Stealing Buddha's Dinner Reviews & Opinions


Submit Stealing Buddha's Dinner review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book was very odd, in a word. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It relied heavily on meal and pop culture references, at times too heavily, but having grown up in the same time and region as its author I could relate. Otherwise I may not have enjoyed it quite as much. At times, it was very obvious that the author was drawing from her other previously written stories and essays while writing this book (something I guessed with ease, even before learning it to be true). But it kept me totally entertained and drawn in, I didn't wish to place the book down...so I definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Interesting acc of a Vietnamese immigrant kid growing up in Michigan in the 70s. Follows the issues of "trying to fit in," worshipping the American method of life, and straddling two very various cultures to become the person who she is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Nguyen's meal writing is insatiable. Your globe just stops as she describes the lowly Pringle or Twinkie (look up her editorial on this), yet this book offers much more in exploring an immigrant's journey of becoming American.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Stealing Buddha's Dinner or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Stealing Buddha's Dinner video reviews and related movies:

    See Welcome to the Great Michigan Read from author Bich Minh Nguyen on youtube.

     related image

    See Stealing buddha dinner - Book Project on youtube.

     related image

    See Stealing Buddha's Dinner IMovie on youtube.

     related image

    See "Memoir, Stealing Buddha's Dinner" by Bich Nguyen on youtube.

     related image

    See Stealing Buddha's Dinner A Memoir on youtube.

     related image

    See Stealing Buddha's Dinner A Memoir on youtube.

     related image

    See Bich Minh Nguyen at Lansing Community College on youtube.

     related image

    See Tailor Made & IT; A Look Back: Act 2 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This is a fast and simple read, but not exceptionally exciting or moving. It is a straightforward book. The item arrived in a small worse quality than expected, but it was still a amazing value.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book is poorly organized and poorly written. The whole time I was reading, I thought, "Was there even an editor involved with this book?". One entire chapter is just a retelling of the Laura Ingalls Wilder books. There are some interesting characters, the picture she draws of my native Michigan is accurate and wry, and you will laugh sometimes. None of these attributes even comes close to over-riding the fact that this would have been and should have been a humorous essay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Presently reading this book. So far, very interesting. She is a amazing writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    As a Michigan resident, I enjoyed this charming memoir of a Viet Namese immigrant. It created me feel embarrassed at taking my own simple life for granted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    beautiful interesting book i had to buy for class. surprisingly i read it and loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Had to replace the one I lost. Amazing book, use it for teaching!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stealing Buddha's Dinner review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book is a fast read for people who are interested in other cultures but have no cash to travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    This dump meals cook book just created my life a lot easier in the kitchen. These recipes are super simple and taste amazing. Some of my private favorites are the crock pot ribs with has just 7 ingredients but the taste will blow you away in a amazing way, the simple salsa chicken with just 3 ingredients and the taste is omg and the ranch pork chops which just has 3 ingredients but the taste is so awesome, your family will think you have been slaving over the stove all day. If you are a person on the go, like most of us are but you wish to give your family amazing home cooked meals, this is the cookbook to have in your library.Disclaimer: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners)We have a very hectic life just like everyone else and it becomes difficult to cook good, healthy meals for our family when the especially hectic times come about. We used to every once in a while resort to quick food, which we still do at times, but a cookbook like this helps to deter us from doing that. My family deserves better than that and I love that I have fast simple meals that I can "dump" in the crockpot in the morning and come home to awesome meals at the end of the day. There are no excuses when you can do that! I love that most of the recipes don't have a ton of ingredients so it is very simple to throw something together in the morning before work, dump it in the crockpot to cook and not worry about dinner that night. We are periodically home during the day so I love coming in and out to awesome smelling meal all day to finally come home at night and have fun these fast and simple wonderful meals for dinner. Some of our favorite recipes are: Beef Stroganoff, General's Chicken, White Bean Chicken Chili, Chicken Cordon Bleu, plus so a lot of more! I was so satisfied to see that a cookbook that says the recipes are simple and the recipes are actually easy. Some recipes only have a few ingredients and most are about 5-10 ingredients which makes things so much easier. Again, this cookbook really is fast and simple crockpot dump meals. I love getting what I expect and something that will support me to feed my family healthier meals without me having to cook all day, instead the crockpot does the work!I received this cookbook at a discount in exchange for a real and unbiased review which I have provided above. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    I personally love this cookbook, and that's exactly what it is. It is a cookbook with nothing but recipes, which I love. I don't mind reading intros, but when I pick up a cookbook I just wish to see the recipes and usually bypass the introductions and other written portions. This book got right to the recipes, and they are very easy and simple to do. This is the excellent cookbook for families on the go or working parents!! It's amazing for beautiful much everyone!! My crockpot is my best mate when preparing dinner, so I love that there are so a lot of amazing recipes to test and enough that they don't seem redundant. Sometimes crockpot meals can seem like you are eating the same type of food every night, but the diversity of these recipes makes sure your meals aren't monotonous. You can easily add some bright side dishes like vegetables and salads to add to these meals, but some of these recipes don't necessarily require sides. For me, I always come home exhausted at night or wish to go to the gym after work, and by the time I obtain home, I don't have the time to create dinner. I love that I can just throw all these ingredients into my crockpot and have peace of mind knowing that dinner is taken care of for my family. Overall, I would definitely recommend this book!! It is a short book but the recipes are definitely worth it!! I received this product at a discount or free in exchange for my honest opinion. My views and opinions are mine and mine alone!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    I have so a lot of crockpot books that mostly revolve around soups and stews. Urf. This one has a ton of recipes and range with the ingredients. Generally you obtain a bunch of chicken and some beef (since pot roast is traditionally beef). This really does have everything! Fisherman's Stew (yes it's stew, but this is various since it's seafood), chicken cordon bleu, ranch pork chops, and Hungarian goulash to name a few of the meat dishes. What i loved is this actually had two or three meatless recipes as well. Cheesy ranch potatoes will most likely be a family favorite (with a 4 and 6 year old how could it not), while i am really looking forward to fall so i can test the mushroom and barley dish. This is one of the very few books that i read the recipe names out loud to my husband and he showed genuine interest in trying most of them instead of just a handful. Even the children named a few that they wish to try. Some of them do involve some cooking on the stove, but it is minimal and most of the recipes really are just dumping ingredients in the crockpot. I am keeping this book on my Kindle's carousel instead of dumping it off into my library where beautiful much all of my other cookbooks ended up. I got this book for free for downloading it and giving my honest review after reading. That being said, if you hold an eye on it, they will run it for free at random times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    I have seen the TV infomercials on the dump dinners and dump desserts, but have never tried them. When I saw this for the crock pot and free for my Kindle I had to have it. This had a lot of food ideas and cooking in the crock pot is so easy. I have tried several of these recipes and they have been a hit with the family. These are simple and quick to prepare. Obviously the time cooking in the crock pot takes a few hours, but the prep work is quick and easy. I also really like that it is on my Kindle. I can stand up my Kindle easily to follow the directions. I really would have liked to see pictures though. It seemed as though there should have been, but it was just blank. I would recommend these to anyone.I received this product at discount for my honest testing and review. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review and keep no incentives or rewards for doing so. My aim is to highlight features and drawbacks that I would wish to know about as a buyer, not hype the product for the manufacturer. My remarks are sincere and my own. While it is real that a lot of stuff are received at discounted rates or complimentary, my reviews are completely honest and are my private experiences with the product. Again, it is just my opinion, your own opinion might vary. I received no monetary compensation and I am not needed to give a amazing review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    I think these are some very amazing recipes for the crock pot. Just dump the ingredients in crock pot, about eight hours later you got yourself a amazing food for the lunch or dinner ere are recipes for beef, pork, chicken. Recipes your whole family going to enjoy. I can't wait to test them all for myself.I think the ones with the secret ingredients sounds very amazing and tasty.I recommend this cook book for any one looking for some fresh recipes for their slow cooker.I was offered this book for free for my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    There are some amazing recipes in here. However, there was a misprint and a repeat of a recipe instead of one that sounded really good. Most of them are for chicken. So, I don't feel I wasted my money, but there was one in walgreens that was much more comprehensive for $10.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    In this book you will search lots of recipes to prepare meal All you have to do is to dump all the ingredients into a crockpot and after a few hours you have fun a amazing food This has a lot of recipes to pick from I am doing the Beef Stroganoff It tells you how a lot of servings it makes This is 6 servings just the right amount for our family You will need 2 pounds of beef roast(bite size pieces) 1 can new mushroom(sliced) 1 pack of onion soup mix 1(10 3/4 ounce can cream of mushroom soup 1 (12 ounce) Ginger Ale 2 tablespoons of corn starch 1 (8ounce) Sour Cream 1 pack of egg noodles Mix mushrooms,onion mix,cream of mushroom soup and ginger ale together in your pot Cook on high for 4-5 hours or low 6-7 hours stirring occasionally For the latest hour mix 2 tablespoon of corn starch with a little amount of water add to thicken Then the sour cream to taste Cook your egg noodles as pack instructed Serve stroganoff over noodles This came out so delicious I love all the recipes in the book and they are simple to do Here are some Generals Chicken,Tortelleni Lasagne and Cowboy Casserole and a lot of more to pick from Glad I came across this book I required an easier method of preparing and cooking meals I received the book at a discounted price Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    First off…. This is exactly what every young working professional couple needs. I tried a few of these recipes for a cookout tonight. They were a complete e beef stroganoff was the best slow cooked food I have ever had. It was creamy, rich and overall insanely good. I think I had about four servings worth.I had never thought about cooking Chinese meal in my slow cooker before. The General’s chicken recipe changed this. I served it over some rice and it was very filling. It had a nice tangy flavor and was a lot healthier than some alternative Chinese la chicken was interesting. I had never even thought of using cola to cook with. It was a hit with the children and we enjoyed it as e recipes are broken down in to very easy steps. I could give this to mates of mine who do not cook at all. It is really simple to create these recopies and it is fool icken and sausage recipe was awesome as well.I have already emailed my clients telling them to buy this book. Simple, relatively healthy and delicious.If this review was helpful to you, please click on the YES button.I was sent this product in exchange for a discount on the item. I am a veteran private trainer and nutritionist and doula with 10 years experience as well as a degree in Exercise Science. All of the products I review are similar to something I use in my career for myself of my clients. The products are reviewed to the best of my private and professional knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CROCKPOT DUMP MEALS: Delicious Dump Meals, Dump Dinners Recipes For Busy People (crock pot dump meals, crockpot dump dinners, dump dinners) review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:1

    This book is...okay. The recipes are simple, as advertised. If you really don't know how to cook, I'm sure it gets the job e main issue I have with this book is...well...it's not very original. I've seen all of these recipes before, in several various variations, on free websites all over the internet. I suppose the value of this book is bringing them all into one place.I want the recipes were more inspiring, honestly. I know it's called "Dump Meals", but there's more to work with than [protein] + [campbell's soup] = meal.Honestly, if this book was published by Campbells, I wouldn't be surprised. I'm all for fast meals, but a lot of of these are going to turn into monochromatic so, the idea of putting frozen ravioli or tortellini in a slow cooker for 4 hours horrifies me of these do look promising, such as the Orange Shredded Beef, Pineapple Chicken Burritos, and Honey Apple Pork ever, in the case of the Orange Shredded Beef, Pork Loin, and a lot of other recipes in this book - they aren't "meals". The are main courses, or a protein, but I search that most people do not eat 1/6th of a pork loin for dinner and call it a ;DR: If you wish slow cooker recipes, google them.**A disclaimer: I did keep this item at a discount for an honest review. As I rely on Amazon reviews before making a purchase, I pride myself on leaving honest reviews as well.**

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Politicians, especially leaders like Churchill and Franklin Roosevelt, often seem to live at an Olympian-level, far above day-to-day concerns as they direct amazing matters of state. But the art of diplomacy on the largest of problems often depends to a surprising degree on little gestures and quiet, private connections. Cita Stelzer opens the door to a little-explored aspect of how Churchill used the easy act of dining to achieve political aims. Working to bring the U.S. into the battle versus Germany, forging an Allied tactic towards the invasion of Europe, and confronting the Soviet Union's post-War ambitions includes, it turns out, careful attention to both maps and menus; to military movements and seating charts. Ms. Stelzer demonstrates that Churchill used all the tools in his arsenal (and all the dinner selections at his disposal) to forge policy and to advance his art of persuasion. We know that Churchill was a amazing statesman; this portrait demonstrates, as well, that he was a man with whom it would have been delightful to share a meal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Stelzer had a amazing idea -- and one that surely marketed well. But the execution of this book was disappointing. The chapters follow a banal formula: brief historical context; arduous travel plans; menu; caveat that Churchill was not a drunk; the Russian send caviar and we are told that Churchill was brilliant (with no examples of his brilliance).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    This is an interesting (and important, at least to Churchill) angle on a part of Winston's life.He was the consummate politician, schemer, persuader, and host and he loved to have dinner where he could usually monopolize the conversation and fill the seats with interesting people who might contribute to the conversation and provide an interesting time for all as well as amazing meal and an abundance of drink and cigars or e book if full of menus, which are of amazing interest, as well as photographs of the haunts of Churchill in London and a lot of other photographs as he ate his method through three continents and three United States presidents, and, for the most part, enjoyed every bite and sip of is an entertaining book. You don't have to worry about grand strategies, beat off the revisionist historians hostile to WSC or contend with the a lot of who still admire this icon of the 20th century. It is a nice, quick, read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Of any person that has lived in the 20th century no other person has been written and studied more than Winston Spencer Churchill. Between Churchill's wide oeuvre of writing as well as his speeches and quotations, one can quite easily see why a lot of people consider Churchill to be the man of the 20th century. Most of Winston's accomplishments occurred in the 20th century but in essence the method to prominence of Churchill represents that deep down inside he was a British Victorian who lived under the auspices of the chivalry of a gentleman of the 19th century. Cita Stelzer has brought forward a fresh method of looking at the life of this extraordinary man. The old saying of "You are what you eat" can be applied to the sighting in on the lifestyle and intentions of Churchill as done by Stelzer. The author not only goes into detail of Churchill's palate's likes and dislikes, he shows the art form of high entertainment with men and women of eclectic cultures. Stelzer shows to us how Churchill used the art and persuasion of fine dining in using his powers to exercise his politics and influence the globe for the better. The author shows to us that Churchill place much effort in not only the state dinners he attended, but also the influences he brought forward on everyday lunches and even picnics in the begin air with his military leaders in Europe and Africa. This introspective study of high life diners and lunches also studies the other social habits which coincided with these events. Stelzer goes into detail about Churchill's drinking habits as well as his well-known smoking of expensive Cuban cigars. The legends of Churchill's drinking habits are studied and clarified which will dispel the rumors of Churchill being a raging alcoholic. Along with Winston's drinking habits, Stelzer goes into Churchill's cigar smoking habits. Both Winston's drinking and smoking habits are dovetailed into his dining and entertaining method of life. His dining habits reflect not only politics but also his wit and humor to people who associated with him. In result what Stelzer shows to us was that Winston Churchill not only revels in the traditions and benefits of fine dining, but also how Churchill tended to use these happenings to have people being persuaded to see Churchill's political policies in a much enlightened perspective. Politics as seen from Churchill's points of view is shown to us also as satisfying the palate and filling the stomach. Stelzer brings forth to us most of the amazing dinners Churchill had attended and how his actions affected globe politics. This was a highly interesting book which looking at the life and Churchill from a various and unusual perspective. Fine dining shows to us was used to forming high politics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    I keep Churchill in enormously high esteem. The power of his personality and belief in the special hero of the Brits are, in huge part, the determiners of the arc of WWII. Add in his dedication to amazing drinks, cigars, and food, and this book is a unbelievable companion to the a lot of epic Churchill biographies (and of course his own voluminous writings). Here you'll search meal and drink as politics. Meal and drink as a method to knock down walls and build bridges. Really enjoyed the detailed nature of the menu research and less common anecdotes. A very interesting read. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    I enjoyed this book very much as I prefer biographies over most other forms of literature. Having read several other books about Churchill, I nevertheless learned a amazing a lot of fresh things about this awesome historical leader. As an amateur cook myself I particularly enjoyed reading about Churchill's meal and beverage preferences. The importance of his conduct of political diplomacy at the dinner table is created evident by the author. She documents the a lot of cases before and during the battle where Churchill's magnetic personality and rare conversational skills served him, and the British people admirably. The book is well-written and simple to read. My main reason for rating it with just four stars is that the topic matter of the book itself is fairly short - with the latest third of the book created up of short, but interesting mini-bios of different war-time associates of Churchill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Despite the enormous amount of literature that has focussed on virtually every aspect of Winston Churchill's illustrious life and career, I believe that this is the only volume that concentrates on his dining habits, particularly as regards his "dinner diplomacy", his talent for using meals as a political instrument to achieve his t surprisingly, most of the table talk takes put during the Second Globe War. Ms. Stelzer describes the menus, the wines, the guests and the subjects of conversation in light, somewhat inelegant, prose that still manages to keep the reader's attention.Having squeezed nearly every drop out of the battle years, Ms. Stelzer finishes off the text with supplementary chapters on Churchill's unique preferences in food, spirits and, of course, cigars. Though somewhat less captivating, they will still provide the Churchill aficionado with a few more amazing all, this fresh work is a genuinely entertaining addition to the Churchill literature and is even more enjoyable accompanied by a huge cigar and double Cognac. My only true complaint is that the coarse paper and grainy photographs give the book a rather amateurish appearance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Stelzer has written an entertaining book, but it is probably more entertaining for readers who already know a lot about Churchill the man and the history of the first half of the 20th century. What an appetite he had! My only quibble is that Stelzer tries too hard to defend Churchill from present-day Puritans. He was an alcoholic by today's standards. I do not see how you can deny that. A lot of people mutter quietly that today's Puritans have gone too far in their quest to hunt out sins and punish transgressors, but if you use today's standards, Churchill was a highly functioning alcoholic, probably Bipolar ill was also racist, eugenicist, nationalistic, imperialistic and Havana-cigaristic. Okay, so he wasn't perfect. He was the battle leader that the West required in 1940, and he was obviously a damned amazing dinner companion. An simple read, much to be recommended to those sympathetic to both human frailty and human heroism as well as to those who simply admire what Churchill accomplished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Very entertaining and informative concerning one of the worlds amazing leaders, leading at the right time. Unlike today he and Roosevelt were statesman, visionaries and leaders that knew instinctively how to communicate with the very day man and woman. In today's Washington we lack leadership at very level, except maybe the FBI with Comey, whether Republican or Democrat we have a crisis of failed leadership in an extremely risky world, filled with the highest level of lies, deceit and minipulation, but Churchill's story demonstrates that with with true leadership the globe can survive, I am not sure we have those leaders today. But, have fun a unbelievable accounting of a amazing leader and how he lead the globe with Roosevelt to peace, which todays leaders seem determined to destroy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner with Churchill: Policy-Making at the Dinner Table review [Book]  2017-11-21 18:2

    Not bad, just not good. I've read a dozen books that showed more insight into Winnie's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    I really enjoyed this cookbook! I hoped I would search a couple simple recipes I could fix with limited time, but after reading the book there are so a lot of fresh favorites I can't decide what I wish to create first! I really enjoyed learning how processed foods trigger a response to consume more of them, even when a person is full. There were so a lot of other benefits in this book, especially the suggestion to use Sesame, Avocado, and Coconut Oils in recipes as well as Olive Oil, and the shredded Brussels in one of the salad recipes was totally fresh to me. Lastly, the conversion chart was invaluable. I, being from the U.S., have stayed away from recipes that listed ingredients using metric measurements because I was unsure of how to convert properly. Not anymore! This book is extremely well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    Well laid out and simple to use cookbook. Let’s face it there are tons of cookbooks out there taking advantage of this the newest fad, clean eating, but this is among the best! Easy and so far simple to prepare recipes. I haven’t had time to use that a lot of recipes yet but those I have had been key. Key in that they were as advertised quick, simple to prepare and just as necessary delicious. The Sesame Salmon for instance was as above. I highly recommend this amazing cookbook and I hope this cook will come out with more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    The recipes looks really simple to create and appetizing as well. Will definitely test the recipes in this book as I wish my family and myself to eat meal that are not only filling but are healthy and amazing for the body. I especially like that the book provided an introduction about what clean eating is so that people who might have picked up this book out of curiosity or don't have any idea about clean eating will be enlightened about the benefits of clean eating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    If you are looking for a attractive and very practical tutorial to eating real, clean foods, then you need this book! The recipes are simple to follow, full of easy ingredients, yet still special enough to have me wanting to discover the fresh flavor combinations. In a globe full of so a lot of processed choices, this book is a amazing reminder that "real" meal can be fast and delicious as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    I'm a soup and salad kind of girl; the recipes are here for experiencing various ingredients. Later I'll move on to the entrees. I enjoyed this cookbook so much. It starts by explaining what clean eating is, the benefits of clean eating and how to adapt clean eating into your life. The book is colorful, soothing and displays the recipes with attractive photos; it's educational and visceral. You will wish to cook the recipes in this book. And what a gift that you can access a weekly food plan and shopping list to support you on the path the clean eating. I'm diving right in!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    excellent to obtain ready for warmer weather!!! there were so a lot of combinations of salads! I tried several! they were amazing! the recipes are simple to follow and taste amazing , you even forget your eating healthy!!! the entrees look amazing, cant wait to test the shrimp! !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    I love a amazing salad. This recipe book had loads of fun flavors making me wish to read it in the kitchen while I cook. The colourful images caught my attention and were very inviting. Now I have to test some of the soups. So glad I found this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    As a working mom to an infant and a toddler, I have been looking for easy-to-follow recipes for healthy weeknight meals. This cookbook is perfect. The easy one page recipe format is simple to use, and the ingredients for each recipe are straightforward and new - mostly things I have in my pantry or can pick up at the farmer's market. Some really original recipes (I can't wait to test Broccoli Burgers!), and amazing twists on old favorites (Lime Salmon - yum!). Even my toddler wants to test the Sweet Potato Waffles! Added Gift for busy families like mine - the weekly food plan and grocery list. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    I love this book! I’m always looking for quick but healthy options, especially now that I have an empty nest. I need quick meals for just the two of us, and we really like salads. This book has so a lot of amazing options so we don’t have to eat the same thing every week! Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clean Eating Weeknight Dinners: 100 Fast and Healthy Dinner Recipes (ready in under 30 minutes) review [Book]  2018-4-13 18:1

    I loved seeing the recipes in this book because I definitely need to eat healthier and cleaner. Can't wait to test some of them, especially since they seem easy. The reason why I gave it a four was because one of my most favorite tasting meats and flavor (grilled lemon chicken) had the wrong recipe, it was for lamb. I would have loved to test it. But, other than that, I can see how following some of these recipes can support better your health.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Amazing recipies

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I created 1 serving from a few and they're all amazing so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I've had Dinner in Five for about a week now and tried 5 recipes. All delicious and all quite simple. With most other cookbooks I've tried, I usually don't ever really create any of the recipes because there are just too a lot of ingredients and complex steps involved. Amazing value here. The other Lunch and Breakfast books are amazing too. I've tried a bunch of the recipes and really enjoyed them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Not everyone is amazing at figuring out how much of this or how much of that you need to be full and still lose weight, these recipes will be a amazing help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Dinner is always the most boring for us and this book got us trying fresh meals but also had versions of our old favorites like chicken parm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I've created a few of the dinner recipes in this book already and I've gotta say, they're great! The flavor is always on point and it's not just meat and cheese, the ingredients also contain veggie sides and how to best prep them. They always taste awesome and with only a few ingredients. All 3 books are amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Keto Diet - Dinner in Five: 30 Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Amazing cookbook! The recipes are exactly as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    Easy enough for anyone to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    This was amazing ! Loved all the recipes in this book. Definitely worth the purchase if you’re looking to begin Keto

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    I created 1 serving from a few and they're all amazing so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    I've had Dinner in Five for about a week now and tried 5 recipes. All delicious and all quite simple. With most other cookbooks I've tried, I usually don't ever really create any of the recipes because there are just too a lot of ingredients and complex steps involved. Amazing value here. The other Lunch and Breakfast books are amazing too. I've tried a bunch of the recipes and really enjoyed them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    Not everyone is amazing at figuring out how much of this or how much of that you need to be full and still lose weight, these recipes will be a amazing help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    Dinner is always the most boring for us and this book got us trying fresh meals but also had versions of our old favorites like chicken parm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    I've created a few of the dinner recipes in this book already and I've gotta say, they're great! The flavor is always on point and it's not just meat and cheese, the ingredients also contain veggie sides and how to best prep them. They always taste awesome and with only a few ingredients. All 3 books are amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    Amazing cookbook! The recipes are exactly as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner in Five: Thirty Low Carb Dinners. Up to 5 Net Carbs & 5 Ingredients Each! (Keto in Five Book 3) review [Book]  2018-1-6 18:1

    Amazing recipies

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Big Steal review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    ‘The Huge Steal’, starring Robert Mitchum and Jane Greer and scripted by Geoffrey Holmes (Daniel Mainwaring) often appears to be best known and least admired for what it isn’t, namely ‘Out of the Past’. The latter, released in 1947 - starring Robert Mitchum and Jane Greer and scripted by Geoffrey Holmes - is regarded as an elegant and sublime evocation of noir. The ‘Big Steal’ is hardly referenced and not much regarded at all. Standing in the shadow of ‘Out of the Past’, it’s understandable that the ‘The Huge Steal’ seems overlooked and/ or underestimated. At just 71 mins long, it’s a much shorter, slighter film and nothing like as darkly noir nor as ‘memorable’. However, slighter doesn’t mean lesser as far as the pleasure that can be had from it. Even if it is the sorry stepchild of the “Out of the Past’, ‘The Huge Steal’ is a very simple movie to like. For a start, it’s unabashed fun. Even Bosley Crowther, the high-toned windbag who held the movie desk forever at the Fresh York Times found the film amiable. Here’s an excerpt from his especially garrulous review, July 11, 1949: ‘A breath-taking scenic excursion across the landscape of Mexico…through villages, on lovely begin streets and over towering mountains on switchback highways at a quick and sizzling pace’. ‘Seems that a certain tricky fellow, whom Patric Knowles suavely enacts, is trying to escape into the interior of Mexico from Vera Cruz with a load of swag. Seems that his stubborn pursuer is a curious laconic gent played by Robert Mitchum who is accompanied by a lady, prettily played by Jane Greer. Seems that another desperate party, William Bendix is after both and a Mexican police inspector, Ramon Novarro is tailing the lot’. ‘Just where and why they are fleeing is rather loosely and unsatisfactorily explained but obviously they are not friendly people for whenever any of them obtain together they usually fight. But that is not necessary and we casually advise that you test not to follow too closely the involution of the plot’. Well, there you have it. He’s done up the story, set the scene, captured the mood, and casually advised. Why, I could stop right here. Except there’s further a job to be done and that’s to plead a decent case for ‘The Huge Steal’ as a movie noir - at least enough of one for it to be able to sit facing the Blackboard without shame. Let’s begin with the problem of ‘The Huge Steal’s simple disposition. Though it’s real that the film has a much sunnier method about it than you would expect to search in noir, there’s also some really poor items going on here. Lt. Duke Halliday (Mitchum) has been framed for a robbery and is in pursuit of the true thief, Jim Fiske (Knowles). The issue is that Halliday too is now on the run, from his senior officer, Cpt. Vincent Blake (Bendix) whose reasons for chasing Halliday turn out to be not as straightforward as they seem. Ultimately, it’s going to be Blake’s duplicity and betrayal that qualify the film as solid noir. But meanwhile, the disillusioned Halliday proves himself to be no saint as he goes around dishing out the mayhem. The ‘Big Steal’ also covers some of the same disarranged narrative and thematic location as a number of later movies by its director, Don Siegel. In both ‘Madigan’ and ‘Dirty Harry’, for example, cops are driven to defy institutional authority and constraints in an effort to see that justice is done. Siegel in these movies actually disavows much difference between character and villain, with justice often ceding to vengeance. While Halliday is military and not police, he still takes the law upon himself because of the box in which he’s found himself. Like other of Siegel’s protagonists, he doesn’t allow a whole lot in his way. The thing about Siegel is that while he frames some interesting moral and ethical dilemmas, he seldom allows his characters to hang around for very long to dwell on them. He’d rather chop straight to the chase - literally - and as a former movie editor and second-unit director, knows how to handle the action. ‘The Huge Steal’ is noir-on-a-tear, a raggedy small B-feature built for speed with everyone going along for the ride. No wonder. Screenwriter Holmes/ Mainwaring bonuses Mitchum and Greer with as much keen, noir-induced dialogue and as a lot of slippery story twists as you could hope for. Mitchum and Greer create a amazing screen twosome but this time it’s Greer who really gets to present her stuff. As note-prefect as she was as Cathie Moffat in “Out of the Past’, director Jacques Tourneur really didn’t give her much more than just that one note to play as an impassive, amoral femme fatale. There’s nothing impassive or fatale about her in the ‘The Huge Steal’. Her Joan ‘Chiquita’ Graham is also chasing down Fiske, who’s supposed to be her fiancé but who has taken her for more than her virtue. But Greer’s got nothing but spunk, is at least as much on the ball as Mitchum and is no easier about hooking up with him as he is with her in order to reel Fiske in. The unbelievable stroppiness of the relationship Holmes has scripted out for them brings out the best in both actors. Mitchum is lively and Greer delivers the most appealing performance of her career (interestingly, she came late to the production, replacing Lizabeth Scott, who was taken off the production because of Mitchum’s arraignment on a marijuana rap). ‘The Huge Steal’ is a thoroughly high-spirited effort but shouldn’t be dismissed as just a breezy comedy-suspenser and a no-account noir because of it. While contrived humor can be poisonous to movie noir, that‘s not ‘The Huge Steal’s issue because Seigel avoids it. He’s no smirky Hitchcock. While ‘Private Hell 36’ is probably Siegel’s truest classic noir, ‘The Huge Steal’ shows more than enough of noirland’s darkened surface features - icons Mitchum and Bendix, a story washed dark with poor luck, betrayal, greed and corruption and a resonant exchange of tough words and hard fists, ‘The Huge Steal’ gives huge enjoyment and amazing noir both. Lie back and enjoy. Written by Gary Deane

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at Eight review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    Excellent. Part of my TCM Jean Harlow 4-pack, and the gift feature-length doc on Harlow's short life and career is exemplary. Highly recommended to any Pre-Code connoisseurs--and I know you're out there...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    Fun book to read. I enjoyed the story and evolution of the main character. You would like to join them for breakfast if they would just allow you know time and place. It is a hodgepodge of a lot of spiritual foundations, and sometimes you feel you are getting a lesson disguised as a story, but really only slightly. Just a nice story to read that makes you think about all the distractions and identities that hold us from knowing ourselves, and what happens when we begin to leave a small quiet time in our lives to reflect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    This is Murullo s first in a series of three delightful books that take the reader on a light hearted and engaging street trip with an entertaining Buddhist monk. Full of chuckles, while at the same time introducing the reader to the primary teachings and philosophy of embracing the show moment with acceptance and detachment. The three books follow the same family of characters through the challenges of life over a number of years, watching them grow and mature. They are so very true and likable the reader is sorry for Dinner With Buddha, the latest in the series, to come to an end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    Very humorous and quick moving book... My kind! I read the book and i think Otto's story is my story and monk's spiritual life is what I like to see in todays so called spiritual leader. Small too much detail on meal and restaurant. It gave me possibility to flip those pages and have fun other part longer. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    There have been so a lot of reviews of this book I hardly need to add another. However, I loved it so much I guess I have to place my 2 cents in. I actually agree with every 5 star review! Those who gave it 3 stars just didn't obtain it. It is a book we all can benefit from. I plan to reread it and to give it to my children. I only want I could live with the peace Rinpoche had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    I'd love to be able to take a street trip like this...OK, maybe not the yoga session, but the idea of "dropping out" with an interesting fresh companion definitely appeals to me. Growing up in the Amazing Midwest, where everything is hours from anything else, I've spent a lot of time in different vehicles going from put to place, often with someone riding shotgun who was an unknown quantity. Dealing with the family estate and a sibling who at times seems to live on another planet is also somewhat familiar. There are lessons here, presented in a non-judgmental, often humorous way. I'll probably reread this to see what I might have missed the first time around. Knowing that the story continues in his next book also gives me hope for more insight and possibly another street trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    I think that the author missed a possibility to convey a feeling of nirvana created possible by meditation and the looney-tune guru and lead character's loonier-tune sister who is now pregnant (by the guru) with no financial future. Enjoyed the meals described on the method to Dakota (North I think). Took them forever to obtain there. Unless you are unbelievably naive, you won't search much inspiration with this story, especially the ending, an uninspired rry Walker

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    I found it intriguing and emotionally moving at the end without even realizing I was feeling it. There were bits of the book that seemed tedious and unnecessary but the overall book was an simple read. Spiritual without being forced with a relatable storytelling structure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    "In a mysterious fashion not completely understandable to us, everything moves the individual toward humility."The above statement describes Roland Merullo's belief system in his own words. I search it comfortingly fits with my own faith, and likely most people's spirituality. Without being really preachy, it appears to be central notice in Breakfast with e novel begins when Otto Ringling's parents die in an accident with a drunk driver. Ringling must travel back to North Dakota to settle their estate and he expects to be traveling with his sister - whom he describes as flaky. When he arrives in Fresh Jersey to pick her up, he is informed that she will not be accompanying him, but her guru, Volya Rinpoche, will be going in her place. A street trip of humor, humility and unexpected insight await the reader of Breakfast with Buddha. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    This book is a needed summer reading for my son who will be entering his freshman year of high school. He has reading challenges and dislikes reading in general, but has been drawn into this story because he told me he feels like he has a lot in common with the main hero with questions about life and our purpose for being satisfied he has been reading and especially that it's a book that speaks to him! : )

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Breakfast with Buddha: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-22 18:0

    Took me awhile to give in to this story but I have to admit, I liked it and found myself thinking about it after going to bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    As a working mother of a five-month-old daughter, I need tasty recipes that I can obtain on the table in a reasonable amount of lissa Clark has yet to allow me nfession: I'm a long-time fan of Clark's. My husband and I own two of her other cookbooks and frequently create her recipes from The Fresh York Times' Cooking website. Some of those recipes (or related versions) appear in this book, such as the anchovy chicken and the spicy pork noodles with ginger and bok choy. The anchovy chicken achieves maximum flavor from minimal effort and is a frequent weeknight dish, while the noodles are more of a tasty weekend st of the recipes, however, are fresh to me. The spicy Mexican Tortilla soup was the respond to my long find for an authentic-tasting ver on a weeknight time frame, created easier by purchasing pre-made tortilla strips. (Passed muster with Mexican husband!)The jalapeño-honey skirt steak was another champion that came together quickly and gave sweet heat to an old nce we've only had this book for three days, I look forward to cooking my method through the rest of it, although her time frames for certain recipes are perhaps a small optimistic for all but very experienced chefs. Clark's introduction is fairly candid about the fact that time estimates are aspirational until you've cooked something a few times and suggests wine as a method to zen out and embrace the process. (Yes, please.)As for ingredients? Some of them (sumac,Pomegranate molasses) probably aren't in your pantry. However, Clark usually mentions substitutions, and an ingredient will frequently be used in more than one recipe. Push yourself! It's worth it!After all, the title is "Changing the Game," not "Same old stuff."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I would love to recommend this cookbook, but I sadly cannot. I love cookbooks and cook 5 nights a week. This one caught my eye for its attractive photographs and interesting-sounding recipes that were fast enough to create on weeknights. I’ve made: Sweet Garlic Chicken-the recipe calls for one lemon, quartered. The final step of the recipe instructs the cook to sprinkle juice from the “remaining” lemon wedges, but they are not mentioned anywhere else in the recipe. I decided to place half in with the chard stems and it turned out to be a tasty dish. Seared Duck Breasts with Plums and Garam Masala- no problems and absolutely delicious. Seared Sausage & Rhubarb with Swiss Chard-no problems and a very amazing recipe. Miso Glazed Salmon-the glaze was excessive and too sweet, but no recipe issues. Farro Pasta with Zucchini, Mint, and Ricotta Salata-neither the list of ingredients nor the recipe contain mint, but it does call for thyme. I split the difference and used ½ each. My ver was fine. Mapo Tofu with Mushrooms and Pork-the recipe has you grind toasted Sichuan peppercorns, but then never calls for them to be added to the dish. I’m making this tonight, which prompted this review! Red Curry & Coconut Tofu with Cherry Tomatoes and Green Beans-neither the list of ingredients nor the recipes mention cherry tomatoes. I didn’t add any and the recipe was good. Shredded Tofu with Spicy Ground Chicken and Edamame-no problems and a delicious recipe. My husband suggested serving it in lettuce wraps. Roasted Carrots with Walnuts, Feta, and Dill-no recipe problems and delicious (I subbed the mint for the dill as suggested by the recipe). As you can see, most of the recipes, after you figure out what’s missing, are good. After searching fruitlessly for an errata page, I contacted the author via Fb and have not received a reply. I think an error rate of 4 out of 9 recipes tried to date is unacceptably high for what would otherwise be a highly recommended book. If you are a less-experienced cook, be prepared for some frustration with this one. Also, as others have noted, most recipes do need a side dish, so plan accordingly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I recommend this cookbook for anyone who is feeling a small in the dinner rut. I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed when I first received it. It did not seem to include recipes that were all that fresh - it has elements of and related recipes to cookbooks authored by Diana Henry, Yottam Ottolenghi, Heidi Swanson (I own those). i.e. you can have a taste of the world's culinary offering with this book: Indian, Mediterranean, Italian, some French influenced, Chinese, Thai/Vietnamese. But none of the recipes seem to blend any strands of those heritage to truly surprise in a pleasing way. However, I decided to test them anyway and I am so satisfied I did. I have tried at least seven so far and - excepting for the Pad Thai recipe that was a heavy fail (too sour) - they have been reliably yummy. My favorite is the bean with arugula pesto. My children's favorite is the Thai inspired minced turkey in wraps dish (I forget the exact title of that recipe). Some of the recipes require a bit of planning ahead (the beans need overnight soaking), but otherwise most can be thrown together fairly quickly. This cookbook assumes a fairly cosmopolitan cook with a well stocked kitchen. You can't throw things together very quickly if you still have to go out to hunt for the ingredients. A lot of these recipes will become staples in my family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    My wife and I went to hear Melissa Clark read from her fresh book, Dinner: Changing The Android game at a local Barnes & Nobles. I had never gone to a reading of a cookbook author but was pleasantly surprised when she read her "Inttoduction" to her book. She explained how the process of cooking a meal, during the work week should be an opportunity to have a glass of wine, while preparing a dinner that you might only experience in a restaurant. However she emphasized that the cooking process should be both relaxing and enjoyable. Over the latest few weeks, my wife and I have had more fun cooking in our kitchen making one exceptional dinner after another. We have created over 10 various dishes ranging from Miso Glazed Salmon to learning how to spatchcock a chicken and making Chicken & Grapes! This was my first experience cutting through the bird's backbone and opening it up to create it cook faster. It was also the first time we carmelized grapes! The roasted chicken with its special seasoning was fantastic! Ms. Clark uses certain ingredients in a lot of of her recipes: Asian Fish Sauce,Sumac, White Miso and new ginger( just a few of the a lot of fresh ingredients we have added and had to replenish as we discover her cookbook). Instead of dining out, my wife and I have been loving our fresh cooking life together! When my mates are celebrybirtgdays or if I wish to give them the excellent gift, I've been sending them this unbelievable cookbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I love cookbooks, and Melissa Clark's recent really is revolutionizing dinner. I consider myself an experienced (though by no means professional) cook, and I search her recipes inventive, inspirational, and simple to follow. The writing is clear, the ingredients are readily available, and the results are as attractive as the photography. I am obsessed with this at said, this is not a cookbook for beginning cooks or the timid. One of the things I love about this book is that Clark pushes the envelope in unexpected and delicious ways. You need just a bit of an adventurous palate to have fun this, but if you're willing to push the boundaries just a bit, you will be well-rewarded. The meal within these pages is delicious.I've created the faux-tandoori chicken, the cumin spiced meatballs, and the sausage with rhubarb (though I subbed apples due to seasonality) and swiss chard. All were as delicious as I expected. Clark's recipes are well-spiced, which doesn't mean that they necessarily have lots of heat (i.e. chilies or cayenne pepper). Rather, she likes playing with warm spices (garam masala, cumin, cloves, all spice, ginger, garlic) as a method of bringing out unexpected flavors from even daily more benefit of this book is her ability to allow the cook know in advance when recipes can be paused, which stages can be done ahead, or how well something freezes. These hints are excellent for busy homes, and I haven't been led astray yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I fell in love with this book by Melissa Clark the moment I opened and start flipping through the pages. I wish to create and eat almost every recipe. The images are so gorgeous I wish to lick the pages. Most of the recipes are amazing for busy work night meals. A complete recipe is on one page, no turning back and forth while cooking. This is a book I will cook from often. They are not the same old recipes you often see over and over in a lot of books.I decided to dig right in and start cooking. For my first dive I created Black Bean & Roasted Poblano Quesadillas, which daughter and I loved. Next I created New Corn Cakes which were devoured by my daughter, son, hubby and myself. I used frozen corn and grape tomatoes. The fried sage leaves lend so much flavor. I can’t wait for new garden corn and tomatoes to create these again as I know if possible they’ll be even better. Next up was Kimchi Pork Chops. Wow! Loved the combination of flavors in the kale served with the pork chops. Kale, green onions, Kimchi, Fish Sauce, Sake, and Brown Sugar. After the pork chops are browned they are nestled back into the kale mixture and covered and cooked together. Hubby, son and I had a delicious supper that night. I just warmed up some leftover creamed cheese mashed potatoes and supper was ready in no looking forward to a lot of more delicious meals from this book. I highly recommend for anyone looking for an interesting and inspiring cookbook to obtain you into the kitchen and cooking.I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    A amazing cookbook is like a amazing restaurant: if there's only one head chef or one author, then the scope of the menu should be limited. I'm suspicious of restaurants that have pages and pages of meals from all types of cuisines (looking at you, huge chain restaurants). You know it's a amazing restaurant if they create only a few things, and have a line out the door. The same is real for a cookbook. If I see a cookbook by one author with breakfast and drinks and mains and desserts, I don't have high expectations. It's just not that common to search one person who's a master of everything. Half of the recipes are usually just fluff. So when I saw this book, that's just focused on main dishes, and it had a high number of reviews, I thought it'd be worth a look. And boy am I satisfied that I gave it a shot. I've created three of the recipes so far this week, and all three have been great. There are enough interesting ingredients to hold things fun, but the recipes are fast enough to be created on a weeknight. This book is a amazing addition to my kitchen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I love looking at the images of the food. I've have tried several recipes and they have been super. Thank Melissa for providing such inspiration for us weary cooks who are looking for something fresh and different.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Do you have fun exploring fresh flavor combinations? Would you rather spend a minimum amount of time in the kitchen to access these flavors? Melissa Clark, a staff writer for The Fresh York Times, has place together a delightful cookbook with over 200 easy, inventive "changing the game," Clark means forget the typical dinner consisting of a protein and two sides: no more three piles on the plate. Instead, prepare one dish, and perhaps add a salad and/or piece of bread to round it ark divides her book into sections by the main ingredient in the recipes: chicken, meat, ground meat, fish and seafood, pasta and noodles, tofu and seitan, vegetables, grains, pizzas and pies, soups, main salads, and a concluding section featuring dips, spreads and "go-withs." There is certainly something here for everyone. Helpful, too, is a section of ingredients to hold on hand such as preserved lemons, pomegranate molasses, and za' the recipes work? You bet; I tried three:ASPARAGUS FRITTATA WITH RICOTTA AND CHIVES. This fine recipe came together and cooked in about 40 minutes. It was tasty, especially with the ricotta surprise. ROASTED HAKE WITH CRISPY MUSHROOMS. I am always looking for fresh ways to serve fish; this recipe was a winner. I used cod; hake is not available in our area. The fish was moist and flavorful and went well with the mushrooms, thyme, sage, and 
lemon. It was on the table under 30 minutes.
ROASTED EGGPLANT AND CORN WITH RICOTTA AND MINT. My husband does not care for eggplant, but he changed his tune with this very amazing dish. Again, it needed minimal preparation and cooking; finished in about 35 minutes.I love this book with its innovative, quality recipes and short preparation times. Next up is Roasted Sumac Chicken with Plums - yum! The book is lovely with pages created of substantial paper; about 50% of the recipes have photographs. Do not hesitate to purchase this book if you are an adventuresome eater. Copy gratis Ten Speed Press via Blogging for Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner: Changing the Game review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    If you only had one cook book on your shelf this is the one to buy. The recipes are interesting, original and simple to make. I've always thought that if I obtain one amazing recipe from a cook book that I can add to my repertoire the cost of the book is worth it. In this book I wish to create virtually every recipe listed. What a bargain!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Beautifully written, simple to follow recipes! Plenty of recipes for this vegetarian to enjoy! The photographs are lovely as well. To quote a friend, “do yourself a favor, and buy this book!” I’m so glad I took her advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Must have also a amazing bonus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Attractive book with special recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Nothing like I expected-ingredients I would never use or serve to my family!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    amazing book, very unique, amazing recipes and description is excdellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Attractive inspiring pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    Love this book - they are mates of mine and I think they did a amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dinner at the Long Table review [Book]  2018-2-20 18:2

    didn't wish to create any of the recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Keto Dinners review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    This is the second cookbook I have purchased from Carolyn Ketchum. I loved the first book so much I knew I had to have this one! I cant stop reading it and I cant wait to begin cooking! I love the hints and tricks she provides for food planning! I love that every recipe has a attractive picture with reference icons to allow you if it's freezer friendly, 30 minute, slow cooker, or one pan recipes! The pictures create you drool and you cant wait to run into your kitchen and cook. I am a working Mom and cook low carb for my family of four and I love that these recipes are so simple and use ingredients you can easily obtain from the supermarket! Oh and if your dairy free there are a lot of dairy free recipes. So satisfied to see some Instant Pot recipes too! I love that most of the main dish recipes offer side suggestions to go with your meal. It is so well written and so simple to use with an index that has pictures of each recipe. It is necessary to me to have all the nutrition facts listed on every recipes too. I know you will love this cookbook as much as I do!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Keto Dinners review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    I own Carolyn's first cookbook, Daily Ketogenic Kitchen and it is amazing. Everything that I have created from it is so delicious! There was no doubt that this one would be just as amazing. I just finished looking over it from begining to end and all of the recipes are on my list to try! I cannot wait to begin planning my meals for next week and to test them all. Carolyn is an awesome creator of low carb recipes, I highly recommend buying both of her books! Can't wait for her next one, Simple Keto Desserts!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Keto Dinners review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    My wife loves this cookbook. All the recipes are amazing and easy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Keto Dinners review [Book]  2018-3-27 18:1

    Very well written and simple to follow instructions! The recipes look awesome and if I know Carolyn... they are delicious as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Buddha Wild: Monk in a Hut review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I loved this movie. The attractive Anna Wilding captures the essence of joy with effortless flair. Beautifully filmed, one walks away from Buddha Wild with vivid, memorable photos etched in their mind. I have actually watched this film, end to end, four times. Each time, I come away with small info I didn't catch before. A amazing introduction for anyone first discovering Asian cultures, and equally satisfying for those well versed in Buddhism. It plays brilliantly on the huge screen, but is also compelling on DVD.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Verry horrible..... I currently have three other android games on here that's just like pubg ... I want has a large begin globe and 100 players and I guess you guys can't even have more than one floor loaded in at a time. I'm not going to sit here and wait for a loading screen and then appear in front of the camper I'm all set. What's the Amy system is horrible in this Arnold fire

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    This android game is very amazing people give it 1 star because they think that servers are going to be 24/7 if the android game won't allow you on it means that there most likely adding a modernize or there working on something. But this android game is amazing create it more common to search a gun and ammo next to it...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    This android game was ok. It was lookin up... Now I can't even login cause it says connection doesn't work. I know for sure it does cause all my other internet requiring apps work, please fix, thank you 😏

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    fail to connect to server even with 100% loading,please fix this or I will uninstall it for next time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    This android game is so dumb why would war royale be in a skyscraper I mean its sounds ok but there's only one and its bland asf

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Id love to be able to connect to a server not off to a amazing begin for making any cash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    I will report this android game because can't log in(fail to connect to server)fix this issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Wo t even connect to server trash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Last Survive - Chicken Dinner review [App]  2017-11-30 21:0

    Everything 5 stars but the servers are down so 1

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    To Have or To Be? reviews Grapple hook reviews wholesale nfl moneynetwork.stock-options-picks.com/blogs/viewstory/58398 jerseys reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios reviews wholesale nfl bodasenvalencia.es/cheap-wholesale-nfl-jerseys-are-the-best-choice/ jerseys reviews Lost at School: Why Our Kids with... reviews How to Be Debt Free: A simple plan for paying off debt: car loans, student loan repayment, credit card debt, mortgages and more. Debt-free living is within Books (Smart Money Blueprint Book 3) reviews Therapy Games: Creative Ways to Turn Popular Games Into Activities That Build Self-Esteem, Teamwork, Communication Skills, Anger Management, Self-Discovery, and Coping Skills reviews Summary & Analysis of The Clean 20: 20 Foods, 20 Days, Total Transformation | A Guide to the Book by Ian Smith, MD reviews Rewirement: Rewiring The Way You Think About Retirement! reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios?: Convicción, en tiempos de escepticismo (Spanish Edition) reviews Self Mastery Boxset: How to Master Success, Abundance, Wealth, and Happiness reviews The Power of Paper: How to Create Wealth by Investing in Mortgages reviews The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital reviews King of Kings: A Paranormal Space Opera Adventure (Star Justice Book 11) reviews Lucky Soldier: A Memorial Day Brother's Best Friend Fake Fiance Romance reviews Murder Has Nine Lives (A Jaine Austen Mystery) reviews Enchanted Immortals Series Box Set: Books 1-4 plus Novella reviews Second Best reviews The Things They Carried reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter