The Actor Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Actor review or read customer reviews:

24 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book although it was quite various from what I expected. I thought it would focus a fair bit of attention on Lithgow's career in Hollywood when in fact it is more about his experience on the stage. If I had read the title carefully I would not have been surprised by this. Lithgow traces his development as an actor as he honed his craft over a lot of years on the scene before ever stepping on to a movie set. His memoir provides a lot of insight into how an acting career develops and the wonderful sacrifice and hard work that go into crafting a real thespian. It is simple to believe that stars can be created overnight, and though this has sometimes been the case, it is not real of most of the greatest artists of scene and screen. I also really appreciated the frankness and honesty displayed throughout. It seems that a lifetime in theatre has brought about a healthy self-awareness and it is refreshing to read a memoir that does not engage in false humility or over-preening vanity. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I tend to be a small leery of buying autobiographies by actors. I tend to search the stories interesting but they often are not so well written and ego-heavy. I had my refund cash from Amazon, the book was on sale, and I've always liked Lithgow so I gave this one a 's a risk that turned out well. Lithgow is smart and has wit and he tells a amazing story. Yeah, there's a bit of "and then I did this and I was GREAT!" but not too much. He also tells of his less successful moments and overall he keeps a amazing perspective and objectivity. Some of the parts about his father and their relationship were very e only true disappointment with the book is that the acting portions are mainly about his scene career. While some of his TV and film work is mentioned, it's largely just that--only mentioned. I had really hoped to hear more about that since that's the part of his work I'm familiar with. I especially had wanted to hear more about his work in Garp as Roberta Muldoon since that's the part I first really noticed him in and he did such a amazing job in the role.I would definitely buy a copy if he wrote a second book but I hope it would focus more on his movie and TV roles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    John Lithgow is an engaging storyteller, and I loved every min of his memoir. It begins with the story of his taking care of his elderly father and reading him a P.G. Wodehouse story they used to read when he was growing up. The Wodehouse state of mind (wacky, witty, and eternally optimistic) is a amazing introduction to an actor's life. Lithgow's father was a director-producer of Shakespeare who had a successful career doing a Shakespeare Festival at Antioch College for about the first ten years of John Lithgow's life. Then something happened (we aren't told what), and the family began to move from one theatre job to another. Lithgow's explanations of his own youthful feelings about all that, and how he coped with it, are insightful, and he spends most of the memoir on these early years with his birth family. He does obtain into his adult acting career (and spends a lot of time explaining how he got there after wanting all his life to be an artist, as in painter), and that's interesting, too, but the memoir of most interesting as it shows the man making sense of his life.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Actor or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Actor video reviews and related movies:

    Michael Learns To Rock - The Actor

     related image

    Michael Learns To Rock - The Actor [Official Video]

     related image

    MOODY BLUES, THE ACTOR

     related image

    The Actor

     related image

    The Actor Who Plays Pennywise Is Gorgeous In Real Life

     related image

    MLTR - the Actor

     related image

    Inside the Actor's Studio with Drew Barrymore - SNL

     related image

    The Moody Blues - Visions Of Paradise - The Actor

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    If you are an actor on any level, from dreamer to successful career actor, this is a must read. Mr. Lithgow's lifeblood was the stage, even before he knew it, and his experiences were so deeply and profoundly a part of his success. He learned a lot of an necessary lesson and writing this book gave us (and him) the opportunity to relive and reflect upon them. I wanted to know more about his career once he had achieved fame, but as my husband wisely pointed out....the title tells you how far you will travel in Mr. Lithgow's life. Alas, being the Pollyanna type, I was sad, but understanding of his mistakes in his first marriage. Beyond that, though, I couldn't support but adore him once again, and would love to be in his company as he regaled us with more stories of his life. Maybe he will write a sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I frst heard of this book when my sister and son discussed it at dinner one evening. Based on what I heard them say, it sounded like a amazing primer to read to become familiar with the art and science of acting. Acting is my son's passion, and the more I know about it, I think, the better able I am to understand and appreciate his performances. The largest surprise of all though is how beautifully written the book is. John Lithgow's Harvard education may not have gone a long method to teach him how to act, but it may have had a huge impact on how to write. That being said, Drama: An Actor's Education is a thoroughly readable and mesmerizing story of Lithgow's journey in theater.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    John Lithgow appeared at UNCW a few days after I bought his book of reminisces. I am enjoying reading this on my Kindle and highly recommend it. His father ran the Shakespeare festivals in Ohio of all locations and they also lived in Princeton where his father was a manager at McCarter Theater in Princeton. Lithgow is very approachable, funny and serious all wrapped into one. A talented actor and performer who knows how to read his audience and doesn't read to them--he knows the words from the book directly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    I've enjoyed watching John Lithgow perform in a lot of films and tv shows since the early 80's. I had not idea he had such a fascinating life growing up on the scene performing Shakespeare. He is a dynamic and talented artist and actor. I have a better appreciation for his accomplishments, going well beyond the "character" actors he frequently portrays in televised media. This book created me hungry to see him as a lead actor in a Shakespeare production. A very smart read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Interesting and well written memoir of Lithgow's early life and career. I couldn't place it down as I felt I was drawn into his life. This talented actor told the tale as if the reader was sitting in the theatre. Magic! If you love drama and admire this virtuoso you will be mesmerized by his family, his varied early acting experiences, his private insights , his wit , and his honesty and candor. A amazing story from a amazing actor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    A amazing book but seemed to not be fully honest in the poor stuff. A lot of times john discussed what he did wrong but then went on so quickly about his e divorce seemed to keep a short shrift on the damages to his son. Would have liked a chapter by the son from his perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Drama: An Actor's Education [Book]  2017-10-17 18:0

    Engaging book that truly captured my complete attention. I was enthralled with John's descriptions, private and sometimes very intimate perspectives and ideas on the craft. Having had some experience in the theatre, it brought back some very fond...and not so very fond memories. I appreciated his candor and reflections on his very fascinating, life and experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FilmMag - Actor Photo Maker [App]  2018-1-23 13:10

    Thankyou

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FilmMag - Actor Photo Maker [App]  2018-1-23 13:10

    Love this so much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FilmMag - Actor Photo Maker [App]  2018-1-23 13:10

    So amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FilmMag - Actor Photo Maker [App]  2018-1-23 13:10

    Stupid

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    Years ago, Jenna Fischer wrote a amazing post on her MySpace page detailing her tip for aspiring actors. It was the best thing I'd ever read on the topic; I immediately sent it to several mates and still have a copy saved on my phone today. The roots of The Actor's Life: A Survival Tutorial are clearly in that original post, but this book is so much rt memoir, part how-to-guide, Jenna walks you through her journey from Midwest dreamer to working actor, not shying away from the ups-and-(many) downs in the life of an aspiring artist. She's honest about her struggles and mistakes, as well as the intelligent decisions she created that helped her take advantage of the career opportunities that eventually appeared. Her tip for fresh actors starting out today was clearly well-researched and not just based on her own experiences trying to create it before she was cast as Pam in The sides Jenna herself, the stars are Molly Shannon and Topher Grace, both of whom went out of their method to encourage and inspire her in the early years of her career when she required it the most. That same encouragement and inspiration is what Jenna has given everyone who reads this book, but she goes beyond that with real, actionable tip that makes the dream of becoming an actor actually feel at's the real bonus of The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide. And I couldn't recommend it more highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    Thank you, Jenna Fischer! I truly loved this book. It speaks the truth about this business from a unbelievable perspective of a working actor. The true struggles. The victories that are unseen to others outside our world. I loved this book because1) it’s entertaining as hell. Funny & honest. Jenna is likable & lovely on every page. This is not a boring how to break into acting book, nor is it some celebrity dropping names & espousing how amazing it all is. This true & relatable.2) it’s a tutorial book. All actors have their own journey & path to follow. No 2 are exactly alike. There are no exact steps & timelines to success. But guidance is key along the way. That’s what Jenna provides. Guidance along this crazy chosen path. Letting us in on the her private struggles, experiences, & wins along the an actor, I have a lot of days that I struggle with my career. I feel like I’ve been doing it forever but not getting anywhere. And then there are days I feel like I’m doing ok. Jenna puts a lot of things into perspective. Also it gives me drive in this fresh year. So if you’re a total newbie trying to break in or a veteran of the biz making headway, I know this book will be a unbelievable resource for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I bought both Audible and Kindle ver , and I am satisfied i got is book by far was one of the best book that I have read that tutorials through your journey of becoming a working actor in a competitive present business. What makes this book amazing is that Jenna shares her experience from her early days as struggling actor until she hit the jackpot with The Office and she provides a lot of useful hints on how to create the best out of every opportunity that you come across. She goes to the point and keeps you engaged the whole time. After reading this book and listening to the Audible ( Narrated by Jenna ) I become more motivated to pursue my acting career and learned how to maintain positive perspective . I highly recommend this book for aspiring and experienced actors and definitely hold a copy of it in your library. You will definitely refer back to this book over and over. Thank you Jenna for sharing your valuable acting experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I've read tons of books about acting and the "biz." Jenna's book is informative, practical and an simple read. I love her honesty and that she tells her story--warts and all. I've been a casting director for 35 years so I know that her information is right on. (By way, I love the kudos she gives to her casting mentor, Allison Jones.) One of the most necessary things she shares for fresh arrivals in LA: join a theatre company, an improv group, an acting class. Do ANYTHING you need to do to search your tribe; otherwise, you'll spend your first years in LA lonely and crazy while you're waiting for that phone to ring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    Jenna is a "what you see is what you get" person. Very uncommon in Hollywood. I'm not an aspiring actor (actually retired cop) but she is real and honest in anything I've seen similar to her. As an addicted "Office Fan" I believe she could write "An Office Memoir" and it would be an immediate best seller. This was such a fun read and I was exhausted after seeing what an actor has to go through just to obtain to where you can create a living. I'm glad she created it and am thankful to her and the rest of The Office squad for all the laughs that I continue to have fun over and over and over.....again. Real Office fans know what I mean.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    Jenna is so nice, funny and cute! You can feel her on every line and page. I'm not an aspiring actor, but I'm a huge fan of "The Office" series. So I've decided to buy this book. To search some insides :) And it soo worth it! It's nice to have a small sneak peek at actor life - it's not always fancy and glamorous, but it's interesting and full of various adventures. And I really like that Jenna is so real! She is human being, mother, wife. She has own ups and downs. And I think it's this is a really amazing book not only for aspiring actors but for people who are still looking for their own path. Very enjoyable reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    THIS BOOK! It's hilariously honest. Jenna's journey isn't glamorous and she tells us every detail, which is so refreshing from other "how to" books. Jenna tells us about every pitfall and win she experienced and the recipe that got her to each end which I found the most valuable. On top of it all, this book is laugh out loud funny. I laughed out loud reading about the evolution of her headshots, and found value in the info of how she improved "what she was selling" with each round, and how she finally found her method to the role of Pam BECAUSE of the correct headshot. (Also, I hope she burns those overalls as well.)In short, I want I had this book 20 years ago but I am excited that it exists now for everyone starting their journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I'm not an actor (not at all), but I love a amazing celebrity auto-biography and I love LOVE The Office, and I loved this book. Although largely actor-specific, I thought Jenna offered some amazing life and career advice, applicable for anyone who's a creative of any kind. There are some thought-provoking messages about persevering through failure - like REALLY persevering - and about recognizing when you KNOW you wish to do something, and believing in it and seeing it through. And the behind-the-scenes Office anecdotes warmed my heart! Overall a amazing read for actors and non-actors alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    This was amazing considering it came out right after I went to a seminar that Jenna did in Fresh York. I’ve been acting for over 20 years, but always goes back to basics when I see an interesting book. I think a must read for any actor, listen to the stories that you think just happen to you. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Actor's Life: A Survival Guide [Book]  2018-3-17 18:0

    I am a large fan of The Office, and after listening to her on the LadyGang podcast I KNEW I had to have this book. Its so good! I love how begin Jenna is. Amazing stories even for someone who is not an aspiring actor.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    الوتس اب الذهبي بلس الحقيقي 2018 PhotoSuite 4 Free Stylish Camera HD Camera 12 Myk for Camera Control and Audio Unfold - Story Creator Photo Collage – Photo Editor & Pic Collage Maker Is this loss? - g Detector RoosterMoney: Allowance Manager & Piggy Bank App PNC Wealth Insight® For Mobile Southside Bank South State Business Link FNB FirstMobile Minnesota Bank & Trust Mobile Clearcover Car Insurance NMCU Mobile App myMcCoy Mobile Banking TV Remote For Westinghouse IR Intro Maker & Outro Maker With Music For Youtube TV Remote for RCA Splice Movie Maker by GoPro |Splice android Advice Thought for the day. Bring an amazing start!! Easy Chemistry Conversions Moksha Mobile German English Translator tutit-On Demand Virtual Tutoring Cell-Ed: Skills on the Go! Manteca USD Bangor Township Schools, MI MamaLingua: Learn Spanish NCSM Golden Retriever Cerner Events Mobile Closeout for Defender Attend the Meeting American Chemistry Events Percona Live ISACA 2018 CACS Conferences (for buyer) RUF Events Smart Money Livestream 2018 Real Chess 3D djay 2 Real Turbo Racing Stickman Fight: The Game MMX Hill Dash 2 – Offroad Truck, Car & Bike Racing Fortnite Battle Royale Official info Daniel Tiger The Beginner's Guide to Survival Gardening 10 Stylish Handbag Patterns for Crochet: A trendy collection of easy-to-make crochet bags THE ESSENTIAL INSTANT POT RECIPES FOR BEGINNERS: Easy & Most Delicious Foolproof Recipes for Your Whole Family with Beginners Guide (Electric Pressure Cooker Cookbook) (Instant Pot Cookbook). The Best Cook in the World: Tales from My Momma's Table Le Creuset One-pot Cuisine: Classic Recipes for Casseroles, Tagines & Simple One-pot Dishes By the Smoke and the Smell: My Search for the Rare and Sublime on the Spirits Trail The Mile End Cookbook: Redefining Jewish Comfort Food from Hash to Hamantaschen Instant One-Pot Meals: Southern Recipes for the Modern 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker Choosing Courage: Inspiring Stories of What It Means to Be a Hero Lightning Thief, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1) Waste of Space (Moon Base Alpha) TED Talks Storytelling: 23 Storytelling Techniques from the Best TED Talks Jim Henson: The Biography In Praise of Slowness: Challenging the Cult of Speed Let Me Tell You: New Stories, Essays, and Other Writings The White Indian Boy: The Story of Uncle Nick Among the Shoshones Mastering the Art of French Eating: From Paris Bistros to Farmhouse Kitchens, Lessons in Food and Love John Wayne Gacy: Defending a Monster Louis XIV The Golden Age of Murder Blaze:: Satan's Fury MC- Memphis Chapter (Book 1) A Paris Apartment: A Novel Dead Ringer (Whitehorse, Montana: The McGraw Kidnapping) Iron Princess (Savage Trilogy Book 2) Runes of Truth: A Reverse Harem Urban Fantasy (A Demon's Fall series Book 1) Pirate (A Sam and Remi Fargo Adventure) Diary Of A Wimpy Noob: Booga Booga (Noob Biology class 10 Teleprompter Pro: subtitles & tit occupational-health-saftey-management-system-4801-checklist mediterranean-diet-dinner-recipes Lumosity: HDMI Checker Pro Free Guide Fortcraft Battle Royal Survival Rules BNP digital BeautyPlus - Easy Photo Editor & Selfie Camera BOG mBank - Mobile Banking Seven Seventeen Credit Union PayNearMe Bill Pay Compound Interest Calculator - Future Value (FV) S1 Connect Forex economic calendar ZILLA - The Safe & Easy ICO/Token sale App PNC Total Insight Sfomo Cryptoport Evolution NavyArmy Mobile Banking R-Play : Remote Play for the PS4 - Advice Calvary Chapel Downey Windsor Village Church Family Gender Unicorn HPC Events

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter