The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Entertaining - but not what I really expected. Also - the color was off and I can't search the volume covering the latest years of the war. For people who wish to learn about what Nam was really like - this will contribute to your overall understanding of the conflict (for example: the realities of communist terrorism in South Vietnam - a topic western media all but ignored because it occurred in the hinterlands - where cold beer and flush toilets weren't available - very few reporters bothered to go). I thought some of the back stories (kit carson scouts for example) were perfect and I really enjoyed the characters. I just wish to see someone place together the latest volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    "The 'Nam" is simply one of the best pop-culture depictions of our troops' experience in Vietnam that there is. And easily the best for teaching young people about it.Written by a Vietnam vet and edited by another, each problem is a stand-alone story set in the early days of American involvement there. The dialogue can be a bit "comic booky" for me but hey, that's the medium. This is as true the battle is likely to obtain in the pages of a comic is volume contains the first 10 issues, and that's really my only complaint: It should be collected in 12-issue clumps. Each story took put one month apart, showing the battle in true time as the problems came out. And because a tour in Vietnam was 12 months, we see one hero rotate in for Problem 1 and head "back to the block" come Problem summary, "The 'Nam" is a PG-appropriate ver of the movie "Hamburger Hill," and one that covered more ground as it wasn't limited by moving-picture runtime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I love Michael Golden's work! And I love battle stories, so this was a amazing mix. I am too young to have gone to Vietnam, but my father did! I am lucky that he created it home, really lucky.... he was almost killed during his 11 month tour with the 1st division. He also took 200+ photos, which I now own and treasure. I mention this because some of the scenes rendered in this brilliant comic series, reflect the actual scenes from Vietnam in every detail. The research and attention to detail appears to be spot on. Based on the a lot of stories my father told me, I am guessing the stories are beautiful realistic too. The graphic novel is a much anticipated replacement to my dog-eared copies I kept all these years.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) video reviews and related movies:

    See ACiD House/Newbeat on youtube.

     related image

    See special on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Very well written. My father is a Vietnam veteran and he felt these were well written as well. Very hard to place down once its started.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Amazing story ,good artwork. I bought the whole series. Tells it like it was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I lent this to a few teenagers at the high school I teach in, and I think I scared one of them out of joining the military. Thank you, Doug Murray.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A very amazing portrayal of the experiences that soldiers had in Vietnam. To think I got additional credit for reading this for my college history class on the Vietnam conflict. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Wow! The first 10 issuses under one cover. Really a cool Read. Its a must have for anyone who's interested in Nam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 1 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I purchased "The 'Nam" Volume 1 by Marvel for two reasons. The first is that I am a Vietnam Combat Veteran and was interested on how the topic would be presented; the second is because I have fun graphic novels, and they bring back memories of reading comic books when I was e graphic novel follows the life of Ed Marks as he enters the U.S. Troops in 1966 and goes through training and is sent to Vietnam. In Vietnam Pfc. Marks is assigned to the 4/23 Infantry, Mechanized. This is an actual unit that served with distinction in Vietnam with the 25 Infantry Division (Tropic Lightning) from 1966 until it left Vietnam in 1971. I served with the 4th Infantry Division, 2/8 Infantry Mechanized, Company A, 1st Team from Oct 1968 till Jan r those interested 4/23 Infantry means 4th Battalion (Mechanized) 23rd Infantry chanized Infantry had the ability to close in on the opponent faster and with greater fire power. Cav (Calvary) troops also had this mobility with Huey's and gunships. Once contact was created the infantry always dismounted, the APC's (Armored Private Carriers) were death chanized infantry also walked a lot, and at times were sent in by chopper for an air nsidering the limitations placed on the publication of "The'Nam" by the Comic Code as expressed in the introduction by the editor, Larry Hama, I feel the people at Marvel have done a amazing job of trying to bring the Vietnam Battle to the attention of a readership that in all likelihood was not born during those ere are exceptions I take to parts of stories included in this first volume, but there are also some very realistic points made. For instance; no one ever built a fire at night while out on patrol (it would give your position away) and few companies went back to base camps, we stayed in the bush for months. Also to my knowledge no one flew into Vietnam as replacements under a hail of gunfire as depicted early in the issue. The exceptions to that are the Marines who flew into Khe Sanh between January and April in 1968 when it was under siege. These are minor issues, after all this is a graphic ever, the author Doug Murray has done a amazing job tying in the various scenario of combat in Vietnam. The illustrators Mike Golden and Wayne Vansant have done perfect work in their representations of the military equipment and scenery considering again the restraints placed on them in adhering to the Comic one will ever know the real horrors of battle by reading a graphic novel or any novel of war. All the same, I recommend this graphic novel for those who would like to know a small of that forgotten battle and at the same time have fun a terrific read with amazing graphics. I look forward to reading Volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 3 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Entertaining - but not what I really expected. Also - the color was off and I can't search the volume covering the latest years of the war. For people who wish to learn about what Nam was really like - this will contribute to your overall understanding of the conflict (for example: the realities of communist terrorism in South Vietnam - a topic western media all but ignored because it occurred in the hinterlands - where cold beer and flush toilets weren't available - very few reporters bothered to go). I thought some of the back stories (kit carson scouts for example) were perfect and I really enjoyed the characters. I just wish to see someone place together the latest volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 3 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    I'm a large fan of The 'Nam series. I read it when it first came out in comic book form and am very happy that these bound editions remained real to color in the reprint. As someone who went, I can relate to the stories in this and the other two volumes in the series very strongly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 3 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Want there wer more issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 3 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 3 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    Sadly this is the latest graphic novel produced for this title. There are still more problems but to collect them individually could be pricey. I'm glad that Marvel decided to place these comics together in the Graphic Novel format.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    "The 'Nam" Volume 2 by Marvel continues where Volume 1 left following the tour of duty in Nam of the fictional hero Ed Marks and with the 4/23 Mechanized Infantry. This graphic novel follows Marks home after his tour of duty and illustrates in a little method the readjustment issues of Vietnam veterans. Even as Ed Marks returns to "The World" his mates in 4/28 among them Sgt Rob Little, are still in Vietnam and continue to war in the dense jungle. Fresh recruits are introduced to replace those wounded, killed, and those rotated home after their one year tour. The fresh units add to the individuality that one encounters in a military in Volume 1 this graphic novel covers a series of missions woven together to present the dozens of combat situations experienced in Vietnam. The characters portrayed present the diversity of personalities that created up the military serving in Nam and the conflicting emotions that sometimes arose.I mention here again for those who might not have read my review of Volume 1. For those interested 4/23 Infantry means 4th Battalion (Mechanized) 23rd Infantry chanized Infantry had the ability to close in on the opponent faster and with greater fire power. Cav (Calvary) troops also had this mobility with Huey's and gunships. Once contact was created the infantry always dismounted, the APC's (Armored Private Carriers) were death chanized infantry also walked a lot, and at times were sent in by chopper for an air nsidering the limitations placed on the publication of "The'Nam" by the Comic Code as expressed in the introduction by the editor, Larry Hama, I feel the authors and illustrators have done a amazing job of trying to bring the Vietnam Battle to the attention of a readership that in all likelihood was not born during those years.I enjoyed reading Volume 2 and recommend it if you like graphic battle novels. I give it 5 stars because I believe the stories are an improvement over Volume 2 and I look forward to reading Volume 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Entertaining - but not what I really expected. Also - the color was off and I can't search the volume covering the latest years of the war. For people who wish to learn about what Nam was really like - this will contribute to your overall understanding of the conflict (for example: the realities of communist terrorism in South Vietnam - a topic western media all but ignored because it occurred in the hinterlands - where cold beer and flush toilets weren't available - very few reporters bothered to go). I thought some of the back stories (kit carson scouts for example) were perfect and I really enjoyed the characters. I just wish to see someone place together the latest volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    THE 'NAM is that rare and remarkable work, combining dramatic tragedy (without ever falling into the melodramatic), raw humor, intimate emotion, and staggering realism--all weaving together to show a vision of the Vietnam conflict is a narrative style both immediate as a live grenade, and as burnished as a tropical sunset. This is NOT SGT. FURY AND HIS HOWLING COMMANDOS (though there is nothing wrong with that highly entertaining bit of an escapist romp. THE 'NAM is a collection of loosely tied together tales, depicting the simple, yet horrifying android game of chess played day in and day out as our units hunted--and WERE hunted--by the silent, merciless shadow warriors: affectionately known by our units as "The Dinks". When I first discovered this book in the early 1980's, I was stunned and over joyed. I routinely bought multiple copies of each moth's release, so that I might send the comic to mates and fellow readers I admired. Michael Golden's art, a highly effective combination of quasi-exaggeration in the expressions and body language of the human figures set versus a background of stunning--virtually "blue print"--mechanical accuracy, in terms of machines, weapons, and equipment makes for a visual experience both surreal, while absolutely rooted in the reality of the moment. It is simply stunning work. I have only one complaint regarding THE'NAM collections: I want they had been printed in HARDBACK for permanency's sake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Amazing dramatized retelling of the American soldier’s experience in Vietnam. A nice contrast to GI Joe style glorification of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Amazing collection perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    There are really cool.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Accurate accounts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    A amazing portrayal of the experiences of soldiers in Vietnam. I took up reading this for my history class on Vietnam and was blown away at how amazing this title was at depicting what happened in Vietnam from an American soldiers point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    My teen is a battle history fanatic, and loves this graphic novel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 'Nam Vol. 2 (The 'Nam (1986-1990)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    Thank the maker for re-releasing the 'Nam!...I cannot wait for the next edition and then I can wait for the single problems to increase in prices!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    A fascinating piece in color reprint if you're trying to obtain the complete Defenders storyline. A nice contrast to the black and white Essentials line of Defenders comic. The weirdest most fascinating squad ups since the short lived Champions title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Breathtaking remastered printing compared to the old comics! This is a must have for fresh readers and old collectors that wish to "upgrade" their comics collection or read it all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Defenders Vol. 1 (Defenders (1972-1986)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I was surprised to see this book obtain a release. The Fresh Defenders was at best a second tier title in mighty Marvel Comic's early 80's release schedule and today is small more than a footnote. Having said that reading this graphic novel reminded me why i loved comics growing up. The Fresh Defenders followed the adventures of several random Marvel characters teamed up. The original Defenders Namor, Dr Strange, Hulk and Silver Surfer are quickly wrote out of the book at the beginning of this graphic novel to create method for the fresh squad composed of 3 former X-men (Beast, Iceman and Angel), Gargoyle, Valkyrie and Moondragon. While this unlikely group seem random (they are) the stories collected here are classic comic book is novel first introduces us to the former Defenders and explains why they must disband. Their tale in front of a cosmic tribunal and the potential end of Earth is hokey and corny but I imagine a child reading it in 1983 found it exciting. While I thought it was kinda cheesy I still enjoyed that this was a easy tale that explored over the top ideas.We are next introduced to the group that will be The Fresh Defenders. While their adventures are also a bit hokey - they war villains named Harridan and cloud (who is truly a cloud) what I enjoyed the most was the characterization. Today's comics are so plot driven that we really don't know or care about any of the people in the books. For example there is very small done to flesh out Spider-man in current comics. Writers assume we know everything about him from work that has come before leaving them to weave plot driven stories. In this book it reminded me how we really got to know characters. We see the inner turmoil Beast has with feeling kind a lost- not being an X-man or Avenger. Valkyrie is upset that her mate Hellcat has quit the defenders to search love. She broods about feeling betrayed and abandoned. Iceman worries about accounting exams. Of course they war poor guys and save humanity but its these info about the characters that makes the more true and elevated these tales from pulp fiction to something is graphic novel probably won't appeal to anyone who wasn't a fan in the 1980's. X-fans curious about what Angel, Beast and Iceman were doing between their time in the original X-men and before they came back into the X-fold with X-factor may wish to read. If you wish just a fun nearly self contained escapist graphic novel this may work. The artwork is average at best. It's very typical of it's time. The artists were never fan favorites but the are competent and skillfully illustrate the stories. I actually found the art strangely refreshing.A amazing book with some fun stories. Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I would have given this 5 stars, but when it was printed, it appears that two pages were printed out of sync from the first chapter. I remember having all of Mr. Simonson's Thor problems when I was younger, and his run on Thor was the most enjoyable during that time period. I would even rank it above Frank Miller's stint on Daredevil (and that was epic!!!). If you love amazing storytelling along with some beautiful impressive art, then this compilation is definitely for you!!! I will be ordering Volume 2 shortly!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The birth of Beta Ray Bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This was my introduction to "The Mighty Thor." I had read several positive reviews and thought I'd test it myself. The story was fascinating. Walt Simonson obviously had loads of background on Norse Mythology before beginning his wonderful run. My only complaint is that the story actually continues for four or five more problems when this volume ends. However, it is not difficult to search those today for the price of a current comic in any comic book store. If you like Thor or think you might like it, this is a amazing put to start!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Just awesome. One of, if not THE, definitive runs on the title. Simonson just nails it. A amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The only thing I don't like is Amazon's cloud reader :( I more prefer a digital reading interface that enlarges the panels and tutorials your eye cinematically along the azon you are a very adaptable company and I feel like you will fix this buggy system soon. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    When you hear arguments by Comic nerds about what superhero could beat another superhero........ Nobody beats Walt Simonson's Thor ! Nobody !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Between the amazing avant garde (for the Times) pencils and the method he absolutely embraced the source material. This was one of the best books of its era. Still a amazing read 30 years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    No doubt that Walter Simonson is THOR! This comic book was going nowhere but W.S. changed it and now this is a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This volume includes the begin of the best run of Thor tales the comics have produced to date. For anyone interested in Marvel 's take on the hero and mythology this is the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    More of the best Thor saga!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brotherhood Protectors Vol 1: Books 1-3 review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I originally reviewed these stories as they were published individually. Below are those One: Montana SEAL4 StarsHank “Montana” Patterson is a SEAL injured in the line of duty. His need to recuperate from his injuries coincides with his sister calling him to come home because his father has been shot. Hank and his father don’t have the greatest relationship which is a huge part of why he left home to join the die McClain is a popular actress who has returned home to relax and obtain away from the public who adores her. She and Hank were a couple in high school, but she turned down his proposal. Sadie knew that Hank required to leave his family ranch and follow his dream of becoming a SEAL; something that wouldn’t have happened if they had die was with Hank’s father when he was shot and realizes that the shooter was probably aiming for her. An over-zealous fan has been stalking her and she fears that he’s responsible for the shooting.Hank volunteers to be her bodyguard even though being around her is painful; he never stopped loving her after they broke up.Elle James has crafted a captivating story with interesting characters. If you like romantic suspense, with a bit of mystery, this would be a amazing book to read.# # # # # # # #Book Two: Bride Protector SEAL4 StarsThis is a quick paced, fast read. Allie’s engaged to be married; she shouldn’t be attracted to her fresh bodyguard, Swede, but she is. Swede just wants to be able to perform the duties of his fresh job but he finds himself distracted by the fiancé of the man who hired him. Protecting Allie proves to be challenge worthy of his SEAL training.I always have fun books by Elle James. Bride Protector is a romantic suspense story with twists and turns I didn’t see coming. There is a nice amount of tension; suspenseful and sexual. If you’re looking for a fast read with just the right amount of heat this would be a amazing book to pick up.# # # # # # # #Book Three: Montana D-Force4 starsSuspenseful and spicy.I love books by Elle James and this one kept me glued to my ereader until the end. Unfortunately, that end came a bit too quickly for me. I know that all books must end at some point but an poor lot of items happened in this story and I think a fast epilogue would have wrapped things up a bit ose things being said, based on the dedication this book must have been difficult to write so I applaud Elle for telling this story. You can read the dedication if you “look inside” on Amazon to see what I mean. Note: you have to look at the original publication of the individual book.Mia and Bear have amazing chemistry and when things finally come together for them it was hot. The Brotherhood Protector books are enjoyable stories and I look forward to reading more of them.Warning: this book may include triggers for anyone who has suffered from a sexual assault.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    awesome. a must-read for fans of the cosmic side of Marvel. Delivered on time and only a slight bend to the back cover. Can't ask for much more than that. 5 stars for the book itself, Mr. Starlin - king of kings as far as comic book writers go, 4 stars, I guess, for the vendor due to the slight bend I mentioned. I would use them again though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    i'm probably being a bit generous giving this 4 stars. it probably should be 3 or 3 and a half at most. but i discovered comics around this e story itself is somewhat interesting. the dialogue however created me cringe a lot because of the sheer cheesiness. the artwork is nice, nothing too flash but it is solid and does the job.i would rcommend getting this just don't expect a timeless classic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Starlin is king, and this book does not disappoint, The infinity series is a long one and this one is just as amazing as all the others

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Amazing comics obtain them for a read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Yeah so maybe I am spoiled by the art and writing in more "modern" comics, but this whole Infinity Crusage/Saga/War/Event/Meeting/Conference was just kinda boring to me. Very small action, very small payoff. It wasn't BAD, just kind of boring. At least to me. Your mileage might vary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    This trade completes the collection of the Infinity Crusade crossover happening from the early 90s. There is some promise contained in these stories. There are two perfect examples of page layout and visual storytelling, one introducing Thanos' deadly battelship, and another featuring different superheroes on both sides of the conflict squaring off. However, Infinity Crusade fails to deliver on this early promise. Although the art by Ron Lim is still excellent, the story just isn't all that interesting. Perhaps it's also the issue that the story of a female entity creating a violence-free globe at the cost of everyone's souls was done much better in Season 4 of Angel. Perhaps it's that a lot of Marvel's most famous and interesting characters (and some not so famous or interesting) are relegated to background cameos and have small to no result on the plot. There are some fun moments here (such as the Hulk's timely arrival on the paradise planet via a descent from zone that is an entire problem in length), but Infinity Crusade fails to deliver.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    For anyone who enjoys reading mysteries and cats should have fun this series. Set in the 1920s Jack and Grace, one a battle veteran and the other a former socialite, begin a detective agency together with their cat Tatiana and later joined by her mate Zeus. The books are delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Perfect writing takes you to a time in history when women were beginning to have careers and enjoying the freedoms of the 1920's. Looking forward to more adventures with these couples, both the humans and the cats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Jack, Grace and feline Tatiana are sleuthing again. Interesting storyline with a number of twists. Tatiana points out clues found with feline intuition that are followed by Grace and Jack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    This 4 story set was an simple read. The descriptions of flights in the early begin planes were great! An independent young woman ahead of her time and standing up for herself versus financial poor times created a pleasing main character. Some of the detective skills may have been a small more modern than of that time, but they added to the validity of the stories' conclusions. The cats were amazing and I would have liked a small more of their "magical" qualities.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    I loved three of the stories but I didn't like A CHRISTMAS FERAL very much. Other than having Tatania using magic and an extremely brief inclusion of Jack and Grace, having Dicken's unbelievable story altered in order to test and create it fit into the overall storyline seemed both forced and e other three books were thoroughly enjoyable and I found them to be fast-paced, light, fast and warmhearted. Jack and Grace (and Tatania and Zeus, the magical, completely adorable cats) were extremely lovable characters with well-developed, three-dimensional personalities. The dialogues were crisp, sparkling, and authentic to the time period. (I'm quite well-versed in history but I hadn't known that a lot of buildings had separate doors for men and women so learning about that was a true surprise.) I was really captivated by the marvelous imagery which created it very simple for me to immerse myself in the story. These books gave me a lot of smiles.Overall, this boxed set is a unbelievable series that I am very glad that I read. I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes detective stories with romance, fantasy, and pussycats thrown in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    The stories are simple to read and take put near my home. That makes them even more ing a cat lover and enjoying the language of a time in the past makes the books fun. They are the need knees!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    IN 1920, DEBUTANTE GRACE HAS FINISHED ALL HER SCHOOLING & IS BACK FROM FRANCE. SHE'S LOOKING FORWARD TO BEING HER OWN PERSON, SO TO SPEAK. ON THE TRAIN TO MEET HER GUARDIAN, SHE MEETS HANDSOME PINKERTON DETECTIVE JACK & HIS CAT TATANIA. HE'S A DASHING DAREDEVIL BIPLANE PILOT & SHE (THE CAT) IS MAGICAL. GRACE'S BELOVED UNCLE IS FOUND DEAD IN UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES & HER INHERITANCE IS MISSING. WE FOLLOW GRACE'S JOURNEY TO MAKING A FULFILLING LIFE DURING THE UPHEAVAL OF CLASS & GENDER. THIS WAS AN INTERESTING BOOK. I REALLY ENJOYED IT. I LIKED THE FAST WITTY CONVERSATIONS. BEE'S KNEES.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Really enjoyed these stories. I'm a huge fan of almost anything with cats, so I'm glad tthews' stories lived up to my expectations. I'm a fan of Shirley Rousseau Murphy's Joe Grey series and Carole Nelson Douglas' Midnight Louie series. Mary Matthews has made a fresh favorite for me, albeit a lot more on the light side. I'm planning to follow this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Fun cozy reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Wonderfully well written bringing you into the characters minds and lives. Highly recommended must read books!!! Can't wait to purchase more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Yes. Yes. Yes. More of this.With a young, teen daughter who loves art and illustration, I'm so satisfied that books like Lumberjanes, Ms. Marvel and Squirrel Girl are being created. Fun, challenging and engaging without crossing too hard for "effect" in what could be sensitive situations, Lumberjanes takes young and old readers alike on a fun journey and leaves you wanting to know what happens next. The art style is fantastic, guest covers and illustrations I've seen are refreshing and the hero writing is new and crisp. A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This was not at all what I expected! I honestly thought it would just be girls having adventures while camping; and while it is, it also isn't. There is a whole other story going on and it's all bizarre and supernatural. Strange things are afoot and the not good Lumberjanes hold stumbling into weirdness. It's kinda like a female cast of the Goonies meets the Brothers Winchester. They are quirky and fun characters. Their reaction to things and their terminology is so 80's! It's like stepping back into my childhood. I got this because I thought it would be something fun that both my daughter and myself could read and enjoy. Well, this was a really fun read, and I have a feeling my daughter will like it even more than I did!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Lumberjanes is pure perfection. And even though it's all "lady empowering", it's a amazing comic for all walks of life. Two of my guy mates even asked to borrow it after I wouldn't shut up over its awesomeness and they both loved it! The writers admit that the first problem is completely foreshadowing, so even though there's not that much story to it, the characters and art and dialogue leave you with this enraging curiosity to go and order every other comic (hi that's what I just did). It's also amazing if you're just starting a comic collection. Also, if you're worried about the price for some reason this problem is the most expensive everywhere, yet they gradually obtain cheaper as you continue the series. It's crazy weird, but I mean it's also more incentive to buy the rest!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    amazing for a wide age range! my small sister and i both loved this, and we're 10 years e writing, characters, and art are wonderful. i've been working on finding more media for my sister that features a dozens of girls and women (rather than just one or two who fit into primary Lady Character™ tropes), and [email protected]#$%! the nail right in the head! she was delighted with all the girls, especially jo and ripley, and can't wait to obtain the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I love it! It's hilarious and it's kind of mysterious. It reminds me of gravity falls the most unbelievable way. Buying the next volume asap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I have yet to read this myself, but the children were already sucked in and sold after the first page. Amazing to see more high-quality comics geared a small more toward the young, female comic-reading population. And who doesn't love a amazing trip down memory lane re summer camp?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Cute and exciting. So far this book has been like an all-girl Gravity is graphic novel is basically the five girls you see on the cover at a camp in the middle of some magic-infested woods. Something weird--that no one else seems to notice--is going on so these girls are trying to unravel this mystery and do so by tramping around the forest, participating in camp activities, and 's a amazing book and I plan to by the next ones as well.I enjoyed it and my small sister (10yr) did too. Basically, it's a amazing book for a dozens of ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It flew by so quickly. Another bonus to myself for the end of another school year. I like that it has ties to Adventure Time. I will be passing it on to my son. Like Adventure Time the female characters are not your caricatures/idealized "girls." They are quirky and have heart and come in a dozens of personalities and shapes. That's why it's going on to my son. I think it's not only necessary girls obtain the notice they don't have to conform, I think it's necessary for boys to obtain the notice that girls are worthy of love, especially when they are more than a walking pinup. You know what I'm saying?I'm really glad to see this wave of new comics that refresh the female ideal, especially when I grew up in the 80's with like Rogue and Storm, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I think it is beautiful cute. My 8 year old son thinks it's funny. My 4 year old daughter absolutely LOVES it. She belly laughs and asks for explanations on parts she doesn't understand. Although, I think she likes the 2nd one even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Loved Lumberjanes Volume 1 begin to finish. I cannot wait to read volume two, this was a total treat to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Allow me begin this by saying I have never written a review on this website I actually cared to write, only out of respect for the vendors themselves. I'm writing this for the sheer beauty of this novel. My mother had lived in Japan and raised me with a lot of eastern principles and background, but in America. I love both western and eastern graphic novels. Ive never found something that so fully meshed what I love about both. The plot is lavish and fantastical, but is lacking a lot of the eastern slant towards fetishized sexuality and brash comedy (think manga's common x'd eyes and oversized heads, etc.). What is there is there purposefully. This story is beautiful, developed,intelligent, new, and just honestly unexpected. The book itself is higher quality than anything ive purchased in years. As an avid reader and writer, the book itself is necessary to me. The joy of feeling the pulp of the page disappeared as publishers stopped paying the cash for the amazing paper. This book is three times the length of the average single volume western graphic novel and the pages are thick and strong, you can't support but give attention to it. It was the first thing I noticed. Where i had lost hope for the fantasy/scifi/steampunk genres in latest years as artists/authors got lazy and drew/wrote what we already knew, this is beautifully original and intricate. And it's 8 dollars. What. I dont even have words for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Got it for my daughter as a late Christmas present. It came super quick and in pristine condition. She only waited a day before reading and finishing it in under 2 hours. She told me she couldn't place it down, and that she lived how the artist and writer focus on globe building while not overlooking the main plot. She's already looking for chapter 7 and anticipating volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Monstress is a truly gorgeous piece of art, both from a literary and graphic perspective. Marjorie Liu has made one of the most interesting and original fresh fantasy worlds in years, and Sana Takeda's lovely, complex, and occasionally disturbing artwork combine to produce a compelling piece of storytelling that is nearly impossible to place down. I began reading this book because I was intrigued by contrast of the picture of a attractive young woman, who I came to learn was the heroine Mana Halfwolf, standing under the word "Monstress." I was extremely happy to search that this contrast is developed as one of the basic themes of the story that blossoms into what may be one of the best blend of epic graphic storytelling and horror I've read since Neil Gaiman's Sandman. I strongly recommend this series to any fan of mature graphic novels who is eager to become immersed in a fresh universe of mystery, wonder, danger, and glory.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Monstress is everything I could possibly ask for in a comic series. It is rife with female characters, all of different complexities and backgrounds, and it is equal parts steampunk and equal parts epic fantasy. A attractive merging of the two. Speaking of beautiful, Sana Takeda's artwork is a unbelievable companion to Marjorie Liu's perfect writing. I have been recommending this to my mates as a series they should pick up. They may not love it as much as me, yet I hope they have fun it as much as I do (and I hope others who are looking to purchase the TPB, will have fun it as well).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Just gorgeous. Yes, the illustration is lovely, but the storyline is complex, grotesquely heartwrenching, and sucked me in immediately. Our main hero is just outstanding. Outstanding in her backstory, in her rich motivations, in her lack of super niceness that I search to be just dull, and in her very survival. She is just riveting beyond words. I adore this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Monstress is hands down the best work of fantasy I've read in a very long time. Marojorie Liu's world-building and hero development are rich and complex, while Sana Takeda's art complements each shift of stage and mood with gorgeous flowing lines and a varied palette of colors and tones. There are tips of [email protected]#$%aka Amano's hero work in the costumes and masks, particularly, but the faces and landscapes belong wholly to Takeda. Alternately majestic and gritty, with scenes of gore and of tenderness, Monstress is a remarkable graphic storytelling achievement. There's plenty of deep mythology and history for the saga to explore, and the characters continually surprise with fresh depths and nuances. I eagerly await the second collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Started off a small slow, but man did it pick up quick. At first the mythology of this comic can feel overwhelming and perhaps a bit confusing but the writer does a very amazing job of explaining things. That being said if you like steampunk art , cats with 2 tails and magic YOU WILL LOVE THIS COMIC! Even if you dont the art and the combat panels are amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    I really like that art of the book and the story line is interesting so far, however, I think that the characters need a small more development (I wish to like/root for them). I like the twist at the end that is setting up the story for further development. I bought the second volume because I think it is going to be better than the first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Amazing story and artwork. Amazing cat characters. Took away one star because of overuse of flashbacks- one would have been enough

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    This is an wonderful introduction. The globe is so developed – like the best fictional worlds, it feels as if it was all already there, waiting to be uncovered by the author and artist. I felt as if I was falling into the story – it was sometimes overwhelming or confusing, but it was always enthralling. The art is breathtaking. It’s the kind of book I just wish to press on everyone so I can discuss it with them. What a unbelievable debut!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I am a huge fan of Nihei's environments and art. Having this manga reprinted was a welcome surprise. Pages are thick and look great. Thanks to Vertical for giving this old series fresh life.I really like the larger format book which helps emphasize the scale of the environments. Structures fill an entire page seemingly going on forever. There isn't a ton of dialogue which is purposeful. If you like sci-fi, space, and dark brooding worlds you will have fun this and all of Nihei's work. Robots , monsters, bio-mechanics, and technology are show throughout the work oh and gore. If you have fun The Matrix, Alien(s) or HR Giger then you should test Blame!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    So this journey began with me watching the film on Netflix. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and decided that I wanted to discover the source material. From watching reviews of the movie, I learned that it's story was compiled from various arcs in the comic, so that had me even more interested in seeing how things were orginally structured. The first thing I noticed about Tsutomu Nihei's first story is that it's told through imagery; most of the time things are left up through the reader to test and piece together. Sometimes the reader can't place the pieces together. You're left with questions while working you're method through the story, but their amazing questions. For me it added to the mysticism of the world. Without trying to give away too much of the first volume, I quickly realized that this globe is unforgiving and that one false move will lead people in this globe to a fast demise. There is a large sense of despair and hopelessness in this world, but with a tip of perserverance, tenacity, and unconquerable will that comes from the main character, Kyrii (aka Killy).I loved the rough grittiness of the artwork. The reader is presented with special hero designs that helps give this globe a sort of fantasy-cyberpunk feel. But the true star of the artwork in the panels is the architectual design of everything. The expanding "city" that this globe takes put in is amazingly detailed and drawn with given a true sense of grandness. At other times it's also presented in a method that portrays a claustrophobic feeling. It's just a despairingly attractive world, if that makes sense.If you're hesitant about jumping from the film to the books, then don't be. With a sequel already announced, reading the series should support you appreciate everything more. BLAME! is a gold mine for those who are clamouring for more cyberpunk in their world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This is a true page turner and every panel a painting. Lots of perspective drawing which makes the environment itself both the focal point and the adversary of the novel. Characters are beautifully drawn with lots of imaginative and dynamic forms. The figurative style of the characters are obviously manga/anime with a touch of fashion illustrations in regard body dimensions and leg e dystopian environment the hero is trapped within is a bleak, machine, sprawl that extends out into all directions. It as if our characters are trapped within a microchip thousands of stories tall and endless in all directions. Within this infinite prison are numerous genetic variations, freaks, humans, robots, cyborgs all desperate and risky and e plot line is a quest. Our character, Kryii, is looking for the "net terminal gene" which, when found, will stop the "city" from its intractable, chaotic growth. (I think CPU chip is a better description that the word city) To illustrate how intractable this "city growth" is, our character has no idea what the word "land" means.I highly recommend this graphic nove.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    FINALLY got my hands on this thing! I have been a devoted fan of Tsutomu Nihei ever since I picked up the first book of Biomega a few years ago. After devouring that series (it’s still my favorite) and the succeeding Knights of Sidoni, I tried to track down his original, but now out-of-print Blame!, but I found the cost of these rare editions to be ankfully, the publisher was aware of this issue and decided to reissue the whole thing in it’s entirety in these heavy (actual size?) omnibus editions. As far as I can tell, there will be three, of which this is the first. And what a beginning it is! It’s got everything I love about Nihei comics: unbelievable organic artwork, blistering action and almost no dialogue, backstory or context. That’s not to say it is hard to understand, just mysterious and interesting. I love it! Of course I will buy all of these. I am left with only one question: Do you think the main characters mighty handgun is in any method inspired by the Noisy Cricket from Men in Black? The globe may never know.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I strongly recommend the Master editions. It's been mentioned here some already, but i can't overemphasize how much easier and more pleasant a read these are compared to the tiny-sized Tokyopop versions, which were so dark and contrast massive that it was hard to see anything at times. The pages are large, on massive paper, with absolutely gorgeous cover art and color panels bookending the oughts on the translation seem to go both ways, but I don't think that one is any better than the other. For a frame of reference, if you read any interviews or remarks from Nihei himself, his normal manner of speaking is itself rather cryptic, so I doubt that even a excellent translation would elucidate much more than what's currently e master editions are, hands down, the best method for an English speaker to experience this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This is an awesome story. The art is original, dark, and fantastic-- you feel the town as if you were there. This manga doesn't keep your hand. Unlike the Blame! film on Netflix, there's no exposition. Killy never explains his mission. You pick up what's going on as the story goes on-- who Killy is, what he's looking, what happened to the city. Transhumanism, huge existential questions, amazing war scenes-- this series has it all. The bigger format only goes to emphasis just how much detail is in each panel. So much work, so a lot of little details-- it's astonishing. A unbelievable edition of an absolutely brilliant story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    The packaging came in a normal shipping bag and had an airtight plastic seal. Unbelievable Story. Amazing art and is very simple to read through it in no time. I will say though, for the first volume there is a small bit of an problem in terms of timing. You will watch a war stage and not entirely know what is going on always cause the pacing is off, but you obtain over it really fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    Wow! Remarkable and transportive work. In our 'need to know everything' culture, it is refreshing to encounter a book of few and calculated words, with the majority of story being left to drawings - windows of astonishing experiential description. You are left to sit with this awesome art to discover the experience of being there yourself. If the reader feels the story is shallow, I can say it is your own mind that is shallow, caught in the mental turbulence of impatience and the lack of real exploration. I search it unbelievable that much is left to the imagination and curiosity of the reader. If you can't slow down and spend time in each window, you will likely not have fun this as I have. To add to the experience, I listen to ambient glitchy soundscapes by ASC (James Clements). Amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    I'd been wanting to read this manga for years, so the master edition was a must have (and I dont even read/collect much manga.. it was seeing art from this manga that someone had posted on their tumblr page years back that intrigued me).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BLAME! Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:0

    This is my first purchase of this category of Manga, and I am still getting used to reading in reverse but so far I am intrigued and totally engaged. I was told by some mates that this book would be a amazing read since I am a fan of the Knights of Sidonia television show. I plan on picking up # 2 and # 3 as well in coming months.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moteki Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-22 18:1

    Lots of fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moteki Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-22 18:1

    Yukiyo Fujimoto has never had luck with the ladies, but the fact that he’s about to turn 30 isn’t making his lack of a love life that much easier. Fujimoto is convinced he’ll be alone forever. That is, until one day a notice from an old coworker appears, then a call from an old friend, then a high school run-in… suddenly he finds himself in the middle of his “season of popularity” — his moteki. But can several blasts from the past finally give him the love he’s been looking for?Well, Fujimoto is, for lack of a better term, a character, and arguably one that is really, really hard to like until about two-thirds of the method through Moteki. In some ways it’s because he’s terribly familiar: his expectations of women are method over the top, all while he simultaneously seems to dislike them (and/or is terrified of them, and/or is extremely bitter), topped off with a amazing dash of self-loathing. Fujimoto has been genuinely damage by the standard romantic mishaps in life — being the rebound guy, being rejected by a friend, as well as body issues. But instead of dealing with the damage and his own eroded self confidence over the years, he gets locked in his own head, so he’s critical of both himself and others, and at least minorly (if not majorly) obsessive about what he lacks — i.e a girlfriend, regular sex, and love.When his moteki comes swinging though it comes swinging, and Fujimoto deals with no less than four women in this first omnibus. The women are vastly more interesting than him, both in how they deal with sex/romance and their emotional lives in general, but each does at least support him grow in some regard, as far as him learning how to treat women as actual people and not as a just means for sex — though he’s got a long method to go. Thankfully, the women feel mostly fleshed out with different backstories and I wonder if the author, Mitsurou Kubo, took experiences from her own life. Of particular note is Itsuka, a former drinking (platonic) buddy of Fujimoto who struggles with her own romantic mishaps and navigating her femininity as “one of the boys.” Their friendship is the one that sees arguably the most change throughout the volume, and also is the one that seems to have the most potential for ill, Fujimoto fumbles again, again, and again (and occasionally those fumbles just consist of him being a jerk), frustrating the reader, mostly because it’s obvious to us that his issues extend far further than the lack of a girlfriend. I imagine his entanglements with these different women throughout the series will eventually have him come to realize that — and that does create this series compelling. Everyone feels true to some extent, even if that means they’re horrible. Some of that true feeling comes from Kubo’s art; it’s great, in non-technical terms. Characters look distinct (even in body language), and she captures faces and emotions exceptionally well. Particular scenes and emotional reactions are memorable simply because of how she blocks or angles panels, and the art feels well thought teki is a tough one, mostly because of Fujimoto. He’s not good in the beginning — not irredeemable, but definitely terrible. But, well, I can’t place it down, quite frankly because the characters are wrapped up in familiar adult dramas that, despite the lead — or maybe because of him — create me wish to know what happens to them all. I ultimately wish to see if they grow, change, and search self-acceptance, so I’m interested to see how volume 2 plays out.- Manjiorin

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moteki Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-22 18:1

    'Moteki Vol. 1' by Mitsurou Kubo is an English translation of an older manga by a popular creator. The manga is famous enought that it has been turned into a tv series.When Yukiyo Fujimoto turns 30, he finds himself single with no prospects. When he suddenly gets contacted by several women in his life, he thinks it is his "moteki" or time of popularity. Through the course of the story, we see how these past relationships have gone badly, mostly due to Yuki being awkward and not being assertive enough. We also see a few of these happenings from the female side. Yuki seems doomed to be single forever, but with the support and tip of friends, he may yet search the right person to be first, I wasn't crazy about this story of a love-starved, sex-focused, inept guy. I didn't really feel for him. Through the course of the 438 pages (!), I did end up liking the story and it's female characters, even if I didn't warm much to e art is beautiful good. There are something like 14 problems of the series as well as some funny back up comics included.I received a review copy of this manga from Kodansha Comics and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this manga.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moteki Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-22 18:1

    Moteki is an interesting take about dating, self-perception, growing up (at 30 no less). Probably the best thing about this story is the other characters aren't templates or types representing the everyman's fantasy. The characters including the main are fleshed out well so that the reader can search themselves identifying with anyone in the story. Everyone's actions (say, why did this girl call me?) are complex and can be motivated by a lot of various (realistic) often difficult to articulate reasons. It is about shedding stereotypes about the opposite sex and learning to trust and treat other people well. It's about gaining the emotional maturity to navigate possible relationships, something the main hero lacks and is struggling to grow into.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moteki Vol. 1 review [Book]  2018-5-22 18:1

    amazing author and amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kill Bill: Vol. 1 review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    This is the film he created after Jackie Brown. I thought I might just point that out. A huge budget, larger scale action blockbuster. This is the one that would change the direction of Tarantino's films. And honestly, it might be my favorite besides Pulp Fiction. This film oozes with style and beautifully choreographed action. This film has an anime section akin to Japanese anime. That's some cool stuff. Even the non-action parts are some really amazing stuff. Like the guy from the old Road Warrior films as Hatori Hanzo and making the Bride's sword. And the unbelievable soundtrack. The amazing opening stage where the Bride gets shot and then the somber "Bang Bang" by Nancy Sinatra plays. But of course, the amazingly choreographed action makes this movie. A lot of it is showcased in the Crazy 88 war and the few wars before it. It has some brilliant uses of the style. Of course, there's black and white which was actually used to avoid an NC-17, but works very effectively. And the beautifully shot war between the Bride and O-Ren. No melody really adds a lot to it. It's quiet and oh so effective compared to the loud blood fest of the Crazy 88. But there's also the opening hand to hand war stage with Vernita Green which is also very well edited. Very surprising stage as it is interrupted by Green's daughter coming home and then they talk. And it starts back again as quickly as it began and then ends once again with a knife to Vernita's chest. What a brilliant tension filled scene. The film also never takes itself too seriously. That's for the sequel. But the fun action and style leads the whole way. Also along with Buck, and other fun scenes. Lest we forget other amazing scenes like the whistle stage as Elle Driver comes to slay the Bride in her sleep. Or interrogating Sophie. "These will be things you will miss." I love it. Honestly, it might be the best action film of the 2000s, at least for me. And Tarantino has a lot of my favorite movies. Maybe I have fun his films a bit too much. But even with that, it's one of the my favorites. Slay Bill Vol 1 gets a 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kill Bill: Vol. 1 review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Not so hush hush but very much on the QT. After being gunned down on her wedding day by her former colleagues, killer Black Mamba (Uma Thurman) rouses from a four year coma with only one thing on her mind, revenge! Striking up a death list of five, she sets off for bloody retribution. Quentin Tarrantino writes and directs what is in all truth, a homage to all the cinema conventions close to his heart. Think an amalgamation of chop-socky, sexploitation, samurai, spaghetti Westerns, anime and cop shows of years past, and you obtain the heart of Slay Bill. A movie that was so epic in scope it had to be chop into two films. What it lacks in Tarrantino dialogue dynamite it more than makes up for with action and astute visual flair. And it's bloody, very bloody. Thurman is amazing as the avenging Mamba/The Bride, while the inclusion of Sonny Chiba & Lucy Liu adds a touch of class as QT revels in his East meets West berserker narrative. It could have been trimmed down, particularly in the middle section where Tarrantino deals in a calm before the storm ideal, but Volume 1 was one of the most exciting films of 2003, and most notably it shows Tarrantino to be adept at action directing. His action skills perhaps explains why the script doesn't crackle with the wit and panache of his previous offerings? You sense he wants more than the words "fine writer" engraved on his granite mined Curriculum Vitae. Hugely enjoyable with a neat end of movie cliffhanger, roll on part 2... 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attack on Titan Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I was actually very hesitant to buy an omnibus, Typically larger ones over time have will hurt their own spines from. Right away, the sheer amount of weight that is on this thing dwarves your average omnibus. Its HEAVY, you likely wont be reading this in bed in an upward position, but really -- I feel like that's the only down side to this. The pages are created of some kind of thicker quality paper that don't tear easy. It's definitely not laughable paper quality like the full metal alchemist omnibuses, and def better than the average manga paper. It has a sheen like, glossy quality to it, where the ink is very dark, and the backgrounds come off as very white.I like certainly does not take a lot of zone either, it's about the size of three manga across. In the pictures I'm showing you a comparison in size of the average manga size versus average light novel size versus omnibus size.I hope this helps you guys!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Attack on Titan Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    As a fan of the anime, I've been holding off buying the individual volumes for different reasons but I just couldn't resist a well-priced collection of the first five. For those familiar with the anime, it covers up until some point in Episode 17 (out of 25) and contains Ilse's story, and OVA episode detailing a hero who doesn't present up in the main story but has an necessary impact nonetheless. It shows how faithful the anime was to the source material, with the exception of putting the story of Episode 3 where it chronologically belongs as the manga has those happenings as a flashback later on. Otherwise, it's completely like the anime which is a testament to how amazing of a story the manga is on its own. The anime is so powerful because the manga was so strong.While nothing major is changed from the anime, it is still something I recommend to all fans, especially those who value the "rewatch" value of an anime. Reading it is as impactful as watching it, and even if you know where it's going you still can't place it down. I'll say that, if you've seen the anime, you've marathoned at least part of it, so I'll just call this a page-turner to say the least. Attack on Titan is a story a lot of people crave, and at least this does the courteous thing of being faster to consume than the anime equivalent.If you haven't seen the Attack on Titan anime, then I suggest this to you as well. Actually, I'll say that you should read this first, as you'll probably hate yourself less for it. It's easier and quicker to read and blow off as much of your life as possible than to watch episodes and unwillingly watch more because you can't just stop watching them. Perhaps, after reading this, you'll be able to take in the anime series at a slower pace because no matter what medium you experience it, Attack on Titan is something you will not place down.I'm a large Shingeki No Kyojin/Attack on Titan fan, and I hope a Colossal Edition for Volumes 6-10 come out soon!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter