The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    PURPOSEIn this review I intend to gush about how much I loved this book. I will first give my overall opinion of the book, then a synopsis of my two favorite chapters of the book, accompanied with some explanation of the overall style and structure of the book. I will do my best to contain some useful or interesting quotes from the book, along the RO/MY OPPINION ON WHY THIS BOOK IS IMPORTANT:Steven Pinker's The Items of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature is a attractive book--easy to read yet elucidating on the most necessary topic of language and thought. The book is accessible, which is why I search it so appealing, but the secrets within it are not really trivial or things I could have gleaned easily from other sources. This is why I feel as though I have created an perfect purchase. Dr. Pinker did an awesome job of breaking down psycholinguistic concepts and problems. To go back to my titular question: Why should anyone care about language? I feel as though language is what ties together human beings...it is what separates us in some colossal method from other creatures, lesser creatures. Maybe it's in the type of method which would spur countries to call this or that animal intelligent--too smart to hunt and kill. (Dolphins, for example, are now non-human citizens of India, because they have such an advanced control of language.) Language is the vessel with which we can package up experience and info and create it exchangeable, available, to other people. This communication, I believe, creates culture. I won't pretend to believe that I could concisely explain why I feel that is important. But: Language is important; it's what enables me to write this review, and you to read this review, to understand this review, and to hopefully create an informed decision on whether or not you should buy this book. (You should!)STYLE AND STRUCTURE OF THIS BOOKI purchased this book to satisfy an Intro Neuroscience course requirement, which was to read and write about a brain-related book. So, I chose this one half apathetically, wondering how anyone could describe such a book as "curious, inventive, fearless, naughty." After all, nearly any book which is readily visible in mainstream culture is a Fresh York Times Bestseller. But I was still hopeful that the promising title and interesting cover art, showing some array of objects would prove to be an interesting read. When I first looked at the cover, I could see, its point: there are words there, the author, the title--important information-- but the shapes were shapes, and my grasp of language allowed me to call them by their names (loudspeaker, bra, bowling pin, etc.) which had associated meanings. This was a amazing cover, quite fitting of this most magnificent of books. I opened the book and started reading the preface. Dr. Pinker writes, "There is a theory of zone and time embedded in the method we use words. There is a theory of matter and a theory of causality, too. Our language has a model of sex in it (actually, two models), and conceptions of intimacy and power and fairness..." Already, I was more and more interested in this book because there is promise of a kind of knowledge which can be mine, straight from the pen of an expert, but it isn't gated up in pretentious language. The entire book is like this. It is very inviting and any technical jargon pertaining to brain-stuff or grammar-stuff is always introduced. I wouldn't say that the author is holding the reader's hand per se, but the book is--to stress--very inviting. A lot--almost all--of the writing is very conversational and teacher-ly. For example, sentences which read like, "My plan is as follows. First I will take you on a plunge from the intergalactic perspective to the quark's -eye view...Then we will bump against..." All the time, it felt like Dr. Pinker really wanted the reader (me) to understand what he wanted to tell me. There was no rush or technical-ness to it. It would always be like the example from the book which was quoted above: First we will look at A, next we will look at B, now we will step back and reflect on what we learned, etc., e chapters of the book are, chronologically: "Words and Worlds", "Down the Rabbit Hole", "Fifty Thousand Innate Concepts (and Other Radical Theories of Language and Thought)", "Cleaving the Air", "The Metaphor Metaphor", "What's in a Name?", "The Seven Words You Can't Say on Television", " Android games People Play", and, "Escaping the Cave".FIRST CHAPTER: WORDS WITHOUT WORLDSThe first sentence and page of this book discusses the happenings of September 11, 2001 from the perspective of a semanticist. Did two happenings happen on that day or did one happening happen on that day (or several)? Dr. Pinker, notes that some would question his choice of discussing the semantics of such an happening and quickly explains, "though `importance' is often hard to quantify, in this case I can place an exact value on it: three and a half billion dollars. That was the sum in dispute in a set of trials determining the insurance payout to Larry Silverstein, the leaseholder of the Globe Trade Center site. Silverstein held insurance policies that stipulated a maximum reimbursement for each destructive "event." If 9/11 comprised a single event, he stood to keep three and a half billion dollars. If it comprised two events, he stood to keep seven billion...There is nothing `mere' about semantics!"In this method the author was able to create me completely absorbed in his book and start explaining that semantics is bout the relation of words to thoughts, but is also about the relation of words to other human concerns. (What is an event?) The rest of this chapter delves deeper into this debate while also introducing the later chapters and the overall point of the book. Obviously, Dr. Pinker is far more capable of explaining what the point of language is. I leave you with this lengthy quote, "As we shall see, it provides the materials for scientific and literary creativity, for humor and wordplay, and for drams of social life. And it sets the scene in countless arenas of human disputation. Does stem-cell research destroy a ball of cells or an incipient human? Is the American military incursion into Iraq a case of invading a country or of liberating a country? Does abortion consist of ending a pregnancy or of killing a child?"On the next page Pinker talks about words and reality and uses the example of President Bush starting the Iraq Battle and whether the method he formed his sentence was a lie or not. According to Donald Rumsfeld, it technically wasn't a lie. I found the analysis of this situation in linguistic terms, using concepts like factive verbs both informative and extremely APTER SIX: WHAT'S IN A NAME?As a person, named Saswat, but living in the U.S., I fell in love with this book at around chapter six, "What's in a name?" Dr. Stephen Pinker begins with a captivating story on the commonness of his name and then goes into the concept of naming and the banal connotations which accompany a name. Dr. Pinker writes, "This chapter is about naming--naming babies, and naming things in general. Naming a baby is the only opportunity most people obtain to choose what something will be called..." This is the primary format of most of the sections of this book. Pinker starts with an interesting--cold begin type--anecdote on this or that to pique the reader's interest, before going on to explain what the respective chapter will be about and delving into specific examples to better explain concepts. In this chapter the examples are numerous but he discusses Paul McCartney quite a bit and he elaborates on the first chapter where this chapter was first teased by using the concept of William Shakespeare. He talks about how while Shakespeare might not have actually existed, and that some other author might have written some or all of his plays...that work would still be Shakespearean because "falsehoods" such as this have so permeated our culture. Another example given was that if a layperson were to call a whale a "whale" and "a huge fish," everyone would understand that they are still probably referring to a whale, the true thing, the huge mammal. The most awesome insight of this chapter is that people have a conviction that words are shackled to true things, and a faith that other speakers in our community, past and present, share this conviction. This is what gives words, and names any kind of meaning. It is what gives us a kind of identity and without this shared appreciation for names of things, identity would crumble.Dr. Pinker concludes this chapter, "A name seems like such a easy thing--a link between a sound and a meaning, shared in a community...And the choice of a sound connects us to society in a method that encapsulates the amazing contradiction in human social life: between the desire to fit in and the desire to be unique."BRIEF SUMMARYI paraphrased the final line of the latest section, because it seems kind of counterintuitive to give away the best items for free. But, nearly every page of this book is just as e following chapter, about curse words is just as--if not more--interesting than this one, but I will refrain from discussing it. The point of view taken, though, is hilarious and incredibly agreeable to my ideologies though. This book is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone for the reasons stated above. I imagine I might come off as very fanboy-ish but given that the topic matter of this book is language, words, and so on, I hope that this will encourage you to seek out this book. Full disclosure: I haven't read a lot of books on language. But, I imagine nearly anyone can have some credibility when determining entertainment... I found this book extremely insightful but also masterfully written. I mean, this book was actually more entertaining (and meaningful) of a time-sink than watching any tv show. On the back cover of the book someone has written in their blurb, "packed with information". This is true, but allow me clarify: this info will probably also prove useful to nearly anyone. For example, the phone book is all facts, chock-full of information. But memorizing random phone numbers--that is hardly as necessary as better understanding language, communication, daily speech...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    In The Items of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature, Steven Pinker examines samples of daily speech to validate modern theories of cognitive science. Pinker is currently a professor and experimental psychologist at Harvard University. He earned his doctorate at Harvard in 1979, then moved to MIT for a postdoctoral fellowship and has been back and forth between the two since then. He’s best known for his work on language and the mind; his early research focused on visual cognition, while his more latest work focused more on kid language acquisition (with a particular emphasis on verbs). The Items of Thought makes perfect use of verbal acquisition data to provide insight to cognitive function. While a primary knowledge in semantic formalism would be helpful for getting more out of the book, I feel that it is a well-balanced composition of famous culture and linguistic theory. Colourful metaphors bring to light linguistic principles essential for Pinker’s arguments on human nature. Pinker writes that through language, a lot of complex ideas and attitudes are communicated in varying detail. These concepts shine through language, but they stem from a deeper, and at the most primary level, innate, system. Conceptual semantics, the language of thought, is necessary to understand because it provides evidence that our utterances are not inane, but that they have meaningful, interpretable content. He presents the question: how do kids acquire language in the first place? It’s clear that they are not memorizing the info based on their affinity to regularize (ie runned is a regularized ver of the irregular past tense) – which is something that is not found in the input (adult speech). They are analyzing the input to create generalizations using innate building blocks. There is much discussion on what exactly these building blocks are and their functions, all in an effort of fortifying the concept of the human mind. The machinery innate to our minds, that is, what we are born capable of, is a subject worthy of much philosophical discussion because the respond is still unknown. Pinker takes time to introduce Fodor’s Extreme Nativism (words are the smallest building blocks, and therefore the meaning is the word itself) and Radical Pragmatics (there is very small innate knowledge – all meanings are devised from the context in which the words are uttered). He argues in favor of conceptual semantics, which suggests spatial and eventive qualities of words are innate, while qualities specific to the words are learned. He uses metaphor and the attributes of different words with related meanings that belong in various syntaxes to help his claim. His ultimate statement on the mind is that it’s clear, through linguistic evidence, that our mind is shaped by the world, and the globe by our mind. That is, our perception of reality is a product of the method we think, which is derived from the globe around us. Pinker’s style is informative and memorable. His makes amazing use of daily language, like advertisements and common phrases, to communicate sophisticated linguistic theories, as when he describes the verb classes when discussing the difficulties of the acquisition of verbs. The frequent appearance of metaphors based on media and pop culture keeps the reader engaged by eliminating technical terminology and making the research accessible to a much wider audience. He initially draws on the happenings of 9/11 to explain the slight differentiations semantics makes, a subject well understood by the majority of Americans. I appreciate that he lets his private style present through and really gives the reader a sense of being included in the observations and linguistic inductions that he makes. While I would not consider his analysis neuroscience based, it finds a home in cognitive science, which is valuable for understanding neuroscience on the level of higher cognitive function. The Items of Thought provides an perfect introduction to the relationship between cognitive science and language, all while engaging the reader in a light-weight, cultured script. I give The Items of Thought five stars for its integrity to the field and appealing writing style. Anyone with an interest in cognitive science and a passion for linguistics and languages would be no less than thrilled with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Stephen Pinker continues his career-long mission to teach the reading public about language. His focus is neither the mechanics of grammar nor the neurological structures that create language possible. Instead he describes mental processes that immediately help language such as metaphor, features that distinguish similar sets of words, and the sketchily incomplete mental models we build as we interpret each other's convince us that little distinctions in language can create a real-world difference, Pinker opens with an insurance claim from the September 11, 2001 destruction of the two Globe Trade Center towers. The insurer had an upper limit on what they would pay for any single "event" that damaged the buildings. Was the hurt caused by the single happening of a terrorist attack, as claimed by the insurer? Or was it caused by the separate happenings of two airplane crashes, as counter-claimed by the buildings' owners? There was no clear respond in the careful legal language of the insurance ere are two ways to read Pinker's book. The first is to read the whole thing, from introduction to closing paragraph. He describes the mental models we build while understanding and reasoning with language. Metaphor helps us use our concrete experience, such as the up/down distinction made by gravity, to inform more abstract dimensions such as better/worse. Pinker also explores the social dimensions that let us to negotiate relationships while seeming to simply convey information. Having outlined the basics, Pinker turns to more entertaining aspects of language to sharpen our understanding. There is a far-ranging discussion of profanity which describes the "correct" method to swear and explains why some words are taboo. The discussion of the social dimension of naming ranges from generational fads to why some newly coined terms catch on and become part of the language. The long path through the book is satisfying and e second approach is for the time-constrained or selective reader. In the final chapter, the author provides "...a word's-eye view of human nature, one that emerges from the phenomena of the [preceding] chapters..." This overview outlines the aspects of sensation, cognition, and social relations that shape and are shaped by language. One can read this section of the chapter in a few mins and note which aspects are unexpected or intriguing. This subset is a tutorial to the most beneficial sections of the book. Not the full treatment, but still a amazing is book is recommended for those readers looking for a better understanding of the relationship between language and thought.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature video reviews and related movies:

    See RSA ANIMATE: Language as a Window into Human Nature on youtube.

     related image

    See Steven Pinker - The Stuff of Thought: Language as a window into human nature on youtube.

     related image

    See Steven Pinker: "The Stuff of Thought" | Talks at Google on youtube.

     related image

    See Steven Pinker: The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature on youtube.

     related image

    See Steven Pinker - The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window Into Human Nature on youtube.

     related image

    See Steven Pinker: Linguistics as a Window to Understanding the Brain on youtube.

     related image

    See Language Is a Window into the Mind on youtube.

     related image

    See The Stuff of Thought Language as a Window into Human Nature on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    There were things I liked about "The Items of Thought" and things I didn't. I would have preferred the book to be shorter. I certainly could take away a lot of profound observations. However, I don't think Pinker had to go into so a lot of examples, although I am sure a lot of readers will like that. Anyway, here are some necessary things which I will remember from the book.1. We can learn a lot about people from the method they place together words. Pinker shows a lot of examples.2. What is an event? 9-11 was an event, however there were also a lot of happenings which went into effecting it.3. Words take on fresh meanings to reflect on how the globe works.4. Learning a language is really a remarkable process. Pinker discredits linguistic determination, that is the brain learning language to generate thinking. He asserts that thoughts result language. Meanings are stored, not the exact combination of words which reflect them. Personally, I think both can work in parallel, when learning a language, but Pinker makes a amazing argument.5. Metaphors are very important. They are an essential part of thought. "To think is to grasp a metaphor". He shows the use of metaphor in Leviticus, which makes one think even more that biblical scripture, at least the Torah, should not necessarily be taken literally, more like a living document which encourages deeper thinking especially as times change.6. The chapter on profanity is certainly interesting. The amygdala, in the brain, is necessary in storing memories with emotion. Bilingual people react more to taboo words in their first language, rather than their second. Aphasia, loss of articulate language, victims retain the ability to swear. This shows more memories of thought formulas rather than rule combinations. Such swearing in Tourettes's Syndrome is called copolalia.7. The basal ganglia in the brain, when weakened, taboo thoughts are more easily released. There is a "Rage Circuit" which runs from the amygdala to the hypothalmus - limbic circuitry.8. Implicative language, like with sarcasm and politeness, vs direct. Hierarchical and "culture of honor" societies use politeness more.9. Pinker brings up UN Resolution 242, about the Israeli - Palestinian situation, showing how the wording was intentionally created ambiguous, so each side could more likely agree to it. Best to obtain some agreement, so at least there is somewhere from which to proceed in negotiations. There again, words reflect thoughts, to often encourage further , the book is certainly worthwhile, despite its perhaps unnecessary length.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Pinker never disappoints. The items is an intricate, spellbinding read to be slowly consumed rather than taken at one sitting. Pinker has an intriguing and substantiated take on the social life of people and in this book, he unwraps some tested and untested theories that are thought provoking. Well written and organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    One of the most engaging books I've ever read. A book that makes you think about thinking, and how thought processes are expressed in language, revealing both the limitations and immense potential of language. Already looking forward to re-reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This is premium Pinker, and while he ranges across the social sciences his basic focus here is on language, where he is unparalleled. His goal is to examine the nature of language and tease out the aspects of human nature that language embodies and elucidates. Note that the very concept of `human nature' is anathema to a lot of of the postmodernists. Have no fear, because Pinker doesn't. He relishes the opportunity to burst the bubbles of political correctness, particularly with the use of hard facts and common sense.His task here is complex, since language is so complex, but his writing is always lucid and to the point. He takes verbs, for example, and examines the ways in which they can and cannot be used, the functions that they can and cannot serve and the forms of human reasoning which they undergird. This can be heady items but it reads beautifully as we watch a mind that is both rigorous and playful catch us in the act of being, quintessentially, ourselves.He is at his best when he is pulling together the insights of linguists, evolutionary psychologists and neuroscientists--something he does with ease and clarity. After he proceeds step by step and chapter by chapter he sums it all up in a concluding chapter that is a model of transparent though the materials are different, this book is like Kant's Critique of Pure Reason, its goal being the identification of those aspects of ratiocination that are uniquely human. The difference here is that Pinker draws specifically (and extensively) on the materials of language, draws more conclusions than Kant and does so in accessible and often amusing er is one of a handful of centrally-important public intellectuals in America. Don't miss his recent (and if you've missed such important, former books as The Blank Slate--you know now what to request for Christmas).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This is a amazing layman's introduction to the topic. Pinker covers subjects with a amazing level of humanity for the most part. When you wish to delve deeper, the texts is cited so that you can search other similar sources. Pinker cares small for religion, however, and some of his remarks seem to tell readers what they should believe, rather than what Pinker personally believes. Also, some of his grammar points do not reflect current controversies among descriptive grammarians with sufficient nuance. Read this book carefully, but use a "grain of salt."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I don't know enough about the topic outside of what I learned in this book to give a review on the topic matter. What I can say is that Pinker is a clear, precise, and often funny teacher about what can be a difficult topic for most people to wrap their heads around. I would recommend the book if you have ever thought about the interrelation of thought and language.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    Steven Pinker's brilliance and insightful nature continues to impress. This book is a amazing read for any individual with an interest in language and its everyday influence and usage. His humor adds a nice reprisal to the abstract and profound thought. Having read several of his books he continues to impress and stimulate thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I’ll begin by saying the book was surprisingly short, and it felt kind of general at times. Being that said, totally worth the money. The language used and the method they explain and lay down every chapter, created everything really enjoyable.If you are already a savvy in the field of psychology and analyzing people, don’t buy this book, since I felt it was meant more for beginners in the field (like me).And if you, like me, know nothing about human psychology; do yourself a favor and buy this book. It will begin your eyes to a lot of things other people do, and sometimes you’re not even aware of. You will have fun putting this into practice, and realizing how simple it can be to read people sometimes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I have decided to purchase and read this book to finally learn how to handle my toxic boss and his right hand man which is our supervisor! Learning how to analyze people will give me a lot of advantage because people like my boss can be easily controlled if I learn how to read their minds so that I can act accordingly and luckily this book has all the info I need to know. This book will teach you how to read body language and human behavior easily, the instructions and guidelines is backed with detailed explanations so understanding everything inside this book has become a lot easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Amazing book for people who don't read other's well. This book provides primary tools to pay attention to things you may not in regard to body language and a person's upbringing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I enjoyed the book and recommend the book for beginners. Very educational. It was written so anyone who wish to learn about body language could understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Thank You Very Much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Useless, repetitive statements that have no value, Very primary observations of how people work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This is a amazing book to read about analyzing people because it has concreted skills on how do it effectively. The book is well written and gives a lot of insights. This is a worthy read!The author not only did a brilliant job, but also written very excellently. Knowing other people provide you the upper hand on how to approach them and this is an exceptional direct to this ebook! This ebook breaks everything down into a fast, simple to understand way, but also offers a lot of very beneficial information. Generally, it is an interesting read. It covered a lot of interesting contents throughout the book giving helpful hints to a range of people in different roles. I definitely recommend reading this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Amazing beginner tutorial to analyzing people. I want that it had more content.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I bought this for a gift, Very thin book for the cash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People (Analyze People, Read People, Body Language, Human Behavior) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    As other people have mentioned, this is a very thin book. I was done with it in less than a half hour. I did the "look-inside" the book here on Amazon and some of the chapters titles looked interesting. I'm working on research for a book on understanding personality and how it can be used in business. The reason I bought the book was that I thought the author was going to go into more detail on how personality drives behavior. The personality chapters were divided into fast summaries of the Myers Briggs personality system and didn't yield any fresh info that you couldn't obtain from a fast internet search. That is a shame because if you understand personality, you really can read people.I feel mislead by the photo on the cover. It created it appear that there was going to be some genetic info that you could use to put people into the various personality temperaments. Unfortunately, that is NOT in this book either. Again, there is abundant scientific info that shows that facial structure (such as width-to-height ratio) is similar to personality temperament. So I was disappointed to explore that this book doesn't have that info either.Where I disagree with the author (and every other psychologist too), is where behavior comes from. The generally accepted theory (which is also in this book) is that behavior is learned from your parents. I don't buy that theory because there are too a lot of normal people that had horrible parents. Surely they'd be horrible people too. The other theory in this book that I disagree with is that a lot of behavior is to cover for a weakness in their life. The classic example of this is the guy that buys an expensive and flashy sporty car, because he has a little -- ahem -- "manhood." But that is not why I gave this a low rating. I did that because the book was thin, and didn't have anything fresh that I didn't already know.I would have given this book a one-star rating. But it does have some primary info on reading body language, so I bumped my rating up one star. It could be useful if you are into that sort of thing. I personally don't obtain into body language because it is an "after-the-fact" observation method. In other words, it tells you what is going on right now, not what might happen in the future. I wish to be able to predict the likely future of a person -- days ahead of time -- not just what they might do in the next few minutes. Understanding personality gives you the future of a person, which is why I research overall impression is that this book was written as a marketing tool in order to obtain you into some sort of mailing list. When you obtain to the end of the book, it gives you a link to another free book by the author. But of course, you have to surrender your email address to obtain it. Is it just me, or do you also feel slimed when you realize you have to pay cash to be marketed to?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Psychological Triggers: Human Nature, Irrationality, and Why We Do What We Do. The Hidden Influences Behind Our Actions, Thoughts, and Behaviors. review [Book]  2018-7-16 18:0

    Wasn't worth the $.99 I paid for it. Just another "our poor choices aren't your fault" pro-evolution rag. We are not slaves to our emotions if we CHOOSE not to be. It may not be simple to learn fresh and more rational behaviors, but neither is it impossible. It's usually referred to as maturing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stuff for Stuff review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Though it descended from a really intriguing short history of man from an economic perspective to basically a pro-Capitalism propaganda piece, I loved the animation and what it was trying to do, and it reminded me of so a lot of of the clever short movies sponsored by the Government of Canada, or Schoolhouse Rock, when I was a child in the 70's, growing up. The animation style, while dated, was awesome, and I just fervently want this sort of thing was still being done. Though I have refused to have cable or watch anything but films since my son was born in 2003, because to paraphrase 'Network', I 'just wouldn't take it anymore', because I was so perplexed of the large drop-off in the quality of programming, I know for a fact that TV stations would never have this sort of thing today because they wish every available second of spare time for commercials, so that they can create as much cash as possible. They couldn't possibly care less about the consumers, their hearts, minds or souls. Anyway, I found this as an additional on my DVD of 'East Side West Side' (which I hope to see soon, I was simply being lazy) from my amazing Barbara Stanwyck TCM 4-pack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    How to Make a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed by Ray Kurzweil"How to Make a Mind" is a very interesting book that presents the pattern recognition theory of mind (PRTM), which describes the primary algorithm of the neocortex (the region of the brain responsible for perception, memory, and critical thinking). It is the author's contention that the brain can be reverse engineered due to the power of its simplicity and such knowledge would let us to make real artificial intelligence. The one and only, futurist, prize-winning scientist and author Ray Kurzweil takes the reader on a journey of the brain and the future of artificial intelligence. This enlightening 352-page book is composed of the following eleven chapters: 1. Thought Experiments on the World, 2. Thought Experiments on Thinking, 3. A Model of the Neocortex: The Pattern Recognition Theory of Mind, 4. The Biological Neocortex, 5. The Old Brain, 6. Transcendent Abilities, 7. The Biologically Inspired Digital Neocortex, 8. The Mind as Computer, 9. Thought Experiments on the Mind, 10. The Law of Accelerating Returns Applied to the Brain, and 11. Objections.Positives:1. Well researched and well-written book. The author's uncanny ability to create very difficult topics accessible to the masses.2. A amazing subject in the "mind" of a amazing thinker.3. Amazing use of charts and diagrams.4. A unbelievable job of describing how thinking works.5. Thought-provoking questions and answers based on a combination of sound science and educated speculation.6. The art of recreating brain processes in machines. "There is more parallel between brains and computers than may be apparent." Amazing stuff!7. Amazing info on how memories truly work.8. Hierarchies of troops of functionality in natural systems.9. How the neocortex must work. The Pattern Recognition Theory of Mind (PRTM). The main thesis of this book. The importance of redundancy. Plenty of details.10. Evolution...it does a brain good. Legos will never be the same for me again.11. The neocortex as a amazing metaphor machine. Projects underway to simulate the human brain such as Markram's Blue Brain Project.12. Speech recognition and Markov models. Author provides a lot of perfect examples.13. The four key concepts of the universality and feasibility of computation and its applicability to our thinking.14. A fascinating look at split-brain patients. The "society of mind." The concept of free will, "We are apparently very eager to explain and rationalize our actions, even when we didn't actually create the decisions that led to them." Profound with a lot of implications indeed.15. The problem of identity.16. The brain's ability to predict the future. The author's own predictive track record referenced.17. The laws of accelerating returns (LOAR), where it applies and why we should train ourselves to think exponentially.18. The author provides and analyzes objections to his thesis. In defense of his ideas. Going after Allen's "scientist's pessimism."19. The evolution of our knowledge.20. Amazing notes and links gatives:1. The book is uneven. That is, some chapters cover certain subjects with depth while others suffer from lack of depth. Some of it is understandable as it relates to the limitations of what we currently know but I feel that the book could have been reformatted into smaller chapters or subchapters. The book bogs down a small in the middle sections of the book.2. Technically I disagree with the notion that evolution always leads to more complexity. Yes on survival but not necessarily on complexity.3. The author has a tendency to cross-market his products a tad much. It may come across as look at me...4. A bit repetitive.5. Sometimes leaves you with more questions than answers but that may not be a poor thing...6. No formal separate summary, overall I enjoyed this book. Regardless of your overall stance on the feasibility of artificial intelligence no one brings it like Ray Kurzweil. His enthusiasm and dedication is admirable. The author provides his primary thesis of how the brain works and a path to achieve real artificial intelligence and all that it implies. Fascinating in parts, bogs down in other sections but ultimately satisfying. I highly recommend it!Further suggestions: "Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior" by Leonard Mlodinow, "The Believing Brain: From Ghosts and Gods to Politics and Conspiracies---How We Construct Beliefs and Reinforce Them as Truths" by Michael Shermer, "The Scientific American Brave Fresh Brain: How Neuroscience, Brain-Machine Interfaces, Neuroimaging, Psychopharmacology, Epigenetics, the Internet, and ... and Enhancing the Future of Mental Power" by Judith Horstman, "The Blank Slate: The Modern Denial of Human Nature" by Steven Pinker, "Who's in Charge?: Free Will and the Science of the Brain" and "Human: The Science Behind What Makes Us Unique", by Michael S. Gazzaniga, "Hardwired Behavior: What Neuroscience Reveals about Morality 1st Edition by Tancredi, Laurence published by Cambridge University Press Paperback" by Laurence Tancredi, "Braintrust: What Neuroscience Tells Us about Morality" by Patricia S. Churchland, "The Myth of Free Will" by Cris Evatt, "SuperSense" by Bruce M. Hood and "The Brain and the Meaning of Life" by Paul Thagard.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    While I do not necessarily agree with Mr. Kurzweil's ideas and views nonetheless I am able to recognize and appreciate perfect work. The book is thought-provoking and intellectually stimulating. He has been called a futurist but that is such a vague term that may bring to mind several definitions. He is a futurist in the sense that he is predicting a particular line of technological development that will achieve A.I. equivalent to that of the biological human brain. His prediction, however, is based upon a thorough examination of how A.I. has developed over the decades that has lead to the current state of achievements of A.I., which is the basis for his projections, rather than prediction. He sees the goal of achieving powerful A.I. as not being in the distant future but having achieved powerful A.I. by 2029. This is an perfect book regardless of whether or not we like or want for the future Mr. Kurzweil supports and is actively working towards.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    The first half of Kurzweil's book summarizes what is known about info processing by the human brain. He info how the neocortex recognizes patterns and stores info hierarchically, producing memory, consciousness and identity. He relates this to modern digital computers in terms of process and speed. After a brief look at hidden Markov chains, he arrives at his favorite topic, LOAR, the law of accelerating returns which leads him to sharing his thoughts about e win by WATSON on the TV quiz show, 'Jeopardy', appears frequently in this story.Kurzweil's successful experience with natural language processing software gives him considerable credibility and authority in this attempt to predict computer breakthroughs during the coming decades. Ray Kurzweil is one of the foremost AI geniuses of our times and you probably should read one of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Quite an interesting read regarding the pattern recognition theory of mind (PRTM), the physical construct of the brain enabling same, and how novel techniques of what I'll call statistical approximation enable recognition of multiple voice and related graphic pictures, bringing neural networks closer to accomplishing the easy recognitions so difficult for software programmed computers. Kurzweil of course embraces the eventual singularity this technology moves us closer to, as the next step in human evolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Perfect difficult to imagine how far humanity can go in the quest of understanding itself

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    This should be needed reading in college, freshman year !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    I picked this up hoping to learn a bit about the processes that can be used to simulate or build a working brain. I was halfway pleased. Some parts of the book explain heavy parallel computing, Markov models, natural language processing, which is what I was looking for. However,this is only a very little part of the book. The rest is conjecture about what the author believes intelligence really is, speculation of what the future would be like, etc. if you're interested in primary explanations about artificial intelligence then this book is worth a read, but if you're looking to learn something about how it is being done then you may wish to look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Anything by Ray Kurzweil will challenge your mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    In this book Kurzweil repeats the ideas that were already presented in his previous books. He predicts that machines have consciousness by 2029 and explains consciousness as a feature that emerges when the machine is complex beyond a certain threshold. If such an explanation meets your expectations, and you didn't read his previous books, you will have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed review [Book]  2018-1-15 18:1

    Kurtzweil's "How to make a Mind" hits a lot of interesting and strong points. It does not say much technically about AI but it paints a general picture of the state of the art. Criticisms include: he hypes his past achievements to the point where some of the book reads like he is in a job interview; he uses "she" to the point where he comes off as disingenuous; he goes over his past work excessively in some parts of the book. Still the positives victory out to create it a recommended read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    A book about how to understand others and yourself better. Starts off with analyzing speech, then body language, covering all major body parts from top to bottom, and latest but not least - how to tell if somebody is feeling uncomfortable (from lying, or guilt etc.) by getting to know that person in a comfortable position first. The book finishes with the most necessary part in my opinion - getting to know yourself. Overall, it's a amazing book if you wish to improve your social interactions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    As someone that has a Masters in Psychology this book was so fascinating to me. I love how the author brings us right into the globe of observation and reading of people. This could actually be a book that gives the person a resource to support them learn about reading people. Body language is an necessary aspect of a persons behavior and the response to the behavior so this book would be beneficial to learning that skill. I really enjoyed reading this book and I will be reading it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    This is a unbelievable guidebook on how to analyze people using body language. It is kind of challenge for me thinking on analyzing people. However, having this book gives me the desire to know the secret skill that can probably support in doing so, which the author has generously shared to the readers. Some of the techniques are reading people through their words and reading people's behavior that can eventually lead to analysis and interpretation. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Very interesting read for me as I was a prior military police officer. As one could imagine not only did I have to analyze situations but also people as well. So starting off it jumps right into the benefits (always a amazing put to catch interest). Then human behavior and so forth and so forth. What I enjoyed the most was how a lot of times he compared things to something else. I have always found it helpful when I have an idea and able to compare it to an experience I have already l in all, this is a book worth reading. It gives insight into how others behave or maybe if they are hiding something. By understanding that sudden change of behavior could mean you obtain to hold a girlfriend a week longer. : ) I do recommend for anyone who comes across this book, to take a gander.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    This book prescribes that we all in all be vigilant on managing people. Looking at people isn't an in considered capacity luckily this book is made. The book shares how to obtain the snippets of data less requesting and how to use that info for our support. The book focuses on opening the mental fixings that deal with the human personality. It was rearranged for easy comprehension!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    This is a standout amongst other enlightening one of a kind books I have perused. On the off possibility that you at any point required to know why somebody acts the method they do, this book will give you some understanding, and some viewpoint. It is composed in a straightforward way. I prescribe this book to any individual who is occupied with human conduct or to those simply attempting to comprehend why individuals act the method they do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    I have imagined the power to comprehend people’s reactions and decisions even before they occur. This is the beauty of being able to anaylze people. When we learn how to analyze people, we can predict possible situations and people’s reactions to better manage our own responses to make optimally advantageous situations. It equips us with the ability to come to a common ground.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    This book recommends that we as a whole be watchful on dealing individuals. Examining individuals isn't an in conceived ability fortunately this book is made.I found this book lot of info and very useful to analyze people. I see this book as an outstanding resource that uplifts ones stuck knowledge about people interactions. Very well written and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    The book concentrates on opening the psychological ingredients that sort out the human identity. It was simplified for simple understanding!The book focuses on opening the mental fixings that deal with the human personality. It was rearranged for easy comprehension!This is well-written at detailed. Kudos to the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Complete Guide to Body Language, Personality Types, Human Psychology and Speed Reading Anyone review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    very simple and unbelievable read! Loved this book, eve though i was familiar with some concepts it was very enjoyable . This book is a brilliant support of social ese hints will supportive for everybody in day by day life to create it amazing and recollect d information, simple read, kept my interest throughout.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    As other people have mentioned, this is a very thin book. I was done with it in less than a half hour. I did the "look-inside" the book here on Amazon and some of the chapters titles looked interesting. I'm working on research for a book on understanding personality and how it can be used in business. The reason I bought the book was that I thought the author was going to go into more detail on how personality drives behavior. The personality chapters were divided into fast summaries of the Myers Briggs personality system and didn't yield any fresh info that you couldn't obtain from a fast internet search. That is a shame because if you understand personality, you really can read people.I feel mislead by the photo on the cover. It created it appear that there was going to be some genetic info that you could use to put people into the various personality temperaments. Unfortunately, that is NOT in this book either. Again, there is abundant scientific info that shows that facial structure (such as width-to-height ratio) is similar to personality temperament. So I was disappointed to explore that this book doesn't have that info either.Where I disagree with the author (and every other psychologist too), is where behavior comes from. The generally accepted theory (which is also in this book) is that behavior is learned from your parents. I don't buy that theory because there are too a lot of normal people that had horrible parents. Surely they'd be horrible people too. The other theory in this book that I disagree with is that a lot of behavior is to cover for a weakness in their life. The classic example of this is the guy that buys an expensive and flashy sporty car, because he has a little -- ahem -- "manhood." But that is not why I gave this a low rating. I did that because the book was thin, and didn't have anything fresh that I didn't already know.I would have given this book a one-star rating. But it does have some primary info on reading body language, so I bumped my rating up one star. It could be useful if you are into that sort of thing. I personally don't obtain into body language because it is an "after-the-fact" observation method. In other words, it tells you what is going on right now, not what might happen in the future. I wish to be able to predict the likely future of a person -- days ahead of time -- not just what they might do in the next few minutes. Understanding personality gives you the future of a person, which is why I research overall impression is that this book was written as a marketing tool in order to obtain you into some sort of mailing list. When you obtain to the end of the book, it gives you a link to another free book by the author. But of course, you have to surrender your email address to obtain it. Is it just me, or do you also feel slimed when you realize you have to pay cash to be marketed to?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    The book doesn't offer anything fresh that people with common sense already have. The author seem to just pull the info from Google and place them together in his book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    I've always been someone who can read between the lines but is not amazing at reading gestures. This is practically relevant to my work and profession so I need to know the key to analyzing people. The author talks about it in a more psychological way. I like the explanations and the tips. It support you customize your responses to the needs of the other people thereby making you obtain the upper hand in nearly all situations. Once you have created your baseline of normal behavior, watch out for any deviations in the person’s behavior and your baseline.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    A fascinating and analytical book that reveals not so much the basics of human psychology as much more analysis and reading of verbal and nonverbal signs of human behavior, the so-called body language. Thanks to this, it is already possible to draw up a psychological portrait of the personality on the first grounds, and also to understand deeper motivational components, such as, for example, lies or any other concealed pursuit of their mercantile interests. The book helps to identify those signs that are embedded in the very essence of man. The author gives a transparent methodology for analyzing the body language including recognizing the intentions of the interlocutor for psychological and psychosomatic so, I will note functional analysis and the psychology of self-awareness, which makes it possible to recognize any manipulations from the side clearly, and also, depending on the type of personality, resort to certain tricks to efficiently impose their views. That is, to counteract the ambiguous transfer of information, its concealment qualitatively, and also to shape private qualities through the analysis of the interlocutor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    I search this book very informative, helpful and interesting for all the people who wish to know about how to analyze people. This book provide amazing advises and hints and tutorials on human psychology, body language, personality types and ultimately reading people. I like how the book is written in a very positive way. The author create sure that the readers can understand every info of this book. Thanks to A.C. Drexel for this amazing positive thinking book. I found a lot of useful things inside the book such as “How to Analyze People Through the Choice of Words; Hints on Reading and Understanding Body Language; How to Determine Various Types of Personalities”. Very helpful and well e book is worthy of attention!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    Knowledgeable book,Being able to analyze people puts us at a amazing advantage.When we learn to analyze people,we obtain the benefits of various situations and aligning our own responses and reactions to achieve the optimal benefits s very nice to read a book like this,if we know how to analyze people,we have the knowledge to choice amazing friends,and makes us simple to communicate and feel at ease to other e author of this book really knows the in and out of the topic.Worth to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    This book can support you understand other people's behavior and perhaps overcome communicational barriers. It does serve as a amazing premier especially if you are not entirely familiar with the psychology of body language. The book is well worth the read and the purchase price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    I believe analyzing skill is key to career success as well as persinal life as it allows monitoring, predicting and reacting properly to the non-verbal signs emitted by people around. and that is exactly why I am constantly improving my skills.I believe this book would create up for a nice and informative read for those who are only learning the fundamentals. yet someone with a certain level of expertise in that field woukd also search some fresh points I guess

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    This is definitely a book worth reading. I have learned so much about personality and how a certain body language can actually mean something. It's really interesting to learn about these stuff, and I believe that this the hints offered in this book are credible, since it is based on human psychology. There are so a lot of fascinating facts in this book, and I know that what I've learned from here will support me deal with various types of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide to Human Psychology, Body Language, Personality Types and Ultimately Reading People review [Book]  2018-4-17 18:1

    I always have an interest about human psychology and if I were given a possibility to have a skills or power, that would be how to analyze and read people's mind without them knowing. I just found out that being able to analyze people, you would create a lot of mate because you can read them and you know them well using this skill they also have a amazing relationship with people around them that is why I am interested to learn this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    The data gives here are very much point by point and all around clarified. The hints and tactics are additionally easy to take after. Simple to peruse and straightforward. Culminate perused on the most proficient way to examine individuals. In this you will obtain the hang of everything on the most proficient way to examine individuals however its so hared some of the time to do it. Culminate tutorial

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    This book is amazing hints for people's analysis. I have read this book in online. The author has very nice explanation of body Language, human psychology and personality type, which is very much required for human life. This book is the best one to follow in life step-by-step analysis. I wish to follow this book. Actually, everyone needs to know about this anks to the author for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    What's written in this book is very interesting and fascinating. The techniques suggested by the author can be very useful if the user's intentions are amazing but on the other hand, can cause a lot of problem if used for the wrong reasons. The author did warn about this at the very begin of the book which was really responsible of him. These techniques will support you persuade people and will support you analyze various personality types and search out how to obtain them to do what you wish them to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    This is very interesting is book all of info is very effective for our life.I strongly believe it will impact your lives in a positive method and teach you more from where you latest left off in my previous book.i read this book i really like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    One of the best book about how to analyze people!! Lots of effective information gathered in this book. I was impressed by how much useful information squeezed in such a short book. Clearly the author spends a lot of his time and effort to make this book because he manages to explain everything you need to know about analyzing people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    These are essential life skills required for How To Analyze People in all walks of life, and is practical in all aspects. I have found this book very helpful. This tutorial is too short but very informative and useful. I liked this tutorial and would recommend it for those who need such type of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    Highly recommended! This is a amazing book to read on how to analyze people and provide lots of techniques that are simple to follow. It will teach you how to know what makes your target tick and provide some practical tutorial that are simple to understand. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    This is a really amazing book.I love azing anlyze people autifully topcies.I would must recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    What a amazing book! This book went much more in depth and covered things I had never even thought of. After reading this whole book I got to know a lot of tips,tricks and info about analyzing people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Analyze People: Dark Psychology - Secret Techniques to Analyze and Influence Anyone Using Body Language, Human Psychology and Personality Types (Persuasion, NLP) review [Book]  2018-5-31 18:1

    Amazing to read book on how to analyze people. I am so grateful that I got this book. It includes a lot of info that I am beautiful sure everyone would love it. Excellent read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I would like to see the ASL on the mobile application as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    The application always says finding accounts and the application does not functioning

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Evaluating for Spanish. Unbelievable for authentic pronunciation of individual words, and the cadence and inflection when used in a sentence. Culture notes are spot on and very valuable. The learning is very organized and ordered by practical conversations and then broken down very cleanly. The color coding between the 2 languages is very helpful. It is also amazing for the spaced repetition to support the memory. As an improvement it would be helpful to be able to tag difficult words/phrases/culture notes to come back to separately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Literally the best language learning application please don't stop doing what you're doing yall are out here changing peoples lives!! Duolingo who? Lol but I Think adding the languages alphabet would support alot more in understanding the language tho. (Like if I'm learning thai I would like to see a unit covering the thai alphabet and tones before introducing me to the language itself) Just a suggestion :p

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Amazing app! This is the first mainstream application I've seen that contains Igbo. That's beautiful impressive. Also, please investigate the inclusion of more African languages (namely Yoruba and Twi) there's a whole shop that you guys could be tapping into. Glad that you have Canadian French as well! The format is beautiful effective

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Please Please Please contain Cebuano as a featured language. I like the method this application is formatted and I think it would be excellent for it. It's so hard to search the proper method to learn this language on other programs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    The dari course is not complete! A huge part doesn't work yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Hello, do you have plans to contain the ojibwe languages, and other first nations and indigenous languages? thank you for your work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Wow i like this application a lot and i shared with my mates and with who have issue in language, love it soooo much . Can u add Mongolia language and Philippines language ❤❤❤❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Amazingly well done, breaks down the structure and pronunciation!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Best language learning app. I do want you could change the gender of the person speaking the language.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    It's good, but the narrator's voice makes me wanna punch her in the face

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    U should also place english for malay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    This application is the best I've used for French but it costs double what I pay for netflix! 😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Really useful, already learned a few sentences

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I purchased the yearly option in Feb 2017 and haven't regretted it. Something I'd recommend to dev is an option to submit bug reports, subtly included in the UI. After +160 hrs of use there were plenty of moments I wished I had noted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    The repetition is amazing instead of just throwing words at you and trying to obtain you to understand them. I still can't believe I found Armenian though I'm so satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    This application is amazing for learning phrases you may need to use in actual conversations. I love the explanations and specific culture hints which are spread throughout the lessons. I use this in tandem with other language apps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Honestly best method to learn languages. It's very repetitive and build upon what you've already learned.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    The american woman's voice is unnecessary and annoying. Can i opt out from the english voices?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    IT'S AWESOME I JUST LEARNED HOW TO SAY HELLO GOOD MORNING IN SPANISH ❤❤❤❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    It was beautiful amazing, i tryed it because my dad real it and we'll he told me about it and so I tryed it and it was beautiful cool:) Yyyyyaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy I loved it :):):):):):):)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Unlike other language apps, mango teaches through conversation that is engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I liked it but could not make an account?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Amazing!!! I love languages and this application is gold. Thank you!!! 💖💞💓

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    It is better than 90% of other language apps, their strength is teaching you about culture and conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I finished the first lesson and i can still remember how to say the things i learnt but i lost my progress

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Not bad. Methodically progresses to a level that allows primary conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I really love this application and i was learning scottish gealic but i finished the first few lessons and i couldnt do anymore because it was asking for payments and sadly i really cant afford it and no library in glasgow uk offer it for free so im stumped. Guess ill never learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Love it. Its a shame that only library members can go past lesson 3... Not everyone can pay for subscriptions or have a library membership especially if you live in the UK where hardly any library had this subscription... The lessons were very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Wow! This is the best application I've come across! I set Duolingo and Memrise aside, because I DON'T need them. I'm finally learning Korean grammar! What I love about the app, is that it is repetitive, and it challenges me to think. Throughout each lesson, it quizzes you with, "Let's see if you can say, ____." The only thing is that I waited for it to become available, through my local library, for 2 months. I contacted my library and as kind as they were, they couldn't explain why Korean was the ONLY language that was "unavailable"; so I decided to directly contact Mango Languages, and they gave me steps to access it, through a "back way". I want I'd NOT waited! Truly, I'm blessed that I have library access, but for those that don't have the availability, but can afford the fee, I can assure you that it'd be worth the cost. You'll spend those $20, elsewhere. Thank you, Mango! I'm looking forward to FINALLY communicating in Korean, and God willing, understanding it, as well! God bless you! 😊💕🙏 P.S. The only thing that I want that I could either pause, change the timing on, or fully disable, is the timer. I like to write my answers down, but with some of the sentences being "long", I search that I have to continuously tap the timer to restart it, so that I'll have enough time to jot them down, before "hearing" the correct response! So, please...allow an option for it. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    The application feels very "programmed" and not realistic. It's obvious that everything in the application follows the exact same pattern where only certain words are changed, which often times makes no sense and can be wrong. More than anything, it's a vocabulary builder, because it does not provide any actual instruction on why things are the method they are.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Well organized and thorough Lesson 1 (freebie) and this application has amazing potential; HOWEVER, it is very concerning that one must (1) be a member of a participating library [you should know, dear reader, that list is thin]; and, (2) one must be willing to shell out $20/MONTH (that's $240/year!) for access. Both of these [questionable] requirements are not only ridiculous, but quickly place what this app/service allegedly offers out of reach for a lot of users. Then, (as if all that wasn't enough) there are those very questionable application permissions​ (location, contacts, call log, calendar, and sms) and pop-up permissions (the kind that appear once the application has started the first time). Sure, some of these permissions haven't been used, but that doesn't mean they can't or won't be used in future updates. In short, BUYER BEWARE! Now, cue the boilerplate response blowing off all the sketchiness...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I just downloaded the application and let's just say it's a various take from other language learning application as it let's us engage in the language we're learning and considering it's giving me hints on how to say sparkle in Japanese it's a plus. However this application is giving me issues like for one I don't have a library near me so I can't sign up... Even if I wish to test and learn more all I can do is 3 lessons then I'm done.. So I'm either stuck there or you guys fix it...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    This application seems beautiful amazing but really I can't use it because that insufferable female narrator's voice makes me wish to punch something. Who in the globe thought that was a amazing idea? An application like this hardly needs any prompting and that should be done with written prompt like Duolingo. Ew.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Solid idea, but apart from the audio itself, the execution is lackluster. Primary options like hiding the text, or displaying more or less info in the target language (e.g., Japanese furigana or Hebrew niqqud) are non-existent. The phonetic transcriptions are wildly inconsistent & downright misleading, and more than once I've had to point out some obvious error or ill-informed decision that Mango's "team of linguists" had approved. Here's an idea: Fire them and hire me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    I'm currently trying to learn Korean and I've been loving Mango so far. For some reason, the application does not go any further beyond the loading screen. I was able to load Mango at least once or twice occasionally, but it refuses to fully load even after restarting my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mango Languages: Lovable Language Courses review [App]  2018-2-11 21:8

    Its a amazing app. I was wondering since this application is not supported at my local library, will it still work if i obtain a library card from the library where i live at?

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter