Street mcclanahan35pri.livejournal.com/439.html Reviews & Opinions


Submit Street mcclanahan35pri.livejournal.com/439.html review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    I have been learning how to use HTML from my daughter but everytime I need to do something from it I have to call her or request her what you can do next this book assists me so i can do it on my own. I started when the android game Neopets came out a long time ago learning how to do HTML and features paid off for me personally when I have to design an online page or change shades on a www service or what ever I am performing and people don't realize how simple it truly is just altering a color is complicated to the majority. I really like this book and plan to create use of it often.I have received the product at a marked down rate to acquire my reasonable and sincere review. Practically nothing has been questioned of me other than to provide an honest overview of the product. As others have pointed out remember to don't just look at the ratings on these reviews, look at the reasoning behind them as they may be looking at the item for an completely various use or from an entirely different perspective that you are currently. If this review has helped you create a decision. Remember to hit the Yes button below. A lot of thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Product Review: HTML: QuickStart Tutorial - The Simplified Beginner's Tutorial To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) Kindle EditionCompany: Amazon via seller ClydeBank TechnologyThe book Html Quickstart Tutorial is a very handy reference for me. I am going my Computer Science degree at American Military University and required something more easy than there textbooks that over complicate everything. This did it for me.I am self-taught on web design. There is no method anyone can remember everything about html5 and css3, so it is nice to have a reference you can just pull up and search your codes is a primary book but that is what I wanted. I did not wish something that had 500 pages and you had to sift through all the fluff. Html is very simple to grasp but as I stated sometimes you forget the codes to use so this book helps me with my is not an all-inclusive book but a stepping stone to knowing how to write html. It helps you to start to build a www service from scratch.If you wish to create your own blog or begin your own webpage then this is a book that will do that. You will be up and running in no time.I give my reviews to products and sometimes obtain them free or at a reduced cost. I am not needed to give 5 star reviews but I am needed to give honest reviews. I still obtain products whether I give a 1 star review or a 5 star review so you can rest assured this is an honest ank youThe NickSter

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Very clear read! I recently finished this book, and have enjoyed it very much. I do computer builds / repairs on the side, and although i know what is in a computer, i can not tell you the first thing about web programming and design. This book has done that and more. It is a easy worded and understandable read. It will walk you through the history of HTML, the beginning basics, all the method to what is used now. Even without exploring hands on using HTML, i now have a very amazing understanding on what it is, how it works, how it has advanced and what is used most common today. Within this book, it will also provide with some hands on training that you can apply yourself, to practice, use, and master.I received this book at a discounted rate, in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. With having mates that do web design, i sometimes felt that they were speaking a foreign language. Well, not anymore!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Street mcclanahan35pri.livejournal.com/439.html or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Street mcclanahan35pri.livejournal.com/439.html video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Ok, first off, I am not a web designer. Nor am I a programmer and I have had no schooling in computer sciences, but am a regular Joe interested in the basics of web design and introductory coding. If a guy like me can create it through this book with a grasp of HTML and the differences of HTML5, then you can too. I would not say this book taught me to design web websites but taught me the introductory foundation of the basics. There is much in here that I'm sure I don't have a firm grasp of, and those with extensive experience would search elementary, but that's why I like this book. I look forward to reading more from this publishing company as the reading style is simple and not pretentious. I feel they write well for the beginner without using too much jargon. It's a fast read and worth : Simple writing style lets the uninitiated feel welcome in the globe of web designCon:None that I can see.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    I'm quite the computer geek so HTML isn't exactly rocket science for me anymore, but I got this book for my small cousin, as I am trying to turn him into someone equally as amazing as me. I allow him use a page on my hosting to play around with HTML as he read this book and he's already done some beautiful cool things with the hints from this book! In fact, he created a kind of online resume page for himself, although he's only 10. lol So if he can do it, you can too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    I received this product for free or at a discounted rate in exchange for my honest unbiased opinion. This discount did not affect my decision to purchase this item nor affect my opinion on it. I am a finance person that wanted to delve into the globe of technology since our globe is beautiful much driven by it so I came across this book and decided to check it out. The min I click buy, it is sent to my cell phone where I could instantly start to read it. This book is written well for the beginner or someone who has no clue about the internet, how it is run, how it is made, etc. Someone who didn't even know that HTML stood for something. It begins at the very basics and walks you through each step while not over explaining things so you never lose your place. It is simplified and simple to read. I am interested to see where I go with this. Maybe make my own website, maybe start a whole fresh career? who knows but what I do know is that this book is amazing for the HTML illiterate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Overall I felt this was a useful tutorial for the beginner web developer. With sample code that can be generated on your own pc and executed to see the results, it's simple to follow and understand the tags as well as the use. I have over 25 years experience coding in other languages and am just starting to delve into the web design filed. Like some other reviews I think it could have included a bit one very huge complaint is the summary section. While this part wasn't necessary, my private opinion is that if you contain it then it should be accurate. The copy I received had a summary for SQL query not the HTML that it should have had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    I have recently had to begin supporting a web based app within my company. I have no knowledge of HTML and search I am having to do a lot of web searches to search ways to accomplish what should be easy tasks. I am not a programmer and really don’t wish to be one. I was looking for a book that would give me the basics of using HTML and saw this beginner’s tutorial and decided I would take a look at it to see if it would help. Even after reading the first few pages, the language started making sense. The book gave me a amazing primary understanding and has created my job so much easier. It is exactly what I needed. I am actually looking forward to trying to make a www service myself. I think this book would be helpful to anyone who may be a beginning web developer or for anyone who may just wish to play around with creating web sites.I received this for free or at a discount for my honest and unbiased opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Good, but when using iPad and Textastic as an editor, a simpler html code has to be used for inserting photos and Safari doesn't understand some of the html5 used in this book. I [email protected]#$%! had a glossary for a fast review of all the elements and what they're used for. I also want it were a small bit more explanatory on the use of locations in between use of code (when a zone is okay and when it's not okay). Just writing from a beginners point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML: QuickStart Guide - The Simplified Beginner's Guide To HTML (HTML, HTML5, HTML and CSS) review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    I don't program with html but do have a need to go into the code and create changes. This book is so awesome and simple to follow. My confidence in html has skyrocketed since I purchased this book. I am now the go-to html person on my team.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view. To me a live view is whenever you can go there and it's live right there at that moment so these are just the same as going few weeks ago nothing's moved nothing's changed so this is not a live view

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This application is so bad. Full of ads really don't waste your time on this junk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Tried to search my house and was told road view not available, had to download Android device Auto

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view the picture is over a year and a half old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Won't even work won't even work won't even work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wont present true time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It's horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Fake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Just downloaded, already saying live map is not available and some words are not even spelled right...not sure how I feel about it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    The application told I was over 680 miles when I was only about 5 miles from a destination. Not accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    My zone seems accurate. This is beautiful simple to use for me. All you have to do is turn the zone settings on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Bait and switch... it isn't a live map...it is a platform for downloading other nav apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing. Couldnt view what i was looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Shocking.....just adware.....do not download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing... all adds

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wrong addresses...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Not a live app!!! Photos are old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    I wouldn't bother...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Baf

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Completely useless. Searched Paris, France just to try it out....took me someplace, not sure where!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Same as another application with a related name. How do you change to miles - no settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is useless it's not live

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not live and just of google maps lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It was live maps in 2008 when google drove by.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    needs more settings

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Useless

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Too a lot of ads. Deleted!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Ots ok..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    1 star is more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Worst application ever I looked at my address and it didn't have my fresh car it had my old 1 from 7 years ago do not download this application worst ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a LIVE road view. It's 224am and you guys are showing me a pic of the road during daylight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HTML Quiz Pro. Learn HTML Coding review [App]  2019-4-10 21:0

    awesome application to learn HTML . fun and simple to learn HTML

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This book was hard to read. Not because it was poorly written. Indeed, Rana Foroohar writes well, making complex concepts fairly simple to understand, with quotes and stories that illustrate points without being too contrived. No complicated charts, graphs or equations either. Rather, the book was hard to read because it paints such a bleak picture of our economy and of our future. The American economy is sick, and the name Rana Foroohar gives the illness is “financialization”, an “apt but wonky name” for the rise of “takers” and the fall of “makers”.Who are makers and takers? Makers make true economic growth. Takers enrich themselves rather than society at e issue is not just amazing vs evil. Our economy needs finance to grow. But when there are too a lot of takers and not enough makers, the fertilization finance gives the economy turns into more of a blight. The harvest is less bountiful, created worse by the takers taking an ever larger share from the shrinking e numbers defining this illness are staggering, and Rana Foroohar gives plenty of those. For example, only about 15% of financial flows now go into projects in the “real” economy that effect in growth. The rest goes into trades between financial institutions that are bets, not investments. As Warren Buffett told her: “You’ve now got a body of people who’ve decided they’d rather go to the casino than the restaurant [of capitalism].”Though the presentation of them is fresh, the ideas in the book are not new. Other authors have diagnosed the same illness of financialization in both the United States and the United Kingdom (over there it’s “financialisation”), including:Other People's Money: Masters of the Universe or Servants of the People?, by John Kay (The title comes from a 1914 book by Louis Brandeis before he joined the Supreme Court. This is the British subtitle. In the United States, the subtitle is "The True Business of Finance". Not nearly as pithy.)The Amazing Deformation: The Corruption of Capitalism in America, by David StockmanBetween Debt and the Devil: Money, Credit, and Fixing Global Finance, by Adair TurnerOnce the diagnosis is made, the issue becomes the familiar one from the fable of belling the cat. If financialization is the illness, what is the cure? And how can we create the patient drink it down? There opinion differs, often greatly. One can observe the symptoms of the illness, and the effects are there for all to see. Much harder to come up with is a convincing cure. Effects often have elusive causes, particularly in a complex adaptive system like the American economy.When it comes to cure, I’m not sure Rana Foroohar has a amazing answer. She writes well, and has done her research. But though she has 23 years of experience as a journalist, she is just a journalist. And mostly a columnist and commentator who appears a lot on tv and radio—this is her first book. Unlike the writers cited above, Rana Foroohar has no experience as an academic or a practicing politician. Her name is Iranian, but she grew up in the United States. Her academic degree is a B.A. in English literature, and she is not an expert on the economy and finance. Not that that’s necessarily a poor thing. Her reporting for this book is in depth over decades, she understands economics (though her view is high level and a small unconventional), and she has read a lot and interviewed a lot of people. But reporting tends to be superficial, to grab attention and then leave the hard work to others. It tends more toward the polemic than the expository. It is better for diagnosis than for cure.Rana Foroohar wrote a cover article for TIME magazine (where she works) that summarizes this book, calling the article “Saving Capitalism”. (Reading that article may give you a amazing idea of whether you wish to read this lengthy book. The best quotes and concepts from the book are in that article.) And saving capitalism is exactly what Rana Foroohar proposes to do. In this book, she maps out five key policy locations where we can place finance back in service to business and society, turning the masters of the universe back into servants of the people. But her prescriptions for a cure seem untested and e flipping of our economy from makers to takers is a serious, complicated problem, with no simple answers. Pundits and politicians push policy prescriptions on us as though they are easy and proven, but none are. So I do not blame Rana Foroohar for not having a certain cure to offer for the financialization illness. But that lack of a cure, unfortunately, is the weakness of her work. Even so, Makers and Takers is a book worth reading. The more discussion of these issues, the better. A lot of seem not even to recognize our economy is sick, allow alone seek a cure. Even with the supposed cures following the 2008 crash, the patient seems just as sick. Perhaps readable books like this read more widely will begin to remedy ough not as dramatic, Makers and Takers unsettled me, and created me think, just as much as the movie The Huge Short. There seems more gloom than hope in books like this. More dirge than anthem. A touch of the jeremiad and not a whiff of the Panglossian. Still, I hope that dark view motivates us to search a cure. I hope our economic future will be brighter than the past. For our children’s sake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    In 1946, over a decade before he became the architect of the Vietnam War, Robert McNamara was hired to rehaul the Ford Motor Company. It was in desperate need of help. The iconic corporation was hemorrhaging about $9 million a month. McNamara, an accountant by training who rose to prominence by applying statistical methods to warfare planning, immediately transformed the culture. Decisions were no longer created from the eye of a designer, or the experience of the line-worker. He immediately developed complex financial metrics to measure a product’s viability. Every penny spent in manufacturing, marketing, design, and engineering had to be justified and rationalized through this analysis. It shifted power from engineers to MBAs. Within three years he doubled the company’s profits. In Makers and Takers, Rana Foroohar argues that this was the end of American global automobile leadership. As crazy as it sounds, the question needs to be asked: Did modern finance destroy innovation?Makers and TakersThe book’s central argument is that finance should be a utility. Unlike an electric company, which allocates energy to businesses and people to power the economy, banks allocate capital. Theoretically, in an efficient financial system all an entrepreneur needs to do is have a amazing idea and a solid business plan. The bank evaluates the plan, loans the money, and makes a profit on the interest. It’s an easy, boring business. If things work out the entrepreneur becomes wealthy, people are employed, and the community receives long term investment. Foroohar presents the case that McNamara spearheaded a revolution that moved finance from a supporter of the economy to the center piece. It no longer allocates capital and gets out of the way; today finance manages nearly all aspects of business. It no longer helps create society; it takes from may be asking yourself, “Didn’t McNamara’s approach double profits in a few years? Didn’t he he bring a company back from the dead?” I think Foroohar’s respond would be: not really. Of course, every firm needs some level of financial structure to succeed, and he should be applauded for his contribution. But during the post-WW2 era, Ford’s growth was driven primarily by societal trends not anything one person did. The U.S. government invested $25 billion to make a 41,000 mile interstate highway system that reduced the time it took to cross the country from about two months to five days. Incomes rose by 2.5 percent a year creating the middle class. In plain English, McNamara’s arrival coincided with both a heavy increase in the demand for vehicles and a budding infrastructure to drive them on. He was born on third base, and everyone thought he hit a om a product perspective, Ford was in such amazing shape that it took about a decade for McNamara’s impact to be felt. According David Halberstam’s The Reckoning, a 1986 opus on the decline of the American automobile industry, under his system, managers “contrived not to improve but in the most subtle method to weaken each vehicle model, year by year.” This meant “a cheaper metal here, a quicker drying paint there.” Foroohar reports that the system tried to eliminate spare tires in the vehicles, because managers didn’t know anyone who ever had to change a tire (Executives often had company cars—replaced every six months). Eventually the little cutbacks led to large profits at the expense of quality. During his tenure, Ford debuted two of the most universally loathed vehicles in the history of the industry: The Pinto and the Edsel. “Accountants were replacing tradesmen,” Foroohar writes. “Making cash was slowly but surely replacing the goal of making amazing products.”The hidden poison: Modern finance destroyed innovationThe most damaging legacy of McNamara may have been his impact on labor relations. Labor became a commodified input. It was now something to be managed and squeezed; just a cost of doing business. Never mind that one of the major drivers of innovation is the collaboration of the factory floor and the engineering team. There’s a reason why Bell Labs designed their buildings to house both engineering and manufacturing—a tactic Tesla uses today. While Japanese and German firms were becoming more productive and agile by engraining labor into the strategic decisions of the company—America was building walls and eroding key competencies by outsourcing nclusionForoohar’s book isn’t perfect–it goes on a bit long and only offers a few solutions—but it’s a well-meaning and well researched book on the modern economy. Not the economy that we hear about on the nightly news or in sound bytes, but the actual structure and incentives driving modern business. She makes a amazing case that yes, modern the modern financial system has destroyed America’s ability to innovate. The entire system rewards short term gain, over long term investment. The amazing thing, she notes is that none of this is permanent. “We can remake [the economy] as we see fit to better serve our shared prosperity and economic growth.”This originally appeared on [...]Check it out for more reviews and analysis

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This is the 200-somethingth review, so chop to the chase: this is a amazing survey of the impact of the financialization on the US economy. Its main strength is that it highlights a lot of facets of the problem. It’s not a fun book to read; it’s crammed with info and doesn’t necessarily create them all hang together clearly. But if you stick with it you’ll obtain a amazing — and unsettling — e author (RF) defines financialization as “the trend by which Wall Road and its method of thinking,” which she terms “short-term [and] risky,” have come to “permeate not just the financial industry but all of American business” (@5). She covers numerous aspects of this problem, including: how firms like Apple spend more on buying back their own shares than on R&D, how investment banks like Goldman Sachs hoard physical commodities like aluminum and drive up prices, how personal equity firms now control most of the US rental housing shop (that one was fresh to me), how fund managers are helping themselves to Americans’ retirement savings, as well as how financialization has distorted MBA education, the tax code and Washington regulators. I admit I didn’t pay much attention to her proposed solutions: I lack the faith of most American business journalists that huge corporate capitalism can provide solutions. But RF’s diagnosis is valuable because it’s so wide-ranging.While some reviewers found the book simple to read, I found it more average in that regard: passionate, quite serious, with some arresting anecdotes, but otherwise fact-filled and at times very jumpy in its timeline. It doesn’t go into depth on a lot of subjects of interest: e.g., it’s not the go-to book to understand the derivatives involved in the 2008 financial meltdown (read some chapters of Janet Tavakoli, instead). There are a few celebrity-journalist touches, such as an awkward passage describing how corporate raider Carl Icahn entertained RF with his voice impressions (@121), but these don’t become overwhelming. Immediately before picking up this book I’d read “And the Weak Suffer What They Must?” by the former finance minister of Greece, Yannis Varoufakis. That book covers a various subject (the evolution of the global financial system, and especially the Euro) but shares some features of this book, such as a choppy timeline and name-dropping private anecdotes. Nonetheless, Varoufakis is a clearer and more thorough expositor of complicated economic ideas, while inserting a amazing deal of charm and humor. He is a professor who obviously cares about teaching, while RF is a very busy journalist: that contrast may give you some idea of what to expect from this book.A consequence is that the book omits a few easy explanations that might support readers to fit more pieces of the puzzle together. One is that transactions on the stock shop generally don’t bring any cash to the company whose shares are being traded — the cash just trades hands between buyers and sellers. Despite what textbooks tell you about the necessary social role of the stock market, less than 1% of the annual value of all exchange-based equity trading around the globe goes to companies as fresh capital to expand their businesses; the rest is gambling. So when RF mentions that "activist investors" don't deserve large dividends from tech companies because they had no role in helping to make the companies' innovative technology or making their products (@124), the same is real of just about any not good zhlub who bought shares on the market: your cash didn't support the company accomplish anything. It also might support readers to know that that the value of financial transactions, including on the stock, bond, derivatives and forex markets, is officially excluded from the definition of GDP, which represents the “real” economy of goods and services. The global annual value of trades on stock exchanges alone is bigger than global GDP, and when you consider the value of all trades in all sorts of financial assets, you obtain a lot of multiples of global GDP. That, in a nutshell, is why rich people see financial markets as a much better put to create cash than the true economy in which most of us work, earn cash and me minor issues: RF omits to mention the role of stock analysts in driving both share prices and executive behavior, and to define such terms as “asset values” and “Chinese walls” (and "eating-club": it's a Princeton thing, apparently). Some of her history, especially in Chapter 3, seemed to me a bit off in a few details, too. Surely systems analysis originated not in finance (@75) but in engineering and military operations research: see S. Optner, ed., “Systems Analysis” (Penguin 1973). RF seems to suggest that managers in the 1950s were focused on stock price (@81); but as I recall from listening to grown-ups as a kid in the early 1960s, investors cared most about dividends (and “clipping coupons” if they were bondholders), i.e., about a steady stream of income accruing from holding onto assets, not from making cash by trading. Also, by equating the emphasis on the bottom line and accounting that prevailed in that era with “financialization” (@79), RF seems to be using the word in a various sense from her definition at the beginning of the book. Finally, I found at least one significant mistake: RF says that the 1919 Michigan Supreme Court case of Dodge v. Ford “enshrined in law” the notion that “companies ha[ve] a legal obligation to maximize profits for investors, and that their interests trumped those of anyone else” (@70-71). When it comes to the day-to-day operations of a company (as distinguished from sale of the company in certain M&A transactions), this is simply not real in any US state or major country of the world, with the possible exception of Michigan. Plenty of businesspeople do believe there is such a legal duty, which often leads to corporations acting like jerks; so it doesn’t support for this book to encourage that false sum, this isn't a book to read for its style, nor, aside from a few anecdotes, for its details. But for its huge picture of how finance has invaded and destabilized so a lot of locations of our lives, it's worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This is one of the better books available on what's wrong with our economy and the causes of the slow e author spends a lot of time writing about Wall Road and "financialization" of businesses. Robert McNamara and the "Whiz Kids" changed the auto industry and not in a amazing way. That was only one of a lot of examples of what I would call accounting and numbers becoming a focus over engineering and quality. Carly Fiorina is e does an perfect job of following history and how along with financial deregulation, there has been a shift in priorities taught in business schools. Greed is good, tax inversions are ok, and the concept of "financial engineering." Corporate buybacks and short term profit over long term stability.On the financialization of business she covers Jack Welch (a pioneer in outsourcing American jobs) and GE's crossing over into financial services.Another very necessary topic is the slow recovery from the Amazing Recession. A lot of wealth is being kept in a "closed feedback loop" at the top.I wasn't aware of how much huge banks were buying up distressed housing. That highlights the emphasis on the housing recovery in general - cover the banks that gambled rather than the ere are plenty of rogues in the gallery- Goldman Sachs and their aluminum hoarding scandal. Pfizer and their quest to dodge corporate taxes in the id all the gloom the author does offer some more than reasonable solutions to the a lot of is is a 5 star book and then some!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I liked it. It's well and engagingly written, and doesn't require a PhD in economics (or whatever) to understand. I've always been personally quite conservative, but socially quite liberal, so a lot of what is written in this book rings real with roohar covers a lot of ground, most of which un-brain dead, open-minded, curious people have probably heard at one time or another on the air, online, or in print (e.g., her Time Magazine articles). But she employs good, real-world examples and info (that you don't obtain in typical media sound bites). They expanded my understanding of the issues, but got a small redundant. My experience is that a lot of this type of books chop, hash and mince the points over and over and over again, which is too bad.With less of redundancy, Foroohar could have more examples in greater depth (and still filled out the pages into a true book length). Or she could have provided more detail about her prescription for the future. I think the latest chapter on the future is really us only 3-stars. I still recommend that everybody read it, because it does include amazing information, is simple to read and engaging. But just don't obtain too excited, because the content just isn't there to fulfill the title's promise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    The book provides a lot of chilling examples of how financial institutions are increasingly controlling major shares of the economy. One of the most obvious is the derivatives business. Globally, the value of all outstanding derivatives contracts (including credit default swaps, interest rate derivatives, foreign exchange rate derivatives, commodities-linked derivatives, and so on) was $ 630 trillion at the beginning of 2015, while the gross shop value of those contracts was $ 21 trillion. Back in 2008, their notional value was $ 67 trillion, while the shop value of all the outstanding bonds issued by US companies underlying that shop was only $ 15 trillion. This shows that in the past 7 years the assets on which this gambling is based has grown by 35% (from 15 trillion to 21 trillion) while purely speculative activity has grown by a factor of nearly 10 (from 67 trillion to 630 trillion), which is nearly 1000%. The only thing the author doesn't address is how long we can expect the rest of the globe to permit the US banks to profit from, and risk the security of, the globe economy in this manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    An incredibly thought provoking book about how finance has taken over business. The general theme is that the financiers of the globe have taken over business in the sense that people do not run businesses for product development, R&D etc. but rather they run businesses that are driven by financial engineering. Case in point: Apple. Apple has transformed itself from a company that ignored wall road and just focused on wonderful R&D and development of innovative products to a company whose stock is driven by financial engineering. They borrow cash to pay dividends!As if to prove this point, I was watching CNBC interview a person about what GE will do with the "windfall" now that they are not under the capital rules of "too huge to fail". The "smart" person being interviewed said they could do one of three things: 1) Buy back stock 2) pay dividends 3) buy a company. This is exactly the craziness that Rana discussed. None of those three things add value - in fact, they generally extract value to the privileged investor. What about investing in developing fresh products? That was not even is a fascinating book and really should be read by all. It is the financial take over that is consuming business which is a key reason we have a stagnant economy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I just completed “Makers and Takers” by Rana Foroohar, a noted business columnist with Time and a CNN economic analyst who has 20+ years of experience writing about the economy and business. She describes the issue of Financialization of the US economy, which is the short term focus of business. She describes how American business companies like GE and Apple have used financial measures to manipulate their stock value rather than long term investment in products. She describes how Wall Street, investment banks, personal equity, hedge funds and others hurt our economy with all of their manipulation and risk. I was surprised to learn how investment banks like Goldman Sachs have such a significant role in commodities and how they often drive commodity prices higher due to their manipulation of this is a amazing book overall which identifies a lot of issues with our current economy and how our economy has evolved into its current state over the latest 30 to 40 years. She has a brief chapter on how to change things. She has some amazing ideas but does not discuss HOW these would be accomplished. I would like to have seen something more actionable to improve our economy. She discusses a lot of things throughout the book in a somewhat shotgun fashion. I think a huge improvement to the book would be an expanded section discussing tactical and strategic actions that could improve our economy that contains ideas scattered through the book as well as some of the huge ideas at the end. Realistically, the financialization issue will persist until we see a change in our political system that reduces the impact of lobbying. We had a near meltdown of our economy in 2008 and have not adequately corrected the issues which caused that (which the author agrees with), so I do not see how we can fix this until other changes are so, she seems to have a liberal perspective and therefore sees a lot of issues from that perspective. In spite of that, I believe she is spot on in most of her commentary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    TIMES magazine did not exaggerate one bit by giving Rana's work front cover latest year. If you really wish to know what is wrong with the America Economy, look no farther! I am a Robotic Automation Architect who finally had to leave my Fortune 100 Managed Health Care company of 27 years because they simply would not and could not innovate! Bottom Line, they didn't have the leadership to do so and most certainly did not have the will. Chief reason for such a condition? Ultimate because of the financialization of American businesses. When your Fortune 500 CEOs are compensated 82% in Stock, they are aligned with the financial industry and incentivized to treat their companies as speculative financial instruments, instead of Engines of the Economy. Of course, Capital Hill is in on all of this, since they have progressively dismantled the rules and regulation that have allowed the Financial Industry shifted from funding business growth into skimming lucrative profits from businesses. Definitely the Tail Wagging the Dog! Rana goes into all the historical detail in depth, which may be the Book,s only fault. All the tedious detail!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    The research and analysis in this book should begin your eyes to the deep class divide in the U.S., and other parts of the world. The finalization and privatization of everything that really matters does not lead a better society. A little percentage of the population is hoarding wealth and taking more and more of the economic pie. Deregulation of the finance sector makes this type of private wealth accumulation possible. It also means that we increasingly rely on a debt-based, fiat economy, that makes cash off of money, and trades and exploits things and labor for profit and greed. This type of economic system means things will obtain a lot worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    hd live road views....amaizing locations like white house...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    does Canada not exist?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    Patel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    It feels amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Explorer - Live Street View - Panorama 360 review [App]  2019-4-27 13:34

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    I chose "Going Home" as the title for my review because it's my private opinion that we "must" go home again to experience real healing . Only then can we search the best path for our lives. This is what happens to Taylor's character, Daisy, who is forced to go home when she loses her footing on the corporate ladder as well as her job. The story was a bit confusing as it similar to past relationships with family members. In certain places, it seemed Daisy hadn't seen her family in years although she lived just on the other side of the Potomac. At other times, it seemed they had shared holidays and other usual family occasions."Going home" forces Daisy to face her early childhood adoption and all the problems that trauma had caused throughout her life; specifically, in relationships with her sisters and parents as well as with the man she thought she loved. I found the mystery of Daisy's background and the unusual method she was forced into discovering her real identity very interesting. The local history was also a draw to me. All in all, I found The Union Road Bakery a very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    It's been awhile since I've read a book that I've enjoyed so much. When Daisy loses her job and comes home to work at the bakery, she has no idea what is in shop for her. The relationship and bond between she and her two sisters weaves a unbelievable story of family and how they work together to defeat their struggles. Intertwined in this story is a mystery about Daisy's past that unfolds through journals from a young slave girl. Loved this book! Can't wait until the 2nd one comes out!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    Mary Ellen Taylor is a truly gifted author. They story and characters literally come to life and I found myself not able to place this book down.A MUST read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    What a nice novel, I truly enjoyed reading The union road bakeryA family that sticks together stays together, A lotuntold secrets. Daisy battling with her identity since she was leftat bakery age 3 years old wow who does that, but ended up witha family who truly loved her. I just ordered the next novelGREAT JOB!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    And the story goes on! Amazing job of tying them together!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    Iam a native Washingtonian who spent every Sunday wandering King Street, the Torpedo Factory and eating at Alexandria restaurants. This story takes put there and it was so nice to travel home and read such a provocative history that begins before the Civil battle and culminates today. This book has it all and you won't wish to place it down. When you are finished and wish to reach for the sequel...oh no...not until November. Pre-order and look forward to another journey. Abandonment, adoption, job loss, death, slavery, intrique, ghosts, an old diary, older letters, love lost then found, baked goodies and receipes, intertwined families...and so much more. You will not be disappointed and will be anxious to read this fall's offering. The story is written well and is simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    This story has a lot of amazing characters, especially Daisy, the main character, who was abandoned by her bio Mom, at the family owned bakery at age 3. The family attempted to search her bio Mom, without success. They eventually adopted her, and always treated her as one of their biological daughters. The couple have two daughters, and welcomed Daisy with love and kindness. Daisy always feels that there is something missing from her life, and has a issue with relationships. She becomes educated, has an perfect job, loses the job and winds up back home at the bakery. There she uses her financial skills to support the bakery. It is a unbelievable story. The sequel is also very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    This is a complicated story of a woman who has never recovered from an early childhood trauma, despite the love of family. Slowly, she begins to come to terms with her life and recognizes her blessings. Family relationships and private growth are necessary themes throughout the book. There was much in the story that I really enjoyed, but I'm not sure why the ghosts were included. I thought they were unnecessary and seemed to weigh down the story. Another criticism I have is the periodic coarse language. I imagine the author is trying to create it 'real', but I don't need that in books. In spite of that, I do expect to read the next book in the series. I wish to know what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    I found this book on the Fresh York Times Bestsellers list and to my surprise; it takes put in a neighborhood not too far from me. I love this book, but not because it’s a Hallmark story with a Hallmark ending. It’s a realistic tale of how life actually unfolds whether fair or not. Daisy is a young woman who stops running from her past and slowly lets those who chose to love her back into her world. Through an unexpected source, she begins to face her fears and doubts and discovers that it’s not the people who left you that matters, it’s the ones that stay. This charming story is a small of both sugar and spice and a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Union Street Bakery (A Union Street Bakery Novel Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:0

    a cute story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    Don't recall where I saw the book cover early this morning, but I fell in love with Bob's picture and bought the Kindle edition. Downloaded it, got sucked in reading the first few pages and didn't place it down until I'd finished reading it a few hours later.I laughed out loud and had tears running down my cheeks as I read their very touching and heart-warming story ... and I hated that the book had to anks for sharing your stories with us, James and Bob!All the best.halTwoBigCats

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    I bought the book a small while ago, but finally read it: I lost my own orange kitty and I couldn’t bear to read about Bob, fearing there might be sad stuff. I LOVED this book. I Want I hadn’t delayed reading it, as it was positive, warm, and really hopeful. This is not just Bob’s story, but James’ as well. It really emphasized the invisibility of the homeless in cities, and the importance of having someone and something to be responsible for. Bob is really extraordinary and he and James bring out the best of one another. I learned a lot about the social help system in the UK as well as the animal help system. I will be sure to help The Huge Problem and what they stand for when I travel to UK in the future. I search myself “worrying “ about how Bob and James are doing. I feel that close.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    I have had this book on my "to read" list for a long time, and I've recently spent a lot of time on the couch trying to recoup from an infection. I thought a small heartwarming story about a man and his cat would be perfect, and I was right. It was a fast read, a small repetitive at times, but then again as a cat owner I know my thoughts obtain to be beautiful repetitive too. Looking forward to snuggling up with my two cats to watch the Netflix film later on. I hope the author is doing well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    This is a unbelievable story of the influence a road cat has had on James Bowen's life. He was a heroin addict used to sleeping rough on the roads but then was living in "vulnerable housing". Suddenly, a ginger colourful tomcat appeared in his flat and changed his life dramatically for the better. An unbreakable bond developed between them as they both navigated the mean roads of London together. The book is about their life experiences. Very, very heart warming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    I saw this book while walking through Barnes and Noble latest week and said oh wow Bob looks exactly like my cat and my cat is named Boba how amazing that is. That night I bought the book on Amazon and started reading it. I child you not 3 hours later I was done I never begin a book and read straight through it. I laughed and shed a few tears in certain parts and thought about wow how would I feel if this happened to me and my cat so much so I ended up hugging my own cat at the end as well. I loved every part of it and definitely recommend it to people. Definitely worth reading in my opinion. .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    The story is wonderful. It isn't the best written book, but it gets better written as you go along. It has amazing insights into drug addiction and the strong relationships that humans have with animals. I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    Heartwarming, moving, full of courage and hope, even when you feel you've hit rock bottom! Any 🐈 lover and anyone who has ever been down on his or her luck can certainly identify with the author of this book. I found myself rooting for both him and his best friend, the cat! Once I started reading the book, I didn't wish to place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    A heartwarming story that is created more significant since it is true. Bob is my fresh superhero. A short, but entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    I watched the film based on this story which got me interested in the book. I am a cat lover and Bob sounds like a very unique kind of cat. This book is well written and simple to read. It's sad to think about the kind of life James was living when Bob came into his life, but he created the most of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets review [Book]  2018-2-2 18:2

    Watched the film on 12 August, 2017 and left COMPELLED to buy the BOOKS (I had no idea there was a series)! I'm still reading them and am SO HAPPY I DID! Of course, the book is better than the film but I'm glad to have the books and to see the movie. SO EMOTIONAL but in a amazing way! AMAZING!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Trash review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    I could watch this all day. So much going on: the king of the scrapyard's 'Nam ptsd, the night of the living dead-esque sex scene, the bizarre android game of piggy in the middle with a severed penis, the sleaziness of the junkyard owner and how far he goes with it, the gruesome death scenes, the vicious cop. It's so rad and is topped with surprisingly amazing cinematography and a fair bit of social commentary. It's like Troma via Robert Crumb and a bit of 42nd road grindhouse. Highly recommended to all fans of Troma, melt movies, sleaze and splatter!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Streets of Fire review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Bombers, Blasters, Attackers and Roads of Fire. Streets of Fire is directed by Walter Hill who also co-writes the screenplay with Larry Gross. It stars Michael Paré, Diane Lane, Rick Moranis, Amy Madigan and Willem Dafoe. Melody is scored by Ry Cooder and cinematography is by Andrew Laszlo. When the lead singer of Ellen Aim and the Attackers is kidnapped by biker gang The Bombers, her ex-soldier of fortune boyfriend is contacted and hired to go obtain her back... There were a couple of films released in 1984 by maverick directors that were frowned upon at the time, but are now significantly held in high regard and define the saying "cult movie". One was Alex Cox's Repo Man, the other was Walter Hill's Roads of Fire. Streets of Fire is a @#$%!&? hybrid of ideas and influences. In part a rock opera set to the backdrop of blink blink blinkity blink neonvillle, an unnamed put that lives and breathes between 50s angst and 80s futurism, in others it's a straight forward road/mission film headed up by an anti-hero taking notes from Snake Plissken whilst jostling for cool zone with Kyle Reese. It's a film, that by Hill's own admission, is unashamedly a collage of things he finds cool in cinema. Yet this is not a detriment to the pic, the narrative is straightforward as can be and Hill throws everything he can into the mix, and it works. In essence it's a live action comic book, it knows it's just a movie and has no pretencions to seem remotely true life. The look is wonderfully flamboyant and campy, where the character and villain wear braces and PVC overalls respectively. The girls are a mixture of a teenage diva babe and a beer swilling roughneck babe. The town itself is a vibrant mix of colours and carnage, beauty and beats, and where the roads literally are on fire. Hill weighs in with his adroit flair for action, always kinetic, while the soundtrack rocks and the dialogue bubbles with self aware glee. Cast are super, some sexy and tough, others weaselly and weak, but all pumping the pop culture blood through the veins of the movie. With style and cool to burn, both only beaten out by the action quotient, Roads of Fire is an ode to live action fun. And watching it now you can see just how it has influenced a lot of a movie maker post its release. Roads of Fire, one [email protected]#$% @#$%! funky sex machine. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Trees in the Street review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The whole world's gone mad. Stark raving mad. No Trees in the Road is directed by J. Lee Thompson and adapted from his own play by Ted Willis. It stars Sylvia Syms, Herbert Lom, Ronald Howard, Melvyn Hayes and Stanley Holloway. Melody is by Laurie Johnson and cinematography by Gilbert Taylor. Capturing a young tearaway, a London copper tells the youngster a story from a couple of decades earlier. It's about a family living in the slums of the East End, of a beautiful daughter getting involved with the local racketeer, of the young impressionable son turning to crime, it's of their fates, trials and tribulations. Part kitchen sink plotter, part noir melodrama, No Trees in the Road is thin on story but huge on heart. Ted Willis is guilty of not fully pushing the drama through in his adaptation, getting caught between making a potent anti-crime piece and that of a mawkish "we had it tough back then" nostalgia trip. That said, the tale does keep tight throughout, and all the characters are nicely drawn and placed within a depressingly true backdrop. The means, motives and decisions involving some of them are cutting, keeping the narrative edgy, while the cast performances are bang on the cash for such a screenplay. Gift comes with Taylor's (Ice Cold in Alex/Repulsion) photography, which come the second half of movie dresses it all up in noir nirvana. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Lawless Street review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Yes, I know my rating for this is a tad high, but I just love both Randolph's work in general and Angela Lansbury at this really sexy juncture of her career. They have a really amazing chemistry together, even though the age difference is a shade on the 'Love in the Afternoon' or 'Lolita' side and can be a bit unnerving. Though I've enjoyed other Joseph H. Lewis films, such as 'Invisible Ghost' and 'Gun Crazy', he still doesn't have the touch for Western material that Scott would later have fun in his collaborations with Budd Boetticher. It's not as dramatic a difference as comparing apples and oranges, but it is noticeable. At least when it comes to Westerns (I haven't seen other types of movies by Boetticher), the guy's definitely an auteur, on the level of, say, an Anthony Mann, Howard Hawks or even John Ford. Very enjoyable, and a work of distinguished quality, definitely worth owning and re-watching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Lawless Street review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Funny how a man softens to another when once he's killed him. Marshal Calem Ware (Randolph Scott) is tired of Medicine Bend, tired of killing and tired of reprobates trying to slay him. He's also haunted by pain in his past. So when the past resurfaces and yet another scum-bag turns up to place out his light, Calem faces what he hopes will be the final day of reckoning. Brought to us by the Scott/Brown production company, A Lawless Road is directed by Joseph H. Lewis, adapted from a Brad Ward story (Marshal of Medicine Bend) by Kenneth Gamet and features cinematography from Ray Rennahan at French Ranch - Hidden Valley Road, Thousand Oaks in California. Joining Scott in the cast are Angela Lansbury, Warner Anderson, Jean Parker & Wallace Ford. This movie came a year before Scott would do Seven Men From Now with Budd Boetticher, the begin of which was a run of "adult" Westerns that showcased the best of both Scott and the Western of the 50s. So it's not unsurprising to search that "A Lawless Street" is some method short of the quality of the Boetticher/Scott movies. In fact, Scott may not just be in hero for the film, he looks genuinely tired, which is in keeping with the very tired feel of it all. It has proved to be a beautiful divisive movie amongst Western purists, the routine story not helped by the fact it has been done to perfection before in other, more notable genre pieces. While the script also lacks vim and vigour and Scott is surrounded by very average actors. The ending fizzles out after the promise of so much more, and in fact it's ponderously drawn out. Yet the first half of the movie saves it from being a stinker, Lewis' camera-work is fluid and fist war fans are served up a treat. And we even obtain Lansbury flexing her tonsils for a delightful small ditty. So it's very much a movie of two differing halves, one that sadly doesn't create for a satisfying whole. Much like Switzerland, I'm staying neutral with it, a 5/10 rating is given on proviso that it's noted that where Scott and Lewis are concerned, I'm unashamedly biased.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street of Shadows review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Pin-Table Murder: Surprise Development. Street of Shadows (AKA: Shadow Man) is directed by Richard Vernon, who also adapts the screenplay from the novel “The Creaking Chair” written by Laurence Meynell. It stars Cesar Romero, Victor Maddern, Kay Kendall, Simone Silva, John Penrose, Bill Travers and Liam Gaffney. Melody is by Eric Spear, with harmonica by Tommy Reilly, and cinematography is by Phil Grindod. A amazing old frame-up thriller with noir styling, Road of Shadows finds Romero as Luigi, the manager of a gaming premises in London’s Soho area. When an old acquaintance of his, Angele Abbe (Silva), is found murdered in his apartment, he’s naturally the chief suspect. Forced to go on the run, Luigi hopes that the police or himself can search the true culprit soon. The story is beautiful conventional stuff, with the mystery element none existent since it can only really be one person who committed the murder. However, the benefits elsewhere create this worth sampling by the movie noir faithful, even if it’s not what you would call essential viewing. The whole picture is filmed in the noir style, Vernon and Grindod not missing any opportunities for a bit of shadow play or psychologically tinted contrast usage. The backdrop is a dour London of dark roads and alleyways, a dank part of the town where sordid characters go about their respective business. These people are either carrying some sort of affliction, aggressive or are emotionally stunted. An abused wife, a sexually frustrated janitor with a foot disability, card sharps, a man with large cauliflower ears, a playboy, ladies of the night, or in the case of Luigi, someone who you really wouldn’t wish to count on. Police Close Pin-Table Saloon! Luigi’s Pin-Table business is delightfully dingy, filled out with slot machines and macabre looking android games such as a laughing sailor or Konki The Clown: Fortune Teller. Breezing around the put are the two gals, Angele and Barbara Gale (Kendall), getting the lads hot under the collar, while the human fortune teller Starry Darrell (Molly Hamley Clifford) is a splendid hero capable of smoothing out Luigi’s edges. Acting is good, with Maddern the stand out performer, and how nice to hear amazing quality Harmonica as part of a musical score. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Streets of Laredo review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Boys From Company D - Frontier Battalion. Streets of Laredo is directed by Leslie Fenton and adapted to screenplay by Charles Marquis Warren from a Louis Stevens and Elizabeth Hill story. It stars William Holden, Macdonald Carey, William Bendix and Mona Freeman. Melody is by Victor Young and cinematography by Ray Rennahan. For fans of traditional Westerns this is as solid as a Brick Adobe Structure. A remake of The Texas Rangers (1936) of sorts, plot finds Holden, Bendix and Carey as three poor boys who obtain divided by circumstance, love and conscious. Two of them wind up in the Texas Rangers - the famed frontier law enforcement battalion - the other stays on the wrong side of the law. All streets lead to the day of reckoning... The production is the usual mixed bag of superlative zone photography (Simi Valley/Gallup) and crude back projection so often seen in the 40s and 50s Oater releases, with Rennahan's Technicolor photography a treat for the eyes. Performances are assured because the three principal guy actors are given characterisations that suits them - Holden tough emotional anti-hero - Bendix a lovable and dopey toughie - Carey sly poor boy. Freeman is lovely but it's a dressage character, while Alfonso Bedoya is on hand for some stereotypical bandido villainy. At 90 mins in length it feels a bit padded out until the two guys actually join the Rangers, so some patience is needed during the first half. However, there is plenty of Western film action within the story, some turns in plotting to grab the heart strings and a pleasing array of costumes and musical accompaniments to hold the senses perky. All told, it's just a thoroughly enjoyable Oater regardless of if you have happened to have seen the original version. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Race Street review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    "Stay with it" Race Street, directed by Edwin L. Marin and adapted to screenplay by Martin Rackin from a story by Maurice Davis. Starring George Raft, William Bendix, Marilyn Maxwell, Frank Faylen, Gale Robbins and Harry Morgan. Melody is by Roy Webb and cinematography by J. Roy Hunt. Story centers around two mates played by Raft and Bendix, the former is a turf accountant and night club owner, the latter a plain clothes policeman. With a syndicate racket moving in on the Frisco bookmaking circuit, Dan Gannin (Raft) refuses to co-operate, putting himself in grave danger. Barney Runson (Bendix) wants to move in and do it the official way, begging Dan to step aside and allow the police do their job. But when the syndicate create a deadly move that hits Dan close to home, he's not for turning. In the grand scheme of Raft and Bendix movies, or classic era movie noir pics in fact, this one is little fry, but powerful cast and solid production foundation ensure it's an enjoyable experience. Story isn't strong, where two old mates lock horns while some villain throws his weight around, but in real noir fashion there's some sneaky surprises in shop and a none cop out finale. Technically it's interesting, one quite dreadful process backed sequence aside, Marin and Hunt hit the noir bars for mood compliance. The absence of chiaroscuro is a shame, for a number of scenes here cry out for it, but the lighting techniques and shadow indulgence keeps the eyes pleased. There's even a startling sequence that appears to present Gale Robbins floating in and around the night club crowd as she sings a song, while a bit of zoom play and nifty Frisco areas add further quality. Good honest noirville enjoyment. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street of Chance review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    As luck would have it… Street of Possibility is directed by Jack Hively and adapted to screenplay by Garrett Fort from the novel "The Black Curtain" written by Cornell Woolrich. It stars Burgess Meredith, Claire Trevor, Louise Platt, Sheldon Leonard, Frieda Inescort and Jerome Cowan. Melody is by David Buttolph and cinematography by Theodor Sparkuhl. After being felled by falling wreckage from a Fresh York building, Frank Thompson (Meredith) awakes in the road to search he has some sort of amnesia and his life may not be as he thought. As he starts to piece together his life he comes to realise he may have committed a murder and is actually on the run! An early entry in the original movie noir cycle, Road of Possibility takes what would become a familiar movie noir theme, amnesia, and seasons it with betrayal and the vagaries of fate. It's also a point of interest to note that it's the first filmic adaptation of one of noir character Woolrich's literary works, while the visual marker set here by Sparkuhl (Among the Living) signposts the influence of German Expressionism on the noir movie making style. The visuals range from low lighted cramped rooms to the different diagonal and vertical shadows that psychologically patternize the locations inhabited by the lead characters. The story itself is not so hot, once the narrative settles into a steady and unspectacular rhythm, as the key ladies in Frank Thompson's life come into play, there's a distinct lack of mystery or suspense. Which is a shame as the acting is of amazing quality even if the principals aren't asked to stretch their respective thespian skills. Still, with the visuals so powerful and the satisfying Woolrich feel to proceedings (though the finale is changed here from that of the novel), it's worth seeking out by noiristas. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Home Street review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    You guys did a amazing job!!! I absolutely love this android game just as much as I love meal street!! Only small problem is, getting energy drinks is really difficult. Can you please create getting energy drinks a small easier? Thanks and hold up the amazing hard work!! Im also satisfied that you did not test to make this android game like the sims. To everyone who never played meal street, you should download it and you'll see why the developers did what they did with homesteet:-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Home Street review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    I give this 3 stars. This android game has alot of potential it reminds me of the sims but brighter and bigger graphics that's awesome!!! I like the concept of the game, what i don't like about it is that you can't control your hero movements(like the sims) to sit,talk, eat,kiss,ect...and also can't use none of the stuff in her nce its fresh it's ok but later on down the line whoever the creator of this android game need to make batter the game. I will come back to check it the progression and then change my ratings. It can be an amazing game!!!👍😊

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Home Street review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This is beautiful awesome😄.. Since I'm an artist I love the graphics.. I believe the creators of this android game did a Unbelievable job putting this android game together.. However a suggestion or two.. It would be better to chat directly to the sims on the android game instead of to true people in true time.. Not much of a social bug myself.. So this should be another option for the game.. And also.. Being able to make actual relationships and create babies.. Drive even.. Better jobs you can actually go to and interact with the job quest.. Along with quest that you have given us.. Latest but not least more locations to go .. Like gyms.. Spas.. Coffe shops grocery stores museums.. Some where magical.. Maybe.. Clubs as well.. Who doesn't like to *PARTY* 😘 Everything else about the android game IS almost perfect.. So Thank You! for the android game and it being a *FREE* one at that😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Home Street review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This android game keeps crashing whenever I test to begin it, I reinstalled the application 3 times and still nothing. I pre-registered for it and waited so long just to come to this. I'll test again tomorrow and if anything changes I'll possibly give 5 stars. UPDATE! I got back on the android game today and it finally works! I love the android game and it's absolutely love playing it so I defiantly recommend it

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter