Sphero AFB01USA Star Wars Force Band by Reviews & Opinions


Submit Sphero AFB01USA Star Wars Force Band by review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is an absolutely essential and awesome adaptation of George Lucas' rough draft screenplay, showing an necessary evolutionary scene to a classic work. It shows just how much was in Lucas' head from the start, and Rinzler's adept handling gives it a compelling life all its own. Mayhew's art is wonderful. This is a must-have for any fan of Star Wars, Comics, Sci-Fi/Fantasy or Movie as a result. A fan of all of them? Even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Based on a rough draft of Star Battles you see elements from the original and prequel trilogies showing that Lucas had characters and scenes from the very beginning. This ver also shows the very stilted dialogue that Lucas is also know this ver Han Solo is a green ewie isn't connected to Solo, and has to be taught to fly.Darth Vader isn't a e Sith is named Valorum.And in this ver Chewie gets his medal at the end. Yeah!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I'm not the largest Star Battles fan, but I search this book interesting, because it shows how huge George Luca's ideas were. He had to chop and edit his ideas so that they could fit within the limits of budget, unique effects technology, and time. I'm still in the process of reading this comic. Very good. I highly recommend this.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Sphero AFB01USA Star Wars Force Band by or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Sphero AFB01USA Star Wars Force Band by video reviews and related movies:

    See Honest Review: The Star Wars Force Band From Sphero! on youtube.

     related image

    See Sphero Star Wars Force Band | Unboxing, setup and full review on youtube.

     related image

    See Star Wars Sphero Force Band Unboxing and Review - Netcruzer RC TECH on youtube.

     related image

    See CONTROL BB-8 USING THE FORCE! (SPHERO DEMO) on youtube.

     related image

    See Star Wars™ Force Band - by Sphero on youtube.

     related image

    See Star Wars Force Band™ by Sphero on youtube.

     related image

    See Sphero AFB01USA Force Band on youtube.

     related image

    See New Star Wars™ Force Band and Special Edition BB-8™ Droid by Sphero on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Book is definitely worth the $20 or so dollars. JUST BE WARNED: if you are going to buy it from a third party source, just create sure you are getting all of the issues. I bought this book from a third party source and they only sent me problems #1 and #2 as separate paper back copies, not all e largest draw to this graphic novel is the awesome artwork. It's probably the most stunning out of any comic book I've read. As for the story, it's not as amazing as the original films (better than the prequels for sure), but it's still worth a read. The cool factor of having read an adaptation of George Lucas's original draft is to amazing to pass e characters are beautiful underdeveloped and the dialogue is beautiful cheesy, but honestly it never really bothered me. If the book was a bit longer to create up for the fast pacing and hero development it would be a true solid graphic novel.I would also recommend to hardback edition, since it has really nice binding and comes with a "making of" section. This graphic novel is amazing for even mild Star Battles fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is the 'what could have been' entry in the Star Battles universe. Yes, it's not as fully formed as the movies; Hence, it's an early draft. Though that seems to be one of the major arguments versus this graphic novel, the artwork is attractive and if you are a real fan even if you don't like it you can at least appreciate what it means as a stepping stone to what was to become. My partner has been a Star Battles fan (make that MAJOR Star Battles fan) since he was a small boy and the films first hit the huge screen and he was able to have fun this thoroughly. Take it for what it is, comes recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    A must have for any Star Battles Fan! This really illustrates how a filmmakers vision changes over time. Here familiar characters look completely different. If you like Star Battles then you’ll love The Star Wars!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This graphic novel is something that I never knew existed for a while and it honestly surprised me. The art is beautiful damn amazing and the story, while very simple, is fascinating to me. This is probably what could have been had the current one not been made. While it ends on the promise of another story, I doubt we will obtain it. Still, I enjoyed this graphic novel and I highly recommend it to any long time Star Battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    As some other people have said, it's an interesting look into the development process George Lucas went through, but the story is bloated, full of plot holes and some characters, in particular Darth Vader, don't do much of anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Interesting interpretation of the first draft of the script.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    a must for any Star Battles fan

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    The art is rather uneven, and the artists switch mid-issue which can be distracting. None of the stories in here seem to carry much weight or support shed any light on the happenings of the force awakens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    It wasn't quite what I expected, but it was still a lot of fun with amazing story. It had amazing small vignettes about the aftermath of the war of Endor and still managed to contain all my favorite characters from the original trilogy. I think I read it all in about an hour, probably less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    It's nice to a canonized ver of what exactly happened after episode 6. It's not mind blowing, but if you're into this fresh Canon universe and you liked The Force Awakens, then you're gonna have fun this as much as I did. The third half/final half of Shattered Empire is method superior to the first half. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    This is one of the few stories set after Return of the Jedi. The first panels take put at the end of the War of Endor. Poe Dameron's parents are the focus of this book, primarily his mother. Though the main cast does create cameos.I like the groundwork this locations for the post-ROTJ universe. The red messengers from Palpatine were really cool. I also really liked seeing Naboo and Leia's force sensitivity come into play again in a subtle way. I'm very interested in what happens to the things Luke recovered at the end of this short graphic novel.I felt like this was a cool beginning, but I [email protected]#$%! had been longer. The trade paperback contains the first volume of two other comics because Shattered Empire itself is so short. I'm hoping we obtain more stories that pick up on these threads. I give this graphic novel a 5/5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Interesting, but a small lacking in scope and direction. A story about Poe's parents fighting alongside each of the heros of the Original Trilogy, soon after the end of Return of the Jedi.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Even if you're not a comic book fan, and prefer novels, if you wish in on the fresh continuity post Return of the Jedi, you must pick up this volume. Once you're able to swallow the legacy of the expanded universe novels, comics etc being banished from Star Battles lore, this should be your first step into the fresh EU. There's no huge secrets revealed or major twists and turns, but this does give you a amazing glimpse into the lives of our three main heroes (Luke, Han, and Leia) immediately after Return of the Jedi while exploring fresh character, Po Dameron's parents as rebels. The words and story flow well and feel easily apart of the entire Star Battles saga and the stunning art pulls you right into the action. The visuals do an perfect job of getting you excited about this fresh era if 'Expanded Universe' stories. The artwork for Luke's part in the arc is really exciting and does well at showing you the amazing Jedi power lurking under the easy farmboy exterior. And unlike a lot of comic books, you obtain a satisfying ending, not simply a plug to buy the next volume or novel. Plus the two gift problems are great, especially being able to read the 1st problem of Marvel's classic run of Star Wars. All in all, this comic is an outstanding first step into the fresh continuity in between Jedi and Force Awakens that will gear you up for fresh and surprising stories to fill in the gaps! Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    There are some cool moments in Shattered Empire, but there isn't much story here. The only thing that is really established is that remnants of the empire are still around. The comic also shares some info about Poe Dameron's parents, but that's about it. Hopefully once the Force Awakens comes out we can finally obtain some more significant stories in this time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Shattered Empire review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    This picks up right as Return of the Jedi ends. Rebels have won but there is some resistance from the empire. For a series under the "Journey to the Force Awakens" I was expecting a bit more tie in. The art looks great, the colors are vibrant and seeing old favorites like Luke and Han rendered well is charming, but the overall plot is weak. Generic imperial clean up. The main hero has primary motivations and doesn't really seem to really tie into the main universe in any significant way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    In a lot of ways, Lost Stars is perhaps the excellent Star Battles book. If nothing else it's easily my favorite book in the fresh Star Battles canon and perhaps my favorite Star Battles book in general. As someone who grew up on the old extended universe, that's saying a lot. But I mean every word of what I've said. Lost Stars is everything I ever wanted from a Star Battles e author does a unbelievable job of inventing her own story while fitting it seamlessly into the Star Battles narrative. She creates two interesting characters from a new, special planet and culture. And then she takes us through their lives from the first time they meet at eight years old until the period shortly after Return of the Jedi when they are well into their twenties. They provide a refreshingly special perspective on Star Wars, giving us insight on what it was like to be apart of the Empire when Alderaan was destroyed and how difficult it can be to balance duty with what is right. We meet fresh characters and old favorites in scenes that have true substance rather than coming off as merely fan service. We see the relationship between Thane Kyrell and Ciena Ree grow and evolve over years and insurmountable odds. It's Star Battles but it's more than that. It's a qhole fresh story that goes deeper than we have seen before on screen.I really love this book. I know that there are people out there who hesitate to read it because it's been shoe-horned into the YA genre and because it's got a massive emphasis on Thane and Ciena's relationship. But that really shouldn't stop people from picking this book and reading it. Everyone's talking about Aftermath by Chuck Wendig but, really, this is the book we should be talking about. This is the book that deserves credit for starting the post-ROTJ canon off strong.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    In short: this is the best Star Battles book I've read in ages. Marketed as YA (though the characters are adults for most of it), it should appeal to a far broader audience. It was more about what went on Jakku than the other books released on "Force Friday," as well.Longer: When Star Battles was released in 1977, part of its appeal was that you knew who to cheer for and who to boo. After years of films dominated by ambiguity and flawed heroes, this modernize of a silent melodrama seemed positively refreshing. But nothing's ever that black and white - there were (assuming for a moment that these characters were "real") human stories behind every TIE warrior that blew up. Not all of the billions of Imperials who didn't manage to jump ship and join the rebels were evil. Some were caught up in something that they misunderstood, that give them no choice, that lied to them.LOST STARS begins with two characters drawn to the fresh Empire and all of its promises as children. The "Romeo and Juliet" comparisons people toss around are overstating things; their familiars aren't wild about their friendship, but it's a very minor problem in the overall book. As one quickly becomes cynical to the Empire and one tries to stay loyal, the two journey through the Star Battle trilogy (and a year or two beyond) on the fringes in sort of the same method that Forrest Gump journeyed through 20th century American history (or perhaps the method Phineas and Ferb journeyed through the periphery of " Fresh Hope.)" But the references to stray lines and happenings in the original movies never feel forced - the characters' stories are brilliantly and organically woven into the saga. You understand the various choices they make, the risks they take, and what's going on in their head even when you disagree with them. The romance between them (which lurks in the background most of the time) feels far more realistic than most of the romance in Star Battles books. Without delving into spoilers, by the end of the book their relationship seems well-worn and lived in that's sort of rare in fiction (it's a common joke in the YA globe that the latest line of every book should be "and then they probably broke up six months later.") These are interesting characters with backgrounds and stories of their own, and their relationship is complicated, just like true relationships are.And all of this, throughout the politics and the relationships and cameos from better-known characters, manages to be amazing fun. The 500+ pages went by quickly. Honestly, I sometimes think Star Battles just does't translate to books very well - without the visuals and the score, some of the impact is gone, and sometimes I feel like I'm just reading a lot of tech talk and sound effects. Often I just skip around and read the main plot points to see what's going on in the galaxy at this point in the timeline. That was never an problem here. I just wished there were more of is book may obtain lost in the shuffle; it's being marketing to an audience (YA) that's narrowed considerably since the Harry Potter era, when there was more crossover with people who normally read from the adult section. But when the dust settles and we've had time to sift through all the fresh Star Battles material that's come with the Force Friday deluge, Lost Stars will stand up as a high the interest of full disclosure, I am a YA writer myself and I do know the author. If you wish to brush off my thoughts because of that, fine. And I can sympathize with those who mourn the loss of the expanded universe books from the latest 25 odd years - I can remember long days of debates with my mates about what might happen in the third Zahn book when it came out. But I like season 1 of "Rebels" more than I liked beautiful much any fresh Star Battles items that had come out since 1983, and Lost Stars joins my list of reasons to think the fresh canon will be worth it. Give it a shot and have fun the ride. I can even entertain a hope that it could obtain more people to check out the YA section again and see if there's anything else amazing in there...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Don't skip it just because it's in the young adult category, or because you were disappointed by Aftermath!Even with focus on fresh "minor" characters, this feels like Star Wars, and it ties together necessary scenes, locations, and motivations. And it's fun!My only "complaint" about this book is that it hasn't been marketed as strongly as Aftermath, probably because it's been relegated to the "Young Adult" category. But there's really nothing in it (and nothing that it's missing) that should hold any not-so-young adults from reading it. It's a solid, well-written story that takes the reader through the original trilogy from the point of view of fresh characters, and ends up at the very beginning of the "aftermath" that will eventually lead to The Force anks for the nice surprise!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Star-crossed lovers start the story from two separate groups on the same planet and end up on two separate sides of a galactic war. Their journey takes them through the happenings of the original Star Battles trilogy. I absolutely loved the method the Empire, the Rebellion, and just the overall political and social stage of the Star Battles universe was portrayed. The grayness is so much more e impact of the huge scale happenings that occur during the original trilogy is shown in depth. The Empire destroyed a planet. The Rebellion demolished a zone station full of people. The characters in this book react to these happenings in realistic ere were so a lot of amazing characters introduced in this novel that I am so satisfied are now canon. I wish to see them pop up everywhere! Lohgarra, a white female wookie captain of a transport vessel, was one of my favorite introductions. The Corona Squadron needs to have its own comic book. There were so a lot of characters that are only briefly featured that I wish to know more about, which is such a Star Battles thing. The countess intrigues me so much.Another unbelievable thing about this book is that it surpasses Return of the Jedi and portrays a globe post-Death Star II Destruction. The War of Jakku takes put in this book. And it is splendid. The ending gave me all the feels.I have been fully enjoying the fresh Star Battles canon books, but this book was AMAZING! I think it even surpassed Dark Disciple, which was my previous favorite. This book is practically tailor-made for me. It's YA. It's Star Wars. It is written beautifully. There is diversity. The main story is part of a bigger picture. The characters have amazing depth and growth throughout the novel. The only thing that could have catered more to me specifically is if there had been a gay y people in the Star Battles community didn't expect much from a YA book, but I already read primarily YA so I was most looking forward to this one. It exceeded all my expectations. And from what I've heard from Star Battles fans who don't regularly read YA, it has exceeded theirs as the heart of this novel, there is a unbelievable story of a relationship. Yes, there are points where it is romantic, but overall it is a unbelievable friendship. A long-term connection between two people. And that's what a romantic relationship really is and should be anyway. This book takes put over a huge span of time, which allows for the romance to seem genuine and authentic.I think the largest take away from this novel was that there is beard suppressant in the Star Battles universe. All joking aside, I loved this book. Claudia Gray's YA books have been method bumped up on my TBR list. And she has another Star Battles book coming out next year!!!I give this book a well-deserving 5/5. I HIGHLY recommend it to superfans of Star Battles as well as the casual fan just slightly familiar with the franchise. I think this book can stand on its own. I will be recommending this to all my mates as they tell me their views on The Force Awakens later this week.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This book went far beyond my expectations. It gave me the feeling of reading a Harry Potter novel as a kid. Thane and Ciena are such awesome characters, there's no method a true Star Battles fan wouldn't accept them. I truly hope that Claudia Gray does method more Star Battles novel, she understands the universe as if she lives in it. She and Paul S. Kemp delivered awesome stories, but this tops Lords of the Sith. Please, PLEASE, allow them write more. Most certainly the best Star Battles similar book I've ever read. (I haven't read much of the EU) May the force be with you always Claudia Gray, thanks for such a unbelievable story. It could really be a amazing movie, like seriously.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    "Lost Stars" is one of the best Star Battles novels I've ever read... and it's part of the fresh canon! If you thought "Aftermath" was *the* book to read around the release of "The Force Awakens"... well, you were mistaken. Unlike the awkwardly written, generic novel by Chuck Wendig, Claudia Gray's "Lost Stars" is entertaining, original, and is populated by a pair of really interesting, well-developed and likeable e fact that the book tells us the journey of two Imperial cadets through the happenings of the Original Trilogy up until a certain happening that was suggested in Episode VII is simply great. Seeing them interacting with a couple of well-known characters, experiencing their involvement in popular wars and even seeing Darth Vader from time to time is simply exciting, and the book is so well written that I ended up really caring about the two protagonists, Thane and Ciena. Their romance isn't cheesy at all; it's certainly better than Anakin and Padme's relationship in "Attack of the Clones".I definitely wouldn't mind reading more novels or even comic books with these two characters as protagonists. What's more, given the book's slightly open-ended conclusion (at least regarding both their fates--I will say no more), and the novel's perfect reception, I bet there are more stories on the way. I hope that is the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Allow me begin out by saying I was a large fan of the Expanded Universe. I read a lot of if not all the major series of books, casually read the comic books, and played a lot of of the games. I was also quite shocked by the decision to throw out the Expanded Universe. However, I was willing to give the fresh books a try. I preordered all of the fresh books including Claudia Gray's, as well as the individual Han Solo, Princess Leia, and Luke Skywalker books. I was quite skeptical that any of this fresh material could live up to the latest 20 years of fiction.Having said that, I thought Claudia Gray did a unbelievable job in this fresh novel! She made fresh characters in a sort of star-crossed lovers realm, and weaved their stories into a lot of of the existing original trilogy plots. I like seeing how to vastly various individuals came together as mates then together with the Empire before splitting and being at opposite sides of the war.While this book is marketed at the young adult audience, it clocks in at over 550 pages. The read itself is quite good, and at times the chapters really fly by. I would say I'm outside of the demographic this book was aimed at being 32, but I enjoyed it anyway.If you're looking at reading up and getting into the fresh Star Battles movie, I would recommend this book! It also does a nice job of tying into the fresh Star Battles movie, something fans will appreciate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This was actually a fairly novel bit of story telling. It is a rare pleasure when it comes to this franchise where so much is pure drivel, and as is sadly often the case significantly overpriced. The author took the time to develop her characters, flesh out the setting, develop relationships, and actually structured her story logically. The latest part being the best part. This story never ended up coming across as absurd. That said the story does have its flaws. Chiefly among them is the repetitiveness of the story. You can only repeat the same arc so a lot of times before the reader starts to feel a bit fatigued. Which brings me to the second re fatiguing is at least one of the characters. While one actually evolves throughout the story the other becomes increasingly neurotic, and by the end of the story. The lack of actual movement in that hero becomes aggravating. The author is obviously trying to create it so that those who are reading the book can continue to relate to both characters, and search both of them to be likable, but there comes a point where just being obtuse becomes highly offensive. You hold waiting for the second hero to turn the corner any corner, and the ending ends up ringing hollow as a consequence. The novel either required to end on a high note or a low note, but more of the same seems almost insensitive to the needs of the reader to search some true tom line this is a fairly well written book, but it will probably leave you with some degree of fatigue and mixed feelings. I can honestly say that I have never seen so much hero development place into what is essentially a one dimensional character, and the author not being able to take that hero to the next level is something of a letdown. As that is the prize the reader is looking for at the end of the book, or for the hero to become the punchline in a tragedy, but you end up walking away with about the same thing you started off with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    I was beginning to lose faith in the fresh line of Star Battles novels. Thank the Force for Claudia Gray. From her, we obtain a story built on relationships, one that doesn't end where it begins. The characters have depth; they grow and learn. This is the tale of how two lovers end up on opposing sides of a civil war. We see the wars of Yavin, Hoth, and Endor through their eyes.I thought at first, the story of their youth moved too quickly, but that was enough to lay the foundation for what followed. I wasn't prepared for the yearning that captivated my heart. Even though this was labelled a young adult novel, I fully recommend it for adults of all ages. Indeed, I look forward to reading more novels by this rental Advisory: The violence is on par with what's seen in the Original Trilogy; people die, but no blood. Yes, there are few sexual encounters, but nothing more than what's shown in the prequels. That is, we know it happened, but it's not graphic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Lost Stars review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    I would love to add something that others haven't already place on here, but the highlights have been covered and for the most part I agree with what people are saying. No, it's not really a young adult novel, it's a amazing Star Battles novel, period. It's easily ten times better than the Aftermath trilogy (and - I hate that this is even a thing in Star Battles now - but it's nice to not obtain beaten over the head by Disney's gay pride agenda through the whole book). Lost Stars keeps up a amazing pace with plenty of action and plot development to create it an intriguing action and somewhat political novel. The characters are well thought out and unique, none of the characters felt flat. This really is the book that Disney should have place their marketing train behind and I'm somewhat disapointed in myself for waiting to read it - so don't create the same mistake I did, if you are looking to obtain into the fresh canon expended universe, begin with Lost Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Journey to Star Wars The Last Jedi: The Legends of Luke Skywalker (Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi) review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I've been waiting for this book and it didn't disappoint. If you're fans of Timothy Zhan's star battles EU, you'll message that Zahn did a very amazing job of portraying Luke's character, particularly in the Hand of Thrawn duology and Survivor's Quest. Ken Liu continues to capture the essence of Luke's hero but he delves in deeper in only a series of short stories, a remarkable feat. Three stories (an imperial's pov, the Tide and exogorth) , stood out to present the depths of compassion and wisdom Luke is learning in his journey to understand the force, more so than being a Jedi. If the EU spend more time to present Luke's masterful role as a Jedi master, this book turns the tide a bit by showing that Luke's destiny is more than what happened on ROTJ. Although I do love the heriocs of Luke depicted in EU, this series shows a deeper side of Luke and the farmboy integrity that he upholds to treat all beings of the force with respect. I give it four stars as there were two stories (the myth buster and the mote) which feel a small flat. Other than that, can't wait to see Luke in The Latest Jedi.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 6: Out Among The Stars (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    And with that, Jason Aaron’s storied run on Marvel’s flagship “Star Wars” title comes to an end. Volume 6 – “Out Among the Stars” collects problems #33-37, the majority of which are one-shot problems featuring individual adventures with the usual gang of heroes, as well as Sana Starros and Lando Calrissian. While these problems may not represent the pinnacle of either Aaron or artist Salvador Larroca’s talents, this final volume still stands as a decent enough farewell for Aaron, before Kieron Gillen comes aboard next month to steer the is usually the case with comic one-shots, the stakes for most of these problems feels low. That’s okay, though because Aaron mostly does enough fun items with hero dynamics and dialogue exchanges – pairing Luke and Leia together in problem #33, Lando and Sana together in #34, and Han and Chewie (shocker) in #35– to create up for his stories’ lack of “importance.” He also, finally, gets around in problem #36 to resolving the long-dangling plot thread that is C-3PO’s capture by Scar Squadron, which we witnessed all the method back at the end of Volume 4, “Last Flight of the Harbinger.” Although it’s hard not to want that we’d gotten a bit meatier of a follow-through to this story after waiting so long for it to be resolved – problem #25, which depicted C-3PO’s capture, was published all the method back in November 2016, pre-“Rogue One”s release - it’s still nice to see Aaron dot all of his i’s and cross his t’s before walking out the door.If there’s a major disappointment in this latest Volume, and really, in the latest two volumes of the series as well, it’s Salvador Larroca’s art. Like a lot of people, I really enjoyed his style on “Darth Vader,” but for some reason, his time on the main “Star Wars” title has been marred by an overreliance on photorealism and tracing, which – at least for my cash – is distracting at best and at worst, downright [email protected]#$%!&’s hard not to want that Aaron’s final problems on the series had been accompanied by artwork that was as powerful as that of his first, second, or even third arc, but hey - you can’t have everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    ONe of the few EU books I have been unable to collect over the latest 20 years. Very excited to finally have it to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Perfect add to my collection, thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Well, that dashing,daring, and devoius Han Solo has done it again. More excitement, more adventure! Being an avid Star Battles fan, I've spent most of my free time reading and re-reading this book. I love it! I would recomend this to any Star Battles fan, young or old. I tried to obtain multiple opinions in this book by my friends, and it seems that if you don't know a lick about Star Wars, you probably won't understand some of this book. But if you are familiar with SW, Hang On!! You're on for a beautiful wild ride. Now, I will admit it, there are a few parts in there where I felt kind of. . . uh. . . sleepy. ..(Maybe I stayed up longer than I thought reading it. . ) but the abundance of action and suspence quickly [email protected]#$%! away. All in all, I would say this is a very amazing me might say Han is just to brave (or to stupid) to be realistic. But, as Han would say, "Hey, its Me!"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    This is a combined review of The paper back book and the comic from Dark horse, Classic star battles - Han Solo at stars end - Volume 5. This comic is based on the stand alone novelette written by the late Brian Daley. For those who had read AC Crispens Han Solo Trilogy (my favorite of the entire EU), Crispen left time in his story to accommodate Daley's stories about Han and Chewy taking a trip to the corporate sector. Virtually nothing is known about the corp sector except what Daley told us in his 3 novels about his favorite character, Han. One of those 3 stories is HS at is comic has amazing inking and binding but the pencil and artwork is of comic strip quality. I give the story a 5, inking a 3 and pencils a 2, then I round up because the stars are Han and chewy for 4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    This is a review of Classic star battles - Han Solo at stars end - Volume 5. This comic is based on the stand alone novelette written by the late Brian Daley. For those who had read AC Crispens Han Solo Trilogy (my favorite of the entire EU), Crispen left time in his story to accommodate Daley's stories about Han and Chewy taking a trip to the corporate sector. Virtually nothing is known about the corp sector except what Daley told us in his 3 novels about his favorite character, Han. One of those 3 stories is HS at is comic has amazing inking and binding but the pencil and artwork is of comic strip quality. I give the story a 5, inking a 3 and pencils a 2, then I round up because the stars are Han and chewy for 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    While the plot and the script follow the perfect book upon which this is based fairly well, the end results fall short of the ssa looks kinda like she's described in the book, but the other characters aren't really recognizable, even Han and Chewie. While the ship renditions are fairly good, the only thing they got right was the Falcon -- there weren't any TIEs in the novel, and those small warriors in the comic aren't e art is too childish, and the words are too big, and the coloring and detail is a bit dull. Still, all of this is somewhat overcome by a fairly exciting story and a quick pace.Another plus is the low price. If you're into Star Wars, it's worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    this was the worst i have ever read. i never caught the point of the whole story, yet i created myself read the whole thing to test to obtain the point. I never did. it had a not good plot, moved slowly, and to me was too boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    A amazing book that sheds some light on Han Solo's life before the happenings of Star Wars: A Fresh Hope. A good, cheap read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Han Solo: At Stars' End (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    It wasn't as amazing as I remebered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Captain Phasma (Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Captain Phasma (2017)) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Amazing cap and also introduction on an intriguing hero we met in Episode VII. This comic showed us a ruthless hero who was willing to do anything to advance her put in the First Order. Got to wonder how intelligent she really is though. Snoke, Ren, and Rey will all see right thru her. However, it’s cool to see what an ambitious and brutal Stormtrooper might do in the Star Battles Universe. This comic series showed us that clearly and if nothing else gets the reader excited for Episode VIII in just under a month!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    It was nice to see some of the things that Yoda did between the Clone Battles and the first time he is seen in Episode 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing collection, hold the Marvel stories coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Not as amazing as the previous entries but amazing story none the less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    So I finished this one the other day after reading the negative reviews. And while I will say it isn't a poor comic, I will say it wasn't entirely important either.Spoilers ahead:The book picks up at the end of The Latest Flight of the Harbinger with C-3PO in the hands of the Empire. R2 takes off to rescue him and Luke continues to read Ben Kenobi's journal. The rest of the story deals with Yoda feeling a call from the Force that leads him to a strange Lord of the Flies like e story isn't terrible, but it doesn't really do anything either. It doesn't advance the current story closer towards Empire Strikes Back (which is probably why they did it so they can hold the comics going) and the only purpose that I can search for the Yoda story is to present that Jedi must be humble in their abilities. But we already saw that out of Yoda in his three part series at the end of The Clone e artwork is really amazing though. So there's that.If you wish to read an ok side story, go for it. Or if you're like me and collect a lot of the expanded canon then still go for it. But if you wish to just hold going in the show story and not read Yoda, wait for The Screaming Citadel. All you miss here is Scar Squadron is planning to use 3PO as bait for our heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is a tough review for me to write. On the one hand, the book looks great. Perfect art. And, how often do you read a story about Yoda? I give Marvel large props for attempting something different. This isn't a story about the Rebels vs. the Empire. It's something e issue is that I felt like a fresh Pink Floyd album, where you feel like there's a notice there, but you're not quite sure what that notice is saying. All the time reading this story, I kept thinking to myself that the end of this--this interesting story--is going to come together and blow my mind. But, it didn't quite do that. And, if it is there on the page, I sure didn't obtain "it" on my first pass through the the end, I judge a book by how much I wish to go pick it up again once I lay it down. With this book, I wasn't as intrigued as I should have been. I really just wanted to obtain it read and done. It's a laudable effort on Marvel's part to attempt such a story, but for me, it just didn't e story does tie in a bit with the original trilogy, but my guess is that you could skip this collection and not miss much in the on-going Marvel series.I will note though that this collection also contains the second Star Battles Annual. You obtain the Yoda story plus the Annual. And, that's the bright side, as the story in this second Annual is quite good. It's a easy story, contained in the one issue. But, it's a story I found compelling, and it features a fresh character, Pash, that I hope we see again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    A huge cup of "meh".I am a large fan of SW, and I have enjoyed what Marvel has done with the franchise since they reacquired the license, but I gotta say, this was their first misstep, in my opinion. Its not that it was bad; it was just kind of pointless. It was an unnecessary delay of the main storyline that we could have done without. And while Yoda is a favorite, IF this story had to be told, it could have been done in half the time. Not a poor trade, just pointless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    r my money, this is the weakest story yet–not just from Aaron's "Star Wars" run, but in all of Marvel's Star Battles output since acquiring the license in 2014. I'm usually a huge fan of both Aaron's writing and Salvador Larroca's style, so the thought of the two of them pairing up for an arc–let alone an arc focused specifically on freaking YODA–really had me jazzed. Color me surprised and disappointed that neither writer nor artist seemed to operating at their full potential here.I could go on and on about all of the things that didn't work here, whether it be the plot itself–which proves definitively that there is such thing as a Star Battles story that is TOO out there–Larroca's linework, which seemed oddly unfinished here, or even just the method the arc sits rather uncomfortably alongside the broader Star Battles lore (no spoilers, but if you've read, you know of what I speak). In fairness, there were moments here and there that worked, particularly early on, when it felt like Aaron had a better grasp of the type of tale he wanted to spin. But the longer this arc dragged on, the more eager I was for it to wrap up. And now, mercifully, it Battles Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret Battle (Star Battles (2015-))

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The fresh Marvel SW comics have, for the most part been great. The Vader books are, for me, the top tier but the SW run has been beautiful amazing as well. Unfortunately there is only so much storyline to fill between Ep IV and V and it feels like we've filled that gap sufficiently. Now we have filler such as this 's not poor but there is nothing memorable about it either other than the artwork which is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I was intrigued when I learned Marvel was departing from the main story arc for this one like they have with the Obi-Wan stories (which have been beautiful great). This story, however, was not. It felt like Yoda was plunked into the second half of Angry Max: Beyond Thunderdome in a rather pointless and frankly, kind of dumb, story. The only enjoyable moment, for me, takes put on the latest page of the latest issue. Even then it was a bit of a forced reach back to the Star Battles we know and love. You're really not missing much if you skip this volume. After volume four, I really feel like there's nothing more that needs to be told in this period of Star Battles history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Up until now, Jason Aaron hasn't place a foot wrong in the Star Battles line. The plotting, characterization, and just the general feel of his run have been great, a true pleasure to read. Unfortunately with volume 5, things go off the rails. Focusing on an untold tale from Yoda's history, this story is a complete side-step with no true impact or bearing on the larger story. For the first time I found myself pushing impatiently through the pages in an attempt to obtain to the end, which is resolved in a less than fulfilling way. You also obtain an unrelated Princess Leia story at the end which is mediocre at best. Here's hoping that things return to normal with the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    This book collects a lot of of the early problems from Dark Horse's "Empire" comics from the mid 2000'e art varies between issues, but I found most of it to be beautiful good. The writing was also consistently amazing throughout, though admittedly not a lot of of the stories really broke any fresh ground on the Star Battles front. Most of them were your fairly standard action stories with a bit of internal politics mixed in. This has come to be expected from a post-prequels Star Battles story, so while it was a really fun read, very small surprised at said, there were a couple of stories which really stood out to me and bumped this up to a higher grade. "What Price Loyalty?", a story about a aging clone trooper serving in the Empire was a particular gem. Seeing the inner workings of a dictatorship from the perspective of a person literally programed to be loyal to the regime was quite interesting, especially when his previously held beliefs about the Empire are challenged by not only the rebels, but by his own commanding officer. The following story, one about Darth Vader right ofter the destruction of the Death Star, is a lot less talkative, but gives us a more introspective look at Vader as he is forced to survive in the harsh l in all, your fairly standard Star Battles fare, but with a few standout pieces here and there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    As you might expect 'At Battle with the Empire' collects several stories set during the original trilogy from both the Imperial and Rebel point of view. The stories are set just before and after the happenings of the first Star Battles movie and are all e opening story 'Betrayal' is the true standout. Weeks before the Death Star goes online a group of Imperial officers attempt a coup to replace Vader and the Emperor. It's densely written, with memorable characters and exciting battles.'Princess...Warrior' tells the story of Princess Leia's missions of mercy and how she learned the price of war.'The Short, Satisfied Life of Roons Sewell' tells the story of a Rebel general. Based in part on Citizen Kane (Roons Sewell is an anagram for Orson Wells) it quickly paints a memorable picture of the title character.'What Sin Loyalty' is the story of cloned and programmed Stormtrooper trying to protect his commander.'The Savage Heart' is a ruthless Darth Vader story.'A Small Piece of Home' is a bit dull but has some nice scenes for Princess Leia.'Target Vader' has Vader taking on the underworld.'Alone Together' shows some early developments in Han Solo and Princess Leia's relationship.'Idiot's Array' has an early try of Han's loyalty to the Rebellion and more underworld ly 'The Price of Power' introduces a race of sentient Raptors and a complex war between the Rebels and Empire for their is book has 400 pages of amazing to amazing stories set during my favorite era of Star Wars, I recommend picking this up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    As a long time Star battles expanded universe fan, I had greatly enjoyed the Empire Series when it had been around, though alas I hadn't been able to secure every issue. However, Dark Horse's brilliant Omnibus compilations is the god-send for us die hard fans who can't search every obscure copy. And being a deployed soldier, I appreciate being able to read as much as possible. I can't wait for Vol. 2. A amazing read and will definitely be in my collection of Star Battles Omnibus'.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    I'm a star battles fan, so I'm biased. I got this one since one of the comics included has a reference to Sabacc and I was trying to read about that game. I read through all the stories though (including the one about my card game) and never lost interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    All though this time table is my least favorite of the universe, this still is an awesome story. The art work is amazing and the story line is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Some stories within are excellent, some are fun, others mundane. The art is uniformly good. You'll never know unless you read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Just plain old fun. Fills in the gaps between the movies. Amazing shortie with Vader after Yavin . Will buy the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    A amazing compilation of Marvel Star Battles comics focusing in huge part on Vader as he casts the shadow of the Sith across the Galaxy. Will take you some time to blaze through them but it's a blend of colourful side stories that help my favorite zone opera.*** It was called to my attention that this was originally published by Dark Horse Comics. However all the branding on the pages as well as the Amazon description now list it as Marvel. ****

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    I bought this knowing very small outside the films and Clone battles animated series. This book is a amazing buy and contains several of the Dark horse graphic comics, i accidentally purchased those too only to search the same stories in this book. I highly recommend for any Star Battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Amazing reading room reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Best idea I have ever heard and as I read it, it got even better. These two guys create a large difference in the Galaxy. They fill in the gaps of why certain scenes happen the method they did. Its a worthy read for laughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I found out about this on Youtube and read it all in one sitting. I don't regret this choice. I only regret that I don't have more of it to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    All of Mark and Bink's adventures in one book! SO worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This is definitely Star Battles done silly. Mark and Bink manage to stumble through almost every necessary stage of the saga while they test to hold from getting blasted.While the story is humorous, it still has its own consistency that keeps it entertaining and manages to hold real (more or less) to the ere are plenty of small visual jokes drawn into the background. The artwork is a excellent fit for the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    A slap stick comedy that really fills in the holes you didn't know were there in the Star Battles Universe. This is a must-read for die-hard fans of the saga. Or if you're just looking for a funny method to pass the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Mark and Bink-I heard about them reading a 'Best Of' list of the Dark House line of Star Battles comics and I had to check them out. I'm a fan of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern and this is definitely along those lines, although a fun take on the underbelly of the Star Battles movieverse and what it takes to survive or not survive the Star Wars. With plenty of jokes and shout-outs to fan culture along the margins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    It is a funny story that makes a lot of of the sceans from the film possible. If i could i would watch the corresponding films along with the comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I really enjoyed this story, very funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I loved this book, a collection of all the Mark and Bink stories save for one that was published in Star Battles tales. Here we see two goofy Rebel troopers who escape Princess Leia's blockade runner by dressing as Storm Troopers end up in the background of almost every stage from episodes 4-6, and even a bit of 1 and 3!The writers manage to search ways to fit these two into iconic situations and even have them CAUSE some of the things. Who were the troopers on duty when Obi Wan crept in to turn off the tractor beam? Why didn't the red clad Imperial Guard intervene in the final war between Luke and Darth Vader and the Emperor?A amazing read for Star Battles fans with a sense of humor!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - Tag & Bink Were Here (Star Wars Universe) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Really enjoyed this book, gave a lot to think about when watching the films from now on. If you like star wars, you should read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I read this in continuing the Darth Vader series, I have not read the Star Battles comic series yet, so it was a bit various going back and forth between Darth Vader and Star Battles between issues. All in all, this was a amazing crossover collection, but the art styles and even the writing styles seemed to clash a bit. I felt that the Star Battles writer didn't really capture the Aphra and Triple-Zero characters in quite the same method that the Darth Vader writer does, although it was very interesting seeing Triple-Zero in the realistic art style of the Star Battles comics. It was also a bit confusing to search this collection when Amazon does not contain it in the Darth Vader series page. If you follow what that says you will miss a huge chunk of the Darth Vader story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This TPB takes put right after the happenings of Star Battles Episode IV: A Fresh Hope. Darth Vader comes out of hyperspace in his lone TIE Interceptor nose to nose with 2 squadrons of Rebel X Wings. Perfect action sequences ensue. This is my first acquaintance with the Star Battles Universe in Marvel comics (apart from the 80's books) and if Vader Down is an accurate representation of the quality of work, it's comparable to the unbelievable job Marvel did on Stephen King's Dark Turret prequels. This was also my first digital purchase of any comic for my Kindle. While having a hard copy of the comic would be a lot preferable, the $3.99 purchase price was a bargain to own the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I grew up with comics and Star Wars. I was 11 in 1977 and haven't lost my love for the characters. That being said until recently I hadn't read a lot of SW comics since the original Marvel run.I decided to check out the latest Vader comic after listening to the Star Battles Theory channel on YouTube. I'm glad I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    As I've said elsewhere, Aaron and his squad do something that hasn't been done in 20 years in these books: they create Vader scary again. He's a force to be reckoned with, and this is one of the only stories series that brings him into contact with the original trilogy heroes, playing them off of the minor characters that we've been introduced to in the ongoing Vader books. Han, Chewie, and the droids all meet their doppelgängers in tremendously entertaining ways. The Vader series is far better than it has any right to be, and Vader Down is one of the best stories to come out of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    If you're excited for Rogue One, or just like Darth Vader, this collection is great. This is the Vader we all wish in the upcoming film. An perfect addition to fresh canon, and the best story between Star Battles and Vader comics. If you're not gonna buy both collections then obtain this one. Artwork is wonderful, story is superb. My only complaint was some clunky dialogue in one or two panels. That's all the negativity I could muster about Vader Down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This is incredible. The violence is great, Vader is intense. Luke Han and Leia are at their best. Tripple - Zero is at his most insane Betee is a sniper and a bomber. And Dr Aphra is funny. This is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Vader Down was a excellent Star Battles comics it captures the look characters and feel of the universe. I can't wait to finish up the Vader series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Attractive artwork and a amazing story. I loved it. It’s the first Star Battles comic I’ve read, can’t wait to hold reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Lots of fun, exciting background on charecters......worth thr time to read....the only con would be, no captain would sacrifice thier ship so easily....it's their ticket to freedom....but you'll have to read the story to search out why;)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars: Vader Down (Star Wars: Vader Down (2015)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Epic story involving all your favorite characters. I recommend reading Vader volumes 1 and 2 beforehand so you can follow along with his arc. Star Battles volumes 1 and 2 are less necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    If you have read the novels this brings it even more to life. If you haven't read the novels it is a amazing method to do so. I am a large star battles fiction fan and the Thrawn series is one of my favorite. When I found this on amazon I about flipped out. Got it in the mail and flipped out again. It is large for a graphic novel!!!! The pages and coloring are very well done, all glossy. Highly recommend it. I want they would do more of the novels like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    "The Thrawn Trilogy" is considered by a lot of to be the unofficial Episodes VII, VIII, and IX, and for amazing reason. All the problems are included, along with some of the cover art. Only a brief introduction. As this is a compilation of comic book issues, it can't be faulted for the quality of the story or art. Dark Horse insisted on condensing each book into 6 issues, so of course some things will be left out or glossed over. That said, it's still excellent. Everything has been reproduced in high quality. A worthy addition to a library.4 stars because it lacks some of the cover art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I loved these books when they came out originally in novel form. Though there were some parts that were not quite what I would consider star wars, for the most part it's fun and entertaining, the end itself is a bit disappointing after following the story through three novels, but overall it's a amazing experience. Now comes the compiling of the three novels in their comic form. I love the design of these books, the black writing on black hardcover book looks great. The only problem I have with this series is sometimes its' hard to follow what is going on. I know it's complicated to take a novel and place it into a limited number of comics but there are times when they leave out bits of info or begin a conversation in the middle, so if you have not read the novels or you read them a long time ago, you'll forget a bit of what they are talking about. It seems to jump a bit at times. The flow is a bit off from time to time. But the art and overall story adaptation is great. So if you love Star Battles you'll love this book. The jumpiness I mentioned is the reason it gets only 4 stars. But, it's still a solid read and well packaged as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I will test to be as concise as I can about this graphic novel. The book, adapted from Zahn's trilogy of novels, is so amazing I can't even do justice to it with words. It is sheer brilliance! The book is broken down into each of the three novels from the trilogy, and each one is handled beautifully. The writing- particularly the dialogue- is classic Star Battles all the way! Luke sounds like Luke. Han sounds like Han, etc. And the fresh characters(there are numerous, but only a handful of true "players") are every bit as real to the feel of what a Star Battles hero should be like as the original cast. The addition of Thrawn, Kaarde, C'Baoth and Jade alone give this epic a new yet familiar Star Battles globe to delve into. The artwork is divided amongst 3 various artists, each with his own special style. DO NOT WORRY about this, however! The styles may be different, but they don't impede the flow of the story in any way. In fact, I felt just the opposite. I liked the changes between chapters/books. The changes never had you guessing,"Which hero is that supposed to be?" or "What planet are they on now?". Everything is seamless. You just obtain treated to a series of 3 very talented artists who give each chapter a slightly various edge. It's kinda like how "A Fresh Hope" felt a small less dark than "The Empire Strikes Back." And "Empire" gave method to a kind of various emotional makeup of the final installment, "Return of the Jedi." All 3 were exciting and full of fantasy/sci-fi/action/adventure(as well as some drama, romance and comedy thrown in for amazing measure). Well, the writing, artwork and story/plot throughout this attractive hardcover is no exception.I can't say enough about how wonderul this book is! It feels like you're watching Episodes 7,8, and 9 unfold in front of your eyes! And for those of you who are only familiar with the movies, this book is one of the rarer EU stories that requires no previous knowledge of any of the other EU Star Battles books or closing, all I can say is that I felt like a child again as I read this book(being a child when I first saw the original trilogy). And I know I will reread it over and over again, much as I watch the movies over and over. So, if you wanna know what happened to everyone from the original trilogy of films after the curtain dropped, look no further! Go out and buy this awesome graphic novel. You won't regret it! May the Force be with you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Never did I expect, after so a lot of years down the road, that Dark Horse finally compiled the entire collection of the Thrawn Trilogy into this remarkable hardcover edition. If I had known then, I wouldn't have wasted my time collecting the individual 6-book problems of each series, and the individual 3 tradepaperback series - I guess all those individual comic problems are worth much more now! However, it still delighted me to, once again, purchase and keep the entire collection in my e Thrawn Trilogy hardcover edition is a must-have for all die-hard Star Battles fans out there. Ever since Timothy Zahn released his 3 novels 20 years ago, starting with Heir To The Empire, readers have always wonder what ysalamiri or an Interdictor cruiser would look like. Now we know. The comics writers have edited out, but also retained quite a lot of the nuances and verbal speech that the characters use. I guess something will definitely be lost in translation, otherwise this comic adaptation would be more than 800 pages! Timothy Zahn did a remarkable job bringing each and every hero back to life, which kick-started the novel/comics franchise of the Star Battles Expanded up, I'm looking to purchase the Dark Empire complete collection. I'm like all die-hard Star Battles fans out there. The books just can't satisfy the thirst for more action, adventure and stories from this awesome y the Force be with us all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Unbelievable trilogy, the same spirit and pace of the classic movies. Mandatory read for all Star Battles fans. The adaptation is amazing but recommend to read the books first then take this one ....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing read and amazing graphics!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    It's amazing but I preferred the regular books over the graphic novel. There's a lot of info and hero development that are lost in this version. It's still worth reading. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    A amazing storyline. The rise and fall of an imperial remnant led by the Grand Admiral Thrawn. Also the begin of the Luke Skywalker and Mara Jade saga. A lot to like here for the fans of the expanded universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars - The Thrawn Trilogy (Star Wars: The New Republic) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I enjoyed the books and this was a stroll down Star Battles memory lane. The art work is unbelievable and love the various choices the artists created from book to book. The storytelling is enjoyable and quick paced, maybe people a small to quick paced for fans who have not read the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Shadows of the Empire is amazing but the others weren't much to speak of in yerms of story and artwork

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This particular Omnibus is almost perfect. The final entry, which purports to be a direct sequel to Shadows of the Empire, was severely disappointing in my opinion. However, the outstanding material that precedes it more than makes up for the weak art and story that concludes the volume. I would recommend it to anyone, although perhaps not at full price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Long Live the Real Star Battles Expanded Universe forever..... The shadow of the empire stories, and the story of Mara jade are one of the several beginnings of the Real Star Battles Expanded Universe launched in the 1990's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This has got to be one of the greatest non-movie Star Battles stories ever! I remember when these comics, games, and novels came out because it was a whole fresh chapter to the saga that had never been told before. A must read for any die-hard Star Battles fan. Dash Rendar has got to be one of the best Expanded Universe characters ever created! Buy now!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    its not that i didnt like the comic it self, the product was just in very not good condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Hng

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    While I love Star Battles and all of Dark Horse's novels set in its expanded universe, this graphic novel in particular doesn't keep up as well as I had remembered it. While Shadows of the Empire was once thought of as being so amazing that it warranted its own movie, I think several of Dark Horse's other efforts are far more compelling and deserving of such distinction (i.e. Thrawn Trilogy, Dark Empire Trilogy, Crimson Empire Trilogy). Still though, if you haven't read this then you absolutely should! While it's not the most thrilling Star Battles graphic novel, it fits into the timeframe between two of the best films in the franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I missed Shadows of the Empire when it first came out. It was a project in the mid-90s that used a novel, video android game and comic to fill in the gaps between Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi and was a fair hit. This book reprints the original comic and then 2 mini series the followed e lead story telling how Luke, Chewie, Lando and Leia tracked down Han Solo and Boba Fett is fairly weak. Mostly taken from the novel it feels rushed, fresh characters like Prince Xizor and Dash Rendar appear but are never properly introduced. In the final war the villain dies off camera. The art is more stylized than most Star Battles books, it looks like one of the hundreds of Todd McFarlane clones that populated the mid e second story by novelist Timothy Zahn and Carlos Ezquerra follows Mara Jade an Imperial killer targeted for death after the Emperor's death. The focus on one hero makes for a stronger story with twists and turns. Ezquerra's art is a delight as e latest story follows the human-looking android device Guri as she tries to leave her life as an killer behind. It's kind of a light story but the art by Ron Randall is beautiful and there's a lot of cheesecake. Guri of course looks like a statuesque blond and her jumpsuit gets torn up quite a bis is a fun book but not great, it's got a amazing price and you'll have fun it but it's not worth hunting down.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter