The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    After seeing the film numerous times, I thought it was time to finally read the book. Although sometimes the language can be colourful and literary, overall I could not place it down, and finished it in just a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    After 30 years it still resonates -- kind of sad really. Perfect read, for "readers," not for those who like snippet type reading. Only beef. Why of all possible endings did he choose this one?! Very unsatisfying after a substantial commitment to the story. Feels like he rushed the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book doesn't need a recommendation from me. I'll just comment on the Kindle production of it, which was good. I mention this because comments about typos in the Kindle ver of Wolfe's The Right Items created me cautious about buying that book, and the sample indeed had obvious errors, so I will only read that in a printed copy.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel video reviews and related movies:

    See BOOK REVIEW | The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe on youtube.

     related image

    See Tom Wolfe and Preet Bharara on The Bonfire of the Vanities on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire of the Vanities - Original Theatrical Trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See Writer Tom Wolfe Dead At 88 | NBC News on youtube.

     related image

    See Tom Wolfe Collection on Late Night, Late Show, 1987-98 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire of the Vanities A Novel on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire Of The Vanities 1990 TV trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See The Blondes A Novel on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Recommended by Scott Kelly in his book, Endurance. Is there anyone cooler than these guys? Man. What a life!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    There's a amazing reason why The Right Items is hailed as a classic work of literature. Tom Wolfe's writing gets you right into the headspace of the first astronauts in the Mercury program and examines the motivations and personality-types of men who chose to devote their lives to living on the edge testing experimental aircraft and being pioneers in the Zone Race.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book created me excited about the early days of breaking the sound barrier and then later the Mercury manned zone is is something unique about this earlier period, a story of unique men in a unique time with few rules and huge goals. It is a amazing dose of American competence. This was a period where having "the right stuff" showed off America's greatness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Saw the film before reading the book so I couldn't help, but to hold picturing Tom Hanks as the main character. I lived thru this era & Tom Wolfe depicted it perfectly. Not exactly a satisfied ending, but beautiful much everyone got what they deserved...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Reading this book for my son's academic decathalon, I was reminded how new and bright Tom Wolfe's reporting was compared to everyone else, then or now. Even you care small about the zone program or its premises, this is a story of misplaced men in a misplaced time that comes to life on the page through the special lens of Tom Wolfe. Wolfe benefits significantly, I think, from remaining grounded in the reality of the men of historical legend as opposed to the Booleanh drift that seems to take occur with his fiction

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The story soars for the first half and then, like a rocket running out of fuel, falls back to earth. It's exciting to learn about Chuck Yeager breaking the sound barrier, the pilots' code of "drinking and flying," the perspectives of the pilots' wives, the popularity contest among the pilots as they vie with each other to become the first in space. But a small more than halfway through the book, Wolfe runs out of fresh information, and he spends the rest of the story rehashing ideas and facts he introduced in the first half. All the exclamation points in the globe can't generate enough energy to bring the story back to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    If there can be any book of fiction to summarize 1980s social classes in Fresh York City, it's The Bonfire of the Vanities. Wolfe does a unbelievable job developing the characters in amazing detail. It really pins the haves of the Wall Road who live on Madison Avenue, versus the have nots of the South Bronx and other outer boroughs. The book is so much better than the Tom Hanks film can ever be

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I wasn't familiar with Lisa Wingate's books before I read "Before We Were Yours" but I'll be looking for others now that I've read it. I was drawn fully into the story, set in both the 1930s and show day. It follows the story of the Foss kids in the '30s and Avery Stafford in show day, and brings to light a horrifying and shameful real-life om the '30s to 1950, a woman named Georgia Tann, who ran the (Memphis) Tennessee Children's Home Society, stole not good kids from their families and newborn babies from single mothers and sold them to celebrities, politicians and others who could afford them. It was all done under the guise of helping orphaned and abandoned kids search amazing homes, but it was actually human trafficking.Avery Stafford finds a puzzling photograph that leads her into an ever more confusing story of secrets and lies inside her upright, respected family. Along the way, she starts to question the man her family has picked for her to marry and her expected role within the family. What follows is a heartwarming story of love, betrayal, memories and staying real to your heart. In addition to the well developed characters and background love story, I liked the realistic view into the 1930s.I really enjoyed this book and learned a lot about a dark time in our history, when being not good was enough to have a family ripped apart forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This is the first book I've ever read by Lisa Wingate, but having read it I will find through her other titles. It was an perfect book! The topic matter was hard, and sad at times, as I knew it would be before starting. I could not place it down because I had to search out how the story ended. It was a glorious book, I'm satisfied that I read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I bought this book because of the a lot of 5 star reviews and I was not disappointed. While reading it I was immersed in a various put and a various time.I was reminded once again that goodness and evil are amongst us permanently, and sometimes, it is the "virtuous" who harbor a very dark side. It is an amazingly beautiful, deep and very emotional novel, one you have a feeling of "living" rather than "reading".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A close-to-flawless book about family lost and found. At first, I thought the present-day story wasn't as gripping as the flashbacks. I was wrong. Both stories combine in a page-turning resolution. The author has taken not good happenings in history and breathed life into those who suffered because they were too not good to hold their families together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I didn't know what to expect from this book, it was a selection for our book club. Overall I really enjoyed the book, it is an simple read but it does bounce back and forth between show day and the 1940s. The intertwined story lines are simple to follow and the characters are well developed. This is both a satisfied and sad story, and I did shed a few tears but it was not an all out tear jerker. I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I liked the story. I liked the characters. It was a fast quick read, but I did not think it merited 5 stars. The split story line was a small annoying and a bit impersonal, probably because of the topic matter. It was not a book I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Interesting story and an simple read. This book lends itself to discussion and varied opinions. It also has a basis of truth in history- a very sad time for a lot of children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Unbelievable story that captured your imagination from the start. As the story progresses you can't support cheering for the amazing guys. It is a detective story that touches a lot of lives. The ending is well done and leaves you with a smile.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Extremely well written. Enjoyable doesn’t feel like the right word as it isn’t a satisfied story, but I loved reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was difficult to place down and I highly recommend it. I would like to see this story turned into a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Warning! I loved this book the first time I read it, but it was then called "Saturday Requiem". Now I have been fooled into buying it a second time,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I've been a fan of Nicci French's writing for a lot of years. With a minimum of words, she's able to transport me straight into her characters' world. That's real of this book, as well. I was there with Frieda, in the midst of her emotional turmoil. The psychological component is strong, and I experienced this story as I read ieda can be a difficult hero to like. She's standoffish, and her distance from others also keeps us at a distance. But that's an necessary part of who she is and what her history has done to her. While you might not choose to hang out with her as a friend, her life is such that you can't support being swept along, wanting to know how it all turns out.While this book is part of a series, it works relatively well as a stand-alone. The main plot is specific to this story and has closure at the end. Frieda's backstory is woven in enough so readers fresh to the series obtain a sense of who she is. That being said, there is a separate plot thread woven in that continues from past books through this one, which brings me to my complaint with this book. We have a major cliffhanger at the end. The cliffhanger is enormous, truly, and pertains to the ongoing thread that is not mentioned in the book's description. I am not a fan of cliffhangers. At all. It's like paying to see a film that stops midway, and then you have to purchase another ticket to search out how the film ends. So, given the method this series is set up with a major plot point carrying through all the books, coupled with the cliffhanger, I'd recommend starting at the beginning and reading these books in order, with full expectation of having to read them all.*I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A dark, psychological mystery wherein former police professionals/paraprofessionals re-open gruesome murders for complicated reasons. Although this story could be a standalone book, and is the first in the series that I read, it is in fact the sixth in the series. There were frequent references to previous relationships and I admit it became taxing not fully knowing what they meant. The tale itself did not require prior knowledge, although the hero development probably did. Having said that, the book is really good. It starts out tense and never lets up. The weather, the mood, the behavior of the different people under discussion...all of it became and remained ever more grim, brooding and disquieting. Frankly, I was relieved to read it during an overly bright sunny day because I would have been jumping out of my skin at night. It was just that creepy. The ending is well worth the tale, no disappointment whatsoever. And for readers of the series, it is clear there will be another in the series. I received my copy from the publisher through Edelweiss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I don't think you should be forced to give a star rating. I place a 3 but for reasons, I mention @ my blog I do not give any stars.Let me begin by mentioning the number of characters that are in this book is absurd and a lot of them are from previous books in the series some even stem for the first book Blue Monday. Therefore, as a reader, you might obtain scant to no explanation of whom a hero actually is. The plot from what is construed from the blurb is suitably written consequently a nuisance from Frieda's past is thrown into the story which to me the vehemence felt irrelevant and overpowering to the book. Nevertheless, if you are reading this as an ongoing series you might not feel this ditionally, one of my pet peeves is when authors do not execute a finished ending though some closure was achieved volumes were left unsaid as a effect I am left wondering what happened to several main characters. Maybe a book that starts with a Sunday will reveal the unknowns? Even though I have been harsh on the book so far it is filled with an abundance of conundrums. Unquestionably a complex whodunit packed with conspiracy, mystery, gore, and just when you think you have it figured out it will twist you one method then spin you is is not meant to be read as a standalone book. If I had started on book one Blue Monday and proceeded forward I perhaps could have established a more favorable impression of the book as a whole. Finally, I did not search this to be a poor book, in fact, I enjoyed a amazing deal of it, hence the negative problems just trampled upon a slew of good.OH WAIT! Frieda is only a Psychotherapist, not a Forensic Psychotherapist. Don’t you have to be a Forensic Psychotherapist to work with the police?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    At the risk of repeating myself --- a hazard at my advanced yet tender age --- I am going to wonder yet again, upon the publication of DARK SATURDAY, why the husband-wife author squad collectively known as Nicci French isn’t a household name in the United States. I also could obtain all Elizabeth Barrett Browning about how terrific this series has been starting with BLUE MONDAY and continuing through the days of the week. I won’t do that, though. I will simply attempt to convince you why you absolutely must read DARK SATURDAY, even if the protagonist’s name means nothing to you, and then go back and read each installment of the series from begin to ose familiar with Frieda Klein from previous volumes need only know this: DARK SATURDAY is a representative but nonetheless pivotal work in the series. For the uninitiated: Frieda is a quietly difficult yet oddly endearing protagonist, a psychotherapist with a keen eye for observation and a penchant for doing what’s right, even when it rubs hard versus the grain. This personality trait has made a issue for her over the course of the series with London law enforcement, from top to bottom and back again, as well as some notoriety (as we are reminded frequently here) with the public at t Frieda’s knowledge in her field cannot be denied, which is why she is requested, sub rosa, to examine a murder investigation that took put a decade ago. The case is a notorious one, involving an 18-year-old named Hannah Docherty, who was arrested, tried and convicted for the brutal murders of her stepfather, mother and brother. Hannah has been at a secure psychiatric hospital ever since, which itself is horrific. The evidence was quite clear, but the basic officer in charge of the investigation has had his competency in a current investigation demonstrably impugned. Given that his prior cases may also be brought into dispute by convicted defendants, Frieda is tasked with evaluating if Hannah is in any method able to bring such an action. After a decade in the institution, she is all but beyond help, so the matter appears to be closed. Frieda, however, is troubled by inconsistencies in the cases as well as by Hannah herself.While there isn’t one particular element that strikes Frieda as off-base, a number of disparate points speak to her, causing her to conduct an investigation more or less on her own. This once again does not exactly endear her with law enforcement or, for that matter, with people whose lives were touched by the murders so a lot of years before. Frieda will not be denied, though, and with the support of several mates (including Josef, the unflappable carpenter who seems to be far, far more than that), she stubbornly pursues the facts to obtain to the heart of the truth, whatever it may anwhile, a subplot that has run throughout the series presents itself yet again, advancing toward what appears to be a denouement. Dean Reeve is a brilliant murderer believed by the globe to be dead. But Frieda thinks he is very much alive and, given his obsession with her, is watching and waiting. Reeve does not actually appear in this book, but he is a shadowy and haunting presence nonetheless who ultimately manifests himself in the most graphic and startling of ways before story’s e French squad likes to take its time in setting up the pieces at the beginning of each novel, and DARK SATURDAY follows that pattern. But once an explosive revelation occurs --- about halfway through --- French throws a ticking clock into the mix as well as a couple of other startling revelations that create it impossible to read the book quickly enough to search out whodunit, why and how. You will probably guess, and most likely you will be wrong. Read as quick as you can to ed by Joe Hartlaub.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Summary from Goodreads:"Thirteen years ago eighteen year old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an begin and shut case and Hannah's been incarcerated in a secure hospital ever since.When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment of her she reluctantly agrees. What she finds horrifies her. Hannah has become a tragic figure, old before her time. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family; that something wasn't right all those years ago.And as Hannah's case takes keep of her, Frieda soon begins to realise that she's up versus someone who'll go to any lengths to protect themselves ..."My Thoughts:Wow. Wow. Wow. I have to say that this was the excellent book to read to support break this nasty reading slump I've been in lately! I couldn't (and didn't wish to) place this book down. It is so funny how you can be struggling just to search the time or will to settle down with a book....and then you pick up the right one and it is like you never stopped reading at all. I found myself absolutely immersed in this book and just so excited about reading in general after I finished. I love when that happens! I also really appreciated that it happened with this book as this is a well established series that I started right in the middle of. Did I miss certain things from not reading the previous books? I'm sure as there were references to other cases that Frieda was involved in. But for me if just has me super pumped to go back to the beginning to see how it all started. I love the fact that I have all of these other books to look forward to now. It's a amazing feeling!One of the things that I enjoyed most about this book was the premise of the story. It was both horrifying and compelling to think about the idea of a young girl convicted of the murder of her entire family with the chance that it was a wrongful conviction. Add to that the setting of a psychiatric hospital and a mystery and I was basically hooked from the very beginning. I mean how could I resist?? I really enjoyed Frieda's character.....there was just something about her that pulled me in as the reader. I found myself intrigued by everything that has happened to her - yet another reason why I'm so excited to go back to those earlier books. I just really enjoyed by entire reading experience with this book. The gift was a completely surprising ending and this book turned into a five star read for me. I haven't had a lot of of those this year which is why I can't say enough amazing things about this book!Overall, I really loved this one and am so excited to see what other readers think about it as well. I should have listened to my book blogging mates and started this series sooner! I've already got the first book on my library holds list so I won't be waiting too long before I go back to the beginning. I thought that this book was both quick paced and intense which are two of my favorite things to have in a mystery. I would recommend this book to both mystery and thriller fans. You can definitely do what I did and begin with this book (it obviously didn't affect my reading enjoyment at all). I do think that there are things you miss not reading in order but that just gives me an excuse to reread this one once I catch up on the rest. Ha! Highly recommended!Bottom Line: Very likely to become one of my favorites of 2017!Disclosure: I received a copy of this book courtesy of the publisher as part of a TLC book tour.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The series began with Monday, so this is the sixth book featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein. Dr. Klein has had a controversial part-time association working with the police in London as a consultant. Frieda Klein is one of the most interesting and compelling characters in a continuing series. If you have not read any of these books, stop here and immediately search Blue Monday to begin. These are books that should be read in order so that you know the characters, have the back stories about all that has gone wrong in the past and all that has gone right, and know the saga of Dean. Frieda has her demons, her friends, and her family. You will care about all of them. You will walk for miles throughout London with Frieda. I also have fun Frieda’s sessions with her patients. The patient sessions usually have small to do with the murder investigations, but they illustrate Frieda’s hero and add to the interest. This book is the recent in the series and like the others, it is impossible to place down. The atmosphere is dark, the plotting and writing are taut, and the mood is intense. Frieda is loyal, dedicated, and ethical, with a private integrity that drives her. It is difficult to make a hero with all those lofty qualities and not have one iota of sappiness or condescension, but our author does it well. These are books that you will seek out and wait for. These are books that you will not place down. The poor guys are very bad- beautiful much clever amoral sociopaths. The murders are violent. And on top of that, creepy things are happening. At the end of the previous book, Frieda created a bargain that resulted in her owing a favor to a shadowy, strong person. In this book, Levin calls in the favor and Frieda is asked to reexamine a cold case. Hannah has been confined in a hospital for the criminally insane after being convicted of the brutal murders of her entire family. Hannah may have been an mad and troubled teenager, but after years of solitary confinement and abuse at the hospital, her sanity seems lost and her life threatened. It’s not long before Frieda sees irregularities in the original investigation. Meanwhile the threat from Dean is ever-present. It appears that there are only two more books planned in the series. I will be sorry to see it end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A charismatic female hero and amazing plotting kept me wishing the novel were longer. I gave it four stars because the cast is too large, and I often had to go back to check who Jack is (a colleague), and the hero whose name I cannot now remember who gets cancer. On one hand, nearly a dozen minor characters seems realistic, but on the other, an author must do a amazing job of introducing them in order to create the memorable. I think the amazing flaw in this novel is that the authors do not do this well. It is annoying to have to go back on a Kindle. The reader never does search out what happens to the man with cancer. I did buy another Frieda Klein book, though, because it is hard to search female characters who are psychiatrists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I'm only writing this review for Frida Klein fans and for those who wonder if this one isn't quite as amazing as the others. It's very much of a piece with the others, except that it focuses even more on Frida and the strange identification she forges with a woman who was convicted of killing her family and who has since languished in a mental institution, driven truly angry by neglect and isolation. What I love most about Frida in all the books is her fierce determination to create right what is wrong; for this reason, I liked Dark Saturday better than the Friday book that found her running for her own freedom. This book is not perfect. At times I longed for an editor to correct faulty parallelism or that one too a lot of coincidences could have been left out. Nonetheless, I love Frida Klein, and if you love her too you will love this book. I view the end as fmthe series with trepidation. I will miss the quiet, relentless woman who has roamed the London roads of my imagination for six books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The husband and wife squad of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have such a amazing series involving Frieda Klein, psychotherapist, who somehow always manages to obtain in the middle of police investigations. Though this is the 6th in a series, it does work as a stand alone. However, I think that it adds so much more depth if you read them in order. If you have not read her before, jump in from the beginning. In this mystery, Frieda is investigating a horrendous family murder, where the 19 year old daughter was accused of murdering her entire family and has been incarcerated into a secure hospital for the past 13 years.While there she has been beaten, humiliated and generally had not good care. Frieda ,however,questions the shoddy police work and wonders if the "perpetrator" really was to blame. As she begins to scrap away at the facts and miscalculations, someone is determined to create sure she doesn't succeed. The ending came as a huge surprise to me and another plot thread leaves it wide begin for their next book. Unsettling and gripping..its amazing for a long plane ride, a beach read or curling up in the comfort of one's home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I have read all her books and she just cannot write them quick enough for me! Loved this story. Unrealistic or not- that is why we read these- escape and this on fits the bill! An easy, fun, summer read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Really like this author.....great story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Once versus n Joy Fielding provides us with a brilliant book. Enjoyed every word and missed my bedtime to [email protected]#$%!!! Worth the lack of sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I just loved this book. I had read a lot of Joy' s books and had been a long wait to search this one. Incredible! I didn't wish to place it down. The ending blew me away. I had a niggling suspicion about who the perpetrator was. This is one of those stories that grip your attention from beginning till the end. Bravo!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Very suspenseful, creative, truthful writing. Would read this again and again. Lots of unexpected twists and turns to hold the reader's interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I limes how the Stonehenge Washington well synchronized from the past and the present. The method the characters were portrayed I felt like I method there with them. Very realistically written. Finísimo the book in one day!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I always like Joy Fielding. The indignant daughter may have been a small over the top, but the primary story was very good. I would like to see her (Joy Fielding) write more often. Some of her past books were perfect .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Not her usual unbelievable books. Took me forever to read this particular book, it was slow paced and boring. I do love this author and her earlier books. This was clearly not her best book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    A page turner from beginning to end. She is one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Just a private observation, not to sway other readers, but this fielding novel to me did not live up to her previous efforts, I kept at it though, and will test her again,her

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    "Himself" is a mystery. An orphan returns to the remote, conservative Irish village where he was born. He is not greeted with begin arms. All he wants is to search out what happened to his mother but the villagers just wish him to leave. As he searches we learn more about him, ghosts, Irish folk lore and the accompanying prejudices and the magic mysticism of Ireland. A great, entertaining book -- funny, violent, peopled with unbelievable and evil characters. You will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    The Prologue is set in May 1950 but is only three pages long. Though a short piece it’s packed with drama as a woman is murdered while her baby son sleeps quietly in a nearby forest, hidden by amazing ferns. The book proper begins with chapter one set in April 1976 as a young man from Dublin named Mahony arrives in the city of Mulderrig. Now what do you think are the odds that Mr. Mahony is the baby son of that murdered woman? Right, they’re beautiful amazing odds indeed. The reader will deduce this quickly but the folks in Mulderrig won’t catch on for a while. Mahony’s landlady, Mrs. Cauley, recruits him to support audition locals as performers in the town’s Christmas play. During the auditions Mrs. Cauley sneaks in a lot of questions about Orla Sweeney and her whereabouts, a woman who turns out to be Mahony’s missing mother. All this curiosity causes a much greater interest by the townspeople in Mahony and just what he is doing in their town. Mahony, Mrs. Cauley, and other mates start an investigation of the different characters in Mulderrig and who might be suspects in Orla’s disappearance. There’s even a supernatural element involved; the photos of a lot of dead citizens appear at various times to point the way. The special charm of the Irish method of writing English prose is another enjoyable feature of this novel. You’ll have a grand time as long as you don’t obtain banjaxed by a wayward undesirable one. Fair play to you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a wonderfully entertaining book. Having driven the streets of Western Ireland myself, I could easily picture the setting of this city that isn't...where a young man coming from Dublin determines he must visit to explore what happened to his mother e earth, wind, deceased spirits and lively characters meet with his will to support search the nnot think of a better St Paddy's Day read than this Kindle book, just $1.99 from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I am a voracious reader but am not enthralled with every book. THIS book was great! Engaging characters and a amazing plot--I could hardly place it down, and have recommended to friends.If you are a lover of all things Irish, and have fun a bit of fantasy and ghostiness, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a truly brilliant work of Irish magical realism. Even if you don’t usually go for this kind of thing, you’ll be wowed by Himself

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Very imaginative and chock-full of interesting characters , both living and dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Unbelievable read. Attractive descriptions and characters. Unique, funny, well written. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading and stories. I choose this rating because this is a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Truly loved this book. The imagery and the melding of reality with the supernatural were graceful, vivid and compelling. The characters are special and well-drawn. The suspense subtly increases until you feel yourself winded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book - the author has a unbelievable method of telling the story, using unbelievable descriptions and characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Captivating from the begin and it kept the momentum to the latest page. A heart warming must-read murder mystery with devilish info and spectral characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I purchases this book for my great-granddaughter and decided to read it first just to see what it is. I often do that, like to know what they are reading. It was so nice, all ages will have fun reading it. Stresses the family love and following through, be confident, determined, not to act too fast....think and know more before you do things, etc. A charming novel! Simple reading for all ages, eight or nine years old and up (old age included!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Amazing for about probably about a 2nd Grade reading level and up. My daughter (in Kindergarten) LOVED the movie, and this was a amazing method to encourage her excitement about reading. The novelization stayed real to the film - to the point where my daughter started singing at the appropriate parts. It was intimidating for my daughter to read on their own due to the sheer quantity of words on the page, but it's a amazing method to turn bedtime stories into a bridge between Goodnight Moon and a "real" book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I liked it. It was amazing but the sad part is when Elsa hit Anna in the head with her powers. There was another sad part when Prince Hans pretended to be in love and marry princess Anna just to be in control of the castle and e book also was funny because Olaf the snowman was hilarious.He didn't have a skull...or e huge marshmallow was really amazing I like how you did favorite hero was Anna ,Elsa,Olaf,Christoph,and BOOK EVER!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    this book, Frozen The junior Novelization is a amazing book after watching the film at the film theater. this bookhas method more info than the film i felt poor for Anna and Elsa because they were apart for years they didn't play with each and my sister are 3 years a part i am 10 and my sister is 7 .This is satisfied  and sad story.if you are interested in buying this book you should buy it and it is one hundred percent ease order it soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    My daughter liked that this book had info that were either implied or not completely clear in the movie, and it helped her understand the story better. And it's Frozen, so girls love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I can't place the book down the moment it arrived on our doorstep. It was delightful to read all the conversations, straight from the movie! My 7 year old has been reading it, cover to cover, role playing with all the quotes she memorised from the book. We played a android game of finding in the book where Olaf first appeared in the movie, and where he said "all amazing things, all amazing things". Perfect book to encourage reading, thinking and day-dreaming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    This book based on a film is amazing for children who liked the film 'Frozen' and simple readers. It is amazing for 1st, 2nd, and maybe 3rd graders to read n their own. It does not have every single detail of the film or lyrics to the songs, but is a beautiful amazing book for the younger group of kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Amazing book for your 8 yrs and up early reader. Allows your kid the joy of remembering the story they love while improving their reading skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Sent as gift. No issues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I bought this book for my small sister's Christmas present. She and I LOVED the movie.Of course, I couldn't support but read the book as soon as my sister was finished. We both loved e book had some slight differences to the film (including additional laughs, lines, and one little part that I want they had place in the movie), which created it all the more cute! Definitely recommend for any younger girl who loved the film =)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Trying to have my daughter read something! Hope she likes it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    This book should be for P3 and P4 to read. I was P4 and after I read it I could njot stop readind it. So you should buy it now! aI already read it 3 times!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My 7 year old grandson just loved this book. He is a amazing fan of the film and this book gets him interested in improving his reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    She screamed in excitement. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    It's better than the idle of the lost

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    we loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My daughter loves this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My Daughter love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Loved this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    It's a cool fresh spin on older Disney movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Best book and film in along time. Easily comparable to Christopher Robin and all his animal mates as emotions brought into the future. Kids to adults will laugh and be touched to the imagination of the writer and all that has been there in front of us and not noticed until now. Read the book and see the movie, it is a hoot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    My girls love it for bedtime, and we use it for reading practice. Nicely done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    My daughter HATES to read! I told her that we had to read this book before we could see the movie. She was reluctant at first, but the pace was reader friendly and she is enjoying reading & listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing read, we're starting over tomorrow night!. Well done and excellent for a young reader. My 7 year old loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I would read this, and go like, I wish to read it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Can't obtain my daughter to place this down,she loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This book is amazing for children because it describes how emotions and memories play into our personalities. I think it's amazing to have a book for kids that explains how to express our emotions and deal with them in a healthy manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I liked that there were pictures in the book but I don't like that the words were too small.I couldn't really see what the book was talking about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    This reads EXACTLY like watching the film (minus the songs), which is kind of weird to me as an adult. That said, it was a bonus for my six-year-old and she loved it and went on to read the junior novelization of Brave - seems like the concept is a hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Excellent small reader for my granddaughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing book! My daughters read it before the film release and loved. They loved the film even more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing heroine, amazing story. My only complaint is the not good quality of the paper used. Also there should have been more pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing toy. My granddaughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    My 8 year old basically devoured this book. She loves Moana and was so excited to read the chapter book. It also helped her to see the names and words from the film in print, as some of them are more challenging words. Its amazing to have your kid excited to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    grand daughter loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I have a private policy that I do not buy a book without seeing it first. Amazon has 2 features to allow the buyer see what is inside a book before they buy. You can download a sample or you can "look inside". Both of these features for this book are literally a single blank page that links to the Disney www service where you can buy books there. I search this practice reprehensible and because of it I rate books like this with a 1 star rating. If I could I would give them a 0. They offer a sample of nothing and in turn I offer them the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I hadn't planned on seeing it but.. my Niece always wanted to pretend she was Moana.. after a lot of questions about how to play ... She took my hand and looked me in the eye and said. "Uncle you really need to see the movie" with the impish look like, geeez obtain with the program like how can you not have seen this yet... So I saw it... Not poor butIt is clearly Oligarchy propaganda the "Ocean" chose her ... to quote the Holy Grail... Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony. Also the chicken was type cast, not all chickens are dumb I recently sat next to one plane who was reading the Washington Post... ok so he was dumb also... but all in all not a poor moive..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I love Disney moana she is so brave I love when she sail's across the sea and I love the pet pig pua😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    During a cold November in Three Pines a dark mysterious figure - draped in black with a mask and never moving - appears in the green. Every day this figure is there - watching someone but who? Who’s wearing this mask and cape? Why is it there? Does it represent Death?Armand Ganache is now the Chief Superintendent of the Sûreté du Québec. He knows that legally he can’t do anything about that figure in the green. But that doesn’t stop him from being worried that something could happen. And yes, what he worries about happens - someone is ere’s a lot going on here, with Gamache dealing with the murder and also with his duties as head of the Sûreté du Québec (as readers of the previous novels will remember that the Sûreté had a corruption issue that Gamache exposed.) The regulars from Three Pines are here (Gabri, Clara, Myrna, Ruth and her duck Rosa), though not as much as you’d expect considering that this is Three Pines. Unlike her previous novels, here the action switches between November when the incidents begin and we see Gamache trying to determine who the assassin is, and July, when the trial begins for the accused is is a standalone novel. There really isn’t much info from previous novels that you need to understand the relationships. However, if you haven’t read any Armand Gamache novels, I recommend you begin with her first novel - Still Life - to really have fun the ing a Louise Penny/Inspector Gamache novel is always a treat. Yes, there’s a lot going on but the author does a unbelievable job of pulling it all , why not 5 stars? I don’t wish to say too much as much of the joy of the books in this series is how disparate plot points come together but I found myself frustrated that once again we have the clever Armand Gamache looking like he’s in over his head. I have fun more complicated murder plots vs a simpler murder plot plus another story line. There were some plot points that seemed a stretch. (All I could think was "Really? This is all event in Three Pines??") I thought this book was darker than some of her other books. I found myself putting the book down - needing a break from reading it.While this is one of those books that I’m glad I read, unlike some of the other books in the series, I don’t see myself reading it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I consider myself fortunate to have read all the Inspector Gamache novels by Louise Penny. Her writing is attractive and her characters are so well written and so appreciated, flaws and all. In this novel Inspector Gamache has taken over as head of the Surete after rooting out top level corruption. The police officers seem proud of their work again....or are they? There are rumblings that Gamache hasn't really changed anything as crime is up, the drug trade is rampant and what is to be done? The quiet ( haha) village of Three Pines is disturbed by the presence of a hooded, quiet, dark figure. The figure doesn't speak, just stands and stares. It's a "cobrador", a conscience. A figure from old Spain which follows a person as a visible conscience. One ver of the cobrador is a debt collector, to shame the person into paying their debt. But the cobrador in this story is a moral conscience. You must atone for what you have done. This blends into the second story of the drug trade and Gamache's plan to really place a dent in it, if not stop/slow it down for good. It's very well plotted out. I won't say much more as I feel it will reveal too much. Will Gamache's long range plan succeed or fail? Will his inspectors stay the course with him? And then there's Claire the artist, whose mates think she's 'lost it'. Claire is preparing for another present and her mates fear all her work is unfinished until they look and look and see what it is that she has done. I enjoyed that twist immensely. I do feel one should read the books in order as the characters evolve. Also, you don't wish to miss Ms Penny's remarkable writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I'm an avid mystery reader and a devout Louise Penny reader. I was ecstatic to obtain a possibility to read this pre-release and I was not ree Pines and Inspector Gamache never disappoint. More than just a mystery - this is a book that takes you into the characters, challenges your assumptions and leaves you wondering who is as they appear, and who is genuine. I loved this recent in her series - as expected she picked up from latest happenings in the prior novel and goes to the task of writing a story that is both compelling and puzzling.A mysterious figure appears in Three Pines only to be followed by death. The story flashes between the current time - summer in Montreal, and the previous chilly fall. As she toggles between the two timelines, she weaves the tale around you, pulling you in slowly with interesting detail and surprises at turns. Separate plot lines and stories - seemingly disparate - tie together so beautifully, and the core mystery at heart of it all is beautifully revealed. She surprised me with the defendant on trial, and the ultimate set of villains in this book, while bringing along my favorite characters and developing them further. This book again touches on the private relationship between Gamache and Beauvoir - co-workers, mentor-mentee, and father-in-law/son-in-law. It also touches on friendships and what can haunt long standing ound all of the rich dialogue, descriptive food, and comfortable atmosphere of our beloved cast of characters, she introduces some characters you don't know quite know to trust. I love how she references the state of the globe and a broad ranging diversity with her characters. People with drug abuse, distrust of the police and their competence, the hard working and dedicated law enforcement officers, politicians you don't quite wish to trust, and couples living marriage equality. She doesn't disappoint with powerful lead female characters including a fresh lead officer - Superintendent Touissaint as well as an old favorite - Isabel Lacoste. Women in roles that aren't traditionally highlighted, is amazing to see. Its something I appreciate as she has characters and references to current happenings that capture the timeliness of is was a page turner for me. I found myself saving the book until I knew I had a few days over the course of which I could read and have fun this book. I was not readers can truly have fun this series from the beginning with Still Life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    These extraordinary mysteries starring Chief Inspector Gamache each stand alone on their own merits. Each story is special and special, usually taking put in Three Pines a snug, almost unnoticed little hamlet in Canada just north of the U.S. border. The city is charming and inviting and welcomes people in with cozy B & B, cafe, bakery, small grocery store, library, bookstore, etc. All the inhabitants know each other and accept each other's peculiarities and foibles. The setting is most inviting. This murder mystery takes put in the huge, old Victorian mansion that sits above the town, dark and dreary, suffused with seeming evil and ghostly ambiance. Once again the same squad of inspectors and detectives working for the popular police force in Quebec come to tackle the solving of the killing. As usual and yet uniquely the story unfolds with charm and wit and scary moments. So a lot of are suspect. Lousie Penny's stories are marvelously weaved. This one keep you tightly till the very end. Bravo..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I had missed chief Inspector Gamache, and was delighted that Louise Penny brought him back to wrestle an unusually strange figure that seems to haunt the villagers. The tall black-robed figure is said to plague--but never harm--individuals who are guilty of some reprehensible action. But a young woman, costumed like the mysterious creature, is found brutally murdered in the little village church. But this is over shadowed by the Inspector's conviction that Three Pines had become the conduit for major drug smugglers bringing large quantities of lethal drugs like Fentanyl into the States. Yet he does nothing, losing the trust of the Montreal law enforcement, as well as a lot of of the villagers, including his most trusted son-in-law. Nothing. Until he puts his necessary position on the line. And even then it is not until very late in the android game does the reader finally understands Gamache's reasoning. Perfect Ms. Penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I savor Louise Penny's books, never rushing through them, even when tempted. The raillerie is so delicious! I wish Ruth living next door to me. I wish to go to Clara's art exhibit in Montréal. I wish to fill my lap with the crumbs of the warm croissants in the bistro and obtain warmed by the fire and drink the café au lait. I wish to buy a baguette at the bakery and sit on the square beneath the three pines to eat it. Then there is always my fear that this will be the latest book. You never know what Gamache has in shop for us, and this time it is another grand design. What a treasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    I admit that I am a amazing fan of Louise Penny and highly recommend that a reader check out her entire series that feature these characters. Over the years, they have become part of the personality of the writer and I believe all of her readers would immediately protest the removal of a single one of them. I search her crafting of the story really fascinating and I have fun watching the thoughtful plot evolve.I sincerely hope that she will continue to write; I look forward to reading her again and again. If she ever decides to stop, I will have to begin again at the beginning and read them all one more time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    Perfect and absorbing, as always. Not only are the mysteries intriguing, but Armand Gamache is a compelling character, as are almost all the characters in this series. Gamache operates on a truly moral basis, and no character, not even he, is all amazing or all bad. Indeed, most of the villains who are in the books for more than one chapter are human and tragic. And the heroes are human and also sometimes tragic. The question is never as easy as "Does the poor guy obtain away with it?" More often, "Are our hearts brave enough to do the right thing, even if it breaks our hearts."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    Louise Penny has to be one of the best mystery writers since Agatha Christie. I adore her books and anxiously await each fresh release. If you haven't read her work before, do yourself a favor and read this one or begin at the beginning with "Still Life"."Glass Houses" is a amazing book and is well written as always. The Three Pines' residents are all unnerved by a dark stranger who stands and stares at the village. They have no idea who this person is or what they wish but it is really bothering all of them. Then a body turns up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    To live in Three Pines along side Ruth Zardo, Myrna, Clara, Peter, Olivier, Gabri, and the others - what bliss that might be. What could be better than owning a bookstore and living above it just like Myrna? Going to the Bistro where Olivier and Gabri cook up some unbelievable meal and provide delicious liquor. But this is about a murder, or rather two murders. One was fast and instinctive, the other carefully plotted out. It's also about the compassion that the people in Three Pines have and what they are willing to do to protect the beaten.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    To Have or To Be? reviews Grapple hook reviews wholesale nfl moneynetwork.stock-options-picks.com/blogs/viewstory/58398 jerseys reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios reviews wholesale nfl bodasenvalencia.es/cheap-wholesale-nfl-jerseys-are-the-best-choice/ jerseys reviews Lost at School: Why Our Kids with... reviews How to Be Debt Free: A simple plan for paying off debt: car loans, student loan repayment, credit card debt, mortgages and more. Debt-free living is within Books (Smart Money Blueprint Book 3) reviews Therapy Games: Creative Ways to Turn Popular Games Into Activities That Build Self-Esteem, Teamwork, Communication Skills, Anger Management, Self-Discovery, and Coping Skills reviews Summary & Analysis of The Clean 20: 20 Foods, 20 Days, Total Transformation | A Guide to the Book by Ian Smith, MD reviews Rewirement: Rewiring The Way You Think About Retirement! reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios?: Convicción, en tiempos de escepticismo (Spanish Edition) reviews Self Mastery Boxset: How to Master Success, Abundance, Wealth, and Happiness reviews The Power of Paper: How to Create Wealth by Investing in Mortgages reviews The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital reviews King of Kings: A Paranormal Space Opera Adventure (Star Justice Book 11) reviews Lucky Soldier: A Memorial Day Brother's Best Friend Fake Fiance Romance reviews Murder Has Nine Lives (A Jaine Austen Mystery) reviews Enchanted Immortals Series Box Set: Books 1-4 plus Novella reviews Second Best reviews The Things They Carried reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter