Red Oak ISD Reviews & Opinions


Submit Red Oak ISD review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Oak ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 13:8

    By far one of the most exemplary ISD i have ever encountered! This application is such a support due to my schedule! Thank you! #bleedmaroon #classof2032 #hawknation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Oak ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 13:8

    This is an amazing method to hold up with my childs education especially with my busy schedule.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Oak ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 13:8

    This is will be helpful for me during the school year to obtain more informations.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Red Oak ISD or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Red Oak ISD video reviews and related movies:

    See ROISDHawks on youtube.

     related image

    See Mobile App Launch Video on youtube.

     related image

    See Red Oak ISD - We have an App! on youtube.

     related image

    See Welcome Back Red Oak ISD Students on youtube.

     related image

    See Emergency Lock Down Notification System - Red Oak ISD on youtube.

     related image

    See New Campus For Red Oak ISD Students After Tornado on youtube.

     related image

    See (HD) Red Oak ISD First Day of School 2013-2014 Video on youtube.

     related image

    See What Are the Red Oak ISD Learning Commons? on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Oak ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 13:8

    This finally came out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Oak ISD review [App]  2018-8-10 13:8

    This application is going to be useful for me during the school year

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I love these games, really, and I was on a roll, but I can't obtain pass level 48 because my Wiko LENNY3 touch screen isn't responsive enough to register both fingertips at the same time. EDIT: I was too fast to judge the alternative method to be wrong. Thank you Bart, for your response. I retried what you said and had no problem finishing the game. Can't wait to see the next game. You have a attractive mind. These things you create, are a work of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    This android game and yellow have single handedly improved my relationship with my niece. She loves playing these android games over and over every time she comes to visit. Christmas day she didn't wish to play with her gifts, she just wanted to sit with me and play yellow. It means so much to me. Thank you for making these games.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    By far one of the best puzzle creators for Android device games! I was hoping for another "Yellow 2", and changing the color really surprised me, Looking forward to... Blue? (PS: after playing for a while, All I see is orange :P)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Hi Barte, I love your colour puzzle games. I heard that there was a chance in the future for you to create a "Blue". I think that's a amazing idea but it should be a lighter blue so as not to irritate your eyes. I just wanted to mention that, thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Based solely on how much i enjoyed "yellow", I'm pre-rating this android game at Five Stars. I'll adjust my score if necessary, but i don't think it will be necessary! 😊😎😀 Edit to add: no adjustments required to the score! If you loved Yellow, you can go right ahead and see Red! 😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Just like yellow, an awesome game. Some of the puzzles really had me thinking for a while. It's really hard to stop playing once you've finished. I'm looking forward to what's coming next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Another high-contrast collection of puzzles from the devious Bart Bonte. Love the aesthetic, melody is quite nice, and the puzzles are a small more daring than the previous iteration. All things considered, a welcome challenge and a fun romp.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I forgot to review yellow and finally did then just after saying I'm looking forward to the sequel, here it is, lo and behold. Will remember to review this time, if not, I already gave it give stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I am loving this game. The tips usually support but I'm stuck on level 36 entirely. I'll hold grinding away and figure it out eventually. Perfect game!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Amazing game. Also, large fan of your sugar sugar series on kong. Loved all the levels but, related to another reviewer, finding level 48 too hard to press 8-10 huge clunky fingers on a little phone at the same time. Maybe extend the press window by 0.15 seconds, or allow us watch an ad to skip a level. Hold up the awesomeness!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    theres a little glitch on level 22. it won't allow you pass the level even if you did it right. still, you can fix it by closing and re opening the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Honestly one of the better android games i've played in a while. Not sure if because of the melody with a lot of "Stranger things" vibe in it, or because of the cleverness with which the puzzles were made. Probably both :) You created me write a review, that's something too :D One little downside is not enough levels.. I fell to the android games charm and completed it in a sitting :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I think you could create the puzzles a small more difficult... Amazing android game though

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Fun collection of puzzles, where finding out what you are supposed to do is the puzzle. So there are no instructions except for create the screen red. Original concept!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Interesting enough but I hated the white flash of the level transition. It became annoying quickly and migraine inducing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Related to Yellow, in style and difficulty. Does not take long to finish, except (for me) the latest level that took me a loop it of trials, nearly as much errors and eventually 4 tips (the only I required for the entire game).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I love this android game but I'm having problem getting past level 39, it may be because I'm over thinking it and the respond is gonna be simple but it's a amazing android game over all! Hold up the amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Every Bart Bonte android game I've played I've thoroughly enjoyed, and this is no exception. Red seems so much more place together than yellow and I have fun the various challenges. 10/10 would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    once again another amazing game. but bart please look out for those cheap bastered copying your android game and repost it on play store..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Just as amazing as the original Yellow game. I enjoyed it quite a lot. Relaxing and the puzzles were not too simple and not too hard. A solid sequel and looking forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Amazing game!!! Been following since I found yellow and havent been disappointed yet!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Can't seem to pass level 47, the hit boxes are either too little or too close together. But other than that I enjoyed Red as much I did Yellow! Very well made, can't wait for the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Loved Yellow and love Red too, this is such a new idea, love the puzzles! Thanks Bart!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Amazing fun puzzle game. You really never know what to expect. Only [email protected]#$%! was longer (take that as a compliment not a complaint)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    i cant believe you created a android game better then yellow, that one was genious. congrants

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Stuck on level 22 can't remove some of the blocks, cant create a 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Amazing game. Infrastructure of the levels and the design really has been well created and is also original. If you played yellow, I would definitely recommend playing Red.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Loved Yellow, loved Red! I created it through without any glitches. Looking forward to the next color! Thank you Bart Bonte for sharing your creativity!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Man what a android game you never cease to amazed me man

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    I played and beat "yellow" and was looking foward to red. All in all this android game was marvelous! Thanks |3 @ ฯ + |3 θ Ω + €

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    This android game was awesome. I never like a android game so much that i wish a sequel but this android game was so fun to play and i loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Bart je verrast me weer. Yellow was al geweldig maar dit is nog beter. Ga zo door!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Super fun and creative game. A amazing follow-up to the amazing YELLOW. Well worth the time for the fun challenges.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    This is a amazing game, I really enjoyed and recommended to my mates 😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Ah Bart has done it again, another short but enjoyable solver game. Take my cash 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Can we obtain a blue next? :O

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Played all 50 levels and loved it. A truly enjoyable puzzle game. Can't wait to see what comes in the future :).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Just like yellow it's an awesome puzzle game, just the right amount of difficulty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    To be honest, the latest lvl was like... Hit randomly the two buttons for 5 mins

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    red review [App]  2018-1-30 13:0

    Amazing game! Please support with level 12 ... I am pressing the buttons but nothing happens 😔

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Alert: An NYPD Red Mystery review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    The Red books are really e reason I only have it 3 stars is because in the latest few books Kylie seems to more and more obnoxious! She thinks she's all that but she's kind of a @#$%! with no redeeming qualities! I love Zach and Cheryl. Zach needs a fresh partner! Maybe you should slay Kylie off to create things more interesting! I'll have to pass on next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Alert: An NYPD Red Mystery review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    Can't wait for the next red book. They are mind boggling to begin with in the mild it all comes together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Alert: An NYPD Red Mystery review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    top author I really have fun his books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Alert: An NYPD Red Mystery review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    I have read all of the books now in the NYPD Red series and for me the series is getting better and better. I really enjoyed this one and it is only the second of the books in the series (the other being the one when we very first met Zach and Kylie) that I have given 5 stars!I really enjoyed the plot, the pace was amazing and I am already a heavy fan of the short punchy chapters that hold the storyline tight and is was a fun and simple read for me, I loved the suspense and the ending for me was amazing - just what was required for the book. 5 stars!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Reminiscent of Frank Herbert's "Dune" series... "plans, within plans, within plans... " Indeed!Love the hero of tion sequences are very t a huge fan of Reaper's self absorption musings fact, I read the series only after Ragnar beat Bombadil in the Cage Match.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    What to say?It starts as a story of class warfare - the protagonist is a "red", with powerful correlations to scots miners, and his symbol, as the "reaper" he becomes, is the "slingblade" or scythe. Nevertheless, what it does NOT devolve into is a simplistic Marxist tale of class warfare. It is, in the end, about a struggle for equal rights, or at least equal consideration and opportunity to try, and about justice (whether or not "equality" is truly possible on any axis is an argument for another day - but it's trivial to not that some forms of equality inevitably have lead to tragedy and bloodshed).Darrow is a miner. A red. Living, so he thinks, to extract resources so that mankind can leave a failing earth. He soon learns that he is a de facto slave, in a society that has leapt far beyond Mars, even as it stays in the solar system in order to ensure control.He is "carved" - rebuilt - and is set on the path of revolution by the Sons of is book focuses on his entry to society, where he first goes through the school that allows him to claim the rank of a "peerless scarred" rather than a useless drone of a "pixie" - the upper crust of the highest-class "gold" rulers.Even from the opening, it is poetic, and literary, leaning heavily on references to Roman mythology in particular. Moment after moment pulls at the emotions and the soul, without cheap string-pulling, and the clarity of writing and emotional moments improve throughout the series. The characters come alive, and you feel their pain, their elation, their sorrow, and their contentment. He makes friends, and enemies, that will support and haunt him through the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Darrow is a helldiver for the pioneers on Mars. His job is to gather resources from deep within Mars, an incredibly risky task that has forced him to become extremely dexterous and strong. Their eventual goal is to terraform Mars, making is possible for colonisation, at which point the Darrow and his fellow Reds will live as kings among men. The Reds are the lowest class in a society that they have barely glimpsed. The highest cass people a gold, all of whom have engaged in extensive physical modification making them essentially a various (superior) race. The Reds are treated like slaves and while Darrow has accepted his lot in life, content to live with his family and carve out the best possible life he can on this world, his wife Eo refuses to accept this life, and encourages Darrow to do the same. When Eo is sentenced to death after she sings a forbidden song while being whipped, Eo forces Darrow to confront the injustice his class faces. Darrow is then recruited into a group which plans to destroy the golds society from within. Darrow must become Gold, changing his body and mind. Then he will obtain accepted to the institute that trains Gold soldiers. Here he must distinguish himself in order to raise to the highest rank he can before tearing down the Gold’s society. It is in the institute that the novel finally began to click for me. Here Darrow and a couple hundred other students are place in a huge arena, very much like The Hunger Games. Fifty students are in each house, all of which are named after Roman gods, where their goal is to enslave all other houses. Darrow is drafted into House Mars. Their performance in this arena is used by different member of the Gold’s military to search fresh recruits and apprentices with a lot of potential. I was really place off from the beginning by Eo’s death. She quite literally dies in order to propel forward Darrow, and it felt very unnecessary. If fact the entire first third of the book felt fairly contrived. Everything that was done was done specifically to obtain Darrow into the arena. And don’t obtain me wrong, the Arena was where I got over the rather annoying method Eo was treated by the story. It helps that Darrow really considers himself an extension of Eo (or at least her dream) at this point. This part of the book (and it makes up about two-thirds of it) really works. There is just so much going on. Darrow on his mission of revenge and revolution. The other Gold students are fleshed out and become their own characters, and we see them as very human, some we like, some we hate. Servo especially deserves mention as one of the few Golds that Darrow feels he can trust. Cassius is someone who I wouldn’t like, but everything he does makes sense as something his hero would do.I’m trying to hold spoilers to a minimum, but there are some aspects of this novel that I would be remiss in not mentioning. One may even consider mentioning these bits a spoiler, so read on with caution. So, about halfway through our time in the arena Darrow dies (for the second time,) and then comes back (for the second time.) Before he was killed, Darrow was acting as the leader of his house, which had been very much divided between two other leaders before he’d managed to force them to work together. When he is revived by a former enemy, Darrow realizes that the method he was leading would never have allowed him to win. He was treating the members of his house that hadn’t originally followed him very poorly, and as a effect they had never really grown to trust him as a leader, and more than likely just saw him as a usurper. So he realizes this and learns from it and then starts to rebuild an troops out of former slaves. Freeing them (there is an actual tag upon those who’ve been enslaved that can be removed by the house that enslaved them or another house can enslave them and then decide whether or not to free them,) when they’ve proven their loyalty to him and when he has proven his loyalty to them. And this sense is conveyed through the writing itself. Before he had died, I found it difficult to remember all of Darrow’s compadres. Who they were, what they could do for him and so on. But during his second possibility as a leader I could actually distinguish some of the more minor characters. Darrow’s personality no longer overpowers all but a few other people. It creates a noticeable difference in the style of Darrow’s command that I really liked. On another note… Titus. It seemed like Titus was meant to parallel Darrow had he given in to his desire for revenge versus the Golds. But the sequence didn’t really work for me. It hinges on a hero reveal that would have worked much better if there had been more tips prior to right before Titus dies. It is also disappointing because that hero reveal makes me wish to know more about him, but overall, Darrow is just too different. You never really obtain the sense that Darrow actually would act in that way, in fact earlier in the story Darrow does end up killing a Gold in a situation where there really was no other way. It’s gruesome, but Darrow is sorrowful and it deeply affects him and his relationship with another student. I also particularly enjoyed the final arc of the book beginning with Darrow being nursed back to life and ending him becoming a god! What a riot! So yeah, Red Rising. I definitely recommend it. There’s a lot more to it than I mentioned here, and I think the novel works very well over all! Give it a looksey if you’re into sci-fi dystopian spy books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I had a sense of Déjà vu when I started Red Rising. At first I was afraid I had stumbled upon a Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson) clone. Yet as I pushed forward I realized this is something much different. Something special.I cannot say exactly that this book is wholly original either. I recognize a lot of other books influence through the pages of Red Rising. Hunger Android games and Lord of the Flies also come to mind. Yet it still feels fresh. Most necessary is how powerful of a Main hero Darrow is. He is the voice of the book. He is a very proactive is has some elements of YA to it but I never felt as if I was reading a YA novel. It all feels very mature in a method that things like the Hunger Android games just didn't to me. So if YA isn't you thing don't largest compliant I have is there are a lot of side characters. I found it difficult to hold track of them all. Usually in first person books there is less side characters to hold track of. Since we never obtain a POV from them they can be forgettable. To a lot of times he would be talking to a hero and I would be at a loss for who they were exactly. That might be my own memory instead of a fault of the book.I really loved Red Rising. I am excited to begin reading book two. If the rest of the series delivers on the promise of this amazing book then this will be very unique indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Pierce Brown's Red Rising was a surprisingly amazing book, not necessarily because of the quality of the writing (which was good, just nothing outstanding) but because the story was compelling and original enough to feel like new 's a fairly distant future science fiction novel, taking put on Mars, but with a solar system that has been thoroughly populated by the time the novel begins. The human population of Red Rising has been divided into very distinct castes, defined by biological and neurological differences that are both technological and evolutionary in nature...and that is at the root of the story.Our protagonist is a "red" who works in deep tunnels below Mars, drilling and harvesting materials in exceedingly hazardous conditions for the noble purpose of terraforming the planet above. It's only after his wife is hanged and he goes proudly to his own death that he finds nothing generations of his people had believed was true. The surface of Mars had been long terraformed and civilized as had essentially every planet or moon in our solar system.He undergoes painful and extensive alterations of all sorts in order to pass for one of the ruling class for the purpose of exacting vengeance and righting the wrong that had been done to his people from within that upper class.I've seen a number of people comparing this trilogy to The Hunger Games, which was one of the reasons I hadn't bothered to read it until now. I didn't care to read what I suspected to be a low-rent clone of a wildly successful series. Upon reading this book, I suspect any of those people comparing it to The Hunger Android games haven't read a lot of other books, since the only similarities have to do with a corrupt and decadent ruling culture and a amazing deal of violence. There is more resemblance to Lord of the Flies and Ender's Android game than anything else, with a healthy dose of Roman (and a bit of Greek) mythology to set the stage.I enjoyed this book enough that I plan to read the next two, and I think it's got a unbelievable degree of hero development that makes it feel more three-dimensional than a lot of young adult fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I have never given a book 5 stars and rarely bother writing reviews for books I read to be honest. I just finished this whole series and I search myself typing furiously on this keyboard with an overwhelming need to spread the word. This book and the series in general is EXCELLENT. If you are questioning whether to purchase this book because you have fun the genre and are looking for a fresh fix, do yourself a favor, just STOP READING REVIEWS AND BUY IT. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.I have completed the trilogy and I am telling you, if you are questioning whether this book or this trilogy in general is worth it just look up the latest book in the series. The book is called Morning star, it has over 1000 reviews and exactly ZERO of them are one to describe it? Im sure a lot of other reviewers have done a attractive job at describing the plot so I will just say what I think. The story is original, the characters are believable. They are supposed to be teenagers but behave more like adults because of their circumstances. This, I think is hard to create believable but the author succeeds at it. The book and the whole series really is incredibly dark, its beautiful, its captivating, its is trilogy broke the mold in my opinion. Its a legitimate adult appropiate YA will not regret this decision. Buy it, read it and allow me know what you think :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    This series is sort of a Starship Enterprise meets Android games of Thrones....I love the dystopian genre. This series is sometimes hard to picture, based on the author's descriptions. I still have no idea what a slingblade looks like. I don't even know if I'm using the right word. Strange Frankensteinian recreations of humans into various "colors". I'm on book 2 and hoping it gets better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I wasn't sure about this at first - maybe too youth oriented - but I kept at it and it quickly turned the corner and became one of the best reads I've had in a lot of years. I have devoured all three books and am impressed with how the author continued to build characters (flaws and all) and expand and deepen his political/social universe philosophies and complications all the while continuing to twist and turn and surprise me constantly with an intricate, tension filled plot. I highly recommend this trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I bought this book looking for something new. What I found is something old that is fresh again. The book started off great. Characters that are relatable, in a setting that is scarily relatable, and writing that is smart. Buy the end of the book I couldn't believe how much it increased in greatness. I was enraptured in the happenings that unfolded on the pages before me and , with the most satisfying ending I've read in long a time, I cannot wait to crack the cover of the next book in the series. Have fun the read, goodman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Red Rising is about a slave in a cast system who dreams of more. After finding out that his people have been lied to Darrow, the main character, sets off on a risky mission with a rebel group to rise up versus the Gold leaders of the society.I am writing this review after my second time reading this book and I feel like I have a whole fresh appreciation of the epic scale of this book on the second time through. I honestly cannot fathom this story sometimes because it is so much bigger than the paper and cardboard rectangle it lives in. Pierce Brown has crafted such an awesome novel it is hard to remember sometimes that this is his debut novel. The writing is unbelievable and very cinematic in it’s detail especially with the tactical tactics and political intrigue.Darrow goes through a lot to live up to the dream his wife has for him. At each fresh shift in his situation Darrow reminds himself of his motivations and struggles to stay grounded in them while keeping practically everything about himself a secret. Darrow has to disguise himself as a Gold and attend their Institute where he isn’t taking classes but battling with other students to gain control of the various houses. Lots of crazy antics ensue and Darrow finds that he can make bonds with these Golds whether it is of necessity or even real friendship to support him gain a favorable position in the android game and in Society. Darrow’s friends: Mustang, Pax, Sevro, Roque, Quinn, Leah, and Cassius are all so intense and well developed characters that they don’t fade into the background. They create their presence known and are just so fantastic, Darrow’s plight is the meat of the story but these characters are all of the tasty side dishes and the dessert.I would love to continue to gush about this book but I don’t wish to give anything away… there are so a lot of twists and turns and one wrong word could spoil something. I feel like this story is one that you shouldn’t go into knowing too much because you will never be able to guess what will happen anyways.If you are a fan of The Hunger Android games or Ender’s Android game then I would surely recommend this to you because it has been described as a mix of these two books. I completely agree with that description but don’t expect it to be anything like either of those books because it is in a class all of it’s own. Be ready for some cringeworthy deaths and some insane antics because this book is one wild ride!Originally posted to[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I received an ARC of this book from Net Galley and the publisher in return for an honest review, which follows.I am an avid reader of thrillers and am particularly a fan of espionage thrillers. So, I figured that Red Sparrow would be "right up my alley." However, the book's slow pace during the first hundred pages kept me undecided as to whether I was liking it or not. This is because it took me awhile to obtain used to the fact that Red Sparrow wasn't going to be a book filled with lots of physical action -- e.g., fist fights, gun fights, killings, dramatic vehicle chases, etc.-- that I've come to expect from books of this on after, however, I realized that Red Sparrow is an espionage thriller that is several notches above the typical book in this genre. It is filled with a lot of fully dimensional, credible characters and zone descriptions that create you feel that you are there experiencing all of the deceptions, schemes, and double crosses involving the different CIA and Russian intelligence agents and politicians --some of whom are moles for both sides. Further, it becomes quickly obvious that first-time author and former CIA operative, Jason Matthews, really knows his topic matter, as Red Sparrow is filled with an abundance of info about the inner workings within both the U.S. and Russian intelligence organizations that is not only interesting, it serves to make an atmosphere that keeps the reader shaking his/her head in if this isn't enough to entice you to read Red Sparrow, perhaps the following facts will convince you to do so: (1) two of its main characters, CIA agent Nathaniel Nash and Russian agent Dominika Egorova, will stay in your mind long after finishing the book, and will have you looking forward to the author writing at least one more book featuring them to search out what the future holds for them; and (2) its plot is filled with enough twists and turns to hold you guessing as to what happens next, and an ending by which you will most likely be very surprised.Highly recommended to those thriller readers willing to be patient enough to finish a book that will ultimately create them consider Red Sparrow to be among the better thrillers they are likely to read this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Very amazing book. Quick moving and exciting, interesting characters with some depth. A fair amount of action, but still reasonably cerebral. I am surprised by how a lot of people seemed bothered by the recipes at the end of each chapter. I liked that touch, but, even if I didn't, I would just move on and not read the recipe, and it would not bother me in the least. I do agree to some extent with the criticism of how stereotypically poor and ugly most of the Russians are. On the other hand, it seems like a lot of authors go out of their method these days to create everyone ambiguous, and there ends up being no characters that the reader really likes. So, in a way, it was refreshing to me to have some characters who were really really amazing and some who were really really bad. All in all, very entertaining, and I think I will read the next in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    This “nuts and bolts” spy story by a former officer of the CIA shows the complexity of recruiting and maintaining “moles” in sensitive locations in a foreign country, the intricacies of daily spy-craft, and the immense pressure and danger that are always show for spies. This story is concerned primarily with the lengths to which the top spy agencies of the US and Russia will go to search a mole buried within their own e incandescently attractive Dominika Egorova, the niece of a Russian spy agency director, has been extensively trained to recruit foreign spies using her wits and her physical charms. Her first target: Nathaniel Nash, a CIA operative who has been identified as being the contact person for the US spy MARBLE within the Russian government. But that can work both ways. Can Dominika be recruited by Nate? A true cat-and-mouse android game ensues in the Finish town of Helsinki, as Nate and Dominika size each other up, looking for possibilities and vulnerabilities. But this fairly self-contained operation soon explodes involving more people, various locales, violence, and unanticipated e amount of detail in the book makes it both interesting, as well as, at times, slightly confusing and tedious. The myriad strange Russian names and the number of agencies, directorates, centers, and the like require a certain amount of backtracking. Probably reflective of the author’s a lot of postings, he provides glimpses of local cultures, including food, as the story shifts among locales. Most of the characters are believable, though perhaps the author could have done more with Dominika and Nate, while leaving out her supposed ability to read others by associating a color with their persona. The plot does begin to strain believability in its sudden developments and harrowing close encounters. One wonders if Dominika will resurface after a return to the bowels of the Russian spy service.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Twice as long as it needs to be, filled with cringy purple prose. Matthews has the uncanny ability to create an interesting stage dull and stretch action that takes seconds into pages of 's an entertaining enough book in desperate need of a competent editor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I picked this up because I know there is a film about it coming out and I wanted to read the book first. I enjoyed it. It seemed a small cumbersome in a few places, but most of all, it was a amazing read. Movies rarely exceed books, only twice for me. But there are a lot of that are equally as entertaining as the source books and I hope this one falls into that category.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    What a book! This Le Carre- type fiction info a Romeo/Juliet romance in the midst of a rekindled Cold War. The protagonist, Dominika, is taken from birth to indoctrination as a spy for Russia. She is assigned to a young American spy, Nate, and of course they are attracted. Dominika becomes a double agent and the plot takes off from there. Complex and intricately plotted, the book chronicles Dominika's survival in Russia's brutal state system, where trust is unknown and death a heartbeat away. The author writes brilliantly and shows senses of humour and irony by including recipes at the end of each chapter as if it were a cozy novel, but failing to contain any amounts for the ingredients. The pace is heart-stopping, the plot compelling and exciting. In short, it is a marvellous book, and I strongly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Welcome a fresh player in the android game of espionage writing. According to the jacket copy, Jason Matthews spent more than 30 years the United States in the cloak and dagger business. As such, he joins such writers as Maughm, LeCarre, Fleming, and McCarry who served their countries in a related fashion, albeit for not as long a period. Matthews may have been a better spy than they were, but as a writer, he isn't worthy of carrying their secret decoder rings.Let's begin with the title. Red, of course, applies to the Russians who are just as villainous as they were in their cold battle days. Putin himself plays an necessary role. Sparrow refers to a graduate of a secret academy use to train participants in honey traps. Here we have a former ballerina whose mission is to seduce an American agent and induce him to betray a mole in the Russian secret service, but somewhere along the method this small sparrow has regrets. Moles on both sides abound in this novel, but I won't spoil your reading pleasure by going further into the book's numerous plot twists, most of which are Sparrow appears to be a first novel, and as such, the author doesn't wish to leave anything out. There is an enormous amount of tradecraft -- techniques and nomenclature -- to be found herein. Frankly these are the most fascinating parts of the book, but unfortunately not all are defined or explained. Parts of the dialogue are in Russian perhaps to add verisimilitude but are irritatingly not always translated. Why the recipes that follow each chapter? Now mind you Ian Fleming once famously wrote that Bond wanted to marry a woman who could create love and Sauce Bearnaise. But 007's creator was wise enough not to explain how to do either. Mr. Matthews goes into detail about both and not necessarily to his credit. Strange too is one of the minor villians: a one-eyed dwarf, the Russian's chief assassin, whose erotically dreams of mutilation and rape. Sounds like he escaped from a Bond should you read it? Hard to say. There's a lot of fascinating inside spy stuff, but there are some long, boring back-stories in the early pages and I almost place the book down more than once. So read it if you want or wait for the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    This is definitely worth reading. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars were- it stretched credulity too far near the end, and- the eating interludes started being boring and later became s can't be blamed for at times having characters do stupid things, but Matthews at times allowed his characters to act in ways that just went too far off the chart. More annoying, though, was Matthews stopping the action in EVERY chapter to have a meal, described in detail, then followed by a recipe. Where was his editor?However, the book is still worth reading because of its detail in the Russia-U.S. spying confrontation, its realistic portrayal of the life of a spy, and its relevance. It begins with the war between Putin and the oligarchs- we know how that ended, but it was fascinating- especially since I read this shortly after reading Bill Browder's interesting book about his failed war with Putin in "Red Notice." (I guess "Red" is the in word for books about Russia.)Overall, I found the book exciting and interesting, at times brutal, yet always authentic. I am looking forward to reading the sequel, "Palace of Treason" on my Kindle and will just skip the meals. (smiling).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    A amazing story well told with notable attention paid to detail. Having worked at several embassies abroad, I'm familiar with a lot of of the diplomatic procedures and processes that are described in the book and found the attention the author spent to getting little info right satisfying. For example, at one point he accurately describes the process of packaging an item for shipment via classified pouch in an orange "K" bag. Whether the spy trade craft described is similarly accurate or not, I don't know, but the author's accuracy with the little info makes the whole story feel more credible. I'm looking forward to reading book 2 in the trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) review [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I read a lot of spy thrillers and this book by Matthews was method above most of these kind of books in terms of writing and sophistication. It is also beyond doubt that Matthews knows what he is talking about in terms of spy craft— authenticity permeates every page. Suspenseful and intelligent. A amazing combo. Read this one. On to the sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    To be honest, the announcement of this fresh trilogy did not initially fill me with churro-level glee. The first Red Rising trilogy was pitch excellent to me, with Morning Star (Book 3) sticking the landing so exquisitely, I had trepidations about returning so soon.I'm thrilled to say that I loved reading this book. I'm a relatively sloth-speed reader compared to the bibliophiles I admire in my life, but Pierce's books slow me down even more. He has an other-worldly bonus to carve words into unexpected passages of beauty even amidst scenes of violence and mayhem. Like its three predecessors, I look forward to revisiting this one just to savor the artistry of his e addition of three fresh POV's also turns up the notch on plot complexity as Pierce weaves more threads into his diabolical web. I don't know how Pierce houses all of these characters' subterfuges and machinations in his (presumably) normal-sized human brain. It baffles and thrills me, and makes me never wish to face him in Settlers of is multi-POV setup also lets us explore fresh non-Darrow narrators, which Pierce establishes effortlessly from the start. His ability to breathe vibrancy into these fresh character's disparate voices makes me even more excited for The Dark Age (Book 5) and all the future worlds and characters he's constantly dreaming up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Thanks to the publisher, Penguin Random House, for providing me with a Netgalley copy of the book in exchange for an honest review as a effect of a contest! You'll have to forgive my language, but DAMN YOU, PIERCE. How could you do this to me? Rip my heart out by making the stakes even higher, making me care about even more characters in this wonderful globe you've built, only to leave fates hanging in the balance and the universe on the brink of an even bigger war? HOW COULD YOU MAKE ME WAIT FOR MORE?Okay, sorry, now that I got that out, I can take a breath and test again. DAMN YOU, PIERCE. Oh, sorry, there was more.Pierce Brown has done it again. First, in the original trilogy, he built a globe from the ground up, then tore it down spectacularly. Now, he's upping the stakes and bringing more characters into the fold... more characters for us to learn to love, and leaving more of our hearts available for him to rip out and shred into little pieces. You've done it to us before -- you know the ones I'm talking about, Pierce. You remember what you did to us in the first trilogy. And you know what you're doing now. And you know that, no matter how much pain you cause me, no matter how a lot of of my tears hold you fed and satisfied, I will hold reading. Because the world, the characters, the stakes, the loss... it's all worth it. You've created a masterpiece, and hold on adding to it in masterful ways.Dark Age can't obtain here soon enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Unlike the previous novels in the Red Rising Saga, Iron Gold is told from multiple perspectives. Each shares a various storyline that gives us insight into the state of the council, their enemies, and the people. Knowing we would have at least a year wait before the next book, I attempted to savor this novel by forcing myself to stop at the end of chapters. It was bloodydamn hard.We are given a lot of info about the globe since Darrow’s victory. Wars still rage, colors still suffer and anger stews. We have idealists, rationalist and those who feel left behind. Pierce Brown will have you doubting our hero, holding your breath and weeping over those lost to on Gold, begins with the Fall of Mercury giving us an idea of what has transpired since Golden Son. We then move into the multiple perspectives and storylines starting with Darrow the Character of the Republic. Pierce also introduces a few fresh characters as he shares updates and points of interest for beloved and hated e storylines:Darrow the Reaper, leader of the Howlers, returns home on Liberation Day. It has been four years since the war, but we quickly learn the war is far from over. Darrow and his squad have been leading strikes to bring all the planets into the Solar Republic. He is tired, misses his family and wants to end this battle and come home. Darrow’s storyline was intense, as we watch our war-weary character create sacrifices and decisions that affect not only him but his team, family, and country. Lord do we see some unexpected things as we enter the war that contains rifts among the ria of Lagalos is a young Red, who desperately wants to believe in all that the Rising stands for, but her circumstance and those of her family create it difficult. From the beginning, readers will sense the strength of Lyria, even through her tears. We learn of her families fate and her reality. We journey with her as she does what she can for herself and brother. Her storyline weaves with another pov and added suspense as the reader is privy to things she is not.Ephraim: He abandoned the war and created a name for himself as a lucrative thief. Together with his team, he is forced to take part in a high stakes plot. Here we see key players from the Rising Saga, and catch a glimpse at profiteering and plotting in this worn torn world. While I never doubted he was looking after his own hide, I came to like sander au Lune: Lysander travels on a ship with Cassius au Bellona the man who allowed Darrow to destroy his world, but also saved him from death at the hand of Sevro. This is a dark thread that begins when they respond a distress signal and search themselves, unwilling guests on an asteroid. Here we discover guilt, the cost of war. Gorydamn Brown slew me with this threadAll of these storylines were masterfully woven together by Brown as we came to understand the state of the Solar Republic. We are privy to its successes as well as failures. The story prepares us for what is to come, and I for one cannot wait

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Outstanding! Pierce Brown has done it again! Five Stars for Iron Gold— the much anticipated first book of a fresh trilogy which continues the story of his Red Rising series. Iron Gold picks up ten years after the happenings of Morning Star, with Darrow “The Reaper” of Lykos and Virginia “Mustang” au Augustus leading the fresh Solar Republic.I was one of the lucky fans who received an ARC of his recent novel and I couldn’t be more thrilled at the opportunity to be one of the first readers to set eyes on these r those us who are still reeling from the high octane, action packed rollercoaster ride of Morning Star, the begin of Iron Gold will feel like a much required relief from all the adrenaline. While for fans it has only been a couple of years since the conclusion of Morning Star, for our heroes it has been ten years since their win over the Society. A lot has happened, and the author is patient in reintroducing us to this globe and the happenings that addition to reacquainting us with some of our favorite Howlers, Peirce presents us with a whole fresh slew of characters to love … and others you will love to hate. We are also now seeing this globe through three more set of eyes—those of Lyria, Ephraim, and Lysander. It’s a new perspective to this universe that until now we’ve only experienced through the eyes of e added point of views allows us to appreciate the Red Rising globe in a method that expands our view of both the Society and the Republic. They say history is written by the victors, so what if you could see the globe through the eyes of those who lost? Even more, what if you could see the globe through those who were part of the collateral damage? I found myself conflicted at times, wondering if I had been too caught up in the Reaper’s glory to see the flaws and potential repercussions of his actions. Too enamored by my favorite hero (Yes…Sevro) and too high on my private vendetta versus the villains in the story to think back on all the other lives that were also lost but never en I wondered, aren’t the best heroes those who are flawed, those who have to war their demons and create the sacrifices that a lot of of us wouldn’t be ready to make? And, shouldn’t that be enough for redemption? Or should the heroes be held accountable for their mistakes, regardless of the price they’ve already paid? Regardless of our love for them?Walking in Lyria’s, Ephraim’s, and Lysander’s shoes created me contemplate the reality of war. It is not just about destroying a villain and tearing down a corrupt institution, it’s about healing and rebuilding. It’s about leaving a put better than we found it. But what if that’s not enough for someone who lost everything in the name of the greater good? What if your ghosts literally come back to haunt you?*Potential spoiler-esque comments below.Well, don’t obtain too comfortable in your chair because before you are done philosophizing about this wonderful universe, in the words of Sevro au Barca, “S*it escalates” and very quickly. Core to Rim, you’ll fall in an Iron Rain, experience genocide, obtain captured, take part in an Ocean’s Eleven type heist, participate in a nerve wracking prison break, and go on a potential suicide mission that will leave you breathless. Darrow’s motley squad of Howlers will have you jumping into a StarShell, diving into oceans, and traveling to various planets, and beautiful much partaking in their usual death defying antics before you can finish your burner.Everything you’ve loved about Pierce Brown and his masterful storytelling comes together in a novel that will have you sitting at the edge of your seat, reading until the late hours of the night and into the dawn. Your gut will wrench, your heart will break, and your mind will be t your razors ready, Howlers! This ride is just beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    When Netgalley sent me this ARC I hadn't read the first three books in this series. In 10 days I read the four of them and I still wake up dreaming of military tactic and zone battles. It has been so long since a series that I loved so much. I seriously recommend it and I'm looking forward to the next books!Quando Netgalley mi ha mandato questo libro, non avevo nemmeno letto i primi tre, poi in 10 giorni li ho letti tutti e quattro e ancora mi sveglio dopo aver sognato strategie militari e battaglie nello spazio. Era tanto che una serie non mi prendeva in questo modo e spero davvero che i prossimi libri escano presto!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Combining the exotic globe of China, the intrigue of illegal immigration and illegal shipments of contraband, Lisa See weaves an exciting e story begins in China where a body is found in a frozen pond where the local people ice skate, here you meet the main heroine, a female MSP agent Li Hulin. The body is the son of th US ambassador in ChinaThen off the coast of California, the young State Attorney, David Stark, gets called to investigate a freighter floating, abandoned in the ocean off the coast of California. It is filled with sick illegal Chinese immigrants and a dead body. The son of a wealthy Chinese business e these murders connected? Lisa See brings the story together full of intrigue, plot twists, and danger. An perfect read and book 1 of a series of 3 Red Princess Mysteries written by her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The book's strengths by far are its plot and setting. The plot definitely keeps you guessing, and offers lots of twists and shocking moments. As for setting, if you don't know too much about Chinese culture / China just after Deng Xiaoping began opening the country, this will be interesting for you to read for an inside look at the country. It was cool to read about a mystery not just set in China but also relevant to the culture of the country. I feel like very few mystery books go that length, setting their books in exotic areas but not delving into the larger forces that shape that e major problem with this book for me is that the two main characters have perhaps the most boring romantic relationship I have ever encountered in a book. Usually you are rooting for people to couple up even if you don't really like them all that much, but every time these two started flirting I just felt like yawning. This could be a private issue for me more than others as I really love character-driven novels, and this is absolutely not one of them. The dull hero issue can even be expanded to most of the minor characters as I was unable to differentiate between most characters with Chinese names (and this is coming from someone who has studied Mandarin for years).Overall, the book was so-so. I finished it and it wasn't totally wasted time, but I could think of a lot of more enjoyable books to read instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The history of the locations that the characters visited were deeply explored, and also different customs that created the globe much more tangible. Some of the imagery got quite graphic and was used to illustrate horrific crimes. I would have liked to have given this book more stars but the author left me beautiful disinterested as to what would happen to the main characters. They had rich backgrounds but they themselves were beautiful flat. I was more interested in the characters that very small info was given about. I also want that the "star-crossed lovers" romance never happened. It created me care even less about them because it detracted from the amazing story rather than adding to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    "Flower Net," the first novel in Lisa See's "Red Princess" mystery series, has duo settings. In the People's Republic of China, just before the death of Deng Xiaoping, a body is found frozen in a Beijing lake. The corpse is identified as the son of the US Ambassador. In the United States, off the coast of California, a body is found by authorities investigating a boat loaded with starving, near-dead, illegal Chinese immigrants. The corpse is discovered floating in the ship's water tank. The illegals have not been able to quench their thirst because their drinking water is polluted by death. And they are too terrified to provide any information. The dead man was a "red prince," the son of a Chinese millionaire - one of China's fresh rich and strong political elite. He stood to inherit major wealth & government power because of his father's status. Deng, the former leader of China's Communist Party, was recognized officially as "the chief architect of China's economic reforms and China's socialist modernization." It was under his reign that millionaires emerged, (and still do), from the country's fresh deal. The US government, and the Chinese powers that be, suspect that the murders are linked and create the unprecedented decision to jointly investigate the crimes. Liu Hulan, an inspector in China's Ministry of Public Security, and David Stark, Assistant US Attorney, join forces to investigate and solve the u Hulan is a "red princess." Her father is an old-time Communist, who is now a government minister. He is not particularly fond of Hulan, nor are her superiors. She is a brilliant detective but her methods are unorthodox, and she is method too independent to conform to the ministry bureaucracy. Hulan studied in the US, received a law degree in Los Angeles, and worked for a top-notch law firm there. Coincidently David Stark was employed by the same firm. The two became involved and then parted when Hulan returned to China. It may sound hokey when I describe the relationship and the reunion of the former flames, but, trust me, Lisa See create it all seem very logical. It e investigation takes Stark and Hulan to the far reaches of today's China - to both modern and ancient cultures. They explore corruption, greed, political maneuvering galore, a conspiracy between huge business, the Rising Phoenix crime gang, and government officials, and many, a lot of more gruesome murders than they bargained for. I was truly surprised and shocked by the conclusion. Ms. See explores here the very nature of ch of the novel's narrative involves flashbacks to the period of the Cultural Revolution, (1966-1976), and the traumatic result it had on an entire people. Even today, more than 33 years after the end of this not good time, a lot of Chinese bare deep emotional scars. It is during these glimpses into the past that the reader gains insight into Hulan's complex personality and her troubled family history.I have read all three books in the "Red Princess" series and each one is better than the next. The mysteries are thrilling, complex and exceptionally well thought out. The in-depth hero development, here and in the other books, is part of what what makes this series so extraordinary. Ms. See's writing style is tight, very descriptive and colorful. I learned so much about China by reading "Flower Net" - its rich and varied culture, teeming economy, institutional politics, the nuanced manner of communication, the sensitive use of interpersonal skills, the very sights, sounds and smells of the country. The author reveals a China most Westerners never see. This aspect of the novel is every bit as exciting and fresh as the mystery itself. Highly recommended!Jana PerskieThe Interior: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries)Dragon Bones: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries)Peony in Love: A NovelSnow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Here's another female detective! We have Lindsay Malone in Santa Barbara, and now Liu Hulan in Peking. I had no idea Lisa See, whose novels I've always enjoyed, had a series based around a attractive Chinese inspector solving mysteries despite bureaucratic sexism and the Communist culture. See provides a realistic backdrop through descriptions of neighborhoods, clothing, food, famous hangouts, and insider cultural traits (such as what it means if an official or businessman you visit offers, or fails to offer you, tea). I'm now finding the other books in the series and catching up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    The sights, sounds and smells of modern day China leap from each page of this complex mystery. Assistant US Attorney, David Stark is reunited with his former lover, Liu Hulan of the Chinese Ministry of Public Safety as they unravel a mystery involving gangs and the illegal shipment of medicinal products created from endangered specieis, into the US. The resolution reaches to the highest levels of both governments involving six murders along the u Hulan had been educated in the US, received a law degree there and was working in a top notch law firm in Los Angeles when she became involved with Stark. She mysteriously leaves him and returns to China only to be unexpectedly reunited with him a lot of years later in this novel. The resolution of this fine mystery also unravels Hulan's complex private and family history spanning China from Mao's Revolution, the Cultural Revolution to the modern day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Another unbelievable book by Lisa See. I love her writings and continue to have fun ALL her books. This particular book showed, as usual, Lisa's research. Everything was very detailed. I liked the suspense of this story. I enjoyed the development of the characters. I never saw the ending coming. I was shocked. Lisa doesn't just come to an abrupt end to quickly finish the book. She does it carefully with amazing precision. This was a amazing read. Oh well, what can you expect from Lisa See? Nothing less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Lisa SeeI am amazed by the versatility of Lisa See. It seems like all she has to do is touch pen to paper and she begins to unravel a magnificent story.(Obviously she spends a lot of time doing research to be able to write with such clarity and understanding of her characters and the locations they inhabit.)It doesn't matter if she is writing the story of her own family in On Gold Mountain, or the three books, that create up The Red Princess Trilogy, Flower Net, The Interior and Dragon Bones, or the historical novels, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love or finally Shanghai Girls and Dreams of Joy, you are taken into the lives of the characters and feel as though you are in the locations they inhabit. She develops a sense of put and time as deeply as she develops her characters.I read all of these books over a two month period.I was felt as though I was living in China in several sa's writing enveloped me in every story. I was sorry when I finished the latest book. I still feel like I left a familiar globe and came back to the unsure globe of en I saw she has a fresh book to be released in June!I can't wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    I found this book very hard to follow. It seemed very disjointed. I was continually going back to re-read something because I thought I had missed something -- which as it turned our, I had not. For me, this was not nearly as amazing as some of Lisa See's other books. This was a mystery and I prefer her historical novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Flower Net: A Red Princess Mystery (Red Princess Mysteries Book 1) review [Book]  2018-3-25 18:0

    Lisa See's Flower Net is entertaining novel, once again showing her deep knowledge and understanding of Chinesegeography, history and customs. not a typical "did the butler do it" type novel, this was still a book you had to finish to makesure the "bad guys" were caught and punished. Had enough twists and turns that it created laying the book down hard to dobefore the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    Who knew that near infrared light could heal joints, improve thyroid function, improve wound healing, improve brain function, heighten physical performance, lose fat, and create you look younger, and that's just for starters?? Very comprehensive book on the benefits and contraindications of this type of light therapy. There's enough science presented to satisfy the science nerd and cause my eyes to glaze over, but simple enough to understand that I couldn't place it down for the thrill of learning about so a lot of awesome benefits from a device that's actually affordable. Not only does the book cover the benefits of the red light therapy but also gives dosing recommendations for the different conditions you may wish to treat. Discusses recommended devices and also what to look for in a lamp and how to try it, if one chooses to ignore the recommendations. There's also a FAQ at the end for all the different nuances and questions that one may have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    This book is well researched and informative. If you have ever heard of red light therapy, and wondered if it is for real, read this book. It is based on the recent science, and info the a lot of therapeutic benefits of using red light. Ari Whitten specifically, and in detail, talks about how to use red light and for what purposes, eg: skin health, brain health, etc... which makes this book both practical and useful. He also gives perfect specific recommendations on where to search the best red light units. Ari Whitten is gifted at sifting through the scientific evidence and the bunk, and making this info clear and concise for the reader. Have fun this book, and search yourself the right red light therapy unit, it will give you tremendous healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    If you're interested in using red light therapy (and you really should be), this book will save you time, cash and frustration. Ari has combed the scientific literature and summarized it here in clear language. The research links are there if you wish to geek out on the science but he has saved us the time of doing that. You won't waste cash on under powered gadgets because he already did that too and has narrowed the field down to two perfect products. (I use one of them myself and I love it) He also has explained how to easily obtain the proper dose so you don't have to wonder if you're doing it right. Amazing job Ari Whitten - I'm really satisfied to have this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    So excited to read this book. I have been doing red light therapy for about 6 months. I do hard workouts and obtain quick healing of sore muscles with the therapy. I am excited to learn about he other benefits and uses for red light therapy. Ari Whitten has introduced me to a lot of health changing strategies. His pod cast is awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    This info could save you thousands of dollars! Through private experience, I already knew that red light therapy was useful. I had received LLLT cold laser treatments that helped me regain the use of my arm after a long period of debilitating pain in my shoulder. My story: Chronic shoulder pain following an attack of shingles caused my shoulder to freeze up and I literally could not lift my arm for a year. The slightest movement would send excruciating pain through my shoulder, I could not stand, sit, walk or lay down without being in pain. After the first few weeks of this chronic pain my rotator cuff muscles atrophied. I'm not a huge fan of over-the-counter pain relievers, since I know they can hurt your organs and are not amazing to take constantly on a long-term basis. And pain relievers don't heal your issue either. I tried physical therapy and Chiropractic, ice packs, heat packs but nothing created a dent in the pain until I tried low level laser therapy (cold laser treatments). I went to a laser therapist suggested by a mate and after the first treatment I got some wonderful relief - like my body forgot about the nagging stabbing pain when trying to lift my arm and gave me a break for a bit. I returned for a lot of laser sessions which I attribute to finally healing my shoulder and regaining the ability to use my arm. It helped relieve pain, allowing me to move and begin to regain muscle. However laser treatments are expensive - about $100 an hour for my therapist, and I could not afford to go regularly since I had been underemployed from the en I learned through Ari Whitten’s Energy Blueprint Program that red light therapy could be done effectively in other ways using red LED panels; that I could obtain a home device that I could regularly use for the same purpose as the laser treatments I was getting.What's more, Ari had looked at all the scientific research and tested out lots of devices and determined which ones actually work to deliver the results that research talks is fresh book on red light therapy is comprehensive. It not only outlines the scientific research that shows red light is beneficial and healing to the human body, but gives you practical instruction on how to evaluate the effectiveness of a device, how to use the light to obtain different benefits, and be time efficient doing red light treatments on yourself. He also recommends strong and effective devices that are affordable and lets you know where to obtain them.If you have any interest in red light therapy this is the book to get!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    This is a unbelievable book and you can geek out on all of the amazing info that is presented. But you don't need to be a geek to obtain it. Ari writes so the non scientific can understand the benefits of red light therapy. He tells you everything you need to know and his references are solid. Wish to know how your mitochondria benefit from red light? It is in the book. Wish to know which lights are best for which situation, its in the book. This is a proven therapy used for a lot of problems and one could spend hours trying to sort out solid information. Ari has place all together in one book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    Wonderful... not disappointed at all.. As always Ari you give history background and the beneficial purpose to use in our life and then give us in easy detail how and where to get everything... You are a real blessing to this world. Thanks again Ari love the color red and wearing it with healing purpose. A member of Energy Blueprint... Excellent!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    Based on Ari’s unbelievable podcast and program The Energy Blueprint I am really looking forward to reading this book. With the Internet age and anyone being able to claim anything re health I’m so glad to have found someone who deals with what the science says. He is very skilled at interviewing so have no doubt this book is well written and reader friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    This is an in-depth look at the benefits of red light therapy and light therapy in general. Always backed by science, Ari’s analysis is very informative and readable. His commitment to evidence-based health info is second to none. If you’re not familiar with this subject or have done extensive research already, I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ultimate Guide To Red Light Therapy: How to Use Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy for Anti-Aging, Fat Loss, Muscle Gain, Performance, and Brain Optimization review [Book]  2018-7-12 18:0

    This book will tell you everything you need to know about red and infrared light from how it affects human biology to how to utilize it to improve your contains pratical guidelines on how to obtain a device and how to use it for different purposes, which is incredibly useful to obtain you r those that like to geek out this book has a bunch of study references and interesting info including history of light therapy researched. The author is very focused on everything being based on solid scientific evidence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red State review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Berserker – Berserker. Kevin Smith breaks away from his comedic roots to direct and write this religious/political/bigot baiter that lurches from Hostel type madness into a siege of the damned. Starring Melissa Leo, Michael Parks, John Goodman, Michael Angarano, Kerry Bishe and Nicholas Braun, story finds Parks heading up a Christian cult that lures horny youngsters to their put of worship on the promise of sex with an older woman. Of course once the lads obtain there it’s not long before the truth of the lure is revealed and we are treated to hate spiel by sermon and some unpleasantness from the production code edition of the torture porn play book. Red State is an infuriating film in a lot of ways, but it is never dull and it always remains challenging, even if some of Smith’s sermonising agendas lack cohesion entering the final third of the piece. In fact there are three tonal shifts that don’t create an altogether appetising whole, Smith straining to bridge the gap between satire and horror – cum – thriller. And sadly the climax to all the damaged threads is very anti-climatic. On the major plus side is a cast doing fine work, headed by Goodman, Leo and Parks, the latter getting to play lead dog for a change. It’s impressively shot by Dave Klein and Smith shows flickers of there being a amazing director in the mix. Poor box office and poor reviews upon release inevitably got it tarnished as a poor film. In truth it’s a fascinating failure, but it has merits enough to warrant time spent with it. From Westboro to Waco, stopping briefly for a night in a Hostel, Red State is not easily forgotten once sampled. For better or worse. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Tails review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I have to say that I was a wee bit disappointed in this movie. I felt it was surprisingly mediocre and very “Hollywood”. The amazing parts are the flight scenes and the unique effects. They are enjoyable to watch and reasonably well done. However, that is beautiful much what makes up this film in terms of enjoyment. I would say that a lot of it is not very realistic. The German anti-aircraft guns seems to be next to useless most of the time for instance. Also, there is the stage where a single P51, armed with nothing but machine guns, takes out an armed German warship in two fast runs. That felt quite unrealistic. A lot of the movie also felt too much like some Hollywood drama. Some of the pilots behave like morons and in true life they would have been shot down rather quickly. The alcohol issues and the romance seems to have been thrown in just to appeal to the American soap-opera viewers. The entire film is very shallow and if it was not for the budget and unique effects it could very well have been a TV-movie. Most of this film I was yawning in my seat and waking up only when the flight action started so that I could watch the unique effects.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Planet review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Here comes a billion dollar campfire. At least it's amazing for something. The second of the Mars based box office bombs released in 2000, Red Planet is maybe - just maybe - worth a revisit by some who were irritated by it back on first viewing. Once knowing that this is not going to be some action packed alien movie, that it's a survivalist drama that hints its hat to 1950s sci-fi schlock, that cares about its characters, then there's a decent popcorner experience to be had here. This is not to say it's a genius entry in the sci-fi pantheon, because it's not, the same issues still exist; Terence Stamp is woefully under used (seriously they could have got any low paid hero actor to play his role), some things either don't create sense or are left unanswered, and of course it still drags in the middle as the boys chatter away on Mars whilst Carrie Anne-Moss is up at base station fretting and suffering erectus nippleus. Yet there's fun to be had here, some nutty science marries up with nice photography and splendid set design, and the makers know what sort of picture they wish to make. Where Mission to Mars sunk under the weight of its own pretensions - trying to go all elegiac and important, Red Planet nudges and winks and asks you along for the ride. So obtain on board and take it for what it is, a pretentious free location with amazing human drama at the core. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Red Violin review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    If you're passionate about music, and history, if violins create you weak in the knees, and if you like a timeless love story, The Red Violin won't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Sundown review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Fighting fire with fire - gunslinger with gunslinger. Red Sundown is directed by Jack Arnold and written by Martin Berkeley. It stars Rory Calhoun, Martha Hyer, Dean Jagger, Robert Middleton, James Millican, Lita Baron and Grant Williams. Melody is by Hans J. Salter and cinematography by William Snyder. Gunslinger Alec Longmire (Calhoun) decides to honour a promise and change his ways. Arriving in Durango he quickly gets the opportunity to place his skills to amazing use when he becomes deputy to Sheriff Jade Murphy (Jagger), the latter of which is struggling to control the despotic behaviour of cattle baron Rufus Henshaw (Middleton). A promise made. A fresh life… From the higher end of 1950s Western programmers, Red Sundown couples the action and hero staples with intelligent writing. From the off the pic signals its intentions by pushing some machismo front and centre, only to then add some sombre tones and rueful dialogue smarts. The whole story has something worthwhile to say, some keen observations. Not all gunslingers are the same, some have fun the killing, some do it by necessity, but the notice is clear, don't tar all with the same brush. Another thread deals with impressionable youngsters, where again some intelligent dialogue is afforded the principal player. There's a code problem that I hadn't heard of before as regards the weapon of choice in a stand-off, and there's some nasty bite that comes by method of how Henshaw treats his mistress, Maria (Baron). If a man wants to obtain away from guns then he should obtain away from them. As the shoot-outs and stand-offs come and go, as Martha Hyer arrives in a bullet brassiere, story settles into the common amazing vs poor theme, with a small romance on the side. It's despot and his hired thug, Chet Swann (Williams), versus the honest sheriff and his reformed deputy. Arnold keeps things fizzing along nicely and he's well served by his lead cast members, with Calhoun, Middleton and Jagger particularly impressing. Hyer does well with what is a thankless female role, while Williams, who would become The Wonderful Shrinking Man a year later, is only just on the right side of lunatic caricature. Bonus here, though with much sadness, is Millican, who puts in a heart aching performance as a gunman whose time is ebbing away. Millican was dying of cancer at the time and wouldn't see the movie released. Poignancy added to what is a film; that while it's far from flawless, earns the right to be better known. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Light review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Troops Chaplain Slain! Red Light is directed by Roy Del Ruth and adapted to screenplay by George Callahan from the story This Guy Gideon written by Don Barry. It stars George Raft, Virginia Mayo, Raymond Burr, Harry Morgan and Gene Lockhart. Melody is by Dimitri Tiomkin and cinematography by Bert Glennon. Something of an oddity, Red Light finds George Raft up to his neck in religion, revenge and a smouldering Virginia Mayo. After his brother, a chaplain, is murdered, he sets off to search the killer, whom can be identified by a notice scrawled in a Gideon Bible. Search the Bible, search the killer. It is brought into the movie noir sphere of things via Glennon’s photography, which kicks in at the hour tag and runs concurrent with the murky thematics in the narrative, Frisco a rain sodden put of sleaze. Other than that it plays more as a crime drama, albeit one with some decidedly spicy killings and another top villain turn from Raymond Burr. Tiomkin’s musical cues are strange and not always in sync with what is event on screen, while the biblical hermeneutics and different plot contrivances irk rather than perk. See it for Burr and Glennon’s work, or if you fancy a weird blend of noir and ethical religio redemptions! 6/10

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter