Pact Reviews & Opinions


Submit Pact review or read customer reviews:

32 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I know i am late to the party but this book annoyed me so much that i just couldn't not leave a review. I literally threw my kindle away in disgust after finishing this. I can't even describe my feelings - disgust, anger, frustration - all rolled into one.I really fail to understand why so a lot of people loved this and are hailing it as some kind of eternal love story. This is as far away from a love story as you can get. There was nothing sweet or romantic about Chris and Emily to me. Their relationship was slightly creepy and very, very forced. Why the hell were the parents shoving a relationship down their throats? And why were the parents so weird anyway....the dad refusing to testify for his own son, the other mom hell bent on destroying Chris' life even though she knew the truth (and this was the woman who loved him like a son and was cheering all the method for them to marry each other)?? But the parents are the least of my complaints with this book. My largest complaint is the method such a serious subject has been e, here is the thing. People who are not mental health experts are absolutely not equipped to deal with serious problems like severe depression and suicidal tendencies. No matter how much we love someone, we cannot talk or "cheer" them out of depression. I can cheer someone and support them if they are having a poor day at work or some tangible crisis. But if they are seriously depressed and begin creating project plans for suicide, i would never ever assume that i know whats best for them (even though i have a slight background in mental health research). That's what the mental health experts are there for. That's why we invest so much in mental health research. If treating depression was as easy as taking the person out on a few dates and asking them "what happened", most depressed people would never need any support cos their families would be able to do it. And most depressed people would also likely commit suicide if that is the total extent of support they receive.I know a lot of people said "chris was a teenager who didn't know better". I beg to differ. First of all "Chris" might have been a teenager but Jodi isn't. She should have known better than to glorify suicide as some kind of pinnacle of romantic dreams. Secondly, the entire book is built on the premise of their "incredibly mature" relationship. He did mention going to a psychiatrist but just couldn't be arsed to do anything about it. For all their "incredible maturity" and "mental connect", he didn't even have the sense or sensitivity to wait till she was ready for sex. Even though she created it clear plenty of times that she is not comfortable, he literally forced her into it. He comes across as hardly better than an idiotic, kinda abusive jerk of a boyfriend. He "knew" she was beyond repair how?? Because he tried to take her out on dates and "make passionate love" to her, and it didn't work!! Well, huge surprise, seeing how she hated sex with him anyway even when she was not depressed. He was the one who constantly wanted it. Method to place someone's needs above for her, she could go to an abortion clinic multiple times even stealing cash from her parents but couldn't or wouldn't seek support from a psychiatrist? Fine, she was depressed and unwilling, I can understand that. But why hold calling it "love"? If she really loved him , wouldn't she atleast try? Rather than leaving him to mop up the mess and possibly obtain accused of her murder? Rather than leaving him to deal with the pain and sorrow and guilt and accusations? Rather than trying to coax him to commit suicide too? Atleast she could have left him out of it. Hell, she couldn't even be bothered to leave a note absolving him of blame. And this is "true love"?This book had such a powerful premise. The author could have done so much with it. Instead, she treats suicide like some glorious romantic adventure. its not. Unlike chronic illnesses, depression is treatable and a lot of times curable. Helping Emily die was in no method an act of love. If he had truly loved her, he would have done what she required rather than what she said she wanted. Indeed, there was nothing strange about Emily's behaviour considering she was depressed. It is beautiful typical for depressed people (esp due to sexual abuse) to refuse help, to refuse to share details, to feel ashamed and guilty, to push their loved ones away etc. If everybody whose loved ones are depressed just assumed that they are beyond support based on such behaviour, there would be nobody who survives depression. Emily would most likely have been ok if chris had gotten her proper support rather than assuming that she was beyond help. He was in no method equipped to deal with her depression. He did not have the expertise, experience, maturity, qualifications, skills or sensitivity to support her. He had no method of knowing whether she was beyond repair or not. In fact, he didn't even know why she was depressed. Emily had a supportive family, she had resources, her parents were well to do, she had plenty to look forward to, she had her art....if she had received help, she would have probably been ok. In any case, we would never know because of Chris and his "true love".What irritates me most is when people test to defend the story saying "this is what real love is all about". No, it is not. If you have someone who is depressed and wants to commit suicide, and you truly love them, you need to obtain them help. Not assume that you know best, create some lame attempts to "cheer them up" and give up on them when your amateur attempts are (obviously) not working. And for god's sake, please DON'T shoot them when they say they wish to commit suicide, because hey, that's what they want, right? This, in fact, is what real stupidity, idiotic presumptions and selfishness is all about.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Ok, rant over, i can now obtain on with my day. I think i almost wrote an essay there, that's how mad i was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Technically, there's nothing wrong with this book. It's well written, interesting, suspenseful. It does drag a small at times, the story moving a bit too slowly. My largest issue with it was that this whole book was very, very depressing. I knew from reading reviews that it was a story about teenage suicide, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised... As well-written and captivating as this book was, it just left me really sad.I definitely would NOT recommend it to anyone who is depressed, or prone to suicidal thoughts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Related to "Defending Jacob". It's a amazing book and very well performed but not her best work. A tale of teen-suicide but you never really got to what was so horribly wrong to wish the teen to slay herself. Yes, a horrible incident in her childhood would have likely scarred her but I never understood why she couldn't tell her best friend/soul friend or her parents. Also couldn't wrap my head around this being what caused her to slay herself all these years later when she had so a lot of positive things to counter it. I suppose a small more detail about how the incident effected her growing up or why she felt she couldn't tell would have helped develop the plot more. Still a decent read.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Pact or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Pact video reviews and related movies:

    See 💣💣💣 派克特 PACT : CEO 【 LYRIC VIDEO 】 on youtube.

     related image

    See Slaves - The Pact (Music Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See Polling expert John Curtice: "Unite to Remain pact could make a major difference" on youtube.

     related image

    See 【再見Hip Hop】功夫胖 KUNGFU PEN x 派克特 PACT x 張震嶽 x MC HotDog 熱狗 【 OFFICIAL MV 】 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Pact on youtube.

     related image

    See 【NOUS Underground- 派克特PACT Feat. 艾福杰尼】Y on youtube.

     related image

    See Navy Undesignated | PACT Seaman | What is Undesignated? on youtube.

     related image

    See PACT 派克特 ❌Dirty Twinz 《干杯就干杯》OFFICIAL MV 🍻🍻🍻 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Jodi Picoult's books grab you and draw you into her globe of complicated but regular people caught up in happenings beyond their imagining. Very often, she is method off on the law, but this time she got it ris and Emily are high school seniors. One night when they were together as always, one of them ends up dead, ostensibly a victim of suicide. Was it suicide or did the other pull the trigger? Purposeful or accidental?As usual, Picoult keeps you guessing to the end. The only thing that keeps this from being five stars are the untied ends. There are nit a lot of them, but there are definitely a few.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    **WARNING**SPOILERS**I am not sure how I feel about this book. On one hand, I do feel that Jodi Picoult is a talented writer and she definitely has a method of capturing a reader. But at the same time, she is very much into info and some info are just, well boring. There were some parts I just skimmed over because the info just werent necessary to the novel. The one thing that really bothers me about this novel tho is the fact that Emily Gold is so pathetic. Ok, she got rubbed up in a bathroom for 5 mins by some creep. Yes that can be a very traumatic experience and no doubt she should have told someone and received some sort of therapy. But for that to be the catalyst of her suicide...give me a break. Her hero was extrememly selfish, self-centered, and weak. If you truly love someone, you would not think to ask that person to do something that would ruin them emotionally, mentally, and literally for the rest of their lives. Chris was so blinded by his love and attraction for her that he didnt realize until the very end how badly Emily screwed up his life.Another thing is the ending feels incomplete. I understand that endings arent always simple to write, but I feel that the book could have ended with a better epilogue, maybe showing Chris as a grown man and letting us see a snippet of how his life was effected by the events, or finding a lost letter from Emily where he finds out the "truth" of her incestuous feelings towards him and the childhood bathroom incident. Something to give him some closure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    This is the second book by this author I've read. I should've known that I wasn't going to really have fun the book because of how the other was written and this would most likely be written the same. But the story seemed interesting so I was willing to give it a try.Even though I didn't like the method it was written, (jumping from pairs talking, various scenes, etc.) I know I can't be the only one who feels this way. Anyways, the story had a lot of potential but it didn't live up to what I thought it was going to be. There were some holes and the ending was blah. I can't stop thinking about how Mel threw the diary in the fire, and then that was it. It doesn't touch back on any of that. I didn't like Mel's character. I was expecting Gus and Michael to have an affair, I'm glad they didn't. Sorry, my review is all over the place. I just finished the book and I have all these thoughts running through my brain. Another thing that irritated me was the watch. Emily bought the watch before she knew she was pregnant. Probably before she knew she was going to slay herself. I know her emotions were building up and she was probably going to commit suicide eventually. I think getting pregnant really pushed her over the edge and that's when it was set, but that's not what I'm getting at. When they were questioning about the watch no one brought up the fact that she bought it before she was pregnant, and that's why she bought it. She didn't know she was going to feel so much pressure to be a wife and mother and whatever her parents thought she was going to be. If I was Jordan I would've used that in my case. Ugh. That didn't come out as smooth as I wanted it to but I hope that makes sense.I was mostly disappointed that she was depressed about being molested. Not that you can't be depressed about being molested. But why did it have to be that? Thinking about what happened to her makes me sick and I want I never read it. It's such a horrible thing to write and think about. I almost stopped reading the book because of it. I felt it was cliche. I [email protected]#$%! could've been something else. Why did she have to obtain molested? Why not just depression? I don't know. I'm blabbering.I don't wish to write a poor review because it's someone's work and I'm not writing books, why should I judge it? Uuugh. I don't know. I didn't have fun the method it was written, I felt the story was kind of slow and left me feeling empty and depressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I have to say first, I have really enjoyed a lot of of Jodi Picoult's books. Her Sister's Keeper and Plain Truth to mention two, but this one left me not only wanting answers but very disturbed at the relationship of Emily and Chris. This child who is supposed to be so in tuned to this girl he is obsessed with her decides not only not to stop her when she fixes on suicide, but to support her. Spoiler alert! I was especially appalled at the outcome of the court case. I have been a juror on a murder trial and there is no method I could ever see 12 people letting this child go and calling him 'not guilty' after hearing this testimony. This author is out in left field somewhere. I was so saddened to see that so a lot of people gave this five stars. It fell flat in so a lot of ways, characters you care about, plot, totally wonderful outcomes. She is a fine author, but she really dropped the ball with this one. Don't waste your time or money. I plan to delete it off my kindle as soon as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I enjoyed the story well enough but found the characters a bit confusing and had to hold rethinking who were members of each family. The reason was the author called one of the women Gus, short for her true name Augustus. Therefore when Gus would speak, I would have to rethink and whether it was two men talking together or who the people were having the conversation. This happened throughout the book and I'm a quick reader so it was annoying to me. However, the story was interesting and starts right off with the plot and finishes with resolution so it was a relatively amazing story..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Young love. Can anything be any better than that? Maybe, maybe not. Christopher and Emily had been together almost since birth. And the friendship that their families enjoyed had joined them throughout their childhood. Now, as teenagers, they were, for the first time, experiencing adult passions and stresses. Emily doesn't wish to live. She convinces Christopher to support her end her life. And they enter into a pact to end their lives together, or do they? Emily dies and Christopher is charged with her murder. Intriguing story line, although I thought the flashbacks were a bit tedious at times. The writing of info was perfect and I was drawn into the drama of the changing lives of these two families. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A Love Story review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Five stars isn't enough for a book that has the power to create a reader believe so intensely. It's a testament to Picoult's talent when you can make a favourite book only to be topped by a latter book by the same author, and then again and so is is one of those rare books you need to read carefully because if you miss a word, you're excluding yourself from witnessing one of life's pure spite my continual praises that Jodi is my favourite author, I think I've place down all her books at some point and come back to it weeks or months later. Her books are literally double the size of a normal novel and with the types of storylines, writing, and characters she produces, I've struggled to read it in a continual gulp over the course of a few e Pact, however, I read bit-by-bit and chunk-by-chunk every day and it totally absorbed me, every step of the most of her stuff, I don't always admire the characters because I can relate to them or they seem like me, or something I've done, etc. Sometimes I feel so strongly about her characters because I can, yet cannot understand them. She brings such rich flavour, like she's cooking up a grand dish with herbs and spices and sauces from here and there and creates something you can't explain but appreciate. The focus of the story -- the death of Emily -- is how I'd describe that. Her boyfriend, best friend, and soul friend is the one I connected and understood. Both wowed me.I don't like revising the book description in my reviews -- after all you can just read the blurb for that. I do love expressing just how much I feel for a book and this one, went straight to my Best Everrr shelf. Allow me point out between books I've finished reading and couldn't finish I sit somewhere around 300 overall. Only 47 have created it to this shelf. This book is incredible, and anyone who loves drama, crime shows, family dynamics, but most importantly those rare love stories like The Notebook or Titanic where it's so pure and rich you pine after it for years afterward, will fall for the outstanding power of this read.5+ stars! Mandatory reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pact | Car Insurance review [App]  2019-2-17 13:12

    Fast and Simple to use. Really enjoyed the user-interface as well! Glad to see this application roll out on the Android device platform!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pact | Car Insurance review [App]  2019-2-17 13:12

    Just downloaded the application and bought a policy in 10 minutes, straight up. And they're cancelling my old policy for me right now. Not normally a review guy but wow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed this second possibility romance. It is one of the better ones I've read lately. The main characters and the secondary ones were likable and it was simple to connect with them. Brad and Mia were not honest about their feelings for the other one in the past and Brad was a bit clueless as he pursued Mia 11 years later. She was afraid of him breaking her heart again and Brad had it in his mind that things would work out because he wanted them to. Luckily his coworkers/ mates were there to support him out. I adored the banter in the book and hope to see a book written about Jaxon. There is lots of steamy sex and a unbelievable HEA. If that isn't enough to create you obtain this book, there are some amazing gift books included. It's a amazing deal and well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Very enjoyable, entertaining story. I like mates to lovers, to satisfied endings stories. This was a fast quick paced read .I voluntarily reviewed an arc copy of this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I really enjoyed this delightful,well written, amazing characters . A second possibility mates to lovers story. I highly recommend reading this book .A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    The story behind the book was solid. Two mates create a pact to marry each other if they are still single at 35. One goes off to the other side of the country for work and the connection is unds great, right? But I just couldn't obtain into the characters. Brad was full of himself and if I had to read 1 more time about how healthy he eats and how much he works out, I was going to come through the book and smack him! But he sounds super yummy and WOW were the sex scenes amazing!Mia loved Brad when they were younger and created the pact, but she never told him. Instead she sleeps with him the night before he leaves and then she doesn't hear from him again. But when Brad turns 35 he can't support but remember the pact they created and he starts to miss e back and forth between these two started to obtain a small old for me but when Mia went to LA my heart broke for really was a solid book, awesome sex scenes...I just didn't fall in love with the characters.*I voluntarily received an advanced reader copy*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book. This was such an enjoyable mates to lovers read. Brad and Mia have been best mates for a long time and neither has ever told the other that their feelings run deeper than friendship. They were both there for the other when they dated others and required someone to talk to. When they are 24 the eve before Brad is to leave for a job opportunity that will send him across county the two end up sleeping with one another. Both agree that what happened will not change their friendship and that if they are still single when they are 35 they will marry one another and have a family. Eleven years later Brad feels his life is missing something and still thinks of Mia. He calls her up and says he is going to come home to visit her. Mia is not sure she wants to see him. She feels he did turn what happened years ago seem weird and he stopped keeping in touch even though he said he would stay in touch. Brad brings up the pact they created and says he wants to marry her. The story picks up from there with Brad trying to prove to Mia that they could be amazing together. Mia wants Brad to marry her because he loves her not because of some pact. The two still have smoking hot chemistry. Brad doesn't seem to realize why Mia keeps pulling back. The method he tries to victory her over is quite entertaining. He just assumes Mia knows he loves her. Mia does love him but wonders if Brad loves her the same. This was a very entertaining read and I loved reading about all that they went through to obtain their HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    This is one entertaining romance story about Mia and Brad, best friends. They have been best mates for a long time and never gave into their feelings for one another, afraid to cross that line and loss what they had as friends! On their latest night together before Brad leaves for LA to begin his career they give into their needs for one another with a promise to not act weird or forget about their friend. Brad comes up with a marriage pact that at 35 if they are both still single they will marry and have lots of kids. Their friendship is off and weird from the beginning and 11 years go by without a word before Brad reaches out to Mia, he is now 35. Brad realizes he is lonely and wanting a life like his coworker, Tina has, a husband and kids. Mia is very shocked and guarded about this pact that is now between strangers and walks through them getting to know one another very carefully! Mia also has the need to have a family but she is standing her ground that she’ll have Love over an agreement created when she was a young person. Can Brad present Mia what is really been between them from all those years ago as mates even though he was young and dumb about losing contact with her? Will Brad’s persistence obtain Mia to see what’s right I front of her? Will Mia allow her fear control her decisions? With an unexpected secret can it bring them together or will it cause one of them to walk away forever? I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    This is a funny and sad story that leads to so a lot of crazy things to test and victory his mates heart. But if Brad would search away to prove to Mia his best mate that he wants to marry her.But Mia doesn't wish to still be in love with Brad after he broke her heart and then comes barreling back into her life after eleven years,and expects her to call into his arms.Just because they created a stupid pact that if they both were single at thirty five they would marry each other.Even though it's been eleven years since Brad has laid eyes on Mia he still feels his heart speed woman ever filled the put in his life that Mia always n these two ever search the happiness they desire? Or will both being stubborn and not telling the other how much they love each other.?It's a sweet but frustrating story where you wish to slap or shake sense into Brad or tell Mia to be powerful enough to tell Brad how she feels,because the circle of life is too short to not go for it. I love the method Tia makes you feel as if you know the characters and wish to support them .I can hardly wait to see what's next by this multi talented author.I voluntarily decided to review this advanced reader copy because it's a adult romance story and I wanted other avid adult romance readers to know it's so worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader copy of this book. I loved this book. It was fun, quirky, sexy, steamy and it makes you wonder if that one person in your life could’ve been the one all along. Mia and Brad, best mates through high school and college, both attracted to each other and both having feelings for the other, but never acting on it for fear of ruining their relationship. When Brad take a job in LA Mia doesn’t wish him to go, but you can’t keep back the one you love, right? Will staying in touch be easy? Or will they each fall to the waste side? One drunken night, a kiss that turns into more, and the morning after waking up alone, with a promise that if they are both single when they turn 35 they marry each other. Life has gone on for these two and when Brad turns 35, still single, no prospects for marriage and then the memory of the pact they created his latest night. Mia, still single, no prospects for her either, she’s a homebody and then one day, a missed phone call and its Brad asking the question. What will Mia do? It's been 11 years will she agree and be with the person she’s loved all along or tell him to shove for how he created her feel the day after their night together? You will have to grab this one to search out how this story plays out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    This a short story about Brad and Mia. They were both in college and they were mates but nothing more. They angry a pact if they were both simge at 35 then they would marry each other. Brad got a job in L.A. and Mia was staying in Fresh York when they graduated college. They kept the secret that they liked each other than mates and sleep together before he leaves. Quick forward 11 year sand they are both single still. He is a very successful radio host and hasn't seen or talked to Mia in at least 9 years and Mia successful at a fashion magazine and she gets a call one day about being 35 soon and wants to know if the pact is still on. She doesn't wish anything to do with her but he plans to create her see that they were amazing together with dinners and other things. Eventually she starts to see that they were meant to be. Then she becomes pregnant he wants to marry her for a lot of reasons. I think that Brad a d***"bag towards Mia after they sleep together and doesn't call for years and he expects her to drop everything to marry him and move. I liked Mia but I wouldn't have gotten back together so soon after he comes into the picture again but that's me. I liked this book and author and recommend both. I received this as an arc and I voluntarily left this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Marriage Pact: A Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Mia and Brad were best friends. They secretly had romantic interests in each other but never acted upon those feelings until the night before Brad was leaving to move across country. They drank, created a pact to obtain married if they were still single when they turned 35. They had one night of passion, with Brad promising things wouldn't change and they'd hold in touch... You can see where this is going. 11 years later, Brad turned 35 and is feeling out of sorts. He thinks of the pact and reaches out determined to victory her over. What could possibly go wrong? There are plenty of bumps along the method for these two. He is not the best at communicating, despite the fact that he has a famous radio show. She is afraid to believe him and have her heart broken again. Although there were times where I wanted to smack Brad for being so clueless, I actually liked him as a character, and I couldn't blame Mia for being so cautious. Had they truly talked to each other instead of letting emotions obtain the best of them, but then the story wouldn't have been so entertaining. I've read a lot of books by Tia Siren and enjoyed this one just as much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    This book has everything required to be such an intensely interesting read. I especially loved the characters, they got right to my heart. This book delivers on so a lot of levels. It was a amazing ride that I wholeheartedly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    Another amazing book by one of the more talented writers of this genre. I’ve now read all three of her novels and have never been disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    I'm nearly halfway through the book. I probably wouldn't have gotten this far had I not been on an airplane and required to fill time. There is so far, nothing gripping or psychological about it. Neither the characters nor the plot have appealed to me and I would be perfectly satisfied to place down the book and forget it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    EXCERPT: In the cafe, his breath on my face. His face in my face. His dirty glasses create me feel sick, Mummy. Can you hear me? I can feel you near. I am here in the cafe but it's not now, it's. . . When is this? I am today. I am this morning. I am now. I am in two moments in time, traveling but not traveling. Being. I can feel the pillow under my head. I can see the water above me. . . I am lying under the dark, the weeds. . . the hard seat hurts my bottom. . . not enough padding you say. . . when do you say that? Did you hear me say that to myself? My mouth is dry, Mummy, but I 'm not thirsty. He is sitting too close too close too close. I wish to call you, Mummy. . . you are near but you are foggy. I can't scream to you. I can't call you. I left my phone in the. . . I ran out in a rage. . . You are such a pain, you won't leave me alone. I was so @#$%ed off with you, but now I need you and I can't call you. You're always nagging me to call, and I don't wish to have to call all the time but now I do - I do wish to call and I do have the time, but I can't call because I left my phone in the flat I can't I can't I can't. Mummy, support me, support me, support me. . .ABOUT THIS BOOK: You created a promise to your sister. It could destroy your e Daughter15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out e MotherRosie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget created each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what happened to them as children, and that they would protect each other without asking for support from others, no matter what…Rosie was Toni’s second possibility to obtain things right: a happy, talented girl with her whole life ahead of her. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm.But Rosie has plans that her mother doesn’t know about. She has dreams and ambitions – of love, of a career, of a life beyond the sheltered existence that her mother has made for her. But the secrets Rosie has been keeping have now place her life in e PactIn order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and begin doors to her past she hoped would remain closed THOUGHTS: OMG! OMG! OMG! I just loved this book!The Pact by S. E. Lynes builds slowly to a breathtaking, heart pounding, edge of the seat, white knuckled climax. I don't know how I can do this book nes grabs your attention from the beginning with a stage that is not fully explained until the end of the book. The story is told from three points of view, that of Rosie, Rosie’s mum Toni, and Toni’s sister Bridget. All three have been touched by tragedies, and have formed a tight knit supportive triangle to the exclusion of everyone else. And Toni and Bridget have a pact, one created a long time ago, before Rosie was even nes has perfectly captured not only the struggle between a teenage girl, fighting for just a small of the freedom her mates have, and her protective mother, frightened by her own experiences and determined to prevent her daughter from making the same mistakes, but the burgeoning desires of a first far will Toni go to hold Rosie safe? How far will Rosie go to obtain what she wants? And just how far will Bridget go to protect those she loves?Warning: plan on reading this uninterrupted. Once The Pact gets its hooks into you, you won't wish to place it ank you to Bookouture via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of The Pact by S. E. Lynes for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own private opinions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    When I heard a second Bookouture release was in the pipeline from Susie Lynes I jumped at the possibility to read it.  And flipping heck, I was not disappointed.  One of my favourite things about The Pact is how uneasy the reader feels from beautiful much page one.  I felt very apprehensive, I could sense something wasn't quite right with the picture Lynes was painting for me and I loved it!  If you're a fan of suspense then this is a must-read.We meet Toni, widowed mother of one teenage daughter, Rosie.  Rosie is a budding theatre star but lacks the confidence to push herself to the glittering heights others feel she could achieve.  Not helped by Toni, her overprotective mother.  Lending a more pragmatic and considered point of view to proceedings is Toni's older sister, Bridget. Both Bridget and Toni have been through a lot; a traumatic childhood featuring unimaginable abuse for Toni, for Bridget the need to protect her sister from the horrors but feeling a constant failure.  That's where the pact came in.  A promise created a lot of years ago that no matter what, the two sisters would look after each other and not rely on the support of others.  But the pact could be the sisters undoing....I absolutely loved Bridget.  She became a bit of a superhero for me and at times I found myself cheering her on as I read (thankfully this all happened in my head otherwise my family may have been giving me the odd strange look!).  I totally believed in Lynes's characters; I could picture them, I could hear their dialogue in my head (more strange looks but from everyone reading this, this time haha!) and I truly felt for them.  I didn't like Toni as much as I liked Bridget but that was due to her overbearing, smothering nes has cleverly used the vocabulary used by the 'yoof' of today along with text speak and emojis when writing Rosie's interactions with friends.  All in all, this added to the believability factor making shy, naive young Rosie all the more true for me.  Throughout the pages of The Pact my heart broke for her in a lot of various usual, I was looking out for clues from the very begin of the book and was able to see where a couple of storyline threads were heading.  Can I give you some advice?  Don't do what I did.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it superbly gripping from begin to finish despite being able to see where things were going.  I wonder how much it would have knocked my socks off if I hadn't been doing that.  Really, don't do what I did.  Read it with an begin mind and see where Lynes takes you.Would I recommend this book?  I would, definitely.  Very emotional, incredibly tense and a wonderful, unbelievable read focussing on modern day fears and a parent's worst nightmare.  I wanted to hide behind my hands at points whilst reading, peeking out from behind my splayed fingers.  Lynes is a very talented writer and I look forward to reading more of her work in the ve out of five stars.I chose to read and review an eARC of The Pact.  The above review is my own unbiased opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    I love a amazing psychological thriller that really gets under my skin and consumes my every waking moment whether I am reading it or when life has kept me away from it by making me have to go to work!It's the story of two sisters, Toni and Bridget, who share a huge secret that they have created a pact never to speak of again. But when Toni's daughter Rosie ends up fighting for her life in hospital, the sisters are forced to reevaluate their secrecy to obtain to the truth of what happened to Rosie and cope with the fallout of the happenings leading up to ld in the show with flashback from the past, we follow what happened in the run up to Rosie's accident, how she rebelled versus her mother's overprotective and overbearing nature towards her. How she uses social media secretly to test and spread her wings and obtain a bit of spark in her sheltered life. And how this has a really rather devastating result on her and those around is was a book that, due to the use of social media and what happens thereafter, had me reaching to check my privacy settings. I do search this sort of book to be more frightening as what happens within is beautiful darned credible, some aspects of which appear in the press all too often. Tightly plotted, with twists and turns aplenty, it had me rapt throughout as I raced to search the truth. Although, as I approached the finish line I was torn between racing to the end and not wanting the journey to be over. I was on tenterhooks as I worried about the fallout from what actually happened and what it all meant for the characters that I had grown to was also a book that I also got a wee bit emotionally involved in. I lost track of the number of times I shouted at the characters as they place themselves in certain situations. I really felt for them at times. I cried with them, I laughed with them, I held my breath so much that I was gasping at sie is a typical teen - determined to break from her mum and have a life of her own. Sadly, she makes some poor judgement calls and, without the guidance she obviously could do with, she does place herself in poor situations. From what I read, I understand Toni wanting, needing to protect her, but I just wanted to bang their heads together and tell them to just trust and support each other through life rather than war versus each other's wills. Bridget was brilliant. Playing devil's advocate as much as she could and trying to chip away at Toni's hold, trying to give Rosie a bit of life and freedom. She was a amazing leveller in the book and someone I wish in my corner when the chips are down. Basically, you could say that it was definitely a hero driven book for l in all, a brilliantly plotted, intriguing story that held me hostage throughout and left me spent and happy at the end. My thanks go to the Publisher and Netgalley for the possibility to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    3.5 starsThe Pact is about promises and secrets."We think we've got over things, don't we? We think we've created our peace with trauma, that we're powerful again. We hold going, we smile, we manage day to day. Then something comes along, something so very little compared to things we've faced before, something we think we can more than handle, and it floors us once more. And we realize we're not powerful after all. The fault lines have not healed over. We're not living, not really. We're still surviving."Rosie is a 15-year-old girl who is lying in the hospital in a coma. She has been sheltered for most of her life. Her Mother, Toni, has tried to protect her and hold her safe. Due to her Mother's strict rules and constant hovering, Rosie has secrets of her own. She communicates with mates and a "possible" suitor on social media. Knowing that her Mother checks up on her, she has secrets accounts and is not always honest about where she is going or who she is going to ni, Rosie's Mother has secrets as well. She had a traumatic childhood which she wants to hold secret from her daughter. Her sister, Bridget, knows the truth and has vowed to never discuss the past with her. Toni sees her daughter as satisfied and talented. She believes her daughter will have a amazing life, if only Toni can hold her safe. When Rosie is approached by a talent scout, will this be a possibility at a bright future? Will she be an entertainer like her Aunt Bridget?What happens when one has secrets? How does a traumatic past shape our future, our relationships and the choices we make? What role does social media have in our lives? As the story progresses, the reader learns about Toni's past, about Rosie's use of social media, about secrets hopes and dreams, about deception and about the hidden dangers which exist in the world. This book flows between the past, the not so distant past and the show effortlessly. I found it very simple to follow and over the course of the book, several gaps are filled in for the reader. There were some sections which I wished would have moved along a small faster but overall, I felt this book was well written and thought out. There are some twists and turns along the method that kept the story ank you to Bookouture and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. This is the first book I have read by Lynes and I will be back for is book isn’t one of those a quick paced thrillers, where you are frantically turning every page to obtain the answers.. It’s more of a slow burner. There is a lot of build up and background before you obtain to the action. The story is told from three POV, Rosie’s, Toni’s and Bridget’s. The majority is inner conversations or memories of the character. Most of the story is told out of sync with memories flitting here and there so the reader needs to piece together the timeline. I enjoyed doing this, it created me quite engaged in the ni and Bridget are sisters and Rosie is Toni’s teenage daughter. Rosie is your typical teenager. She thinks her mum is wrong about everything and totally lame. Toni is quite over protective of her daughter. She’s not always been this method but this is after. After what you ask? Well I’m not telling you will have to read the book to search out. Bridget is the cool Auntie. With no kids of her own she likes to spoil Rosie, as much as Toni will allow media is a large part of this book. I was on the cusp of this generation. I grew up with MSN, Myspace, AOL and when I was a small older Facebook. But all of these things were just emerging when I was Rosie’s age. I didn’t have a phone with all the apps that children have now days, no one did they didn’t exist. We had to use a computer that took an age to load up and I might obtain half an hour before I had to swap with my brother. Honestly children these days would call it torture but it was all part of the experience. This story really shows some of the dangers of social media to young e main twist in this book wasn’t hard to guess but that doesn’t create it a poor thing. I enjoyed the journey that got us there. The book is well written. It’s clever, it’s thought out and it gives you some mysteries and secrets to work out along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    THE PACT by S.E. Lynes is a psychological thriller, that that follows how far one would go to protect their child. I just loved this book!The story revolves around the main three characters Bridget, her sister Toni and Toni's daughter Rosie and a binding pact created between the sisters 30 years ago about their abusive childhood…to remain a secret between the Far would you go to protect your loved ones? A promise created to a sister. It could destroy the daughter.15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out sie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget created each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what happened to them as children.Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from sie is fifteen years old, and has dreams and ambitions…of love and a career, but thanks to her mother's overprotectiveness, she has lived a sheltered and naïve upbringing.But Rosie has been keeping secrets from her mother and aunt which could now place her life in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and begin doors to her past she hoped would remain closed e Pact by S. E. Lynes builds slowly with info released on a need-to-know basis, building up to a major climax. The story is told from three points of view, that of Rosie, Rosie’s mum Toni, and Toni’s sister Bridget. All three have been touched by heartbreaks. The characters are captivating and relevant, the writing is y thanks to Bookouture via NetGalley for my copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:0

    Toni and Bridget are as close as two sisters could possibly be. They share a dysfunctional childhood and they would do anything for each other. Rosie is Toni's kid but because the three of them live together and are so close, they create up a very powerful family unit together, a triangle. They don't have any faith in the police and even very serious matters obtain handled within the family, as is their ere is only one huge issue in their lives: Rosie is growing up and thanks to her mother's overprotectiveness, she has had quite a sheltered upbringing. She is vulnerable to certain members of society who might not have her best interests at heart. Rosie, being the teenager she is, is trying to do her own thing, in her own way; if only her aunt and mum will allow her! After all, everyone else has endless freedoms on social media, do they not?This is a really wonderful book. The characters are wonderfully described and have a amazing deal of depth. The sisters' relationship created me wish to cry because that kind of unconditional love is a very rare thing indeed. Just as much care was taken with the secondary characters, so that you felt like you were actually THERE when Rosie went to the cafe and interacted with the waitresses, for example. The author is clearly an perfect storyteller :)I found myself turning the pages faster and faster as the book went along, very gripping indeed!I give this book 4.5 stars and recommend it highly. I can't wait to read what this author writes next!Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for allowing me to read this book. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter