel Comics but I grew up in my pre teen years reading classical strains of European mythology. It informed the globe views of those peoples. This is the mythology of our fresh age. Nuff Said.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Fresh Avengers is an necessary title for the Marvel Universe, and it starts here. The premise: after the original Avengers disassembled, a fresh handful of heroes have gotten together to carry on the legacy. I don't wish to ruin any of the surprises behind "Breakout" (which there are a couple) but merely comment on the importance of the book and the series itself. By this point, if you did not know that Brian Michael Bendis has taken almost complete control of every major Marvel Universe Happening since Avengers Dissassembled, you are a small behind. He's an author that you either love or hate for his directions. While two main stories happened prior to the begin of Fresh Avengers (Disassembled and Secret War), this is really where the Marvel Universe begins to see its change. The story behind "Breakout" to place it simply is that there is, you guessed it, a breakout, and many, nearly 50 villains from a wide array of comic series escape. This event, which gathers the Fresh Avengers initially, affects the Marvel Universe as a whole for a amazing while into Bendis' Marvel timeline.(Punisher Battle Journal which started about the time of the Civil Battle created numerous references to this breakout during its run, just to give you an idea) Fresh Avengers does not do a BAD job on anything. The dialogue isnt terrible, the action is solid, and the art doesn't leave you wanting more. That said, Fresh Avengers is not a continuously amazing title. I thoroughly enjoyed "Breakout" and would recommend it to anyone who likes comics. The series afterward i found to be very off and on good...one thing i give Bendis credit for is his overall consistancy (ultimate spiderman comes to mind in that same respect). The importance of the Fresh Avengers (and later the Mighty Avengers) is mostly as a companion to the main happenings in the Marvel Universe, and the MU is certainly full of happenings that are worth having additional info for. Although Bendis takes too much advantage of this during Secret Invasion (which is almost completely unreadable without the Avengers titles), Fresh Avengers is a solid read that doesn't always leave you wanting more, but leaves you happy enough to continue reading if you have the time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    A graphic novel collection of problems 1 through 6. The Avengers broke up after the Scarlet Witch had a breakdown that resulted in the death of several Avengers. But fate brings together a fresh squad when there is a breakout at the Raft, a prison of super powered criminals. They decide to stay together to test and recapture the criminals who got is is a fresh mix of heroes with a fresh mission. It is interesting to see a squad with an actual mission beyond just catching the recent villain to pop out of the woodwork. The heroes have a amazing chemistry from the very beginning. Finally the artwork is very nice comic book artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I read it and I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a amazing Avengers team. It features Netflix heros Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist. Spider-man, Wolverine, the Thing from the Unbelievable Four, Ms Or as she's called today Captain Marvel, Doctor Strange, And Hawkeyes ex wife Mokinbird. This book has a lot humor and action. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout (The New Avengers) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is what comics like the Avengers, X-men, Justice League etc. are supposed to be about. Cool action cool story. It's nice to see a comic finally obtain away from all of the political drama and conspiracy stories that in the end just dragged on and on. I am so tired of buying collections like all of the Siege books that had virtually no action and were more just tiring dialogue. When I wish drama I will watch Smallville. When I pick up the Avengers this is what I expect to see, Luke Cage knocking something out, Spidey being in method over his head, Wolverine cutting crap up. The addition of the Thing was beautiful cool s nice seeing the writers getting away from the older up-tight Avenger model squads from back in the 80's and putting some attitude into the team.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    As she herself admits in the book, she's Laura, X-23, and Wolverine, and she's not trying to replace her father as much as hold his legacy alive, which is a amazing summary of this book to be honest.A very Wolverine-ish story about shadowy organizations (Alchemax, as they are slowly becoming the evil scientists of the world) playing with Wolverine's genes to make super soldiers. Laura, however, is not trying to fill Logan's shoes so much as follow what he taught her back when they were together, and she manages to tackle things in a less violent (as pointed out by a lot of people she comes across) and yet still very familiar way.Her first adventure manages to work in superscience (Pym style), magic (Strange style), and amazing old fashion claws versus personal military action, as she tries to search a balance between what she was created to do and what she wants to be, and if you can't tell there's a lot of metaphors hidden in all the subtext of this book that create it a joy to pick through.If I do have to leverage complaints: this is going to seem like a fairly tame beginning for her story, as there's no costumed villains running around (save an appearance so short it's more of a cameo despite having a nice war to go with it) and most of the X-23 clones aren't too interesting outside of a couple of amazing scenes. However the sincere moments where we see inside the mind of our fresh yellow-and-blue sniktbub are amazing enough to elevate it above "average" and it does set up for an interesting aftermath following the happenings of this book (at least with the fresh characters and how they're going to fit into Laura's life).The series does call back to some of X-23's history but besides for knowing what the stinger means (someone familiar shows up) and what the different pictures that are a small more vague that happen in a splash page flashback are, you don't really need to be too familiar with Laura to read this one and have fun in the end it's not a must-have book, but it's not a not good one either, and there's just enough in here to really dig into.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This book is a fun and simple read. Nothing really spectacular about it. If you're looking for easy superhero fun, then it's a amazing choice. I don't think it will top any best of lists though. I want I could give it a 2 1/2 to be honest

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Unbelievable art, and an action packed story. The mantle has been passed from Logan to Laura, and i can't wait to see where the story goes next. If you like [email protected]#$% super heroines, give this book a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I loved her origin story and I think this is probably Laura/X-23's second best story, although I still haven't read a bunch in between.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I bought it on a whim and it's really good. Can't wait to buy the next one! Amazing art and story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    SICK HYPE!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Enjoyable read. Looking forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a fun fresh ver of wolverine. I think that this fresh female ver brought a new look to the tone of the ideas that are carried with who wolverine can be. But not only does X-23 with the wolverine suit present a new take it similar to a lot of of the aspects that I love when Logan was behind the mask.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a amazing introduction to the all fresh Wolverine, however I did expect more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters (All-New Wolverine (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Enjoyed thoroughly. Cant wait for volume 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Sure, it's a small pricy for 1/4 of another adaptation of the classic Star Wars, but it is various than most anything we have seen to this point. The manga art style is very well done, to a point where it puts the comics of this country to shame. Also there are a few surprises, such as a stage with Dewback mounted Stormtroopers and a certain Sandcrawler. If youre after something original story-wise this isnt it. However the almost word for word use of the script causes the John Williams score to play in the background of your thinking. Overall a beautifully illustrated volume. Worth it for all those fans who MUST have all things Star Wars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Neat manga ver of Star Wars. May not blow your mind away though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Beautiful cool interpretation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I enjoyed the heck out of reading this, it stays mostly real to the original ver of the movie, with a few added bits that really flesh out the characters in ways other media can't. If you like star battles and comics, give this a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    ANOTHER [email protected]#$%!, MY SON LOVED IT AND ARRIVED BEFORE CHRISTMAS EVEN IF I CUT IT A BIT SHORT ON THE ORDER. GRATEFUL IT ARRIVED

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Thanks for the amazing gift! HE was really excited to see it! Thanks so much it was here much sooner than I thought

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I wasn't sure what to expect with the Star Wars: Manga series. I wasn't sure if it would just be a tired retread of familiar material done with huge eyes, or if it would be the first really quality adaptation of the Star Battles films. Because lets face it, most Star Battles comics suck. The art is lacklustre, with artists often trying to create their hero look too much like Harrison Ford or Tag Hamill. The dialogue is flimsy, with characters either spouting catchphrases from the films or just dropping awkward speech balloons all over the place. No, Dark Horse has not done much with the coveted Star Battles franchise to crow about. Until now. I'm not one of those fans that preaches the unfailing superiority of Japanese manga. Nor do I decry the often exaggerated facial expressions and unfamiliar art style. I simply appreciate amazing comics, and this is amazing comics. This is the best graphic novel adaptation of Star Wars: A Fresh Hope that anyone could ever ask for. The well-known script is adapted directly from George Lucas' original script, and so it contains the fresh scenes of the Unique Edition releases from a few years back (Though Han does seem the shoot first in a highly satisfyingly violent scene). This is not merely a storyboard adaptation, but a real utilisation of what comics do best. Hisao Tamaki, who adapts and draws this story, uses plenty of panels just to establish mood and setting, most noticeable in the Mos Eisley Cantina scene. The characters, thankfully, are not modelled on their silver screen counter-parts, but rather have a life of their own. Action scenes are a beauty to behold, and Tamaki's kinetic style is really showcased. The lightsaber duel between Vader and Obi-Wan is infused with a distinctly Japanese aesthetic, giving the samurai-esque Kenobi a mobility that the honourable Sir Alec Guiness could simply never achieve. The destruction of Alderaan is handled far more dramatically than in the film, flashing panels of the people of that doomed globe with the Death Star as it charges its cannon. The blast is one of those truly impressive sights that create your eyes widen in an attempt to take it all in. Perhaps the most appealing part of this series is the method Tamaki exploits the lighter moments to brilliant effect. The Jawa's incessant jabbering, the mugging of Luke and Han, and especially the frantic chases through the Death Star in the third volume all illicit amazing small moments. Once one becomes accustomed to Tamaki's visual language, including small teardrops and pulsing forehead veins, it's simple to follow the laughs. If there are any drawbacks to this story, they involve the inevitable issues in translating a Japanese work for an English market. Virtually all panels are mirrored to accommodate our left-to-right reading style. It seems that some action scenes devoid of dialogue were left in their original format, making the transition a bit jarring if your eye's sharp enough to spot the gaffes. I've read other reviews that disapproved of the sound result lettering, arguing that it distracted from the art in certain scenes. I agree that the sound effects are occasionally overwhelming, but they are clearly an necessary part of the art style, and are used so effectively in certain scenes that I'm willing to forgive this minor sin. For any fans of the Star Battles movies or comics series, this set is a valuable and highly entertaining addition that lets you appreciate the classic tale in a fresh medium. I look forward to reading the following Star Wars: Manga adaptations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    You see I've read the non-manga ver of comics of the movies, honestly I was disappointed. The artwork was bad, they screwed things up, left parts out. but this, this is the proper star battles comic. I'm not really a fan of the japanese style of drawing but I think star battles wears it is book ends just when luke comes across his home set on fire. I was a small disappointed that they can't just place all the books into one longer one to save the reader cash you know instead of buying 4 books for ten bucks each. that is really the only flaw I see with this series. As I was saying, although Han Solo is on the front cover he doesn't come into the series till the 2nd r all of you that are old fans looking for a comic that is actually fit to wear the star battles name, I think you will like this series and I did. There are 4 books in this series, there is also a manga ver of Empire strikes back and return of the jedi, so if you obtain into this there are more.I feel this japanese art style worked so well with star battles is because of all the action in it. That was one of the huge issues with the non-manga ver was that they were unable to draw all the action in it. This does it all really well. Also a amazing thing about this is that the expressions on the characters tell volumes about they are feeling. Sometimes the artists over-do it a small bit, but its really not a , I'd say that this is for fresh fans, long-time fans, old fans, young fans everyone really. You won't be disappointed, really its good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - A New Hope Vol. 1 (Star Wars A New Hope) review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I used to love Star Battles more than anything. It was the end-all, be-all of sci-fi. Then I started to read sci-fi books and watch anime. My opinion of Star Battles went down considerably. And over the years I saw the films so a lot of times I thought I would never wish to see them again. Well, I am once again VERY excited about Star Wars...What do I love about this Manga? Where do I start? First, this Manga is beautiful much word-for-word exactly the same as the movie. Secondly, the art style is more than good. It's incredible. I never thought I could obtain into a comic book without color, but man this one changed my mind. Then there is the hero me people might not like their favorite Star Battles characters remade into anime-style characters with huge eyes, but personally I REALLY dig it. I never really liked Princess Leia inA Fresh Hope, but man, obtain a load of what she looks like now! She just went from a hero I didn't like to a fantasticly attractive and deeply soulful hero (well, that how I feel about it anyway).Lastly, I will say that the action in this Manga series is truly amazing. From the first time a light saber lights up you will be amazed. If you love Star Battles you need this Manga. If you used to like Star Battles and now like comic books, check it out anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I absolutely loved this volume. This was the most fun I've had reading the Guardians since Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning's run on the series. Though I didn't hate Brian Michael Bendis' run, it definitely dragged towards the end. A knew writer was a welcome change. The book this time is handled by Gerry Duggan, who's work I haven't much read but after this, I feel I've been missing out. The Guardians search themselves back in zone after being grounded on Earth after Civil Battle II, and immediately search themselves in the middle of a dispute between two Elders of the Universe: The Collector and the Grandmaster. Along the method they cross paths with the fresh Nova Corps and The Fraternity of Raptors, the former protectors of the Shi-ar Empire. They'll also have to deal with how each of the characters has changed since the latest series. And all the while in the background, the threat of the returned Infinity Stones loom. This book has the distinction of emulating the films without forgetting its comic book roots. Duggan accomplishes this feat where so a lot of others have failed, giving us the best of both versions of the characters. The art in this volume is also astounding. Aaron Kuder brings the vibrant globe of the cosmic side of the Marvel Universe to life and it is absolutely wonderful. It looks both realistic and abstract in excellent harmony. There is one other artist in this volume as well, Marcus To taking over for an issue. It's good, but a lot more restrained than Kuder's work. Overall this was a unbelievable begin to this series and I can't wait to read the whole thing, even though it's already cancelled. If you like any ver of the Guardians, you'll probably like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I was not a fan of the Bendis run of Guardians. In my opinion, he failed to understand what created the Guardians of the Galaxy run by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning such a unbelievable series. I feel that Duggan does obtain it though. The book reads like 70s Jim Starlin Cosmic stories and that is a amazing thing to me. It has cosmic elders, aliens, explosions, and larger than life threats. It is fun to read and feels more like a zone adventure than the Bendis Era did. I am glad to have read these stories and I look forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Unbelievable begin to the fresh series. A amazing combination of funny, serious, and witty, it's amazing for older fans of the guardians as well as fresh fans just coming into comics. The art works extremely well for the series with amazing proportions and color combinations. The story itself is very well written as well, and it keeps you asking questions to be answered as the series goes on. Definitely a series I'll continue reading and, next to the X men and in humans relaunches, as well as marvel legacy, this is on of the best fresh series of the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    the art and the story is cool, amazing first volume can't wait to read more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    [email protected]#$% guardians. This is how guardians should be written. Duggan really gets the writing of the guardians more than bendis’s run.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I’m a small sad that they felt the need to begin up a fresh Guardians of the Galaxy, but if I’m being honest it’s mostly because I loved the artwork of the previous series. It always takes me a small while to adjust to an art change, and this time is no different. This series artwork reminds me a lot of the TV series (which I haven’t watched much of, as of yet, so I don’t have the fondness that comes with that). At first I was concerned that this indicated a change of tone for the series, but thankfully they’re still the Guardians I know and love. There are some subtle changes from the latest series to this one. As mentioned above, the artwork does change; as well as the hero designs. Their clothes look a bit more like what we’ve seen in the movies. Meanwhile Gamora’s hero looks the most like the TV present (her coloring, especially around the eyes, is much more distinct and stylized than it had been). The Milano (from the movie) also makes its method into the series, though obviously its backstory is different. The characters themselves have changed a bit too – but that’s because of what they have gone through, not something dramatic and unexplained. Groot is a baby, a state that he doesn’t normally stay in long term, but the reason for that is shown later. Drax has become a pacifist, as he believes all actions have consequences, even little ones like knocking down walls. Gamora is hiding something (ok, that isn’t all that new…), Rocket is still Rocket, and Quill is, as per usual, confused, just a bit more than usual in this case. There were so a lot of things I loved about this volume; I’m not even sure where to begin. Actually, that’s not true. The Raptors! Yes, I do mean the Fraternity of Raptors that come from the Shi’ar Empire. The ones we see go up versus Darkhawk (here’s hoping that means he’s in for a comeback!). Bringing the Ratpors into the Guardians of the Galaxy’s story is a brilliant move on Gerry Duggan’s part. Talonar is an ideal nemesis for the lot of them, and if my memory serves me correctly, he could create a beautiful interesting threat for them. I sincerely hope he makes another appearance (though I search it unlikely they’d introduce him and then drop him). The Baby Groot plot is beautiful interesting as well. There’s an actual reason he’s growing so slowly, and I’m not going to lie, I freaked when that reason was revealed. I’m curious to see how much that’ll stunt him in the long run, and what other influences he’ll feel before it’s all said and done. There’s still quite a lot going on, outside of what I’ve mentioned. The Collector and his brother are involved, as are other Elders of the Universe. You know something huge is event when cosmic beings begin to move about like that. I can’t wait to see where it all leads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 1: Communication Breakdown (All-New Guardians Of The Galaxy (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This volume collects the first six problems of the relaunched series, along with the Free Comic Book Day issue, which opens the series with the acquisition of the Milano (from the animated series, isn’t it?)Unfortunately, I haven’t read the final volume of the previous series to know whether the set-up for this volume is created there, or whether we are stating in the middle of something and they’ll fill it in rtunately, they do explain as we go along why they are doing what they are doing, apart from a couple of things, such as why Drax is suddenly a pacifist, why Gamora is secretly working for Thanos, what happened to Groot, where the all-new Nova Corps came from, and what Loki has got to do with any or all of e story here is a huge heist caper, for one client, and then another, with all sorts of villains from previous series popping up, more Elders of the Universe than you can shake an Infinity Gauntlet at, and the secrets of the Infinity Stones revealed; not to mention some of the trade secrets of some of the Elders is is a well-scripted and plotted story, which takes the Guardians back into the Cosmic; unfortunately, I can’t abide the artwork – I don’t know why, I just don’t like the style. It is a self-contained story, per se, so you can read the volume and feel like you have achieved something, but there are unanswered questions to begin us into the net volume too, as all amazing comics used to : Now, I read the Panini edition of this volume, and I took them at their word that this was the first six problems of the series, whereas, having now read the second volume, it turns out that this one actually includes problems #1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, with the ‘filler’ problems and #11-12 in the second. These interleaved problems fill in the missing plot elements and then continue the main/group adventure, so technically this is the first six problems of the ‘team’ story.I still don’t like the art in this volume, but the two-volume approach does work, and the art in the second is stunning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    One of the best versions* of the formation of the Justice League to date--and my favorite. I love the uplifting and crisp look of Cooke's art. The story is deftly woven into our own American History, which makes it that much more fun.Equal elements of fantasy and pulp science fiction. I loved Cooke's take on the heroes the most--Superman is a solemn guardian who realizes he can only do so much, Wonder Woman is a TRUE Amazon here--even towering over Supes! Batman is brooding and dark.But the three heroes who obtain the most "screen time" are Green Lantern, the Flash, and Martian Manhunter. The story is firmly rooted in the Silver Age (50s/60s) and they reflect the most imagitive and new aspects of the era. GL is at the bleeding edge of the zone age, pining to become an astronaut. Flash is charming do-gooder who pops in on the Vegas scene. Manhunter finds himself stranded and alone and taking up the guise of a hard-nosed personal detective.Drop in some wild troops grunts vs. dinosaur action and some cosmic-scale Cthulu horror and you've got the makings of a unbelievable Justice League where the heroes have to search the best in one another and embrace optimism to face a seemingly indestructible evil. It's not simple to craft a story--let alone a poor guy--that truly calls for a JLA level response. Cooke has done it, and superbly!*My review covers both volumes 1 and 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I'm a huge fan of darwyn cooke's work, especially his Parker series, which I would definitely recommend you check out. Therefore I decided to give this series a possibility and I'm really glad I did because the story is amazing and the art as usual with mr. Cooke's work is excellent for the story.I like how a lot of characters there are in this graphic novel and the author does a amazing job of really building them all up and making them like able. It also gives a amazing backstory to some DC mainstays. Overall I would definitely recommend this series to graphic novel fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Marvel's fresh summer crossover event, Civil War, surprisingly has a lot in common with Fresh Frontier, and that's a complement. Both dealing with political issues; Frontier tackles the McCarthy era's communist outcry, only it's versus the superheroes who won't unmask themselves; Civil Battle on the other hand is a battle between those who register with the government and reveal their identity, and those who war for their ideals and private freedom. What Civil Battle lacks though is the nostalgic 50's feel Frontier possesses, and reads with a sense of urgency that only the God like heroes of the DCU can Fronteir should not be missed, and as an avid reader ot original graphic novels and more mainstream books, this is by far one of the best of any I've read so far. The art and writing mesh so perfectly it could only be compared to the excellent union of Invicible, anything by Doug Tennapel, and Box Office e only downfall of Fresh Frontier is the fact you HAVE to read the second book to have fun the awesome story it possesses. Whether that's a amazing or poor thing is up to you and your wallet to decide. Either method you'll obtain a true bang for your buck.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Cooke's run on DC is just fantastic. The dialogue is phenomenal and is well-researched, by which I mean Cooke is keenly aware of the Cold Battle history in which he has placed his story, even to the point of quoting songs, speeches, societal issues, news reporting styles and jokes from the period. The artwork (also done by Cooke, but colourful by Dave Stewart) is beautiful. While some might object to this "retro" feel, it fits perfectly with the story Cooke has created, showing that a writer/illustrator all-in-one makes for a highly unified presentation. These volumes also flesh out the identities of some of DCs more overlooked members of the Justice League, particularly the Martian. There is a richness to Cooke's work on John Jones normally reserved only for the Huge Four (Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, & Green Lantern). A amazing read for any age. Only thing I wonder about is whether or not H.P. Lovecraft's estate issued complaints about the similarity between "the Centre" and Cthulu. : )

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I had seen the animated film based on this story first, so I was familiar with its approach, but it was still nice to see classic comicbook style artwork on the page again. Viewing this on a 10" smartphone is wonderful... very clear, amazing colors, simple to read.If you grew up on comic books or have had any exposure to the Golden Age ver of heroes, this will be a amazing trip down memory lane. It's a modern flavor using classic style and it works. Fun story, nothing too serious or "gritty" like so a lot of titles feel the need to be now... good, old-fashioned fun. Very recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Darwyn Cooke is an perfect illustrator as well as a amazing writer. He breathes life into the DC universe of the 50's in a method that was not possible at the time due to prevailing attitudes about comics and superheroes. Superman, Wonder Woman and company confront everything from HUAC to guerrilla warfare in Indochina and while dealing with the skepticism of the highly paranoid atitudes of the early cold war. Cooke's artwork is a excellent for the story harkening back to the easy lines of comics artwork of the time but with a story and characters that are far more complex and relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Darwyn Cooke's bold plan with his 2003/04 "New Frontier" miniseries was to provide a uniting storyline for all the major DC characters from the late 1950s, including not only such classic "Silver Age" characters as the Barry Allen Flash and the Hal Jordan Green Lantern but also such B-list adventure stars as the Challengers of the Unknown and the Suicide Squad, in their proper Cold Battle context. Superman and Wonder Woman thus become spearheads for the Eisenhower foreign policy in Indochina; Lois Lane is portrayed -- somewhat jarringly -- as a hawkish redbaiter, while Hal Jordan's employer Ferris Aircraft becomes positioned at the very heart of the 1950s American military/industrial narrative terms, Cooke has some problem keeping his pace going. There are too a lot of repeated tense encounters between government agents and the series' central heroes, and in his attempts to bring in every DC-National comic hero from the period Cooke allows too a lot of boring langours (especially in the opening sequence involving the Losers and a later episode involving the Viking Prince). And the primary plot structure of the miniseries (collected in paperback in a two-part series), like so a lot of latest comics miniseries of the latest twenty years, owes perhaps too much to Lovecraft's "Call of Cthulhu." But when he really gets going, as in the prize war in Las Vegas sequence (spotlighting a war between Flash and Captain Cold) in the first of the two-part collected miniseries, Cooke can really cook with gas. Best of all, he's an absolutely marvelous visual artist, and his compositional sense is superb on almost every page and panel. He does a splendid job evoking the popular "Googie" design of buildings, furniture, and signage from the period, and his cartoonish approach to drawing characters seems simultaneously reminiscent of the animation from the period while also doing a very powerful job conveying facial expression and emotion (particularly with the characters of Barry Allen, Ace Morgan, and Carol Ferris). Buying this series either in hardcover or in paperback is an expensive proposition, but it is one of the finest and most visually inventive works DC has produced in years, and thus worth the cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    Darwin was an awesome talent! Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I am a long time comics fan and creator, VERY disatisfied with about 85% of the current comic product done by mainstream comic companies. "Revised" origin tales updated to be more modern or hip always leave me with a poor taste in my mouth. Darwyn Cook's work here is happily a VERY rare exception. Keeping in the time period this "revised" history not only makes excellent sense, but it brings forward a modernism tone while keeping very real to the original work(s), To top it all off Cook's unbelievable design style keeps this work rooted in its time frame with almost every panel being a sheer joy to behold. I resisted buying this work until I watched the animated cartoon, then reading these volumes, with its more complete story than the cartoon was a sheer joy. I cannot recommend this book and its second volume enough! The Hardback may be a bit pricey, but this tightwad of a comic book guy is also considering buying that book as well just to have the entire story in one volume. GREAT STUFF!! My only regret is that there isn't a volume three and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    DC: The New Frontier Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:1

    I bought this, and vol.2, from Amazon because of other reviews I'd read, the price was right, and I knew DC was coming out with an animated DVD of the material. It did not disappoint. Terrific story that just whipped along and drew me in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    One of the most impressive feats in DC's publication history! Following the happenings of Infinite Crisis (which you'll wish to have read to fully grasp the lead in to this story), DC's Trinity (Batman, Wonder Woman, Superman) take a year off to recenter themselves and learn how to trust one another again after the rifts that formed during the Crisis. In the wake of their year off, a roster of B-List heroes are forced to step up to protect the DC globe until the lead heroes return. 52 was a weekly series (one problem for each week of the year) written by an all-star creative squad including Grant Morrison, Greg Rucka, Geoff Johns, and others. Essentially the best writers for the company came up with this well-plotted, amazingly executed story; rereading the book I was struck just how carefully the squad planted the numerous seeds that slowly come to fruition throughout this tale. This first volume includes the first half of the series (issues 1 through 26). Hold in mind that 52 is also sold as a single heavy omnibus that collects every issue, as well as a group of four trades that break the story into fourths. Buying these two huge halves is a lot more cost effective that the single e story of 52 features numerous characters exploring their own separate plot lines until they slowly start to begin crossing over with one another. Booster Gold attempts to become the fresh number one character in Metropolis with Superman gone, only for his limelight to be stolen by a newcomer character named Supernova. Lex Luthor sets out to clear his name after the revelation of his doppelganger Alexander Luthor being the mastermind behind the Crisis; Lex attempts to develop a fresh gene therapy that will give any normal human superpowers and uses Steel's niece as his first try subject. Adam Strange, Animal Man, and Starfire are stranded in zone after the happenings of the Crisis and the Rann-Thanagar Battle and have to use their wits and a small support from unexpected allies like Lobo to return to Earth. The former Elongated Man Ralph Dibny begins an investigation into a cult that springs up around Superboy after his sacrifice during the Crisis. Black Adam, enraged that he was duped by Alexander Luthor during the Crisis, returns to his home country and begins a plan to instill and fresh brutal form of justice on super-powered criminals. Finally, Renee Montoya is approached by Vic Sage, the Question, about joining his investigation into Intergang and their plans to take over Gotham. All in all these disparate characters and plots form one of the best happenings DC has ever published. An absolute must have for fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    Very good. The story follows a few diffrent perspectives following the happenings of infinite crisis. This book collects the first 26 problems of the 52 happening which is a amazing deal. This book features an all star cast of writers and artists and is a must have for any dc fan

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    Classic Morrison here. I love the fact that he dives deep into the history of some lesser known super heroes. Booster Gold is a terrifically written character. I would recommend this for anyone who wants a really in depth story without the Trinity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    Amazing story line, geoff johns never disappoint

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    As I write this review, it is late June of 2017, which means that the original single issue, weekly run of 52 was published just over a decade ago (in 2006). The usefulness of writing a review for a comic book series that was originally published over ten years ago may be questionable; however, if you are fresh to superhero comic books, as I am (really at this point, *was*), this might support clear up a few things for 2007, DC published the first trade paperback volume of the 52 series, coincidentally titled *52 Volume 1* (collects problems 1-13). It is the first book of four that collects all 52 problems of *52*. That book is out of print; however, there are 100+ reviews for that item listing, so if you are looking for more reviews/opinions on *52*, you may wish to take a look at that product page52, Vol. 1... The 2016 edition, confusingly also titled *52 Volume 1*, collects problems 1-26. It is the first of a two book series, with *52 Volume 2* collecting problems 27-52.When I reflect back on my clueless self from six plus months ago, it’s weird to consider how mystified I was with what is *52* (and why, for example, this “52” has nothing to do with the “New 52”--other than being a symbolic/mystical numerical designation that has become integrated with the DC Universe). Despite being an avid reader all my life, I never read comic books as a kid (going back to the late 70s & early 80s). It is only due to my enjoyment of all the latest Marvel and DC films that I became interested in learning more about the origins of the superhero (and super villain) characters being introduced in the movies. Most notably, it was specifically Wonder Woman’s introduction in the 2016 *Batman versus Superman* film that initially sent me on this comic book journey down the rabbit hole. The BvS film tips at WW’s “secret origin,” and at that moment I became hooked--no, more accurately, *infatuated*--with learning everything I could about the “original” comic book based Wonder Woman character.I mention this experience because I have since learned that the DCU “rabbit hole” has no end. This is especially relevant as it involves the Awesome Amazon Princess, who unknown to me at the time of watching *Batman v Superman*, has a historic (and unprecedented for a female superhero character) 75 year continual run (at the time of writing this review). Subsequently, it was very early on in my rabbit hole journey that I came across the *Infinite Crisis* collected volume, which prominently features Wonder Woman on the cover--along side Batman and Superman, a threesome that I soon learned comprises the sacred “Trinity” of DC Universe superheroes...Ignoring the reviews from more experienced readers that discouraged using *Infinite Crisis* as a jumping off point for delving into comic books, I conveniently checked out a copy at my local public library and read it. I was bewildered, befuddled and bedazzled by the seeming infinitude of superhero (and super villain) characters being introduced in *Infinite Crisis*. “Uncle Sam”?!? “The Freedom Fighters”!?! *WTF!?!* Okay--so now I understand the warnings. However, I’m still glad I started there because the experience of reading *Infinite Crisis* essentially served as a crash course in what comprises the broader DCU--a put that I had no comprehension, whatsoever, of the sheer this point you might be wondering why I hold mentioning Wonder Woman and *Infinite Crisis* instead of *52*? Amazing question. As you’ve probably already figured out, this review isn’t about the story presented in *52*. It is about 52’s existence as an entity--its critical put within what constitutes the expansive overall continuity of the DCU. On a technical level, *52* is the “missing year” (told in true time over 52 weeks) after the historic crossover happenings of the *Countdown to…* and *Infinite Crisis* series take place. Countdown to…, Infinite Crisis and 52 are subsequently followed by the “One Year Later” reboot. All of these mid-2000s crossover/reboot happenings considered together in a single continuum is quite possibly the pinnacle of artistic achievement in the superhero comic book universe. You can search naysayers who may downplay or otherwise criticize aspects of the overall “Crisis” events, but for the most part this period is universally perceived as a genuine, bona fide comic book sweet spot.If none of this makes sense to you, but you are nonetheless contemplating reading *52*, my main point is to advise you that *52* is an integral part of a much larger whole that encompasses Countdown to Infinite Crisis, Infinite Crisis, all the Infinite Crisis companions and spin-offs, 52, all of the 52 companions and spin-offs, and all of the subsequent post-Infinite Crisis “One Year Later” reboots. Obviously you don’t have to read everything--but you might search yourself wanting to. If you are particular about reading things “in order”, you should definitely investigate “Countdown to…” and *Infinite Crisis* PRIOR to reading *52*. However, that said, my honest opinion is that unless you absolutely positively can’t stand reading something out of order, you can beautiful much jump in anywhere and begin your own “rabbit hole” journey from there. That said, is it feasible to begin out with *52 Volume One*? Sure, why heck not? Undoubtedly, anywhere you come into Countdown to.../Infinite Crisis/52/One Year Later, you are going to end up with more questions than answers, and inevitably, that is what will push you to hold on reading. At least, this has been my private d luck on your own comic book journey, and bon voyage!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    52 Vol. 1: New Edition review [Book]  2018-6-23 18:0

    It's 52. This is the story that was so amazing that it permanent established the number 52 being so necessary in the DC universe. It begins the story that humanizes Black Adam. It has the tragedy of Booster Gold. It gave the question a brilliant mystery for him to solve. It gave Batwoman her lesbianism (the only thing she has resembling a hero trait). It's also a amazing value for the first 26 problems of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Entertaining - but not what I really expected. Also - the color was off and I can't search the volume covering the latest years of the war. For people who wish to learn about what Nam was really like - this will contribute to your overall understanding of the conflict (for example: the realities of communist terrorism in South Vietnam - a topic western media all but ignored because it occurred in the hinterlands - where cold beer and flush toilets weren't available - very few reporters bothered to go). I thought some of the back stories (kit carson scouts for example) were perfect and I really enjoyed the characters. I just wish to see someone place together the latest volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    "The 'Nam" is simply one of the best pop-culture depictions of our troops' experience in Vietnam that there is. And easily the best for teaching young people about it.Written by a Vietnam vet and edited by another, each problem is a stand-alone story set in the early days of American involvement there. The dialogue can be a bit "comic booky" for me but hey, that's the medium. This is as true the battle is likely to obtain in the pages of a comic is volume contains the first 10 issues, and that's really my only complaint: It should be collected in 12-issue clumps. Each story took put one month apart, showing the battle in true time as the problems came out. And because a tour in Vietnam was 12 months, we see one hero rotate in for Problem 1 and head "back to the block" come Problem summary, "The 'Nam" is a PG-appropriate ver of the movie "Hamburger Hill," and one that covered more ground as it wasn't limited by moving-picture runtime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I love Michael Golden's work! And I love battle stories, so this was a amazing mix. I am too young to have gone to Vietnam, but my father did! I am lucky that he created it home, really lucky.... he was almost killed during his 11 month tour with the 1st division. He also took 200+ photos, which I now own and treasure. I mention this because some of the scenes rendered in this brilliant comic series, reflect the actual scenes from Vietnam in every detail. The research and attention to detail appears to be spot on. Based on the a lot of stories my father told me, I am guessing the stories are beautiful realistic too. The graphic novel is a much anticipated replacement to my dog-eared copies I kept all these years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Very well written. My father is a Vietnam veteran and he felt these were well written as well. Very hard to place down once its started.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing story ,good artwork. I bought the whole series. Tells it like it was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I lent this to a few teenagers at the high school I teach in, and I think I scared one of them out of joining the military. Thank you, Doug Murray.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A very amazing portrayal of the experiences that soldiers had in Vietnam. To think I got additional credit for reading this for my college history class on the Vietnam conflict. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Wow! The first 10 issuses under one cover. Really a cool Read. Its a must have for anyone who's interested in Nam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I purchased "The 'Nam" Volume 1 by Marvel for two reasons. The first is that I am a Vietnam Combat Veteran and was interested on how the topic would be presented; the second is because I have fun graphic novels, and they bring back memories of reading comic books when I was e graphic novel follows the life of Ed Marks as he enters the U.S. Troops in 1966 and goes through training and is sent to Vietnam. In Vietnam Pfc. Marks is assigned to the 4/23 Infantry, Mechanized. This is an actual unit that served with distinction in Vietnam with the 25 Infantry Division (Tropic Lightning) from 1966 until it left Vietnam in 1971. I served with the 4th Infantry Division, 2/8 Infantry Mechanized, Company A, 1st Team from Oct 1968 till Jan r those interested 4/23 Infantry means 4th Battalion (Mechanized) 23rd Infantry chanized Infantry had the ability to close in on the opponent faster and with greater fire power. Cav (Calvary) troops also had this mobility with Huey's and gunships. Once contact was created the infantry always dismounted, the APC's (Armored Private Carriers) were death chanized infantry also walked a lot, and at times were sent in by chopper for an air nsidering the limitations placed on the publication of "The'Nam" by the Comic Code as expressed in the introduction by the editor, Larry Hama, I feel the people at Marvel have done a amazing job of trying to bring the Vietnam Battle to the attention of a readership that in all likelihood was not born during those ere are exceptions I take to parts of stories included in this first volume, but there are also some very realistic points made. For instance; no one ever built a fire at night while out on patrol (it would give your position away) and few companies went back to base camps, we stayed in the bush for months. Also to my knowledge no one flew into Vietnam as replacements under a hail of gunfire as depicted early in the issue. The exceptions to that are the Marines who flew into Khe Sanh between January and April in 1968 when it was under siege. These are minor issues, after all this is a graphic ever, the author Doug Murray has done a amazing job tying in the various scenario of combat in Vietnam. The illustrators Mike Golden and Wayne Vansant have done perfect work in their representations of the military equipment and scenery considering again the restraints placed on them in adhering to the Comic one will ever know the real horrors of battle by reading a graphic novel or any novel of war. All the same, I recommend this graphic novel for those who would like to know a small of that forgotten battle and at the same time have fun a terrific read with amazing graphics. I look forward to reading Volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I was iffy about the whole "One More Day" shtick that Marvel was trying to pull, but I still wanted to give this a try. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't amazing either. If you're a Spidey fan, give this a shot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I grew up with the awesome Spider-Man cartoon in the 90's and have read a few spidey comics in the past. This was a amazing book and kept me interested. I'm now starting volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This is a amazing book for the Spider-Man fans. I wouldn't consider it great. The storytelling can obtain sloppy at times. I like the art but it's not my favorite style. The people tend to look kind of rubbery in the face. But the action shots work well. I like the fact that this storyline is trying to take Spidey back to the roots with the dynamics that Stan Lee started years ago. I'd like to see them tighten up the writing though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Let's ignore the fact that I absolutely despise One More Day and everything it did to Spider-Man's progress as a character. Just for a moment. No, I can't, this automatically loses some points already.While a few of the story ideas in this volume are a bit cool, several explanations for how OMD did things like bringing Harry back are not explained soon enough. That or the explanations are really stupid, and could easily have happened without eve McNiven draws the first three issues, but for some reason, they are weaker than anything I've ever seen him do. It's messy and unnecessarily should be noted that the paperback edition contains the FCBD Swing Shift issue, and has the correct covers before each issue. For some godforsaken reason, the Kindle edition doesn't have the FCBD issue, and all the problems in the volume are preceded by the cover to problem 551, making it very difficult to hold track of your e one positive is Salvador Larocca draws the latest three issues, so they are of course gorgeously done. And Jonah gets some comeuppance for being a cheapskate @#$%!&? all these years. If you buy this book, be ready for disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I'm sorry but One More Day and anything connected to it have been awful. Civil Battle really started a screwed up mess of things for Marvel, ESPECIALLY Spider-Man. What they did totally ruined any progress of Spider-Man as a character, the dynamic between MJ and his whole family of relatives (including Aunt May)... I feel like it's just disrupted everything. By the way, Aunt May has to be something like 100 years old already lol it would've created more sense to have her hero pass away years ago in a true genuine, emotional method that drives the hero and story. NOT because of something completely STUPID like Peter thinking "Hey! It'll be a amazing idea to unmask myself to the whole globe and the NUMEROUS people who HATE ME!" I'm sorry but anything connected to this chain of happenings has just been piling more crap on to a huge pile of crap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    If I could give it fewer stars, I would. It's been about a decade and the story doesn't age well and the consequences of this story have only worsened over the passing years. Can we please just mind wipe all of the stories by Slott and send them to the realm of poor fan fiction where they belong?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I like the Spiderman comics. I own so a lot of they out-weigh me. It is a amazing story though each problem seems designed for children with short attention spans. I like some of the throwbacks like the slab.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    interesting. I'm not totally certain I'm not mixing this one up with the other Spider-Man book I just read. Both were entertaining top of the line Spidey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    So I have always been a large Spidey fan and that might create me biased but I enjoyed this storyline and you should too. Give this a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man Vol. 1: Brand New Day review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Well done. I'd like it more if Spidey and MJ would obtain back together. Cool storyline though. I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    OK, I'll admit it: when I first heard of this book, the concept didn't sound very promising. The original five X-Men journeying from the past to our present? I honestly thought this was Marvel serving up another steaming pile of GIMMICK.I couldn't have been more l Fresh X-Men is wonderful, and I'll tell you right now, if you're looking for a put to begin reading modern-day X-Men comics, you've found your title. If you're fresh to the X-Men (or at least, fresh to X-Men comics), don't be afraid to jump right in. While there will be a few things on which you won't quite be up to speed, there's a short intro at the beginning of the book that tells newcomers what they need to know going into the this book, Brian Michael Bendis not only tells a story that is engaging, but he takes the X-Men franchise in a direction that brilliantly manages to be both innovative and a logical next step. While this book doesn't have loads of action, Bendis makes up for it with his perfect dialogue and characterization, and the action that does occur looks amazing thanks to the skillful, detailed, and colourful artwork of Stuart Immonen (as well as inker Wade Von Grawbadger and colorist Marte Gracia). The story takes its time, and that's not a poor thing. This first volume of All Fresh X-Men left me excited for what's to come. There are so a lot of marvelous locations this story can go, and I can't wait to see what Bendis has in shop for us. This is Marvel's fresh flagship X-Men title, and it's surely the beginning of what is to be a amazing and splendid story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

     It’s been a while since I picked up an X-book. Sure, I’ve watched the movies, the Television Shows, read the Claremont era comics, but around the time onslaught rolled out is the time I stopped reading the books. Needless to say, I have small Idea why Cyclops is now a rebel leader who murdered Professor X, or what’s going on in general. (you know, Avengers versus X-men, House of M, no fresh mutants being born, the phoenix force returning for the Nth time, jean dying for the Nth time, Scott being with Emma Frost... it’s really like jumping into a long running soap opera after staying away for six seasons.)This is probably what makes this book so great, it’s a excellent re-entry point for people like me who haven’t been keeping up with x-events post fatal ian Bendis writing is good, the gimmick doesn’t wear out its welcome, the dialog is natural, and both the hero interaction and story are interesting. Scot needs to deal with an unfair amount of rage from his future Teammates, seriously, why he doesn’t just join apocalypse at this point is a amazing testament to his character. Jean gest hit full force with her until then dormant psychic powers (and the knowledge of dying. A lot.) Hank rises to the occasion and grows into a better beast than modern day beast. Angel is a whiner. Iceman is like that class clown everyone loved when they were in elementary school, but everybody wants to strangle in high school because he didn’t grow up. And that is a amazing : Stuart Imonen’s art style is also great, capturing both the more naive original x-men as the gritty modern day group’s moods perfectly have fun ability: the pages look amazing on a 10 inch smartphone pc, but you will need to use the zoom function on some pages to read the dialog. This happens on spread pages more than on normal pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    In the first volume of his run on “All-New X-Men," Brian Bendis offers a special take on Marvel’s premier squad of mutants. Bendis is able to tie the classic X-Men characters of the early days with where the squad has moved in latest years with conflict tearing the squad apart. Bendis is able to blend fresh characters with old ones while offering an exciting plot. The art squad led byStuart Immonen does a fine job in propelling this story along. It’s not a amazing jumping on point despite being the first volume in a series but newcomers should be alright here even if they will have to go online to obtain info on the characters and what has happened. A solid collection of comics. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Do we really need another return to the original squad of the X or another timeline bending to the Marvel 616 involving the X-men or even another plot-line involving the death of Professor X? All these strike me as not just gimmicks but tired gimmicks. Yet I agree, Bendis makes this delightful: the contrasting personalities, the changing of life goals, the knowledge of different futures. Bendis actually makes it feel new despite being the typical post-Claremont method to restart the different X-teams. Stuart Imonen's art is really amazing on this and keeps the contrast between classic, young X-men and their modern counterparts very clear. The dialogue is sound, the art is amazing, and the seemingly stale concepts really do produce something new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Really an amazing begin to a fresh series. I'm a long time comic book fan. Followed Marvel comics for over 25 years now, started reading them in elementary school. Followed Uncanny X-Men, since Junior high. I really liked how the original teen aged X-Men would react to the Fresh Mutants of today. The story line follows after the happenings in A versus X: Aftermath, which was the immediate sequel to the A versus X 12 part series. Of the Mutant titles of Marvel Now, I like this the most, because of the mix of the old and new. The really neat twist here is "the new" are from an older era while "the older" characters are from the modern Marvel time. I also enjoyed the art. I thought the panel outlines were unique. Really enjoyed this comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Just read this for the second time and it's still amazing! When I first read it when it came out, I stopped after volume 1 and waited until the series finished so I could read it all the method through. I'm still blown away at how amazing Bendis' writing is. Over reading the X-Men on and off for the past 20 years this story really got me back into the universe. It's amazing to see the young X-Men meet their future selves and vice versa! One of the best things about this series is that it's amazing for long-time fans or newcomers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    There have been countless story arcs in both the Marvel and DC universes where heroes from the future come back to engage their counterparts in our time in either (1) correcting an problem in our show or (2) taking the current heroes into the future to fix a issue (sometimes with the heroes unborn children).Bendis takes a fresh slant on the timestream -- he has our heroes go back in time to bring characters from the past to our present. It's so compelling because we already have a prior relationship with those heroes, and it makes conversations and small comments so interesting (1960's Beast wondering what happened to present-Beast to create him so jaded and worn out).What's particularly interesting is for our Cyclops facing his past counterpart and realizing how far he has strayed from his dream and intent, and then plowing ahead anyway (although wracked with anger and guilt).The art is fine. The dialogue is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Mixing the old X-Men with the fresh X-Men? You’d think that had been done before, and if memory serves, it has been done before. But never like Brian Michael Bendis is now doing it in All-New X-Men, which seems like a weird choice for comic books that feature the “old” X-Men.When I’d first heard about the concept, I thought it would be a flash in the pan. A one-off that might be fun, might be a nice trip down memory lane, but Bendis is going method beyond any expectations I had. The two groups matter and interact in ways that I hadn’t foreseen. Therefore, there is a LOT of surprises for readers in All-New e plot device that brings it all together is present-day Hank McCoy’s sickness, which is another evolution of his mutation, only this time it looks like it’s going to slay him. So, unable to figure things out on his own, he hops a Doctor Doom and Mr. Unbelievable time cube and goes back in time to obtain a young Scott Summers to talk to his future self, who has gone off the deep end.I’d been away from X-Men for a while. The series became too much of a soap opera and there were too a lot of characters that ended up crossing over into each other’s series (too a lot of series to hold up with, all of them continued from month to month with no end in sight) that I couldn’t deal with it it turns out, present-day Scott (Cyclops) killed Professor X at some point (what?) and has turned vigilante. Okay. Deep breath. Because with all of that in play, things just obtain weirder. But somehow Bendis pulls it all off because I kept up with all the old history while he created fresh history with what I thought was e book is really not as confusing as that latest sentence sounds. There’s a lot going on, but somehow it’s all digestible. And fun. And exciting. And purely addictive. While in their future, Scott can’t imagine how his future self turned out the method he has, and Jean Gray has to face the fact that she turned evil and ended up getting killed. A couple bby Drake (Iceman) is the only hero that really adapts quickly, but that’s just how he’s always been, a roll-with-the-punches kind of guy. Angel seems lost and more innocent than he ever e Hank issue gets worked out, but Bendis takes advantage of the mental communication to zip readers through a lot of of the Marvel Girl costumes that Jean wore in the past, and to touch on all the emotional things that created the original run on the X-Men so good.I don’t know how long Bendis can hold up this series because it seems like things would obtain old after a while, or the time continuum would obtain so screwed up that things will never be able to be place back to rights. I don’t know. Right now I’m still wowed by everything going on with these characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I purchased this for the Kindle and found it to be very enjoyable. In a nutshell, the story was very engaging with a lot of amazing elements of science fiction and drama. I haven't read any X-men comics since the late 90's and found that though this story dealt with something dramatic that has happened to utterly change the X-men for the worse, the telling of the story was so well written that you didn't need to read or know about the happenings prior to starting off with this book. In other words, this book is a amazing put to "jump off" to begin reading the e art is amazing with amazing colors and sci-fi info that really draws the reader in. The pages look phenomenal on the Kindle with the lighting effects drawn combined with the lighting of the Kindle itself. Also, show were little elements of comedy within dialogue that helped enhance the drama from a character's perspective. Lastly, if I had to note any criticism at all is that the number of pages seemed a small short compared with other graphic novel titles I buy. However, it is also my understanding that Marvel tends to publish all of its books with this number of pages in mind- so this wouldn't be any reflection of this All-New X-Men title itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a amazing intro volume to the xmen. This series is various in that it's not just adding/subtracting characters or out right rebooting the series, it's one of the 2 current factions of xmen bringing the original 5 xmen from the past to the present.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    For my intial taste of Sandman, I think this one is probably my favorite of the first three that I bought and read over one night. I blame it solely on the chapter "24 Hours"(which is an extraneous chapter in the overall tale if you think about it) but I'll let myself to attribute it, as well, to the overall haunting theme of life, death, and the in-between that is sleep. Some beautiful amazing storytelling, and some interesting(and fear-inducing) art create this a worthy bundle of linear stories.But if you wish an insight into the absolute vision Gaiman had, you should read the scripts in the back of the collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    I have just recently got into comics but have always been interested in the graphic novel medium. I watched a YouTube review on the comic book and thought I give it a shot: I am so glad that I did. The storytelling and art pulls you into the globe and doesn't allow go, even in your dreams. I can trace several nightmares back to this novel as I was reading it but instead of stopping I just wanted more; so emotionally invested. I love this novel and I hope you will to!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    I read into too much of the hype surrounding The sandman. As most 1rst volumes this is one is a bit weak compared to later readings but it is one of the larger ones. It is beautiful entertaining after problem one When Dream has to take back both his life and power. But the Dr. Death Story was just weak. His trip in hell and meeting with john were both nice but trying to incorporate DC Heroes into the title was a mistake. I know it serves no purpose to critique ancient history but that's why I say got to your libraries. Its a famous title and you might search it there. Later volumes improve in both art and story so don't allow the first volume hold ya away. Skip it and read a summary online if ya can. Sandman is at the very least an entertaining series so skip the purchase but not the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Amazing storyteller. The comic is sometimes hard to see details, but otherwise it's a amazing set of stories that include surprising hero development and unusual scenarios. Well worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    A amazing story. Recommend to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Husband loved it, it was a bonus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Better than I remember as a kid! Interesting story but for some reason I didn't remember the DC characters. It seemed kind of weird but it is explained in the forward or somewhere. The only bummer was some of the pages I had to screenshot and zoom in. The print was method too little on my 7 inch tablet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition) (The Sandman series) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    The Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes is the first volume of the graphic novel series of Sandman comics by Neil Gaiman. Preludes collects the first eight volumes written. These follow a quest by Dream, one of the immortal Endless, to recover his powers and his realm, The Dreaming, after escaping a lifetime imprisonment at the hands of an English occult society. Dream's journey brings him to a lot of interesting locales and forces him to cross paths with other DC characters, such as Scarecrow and John Contantine.Positive:* Gaiman is skilled storyteller and each chapter works as a self-contained tale. He has the ability to quickly make characters we can empathize with and are interested in.* Comic book lore, pop culture, and mythology are woven together beautifully to make a globe that is pleasantly gative:* Gaiman himself admits in the afterword that during this first volume he is struggling to search his voice. Subsequently, the stories oscillate between occult mystery, dark fantasy, horror, psychological studies, and superhero action. The quality of the writing wavers quite a bit as well.* While the individual chapters are engaging, the overall story arc is not. It is a cliché quest adventure in which Dream must overcame obstacles to recover three lost artifacts one by r Fans Of: modern mythology, urban fantasy, and dark fantasyBottom Line: While flawed, this volume shows amazing promise especially towards the end of the book. The chapters "24 Hours" and "The Sound of Her Wings" would be considered amazing writing in any format. Gaiman has set the scene for better things to come in future entries with an engaging character, Dream, and an interesting world. Though not consistently amazing writing, Preludes is a worthwhile read.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter