Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels Reviews & Opinions


Submit Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is a collection of four long out of print Spider-Man one shots. All four stories were originally released as individual graphic novels, hence the title. If your an old school fan like myself you'll appreciate this collection. While not all the stories are top notch it's still cool to have them all collected into a nifty hardcover. The true stand out's here worth noting, for me anyways is 1986's "Hooky" by Susan Putney & horror illustrator extraordinaire, Bernie Wrightson. It's an oddball tale & Wrightson's art fit's this story perfectly. And the inclsuion of Charles Vess' "Spirits of the Earth" almost makes purchasing this collection a must. vess takes Spidey out of his usual metropolis surroundings for this one & it works wonderfully. The other two stories aren't poor but just don't stand up to the aforementioned two. Again, a probable must for the Spider-Man completest if just for all four collected stories. It's a nice collection & not badly priced at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    You obtain four stories, two have redeeming qualities, one is a waste of time and the latest one is truly horribleYou don't obtain enjoyument of this book for the majority of its length.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is a collection of four of Spider-Man's best graphic stories, especially my favorite one titled "Spirits of the Earth". It was unbelievable reading them again and brought back a lot of unbelievable memories of reading them the first time around.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels video reviews and related movies:

    See The Top 5 Spider-Man Comic Books on youtube.

     related image

    See Top 10 Spider-Man Comics You Should Read on youtube.

     related image

    See My Spider-Man Graphic Novels (Pre-SJW Marvel) on youtube.

     related image

    See The Ultimate Graphic Novel Collection: Spider-Man – Coming Home Review on youtube.

     related image

    See Top 10 Marvel Graphic Novels on youtube.

     related image

    See BEST SPIDER-MAN READS! on youtube.

     related image

    See My Ultimate Spider-Man / The Amazing Spider-Man Collection & Issues, HC, TPBs, Variant & More! 2016 on youtube.

     related image

    See Best of Spider-man Vol 1-5 Hardcover Comic Review on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    grandson liked it very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A amazing set of spidey graphic novels, including an underrated classic in Spirits of the Earth

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is a sad collection of dreck. The first story, 'Hooky,' by Putney is the only redeeming story in this compendium. A meditation on leaving youth, it's strange and special and dreamy but at least represents a sincere attempt to do something various than what you'd have found in a standard problem of 'Amazing.' The other stories range from pedestrian to sleep-inducing to hackneyed. Not worth your time...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I've been reading Spider-Man comics for 20 plus years but my collecting did not really gain any kind of cohesion until the mid-late 90's, by then the graphic novels reprinted here for the first time were long since out of print. For years I had wanted to read 'Hooky' and 'Spirits of the Earth' so when browsing my local comic shop latest month I happened upon this hardcover, I couldn't buy it quick enough.Hooky (1986) written by Susan Putney and illustrated by Bernie Wrightson is an odd one. Webhead follows a young magician through a portal into the 'dimension of Cloudsea' to support her overcome an opponent unto which she has been cursed. The beast- a morphing monstrosity called 'The Tordenkakerlakk' can never be defeated the same method twice and regenerates after every conquer Spidey inflicts bigger and stronger. This makes for some cool splash pages but it also means the story feels rather one dimensional. For me this was a case of style over substance and even the visuals are occasionally ropey with Spidey's mask being rendered rather poorly. Small things like that bug rallel Lives (1989) Gerry Conway / Alex Saviuk is a classic, but one that splits opinions as it info how MJ discovered Peter's id and how this affected their relationship through the years (as when it was revealed she knew in ASM#257 a lot of readers felt she had never displayed and prior indication of this knowledge). Depending where you stand on that what can't be denied is how well constructed this story is. Conway brilliantly weaves the tales of MJ's and Peter's formative years together so for the first time you really obtain an understanding of who MJ is, before whizzing through a greatest hits of Spidey's costumed career including a memorable showdown with Doc Ock. Also worth praise is the work of Alex Saviuk- in a career defining best the whole book is beautifully illustrated in a classic Romita style method above his work on the lengthy Web of Spider-Man amazing as Parallel Lives is, it's Spirits of the Earth (1990) that stands as the centrepiece of the collection. Born out of writer/illustrator Charles Vess' affinity for the Scottish highlands this tale sees Peter and Mary Jane taking a second honeymoon in Scotland after MJ learns she has inherited a cottage from a recently deceased relative. I won't spoil what follows, but can tell you the story is satisfyingly slow in building, perfectly letting PP/SM adapt to his fresh environment, beautifully painted and overall is unlike anything else in Spidey comics before or since.Fear Itself (1992) Don't allow the shiny Joe Jusko cover fool you, despite being made by some huge names- Gerry Conway, Stan Lee and Ross Andru this one is the weakest of the bunch. When megalomaniac the Baroness steals the fear inducing `cassidy crystals' from Osborn industries, it's up to Spidey and Silver Sable to infiltrate her Bavarian castle and redeem them. The story starts off well as Sable recounts the Baroness' ties to WWII nut job Baron Zemo, but after that the whole adventure is beautiful routine items and aside from one twist late on you know how it's going to end. To summarise this collection is definitely worth picking up for the avid Spider-fan. Parallel Lives and SOTE are both perfect and along with the other two stories comprise the only in-print versions of these comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This collection includes some legendary Spider-man stories that hadn't been reprinted in a lot of years. Parallel Lives, despite criticism from some writers (which makes no sense given what is in the comic itself) is an awesome story that shows the connection between spider-man and Mary Jane but also a third life is paralleled. Hooky, while having a somewhat uneven story, includes some of the greatest art ever in spider-man comics and must be seen to be believed. Spirits of the Earth is a true treat for the fans as it includes not only awesome artwork but also writing that is deeply personal. Fear Itself toys with various genres and revives an old opponent not seen for a lot of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man: The Graphic Novels review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is very disappointing to me. Graphic novels should be interesting. But I found all four novels to be not e first story is a weird dimensional tripping into another universe where Spidey encounters putrescent horror after horror. These beasties are usually found in Conan the Barbarian and have no put in a Spidey tale. And really, the best artist for inter-dimensional tripping was Steve Ditko with Dr e second story was basically rehashing the whole Spidey origins tale, now interwoven with more panels of Mary Jane. All Ross Andru items with extra artwork. So a rerun of all the comics I had before. I didn't read the third and fourth novel because by then, I had lost all interest in the comic. The artwork was just ghastly throughout, except for the Ross Andru copied artwork, and all the colouring was garish. The cover artwork is quite various from the interior panels. Just be aware of the contents before you order this items unseen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    For the surprising price this book is worth it, and this story got a small dark at times, but epic in others. This story is interesting but the 'death's' got a bit repetitive at times, but it was required to tell the story. It can be a bit dark at times as well, but it will hold you hooked to the story. One thing I loved was the presence of Magneto, every time he entered something epic happened and was really place out what kind of powerhouse he is. If your unsure of the X-men and looking for a classic story, this is definitely worth checking out!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    A bit dated with how hokey some of the language is. The panels can be a bit awkward. This was top of the line back in the day, so maybe not fair to compare it to today's comics. The story itself is classic, timeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    By far one of the best X-Men stories, comic stories ever...the topic matter is as relevant today as when it was first published, I've lost interest in the X-Men over the years, but this was an amazing look back at a truly amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    Not going to rehash hundreds of reviewers. This is a amazing comic and has a sharp point even today. The characters are in their prime and the story flows quick and strong. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    This is really well written, the artwork is great, and the topic matter is very deep. It had its moments that shocked me, and I felt what I was reading in this story. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    Nice art but retelling of a story which has been told. If you don't know Stryker story, then is amazing read with nice art. But if a long fan as I am, you won't search anything new. Showcases Kitty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    Just as strong now as when I fist read it 30-ish years ago. Beautiful much still the best thing to come out of the X-franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    Chris Claremont is thee best in the biz. Best read next to Days of Future Past. The story telling is real to his style.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    I love the X-Men. This was a amazing book. I enjoyed reading this book very much. I love the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2017-12-28 18:1

    A must read for all comic fans, not just X-Men fans. And still relevant, the tag of a real classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel is the adaptation of the popular kid's novel, Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer, who has sold millions of Fowl books to children and adults alike. Artemis Fowl is a 12-year-old genius who is taking on the globe of the fairies: gnomes, elves, dwarves and the like. He has a plan to score a ton - literally - of gold, but will it work out the method he plans?Artemis Fowl, from what I've gathered from the graphic-novel adaptation, is an extremely well-crafted novel. The fairy globe is rich, full of technology and well realized. Artemis himself is an interesting character, with several companions. The graphic novel is well drawn and well colored. The redaction from novel to graphic novel is my largest worry. While pages and pages go into the description of the characters in a novel, often only a drawing will suffice in the graphic adaptation. The creators of the graphic novel fix this by dedicating a "file" page to most of the characters and several of the settings and technologies.I have somewhat mixed feelings about Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel, and I wish to explain why I'm giving it **** instead of ***** or ***. The adaptation does tend to drag just a small bit, and I have to say, as someone who's read the graphic novel but not the novel, that the novel has to be incomparably better. I generally don't like adaptations too much, but this is a very powerful effort. In particular, I liked the lettering, which varied from when someone was talking to when someone was thinking or speaking off-page to when something was generally being explained. There is too much detail and craft in this book to give it a *** rating, but not enough overall strength to give it a ***** rating. ****

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    My son loves these books and they hold him interested in reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    I thought this book would be appropriate for my 9 and 11 year old boys, but the pictures are very violent, and the story line thin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    I loved the Artemis Fowl books. I read all eight of them a couple times. I bought this for my younger brother, who is not much of a reader. The graphic novel gets the story across but with serious hurt to the integrity of it. My brother liked it (He read it in less than a day) but is not crazy about it. I actually went ahead and read it (took me almost an hour) and it left me with a poor feeling in my mouth... I HATE the method most characters are depicted and I hate how much of the story was left out. So bottom-line it was OK for a graphic novel and flimsy at best if you compare it to the actual books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    Gave this book to my dyslexic god-son, he loves it! He has issues creating mental pictures from written words and this has helped him tremendously. I read Artemis Fowl when I was younger and enjoyed it, I have no doubt that my god-son will have fun this book and the other books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    He found the book to be interesting and exciting, and read it multiple times. A lot of people complain that children are not reading books without pictures. However, I search that students who otherwise would not be readers obtain hooked on reading BECAUSE of graphic novels, and once they develop the habit of reading, are less intimidated by reading other texts in high school, and develop a amazing expanse of background knowledge to improve their reading, whether they are reading graphic novels or more traditional texts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    This book was a true disappointment. The story may be amazing but the print is WAY to small.We got it with the intention of giving it to our grandson who likes fantasy type books.We had to obtain out magnifying lenses to read everything. It should have been published in amuch larger book. We have no idea how something like too little print ever past the editor!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    Eoin Colfer has made a very enjoyable fairy-meets-technology teen genius series in Artemis Fowl. This graphic novel of the first book is an interesting comic adaptation, but for me it falls short of the e globe constructed by Colfer is rich in imagination and humor, and somehow this book loses both in the drawing and writing. The translation into graphic novel is a tricky one, because the creation of fantasy characters based on traditional icons like fairies and dwarves requires some interpretation of ideas people already have in their is book is a clunker, while the rest of the series soars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    Children liked it a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel (Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novels)) review [Book]  2017-11-11 18:1

    They chop out a lot of the dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So I'm a Spider, So What?, Vol. 2 (light novel) (So I'm a Spider, So What? (light novel)) review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:1

    This series is one of my top three favorite light novels. This volume turned out to be an perfect read. A lot of of the events from the web novel create an appearance in a more polished manner, as well as some added scenes. I have pre-ordered volume 3 and I am excited for it's release in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So I'm a Spider, So What?, Vol. 2 (light novel) (So I'm a Spider, So What? (light novel)) review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:1

    I love it just as much as the first. I'm feeling so impatient to read the third, but alas, it must wait. Oh well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So I'm a Spider, So What?, Vol. 2 (light novel) (So I'm a Spider, So What? (light novel)) review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:1

    The web novel was amazing and the light novel is turning out amazing as well. Can't wait for vol. 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So I'm a Spider, So What?, Vol. 2 (light novel) (So I'm a Spider, So What? (light novel)) review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:1

    If you found the latest book enjoyable you'll probably have fun this book it is more of the same. Overall I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    So I'm a Spider, So What?, Vol. 2 (light novel) (So I'm a Spider, So What? (light novel)) review [Book]  2018-3-28 18:1

    The spider part of the story is straight forward: she is gaining power while facing monsters. If you like action and hero building it is great. The depth seems to come from the side story from a human incarnation which doesn't seem to run parallel timewise, potentially in the future compared to the spider story. Raises interesting questions about the nature of the globe and what is going the end an entertaining sequel that raises some questions about what is going on and adding some overarching plot beyond getting stronger/surviving which is amazing (not a huge fan of never ending stories). I do hope it does not become much darker though storywise. Not a huge fan of anti-heroes and angsty drama, which is not here yet but there are tips that it might obtain there. It is not what I am looking for in these kind of novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Miles is a new fresh Spider-Man who takes us on a journey through his neighborhood and his life. Love Miles as Spider-Man! My Junior High students love him too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Title: Miles Morales: SpidermanAuthor: Jason ReynoldsAge Group: Teen/Young AdultGenre: Contemporary Fiction/ActionSeries: StandaloneStar Rating: 5 out of 5 StarsI borrowed this book from my local library and reviewed it.Okay, so, anyone who knows me really well will tell you that I am absolutely obsessed with superheroes. DC, Marvel, it doesn't matter, just give to me! Spiderman was one of the first Marvel superheroes I was ever obsessed with, so when I heard that Jason Reynolds, a prominent African-American, young adult author, was writing a fresh book about one of Spiderman's incarnations, I was so stoked. And I was even more excited when I realized that the book focused on Miles Morales, a boy who is half African-American and half Puerto-Rican. Yay for diverse characters! Penning a novel full of action, with important, timely problems spread throughout, like racism, classism, and the sorry state of the U.S. prison system. What a thought-provoking book; definitely one of my favorites of 2017!Miles Morales is just an average child from Brooklyn, attending a posh boarding school and doing his best to obtain the attention of Alicia, a beautiful girl in his class, and stay under the radar of his creepy, not so subtle racist teacher, Mr. Chamberlain. The one exception to his ordinariness? He's Spiderman! Yes, the Spiderman, web-slinger extraordinaire. When he uncovers a plot with his family and the entire town of Brooklyn at its center, Miles must decide if he wants to leave the mantle of Spiderman behind, or if he will continue his legacy as the friendly neighborhood hero...I adored this book! Easily one of my favorite books of 2017, and what a time to read this! Rife with private issues, hilarious banter, attractive prose, and timely political issues, Reynolds has done nothing less than hit a home run with this book. Plus, I loved the method that a diverse hero was introduced. The Spiderman that I'm used to is the classic Peter Parker, and it was really refreshing to obtain a Spiderman that had a diverse heritage. And the chemistry between him and Alicia! Excuse me for a moment while I swoon. But even more than all of these things, I loved the method Reynolds talked about racism, the method it affected the past and present. And that ending though--I loved it! It was such a fitting end to a book that spoke so much about activism and helping your fellow man! If there was ever a book we required to read in this current political climate, it's Miles Morales! A superhero novel for all ages, I loved it so much! I can only hope that there's more to come from Reynolds and our friendly neighborhood Spiderman! The bottom line: A book that revolves around family, identity, and what it really means to be a hero, I loved Miles Morales! One of my favorite books of the year! Next on deck: The Spell Book of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Miles Morales is Spider-Man. He is a superhero wielding wonderful power and strength, wrapped up in the guise of a not so heroic 16-year-old teen who is simply trying to manage the intricacies of homework, a school crush, and trying to stay out of the hair of the peskiest of teachers at his school. He is a down to earth child from Brooklyn with a family who loves him and keeps him grounded, a best mate (Ganke) who is like a brother, and a well-deserved scholarship he earned to attend the prestigious Brooklyn Visions Academy. But life ain't all roses. An unfortunate, deadly accident is at the core of a family secret that truly is best kept buried...for , of course, there would be no need for a superhero unless there were, in fact, a villain; one who works in sinister ways toward the destruction of a community in trouble. Bent towards keeping those who would become great, oppressed, downcast, and hopeless. The battle for Spider-Man is very real. A war that rages on in both the natural and unseen realm by which the ultimate prize (for the enemy) is their demise. What a burden to bear. When it all comes down to it though, is it solely the job of the friendly, neighborhood Spider-Man to save the community? Or do its members use their power, their gifts, their voice, to war as well?As a fan of Marvel, I was very excited for this book! That excitement increased especially as the cover was revealed, illustrated by the awe-inspiring, Kadir Nelson, whose work is in every method brilliant! Jason Reynolds brought Brian Michael Bendis' Spider-Man (Miles Morales) to life superbly, making him every bit mysterious and relatable. As much as I love Miles, I adore his best mate Ganke just the same. He is the kind of mate we'd all hope for; having Miles' back at the toughest of times, making him laugh, and keeping him encouraged to war the amazing fight.I truly enjoyed reading Miles Morales and hope that there will be a 2nd and 3rd book in the works (can we obtain a trilogy, Jason?). There is more I would like to know about the mysterious Spider-Man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    This book started well, but failed in the ending. The author did a amazing job setting Miles Morales up at Brooklyn Vision Academy with his classes, struggling to balance classes, friends, family and potential love interest. The depiction of his best mate Ganke was amazing fun loving character, but when he turned to the superhero side of Morales, the ball was dropped. I felt connected and sympathetic towards Miles and wanted to follow his story as a teenage high schooler. Unfortunately, the "superhero" side of the novel was a large disappointment along with the finale and conclusion. The villain, which all superhero's have (i.e. Dr Octopus, Sandman, Green Goblin, etc.), was not explained or explored in any depth and lacked interest. No explanation of where or why the villain did what he did. The villain was uninteresting, no motivation, in fact, no explanation about the villain, how he got his powers, etc. In fact, the villain and ending where forced into the book instead of being seamlessly intertwined in the story. The villain and climax was so awkwardly placed in it felt more like an agenda to be foisted upon the reader rather than a real superhero story. It was tacked on without any forethought or planning. A amazing start, but a poor ending, with no true meaning or depth to the conflict. Nice try, but ultimately falling short.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    At first, I felt this was just a poor Spider-Man book, but really, it's just a poor book. Numerous plotlines are left unresolved, a lot of characters are underdeveloped, and Miles Morales, an established character, had his characterization twisted to fit the role the author designed for him. And let's not forget the villain with his nebulous powers and underdefined backstory. This book is avoidable at all costs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    One of the worst books I've ever read. There is no plot or story. A Spider-Man book where nothing really happens except Miles goes to school for a week. We obtain no answers why this teacher is harassing Miles, why all these Mr. Chamberlains are targeting minority youths or why they are having the same dreams. The villain of the book is only in it for the latest 20 pages. We obtain no resolution. Miles uses his powers in his civilian clothes to victory a dance-off in a crowded subway car. Miles's dad is portrayed as an a-hole who acts like his kid is a burden for most of the book. Oh, and search me one glass backboard at a public park in Brooklyn. They don't exist for the very same reason as in the book. Because children break them dunking off them. The author is supposed to have grown up in Brooklyn. You'd think he would have paid attention to his surroundings. This book is truly awful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Another unbelievable read by Jason Reynolds. My 12 year old son and I are large fans. His writing keeps you reading, and if you like Spiderman, you'll love this version. Hold writing, Jason!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    This book is brilliant. "Miles Morales" is a totally enthralling read, with an audiobook that takes it over the top. The plot is thrilling and thought provoking, the writing is compelling, the characters are vibrant, and funny. I love this book, and before going in, I wasn’t even sure I’d like it. I’ve never read a comic book that wasn’t named Archie, but here I am, fan-girling about a Spider-man novel, and hoping that Jason Reynolds writes a es Morales is a sixteen-year-old boy, with super speed, super strength, the power to camouflage, can throw webs, and has a spidey sense that he thinks has been malfunctioning. He’s also a sixteen-year-old, only kid from Brooklyn, with a Puerto Rican momma and an African American father who have invested their hopes, dreams, and cash to let Miles to go to a prestigious personal school so he can obtain off the the story begins, Miles is suspended from school after a conflict with his history teacher. Miles begins to wonder if his powers are glitchy because he’s been getting in trouble, and if he’s predestined to go bad. He’s battling the painful happenings of his past, while juggling the pressures of his future. Jason Reynolds’ Miles Morales is smart, endearing, charming, and simple to love and root for. Guy Lockard’s narration is perfect, with a dynamism that makes the characters jump out at is is a unbelievable young adult novel. It’s a book that adults will read and enjoy, but I think teenagers will love it, so if you have one or know one, push this on them. It’s both meaningful and entertaining–timely too. I love how Reynolds interprets Miles’ story. It’s real, even if it is about a child who’s part spider who swings around the town and wars a villain who tries to control his city. Miles himself has layers, and comes with the added gifts that are his hilarious best mate (love you, Ganke!), and his sweet parents, with a few other lively side you wish to read a new and multifaceted take on the Spider Man? Do you wish a story about family, friendship, romance, history, and what it means to war for your future? Do you wish to be taken on a fun ride, while being moved by the truth of the message. If you do, then read "Miles Morales."“You can’t be out there saving the globe when your neighborhood ain’t even straight.”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Unfortunately this was a major disappointment. Miles was almost never Spider-Man, the characters felt various from the comics, and a lot of didn’t seem to create much sense. The conversation of race was a amazing one, but it felt more like a book on race and less of a superhero book. I want there was more of a balance, it would have created the story a stronger one. I don’t recommend this book as a superhero book, and if you wish to read Miles’s story just pick up the comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miles Morales: Spider-Man (Novel) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I don't have much history with the Miles Morales ver of Spider-Man, so I can't speak to how this book ties into other stories about this character. And this is not an origin story; Miles already has his powers and has been using them when the story starts. I thought this was amazing because the story focused on how Miles felt his powers were getting in the method of the rest of his life. That was an interesting twist. I enjoyed the diverse cast of characters in this book, and I thought the villain situation was timely for the current culture. There were a lot of things left begin for future stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a really fun, interesting ver of spiderman. The art was also great, along with the writing. I liked how Prowler was back, so there were definitely homages to older Spidey material, while giving us some cool, fresh innovations, like the fresh spider mobile. All-in-all, the comic was real to the hero while putting him in a new-and-interesting situation, while maintaining the light-yet-serious tone of Spiderman. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I love this comics format. It's amazing to read these stories, see the unbelievable artwork, and know the book will latest a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Amazing work by Slott. Starts a small slow, but picks up in Vol 2. Spidey fans need this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    bonus for my great-grandson he loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    The beginning of a fun and promising Spider-Man run. Plenty of action right off the bat and also plenty of humor, sometimes to a fault.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I felt like the beginning was a bit weird. And the story in Nauda was random with the Goblin whatever. Other than that it was amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Introducing the next generation, my son and daughter, to the Spiderman Universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I started reading spider-man since "The Awesome Spider-Man Dying Wish" and I did not stop reading since. Dan slots is a amazing writer and I really enjoyed while reading this volume can't wait for more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Amazing begin to the fresh era. I am just afraid they have created Peter such a success now that they will soon have it all come crashing down and he will be back to where we started.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 1 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    The Awesome Spider-Man Vol. 4 Dan Slott (W), Giuseppe Camuncoli (A)Contains some SpoilersSpider-Man is rebooted yet again. After Spider-Man’s death in problem 700. The Superior Spider-Man took over for a while with Otto Octavius within Peter Parker’s body. In 2014 Parker was back in his own body and lucky to be alive! Spider-Man was rebooted starting with problem 1. Spider-Man unlocks Silk eventually and is hunted down by Morlun which led to the next plot Spider-Verse. Peter Parker from Earth-616 squads up with Spiders from various Earths to stop following the All New, All Various Marvel; The Awesome Spider-man is re-launched with Peter Parker running Parker Industries it says in the description above Parker has business officers in Fresh York, Shanghai, London and San Francisco. To hold his identity Parker has a bodyguard who created an appearance in the Spider-Verse Hobie Brown (Prowler) dressed in Spider-Man’s outfit swings and saving the day while Peter is being seen by everyone around is exciting to see the various Spiders teaming up with Parker, but the expansion away from Fresh York has the book going in all types of directions. It starts off in Shanghai and you are left confused because the Spiral story followed the Spider-Verse and left us nothing to introduce this next phase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide Vol. 7 (Amazing Spider-Man (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Spider-man rocks,what can I say,go wed-head.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Our almost three-year-old grandson is enamored withSpiderman, superheroes, and dinosaurs. He loves havingthis book read to him and is now picking out words aswe read to him. It is a amazing purchase for toddlers andpre-schoolers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My 4-year-old son loves spiderman and books, so when I saw this book/comic at such a low price, I immediately jumped on it. Amazing decision!The book has a total of 30 "useful" pages, each of them with some stage from Peter's life and a couple of very easy sentences. For example, some of the text in the pages is:- Page 4-5: "Peter lives in Queens. Queens is in Fresh York City."- Page 14-15: "Peter has a super secret.", "He has a costume."- Page 24: "Spider-Man can climb up walls."And so , I do search this book focus mostly on Peter's life, and not so much on Spiderman as a superhero. There are only 6 pages with Spiderman with the mask where he is actually doing superhero stuff, and all the others are just introducing Peter's life, his school and his tools. I actually like the idea of teaching my son about Spiderman's identity, but if you are looking for some action scenes, this is not your e only thing I did not like from this book is that it shows how Spiderman is bullied at school (Page 11). I do not like the idea of showing to my son how Peter is bullied and neither the teachers nor he do anything about it. What kind of notice sends that everybody lets the bullying happen, and then just go with "Peter does not care" (Page 12) and "At home, no one makes fun of Peter" (Page 13)? We ended up cutting off Page 11/12 (so my book now jumps from 10 to 13), and rewriting 13 to say that Aunt May is satisfied with how amazing Peter is in studies.I still rate this 5 stars because it is a amazing value and my son loves it, but the writers should have place a small more thought into the bully part!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My nephew is 2 1/2 years old. This is the only book that my sister can obtain him to sit down for. He lets her read the whole thing and loves pointing out Peter Parker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My 5 year old loves this book. There are a few difficult words for a beginner but most of the words in the book are simple for her to sound out. I like that even though it is an simple book to read it still tells the Spider-Man story. The neighborhood kindergarteners all come to my house to test to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    My son is 2 & 1/2, so I didn't buy this book to be a reading exercise, just a toddler level superhero story. The book arrived earlier today, just before nap time, and he was very excited to hear a fresh Spider-man story. Too poor Spider-man appears on less than half the pages. This is really a book about Peter Parker with some Spider-man thrown in. Still, my son liked it, so I can't complain too much. The illustrations are amazing and the short sentences would be amazing for a kid learning to read. We'll have to wait and see if he wants to hear it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    It works out amazing because young boys and girls love Spider-Man. Therefore if it helps them to stay reading throughout the summer I have achieved my goal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    They squeezed 2 pages at a time in and it just looks odd

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Amazing first readers. Bought as a bonus for a small boy , he really likes it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Amazing book for my 4 year old and prompt service!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Amazing Spider-Man: This is Spider-Man (Level 1 Reader) (Marvel Reader (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Given as a bonus and the kid loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man/Deadpool Vol. 3: Itsy Bitsy (Spider-Man/Deadpool (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Quality. Funny, witty and action packed. Amazing fresh hero who is a [email protected]#$% female. And she messes with their heads which is hilarious.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man/Deadpool Vol. 3: Itsy Bitsy (Spider-Man/Deadpool (2016-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Missing out on a lot of the witty banter and reads more like a Mary Sue fanfiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Reading comics digitally on Kindle has been a amazing method for me to catch up on huge happenings throughout Marvel's history for a reasonable price. I know the mantle of Captain Marvel has been passed down a few various times now and I decided I wanted to go straight to the not expect a ton of action in this book. That's not what it's about. What it is about is the life and death of one of the greatest hero's in all the universe. Despite defeating monsters, aliens, psychopaths, and super villain, cancer is a menace Mar-Vell cannot defeat. As he looks back on his triumphs, his failures, his impact, and the mates and loved ones he leaves behind, we feel Mar-Vell's mortality, his confusion, his fear. It's incredibly moving, heartbreaking, and inspirational. Heroes and villains gather to say their farewells to the legendary Kree warrior, showcasing the various ways an individual deals with impending death of a loved one. These parts were especially heart wrenching.I highly recommend this to anyone that hasn't yet read it, or for someone relatively fresh to comics to obtain a better idea of the legacy of a major character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I read sad stories but don't like them. This book about captain marvel dying from cancer is almost as sad as bambis mom getting shot by hunters. The artwork is good. Plot is a step above the usual slugfest. Not suitable for 12 or younger. Ties up what some bit players were doing at this point in the marvel universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I have always had a fondness for Captain Marvel, don't know why, but represented the best we could test to be, and as a child , reading his stories, I set a huge goal for my life. Sad he died ,but he is one that one method or another remains in current stories. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    I have always been a fan of Mar-Vell of the Kree (he later anglicized his name). This is the single greatest Marvel story ever. It really is full of pathos and wonder, and only Jim Starlin who had the greatest impact on this hero could have written and drawn it. I still have the original and got this ver so I don't have to expose it to my fingers. A truly touching story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    This is a spectacular graphic novel. It was Marvel's first graphic novel ever published and it still holds up as a amazing story even by today's standards. The emotions portrayed are deep and moving. Jim Starlin is a master storyteller and writes spectacular Sci-Fi. This is a must although I do recommend purchasing and reading "Avengers vs. Thanos" first. While not necessary, I feel it will thoroughly deepen your enjoyment of this comic milestone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    One of the best stories I've read since i began reading comics roughly a year ago! The life the biography of the amazing Captain Marvel a character to protect all till his finale breath!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    The title says it all, but it is how he lives and dies that makes the story. Starlin's work is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Its iconic cover lead me to pick it up, and the story is great. A must read for any comics fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    Captain Marvel is not a hero I cared about - I wasn't introduced to him via Saturday morning cartoons or the MCU. But this created me care - not because of his superheroic adventures, but because it's a well told story of a man and his mates facing an unexpected end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #1: The Death of Captain Marvel (Marvel Graphic Novel (1982)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    A very various comic book, covering some heavier themes in life but squarely set in the marvel universe. I didn't know too much about Captain Marvel coming into it, but the storytelling was so well done that it didn't matter I recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Spider-Man/Deadpool Vol. 5: Arms Race (Spider-Man/Deadpool (2016-)) review [Book]  2018-4-14 18:0

    This volume contains Spider-Man/Deadpool problems 23-28. For those who may not have kept up with the run, this is a amazing put to dive in as it kicks-off a fresh arc. Spidey and DP are on a bit of a "hiatus" from their bromantic partnership with the happenings of Secret Empire and the fact that Deadpool is on the outs with most of the heroes for what went down. This adds complications for Spider-Man, who feels compelled to take down DP, but feels conflicted because of their developed friendship and what Deadpool has done for him in the past (including pulling him out of purgatory (even though it was DP who place him there, but you know, comics.) Cue some chasing each other into the secret base of Tabula Rasa which is filled with lots of perils, as well as hidden motivations, and you have a fun, often funny, and fantastical ride for the mini-arc that runs from 23-25. (I love Chris Bachalo's art in these issues. It's creative and monstrous while often maintaining the underlying humor that lives beneath the surface in most SM/DP stories.)Issue 26 kicks off a side "future" story where Spidey and DP are oooooold, like really old, men living in an assisted living facility. This begin of the "oldies" arc is AMAZING, with amazing art by Scott Hepburn. It's this mix of funny, sweet, and melancholy, as well as some tension since you realize that DP knows method more of what's going on than Old Man Spidey sues 27-28 go back to the "present" where what started in the monstrous forests of Tabula Rasa continues as Deadpool tries to steal some high-tech SHIELD equipment, followed by chaos erupting in NYC as criminals like Kraven the Hunter are suddenly popping up, and Spidey/Deadpool search themselves fighting on the same side e mysteries started in this volume are still going in the current series (with #31 just released) so checking in here is a amazing put to catch what's happened so far, including the beginning of Old Men Spideypool, probably one of my favorite developments in this whole fun SM/DP series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 1: Into The Twilight (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    This volume collects the first six problems of this friendly neighbourhood series (plus a couple of short stories) which puts Peter Parker and Spider-Man back in his/their true world. I haven’t been this satisfied with a Spider-Man volume since before “Brand Fresh ’s got dialogue, art, and character-development above and beyond the run-of-the-mill; it’s got villains old and new, mates old and new, characters old and new, Iron Mans old and new, continuity old and new, and the final showdown with J. Jonah e Marvel actually trying to publish comics that people wish to buy again?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 1: Into The Twilight (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-1-28 18:1

    This author knows how to create a classic feel fresh again and beyond intriguing to all levels for comic fans. Chip is the next huge thing at Marvel, and I can't wait for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    For being a second title Peter Parker The Spectular Spider-Man isn't that bad. The villains aren't really that amazing though, I mean Spider Man wars Ninjas for god sakes. The arc where Spider Man became the lizard is awful. The art is not good and the pages are messy and unclear so its not even worth reading. Its not poor and the art is usually amazing but its diffidently a side book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    This "Essential" trade paperback collects black and white reprints of Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #32-53 & Annuals 1-2, plus Awesome Spider-Man Annual #12 and Unbelievable Four #218. The original cover dates are July 1979 to April 1981. Most of the problems were written by either "Boisterous" Bill Mantlo (#32-34, Ann 1, 38-40, 42, 53 & FF 218) or Roger Stern (#43, 45-52). Marv Wolfman wrote two problems (#44, ASM Ann 13), and Tony Isabella (#35), Tom DeFalco (#40) and Ralph Macchio (Ann 2) wrote one each. Jim Mooney penciled a plurality of these issues; the long list of pencilers contains John Byrne, Sal Buscema, John Romita Jr., Steve Leialoha, Marie Severin, Denys Cowan and Mike lti-issue story lines include: Curt Connors/The Lizard with "The Iguana", Spidey battling "The Swarm" created of bees, the pair of Annuals with Doctor Octopus (probably this run's highlight) , a crossover with the Unbelievable Four, the hidden crime boss Belladonna, plus classic villains Electro, The Sandman and Mysterio. A backup story featuring Bill Mantlo/George Perez co-creation The White Tiger starts in #49 and converges with the main plot by #52. Superfans will note the first appearance of Roderick Kingsley in #e stories in this book run parallel with the comics collected in Essential Awesome Spider-Man Volume 9. The PP:SSM series ran for 268 problems until 1998 and further Essential volumes are available. Unfortunately, the series has not yet been collected on a full-color DVD-ROM like "Amazing". The Marvel Essentials series offers convenient and inexpensive access to these 30-year old Spider-Man comics, though the black and white format resembles newspaper comic strips instead of full-color comic books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    THIS ESSENTIAL PETER PARKER, THE SPECTACULAR SPIDER-MAN WAS ONE OF THE BETTER VOL. OF STORYS THAT I HAVE READ IN SO TIME. WHEN WAS YOUNGER I HAD STOP READING SPIDER-MAN STORYS, THIS KIND OF BRING ME BACK TO THE 80'S.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    The book collects Peter Parker, the Spectacular Spider-man Problems 32-53, Annual #1-2 along with Awesome Spider-man Annual #13. The first eleven problems conclude Bill Manlo's impressive run on the series (though he would return for Problem #53.) Spider-man has some truly epic wars with the Lizard and the Iguana as well as meeting the villain Swarm (who is far more impressive in comics than he would be in later animated appearances.) and Mindworm. Two oversized Annuals battling Doctor Octopus are also very fun to sue 39 and 40 featuring his mutation into Spider Lizard (which strangely has no result on Awesome Spider-man.) Problem 41 is a small bit more forgettable as Spidey squads up with the fresh Giant Man, a hero who did't really latest as they war Meteor Man. Problem 42 finishes Manlo's run with a crossover with the Unbelievable Four in Unbelievable Four #218. It's a fun crossover that involves a war with the Frightful sue 43 has Roger Stern coming on to write a very clever Superhero mystery. Stern writes most of the rest of the book except for Problems 44, 53 and Annual 2. Problem 44 begins with another mystery over the death of mob bosses and leads into the return of the original Vulture in Problem 45 which is actually a unbelievable move that's very well-executed.Annual #2 is a very well-drawn story that has Spidey battling the Rapier. Rapier is a fascinating hero with a amazing back story. The Rapier is one of those lesser known forgotten characters that really makes this sort of book worth sue 45 sees Spidey battling the Cobra and then the next three problems have a very Noirish feel as it marks the return of Belladonna, and a amazing deal of mystery surrounding sue 49 has Spidey battling the Smuggler. Problems 50 and 51 have him battling aliens and they Mysterio. Problem 49 also saw the White Tiger getting a back up feature which set up Spectacular Spider-man #52 where Spidey gets White Tiger to the Hospital in critical condition and then has to war Gideon Mace, an insane ex-military guy bent on wiping out Superheroes. It's a amazing story that also serves as a book end to White Tiger's story sue 53 feels a small random as Bill Manlo returns to right a tale of Spidey fighting the Tinkerer and the Toy. It's not a poor story but is a bit forced.Overall though, this is a amazing book full of underrated stories and forgotten characters. It's got a lot of atmosphere and some very noirish and atmospheric stories . I recommend this for any fan of Classic Spidey tales.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    Look at this list of spectacular (get it?) talent featured in this collection: Roger Stern, Bill Mantlo, Jim Mooney, Mike Zeck, Frank Miller, John Romita Jr., Marie Severin, Al Milgrom, Frank Springer, Tom DeFalco, Marv Wolfman, John Byrne, Rick Leonardi, Sal Buscema and more! If that's not enough, classic villains such as the Lizard, the Tinkerer, Morbius, Doctor Octopus, the Vulture and Mysterio lurk within these pages! Small used villains like the Smuggler, Swarm and Belladonna create memorable appearances. These Late 70s to early 80s comics are from the time period where Peter Parker was serving as a graduate student teaching assistant at Empire State University and working for the Everyday World (mostly) rather than the more familiar Everyday Bugle. Aunt May, J. Jonah Jameson, Robbie Robertson and other familiar supporting cast members present up along side the likes of Debra Whitman and Hector Ayala (better known as the White Tiger). Don't overlook these stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man Vol. 2: Most Wanted (Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-11 18:1

    All right, now for a small "voice of reason" after a few five star reviews. Spectacular Spider-Man was always the "runner up" Spidey title and this volume showcases that well. Although it does focus more on Pete and his college teaching career, the supporting cast of characters are none of the familiars--Mary Jane, Flash Thompson, Liz Allen and the like. They are all relative unknowns who fell away into obscurity when this cycle of stories were over. Anybody out there remember Debra Whitman or Philip Chang? Didn't think so. The stories are also second tier with a gaggle of villains that border on the ridiculous. The Iguana. The Schizoid Man. The Vulture as a mob boss. Madame Belladonna, the fashion designer turned super villain who attacks with a deadly perfume gas (she is the main villain in 3 of these stories). Come on! Oh, and let's not forget when Spidey was transformed into the not good Spider-Lizard (I guess that's what happens when you are Curt Connor's teaching assistant). The inconsistent art is passable in some locations and outright poor in others with method too a lot of artists represented. Even the stories by folks that later turned out some fabulous comic art like Mike Zeck, John Romita Jr. and Rick Leonardi really look like green rookies in the art presented here. In comparison, the best problems in this collection are the two that were NOT part of the series--Amazing Spider-Man Annual #13 and Unbelievable Four #218. The writing is much better and both sport cool John Byrne art so you see how deficient the Spectacular items really is. You need to buy this anyway to hold the collection complete but don't expect to be bowled over by the comics presented here. The amazing news is that Volume #3 gets much better with more "important" stories, better characters (Black Cat, Cloak and Dagger, The Kingpin) and more consistent art (Frank Miller covers and some nice experimental Ed Hannigan pencil work). Slough through this one to obtain to that one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    One of the best X-Men stories!I usually don't like my comics to deal with true globe problems, they are a nice escape from those but this one is great, dealing with the oldest and most relevant of all racism, it's a amazing story of a never ending battle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    A bit dated with how hokey some of the language is. The panels can be a bit awkward. This was top of the line back in the day, so maybe not fair to compare it to today's comics. The story itself is classic, timeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    By far one of the best X-Men stories, comic stories ever...the topic matter is as relevant today as when it was first published, I've lost interest in the X-Men over the years, but this was an amazing look back at a truly amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Not going to rehash hundreds of reviewers. This is a amazing comic and has a sharp point even today. The characters are in their prime and the story flows quick and strong. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Just as strong now as when I fist read it 30-ish years ago. Beautiful much still the best thing to come out of the X-franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Chris Claremont is thee best in the biz. Best read next to Days of Future Past. The story telling is real to his style.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I love the X-Men. This was a amazing book. I enjoyed reading this book very much. I love the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    A must read for all comic fans, not just X-Men fans. And still relevant, the tag of a real classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Chris Claremont at his best, at least IMHO! I would say this is a must read for fans of the X-Men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marvel Graphic Novel #5: X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Clear timeless allegory in xmen format. Very poignant now and then. A amazing read for xmen and non comic readers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    With This Man (A This Man Novel Book 4) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:0

    With This Man (This Man #4) by Jodi Ellen Malpas4.5 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: KidnappingI purchased this book and used my private copy for my is is a book that will leave you breathless, feel emotions that Jesse normally hides and see a side of Jesse and Ava's relationship that normally you just don't sse and Ava are living a dream. They love each other more than ever, love their kiddos and have a beautiful charmed life. When tragedy strikes, it will take all of Jesse's willpower to present Ava why she loves is is a more emotional story than what I was expecting, but it didn't disappoint at all. I really love this series and this one added so much to their relationship. I felt that I got to see behind the scenes of what created them sse was much more tender in this story than he has been in the past. There are a lot of repeat characters, so I definitely would recommend reading all of these books. Jesse's hero is so complex, but watching him having to present Ava how much he loves her all the while giving her zone he's not accustomed to is interesting and great.I loved the dynamic between Ava and Jesse in this story and the twists and turns this story takes keeps you guessing. I loved everything about this - it was one I couldn't place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    With This Man (A This Man Novel Book 4) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:0

    Jesse and Ava have finally returned and all I can say is Long Live The Lord! Is it any surprise that Wards are still blissfully satisfied after all these years. Their love story was one for the ages and even now they have grow even more in love with one other with each passing moment. Jesse loves his life with his maddeningly stunning wife and excellent babies. Never could he have imagined before Ava stepped into his life this level of bliss. Ava’s still the ball of sass he fell head over heels for and no matter how much he gripes he wouldn't change a thing about his stubbornly gorgeously wife. Fate however plays a cruel joke when tragedy strikes and while sparing Ava it takes away all her recollection of her life with her Lord. In the blink of an eye it's like she's lost 16 years and Jesse is at a whits end as to how to trample this. But if there is one thing Jesse Ward isn'@#$%!& a quiter. His persistence once won him Ava’s heart, so he’ll just have to do it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    With This Man (A This Man Novel Book 4) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:0

    I have to say I was reluctant to read this book, I loved how Jessie and Ava ended and I did not wish that to tarnish. However I dived right in read it straight through and I was not disappointed. This book had everything suspense, love, family, friends, end of's, fresh beginnings, fresh hopes and finished with a fresh sense of piece for all. I loved visiting with Drew, Raya, Sam and Kate there friendship never wavering and stronger than even with fresh additions. Thank you JEM for bring The Lord back and all that comes with it was perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    With This Man (A This Man Novel Book 4) review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:0

    I've got mixed feelings with this 4th book. As another stated, the first half was slow and repetitive which could have been greatly shortened, I ended up skipping pages. The emotion in Ava's accident just was not there for me. Was the heart breaking loss really required in this story? I think not. I'm a bit sorry I bought and read this, it should have ended with the 3rd book. This story has been pushed too far. The nudity and sexual comments by the kids and by Jesse in front of the children really turned me off of this story, I thought reviews of the epilogue when the children were 5 would have changed jodi 's writing direction in this one. Somewhat disappointed.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter