The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    I found this book disturbing because I wondered what happened to the boy Mike later in life. I was doing a casual Google find and came upon the obituary of the author. It listed his six kids and gave their names, which are the names of his biological kids mentioned in the book. No mention of "Mike". - except that a tip that Mike changed his name to Sean? Now I wonder whatever happened to this not good kid, and if he was finally abandoned by the family? I was hoping he had a satisfied life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    Not an simple task that needed untold heart break - Again Bravo for them not giving up on Mike! I am in awe of there resourcefulness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    Bought this book as a used item, but it certainly didn't look used. It was in amazing shape!!! This book should be a needed read for anyone wanting to go into foster care. Very satisfied all around!!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own video reviews and related movies:

    See The Things I Want Most The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own on youtube.

     related image

    See The Things I Want Most The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own on youtube.

     related image

    See The Things I Want Most The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own on youtube.

     related image

    See The Boy Who Can Never Grow Old (Medical Documentary) - Real Stories on youtube.

     related image

    See The Boy Who Lived Before - Extraordinary People ( Shocking Documentary ) on youtube.

     related image

    See Chazz Petrella : The Boy Who Should Have Lived - the fifth estate on youtube.

     related image

    See Afghan Memento (Extraordinary Story Documentary) - Real Stories on youtube.

     related image

    See Transgenders: Pakistan's Open Secret (LGBT Documentary) - Real Stories on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This is an interesting story of one families struggles to support a foster kid feel loved and accepted by their family. They did not give up on him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This story is related to some of those Cathy Glass writes - how a foster care system can obtain out of touch with is is a well told story about a couple who are almost completed with the job of raising their 5 children. The wife feels a calling to become a therapeutic foster parent for a kid who should never have been placed into a "normal" home. The story evolves through the patient attempts this family had with the kid attempting to integrate him into their loving family, and the sacrifices it took from each family member to deal with the violent behavior of this child. I especially appreciated the fact that the author didn't "sugar-coat" the responses of the family, and how, at times, they too lost is book will enlighten those on behaviors of what seems to be a severe head injury that ocured at the hands of his biological mother, and how dedicated some people are to helping less fortunate kids keep a loving family. The author did a unbelievable job of telling an honest story, and was hard to place rhaps the mother was "led" to this kid for the very purpose of the ability this father has to tell this much required story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    Forget soppy films about parents or teachers who save some not good kid from the gutter or the foster home. This is true life. Two successful, middle-aged parents, who have already raised their family. As the husband, who narrates their real story, writes, "I had just finished helping myself, and life was good." But news stories about starving kids bring the wife, and with her, the whole family, to actually DO something about it, and go method above and beyond. To take in a very disturbed foster child, who makes their life hell -- albeit a worthwhile one -- for at least a year. Yes, it works out, but not in any simplistic way. Rather, as the whole normal family, with its own imperfections like any family, takes on their challenging visitor. It takes a powerful marriage too. "How do normal people handle a kid like Mike," the wife asks her husband. He concludes, "Then, from the twinkle in her eyes, I realized Sue had answered her own question. Normal people don't take in a kid like Mike."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This book is the best private acc of fostering/adopting an older kid that I have ever read. It is a natural for a "made for TV" movie, with its dramatic story, picturesque setting, and cast of "characters." I laughed, I cried, I sobbed. In Miniter and his wife, we see the mixture of naivete/ignorance, denial, and audacity that goes into the decision to bring a "disturbed" youngster into one's family. The book also reflects the reality that formal treatment plans are limited (and sometimes unrealistic) and that "real life"-- honest emotions and reactions, normal expectations, natural consequences-- can be a powerful motivator in turning around dysfunctional behavior. To the reader who is NOT an experienced foster/adoptive parent, I would offer a few minor cautions: 1) Miniter makes no mention of receiving any kind of training before taking the boy into his family. If that was indeed the case, that's a major flaw in the "Harbor" program. Prospective foster and adoptive parents of children in the kid welfare system should keep fairly extensive training in locations such as what to expect when the kids come into your home, how the system (and particular agency) works, and how to manage difficult behavior. 2) Miniter would probably be one of the first to point out that this book is not a blueprint for others but is instead ONE case study, of ONE youngster, in ONE family. The Ministers' experience notwithstanding, psychotropic medication and/or psychotherapy are important-- if not essential-- components in some youngsters' healing, and respite care and parent help groups can be lifesavers for some "therapeutic" parents. 3) Miniter says he ignored some of the safety precautions recommended by his agency, and suggested that (hunting) guns were readily accessible in his home. Having weapons easily available in ANY home with children (even "normal" children!) is foolhardy, and most agencies REQUIRE beautiful sensible safety precautions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This book teaches a lot of lessons. First and foremost that the husband-wife relationship plays such a major role in raising children, and it showed in this book. The relationship between Rich and Sue is an admirable one, one that not is not so common after so a lot of years of marriage. With that bond of love, they raised a house full of children and later in life, were able to take on one more kid, very various from their own. They gave it 1000% and stuck with it through thick and thin. What they did for "Mike" is untouchable, precious and blessed. God Bless the Miniters and the best of luck to "Mike" in his future endeavors to become a chef.........This book more than once will place a lump in your throat and a tear or two in your eye...To learn more about children, about sacrifices, about life, you must read this attractive story !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    How a lot of broken windows and hearts can one family endure? Obviously for the Miniter's there is no finite respond to that! What a family! I picked this book without having any clue of what it was about. Saw the jacket, the title caught my eye and that was all it took. I was drawn in almost immediately. I am a 20-something woman, that is not married, has no kids and is not adopted. I have not encountered many, if any, foster kids and I still found this book to be an incredibly moving story. To Richard and Sue and the entire family- you have most certainly earned my respect and admiration. If only we could all be as patient, understanding and as loving as you are! What a amazing testimony to the amazing in the world- thank you for sharing your story. I truly hope that you encounter only amazing fortune in the future, no one family deserves it more than you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Things I Want Most: The Extraordinary Story of a Boy's Journey to a Family of His Own review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This book is a must read for all those involved with adoptive unique needs children. Whether you are a pre-adoptive parent, a post-adoptive parent or a professional. It is straight forward and very realistic. I couldn't place it down. My kid has gone through the exact same cycles. When this book was condensed in the Reader's Digest in November, 1997, it caused me to hold on working with my kid who was going in and out of crisis. As a parent of an adoptive boy, I can say that if anything is "normal" about these kids, it is the ups and downs and lack of trust written in this book. Specialists please read and take note to listen to the parents. Richard Minitor, thanks for writing this informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I don't wish to repeat too much what some of these glowing reviews have already said, but I wish to second, third, fourth, fifth, all of it! Mr. Klinowsky has written what they call a tour de force. It is at once, humble and immediate (palpably so) and ambitious and esoteric. It tells the story of a people and their endless diaspora, a globe in upheaval, war, geopolitics, and yet it is still a story about not just one family with extraordinary - yet not-so uncommon for the circumstances, parents, and their children. But the story of one boy, and how he viewed it all through his eyes, and has reflected on the story (stories) over the years, and went on a mission to fill in the blanks, mostly with recollections, and sometimes with imagination. I couldn't recommend this book more to anyone interested in the aftermath of the jews in Europe, and their refuge in the State of Israel...but can their be any refuge for what they went through? This book deals with much of that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    Disclaimer: I received this indie book from the author in exchange for an honest and fair review.I’m not from Around Here reads like a diary of the author Ishai Kalinovsky that talks about the experiences of his Jewish family right from the time of the Globe Battle II in Poland. His mother is a labor camp survivor while her dad was a road warrior in Warsaw. The couple meet immediately after the end of the Battle and escape to Germany to victory what was looted from the Jews.I’m not from Around Here is not about the battle but its aftermath on Jews and the other survivors. The narrator’s father, Stashek is an unscrupulous businessman who would do what he has to provide for himself, his mistresses and his family. He takes up to the black shop business and has a amazing influence on the society by being fearsome.When his parents break up his mother Lola takes up another man and gets pregnant, which is a total no-no in their orthodox neighborhood. Lola was a timid, weak girl when she entered the labor camp. But her firm belief in her guardian angel helped her survive all the adversities in her anwhile, the narrator’s estranged father and stepfather are arrested for smuggling vehicles into the country. How the narrator and his family survive the final blow of being strewn across the country forms the rest of I’m not from Around ing a memoir we obtain to take a glimpse at what really happened in the camps but that is just a little part in the book. I sort of guessed the story would end up before the young ones grew up and am glad it ended so.Even though the narration is by the young Ishai Kalinovsky through out, I’m not from Around Here has multiple point of views which work in some locations and not in ere were too a lot of characters mostly minor that do not contribute much to the story, which may be partly owing to the ually I don’t read a lot of memoirs because they would hard for me to relate to. But maybe since I’m not from Around Here had multiple POV and the narrator was a young boy I was able to relate and I ended up liking the characters. I’m not from Around Here is quite long with about 400 pages but it was totally worth the read and it left me emotionally drained for hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I Am Not From Around Here by Ishai Klinowsky is a collection of memoirs. In fact, you may feel it like a diary by a person sharing his experience of Holocaust, refugees, and war. And also the rebirth of Israel after passing through so much of agony. The title itself is quite introspective and relevant to author's situation. The author treats himself as a wandering Jew having no particular roots. The book covers author's real-life incidents. It depicts his family's story through a collection of stories revolving around his parents. It relates to early twentieth-century time in Poland. The story begins with the lives of both his parent's families before the second globe war. There are pains and climaxes to witness during the course of unfolding this touching story. Ishai's father's family was living in Warsaw. His mother's family was in Sosnowiec in Upper the book, I Am Not From Around Here, the author Ishai Klinowsky relates life as a movie. It is like an engrossing film where the lead characters act from one stage to another, from one situation to another. And then these main characters elope from the screen. Gradually you search fresh characters who begin losing relevance of old characters to their lives. In fact, they begin diminishing from the memories of fresh characters. That is what actually happens when time moves from one generation to the next generation. And then all of a sudden someone tries to fill in that void by revisiting the lives of those characters who are no more around. This is, in fact, a long story of slightly less than 400 pages. But each page promises to engage well with emotions and connection.I Am Not From Around Here is more than an inkling. In fact, the book survives on a amazing amount of facts and real-life incidents. It will be interesting to read and understand why the author calls his parents an unsuitable couple. One thing is true. This is a book where you see reality surpassing all imagination. There are a lot of unusual sequences that are beyond imagination. Reading about Lola and Staszek and their personalities, and how they could become life partners is something quite amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    The most interesting part of this book is the method author choose to approach the theme of Holocaust. There are so a lot of books about that not good period which, it seems, will never end, because what happened at that time influenced so a lot of people that it could never be forgotten. In one hand, it's amazing not to forget something so dreadful and remember how simple it is to wipe up almost entire populations just because someone decided that they are guilty. On the other hand, it seems like burden method too huge to be carried and passed on from generation to is book is talking, like all book about Holocaust, about suffering. But more than that, it tells us a story about surviving. An awesome story is seen through the eyes of a son of two survivors. One of them is a warrior and thus, somehow expected to survive. But another, boy's mother, is everything that he thinks that survivor cannot be. Not very clever, nor powerful woman, with nothing unique to marks her and create her "good enough" if I can place it like that, to survive not only the battle but the hell itself: the concentration camp. And yet, his mother survived. And after that met and married the fighter, who also survived. But that was what we all expected. And two of them, so different, became the parents of a boy whose story this book is.A story about survivors, all survivors. Not just those who were unique and brave, but those who just survive, who knows how. And that makes this book various from other ones. Cynical and yet warm family story about two so various people who stayed alive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    Author Ishai Klinowsky weaves a fascinating, eloquent and moving narrative that will captivate the reader’s attention from the beginning. The author paints a bitter-sweet holocaust story in a very vivid and convincing way. In addition, the characters are drawn with amazing credibility and conviction. It’s a mesmerizing life journal that will hold you engaged from the first page to the e book description says it all; ‘This book is a fascinating life diary, in which reality surpasses all imagination. It takes put versus the backdrop of the Holocaust, the fate of the refugees at the end of the war, and the rebirth of the fresh Israel. The heroes of the plot are unusual, an antithesis of the weak and submissive Jew, sweeping the reader into a whirlwind of happenings and countless breathtaking a, the mother, whom we encounter as an innocent girl, sweeps the reader close to the hell of the monstrous and notorious labor camp, Ludwigsdorf. Staszek, the father, a road warrior and a tough and hard-working man from Warsaw, is hot-tempered, cunning, and daring. His gypsy appearance and colourful figure lead a lot of women to fall easily into his om the eyes of an eight-year-old boy, the writer describes a stormy childhood with a lot of heartrending vicissitudes: parents who disappear overnight, living with strangers, being trapped in a tough orphanage ... and more...Written in flowing and sensitive language, the story presents an accurate balance between a private and family story and the story of a people…’I have read a lot of books about this horrible time in history and my heart breaks each time I read someone else’s experiences. The author writes in a method that makes you feel that you are right there with him and feeling every emotion that he is feeling. How he was able to go through all that he did and still has a powerful will to create the best of life just astonishes me. He is definitely an inspiration to me and I thank him for writing this book so that the horrors of the holocaust will never be forgotten.Each Holocaust survivor has a special and individual story. However, these survivors’ stories didn’t end in 1945. They continue through to the show day. Their testimonies provide us with an understanding of how the happenings of the Holocaust have shaped their lives and are an ongoing testimony to the strength of the human hai Klinowsky’s actual story of survival offers an interesting all-encompassing human dramatization that stretches out from the dim days of the Second Globe Battle to the autonomous State of Israel. A holding and inspiringly idealistic acc based on his own private experiences, you’ll appreciate each page of this captivating voyage of hope and inspiration. This really is a remarkable story. A highly recommended read and a well-deserved five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I’m not from around here is a memoir of a Jewish man whose family survived the Globe Battle II. It typically reads like the diary with sequence of happenings which moves on from generation to generation with each set of characters slowly fading out of relevance as the generation progresses. The denominator in such memoirs have always been the torture methods used and the impact it had on the person’s psychology. This book was slightly various in that aspect for me as it was a diary which focused more on resilience rather than e author traces the journey of his mother from surviving a labor camp to being married twice breaking cultural norms. The author also talks about his father and step father – both of them ended up getting arrested for smuggling vehicles into the country. The rest of the story is how the family survives in spite of ending up in various e narration is surprisingly from a young ver of the writer. However, there were multiple POVs in some put which really didn’t work in favor of the memoir in general. Given the diary itself is spread across generations there were too a lot of characters which really didn’t seem of consequence once this generation faded.I jumped at the possibility to read this book primarily at the mention of Israel. I’ve not read a single acc by an Israeli about the war. I expected the narration from a middle aged man. It was uncharacteristic of a memoir to be narrated by a young boy. I could connect quite well with the story and the underlying emotions as the tone of the narrator is quite te : Received the book as a part of b00k r3vi3w Tours in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.I feel that for a memoir, it was missing something. If you are familiar with the "show, don't tell" rule, then this book is telling too much and not even in a method that would create me have fun it.I think that the author has yet to search his voice, especially with multiple points of view and the sudden change from one POV to another, although still told through his own words. There isn't enough description to support me obtain a sense of the put or setting. It was hard to obtain invested into the story or characters. Their actions are described too simply. More than a memoir, it feels like a record of happenings and stories without any depth.What I did appreciate about the book is how it is not focused on the war, but the happenings after - and it is the first time I read a book or memoir where the aftermath gets more attention than the tragic happenings that happened during the war. I think this really helped emphasizing that even when the battle is over, the tragedies that happened during it and because of it still stay with you, it is not over for the survivor and it might never be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I’m Not From Around HereBy Ishai KlinowskyReview By Ila Garg‘I’m Not From Around Here’, a book by Ishai Klinowsky, is published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. The cover is kept easy and to the point. With portrait of an innocent looking kid and few other frames, the cover gives tips at being a collection of e opening line of the blurb is quite mind-boggling: “What could have led to an encounter between such an unsuitable couple as my parents?” Set versus the backdrop of holocaust, the heroes of the plot are unusual. It’s a kind of memoir, a diary where Lola, the mother whom we encounter as an innocent girl sweeps the readers close to the hell of the monstrous labour camp, Ludwigsdorf. Next, we meet Staszek, the father who is a road warrior and a hardworking man from Warsaw. His gypsy appearance led a lot of women to fall easily into his arms. Now the question that poses here is what does a spoiled mother’s son and a notorious father’s daughter feel when they see their family is 444-page book written from the view of an eight-year-old boy takes you deep into his stormy childhood with a lot of tragic tales—parents who disappear overnight, boy has to live with strangers and then is trapped in a tough orphanage. It’s a sensitive story!Ratings: 4/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    Battles happen only in the movies—much as we would like to think that, they do happen in true life. And their impact has been devastating. Reading a book like this teaches you that only the human spirit can spread the notice of is honest story is a sensitive one. A saga of unhappiness, distraught emotions and the constant war for survival, it can create anyone shed tears. While it does relive the not good times of WWII, it does not in any method point fingers of blame. It is just an honest story of people who have gone through extreme turmoil and sadness. Their inability to handle the situation has led to a breakdown in relationships. It also points to the fact that no one survived without love. Everyone years for company and e torture meted out in the Nazi camps is probably a reality that most of humanity would like to wipe out from the planet. And thinking of the hurt it did to the a lot of is just so unnerving. Most people do break down when life just keeps chucking harshness their way. But here, Lola and her kids did manage to hold their hopes high. Stashnek is a man whose sole aim is his survival and his weakness is women. He wants to look after the family in his own way, which is a small sad for the harmony is missing in this family’s life. But I would recommend reading it to understand how our surroundings shape us and our relationship with the world. A loving environment builds trust. But the human spirit is far stronger than we think it to be and the book is a amazing teacher for those who believe in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I'm Not From Around Here: A Jewish Boy Telling the Historical Story of his Family's Holocaust Survival in WW2 (Biographical Fiction Based on a Memoir) review [Book]  2018-3-7 18:0

    I’m Not From Around Here is a poignant, powerful memoir about the life of one family set versus the backdrop of the Holocaust, following the life of refugees trying to search a fresh e story is told from the point of view of an eight-year-old boy who info not just his own life, but also that of his parents. Of his mother, a seemingly frail woman, who somehow survived a not good labor camp, e characters are simple to relate to, and the ordeals they go through, are simply horrible. They present strength and courage through it all, and as such, this is an inspiring memoir about being a survivor, about never giving up, and about somehow retaining a sense of never really belonging anywhere.I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Family Secrets: The scandalous history of an extraordinary family review [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Part family history, part autobiography. Even though the main happenings took put long ago, one can still obtain a tip of the pain brought by this incident. Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    A very compelling case for reincarnation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Unbelievable book. I was enthralled.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Perfect real accounting of a young boy's reincarnation experience. I do believe in reincarnation, and every story like this validates what I already accept as truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I enjoyed reading this much more than I had thought I would. I was surprised at how well researched it was and by how well written it is. I had never given much thought to the idea of reincarnation. However, now that my mind has been expanded, I see how very possible it is that we have lived before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    A very amazing book that is a amazing history lesson of major league baseball during the time Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig were at the top of their game. It also provides lots of meal for thought about what a newborn brings with them when they are born and throughout the first eight years of their life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I found the premise of this book interesting but noticed multiple irregularities concerning the timeline and facts associated with Lou Gehrig's baseball career and life. It was a amazing read but not sure I believe everything I read. Plus the end of the book was more about the mother's past life regressions more than Christian's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    How can anyone read this book and not realize this family is experiencing synchronicity at every step in their lives. Their story is inspiring and uplifting in this age when there is so much negativity from the left. I enjoyed this book tremendously. It's amazing to hear about a family who is successfully navigating the experience called life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Anyone who loves baseball and the deepest mysteries of life and spirituality will search a real touchstone in the pages of this awesome real story ! Synchronisities beyond any remote chance of coincidence abound within the pages of this gem of a book. Give yourself a treasured bonus and read this unbelievable book as soon as you can !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Knew Too Much: An Astounding True Story of a Young Boy's Past-Life Memories review [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I give this book four stars because writing a book is hard work. The laws of karma and reincarnation are never as succinct as our author insists. She and I read the same book on Lou. She does not persuade, and parents who use these same shifty arguments must be challenged.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Once I started this book I could not place it down. I had read other writings by Roger Rosenblatt and seen him on The NewsHour, but "Making Toast" introduced another side of the author. He is "Boppo" to his grandchildren who love him unequivocally. Roger and his wife, Mimi, step in to care for the grandchildren when their daughter, Amy, dies suddenly at the age of 38. It is a story of love and caring, something only two unique people could do. Rosenblatt's insight and tenderness with the kids is heartwarming and inspirational. I learned much about sharing and loving--given by two unbelievable grandparents while dealing with the loss of their own special, talented daughter. This book is a treasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    It was choppy and I found I was not with the author as he jumped around. I liked the title of the book. I read the book as it was the book of the month in our book club, otherwise I would not have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I've taken to listening to books on tape as I work during the day (I'm a cake designer). My hands are busy but my ears are available and listening to t.v. just doesn't chop it for me any more. I chose this book because it had gotten a amazing review in a magazine I read and it did not disappoint. I prefer to listen to the actual authors read their books as opposed to a voice over person doing it. This author gave a descriptive acc of how his life changed after the sudden death of his daughter. Very poignant--makes me wish to read more of his books. This story was simple, sweet and funny--real life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    On the sudden death of his adult daughter the author and his wife pitch in trying to understand why and support her family cope with the loss of the woman who was mother, wife and daughter to her respective family members. The loss was tragic and devastating but those left must carry on. A remarkable story by an outstanding author. This is a model book on how to write a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I hesitated to buy this book, for considering Roger Rosenblatt's essays on PBS, I thought that it would be too florid. I am so gratified that I read this. His reticent tone was so touching, for it was so apparent that unimaginable grief was beneath the surface of the ongoing rhythms of the all the mundane info of life that moves on during the year after the death of his attractive and accomplished daughter. To spend time with these lovely people felt like an honor. This has been one of the most surprising reading experience that I have had in a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Didn't have fun it. Never really felt connected to the people though at times I found I had felt similiar feelings with a death of a loved one

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I am sorry for the author's loss. The book felt like a long obituary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I ordered this book for a mate who also had a daughter named Amy, who also died at a young age, leaving two little children. She says, and I quote : "written with so much love, so much emotion, so much sadness, at the same time his style is so r me in particular, his loss of his daughter: Amy, just like my Amy who went away at the age of ank you again Dolly for thinking of me,it is a lovely present!."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Splendid and terribly sad. But a unbelievable book to read aloud to grandchildren, maybe adult ones.A very unique family book about death, its aftermath and meaning for families..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Toast: A Family Story review [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I picked up this book because someone close to me was recently diagnosed with cancer. I appreciated Rosenblatt's apt observations after the unexpected death of his daughter. He is honest about his feelings and conveys them well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Unbelievably great, revealing, inspiring and at times utterly heartbreaking. I've followed The Replacements and Paul and Tommy solo for 20 years. They were the first band that I heard that immediately created me think "this is the band I've been looking for all my life." I'd been an obsessive melody fan since I was a child, but nothing spoke to me the method their melody and lyrics did. Finding out about there insecurities, self destructiveness in general underdog status in life only created me feel more connected to the material. Fact that Bob Stinson died on my 18th birthday was also a strange connection. My point being that I have followed the band, poured through the Skyway newsletters / mailing list, newsgroups and every article I could search on the internet over the years. I've seen the documentary and the two books that have come out previously (3 if you contain Our Band Could be Your Life) and halfway through the book I still don't feel like "i already knew this stuff." Even hearing anecdotes you've heard over the years feel various when told from the perspective of the people that were actually there as opposed to bystanders, latchers on and the general random people quoted in the previous 2 books. This is the first and only book that has it straight from the horse's mouths. A real warts and all, sometimes painful, sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes inspiring and always real. This is the one we've been waiting for I never thought we would get. Have fun it and pass it along. I only hope thousands and thousands more that create melody or art in general will be inspired by what these people did and what it took for them to create it. We love them and we couldn't imagine a globe without them. Ladies and gentlemen The Replacements.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Wow, what a unbelievable read. Fantastic. If you love the Replacements, or just love the alt/indie/college radio/music stage of the 80's and 90's, but mostly if you love the 'Mats, this is just Christmas, Fresh Years, your birthday - celebrated twice cause you lied to one set of mates about when that was, and coffee and wine and chocolate and pizzas with Italian sausage all rolled into one. Honest, deep, not dramatized - just the raw gory info of a band bent on both being the best band and the worst all at the same time. I was always a die-hard fan, thought i knew the whole history, even worked a Replacements present once (setting up, making sure backstage was ready for the band, tearing down), and still i had no idea what their lives were is book is absolutely delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    In ways, this is one of the more interesting Rock biographies that I have ever read. I think the writing was very, very good. And the story of the Replacements makes a amazing read to a degree.If you wonder why the Replacements never created the big-time, a lot of it comes down to themselves: their personalities and behaviors. They seemed to have a talent for being drunk/high or choosing to be uncooperative at just the right time to shoot their career in the foot again.And I think that's why I said this story makes a amazing read to a degree because by the end of the biography - - if you're like me and hoping for a traditional upbeat ending -- you're going, "Okay, straighten up guys. Do your press, play your concerts, respect the press and the fans, and push that single up the chart." And these guys are still like a herd of cats, being uncooperative and doing their own thing. In the end, there's just enough of this kind of behavior that you quit feeling sorry for them anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    This was such a amazing read. If you wish to understand how four incredibly talented people came together only to fall apart, then this is the book you should get. It also can't be said enough, at least by me anyhow that Bob Stinson was such a sadly under-rated guitar player. To have seen him on scene makes me feel blessed. He was beautiful incredible. Mr. Mehr gave large insight into what created Bob Stinson....Bob Stinson.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I'm about halfway through this book and already I rate it 5 stars. It's very well written and well researched. I've lived in Minneapolis my whole life so I'm well aware of the Replacements' legend from a local perspective, but even here they've largely remained an enigma; even to those who knew them personally. There are so a lot of questions that this band left in their wake and this book has already answered a lot of of the questions I've had while leaving the unanswerable for the reader to ponder. It's a must read for any serious Replacements fan, while casual fans, or even just general rock and roll buffs, will search this book hard to place down. Simply put, Problem Boys is the awesome story of an an awesome band.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Not much to say here that hasn't already been said in prior reviews. I just wish to add my 5 stars' worth. I read a ton of rock bios, and this is one of the best -- it's neither hagiography nor a salacious tell-all. Rather it's an interesting, well-researched, and sad/funny history of the band.I was a large Mats fan back in the day, so reading this was nostalgic. I whirled through the book in about three days. I'm glad that someone wrote the biography that the Mats deserve.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I don't know if you had to have loved this band to love this book. It is still a amazing story of "could have-beens / loveable losers'. I rooted for them all those years and yet while reading the book, I still had the hope that they would "make it" or reconcile with Bob. Of course they never did, but the author did a amazing job of making me root for them even though I knew they'd lose. As much as I had revered them back them for their anti-establishment ethos, I kind of have to place a lot of the blame on the band. If they have any regrets, they have only themselves to blame. I am so glad to have caught one of the shows where they clicked and did not self destruct. It was excellent rock and roll.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Such a damn amazing history of the band, the times, the feel, the music. I suppose Mr Mehr may have rounded a few edges or left one or two things off the record, but his impressive research and deft presentation lays it all out in an extremely readable way. And it's one of the only times I've ever learned this much about a beloved artist or band where I love them more after getting to know the story - not less - than ever before. Thanks to the Mats, their families, colleagues, mates & opponents for being so generous with their time & memories. And thanks to Bob Mehr for his perseverance, insight - and stamina. A template for all band histories from here on in for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    By far the best rock n roll biography I've read and I have read quite a few. First I have to commend the author. The writing is clear and concise. Organization and flow are excellent. That said, its awesome how a lot of books you read like this that are none of the above. So, structurally the book had a nice flow and was simple to read and follow. But, all of this would mean nothing if the book was lacking true meat; insight, revelations and stories that are both interesting and fundamentally essential for getting a better understanding of this great, underappreciated band. On that front the book is outstanding. I'm amazed at how much I learned reading about the band and individuals that I never knew. An necessary key to this is the author apparently had a lot of access to the necessary people important to really tell this story. Often times biographies are pieced together using lots of old articles and past interviews. Here it appears there are a lot of more latest interviews with key players.I 'discovered' the Replacements around the time "Let It Be" was out and "Tim" would be forthcoming shortly. Not sure what magazine it was in, but whatever I read peaked my interest enough to begin purchasing their melody and I kept on purchasing to the very end. The whole story is here and a lot of it isn't very beautiful and quite a bit of it is rather depressing. At times it feels like you are re-living a heavy train wreck which is a fairly accurate metaphor to describe the career of the Replacements. As I read the book I re-listened to their records to place into context what I was reading. It helped me better understand and relate to the recording process for each record. Each record is interesting in its own right and each represented its own special challenge as they moved from producer to producer and for the early records, dealing with the challenges of getting Bob Stinson to present up and play.If you are/were a huge fan of this band this book is a must read. If you weren't, you might wish to begin by checking out their music. The story is far more compelling if you already have an emotional connection to this band and its music. The Replacements will always be a band whose legend exceeds their popularity. It really could not have been any other way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I have been a fan of this band since the 80's. Growing up in MInneapolis, they were hard to ignore. After reading the full story of this band, I fell more in love. I downloaded each album as it was covered in the book, and it was amazing to listen and hear the subtle changes in the band as time passed. These guys did so much for melody in the 80's. I admire their gutts and their myopic tenacity to be real to themselves. Amazing book, nice details, and sometimes unflattering, but always honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A strong story, beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A amazing story of courage, love and sacrifice. These soldiers are the best our country can offer. They are all of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    It was an perfect book. I would recommend it to anybody that wants to see what it can be like in Iraq. We sure do not need to go back there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I Love this Book Martha Raddatz has a champion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Touching story that ties up a bunch of stories I had read about over the years. Simple to read, follow and sure to create a impact.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Ms Raditz has long been recognized as a very competent journalist. With this book she has earned the reputation of being a spell-binding author!She keeps your off the edge of your seat as she paints the picture of the HELL that the units are experiencing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Great!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Have not yet read more than the introduction and a bit of the first chapter - the writing gives this old writer chills of envy as I want I strung words together as well as she - and I've been at it longer than she has! For those who _enjoy_ reading about battle - don't miss this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This book is an intense comprehensive view of an Troops unit in Iraq as the insurgency started and how it affected the men and their families. A amazing read and one that should be read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family review [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A well-written, gripping telling of the hell our soldiers (and their families) experienced. I read it it two sittings!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    This book was such a pleasure to read. Totally entertaining and endearing. Lots of interesting facts told in the wittiest method with a amazing measure of suspense utilized to tell the tale. Do not hesitate to test this book. I have bought copies for all of my naturalist mates to rave reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    I love this book! Who knew a book about eagles could be so highly entertaining? I bought the book for my classroom and, being the dutiful teacher, I read it first. I laughed, I smiled and I lived vicariously through the author's telling of his experiences. Bonuses of an Eagle was a joy to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    A amazing story and amazing info about eagles without reading like a textbook. I found much humor in their story of Lady as well as a very moving acc of those 16 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    Read the book on Kindle but also have the actual book and DVD. A unbelievable story of the relationship between man and eagle. The relationship was beautiful much equal especially in the eagle's eyes. I'd recommend reading the book first and then watching the DVD since there is much more detail in the book.I also soar in gliders and frequently have hawks, vultures and seagulls sharing and circling in the same thermal I would be flying in. I never cease to marvel at their beauty and total grace and ease in the air. Seeing an eagle close up is really something. This book just brings the eagle to te that the kindle ver appears to put all the pictures at the end while in the book it appears after several various sections. In this case it is much easier to flip back and forth in the actual book. A very little nitpick to an overall amazing experience both kindle and actual book.If you like this book you will also love "Wesley the Owl".Highly recommended.P.S. Another reviewer mentioned that the book is out of print. You can still obtain it along with the DVD here: [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    My dad gave me this book that he read as a child when I was younger. I wanted to reread it while I was on the go so I purched the kindle version. The story overall is very entertaining. The writer, as he states, is not a writer so the story isnt as embelished or fancy as it could be. Reading this book is like listening to your grandpas stories. I really have fun it still.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    We AND OUR 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    For any one who doubts the intelligence of birds, this book will prove enlightening. It is a story told with both a sense of humor and a sense of wonder. You may have seen this eagle in several Disney movies, but now you can learn how she was trained. Totally enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    So glad I read this...I have been a bird watcher since childhood. I count birds for researchers in the winter. And it is real that you CAN establish a relationship with these beautiful, glorious creatures!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    Kent Durden's "Gifts of an Eagle" was a rare search at the Public Library, and one of those books you wish to own once you've read it. There is something about "Lady", the eagle that Kent and his father raised, that reveals a personality, a wild conciousness that was quite marvelous to witness "firsthand". Kent and his father got a liscense from the state of California to capture and raise this golden eagle, (something I doubt is even possible any more, which makes this a piece of history too.) For anyone who loves eagles, you will never obtain a more private experience than this. Although out of print, this perfect book can still be found with a small digging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gifts of an Eagle: The Remarkable Story of a Bird and Her Family review [Book]  2018-3-5 18:0

    I would recommend this book. I really enjoyed reading this book. Amazing read enjoyed. Could not place it down until finished.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    Bought this book for my Mom a couple of years ago and she just raved about how amazing it was. So, I had to check it out for myself. Mom was right! Having shared my life with 3 Beagles, not all at the same time, I can attest to how stubborn they can be, especially when that nose of theirs gets a whiff of something interesting. And they are very intelligent dogs. I never had one as destructive as Barney, though. This was a amazing read and very heartwarming. I laughed, I cried, and I enjoyed every min of reading about "Dave" and Barney....Mr. Wolfsie understands, and you will, too, after reading this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    I enjoyed the primary story but it was essentially told in the first third to possibly first half of the book. After that, we kept covering the same things. I was interested that Mr. Wolfsie would let a strange dog into his home and leave him unattended and shut inside. Beagles are curious and can figure out ways to obtain into things that defy the imagination. My current beagle is capable of jumping onto a counter in the kitchen from the floor without aid of a chair and I know this because I found her up there. They will eat any and everything as Barney did for Mr. Wolfsie. Barney had a lot of personality and seemed to be a amazing dog. It was a cute story, just more lengthy than it required to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    This is the real story of @#$% Wolfsie and his Beagle named Barney. Dick was a reporter on WISH-TV in Indianapolis, Indiana during the time of this book. Barney went to work every day and became part of the 3 min interviews that Dick did three times each morning. I live in Central Indiana and remember Barney and Dick. It is a really funny and you will have fun the book whether or not your every saw them on television.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    Reading Barney was reminiscent of reading Steve Allen (Schmok, Schmok and Bigger Than a Breadbox) ; Wolfie's self-deprecating humor, fast wit, and private style were like chatting with an old friend. His love of the dog was obvious as was his ability instinctively to capture an audience on his TV show. This dog even one-upped Marley and Me much of the time. If you have fun amazing fun and dogs, you'll have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    We enjoyed this book very 's well written, a story at said, I had to shake my head in wonder about how @#$% Wolfsie seemed to be the pet and Barney the master. I can't conceive of how anyone can allow a dog run all over them the method Dick did - but it seemed to work for him.Well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    After reading this book, I rescued a beagle. It has been an experience. I have now returned to read Mornings with Barney again. It seems my dog and Barney have a lot in common. Or maybe it is a beagle thing. My dog will not be on TV, but people stop to admire my dog and offer treats. Another beagle thing.Future beagle owners, be forewarned. Fun awaits,but there will be a price. You will lose your heart to a noisy, nosy dog who is full of surprises.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    Amazing book to read in doctors' waiting rooms. It was interesting, but simple to place aside and pick up later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    I just books about dogs. Some are sad but that is ok, it is reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    This was a very amazing story. Very cute tales of a Beagle acting like a Beagle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mornings with Barney: The True Story of an Extraordinary Beagle review [Book]  2018-4-15 18:1

    A delightful book! I would recommend it to anyone who loves animals, especially dogs. It is well-written, funny, and an overall pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    Well, I'm addicted to methamphetamine. I've been in recovery for one year, 3 months, and 11 days. When I was released from jail one year ago, I decided to read Tweak. An old mate of mine read it while he was in juvie, that's how I first heard about it. Tweak was relatable to me, and so was We All Fall Down. Nic Sheff is an awesome person, he had overcome a lot. He inspires when I found out that his father also wrote a book about his son's addiction, I just had to have it. Allow me tell you, Attractive Boy tore me apart. I've only experienced life from the point of view of someone on meth. I thought I was being considerate, I always checked in with my family on a weekly basis. I was home at least twice a week. I worked full time, but still liked to go crazy with my friends. After reading this book (okay, while reading it) I cried and apologized to my parents, my grandparents, and my uncle for all the hell I had place them through. I honestly had no clue that I was hurting people so badly.If you're an addict, if you have a kid that is an addict, even if you're neither, READ THIS BOOK.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    This was an amazing, touching book told from the other side of addiction - a side not heard very often - the side of a parent watching their kid slowly spiral out of control due to a recovering addict myself, (13 yrs., 11 mos., 11 days), as well as a parent, it was really hard for me to read at times but I'm SO glad I is is an amazingly touching book that is at times funny, emotional, heart wrenching, and hopeful. I would recommend this to book to everyone but especially to those struggling with either side of addiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    My mother was a severe alcoholic my entire life, so I was interested right off the bat and someone had recommended this book. I can appreciate the heart wrenching, exhausting pain that goes along with a family member having addiction problems. But in all honesty, this book fell flat, just being critical of the actual writing and the method the story is told. The endless descriptions, by the mid 200's of the book, he's describing the color of the grass in his backyard and what kind of flowers that were being planted in some scenes. Nic's story and how his family deals with it, is very interesting and kept me looped in the entire time. But I feel like at times, there are thse 10-15 page bursts worth of over descriptive stream of consciousness style writing that created me frustrated as a I read it (get to the point type of stuff). I would say pick it up if you're in need in some of some connection to those of us who have dealt with addiction or have family members that do. I wasn't the largest fan of how the book read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    ..unless addiction is involved. Sheff captures that mixture of hope and despair living in each parent whose kid has gone into the dark, deep hole of addiction. His book is full of joy and tragedy. Love and relief, ambiguity and disgust and dislike. And guilt, so much guilt. Guilt for feeling all the love and hope and despair. In this book Sheff touches on beautiful much everything parents feel (or at least this parent) when their kid goes over to the dark ry well written, spellbinding in its own way, the reader will have a hard time staying neutral to the players in this private tragedy. Sheff admits that for years people have given well-meaning tip and criticism. You should have done this. Why on earth did you do that. Until and unless you've had to deal with HIS issues, there is no right or wrong. Sheff did the best he could at the time with the info he had, at that static moment in time. No parent can say they haven't done the same thing. And who knows if the effect would have been the same after all?Siblings, family, partners and mates have their own experiences with their addict, but a parent is a bit different. As Sheff points out, we are the soft put for them to fall, the most influential people in their lives until we send them off into the globe and their little circle widens to contain day care workers, teachers, coaches and friends. As parents we hand them over, so to speak, and our sphere of influence diminishes as the years go by- as it should. The mistake Sheff made, and he freely admits it, is that he was under the impression that he had armed his kid with the tools he required to succeed, and when that seemed to fail, Sheff began to question what exactly he had done to contribute to that is common if not universal among the parents of addicted kids to blame their parenting. Other people will also look first to the home environment. Sheff takes a long hard look at himself and his parenting, and still has a hard time forgiving himself for mistakes he made. But who doesn't create mistakes? Conversely, does that mean parents obtain to take the credit for every amazing thing their kid does? Is it right for a parent to take credit for the successes or failures of their child? And failure and success are rather subjective anyhow. Sheff does not really address this, although he tries hard to forgive himself, which he should. I really hope he has succeeded.What struck a deep note with me was how accurately he describes the sea change in parenting expectations... one day you are thrilled to see an A in spelling and almost the next you wake up grateful that the police haven't knocked on your door telling you that your kid is dead.I have not read Nic Sheff's book yet, I wish to leave a small break between the two. But I highly recommend this book for anyone who has ever been touched by addiction of any kind. It won't do a thing to prevent addiction but it may give you a gleam of insight into the silent and desperate life of the friend, co-worker or relative who has a kid in trouble.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    It took me over 2 weeks to read this awesome book and I'm normally a 1-2 day per book person. Why? Because my own pain walking in David's shoes was so intense that I had to step away and could only take it in little doses. This has been our life for 20 years and I know there are specifics David didn't share/ couldn't share because it is so horrifying to know the reality of everything your kid is doing to get these drugs of choice. It was comforting in some strange method to be inside David's head and know that I'm not alone in thinking these things and more. It is also appalling that in this amazing country - which gives away everywhere - that it is so incredibly difficult to search support and rehabs for those with mental health problems or addictions. The everyday war is overwhelming. There should not be such a battle/war to search reputable, effective programs for help. 28 day programs - a load of crap. Nothing of true, long lasting value can be accomplished in 28 day programs. I still remember sitting in our first family session at a program - 20 years ago. Sitting in that circle that would become yet another dreaded part of this process and listening to people talk about it being their 4th, 5th, 6th time. Thinking there is no method possible OUR child, OUR family would ever be back here doing this again. We were a amazing family, had raised amazing children and we would handle this and fix it during this one go round. I lost track of the rehabs, the programs, the jails, the prisons a long, long time ago. I also learned a lot along the method about the impacts of things birth parents did to impact a attractive girls destiny. Not to absolve our own part of this - all parents create mistakes along the way. But just because you received the bonus of this kid while they were young - it doesn't remove hurt done in the womb and even as a little infant. And that terrifies me for the two attractive baby boys that my kid had and gave up to some other loving family. I worry about the predisposition to addiction those attractive boys have been sentenced to. You learn....constantly and painfully. David captures this in his awesome book. I am debating with myself now about sharing it with my daughter so perhaps she can finally see inside our minds and hearts and understand the depths of the fear, the anger, the pain, the destruction. I wish to believe that might support her/us heal if she could ever understand this isn't all about her and her pain. God support me but it does come to a put where you are glad they are locked up somewhere because at least they are safe and for a small while you can sleep....you aren't waiting for a dreaded call to come with horrid news.....or waiting for calls to come just to know they are alive. You do truly start to dread and hate a ringing phone. Enough already. This is a real must read for any family or person that knows and loves an addict. It would be a amazing read for those that don't - just for their understanding and education about how this plague of addiction affects people they interact with every day and yet may not even know the hell they are living. Thank you for writing this David. I felt like I was holding my breath throughout waiting to know that Nic was still alive and was making it. I'll be reading Nic's own story next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    I read David's other book about addiction - this book explores the difficult relationship of a family to the addict themselves. I believe this is a amazing read for any family who has to deal with a struggling addict and a lot of of the triggers or relapse and the struggles of rehabilitation that they all face. As with the other book, Clean, David is begin and honest about all the struggles that they face, the ups and downs, the aggravations that occur, and the ignorance that the general American public has about drugs in general. I would recommend this book to anyone, but especially to the family who has a loved one who struggles with the disease of addiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    I learned a lot from reading this book. I have a teenager and a college age kid and was curious what might be some warning signs that I might not notice... and this book definitely opened my eyes and gave me a amazing understanding of the drug (meth) and how a "normal" child could search themselves caught up in this horrible drug. Because of the book I've had amazing discussions with my kids. Bottom line is DON'T GET NEAR THE STUFF! Additionally, I'm really glad that the authors' son, Nic, wrote a book as well. Very helpful reading both and I am appreciative for the Sheff family for being so honest and sharing their experience/journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    If you are an addict, if you love someone who is an addict, or if you wish to support your kids maneuver the mine fields of life, this is a amazing book to read. I want I had the book 15 years ago when our nightmare started with 2 family members venturing into a life if drug and alcohol abuse. I want I had it to give to my mom and dad who spent almost everything they had, even their health, trying to create these 2 well. Read it and share it, it will help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    I read Sheff's book in a couple of days. Unlike a lot of other books about difficult family situations this memoir shares the abject pain of his son's multiple relapses but most importantly does a brilliant and poignant job of evaluating the WHYs involved in his son's drug abuse. The author spends time reflecting on what contributes to a child's destabilization and why he or she would seek out drugs to numb the pain to start with. Sheff openly shares the disintegration of his marriage (his own culpability in that fact) as well as his ex-wife moving to Los Angeles when the kid was just a youngster. The brunt of the parents problems fell on very young shoulders. Each of the parents went about rebuilding their lives with fresh spouses. Nic, an only kid at the time, shouldered the distance by flying back and forth by himself and living with missing one parent at all times. Couple that fracture with a family predilection to addiction and Nic had a high probability of running off the e author does not shy from either topic. He spends time in his own reflectiveness and honesty. While he does not overly dwell on the whys he does thoroughly cover it. The remainder of the book is well researched on how to consult experts, search facilities, manage interactions with a kid addict. Through the extremely dire situation, Sheff's parenting skills are kicked into high alert. For all of his early failings he is dedicated both emotionally and financially to finding a solution to save his son's life.I appreciated every page of this book. Very worth the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction review [Book]  2018-6-30 18:0

    So amazing I read it in 2 nights. I just couldn't place it down. David Sheff's writing style makes you feel like family, drawing you into his nightmare, one exactly like I am going through. Researchers understand addiction. Hopefully most of us will in the next few years. Sadly our system as it is setup now, utilizes counselors who were taught about addiction through antiquated material. Society for the most part name calls, avoids and jails addicts, harming them even more. My son is an addict and the next time I hear from a self righteous, yet totally ignorant professional in the field say "He just keeps making poor choices" or " He chooses to be an addict", I'm sure I will obtain sick. Who has ever heard a kid say, as he is growing up "When I grow up, I wish to be a drug addict"?Writers such as Mr. Scheff will undoubtedly speed up the process of understanding addiction. When that time comes we as a country may just see drug counselors leaving the profession in droves. In the meantime, if you have a loved one addicted to a substance, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    Interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    I have read a lot of Holocaust books over the years; however, I have never read one where the readers could follow the journey of a whole family. Bottner gives a detailed chronological acc of the battle and how the family survived. Through her accounts we do not just learn about the happenings took put but specific chapters are dedicated to specific people. Through this we learn about kids like Bobby and Melly. This is by far my favourite feature of the book. Overall, this is a heart-breaking yet inspiring story that will leave you thinking about it even after you have finished reading.I have been given this book in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    Beautifully written and well researched. The author interspersed historical facts with her family's history. It was awesome how her grandparents survived. I found it terribly sad reading the result the hiding had on her father and his sister, her aunt. I was haunted after reading that. Of particular interest was her discussion of epigenetics and how she could see the result it had on her family and just epigenetics in general. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    Tammy Bottner shares the story of her family's survival during the Holocaust in a method that grabs the reader from page one. Ms. Bottner writes in a method that honestly leaves you feeling as if you personally know each character. My only complaint is that her story is written so well that I search it hard to place down at night. Thank you for sharing your family's attractive but tragic story; I hope it will teach and inspire all of us to live lives of kindness and acceptance so that we learn from the past and make a globe going forward that is filled with love and hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    For so a lot of of us, the Holocaust remains shrouded from view outside of the insights offered by Wiesel, Frankl, Levi, Anne Frank, Spiegelman and others. The reason of course is that for those who did survive, the info of survival were too painful to recount. Bottner was faced with the same private challenge - she heard shards of stories of survival while growing up, but the broader story was unrevealed. Inspired to address the trauma passed on to her, she worked carefully to research and recreate the narrative of her family's survival. With an economy of words and reminder of a lot of of the key happenings behind the Nazis' rise, Bottner successfully captures the plight of her family. She represents what she cobbled together through the voices of her relatives and gently fills in the historical lacunae in between. The effect is an achievement which can be viewed as a living testament to the perseverance of her own family. By taking the time to document her family's story, she does the amazing deed of creating cohesive memory where there was none. In a globe sorely in need of reminders that there are opportunities for amazing deeds everywhere - and that those deeds can have extraordinary impact - Bottner provides a roadmap of how these actions literally alter the course of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    I definitely agree with the above reviews of Tammy Bottner's awesome first book "Among the Reeds" I have read a lot of Holocaust books over the years but this one held me in a very heartfelt way. In each chapter I found myself transported into the actual physical presence of the person being described, and felt I could identify with the emotions they must have been experiencing. The book carried me along as happenings unfolded, making it hard to even place it down. I particularly liked Tammy's alternating between first and third person from chapter to chapter. I am definitely recommending this book to my bookclub.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    This is a surprising book, precisely written in short chapters that provide intense connections with the characters as they face unthinkable challenges during the time of the Holocaust, and somehow manage to continue on, driven by the will to survive and the deep love for their family. The book is written like a Russian novel, with easy but strong descriptions of the author's family. One feels outraged at the lack of humanity and the senselessness of the attempt to eliminate all Jews from the European continent which is portrayed with bluntness and amazing insight by the also feels privileged to learn much about the beauty and intensity of the Jewish culture. The book is haunting, inspiring, shocking, and magnetic; and is a must-read story!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    Among the Reeds: The Real Story of How a Family Survived the Holocaust is by Tammy Bottner. Tammy tells the story of her Grandparents and her Father as they managed to survive the Holocaust. She took the stories her Grandmother had told her, her Father’s stories, stories of other relatives, and research on the locations mentioned in the stories and made their story. It is a painful story to read because of the Holocaust, of course, but also because of the unhappiness of her Grandmother throughout her life. It definitely shows the culture of Jewish life before the battle and how customs conspired versus lly was born to Polish Jews who were trying to search a more peaceful put to live. They were on their method to Germany when Melly created her appearance on September 30, 1921. Since she was born in Leignitz, Germany, she became a German citizen at birth. Melly’s Father was greatly disappointed that she was a girl and this set the tone for their relationship. Melly was also born a pessimist. She was sad and unhappy for most of her life. Having a Father that took his disappointment out on her and treated her like both a son and daughter didn’t help. Melly took some of her anger out on her sister Inge through incessant teasing. When her brother Nathan was born, she was both relieved and resentful of how her Father fawned over Nathan. Eventually, her Father left the family and went to Holland intending to send for them. Her Mother had to search a method to raise the three kids by herself with no income. From a privileged childhood to one of poverty was a large move for Melly. Melly finally moved across the road from her Mother to give herself some space. However, the owner came to her room and attempted to rape her. Melly got away and went home. Soon after that, her Mother informed Melly that she was to be married. Melly was married to a peasant from Galacia and her life really changed. Genek was entranced by Melly but the marriage was not based on love. However, they stayed together through the Holocaust and the a lot of moves they created in their life ey eventually moved to Brussels, Belgium where they lived during the Holocaust. They lived as non-Jews in the open. To hold their beloved son safe, they placed him with the Jewish Resistance who in turn put him in a convent. Here bewildered two-year-old Bobby lived in darkness and without affection for two years. He only spoke Yiddish and German and the nuns spoke French. When her daughter, Irene, was born, she too was placed with the Resistance. She was put in an individual home and her “parents” had no idea she was is book is amazing and one that should be read. It isn’t simple to read; but it is essential. Tammy has managed to create us feel the anguish her Grandparents felt in sending their kids off and the pain that resulted when they returned. The distance between Melly and Irene was never breached. Bobby had issues his entire life due to his placement in the convent. How does a kid recover from the feelings of abandonment when he has no idea why he is being sent away? This book really makes you think about how you would react to a situation like this. Could you send your kid off with a strange woman and not know where he will be nor how long he will be gone? Did you do the right thing?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among the Reeds: The true Story of how a Family survived the Holocaust review [Book]  2017-10-14 10:48

    Really enjoyed hearing about your family. And the interesting ideas about DNA. I certainly know we are all influenced by our environment. What your grandparents and father went through does latest a lifetime and comes down to you. Fear is a very strong weapon. I am sure you know that the Nazi'so were drug and alcohol fueled. But, there is not and never will be a reason for what they did.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter