Propel 1890 Reviews & Opinions


Submit Propel 1890 review or read customer reviews:

78 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel 1890 review [App]  2019-11-7 13:49

    Giving a 3, right outta the box. Haven't used the application or the actual drone that it can control. Giving a 3 only bc I like the method the drone is camouflaged, & I like the method the application looks. But create NO mistake, once this drone is charged, and the controller, application & drone is synced, I will change my review to what ever is real about the application & drone. Maybe more stars, maybe less or unchanged! Time will tell...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel 1890 review [App]  2019-11-7 13:49

    yes got the camera to stream to phone. have to match numbers and application i guess. is harder to fly and watch vid at same time. satisfied it works amazing fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel 1890 review [App]  2019-11-7 13:49

    so, uh its ok i guess. I am flying it and it works perfectly for what i need. Only, i cant seem to obtain the HD camera working on my phone. Im disappointed

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Propel 1890 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Propel 1890 video reviews and related movies:

    See Propel Navigator Morph Folding Drone ☑️ ( Full Reveiw ) on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel Switch WiFi Folding HD Streaming Drone First Flight on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel Navigator Morph Drone on youtube.

     related image

    See PROPEL NAVIGATOR FOLDING DRONE UNBOXING on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel Morph Navigator 11-10-18 Maiden Flight on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel Snap 2.0 Compact Drone With HD Camera on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel WorldWide on youtube.

     related image

    See Propel Ultra-X Drone Review on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel 1890 review [App]  2019-11-7 13:49

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Like a lot of others I can't make an account, it just says username taken whatever I type in, same for my email address. Shame as it could be a amazing application for learning to fly and hone skills but allow down by the very basics of creating an account!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    It said, "Unable to detect controller"!! I have linked the controller to my Nexus 6p running android device 8,1.0 via Bluetooth and it turns sold blue but, I cannot obtain passed , " Unable to detect controller"!!! I tried everything!!! Uninstalled application and then reinstalled it thinking i did something wrong but still does not work! Please fix this problem!! Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Sadly, I can confirm as of January 1, 2019 the application still does not let you to make an account. Consistently receiving the "passwords do not match" error. This has apparently been going on for months and does not leave a amazing impression for Propel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Trying to make a fresh account, and I can't. Says "Username already taken" no matter WHAT I type in. It could be complete jibberish, and it says it's already taken. Same goes for the email address too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Bluetooth won't keep a connection to my Sony Xperia L1. 90% of the time it just refuses to connect at all, then on the rare occasion I obtain the "Bluetooth Connected" message, the application continues to find for the controller and won't allow me proceed past the syncing screen before dropping the connection again. Nothing wrong with the phone's bluetooth, tested with other apps. Spent so long trying to obtain it to work, the batteries died in the controller. You owe me 4 AA batteries. Extremely frustrating and indicative of sub-standard application testing, sort it out please.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Works as expected. Like a lot of users, had difficulty creating a password that matched, however it worked after reading a comment below. I used an 8 digit letter followed by a single number.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Amazing application works fine BUT the double gate training missions are next to impossible unless you're a savant at flying and the strafing target mission says 0:00 seconds for 3 stars... So it is impossible. Please patch your application it has problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    The application is great, but when I test to do training mission 9, the controller warning to turn the barometer off does not go away so I can not complete the mission or go any further.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Do NOT download it will not allow me create an acc with MY email i have been trying for over an hour and it wont allow me even set a username. If you do download it you are just going to be wating your time. BIGGEST PILE OF **** ON HERE !!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    I never really review apps but this is incredibly bad. WE PAID OVER 100$ FOR THESE DRONES AND THE ABILITY TO USE THIS APP. PLEASE FIX THE LOGIN PROBLEM!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    All names has been all taken I don't know why I tried a lot of times and I had enough amazing android game but needs more major improvements in the making accounts first. Please fix it because its annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    No problems easy set up. Not sure why people are gettibg problems mine set up in 20 seconds no issue at all and all ready to sync to my drone. Can't wait to begin Training

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    I love this application but only had the one possibility to test it as it will not allow me log back in nor will it not send me a recovery password ,not satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Cannot connect controller to the application which given how amazing the rest of the product is it's a true allow down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Application downloads, creates short chop on home screen, but when I begin application shout turns black and locks my phone out. I have to uninstall application to obtain phone working again. Very disappointed, as the X wing drone is awesome! (HTC one M8)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    I couldn't even make an acc it kept telling me that my passwords didn't match, very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Can't use the application as it constantly says the passwords do not match at the initial set up even though they do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Cannot even test as i can't even connect my phone to the controller as the controller itself does not accept any Bluetooth password on syncing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    amazing support for this novice. Had problem with the password like others, but when I used six characters AND 1 number for the password it worked. The guide is amazing for a first time drive pilot to obtain you used to the controller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    just bought 2 drones and it says my email has already been used. very very disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Application doesn't recognize password when logging in,have to go through process of the forgot password to hold re doing fresh passwords

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    It says passwords don't match no matter what you do. Pointless application since you can't use it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    I am unable to make an account. keeps giving a password don't match error.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    WHY CAN'T I CONNECT MY CONTROLLER TO THE TABLET!!! IF U FIX IT i will rate better.😤😤😤😬 👕 👖 👢

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Loved my drone, it's awesome but even though it's connected via Bluetooth the application won't recognize the controller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Doesn't start. I am using BlackBerry PRIV. It seems like it is a common problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    completely useless. unable to make an account. DELETE!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    No problems setting up and connecting to BT. Helpful guides for a newbie to drones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    says email already used and user name already used and email has not been used!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    this sucks it says password does not match I tried 10 times and it does not work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Cannot make acc to even start to use this app. Apparently passwords do not match

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    keeps saying password not the same and it is could the development squad support me please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    star battles fan here thats all to need to say its a no brainer of course this is amazing to say the least.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Does not allow you make a pilot account. Waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Dead simple to use, linked straight up with my advanced Tie controller and was able to train instantly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Unable to connect my phone to my controller when the steps are blatantly simple with no help from propel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    realy teaches how to fly the actule drone by the same companies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    This is retarded the email thing is too private so take that out of the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    wow that android game is fun and not letting me f**king play 😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Propel Star Wars Battle Drones review [App]  2019-8-12 13:36

    Was able to make account, so i believe the problem has been fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Super-low quality scan of the original book makes it almost unreadable on even a computer screen, allow alone kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Amazing book. Oversized margins created it very difficult to read the text on my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    BUYER BEWARE: The kindle edition of this book is nothing more than a shoddy PDF that is freely available in a lot of places. It is impossible to read on a kindle device, due to the fact that the PDF is only a photocopy of the original, and each page is simply displayed as a picture. Text cannot be resized, and the whitespace/margin is enormous and r a $30 digital edition of a book long out of print, I had much higher expectations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    5 stars for content. I only want that Amazon transcribed the words to the kindle format. I am unable to highlight anything less than an entire page and each page is about 2/3 the size of a normal kindle book. If I didn't have the sight of a falcon I would be displeased. The content is unbelievable so I will still christen it with a 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Rocket books are often page turners. I reviewed Sutton's "Rocket Propulsion Systems" a few years back. I picked it up as a cure for insomnia, and ended up reading most of it in one night. The nice thing about rocket science; it's not really "rocket science." If you have a background in physics or chemistry, rocket science is a excellent level of semi-light reading. There is chemistry, neat, but conceptually easy thermodynamics, mechanical engineering and materials science. None of it is at a really high level: rocket science is the type of thing you could do on a slide rule. People is book has a related quality; it's beautiful simple to read (though I confess I bogged down a bit in some of the chemistry sections). I didn't read it for the science, though. I don't really care about rocket fuels. I learned the basics about rocket propellants from Sutton. It's conceptually easy "look at the periodic table" stuff. This book is about the implementation details, and how they were discovered. I don't plan on building any rockets any time soon, so it's more or less irrelevant to me. I suppose this could be helpful to folks who might have some ambitions to create some fancy rockets, but are too precious to use LOX and Kerosene or dinitrogen tetroxide and stly, I read it because it's uproariously funny. Research involving physical objects is funny. Why is it funny? Because at the end of the day, we're really just dumb monkeys playing around with forces we only partially understand. Rocket research has some of the highest comedic potential because it involves smelly things which explode. Had I only known this, I would have arranged to have been born in the 1920s, so I could do all the cool research that happened in the 1950s. Alas, the heroic age of rocket fuel research is now ill, we have these anecdotes, which are unique, and possibly eternal. To quote the book, "if you, gentle reader, have never seen a nervous rocket mechanic, complete with monkey suit, being buzzed by nine thousand demented bats and trying to beat them off with a shovel, there is something missing from your experience. "Oh yeah, don't pay $300 for a copy of this unless you have $300 to throw away. It's something which should be reprinted, but the resourceful can search copies of it for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    This is not a mass-market book. In order to understand it, you need a solid understanding of chemistry(some undergrad, or maybe a very amazing highschool education), and to wish to read it, you're going to have to be at least a bit of a geek. That said, if you fit that description, I can't recommend this book highly enough. It's an perfect history of an interesting field, has lots of funny and eye-popping stories, and will teach a fair bit to anyone who isn't actually an industrial chemist.If you like the following passage, seriously consider trying to search a copy of this book:Chlorine trifluoride, ClF3 , or "CTF" as the engineers insist on calling it...is also quite probably the most vigorous fluorinating agent in existence - much more vigorous than fluorine itself...All this sounds fairly academic and innocuous, but when it is translated into the issue of handling the stuff, the results are horrendous. It is, of course, extremely toxic, but that's the least of the problem. It is hypergolic with every known fuel, and so rapidly hypergolic that no ignition delay has ever been measured. It is also hypergolic with such things as cloth, wood, and try engineers, not to mention asbestos, sand, and water - with which it reacts explosively. It can be kept in some of the ordinary structural metals - steel, copper, aluminum, etc. - because of the formation of a thin movie of insoluble metal fluoride which protects the bulk of the metal, just as the invisible coat of oxide on aluminum keeps it from burning up in the atmosphere. If, however, this coat is melted or scrubbed off, and has no possibility to reform, the operator is confronted with the issue of coping with a metal-fluorine fire. For dealing with this situation, I have always recommended a amazing pair of running shoes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    INCREDIBLY GOOD BOOK! If you are a propulsion engineer (me), or a chemist, this will support you understand WHY of all the various rocket propellants that have been used throughout history. The best propulsion engineers I know had all read this book before I even found it. Simple to understand and VERY practical. It's also a fast read too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    As you read Ignition! you explore with amazing surprise that despite being written 40 odd years ago, all of the material is just as useful (and occasionally insanely entertaining) today as it was then. If you wish to know anything about why a given rocket is fueled with THIS versus THAT, this book will give you a perfectly accurate is criminal that this book is not available in a kindle edition. I had to obtain my copy by less-than-savory means, and I would love to honor Mr. Clark by paying for an authorized edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    The book is a must read for anyone interested in the development of liquid rocket engines. I was a small disappointed at the quality of the digital book, the text was very small, that is why it got knocked down a star.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ignition!: An Informal History of Liquid Rocket Propellants review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Awesome book, I have an old battered hard-copy and I wanted a PDF, but as others have mentioned, this is a badly scanned ver of the [email protected] if you're going to place this up, please work with the publisher to actually build a proper kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case That Propelled Him to the Presidency review [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    This review has nothing to do w d book itself. Just the envelope it came in has fine white dust all over. Is rather freaky ! I immediately washed my hands 3 times after touching it. Freaked out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case That Propelled Him to the Presidency review [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Lincoln's Latest Trial is a well-written, compelling telling of Lincoln's latest major case (a murder trial) prior to his election as the 16th President. Told through the point of view of Robert Hitt, scribe to the trial, whose handwritten manuscript of the trial discovered in 1989 is the basis of the book, we learn how well-respected Lincoln was as a lawyer and a man. His decades long law practice had spread his reputation far and wide in Illinois, and the latest Lincoln-Douglas debates had place him in the national spotlight. He was held in high esteem by his peers as well as townspeople as an honest man committed to the truth.Abrams does a amazing job of describing the societal and political currents of the time. We are also reminded that "Lincoln was one of the giants who literally set the bar for the legal profession in America." and that he and his colleagues literally were "establishing precedents that future courts would come to rely on".The trial itself took put in 1859, following the Lincoln-Douglas debates and only 9 months before the Republican convention. It was personally challenging for Lincoln. He was well acquainted with, and liked, both the defendant "Peachy" Quinn who Lincoln was representing, and the victim, Greek e trial itself was fascinating. To actually hear (via the trial transcript) Lincoln in action was amazing!One thing that I didn't like was that Abrams would break up the momentum of the trial by inserting writings about prior cases Lincoln had been part of. I would have preferred the trial to continue uninterrupted.Overall, an enjoyable and interesting y thanks to NetGalley and Harlequin Hanover Square Books for permitting me access to an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. (less)flagcomment · see revie

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case That Propelled Him to the Presidency review [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    What a fascinating book this is. Reading like a novel, it reveals the history of a murder case in which Abraham Lincoln defended an accused young man in Springfield, Illinois, in 1859. Due to the amazing amazing fortune of a transcript of the trial being found in the 1980’s, we are able to follow the trial almost verbatim from that hot summer so long fore the development of stenography, verbatim transcripts of trials simply didn’t exist. We are lucky that Robert Hitt, a steno man who was known to Abraham Lincoln, was invited to come to Springfield to cover the murder trial in which Lincoln was one of the defending attorneys. This could have been a dry, textbook-like book, but instead it draws the reader in with its though most of the book is about the actual trial, the context in which the trial was set is beautifully explained. The Lincoln-Douglas debates (which Hitt had also covered) had recently taken place, elevating Abraham Lincoln to the national stage. It was clear that he was likely to create a test for the Republican candidacy for president, and the eyes of the nation were watching the trial to see what kind of man he was. Neither they, nor we, will be disappointed.If you are a student of history, interested in Abraham Lincoln in particular, or just like legal thrillers, this is the book for you. It is a most interesting look at a time of Lincoln’s life which is less well-known than his early or later years, at a time when he was making his living as a lawyer in the growing Midwest. Here we see him as those who knew him best saw him, in his own time and place.I am so glad I read this book, and I heartily recommend itThanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case That Propelled Him to the Presidency review [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    There is no doubt that this book is rich in history. There were a lot of fresh things I learned about Abraham Lincoln throughout this book making me like him even more. While well written, it was just a bit too dry for my taste. Thank you to Harlequin and NetGalley for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    While the STEM debate rages, Rise of the Rocket Girls shatters the American stereotype that girls can't do numbers. Rocket Girls tells the story of California's JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) from the early days (1940s) when the main goal was to strap a rocket onto a plane to create it go faster, to the show time of zone exploration. In 1940, when the guys were shooting rockets out of a dry canyon in southern California, one of them just happened to be married to a girl who was amazing with numbers. Barbara calculated speed, trajectory, combustion, and other factors for rocket and propellant development, and she set the tone for future the work grew, and young JPL expanded, the number of women "computers" (they computed! The term predates the machines) grew. The woman who was in charge of the "computers," Macie Roberts, hired only women for the department, because she wanted to preserve the camaraderie and squad spirit so essential to this critical work. Thus, in a benevolent form of gender discrimination, JPL developed a sterling squad of brilliant women. Macie often reminded the women, "In this job you need to look like a girl, act like a lady, think like a man, and work like a dog."As we learn about the development of rocketry, the author, Nathalia Holt, weaves in cultural developments, such as the invention of pantyhose and the rise of the women's liberation movement. She also contains snippets from the women's private lives (like the fact that pregnancy meant instant termination--until the program realized it was dead without the women computers, and adapted flexibility to accommodate them).The women went from pencils and notebook paper to making history. Their calculations place the first man on the moon. Their formulas became code, and they became the first computer programmers. As Holt says, "You can write a lot of programs in five decades. The code that (the women) wrote would continue to work its method into spacecraft, navigation systems, climate studies, and Mars rovers. It would obtain spliced up and repurposed, pasted into various missions, sent out into space, driven on far-off planets...to (currently orbiting Mars and Saturn spacecraft)...to future Earth-orbiting instruments designed to study our own world."If you are one of those who believes females aren't geared toward math and science, you owe it to yourself and your loved ones to read this engaging, compelling book. It will tell you of a time when women, using only their minds and pencils, rendered the complex calculations that allowed the United States of America to have a zone program at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    As a former 'Rocket Girl' (General Dynamics/Convair Begin Car Engineering), I found this book fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable. By degree a mechanical engineer, I wrote and ran computer code (on punch cards) to determine heat loads on the rockets and their payloads. I remember the engineering challenges of correctly modeling laminar and turbulent air flows over payload cover structures and how much I enjoyed the work. It was a short career - I was tempted away by a High Temperature Gas Cooled Nuclear Reactor - but my most vivid memories will always be my first job out of college on the Atlas (work horse of the century) and Centaur begin vehicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I thought I knew a lot about our zone program. But this book, told from the viewpoint of women I never knew existed, added significantly to what I knew of the early days of our zone program. The story of the women "computers' who did all of the mathematical computations for JPL while we were putting a man on the moon is a unbelievable tribute to the technical skill of women, a frequently overlooked resource.I highly recommend this to anyone interested in our zone program.I also highly recommend it to anyone who has any doubts of a woman's ability to succeed in a Science Technology Engineering Math (STEM) field.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I have read this book twice already. I honestly loved it in so a lot of ways. It's one of those rare, well-written, well-researched books that serves as a amazing tribute to these women; a tribute to the women pioneers of zone flight. Nathalia, thank you for sharing their story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. I have fun reading histories of the zone program. This book covers the history of JPL from the very beginning, told through the lives of the computers, women who did the serious mathematics required to compute trajectories, model rocket thrust, etc. These women were at the center of everything from the first successful U.S. satellite to all the zone probes to the moon, Venus, Mars, and the Voyagers. But this is also a story about women's experience in the 1940s through the 1970s. When one of the computers became pregnant, there was no maternity leave back then. They just had to quit. Some returned. Daycare was getting your mother or a neighbor to watch your child.Just an awesome story about some amazingly talented women who did awesome things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I would give it 10 stars if I could. This is a FANTASTIC book - Very readable and enjoyable - I have no doubt if it were not for these ladies, we'd still be thinking the globe was flat! Anyone with a student in a STEM program should obtain this book for them - to realize that there was life before "electronic computers". I have purchased copies for family and recommended it to bunches of people. You will be astonished when you read it, then you'll wish to read it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Wow! Unbelievable non-fiction read! In telling us the story about the women of the Jet Propulsion Lab, Holt brings us a the gift of another angle of the rise and development of the zone exploration era. This one peers at the history from outside Cape Canaveral/Kennedy, and thus provides a fuller understanding of how widespread the industry has been - there is so much more than "just" is book will appeal to a broad spectrum - men and women, older and youthful. While containing trivial memoir-style annecdotes that infuse the more technical discussions with private interest and hold the book from getting heavy, it's not a Chick Lit piece that would bore someone like my husband (in fact, he's reading it now). (And don't take my words to indicate that he's a chauvinist, because he's no such thing, and he loves powerful female characters - just, living in a house of all women and girls, he sometimes feels that certain books or films have "too much estrogen for me right now". This book definitely will not do that for him.)The writing is very engaging, so no yawning over Holt's work. Rise leaves me wanting to search latest books about the planets and their moons, and wanting to search out more from my father about his time working on the Zone Shuttle programming. The only method this book could be better is if the title used "Women" instead of the diminuizing "Girls," as these were all very much adults, and highly accomplished and respected ones at that.Oh yeah, and now I'm going to play the recordings from Voyager's gold record while I create some minestrone soup. . . Thank you, Nathalia Holt, for one of those reads that pull your mind into its location long after you've turned the latest page. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I place this on my Amazon want list as soon as I came across a review. I enjoyed the history--and the background about how Nathalia Holt discovered these neglected women and their part in the history of the zone program. Their important--make that essential--role in research and development has been practically buried. I learned about the beginnings of JPL and NASA and was amazed to see that it all began with pencils, paper, and sliderules, These women were known as computers at the beginning, but eventually they moved on to machine computers, which weren't a lot of support at first...It's a amazing thing the women were there for e author covers the 1940s through today and profiles a number of those pioneers: How they found their method to their careers--they loved math, algebra, calculus, and the sciences--despite obstacles of the times. We owe them so much! Their stories bog down a bit in the private descriptions; some parts could have used a small editing, but that balancing act of family and work was fresh to women then. I found the zone program history fascinating. I learned so much! This is history that needs to be covered in can learn even more in the Notes, and there's a comprehensive index. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I’m struggling to obtain through this book for my book club. In addition to the bland, sentimental writing and the not good organization of the book, there seem to be some obvious errors. How could Helen Chow Ling have graduated from an all male school pre-WW2 when the first female graduated from Notre Dame in 1972? Also, the description of the accident that killed Gus Grissom, Ed White and Roger Chaffee indicated that they were all dead before support arrived. Not so. They all died, asphyxiated by toxic fumes, but were alive, unconscious and beyond support when the door was opened nearly 5 mins after the accident. This author didn’t do her homework, in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    The author combined perfect research with random sentences apparently thrown in to provide some emotion. A better editor could have created the story flow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    The Proud Turret is an haunting tale of the latest few decades leading up to Globe Battle I and the advent of the modern world, or as Ms. Tuchman puts it,'the not good twentieth century'. If you ere looking for a dry, precise, and comprehensive history circa 1890-1914 look elsewhere,what we have here is an engrossing tale of humanity in all its glories and seeming imperfections as seen in the magnifying glass of a short period of time presented in depth by someone who has done her homework. The author's life is worthy of its own book. Born into a Fresh York brownstone with a silver spoon in her mouth, she witnessed one of the opening engagments of WW I between the elements of the British and German navies as the ship she was traveling on approached Istanbul/Constantinople on a visit to her grandfather(a Morgenthau who was U.S. ambassador to Turkey at the time). After a stint working in Japan for the US government she took a job at The Nation(owned by her father) and by the age of 24 was covering the Spanish Civil Battle on location. She's knew how to write, she had a passion for research and was able to submerge her class and social prejudices to show an admirably even handed presentation of the facts. Add to that she was a gifted story teller and thought her purpose in writing was to covey passion and obtain the reader to turn the page. With The Proud Tower,she has succeeded and written in the early 1960's it continues to shine as an example of 'popular' history as it should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Perhaps my favorite time in history. I might extend a bit further into the middle of the 20th century but this time just before the outbreak of the two most devastating battles in modern times, separated by only two decades that changed so much, is fat with fresh discoveries, fresh understandings, fresh technologies. It was that time in the history of science when a lot of thought that all was now known and all that was left was taking care of a few loose ends, at least Lord Kelvin thought so. In spite of the fact that no one had any idea what the sun was created of, Kelvin thought he could create necessary and relevant pronouncements that outraged others. It was a time when a very influential school of thought in chemistry existed in Germany that rejected the idea of the atom. It was a time when all could be explained by electromagnetism, gravity, and thermodynamics (at least as it was known prior to about 1900).Then in 1895 Wilhelm Rontgen discovered something new. If it had been seen by others it had never been described before. He called it X-rays. And the photographs it produced! The photographs sold the importance of the discovery, anyone who might have noticed the fresh radiation had not done that. The photographs were circulated and the enormity of the discovery quickly spread. This led directly to Henri Becquerel’s discovery of natural, spontaneous radioactivity. Entirely fresh forces had now been discovered and Kelvin would be gently admonished for his ignorance. This period of 1890 to 1914 also introduced the genius of Max Planck to the world. Einstein would have his Miracle Year (the atom would not be retired from scientific thought), he would start to work on general relativity and a fresh understanding of gravity. And Nobel Prizes to celebrate the fresh discoveries would start to be awarded. From the abject ignorance place forth as fact by Kelvin at the beginning of that period we end with radioactivity, the confirmation of the atom and the discovery of subatomic particles, the unique theory of relativity, the beginnings of quantum theory, and Newton’s understanding of gravity would be forever sides all of the rich, exciting, challenging, frightening and tragic happenings told in this story by Barbara Tuchman, all of those scientific advances, and more, also occurred. I did not expect her to contain much, if any, of that. I wanted to learn about all the rest. I wanted to obtain a richer understanding of that age other than the nostalgic, “simpler time of innocence before the Amazing War” that frequently attend any tale of the battle itself. This twenty-four year period was not easy or innocent, I knew as much but Ms Tuchman has really done a unbelievable job of introducing the reader to the social, political and cultural struggles and happenings of that time. That is why I got this book. I had no idea of the impact and influence of the Anarchist movement and that alone was a magnificent ever, I admit I was a small disappointed she could not search the words or zone for at least a brief mention of those startling and significant scientific discoveries. It is necessary to mention that Ms Tuchman does contain some of the necessary technological expositions and advances of the age. It is the other, perhaps much more significant, progress in science that is not covered. It is a shame that necessary famous historians like Tuchman search it difficult, or nearly impossible, to write about science history while those like Isaacson are not interested in writing about more.If you would like a amazing understanding of the political, cultural and social happenings at work prior to the Amazing War, written by a first class researcher and author, obtain this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I've been a amazing fan of Barbara Tuchman's writing ever since I read "A Distant Mirror" years ago. The depth of her research is almost incredible, and the info she reveals about topics I thought I was fairly well versed in has me frequently saying to myself "Hey! Oh yeah, now that finally makes sense!" or else "Gosh! Humans are lunatics! Nothing they do makes sense!" She recreates other eras and epochs with such mastery, she recreates major characters so that they become familiar--as though one knows them personally, or at least has seen and heard them in person. I love to lose myself in the worlds she writes of. A statement in the "Forward" of this book intrigued me. She writes that the "Grosse Politik," the endless chronologies of WWI, have been used up and are, after all, misleading...because [they] let us to rest on the simple illusion that it is "they," the naughty statesmen, who are always responsible for battle while "we," the innocent people, are merely led. That impression is a mistake." Her book goes on to prove it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Another tremendous book by Barbara Tuchman. This one deals with the world, primarily Europe, in the years leading up to the First Globe Battle and is a natural prequel to THE GUNS OF AUGUST. Subjects covered contain the British ruling class, the rise of Socialism and Anarchism, the United States' shift from Isolationism to Imperialism, and Berlin's "Cultural Neroism" at the turn of the 20th Century. The major complaint is that it is not a unified history but a set of articles or essays around common themes of social change, surging technology, and rising Democracy. Read it anyway; it's wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    This is one of my all-time favorite books, one that I revisit again and again. I have a paperback copy I can dip into with my coffee in the morning, and it's on my Kindle so I can read it anytime, anywhere. My favorite part is the story of how the masses of people rose up to improve their not good living and working conditions in this era, and how some of the well-to-do stepped forward to support them. There are inspiring stories of extraordinary individuals who grew up in dire poverty, learned to read, and went on to take leadership roles to support their people. There are also in-depth profiles of a lot of strong people of the era that support the reader understand their choices to support change society, or to defend the status quo. It's fascinating to see a figure like young Winston Churchill playing a role in shaping his times, and being shaped by them in turn. And it's necessary to understand the militarism and other factors that led up to Globe Battle I, which both stalled social progress and generated it, at a not good cost. In all, this is the type of book I can pick up and begin to any page and read with fascination as long as I like. I highly recommend it to aficionados of European history, and to anyone who wants to learn more about the role this era played in shaping modern society. In view of current times, it also offers lessons in how history repeats itself. All this, and Tuchman's perfect writing brings it all to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    A unbelievable acc of a very complex globe I, for one, never knew about. We think that today the globe is in ferment, but so was the globe of our ancestors. A lot of of the movements and passions that were so powerful at the turn of the 19th Century are still with us, but a lot of are now only obscure movements that I was only slightly aware of. This is a worthy prequel to Ms. Tuchman's magnum ops, The Guns of August and Ms. McMillan's, Paris 1919, for understanding the movements that are still working their method through the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    This book for me was disappointing. I had read Tuchman's "The Guns of August" in college and reread it not long ago. I found her research fascinating and spot on. In this book the disappointment was in her tedious detail of what seemed (to me at least) minor and page consuming detail. I guess I was expecting the same kind of work as in "The Guns of August" but for me that work wasn't there. Kind of a slow read, interesting, but not as all encompassing as it could be given its title. Worth buying but obtain the less expensive copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Pros: Always always always learn something from Barbara Tuchman's books. Several chapters were outstanding, including the English government transition with Lord Salisbury, Anarchists, the Dreyfus Affair, American Imperialism (especially learning about Thomas Reed and re-learning about how the US helped muck up Cuba, Hawaii and the Philippines), and the Hague Conferences combined with the Machine Age of 1998. Will continue to seek out Tuchman's books and re read her other ns: Struggled with several chapters, including the subjects of composer Richard Strauss, the transfer of power in England (again) and the although interesting, the rise of Marxism, Socialism and symbolically, the death of Jean version Art: 3 out of 5. A bit bland and blurry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Esteemed historian Barbara Tuchman has provided a backdrop versus which we can view the economic and political problems of today. Beginning in the late 1800s, she presents and explains the economic inequalities in cultures throughout western civilizations and the political movements that grew out of the need to create change. She follows the "Upstairs/Downstairs" mentality from one continent to the next demonstrating how obscene wealth and priviledge work to supress those in extreme poverty. Tuchmann identifies the personalities that arose out of international movments to bring human dignity and prosperity the middle and lower classes. Tuchmannn provides a context through which to view modern American and the importance of our elections and different contemporary movements. This book will support you understand the signifigance of the Tea Party, Occupy Wall Street, what's event in Michigan, what's not event on Capitol Hill, etc. The only problem with this book is that you'll wish to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Proud Tower: A Portrait of the World Before the War, 1890-1914; Barbara W. Tuchman's Great War Series review [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    A lot of other reviewers have commented that The Proud Turret is actually a collection of magazine articles written by Barbara Tuchman which all happen to be about the western globe from 1890 to 1914. Because they are a collection of articles and not a cohesive book, there is no sense of impending doom as the globe marches towards the "war to end all wars." The book is told in three parts on British society, anarchism, America transitioning from the Gilded Age to the early 1900s progressive period, France during the Dreyfus Affair, a series of global peace conferences triggered largely by Russia, Germany's militarism as told primarily through its culture, further shifts in England, and socialism. I found the chapters on the Dreyfus Affair and the peace conferences most fascinating. The former because I know it as a major happening in French history, but did not know how it permeated through French society for so long. The latter because I had no idea these major peace conferences took put and seem more applicable to the post-World Battle 1920s than pre-World Battle 1890s/1900s. Tuchman talks about historical figures well known and forgotten in weaving together each section, taking us from the traditional British government of Lord Salisbury to the transnational socialist movement led by figures such as Eugene Debs and Jaures. I picked up the book after hearing about it from multiple history writers, including the author of a latest volume on Speaker Thomas Reed who gets nice treatment here. The book ends with Globe Battle I beginning, as the transnational socialist movements gives method to more nationalistic tendencies, at least for a few years.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter