The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    …if Alvie Brechenmacher and her mentor can outwit a risky rival. Alvie is apprentice to Marion Praff, a world-famous inventor/magician. Both are driven to search novel applications in the fresh field of Polymaking. Shortly after beginning her apprenticeship, Alvie makes a fresh mate who inspires her to use Polymaking to solve her friend’s medical problem. While she’s working on the solution, can Alvie explore what her own heart desires?Charlie N. Holmberg is at her original best blending magic, science, and steampunk for a special magic system. Holmberg excels at satisfactorily twisty mysteries, character-driven stories, and compelling world- and e Plastic Magician is a amazing addition to the globe of The Paper Magician with a few characters crossing over in help roles, so this book can easily be read as a standalone novel. While the storylines were all wrapped up, there was one magical aspect that was left partially solved which could lead to extra stories with Alvie.We can only hope!I received this book as an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) from NetGalley. My opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I adore The Paper Magician series, and have been not so patiently waiting for this book since Amazon gave me a heads up email about this book. Once again, we are transported to London in the early 1900s, in a globe filled with magicians and appreciates. Latest time we were treated to a peek into the globe of Folders, and this time we enter the globe of Polymakers. I do not wish to drop any tips about the content, but if you enjoyed The Paper Magician series, you will not be disappointed!My only "complaint" is that the other books aren't available/written yet!,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Another fresh medium, another inventor and another heroine you can love. Although this book is set in the year 1901, the use of modern plastics and mobility tech is very timely. Nice mix!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) video reviews and related movies:

    See The Paper Magician Review on youtube.

     related image

    See Just for Fun by Christopher T. Magician on youtube.

     related image

    See Magic Lighter on youtube.

     related image

    See Stargate Card Trick on youtube.

     related image

    See Trick Ice Cream on youtube.

     related image

    See Unusual Padlock on youtube.

     related image

    See Prince To Frog Transformation on youtube.

     related image

    See Gong Show: The Unknown Comic on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I loved this book! I have been stalking Amazon for the release date and bout it the second it came out! Equal to all the rest. My only dismay is that now i have to wait for more! Ive been waiting for this one for months! Did not disappoint as i am up method past my bedtime to [email protected]#$%!. Please hurry up and write more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Mind-tingling and so original. Ever since I read the Paper Magician trilogy by this author, I've been enchanted by her globe of magic based on the use of materials such as paper. What an exciting surprise it was to explore a fresh story in the same world! The Plastic Magician is lovely and stimulating on all vie, the young American female lead, is delightfully obsessed with numbers and measurements, wears pants despite the ladylike norm, and acts innocently awkward in social situations resulting in very funny and endearing scenes. I loved her fast mind, her thick glasses and unconventional beauty, the method she looks at things and sheds a light onto a dark om Ohio to England, she travels to begin an apprenticeship and become a magician in a newly developed discipline. I could feel her barely contained enthusiasm for every aspect of her fresh life. She's both naïve and ambitious, intelligent and honest. Plastic and paper magic are weaved into little info in everyday life, yet reach grandeur when creative minds wield it to change e plot was engaging all along as Alvie learns her fresh magic and she meets fresh people that will change both her and her tutor's fates. I loved the stage at the post office and also Alvie's sweetly romantic relationship with Bennet.Quote: "Technology is the uneducated man's magic." This leads to a amazing stage full of thoughtful conversation. The author has a subtle and sweet sense of ong the lessons, Alvie contributes to a unique project that involves mechanics, plastic magic, cunning and with, and I enjoyed that so much. The mystery plot revolved around that particular invention and how it would affect people and posterity. It all worked together as well as a oiled e atmosphere of the story is cozy and fun, and the workings of the magic are truly engaging. The ending is bustling with action, betrayal, ingenuity, Houdini escapism and a satisfying resolution to every plot line. Still, I would love more Alvie, more plastic discoveries and more sense of wonder. Beautiful.(I'm satisfied to share my honest opinion about this arc from netgalley).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I was very excited when I saw that the author was returning to the same globe as her Paper Magician series and I’m thrilled to report that I loved The Plastic Magician. Alvie is an American who travels to London to start her apprenticeship in the art of Polymaking. This book is a lot lighter in tone than the Paper Magician series. There is a poor guy who is up to no amazing but he is far more mortal in the danger he poses and his threat does not overpower the book. This book is far more about Alvie and Polymaking, which is the study of plastics. She is a unbelievable character, as are the other characters in the book. Folding has a huge presence as well which was great. I sincerely hope that the author returns to this unbelievable globe she has made (and please don’t create us wait so long for the next edition!). Clear your calendar when you begin this because you won’t be able to out it down! I only [email protected]#$%! had been longer. I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Thanks to Netgalley and 47North for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review!Holmberg's Paper Magician series did something really cool: it introduced a very special and very fun magic system. This standalone follow-up/spin-off book follows the adventures of Ceony in the first three books and this time, it's through the very poor-sighted eyes of Alvie, a fledgling Polymaker (plastic magician) who is taking an apprenticeship in England, far across the sea from her home in the US. She's intelligent as a whip, and she's powerful in her own way, but she doesn't suffer from the same quick-to-jump-into-trouble nature as Ceony did. She's logical and methodical, and a very amazing protagonist.While the twist wasn't all that shocking (I mean, we'd figured out the twists beautiful early on, hadn't we? *wink*), the magic was a fun ride, and the story had some cool l in all, I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Alvie Bechenmacher is headed to London to begin her apprenticeship as a Polymaker—a magical trade learning how to bespell plastic. With Polymaking being a relatively newly discovered magic it’s a beautiful competitive field. Alvie gets to study under world-renowned magician Marion Praff, and dives headfirst into her studies. With Alvie’s valuable insight, Praff’s creative juices begin flowing again, and soon Alvie and Praff create a discovery that will not only change Polymaking but has the potential to change the world. They plan to show their fresh search at the Discovery Convention, but when their lab is broken into, it’s clear that someone wants to hold them from going to the Convention. It’ll be up to Alvie to search the culprit and create sure justice is served.Having read The Plastic Magician I can definitely say that you in no method need to read the previous book(s) in order to have fun this one. I would just recommend it because they are a beautiful amazing read, but not having read them in quite a while I found myself falling right back into this globe of magic quite easily.I think it helps that Alvie is studying polymaking. While I felt like the paper magic (Folding) felt a bit more artistic, polymaking felt very practical. I liked the distinction between the two, and I think it speaks to the nature of the vie can be considered, I think it’s safe to say, an awkward person. She quite frequently pauses in the middle of a conversation with someone to mentally count the number of steps she’s taken, or to ruminate on the history of a person or put for example, but once you move past these small quirks, you see Alvie as the kind and brilliant person she is. She’s also practical, just like ward the end I got a huge Nancy Drew vibe from Alvie, just because the story veers so much into mystery location as you figure out who keeps sabotaging their work. It’s actually not too difficult to figure out, and Alvie has the person beautiful much pegged from the start, but I liked the method things played out.If you’ve read the first trilogy, you might message some similarities between Ceony and Alvie’s story arcs. I’m wondering if this is intentional and if it means the previous characters will play a bigger part in any future books as Alvie continues her studies in Polymaking. Ceony and Emery Thane do create a brief cameo which I e Plastic Magician was a great, light read. I love the magics Charlie N. Holmberg made in the original trilogy and I’m equally excited that, through this spin-off, we obtain to broaden the world. No word yet on if there’s more books featuring Alvie, but with the method things end, I would be surprised if there weren’t.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an honest vie is an innovator. In a globe where people can choose the medium for their magic, apprentice Alvie Brechenmacher has picked Plastic. It is the newest discipline which means she can be on the cutting edge of fresh developments. However, the fresh field of Polymaking can be cutthroat, which she is about to search out.Even though she is only an apprentice, Alvie is an inventor at heart, and she is determined to create as a lot of discoveries—in as short a time frame—as she can. Luckily for her, she’s studying under the world-renowned magician Marion Praff, who is just as dedicated as Alvie vie’s enthusiasm reinvigorates her mentor’s work, and together they make a device that could forever change Polymaking—and the world. But when a rival learns of their plans, he conspires to steal their invention and take the credit for it thwart him, Alvie will need to think one step ahead. For in the high-stakes globe of magical discovery, not everyone plays fair… – GoodreadsShe is a brilliant young woman, with a decidedly technical turn of mind and I search her charming. Alvie is adorably geeky. Socially awkward, a small obsessive, intuitive and always sincere. If you’ve read any of the books in Ms. Holmberg’s Paper Magician series, then you are familiar with this world. This is a standalone book in that same world, which introduces us to fresh characters & magic, as well as treats us to glimpses of old favorites. I admit I liked this book better than the Paper Magician series. Primarily because of Holmberg’s books are always an simple choice for me. When I first begin to hear rumors about a fresh book I immediately commence stalking Netgalley for an ARC. I’m always so satisfied to obtain one! Her books are pleasant and imaginative and I know that I am always sure to have fun myself. I’m not sure if Ms. Holmberg intends to write more books in this world. I do know that her upcoming books are completely different, but it would be nice to see a return to Alvie in future. Regardless, I will be looking forward to her next for this book: Come on! Feel the Ilinoise! – Sufjan Stevens

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Plastic Magician (A Paper Magician Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    3.5 StarsWhile I've read other works by Charlie Holmberg, I've somehow managed to miss reading The Paper Magician trilogy, so this book was an introduction into Holmberg's charming magical world, set largely in an alternate Edwardian era England, around 1906. Alvie Brechenmacher is a magician who wants to focus on plastics, a newer branch of magic in this globe in which magicians work materials such as paper, metal, fire, among others. She is fortunate to be matched for her apprenticeship with British Magician Marion Praff, a polymaking magician with a generous nature and natural inclination for teaching. Alvie leaves her modest home in Columbus, Ohio and her German family, including her father Gunter, who worked with Thomas Edison on the light bulb, and makes her method to London and the Praff estate at Briar Hall. Alvie is a frizzy-haired, near-sighted early 20th Century nerd. And something of a tomboy, since she eschews skirts for more practical and comfortable trousers whenever is novel has a light but sweet romance element between Alvie and a paper magician's apprentice suitor named Bennet (shout out to Jane Austen?), and a mystery element with a competitor polymer magician who seems more willing to steal from Magician Praff than work on developing his own ideas. Covering approximately the first year of Alvie's apprenticeship, this novel shows promise for development into a spinoff series, with the next book finding the characters presenting at the Discovery Convention in Fresh York in 1907. And we can hope that Alvie will be presenting about a unique technique she's investigating at the end of this book. It would certainly create sense given that name, Brechenmacher, that she'd be breaking, or at least bending, some of the well-known rules of this magical l in all, this was a historical steampunkish fantasy novel that I could enjoy, in spite of a primary foundation that might be too formulaic in a less skilled writer's hands. I would definitely pick up a second book about Alvie and plan to read The Paper Magician trilogy when I finish my Hugo reading this summer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    I’m always searching for that novel that takes me somewhere new, breaching fresh walls and giving me something I didn’t have before. “The Magicians” is one of those novels. I subtitled the Syfy Channel series “Harry Potter on Steroids,” but quite honestly, magic is the only similarity between the two series. Author Lev Grossman’s book is a darker, more intensive look at the globe of magic and those who inhabit it. Readers only spend about half the book at Quentin’s school, Brakebills, with the rest of the book focusing on the quest? mystery? that Mr. Grossman teases us with through the beginning sections. Characterizations are one of the highlights. Hardly any of what you might refer to as the “good” characters are nice people. Actually, they are all-too-human, and we see all their warts and imperfections. Quentin Coldwater is an interesting character. While it is possible at times to identify with him, at other moments it is almost impossible not to act on the desire to give him a amazing thrashing. By the end of the book, the author has done such a unbelievable job with all the main characters – Quentin, Alice, Jane, Eliot, and even Josh – that readers may feel these are old mates they’ve known for years. Mr. Grossman deftly weaves the various plotlines in an intricate mix, effortlessly blending the different side stories and neatly wrapping everything together by the story’s end. What could easily have been just another story of a magical person at a magical school who wars magical evil people has been transformed into a story that focuses on Quentin and his struggle to explore what, if anything, will create him truly happy. That magic and a unbelievable story has been wrapped around Quentin’s tale only makes the book that much better. While some may search the adult language offensive, I thought it was essential to the realism and characterizations. “The Magicians” combines all the essentials – plot, characters, and just plain old amazing writing – into one of those unique books. It is not magic, yet there is something magical that compels me to purchase the next two books in the series. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Unfortunately my bookclub chose this. Ugh. Just awful. Some amazing ideas here but...they go NOWHERE. I really didn't care about any of these boring characters... Characters just wander in and out, its like a literary bus terminal...Just amazing ideas wander in (the testing in Antarctica could have been FASCINATING...but it came...and went in 5? pages??? And the 'Parnia" crap..sheesh. really? What is Mr Grossman's beef? jealousy of being able to write characters that are actually...e author uses nice words is one of the few amazing things I can say. Oh, he knows how to use punctuation. (oh for the sake of honestly I simply gave up at 62%... thankfully next month is Dragonflight by Anne [email protected]#$%!&?y (read it 30? years ago...can;t wait to read it again!) OR....phenomenal- test Murmuration by TJ Kline...one of the best books I have ever read (think Huge Eden by method of the Twilight Zone...if *anyone* tries to tell you the plot...shoot them :) )

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Plenty of people have called this book the "Harry Potter for adults" and I would agree with that. Lots of other reviewers have said that this book isn't "fantasy" and I would agree with that too. I think the best method to describe this book would be to say that it imagines a globe in which magic is true and just like everything else in the true world, magic can be and often is hard, dirty, ugly and horrifying. If you are expecting a Harry Potter tale in which our character wars the Dark Lord as a cute little, bright eyed first year you will be disappointed. The first two thirds of this book should be treated as a series of vignettes that are stories in themselves. It is simple to me to see how some readers obtain frustrated waiting for something to happen, I did. But don't quit. What I like about this book is that the author builds a globe as if magic were real, as if it's something you have to work very, very hard at, and then he makes you, the reader feel how his hero must feel. The "vignettes" are entertaining, some I liked better than others (you will too), but by turns you will be bored, listless, frustrated and when you look down to the bottom of your Kindle and see that you are 60% through the book you will feel much like the hero does at that point in the tale: is this really all there is? Where is the adventure? Create no mistake, there is adventure, there is a plot but Grossman makes his characters and his readers earn it. Lastly, this is the beginning of a series and, seeing as I'm about three quarters through the second book, I like where this series is going, so stick it out, there is much more gritty and fun fantasy ahead. But, create no mistake, this Narnia isn't for kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    I know this book has gotten a amazing a lot of rave reviews. And generally, I complain about books that are not well written and/or those with multiple typos, grammatical problems, and spelling errors. This book IS well written, technically, but I could not obtain engaged in it. I didn't like the hero. Being fixated on a fictional globe he read about as a child sounds more Asperger's than a belief that magic is real. I've forced, literally forced myself to hold reading because I read that the second half is better than the first, but I am now 70% through it and cannot create myself sit down and read another word. I simply don't care what happens. When I actually buy a book, especially for more than a buck, I hate to throw away money, but in this case, would rather do that than throw away time I could spend doing something more enjoyable, like scanning a list of free books or reading the Everyday Kos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    After binge-watching Season 1 on Netflix, I decided to read the source material and see which was better. Overall I found the novel lacking. I found the TV present lacking as well, but for various reasons. The protagonist is quite 1-dimensional with small emotional depth or range. The plot stumbles along without direction eventually devolving into a poor D&D adventure. Then the author apparently realized there was cash to be created with a sequel so bolted on a coda to an overall underwhelming effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    I have thought long and hard about what to say about this book. I began it after watching a some of the episodes of the TV show, and I'm sad to report this is one case where the present is far, far better than the book ever managed to be.Objectively, there is small wrong with the book itself. The writing is, for the most part, decent, even if the author has the infuriating tendency to tell, not show. Yes, the pacing manages to be laborious, even when skipping months at a time, but other books have that issue and still manage to be e fundamental issue of this book is that nothing happens. At all. There's something to be said for a book exploring the life of the everyman, to whom nothing of import happens, instead of a mythic hero, but that's not what's going on here. A lot of things - unbelievable things - happen to the main character, Q. He learns magic, travels to other worlds, falls in love but, throughout it all, he rejects them. Nothing is amazing enough for him. His magic isn't magical enough. His lover is boring. And so he continues to tell himself he's meant for something better, all he while failing to live up to what minor expectations are place on him at ere is no hero growth. Q remains the whiny, entitled, depressed kid he was at the beginning of the book, only with a whole host of new, unbelievable things to go on about, at the end. He lauds himself for making such amazing choices and goes off and does the opposite for no adequately explored reason. He tells himself he's better than everyone and fails to see he's the least of them, even after encountering gods and genuinely decent people. If anything, he revels in the depression this causes him, almost to the point of glorifying untreated mental e characters with the most potential are hardly explored at all, with most appearing to be written out by the end of the e "villain" - indeed, the overarching "plot" itself - seems like an afterthought, as if the author wrote a book about your average wizard and realized he required an actual reason for someone to read it. Indeed, the author uses the "villain"'s appearance at the end of the novel as a possibility to be preachy, going on about how getting what you wish is poor because it always ends up badly, and how having emotions is not good because you might obtain hurt, tacked on as if an ne of this even begins to touch the magical worlds the author has built. Rather than being a "Hogwarts for adults", as advertised, we are given a magical college that somehow manages to be more dull than any true college ever attended, and people who are, to varying degrees, obsessed with a slightly less Christian allegory ver of Narnia. Neither are flushed out to anything close to the degree Hogwarts (or Middle Earth or Narnia) was, so that instead of a "magical globe that feels real" that could have possibly redeemed the rest of the book, we obtain a suggestion of a magical globe as seen through fogged glasses from a short, I have never encountered anything that was such a waste of time. I can't even bring myself to properly hate the book because there is nothing, fundamentally, to hate. It just is. And for that reason alone it becomes the fresh #1 on my "Books Never To Read Again And Hold The Rest Of The Globe From Reading At All Costs" list, above books I've outright loathed, because there is nothing to have fun and even less to hate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Quentin Coldwater is a cold, uninterested, depressed adult who also happens to have really negative view of women. It is hard to have fun the interesting story around this book because Quentin is so negative and uninteresting. As someone with depression I know a poor episode tints the globe a duller color but Quentin doesn't even seem to see the globe in any color at all. A lot of characters are described in negative, unattractive terms and women are always described by their looks or attractiveness. You obtain into "book two" five years after the begin of the story and then finally create it to the realm where this story takes place. This books is slow, tedious, and woman hating. Do yourself a favor and watch the syfy present instead, it's much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Ok, read the book in April 2016. It was well written and the characters development was between average and above average; enough for a amazing interesting story and for these reasons I recommend it... but with some n’t expect an original plot for it borrows so heavily from the C.S. Lewis’s story “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” that you would think it a sequel with fresh characters. Take the major outline of Lewis’s story, mixed a bag full of magicians into it, shake it, and re-title it “The Magicians” and you beautiful much have it.Enjoy it for what it is.Enjoy it for what it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Really liked it. At the end the writing (to me) seemed to shift from literary prose to more of a narrative plot-driven piece, as if the writer were tying up lose ends as quickly as possible. That said, I've read some of the most memorable writing in a very long time. The author uses every conceivable hero in the olot, and has a method of making characters come alive. In fact, the main hero changes throughout the tale, has flaws and attempts to correct those flaws through very human e best things about this book are: 1) The painstaking detail and time spent at the magical college makes the characters grow and evolve as if in school; 2) One gains a sense of reality as if the tale is true, even when the Senior student body flies to the South Pole (no spoilers here); and 3) The very true and human emotions of loss, betrayal, redemption and regret which cause readers to identify, then allows the reader to see the crash and burn of the main character, Quintin's, probably won't read a book that combines the sprawl of Fresh York Town highlife with the magic of Alice in Wonderland enchantments.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magicians: A Novel review [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Other reviewers have remarked that this is not a fantasy novel. I agree wholeheartedly. I'm not sure what I would characterize this novel as. Just general fiction I suppose. Coming of age tale? is novel is targeted strictly at a very specific demographic. If your teenage years fell in the range of 1990 to 2010, and if you spent the majority of those teenage years immersed in "nerd" items (before "nerd culture" was really a thing), Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Dungeons and Dragons, His Dark Materials, then the characters in this book will feel like cooler versions of the mates you may or may not have had (you were a nerd, after all).Don't read this thinking you're going to search another universe to fall in love with; this is a book about falling in love with a universe, a fantasy world. I suppose that makes it a meta-critique of fantasy fans. That may also explain why so a lot of who went into it expect another Narnia, another Wizard of Oz, another Hunger Games, another Eragon may feel so bitterly disappointed - Quentin's desires and how he fails to appreciate what he had in "real life", even when true life was literally actually a fantasy life, strikes close to home for those of us who have "inhabited" fantasy realms as fans for a lot of years. If Quentin's despair is too related to your own, and you aren't a person inclined to introspection, this book is going to create you utterly miserable by the end.I haven't yet followed up on the 2nd or 3rd books. I found the final pages very jarring, and it very much felt like how a television present that is insecure in its prospects of future seasons will make a season finale that wraps up the current story, but "leaves a door open" for subsequent seasons that doesn't feel 's hard to write about this book, because much of what I have to say sounds negative but it's not meant to be. The pacing is very slow, and there's an agonizing "waiting for the other shoe to drop" feeling that really never explicitly comes. Everytime something poor happens to Quentin, whether by accident or his own actions, it never feels like what you were waiting for. This leaves the actual reveal feeling a small flat (that is a negative criticism). However, I can't support but feel like all of this is intentional, part of the meta critique of, even if you have everything you ever wanted, happiness comes from the inside. Or "regardless of the circumstances of your life, THIS is your life, so create the effort to appreciate what you've got." It sounds harsh, but if you didn't have fun this book based on it "not being a fantasy as advertised" then it's probably because you missed the meta word: If I had to describe this book in a word, it would be "wistful". I'd recommend this to certain people, but I wouldn't recommend it to just anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mad Magician review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Tails you win, heads you lose! The Angry Magician is directed by John Brahm and written by Crane Wilbur. It stars Vincent Price, Mary Murphy, Eva Gabor and Patrick O'Neal. Melody is by Arthur Lange and Emil Newman and cinematography by Bert Glennon. Magician Don Gallico (Price) is incensed when his attempts at stardom is scuppered by a contract he signed, so much so he takes matters in to his own hands... One of the eras 3-D productions, The Angry Magician sees Columbia recycle Warner Brother's 1953 release of House of Wax. The familiarity of it all is impossible to shake off, with a key stage even stolen from one of director Brahm's more notable productions. Yet it's still a fun movie, watching Price turn in a amazing one, as he gradually gets more dastardly with each passing quarter, all set to Victorian style backgrounds. There's some ghoulishly enjoyable macabre moments, played straight but with tongue in cheek evident, and while the scenes shot for 3-D gain obviously lose impact, they keep well enough in 2-D for story enjoyment. Performances around Price are fine, the girls (including Murphy's outstanding legs) add colour to the otherwise weak plot, and although the absence of Brahm's skilled Gothic/noir touches is a blow, the look of the piece is suitably moody. More one for Brahm and Price completists, this is still enjoyable fare (it was a commercial hit upon release) that's worth tracking down. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lightning Magician Clicker : VIP review [App]  2018-8-2 21:0

    Crashes constantly and there is no offline progress. Beautiful much unplayable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    I liked this book for its fantasy and adventurous plot. It was really straightforward, maybe a small too simple.I think that small children would have fun it a lot more than I did. So the five stars I gave, are putting me in that context. (I read two of the saga when I was a child and now a lot more older I'm filling the gaps :))Also is worth to mention that the audible narration was impecable and very pleasant to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Thai book was a amazing read that introduced Narnia and how it came to be. It explains the wardrobe also. Highly recommended for fans of the movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    This book was SO much better than all the other ones. because I go to a Christian school I have had to read all the Narnia books. Before I read this book I considered the series very dull and unbelievable. The thing that was so amazing about it was that it gave me a various POV about the books. This book explained that are Narnia is not a just some magical put that you obtain to by going through some wardrobe but it is ,like are world,one of thousands of universes that the only method to obtain to one universe to another is by magic. This book also explains, were the white witch came from, why the wardrobe is a portal into Narnia, and the origins of that two sons of Adam and two daughters of Eve prophecy from the lion the witch and the ey also go to other worlds besides Narnia.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    This book was very interesting and in fact gave me a fresh more smart mind set. Every once in a while I write fan fiction for fun and this series all together has created me much better at writing books. Like now I am much more engaged in using old English, describing interesting details, using smart vocabulary, and making the info interesting. Also create sure to go on my www service at

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    This book is inspirational. Everyone should read it. Christians will search truth that C.S. Lewis was took from his understanding of the Bible and non christians will search the story of amazing over evil, discipline and hero a true encouragement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    I love every word C.S. Lewis writes. I think this book should be read before"Lion,Witch,Wardrobe"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    I liked the humor and some of the characterization in this book. It wasn't a poor book. I think it is a book for kids (who may not obtain some of the humor) or for die-hard CS Lewis/Narnia fans.I think the plot is simplistic. I have fun reading young adult literature, so this is not about me being "too old" for this genre. It seems to have taken 6 years for Lewis to write this book, and I can see why he had problem getting comfortable with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Focus on the Family Radio Theatre has wonderfully brought to life some of the world's best literary classics. The superior sound design, unbelievable orchestration, and employment of some of the best voice actors/actresses available present this ministry to be pasionate about their work."The Magician's Nephew" is the "Genesis" of the land of Narnia. The book explores such relevant themes as creation, sin, and, ultimately, forgiveness. Diggory Kirk has come to stay with his Aunt Lettie and eccentric Uncle Andrew Ketterley. He struggles with the illness of his mother and longs to be back in the country with his father, who is away in India. When Diggory meets a girl named Polly Plummer, and they mistakenly enter his Uncle Andrew's study on a rainy afternoon, the adventure is production is solid and an almost word-for-word dramatization of Lewis' book. The voice actors are fantastic, and David Suchet's joyful and powerful portrayal of Aslan, the Amazing Lion, is unsurpassed. Elizabeth Counsel is chilling as Jadis, the Latest Amazing Empress of Charn, a globe that she herself destroys. Her voice is smooth as silk, yet it has the ability to throb with menace whenever necessary. The temptation stage will create you shudder. The actor portraying Uncle Andrew is both chilling and amusing by turns. Paul Scofield, the Storyteller, has the unbelievable ability to remind me of a loving grandfather relating a tale to his favorite aspect of this story is the Creation stage in which Aslan's Song brings Narnia to life. What attractive imagery, and how real that our own creativity mirrors the ultimate Creator of us ease give this dramatization a chance. God bless you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    What is not to love about C.S. Lewis? An awesome book from an awesome man. Shipping took a small longer than I hoped for but I did order it right before Christmas so I wasn't expecting next day delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-19 18:1

    Wow. I just read a phenomenal book. It's how Narnia came to be!! I have seen all the Narnia films and I am starting on the series and boy am I loving it ALREADY! This book shows how some guy's magic rings can take you far beyond your wildest imagination! But it's not your imagination is it? The magic of Narnia is shown in this book. I loved how they found Aslan. I can't tell, so do YOU wish to know? Read this book! It will have you on the edge of your seat and you'll wish to hold reading it no matter what! I recommend this book for people ages 8-100! This book is amazing for any age; young or old. You will wish to read the rest of the series like I do and I cannot WAIT to read books 2-7! Hope you wish to have the fun I had!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    It's been 35 years since I first met Pug, and it is a joy to go back and read again the begin of it all from the perspective of one who has seen how it all turns out. "Apprentice" was obviously intended to be a beginning, but it is not an "origin story" in the sense of an author returning to a completed character; Mr. Feist had no idea that his series would grow into what it eventually became. He did, however, republish this volume with some extra material to tie things together a bit more, and it was interesting if not necessarily better to read this e Riftwar books launched the beginning of a golden age of post LOTR fantasy series, to be followed by Weiss/Hickman's Dragonlance and, of course, R.A. Salvatore's Drizzt. If a fresh reader set out to read those three series -- others will certainly have various favorites, but those are mine -- they will have several years of wonderment ahead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    One of the amazing fantasy tales of all times, the extras in this Author's Preferred Edition create a fine story even better. If you've never read the Riftwar series, you owe it to yourself to do so. The two Magician books along with Silverthorn and Darkness At Sethanon will hold you glued to your chair and wanting more when you are through. The stories and characters are fully fleshed, with enough detail and pace to satisfy the most discerning reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    I originally read this series back when it first came out, and I've been (not so) patiently been waiting for the Kindle version. The story is great; always has been, always will be. The characters come to life and the action is almost non-stop. When I'm reading the series (which I've done about 25 times since it's release) I can't place it down. It draws me in and holds my attention. Thankfully I can now carry the whole series with me anytime I go somewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    I look at myself as a major bookworm. I love to read anything I can normally obtain my hands on. My partner forced me to read this book after I told him that I have never heard of Raymond Feist and the Riftwar Legacy.I am so glad I started this book. It is amazingly well written, and I felt the connections with each of the characters. I can't wait to begin diving deeper into this world. If you were like me and have passed over this book, stop now, and pick it warned: From everything I have gathered, there are around thirty books in this Legacy. Obtain ready for some hardcore reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    The Spotlight review by Rich Chiavaroli, "A Page Turner", conveys much of what I would confirm. Raymond E. Feist's book, Magician: Apprentice, is a competently written fantasy story that will keep your interest throughout. While it is a amazing book, it is not an amazing one, and by that I mean there are no moments at which the reader is overwhelmed with passion in sympathy with any of the is is not really a harsh criticism. Most authors manage it only once in a while. Piers Anthony, for example, did it only once that I know of: when Mach shouted "Thee...Thee...Thee..." to Fleta after she had jumped from the top of a cliff (at the end of Out Of Phaze). A lot of stories don't have these superlatively poignant scenes, yet they are still amazing gician: Apprentice has three main characters - Pug, Tomas and Arutha. Pug is the title character, the Magician's apprentice. Tomas is his friend. After Pug is captured by the Tsurani (about 3/4 through the book), the viewpoint shifts briefly to Tomas, who has found a magical sword and a suit of magical armor that makes a sword-swinging character out of him. Later, though, the action leaves Tomas in Elvandar and joins Arutha as he returns to the hold at Crydee. The rest of the book is about how Arutha assumes command of his father's (Duke Borric's) soldiers and wars off the Tsurani invaders by his heroic and inspirational veral other characters are very important, including Kulgan (the magician to whom Pug is apprenticed), Roland (a mate and rival of Pug's), and Carline (the princess who loves Pug and Roland...both).Martin Longbow and his fellow tracker Garret provide some comedy on the battlefield as they trick one group of opponents into chasing them into another group of enemies, as mutually opposed to each other as either of them is to the Crydee faction.Pug doesn't do much magic in this story. After he saves the Princess by casting a spell, he's beautiful much a spectator until he attacks the Tsurani by the rift and gets himself e story is fast-paced, interesting, and well-told. But it is obvious that Magician: Apprentice is a set up for the later books in the Riftwar Saga.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    Finally! I finally got this on kindle, I read this series 10-15 yrs ago and loved it. I’m slowly getting them on Kindle as they become available price wise. A amazing series guarantee to keep your attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    Almost excellent this story keeps the reader on the edge, the characters are interesting as well as the plot. The magic system is wonderful, as in causes wonder. It has this cyclical quality that is related to the "Wheel of Time" series - sans the boring moments with the dresses. The secondary characters don't feel secondary and they are about as deep and interesting as the main characters.If you're looking for a amazing read with dragons, magic, kings, queens, betrayal, love and despair then you're going to love this.Oh there's also dwarves with mystical hammers *coughs* Tolkien... *coughs*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    Raymond E. Feist originally wrote one huge volume called "Magician" to kick off what turned into a major series. In 1998 this extremely huge novel was broken into two, edited by the Author and published at "Magician: Apprentice" and "Magician: Master". In the process, additional material was added, filling in some of the gaps and fleshing out a few characters more retrospect it seems like the original book was begging for a split. Almost exactly half method through, there was a major change in direction. The focus moved from one globe to another along with the central character, Pug. Naturally, the Apprentice and Master mentioned in the book's titles refer to Pug's stages in his training as a magician.I was not completely satisfied with the remaining books in the series, however, the two Magician novels are excellent and also work well without ever reading the proceeding books. The characters are real, rich and engrossing. The plot is complex but focused. The environment, is carefully crafted, particularly the political the risk of becoming hackneyed, you will have difficulty putting these books down. The underlying level of suspense is intense which in itself is the sign of a amazing writer but even more, you will start to care deeply for Pug and a need will grow to search out how everything turns out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    Finding a book that satisfies every reader is unlikely, but Magician, for me, was a wonderfully-timed flashback to my early high-school days...days when commitments to work or college summer classes were still a few years away. Raymond E Feist's Riftwar Saga was the first non-Tolkein/C.S. Lewis Fantasy book i ever read (i decided NOT to contain Animorphs). The first book in that series, Magician: Apprentice is classic, cliche, often cheesy, but completely full of the charm that i will always remember as the open-door to a whole fresh globe of fantasy literature. Picking this book up again 5 years removed from college and 12 years after the first reading has been a nice break from busy and fast-paced life i now lead (as do so a lot of of us). There are so a lot of books to read that i rarely revisit something i've read before but i'm glad i took advantage of the amazing price and quick shipping from Amazon to step back into my past and have fun this classic fantasy series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magician: Apprentice (Riftwar Cycle: The Riftwar Saga) review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:0

    This was the first book I read that wasn't a children's book. I found it by possibility in the library in the first grade. The librarian didn't wish me to check it out because it was out of my age group. But i got it anyway. And i absolutely loved it. a couple decades later here i am. Remembering a single stage of the book that opened me to such wondrous worlds. after a month of trying to search the title and author off of this single stage in my head I finally found it. And to read this book again is so amazing. I loved it. So much better now that i understand everything so much more. This single book took a dull boy with no imagination and threw him into a globe of wonder and magic like no other. and then tossed a man who again along the method lost his imagination do to the process of growing up. And thrust him back into a globe of amazing splendor and vast miracles of possibility and fate. If you had any thought of not getting this book place it out of your mind and buy this book. For the adventures inside are nothing short of Awe inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Noah Boyd, author of “The Bricklayer,” is the pseudonym of former FBI agent, Paul Lindsey, who died of leukemia in September of 2011. This novel was the first of a series featuring Steve Vail, a contrary ex-FBI agent who, after being fired for insubordination, is hired back to unravel a difficult case for his former e reader is also introduced to Assistant Director Kate Bannon, who accompanies Vail through the minefields of deceit, incompetence, jealousy, and not good judgment that seem to plague this case from the beginning. There are other FBI officials, who through their private deficiencies, seem determined to obtain it wrong and who blame Vail and Bannon for pursuing their own agenda. FBI misdirection, and the cross purposes of the other public agencies that obtain involved, threaten to derail the investigation creating more bodies to pile up and heavy amounts of cash to il is a super character who has a sixth sense that allows him to escape the a lot of traps set for him by an elusive murderer. There are booby-traps around every corner that Vail manages to foil and immensely physical acts he must perform to comply with the demands of the criminal who seems to have the FBI confused at every rangely absent from this intense drama is obscene language and the only sexual activity is the brief mention of a dress being unbuttoned. That was a welcome relief to me, a well-known prude (not!), who has been somewhat distressed by all the blue activity in latest crime novels.I strongly recommend this book for a amazing read and eye-opening look at a talented writer’s skill. The passing of Noah Boyd (Lindsey) has made a large void in the ranks of highly proficient crime huyler T WallaceAuthor of TIN LIZARD TALES

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Steve Vail is an interesting hero that I liked immediately. The method his mind worked and the method he figured out what the poor guys were doing was awesome to me. The almost romance was amazing too but I have to wait for the next book to search out what happens to them. All in all I enjoyed the book a lot. Towards the end I thought it should have ended, but as it kept going that story about the U.S. Attorney developed and came to a satisfying conclusion. I have already started the second and latest book by this author. I was sad to hear he has passed away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Amazing guy Steve Vail was fired from the FBI after 3 years as a highly successful investigator due to insubordination. He has settled into a easy life as a bricklayer. Then the FBI recruits him back to support with a very concerning and puzzling case. The poor guys go to elaborate lengths to set devilish traps which take the lives of 2 FBI agents - who will outsmart who? Bet you can is is a rather lighthearted crime story, although not specifically humorous. A fun read for a rainy afternoon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Read this author's 2 books when they first were published. I worked at a library and recommended them to everyone I knew that liked this genre. I had forgotten about them until I recently saw it on Amazon. Bought it immediately because I wish to read it again..I have been an avid reader all my life and of course don't remember all I've read and very very seldom read a book a second time but when I saw The Bricklayer by Noah Boyd, I instantly recalled it being a book I liked years ago. I'm going to check to see if he's written any more. I hope so. I liked Agent X also (not sure that is the correct title)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Before the first chapter the superhero [email protected]#$%! square in the jaw and not at all affected. Then after vanquishing both bank robbers all by himself he quietly disappears into the night. Already I am questioning whether to continue. Ok, half method thru and I'm being treated to a lesson on how to jimmy begin a vehicle door. Very exciting! Latest chapter we obtain another lesson on how to begin a door whose lock has been superglue.Oh, surprise, in the end our character solves the mystery of the money all by himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    Nice story, nice main character. The other characters a small less nice. The plot is a small thin and like a lot of super clever protagonist vs. super clever poor guy, the poor guy just doesn't seem to be able to set up and do all the items he does to be realistic. A mate of mine who read it didn't like the snappy dialog between the main hero and his budding girl friend, but I liked them well enough. If you like action and mystery and a bit of a thriller as well, you'll probably like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I love thrillers, and found this one beautiful good. I read the eBook ver and it was quite well edited (my eyes pick mistakes up easily). There is some stereotypical items re female, the loner ex-FBI agent and rogue character. Overall I liked the premise and it was difficult to figure who-dunnit. Across country travel and multiple poor guys. I agree with some reviewers that Steve Vail is related to Jack Reacher (whom I love), yet various enough to be believable. I look forward to more books from Mr. Boyd.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I'll admit that the first part of the book didn't keep my attention, and-since I got the Kindle ver at a steep discount I almost said, "Life's too short." But as the plot progressed, I found myself drawn into it. Admittedly, as the author of suspense novels myself, I sort of saw the ending coming, but by and huge I thought the writer did a amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    I thought the writing was very witty and fun to read. The plot was somewhat predictable and not well thought out in places. For example, the main hero is secretly recruited from the outside by the the FBI to work on this case, yet 2 days into the case the extortionist and murderer requests that this same person (that nobody but a select few even know is working the case) handle the fresh ransom demand. Yet none of these brilliant agents ever question this throughout the story. There are other examples, but it was still an okay read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Bricklayer: A Novel (Steve Vail Novels) review [Book]  2018-6-3 18:0

    This is a detailed, well thought out novel. I couldn't place this down, but had to re-read several times to really understand and imagine the crimes and investigations in progress. I didn't guess the end or the twists & turns. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    This book was surprisingly useful and I am satisfied that i found this book. You can learn the techniques without much difficulty. This read was very useful & informative even here I got all the things well organized. Here the author has attached lots of math lessons that can support boost your brain to solve any math issue within a minute. I am so impressed by this book even so satisfied to know all these math tricks. Amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    There are numerous normal science that just most likely hold running into a day that send timidly fast for a number cruncher. In this book i have seen a nearby breakdown of the a considerable lot of the conditions, tips, and traps that the world's best mathematicians use to figure incomprehensibly refined computations abuse nothing finished their psychological would perhaps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    Wow! This is an awesome math guide. I ma actually not amazing at math but this book has given me the possibility to excel in this subject. This book offers easier ways to calculate huge numbers and even solve hard is should accelerate me. I am very happy with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    Very nice!I have carefully outlined the effective learning tactics and memory improvement methodologies to harness their reading potentials in order to support them and succeed in their chosen endeavors and educational careers respectively.I would recommend it to everyone seeking primary guidance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    Inside of thin book you will locate a point by point breakdown of a significant number of the conditions, tips, and traps that the world's best mathematicians use to register incomprehensibly entangled counts utilizing simply their psychological may. A lot of things here to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    Inside this book i found a detailed breakdown of a lot of of the equations, tips, and tricks that the world's best mathematicians use to compute impossibly complicated calculations using nothing more than their mental is book is masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    It is entertaining book to learn this "The Mental Math Magician".The tricks and hints are so much amazing and I search it nice.Will definitely follow it and study so that I can be a amazing Mental Math Magician ce!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    I was amazed when I see table of content in sample, because it is too much in detail so I obtain this book and read it in two sittings. Because when I read and applied as well then it was grab my interest so I didn't stop my self. I learned about how can do quick calculation about addition subtraction and multiplication hints and techniques in deep detail. The book is proven helpful for my mental growth now I felling increased in mental power.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    This is my Son choice and it was perfect. Actually picked up this book to support with the GRE and just found all the math tricks fun.I bought this to support improve my math skills and to gain confidence in my math skills for the GRE. I've only had time to skim through the first chapter but I'm already appreciating the mental math tricks presented and the book's approachable writing style and explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mental Math Magician: Underground Secrets and Tricks to Amazing Lightning Speed Math and Becoming a Real Life Human Calculator (Accelerated Learning and Memory Strategies Guide for Students) review [Book]  2018-5-17 18:1

    When a mate of mine mentioned this book to me I got interested right away because I always have issue in calculating numbers and items so reading this book is really a must for me. Inside this book is a very simple to understand formula on how you can improve your calculation skills at ease! I highly recommend this guidebook for student who wants to improve their calculation skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I wasn't familiar with Lisa Wingate's books before I read "Before We Were Yours" but I'll be looking for others now that I've read it. I was drawn fully into the story, set in both the 1930s and show day. It follows the story of the Foss kids in the '30s and Avery Stafford in show day, and brings to light a horrifying and shameful real-life om the '30s to 1950, a woman named Georgia Tann, who ran the (Memphis) Tennessee Children's Home Society, stole not good kids from their families and newborn babies from single mothers and sold them to celebrities, politicians and others who could afford them. It was all done under the guise of helping orphaned and abandoned kids search amazing homes, but it was actually human trafficking.Avery Stafford finds a puzzling photograph that leads her into an ever more confusing story of secrets and lies inside her upright, respected family. Along the way, she starts to question the man her family has picked for her to marry and her expected role within the family. What follows is a heartwarming story of love, betrayal, memories and staying real to your heart. In addition to the well developed characters and background love story, I liked the realistic view into the 1930s.I really enjoyed this book and learned a lot about a dark time in our history, when being not good was enough to have a family ripped apart forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    This is the first book I've ever read by Lisa Wingate, but having read it I will find through her other titles. It was an perfect book! The topic matter was hard, and sad at times, as I knew it would be before starting. I could not place it down because I had to search out how the story ended. It was a glorious book, I'm satisfied that I read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I bought this book because of the a lot of 5 star reviews and I was not disappointed. While reading it I was immersed in a various put and a various time.I was reminded once again that goodness and evil are amongst us permanently, and sometimes, it is the "virtuous" who harbor a very dark side. It is an amazingly beautiful, deep and very emotional novel, one you have a feeling of "living" rather than "reading".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    A close-to-flawless book about family lost and found. At first, I thought the present-day story wasn't as gripping as the flashbacks. I was wrong. Both stories combine in a page-turning resolution. The author has taken not good happenings in history and breathed life into those who suffered because they were too not good to hold their families together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I didn't know what to expect from this book, it was a selection for our book club. Overall I really enjoyed the book, it is an simple read but it does bounce back and forth between show day and the 1940s. The intertwined story lines are simple to follow and the characters are well developed. This is both a satisfied and sad story, and I did shed a few tears but it was not an all out tear jerker. I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I liked the story. I liked the characters. It was a fast quick read, but I did not think it merited 5 stars. The split story line was a small annoying and a bit impersonal, probably because of the topic matter. It was not a book I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Interesting story and an simple read. This book lends itself to discussion and varied opinions. It also has a basis of truth in history- a very sad time for a lot of children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Unbelievable story that captured your imagination from the start. As the story progresses you can't support cheering for the amazing guys. It is a detective story that touches a lot of lives. The ending is well done and leaves you with a smile.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    Extremely well written. Enjoyable doesn’t feel like the right word as it isn’t a satisfied story, but I loved reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Before We Were Yours: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:13

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was difficult to place down and I highly recommend it. I would like to see this story turned into a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Warning! I loved this book the first time I read it, but it was then called "Saturday Requiem". Now I have been fooled into buying it a second time,

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I've been a fan of Nicci French's writing for a lot of years. With a minimum of words, she's able to transport me straight into her characters' world. That's real of this book, as well. I was there with Frieda, in the midst of her emotional turmoil. The psychological component is strong, and I experienced this story as I read ieda can be a difficult hero to like. She's standoffish, and her distance from others also keeps us at a distance. But that's an necessary part of who she is and what her history has done to her. While you might not choose to hang out with her as a friend, her life is such that you can't support being swept along, wanting to know how it all turns out.While this book is part of a series, it works relatively well as a stand-alone. The main plot is specific to this story and has closure at the end. Frieda's backstory is woven in enough so readers fresh to the series obtain a sense of who she is. That being said, there is a separate plot thread woven in that continues from past books through this one, which brings me to my complaint with this book. We have a major cliffhanger at the end. The cliffhanger is enormous, truly, and pertains to the ongoing thread that is not mentioned in the book's description. I am not a fan of cliffhangers. At all. It's like paying to see a film that stops midway, and then you have to purchase another ticket to search out how the film ends. So, given the method this series is set up with a major plot point carrying through all the books, coupled with the cliffhanger, I'd recommend starting at the beginning and reading these books in order, with full expectation of having to read them all.*I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A dark, psychological mystery wherein former police professionals/paraprofessionals re-open gruesome murders for complicated reasons. Although this story could be a standalone book, and is the first in the series that I read, it is in fact the sixth in the series. There were frequent references to previous relationships and I admit it became taxing not fully knowing what they meant. The tale itself did not require prior knowledge, although the hero development probably did. Having said that, the book is really good. It starts out tense and never lets up. The weather, the mood, the behavior of the different people under discussion...all of it became and remained ever more grim, brooding and disquieting. Frankly, I was relieved to read it during an overly bright sunny day because I would have been jumping out of my skin at night. It was just that creepy. The ending is well worth the tale, no disappointment whatsoever. And for readers of the series, it is clear there will be another in the series. I received my copy from the publisher through Edelweiss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I don't think you should be forced to give a star rating. I place a 3 but for reasons, I mention @ my blog I do not give any stars.Let me begin by mentioning the number of characters that are in this book is absurd and a lot of them are from previous books in the series some even stem for the first book Blue Monday. Therefore, as a reader, you might obtain scant to no explanation of whom a hero actually is. The plot from what is construed from the blurb is suitably written consequently a nuisance from Frieda's past is thrown into the story which to me the vehemence felt irrelevant and overpowering to the book. Nevertheless, if you are reading this as an ongoing series you might not feel this ditionally, one of my pet peeves is when authors do not execute a finished ending though some closure was achieved volumes were left unsaid as a effect I am left wondering what happened to several main characters. Maybe a book that starts with a Sunday will reveal the unknowns? Even though I have been harsh on the book so far it is filled with an abundance of conundrums. Unquestionably a complex whodunit packed with conspiracy, mystery, gore, and just when you think you have it figured out it will twist you one method then spin you is is not meant to be read as a standalone book. If I had started on book one Blue Monday and proceeded forward I perhaps could have established a more favorable impression of the book as a whole. Finally, I did not search this to be a poor book, in fact, I enjoyed a amazing deal of it, hence the negative problems just trampled upon a slew of good.OH WAIT! Frieda is only a Psychotherapist, not a Forensic Psychotherapist. Don’t you have to be a Forensic Psychotherapist to work with the police?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    At the risk of repeating myself --- a hazard at my advanced yet tender age --- I am going to wonder yet again, upon the publication of DARK SATURDAY, why the husband-wife author squad collectively known as Nicci French isn’t a household name in the United States. I also could obtain all Elizabeth Barrett Browning about how terrific this series has been starting with BLUE MONDAY and continuing through the days of the week. I won’t do that, though. I will simply attempt to convince you why you absolutely must read DARK SATURDAY, even if the protagonist’s name means nothing to you, and then go back and read each installment of the series from begin to ose familiar with Frieda Klein from previous volumes need only know this: DARK SATURDAY is a representative but nonetheless pivotal work in the series. For the uninitiated: Frieda is a quietly difficult yet oddly endearing protagonist, a psychotherapist with a keen eye for observation and a penchant for doing what’s right, even when it rubs hard versus the grain. This personality trait has made a issue for her over the course of the series with London law enforcement, from top to bottom and back again, as well as some notoriety (as we are reminded frequently here) with the public at t Frieda’s knowledge in her field cannot be denied, which is why she is requested, sub rosa, to examine a murder investigation that took put a decade ago. The case is a notorious one, involving an 18-year-old named Hannah Docherty, who was arrested, tried and convicted for the brutal murders of her stepfather, mother and brother. Hannah has been at a secure psychiatric hospital ever since, which itself is horrific. The evidence was quite clear, but the basic officer in charge of the investigation has had his competency in a current investigation demonstrably impugned. Given that his prior cases may also be brought into dispute by convicted defendants, Frieda is tasked with evaluating if Hannah is in any method able to bring such an action. After a decade in the institution, she is all but beyond help, so the matter appears to be closed. Frieda, however, is troubled by inconsistencies in the cases as well as by Hannah herself.While there isn’t one particular element that strikes Frieda as off-base, a number of disparate points speak to her, causing her to conduct an investigation more or less on her own. This once again does not exactly endear her with law enforcement or, for that matter, with people whose lives were touched by the murders so a lot of years before. Frieda will not be denied, though, and with the support of several mates (including Josef, the unflappable carpenter who seems to be far, far more than that), she stubbornly pursues the facts to obtain to the heart of the truth, whatever it may anwhile, a subplot that has run throughout the series presents itself yet again, advancing toward what appears to be a denouement. Dean Reeve is a brilliant murderer believed by the globe to be dead. But Frieda thinks he is very much alive and, given his obsession with her, is watching and waiting. Reeve does not actually appear in this book, but he is a shadowy and haunting presence nonetheless who ultimately manifests himself in the most graphic and startling of ways before story’s e French squad likes to take its time in setting up the pieces at the beginning of each novel, and DARK SATURDAY follows that pattern. But once an explosive revelation occurs --- about halfway through --- French throws a ticking clock into the mix as well as a couple of other startling revelations that create it impossible to read the book quickly enough to search out whodunit, why and how. You will probably guess, and most likely you will be wrong. Read as quick as you can to ed by Joe Hartlaub.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    Summary from Goodreads:"Thirteen years ago eighteen year old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an begin and shut case and Hannah's been incarcerated in a secure hospital ever since.When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment of her she reluctantly agrees. What she finds horrifies her. Hannah has become a tragic figure, old before her time. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family; that something wasn't right all those years ago.And as Hannah's case takes keep of her, Frieda soon begins to realise that she's up versus someone who'll go to any lengths to protect themselves ..."My Thoughts:Wow. Wow. Wow. I have to say that this was the excellent book to read to support break this nasty reading slump I've been in lately! I couldn't (and didn't wish to) place this book down. It is so funny how you can be struggling just to search the time or will to settle down with a book....and then you pick up the right one and it is like you never stopped reading at all. I found myself absolutely immersed in this book and just so excited about reading in general after I finished. I love when that happens! I also really appreciated that it happened with this book as this is a well established series that I started right in the middle of. Did I miss certain things from not reading the previous books? I'm sure as there were references to other cases that Frieda was involved in. But for me if just has me super pumped to go back to the beginning to see how it all started. I love the fact that I have all of these other books to look forward to now. It's a amazing feeling!One of the things that I enjoyed most about this book was the premise of the story. It was both horrifying and compelling to think about the idea of a young girl convicted of the murder of her entire family with the chance that it was a wrongful conviction. Add to that the setting of a psychiatric hospital and a mystery and I was basically hooked from the very beginning. I mean how could I resist?? I really enjoyed Frieda's character.....there was just something about her that pulled me in as the reader. I found myself intrigued by everything that has happened to her - yet another reason why I'm so excited to go back to those earlier books. I just really enjoyed by entire reading experience with this book. The gift was a completely surprising ending and this book turned into a five star read for me. I haven't had a lot of of those this year which is why I can't say enough amazing things about this book!Overall, I really loved this one and am so excited to see what other readers think about it as well. I should have listened to my book blogging mates and started this series sooner! I've already got the first book on my library holds list so I won't be waiting too long before I go back to the beginning. I thought that this book was both quick paced and intense which are two of my favorite things to have in a mystery. I would recommend this book to both mystery and thriller fans. You can definitely do what I did and begin with this book (it obviously didn't affect my reading enjoyment at all). I do think that there are things you miss not reading in order but that just gives me an excuse to reread this one once I catch up on the rest. Ha! Highly recommended!Bottom Line: Very likely to become one of my favorites of 2017!Disclosure: I received a copy of this book courtesy of the publisher as part of a TLC book tour.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The series began with Monday, so this is the sixth book featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein. Dr. Klein has had a controversial part-time association working with the police in London as a consultant. Frieda Klein is one of the most interesting and compelling characters in a continuing series. If you have not read any of these books, stop here and immediately search Blue Monday to begin. These are books that should be read in order so that you know the characters, have the back stories about all that has gone wrong in the past and all that has gone right, and know the saga of Dean. Frieda has her demons, her friends, and her family. You will care about all of them. You will walk for miles throughout London with Frieda. I also have fun Frieda’s sessions with her patients. The patient sessions usually have small to do with the murder investigations, but they illustrate Frieda’s hero and add to the interest. This book is the recent in the series and like the others, it is impossible to place down. The atmosphere is dark, the plotting and writing are taut, and the mood is intense. Frieda is loyal, dedicated, and ethical, with a private integrity that drives her. It is difficult to make a hero with all those lofty qualities and not have one iota of sappiness or condescension, but our author does it well. These are books that you will seek out and wait for. These are books that you will not place down. The poor guys are very bad- beautiful much clever amoral sociopaths. The murders are violent. And on top of that, creepy things are happening. At the end of the previous book, Frieda created a bargain that resulted in her owing a favor to a shadowy, strong person. In this book, Levin calls in the favor and Frieda is asked to reexamine a cold case. Hannah has been confined in a hospital for the criminally insane after being convicted of the brutal murders of her entire family. Hannah may have been an mad and troubled teenager, but after years of solitary confinement and abuse at the hospital, her sanity seems lost and her life threatened. It’s not long before Frieda sees irregularities in the original investigation. Meanwhile the threat from Dean is ever-present. It appears that there are only two more books planned in the series. I will be sorry to see it end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    A charismatic female hero and amazing plotting kept me wishing the novel were longer. I gave it four stars because the cast is too large, and I often had to go back to check who Jack is (a colleague), and the hero whose name I cannot now remember who gets cancer. On one hand, nearly a dozen minor characters seems realistic, but on the other, an author must do a amazing job of introducing them in order to create the memorable. I think the amazing flaw in this novel is that the authors do not do this well. It is annoying to have to go back on a Kindle. The reader never does search out what happens to the man with cancer. I did buy another Frieda Klein book, though, because it is hard to search female characters who are psychiatrists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    I'm only writing this review for Frida Klein fans and for those who wonder if this one isn't quite as amazing as the others. It's very much of a piece with the others, except that it focuses even more on Frida and the strange identification she forges with a woman who was convicted of killing her family and who has since languished in a mental institution, driven truly angry by neglect and isolation. What I love most about Frida in all the books is her fierce determination to create right what is wrong; for this reason, I liked Dark Saturday better than the Friday book that found her running for her own freedom. This book is not perfect. At times I longed for an editor to correct faulty parallelism or that one too a lot of coincidences could have been left out. Nonetheless, I love Frida Klein, and if you love her too you will love this book. I view the end as fmthe series with trepidation. I will miss the quiet, relentless woman who has roamed the London roads of my imagination for six books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Saturday: A Novel (A Frieda Klein Novel) review [Book]  2017-11-23 18:0

    The husband and wife squad of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have such a amazing series involving Frieda Klein, psychotherapist, who somehow always manages to obtain in the middle of police investigations. Though this is the 6th in a series, it does work as a stand alone. However, I think that it adds so much more depth if you read them in order. If you have not read her before, jump in from the beginning. In this mystery, Frieda is investigating a horrendous family murder, where the 19 year old daughter was accused of murdering her entire family and has been incarcerated into a secure hospital for the past 13 years.While there she has been beaten, humiliated and generally had not good care. Frieda ,however,questions the shoddy police work and wonders if the "perpetrator" really was to blame. As she begins to scrap away at the facts and miscalculations, someone is determined to create sure she doesn't succeed. The ending came as a huge surprise to me and another plot thread leaves it wide begin for their next book. Unsettling and gripping..its amazing for a long plane ride, a beach read or curling up in the comfort of one's home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I have read all her books and she just cannot write them quick enough for me! Loved this story. Unrealistic or not- that is why we read these- escape and this on fits the bill! An easy, fun, summer read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Really like this author.....great story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Once versus n Joy Fielding provides us with a brilliant book. Enjoyed every word and missed my bedtime to [email protected]#$%!!! Worth the lack of sleep!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I just loved this book. I had read a lot of Joy' s books and had been a long wait to search this one. Incredible! I didn't wish to place it down. The ending blew me away. I had a niggling suspicion about who the perpetrator was. This is one of those stories that grip your attention from beginning till the end. Bravo!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Very suspenseful, creative, truthful writing. Would read this again and again. Lots of unexpected twists and turns to hold the reader's interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I limes how the Stonehenge Washington well synchronized from the past and the present. The method the characters were portrayed I felt like I method there with them. Very realistically written. Finísimo the book in one day!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    I always like Joy Fielding. The indignant daughter may have been a small over the top, but the primary story was very good. I would like to see her (Joy Fielding) write more often. Some of her past books were perfect .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Not her usual unbelievable books. Took me forever to read this particular book, it was slow paced and boring. I do love this author and her earlier books. This was clearly not her best book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    A page turner from beginning to end. She is one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    She's Not There: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-13 18:0

    Just a private observation, not to sway other readers, but this fielding novel to me did not live up to her previous efforts, I kept at it though, and will test her again,her

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    "Himself" is a mystery. An orphan returns to the remote, conservative Irish village where he was born. He is not greeted with begin arms. All he wants is to search out what happened to his mother but the villagers just wish him to leave. As he searches we learn more about him, ghosts, Irish folk lore and the accompanying prejudices and the magic mysticism of Ireland. A great, entertaining book -- funny, violent, peopled with unbelievable and evil characters. You will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    The Prologue is set in May 1950 but is only three pages long. Though a short piece it’s packed with drama as a woman is murdered while her baby son sleeps quietly in a nearby forest, hidden by amazing ferns. The book proper begins with chapter one set in April 1976 as a young man from Dublin named Mahony arrives in the city of Mulderrig. Now what do you think are the odds that Mr. Mahony is the baby son of that murdered woman? Right, they’re beautiful amazing odds indeed. The reader will deduce this quickly but the folks in Mulderrig won’t catch on for a while. Mahony’s landlady, Mrs. Cauley, recruits him to support audition locals as performers in the town’s Christmas play. During the auditions Mrs. Cauley sneaks in a lot of questions about Orla Sweeney and her whereabouts, a woman who turns out to be Mahony’s missing mother. All this curiosity causes a much greater interest by the townspeople in Mahony and just what he is doing in their town. Mahony, Mrs. Cauley, and other mates start an investigation of the different characters in Mulderrig and who might be suspects in Orla’s disappearance. There’s even a supernatural element involved; the photos of a lot of dead citizens appear at various times to point the way. The special charm of the Irish method of writing English prose is another enjoyable feature of this novel. You’ll have a grand time as long as you don’t obtain banjaxed by a wayward undesirable one. Fair play to you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a wonderfully entertaining book. Having driven the streets of Western Ireland myself, I could easily picture the setting of this city that isn't...where a young man coming from Dublin determines he must visit to explore what happened to his mother e earth, wind, deceased spirits and lively characters meet with his will to support search the nnot think of a better St Paddy's Day read than this Kindle book, just $1.99 from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I am a voracious reader but am not enthralled with every book. THIS book was great! Engaging characters and a amazing plot--I could hardly place it down, and have recommended to friends.If you are a lover of all things Irish, and have fun a bit of fantasy and ghostiness, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a truly brilliant work of Irish magical realism. Even if you don’t usually go for this kind of thing, you’ll be wowed by Himself

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Very imaginative and chock-full of interesting characters , both living and dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Unbelievable read. Attractive descriptions and characters. Unique, funny, well written. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading and stories. I choose this rating because this is a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Himself: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Truly loved this book. The imagery and the melding of reality with the supernatural were graceful, vivid and compelling. The characters are special and well-drawn. The suspense subtly increases until you feel yourself winded.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter