The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    After seeing the film numerous times, I thought it was time to finally read the book. Although sometimes the language can be colourful and literary, overall I could not place it down, and finished it in just a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    After 30 years it still resonates -- kind of sad really. Perfect read, for "readers," not for those who like snippet type reading. Only beef. Why of all possible endings did he choose this one?! Very unsatisfying after a substantial commitment to the story. Feels like he rushed the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book doesn't need a recommendation from me. I'll just comment on the Kindle production of it, which was good. I mention this because comments about typos in the Kindle ver of Wolfe's The Right Items created me cautious about buying that book, and the sample indeed had obvious errors, so I will only read that in a printed copy.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel video reviews and related movies:

    See BOOK REVIEW | The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe on youtube.

     related image

    See Tom Wolfe and Preet Bharara on The Bonfire of the Vanities on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire of the Vanities - Original Theatrical Trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See Writer Tom Wolfe Dead At 88 | NBC News on youtube.

     related image

    See Tom Wolfe Collection on Late Night, Late Show, 1987-98 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire of the Vanities A Novel on youtube.

     related image

    See The Bonfire Of The Vanities 1990 TV trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See The Blondes A Novel on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Recommended by Scott Kelly in his book, Endurance. Is there anyone cooler than these guys? Man. What a life!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    There's a amazing reason why The Right Items is hailed as a classic work of literature. Tom Wolfe's writing gets you right into the headspace of the first astronauts in the Mercury program and examines the motivations and personality-types of men who chose to devote their lives to living on the edge testing experimental aircraft and being pioneers in the Zone Race.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book created me excited about the early days of breaking the sound barrier and then later the Mercury manned zone is is something unique about this earlier period, a story of unique men in a unique time with few rules and huge goals. It is a amazing dose of American competence. This was a period where having "the right stuff" showed off America's greatness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Saw the film before reading the book so I couldn't help, but to hold picturing Tom Hanks as the main character. I lived thru this era & Tom Wolfe depicted it perfectly. Not exactly a satisfied ending, but beautiful much everyone got what they deserved...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Reading this book for my son's academic decathalon, I was reminded how new and bright Tom Wolfe's reporting was compared to everyone else, then or now. Even you care small about the zone program or its premises, this is a story of misplaced men in a misplaced time that comes to life on the page through the special lens of Tom Wolfe. Wolfe benefits significantly, I think, from remaining grounded in the reality of the men of historical legend as opposed to the Booleanh drift that seems to take occur with his fiction

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The story soars for the first half and then, like a rocket running out of fuel, falls back to earth. It's exciting to learn about Chuck Yeager breaking the sound barrier, the pilots' code of "drinking and flying," the perspectives of the pilots' wives, the popularity contest among the pilots as they vie with each other to become the first in space. But a small more than halfway through the book, Wolfe runs out of fresh information, and he spends the rest of the story rehashing ideas and facts he introduced in the first half. All the exclamation points in the globe can't generate enough energy to bring the story back to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bonfire of the Vanities: A Novel review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    If there can be any book of fiction to summarize 1980s social classes in Fresh York City, it's The Bonfire of the Vanities. Wolfe does a unbelievable job developing the characters in amazing detail. It really pins the haves of the Wall Road who live on Madison Avenue, versus the have nots of the South Bronx and other outer boroughs. The book is so much better than the Tom Hanks film can ever be

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Noah Boyd, author of “The Bricklayer,” is the pseudonym of former FBI agent, Paul Lindsey, who died of leukemia in September of 2011. This novel was the first of a series featuring Steve Vail, a contrary ex-FBI agent who, after being fired for insubordination, is hired back to unravel a difficult case for his former e reader is also introduced to Assistant Director Kate Bannon, who accompanies Vail through the minefields of deceit, incompetence, jealousy, and not good judgment that seem to plague this case from the beginning. There are other FBI officials, who through their private deficiencies, seem determined to obtain it wrong and who blame Vail and Bannon for pursuing their own agenda. FBI misdirection, and the cross purposes of the other public agencies that obtain involved, threaten to derail the investigation creating more bodies to pile up and heavy amounts of cash to il is a super character who has a sixth sense that allows him to escape the a lot of traps set for him by an elusive murderer. There are booby-traps around every corner that Vail manages to foil and immensely physical acts he must perform to comply with the demands of the criminal who seems to have the FBI confused at every rangely absent from this intense drama is obscene language and the only sexual activity is the brief mention of a dress being unbuttoned. That was a welcome relief to me, a well-known prude (not!), who has been somewhat distressed by all the blue activity in latest crime novels.I strongly recommend this book for a amazing read and eye-opening look at a talented writer’s skill. The passing of Noah Boyd (Lindsey) has made a large void in the ranks of highly proficient crime huyler T WallaceAuthor of TIN LIZARD TALES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Steve Vail is an interesting hero that I liked immediately. The method his mind worked and the method he figured out what the poor guys were doing was awesome to me. The almost romance was amazing too but I have to wait for the next book to search out what happens to them. All in all I enjoyed the book a lot. Towards the end I thought it should have ended, but as it kept going that story about the U.S. Attorney developed and came to a satisfying conclusion. I have already started the second and latest book by this author. I was sad to hear he has passed away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Amazing guy Steve Vail was fired from the FBI after 3 years as a highly successful investigator due to insubordination. He has settled into a easy life as a bricklayer. Then the FBI recruits him back to support with a very concerning and puzzling case. The poor guys go to elaborate lengths to set devilish traps which take the lives of 2 FBI agents - who will outsmart who? Bet you can is is a rather lighthearted crime story, although not specifically humorous. A fun read for a rainy afternoon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Read this author's 2 books when they first were published. I worked at a library and recommended them to everyone I knew that liked this genre. I had forgotten about them until I recently saw it on Amazon. Bought it immediately because I wish to read it again..I have been an avid reader all my life and of course don't remember all I've read and very very seldom read a book a second time but when I saw The Bricklayer by Noah Boyd, I instantly recalled it being a book I liked years ago. I'm going to check to see if he's written any more. I hope so. I liked Agent X also (not sure that is the correct title)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Before the first chapter the superhero [email protected]#$%! square in the jaw and not at all affected. Then after vanquishing both bank robbers all by himself he quietly disappears into the night. Already I am questioning whether to continue. Ok, half method thru and I'm being treated to a lesson on how to jimmy begin a vehicle door. Very exciting! Latest chapter we obtain another lesson on how to begin a door whose lock has been superglue.Oh, surprise, in the end our character solves the mystery of the money all by himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Nice story, nice main character. The other characters a small less nice. The plot is a small thin and like a lot of super clever protagonist vs. super clever poor guy, the poor guy just doesn't seem to be able to set up and do all the items he does to be realistic. A mate of mine who read it didn't like the snappy dialog between the main hero and his budding girl friend, but I liked them well enough. If you like action and mystery and a bit of a thriller as well, you'll probably like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I love thrillers, and found this one beautiful good. I read the eBook ver and it was quite well edited (my eyes pick mistakes up easily). There is some stereotypical items re female, the loner ex-FBI agent and rogue character. Overall I liked the premise and it was difficult to figure who-dunnit. Across country travel and multiple poor guys. I agree with some reviewers that Steve Vail is related to Jack Reacher (whom I love), yet various enough to be believable. I look forward to more books from Mr. Boyd.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I'll admit that the first part of the book didn't keep my attention, and-since I got the Kindle ver at a steep discount I almost said, "Life's too short." But as the plot progressed, I found myself drawn into it. Admittedly, as the author of suspense novels myself, I sort of saw the ending coming, but by and huge I thought the writer did a amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I thought the writing was very witty and fun to read. The plot was somewhat predictable and not well thought out in places. For example, the main hero is secretly recruited from the outside by the the FBI to work on this case, yet 2 days into the case the extortionist and murderer requests that this same person (that nobody but a select few even know is working the case) handle the fresh ransom demand. Yet none of these brilliant agents ever question this throughout the story. There are other examples, but it was still an okay read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    This is a detailed, well thought out novel. I couldn't place this down, but had to re-read several times to really understand and imagine the crimes and investigations in progress. I didn't guess the end or the twists & turns. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I wasn't familiar with Lisa Wingate's books before I read "Before We Were Yours" but I'll be looking for others now that I've read it. I was drawn fully into the story, set in both the 1930s and show day. It follows the story of the Foss kids in the '30s and Avery Stafford in show day, and brings to light a horrifying and shameful real-life om the '30s to 1950, a woman named Georgia Tann, who ran the (Memphis) Tennessee Children's Home Society, stole not good kids from their families and newborn babies from single mothers and sold them to celebrities, politicians and others who could afford them. It was all done under the guise of helping orphaned and abandoned kids search amazing homes, but it was actually human trafficking.Avery Stafford finds a puzzling photograph that leads her into an ever more confusing story of secrets and lies inside her upright, respected family. Along the way, she starts to question the man her family has picked for her to marry and her expected role within the family. What follows is a heartwarming story of love, betrayal, memories and staying real to your heart. In addition to the well developed characters and background love story, I liked the realistic view into the 1930s.I really enjoyed this book and learned a lot about a dark time in our history, when being not good was enough to have a family ripped apart forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This is the first book I've ever read by Lisa Wingate, but having read it I will find through her other titles. It was an perfect book! The topic matter was hard, and sad at times, as I knew it would be before starting. I could not place it down because I had to search out how the story ended. It was a glorious book, I'm satisfied that I read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I bought this book because of the a lot of 5 star reviews and I was not disappointed. While reading it I was immersed in a various put and a various time.I was reminded once again that goodness and evil are amongst us permanently, and sometimes, it is the "virtuous" who harbor a very dark side. It is an amazingly beautiful, deep and very emotional novel, one you have a feeling of "living" rather than "reading".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A close-to-flawless book about family lost and found. At first, I thought the present-day story wasn't as gripping as the flashbacks. I was wrong. Both stories combine in a page-turning resolution. The author has taken not good happenings in history and breathed life into those who suffered because they were too not good to hold their families together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I didn't know what to expect from this book, it was a selection for our book club. Overall I really enjoyed the book, it is an simple read but it does bounce back and forth between show day and the 1940s. The intertwined story lines are simple to follow and the characters are well developed. This is both a satisfied and sad story, and I did shed a few tears but it was not an all out tear jerker. I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I liked the story. I liked the characters. It was a fast quick read, but I did not think it merited 5 stars. The split story line was a small annoying and a bit impersonal, probably because of the topic matter. It was not a book I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Interesting story and an simple read. This book lends itself to discussion and varied opinions. It also has a basis of truth in history- a very sad time for a lot of children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Unbelievable story that captured your imagination from the start. As the story progresses you can't support cheering for the amazing guys. It is a detective story that touches a lot of lives. The ending is well done and leaves you with a smile.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Extremely well written. Enjoyable doesn’t feel like the right word as it isn’t a satisfied story, but I loved reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was difficult to place down and I highly recommend it. I would like to see this story turned into a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Warning! I loved this book the first time I read it, but it was then called "Saturday Requiem". Now I have been fooled into buying it a second time,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I've been a fan of Nicci French's writing for a lot of years. With a minimum of words, she's able to transport me straight into her characters' world. That's real of this book, as well. I was there with Frieda, in the midst of her emotional turmoil. The psychological component is strong, and I experienced this story as I read ieda can be a difficult hero to like. She's standoffish, and her distance from others also keeps us at a distance. But that's an necessary part of who she is and what her history has done to her. While you might not choose to hang out with her as a friend, her life is such that you can't support being swept along, wanting to know how it all turns out.While this book is part of a series, it works relatively well as a stand-alone. The main plot is specific to this story and has closure at the end. Frieda's backstory is woven in enough so readers fresh to the series obtain a sense of who she is. That being said, there is a separate plot thread woven in that continues from past books through this one, which brings me to my complaint with this book. We have a major cliffhanger at the end. The cliffhanger is enormous, truly, and pertains to the ongoing thread that is not mentioned in the book's description. I am not a fan of cliffhangers. At all. It's like paying to see a film that stops midway, and then you have to purchase another ticket to search out how the film ends. So, given the method this series is set up with a major plot point carrying through all the books, coupled with the cliffhanger, I'd recommend starting at the beginning and reading these books in order, with full expectation of having to read them all.*I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A dark, psychological mystery wherein former police professionals/paraprofessionals re-open gruesome murders for complicated reasons. Although this story could be a standalone book, and is the first in the series that I read, it is in fact the sixth in the series. There were frequent references to previous relationships and I admit it became taxing not fully knowing what they meant. The tale itself did not require prior knowledge, although the hero development probably did. Having said that, the book is really good. It starts out tense and never lets up. The weather, the mood, the behavior of the different people under discussion...all of it became and remained ever more grim, brooding and disquieting. Frankly, I was relieved to read it during an overly bright sunny day because I would have been jumping out of my skin at night. It was just that creepy. The ending is well worth the tale, no disappointment whatsoever. And for readers of the series, it is clear there will be another in the series. I received my copy from the publisher through Edelweiss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I don't think you should be forced to give a star rating. I place a 3 but for reasons, I mention @ my blog I do not give any stars.Let me begin by mentioning the number of characters that are in this book is absurd and a lot of them are from previous books in the series some even stem for the first book Blue Monday. Therefore, as a reader, you might obtain scant to no explanation of whom a hero actually is. The plot from what is construed from the blurb is suitably written consequently a nuisance from Frieda's past is thrown into the story which to me the vehemence felt irrelevant and overpowering to the book. Nevertheless, if you are reading this as an ongoing series you might not feel this ditionally, one of my pet peeves is when authors do not execute a finished ending though some closure was achieved volumes were left unsaid as a effect I am left wondering what happened to several main characters. Maybe a book that starts with a Sunday will reveal the unknowns? Even though I have been harsh on the book so far it is filled with an abundance of conundrums. Unquestionably a complex whodunit packed with conspiracy, mystery, gore, and just when you think you have it figured out it will twist you one method then spin you is is not meant to be read as a standalone book. If I had started on book one Blue Monday and proceeded forward I perhaps could have established a more favorable impression of the book as a whole. Finally, I did not search this to be a poor book, in fact, I enjoyed a amazing deal of it, hence the negative problems just trampled upon a slew of good.OH WAIT! Frieda is only a Psychotherapist, not a Forensic Psychotherapist. Don’t you have to be a Forensic Psychotherapist to work with the police?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    At the risk of repeating myself --- a hazard at my advanced yet tender age --- I am going to wonder yet again, upon the publication of DARK SATURDAY, why the husband-wife author squad collectively known as Nicci French isn’t a household name in the United States. I also could obtain all Elizabeth Barrett Browning about how terrific this series has been starting with BLUE MONDAY and continuing through the days of the week. I won’t do that, though. I will simply attempt to convince you why you absolutely must read DARK SATURDAY, even if the protagonist’s name means nothing to you, and then go back and read each installment of the series from begin to ose familiar with Frieda Klein from previous volumes need only know this: DARK SATURDAY is a representative but nonetheless pivotal work in the series. For the uninitiated: Frieda is a quietly difficult yet oddly endearing protagonist, a psychotherapist with a keen eye for observation and a penchant for doing what’s right, even when it rubs hard versus the grain. This personality trait has made a issue for her over the course of the series with London law enforcement, from top to bottom and back again, as well as some notoriety (as we are reminded frequently here) with the public at t Frieda’s knowledge in her field cannot be denied, which is why she is requested, sub rosa, to examine a murder investigation that took put a decade ago. The case is a notorious one, involving an 18-year-old named Hannah Docherty, who was arrested, tried and convicted for the brutal murders of her stepfather, mother and brother. Hannah has been at a secure psychiatric hospital ever since, which itself is horrific. The evidence was quite clear, but the basic officer in charge of the investigation has had his competency in a current investigation demonstrably impugned. Given that his prior cases may also be brought into dispute by convicted defendants, Frieda is tasked with evaluating if Hannah is in any method able to bring such an action. After a decade in the institution, she is all but beyond help, so the matter appears to be closed. Frieda, however, is troubled by inconsistencies in the cases as well as by Hannah herself.While there isn’t one particular element that strikes Frieda as off-base, a number of disparate points speak to her, causing her to conduct an investigation more or less on her own. This once again does not exactly endear her with law enforcement or, for that matter, with people whose lives were touched by the murders so a lot of years before. Frieda will not be denied, though, and with the support of several mates (including Josef, the unflappable carpenter who seems to be far, far more than that), she stubbornly pursues the facts to obtain to the heart of the truth, whatever it may anwhile, a subplot that has run throughout the series presents itself yet again, advancing toward what appears to be a denouement. Dean Reeve is a brilliant murderer believed by the globe to be dead. But Frieda thinks he is very much alive and, given his obsession with her, is watching and waiting. Reeve does not actually appear in this book, but he is a shadowy and haunting presence nonetheless who ultimately manifests himself in the most graphic and startling of ways before story’s e French squad likes to take its time in setting up the pieces at the beginning of each novel, and DARK SATURDAY follows that pattern. But once an explosive revelation occurs --- about halfway through --- French throws a ticking clock into the mix as well as a couple of other startling revelations that create it impossible to read the book quickly enough to search out whodunit, why and how. You will probably guess, and most likely you will be wrong. Read as quick as you can to ed by Joe Hartlaub.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Summary from Goodreads:"Thirteen years ago eighteen year old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an begin and shut case and Hannah's been incarcerated in a secure hospital ever since.When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment of her she reluctantly agrees. What she finds horrifies her. Hannah has become a tragic figure, old before her time. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family; that something wasn't right all those years ago.And as Hannah's case takes keep of her, Frieda soon begins to realise that she's up versus someone who'll go to any lengths to protect themselves ..."My Thoughts:Wow. Wow. Wow. I have to say that this was the excellent book to read to support break this nasty reading slump I've been in lately! I couldn't (and didn't wish to) place this book down. It is so funny how you can be struggling just to search the time or will to settle down with a book....and then you pick up the right one and it is like you never stopped reading at all. I found myself absolutely immersed in this book and just so excited about reading in general after I finished. I love when that happens! I also really appreciated that it happened with this book as this is a well established series that I started right in the middle of. Did I miss certain things from not reading the previous books? I'm sure as there were references to other cases that Frieda was involved in. But for me if just has me super pumped to go back to the beginning to see how it all started. I love the fact that I have all of these other books to look forward to now. It's a amazing feeling!One of the things that I enjoyed most about this book was the premise of the story. It was both horrifying and compelling to think about the idea of a young girl convicted of the murder of her entire family with the chance that it was a wrongful conviction. Add to that the setting of a psychiatric hospital and a mystery and I was basically hooked from the very beginning. I mean how could I resist?? I really enjoyed Frieda's character.....there was just something about her that pulled me in as the reader. I found myself intrigued by everything that has happened to her - yet another reason why I'm so excited to go back to those earlier books. I just really enjoyed by entire reading experience with this book. The gift was a completely surprising ending and this book turned into a five star read for me. I haven't had a lot of of those this year which is why I can't say enough amazing things about this book!Overall, I really loved this one and am so excited to see what other readers think about it as well. I should have listened to my book blogging mates and started this series sooner! I've already got the first book on my library holds list so I won't be waiting too long before I go back to the beginning. I thought that this book was both quick paced and intense which are two of my favorite things to have in a mystery. I would recommend this book to both mystery and thriller fans. You can definitely do what I did and begin with this book (it obviously didn't affect my reading enjoyment at all). I do think that there are things you miss not reading in order but that just gives me an excuse to reread this one once I catch up on the rest. Ha! Highly recommended!Bottom Line: Very likely to become one of my favorites of 2017!Disclosure: I received a copy of this book courtesy of the publisher as part of a TLC book tour.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The series began with Monday, so this is the sixth book featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein. Dr. Klein has had a controversial part-time association working with the police in London as a consultant. Frieda Klein is one of the most interesting and compelling characters in a continuing series. If you have not read any of these books, stop here and immediately search Blue Monday to begin. These are books that should be read in order so that you know the characters, have the back stories about all that has gone wrong in the past and all that has gone right, and know the saga of Dean. Frieda has her demons, her friends, and her family. You will care about all of them. You will walk for miles throughout London with Frieda. I also have fun Frieda’s sessions with her patients. The patient sessions usually have small to do with the murder investigations, but they illustrate Frieda’s hero and add to the interest. This book is the recent in the series and like the others, it is impossible to place down. The atmosphere is dark, the plotting and writing are taut, and the mood is intense. Frieda is loyal, dedicated, and ethical, with a private integrity that drives her. It is difficult to make a hero with all those lofty qualities and not have one iota of sappiness or condescension, but our author does it well. These are books that you will seek out and wait for. These are books that you will not place down. The poor guys are very bad- beautiful much clever amoral sociopaths. The murders are violent. And on top of that, creepy things are happening. At the end of the previous book, Frieda created a bargain that resulted in her owing a favor to a shadowy, strong person. In this book, Levin calls in the favor and Frieda is asked to reexamine a cold case. Hannah has been confined in a hospital for the criminally insane after being convicted of the brutal murders of her entire family. Hannah may have been an mad and troubled teenager, but after years of solitary confinement and abuse at the hospital, her sanity seems lost and her life threatened. It’s not long before Frieda sees irregularities in the original investigation. Meanwhile the threat from Dean is ever-present. It appears that there are only two more books planned in the series. I will be sorry to see it end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A charismatic female hero and amazing plotting kept me wishing the novel were longer. I gave it four stars because the cast is too large, and I often had to go back to check who Jack is (a colleague), and the hero whose name I cannot now remember who gets cancer. On one hand, nearly a dozen minor characters seems realistic, but on the other, an author must do a amazing job of introducing them in order to create the memorable. I think the amazing flaw in this novel is that the authors do not do this well. It is annoying to have to go back on a Kindle. The reader never does search out what happens to the man with cancer. I did buy another Frieda Klein book, though, because it is hard to search female characters who are psychiatrists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I'm only writing this review for Frida Klein fans and for those who wonder if this one isn't quite as amazing as the others. It's very much of a piece with the others, except that it focuses even more on Frida and the strange identification she forges with a woman who was convicted of killing her family and who has since languished in a mental institution, driven truly angry by neglect and isolation. What I love most about Frida in all the books is her fierce determination to create right what is wrong; for this reason, I liked Dark Saturday better than the Friday book that found her running for her own freedom. This book is not perfect. At times I longed for an editor to correct faulty parallelism or that one too a lot of coincidences could have been left out. Nonetheless, I love Frida Klein, and if you love her too you will love this book. I view the end as fmthe series with trepidation. I will miss the quiet, relentless woman who has roamed the London roads of my imagination for six books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The husband and wife squad of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have such a amazing series involving Frieda Klein, psychotherapist, who somehow always manages to obtain in the middle of police investigations. Though this is the 6th in a series, it does work as a stand alone. However, I think that it adds so much more depth if you read them in order. If you have not read her before, jump in from the beginning. In this mystery, Frieda is investigating a horrendous family murder, where the 19 year old daughter was accused of murdering her entire family and has been incarcerated into a secure hospital for the past 13 years.While there she has been beaten, humiliated and generally had not good care. Frieda ,however,questions the shoddy police work and wonders if the "perpetrator" really was to blame. As she begins to scrap away at the facts and miscalculations, someone is determined to create sure she doesn't succeed. The ending came as a huge surprise to me and another plot thread leaves it wide begin for their next book. Unsettling and gripping..its amazing for a long plane ride, a beach read or curling up in the comfort of one's home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I have read all her books and she just cannot write them quick enough for me! Loved this story. Unrealistic or not- that is why we read these- escape and this on fits the bill! An easy, fun, summer read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Really like this author.....great story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Once versus n Joy Fielding provides us with a brilliant book. Enjoyed every word and missed my bedtime to [email protected]#$%!!! Worth the lack of sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I just loved this book. I had read a lot of Joy' s books and had been a long wait to search this one. Incredible! I didn't wish to place it down. The ending blew me away. I had a niggling suspicion about who the perpetrator was. This is one of those stories that grip your attention from beginning till the end. Bravo!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Very suspenseful, creative, truthful writing. Would read this again and again. Lots of unexpected twists and turns to hold the reader's interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I limes how the Stonehenge Washington well synchronized from the past and the present. The method the characters were portrayed I felt like I method there with them. Very realistically written. Finísimo the book in one day!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I always like Joy Fielding. The indignant daughter may have been a small over the top, but the primary story was very good. I would like to see her (Joy Fielding) write more often. Some of her past books were perfect .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Not her usual unbelievable books. Took me forever to read this particular book, it was slow paced and boring. I do love this author and her earlier books. This was clearly not her best book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    A page turner from beginning to end. She is one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Just a private observation, not to sway other readers, but this fielding novel to me did not live up to her previous efforts, I kept at it though, and will test her again,her

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    "Himself" is a mystery. An orphan returns to the remote, conservative Irish village where he was born. He is not greeted with begin arms. All he wants is to search out what happened to his mother but the villagers just wish him to leave. As he searches we learn more about him, ghosts, Irish folk lore and the accompanying prejudices and the magic mysticism of Ireland. A great, entertaining book -- funny, violent, peopled with unbelievable and evil characters. You will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    The Prologue is set in May 1950 but is only three pages long. Though a short piece it’s packed with drama as a woman is murdered while her baby son sleeps quietly in a nearby forest, hidden by amazing ferns. The book proper begins with chapter one set in April 1976 as a young man from Dublin named Mahony arrives in the city of Mulderrig. Now what do you think are the odds that Mr. Mahony is the baby son of that murdered woman? Right, they’re beautiful amazing odds indeed. The reader will deduce this quickly but the folks in Mulderrig won’t catch on for a while. Mahony’s landlady, Mrs. Cauley, recruits him to support audition locals as performers in the town’s Christmas play. During the auditions Mrs. Cauley sneaks in a lot of questions about Orla Sweeney and her whereabouts, a woman who turns out to be Mahony’s missing mother. All this curiosity causes a much greater interest by the townspeople in Mahony and just what he is doing in their town. Mahony, Mrs. Cauley, and other mates start an investigation of the different characters in Mulderrig and who might be suspects in Orla’s disappearance. There’s even a supernatural element involved; the photos of a lot of dead citizens appear at various times to point the way. The special charm of the Irish method of writing English prose is another enjoyable feature of this novel. You’ll have a grand time as long as you don’t obtain banjaxed by a wayward undesirable one. Fair play to you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a wonderfully entertaining book. Having driven the streets of Western Ireland myself, I could easily picture the setting of this city that isn't...where a young man coming from Dublin determines he must visit to explore what happened to his mother e earth, wind, deceased spirits and lively characters meet with his will to support search the nnot think of a better St Paddy's Day read than this Kindle book, just $1.99 from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I am a voracious reader but am not enthralled with every book. THIS book was great! Engaging characters and a amazing plot--I could hardly place it down, and have recommended to friends.If you are a lover of all things Irish, and have fun a bit of fantasy and ghostiness, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a truly brilliant work of Irish magical realism. Even if you don’t usually go for this kind of thing, you’ll be wowed by Himself

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Very imaginative and chock-full of interesting characters , both living and dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Unbelievable read. Attractive descriptions and characters. Unique, funny, well written. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading and stories. I choose this rating because this is a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Truly loved this book. The imagery and the melding of reality with the supernatural were graceful, vivid and compelling. The characters are special and well-drawn. The suspense subtly increases until you feel yourself winded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book - the author has a unbelievable method of telling the story, using unbelievable descriptions and characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Captivating from the begin and it kept the momentum to the latest page. A heart warming must-read murder mystery with devilish info and spectral characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I purchases this book for my great-granddaughter and decided to read it first just to see what it is. I often do that, like to know what they are reading. It was so nice, all ages will have fun reading it. Stresses the family love and following through, be confident, determined, not to act too fast....think and know more before you do things, etc. A charming novel! Simple reading for all ages, eight or nine years old and up (old age included!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Amazing for about probably about a 2nd Grade reading level and up. My daughter (in Kindergarten) LOVED the movie, and this was a amazing method to encourage her excitement about reading. The novelization stayed real to the film - to the point where my daughter started singing at the appropriate parts. It was intimidating for my daughter to read on their own due to the sheer quantity of words on the page, but it's a amazing method to turn bedtime stories into a bridge between Goodnight Moon and a "real" book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I liked it. It was amazing but the sad part is when Elsa hit Anna in the head with her powers. There was another sad part when Prince Hans pretended to be in love and marry princess Anna just to be in control of the castle and e book also was funny because Olaf the snowman was hilarious.He didn't have a skull...or e huge marshmallow was really amazing I like how you did favorite hero was Anna ,Elsa,Olaf,Christoph,and BOOK EVER!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    this book, Frozen The junior Novelization is a amazing book after watching the film at the film theater. this bookhas method more info than the film i felt poor for Anna and Elsa because they were apart for years they didn't play with each and my sister are 3 years a part i am 10 and my sister is 7 .This is satisfied  and sad story.if you are interested in buying this book you should buy it and it is one hundred percent ease order it soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    My daughter liked that this book had info that were either implied or not completely clear in the movie, and it helped her understand the story better. And it's Frozen, so girls love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I can't place the book down the moment it arrived on our doorstep. It was delightful to read all the conversations, straight from the movie! My 7 year old has been reading it, cover to cover, role playing with all the quotes she memorised from the book. We played a android game of finding in the book where Olaf first appeared in the movie, and where he said "all amazing things, all amazing things". Perfect book to encourage reading, thinking and day-dreaming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    This book based on a film is amazing for children who liked the film 'Frozen' and simple readers. It is amazing for 1st, 2nd, and maybe 3rd graders to read n their own. It does not have every single detail of the film or lyrics to the songs, but is a beautiful amazing book for the younger group of kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Amazing book for your 8 yrs and up early reader. Allows your kid the joy of remembering the story they love while improving their reading skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    Sent as gift. No issues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Frozen Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:19

    I bought this book for my small sister's Christmas present. She and I LOVED the movie.Of course, I couldn't support but read the book as soon as my sister was finished. We both loved e book had some slight differences to the film (including additional laughs, lines, and one little part that I want they had place in the movie), which created it all the more cute! Definitely recommend for any younger girl who loved the film =)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Trying to have my daughter read something! Hope she likes it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    This book should be for P3 and P4 to read. I was P4 and after I read it I could njot stop readind it. So you should buy it now! aI already read it 3 times!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My 7 year old grandson just loved this book. He is a amazing fan of the film and this book gets him interested in improving his reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    She screamed in excitement. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    It's better than the idle of the lost

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    we loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My daughter loves this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    My Daughter love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Loved this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Descendants Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    It's a cool fresh spin on older Disney movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Best book and film in along time. Easily comparable to Christopher Robin and all his animal mates as emotions brought into the future. Kids to adults will laugh and be touched to the imagination of the writer and all that has been there in front of us and not noticed until now. Read the book and see the movie, it is a hoot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    My girls love it for bedtime, and we use it for reading practice. Nicely done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    My daughter HATES to read! I told her that we had to read this book before we could see the movie. She was reluctant at first, but the pace was reader friendly and she is enjoying reading & listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing read, we're starting over tomorrow night!. Well done and excellent for a young reader. My 7 year old loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I would read this, and go like, I wish to read it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Can't obtain my daughter to place this down,she loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This book is amazing for children because it describes how emotions and memories play into our personalities. I think it's amazing to have a book for kids that explains how to express our emotions and deal with them in a healthy manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inside Out Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I liked that there were pictures in the book but I don't like that the words were too small.I couldn't really see what the book was talking about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    This reads EXACTLY like watching the film (minus the songs), which is kind of weird to me as an adult. That said, it was a bonus for my six-year-old and she loved it and went on to read the junior novelization of Brave - seems like the concept is a hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Excellent small reader for my granddaughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing book! My daughters read it before the film release and loved. They loved the film even more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing heroine, amazing story. My only complaint is the not good quality of the paper used. Also there should have been more pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    Amazing toy. My granddaughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    My 8 year old basically devoured this book. She loves Moana and was so excited to read the chapter book. It also helped her to see the names and words from the film in print, as some of them are more challenging words. Its amazing to have your kid excited to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    grand daughter loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I have a private policy that I do not buy a book without seeing it first. Amazon has 2 features to allow the buyer see what is inside a book before they buy. You can download a sample or you can "look inside". Both of these features for this book are literally a single blank page that links to the Disney www service where you can buy books there. I search this practice reprehensible and because of it I rate books like this with a 1 star rating. If I could I would give them a 0. They offer a sample of nothing and in turn I offer them the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I hadn't planned on seeing it but.. my Niece always wanted to pretend she was Moana.. after a lot of questions about how to play ... She took my hand and looked me in the eye and said. "Uncle you really need to see the movie" with the impish look like, geeez obtain with the program like how can you not have seen this yet... So I saw it... Not poor butIt is clearly Oligarchy propaganda the "Ocean" chose her ... to quote the Holy Grail... Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony. Also the chicken was type cast, not all chickens are dumb I recently sat next to one plane who was reading the Washington Post... ok so he was dumb also... but all in all not a poor moive..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moana Junior Novel (Disney Junior Novel (ebook)) review [Book]  2017-10-25 18:1

    I love Disney moana she is so brave I love when she sail's across the sea and I love the pet pig pua😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter