Religious Education Congress Reviews & Opinions


Submit Religious Education Congress review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Religious Education Congress review [App]  2018-3-13 21:8

    Wanted me to give access to my twitter acct (I don't tweet), and went further downhill from there. After figuring out how to bypass twitter, it wanted my email. I entered that, and it crashed - twice in a row. All I wanted to do was access room #s and schedules. Accomplished nothing. While uninstalling, noticed the 50MB application was using 150MB of space.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case against Education: Why the Education System Is a Waste of Time and Money review [Book]  2018-1-18 18:2

    “For I have neither wit, nor words, nor worth,Action, nor utterance, nor the power of speech,To stir men’s blood. I only speak right on;I tell you that which you yourselves do know.’’ —Shakespeare, Julius Caesar (285)Well. . .I think Caplan ‘will stir men’s blood’ with this work. Why?‘I say what you already know’! What! How insulting!Caplan’s conclusion is that ‘higher education’ serves as ‘signal’ for employers, and does not serve the educated. Why?“From the standpoint of most teachers, right up to and including the level of teachers of college undergraduates, the ideal student is well behaved, unaggressive, docile, patient, meticulous, and empathetic in the sense of intuiting the response to the teacher that is most likely to please the teacher.’’ (14) —Richard Posner‘Signal’ for excellent corporate ball-bearing, round and round with no squeaking! Why so valuable to business?“The street to academic success is paved with the trinity of intelligence, conscientiousness, and conformity. The stronger your academic record, the greater employers’ confidence you have the whole package. Why do employers seek this package? Because the street to academic success and the street to job success are paved with the same materials. An smart worker learns quickly and deeply. A conscientious worker labors until the job’s done right. A conformist worker obeys superiors and cooperates with teammates. If you lack the right items to succeed in school, you probably lack the right items to succeed in the labor market.’’ (18)Right! Well . . .What about just the unbelievable goal of - just ‘teaching how to think’?“Transfer researchers usually start their careers as idealists. Before studying educational psychology, they take their power to “teach students how to think” for granted.’’Who wouldn’t?“When they explore the professional consensus versus transfer, they think they can overturn it. Eventually, though, young researchers grow sadder and wiser. The scientific evidence wears them down—and their firsthand experience as educators finishes the job. Hear the pedagogical odyssey of psychologist Douglas Detterman:When I began teaching, I thought it was necessary to create things as hard as possible for students so they would explore the principles for themselves. I thought the discovery of principles was a fundamental skill that students required to learn and transfer to fresh situations. Now I view education, even graduate education, as the learning of information.’’How did he adjust to the true classroom, with actual students?“I test to create it as simple for students as possible. Where before I was ambiguous about what a amazing paper was, I now provide examples of the best papers from past classes. Before, I expected students to infer the general conclusion from specific examples. Now I provide the general conclusion and help it with specific examples. In general, I subscribe to the principle that you should teach people exactly what you wish them to learn in a situation as close as possible to the one in which the learning will be applied. I don’t count on transfer and I don’t test to promote it except by explicitly pointing out where taught skills may be applied.’’ (58)Who can deny it?CHAPTER 1 -The Magic of EducationCHAPTER 2 -The Puzzle Is Real: The Ubiquity of Useless EducationCHAPTER 3 -The Puzzle Is Real: The Handsome Rewards of Useless EducationCHAPTER 4 -The Signs of Signaling: In Case You’re Still Not ConvincedCHAPTER 5 -Who Cares If It’s Signaling? The Selfish Return to EducationCHAPTER 6 -We Care If It’s Signaling: The Social Return to EducationCHAPTER 7 -The White Elephant in the Room: We Need Lots Less EducationCHAPTER 8 - We Need More Vocational EducationCHAPTER 9 -Nourishing Mother: Is Education Amazing for the Soul?CHAPTER 10 -Five Chats on Education and EnlightenmentOne fantastic, fascinating, marvelous feature . . .“Though I can heed everyone, I cannot please everyone. Rather than test to placate any one faction, this chapter brings them all together for a war e following dialogues are inspired by three decades of arguments about education. I’m the only true character. The rest are archetypes, composites—though hopefully not caricatures—of my favorite critics. The Cast -Bryan Caplan, professor of economics at George Mason University. Highest credential: Ph.D. in economics from Princeton University.James Cooper, freshman at the University of Kansas; major: undeclared. Highest credential: diploma from Topeka High ederick Dodd, columnist for the Wall Road Journal, blogger for the Chronicle of Higher Education. Highest credential: M.A. in journalism from Fresh York an Lang, professor of economics at the University of California, Berkeley. Highest credential: Ph.D. in economics from llian Morgan, freelance tech journalist. Highest credential: B.S. in computer science from nthia Ragan, English teacher at Woodrow Wilson High School, Fresh Jersey. Highest credential: B.A. in English from the College of Fresh rek Romano, latest high school dropout. Highest credential: etchen Simpson, student loan activist. Highest credential: M.A. in sociology from the University of Florida.Daria Stein, entrepreneur and parent of a high school junior. Highest credential: B.S. in engineering from the University of Texas.’’ (262)This part is so. . .so. . .cool. I hope other writers copy this technique. What a gift. This single chapter with the price of the book!Why Caplan’s conclusion so difficult, so painful to the ear?“If research and common sense are both on my side, who’s the defendant? The party line—what we’re supposed to believe about education. You’ve been enmeshed in the irrational exuberance since preschool.“School prepares us for our future.”“School is fun.”“Nothing is more necessary than education.”“We’ve all heard it, and we’ve all repeated it. If the party line is so false, why is dissent so scarce?Social Desirability Bias. Calling school a rat race verges on nihilism. When students challenge the party line, teachers and parents obtain upset. When graduates challenge it, they seem immature. Even those who don’t care to preen don’t wish to obtain stomped.”“Education’s like John Gotti, the legendary “Teflon Don”: guilty as sin, but everyone’s petrified to testify versus it. The Case versus Education aims to reassure the witnesses. Standing up to Social Desirability Bias is inherently scary, but you’re not alone. Most people who reflect on their time in school privately agree with you. Research in economics, psychology, sociology, and education itself has your back. Testifying versus education is safer than it looks.’’ (286)Wow!Another painful observation . . .“College graduates often proudly name-drop their alma mater, but few realize the phrase includes a worldview. In Latin, “alma mater” means “nourishing mother.” A rich metaphor.’’“A nourishing mother doesn’t merely teach you practical skills or support you land a well-paid job. She nurtures your whole person, teaches you right from wrong, and shows you the magic of life. As William Bowen, former president of Princeton, and Derek Bok, former president of Harvard, attest: Education is a special, deeply political, almost sacred civic activity. It is not merely a technical enterprise—providing facts to the untutored. Inescapably, it is a moral and aesthetic enterprise—expressing to impressionable minds a set of convictions about how most nobly to live in the world.’’ (238)‘Special, deeply political, sacred activity’! This is really a secular religion, as a lot of scholars (Talmon, Berlin, etc.) concluded decades ago. Faith, trust, ‘worldview’, secular priesthood, holy days, sacrifice, and transferring the will of God to ‘will of the people.’Caplan writing for the general reader, although careful and scholarly. Simple to absorb and clear to the ear. Sounds closer to a friendly talk than a academic essay.About six hundred perfect notes (linked).More than eighty pages of references (one thousand?) most with links. Tremendous scholarship!Fifteen page extensive index (linked). Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    This is an wonderful book. It's very informative, very detailed, and well written. It flows between topics seamlessly while keeping the material new and interesting. The e-book is extremely user friendly, with quick-access search, page change, and previews.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Religious Education Congress or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Religious Education Congress video reviews and related movies:

    See RECongress on youtube.

     related image

    See REC2018 | Concert: Fiesta! with Iván Díaz and friends on youtube.

     related image

    See REC 2011 | Closing Eucharistic Liturgy on youtube.

     related image

    See RECongress 2017 English on youtube.

     related image

    See RECongress 2018 English on youtube.

     related image

    See Announcing RECongress 2018 themes on youtube.

     related image

    See Register Today for the Religious Education Congress 2018! on youtube.

     related image

    See REC2016 | Closing Eucharistic Liturgy on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    Amazing book, full of anecdotes and teaching strategies. Lays out the history and law behind unique ed. It was dry at times, but simple to pick through and search useful information. It would earn five stars EXCEPT that the links in the online edition did not work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    Pages were super thin and tore easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    This book was in perfect condition, was a amazing price, and arrived earlier than I had even expected. I bought this book for a class I am taking and now I will obtain a head begin on the reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    As described and delivered quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    I didn't realize this was a loose leaf book. Waayyyyy over priced for basically just paper... I had to add on buying a binder to keep it all together to an already expensive purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    I like it. It really support me in another aspect viewing all this education things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    Used for Lausd DI

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    Arrived so quickly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education (What's New in Special Education) review [Book]  2018-1-10 18:1

    Amazing book for class was exactly like textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Man it's so dumb I wish the old one back you can't play without a freaking acc what if ur school don't even use this man I'm done trying for this android game just remove the educational purposes only thingie create it for everybody

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Are you serious? ARE YOU FREAKING SERIOUS? WHY CAN'T IT JUST BE FREE FOR ALL?! You have to sign up to play. It's free on PC. You're just cruel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I like it but every time I test to save my videos to the gallery it says its not able to so please fix that issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    DIS LOGGING IN MAKES ME WONNA RAGE! Y DOES IT REQUIRES A ACCOUNTTT?!?! IT MAKE ME RAGE QUITT!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I like it but maybe adults can use it to teach children lessons and not having to pay for it I really think this application is cool but maybe you have to fix somethings

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    How do I create them talk regular they talk weird I don't understand what they say sometimes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    It's Like so cool And the Anime is like omg I can't wait to play it so a lot of going to present my sister this android game and she is probably going to be shocked

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    It never obtain in I tried everything I never got it and I delete several apps just to obtain this and this is what I get;~;

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    hate it i place my true pasword and its say wrong email

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Fake app. Telling that my gmail acc is invalid

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    U have to sigh up wow that's super dumb

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Can add only two persons in one frame. Could be better if we can add as a lot of as we want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    This is stupid you have to pay' why?!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Are you serious are you freaking SERIOUS you have to sign in to play I wish to play without a acc

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    We can play with login but why please remove this asking Email address password this application is free for teachers please don't download this application please don't download this app😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    If there were 10 or hundred stars that I could give, I wouldn't think twice before give plotagon all. The makers of this application are blessing to us. However; why isn't it possible to have more than two characters in a scene. Isn't it possible to fill a class with about 5 students and their teachers? Another thing is, can't you create it possible for the characters to be walking, or demonstrating something on the board? Thank you so much for this perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    This application used to be usable for everyone but now only teachers can use it?! What is wrong with you guys? That is mean. Me and my sister used to make stories all the time but now I can't even obtain on it because I am not a teacher... what bullcrap! That is just messed up.. you are taking it away from younger people and taking their creativity away! What do you have to say for yourself?! That's just wrong. You guys are wrong for doing this... BRING BACK THE OLD PLOTAGON THAT IS USABLE BY ALL PLAYERS.., NOT JUST TEACHERS!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Everything was fine. Then when I got to the creation part of it, it won't allow me pick a setting! If you could please release the actual Plotagon from Apple everyone would be happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    it's amazing and all, but it's really laggy for me... and there's also not really that a lot of varieties of options for hero creation, plot creation, etc like the ios application has. ..but y'know overall the application is beautiful rad guys ;). I recommend it if you're bored out of your gosh bleeping mind!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Its amazing but why can't I do anything after awhile it just makes it so i can only watch the video instead of edit😢😭 Ugh ...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I hate this app! >:( You got a huge help on the plotagon education app? Hello? Eo? Where are you? 😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    what i cannot sign in these people who cannot sign in who puts complain about are Right please next time place no sign in ver update.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I loved the app.. but the characters cannot walk.. please add the action on walking and other..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Its so much fun to play around with the differenct settings and create yoir own characterss!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I have got a question which isn't that important ,where is this application from, like what country

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    It is the best animation company.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Im not a teacher 🙁😬

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    STUPID. It wouldn't allow me do anything it wouldn't allow me place the state my email my password NOTHING this application is completely STUPID

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    PLZ can u support it takes forever to load when I wish to create a plot or a hero

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Awesome!!! But Can you add a home ver

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Well do your school have to log in for this because I wanna use it at home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I wish the free ver please like on apple that's not fair

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Why can't you just release plotagon it self on android device

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    It cant be log in third class application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I don't understand!! I got the appnand once it finished downloading it told me to log in. Firstly that confused me because you only log in when you have a previous account, and I got this application brand fresh which I haven't tried. So I looked for the sign up button, but I couldn't search it, so I just place my email and password in the log in, AND THAT DIDNT WORK EITHER!! I deleted the application and downloaded it again, did the same process, AND STILL IT DIDNT WORK!!! plotagon, go sort your selves out and create a fresh update!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    A amazing application that will definitely create any class more entertaining. I want this was around when I was in school, because I would have been much more excited to create a presentation with it! A amazing idea for transforming reports as well! I highly recommend this to all educators and students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    Been using this application on PC and my iPhone, and it is awesome to see the experience finally on Android!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    What happens I don't know how can I sign in for plotagon education plz support

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    I mean hw do i log in... Its jzz disgusting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plotagon Education review [App]  2017-11-6 13:9

    This is a useful tool to learn a lot of skills. If you are a teacher trying to engage your students in digital storytelling then, Plotagon Education is the best tool. Students can work in groups to animate themselves, choose clothes & accessories then make an animated film to demonstrate the understanding in various topics areas. I love this application because you can record your voice so international students can participate in the learning process ❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Same problems as others. Code entered, but unable to continue. Samsung s7

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Useless. Entered code and can't continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Entered code but can't continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    I can't obtain onto Aesop. No code, nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Doesn't work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    No four digit code.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Need code

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    So far so good. Invitation code was provided by by district and did not have any problems registering. Seems like a lot of the problems are on the user end. Your district has to opt into this and provide you with an invitation code before you can continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    No four digit code.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    I enter the 4 digit code & I test to click on the "continue" area, & nothing happens. This application is a waste of resources. I hope my school district is not paying additional cash to be able to use this app, when it is NOT user friendly!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    I cannot sign in on my Samsung Galaxy 7 android device phone. It says I need a 4 digit code and according to my school district there is not one. I was told that a lot of subs use this on their phones. Is there a fix for this????

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    It worked on my Samsung s5 but not on my Samsung galaxy s7. Very Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Every time I begin the application it constantly refreshes until it crashes..pathetic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Dont work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Can't log in! Please fix problems with this application as I see others are having the same problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Cannot sign in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Our school code has a combination of letters and numbers. The application does not give you the option of putting letters into the code!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    I have it installed on my iPad but am unable to login on your app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Can't log on im having to use the web

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Can't log in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    It won't work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    So much amazing functionality now on Mobile!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Don't bother downloading if you aren't sure your district has signed up for this app. You have to have THAT code first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    You enter the code and then you can't continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    District has no 4 digit code

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Not connected to Aesop

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Could not log in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frontline Education review [App]  2017-11-29 13:9

    Quick

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    I was enthralled and moved by this strong memoir. The author grew up in a survivalist family in Idaho, the youngest child. She was not homeschooled---instead, she simply didn't go to school at all, due to her father's mistrust of public schools. Her family didn't believe in modern medicine. Instead, her mother was an herbalist and midwife. Her father owned a junkyard. Her childhood is affected over and over by serious injuries of family members, injuries which are not Tara gets into her preteen and teen years, one older brother in particular starts tormenting her, and the tormenting rises to the level of hugely severe abuse. In part in response to this, she decides to go to college, and by beautiful much sheer force of will, does well enough on the ACT to obtain into Brigham Young University. From there, she starts a storied college career and eventually gets a doctorate from Cambridge. However, each time she is drawn back to the her family, her brother's abuse continues, and the family denial turns more and more severe. The memoir becomes a story of her internal struggle---to believe her own ver of her life and to have the strength to break away from her past.I've struggled with some problems of my own in remembering the past differently than others, and I well know the feeling that the author has over and over. One line, "reality becomes fluid", hit me very hard. When you know something happened a certain way, but others can't accept that reality and attempt to change the past by denying it---Tara Westover is able to write about this so powerfully I was crying at points.I hope this book gets wide readership. It's an awesome glimpse into a method of life that most of us will never know, and an inspiring story of one woman's ability to change her future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    "Educated" is a memoir about what it's like to grow up as the youngest kid of an off-the-grid Survivalist/Mormon family- Tara Westover's early life was spent keeping up with her brothers, assisting her mom with mid-wifery and creating herbal remedies for others in their community, and doing incredibly risky work in her father's scrapyard. Her father believed his kids didn't need an education because the globe was on the brink of falling to pieces, and the only things his children really required to learn was how to can foods, prepare for the end times, aim and fire a gun, and defend their family's spite her upbringing, Westover managed to become a PhD candidate at Cambridge- when she was a young teenager, she began working several jobs in a local town, and saving up for her independence from the abuse and violence she was experiencing at home. Without a single day of formal education, Westover educated herself using a try prep book she bought at a bookstore 40 miles away. From that very humble beginning (including no birth certificate and no one in her family knowing her birth date or even how old she was) she got into college, earned and maintained a scholarship, went to Cambridge on a distance learning program, and eventually went to the UK (and Harvard) for her graduate is is an incredibly written book- only a skilled writer could take the experiences of such a horrifying childhood (basically a giant succession of one abusive experience after the other) and create it readable without being exploitative or too grim to handle. Literally every chapter in this book is an example of how Westover's parents (or abusive older brother, Shawn) either neglected her, forced her to do risky things in the name of her father's scrapyard business, or flat out physically or emotionally abused her.  It's shocking and there were a lot of times when I wanted to throw this book across the room out of anger, but I think a book like this is necessary to read because it not only highlights how there are likely kids are out there like Westover, suffering under the guise of extreme "family values", but it also is an example of how human beings can be resourceful and resilient, and break the cycle of abuse and e thing about this book that most resonated with me was not Westover's unlikely educational path or her resilience, but the fact that she addresses a common problem that a lot of adult kids face: how to reconcile what it means to grow into a various person than who your parents would like you to be. My parents are saints compared to Westover's, but when Westover began talking about what it meant to have to sacrifice her family's desires for her (and ultimately a relationship with them) in order to honor a more meaningful life for herself, I identified with so much of what she had to share. It seems like more and more people are bringing this problem to light- while it's incredibly heart breaking to have to "split" with your family over things like core values and beliefs (and emotional issues), reading Westover's book helped me to feel much more at peace with my own ongoing , all in all, Westover's book is one abuse and heartbreak after another, but her courage and the quality of her writing more than create up for the difficult story she has to share. I can't recommend this book enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    From the beginning, I had problem putting this book down. It is an extremely compelling story, and Tara Westover has a method of writing that transports you into the story. The first 2 paragraphs of the book had me hooked and are just a taste of the things to cated is the story of an wonderful woman who triumphed over seemingly impossible obstacles to not only get an education, achieving a PhD from Cambridge, but to come to a realization of who she truly is. Hers is the story of a kid raised by survivalists in the mountains of Eastern Idaho. Her father didn't believe in the value of any kind of formal education, including home schooling, so Tara taught herself and learned enough from books she purchased to pass the ACT with a high enough score to be accepted into BYU. She never saw a doctor or even took any conventional medicine, like aspirin for a headache, until she was in college, because her father firmly believed that all doctors were agents of Satan and their medicines were tools of the devil. He refused to use any kind of safety equipment, including seat belts in automobiles, because accidents were simply the Will of God. As she progressed in her education and spent more and more time away from the mountain and her family, she began to challenge the concepts and principles espoused by her parents and eventually, she reached a point where she had to ultimately decide whether she would continue to follow her own path or conform to her parents’ e book is filled with moments where I was terrified for her and occasionally I had to remind myself that she obviously did not die because she wrote the book after these events. Over and over I wished I could reach through the book to confront her father and ask, "What are you thinking?" There are also times where I became somewhat frustrated by Tara herself, but those moments are what create her human and her story credible. I was truly disappointed to reach the end of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    "The most strong determinant of who you are is inside you."Educated is one of those books that will grab keep of your psyche without letting go, even after you finish. The riveting prose transfixes from the very first page and will linger in consciousness for days. Tara, a victim of brainwashing and abuse somehow finds her method out of the quagmire of a tangled childhood and into a globe filled with endless curiosity, knowledge and wonder.Tara Westover’s unlikely story from imposed myopic isolationism to profound collegiate achievement reads like a legend. Despite growing up amid danger and dysfunction juxtaposed by herbalism, magical cures and “God’s Will", Tara is a survivor. Her instincts are keenly sharp, conditioned by household doctrine and the unpredictable globe of a family detached from reality. Living under the constant fear of the “coming end days” and navigated by a father’s illusions of grandiosity—Tara grapples with the often abusive mercurial circumstances of a fanatical family. Her unconventional childhood is filled with nightmarish scenarios (brace yourself for some graphic scenes) that makes it hard to believe it’s a story taking put in current times. Yet, the compelling tales of reckless parental behavior, extreme piety and deprivation have always existed. Tara bucks the system by rejecting supplication as expected by her strict mormon upbringing. Her toughness and audacity to question her parent’s plans sends her on a triumphant yet rebellious journey of self she slowly comes of age, her innate intellectual curiosity and artistic bonuses start to take form. She starts to see a globe beyond the hills. Despite insurmountable odds, her gutsy determination and indefatigable spirit support her to break away the suffocating ignorance of her home life. As Tara grapples with change, she slowly begins to shed the massive burdens of an old life, including overly modest clothing. She supplants it with a fresh life where she can be a free thinker. Despite parental pressures for absolution, Tara delves deeper into her studies hiding the truth of her embarrassing upbringing from nearly everyone she meets. Her rebirth and transition have their own brand of hardship as she often reflects on her choices, her loyalties to faith and family, her insecurities, and a range of complicated emotions that are transcribed in the book with profound precision. As time goes on, she slowly learns to allow go and starts to taste a life that was once forbidden, like trying coffee for the first time. A fresh universe opens up and there is no going back, ...or is there? As time goes on, Tara attempts to create peace with her erratic childhood experiences and even embraces it by “fashioning a fresh history” for herself. She becomes a raconteur at dinner parties by telling tales of her haphazard humble beginnings. But then there is a twist, a poignant reminder that some things cannot be fixed, and that making peace with one’s past is NOT easy. “When life itself seems lunatic, who knows where madness lives?".Tara’s memoir is almost always on the edge of angst with very small reprieve. You cannot allow your guard down when reading this book - and this is what makes it hard to place down. Just when you think everything is finally okay, something gets stirred up, plunging Tara into a vat of self-doubt that is often debilitating and self-sabotaging. There are times she even questions her own begins with gritty and grueling junkyard labor, bug-out bags, violence, and endless sermons. But as the book progresses, Tara gets a taste of emancipation, self-discovery and the endless curiosity about the huge globe that she was taught to be so afraid of. Tara Westover’s story is graceful, triumphant, and most importantly, raw, real, and unapologetically human. This is a brave book written by a brilliant woman. I can even see it becoming a screenplay someday.~ Kort

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Sometimes, reading a memoir with info as chilling as the author's childhood was makes it hard to believe how contemporary the story is. Yet, the reader can do a easy internet find and search the web page for her parents' business, still thriving, with some necessary dates matching the timeline outlined in ever, what a various picture Tara Westover's telling presents from the rather folksy, alternative medicines company pictured on the internet. And it is this very different, traumatic, and almost impossible to believe narrative that makes this book so riveting. Hidden from most of the world, the youngest members of this huge family are kept from school, with a father who has taken become obsessed with end times and a survivalist lifestyle. The infamous Ruby Ridge episode in which a lot of of the Weaver famiy were killed seemed to have become his own story, and the impact on his kids grew more and more devastating.Out of this often horrendous family setting, Tara Westover manages to claw her method into the "real world," ultimately reaching Cambridge, Harvard, and the globe of is is a story that may seem to have a "happy ending," but it is tragic in the costs Dr. Westover has had to pay, in forever severed family relationships and, perhaps, some threat to her own life that may still is the extent of the physical abuse that one of the family members place the author and her sister and sister-in-law that is most troubling, in that there does not yet appear to have been any action taken to test to stop this abuser from continuing his actions. Perhaps it is too risky to place more detail about what might be taking put to bring this perpetrator to justice, but wondering if anything is being done to stop this man from further harming his wife, children, and others makes this story seem not satisfactorily finished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    This is a strong story of the life of a girl from Idaho mountains and raised in a survivalist home. She was the youngest of several kids who most of them never went to school. Her father was a fanatic about living their own religious life and not relying on government. He was a strict father who ruled the family along with his wife who became a midwife to the zone women. The family had several severe accidents and each time the mother healed them with her own remedies and essential is book “Educated” is the story of the life of Tara Westover who followed her father’s wishes as they were devout religious family and attended a Mormon church in Idaho. Tara never saw the inside of a school what education she received was from her mother. She learned to read and life was filled with family activities and work in the junk yard or helping her mother midwife fresh babies being born. Some of her older siblings had left the family to begin their own life, while one brother who she was close to left for BYU university studies. Another brother became violent and abused Tara but no one in the family listened to her stories of abuse.When Tara became older she soon tired of working in the junk yard she wanted to go to college like her brother. This meant she had to study hard so she could pass the ACT try even though she had never been in school. She did pass her try and fresh experiences of living away from the mountains was a challenge. With the support of professors and scholarships she advanced to a PHD from Cambridge and spent time in England.Tara still wanted to be close to her family but they still would not listen to her about her brother’s violent life, they expelled her. This left her on her own as her father created all the rest of the family expel her also. This book “Educated” is a compelling story of the life of Tara Westover and it will hold you spellbound from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    I could not place this book down! In part because I was blown away at how amazing the writing was and also just riveted by what a compelling journey the author has gone on in find of her education. I'm almost at a loss for words even to describe it since it is such a huge transformation that she undergoes and spent most of my time just shocked as I read it. Tara not only has to struggle for a formal education but also to make a zone of her own within her own family; something that is not easily done. My heart would break as family members would gaslight her repeatedly instead of deal with what was in front of them. I was absolutely amazed at her courage and resiliency. The strength to have gone through what she did and then additionally to place it all out there to share with us the reader in such a public way. A very strong book that I would recommend to everyone! I can't wait to read what Tara writes next. Thank you for sharing your story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    If you have fun real stories about individuals who used education to escape from a limiting situation, you should have fun this memoir. Born to a fundamentalist Mormon, survivalist family, Tara Westover never went to school. She helped her survivalist father with his failing scrap heap business. Her father had small regard for the safety of his children, and place them in situations which caused multiple, and often serious injuries.Tara's mother was a midwife and herbalist. Tara had a bully for a brother with a sadistic streak who enjoyed preying upon Tara. It was a harrowing childhood with small joy or escape from the scrap yard and sadistic brother. The mother was in denial about the peril to Tara from her mentally ill father who may have been bi-polar and brutal Tara escapes the confines of this existence through education is what keeps you turning the pages. Will she survive? How education enters her life, and transports her to a PhD at Cambridge University in England is an inspiring and wonderful tale. The odds Tara has to surmount are I was reading I felt like the story was written in the 1940's or 1950's. However, when I read info about Tara's birth date (which was never quite clear as the family tried to live off the grid a bit), I realized she was the same age as my youngest son Benjamin, who also got a PhD but had the benefits of a personal education at a school where I taught and was principal. How I would have loved to have had a student like Tara, and would have liked to have helped her. Tara did have some helpers along the method who saved her from a life living in the hills, marrying young, receiving no formal education and being possibly subjugated by a is is a disturbing book, but ultimately satisfying. It makes you realize that religions or cultures which tell women that men are the boss and leaders of the family place a lot of women in harm's method if their husband is sadistic, mentally ill, domineering, incompetent etc. Equality, education and opportunity are vital for women to thrive. Tara gets educated and this education saves e story of how Tara becomes self-taught is what amazes. I was impressed with some of the mentors Tara had at Brigham Young University who found funds for Tara to pursue her education, and helped her search her method to Cambridge. This would be an perfect memoir for a book group as it highlights a lot of discussion issues. It's an absorbing read. You will root for Tara, and want her continued success. Let's hope she can be a mentor for other women, or individuals, who can use education to escape a limiting, risky environment. Getting educated is the pathway out of ignorance, despair, and danger to opportunity and freedom. If Tara can do it on her own, with a small support from kindly adults, Tara's story convinces that others might be able to do it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Historian and writer Tara Westover writes her memoir with much gusto and to the point where readers may empathize with the experiences that she endured and lived. She states within the beginning of the memoir that she grew up in one of the most unconventional situations – born to survivalists that were somewhat religious with undertones that leaned towards readings from the Bible or references to the Book of Mormon. Westover subtly stresses and barely centers of her family’s life on religion, a father and mother and seven siblings that included herself that lived in the backwoods of Idaho and believed the day of abomination was coming. Her story is one of living off the beaten path, and may bear similarities to another memoir “The Glass Castle” by Jeanette Walls but the comparisons stop there, but only goes to present how related her life parallels with those who lived a less than glowing life but plenty of bustling activity. “Educated: A Memoir” is a revealing story of a daughter of survivalists that was, too, surviving to hurdle through the challenges that she encountered and confronted to one reads “Educated,” there is no denying of the back story of where Westover’s and her parents’ life became unusual despite her mother growing up in an idyllic landscape, reflecting of her grandmother’s – Larue, married a Navy Veteran, traditional, and with utmost perfection with a white picket fence and handmade clothes. And one of Westover’s experiences at the age of nine was discovering that her mother was a midwife who helped to help in the town’s births. On the other hand, Westover’s father Gene was mischievous, young man, and his father possessed a fiery temper, and the effects of his childhood would have an enormous affect on the family that he reared in the most unconventional circumstance in spite of his work as a missionary in the Mormon community. Early in the book Westover writes of her immediate family and relatives and the special names that she used to refer to her grandparents, rather than by their first names; on her mother side she would call her grandmother Grandma-over-in town’s house and grandpa on father’s side Grandpa-down-the hill who at times was eccentric. Indeed, reading through her family’s experience, especially her siblings Luke, Shawn, Audrey, Tyler, Richard, and Tony rarely a dull moment but one that was eye-opening and thought provoking to the point that Westover’s family was not the typical American family, living off the land and somewhat nomadic in the beginning until they settled in Idaho. She did not allow the surprises and unexpected moments hinder her plans for the future, and she and her brothers and sister channeled their energy in play and constructive activity such as in getting jobs or performing in community theater that merely were the factors that drove her to further her education and intellect. When she reached the age of fruition she was guided by her older brother Tyler who had also ventured on his own to go to college where she, too, eventually took the ultimate educational path to study at BYU and later earning a Ph.D. in History at Cambridge University.“Educated” is a story of overcoming adversity in the most unusual situations. Tara Westover does a amazing job in retelling of her life and experience as a young woman who was destined to go in the direction to where she exactly knew where she had to go. She did not let the things that were beyond her control to hinder that direction. A story worth telling and sharing with others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educated: A Memoir review [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Growing up sheltered from the outside world, her home birth unreported out of fear her father’s imagined “Illuminati” (i.e., the U.S. government) would swoop down and morally corrupt her, Tara Westover was the kid of devout Mormon survivalists, marooned in the mountains of ysically and mentally abused by her father and brothers, semi-neglected by a mother brain-damaged by an automobile accident, she grew up with small to knowledge of the outside world. She had never heard of the Holocaust, knew nothing of historical happenings save the warped, grossly inaccurate versions fed to her by her father.Tara was not allowed to attend school. Treated solely by her herbalist mother, she never saw a doctor.Her resilience saved her. Taking control of her education, in her early teens she began buying text books. Despite no formal schooling, she met the requirements to enter Brigham Young University. Boosted by scholarships and sympathetic, influential people, eventually she would graduate from Cambridge with a cated is about gritty determination. All is laid bare, yet the telling is balanced. It’s an emotionally difficult read. I cringed so a lot of times, caught up in the horror of beatings she took, horrific injuries sustained by herself and family members. She saw her brother’s severe burns fusing jeans to his legs, the same brother with a hole cracked in his skull exposing his brain, her father’s melted faced from fire he shouldn’t have eated by her herbalist mother, survive they e prose style is matter of fact, detached. This is not a negative. It avoids the distraction of emotional outbursts, tempering justifiable rage and fear. She does not let the characters to be villainized. As in life, none are without redeeming spite what she endured, Tara Westover loved her family.I wanted her to hate them. Infuriated by what she endured, my visceral want was to see the innocent avenged. She knew best, keeping a calm head even when I couldn’t. I wondered how can she hold going back? Why is she risking her safety?Unconditional love for family, that’s cated is Tara Westover’s story of private strength, without the slightest bit of self-righteousness. Very like Jeannette Walls’ The Glass Castle, it’s not as lyrical but no less forthright and its conclusion inspirational, even hopeful, Educated is one of the finest memoirs I’ve read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Novare Education review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    Items

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Novare Education review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    This application is simple to use. It captures student learning in the moment and promotes student success.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Novare Education review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    Love how simple it is to use and really helps focus on student learning!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Novare Education review [App]  2018-2-6 21:8

    Superb application for education

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPB Education review [App]  2018-4-19 21:8

    This FREE resource just keeps getting better. Thank you, GPB, from a grateful teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    StudyBlue For Educators review [App]  2018-5-13 21:8

    This is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    StudyBlue For Educators review [App]  2018-5-13 21:8

    Nicely set up. Just learn the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    StudyBlue For Educators review [App]  2018-5-13 21:8

    How to buy pro? How can i buy the pro one UPDATE:pls when i click the buy it says the application ver is not allowed i think to purchased?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    StudyBlue For Educators review [App]  2018-5-13 21:8

    Wonderful! Sound and Photo Amazing for Art History. Can record sound for Melody Appreciation, but I would like the ability to upload sound files.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter